View Full Version : Won't drink from a sippy cup!!

superbaby
11-12-2005, 08:18
My DS (10.5 mths) refuses to drink from a sippy cup - won't even try, just pushes it away. He will however take a few sips from an open cup or suck from a popper. I know I am meant to be moving away from bottles by 12mths. Should I keep perservering?? Any tips??

kimmy
11-12-2005, 08:31
Hi Superbaby, :D My lil girl is 9mths & she really likes the Noby ones they have a silicone like sippy thingy so it's really easy for her to drink from. She did have a different one at first but didn't like it it was a Heinz one.
Maybe try a diferent tipe. :D

Bonnie77
11-12-2005, 08:33
Hi superbaby,

Coles or woolies (can't remember which one) sell a cup with a straw attached (only about $1.50 i think). they also sell it with a sipper lid too. Hayden used both types with no worries. Try offering it to him when he's happy and with his usual drink in it.
Don't be too worried about him still being on bottles at 12 months. These things are just a guideline. The bottle police won't come for you! He'll do it when he's ready.

drewid
11-12-2005, 08:59
My 9 1/2 month old has never had a bottle and doesn't like sippy cups - except to chew on! He loooooves the straw cups from woolies ( i think they are called dinkee?) and will happily go to town drinking from those all day long if i let him. He is still a booby baby, but he loves to have his water from a straw cup betwen meals.

All bubs are different - if the bottle is working for you now, why worry changing? As someone else said, theres no 'rule' that says you can't use them after 1yr old. I know 2 and 3 years olds still on the bottle. Its all personal preference.

HoopDeeDoo
11-12-2005, 09:06
My son was the same he is only now drinking from a sippy cup on his own, and he likes the tommee tippee(sp?) old fashion ones that drip when you tip it upside down, which is the only problem :)
I was told not to worry about the bottle as long as it's given by an adualt and they drink it all at once, it only becomes a problem if they wander around with it, and are drinking from it all day.
Don't worry too much he'll get there eventually, and just keep offering it to him, but don't push the issue, if I did with Noah he would throw it at me :eek:
I let him play with it he ended up with water all over him, but thats how he figured out how the whole thing worked :)

Good Luck

draught
11-12-2005, 09:30
DD1 would never drink from a sipper cup either - we ended up using straw cups - we have the Mag Mag one which are about $15 - but only because I can never find the $1.50 dinkie ones that everyone else has. I weaned from the breast onto the straw cup with no dramas once we worked out that straws worked. There is no rule that they need to go to a sipper cup - I know some who have gone straight to a normal cup with no lid - their mum used an egg cup to get them started!

Mamaduke
11-12-2005, 10:05
Why change?
My 4 year old has a bottle after bath time when he's listening to a story, then brushes his teeth and goes to bed. My 18mth has one as well. Jesse (4yrs) won't drink milk out of a cup - I've tried - but he prefers the bottle, and to be honest...I couldn't care less! I don't know who made up the 'rules' re/ bottles and sipper cups, but if the bottle works, I say, use it. To me it doesn't matter what type of device is used for their milk - as long as they drink it! There are worse things that they can be doing than having milk out of a bottle.
Carly

Nickster
11-12-2005, 10:24
We also use the mag mag straw cup - DD never liked sippy cups, but she will also take the mag mag spout cup - probably because it's a soft spout. She used to take the occasional EBM bottle, but didn't want to know about it after about 7 months of age, so those mag mag cups were a godsend.
If your littlie likes to use a "normal" cup, then by all means let him practise (if you can stand the mess in the meantime, mummy!) - I let DD practise with her bunnykins mug in the wading pool - no mess, no fuss!

11-12-2005, 14:36
My DD! wouldn't use a sippy cup for ages either, and i ended up using the cheap straw ones from Coles as well...I had bought just about every type of sippy cup available (& not cheap either!), and finally she decided to use the Playtex ones. She'll use any type now, but at the moment i'm trying to get her to use a normal cup....going well so far....

I have bought a couple of the Nuby ones by Tommee Tippe for DD2 when i start her...still a while off yet...they seem really nice & soft and hopefully the transition won't be as big a deal.

11-12-2005, 15:55
I have also tried just about every sippy cup & yes they cost a fortune ! My bubs is only 9mths & went from using one to refusing any type so im just give him one to play with through the day & am waiting for him to be ready to give it a go again.
My CHN came up with a good idea of just trying him out with a straw ( from say mcdonalds etc ) & see whether he likes it & if it does work then buy the straw cup rather than buying yet another to find they refuse it. Maybe you could give this a go (?) otherwise you can get some sippy cups that have different options one of ours which is heinz has the sippy nozzle, the flat top with slit opening for them to drink out of or the screw on rim with a little lip on it so they can work their way up. Maybe this is another option as maybe your boy wants to be a "big boy" & use a proper cup least with the flat top with the slit it cant pour straight out like an open cup but is still easier than trying to suck it through a nozzle. Its also not as expensive as most cups its around $12 & you get all the extras included.
Otherwise as carlyb said why change if he is happy & its easier on you just go with whatever bubs is happiest with i say as its just not worth the stress.

superbaby
13-12-2005, 10:39
Thanks for the tips everyone. Sounds like the straw cup might be a goer! :)