View Full Version : Toilet Training - When should I start?
I know this question has probably been asked already but when should I start my 14 month to use the potty. I was talking with my dear old mum and she said I could probably put him on now when I see him straining (he is not regular enough to anticipate).
Any hints, clues or advice would be greatly appreciated.
From Bonney
:cool:
i dont know.. i didnt even think about toilet training till son was nearly 3. although mum had 3 girls toilet trained all at 15 and 17 months.
I am about to tt my 3rd and for me it is about readiness. I never started until they knew how to sit on the potty, and understand they needed to do wee or poo. I know other people do it differently but I have found this way works best for me.
For me too, it is important that they enjoy doing it. They actually get a thrill doing a wee in the potty IYKWIM. If they started to regress or had an accident it was never a big deal, just try again another time. I have never pushed or punished, just positively encouraged and given heaps of praise for successes.
It clicks eventually all children are different, some pick it up quickly, some regress, some it takes awhile. Just get your child some pants, then about 15mins after a meal/drink place on the potty and before bath time is a good time to try. 14mos is quite early but give it a try, if it is a disaster leave it for awhile.
06-12-2005, 05:49
Hi There!
Hmmm yes TT is trying LOL to say the least so before you start make sure your ready :D
We started tt a few weeks ago and our DS is 16 months. He started giving me signs he was ready at about 13 months, things like pointing to his nappy and saying "poo poo" later he started running to his bedroom and squating while reading a bookand saying "poo poo".
So we bought the potty and the pvc training pants and started tt. The poos are a success as he is able to know when they are coming lol and get to the potty in time. Wees are a bit more difficult as by the time his told me his already weeing lol :D
So now we are just doing poos in the potty and not worry about wees just yet(as he cant hold on to it yet) at kindy he gets to sit on the kiddie toilet at nappy change times, just to practice etc.
I think what Easterlily said is spot on.........make sure its enjoyable other wise you will be stressed and so will your bub.
Good luck and feel free to pm me any time to chat!