View Full Version : Show us your nursery!
nicoleE
09-03-2007, 10:32 AM
Ok... its probably way early but hey we couldnt wait to get the nursery started... even just a little bit!
Do you have anything organised? Bought anything yet? I guess for those who already have a child or two you may already have most things.
I have created a photo album of our nursery and will update it when needed... not much now, just some small things I couldnt help buying! http://au.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/cashewnut1/album?.dir=164escd&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//au.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/cashewnut1/my_photos
If you have not guessed from the photos we will be having a Winnie the Pooh theme (Disney version, not Classic). We bought a continuous scene wall border from the US which is 10' of unrepeaded sceanes so cant wait to put that up! (although not looking forward to actually pasting it on the wall straight!)
We will probably get a Boori Ranch cot and change table (in Walnut) and I need some other sort of set of draws as i want to set up some Ipod speakers so I can play music in the room. I also have the cutest PartyLite 'Toy Shoppe' figure which you put tea lights in and the windows light up... it is so well made with lots of detail! Have not lit it yet, will wait until the room is set up.
I have a draw that is getting crowded with free samples which I hope to fill further after we go to the pregnancy expo on next weekend! :D I love freebies!
I LOVE looking at others' nurseries (there was a big thread in the house and gardens section) and reading up on what others are doing....
Any one else a bit eager and have alread started??? :p
Pebbles
09-03-2007, 10:45 AM
Oh Nicole, that is so cute!
I havent really started setting up yet, I want to wait until 12 weeks. I know that sounds a bit negative but I am still terrified after what happened to me in Jan.
I still have some stuff from when DS was a baby, it has been in the wardrobe waiting since we moved to this house but sometimes it is so sad to look in there since it took us so much longer to conceive than we thought it would!
I will take some photos some time today and post them in this Thread.
I have to say I am REALLY looking forward to Winter so I can finish crocheting the baby blanket that I started years ago! Now I have a reason to finish it and I cant wait!
you've got quite a bit there Nicole, love the theme
i'm going to wait till we find out bubs sex before we do a theme, and we won't be setting up the nursery untill after August, cause we will be shifting then, I should be 6mth then, will have brought quite a bit by then though but it will be all stored away ready to be put into a new room
we don't have much baby stuff here, even though DS is only comming up 3, we sold and gave away all the stuff when we shifted, so it will be like starting all over again
can't wait till we shift and i can set up bubs room :smiliedance:
sun1305
10-03-2007, 02:49 PM
Hey Nicole,
Love your theme !! not sure what we're doing yet. We're going to wait until we find out the sex and then decide but I'd quite like to have a noahs ark theme with all the animals etc. I'm heading to the baby expo in Adelaide on Friday so hopefully I'll get some ideas then !
sun
nicoleE
18-06-2007, 04:29 PM
Well Ive dragged up this old thread to post photos of our nursery!
I spent Saturday painting 2 walls pink (DH hates painting and I love it!) and we went and picked up all the goodies we ordered at 12 weeks! :p
Pictures here.... it still needs the finishing touches but you get the idea.
We are still having Pooh but are not using the wall border I ordered from the US :rolleyes: (thats now going on ebay!) We will get some Pooh Stickarounds which have little flowers and butterflies incorporated in them to make it more girly.
Im so happy! :smiliedance:
Nursery Pics:
http://pic6.piczo.com/Cashew-Nut/?g=42689701
Mammy
18-06-2007, 04:56 PM
Nicole, your furniture is gorgeous! I love Boori!
I havent got the nursery organised yet, just have a cot which ill try and upload a pic of later.
Were renting at the moment so cant be too creative unfortunately...
oh yay :smiliedance: I love seeing others Nursary's :smiliedance:
i'll be setting up bubs room sometime from Aug onwards, have to find a house to live in yet lol, and then i'll start the shopping lol
looking forward to seeing everyone elses pics
kitty1kat
18-06-2007, 07:52 PM
NicoleE - you've done a gorgeous job!
I've picked all my furniture and stuff, but am still looking for inspiration for decorations etc. Does anyone know of magazines, websites etc that show gorgeous examples of rooms?
I have one I love from InsideOut, but I thought maybe Vogue Living or something would have had a special on babies rooms, but I can't find anything online. Maybe I should check out the library, but I really want some modern examples, as our house is pretty modern and simple (all white)....
Have you tried Googling Kittykat?
there are heaps of examples on the net you can look at to give you some ideas :yes:
zenifa
21-06-2007, 09:08 PM
Nicole you have done a great job already. We have a Sunbury Sleigh cot, which looks very similar to the Boori Sleigh cot, in the dark wood like your furniture. We put a change mat on the top of the chest of drawers, instead of getting a separate change table and I used the top drawer to store nappies, liners, wipes, creams etc. Will try to get more technical and put pictures up.
SpaghettiMummy
29-06-2007, 07:12 PM
I have been inspired... Seeing as we want to buy our first home next year I keep an eye out for inspiration for kids rooms and I have to say this one is amazing! It's a girls room from Better homes and gardens america but I love the theme which is the 12 gifts of birth and has the following passage on the wall.
"At the wondrous moment you were born, as you took your first breath a great celebration was held in the heavens and twelve magnificent gifts were bestowed upon you."
The 12 gifts are named in the book shelf but I'll list them for you as I had to look them up.
"The gifts of strength, beauty, courage, compassion, hope, joy, talent, imagination, reverence, wisdom, love and faith."
see here (http://www.bhg.com/bhg/story.jsp?storyid=/templatedata/bhg/story/data/1159906813745.xml&categoryid=/templatedata/bhg/category/data/DecoratingKidsSpaces_BabyRooms.xml&resultsType=&page=1) for this wonderful room-the theme is called "The most precious gift baby nursery"
jolennie
01-07-2007, 12:40 PM
HI Everyone,
I had a bit of a giggle, because I hadn't read posts for a while, and wondered if everyone was doing/feeling the same things I am. AND YOU ARE!!!
We finished the nursery over a month ago, as soon as we found out we were having a girl! It's a really pretty pale mint/green colour, with an Australian native animal theme. We have a cot set with frogs and dragonflies, and a mobile of felt australian birds, as well as a little koala, wombat and kangaroo. We bought a Boori cot and change table too; the one that converts to a toddler bed later.It's a light colour, not too sure of the stain.
I've even washed all her cloth nappies, clothes and bedlinen, so it's ready to go!!! Is that way too organised?
I took some pics, but don't know how to load them, so I guess my description will have to do.
I also really like the nurseries other people in the list have done too; just gorgeous!!:)
Take Care everone,
Jo :)
nicoleE
03-07-2007, 09:32 PM
that theme is quite magical antlmummy.
well i've done another update. I had a day off work yesterday and put up all my Pooh stickarounds. :D
Pooh Stickarounds (http://pic6.piczo.com/Cashew-Nut/?g=42689701)
SpaghettiMummy
03-07-2007, 11:11 PM
Love the Pooh theme Nicole!
oooh wow Nicole, your bubs room is just looking fab,
I can't wait to do up this bubs room, I have to wait another mth yet
Pebbles
04-07-2007, 04:23 PM
Nicole - Oh that looks so lovely!
Jo - Yeah I gotta wait about a month too.
We are picking up our cot and everything in about a month so I gotta paint the room before then. I am painting it a pale green, even though I know I am having a boy I decided to stick with green instead of going for blue.
Jester
09-07-2007, 03:12 PM
Wow you guys are so organised.....I have just moved DS into his "Big boy room" and am going to clean out what was his room to be the babies room. I will not really changing much becasue we did not know the sex for him either.It is very crazy, very me. The walls are very bright the bottom half of the wall is a greeny blue and the top half yellowy orange. where the two colours meet all of our family and friends have put thier hand prints in brightly coloured paint and I have written there names on it. All works well because the furniture is a dark wood colour. I will try to work out how to attach the photos and put one or two up (have to clean room first)
AnD05
11-07-2007, 02:22 PM
oh I love checking this thread!!
Jester your room sounds so cool!! I can't wait to see some photos......
Nicole your Pooh theme is just beautiful, you have done a great job!!
Pebbles - Green is a nice change from blue :yes: .
My nursery is non existant at the moment. DH is in the process of painting it plus 4 other rooms. He only gets to work on it on the weekends and there seems to be more hassle in the preparing than we first thought. I won't do anything anyway till I finish work in about 6 or so weeks so as long as it's done by then I'll be happy! It's just going to be a neutral pale lattey colour. I plan to brighten it up with stickarounds and canvases!
Keep the updates coming girls!! Looking good!!
A
Believer
13-07-2007, 04:50 PM
Everyone's nursery sounds so cute and creative! I can't wait to see more photos.
My nursery is just an empty room at the moment with random baby things we've bought so far. We bought some Boori furniture in the Walnut colour and are just waiting for it to come in. We're going with a Finding Nemo theme since I've always loved fish scenes and we don't know the sex of the baby anyways. My mom found some great material with Finding Nemo scenes all over it. She's making some sheets and a quilt out of that for the cot. Then she's mailing the same material over so we can get some Roman Blinds made out of the same stuff. I also ordered some Finding Nemo wall stickers to put all around the room. I'm sure it will end up being a bit over-kill, but I can't wait to see it all together! I'll take pictures as soon as there is anything to show.
SpaghettiMummy
13-07-2007, 04:56 PM
Believer that sounds like a great theme for your nursery, I can't wait to see pics! And how amazing is your mum for being able to sew that for you!
I wish I knew how to sew, I can do a button, mend a fallen hem and that's about it, I'd probably break a sewing machine as I seem to have lost the ability to use any kind of powered appliance since becoming pregnant, though I have great dreams of all the things I could do.
same with painting murals etc... I will be using/hiring my MILs very creative friend to help me decorate the kids rooms once we buy a house, I have lots of vision and very little talent for it unfortunately.
expomum
14-07-2007, 04:59 PM
:idea: Hi everyone! Im loving all the ideas - especially the links to websites where you can see some real life ideas. Sadly, I too have the ideas but absolutely no artistic skill so love to see the photos! Well, today was the big day! My mum and I went and did the big shop for the nursery - SO exciting! It took my husband and I (well me really..) ages to decide on the colour theme - boys just dont get the importance! We finally decided to go with white after the lady at the shop told me that she couldn't guarantee the exact colours that Boori timber would come in - didnt want to go dark. We dont know if its a boy or girl but Ive been to a few shops and seen the cot/bed conversion in white and figure if its a boy, we can go into denim and white when he's older. So many decisions! Now i have about 6 weeks to clean out the room and prepare for the furniture! Cant wait to accessorise! What do people think about NOT going pink for a girl - yikes! Im thinking red/white either way and then adding blue or pink when bub arrives... let me know :yes:
AnD05
14-07-2007, 09:37 PM
Expomum- I love the idea of red and white, I had it when I was little! It's so versatile for either boy or girl. Also love the idea of adding pink or blue to it later :yes: very clever!!! It sounds like it's going to look fab esp with your gorgeous boori gear!! Can't wait to see photos!!
A
SpaghettiMummy
14-07-2007, 09:52 PM
Expomum-That sounds like a fantastic idea!! I too can't wait to see pics. I am also glad to see I'm not the only one with the big ideas and limited talent to go with it. But your ideas do sound great!
AnD05
09-09-2007, 03:48 PM
Alright ladies Im bumping this one back up on our list! Anyone got some snap shots they want to share - not long now!!
Here are a few from my nursery. It's finally looking descent enough to share with you all!!
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/bassinet1.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/bassinet3.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/changetable2.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/cot1.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/cupboard1.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/pram1.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/stickarounds1.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/stickarounds2.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/stickarounds3.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/mixed001.jpg
A
wow looks fab chick :thumbsup:
i need to get mine sorted out, I hate this room being a mess
erinp
10-09-2007, 08:18 AM
An your nursery looks great! I especially love the paintings on the wall in the last shot....did you do them yourself??
AnD05
10-09-2007, 11:48 AM
Erin - I wished!! I am so unartistic it's not funny! I was going to buy some from a lady on ebay but a g/f from work just asked me what theme/colours I wanted and then did them for me! I just got them last week and hounded DH to put them up yesterday - I am super happy with them!
A
robinson
10-09-2007, 12:27 PM
AnD your nursery is gorgeous!
If I can find my camera later I'll take some pics..
LiL'Muggos
11-09-2007, 08:41 AM
Wow anna I think its beautiful love those paintings! great job. We dont have anything to show yet have to get a house first :yes: But cant wait to do bubs room up!
abiishu
12-09-2007, 06:42 PM
Hi October mummies :wave:
We have just about got the nursery set up now, so thought I would post a few photos!
As you will see, the room is a bit crazy! We don't really have a theme as such, we've just thrown everything together with animals and bright colours :p
http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee60/springpetal/100_0224.jpg
http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee60/springpetal/100_0225.jpg
http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee60/springpetal/100_0226.jpg
wow that looks cool spring, lovely and bright, love ya hammock
oh and where did you get thoes butterflies from? I wanna get some for bubs room, but not sure where to get them from
abiishu
12-09-2007, 07:57 PM
wow that looks cool spring, lovely and bright, love ya hammock
oh and where did you get thoes butterflies from? I wanna get some for bubs room, but not sure where to get them from
Thanks Gizmo!!
My mum got the butterflies for my baby shower, and they were so pretty I thought I'd use them in the nursery :) She got them from the Reject Shop, I think there are 6 in a pack for $2!!
Thanks Gizmo!!
My mum got the butterflies for my baby shower, and they were so pretty I thought I'd use them in the nursery :) She got them from the Reject Shop, I think there are 6 in a pack for $2!!
guess where i'll be heading this weekend then ;)
Roxy76
12-09-2007, 09:00 PM
Alright ladies Im bumping this one back up on our list! Anyone got some snap shots they want to share - not long now!!
Here are a few from my nursery. It's finally looking descent enough to share with you all!!
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/a...angetable2.jpg (http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa48/AnD05/changetable2.jpg)
A
which cloth nappies are those on the change table?? thanks! :D
AnD05
13-09-2007, 06:12 PM
SpringPetal- Gorgeous nursery!! :yes: I love the bright colours! How exciting. I was just walking around my nursery yesterday thinking I can't wait to have our little boy in here!!
A
AnD05
13-09-2007, 06:16 PM
Roxy - These were handed down to me from my bro and Sil. I'm not sure where they got them from, it was a while ago that they used them. On the tag it says MINAPPI. They are made in Australia and they are one size fits all as they have buttons at different intervals. If I remember :rolleyes: I will ask them where they got them from.
A
michblb
13-09-2007, 06:49 PM
Thanks Gizmo!!
Love your nursery, looks gorgeous. Wish I'd seen this thread first, I bought some similar butterflies from ebay for $30 for 8, oh well. SpringPetal , how did you attach them to the curtain/rod? It's a great idea, do you mind if I borrow it??
abiishu
14-09-2007, 07:29 AM
I was just walking around my nursery yesterday thinking I can't wait to have our little boy in here!!
Thanks And, I know what you mean! I keep going into the nursery now and imagining having a baby in there in the next few weeks :smiliedance: Sooo exciting!!!
SpringPetal , how did you attach them to the curtain/rod? It's a great idea, do you mind if I borrow it??
No worries Mich, go for it!! :yes: The butterflies I've got have some bendy wire attached to the bodies at the back, so I just hooked this over the curtain rod. Not sure if you can see in the photo, but I tied the curtains back at each side as well with a ribbon, and stuck a butterfly there too! :)
erinp
14-09-2007, 10:26 AM
Ok so can anyone tell I've spent the morning on photobucket? :o
I've uploaded some pics of the nursery (quite a lot actually) so I will just post a link to the whole lot like I did with my belly shots....
http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z250/adsandern/Peas%20Nursery/?start=all
Hmm technically not all of them are nursery shots but anyway....
I still have 2 Pooh cross-stitches that I made that I need to frame and hang, and my mum has made a gorgeous blanket which she is giving me tomorrow at my baby shower, so I will post pics of them too when they are done!
looks very nice Erin :yes:
I love the rocker and the colour of ya bassinet/ changetable and cot, looks absolutly fab :thumbsup:
AnD05
14-09-2007, 03:45 PM
Erin - Looks fab hun :thumbsup: !! Im with Gizmo on the furniture - love it!!!
A
erinp
14-09-2007, 03:49 PM
Thanks Jo & An.
We still have a bookshelf to come (only decided to get it last week!) and will be getting new blinds installed soon :fingerscrossed: before bubs arrives and then putting up curtains, so still not quite finished....
DH and I keep walking in there just to "look", it will be nice when it's actually being used!
michblb
14-09-2007, 04:51 PM
Erin, looks gorgeous, ya must be so excited. That chair looks so comfy. Think that's why I'm not as excited as I could be cause there is still half a kitchen in my nursery. Can't wait to put photos up for your guys when it is finally sorted....I promise next week!
Springpetal, thanks for the tip - I couldn't see the wire in the photos but good idea cause at least you can take them down if you want to change the look.
:laughing: me too I've got curtain ties with matching butterflies on them...freaky!
michblb
25-09-2007, 06:35 PM
Ok, considering Mum and I had about 4 days to decorate Charlotte's nursery I'm pretty happy with it.
Hope this works......
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc202/michblb/IMG_1754_s.jpg
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc202/michblb/IMG_1758_s.jpg
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc202/michblb/IMG_1755_s.jpg
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc202/michblb/IMG_1757_s.jpg
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc202/michblb/IMG_1756_s.jpg
Can't get the photo of the stupid blanket box on but it's there, will upload it next week, gotta go have dinner.
So proud of myself I've worked out photobucket finally!
Mammy
25-09-2007, 06:48 PM
Beautiful nursery Mich.
The ceiling in that room is gorgeous.
robinson
25-09-2007, 07:42 PM
gorgeous nursery... job well done... i must also say that i have that monitor and also that handsfree phone..
erinp
26-09-2007, 06:25 AM
Looks great Mich :thumbsup: especially considering how short a time you had to get it all ready!
Guess you won't see this now till you are home with Charlotte!!!
zenifa
26-09-2007, 07:01 AM
Just a quick post to say how impressed I am by all your lovely nurseries - esp Mich, Erin, And05, Springpetal - you have all done an amazing job, what lucky babies you will have!!:thumbsup:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.