View Full Version : Refusal of Food

GeorginasMum
19-02-2005, 18:28

My daughter, Georgina has just turned 6 months and we have been atempting solids on and off for the last month and she just isn't really interested in anything that has been pureed or mashed. For 2 days she ate mashed avo but now isn't interested. At the moment the only thing she will open her mouth for is bread and sometimes bits of potato but mostly bread. I have tried pumpkin, sweet potato, apple, yohurt, baby rice cereal to name a few but nothing seems to apeal to her. Anyone got any suggestions or is it just a waiting game????

Hope to hear from someone soon! :)
Lee-Anne

catherine
22-02-2005, 15:43
Hi Lee-Anne,

Both my children where at least 8 months old before they really started showing much interest in solids. So up till then i still offered the baby rice cereal, mashed vegies etc, but they never really took much.

As long as they are a healthy weight, I wouldn't worry just yet!

Good luck!

Catherine

StormAngel
27-02-2005, 15:56
hi
I agree with caterine, as long as the weight gain is steady i wouldn't worry to much, just try again every so often

willsmum
28-02-2005, 09:10
This may sound obvious, and if you've already tried it I apologise, but how about trying just a tiny bit of solid food mixed with their usual formula/breast milk? That way the taste is only a bit strange and you can gradually add more flavours as you go. And if yiou find something she likes, use it as your base and add other things to it. We had pear and potato, pear and carrot, pear and corn......

Ivy-Rose
28-02-2005, 10:58
My little Ivy-Rose is exactly the same. She had a few days were she ate a few spoon fulls then she refused anything, then she would eat a little. She is 6 1/2 mths and I'm not worried. She isn't hungry for food yet. Feeding a bub food at this age is simply to introduce it is as a rule a neccesity. Some bubs don't start eating till much later. The health nurse at the local centre should be able to put your mibd at ease. They like to know that bub has around on emeal a day around 9 mths of age. So you have heaps of time. And like the others say if they are happy healthy and the expected general weight for their age don't worry to much. Keep offering and one day she will just start eating for you. The only other thing that I was told which I don't really agree with in my case is that bub is drinking to many feeds so there for is full and won't eat. It could be the reason in some cases but not mine. Just go with the flow and your gut instincts.
Emma

GeorginasMum
10-03-2005, 08:43
Hi Lee-Anne,

Both my children where at least 8 months old before they really started showing much interest in solids. So up till then i still offered the baby rice cereal, mashed vegies etc, but they never really took much.

As long as they are a healthy weight, I wouldn't worry just yet!

Good luck!

Catherine

Thanks for your help! I have decided that she doesn't really like the pureed food in her mouth and is happy eating little pieces instead, so I guess we will continue on like this until she changes her mind! :) :) :)