View Full Version : baby shower for 2nd child??
Some friends of mine asked whether i was having a baby shower for my second child and said 'no' as i thought u didn't. They commented that this baby is as special as the first and wanted to organise one.
Is this appropriate to have a baby shower for my second child????
bearsmummy
08-03-2007, 10:57
I think it is fine personally... every baby is just as special IMO :)
My SIL had the same thing happen when i was holding one for her 2nd bub.... her Mother (my MIL) was not too impressed by the whole thing, my SIL did have a thread about it... ill see if i can find it so you can read those replies as well.
I say if you would like to have one then go for it :D
ETA heres the link : http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=66834
08-03-2007, 10:58
Of course ! :D New baby..new shower :D
If you want one, I'd have one for sure. Every baby is special and should be celebrated (if the parents are up for it of course ;) )
mamabearof3
08-03-2007, 15:11
I had one for my third baby but not my first and second. More because nobody offered to throw me one the first time except my mother and she lives a few hours from me so I would have done all the organising anyway. But 3rd time around one of my friends threw it for me.
IheartOman
08-03-2007, 15:15
I reckon it is fine to have one for each child! I mean firstly, it isn't all about the gifts! Mine is on this weekend and I am excited as I see this is like a final chance to hang out with all my mates before bubs comes and will be for a little while after bubs is born.
Secondly you can celebrate it without ppl having to bring gifts. All the fun of the baby games and the food ect!
And if you or your friends do want gifts included for the second, third, fourth shower then why not? As someone said, each baby is unique and different. We don;'t not send our friends a bday card or gift just cos they had one last year do we!
i dont have any friends to throw me one for my first or for this one but i dont see anything wrong with a shower for 2nd or subsequent pregnancies.
I recon its alright to have a baby shower for a second baby, as a baby shower is to celebrate the new baby that will soon enter this world and spending time with your friends and family before bubs arrives, if you feel bad about it, tell people not to bring a pressie or anything,
i never had one for my first and have never actually been to one either :rolleyes:, but still think its fine
I recently went to a friend's baby shower (for her 2nd child), didn't know her when she had her first and it was lots of fun.
I think each baby is special and there is no reason not to have a baby shower or blessingway.
I didn't have one for my 1st baby and am not sure if I will have one this time around .......I don't want to organise it and haven't had anyone volunteer......not really bothered either way.
Hi there.
I agree with everyone else. If you want to have one, why not? :) My friend has had 3 children and she was kind of feeling like she shouldn't of had one for her 2nd let alone her 3rd but we organised something for her. I think most of all it is a great opportunity to get together with all the girls for an afternoon!
Go on have one!! :yelclap:
lilBoofD
13-03-2007, 14:00
I didn't have one for my first or second, or for this one. But after our first was born we had people over for a kinda baby shower so they could all see her at once. With number 2 we were about to leave the country to move over here.
With this one, I would have loved to have had one, but just didn't happen, so we will do the same as we did with the first. A day for everyone to come and meet bubs.
So, I say go for it!! Why not?
Ashleigh<3
13-03-2007, 14:06
i dont have any friends to throw me one for my first or for this one but i dont see anything wrong with a shower for 2nd or subsequent pregnancies.
My Mum organised it for me. :)
You should have one! :) Where do you live?
Bubhub ladies will come !!:yes:
EDA: MY FRIENDS: "babyshowers are just an American thing...". Me: Lolllzzz!
It's a wonderful way to get together before the baby comes along, you can all anticipate their arrival together and it's fun!
My Mum organised it for me. :)
You should have one! :) Where do you live?
Bubhub ladies will come !!:yes:
i guess my mum would if we had money. we are all a little cash poor at the moment
oh well maybe if i have another baby :rolleyes:
might have a baby welcoming party instead!!!
Ashleigh<3
13-03-2007, 14:45
i guess my mum would if we had money. we are all a little cash poor at the moment
oh well maybe if i have another baby :rolleyes:
might have a baby welcoming party instead!!!
You could just have everyone meet up in a park nearby where you live, ask everyone to bring something to eat.
I'm so glad I had one, I didn't want to regret not having one iykwim?
If you change your mind? Let me know, I would love to organise one for you... I had so much fun at mine, would love for you to have a similar experience.:o :o
You could just have everyone meet up in a park nearby where you live, ask everyone to bring something to eat.
I'm so glad I had one, I didn't want to regret not having one iykwim?
If you change your mind? Let me know, I would love to organise one for you... I had so much fun at mine, would love for you to have a similar experience.:o :o
its fine. thanks for offering though :hugs:
I had one for my third baby but not my first and second. More because nobody offered to throw me one the first time except my mother and she lives a few hours from me so I would have done all the organising anyway. But 3rd time around one of my friends threw it for me.
Same here!!
There aren't any rules. We went over the top with dd as we were pretty excited about having a girl. We had a boys thing downstairs and a girls thing upstairs. All family and friends came and we had a huge party and bbq that evening. We just like an excuse to celebrate. Who knows what we'll do for the next one. Do what makes u happy.
TeamAwesome
19-03-2007, 16:04
I did it was more of a time to get together with some people I hadn't had a chance to see for a little bit which was lovely. I asked for no pressies but some people couldn't help themselves.
I agree each baby is just as special I don't see it as selfish as some people do. (which is a silly way to look at it) It's not about getting "stuff" but about showing the mummy some love in my opinion (plus that is what my friend said who threw my second one)