View Full Version : Going through the terrible 2's

Sarie
09-12-2005, 10:35
I thought I'd get going on this thread. It's not only for two year olds, if you have older kiddies being rat bags come and join us!

We've already had a drama with this morning. I had to put Nathan in the bath and he ended up with about 2 inches of water all over the bathroom floor! I'm surprised there was any left in the bath.

jasminesmum
09-12-2005, 10:50
Just think of how clean your floor will now be. :D

My boys are sooooo good this morning. (they are at their nanas) :p

Supermum
09-12-2005, 10:52
Hi there Sarie

I've made a number of posts on this very subject over the last few months.

I have one toddler at the beginning of the phase and one at the end (please please please let him be at the end of it :o ) so I know what it's like.

I used to make comparisons about their temperament ... now I just make comparisons about their tempers! :eek:

Count me in Sarie.

Sarie
09-12-2005, 10:56
Yeah Michelle, it's sparkling now :p :D
Supermum I'm sure PJ will be just as bad if not worse, he has attitude already and he's only 8.5mnths.
He was also nicely asleep and I just put Nathan in their room for a nap too and he got in the cot and woke PJ up, not happy!
Looks like Nathan will be sleeping in the hallway in the playpen on his pooh bear couch.

Sarie
12-12-2005, 13:13
Supermum, I don't envy you at all!
Though it would be nice if Nat was getting to the end of the phase. I've ended up in tears most days as he's being a right little toad.
Though I think PJ will be worse, he's nearly 9 months old and he's already got the tantrum thing down pat. Lie on the floor on his belly and scream!
I think too, I used to take them for walks every day, but it's getting so hot so early we haven't been going.

Supermum
12-12-2005, 13:28
I used to take them for walks every day, but it's getting so hot so early we haven't been going.
Now that statement rang true for me! If DS doesn't get a run he's a nightmare. Some children have incredibly high energy levels and they need to burn it off. If they don't burn it off it manifests itself in some horrid ways. You sound like you've got two high energy kids. Hard work I know but the rewards are awesome.

I have no advice for you apart from:

Be consistent
Keep them busy
Don't get involved in their arguments
Ignore tantums
Be on the lookout for nice behaviour and acknowledge it ...

Remember Sarie - you're the mum :)

Good luck! If you get pushed to the point where you are in tears again, send me a PM - I'VE BEEN THERE!

Sarie
12-12-2005, 13:38
Thanks, I will probably do that. You're advice is great, and even though you'd probably think its common sense there are days when my brain just doesn't click into grear.
We bought a pool for the back yard yesterday, though DH just has to get off his bum and put some shade up for us so it's not so hot out there.

12-12-2005, 13:45
I am definitely in on this one mate! Good idea for starting it up!

Sarah already knows our dramas, but for you who don't, i will tell you.

The last few night Mac has been up for a couple of hours screaming the house down cos i won' let her sleep with me. I'm not giving in on this one as it will go on forever....she slept on the floor at her door last night out of exhaustion....that sounds nasty, but its better than me screaming abck at her to get into her bed and stay there. I've had to put bubs in bed with me because she goes to her cot in the darkl and wakes her....

She aslo has started throwing things like her chairs and little table when she doesn't get her own way, and yelling 'NOOOOO' at the top of her lungs at me. She kickes the walls and stuff, and hits, and is generally a little s***head!

She continually doesn't listen to me, and will do something again, straight after i have told her not too, no matter what i do she doesn't listen! I've been in tears most days oo, as DH works away, and i have no help. When he is at home, she's fine as she's outside with him all day and is generally 'Daddy's little Angel'! I'm sure he doesn't believe me that she can be so horrid....

I am at my wits end as to what to do, as i have had enough.....Now i know i can get on here and have my whinge! Even if no one listens its good to get it off your chest!

Thanks for letting me rant guys! :D

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:05
Rant away honey!!!
Did Mac end up having a sleep?

12-12-2005, 14:06
She's just crashed now on her couch in the nuddy! Charlee's gone back down too, so i'm having a peaceful cruise of the hub!

Elfin
12-12-2005, 14:16
I know I have gone on about this in other threads but try cutting out 282 (if you haven't already done so) which is in some breads, crumpets, english muffins and refridgerated pasta. It made a huge different in 2yo daughter. It really toned her tantrums and aggression. Worth a try.

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:17
Yeah thanksI saw that post and it's something I've been keeping an eye out for!

12-12-2005, 14:20
Will try that. I have actually thought before that maybe it was something food related that was making her worse? She doesn't really eat any of those but bread, but i will keep an eye out definitely, thanks....

12-12-2005, 14:23
Just read the other thread on evil children and realised that this thread is for boys...I'll be going then...Harumph!

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:24
Nope, not just boys lovey!!! Evil girls too ;) ;)

12-12-2005, 14:25
Only joshin'!!! :D

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:28
yeah you would :p

sopolicha
12-12-2005, 14:29
Not evil just revolting.

I love my boy to bits he will be three in January, but he is foul. Today he is outside playing and I am inside on the phone (just for something different). He takes his pants off, wees into a bucket and then pours it into his little pool. Why?

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:31
Nice, Nathan peed on the high chair table last week. He tried throwing grass clippings in the pool this morning (thank god for the cover) and this arvo he had and accident on the back deck, did a poo - tried to clean it up and managed to smush it between the floor boards, nice :eek:
Does it ever stop!! I want my angel back!

jasminesmum
12-12-2005, 14:38
There is a really good book out about how food affects your childs behaviour.

It is called "Fed Up", by Sue Dengate.

It really makes sense when you read it and definately worth trying.
I know that the library here has it.Or if Shannon or Sarah want to borrow it off me feel free as I bought one for myself.

But I really don't need it as both my boys have halos above their heads. ;)

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:45
Thanks Michelle, that would be great!!
Just to let you and Shannon know I've sent both of you a PM

sopolicha
12-12-2005, 14:52
Oh don't start me about poo.

Yesterday the boy got sent to his room while we ate lunch, "Ollie go play in your room for a while" He had been up since 5 o'clock and it was time for a bit of a spell for mum and dad.

He is in his room nude (another couple of stories) playing with his toys and his door and the wedge that keeps his door open. The door is shut and he has the wedge behind the door so you can't open the door. I can hear him in his room yelling I have pooed in my cupboard.

He has been caught short in his room, couldn't get the door open in time and had two big poos on the carpet. BUT the worst part about it is when I opened the door I ran the door over one of the poos :eek: It ain't easy cleaning poo from under a door.

Sarie
12-12-2005, 14:57
oh yuck, that's awful!! :eek:

Elfin
12-12-2005, 15:02
This is Sue Dengate's website for anyone interested. She has loads of great information here http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/

12-12-2005, 15:20
Thanks Michelle, I wouldn't mind reading it too after Sarah does....

And thanks for the link Easterlily, i'll check it out in detail later!

Sarie
12-12-2005, 20:12
I have never been more embarressed in my life.
This arvo I left PJ with Wade and took Nathan to the shops with me for some one on one time. He was quite happy and being quite well behaved till we got into the isle with his 'rabbit' (nesquick - he asks for cold milk and rabbit) then he ran away from me. He ran around the one isle 4 times before I managed to catch him then he threw a whoppa tanty in the middle of the isle. He screamed all the way home - probably wouldn't have been so bad except we only live a short walk from the shops and Wade could hear him screaming from half way down the street.
I was half expecting to be pulled up by the police for mistreating my child.
I was so embarressed.
Needless to say no pool time for him this arvo!!

Peaceangels
12-12-2005, 20:30
Sarie - thanks for starting this thread, I wasn't sure whether to start one for boys only as I didn't want to leave anyone out (but it seems the "evil" is more about boys here on this thread anyway!)................

What is it with boys and poo? My DS1 loves being in the backyard naked and squats all over the place just like the dog to do poo.

The other day he sqauted on the retaining wall with his bum hanging over into the garden :eek:

After he has done it he says "look mum, just like harley" (Harley is our dog).......

We are trying to toilet train him, but it comes more naturally to him outside rather than inside :confused:

When I remind him to go on the potty (45mins - 1hour after the last wee) he gets really upset and won't go, then 5mins later he's had an accident - any advice ??

12-12-2005, 20:38
My god Sarah, that sounds SO much like Mac its not funny! And you look like an idiot (well, you might not, but i do! :rolleyes: ) trying to run after this little monster who is just so quick. That is why i bought that harness! Not that i've actually USED it yet! Will try next week though, I have it in the car ready....You migh hear Me & Mac from the next street! LOL

Sarie
12-12-2005, 20:39
Nathan grew out of his potty so quickly that we had to get a seat on the toilet. We also made him a 'pee step' because he couldn't reach to stand up to pee. When we first started putting him on the toilet he would do a pee and want to use the paper (we got the sorbent kids one with the pictures on it) but we told him he couldn't use the paper till he did a poo.
He'd come in and watch us when we did one (sorry TMI) and then we'd let him flush it away. That was another big one - no poo no flush!
Some kids are worried about the toilet, so we made it a big game.
He will get there though, they seem to do it in their own time (like most things really :rolleyes: ), The other thing I'd do too - is he in training pants or undies? If Nat had an accident (mind you most of the time he's a nudie) I'd always put it in the toilet so he got the idea about where he needed to do it. We also talk about it a lot.
Nat still wears a nappy to bed at night, but most nights he's usually dry.
Any help? I probably just confused you more?! :confused:

Sarie
12-12-2005, 20:40
Wade could hear us from the pool. How embarressing?? What is your daughter doing to my boy?? ;)
It's scary how similar they are isn't it?!

Peaceangels
12-12-2005, 20:44
Thanks for your advice Sarie (every little bit counts!).

How long do you let the accidents to continue to happen? (we went straight to jocks, cause everyone here said pull ups were too much like nappies).

He prefers the potty to the step-seat for the toilet :confused:

Sarie
12-12-2005, 20:50
We don't have them very often at all. He had one on Saturday, he was trying to get his seat on the toilet and it got stuck and he did it on the floor. But I'd say he was cutting it that fine that it just came out while he was trying to fix his seat up. Then we had the back patio incident today. But they're the first accidents he's had in quite awhile.
We didn't use pull ups for the same reason either. Infact if it's just us at home, Nat only has a shirt on. Then he doesn't have to worry about trying to get his pants off if he's in a hurry.
That's probably another big thing letting him go without anything on the bottom. But yeah wearing undies instead of pull ups at least they can feel how uncomfortable it is if they pee.
I'd say we'll start going with out a nappy at night over Christmas while DH is off work, so it's not so hard having sleepless nights.

Sarie
12-12-2005, 20:51
For Nat to poo on the toilet happily we had to make sure he had something to put his feet on, just so he didn't feel like he was going to fall.
Gosh I'm all over the place tonight :o

13-12-2005, 08:51
You're always all over the place! hehehehe Just jokin....

My daughter corrupting your son....NEVER! ;) They do seem to have gotten worse since meeting each other though haven't they? Or is that just me? :confused:

Mac's also dry at night most of the time, so i'm gonna start tryiong her with no nappy at night as well....no help with the sleepless nights though...

Trev's gone back to work today, so i'm alone until the end of the week again. Lucky me....

And she slept through last night like i said she would while Trev was home....typical! It was Charlee who had me up about 10 times in 1 1/2 hours...I had to feed her at 12pm, just to get her to go back to sleep and then she still wouldn't drift off. How does a baby go from sleeping through til 4 am for a feed, then 6am, now back to about 1am!!! It driving me nuts!

Anyhow, wrong section to put that in, sorry....

Jeez, looks like it'll be a race to get to 1000 posts for you & me.....you've overtaken me!

Sarie
13-12-2005, 09:21
I know, I can't get away from here at the moment ;)
Yeah I thought the two of them had gotten worse. Maybe it's that they're so similar in age they're at the same stage? And I think they're terrors when they get together, because they're so excited to see each other.
Wade managed to get the tarp up over the poo last night (I think we're going to get one of those shelters when we go to Bris next) so at least I can take him down there during the day and he can go stupid in the pool and wear himself out.
We went for a walk up to coles when Wade left for work thismorning, and it was quite a pleasant trip, we sang the whole way and he's happily watching play school and eating a sandwhich at the moment.
A huge change from yesterday, thank goodness cause I've got a bad dose of PMS today :eek: watchout!!!
Typical that Mackenzie slept so well last night. I guess at least she had a good sleep, so she may be a bit more reasonable today?? Maybe.
As for Charlie, little rat ;) I love how they just get into a routine then go haha and completely change again!!
PJ is only wanting bottles again today, I hope his teeth come through soon. Poor little guy!

13-12-2005, 09:59
Yeah, one of those shade gazebo things like ours would be a good idea! They're only cheap too most of the time.

Charlee's gone back down now, Mac's sitting watching the Wiggles and eating some rice crackers (her fave at the moment). Ahhh....quiet.....Apart from the incessant cheerfulness of the wiggles in the background! Ugh!

Will probably sit on here until the baby bird needs feeding again....he's doing really well, and this kitten of yours never stops eating! LOL

Sarie
13-12-2005, 11:08
I don't know why I keep spelling Charlee with an ie...
We're still having a fairly good day. We went down stairs while PJ had a sleep, played in the garden and then Nat had a play in the pool. He'd watching The Incredibles (thanks Michelle!! :D ) at the moment, then he'll be having a sleep.
Fingers crossed for the rest of the day!!
Poor PJ isn't too happy though, very grumpy and doesn't want solids at all. I wish these teeth would be a bit more forgiving!

13-12-2005, 11:32
Poor PJ.....surely they've gotta come through soon!

I actually didn't notice that you spelt Charlee differently...shows how much attention i pay to your posts! LOL ;)

Mac is watching whatever 's on ABC, which is some little bunnies or mice or something, and Charlee is STILL asleep! Woohoo!! I should probably be doing something constructive with my 'free' time....can't be bothered though, its too hot.....

Sarie
13-12-2005, 11:38
It's all quiet in Nat's room, I'll go and check on him soon to make sure he's asleep, cause PJ is wanting to go back to bed. He's happily sucking on his rubber duck at the moment.
It's amazing we didn't even have the usual lunch time sleep carry on today. He went in had a little whinge cause I closed the door, but seemed to go straight off.
I told Wade today that the next time we go to his mums if she tries to feed the kids rubbish the whole time he has to tell her to stop, or we won't go up there.
I'm sick of it.
And I started reading that book that Michelle gave me. It has some stuff on Chronic Fatigue Syndrome as well, which I was diagnosed with at 14, very interesting...,

13-12-2005, 11:54
Cool, should be a good read.....I haven't checked out her website properly yet, but i will....

Mac keeps saying she's 'F***** tired', and i have soooo stopped saying that word near her, she's still going on with it! She'll probably go down soon too i think, i'll have to get off here and make her some lunch, and feed the bird who i nearly forget all the time!

Sarie
13-12-2005, 11:59
Finally got Nathan to stop saying 'bloody toes' when he puts his pants on, we told him it was a mummy and daddy word and he could say 'jolly toes'
I was on the phone to my mum the other day and I called PJ a rat bag. Nat told me not to call him that to call him Jolly PJ :p

13-12-2005, 13:10
The things they say huh? Off the topic a bit, but Mac is always saying 'sowwy' for things she didn't do, like if YOU bump into HER, and we always say 'its not your fault'. So, the other day i accidentally knocked her blackboard over while she was drawing on it, and i said 'ooh, sorry bub', & she said 'thats ok, its not your falut mum'! So cute! If only i could get her to stop copying everything else i say though!

Sarie
13-12-2005, 13:39
If only they could be cute all the time hey?!

13-12-2005, 13:53
God i wish, it'd make our lives soooo much bloody easier! lol

Sarie
13-12-2005, 13:54
I reckon, though Nat's had a bit of a personality change today. Maybe it was the walk and swim this morning. I must try it again tomorrow see if it's the same

13-12-2005, 21:43
Could be it! I'm gonna take this list of food additives off Sue Dengate's website with me when i go shopping next, and see if they're in alot of the things Mac eats, i think it could be a big part of the problem.....

Plus little sis has come along of course, thats probably the other half.....

Sarie
14-12-2005, 10:48
Well we're having another good day today. Though I'm completely exhausted. We took Nat for a walk again last night and he came home and went to bed. He woke up once in the night with a cramp in his foot, but he was quite happy for me to rub it out and he stayed in his own bed instead of coming into ours.
We went out again this morning came home, got PJ into bed then he went down stairs for a play in the pool. He's just finished his lunch and is watching The Wild Thornberrys so I think he'll be off for a sleep soon!!
I've got him eating better, though I don't know if I could stick to the diet in the book. There are a few good hints in there, but also some stuff I don't agree with... as with everything. And besides I love tomatos and there's no way I could cut that out of our diet!!!
See how he goes with what we're doing. I think he was bored...

I think you're right about the little sis/bro thing. I think about when he started acting up and it was just before PJ was born.

14-12-2005, 10:53
I think i may go get a bigger pool today, so i can jump in with the girls, and plus for christmas, so my sis's can get in too. Bugger Trev's bloody grass! He doesn't have to stay home with 2 kids in this shocking weather! Hmph, so there! :D

Even if i have to use the concrete entertaning area, i'll do it.....

Sarie
14-12-2005, 10:58
We got ours from Kmart Plaza in Toowoomba and it was $99 (we got it as our family Chrissy pressie) it had a cover and little filter included. It's the same as Michelles but a bit smaller. Nat loves it and it's enough for all of us to get in. We could probably fit four adults comfortably, 6 at a squish.

jasminesmum
14-12-2005, 11:01
There are a few things that I didn't agree with in that book too.
Especially cutting out fruit. At least its something healthy that my kids will eat.

There is a K-mart catalogue coming out tomorrow that has the pool that Sarah got on special.Don't you hate that Sarah, they should tell you if you buy it a couple of days before the sale. :( But its good for you Shannon.

Sarie
14-12-2005, 11:13
What a bugger, that sucks!!

14-12-2005, 11:42
I'll have to check that out! I don't want anything too big, as i'm the one who's gotta clean it and stuff, just big enough for us all to sit in i guess....

Sarie
14-12-2005, 12:30
Us a bit of Chlorine every day then if you get leaves or anything in it, if you can't scoop them all out , make a whirl pool, let it settle and drain the scum out... easy! ;)

14-12-2005, 13:16
Read my thread on Vaseline....in the friends chat section.....The good behaviour stopped there...... :mad:

Sarie
14-12-2005, 13:17
I just did, you poor thing!

14-12-2005, 14:43
Ahhh....finally some peace & quiet! Well...from one of them anyhow.

Mac has finally drifted off in the lounge room, and Charlee is gabbling away in a sing song voice on the floor, she's been happy for ages now....its odd!

I should be doing something useful i suppose, though after my run in with the vaseline, i don't really feel like cleaning any more! Wonder why? :rolleyes:

Sarie
14-12-2005, 15:33
Damn it all.
Just when my kid is behaving I have the neighbour's kid come over and she is so rough. He's being a rat too.
I'm going to have to spend the next six weeks finding excuses why they can't play together :(

14-12-2005, 15:39
Hehehe...good luck. Maybe you might just have to tell the parents that she's a bit rough for him? You are entiltled to your privacy too you know....even though it seems mean.... :o

Sarie
14-12-2005, 15:42
She's a bit like Wade's neice - though you didin't get the pleasure of meeting her, Michelle did. She's turning 8 next year and she's a bit of a tomboy.
She's a lot bigger than him and while it's great that he's distracted and playing with someone new, I'd rather he be playing with younger kids at a similar level to him.
Does that sound silly?? :confused:

14-12-2005, 15:51
Nope, i understand what you mean.....i really DO need to move near you! LOL

Sarie
14-12-2005, 15:59
yes!!!
Then the three of us can hang out like dags in the new shops ;)

14-12-2005, 16:20
Hehehe, if only petrol wasn't so bad, i'd be down there heaps more, you couldn't get rid of me! LOL

Sarie
14-12-2005, 16:22
or if only I weren't so lazy. I promise in the new year I am going to come and visit you!

14-12-2005, 16:30
I WILL hold you to that!

Sarie
16-12-2005, 07:49
I'm sure you will ;)

Sarie
12-01-2006, 11:09
Well my little devil has turned into a little angel over the last 3 days. He's done what he's told, come when he's been called. Given me plenty of kisses and cuddles.
He's back to the good little boy he used to be, though I know it probably won't last, but we're praising him like crazy when he does the right thing.
Crossing my fingers that my wonderful little boy is nearly back to normal!!

12-01-2006, 11:46
Well lucky bl***y you! Maybe he think somethings up? Ie...preggers? LOL

Sarie
12-01-2006, 11:55
I think it has something to do with on Monday he was being a right little poo. I told him to sit on the mat and stop being naughty and he threw the biggenst tantrum so we put him in the stroller and made him face the corner so he couldn't see anything or anyone.
He's been really good ever since...

12-01-2006, 12:24
I shall have to try that one. though Miss Mighty Mac would probably scream the house down til i let her out. :rolleyes: She just doesn't give up like alot of kids do.....

Sarie
12-01-2006, 12:31
It took him 2 hours. I was just at that point where I realised that I had to do something and no matter how much he carried on he needed to do what I was telling him... it was hard, but it worked.

SMBT
13-01-2006, 12:29
Must be something in the water! yesterday was my worst worst worst ever day with Bailey. We had friends over and he started showing off. He then hit his little friend with a truck, pushed our fisherprice learning home on top of him, which hit his mouth and threw car keys at his head. OMG! I screamed the loudest I have ever screamed in my whole entire life and put him in his bedroom for 15 minutes (which I know is completely not right, but I was going to kill him).:eek:

Today he is the most angelic little creature on the planet. Has done everything asked of him, gone shopping and stayed by my side the whole time, helped make lunch, read stories and feed his little sister. PLEASE let this last!:)

Sarie
13-01-2006, 13:40
I hear you Melissa!!!