View Full Version : Hey CC people!
LilShenanigans
12-03-2007, 02:44
Just note, I did a post about Wollongong, but now also looking at CC area and needing advice.
...Well, I am moving, where to? Dunno. :D
Need advice on suburbs/areas on the Central Coast that are suitable to live.
Have decided will take a drive up this coming weekend for a looksie around and would appreciate some "insiders" tips from people in my boat (mothers!) :p
Whats good up there?? Let me know... Cheers, Thanks and see ya soon? :)
ilovechocolate
12-03-2007, 10:55
Hi, we recently moved down here from Newcastle so not too far away.
I like being closer to Sydney, love all the beautiful beaches all spotted around the place, great shopping, great people, great places to take the kids, really great parks and lakes.
I live in Wyong but there are so many nice places, we went to Ettalong markets and for a swim at Ettalong beach Sunday and it was stunning.
I suggest just coming down and taking a look. On a map mark places that you want to check out so you don't leave anything out and then come back later to the places you liked before you make a decision.
MrsTwith3
12-03-2007, 11:00
Hi Erin,
Are you looking at renting or buying? That might be a deciding factor as to which part of the coast you move to. Ive lived on the northern part of the coast for most part of my life. I did live in the southern part for a few years around Umina, Woy Woy, kariong but it is nowhere near as nice and family friendly as the northern end.
Budgewoi, Buff Point etc are all nice areas with plenty of places near by for shopping and beaches and parks for leisure.
All the best with the move wherever you decide to go.
BlueEyedGirl
12-03-2007, 14:06
Have you checked out the real estate websites??
They can give you an indication of what is within distance of the property (i.e. hospitals, shops, schools etc) [am I making any sense??:o ]
CC is definately the best place:thumbsup: Lived here for all of my 22 years!
LilShenanigans
13-03-2007, 02:27
lol so basically, tis all good?
Little comforted by that... there's more nice places up there I'm interested in (have sent off over 30 emails tonight) then anywhere else I've looked.
....So, who organises the meets for when I arrive? lmao
We'll see hey, I've got a month or so before I decide and move...
MrsTwith3
14-03-2007, 10:47
Goodluck with the finding somewhere and then the big move:thumbsup:
lol so basically, tis all good?
Def not!!! There are some places that I would def avoid!!!! Generally the CC is a great place to live (I have lived here my whole life) but there are some places that I would not go anywhere near!!!!!
I'm not going to post the suburbs on here though incase I offend anyone ;)
bubbles & peanut
16-03-2007, 09:35
I live at Umina Beach, and honestly, I HATE it.
There are too many hoons around here. The beach is nice though - down one end of the beach is 'kiddies corner' - the water is still and not deep at all. Perfect for the kids.
We lived at Ettalong Beach for a while too. That wasn't bad. It has that small country town feel about it, but has everything you need.
bubblesox
16-03-2007, 17:21
I live Terrigal/Erina area and LOVE IT!
I disagree with a PP that the south of the CC isn't as friendly. I have made HEAPS of friends here and have found everyone (ie playgroups, daycare, shops etc) to be very warm and friendly.
I like it here as it's closer to Sydney with lovely beaches, great parks, play centres, restaurants etc (though also have those further up of course), great shops etc.
I have no experience of living further up but have friends there so know it a little but can't advise on the good/bad areas, sorry.
Happy house hunting and welcome to the CC!
LilShenanigans
20-03-2007, 01:51
Cheers guys for all your help...
I've started looking at more populated areas, but not like Gosford. I kind of really dislike Gosford right now lol
Pretty much from Terrigal/Erina to The Entrance -I can actually picture the locations inbetween... thats kind of freaky lol
Just wondering though, if anyone can answer... what do you reckon is the general rental price of these areas??
I am looking below 220, but there are some fab places for 220 (currently paying) but I guess Im more asking, is it possible to find fab for less so I can actually save? lol
Sorry to ramble... Im heading back up this week :D
20-03-2007, 05:57
Sorry I didnt see this before. We are at Kanwal & its a great area. Close to Tuggerah & Lake Haven, good public school from what i've heard & right near Wyong hospital. We are renting a really nice 3br brick home with single garage, timber floors throughout, air-con & nice yard for $210 a week :thumbsup:
Let me know when your coming up, it would be great to meet you :yes:
LilShenanigans
29-03-2007, 00:05
Hello again nice loverly helpful people lol
After my last couple of trips up, I've started a vague list. (mind you my last visit was cr@p because I stuffed up.. long story, kind of laughing about it now lol).
I've noticed I can see a few really good places, and then I'll ask something simple... - like my sister asked where Maccas was (typical! lol) and we were given directions... which made us drive around in circles and eventually give up lol
Here's my working list... (some of you have already mentioned such places, and I have taken note :D )
Nice neighbourhood.
Close to supermarket.
Close to schools.
Close to shopping centres.
Easy for family to drive to (hehe).
Safe/Friendly area.
Close to parks.
Close to good childcare.
Available work offers/options.
...That's all I have right now. I'm kind of adament on the shopping centre and supermarket thing. Most I would want to drive to get groceries is about 20minutes... Ice-cream tends to melt:p
And for a relaxing shop I don't really want to battle it out with the pensioners on single lane roads :devil6:
lol It's all getting more serious now! I have a few areas in mind, so if any of your answers match up... that'll be my new home! lol
Bugger me, sorry to ramble. could be nervous also :yes:
[quote=bubblesox;1225460]Hi
I live Terrigal/Erina area and LOVE IT!
i live in terrigal born and bred its a great spot great beach close to shops awsome people(like me lol) Also heaps of great spots 4 kids xxx
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Ashleigh<3
29-03-2007, 02:53
Kanwal & Woongarrah are right next to eachother, as well as Lake Haven.
Five minute drive for me.
It's a great place to live, most of the houses in Kanwal were built over the past ten years so they're fairly new and in decent condition.
Woongarrah has homes for rent that have just been built, mine is about 5 years old.
As for the location, 10 minutes from a brand new renovated Westfield and Tuggerah which is the biggest on the Coast, Erina's is 30-40 minute drive. There seem to be a lot of childcare centres, I can't say I've looked though. There is and Aldi at both stores. As for Lake Haven, Coles, Woolies, Kmart, newsangents, hair salons, pharmacies, fast food stores, cafe's, etc. It really has everything.
As for fast food:(Probably not a good thing, it comes in handy though).
Chinese, KFC, Mcdonalds, AliKebab, Red rooster, pizza hut, dominos, eagle boys, Subway.. etc.
There are about 5 schools in the area, Kanwal Primary, Gorrikan primary, there is a Catholic/Christian school down the road from me that is years K-12. Wadalba is K-12 too.
We are a ten minute drive to the beach, and some of the most gorgeous beaches I do say so myself! Such as Norah head, JD's beach, Soldiers, The Entrance.
I'm sure there are a lot of work opportunities, I'm just not looking, I'm a SAHM. A lot of jobs available in Gosford, Tugerrah, Erina, which a lot of people commute for. You could always pm me what line of work and I can do my very best to send you links. :)
I don't like the Wyong area, right near the station, but they have just put a brand new 5 star estate behind the backroads and that is gorgeous! Bluehaven is nice.
As for Gosford, there seem to be a lot of drug rehabilitation units in the city, not to say the druggies are getting help, their usually roaming, asking for money, or doing drugs in the public toilets. etc.
I went to a school in Gosford so I know what the city part is like and I'm not to fond of it.
Other areas that are nice are North Gosford, West, East, Narrara, Lisarow, Ourimbah, The Entrance, there are some nice homes going in Woy woy, Erina...
Come to think of it, there are a lot of nice places.
I've always been told to avoid San remo, I had no idea why untill on more then one occasion the news was turned on and a murder had taken placing. :s
29-03-2007, 05:48
Everything Ash said :yes: I'm at Kanwal & yes there are local shops here too like a butcher, bakery Fruit & veg etc. Atleast 2 childcare centres right near Kanwal shops, then more at within 10min drive.
LilShenanigans
29-03-2007, 08:45
Aww Ash you are fantastic! lol
Couple more Qs lol...
I was warned off Blue Haven, but when I drove past it looked like new estate areas? I think this is actually where I was near (Charmhaven) and we couldn't find a maccas lol ... it's a good thing for me, but my sister lives off the stuff :p
I was looking at places in Gorrokan, and my sister said "they all look like housing commission", which is a turn off for me because where I grew up seemed to be like this :confused: ??
Also saw a couple of places I liked at Ourimbah (online), but it looks like it's way out west? How far is it away?
And don't worry, not even contemplating Gosford! lol I'm not "Fond" of it either... in anyway shape or form :p
Although did forget you guys have Eagle Boys... Mmm the best damn pizza in Australia!!
BlueEyedGirl
29-03-2007, 08:53
I was warned off Blue Haven, but when I drove past it looked like new estate areas? I think this is actually where I was near (Charmhaven) and we couldn't find a maccas lol ... it's a good thing for me, but my sister lives off the stuff :p
My sister and her BF have just moved from Blue Haven to Gorokan.
Blue Haven has some nice houses, but also has "hooligans" - they set a bus for the disabled on fire a couple of weeks ago:shame:
LilShenanigans
29-03-2007, 08:57
Ouch!
thewoolsta
23-04-2007, 13:33
Hi mum4one
Have you moved yet?
I grew up at Terrigal and moved to Bateau Bay.
I love it here,its handy to everything,and its better than Terrigal becos when you go to your own beach you can actually get a park!Plus its cheaper,
let me know if you move here and we can hook up if you want
woolsta:)
BlueEyedGirl
22-05-2007, 10:28
Did you find anywhere good??
Are you becoming a coastie??
You will definitely have to come to our next meet if you are!!!
Nates_Mumma
23-05-2007, 18:06
The Davistown/Saratoga/Kincumber area is a fantastic place to live.... Davistown and Saratoga are a very quiet area to live... Plenty of water... 10 minutes drive to Erina Fair...
Good schools there.... great community!
Moved back to Tamworth about 4 yrs ago - Fiance grew up there - and loved it!