View Full Version : Aug '07 Mums #5
Kirst
05-03-2007, 09:13 PM
My goodness, we're up to #5, and there's still 5 months to go!!!!
I thought that we'd better start a new thread, as the other one was getting a bit long.
deb1234
06-03-2007, 07:46 AM
hi everyone :wave: wow we are big talkers! we'll be up to thread 50 in no time...
not much happening here today. just counting down the minutes until my scan on friday.
hope you are all well :D
Snugglepot
06-03-2007, 08:06 AM
Oh I am so excited that it is nearly time to find out the sex! :smiliedance: I was just reading the July thread a little (as I am due early August and DS came early last time) and all the lovely ladies there have had there scans or are due to shortly. I thought it would be a nice idea to make a list of who is having scans when and who is finding out the sex...
Kellie/Spunkyboysmum; Ages ago! Boy
Deb; Friday 9th
LilXMan; Friday 9th
Kez; Wed 14th
That's all I can see at the moment, anyone else want to add to the list.....
I am still feeling good at the moment, I must say though that my hormones are starting to go haywire a bit. I was arguing with DP on the weekend over the silliest things. They seem so important at the time and 4 hours later I think, uhoh, that was dumb of me. Anyone else irrational and irritable?:confused:
deb1234
06-03-2007, 08:22 AM
Kez - nah its just you! :laughing: just kidding. i'm not really irritable, just cry at the drop of a hat. my DH has no idea what's going on!! :)
onabreak
06-03-2007, 09:12 AM
I am so slack with posting in these threads for Aug 07. I am now 16 weeks and 2 days. I have my scan to find out the sex on March 28, seems so far away. The scary thing is though on the 30 March I will turn 30, getting old.
I have no complaints so far except for being so tired all the time, I even wake up tired. DD is down for a sleep now so I think I may have to lie on the lounge for an hour before we go out.
I am really starting to show now, I haven't felt much movement yet only now and again but nothing major.
Thats all for now, pretty boring. Time to nap.
Tan-mumof3
06-03-2007, 09:20 AM
Wow #5 already ,that was quick :ecomcity: :).
Not much going on here, my belly has been really achey the last couple of days my gp said i will probably be sorer this time as its my 3rd pregnancy and i am lol.
Don't know when im having my scan yet i will be 19 weeks on the 29th so sometime around then.
Hope everyone else is well, have a great day.
chicken
06-03-2007, 01:29 PM
Hi everyone!!
Have been MIA for a while. Just got back from a lovely couple of weeks at the sunshine coast - soooooo hard to come back to work.
My belly seems to have exploded over the past couple of weeks, and I think I've been feeling my first movements in the last couple of days (am now just over 18 weeks). Its a bit weird at this stage, but I'm sure as it becomes more obvious I'll start thinking its a nice feeling.
I'm having my scan on 15 March (can't wait as it feels like ages since the nuchal scan), but we'll be keeping the sex a surprise.
When I got dressed for work yesterday, I found all my high heels were really tight. I thought at first it might have been due to being in thongs for a couple of weeks, but by the time I got home last night, my feet had puffed up and were really swollen. I thought this only happened late in pregnancy? Anyone else had swollen feet?
DoubleAce
06-03-2007, 01:39 PM
Chicken you wear high heels??? :laughing: I haven't had swollen feet but I never wear high heels. Even my wedding shoes are fancy thongs!
Kazza - I'm so happy for you that your test results came back early and with such great news!!!!!
Sorry I've been MIA. Saturday night I told my DF that it was so nice to feel normal again and then Sunday morning I almost threw up breakfast (over the sink, trying to be sick but nothing came out) and then I woke up yesterday with a really sore throat. I still feel like **** and I'm meant to have a make-up trial tomorrow that I'm going to have to cancel. She doesn't want me sneezing and coughing all over her.
I'll be back when I feel less sorry for myself! I'm hoping to feel more human tomorrow!
Snugglepot
06-03-2007, 01:43 PM
Updated Scan dates...
Deb; Friday 9th ?
LilXMan; Friday 9th ?
Kez; Wed 14th ?
Chicken 15th March Surprise!
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimee
06-03-2007, 02:12 PM
Hi I'm booked in for a scan on the 3rd April which is forever away! I'll be 19 weeks then. I wanted to have a scan done at 18 weeks but everywhere seems to do them the wk later. Oh well I'm just so impatient! I'll be finding out the sex too!
Kez - I totally understand about hormones sending you crazy!
Here's an embarassing example...I'm 23 but look quite young for my age and I know it but for some reason when I was asked for my ID at a pub I burst into tears and just couldn't stop blubbering! Poor DH he didn't know what was going on! He was so supportive though and asked if I wanted to go shopping with him to lift my spirits and it worked of course! :)
Can't wait to see what everyone is having! (if you're finding out that is)
Kirst
06-03-2007, 02:43 PM
So the question of the day was who's irrational??? :smiliedance: :smiliedance: Look at me! Look at me!!!!!!!
Hahahahaha! Gotta love pregnancy, dontcha?
My scan will be on the 19th, and we are NOT finding out the sex. Not interested. Just want to make sure that all the vitals are where they're meant to be.
One thing that I'm REALLY hating this time around is the cold/mucus/allergies. I have found out that it is CAUSED BY PREGNANCY, and will stop basically as soon as the child is born. S**t!!! Only 5 more months of snottiness!
leishacaz
06-03-2007, 03:37 PM
Hello everyone!
Well I'm heaadin to the 15 week mark and things have been much more pleasant than the 1st trimester! No more feeling sick which is great!!
Hormones!?! Funny we should mention that coz last nite I came home from work in a bad mood for absolutely no reason and my DH kept asking what was wrong and all I could say was that I guess its hormonal. Being a man, he doesn't get that at all lol!
I've got my first appointment at the antenatal clinic on Thurs so I'm looking forward to that! I've still got a few weeks til I have my first ultrasound and I definitely won't be finding out what it is- I love surprises!
Thats all from me for now. Hope everyone's well :wave:
OverTheMoon
06-03-2007, 03:52 PM
I've become normal again over the last few days in terms of my moods, yay!
Chicken, i too am having feet problems, but not high heels problems. Mine are swollen (and i always wear sandal-y thong things), and ache badly after just walking for 10 minutes or so. I have double lunch duty at work tomorrow, so i'll have to see how that goes (and it's going to be 42, too :eek: ). I may be asking my Ob for a letter to excuse me from duty after my next appt.
I bought 3 new pregnancy mags today, and i've done heaps of stuff today for my other job (the one i enjoy), so i figure i'm allowed a while to put my feet up and read before i head out to a meeting for that job tonight!
Have a great week gals,
Mel xx
niesl_bug
06-03-2007, 04:08 PM
Hi gals!
Kirst and Donna - so glad you guys are better !!
All fine here - just a bit of a head cold - no fun in 42 degree weather :no: Going to Little Britain Live tonight so hopefully a good laugh will make me feel better!
Chicken - I LIVE in my high heels! I wore flats one Friday to work and everyoe nearly fell off their chairs in shock :eek:
No swelling here yet .... I will not stop wearing them until I am toppling over from the weight imbalance ;)
Kirst - I normally get hayfever, etc and it has been noticeably worse since pg. I am driving DH crazy with my sniffing all the time ... at least you're not the only "snotty" one !!
I had to push our scan back a week as we'll be in Bali, so we are going 27 March and definitely finding out the sex (impatient DH)!!!
Take care gals, chat soon :ecomcity:
3cherubs
06-03-2007, 07:55 PM
Thought i would pop in a give some updates.
My U /sound ( 19 week) is on the 3rd April, cannot wait to find out the sex either.
M/sickness has eased which is such a relief, but i am so tired.
I think this time aound i am bigger at this stage than i was with my other 2 kiddies, which is nice.
Take care everyone:hugs:
Tingles
06-03-2007, 09:03 PM
Was wondering why I wasn't getting thread updates!! (Mental note) ...Need to subscribe
Take a look at ebay - yeah, I'd look great in that:rolleyes:
Pregnancy & Nursing LINGERIE Sexy Lace Flyaway Babydoll
BTW, I'm not kinky:rolleyes: (yeah right #4):laughing: I was looking for one of those 'Work in process' pregnancy Tshirts...
Does anyone have a link? Will keep googling, if I find one will let you know.
Snugglepot
07-03-2007, 07:46 AM
Snotty noses and heavy breathing are the bane of pregnancy, sorry girls, they don't go away in a hurry!
As for high heels, my doctor said to stop wearing them towards the end of pregnancy because hormones relax all your muscles for birth and it is much easier to sprain a muscle if you go over in your heels... or doing anything for that matter!:eek:
Okay the list of scan dates, correct it or add to it as you need!
Deb; Friday 9th ?
LilXMan; Friday 9th ?
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Kirst 19th March Surprise!
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Have a great day girls, Kez
OverTheMoon
07-03-2007, 10:01 AM
Oooh, forgot to include my scan date - same as Tara, 27th March, and yes, finding out sex. Can't wait.
I'm such a slacker - i called in sick today, having heaps of problems with my feet (swelling and soreness) with the 42 degree heat continuing. And plus, i was p'd off about double duty and only getting a 10 minute break for the day. I don't think that's fair for anyone, let alone a pregnant woman in 42 degree heat. Rant over, sorry.
Having the 'snotty nose' issues too, so sick of it.
Apart from nose and feet, all well.
Have a great day girls.
Tan-mumof3
07-03-2007, 10:10 AM
Mel- i would have called in sick too. It is going to be sooo hot here today im going to do a few things this morning and then come home and sit in the air con. 10 minute break is no where near enough.
As for the snotty nose i have that too and heaps of phlegm(sorry gross i know). It is sooo annoying but as kez said it doesn't go away til after the birth.
Does anyone else have a really achey belly & back or is it just me?
Anyways have a good day girls and stay cool.
trendy1
07-03-2007, 10:37 AM
All is going well with me, I am just cruising along still. I have bought a few things but as this is our 2nd we don't need a real lot of stuff, just a new stroller and some nice new sheets. I did actually buy yesterday on ebay - noahs ark wall border for the room so that is our theme in the bedroom - Noah's ark, I think it is nice for a boy or a girl. So I have ordered that but I won't put it up for a while yet. Is anyone else doing any type of theme at all? I think it will just be the walls and maybe the cot doona that will be noahs ark and the rest I am not too fussed with. With DD she had WInnie the Pooh so something different this time around.
My scan is booked for the 26th March and we won't be finding out the sex, it will be another surprise for us, I am tempted though!!
I am glad to hear that most of you are getting your energy back, mine is coming back slowly but there still is not enough time in the day for me with everything that has to be done!! I have to put a letter in to work in the next week or so to advise of my maternity leave (they all know I am pregnant but the formalities) and when I will start, I am thinking of starting 2-3 weeks before bubs is due - what are the rest of you doing?
Anyway I hope all is well and I am sorry but this is a bit of a me post with questions so I apologise. Talk to you all soon.
niesl_bug
07-03-2007, 12:09 PM
Mel - where are you having your scan done? I am at the Ob & Gyn Ultrasound place on Cambridge St in Wembley.
I hear you about the heat. I took yesterday off with this cold, but back at work today. I am lucky I can sit at my desk and slip my shoes off though :thumbsup:
Tan - I have had a few aches, but it's more like a stretching feeling in my lower belly IYKWIM?
Haven't felt much movement later and feel like my tummy hasn't been growing much. Looking forward to Ob appointment tomorrow to have a nother little look at Peanut (or "Pistache" as my mum calls it - it's French for Peanut ... so cute :p )
All good here - apart from 42 degree heat and a bit of a cold ... not too bad though!
PS: Little Britain was BRILLIANT :laughing:
deb1234
07-03-2007, 12:21 PM
hi girls :wave:
trendy1, i'll probably take about 2 weeks off before the birth. but i'm working from home, so will probably be checking emails etc and deal with anything urgent. planning on taking 3 months maternity leave, then working part time (from home). my boss said i can just do as many hours as i can handle, he's so nice. :yes:
you WA girls won't want to hear this, but its a perfect day here today. heavy rain and about 28 deg. :)
AngelGirl
07-03-2007, 12:57 PM
I've added my scan date to the list:
Deb; Friday 9th ?
LilXMan; Friday 9th ?
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Tara - How funny is Little Brittain! Have to say I was a little surprised to see children there. Def not a show for kids!!
I have still not felt beanie for a few days but I'm not going to stress as most of you say it's very normal. Who knows, maybe what I'd been feeling wasn't beanie at all?
I have been a moody person to deal with lately but I'm happy to blame the hormones!
DH and I are going away for our 1st wedding anniversary this weekend, I cannot wait!!
chicken
07-03-2007, 01:31 PM
I'm planning to finish up at work about 5 weeks beforehand. I just want a bit of a break and I don't want to struggle to come here and be stressed out if I don't have to. But if I'm still feeling fantastic, I might just work a bit longer. I'm planning on taking about 9-10 months off and I can't wait!:smiliedance:
I've definitely been feeling some definite movements the past couple of days. They're no longer vibrations, but definite movements. And I can't believe how frequent I feel them - especially noticeable after I've eaten a meal. Its still freaking me out a bit. I keep thinking of the movie Alien where aliens burst out of people's stomachs. :laughing: I hope I start loving the feeling soon, as most women seem to, because at the moment its just a very weird thing.
OverTheMoon
07-03-2007, 02:43 PM
Tara - SAME!!! I have been 'seeing' Neville for my u/s's for 8 years or so, so asked if i could still see him for this pg, even tho he isn't the u/s person my ob normally works with.
What time is you appt? What a coincidence!
Hope your cold is getting better.
I'm over being worried about having the air con on too much today, and the power bill, stuff it, it's soooo hot. Roll on the weekend!
I'm using today to narrow down pram and cot choices, yay!
niesl_bug
07-03-2007, 04:47 PM
I am finishing work 9 weeks before bub comes!! Well, I am telling work that because I know I will need to stay on longer. DH doesn't want me to be stressed out in the last trimester or trudging down the terrace in the rain, etc. I love him! I am looking forward to sleeping and hanging out at home in the warmth and my trackies and ugg boots :thumbsup:
Mel - any finalists for prams? We just have to buy a lounge chair and wardrobe and our nursery is done! Once we know what we're having then I can accessorise with some colour :)
Tingles
07-03-2007, 05:29 PM
Everybody's 'setting up' reminds me of my first...photos of me sponging the lower half of the baby room (with a pg belly) and the little border...
Goodness on #2 we had moved & I was on the ground cutting - pinning - sewing austrian blinds - that was crazy!!!
#3 - didn't do anything :cool:
#4 - I really need a boy this time - to make up a boy baby room!!!! send me some boy baby dust !!!:laughing:
niesl_bug
07-03-2007, 05:47 PM
Tingles - sending you lots of "boy" baby dust :wizard:
My sister has 3 boys and was always desperate for a little girl! I am one of 3 girls and DH is one of 3 boys. Both of his brothers have had DD and DS each, hopefully we'll continue the trend!
Tingles
07-03-2007, 06:28 PM
This morning when I was watering the garden - I saw the 2 usual canelopes, & found a 3rd... I thought to myself, that represents my 3 girls... but here is the baby??? I then discovered up the other end of the garden another cantelope growing... this this my boy?growing on it his own????
woooooooo - spooky:laughing:
Yes I'm nuts - totally lost the plot - mother of three & growing a cantelope!
whatwasithinking
07-03-2007, 06:59 PM
Deb; Friday 9th ?
LilXMan; Friday 9th ?
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Donna/whatwasithinking 22 March ?
2princesses1prince
07-03-2007, 08:50 PM
Finally I have had a chance to find this new thread started.
Things still progressing here with me. At 19 weeks I still have m/s and all day nausea.
U/S this Friday 9th March and hopefully our little jellybean will cooperate so we can find out if our 3rd and final baby will be our wanted boy.
Kirst
07-03-2007, 09:02 PM
As for the snotty nose i have that too and heaps of phlegm(sorry gross i know). It is sooo annoying but as kez said it doesn't go away til after the birth.
This is the bit that I hate - the phlegm in the back of the throat (sorry TMI). The snot I can deal with.
Bring on August!
I'm sure that it wasn't THIS bad with DD.
Wow, go away for one night to sydney and so many pages to read, good work girls!
phlegm, yep, sits on my throat and adds to my retching, gross. Had it last time but also had nose bleeds which so far dont this time, thank gawd.
bought some MORE maternity clothes, not that i have much choice, i dont just grow a belly but everything else comes along for the ride. Still only 2.7kgs gained but my body shape changes big time.
cant believe scans are coming up, still 3 weeks till mine, better book it and add myself to the list. Dying to know if i get a girl, have a feeling its a boy tho.
mumtotwins, how awful you are still getting all day MS/nausea, did you have it last time? if not maybe thats a boy sign?
obviously i am at home already so no maternity leave here, mum will come about 2 weeks beofre to help with DS and look after me (yay for mummies). As for time off afterwards we are hoping i will be a SAHM for at least 2/3 years, unless i want to go. At this stage i am happy to stay home, time flies and it is so precious watching daily changes- we have sentences and concepts here at the moment (:yelclap: for DS)
mind you, that will be 5 ish years out of the workforce, so who knows what i will do!!
well morning walk time before the troops rise, very dark here, bring on the end of daylight savings
deb1234
08-03-2007, 06:41 AM
jamb - at least you get daylight savings!! we've been in the dark at 7pm all summer! its my first summer in australia, in nz its light still at about 9.30pm - so much better for bbqs. i guess we'll just have to get used to cooking outside in the dark! :)
Debbie, i hope the nausea subsides soon. you are a champion looking after twins in that state! :yes:
:laughing: tingles...you couldn't be looking for ANY signs of a boy could you?!!
have a great day everyone :wave:
I think all states should be the same re daylight savings! One way or the other, must be so frustrating to work over the border (mum lives near tweed heads)
I dont mind non daylight savings, bit of a country girl, up with the sun, down with the sun:D . I am hoping my DS will go back to an early bed time, last night we were still :banghead: at 9pm!
As for entertaining at night, hmmm what is a social life :laughing: We stick to sunday lunches:thumbsup:
LiciaSings
08-03-2007, 07:49 AM
Hello all! popping back in again :wave:
Been MIA for awhile ...
Just found out my sister in the US is due with her 2nd in September, and my other sister's getting married in September...and I can't be there. I had myself a big pity party :crying:
So I've just been enjoying catching up on everyone's :ecomcity: .
Moodiness - got that.
Snot - got that.
Baby movements... finally started getting some of those! I'm 17 weeks now, and I've definately been feeling some new and exciting little movements since Friday. SIL reckons we must be having a strong and active boy. I hope he keeps kickin!
Ultrasound - 20 March. I'll be 19 weeks and we definately want to find out the sex! We are so curious.
Nursery -been working on that. We have a new old house with a great spacious nursery-to-be, but at the moment it has the carpet from rejects of the 70's, and peeling ugly paint. So it's all about to be re-done and we're getting pretty excited about that.
Prams-? anyone? that's our next big purchase. One of the few things we're going to want to buy brand new. We really like the Phil&Teds 3-wheelers. Thinking we'll probably get one of those, since the decision making and comparing products is getting just a bit overwhelming!
finishing work - I didnt' realise there was such a wide range of different times that people stopped, that's really cool. We have our mid-year school holidays at the end of June - so about 7 weeks before bub's due. That seems like a long time to be sitting at home just waiting for bub to come along! but it makes no sense for me to go back to work again after the break, just for the first couple of weeks of the term. So I might just do some relief teaching work for a few weeks, if I feel up to it.
Told some students about the "baby in my tummy" for the first time yesterday. It was so cute! (I work with small groups of kids in doing student support,) I worked with these students last year too, so they've known me for a while, and they were looking at me a bit funny. So I asked them if anybody noticed anything different about me this year. A little hand shot up and he came out with "You're tummy's going out." So I think it's official - I've definately "popped" in the past week!
Jamb - How cool that you'll get to be a SAHM for so long. I really wish I could too. I'll have to go back to work part time, but at least I'll have a few days at home every week... looking forward to that.
everybody else, all the very best!!!
deb1234
08-03-2007, 07:59 AM
Hi Alicia :wave: how exciting for you feeling the first movements. i THINK i have...but then it could be anything! the night before last at about 3am i was wide awake lying in bed and i think i felt something bumping underneath my hands. scan tomorrow so all will be revealed! :)
As for prams...we still really like the steelcraft ones. they are around $100-$200 cheaper than phil & teds and look like they do the same thing to me! (Not that i'm an expert!) we have decided we aren't too worried about getting one that can fit a toddler seat, since DH is keen on carrying the baby in one of those carry things on your chest. so when/if! we have 2 he can carry one! not that we will be going on big hikes or anything...i'm talking about the supermarket/shopping mall here! i think we would still like to have one with a bassinet option as well.
anyone know...can a baby sleep ok on the floor in a bassinet (are the raised ones on a stand just so you don't have to bend over?) we will have a cot as well, but i'm just thinking about if we go to the grandparents house or something.
hmm..this has turned into a long post! so will stop :ecomcity: and do some work for another five minutes!
2princesses1prince
08-03-2007, 09:00 AM
Thanks guys
Jamb - I had hyperemisis (chronic m/s) with the twins, but with them I was vomiting all day, with this bub I am sick in morning, then have nausea all day.
Fingers crossed for a boy. Big day tomorrow.
you poor thing, i was much sicker last time, spewing but i found the hungover feeling so much worse, i just wanted to shut myself in a dark room and lie down. Much much harder when you have other kid/s to look after :hugs:
we used to use the snugglebed on the floor or lounge wherever we were, so cant see a prob with a bassinet on the floor. Once he was to big for that we got him one of those tiny foldout kids couches and that became his transportable bed, still is. We do have a portacot but he hates it:rolleyes:
yay booked my US, 3 weeks till i find out, very excited!
DoubleAce
08-03-2007, 10:54 AM
Just popping in to say hi!
I need to book my scan date yet...still a little while away so don't want to get too carried away!
You girls all sound so organised....we haven't looked at anything for this baby yet. The nursery is unisex and we'll be moving DD out before this baby arrives so it's pretty well all set to go. Just need to get clothes etc. but will wait to find out the sex before doing that. I'm most excited about buying nappies (MCN)! I'm drooling! :laughing:
Well that's all....just wanted to say hi!
niesl_bug
08-03-2007, 12:22 PM
Tingles - your cantelope story had me in stitches ... I could just picture you in the garden analysing the plants :laughing:
Debbie - you poor thing, I can't even imagine what you are going through. I complain when I have a sniffle, but always tell myself there are others much worse off. I hope you feel better soon hun.
Alicia - what a shame you'll miss you sister's wedding. My sister couldn't make it to mine and I understood and all is fine. Very cute comments from your students though!
PS: we were lost on prams and the lady at the shop said some of the 3 wheelers toppled over and couldn't fit through aisles at the shops. ours is kind of like a 3-wheeler, but it has 4 wheels and isn't as wide IYKWIM?
Deb - we got the Steelcraft Bayamo with the bassinet thrown in for nothing! The Strider has just come out which replaces the Bayamo - we are very happy with it!
All good here. Cold seems to be disappearing. Have check-up with Ob this afternoon (DH seems to think we will be able to find out the sex as Ob has small u/s machine in his office, I doubt it though).
Feeling lots of "stretching" in lower tummy lately!
Have a great day gals :wave:
chicken
08-03-2007, 02:16 PM
I've got the phlegm thing too! I had no idea it was pregnancy related, so feel a bit better knowing others are getting it too.
Alicia - we've decided on the Phil & Teds too. It won hands down on all our criteria - is light (because I'm such a weakling), folds down easy and compact, and is so easy to maneouvre (is much narrower than a lot of 3-wheelers so will fit down the shopping aisles). They are bringing out a new model very soon, so am waiting to order that.
Deb - can't wait to hear about your scan tomorrow. Its so exciting. Getting to hear what sex everyone else is having (even though we aren't finding out) is so great.
Tingles - lots of boy baby dust going your way.:wizard:
Just had a chat with my boss today and told him that I definitely want to be off until about May next year, and he seemed fine with that. I told him I'd be coming back full-time then, as DH will be giving up work to stay home as a SAHD (I earn more, so it makes more sense). Anyone else got a DH who will be staying home? But my boss raised the possibility of me working from home a couple of days a week when I come back, which would give us a bit more flexibility in terms of options. Never thought he'd just offer like that, so its great that he did.
OverTheMoon
08-03-2007, 02:40 PM
chicken - sounds like you've got a good boss, glad it went well.
on the prams - i think we've settled on the Peg Perego Venezia - it's light, i don't have to bend over to pick it up, and has reversible handles, my main criteria.
Need to have a little vent, sorry. Like i've said before, my feet have been giving me hell, and i asked work about getting taken off the duty roster, and they said with a letter from ob that's fine. So called ob's office, and asked the receptionist who i needed to speak to, and she said "We've never had a request like this" (WTF), and then "Are you sure you are experiencing this?". To which, i started crying and said "You can't be serious? You can't seriously be saying that i'm lying". She got all defensive and said "Oh no, but this may not be related to pregnancy and if it is, you may need to see the doctor before your next appt". She talked to ob about it, and he told her that it's an IVF baby and it's fine (whatever that means), and he would write me a letter no worries. What a snotty nose w**ch. I still haven't stopped crying, damn hormones.
I just wanted to ask her where she got her dr's degree.
Anywho, at least i've got the freaking letter now.
Apart from that, i've been pretty good today, yay.
Take care all
OTM, some people are just sooo rude and should not be dealing with the public:hugs:
chicken your boss sounds great, nice offer. i'm not the breadwinner but i am 6 years older than my DH!
niesl, glad you're feeling better, let us know if you spot the gender!
deb1234
08-03-2007, 02:54 PM
Chicken, what a nice boss you have! I have one too :) makes life a lot easier.
Tara, we are considering the Strider as well. As long as the front wheels are biggish i don't mind having four rather than three. when we went to babies galore they didn't have one. we are going to toys r us this weekend so will see what they have :D and we might be able to buy some blue or pink clothes!!!
OTM i can't believe that receptionist questioned you!! grrr that makes me so angry. its not her place to say anything. :thumbsdown: glad you got it sorted in the end. have yourself some chocolate for such an awful day :)
niesl_bug
08-03-2007, 04:35 PM
Mel - I would have told her "that's why you're a receptionist and not a Dr" :laughing: Sorry hun - I hope you're ok now and at least you got your letter ... what a stupid cow!
Chicken - your boss sounds great! Mine can be a bit of a pig and I am looking forward to leaving. I was chatting to DH last night and he really needs someone in his office so i may finish here earlier and work with DH for a couple of months.
Deb - the strider looks great. We were looking at the taupe colour, but you can't get the bassinet in that colour - only red or blue :confused:
Jamb - we are hoping we can spot something this afternoon :fingerscrossed:
Toodles xxx
Tingles
08-03-2007, 05:39 PM
anyone know...can a baby sleep ok on the floor in a bassinet (are the raised ones on a stand just so you don't have to bend over?) we will have a cot as well, but i'm just thinking about if we go to the grandparents house or something.
My only worry would be that some 'stoopid boof' fell on the bub??? Maybe have the bassinet in a playpen - nice an safe - or buy a portacot.
My boss was trying to be a smart a$$ the other week too - 'if you won't do extra hrs during the week I will have to find someone who will - then informed me she already had & wanted to offer them my weekend hours too:eek: . At first I said, well if you've found someone I guess I will finish up - wasn't planning to until end of May... Over nite I thought NOOOO you can't get rid of me 'cause I'm PG - I sent her an e-mail requesting that she put her 'restructuring plans' in writing 4 me - SHE REFUSED - We argued & I told her you cannot do what you are planning - there are EQUAL OPPORTUNITY LAWS PROTECTING ME!!!!
She totally backed fipped & is happy for me to stay!!!:yelclap:
A POINT TO US PG WOMEN!!!
niesl_bug
09-03-2007, 10:21 AM
She totally backed fipped & is happy for me to stay!!!:yelclap:
A POINT TO US PG WOMEN!!!
YOU GO GIRLFRIEND :thumbsup:
Ob appt went well yesterday - he said everything is progressing nicely, bub doing well, blood pressure spot on - all good! U/S was too grainy to see anything though :(
I had my first comment about my belly from a stranger last night - a lovely lady at the checkout of Big W ... told me I looked like I didn't have long to go and I looked beautiful ... I told her I was only half way :eek:
deb1234
09-03-2007, 10:40 AM
:laughing: tara, what did she say to that?!! its only because you were little to begin with. i'm a bit wider so anything growing out the front spreads out a bit more! :)
Go tingles!! :yelclap:
chicken
09-03-2007, 11:37 AM
a lovely lady at the checkout of Big W ... told me I looked like I didn't have long to go and I looked beautiful ... I told her I was only half way :eek:
Tara - that's hilarious. I seem to be growing straight out as well - almost every day DH sees me and goes 'wow, you're huge', although I don't know how I'd react if someone told me I looked like I didn't have long to go!:rolleyes:
Over the moon - I can totally sympathise about your feet. I'm just lucky I sit behind a desk all day. I'm glad you got it sorted.
Deb - what time is your scan?
Jamb - if someone had told me years ago that I'd end up marrying a guy almost 6 years younger than me I would have said it was ridiculous. In fact, when I met DH I told him he was too young for me! But I'm glad I reconsidered because not one day have I thought anything about the age difference - its just non-existent. In fact, he was keen to have kids earlier than me!
Tingles - sorry you're going through that work stress, but glad it seems to be OK now. Its making me realise how lucky I am to have my work do so much for me. That would be such a huge thing to worry about.
deb1234
09-03-2007, 12:24 PM
hey chicken :wave: scan is at 2.30...counting down the minutes :)
Tingles, wow, what a nice woman, not. I reckon women are so much worse to each other, i dont get it, we should be on the same side IYGWIM. Glad she did a backflip.
tara, glad all went well :thumbsup: , sounds like you are having a text book pg, reckon you're a baby making machine!! A woman said the same to me at 20 weeks, dunno what she would have said if she'd seen me at the end :eek: triplets maybe!! is bali soon?
chicken, i said to dh, you are way too young, he got so offended by that in the early days. He would say but i want babies too and i'd say, you just want to get in my pants :laughing: I dont think too much about it, did when i turned 30 and he's still 24, gawd at 24 i was newly divorced and a tad wild:o
we are heading further up the coast for the weekend, nice apartment and pool- yay i love pools!
how exciting deb, i'm guessing you are the first one to be going?? any thoughts on what you are having?
deb1234
09-03-2007, 12:55 PM
i think girl, DH thinks boy. But we are happy with either. if i'm honest i'm slightly inclined towards girl because we have the name more sorted for a girl!! :laughing:
Snugglepot
09-03-2007, 02:56 PM
Good luck to Deb1234 and Mum of twins, the two Debs, I hope you see what your having and all goes really well. It can be a bit overwhelming to find out, so remember to ignore any phone calls if you need some time to get used to what ever it is!
Deb; Friday 9th ?
Mumoftwins (Debbie); 9th March
LilXMan; Friday 9th ?
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb ?
I hope that is right, please update it if I have it wrong!
Tingles
09-03-2007, 03:08 PM
Went to my midwife appointment today - everything going good - tried to book my ultrasound...they said they are too busy to make a booking for me, they will just fit me in...but I must be flexible... they may give me very short notice - anywhere between 23/30th March
... all very easy to say:rolleyes: - I do have 3 other kids that I must take into consideration... I think I may ring them, it's not really good enough is it!:(
Kez&kyle i am having my us on 30th, can you please addme to the list. i feel pathetic asking you to do this but my DH has changed the layout of our screen and i can not for the life of me find the cut/paste button.
tingles i reckon u should ring em, not good enough. we do have lives as well.
deb u home yet????
niesl_bug
09-03-2007, 04:27 PM
I am DYING to hear Deb's scan results :smiliedance:
Jamb - Bali on Wednesday ... YAY !! .. but what a shame we're flying Garuda:eek: . I spoke to the travel agent and the planes are thoroughly checked before leaving Perth and the one that crashed was a domestic flight, but please all keep your :fingerscrossed: for me just in case!
Everything does seem to be going really well with my pg ... hope I don't jinx myself
Tingles - I would not have walked out of there until I had my appointment - that's the stubborn Taurean in me though. I would ring and try and get one, maybe if you ring first thing in the morning or at the end of the day they might have a bit more time for you hun.
Come on Deb, where are you ???????
09-03-2007, 04:44 PM
Hey Deb hope it all went well today, can't wait to hear what you are having!! Oh and it looks like we have mumoftwins having a scan today too so hope that went well :fingerscrossed:
We are having another boy, found out this morning as our appt was at 830am, woohoo no waiting around in suspense like you had to, poor thing Deb!!
We are very happy to be having two little boys, but sheesh I'm gonna be busy if he's any thing like his big bro!! My dates haven't changed so I am still expecting a July/August baby depending on when bubs decides to make his entrance!
Tara - have a great time in Bali, I'm soo jealous you lucky thing!!
niesl_bug
09-03-2007, 04:50 PM
Congratulations Julie :yelclap: My sister always had her heart set on a little girl - ended up with 3 little boys and says she wouldn't change them for the world!
09-03-2007, 05:18 PM
Two of my aunties have three boys too and they love it!! I would love a girl one day, but if it never it happens it's just not meant to be (we are definately stopping at three, so only have more chance to get a girl anyway lol):thumbsup:
congrats julie!! i have a feeling i'll be having another boy, odds are greater to have same sex as first, be good for DS to have a mate but i wouldnt mind a girl. i hear you bout being busy tho with 2 boys, i have a wild child!!!
tara, wow that came round quickly, will think of you and keep my fingers crossed, sure you will be fine!
2princesses1prince
09-03-2007, 06:27 PM
Had my scan this morning, they couldn't be 100% but looks to be a BOY.
Thank god as we couldn't agree on another girls name.
How did all the other scans go today?
09-03-2007, 07:06 PM
Congratulations on your BOY Debbie!!:smiliedance:
Kanne
09-03-2007, 07:09 PM
I am going for the scan on the 26.3.07. can't wait to see our baby again. I will be just 18 weeks and we are planning to find out the sex.
whatwasithinking
09-03-2007, 07:23 PM
I have to be the most high maintenance Aug07 mummy to be around.
I ended up in hospital emergency dept all day today. Taken to hospital as I had severe (9 out of 10 score) pains. Ultrasound showed bub's well. Got checked by dr's all day and all seems to be normal - pains still there though. They kept me in pretty much all day for obs.
They think it might be some sort of delayed reaction to the car accident 8 days ago.
Anyways one thing came out of today. The ultrasound lady said whilst she is not 100% sure it looks like another girl for us. I kinda secretly wanted a son but hey a baby is a baby.
Anyway she said to check again at my 20wk ultrasound on the 22nd to be sure of the sex.
Geez I have had an amazing week haven't I.
Snugglepot
09-03-2007, 07:37 PM
You sure have Donna, I hope you are feeling better this evening. A Girl, Congrats! I hope tomorrow brings a pain free day and happy day for you.
Deb; Friday 9th ?
Mumoftwins (Debbie); 9th March Boy
LilXMan; Friday 9th ? Boy
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
I hope I have not missed anyone....
Jamb, Dont worry, I hate it when thjings change on the computer too! To copy on the Keyboard press Control and C at the same time and to paste it press Control and V at the same time. Easy! :yelclap:
Tara, I am sure that international Garuda is different, it will be fine, try not to think about it, you are going on a holiday!
Lil X Man and Deb, congratulations on your Baby Boys! Lil x man, I feel a bit the same, I secretly want a girl to add to the little man I have already! shhhhh
hayles07
09-03-2007, 08:04 PM
Im booked in for my scan on the 3rd of April at exactly 19 weeks, so fingers cross we will definately be able to find out the sex! :smiliedance:
3cherubs
09-03-2007, 08:05 PM
I already have 2 girls and i have heard that it is a 75% chance that you will have another girl...
Does anyone know how true this is ?
I am not fussed either way, i love my girls and would not know what the heck to do with a little boy:confused:
hayles07
09-03-2007, 08:12 PM
I'm not too sure about girls... But I can tell you that my brother had his third boy 5 months ago. They really wanted a girl... But, you dont get much choice :laughing: So, perhaps it will be another little girl for you, but you just never know!
3cherubs
09-03-2007, 08:20 PM
Bring on the U/s and a co-operative baby...
2cherubs, there is a much higher chance of having same sex as first or more children, there is a thread on it somewhere.
thanks kez&kyle, much appreciated and i have written that down:thumbsup:
i have had the most persistant headache for 3 days, i've tried panadol and nothing is budging it :banghead: i think i had this last time and they said its low blood pressure but there is n othing they can do and its not of great concern to have low blood pressure, anyone know anything?
Tingles
10-03-2007, 07:29 AM
I already have 2 girls and i have heard that it is a 75% chance that you will have another girl...
Does anyone know how true this is ?
I am not fussed either way, i love my girls and would not know what the heck to do with a little boy:confused:
Yeah, I've heard this... we have 3 girls...and will probably have another:rolleyes: dh says that's all he produces...
I also joke & say I wouldn't know 'what' to do with a boy - come nappy time:confused:
My grandma had 7 kids
G
G
B
B
G
B
B
So, the stats weren't right there...
I'm feeling a little emotional today...I welled up with tears when I read the good news on your u/s's!
4tiggers
10-03-2007, 07:35 AM
Sorry to intrude ladies but I really need your help. I was due in Aug but m/c at 8 weeks. I am now pregnant again with all the symptoms for the last 2 weeks. I am now 6 weeks. Went to bed last night with really sore boobs and woke through the night and they have stopped hurting completely. Even this morning no pain at all. I am wondering if any of you had a similar thing happen and didnt m/c but have a gorgeous bub waiting to be born. Sorry again on intruding I am just so scared that I will lose this one as well and want to know if it is normal. Dont be afraid to be blunt and honest.
Thankyou
Kimee
10-03-2007, 11:58 AM
Hi 4tiggers!
I posted a very similar question at around the same stage as you cos I had really sore bbs for the first few weeks then it disappeared nearly completely. I know it can make you panic (I had a previous m/c before this pregnancy) but it really meant nothing cos I'm coming up to 16 wks with a healthy bub! I asked my dr about it as she is pregnant too and she had the same thing happen to her. If you get really concerned ask your dr if you can have a scan done. I asked my dr to have one at around the same time as my last m/c to reassure me and it wasn't a problem. All the best!
nikki78
10-03-2007, 01:00 PM
glad to see ev1 is doing great, i have been very teary lately and with a headache also which wont go away, i am due to have my 20 week scan on 30th march, cant wait weve decided to find out the sex so we can buy some cute little outfits, been reading through posts and thought id add something in for once.
just sittin here with not much to say.. look forward to readin and hereing from ev1
nikki 28 jay 29
bubs due 16th aug:yelclap:
4tiggers
10-03-2007, 03:31 PM
Thankyou very much KIMEE. I really appreciate your responce. Good luck with the rest of the pregnancy.
Tingles
10-03-2007, 03:39 PM
4tiggers - it looks like your an 'IVFer' - I know a little about this as I had someone very close to me on the program - Also, I myself have been a 'known donor' in the past.
They would be monitoring your blood, and they also give you an early ultrasound to confirm viability of your pregnancy? - get in touch with your nurse - everyones experience is so different and we all look for 'signs' we can drive ourselves nuts - good luck - YOU ARE PG UNTIL YOU ARE TOLD OTHERWISE!!
deb1234
10-03-2007, 04:04 PM
hi everyone, hope you are all well :wave:
just dropping in to say we are having a boy!!! we saw all the dangly bits so the ultrasound lady said she's 100% sure! :) :) :)
chicken
10-03-2007, 06:41 PM
Hi Deb. I've been hanging out to hear your results. Looks like your DH has stronger psychic vibes!!! That's great news.
muffin
10-03-2007, 09:37 PM
Sorry to intrude ladies but I really need your help. I was due in Aug but m/c at 8 weeks. I am now pregnant again with all the symptoms for the last 2 weeks. I am now 6 weeks. Went to bed last night with really sore boobs and woke through the night and they have stopped hurting completely. Even this morning no pain at all. I am wondering if any of you had a similar thing happen and didnt m/c but have a gorgeous bub waiting to be born. Sorry again on intruding I am just so scared that I will lose this one as well and want to know if it is normal. Dont be afraid to be blunt and honest.
Thankyou
4tiggers I also had the same thing happen to me at about 6 weeks. Woke up and felt no soreness in boobs and no bloatiness. Absolutley freaked out and cried myself silly, went to see GP thinking I had miscarried again. He sent me for blood HCG test and it came back very high and normal, so it was a false alarm. Had a scan at 7 weeks and saw heartbeat.
Symptoms eventually returned, but boobs have not been very sore ever since. GP said that it was normal for symptoms to come and go. I know it can sometimes feel like you're not pregnant anymore, but getting upset does no good. Worth a visit to the GP to reassure yourself though. My best thoughts are with you :) .
Kimee
11-03-2007, 08:17 AM
Congrats on your beautiful BOY Deb!:yelclap:
deb1234
11-03-2007, 09:14 AM
thanks guys :) we bought some cute little outfits from pumpkin patch yesterday and ended up buying the steelcraft strider as well. some soft toys have had a ride around the house in it! :D
11-03-2007, 09:25 AM
Congrats on yor boy Deb:smiliedance: , gosh there are alot of boys due in July & August!!!
deb1234
11-03-2007, 12:01 PM
Congrats to you too Julie :yelclap:
congrats deb, boys are HEAPS of fun:D
4tiggers, i typed a reply before i went away but disappeared....anywho, jut wanted to say, my boosies change frequently, say a week/fortnight, from feeling like i have needles sticking into my nipples, to nothing. Maybe hormones fluctuate, i am not really sure. Wish you a healthy pg.
4tiggers
11-03-2007, 05:02 PM
TINGLES, MUFFIN AND JAMB, I am very touched that you took the time to reply. Thankyou heaps, it has helped and defiantly relieved some of my anxiety. I will be seeing the nurses later in the week to confirm progress of pregnancy. Thankyou so much again. I actually slept really well last night after finding out it is normal. Best of luck with your little angels :angel: .
2princesses1prince
11-03-2007, 05:03 PM
Most of those who have had scans seem to be having boys, must be the year for it. They are pretty sure my little jellybean is a boy aswell. After having 2 girls wouldn't know what to do when it comes to nappy time LOL
AngelGirl
12-03-2007, 07:44 AM
Good Morning Ladies!!
Debbie and Julie - Congratulations on your BOYS!!
Donna - Congrats on your GIRL! How are you feeling today?
Licia - What a shame you will miss your sisters weddding and the birth of your other sisters baby. What lousy timing hey.
I just spent a lovely weekend away with DH for our wedding anniversary. I can't believe it has been 12 months already, time flies!!
I was offered a seat on the train this morning!!! Woo hoo, my belly is showing!
Tara - I'll be thinking of you when you take off for Bali on Wednesday. You will be absolutely fine, just think about how many flights there ar from Sydney to Bali each week that land safely.
3cherubs
12-03-2007, 08:39 AM
Congrats everyone on their U/sounds too.
Geez, i wish my belly was growing as fast as my boobs are. I am sure if they keep going they will explode.
I had no boob soreness at the start then 12 week mark they just took off..:wizard:
Oh, well.
Hope you all have a good day, i am off to playgroup now...
M O P
12-03-2007, 09:16 AM
After having 2 girls wouldn't know what to do when it comes to nappy time LOL
Apparently boys are heaps easier- less creases :)
I am having scan tomorrow but of course, won't be finding out the gender of bubs. I want to know but I still want the surprise at the end- like Christmas :laughing:
My gut feeling is a boy- which we still don't have a name for.
Last time we didn't find out Hugh was a boy but I did feel better knowing I was carrying either Hugh or Matilda. This is weird knowing I'm carrying a Pearl or a an it we :fingerscrossed: will eventually find a name for. It's really bugging me.
niesl_bug
12-03-2007, 10:27 AM
Donna - you poor thing ... I hope everything is OK for you now :hugs:
Yay Deb! CONGRATULATIONS on your little boy !!! I am so sure we are having a boy, I reckon I'll fall off the table if they tell me we're having a girl!! We got the Steelcraft Bayamo, the one before the Strider and love it - and DH has been doing pram stunts with teddy in it too - so cute :p
We bought a wardrobe and change table from ikea for the nursery on the weekend. all we need to get now is a little lounge - something for me to nap on as we won't be having a bassinet in our room. Then we can "accessorise" with some colour once we know the sex!
All good here - feeling great and looking forward to a holiday with my beautiful DH :cool:
Have a great day gals xxx
deb1234
12-03-2007, 10:37 AM
kazza, i just don't know how you can not find out the sex!!! :)
tara, have a great holiday! i'm so jealous. :yes:
leishacaz
12-03-2007, 11:21 AM
Hey Everyone-
Well it seems most of us are having boys or think we're having boys! I think I'm having a boy but we're not going to find out. I'm having my first u/s @ 18weeks on 31st March and I can't wait!! I also have to say I'm surprised how many ppl are finding out the sex of their bubbies. My DH and I very much agree on not finding out, we love looking forward to that surprise! But I can understand why most people can't wait to find out...
I've been having rotten headaches to like a few of you, its driving me insane and makes it hard to have a good day at work. I had today off coz of a terrible headache I've had over the past 2 days that just won't go away. I just keep wanting to lie down in a dark room.
Hope everyone is well :wave:
***vent whinge warning ****
i have had gastro (well, i think it is as i have the runs as well as spewing, and the worse cramps up in my tummy). i am seriously over feeling ****. my headache goes away after 5 days only to start having this.
mumtotwins, my DH worries bout changing girls nappy's, reckons there's more slots for to be cleaned!!
kazza, hope all is good for scan tomorrow!
angelgirl, glad you had a lovely weekend with your DH, and yay for getting a seat!!
i keep thinking girl for me, feel different to last time. But then again i was certain i was having a girl last pg, maybe its subconcious wishful thinking:rolleyes:
hi :wave: to everyone else!
AngelGirl
12-03-2007, 12:31 PM
oh Jamb - sorry to hear you've been sick. Gastro is not pleasant!! :gloomy: .
Thanks angelgirl, if i wasnt such a mighty fine mum (:p ) I'd say the gods were against me and pregnancy!!
3cherubs
12-03-2007, 12:39 PM
It would kill me not to find out the sex, i hate suprises.
With DD2, i wanted to find out but her legs were crossed. But then i had another U/sound at 36 weeks and found out then.
Even though i knew with DD1 i still was not convinced until she was born and i checked her bits for myself.
jamb - Hope you feel better soon:hugs:
niesl_bug
12-03-2007, 01:11 PM
Jamb - sorry to hear you're sick hun, how awful! Hope you're feeling better soon :hugs: Like I've said before, you must have run over a china man to get all this pg bad luck :(
Re: finding out the sex - I would be happy for a surprise but DH is dying to know. He normally doesn't ask for much or put his foot down with me, so I'm happy to give him this one!
Snugglepot
12-03-2007, 02:32 PM
Jamb, I know how you feel, I have had gastro too! It is awful, I think this is about the 6th time I have had it since DS started creche. He does not get sick anymore, just seems to pass it on to me. Thankfully it started after we drove home from a wedding in the Yarra Valley on Saturday night. I did not :barf: with morning sickness, I feel for all of you so much more now, it is terrible to heave (sorry TMI) when you have a baby in you tummy.
Deb CONGRATS on your BOY! I need to update the list but am too tired today, I will try and do it at work tomorrow. Good luck with your scan Kazza and to everyone else having them soon. I am on Wed, yay, I can't wait!
Have a lovely afternoon, it is a holiday here in Vic, so I have time to recover and hopefully do the ironing before work tomorrow.
See Ya :wave:
Thanks kez and tara, its lovely being able to get whinge and get support!
Kez, i think they bring bugs home from school, at least your lil one is getting strong immunity:thumbsup:
A funny side to :barf: is my lil one coming out while i am spewing on the verandah (just cant use the loo, it makes me feel even sicker, so its bucket for me). He comes out and says "oh, mummy poo, poo"
He says poo for spew. Gawd love him, he rubs my back too.
thanks again.
DueInAugust
12-03-2007, 04:53 PM
This is my first real post.
I have added to the little ones here and there.
I am 17 weeks and feel like it will never be over. I have had M/S all the way through and it isn't getting better. Why do they call it morning sickness by the way? It's never just in the morning.
My scan is booked for the 3rd of April. I wish it was sooner! I can't wait to see what I am having. DF and I hope it is a girl.
I have also been a hormonal mess. I blew up at DF for taking over to much of the bed the other night. I ended up getting out of bed coz I was so mad. Then when he got up I blubbered and cried for over an hour! I felt like a real Idiot!
I keep getting told I will feel better soon (Wish I believed them).
Is anyone else having lots of back and leg pain? I wake up every few hours because of it. DF thinks it is to get me ready for the bubs sleeping paterns but thats not supposed to happen till 3rd tri.
Ok that was a longer post than planned.:o
Oh yeah Due August 19th
whatwasithinking
12-03-2007, 05:25 PM
Welcome to the group DueInAugust. I am glad you came to join :D . Hope to chat again soon.
niesl_bug
12-03-2007, 05:30 PM
Oh Jamb - your DS sounds adorable :yes:
Remember, we are always here for you to vent to :ecomcity:
DueInAugust - sorry to hear you are having such a rough time. I don't have any advice for you, other than sending you lots of :hugs: and I hope you take a turn for the better soon :fingerscrossed:
Have been so sniffly all day yesterday and today! I thought this cold was coming back, but I think i'm just going to have to get used to this for the next 5 months! I'm not complaining though because it's not that bad compared to what some of you are going through ...
OverTheMoon
12-03-2007, 05:50 PM
DueInAugust - welcome, and yes, i hear you on the sore legs (and feet) and back thing. I'm freaking out a bit, 'cos last night the pain rose from my feet and shin in my right leg to my knee. Keeps waking me up too. It sux.
Congrats everyone that's had successful scans, and those that have found out sex of bubs. Like most, we are sure it's a boy, but i've got all the fam calling bubs 'it' or even better, 'the baby' until they know, just in case.
Anywho, B&B time, gotta give it my undivided attention!
Take care all, Tara, have a great holiday! Have a swim for me!
Mel xx
I'm new to BubHub and just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.
I have just moved back to Australia after living in the UK for the past 6 years and we are now living in Newcastle.
I have a 3 year old boy and our little bubba is due 8/8/07.
I have a scan on 21st March, and I am convinced I am having another boy, but we aren't planning to find out.
Anyway shall look forward to chatting on here and getting to know you all.
Fiona
mom2jake
12-03-2007, 09:38 PM
:wave: hello everyone...
We're due with our 1st baby on the 6/8/07 and we've got our scan in the morning, (13/3/07)I can't wait to see the little one again.:smiliedance:
I think we're having a girl, but don't know for sure and as much I'd like to find out DF really wants a surprise!
I've been feeling really good and have only felt the little one move twice, but for my 1st I have quite a tummy and it seems to grow every other day....
carli
13-03-2007, 04:12 AM
Very new to the hub, but im due 25th August, have an appointment today to just get checked over by my midwife, my next scan isnt until 10 April, by which time ill be 20 weeks!!! I'm very jealous of everyone having them at 18, though it is technically to be done 18-22 weeks. so in the middle is pretty perfect. I'm just hoping i get to listen to the heartbeat today, I saw it beating at my first scan, but didnt get to listen, and its been 4 weeks since then and i dont think im feeling much in the way of movement yet, my mags say it can feel like bubbles and indigestion below your belly button, well i feel that sometimes, but hey, it could just mean im hungry, so im a little freaked out. its funny the whole first trimester i read that between morning sickness and feeling the baby kick women freak out, i thought it was silly... i still have morning sickness and im freaked out. I know at 16 weeks its still very early, but it can happen this early, and the worst thing is there is a gorgeous lady at my work a week further along than me, and hers moves all the time... so that just adds to my fear, still im growing in the front and still throwing up, so i know everything is probably fine... but being a nurse, you always have those lingering "i saw.... once" in the back of your mind.... why couldnt i be a psychic. Oh and back on track now... i dont want to find out the sex of my baby... i think its more exciting to wait... but again being a nurse, they may have to cover part of the screen to keep it a secret...
good luck to all
carli
Wow, welcome ladies, our group got bigger:smiliedance:
:hugs: to all still suffering with MS or allday blah, i too have it and it is cr@p.
carli hope you get to hear the heartbeat today!
mom2bee cant wait to hear what you are having! Good luck today
fiona, i too reckon i will have another boy, good for DS to have a little mate, but it would also be nice to experience a little girl!
OTM and dueinaugust, i am having restless legs, not so much pains but fidgetiness if that makes sense. I have to get up and walk it off, fun at 11pm when i just want to sleep!
one more sleep tara till tropical paradise, lucky devil!
Well gastro seems to be easing, just have the runs (TMI) i have lost a kg, i'm not complaining, it'll come back:laughing:
DS off to school, better go pack a lunch!
AngelGirl
13-03-2007, 07:09 AM
Re: finding out the sex - I would be happy for a surprise but DH is dying to know. He normally doesn't ask for much or put his foot down with me, so I'm happy to give him this one!
Exactly the same situation with DH and I. Although I'm still not sure whether we will find out, see what happens on Friday!
Welcome to all the newbies!! :wave: Wow, you're all coming out of the closet...hahaha!!! I've added a few of you to the EDD calendar, I may have forgotten some, if so, just go to that thread and let me know your due date.
trendy1
13-03-2007, 09:34 AM
Hello everyone,
Wow, welcome to all of the newbies, this thread is getting bigger and bigger!!
Well congratulations to those that have found out the sex and so far boys are the go!! I am sure that I am having another girl, according to the chinese chart thingy I should be having a boy but it said that with DD also!! We aren't finding out though as DH doesn't want to know - I am so tempted to find out but DH is adament he doesn't want to know so I won't ruin the surprise for him!
I had to change my scan yesterday so mine is on the 27th March at 8am - so I have to get up about 6:15 so that i get there in time - at least I will be too excited to be tired!!
Just an update on me - went to the Doctors on Sunday as I had a rash that had spread from my the outside of my thighs all over my hips and onto my belly - so itchy and annoying so went and got something for it. The doctor prescribed antibiotics so I took them Sunday then rang the ob yesterday to check they were okay and she said the antibiotic he had prescribed was okay in pregnancy but the daily dose was nearly 5 times what is recommended - really good isn't it. So anyway stopped taking them and ended up at the hospital last night with bleeding and discomfort, they have checked everything and the baby is fine and everything else seems fine they think it was due to the antibiotics and they were too strong - it was a steriod type antibiotic!! So to put a long story short all seems to be okay but have to go back again this afternoon just to be checked over, but I feel okay today so hopefully that is the end of it. Except the rash is still there are so damn itchy!! Anyway sorry that was so long!!
deb1234
13-03-2007, 10:10 AM
trendy1 how scary for you!!! and boo hiss at that doctor for giving you antibiotics that were too strong! :shame: a couple of months ago i got lots of itchys from the sea - probably sea lice - and i put Soov cream on them. but sounds like your case is much worse!
hi to everyone :wave:
not much happening today. :)
tara, my large suitcase hasn't arrived yet for me to climb into...should i ring the courier company? :laughing:
niesl_bug
13-03-2007, 11:54 AM
Wow! Welcome and Hello to all the newbies :wave:
Carli - you sound like me about a month ago, freaking out about everything (just ask Kirst :o ). I have relaxed about everything now and it feels much, much better. Hope you're feeling better very soon ...
Trendy - how scary :eek: Stupid, stupid Dr for prescribing that antibiotic to you. Hope all is Ok now for you hun ...
Deb - you better get your skates on young lady! I just went and bought blow up mattresses for the pool :cool:
All good here - I think I felt a little kick last night! Tummy growing by the day, still have the sniffles but feeling good and looking forward to 10 days of R & R !!
chicken
13-03-2007, 02:21 PM
Wow, what a rush of newbies!! Welcome everyone.
i am having restless legs, not so much pains but fidgetiness if that makes sense. I have to get up and walk it off, fun at 11pm when i just want to sleep!
Me too! I can't sit still at night when I'm lying on the sofa watching TV.
Had my monthly OB check-up last night. Blood pressure normal and got to hear the heartbeat again - love that sound!!
I'm getting non-stop movements now, and am feeling kicks all through the day. Last night as I got into bed, I think the baby had a kicking fit because I got about six within a minute. I told DH to put his hand on and he felt one for the first time. He was so chuffed. I now know what all those women were on about when they said how amazing and wonderful it is.
Can't wait for my scan on Thursday!
DueInAugust
13-03-2007, 02:42 PM
Thank you everyone!! I didn't mean to make my first post a big vent! But it really helped to get all you feed back.
:kiss: It's really helping me to know I can talk and not be told to get over it.
Everyone here is so supportive and friendly!
It's really reasuring to hear I'm not the only one with leg and back problems (not that we have the problems though). I wish mine were at 11pm but I seam to get them at 3am. Does walking really help? I can't seam to get the pain to go away.
I am sorry to hear alot of you are sharing the M/S still. I thought it was supposed to get better but It just keeps going.
Carli- I am also freaking out a bit. I'm starting to worry more that DF can't feel anything. He thinks I am making it up to help me feel better.
He also can't understand why I'm always sick, crying or grumpy.
The hormone excuss doesn't work on him. He thinks its a myth I use so I don't have to talk to him.
I am starting to turn this post into another vent so I am going to stop now.:ecomcity:
Thank you all again for your support and understanding!!:hugs:
You have no idea how much better I feel after writing on here.
I hope next time It will be a happy post.
Ally Jane
13-03-2007, 03:05 PM
hi everyone,i havent really posted much so im pretty much a newbie too....im just over 16 weeks and still throwing up everyday too..im due around august 24th,we have our morphology scan in 2 weeks,cant wait to see bubs and make sure everything is ok,oh and to find out the sex too!Look forward to talking to you all
due in aug, reckon you should get ur DF to read bubhub, he will soon realise that pg hormones are not a load of cr@p. My DH chooses to ignore many things i say/do whilst pg, he says it is the way he copes- tiny sacrifice i say for what i have to go through!
and as for whinging/venting, i do lots and lots of that, it helps to have kind ears who give support! some of us have easy time being pregnant, others not.
walking out the restless legs, and stretching helps too.
Welcome ally jane, yay, someone else who might be pushing when i am!
Snugglepot
13-03-2007, 03:18 PM
Hello Everyone,
I am still feeling a little dodgy from the gastro, but I am so busy it work it is hard to stop!
Hi to all the newbies, it is lovely to hear from you!
Oohh, I can not keep up with the list! here is my attempt to add everyone, please copy it and add your scan date if I have missed you out.
Deb; Friday 9th Boy
Mumtobe 13th March Surprise
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Fi73 21st March Surprise
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Trendy1 27th March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Liciacaz 31st March Surprise
Tan 29th March ?
Nikki78 30th march ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Due in August 3rd of April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
Carli 10 April ?
Allyjane ? ?
Goodness that is long! So many Yummy August Mummies!
Due in Aug; Hormones do exsist and do fly away when pregnant! My DP also ignores my rants and irrationalities, Thank god!
Trendy, I am glad you rang your Ob, terrible doctor, I hope you feel better soon.
I had better get back to work,. wish me luck for tomorrow afternoon! :smiliedance:
mom2jake
13-03-2007, 03:22 PM
WOW...
Had our 19week ultra sound today, it was everything I expected and more!! For those looking forward to theirs, you will love it!!:smiliedance:
Our little one is a very active baby and the reason I've only felt her a few times is because my placenta is against my stomach, which I'm told is great for labor...:yelclap:
Proud daddy was has been all smiles:D since the ultrasound and it's the best feeling seeing him tell friends about it...
I hope you all enjoy the 18-20week ultrasound as much as we did:hugs:
Ally Jane
13-03-2007, 03:25 PM
Deb; Friday 9th Boy
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Fi73 21st March Surprise
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Trendy1 27th March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Nikki78 30th march ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
Carli 10 April ?
Allyjane 26th March ?
hayles07
13-03-2007, 03:30 PM
Deb; Friday 9th Boy
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Fi73 21st March Surprise
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Trendy1 27th March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Nikki78 30th march ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
Carli 10 April ?
Allyjane 26th March ?
hayles07 3rd of April
niesl_bug
13-03-2007, 03:52 PM
Mom2Bee - so glad your scan went well :yelclap:
Kez - good luck for tomorrow! I'll be thinking of you while I'm on the plane :thumbsup:
Won't be back until 24 March gals - looking forward to catching up on all your goss then.
To those who have been feeling yukky - I really hope you feel better soon.
Sending everyone lots of happy, healthy baby dust :wizard:
OverTheMoon
13-03-2007, 05:29 PM
Deb; Friday 9th Boy
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Fi73 21st March Surprise
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Trendy1 27th March ?
OverTheMoon 27th March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Nikki78 30th march ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
Carli 10 April ?
Allyjane 26th March ?
hayles07 3rd of April
Went to GP this arvo, he thinks my sore feet /legs are due to the fact that i am small and the weight that i've put on is putting pressure on my feet. He suggested getting a pair of really sexy (not in his words) lace-up sneakers with room to adjust, for some extra support to wear everyday. Hmm wonder how that will go down with work? I'm just glad it doesn't appear to be anything other than pregnancy. The pain on Sunday night had me pretty worried.
All good here (other than feet), more people commenting on my bump (apart from the fool at work yesterday who said i didn't look any different "umm, where exactly do you think the 6-7kgs has gone, luv?").
Have a lovely time, Tara, and don't worry about the flight thing at all, i can feel it in me waters that you'll be fine! LOL, i loved that line.
carli
13-03-2007, 09:12 PM
:kiss: thanks for all the kind words, its a bit scary to be a mum soon, i dont know many pregnant women, only one from work, and she is quite a bit older and already has a little one, so its a bit different. is anyone else feeling like this? Dont get me wrong i am so excited about this bub, its just there is not really anyone i know face to face to compare notes with, sitting in at the womens hospital today waiting for my appointment, all the almost due ladies were chatting away, and i was the only "little" one there, so yeah... :eek: and on a positive note, i felt my bub kick for the first time today, not the little might be indigestion funny feeling, but little soft kicks, very exciting... makes me grin, cos i have a secret the rest of the world doesnt know about...
carli
OJandMe
13-03-2007, 09:25 PM
Hey has anyone got a bounty bag yet??? I haven't got ANY, and I was sure I had one by now last time.... hmmm..:detective:
Deb; Friday 9th Boy
Kez; Wed 14th March ?
Angelgirl 16th March ?
Liciasings 20th March ?
Fi73 21st March Surprise
Kanne 26th March ?
Niesl_bug 27 March ?
Trendy1 27th March ?
OverTheMoon 27th March ?
Mandymoo 28th March ?
Tan 29th March ?
Nikki78 30th march ?
Kimmee 3 April ?
2Cherubs 3 April ?
Jamb 30th March ?
Tingles 23-30th ?
Carli 10 April ?
Allyjane 26th March ?
hayles07 3rd of April
OJandMe (Gretel)- 23rd March
mom2jake
13-03-2007, 09:41 PM
:kiss: thanks for all the kind words, its a bit scary to be a mum soon, i dont know many pregnant women, only one from work, and she is quite a bit older and already has a little one, so its a bit different. is anyone else feeling like this? Dont get me wrong i am so excited about this bub, its just there is not really anyone i know face to face to compare notes with, sitting in at the womens hospital today waiting for my appointment, all the almost due ladies were chatting away, and i was the only "little" one there, so yeah... :eek: and on a positive note, i felt my bub kick for the first time today, not the little might be indigestion funny feeling, but little soft kicks, very exciting... makes me grin, cos i have a secret the rest of the world doesnt know about...
carli
Hey Carli...
I know exactly where you're coming from. My fiance and I are the first of our friends to have a baby and we have no family in Sydney. It's quite daunting!!
A friends sister recommended we join Bub Hub and already I have found everyone very friendly and the site very informative.
I felt quite scared about the whole thing when we first found out, now I'm super excited, especially after our 19week scan today:smiliedance:
So amazing when you feel first kick, it makes it all seem real:hugs:
AngelGirl
14-03-2007, 07:12 AM
DueInAugust - I'm so glad to hear that you've found Bub Hub to be a good resource. It's great to hop on here to chat with other women in similar circmstances :thumbsup: . Makes you realise that what you're going through is actually very normal!!
Ally Jane - sorry to hear you are still :barf: . Have you spoken to you ob/midwife about getting some medication to ease the m/s?
Trendy1 - OMG - what was your doctor thinking? What a relief that you checked with the Ob! Good to hear that everthing is ok, apart from the itchiness...ouch!
Chicken - How amazing and wonderful that DH has felt the bub kick!! My DH is hanging out to feel something. In fact, so am I. I felt some flutters a few weeks ago, I do still feel it but only every so often.
momtobe - ooohhh the scan sounds like a wonderful experience. I'm glad it all went well, I'm now very excited for mine of Friday! Can't wait!! Did you get the DVD? I love your avatar, what a gorgeous bump!
Kez - Good luck for your scan today!!
Mel - lace up sneakers, soooo sexy :laughing: . Honestly though, a colleague of mine was heavily pregnant this summer and wore thongs at work for most of her pregnancy, she said it was much more comfortable. I'm glad it was nothing to serious.
Gretel - I got 2 different Bounty Bags when DH and I did the tour of the hospital. They wre full of marketing material and a few freebies - bum cream, Pine'O'Clean, nappies and indigestion mints. Nothing exciting really!
Carli - I'm sure you will make a bunch of mates here on BH. Hopefully there will be some girls in your area who you could meet up with and share this exciting experience. We are all here for you!
Sorry if I have forgotten anyone! Nothing much to report from me.
I'm thinking of Tara as she jets off to Bali today - lucky devil!!
Have a good day!!
nikki78
14-03-2007, 07:28 AM
i went to gp last night in which he has now told us bubs is due on 22nd instead of the 16th, when we went for 1st scan they told us 16th now he said a report came back with the scans and told him different. mmm what do really go by.
Ive already booked the 20 week scan for the 30th march i dont no whether to change it or leave it.
People ive spoken to say dont worry cause its only a couple of days
anyone enough about me how is ev1.
mom2jake
14-03-2007, 04:11 PM
momtobe - ooohhh the scan sounds like a wonderful experience. I'm glad it all went well, I'm now very excited for mine of Friday! Can't wait!! Did you get the DVD? I love your avatar, what a gorgeous bump!
Hey AngelGirl...:wave:
Thankyou, the pic of my bump was 2weeks ago(17weeks) and rather small, so I've just changed it to a recent, bigger bump pic!:D
The scan yesterday was amazing, I'm still blown away by it all! We had it put on DVD, it's a much longer scan than the 1st (ours went for 1hour) They measure everything..so we also took our camera in and took a little footage ourselves, just short snippets to show friends and fam! They also ran off a photo for us off the ultrasound which was really nice, of our little one about to put fingers in mouth(so cute):D
Good luck for Fri(how exciting) and I can't wait to hear all about it:hugs:
Kirst
14-03-2007, 09:24 PM
Hi all! Have been offline for almost a week, and I feel like I have missed HEAPS!!!!
I see new names! Welcome to you all! Glad that you found us. Can't wait to 'meet' you.
I will be honest and admit that I haven't read the million (well it seems like it) pages that have been written since my departure, so sorry that I won't be doing personals.
Nothing much to report here. Getting fat, putting on weight, gathering snot! 18 weeks today, scan on Monday. It's all good.
{hugs}
AngelGirl
15-03-2007, 07:09 AM
Nothing much to report here. Getting fat, putting on weight, gathering snot! 18 weeks today, scan on Monday. It's all good.
:laughing: oh Kirst, the snotty nose thing must be driving you nuts!! Welcome back!
mom2bee - I just noticed you're in Sydney, did you have the scan at Sydney Ultrasound for Women? That's where I'm heading!
19 weeks today....woo hoo
Chicken - good luck for your scan today!
Kirst
15-03-2007, 07:18 AM
I go to Sydney Ultrasound for Women at Chatswood. They're great!
Can't wait to hear how you go today Chicken!
Hi kirst ,glad to see you back, was only thinking yesterday you hadnt posted for a while!
I'm still snotty too, have to always have a tissue or 6 in my pocket:rolleyes:
I'm finally over my gastro :yelclap: AND i lost a kg, very happy bout that! Weight gain so far 2.5kgs, much better than last time so far, hope it stays this way:fingerscrossed:
Even bigger announcement is.......i can finally drink a tea without :barf: It is so exciting!! Makes mornings a whole lot better and kinda normal!!
Angelgirl, wow, scan tomorrow, bet you are excited!
OJ, no bounty bag here, but not really expecting one, GP is useless, dont see hospy till 25 odd weeks and OB doesnt seem like that kinda woman! Not to bothered, i know what products i like!
Tara, hope you had a safe flight and are enjoying lazing by the tropical pool.....lucky devil!
have a great day
oops, missed chicken- Good luck and enjoy the scan today!!!
deb1234
15-03-2007, 08:13 AM
hi girls,
not much happening here. i have put on 5 kgs so far :eek: hope i don't turn into too much of a big fatty!! :)
good luck for everyone with their scans soon. its so exciting :D
no snotty nose here thank goodness. feeling pretty normal actually, except for the wriggling alien inside me!
have a great day. :wave:
Kirst
15-03-2007, 08:23 AM
5kgs is a good weight gain Deb. Well done. Remember, they say that 3kgs in the 1st trimester (maximum), and then 1/2 kg a week (or so) between 4 and 8 months. Total healthy weight gain is between 10 and 15kgs. You're right on track.
Don't stress if you put on 1kg in one week, becasue from my experience you won't gain weight the next week. It all evens out in the end.
Most importantly, DO NOT DIET!!!!! Your baby and your body needs all the nutrients you can get.
I've currently gained about about 4.5kgs, which is about the same as when I was pg with DD. Quite happy. Mind you, I put on about 1.25kg of it in the last week!!!! :laughing: I enjoyed my weekend away!
thought i better clarify, i was still 5kgs over my normal weight when i fell pregnant, by this stage last pregnancy i had put on about 7kgs:eek:
I am obsessed about my weight gain due to a massive 30kgs last time. I am determined that is not going to happen again and am watching what i eat and exercising. My reason for this is the weight did not just fall off, i lost 3kgs in the first week and that was it. Bf did squat didly. The rest was a hard slog.
Nothing evened out for me, it all just went down hill. But then my body doesnt do any of this pregnancy thing very well.:p
I dont mean to make anyone stress by comparing, we are all different:thumbsup:
hope i didnt offend/stress anyone, not my intention at all, just my obsessive virgo nature coming out:o
Snugglepot
15-03-2007, 08:49 AM
Its a Girl!
So exciting, it is kind of scary that they can not say 100% for girls (in case the boy bits are tucked away somewhere!) but as far as we can possibly tell it is all pink and most importantly all healthy!:smiliedance:
I am still a little sick in the tummy from the gastro, but other than that I am good, my tummy is very rotund and quiet beautiful at the moment!
Goor luck today Chicken!
congrats on the almost certain to be girl! wow a pigeon pair, lucky you!!!
DoubleAce
15-03-2007, 08:59 AM
Well I have been totally MIA. Almost feels like I'm not pg so I haven't been to this thread. I know that sounds bad, I am excited about having another baby but by this time I was feeling DD everyday and this baby is a lot quieter. I'm not stressed about it, it's just easier to forget that I'm pg (especially with DD running around) and so that puts me in the 'I'm tired' catergory. I hate being tired. I like to be all go go go and not struggling to get through the day. I find it more tiring being pg than what I find having a newborn.
Hopefully cause this baby is quieter on the inside that means s/he will be quieter on the outside! One can hope right? lol
I haven't even booked my scan yet....still another 3-4 weeks for me before I'll have it though, I'm 16 weeks today.
Congrats to those that have had their scans and know what they're having! I can't wait for that cause as soon as we know the sex we'll start preparing for this little baby!
Anyone got any tips on how to transition DD from the cot to a bed? She moves all over the place in her cot, I'm really worried that she'll just fall out of the bed even with a rail. I'm going to get her used to it with just naps first but I really want her out of the cot by the time baby2 comes along. I don't want to have to buy a bassinet!
deb1234
15-03-2007, 10:26 AM
Kirst & Jamb, don't worry about me, 5kgs i think is a good weight gain...if only i wasn't 10kg too big to start with! :laughing: ah well, i'll think about taking it all off after. I'm trying to just eat reasonably well and do a few walks on the treadmill a week.
Kez - congrats on your baby girl!!! Wow, a girl is a novelty around here :)
Ace1 - have no idea about transitioning from cot to bed since i'm a first timer, but some of these other more experienced ladies might be able to help! :D
ACE1, we just put the mattress on the floor to start with. When we raised it DH built a bedhead thingy that went to half way down sides. Not stylish but practical:thumbsup:
Got special sheets, fish ones and tractor as they seemed most popular, made a big deal of them.
Had to be quite firm with the "stay in your bed" to stop the escapades (he sleeps down the other end of our huge open planned room). I have read others use those door gates to keep littlies in their own room.
deb, great to hear, sounds like you got it all under control!!
Snugglepot
15-03-2007, 11:41 AM
Carmen, you are a serial name changer!
I have to transition DS to a bed too. I was also thinking of a mattress on the floor. Jamb that is a great idea to make a big deal of the doona etc (DS is so in love with his Bob slippers and wiggles bag because of this!) A gate is a good idea as I do not close his door at night as his room is at the other end of the house to us.
mom2jake
15-03-2007, 12:56 PM
mom2bee - I just noticed you're in Sydney, did you have the scan at Sydney Ultrasound for Women? That's where I'm heading!
I went to Sydney Xray in Bondi Junction. They were very good there also, the ladie that did our scan Tue was very good and very informative.
You must be excited for tomorrow:smiliedance:
Are you finding out the sex?
chicken
15-03-2007, 01:43 PM
Thanks girls!!! I can't wait for my scan - only a couple of hours to go now. We're not going to find out the sex, but if I happen to accidentally see something....... Can't wait to find out if those constant kicks I'm getting mean the baby has long legs (like me and DH). At my NT scan, they said the baby was about 0.5-1 week further along than my dates (which I was very sure about). OB said they will do more measuring this time and average the results from the two scans to give a final estimated due date? Has anyone else heard this? I always thought the earlier scans were more reliable for this?
I still haven't put any weight on overall - I'm still 57.5kg, which is where I started. I talked to my OB about it and she said it was nothing to worry about. The first half is a different story to the second half she said. I haven't been trying to watch my weight - I just haven't felt any more hungry than I did before, which I've been really surprised about. I'm sure the increased appetite will kick in at some point.
Will let you all know I go....
hayles07
15-03-2007, 02:01 PM
I was always told that they do the dating scan early on because its the most accurate way to give you an EDD. However, when I was at my doctors appointment last week, she also said to wait until my 18-20 week scan to finalise EDD as that is the most accurate scan... So, who knows?
At my nuchal scan, I was measuring further along than my dates, only by 4 days though.. Hopefully I'll know the correct EDD soon enough!
Good luck with your scan this afternoon!
3cherubs
15-03-2007, 02:06 PM
ACE1- We put a matress on her floor for DD1, before putting the bed up. I refused to buy an expensive bed keeperin thing..
When she got a little taller and more less likely to fall off we put the bed up.
We will do exactly the same with DD2 as well..
M O P
15-03-2007, 02:11 PM
:smiliedance: very exciting time for everyone, seems everyday one of us is having a scan!
My scan Tues went well but I had to have 3 goes at it to get the bub's heart in the right spot. Got there in the end.
I'm currently munching on the Haigh's little Easter eggs I bought for our neighbours while I was in Adelaide :shame: :laughing: Knew I'd have trouble not touching them while they sat calling me from my pantry for 3 weeks! Thinking now I'll boost the numbers with some Cadbury ones I'll get in Broken Hill before Easter.
chicken
15-03-2007, 06:25 PM
I'm back!!
It was so cool. I'm so glad we decided to go to the place we did. The u/s lasted 1.5 hours and we got to see heaps of great 3D images. Everything looks good health wise, which is a relief. Couldn't get much of a sneaky hint as to what it was, but when we had a doctor come in (towards the last 30mins of the scan), he was talking to the baby to get it to move because it was so active, and I think he may have let something slip. He said, "come on buddy" and then quickly said ""come on bubba" afterwards. Maybe it doesn't mean anything, but I would think it was strange to call a girl "buddy". We'll have to wait another 20 weeks to find out!
mom2jake
15-03-2007, 06:34 PM
Couldn't get much of a sneaky hint as to what it was, but when we had a doctor come in (towards the last 30mins of the scan), he was talking to the baby to get it to move because it was so active, and I think he may have let something slip. He said, "come on buddy" and then quickly said ""come on bubba" afterwards. Maybe it doesn't mean anything, but I would think it was strange to call a girl "buddy". We'll have to wait another 20 weeks to find out!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your u/s..I tried hard to see sex of our little one too(My dh doesn't want to know and I really do) but was impossible.But I think we're having a girl.
Thought about having 3D or 4D ultrasound done. I could imagine would be amazing?
chicken
15-03-2007, 08:24 PM
Yes, the 3D images are so life-like. It looks like a proper baby (even at this early stage) and is a great sneak peak at what the features will look like (DH and I both think it looks like me!).
MammyMammy
15-03-2007, 08:52 PM
all this time i have left the august thread alone because I thought it was the thread for babies due in august that WERE BABY number 5 !!!
But now I have cottoned on. hello all! xxx
i am still in two minds about finding out sex...oh well, i'll see what happens on the day of my 20 week scan (27th march)
Kirst
15-03-2007, 09:09 PM
Kez - congratulations on finding out that your little girl is healthy.
Chicken - sounds like you might be buying some blue stuff. Ha ha! MY SIL had that with her first - they slipped up and said 'his' instead of 'it's' only once, and they picked it up. Congratulation on a healthy bub, either way!
Kez - I took the front off my DD's cot when she was about 18 months old, as it was stable enough without it. It kind of acted like a toddler bed without having to dish out for one. She got used to clombing in and out, and it wasn't too far from the floor if she fell out.
She fell out all the time, and we found her asleep on the floor or even under the bed. She got stuck a couple of times.
Then she slept in a 'big bed' every now and again when we were at friend's places and such, and yep, she fell out - often. She's now in her own big bed, and it wasn't unusual to find her asleep on the floor. We just put her back in. She usually stayed asleep. Now she rarely falls out.
Good luck with it.
carli
16-03-2007, 01:44 AM
I'm back!!
I would think it was strange to call a girl "buddy". We'll have to wait another 20 weeks to find out!
My dad's nickname for me growing up was buddy... doesnt mean anything!!! Enjoy your suprise and trying to figure out what and who this little person is inside you, im so glad im not finding out, makes the day dreaming more exciting, and the suprise will be brilliant
deb1234
16-03-2007, 06:25 AM
congrats Chicken!! :yelclap: i can't believe we have to wait a whole 20 weeks now until we see them again.
are any of you going to a later scan? I imagine you can't see much if they are all squished up in there. ??? :)
:laughing: Mammymammy!!! Just number 1 here!
Kazza, i wouldn't be able to stop myself with chocolate in the house either. we usually buy a block a week and its gone within a few days :) i think this baby is going to come out addicted to milk, chocolate and potatoes!!
AngelGirl
16-03-2007, 07:20 AM
Congrats on your Girl Kez!!!
Chicken - sounds like the scan went well yesterday!! wow the 3D images must be amazing!!
I went to Sydney Xray in Bondi Junction. They were very good there also, the ladie that did our scan Tue was very good and very informative.
You must be excited for tomorrow:smiliedance:
Are you finding out the sex?
I'm going to the Sydney Ultrasound for Women on Kent Street in the city. It's at 11.30am - looking forward to it. DH really wants to find out so we'll see how we go!
How exciting angelgirl! have fun and cant wait to hear:D
mom2jake
16-03-2007, 07:32 AM
are any of you going to a later scan? I imagine you can't see much if they are all squished up in there. ??? :)
I have to go for later scan, my placenta is sitting a little low. The u/s lady seems to think it will move up, but I need a later u/s to make sure!! If it doesn't move up I will need a c-section...
Good Luck today AngelGirl...I look forward to hearing all about it:smiliedance:
chicken
16-03-2007, 10:09 AM
I have to go for later scan, my placenta is sitting a little low. The u/s lady seems to think it will move up, but I need a later u/s to make sure!! If it doesn't move up I will need a c-section...
I had to have in internal u/s yesterday as they were worried that my placenta was sitting too low. But once I had the internal, they said it was OK. But they said it was all pretty normal, even if I did find out that I had to have another scan at 34 weeks, so try not to worry yourself too much about it.
DoubleAce
16-03-2007, 11:03 AM
Congrats on your girl Kez! And I swear, I won't be changing my username again! Well except for when baby2 is born, then the 1 will change to his/hers initial (ACE is the first letter from DF's, mine and DD's name)
Thanks for the advice on transitioning from cot to bed! DD will actually be moving out of the nursery (it's unisex so it will become baby2's room and DD will move across the hall into what is now the study) so she'll have a whole room for us to make a fuss of! Everything mentioned I'd already thought about....I was just hoping someone could wave a magic wand or something for me! lol Thankfully I've taught her how to get off our bed safely so she knows how to get out without hurting herself. It's a start!
I got up super duper early this morning (5.25am) and went back to my 6am spin class. I thought I'd be exhausted but I feel pretty good...tired, but just normal tired. DD is bed right now but not sleeping. If she doesn't go to sleep soon she'll be up all day (she's not even 16 months yet....I don't want her to give up day sleeps but she is trying hard to do it) so I won't get a nanna nap in at all!
Well that's all from me! Have a great weekend! DF and I are going wedding ring shopping (we get married in 9 days! lol) We got a quote to get them made and it was ridiculously expensive so mine is getting made (my engagement ring is handmade so my wedding ring needs to be so the gold will match) but we're just going to buy DF's now. Wish us luck!
mom2jake
16-03-2007, 11:42 AM
I had to have in internal u/s yesterday as they were worried that my placenta was sitting too low. But once I had the internal, they said it was OK. But they said it was all pretty normal, even if I did find out that I had to have another scan at 34 weeks, so try not to worry yourself too much about it.
Yeh,thankyou...I'm sure we'll be fine!
They said that the way it's positioned it should move up with the uterine wall(thats apparently normal)
Where did you have your ultrasound?
DoubleAce
16-03-2007, 01:53 PM
Ok I'm back....DF came home at lunch today to tell me there is a chance he has to go to the USA for one month for work. I'm so bummed. He will miss out on the 20 week u/s and we'll start our life as a married couple with him in another country for a month. A whole month. DD will miss him like crazy and I'll be the one left to pick up the pieces. As if she's really going to understand where her dad has gone? I told him I was really upset and to let his work know that he doesn't want to go but he is already organising his passport and told me that there are other people involved too that need to be considered (if he doesn't go to America the American's will come here.) He offered to take me with him but I flew to Europe when I was 20 weeks pg with DD and flew home at 24 weeks and the long plane flights were awful, jet lag was a b#tch and that was without a toddler. I don't think I'm up for it. I have online friends in the US that I'd love to meet but not now.
DueInAugust
16-03-2007, 01:53 PM
Congratz to all those that have had there scans!
It's great to hear everyone is enjoying them.
I have still got 2 weeks to wait for mine.
DF is being silly he doesn't wont to sit through it if it takes an hour so thinks he can come in find out the sex then spend the rest of the time sleeping in the car!
I think he will change his mind once we get there but it still isn't right.
He finally got to feel the baby kick the other day and twice since.
Good luck to all of you still waiting to see our little ones. Can't wait!
chicken
16-03-2007, 03:37 PM
Where did you have your ultrasound?
It was at a place called SO+GI - very modern, although expensive. My scan was $325, and I'm not sure I get anything back with Medicare. But it all goes towards the Medicare safety net anyway, so it didn't really bother me.
Dueinaugust: You poor thing. You need to give your DH a big slap. None of this would be the same if my DH wasn't excited about all the stuff as me. But I bet you're right that as soon as you get in there, he'll change his mind. There's something mesmerising about seeing your own baby.
imisschampagne
16-03-2007, 08:54 PM
Hi all, i'm new to this thread only found bubhub last night...looking forward to making some new friends!!!! None of my close friends have kids, so i'm feeling a little isolated!!! I'm due Aug 20th!
I finally felt movement this week (now that i'm positive it is movement), it's so exciting if not a little unplesant sometimes. We r going for our 19 week scan next week CANT WAIT, this is our first scan so it seems like a long time coming!!!!
Everyone is convinced we r having a boy :confused: Why is that? I know deep down DH would love a girl as would I (prob cause we dont have any boys names) but i just want a happy healthy one. Looking forward to hearing how everyone elses scan go!!! Good Luck:thumbsup: Nic
Tan-mumof3
16-03-2007, 11:14 PM
Hi everyone i haven't posted on this thread for a while.
Firstly congratulations to Deb, Julie & debbie on your little boys.
And to Donna & Kez on your little girls.
Also to anyone else who had theire scans but chose to find out the sex.
Im having my scan in the next 2 weeks sometime, i haven't booked it yet will do that when i get my referal on wednesday.
Well my little bubba has been sooo active today my dh said he could even see my belly move.
feeling really well now except for the tiredness and achey belly. Oh and now i have a disgusting lumpy varicose vein that goes almost all the way down my leg.
Anyway sorry for not posting for so long and sorry for not many personals but i do really hope you are all well & i promise to post more often and keep more up to date on this very fast moving thread.
ps :wave: and welcome to the newbies.
Tingles
17-03-2007, 07:19 AM
Well, I still don't have an ultrasound date:mad: - they are tooooo busy to give me a date, and the man who will fit me in has been away sick for 3 days (that I'm aware of) :banghead: .
So I rang the maternity part of the hospital & made them aware of the situation - they said to ring medical imaging back Monday, and if I still don't have a date to contact them again....
I have been told, 'You can go up to 21 weeks' - YES BUT I DON'T WANT TOO!!!:rolleyes:
Somedays I'm feeling good with bursts of energy (to clean the house), and other days I'm not - I find that when I've mopped the floor, or vacumed I'm washed out the next day...
Anyway, that's all from me - no real movements here yet - Heart beat monitor is my saviour at the moment - I can listen to baby, and know that all is well! JUST WANT TO KNOW THE GENDER!!!!
Hello, and welcome to all the newbies!!
PS- I went to the cadbury factory yesterday (with The P&F) - went sick!! Bought all the easter goods!! mmmm:p
AngelGirl
17-03-2007, 07:36 AM
Hi ladies!!!
We had the scan yesterday and my goodness what an experience, it was just the normal scan but I was surprised at the amount of detail it goes into. We watched little bean jumping and squirming all over the place. At one point it looked like she/he was head butting the wall of the uterus!! Saw the little heart beating away and watched the tiny feet kicking around, a little hand up near it's ear almost like it was scratching it's head. Soooo cute, DH and I were just blown away. My placenta is anterior so that is why I haven't felt too much movement. We didn't find out the sex, DH decided at the last minute that a surprise would be fun after all! So a surprise it is :D.
momtobee - I would LOVE to see a 4D scan too. The ultrasound technician said it's best to view these from 28 weeks cause you'll see so much detail in the babys face. There's a place called EarlyView in Sydney that does them.
Deb - I think my bubba will also come out addicted to chocolate and potatoes. I have been buying the odd cadbury easter egg!!
I had to have in internal u/s yesterday as they were worried that my placenta was sitting too low.
What does it mean if the placenta is sitting too low?
oh Carmen :hugs:, what terrible timing for your DH work trip! I would go with him if I were you, easy for me to say because I don't have a toddler but at least you'll be together and DD will be able to see him. That way you can catch up with your friends too. Have a think about it? :idea:
DueInAugust - Let me know where you live so I can come around to your place and slap your DF myself!! Our scan took half an hour and DH was so engrossed with the whole thing, at one point I asked him if he wanted some popcorn to go with the movie! He absolutely loved it, it was a great bonding experience for us, we now feel like this is really happening!! I agree with Chicken - once your DF sees that heartbeat, he won't be able to take his eyes off the screen!
imisschampagne - A big welcome!! You will love the scan! Don't worry what everyone else says, I've realised that everybody has an opinion, so let them have it and you choose to take on as little or as much as you want of that. In the end, go with your own gut feeling. Nobody can tell if you're having a boy or a girl, it's all guesswork! You probably have the best idea.....a womans intuition!!
Whoops sorry for the essay, i got a bit carried away this morning!!
AngelGirl
17-03-2007, 07:39 AM
Tingles - How annoying they won't give you a date for your scan yet?? I hope the next few weeks fly by so you can see your little bubba soon.
Cadbury Factory - that is my heaven!! I am so jealous!!
niesl_bug
17-03-2007, 03:56 PM
Hi Gals :wave:
YAY! I have internet access here !!! Our trip has been amazing so far - the villa we are in is more like a royal mansion! we are right next to the rice fields - with a housekeeper, driver ...
Flight was great, weather is gorgeous, have been lazing by the pool, reading, going to fantastic restaurants and lots of napping !!!
Kez - congratulations on your girl :smiliedance:
Glad to hear everyone else is well, congratulations to the newbies.
I have been feeling great - tummy growing daily and i feel the occassional movement, not a lot though. We have hit the 19 week mark and we cannot wait for our scan when we get back! Just wish I knew what we were having now so i could buy some little outfits - have seen some really cute ones here but they are very gender specific. Might hedge my bets and buy one of each:rolleyes:
I have been eating a heap of sweets too - still can't touch meat (and am steering clear of it here anyway). DH is worried bub will have a massive sweet tooth!
Take care everyone, will have a freshly squeezed watermelon juice by the pool for you :p
Tingles
17-03-2007, 05:10 PM
niesl_bug - I knew you would find internet access!!!:laughing: you couldn't stay away!!!
So glad you are having a beaut time!!
chicken
17-03-2007, 06:55 PM
My placenta is anterior so that is why I haven't felt too much movement.
Mine is anterior too, and the u/s woman started telling me that it can mean that you don't feel too much movement - and then I told her that was the complete opposite of what I'm experiencing. She said I must be ultra-sensitive. I don't think I want to be ultra-sensitive!! This morning at 4am, I was actually woken up by a big kick. God help me as they get stronger.
I also went to my first pregnancy yoga class today. Started doing some relaxation exercises, but the baby had other ideas. There I was trying to relax, and kick, kick, kick!!! This has got to be a boy!:laughing:
Angelgirl, I can't remember exactly what they said is the problem if the placenta is lying too low, but it basically has to do with potential problems during the birth (not enough room or something?).
Tara - happy holidays!!
mom2jake
17-03-2007, 07:28 PM
momtobee - I would LOVE to see a 4D scan too. The ultrasound technician said it's best to view these from 28 weeks cause you'll see so much detail in the babys face. There's a place called EarlyView in Sydney that does them.
!
I checked out the website (Earlyview) and I'd really LOVE to get it done also. 28weeks? Thats a whole 8weeks away, I guess it's somehing new to look forward to:smiliedance:
whatwasithinking
17-03-2007, 07:33 PM
I have finaly felt flutters - PHEW I was getting so worried for awhile there because even the midwife and dr was saying I should have been feeling something (not strong) a week or so ago and they were very surprised I hadn't even felt a flicker flutter.
Now my belly feels like I have dancing butterflys inside. :smiliedance:
mom2jake
17-03-2007, 07:41 PM
Angelgirl, I can't remember exactly what they said is the problem if the placenta is lying too low, but it basically has to do with potential problems during the birth (not enough room or something?).
I have exactly same low laying placenta, it blocks the birth canal, so if they don't move up it could mean c-section. But apparently they generally move up...:fingerscrossed:
Oh tara, i can just imagine your villa, we stayed in some beautiful open air/thatched roofed villa's right in the middle of rice fields.......so peaceful.....
chicken i am thinking bout doing some yoga, not sure as i have a 40minute round trip to do it. was it a good stretch or pretty gentle?
angelgirl, glad scan went well! little fingers, so beautiful!
not much happening here, up early with DS, being a nice wife and letting Dh have a sleep in.
Very constipated here after the gastro, one extreme to the other. Went to pharmacy and asked what i could take and he gave me agarol, a liquid parafin mix. I look it up on the internet and most websites (including Royal womens hospy) say NO to liquid minerals/parrafin whilst pregnant due to unknown effect on foetus. :banghead: :banghead:
Dam annoying when the chemist is a hour and half away.
Off to search for theads on it, find out what others used!
have a lovely sunday everyone
DoubleAce
18-03-2007, 06:46 AM
Sorry wuick post...Jamb see if metamucil is ok.....I think that'd be your best bet.
Ta ACE1, seems metamucil or benefibre for everyday up in fibre and i have used nulax before so will get some for when i am really blocked:o
Strange cause we eat really well, wholegrain everything, plenty of fruit/veges....hormonal?? It's literally a real pain in the @rse:laughing: sorry couldnt help myself!
Kirst
18-03-2007, 07:45 AM
Hey AngelGirl, I have a couple of good Pregnancy videos/DVDs. If you want I can copy the DVD for you? It has different positions for different stages of pregnancy, and gives you really good information about how far to go.
Mine are pretty gentle, but I find the relaxation and breathing really useful. It really helped me through my last labour. Especially when the perineium (sp?) is stretching, if you kow what I mean........:eek: :eek: I didn't tear at all.
I combine 2 yoga and 1 'ball' workouts and I feel pretty good. They're great to have, as I can just do one when DD goes down for a sleep. And I alternate them so that I'm not doing the same thing all the time.
I would love to copy the videos for you too, but I only have 1 VCR, and don't know how I could. I could give you the details and maybe you hunt them down on DVD? But I can defintiely send you a copy of the Yoga DVD if you want it.
PM me your details if you want it.
I'm on morning duty this morning as well. It's pretty standard for us to take it in turns in the weekend. One morning DH sleeps in, and I do the other. I slept until 10am yesterday!!!!!!!!
Oh well, back to it. Speak to you all later.
AngelGirl
18-03-2007, 09:06 AM
Wow Tara - sounds like you are in heaven!
Chicken - How fantastic that you are feeling big kicks now! (or maybe not if it's waking you up! :laughing:)
Mom2bee - yeah I'd love to have the 4D scan done with earlyview but it's a bit expensive...would be amazing though.....
Donna - Yay some flutters for you! :thumbsup: It's very reassuring isn't it?!
Kirst - Thanks heaps for the offer of the DVD but I think it was Jamb that was saying it's a long trip for her to get to a Yoga class :p
I'm booked into a class which starts in 2 weeks and I'm looking forward to it!
Sparky
18-03-2007, 12:41 PM
Hello everyone,
I've never really written in forums before. I'm soo happy that i finally found somewhere i can talk to other mum's/mum's to be, my partner is away alot with work.
Sofar this pregnancy has been a breeze with next to no morning sickness. My bub is due on the 9th august, we had our first scan at 16weeks and found out that we are having a boy. Yay. I have been feeling him kick for a few weeks now.
AngelGirl
18-03-2007, 04:43 PM
Hey Sparky,
Congratulations and Welcome!! We are due on the same day :D. I came across Bub Hub when I was trying to conceive and have enjoyed being able to chat with others in a similar position. How exciting, you're having a BOY!!
Looking forward to sharing this journey with you!
Tingles
19-03-2007, 11:44 AM
I am going to be a mother of 4 GIRLS!!!:eek:
Had my ultrasound this morning - they had a cancellation - all is well - and yes we have :wizard: another girl - what a suprise:rolleyes:
We are going to shock alot of people with another baby girl! We are the only ones in our families to have just one sex....
DH grandfather had 3 girls (that's where they stopped)...
I couldn't stop laughing...
Tan-mumof3
19-03-2007, 11:50 AM
:wave: and welcome Sparky & congrats on your little boy.
Tingles congrats on another little pink bundle on the way.
chicken
19-03-2007, 02:12 PM
chicken i am thinking bout doing some yoga, not sure as i have a 40minute round trip to do it. was it a good stretch or pretty gentle?
The class was pretty gentle - sometimes frustratingly so, after being used to doing normal yoga. As Kirst said, they tended to focus more on relaxation and breathing, which is probably not a bad thing if it helps you to focus during the birth.
Tingles - all I can say is, wow!!! My best friend is one of four girls, and they have amazing relationships with each other.
Have almost finished painting the nursery (cream - unisex colour) and getting ready to order furniture and other things soon. Tara, I know you've made lots of progress. How is everyone else's planning/preparation going?
My belly is looking more like a mini-basketball by the day. It just sticks straight out, with no extra padding on the sides at all. I've heard there are old wive's tales about belly shape and sex of the baby. Does anyone know what they are?
littlejoy
19-03-2007, 02:18 PM
Sorry to just jump on in on your thread but I had my baby in August last year.. so I was just reading to see what you lovely ladies were up to for memory sake!!! Congratulations to all BTW.
Chicken - My understanding of it is, is that if you are all at the front as I was then it is a boy (I had a boy) and if you put weight on around your hips then it is a girl (a friend of mine just had a little girl and she put heaps of weight on around her hips)
Take care all and goodluck!!!!!!
chicken
19-03-2007, 02:19 PM
Thanks littlejoy. That's very interesting, because we have a sneaky feeling it is a boy!!
DoubleAce
19-03-2007, 02:29 PM
Hey guys!
Tingles congrats on your girl!!!!
Chicken, I carried all out in front with DD. I didn't gain weight anywhere except my belly. I'm the same this time round. I think it's just how I carry though. My mum had 2 girls and both pregnancies she gained in the hips and butt. My nana had 2 girls and a boy and carries how I do with each of her pregnancies.
Tara sounds like you're having a great time!!!
So I have decided I definitely won't be going to America if DF goes. I know how hard the jet lag was last time and everyone that I know who took a baby/toddler to a different time zone has said that it screwed up their sleep times for months afterwards. DD has just started getting good with sleeps so I don't want to mess that up. Fingers crossed he doesn't have to go.
I booked in my 20 week scan too. It's on the 13th April. I imagine I'll be the last to have my scan cause everyone is further along than me and my scan is being done at 20 weeks and 1 day.
Well I might not be back on until next week now. I get married on sunday! I tried my dress on today (third and final fitting on Friday) and it looks great!
tingles, congrats on the girl, your DH is surrounded by oestrogen!
thanks for the yoga info chicken, it is the same with the pilates for pg, very very gentle, almost feel like you aren't doing anything.
sparky, welcome and congrats on the boy! lucky you no MS!
ACE1, i meant to reply to your america post, but must have got side tracked. I totally understand not wanting to fly that far. We went to hawaii when i was about 23 weeks, i thoroughly enjoyed myself but was so uncomfortable in the tiny seat. Would have been pretty unbearable if i'd had to look after a toddler too. I hope you DH tobe doesnt have to go.
BUT most importantly, have a fantastic day on sunday, congrats!! I got married at 12 weeks last pg, i love looking at our photo's and seeing my surprisingly big bump as part of the day, have a blast! Cant wait to see a piccie!!!
hope everyone is cruising through their day!
leishacaz
19-03-2007, 03:01 PM
Hi Everyone :wave:
I haven't posted for a while- there's so much to catch up on!!
In all my other posts I've been saying how me and DH wont be finding out the sex of 'nugget' but in the last few weeks I've had a complete change of heart and decided I'm, going to find out. It took alot of convincing to get me DH to agree coz at first when I told him he was completely against it but he's come round now. So i'll be having my 18 week u/s on 31st March and now I'm even more excited!
Tara- I'm so jealous! Hope your having a great time!
Sparky- welcome to our thread along with all the other new people! And congrats on the news your having a boy!
Ace1- I can completely understand your decision although I'm sure it must've been a hard one. You'll have to keep yourself really distracted on bubhub while he's away lol.
Chicken- I haven't started organising the baby's room at all! At the moment its my spare junk room and I'm quite upset about loosing it actually! I don't know what I'm going to do with all the stuff in there.
To everyone else hope you're all doing well sorry if I've missed anyone.
Woo-hoo Mondays almost over :smiliedance:
Kirst
19-03-2007, 10:19 PM
Tingles - congratulations on your 4th pink bundle of joy! Although I must say, I am going to feel very sorry for your husband when you all have your periods. :eek:
Well I have my 19 week scan today, and all is well. Normal sort of size, happy heart, brain, two hands, two feet. It's all good. No gender, didn't want to know. We'll wait, although I must admit, when I was in there I got curious.........
deb1234
20-03-2007, 06:26 AM
hi everyone :wave:
we didn't have power yesterday afternoon so i've got lots to catch up on!
chicken - at the moment our "nursery" is the spare room with a pram parked in it!! haha. we will actually be using a different spare room for the baby but at the moment that room is for my other boys, Socks & McGraw, so they will have to move out eventually.
Tingles - having four girls is great! imagine if it was a boy and he had to put up with three sisters! :laughing: i'm one of three girls & wouldn't swap any of them for a smelly brother.
Kirst & all you others who didn't find out - i can't believe your strength lying there at the ultrasound and NOT finding out the sex!! well done! :yelclap:
ACE1 have a great wedding. pics are compulsory!
hi to everyone else, have a great day :D
AngelGirl
20-03-2007, 06:53 AM
Morning all,
Tingles - Congrats on your little girl!!
LittleJoy - thanks for your wishes. How is it to look back on your pregnancy and think how quickly it went? My friend's baby will be 12 months this September and she can't believe how quick the time has gone.
Carmen - Have a FANTASIC day on Sunday, I'm sure you will look gorgeous!! Take mental snapshops, relax and enjoy yourself because it all happens so quickly! Congratulations. xxx
As for me, I had an appointment with the Ob last night to go over the results of the scan. All is good, both baby and I are progressing well! However I wish people would stop commenting on how 'small' my tummy is. A friend (who is a mum herself) actually said to me last night "Your tummy is very little, did the doctor say anything about you being so small?". Now, the Obsterician had just been through my scan results and told me everything is progessing normally, had there been a problem with the baby's size, then she would have said something to me?! Why should the size of my belly be a concern, everyone carries differently and you'd think another mum would be well aware of this?? Sorry for my rant but it's starting to really upset me.
Tingles
20-03-2007, 08:52 AM
Thank you all for your congratulations - most family members have given off negative vibes - that has been disappointing.
COMMENTS TO ME IN THE LAST 24hrs: 'Well the next one will be a boy', 'are you disappointed', 'Oh I really would have hoped this was a boy, I'm a bit disappointed', 'will you have another one?' Family!
Can you believe that:confused: - the chances of us having a boy were probably stacked against us - we didn't have a baby just to have a boy, because we couldn't guarantee that...
VENT: Yes, it would have been nice to have a boy, but maybe we just aren't supposed to... I told DH when he's old and has no teeth the girls will be there to puree his food - I said, can you imagine our grandchildren, we will be looking after them all the time...:ecomcity:
Hope you are all well - it's raining here in Melbourne - nice change!
Angelgirl - Everybody has an opinion on your size - with my first I had strangers saying - your very small, is everything ok. You probably had good tummy muscles to begin with! Don't worry!! You & your bub will burst out at the end:eek:
deb1234
20-03-2007, 08:52 AM
Angelgirl - don't listen to your friend. i wish i was small!! :laughing: as you said, everyone carries differently, some of us have already gained lots and some will have a slow gain and pop at the end. if the ob says you have a healthy baby in there, then be assured that everything is ok. :hugs:
MammyMammy
20-03-2007, 01:38 PM
At my 20 week scan, can my sonographer tell me the sex later, if i called up? My DH doesnt want to know the sex, and now i am thinking that I do (but keep it secret from everybody else..if that is even possible!) so i wonder what i can do?
I have this "dream" in my head, that it is a girl and we go here and there and I take her out in her little pram and everyone loves her little face and her groovy winter outfits....
...and yet I have NO PROBLEMS with having a boy at all, but I want to get used to being a Mammy to a boy, or a Mammy to a girl since this is our first and I have had NO EXPERIENCE at all changing or cleaning any boy bubs...only girls, heaps of girl experience...and there are no boys in our family either (just me and my sis)
Does anyone feel this same thing? or the opposite?
Also, what % is guessing if they do tell me the sex?
thanks august ladies!
xxx:thumbsup:
deb1234
20-03-2007, 01:53 PM
hi Deb,
Why don't you get the ultrasound person to write the sex and how sure they are on a piece of paper and put it in an envelope, so that you can take it home and think about it?
With our boy they were 100% sure, we saw all the bits and no girl should have them! :laughing:
MammyMammy
20-03-2007, 02:01 PM
hey thats a great idea. that way, if DH ever wants to know, I can hand him the envelope.
And it also means that I can think a bit more about it before I open up the envelope myself
If the sonographer is quite skilled (assuming mine is because he practically has an alphabet of letters behind his name) if he/she gets a view of the genitals and show you on screen, how comprehensive is it to an untrained eye....ie, when you saw your boy's little noodle, was it obviously a willy, or was it explained to you as to what it was?
i ask this because at 12 weeks when we last saw bub in detail, there really wasnt a lot to see - you know, they said "this is the stomach" and i was like yeah right, you could be showing me a close up of a cloud for all i could see....but at 20 weeks, obviously things are way more clear and the form is more advanced.
so - when you see a willy, or a little winky....can you TELL?
DoubleAce
20-03-2007, 02:04 PM
I so shouldn't be on here! I have heaps to do! Just taking a 5 minute break and then I'm boxing up all of DF's stuff from his old work (he has it sprawled all over the study floor...his dad arrives from Spain on Thursday and I don't want him thinking I'm a bad housewife!)
Angelgirl I was small with DD and am small this time round too. I was 22 weeks before I popped enough for people to notice I was pregnant. This time round no one believes me when I say I'm pregnant. I have popped a bit but I'm still small. I'm actually smaller this time round than I was with DD. The best part about it all is you get to run it in rude people's faces once your baby is here! Well I did anyway! Everyone would say 'you are going to have such a tiny baby, are you sure everything is okay?' well out came DD at 9lb 1oz and it shut everyone up! It's been great this time round. I had this one stupid woman tell me that I would have to have a c-section cause I was too fit to give birth vaginally (wtf?). It was so nice being able to turn around and say 'actually this is my second and I pushed out a 9lb 1oz baby with no complications so I think I'll be fine this time too.' She had nothing to say and this was said in front of a bunch of people. She ended up looking like such a fool. Just ignore the comments cause one day you'll get to shut them up once and for all!!
Ok that's it..break over!
MammyMammy
20-03-2007, 02:10 PM
my friend damn near killed her boss when he kept saying "you're not very big"....and she was sure he was hinting that she was taking her maternity leave early!!!
She showed them, with a 8 pounder little cutie, arriving just shy of the due date...
tell everyone to shove it - its just their jealousy that your body hasnt "given in" to the pressure of your baby's weight yet (like mibne has...wow am i a barrel of baby!) and you still look your perfectly normal self.
I am reading "up the duff" again for a laugh, and i am sure if Kaz Cooke were told she were not very big for dates, she would offer the person conduct an internal to be sure !!!! hahaaha
deb1234
20-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Deb, they will go over the between the legs shot really fast if you tell them you don't want to know. when we said we did, she zoomed in and explained these are his legs etc. and everything in between! so we couldn't miss it. but i'm sure if you didn't want to know they would be able to do all the other measurements etc they need and not show you. :)
MammyMammy
20-03-2007, 02:13 PM
Deb,
so when they zoomed in, there was definitely a little willy - at what week were you when you had sex confirmed?
will 20 weeks be suffice?
DueInAugust
20-03-2007, 05:17 PM
Sorry I have been mia for this week.
Congratz to everyone thats had a healthy scan of there bubs. I'm still waiting. Have another 2 weeks to go.
And congratz to everyone that found out the sex of there bundle of joy. It must be such a relief to find out and start getting stuff thats not uni-sex.
AngelGirl- I'm sure they will all be shut up, as everyone keeps saying, when you pop out a healthy little bub. I think size is one of the worst ways to tell if your bub will be big or healthy.
I have had people saying for such small person I'm showing early. I have had a bump since 14 weeks.
I am not just showing at the front though. My bub seems to think its ok to venture all the way round my side as well as the front.
Its wierd but a few friends and my step mum have said its gotta be a girl to be like that. Has anyone else heard this??
My step mum said she carried a basketball under her top with her boy and all round with her girl.
Has anyone else not reached the honeymoon feeling better stage??
M/S is easing but still annoying me.
And DF is getting sick of me sleeping 16 hours a day.
I was hoping I would get back my energy by now.
Sparky
20-03-2007, 05:43 PM
Deb - I had my scan at about 17weeks and we could definately see a little willy. At 20weeks u should definately be able to see.
I have had a number of people tell me that i'm big so early. My step father seems to enjoy reminding me how big i am already.
deb1234
20-03-2007, 06:30 PM
Deb, my scan was at 19 weeks, but as sparky said you can tell earlier. sometimes they even give you an idea at your nuchal scan but ours didn't want to say anything. :)
2princesses1prince
20-03-2007, 09:41 PM
hi everyone, all progressing well here, but not sure if I will be staying in august thread or moving to july. They may be changing my dates, but won't know for another few weeks.
My little man is either just a big baby or i am further along than they first thought.
AngelGirl
21-03-2007, 07:07 AM
Just reading all of your posts about what family, friends and strangers are saying to all of you now or in the past. I just can't believe it!! For some reason people assume that because you're pregnant, you're suddenly public property and they can make any kind of comment they wish.
Tingles - I cannot believe some of the things your family have said to you!! My mum is one of 6 girls and my grandfather is the proudest man on earth. As you said, maybe thats just the way it's supposed to be :yes: ....four beautiful little princesses!
I am reading "up the duff" again for a laugh, and i am sure if Kaz Cooke were told she were not very big for dates, she would offer the person conduct an internal to be sure !!!! hahaaha
I'm reading Up The Duff too. I'm just reading week by week and loving it, I laugh my head off and quote certain lines to DH. It's a good read.
Snugglepot
21-03-2007, 11:53 AM
I hope everyone is well. Thank you for all the well wishes for our little baby girl! We are so excited. My MIL in Scotland has already sent a parcel of pink clothes! :smiliedance:
Tingles congrats on your Girl it will be very special to have 4 girls, how many people can say that these days! They will be lucky sisters I am sure.
People are so very forthright and outspoken when it comes to pregnancy, they always have an opinion! Most people mean well, so try to see it like that, they aren't to know you have heard it 10 times already that day...I used to hate it, but it doesn't stop when they are born or even 2 or 20, so I have kinda accepted it! Having children is magic :wizard: don't let anyone spoil it. A good reply is "I'm just like my mother", that shuts peole up pretty quick!
Mumtotwins, I hope you stay with us! I am also early August, came early last time and my scan dates are early, so I may end up with a july baby too!
I hope everyone else is well and you scans are coming up quickly!
mom2jake
21-03-2007, 12:07 PM
A massive congratulations to everyone who has found out what they're having...I wish my DF wanted to find out, firstly I thought we were having a girl and yesterday I thought I saw a penis on the u/s dvd?
Today OB told me to avoid sex because low laying placenta? Has anyone else been told/heard this?
We're off to NZ for a week this afternoon, can't wait:smiliedance:
Tingles
21-03-2007, 12:17 PM
Everyone is doing really well, but I am just abit curious as there are quite a few who have their names on the EDD thread, but they don't seem to be amongst us??:confused:
Eg. I share my Due Date with 'mumoftom'
mumoftom are you still with us??
Cinta, R U still here?
If anyone else is lurking around, but not posting - let us know how U R going:)
hayles07
21-03-2007, 01:30 PM
I am pretty slack when it comes to posting in these threads - Even though I do read them daily.. :yes: Generally if I have a concern, I'll post something...
My due date is the 28th of August (At the moment, gee don't they like to change your dates constantly)..
I still haven't gone for my first hospital appointment yet :mad: Anyone else who yet hasn't visited the hospital? I feel like I'm the only one left behind....
I think I'm feeling flutters or what I describe as "bubbles" - Feels like bubbles popping or something of the like lol... Generally below my belly button on my left side - I do feel it daily.. I hope its the little one kicking... How long do you feel flutters for before the real kicks start? All very exciting..
I go for my scan in less than 2 weeks - 3rd of April. Can't wait to find out for sure what bubba is - They were pretty sure at my last scan it was a boy so we will be ever so shocked if they say it's a girl - But either way, we dont mind! :)
deb1234
21-03-2007, 01:46 PM
Hi Hayley,
Which hospital are you going to? I'm going to Logan and only just got my first appointment for tomorrow after ringing four times and talking to four different people! I'm 21 weeks today. They had my referral but weren't too interested in booking me in, they just said that "i'll get a letter in the mail some time between 18 & 26 weeks". Pretty slack if you ask me, but hopefully now that i'm in the system it will be ok. So you aren't left behind!! :D
hayles07
21-03-2007, 01:53 PM
Makes me feel better - I am also going to Logan too - What fun lol... I got a "New Patient Registation Form" in the mail from them a week ago to fill in which I sent back last Thursday, so fingers crossed they will get back to me. I am 17+1 weeks today - They did tell me they do their first appointments between 18 and 22 weeks, but I'm impatient lol.... If they haven't got back to me within the next few weeks, I'll be ringing them too!
hayles07
21-03-2007, 01:54 PM
Just curious, where abouts are you located if you are going to the Logan? :)
hayles i dont see the hospy till may! and then thats it, i dont go back, MW's dont do antenatal care:rolleyes: ridiculous if you ask me- i'd like to get to know who will be delivering my baby.
I am considering paying to be private for a day so that OB will definitely be there to deliver.
Stupid public system round here!
trendy1
21-03-2007, 02:07 PM
Hello everyone,
Well congratulations to all that have found out the sex of your babies!! I sometimes wish I was finding out, but then just want a surprise. Well DH and I started going through names and I wrote down heaps that I liked and he read through them - nearly 2 pages of boys and girls and told me he doesn't like any of them. THe only one he doesn't mind but doesn't really like either is Phoebe for a girl, so I cracked it and told him to look for names and he did a few but I don't like any of them so now we are going to have trouble finding a name that we agree on, maybe we just put names in a hat and pull one out on the day. It is so hard for us to agree on names at all, we have agreed on middle names which will be May for a girl (my mums middle name) and James for a boy (which was my dads middle name - he passed away a month after I was born so I am very strong on James for the middle name - no compromising on that)! Is anyone else having trouble agreeing on names?
All is going well with us, I have my ultrasound next week which I am looking forward to, just want to check that everything is going well and developing properly. Did anyone get a bit worried before their scan that something might be wrong? I don't know why but lately I have been thinking alot of what if's and it is scareing me a bit and am a bit worried about the scan. I am sure it will all be fine but was anyone else like this?
Sorry this is a bit long, glad to hear that most of you are doing well and love hearing all about the scans and the babies sex - it is great and is making this all seem a bit more real.
My DH is going to get all of my old maternity clothes out for me this weeked as I put them away after DD and now they are right at the top of the cupboard and I can't reach them. Don't really need them yet but want to get them out to wash them and have them ready when I do need them.
hayles07
21-03-2007, 02:07 PM
jamb - that sucks... where abouts are you?? maybe i have nothing to complain about after all lol....
so you get a one off visit in may and thats it? hm, yeh i'd definately be looking into going private, if only for the day... I would definately like to know who was delivering my baby too..
hooray for crazy hospitals!! :smiliedance:
deb1234
21-03-2007, 02:09 PM
Hayley, i'm in Ormeau. We're halfway between Logan & Gold Coast Hosps but thought Logan was easier to get to in a hurry!! :) PM me if you're interested in meeting up :D
hayles07
21-03-2007, 02:12 PM
trendy1 - I know exactly what you mean about freaking out about the scan.... I have my next scan in less than 2 weeks and I've been stressing about it...I was stressed out before my nuchal scan at 12 weeks as well - I guess it's just natural..
I more so freak out cos I never got morning sickness, I have not yet got the sore or bigger breasts, my stomach is slowly growing but I still think I look fat, not pregnant.... lol... I generally don't feel pregnant, I get extremely tired at times but thats about it... I think I'm starting to feel little flutters, so thats a little reassuring
Good luck with your scan, I'm sure everything is fine :D
trendy1
21-03-2007, 02:23 PM
Hayles07: you sound very similar to me - I never got sick at all or had any morning sickness and I also don't really look pregnant just more like I have a pot belly, I am still wearing my normal clothes for now - they are getting a bit tighter than they were!! But I am not noticiably pregnant at all. I am tall though and with DD I carried long so didn't get really big at all.
With the scan I didn't get the nuchal scan and sort of since I have thought I should of just done it for peace of mind - so I think that has been playing on my mind as well.
I haven't felt alot of movement yet, but do get them every now and then, I actually thought I should of felt more, but when I was at the hospital last week the midwife was trying to get the heartbeat and the baby kept moving as soon as she would go near it and I couldnt feel it at all so that is a good thing that it was so active last week.
I am just being paranoid I think but I am trying to talk myself out of it!! I am glad I am not the only one nervous about the scan though.
All the best with your scan also and let us know how you go.
hayles07
21-03-2007, 02:29 PM
I am still wearing all of my normal clothes too - Though I must admit they are getting tight lol.. I'm going to have to give in soon I think... I am fairly tall too (175cm) but not overly tall so maybe that is part of the reason I'm not showing much yet - People just think I've put on a few too many pounds :D Though I did have a big belly to start with lol
This is my first so it is all new to me. My sister had a really good pregnancy (5 years ago).. She never got sick at all so I'm thinking I'm the same as her - Though she did have a mighty big bubba - 10 pound 12...
It's fantastic to know I'm not the only one who is constantly paranoid.. Will definately let you know how the scan goes... You have yours before me - Lucky you! :)
21-03-2007, 02:32 PM
Hi Hayley,
Which hospital are you going to? I'm going to Logan and only just got my first appointment for tomorrow after ringing four times and talking to four different people! I'm 21 weeks today. They had my referral but weren't too interested in booking me in, they just said that "i'll get a letter in the mail some time between 18 & 26 weeks". Pretty slack if you ask me, but hopefully now that i'm in the system it will be ok. So you aren't left behind!! :D
Hey Deb, I am going to Ipswich this time (went to Mater mothers last pregnancy) and I am not booked in till the 19th of April at which time I will be 26weeks:eek: ! I was shocked at how late this is, but I am going to see my GP in the meantime tomorrow to check my BP and all that good stuff.
Everywhere seems to be flat out and if you are low risk you seem to get pushed to the bottom of the pile! Ahwell I hate hospitals anyway wish I didn't have to go there at all lol!!
hayles i am on the mid north coast NSW, going to manning base hospy. Its a very strange set up here, you have to pay to see an ob, see your gp for extra visits (not bothering) and meet middies once at about 25 weeks.
i'm not worried by lack of medical interaction, happy to cruise along and see ob if i feel there is a prob.
its more that i had a mw i had not met last time (diff hospy that had team mw's, all the one's i met were lovely). she was a biartch and it turned out cr@p.
now it seems really important to me to get to know mw's...but thats just me.
the ob i chose is super, she is really pro natural birth and very very supportive so i think she'd be worth the $$ to have there for the birth.
trendy1 i havent felt as much as i thought i would have, a few flutters and thats it. I am sure i was feeling bub more last time by this stage (18weeks). Looking forward to scan to see bub again, was eating off the floor of my uterus last time, like a guppy fish.
wowee we are nearly half way:yelclap:
hayles07
21-03-2007, 03:01 PM
jamb - i think its a bit different down there to up here but then again, what would i know lol... i probably wont know whats going on until i visit the hospital - whenever that may be of course...
im just continuing with my 4 weekly visits to me gp and thats about it at the moment - i hope next time i go to the gp she will use a doppler to find the heartbeat.. they tried at nearly 12 weeks and couldnt find it - so disappointed...
and yes, nearly half way - how exciting!!! :D
trendy1
21-03-2007, 03:09 PM
Hey all,
Hayles07: I am 6 foot tall so can hide it a bit easier maybe - last time around I never got huge in the tummy but did put on 25kgs all up which when I left the hospital I was only 5kg more than before getting pregnant so I carried alot of fluid, so will probably do the same again. So far I have put on about 2-3kgs, I don't find this time too bad for weight but from about 25 weeks normally stack it on a bit. I weighed nearly 7 kgs more before getting pregnant this time around though so already had the pot belly ready to go!! Gotta love that pot belly - NOT!!
Jamb: That is great that you have a good ob that is pro natural birth, I have a great ob this time around too. I needed an emergency caeser last time around due to an undiagnosed breech baby so this time they will be watching that a bit closer, but she believes that as long as the baby isn't breech I should be able to have this one naturally. So we will wait and see. Last time around I was public and I agree that it is important to get to know the midwives, I got them last time around at my appointments and liked all but 1 which luckily I didn't get on the day!! Anyway hope all goes well with your appointments.
hayles07
21-03-2007, 03:22 PM
Ive also only put on 2-3kg but I'm sure there is a lot more to come lol..
Gotta look forward to the weight gain, its all worth it! :smiliedance:
deb1234 - I sent you a PM! :D
DueInAugust
21-03-2007, 04:46 PM
trendy1- Just wanted to let you know I am also stressing about if everything is ok.
I don't know if I have anything to worry about but I'm still sick alot of the time and always tired.
I am worried my being sick is bad for the baby.
So you are not alone it might be normal even if it is a worry.
niesl_bug
21-03-2007, 05:23 PM
internet access here is very spasmodic and very slow ... maybe that's a good thing though to keep me away!
all good here - we hit the 20 week mark on Friday - YAY! having a fabulous time and spending some wonderful quality time with my DH. Had a facial the other day and booked in for a pedicure tomorrow. DH is just about to go horseriding on the beach while I settle in with a girly dvd!
sorry, but too many pages to read to catch up on all the personals, but:
Jamb - i hear ya on the constipation issue - i was on the loo for over 1/2 an hour the other night and in absolute tears! I am taking Benefibre and eating prunes and that seems to be helping. Just steer clear of Fybogel - it has that nasty artificial sweetener chemical in it.
I start preg yoga next week which I'm really looking forward to.
I too am feeling more flutters than actual kicks and DH is yet to feel anything.
Looking forward to our scan on Tuesday and I guess I am a little anxious about everything being ok too ... that's my nature though and I'm trying my best to not stress too much!
Feeling very tanned and relaxed here and this holiday was the best idea ever!
Tingles - i think 4 girls is wonderful! i am 1 of 3 girls and we wouldn't have it any other way. mum said everyone felt sorry for her when she had her 3rd girl but she was thrilled!!
Not sure when i'll be logging on again - we head home saturday afternoon.
Take care everyone :)
Tan-mumof3
21-03-2007, 05:35 PM
Hi all :wave:.
Mom2bee- have fun in new Zealand (luck thing).
Due in august- I was all out front for both of pregnancies (1 girl, 1 boy) and am all out front again.
I also have absolutely no energy still, thought i would by now, but at least im not sick anymore.
Angel Girl- i get comments all the time except mine are to tell me how "HUGE" i am, i just tell them it's my 3rd baby and they usually shut up.
Trendy 1- We too are having name trouble, my dh won't even discuss names with me. He still thinks we have heaps of time and that i will change my mind anyway. I told him i have picked the names and he will find out after the baby is born if he doesn't start contributing and discussing them with me soon.
Goodluck for your scan next week.
Hayles- I think i felt flutters for about 1 month before real kicks. Im having my scan 1 day before you, goodluck for yours.
I had an antenatal today and found out that my uterus is measuring at about 21 weeks and im just 18 weeks and apparently i have alot liqor (fluid) in there. So that explains why i look further along than i am.
I also have low bp which is causing me to have dizzy spells, shortness of breath and palpatations.
Apart from that all is good. I booked my 19 weeks scan for the 2nd april and i can't wait.
Anyways thats about it from me hope you are all well.
Kimee
21-03-2007, 06:45 PM
Hayley - We are having our scans done on the same day! woo hoo! What time is your appointment? Mine is at 10.30am I can't wait! I'm not that nervous about it cos I've been lucky enough to hear bubs hb twice at hospital antenatal visits (last week and yesterday)
I've definitely been feeling movement for the past 2 weeks. It first felt like bubbles popping but now they are definitely little kicks. I even saw it from outside my tum! My placenta is at the back and bub in front so dr said i'd feel them quite early! It gives me such a fright when I'm not expecting it. I'll be at work distracted by everything then feel this lil kick kick!
MammyMammy
21-03-2007, 06:51 PM
I have my scan on Monday and I am SOOOOO excited!
What day is yours?
Kimee
21-03-2007, 07:24 PM
Mine is on the 3rd April. 13 days and counting down!! I wanna know if we're having a pink or blue bub so I can start on a shopping spree! All the best for yours on Mon Deb!
hayles07
21-03-2007, 08:38 PM
Kimee - Yep, APril 3rd....That's cool! :smiliedance: Mine was booked for 9:20, but I called to make it a little later so my mum could come as well as DP - I'm now booked in for 3:20pm - I'm not looking forward to that all day wait, but it'll be all good... Drinking the water is the bit I am dreading lol....
I can't wait to find out whether or not it definately is a boy - Ive been holding off buying baby clothes until I definately know what I'm having so off to the shops once we know!! :D
13 days seems like such a long time to go.... But I'm sure it will be here before we know it!
LiciaSings
22-03-2007, 07:16 AM
Hi all! Feeling a bit sheepish as I've not been here for sooo long :o
I caught up on as many posts as I could, but just a page or 2. Lots of newbies while I was MIA - welcome to everyone!
I had my scan on Tuesday - I was just 19 weeks. It was really Fun! We are having a girl :D. DH and I are both over the moon... It is so much fun to see him all smiles. I think he's mostly pleased that he was right - he'd decided it was a girl from the day we got the BFP! lol!
Had my booking in appt on Tues. too. It was a big day! Everyone seems really nice. I'm going public, but got in to the birth centre at the RBWH, so I'll have my own midwife, and she'll be there at the birth, and all my classes will be through the centre, and it's all very natural and home birth-y kind of environment, and we're even allowed to use the baths under the level 5 water restrictions. I'm still just a tiny bit nervous about the no drugs available there, just in case, but if anything goes wrong at all, the hospy's right there and I can switch over there at any time. So I think this'll be the most supportive mode of care for me, and I'm really looking forward too it... as long as everything stays low-risk :fingerscrossed:
Didn't get a bounty bag :( Hospital was all out. Are they really cool? I'm supposed to pick one up next time I go in.
Sorry - a little vent...I've got to go for another u/s in 2 weeks time. Baby's all good - size and all the bits seem just right. But they're a bit concerned that my cervix is on the small side. who knew? It could just be that I'm small, and that would be fine - wouldn't be surprised, everything about me is pretty little. But they want to measure it again in case it's shrinking - cause that would be bad! Oh dear. Trying not to worry ...another 2WW!
On the good side... feeling pretty happy most of the time. sort of "floating" through life. Except in those suddenly weepy moments...but it's all good.
Kimmee - I'm Feeling baby move a lot too! She's a real kicker- been feeling her for nearly 3 weeks now and DH has felt her twice! It is really cool! I like how you said it's like your own little secret ... Surprises you at work - Yeah, that's me too! Found out at the u/s that my placenta is way in the back, which is probly why I'm feeling so much so early.
Nice to be back. I'll be around again. Hope everyone stays well, and good luck with all your scans!
Congrats licia on your little girl, how exciting!!!
tara glad i'm not the only one with back door probs :laughing: been on the benefibre for a few days and will have some prunes today:thumbsup: can you tell me the name of the place in bali (or pm it)
M O P
22-03-2007, 08:14 AM
Yes I have to put my hand up to the constipation issue too.
Last preg was really bad so really conscious of it this time. Last time there were tears:crying: and I used to work away a week a month and stay in a motel 2 room apartment with one bathroom with 2 others so a little awkward :o
I had quiet bad hemorrhoids after having Hugh so don't want it to get to that stage again- great topic huh!
PS If you do end up with terrible hemorrhoids after having your baby ask your Dr for some cream. The stuff my Obs prescribed worked very fast to shrink everything back down.:o
Thanks for that tip kazza! After MW made me push for four freakin hours i have a a lovely haemy that visits on and off:banghead: Not the nicest thing but if it does show its ugly head i will ask ob for some.
What are your tips for the big C?
i can only imagine being in a hotel room with 2 others :o
M O P
22-03-2007, 08:28 AM
Poor you Jamb- you really are having a bad preg aren't you! :yes:
Enjoy the rest of your hols Tara. Really appreciate that feeling of just being alone and not having to pack heaps of stuff up everytime you go somewhere!:thumbsup:
we're even allowed to use the baths under the level 5 water restrictions.
Didn't get a bounty bag :( Hospital was all out. Are they really cool? I'm supposed to pick one up next time I go in.
I would never have even thought about your bath being taken in to account for water restrictions, that's good news for you then.
Can you access gas and pethidine at the birthing centre or is it no drugs at all? I found gas & peth with a shower and lots of back rubs from Angus was enough for me having Hugh.
Don't stress too much about your Bounty Bag- for the few things you do pull out and are useful- Rennie's, Sudocrem, block of choc if you're lucky and a XXXX Gold voucher for hubby- with a gas mask and ear plugs :laughing: - they are also full of lots more stuff you generally throw out anyway.
M O P
22-03-2007, 08:32 AM
What are your tips for the big C?
I try to have heaps of water and am conscious about my diet- fruit & veg wise.
If all else fails though I have some Coloxyl tabs I take to get back on track- it just softens everything.
Cheers Kaz, thanks for that!
I keep in mind that i have cr@p pregnancy's but fabulous baby (sleep/eat/personality)!!! They must expel all the badness to me whilst in utero:laughing:
alena
22-03-2007, 09:42 AM
hi all
i have been cruising through here reading posts for a few weeks now and finally decided to say hi.
i'm in south brissie and due with 1st bubs around 29th august. have my first hospy visit at mater next tuesday and so far no scan booked - hoping the hospital will help out as my local gp is useless.
so just over 17 weeks and barely showing - i am tall with a long torso so i'm guessing that is why.... sounds like some of you are the same.
it has been great and very reassuring to read everyone's posts as this is all new to me. :thumbsup:
MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 11:14 AM
welcome to august thread Alena.
Hope you enjoy your scan when you finally see your bubba!
How exciting - we're all going to be Mummies soon!
:wave: :wave: :wave:
niesl_bug
22-03-2007, 11:53 AM
Jamb - Last year I would have been chatting to my girlfriends about the "Big O" .... now I chat about the "Big C" :laughing: It's something i suffer from anyway, despite drinking heaps of water and eating lots of fruit/veg/fibre ... the issue has been just so much worse since pg but the Benefibre and prunes and definitely helping.
Will PM you details of our place when I get back - DH business partner bought it - I don't even have the address! Will send some pics too - it's amazing!
Alicia - congratulations on your little girl :smiliedance:
Nothing to report here - we both have a bit of a cold today so will spend the day watching dvd's on the catch and try and knock it on its head. Have to be better tomorrow for my pedicure and our last dinner at the place we got married at !
Have a great day gals, chat soon xxx
3cherubs
22-03-2007, 02:22 PM
Hi there everyone,
I feel aweful today, my DD2 has a cold and now I have it. Taking panadol and drinking lots of lemon.honey tea. I have a a bad cold whilst pregnant with both DD1 and DD2 and now again.
I have not had a cold in ages.....
Feeling movements, sort of like the baby is rolling. I thought i felt them at around 12 weeks but did not want to tell as people may have said "oh gas"..
Congrats to those who have found out the sex, hopefully i will know on the 3rd of April.
see yas
I have only recently joined this August mum to be thread, so thought I would pop in and post again.
We had our 20 week scan yesterday, everything went well and our dates are spot on for the 8th August,is anyone else due on the 8th?We decided not to find out the sex, bubba was moving around so much during the scan don't think they would have stayed still long enough to even see if it was a boy or girl.
We took our 3 year old DS along to the scan and he was so excited to see his little bubba brother or sister on the screen it was really cute.
Hope everyone is well, and congratulations to those who have had their scans and I hope the time passes quickly for those of you who are still waiting to have your scans.
Fi
MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 03:24 PM
Its 20 weeks for me today and scan on MONDAY - still not sure if finding out sex.
I have just been out to buy the best invention in clothing of all time.
Its a pair of pants called "fisherman" pants and they are basically cut WAY TOO LARGE to stay up on anyone (unless you were like a size 40 and it which case, well they'll stay up lovely!)
They are cut to form a large upside down U shape (a giant n I guess) and you pop them on, then tie them to your waist with the belt and fold the excess over and down.....
I should say this : There is no way even the way some of us are growing that I can grow OUT of these pants...so hooorrrrah for anyone who buys them.
I got them at Ishkah - mainly for use in my yoga at home and yoga pre-natal classes, but they can also be dressed up or down and for the grand outlay of $25...
Needless to say, i was happy with that.:yes:
Also purchased a bonds singlet with built in bra/feeding top - it is the new range - in baby pink/peach....and matching maternity hipsters (I girl has got to retain some appeal during her pregnancy!)
Hoorah for things that brighten our day!
:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:
LiciaSings
22-03-2007, 03:59 PM
Can you access gas and pethidine at the birthing centre or is it no drugs at all? I found gas & peth with a shower and lots of back rubs from Angus was enough for me having Hugh.
Kazza - yep, I guess I exaggerated a bit by saing no drugs. The birth centre does use the gas and peth. Just not the epidural. I don't know much about peth yet... I think I need to read up more on that. But the gas - I think I'll want some of that. It always works for me at the dentist! :D
I hate the big C! I never used to have any probs with that before. Thanks for all the advice. The good diet helps, but I think I'll have to get some of those fibre pills too - for the bad days :(
Tara- your holiday sounds glorious! Even with the cold I'm jealous...but I do hope it leaves you soon!
LiciaSings
22-03-2007, 04:01 PM
2cherubs - I hope your cold flies away too - soon! :wizard:
MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 04:06 PM
nothing worse than a cold when its hot too....I hope that you can also speed it up with lots of vitamin C - from cranberry juice,orange juice, ribena, echinachea....
...and lots of rest and taking it easy xx
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.