View Full Version : Aug '07 Mums #5

Pages : 1 [2]

M O P
22-03-2007, 16:15
I keep in mind that i have cr@p pregnancy's but fabulous baby (sleep/eat/personality)!!! They must expel all the badness to me whilst in utero
:laughing: :laughing:

We took our 3 year old DS along to the scan and he was so excited to see his little bubba brother or sister on the screen it was really cute.

I bet it was really cute!

To everyone who's said they have a cold so do I, it sucks :thumbsdown: . Hope everyone's better soon. Hugh had a runny nose for the last few days and now so do I- with lots of sneezing.
I've been ripping in to my Garlic & Horseradish tabs- so much so I stink! Be alright but so far today we've had 2 men drop in for work related things :o .

leishacaz
22-03-2007, 16:15

LiciaSings- Congrats on the news you're having a girl thats so exciting! I'm having our first u/s on Sat 31st March and if the baby's positioned right we're going to find out and I can't wait!

Mammymammy- You obviously had a very good shopping day! I love those! And those pants sound fantastic- I'm going to have to try to find me some.

fi73- I'm not due on the 8th but just wanted to say congrats on having a scan that went well!
I can't wait to have mine.

2cherubs- Hope you feel better really soon:)

As for me I've hardly felt baby move at all and now reading how everyone is feeling their bubba's so much I'm feeling a bit worried. I just want to have this scan so I know everythings ok, I've been so paranoid lately and I don't know why :confused:

Is anyone else feeling like a walking heat pack?? I'm normally a very cool person but I just can't seem to get cool lately and its drving me crazy. My feet feel like they're on fire!

jamb
22-03-2007, 16:17
hope the cold doesnt linger to long 2cherubs:hugs:

mammy, nothing like a bit of retail therapy! love it!

fi, glad scan went well, my DS is still to young to hold interest in the scan, your DS sounds so cute

MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 17:36
I'm hearing you with the HOT FEET/HOT BOD issue...I dont think i'll need slippers thru pregnancy.

I'm warm as hell!

DH thinks its unusual

Tan-mumof3
22-03-2007, 19:25
Hi and welcome Alena & Fi73.

I too have that dreaded cold :thumbsdown:. my 2 kiddies had it and now me, not much fun.

I also have the extremely hot feet.

Worked today so feeling really tired and my stupid varicose vein is really sore. Does any one else have any really bad varicose veins or am i the only lucky one?

Anyway better go cook some dinner have agood night.

whatwasithinking
22-03-2007, 22:03
Had my 19th wk scan today.

We are having...............ANOTHER GIRL.

J not overly happy but I have told him to snap out of it as it's not healthy for him to carry on about it - after all I told him he was the one "who determined" the sex - he was not happy.

Kinda would have liked a son but hey a baby is a baby. We will love her all the same.

Scan went well - she is growing as she should and all her measurements were normal.

Wow still can't believe it though - another little girl. :rolleyes:

Tan-mumof3
22-03-2007, 22:17
Congratulations Donna on a another little girl :yelclap:.

Kirst
22-03-2007, 22:51
Congrats on another girl Donna. J will snap out of it! He'd better, anyway.

neostudded
22-03-2007, 22:57
Hey this is my first post in here,

I had my ultrasound last week on friday.I found out the gender straight away, he is a BOY :).His name is Julius.He found his personals and held it with his hands.I am deeply upset/angry, the doctor deleted the photo of him doing that off my CD.:(

I wanted to show my mum, i didnt get a single photo to prove his gender.I HATE myself for it, and i hate it when i feel the baby moving since then as i think about the u/s.I wont let my dp touch my belly anymore, it really feel's like my deppession has been triggered, and iam trying to not think about it, but everyone keeps asking about the u/s, and i just tell them i dont want to talk about it.

I threw away all his first u/s pictures in a box along with all his baby stuff, and put them in the shed.Iam suposed to be paying off a laybyfor the baby but i really dont want to anymore.And the other night i took it out on my dp and made him sleep in another room.

I told mum how i felt about the ultrasound and she told me to get over it, it just an Ultrasound.Iam sure it is to her as shes had 7 kids, and this is my first and probly only child, and i was so proud of my baby boy.

LiciaSings
23-03-2007, 07:34
As for me I've hardly felt baby move at all and now reading how everyone is feeling their bubba's so much I'm feeling a bit worried. I just want to have this scan so I know everythings ok, I've been so paranoid lately and I don't know why :confused:

leishacaz - I would probably worry up a storm too...I always do! But I hope your scan goes really well! Probably the placenta's just in front or something, apparently that happens a lot and then you can't feel anything for ages. The u/s will show everything, and I hope it's really comforting and baby's really really healthy! :thumbsup:

Donna - congrats on the girl! Sisters are good, I'm sure they'll love each other :hugs:

neostudded - I hope you feel better soon :hugs: Big hugs!
Have you looked into natural alternatives to drugs that can help with depression during & after pregnancy? Vitamins and things? There was a midwife at the hospy when I visited this week, doing a big research study on the effects of Fish Oil on aleviating pnd, and other forms of depression as well. The research isn't really there yet, that's why they're doing this big study now. She really believed that along with all the other benefits, Fish oil can help with that as well. Maybe that kind of stuff is worth looking into?

AngelGirl
23-03-2007, 09:34
Everyone is doing really well, but I am just abit curious as there are quite a few who have their names on the EDD thread, but they don't seem to be amongst us??

Hey Tingles, I was thinking the same thing. There are quite a few that have gone MIA!

Donna and Licia - Congrats on your beautiful little princesses !

Deb - The pants sound sooo comfy! I'm off to get myself a pair.

Alena and neostudded - welcome to our little family. Neostudded - sorry to hear you're feeling a bit down. :gloomy: , hope you feel better soon.

Sorry to hear so many of you with colds, hope they clear up!

I'm 20 weeks now and feeling little flutters every now and then. Have put on about 5 kgs which I'm pretty happy with. Sometimes I get upset about the huge changes happening to my body. DH has been fabulous and tells me I'm gorgeous and my body is doing a remarkable thing. So whenever any of you are feeling down or upset, just remember remember the amazing events happening inside you, our bodies are doing wonderful things!!

onabreak
23-03-2007, 09:49

I am one of those people who have not posted for awhile. Not much is happening at the moment.

I am having my scan next Wednesday, can't wait as I have been feeling a bit anxious as I have not felt much movement in the last week. I will be 19 weeks on Sunday. I am also nervous as my sister lost a baby at 19 weeks over a year ago from a week cervix. I know I don't have this problem but it is in the back of my mind.

Well DH and I are off to the Gold Coast this arvo to stay at the beautiful Sofitel for his birthday and my 30th birthday next Friday. Can't wait to get down there and relax and lie in the king size bed.

Thats about it for now. As soon as I have my scan I will let you all know what we are having. I am hoping for a boy so is DH, but if it is a girl we will be just as happy. Poor DH will be out numbered then.

Well I hope you all have a great week end and chat to you all soon.

OverTheMoon
23-03-2007, 10:17

Haven't been on for a few days - working hard on my plastic-ware work, trying to make manager very soon and get the car (Ford Territory) before bubs comes along. Teaching??? what's that??? LOL. Nah, still doing my 2 days teaching, but throwing the rest of my time into the other thing, enjoy it much more and it's more positive - i'm really trying to surround myself by positive situations and people during my pregnancy to lessen stress levels. Seems to be working, been much happier.

Anywho, enough of me blabbing. So much to catch up on!

I hear all of you with colds, i've come up with a cold sore also, and apparently Zovirax is not 100% proven to be safe, and L-lysine is off limits. I normally have to take Anti-viral tabs that cost me $250, 'cos i get them really bad - been in hospital with them when they invaded my throat and mouth and i couldn't eat. It's gross. When i get them now i always worry that's going to happen again. Blah!

big hugs to everyone :hugs: , and congrats to all that have had their positive ultrasounds. We have ours on Tuesday (same day and place as Tara, small world!). Starting to feel something in my belly - it also feels a bit like it could be rolling. But with my anterior placenta, they said it would be a while before i felt much.

Anywho, take care gals, have a great day.

M O P
23-03-2007, 11:08
:hugs: Neostudded-
I hope things start to look better.
I had a terrible time when I was preg with Hugh with ante natal depression. I used to just stay in bed all day and cry, I didn't want to see anyone. My husband was fantastic, very understanding and helpful for someone who's a farmer not a counsellor.

That was fine then as I didn't need to see anyone (we live quite remotely) and I wasn't looking after a 8 month old baby who just started crawling.

This preg though I actually left home the other week. I packed up a few things for me and Hugh and got in the car and went. I had no idea where to go. I got 100km down the highway then Angus convinced me over the phone to head back to our neighbours, they are about 40 mins from us. I actually stayed with them for a few days and tried to recover.

I talked to my neighbour and another neighbour came over too and was a great support. Angus couldn't really help me this time as we were half way through shearing- our biggest and busiest time of the year. I also talked to a professional counsellor over the phone from the Women's Health line.

I had so much going on, too much to explain here, with our sheep station and both mine and Angus' family and after the gas ran out half way through cooking a roast for tea that was it. Any other time- had I not been preg, I would have coped easily with that, probably would have laughed. But as you know when you're preg it's not the same.

I hope you have someone you can talk to. Maybe not your Mum, maybe someone else, a professional even. I wish this time I could have talked to my partner more but he was just so busy with his own stresses. Try not to push your partner away too much, remember they do only want to help you.

:hugs: :kiss:

Sorry everyone else for the :ecomcity: , prob should have pm'd Neo.

OJandMe
23-03-2007, 13:12
BABY BLUE#3!!!!:party: :smiliedance:

xpress2
23-03-2007, 14:56
Congratulations to everyone who has found out the gender of their little bundle and to those who are looking forward to a surprise... :D

I can't wait to find out what I am having... (Not long now Kimee) :)

M O P
23-03-2007, 15:21
Congrats Gretel- my husband is one of 3 boys

DueInAugust
23-03-2007, 18:53
for everyone that has had there U/S and found out the sex of there bubs.
I am still waiting for the 3rd of april for mine. Time seems to be crawling by.

For all of you with colds:hugs: get better soon.

neostudded- My thoughts are with you. I also hope you know we are all here if you need to vent.

I have not been doing much so have had no need to post. I am slowly getting over the M/S finally!!

Spending this weekend at my mums in the country. It will be great to get out of the house for a few days.

Thats it for me for now.

MammyMammy
24-03-2007, 16:09
just looked in my diary and found that ultrasound is actually tuesday not monday for me....urrrggghhh another day!
:thumbsdown:

oh well, just a bit longer!

Ally Jane
24-03-2007, 20:42
im another one who doesnt post much...im 18 weeks now,still throwing up daily,grrrr but feeling little kicks and movements which i love!we are findind out the sex on monday so ill be back to update ten...hope all you other august mummies are all well

imisschampagne
24-03-2007, 22:22
Everyone is doing really well, but I am just abit curious as there are quite a few who have their names on the EDD thread, but they don't seem to be amongst us??:confused:

Eg. I share my Due Date with 'mumoftom'

mumoftom are you still with us??

Cinta, R U still here?

If anyone else is lurking around, but not posting - let us know how U R going

Hi Girls, ive been lurking around the threads everywhere for a week now trying to get my bearings on all this forum stuff, i think im finally getting there:yelclap: YAY for me! When people said this was addictive i thought 'oh yeah, sure' who has the time or energy, but here i am sitting at the pc again for the fourth consecutive night at 10pm eyes bloodshot, wishing i could indulge in some sort of caffine hit and DH and fur baby have given up on me coming to bed before midnight again:sleeping:
i must admit though i always give up on this thread and only read random bits as it's so long and i think i've missed out on too much to be involved, but im determined, so tomorrow morning while DH is at work and not hogging the comp with his own crazy 4WD forum im going to start on page 1 and try and get my way through so i can feel like im a part of the beautiful august mums clan! Hope to get to know u all real soon :hugs:

DueInAugust
25-03-2007, 13:30
I'm not sure if this would be better put in the achy tummy thread but I would like any feedback or advice.

For the last few days I have been getting the worst pains just under where the baby seems to be sitting, near my left hip bone.
It feels like a tearing sharp pain. Made worse when I move, turn or stand up, sit down. Its painful enough to stop me sleeping and is making me very upset sometimes.

If anyone is getting the same pain or has any ideas as to what it might be I am starting to worry and would like to know if its normal.
I have booked in to see my GP but can get in for over a week.

Thanks in advance for any helpful suggestions.

jamb
25-03-2007, 13:40
dueinaugust could it be sciatica? i have this and it can literally make my leg go from under me, aches when i lie in bed. if it is its pretty common, try to stretch it out when it is not too sore (dont over stretch tho).

allyjane, yay someone due on the same day as me how exciting:yelclap: that date is right between my DH and my birthday, a couple of days off our wedding anniversary.

congrats on the all those who know the sex, getting excited her, friday for me. everyone says i look really different this time, also not as podgy yet and my MS is different too, maybe its a girl......hmmmm still reckon it will be a boy. Not knowing seriously does my head in :laughing:

not much happening here today, raining and very windy, yay for filling the tanks back up:thumbsup:

Kristy07
25-03-2007, 14:23
OK, So I've not posted in here before but I just had to tell everyone.... I'M HAVING A BOY!!!! I'm so excited. We found out on Tuesday. DH and I went shopping yesterday and bought a whole heap of stuff for a little boy, it's just so much fun now!

Well I just had to share! I hope everyone is well!

jamb
25-03-2007, 14:50
congrats kristy, boys are tops:thumbsup:

M O P
25-03-2007, 15:09
:wave: everyone,

I'm posting a few pics from our weekend at the races in Broken Hill.
You can't really see the size of my bump from these shots but you see I'm getting quite huge- although probably didn't lose all my extra weight after having Hugh 4 months before conceiving this bubba.

family photo (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/StPats.jpg)

Hugh and Moi (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/StPats001.jpg)

xpress2
25-03-2007, 15:36
Nice pics Kazza! :D How old is Hugh?

Dueinaugust - I've been feeling those kind of pains too. More so when I get out of bed, or up off a chair.. I had similar pains at 12 weeks and went to the doctor's, she said she thought it was just stretching.. Noticing the pains a little more now though... Mine are down pretty low, below where bub is sitting... I think its pretty normal.. But you should still get it checked out.. :)

M O P
25-03-2007, 16:10
Nice pics Kazza! :D How old is Hugh?

Thank you- Hugh's 9 months

imisschampagne
25-03-2007, 20:28
Phew! well i did it finally read all 28 pages:smiliedance:
Congrats to all of you who have had your scans everyone sounds like they are coming along really well...just to let u know i had my 19week scan on thurs, everything looks great and we are having a little girl YAY!!! Lucky cause DH and i couldn't come up with any boys names but would add a few girls names to the list everyday, now our dillema is actually deciding on 1. The u/s lady told me i have a low lying placenta, which is covering my cervix but said in most cases as u grow the placenta will move up, otherwise i will need a c/s. Will need another scan at 32 weeks to check the progress which is kinda cool cause then i can see bubba again!!! Hope everyone is starting to feel better after colds, swollen feet, constipation etc. Good luck to all having your scans this week, cant wait to hear your news:D

Ally Jane
25-03-2007, 20:55
hey Jamb my baby twin,how exciting...when is your birthday?im august 31st..congrats everyone who has found out what your having,ill update you all tomorrow if this little one cooperates and shows us..im so excited

niesl_bug
25-03-2007, 21:35
Hi Gals :wave:

I'm baaaaaaaaaaaaack !!! sorry, but not enough time or room for personals, but I have read all your posts :ecomcity:

Apart from us being sick (both have colds and I got a bit of heat rash) and it raining for the last 2 days, our trip was fantastic! Here are a few pics ...

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Bali%20-%20March%2007/Bali-General5.jpg
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Bali%20-%20March%2007/CanguuVilla55.jpg
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Bali%20-%20March%2007/CeremonyNight10.jpg
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Bali%20-%20March%2007/Bali-General13.jpg

... always nice to be home though!

Not much happening here.
I have had those pains that a few others have mentioned, mainly when I get up quickly or bend over - I just assumed it was bub objecting what I was doing! Not a lot of movement either so I am looking forward to Tuesday when I can see what is happening in there!

Welcome to the newbies and congratulations to those who now know what they are having :yelclap:

Back at work tomorrow so will have more time to post when I am sitting at my computer all day ... take care xxx

jamb
26-03-2007, 04:50
love the last picture tara:D

allyj i am on the 28th aug, my bestfriend is same as you. The US actually dated me as DH birthday, a week earlier but they did the same with DS and he came on my LMP date, so i am sticking with 24th.

off for my walk, :smiliedance: its not pitch black, just raining, but my dog missed out yesterday so no slacking today.

LiciaSings
26-03-2007, 05:22
Tara - Welcome back! Glad you enjoyed your holiday - Looks like a gorgeous place! Really fun pics.
DH and I are really looking forward to a holiday in 2 weeks...can't wait! Even though we can only afford to go camping in a national park at this point... we like the rugged outdoors stuff, and it'll be so nice to just get away!
Kazza - adorable photos! How cute is Hugh :)

Every time I see babies I wonder who ours will be. what will she look like? be like? Everytime she moves she makes me curious.

Not much going on here. Heartburn - how on earth to get rid of it? burning in my throat and chest all the time :mad: I have temporary fixes...but it always comes right back.
And trouble sleeping. Up until last week I was sleeping just fine every night. Now...can't make it through without getting up to pee...or waking up from weird dreams or crazy hunger.
That's probly enough whinging. :D Other than that life is good. Glad to hear so many others enjoying their scans!

deb1234
26-03-2007, 06:18
morning everyone :wave:
welcome back tara!

nothing much happening with me. feeling pretty good actually, but then i haven't really had any symptoms so far so not expecting any now! Just the usual going to the toilet all night - although i've got that down to a couple of times, i generally wake up at 1am and 4am. :) it is finally getting slightly uncomfortable sleeping on my back, feels like someone is pinning me down with a basketball on my stomach! :D
feeling lots of kicks and my DH & I saw my stomach jump the other day. pretty exciting!

looking forward to catching up with Hayley & Nicci at the end of april. If anyone else is around brisbane/gold coast check out our thread! :)

have a great day everyone

Sparky
26-03-2007, 06:37
Hi evereyone,

Congrats to everyone who has found out the sex of their bubs and good luck to everyone who are still to have their scans.

Tara - great pics, looks like u had a great time.

It's all going smoothly here apart from alittle stretching pains now and then.

M O P
26-03-2007, 06:44
Wow Tara the house you stayed at looks gorgeous!
Have you got that feeling yet that it felt ages ago already you were on hols? Or are you still feeling really refreshed?

Thanks Alicia- we always think Hughesy's cute but he's our baby and we're prob just a bit biased!

Areca
26-03-2007, 08:07
No time for personals here (Tara those pics were awesome) but just wanted to come and say we're officially hitched! I'll post pics later (have my dad's camera but no USB cable).
This is a copy and paste from another forum...it's very long. Don't feel obliged to read it all!
For those of you that don't know my wedding was a surprise, Alex (my husband) organised the whole thing.

Anyway.....

The weather was so so so ****!!! We had to move our beach wedding inside and have the ceremony in the surf club, where the reception was. I don't care though. It has been hot and sunny all week and then Saturday night it just started bucketing down rain. What can you do right? I was not about to get stressed about it! We were about 10 minutes early so in true Alex and Carmen style we drove around the streets looking at houses in the area, wondering how much they cost etc. etc. Typical us! Emily stole the show walking down the aisle, which was fine by me!The photographer was awesome, we went down to the beach and we have photos in the rain. We took some nice ones out there (it wasn't bucketing down then) and then we got photos of me in a spray jacket, hair blowing wild (it was out) to really capture the day. He kept telling us we were nuts but he told us later how much he loved working with us, because we were so relaxed and didn't let bad weather get us down.

I only got nervous about a minute before we arrived and then all my nerves were gone once the ceremony was over. I wasn't nervous about getting married, just having to stand up in front of 50+ people and know all attention was on us.

Alex did a slideshow of us that was from when we were kids as a surprise. It was really good. He spent hours and hours scanning photos in apparently.

We walked down the aisle to 'Best friend' by Queen, our formal entrance as a married couple back into the reception was to 'Everytime I see your face' by Live, our cutting of the cake song was to a Spanish song and our bridal waltz was to 'Chasing Cars' by Snow Patrol (the song used at the end of last season's Grey's Anatomy for all you die hard Grey fans). Emily was so overtired she was hysterical and just wanted us by the time it was time to do the bridal waltz so the three of us got up and danced to that. The photographer told us later that it made for a very special bridal waltz.

I had 5 people tell me I looked like a mermaid. It wasn't the look I was going for I swear! Everyone was pretty gobsmacked when I walked in wearing bright pink and green. They all expected me to be wearing a wedding dress. The photographer was so thrilled I wasn't wearing white, just cause that's what he takes photos of every weekend so he was happy to be looking at something different. At one stage he was up on the dance floor with us and my best friends hubby (not a photographer) had his camera and was running around taking photos of everyone. Our photographer was awesome (I had met him before), lots of fun and very easy going. He asked Alex if his mum lived here (she didn't go to the wedding cause Alex's dad did) and he said yes and explained briefly while she wasn't there and then added 'you can tell which one of my parent's is the selfish one.' I was so shocked to hear it come out of his mouth but her not being there definitely didn't ruin the night.

We were home by 11pm, which suited me fine because even though I was in flat shoes my legs were killing me (joys of being pregnant I suppose!) Being a Sunday we didn't want a late night anyway, for those that need to work tomorrow so it was almost all over by 10pm. Everyone looked like they enjoyed themselves though and it was great not having a formal wedding. We had heaps of time for dancing and everyone got to mingle and talk cause no one was sitting at tables. I have nothing against formal weddings, I've been to two and had a great time at both but this was definitely more Alex's and I style.

Alex did a great job, he really did! I couldn't have asked for anything more from him. The decorations were awesome. He had all these balloons on the roof (great entertainment for the kids) and then there were candles in white boxes and candles in clear bowls filled with sand and shells. The cake looked like a beach. It was two layers, a light blue colour with 'sea spray' with starfish and shells (edible) decorating the cake. The tray that the cake was on was covered in an inch thick of sugar to look like sand and there were more shells on the sand. Alex and I were on the top of the cake, and then Emily was standing on the bottom layer looking up at us.

I had a great night but I still don't feel married. I said 'goodnight hubby' to Alex when we went to bed and he asked me what hubby meant! lol The joys of being with someone who's first language isn't english!

He got up to Emily this morning and then when I woke up I called out to them and they both climbed into bed with me. Everyone thought it was so funny that we were taking our daughter home with us on our wedding night but we didn't want it any other way. It was so nice seeing her face this morning, and watching her little antics, having her dive in between the two of us and steal our pillows.

Well I think I've babbled on enough. Hope I didn't bore you and if you got this far you deserve a medal! I will get photos up, I promise!

M O P
26-03-2007, 08:10
Congratulations Carmen!

PS you have to update your signature now

jamb
26-03-2007, 08:14
not bored at all, got goosebumps, love a happy wedding:D

cant wait to see your dress, sounds gorgeous:yes:

chicken
26-03-2007, 10:23
feeling pretty good actually, but then i haven't really had any symptoms so far so not expecting any now! Just the usual going to the toilet all night - although i've got that down to a couple of times, i generally wake up at 1am and 4am. :)! :D
feeling lots of kicks and my DH & I saw my stomach jump the other day. pretty exciting!

Deb, your pregnancy sounds almost identical to mine! No m/s. I've got my nightly loo breaks down to two regular sessions (at 12 and 4am) too.

And my kicks are just getting stronger and stronger (like right now!) and gradually getting higher. DH gets to feel them on a daily basis now.

Tara, welcome back.

And Carmen, congratulations!:smiliedance:

niesl_bug
26-03-2007, 11:35
Oohhh Carmen - CONGRATULATIONS :smiliedance: I read your whole post and got goosebumps too! We got married on the beach, so I can really relate to your whole theme. YAY for being a Mrs now ... I am absolutely thrilled for you and cannot wait to see the photos!!

I came into work today to find out our brand new server crashed on Friday and will take another week to be fixed - not a nice thing to reutrn to :thumbsdown: ... but, I am not letting it phase me and keep telling myself there is nothing I can do about it!

All good here - this cold is going away, apart from a niggling cough. Still not feeling much movement and the hours cannot fly by fast enough until 3pm tomorrow for our scan :smiliedance:

Have a great day gals xxx

AngelGirl
26-03-2007, 12:57
Phew! well i did it finally read all 28 pages

Well done on getting through all those pages!!

Tara - photos are great, you sound very realaxed.

Carmen - congrats again, sounds like a beautiful day despite the rain. I went to a lovely wedding on the weekend and we all just made it into the reception venue before the heavens opened!

Congrats to those who have found out bubs sex and good luck to all those who have their scans coming up. It's a great experience!

As for me, bubs is moving quite a bit now and DH felt him/her kick for the first time last night. Was really sweet!

Tingles
26-03-2007, 13:08
Everyone is experiencing 'something' exciting at the moment...

I too have had 'severe cramping feelings' - but am able to reassue myself with the heart rate monitor that we hired... I think it's a combination of doing too much, & stretching.

Congratulaions from us too Carmen:wizard: may you have a wonderful life together!

Welcome back to the land of OZ Tara:smiliedance: I can understand the 'happy to be home feeling! Nothing quite like your own bed, pillow & shower!

As for me, I have a bloody ulcer in my mouth, right at the back grating next to my teeth! Ouch!:crying: And I spewed the other morning!:barf: Had to brush my teeth again!

Keep well!

DueInAugust
26-03-2007, 13:22
Congratz on the Wedding!! Can't wait for pics. Love pretty pics.

Jamb- Thanks for the suggestion.
I do have problems with sciatica but this new pain is at the front. It is just under were bub sits, So it may just be stretching.
I have never had such a strong pain from something so simple before so may just be over reacting.

Still got over a week to wait for my scan and I just found out I can't get a video:thumbsdown:
The will give me pics but not a vid!!! Not happy.
As long as :fingerscrossed: everything is good DF thinks I shouldn't be so ****ed off.
Has anyone else come across this???
I thought it was just the done thing to get a vid of this U/S

Well thats me for today.
Hope everyone is well and getting over any illness fast.

neostudded
26-03-2007, 19:57
hows everyone been? Iam waiting till i get alot of spare time so i can read these post's properly!!

Today i got a little box in the mail, and i opened it and there was a gawjus freebie pack from pigeonbaby.I got a mini shampoo bottle, mini packet of hand wipes, and and a 20 packet of baby wipes for Jullius.Iam waiting desperatly to try them on him, they are so cute!!

they came in a free zip-up bag and it's divine, i also got breast pads, i want to start leaking so i can try them!!

and I got them within two days of applying for them!

If anyone wants some ive got the instrutions in the freebies section, they look so cute in my baby collection, and they would also be great for a present to any friends expecting.:D

whatwasithinking
26-03-2007, 19:59
I put my hand on my belly and actually felt a kick - not a flutter - definatly a kick (abet not too strong but hey she's bouncing around).
:yelclap: :smiliedance: .

I haven't told J as I wanted to be sure and to be my own little piece of excitment.

Ally Jane
26-03-2007, 20:32
wow all these exciting things happening for everyone,little kicks,weddings etc....
As for us we had our morphology scan today and everything looks great,and we are having a BOY...
hubby got quite teary when we got told that and you couldnt wipe the smile off his face all day!it was beautiful...cant wait to meet my little boy...hope everyone is well

deb1234
27-03-2007, 05:10
Congrats on your first kick Donna!! :) Its such a cool feeling. Now that i'm 22 weeks just about any time my DH puts his hand on my tummy he can feel kicks.

Ally - congrats on your little boy! There are going to be a lot of boys around here :yelclap:

Neostudded - freebies! :smiliedance: i'll have to look up those threads. I'm still not over NOT getting chocolate in my bounty bag!

Hi to everyone else. Hope you are all well.

AngelGirl
27-03-2007, 07:16
[quote=DueInAugust;1259695]
quote]

That is so odd? I've not heard of anyone who wasn't able to get a video or DVD? Where are you going for the ultrasound??

All Jane - Congratulations on your little boy! Now you can start thinking names!!!

Donna - yay, it's exciting to finally feel bubs kicking isnt it!

Deb - Me too! How about we send each other a choccie in the post and we can pretend? Haha!!

deb1234
27-03-2007, 07:40
:laughing: AngelGirl, i just had to buy a kingsize from the supermarket instead :) its on our weekly shopping list anyway, but we were looking forward to being big fatties last week.

M O P
27-03-2007, 07:44
I just found out I can't get a video:thumbsdown:
As long as :fingerscrossed: everything is good DF thinks I shouldn't be so ****ed off.

I agree with your DF- the purpose of the morphology scan is for baby to have a check up basically and make sure everything is formed and looking like it should. It takes a while and the sonographers have quiet a long list of things they have to check and test.
The fact that you may be able to find out the sex and you are given some pics and if you're really lucky a vid (I was never offered a video both times- but did get heaps of great pics) is just a bonus IMO anyway :)

imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 08:43
Congrats on your wedding Carmen!!! sounds like it was an awesome day, very relaxing!!! Apperently if it rains on your wedding day it's supposed to mean good luck, if your into that kinda thing...someone told me that on my wedding night when it bucketed down:laughing:

Tara, cool holiday pics, soooo jealous!

Ally Jane, congrats on your little boy, how exciting:yelclap:

Congrats to all of you getting kicks, it's such a unreal experience...im getting kicked left, right and centre, she certainly is a very active little thing, takes me by surprise every time! DH has felt her a couple of times, cant wipe the grin off his face.

Not much else going on with me, went to my first physio class last night, which was great, didnt realise my posture was so bad:eek: Hubby and i were so tired after long days at work and even though we were taking it all very seriously, every time the physio said 'sphincter' we cracked up and couldnt stop gigging:laughing: SO IMMATURE!! She didnt seem to notice, so at least we didnt feel to rude. Have another appoint with the hospital today, not sure what it's about? Is it ok to feel a little nervous?

to Mammy, tara, overthemoon and trendy1
good luck with your scans today, cant wait to hear your news! Hope i didnt miss anyone. Nic x

Oh PS - to the brissy girls, if any of u r interested a few of us have organised a meet next mon april 2nd at Chermside, check out the thread - Chat with other parents/parents to be - QLD - Brisbane - Northside mums to 2 meet up. This is not just for Northside mums to be, anyone is welcome, we have about 8 girls so far and a couple of kids.

M O P
27-03-2007, 09:08
Have another appoint with the hospital today, not sure what it's about? Is it ok to feel a little nervous?

Do you ever stop getting nervous going to Dr, Obs or hosp appts? It's perfectly normal to be a bit nervous I think.

trendy1
27-03-2007, 09:19
Hello everyone,

Okay I am back from my scan and it seems like it all went well, was in there for quite a long time as the baby wouldn't cooperate - it was upside down so she got excellent pictures of the spine but couldn't get the heart very well as everytime she went near it the baby would put its hand in the way!! We know that the baby is very stubborn - boy am in for trouble!! We didn't find out the sex, I was very tempted but DH said no - so a surprise for us!!

I think it all went well, the ob will go through the ultrasound with me next Wednesday at my appointment.

To the others getting there scans done - wishing you all the best and looking forward to hearing all about them.

Angelgirl: I have just had my scan and I didn't get a video either, I did have one with DD but they are not allowed to do them anymore at the hospital where I had my scan - Medical Imaging Australia don't allow it anymore if you are getting it done with them. I was disappointed at first but I did get some pictures so I was happy with that.

imisschampagne: I know what you mean about laughing at 'sphincter', we are the same - I know when I went to a yoga class when I was pregnant with DD we were doing one of the stretches and 2 ladies farted - well I could not stop laughing - I felt so stupid for laughing but couldn't help it, everyone else just acted like nothing happened except me. Needless to say I only went once more!!

Anyway must get back to work, have got to go and speak to my boss about my maternity leave and stuff.

deb1234
27-03-2007, 09:20
Nic - i'm in nz next week but sounds good :) will try to make the next one.

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 10:59
Morning Ladies :wave:

Trendy - so glad your scan went well. You are so strong for not finding out!
I can totally relate to your classroom giggles - my biggest fear of going to yoga is that i am going to fart and then pee myself laughing :laughing:

Ally Jane - conratulations on your little boy !!!

Donna - congrats on your first real kicks! I am still waiting for mine!!

We must be one of the lucky ones as we got a DVD of our 12 week scan (for $5) and they said to bring the disc back and they will add the 20W one on there also. I agree with Kazza though that it's not really the point, but I guess it's a nice little bonus.

I am hoping my day flies by for our 3pm scan! Will jump on BH tonight and let you know the results!

Have a wonderful day chiccies xxx

Tan-mumof3
27-03-2007, 11:26
A belated welcome back Tara, your photos were great loved the bump :thumbsup:.

Carmen- your wedding sounded very lovely can't wait to see the pics.

Donna- congrats on feeling your first kick from the outside, i feel heaps but still not quite strong enough to feel on the outside yet.

Ally Jane - congrats on your little boy.

Deb- i didn't any choccie in my bounty bag either ripped off hey.

Trendy 1- congrats on your scan going well.

Goodluck to all getting their scans done today, can't wait to hear all about them.

Not much going on here bubba getting very active now. I had to take my poor dd to hospital last night with severe tummy pains, turns out she has a bladder infection. The poor little thing i know how painful they are, she is on antibiotics now so :fingerscrossed: it settles down soon for her and she is out of pain.
Feeling very tired today think i might be having a nanny nap today.

Anyway hope you are all well and enjoy your day i will be back later to check for U/S updates :).

chicken
27-03-2007, 12:16
my biggest fear of going to yoga is that i am going to fart and then pee myself laughing :laughing:

Speaking of peeing yourself.....I sneezed a few times on the weekend, and felt my bladder control wavering. On one occasion, I actually dribbled a bit!! I can't believe this is happening to me so soon. Please tell me someone else has experienced the same thing? I always had such pride in my bladder's ability. I don't want to be getting the Poise out just yet!

Good luck for your scan today Tara.

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 12:20
Chicken - this has happened to me too! If my bladder is full and I sneeze ... just a drop though .. but I didn't think it was very cool seeing as this is my first pg :eek:
Don't fret ... you're not alone !!!

Snugglepot
27-03-2007, 12:48
Oh girls has no one told you that you will need to wear a panty liner from now on till after the birth! :eek:
It is true, well for me anyway, dribbles galore! Its worse with number 2! (sorry TMI!)
There are lots of personals I could write, but here are the ones that have stayed in my scant memory!
Good luck to those getting scans, wlecome back Tara, Carmen; your wedding sounded fantastic! Donna, congrats on your Girl and your kicks., Licia, the heartburn is probably here to stay, Rennies and a bottle of mylanta to swig on at night are what I found worked for me.

I am feeling lots of kicks in and out now, it is really cool! I am cruising which is nice and enjoying this part of my pregnancy.

Enjoy your afternoon :wave:

jamb
27-03-2007, 12:59
do your pevic floor exercise like nothing else matters girls, trust me......

i was a mad PF exerciser before and during pg #one, afterwards i was slacko and kinda never started again.

That was until leakage this time with sneezes, so i am back onto them with dedication and have noticed slight improvement.

I say fix it as best you can prior to having to push the bub out cause boy oh boy does that make the muscles weak:o

tan, your poor little girl, bladder infections are just awful, hope the antibiotics are kicking in:fingerscrossed:

imisschampagne, i laughed at sphincter muscles and i wasnt even there, that sounds alot like me and my dh:laughing:

glad everyone seems to be enjoying this bit of pg, i too am feeling pretty good, still need a nanna nap tho:sleeping:

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 13:31
Jamb - is your PF affected if you have a c-section? I guess I didn't think too much about it cos i'm wussing out and not going natural. I think i should do them anyway ... just to be safe !!!

Snugglepot
27-03-2007, 13:37
Yep they still go even with a c-section, well so I was told by others in my Mums group!

OverTheMoon
27-03-2007, 13:40
It's a boy!

Had the scan this morning, and not that it's a surprise (the sonographer thought he saw a willy-like object at the 12 week scan, and everyone's been saying it's a boy), but we know now, and saw it all. The scan went really well (apart from my tears - it made it seem so real, as i've not been able to feel anything because of the placenta position, it's seemed really surreal), 'structurally sound' baby! Yay! I was having Braxton Hicks during the ultrasound, and the sonographer was going "look, look, there's a braxton hicks!". I thought i had been feeling a tightening / mini cramps.

Oh, and i agree on the scan thing -it was a bonus that we got the DVD, but the main thing for me is knowing that our little boy is growing well and his bits and pieces are in order and where they should be.

Good luck to the others with their scans today.

I need a sleep, i feel all emotional and tuckered out!

Tan-mumof3
27-03-2007, 13:41
glad everyone seems to be enjoying this bit of pg, i too am feeling pretty good, still need a nanna nap tho:sleeping:

I still need my nanna nap too, i will definately be having one today.
Thanks Tahlia is starting to feel better she just managed to eat some lunch but is still a bit sore and sick.

ETA- Congratulations on your little boy Mel.

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 13:43
Oh Mel - i have been thinking about you all morning!!! Congratulations on your little BOY :smiliedance: I am just sooooooooo happy for you - your DH must be over the moon (excuse the pun :laughing: ). I bet ours is a boy too - we will know in a few hours !!!

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 13:44
Tan - hope your little one is making a speedy recovery. Bladder infections are awful as an adult, so i can imagine what the poor little thing is going though. Sending you both lots of :hugs:

Tan-mumof3
27-03-2007, 13:46
Thanks Tara :)

OverTheMoon
27-03-2007, 13:51
Tan, ditto what Tara said. Sorry, my previous post was all about me!

Tara - thinking about you too! I said to Neville "my friend is coming to see you this afternoon", and he goes "tara?" and then i said "but i haven't met her yet" and he looked at me like i was a looper! Lucky he knows me! Good luck for yours!

I was just reading the poll thread on what everyone is having / if it's a surprise, and i felt so much better that i wasn't the only one with a worry about what to do with a baby with a pecker! Thanks girls!

2princesses1prince
27-03-2007, 13:54
Mel, where is your placenta laying? I haven't been feeling much movement either and mine is in front. I am in constant pain though with my back because he is laying spine on spine.

M O P
27-03-2007, 13:57
i felt so much better that i wasn't the only one with a worry about what to do with a baby with a pecker! Thanks girls!

It's pretty common! :laughing:

M O P
27-03-2007, 14:03
I had a frontal placenta with Hugh and felt very little but this time it's in the right spot and I've still not felt much. Think I have lazy babies!

Tan-mumof3
27-03-2007, 14:10
Tan, ditto what Tara said. Sorry, my previous post was all about me!

Thanks Mel :) She is starting to feel a bit better so the antibiotics must be working.
Don't be sorry about your post being only about you. You just found out you are having a beautiful little BOY :yelclap:!!!

mom2jake
27-03-2007, 14:19
Well....we just got home from week in NZ and finally caught up on a weeks worth of bubhub...We had a fab time and was great to compare bumps with my sis-in-law who is 3weeks ahead of us:yelclap:

Tara...Welcome home and good luck with ur scan today:smiliedance:

mumtotwins...My placenta ia anterior(on front) and I've only felt flutters 3times

Overthemoon...congrats on ur little boy

And anyone else I left out congrats on ur scans

jamb
27-03-2007, 14:45
OTM congrats on the boy, boys are tops:thumbsup: and trust me soon you'll be an old hand with the pecker (in a mothering way people;) )

tara, oh how exciting think you'd be scanning right now - cant wait to hear. Re the PF, i think it is a combo of heaviness on your pelvic floor from carrying a baby and the pushing just adds to it, everything goes south, well did for me, only just returning to normal and what do i go do, get pg again:laughing:

OTM and tara that is so funny, "friend", thats what i say and my DH thinks i am bizarre (he doesnt frequent a forum so he just does not get it)

awaiting more results......................................

OverTheMoon
27-03-2007, 15:10
Thanks girls!
Yep, placenta sitting anterior (at front), but luckily not over cervix, which is great. I think i may have felt a bit of something last night, where one of his arms is, but they said i probably wouldn't feel anything until 22 weeks or so.

Gotta go see Medicare to get this mullah back - second time lucky, hopefully this time it doesn't have a queue out into the shopping mall. Taking Mum with me, maybe she will buy something for bubs???? LOL.

Oooh, can't wait to hear about Tara.

onabreak
27-03-2007, 15:25

I have my scan tomorrow at 10.30am and I am so nervous and excited at the moment. I can't wait to find out what we are having.

I am really hopping DH can get away from work so he can come in with me as he has not been to any appointments yet. He so wants a son but I don't want him to get upset if it is a girl. But I am really hoping for a boy aswell.

I am feeling heaps of movement and little kicks now.

Well I will let you all know what I am having tomorrow when I get home.

M O P
27-03-2007, 16:46
Good luck then Amanda

MammyMammy
27-03-2007, 17:10
I'm late for my yoga...so justa quickie for me

`congrats to all who have had the 20 week scan!

we had ours - and DH came so we didnt find out sex

i was in there for over 2.5 hours....First she couldnt get good pics of head, then she shook IT all about, then she made me take a walk and use the elevator, then she took another patient and said i needed to drink 8 cups of water (THIS IS PURE HELL ON BLADDER) then finally took some measurements and all is ok, except kidneys smallish (have to have 34 week scan but my ob said its ok, common etc) and also placenta is at front and if it doesnt move i could be a caesar salad....uuggghhhh scary...

gotta dash - will write more later xxx

congrats on all your news ladies xxx

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 19:38
How wrong were my instincts and the chinese calendar ... WE ARE HAVING A GIRL !!!!!

I am thrilled to bits - we are both in shock - I think DH is a little disappointed :rolleyes:

Everything else is going really welly - heart, lungs, kidneys and all other body parts. He said she has long legs and full lips!!!

A few months ago DH woke up and said he dreamt he was laying with our little girl. Now we can get cracking on names ... haven't been able to agree on one single girls name so far :o

OverTheMoon
27-03-2007, 19:45
Congrats Tara! That makes 2 of us that the Chinese calendar thing didn't work for!

Hope Dh's laser surgery went well too.

niesl_bug
27-03-2007, 19:50
Thanks Mel !!
DH's surgery is tomorrow actually ...

Neville gave us a cute little 3D pic of bub too ... you can see all her little facial features ... soooooooooooo cute !!!!!

mom2jake
27-03-2007, 19:52
Congratulations Tara...

I think my chinese calender is wrong also, I'm sure I'm having a girl...

My Chinese medicine doctor says I'm having a girl due to my pulse being stronger in my left wrist...

Actually, for you that know what your having is that true?
Boy -pulse stronger in right
Girl -pulse stronger in left

Areca
27-03-2007, 19:59
Hey guys!
Doing personals from memory here and have been reading on and off all day so I do apologise if I miss something important, forget names etc.

Congratulations to all of you that know what you're having! Tara you and your DH sound just like DH and I with DD (minus the disappointment part). We couldn't think of a single girl's name and we were both so positive that DD was a boy that we were surprised when they said girl. The chinese calender was right with DD though, and it says girl this time round too so we'll see. We can't agree on boys names this time so it makes me think boy just for that reason!
Also, on the PF muscles....it's the pressure of carrying the baby for 9 months that does more damage than actually giving birth so even though you're having a c-section you should still be looking after them. After pushing out a big bub and being pg with no.2 I never pee when I sneeze etc. If I have a full bladder I can't go doing star jumps but that's about the worst it gets for me so far.
As far as video's with ultrasounds go....I agree totally with Kazza! While for us it's the big 'gender knowing' scan (for some of us anyway) there is so much more to the scan than that, things that are far more important in the long run. It's not the done thing to get a dvd/vid of the scan....it depends on if the place has the equipment or not and not all places do. After all, it's not important on the medical side of things. We didn't get a vid with DD at the 20 week scan but got some great pics that are in her scrapbook (pregnancy one).

Still no photos yet of the wedding guys! I'm still waiting to have some sent to me but my p's gave me a memory stick tonight with all the photo's on it so I'll get DH on to it soon (he is in bed asleep...he isn't well).

Well DD is asleep (we went out for dinner for my sis's birthday) so I'm going to have an early one. Night all!

MammyMammy
27-03-2007, 20:35

I'm back on line...

I am a bit sad that I dont know the gender but thats how the cookie crumbles I suppose

Tara congrats on your GIRL news!

DHs mum rang to see what the news was with scan and I couldnt be bothered going into kidney size etc...so I just said FINE all is FINE... that will keep the old bag happy.

I cant wait to see these photos of wedding that everyone is crackers about - post them up soon!!!

Other than that, I am a bit too flat for writing...its been a long day for me! night night peoples

Tan-mumof3
27-03-2007, 22:13
Congratulations Tara on your little GIRL :yelclap:.

mom2be- i don't know what im having but going on the pulse thing it will be a boy pulse is definately stronger on the right wrist.

deb1234
28-03-2007, 05:10
Congrats Tara!
the chinese calendar said i was having a girl...and we aren't, so it may not be 100% correct! :laughing:
i'm sure your DH will loves his little girl to bits! he sounds like me when i found out we were having a boy, not disappointed but more just in shock like maybe they had made a mistake! :D Chris thought it was a boy all along though so he was all smiles!

how accurate can they tell you you are having a girl? i mean, with boys there are obviously bits to look at, but how do you tell its a girl (apart from the absence of bits...which could be hiding)? :detective:

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 06:00
I heard when its a girl, they are mainly looking for ovaries....which are apparently obvious...but dont get these confused for kidneys...!

otherwise i think if they look from underneath there will be an absence of a scrotum....

I wish I knew what the hell i was having as Living Textiles are having a sale!

jamb
28-03-2007, 06:05
congrats tara, sure hubby will come round to having a lil princess!!

mammy, sorry you are feeling flat, not sure what to say so just send you some:hugs:

ace thats some good pf muscles ya got there!!

well i will be offline for a couple of weeks (i seriously do not know what i am going to do). My darling DH spilt champagne into the laptop keyboard and now it must be sent off for fixing.

so i will not be able to tell you all bout my scan or what we are having....if i get the chance i will. Possibly going to inlaws so maybe able to on sat.
take care all xx

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 06:14
Hey Jamb....god two weeks without "LIFE" basically....I cant survive that long without access to internet

have a good break from us!

I am feeling ok about not knowing the sex....but I am peeved at how RUDE the scanning place is - they really messed us around yesterday and what should have taken 1/2 hour max, took 3.5 hours and they "didnt have time" to check for sex, according to them

anyway, it will be a surprise for now

I have to go back at 34 weeks anyway for checkup scan on kidneys and placenta....so maybe i'll see a willy or a winky then! ;)

jamb
28-03-2007, 06:22
tell me about it, i am madly cramming all the emails and bubhub i can before he takes it:gloomy:

we live remotely so its even more depended on, guess i'll have more time for trucks, digging and cubby's...

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 06:28
yeah i dont think i could cope! but you'll probably miss it less and less the more time goes on

it poses a question I ask myself all the time:

What on earth were people so excited about computers for, before the internet was around??? I mean, you couldnt do anything WITH anyone or share anything WITH anyone....so you created docs and put them on FLOPPYs...and snail mailed them...ha, seems funny these days!

Snugglepot
28-03-2007, 06:45
Congratulations Tara on your Girl! That is very exciting and now you will be able to go out and buy some lovely little pink girly clothes (which is what I did right after the scan, I told DP that I was spending $100 and there was to be NO grumbling! He took it well bless him!)

I am off to the Hospi for my ob appointment. It is the only one I have with an Ob, the rest is the lovely middies in the Family Birth Centre. It will be nice to hear our little ones heart beat again.

Jamb, good luck been off bub hub, you may get some cleaning done too! Let us know how your scan goes as soon as you can!

My Chinese thingy was right and so was the ring test!

Have a lovely day all, Kez

AngelGirl
28-03-2007, 07:05
I've got a lot of work to get through this morning so it's only a quick hello from me.

Tara - congrats on your little princess, how exciting!

Jamb - we'll miss you! Enjoy your break from the internet!

I'm feeling crappy. Sore throat, aches and pains. Might get as much done as I can this morning and go home early....

Talk soon ladies xxx

mom2jake
28-03-2007, 07:26
I've got a lot of work to get through this morning so it's only a quick hello from me.

Tara - congrats on your little princess, how exciting!

Jamb - we'll miss you! Enjoy your break from the internet!

I'm feeling crappy. Sore throat, aches and pains. Might get as much done as I can this morning and go home early....

Talk soon ladies xxx
Hope ur feeling better AngelGirl...

Dose up on echinacea and vitamin c, it works wonders

xpress2
28-03-2007, 07:33
Congrats Tara on your little girl - It must be so exciting....

Jamb - Lets hope you'll be okay without BH for a while... Now that I've found BH, I don't know if I'd be able to go without it - Sad but true... :laughing:

AngelGirl - Hope you feel better soon. Sounds like the flu perhaps?

Only 6 days until my scan (and yes, im counting)... I can't wait! :D I'm doing really well, even though I am sore from my fall yesterday - Fell of a chair... Gee I'm talented! Lots of bruises and what not, but I went to the doctor and bub is fine... I heard the heartbeat for the first time which was so exciting... :smiliedance:

Anyway, hope everyone is well... How many of us are there left to have their scans??

2princesses1prince
28-03-2007, 09:47

It's a me me me post today. I am feeling a bit down. I like the feeling of bub (Jacob) moving inside me, but my placenta is in front so not feeling very much at the moment and it also appears that he may be laying spine on spine and my back is killing me. Not easy to deal with when I have 15 month old twins that i need to look after and constantly want to be out in the pram for a walk.

Sorry about the me rant.

Hope everyone else is going good.

Areca
28-03-2007, 10:01
Wedding pics!

Where we were meant to get married...don't be too jealous of the weather!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding232.jpg

At our place, before the ceremony
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding122.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding124.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding126.jpg

Walking down the aisle

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding148.jpg

Officially hitched!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding184.jpg

Doin' the legal stuff
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding055.jpg

The cake

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding231.jpg

Cutting the cake

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding250.jpg

The Bridal Waltz

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/OurWedding087.jpg

These aren't professional pics obviously!

xpress2
28-03-2007, 11:10
Those pics are gorgeous...

You look stunning, and little Emily looks soo cute.....

Congratulations! :D

Snugglepot
28-03-2007, 11:10
Carmen, you look gorgeous, you can not even tell you are pregnant! You all look so happy its lovely! I wish my DP would hurry up and ask me. 7 years is a long time to wait for a ring!

Not sure who suggested it, bit I dont think you are meant to use echinacea when pregnant, so check the label before you take anything herbal like that for a cold....

Mum totwins, I am one grumpy girl at work today too, everyone is steering clear of me! Its normal, just annoying, I hope the twins behave extra good today for you.:wizard:

trendy1
28-03-2007, 11:17
Hello everyone,

Ace1: Your wedding photos are just beautiful, I love your dress - gorgeous colours and so different!! It looks like you had a lovely day. Congratulations on becoming a Mrs!!

Mumtotwins: I hope your day gets better and those twins are extra good for you today!!

Tara: CONGRATULATIONS on your baby girl!! I am sure we will be having a girl too but will have to wait. The chinese horoscope thingy says a boy for us - but it hasn't been very accurate so far! Hope all is well.

Hayles07: Time will fly by now (hopefully) with only 6 days to go till your scan - less than a week anyway!!

Angelgirl: Hope you are starting to feel better or you have gone home from work.

Kez&kyle: How did your appointment go this morning? No doubt you enjoyed hearing the heart beat again.

Anyway must be off - sorry to those I have missed :wave: to all. I have achieved next to nothing at work today and really need to get something done. Hope all is well.

mom2jake
28-03-2007, 11:35
Carmen- you look beautiful..I can't wait til we get married, our 1st baby will be there also...:yelclap:

I recommended echinacea, my bottle just says not for children under 2years. But will ring mothersafe and double check!

mumtotwins- I hope your day gets better, sounds like you need a bubble bath (also makes me feel better)and a BIG:hugs:

mom2jake
28-03-2007, 12:08
Hey Ladies...
I just rang "mothersafe" and there was one study done and echinacea is completely safe for pregnant women to take.

I'd been feeling a little fluey and been taking it with vitamin C...I feel heaps better:yelclap:

Tan-mumof3
28-03-2007, 15:10

Jamb- bye for now look forward to hearing from you when you get your computer back.

Angel girl- hope you feel better soon. Both my kids have had a cold/flu thing :fingerscrossed: i don't get it. It's not nice when your pg and can't take much to get rid of it.

Carmen- Love the photos and your dress was just gorgeous. Love the bridal waltz one with Emily it is so cute.

Mum to twins- hope bubs moves for you and your back feels better soon.

Kez- hope your appointment went well today.

All is good here except i went shopping this morning and now my back and stupid varicose vein in my leg are hurting. Oh well another 1/2 of peace and quiet then i have to pick the kids up.
Im counting down to my scan too, mine is on Monday so only 5 more sleeps to go :smiliedance:.
Sorry if i missed anyone, hope you are all well :).

M O P
28-03-2007, 15:24
beautiful wedding Carmen-
again congratulations!

I love your pink dress. The cake is adorable with little Emily hiding on it!
We actually did get married on the beach, Broome was on cyclone watch at the start of the week and the best day of the whole week was when we got married- we were very lucky!

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 15:53
Hi All!!!

Carmen - congrats on getting hitched. God I luuuurrrrve being a Mrs....I just love my hubby so much and being his wife is the BEST feeling....I dont care about the term "old cheese" - I think being a Mrs is rather sexy!

I LOVE the bold dress - you are simply stunning...um, but where the hell is your lardy-baby-bump ?? I think someone was looking after it while you got married - you'd never know you were 20 weeks !!! Ha! So cool!

The cake is HOT - I love it I love it I love it

Congrats on your marriage to a man that clearly looks at you like you are the only woman in the universe for him - its just so refreshing!!!!

And well done on doing it "your way" - i just love seeing weddings that dont have 180 guests crammed into a reception hall of cheesiness....your day looked an absolute celebration !!!!

yay its brightened my whole day....I am going to dig out some photos of my wedding (last sept) to show you all (well soon, when i work out how the hell photobucket works,...hmmmm)

:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

Tingles
28-03-2007, 15:54
oooh my throat is sore - I think this ulcer on the inside of my cheek has set off a sore throat:( . Feeling pretty average.

On another note I spoke to 'early images' in Melbourne about having a 4D scan - apparently they are better to have 28/29 weeks when baby is a little more fatty? So now I have to wait for that! I'll be over it by then - But I'm feeling impulsive now!:banghead: Not in MAY!!

Congratulations to all those who have had there half way reward reveiled & good will power for those who chose not to!

That's all here - I've bought a couple of little bubba outfits in the last few days - need to go through all my old stock!

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 15:56
oh and WOW - I spot the detail - of your lovely VERA WANG cake knife!

special! :party: :party: :party:

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 16:00
Hey Tingles - where are Early Images?

After yesterday's debacle botched scan i was robbed of my chance to see the gender and I think I might like to see the gender (and the baby's face) sooner than birth!!!

:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

RyleysMummy
28-03-2007, 16:11
Hi to all the August Mums,

I'm due on the 2nd Sept but i thought it may be necessary to post as an August Mum too, as there is every chance that if this pregnancy goes as my first did then I will definately have an August bubby :smiliedance:

Hope you are all doing well, look forward to reading all your interesting posts and stories

Ciao :wave:

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 16:20
Hi Ryley's Mum - welcome to august thread!

Hope you dont go TOO early though!!! (even though this would be easier to push....)

Good luck and happy BubHubing

onabreak
28-03-2007, 16:44

Well I finally have the chance to let you all know how my scan went. I was happy the DH was able to make it as we found out we are having a BOY!!:smiliedance: We both wanted a boy, so we are both very happy. DSS will be happy as he wanted a little brother, can't wait to tell him on Sunday when we see him next. I was also lucky to have 4D image taken as well. When I picked up my scans then was one just of the face for us.

It was so good being able to go to the shops and pick out new born stuff for boys, they are so cute. Now the hardest part picking names. DH likes the name Hamish but I don't like it at all, so I can see now that a few arguements will happen over names.

Congratulations Tara on you girl.

Congratulations ACE1 on your wedding. Your photos are beautiful, I really like your dress, so different.

Well I must be off. Good luck to the everyone who is still waiting for there scans.

MammyMammy
28-03-2007, 16:56
Mandy congrats on your BOY news!!!!

Thats wonderful and now you can begin the late night sifting through books for names!!!

Hooooraaaaaahhhh

Tingles
28-03-2007, 17:11
Hey Tingles - where are Early Images?

www.earlyimages.com.au

Tan-mumof3
28-03-2007, 18:00
Hi to all the August Mums,

I'm due on the 2nd Sept but i thought it may be necessary to post as an August Mum too, as there is every chance that if this pregnancy goes as my first did then I will definately have an August bubby :smiliedance:

Hope you are all doing well, look forward to reading all your interesting posts and stories

Ciao

:wave: Kel,
If you have an august bubby you have to wait til after me, im first :p.
Nah knowing my 2 and yours you will go first and i may very well go into september.

Mandy- congratulations on your little boy :smiliedance:.

mom2jake
28-03-2007, 18:29
Hello Ryley's mum, Welcome to the August Thread

Congratulations Mandy on our little boy, it sounds like your ultrasound went really well and thats awesome about the 4D image. Who does he look like?

Is anyone else thinking of getting 4D scans done?

onabreak
28-03-2007, 18:54
I didn't know I was having a 4D scan, but it was a bonus. The clinic had just received the new ultrasound machine yesterday and were learning how to use it.

Can't really tell who he looks like wasn't a very clear picture.

I am off to look through our baby names book, how exciting.

niesl_bug
28-03-2007, 19:06
Hi Ladies :wave:

Carmen - i cried when I saw your photos ... you looked absolutely stunning :yes: You didn't tell us you were such a hottie and where the hell is your bump ?!?!?!?!?

Jamb - I'm gonna miss you :thumbsdown:

I hope those who have a cold feel better soon - we are just starting to shake ours after nearly a week.

I had the day off today which was bliss - bought a hot pink lamp and toy holder thing for our little girls room. DH has come around already and we think we have picked a name! We'd like to keep it a secret though so there is at least one surprise!

Not sure if I mentioned, but DH had a dream a couple of months ago that our little girl was laying in the bed with us and looking up at him with these big brown eyes - maybe it was a premonition!
Here's a 3D pic taken yesterday ...
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Peanut/20Wscancropped.jpg

They said my placenta is up in front also which is why I haven't been feeling much. They said all the organs, my cervix, measurements all look fantastic which is such wonderful news to hear!

Welcome Ryley'sMummy !!

Mandy - congratulations on your little man :smiliedance:

Ciao ladies, chat tomorrow !!!

Snugglepot
28-03-2007, 19:33
All is well with the little one. My appointment was fine and all is good, right size, heard the heart, Yay!

Rileys Mum welcome! I went early with my first, so I could end up a July mummy, not that I would leave here, everyone is gorgeous! Mandy, congrats on your baby boy!

Sleep well all, Kez

Areca
28-03-2007, 19:49
Thanks for all the comments and compliments guys!
Kez don't worry too much...we got married on Sunday cause it was our 9 year anniversary of being together...we only got engaged in November! DH took his sweet time in proposing but it was worth the wait!
Deb you sound sooo lin lurrrvvveeee with your DH still! That's so sweet! I don't really feel like a wife yet (really nothing is different for us so far) but I'm proud as punch to be wearing those rings on my finger and to have the same last name as DH and our DD. The Vera Wang cake knife was a pressie from my sis...she was the one that took that photo! To be honest, I still don't know who/what Vera Wang is but my sis pointed it out to me on Sunday so I knew it must've been something good! :laughing: Feel free to come post your wedding pics! I'd love to see them! DH and I never wanted the big white wedding. It's great for those that want it but it's not us and that day was about us....anyone that wasn't happy with it can go poop! My uncle (very hard to please) hasn't stopped raving to my grandma about the day (she lives in Victoria and was too sick to come) and is apparently telling everyone it was the best wedding he has ever been to. Our vows were also very non traditional. i promised to wake DH up for work every day and he promised to do the dishes every day!
Tara, you sap! You made me blush! Don't forget I'm not due until the 30th August (my sig is wrong) so I'm a bit behind you but I broke the rules and am smaller this time round than I was with DD. You have a beautiful bump though so make sure you wear it with pride! Your 4d image is beautiful!!! I can't wait to have mine done now!!! I meant to say before too to tell your DH that little girl's love their daddy's so much! Emily walks around all day saying 'dad, dad, dad' at the top of her voice (she only ever says mum when asked to) and she gets sooooo excited when he comes home from work. He might be a little disappointed now that he isn't have a son (this time anyway) but he isn't going to remember any of that when his little girl arrives!!

Amanda congrats on your baby boy!!!

Ryleysmummy welcome! I'll probably end up a Sept mummy (due 30th Aug and went 10 days over with DD) but everyone here is great so I'm staying put!! Feel free to join us, we always love new people!

Ok gotta go clean up the mess from dinner, I just felt bad not doing any personals!

whatwasithinking
28-03-2007, 22:10
Hi everyone. Welcome to new members.
I had my 20wk dr apt at the hospital. OMG I was allowed to have a VBAC after two c/sections :smiliedance: . But then in a split second all that changed :gloomy: and I have to have another c/section.
Never thought it would effect me but the news has for some reason and I have been teary all arvo just thinking about it. I guess I was actually looking forward to the VBAC plus the dr couldn't understand why I couldn't have VBAC with Bec and said that the hospital did wrong so I was really upset about that too.

Anyways bub's is OK, apprently already big when measured -eek. My blood pressure was very very low - 80/41!.

I talked about tubal ligation at the same time as c/section and that was going to happen until one of the midwifes read my little book when I went to make apt for next midwife apt. She said they don't do that here. I asked why and her response just cracks me up "We are a catholic hospital - you get my drift (in a funny and polite but serious way)"

I'm not catholic and didn't realise that they don't do anything about contraception stuff. OOPPSS and I forgot that my local public hospital was run by the sisters of mercy or something.

J and I have laughed all arvo about it. It was funny but I guess you had to be there (maybe a location joke).

Oh and I am 20wks pregnant and not showing - I am also upset about that. Everyone can't belive it and some (yeah including J) has just said or thought I was fat. :gloomy: .

Anyways best go now. Love to all.

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 05:14
I feel for you! Hugs to you! :hugs:

I did get a laugh from the contraception issue....!!! It was funny!!

Dont worry about not showing, maybe its because your c/scar is preventing you from popping out like?

And dont worry about having another c/section - if there is nothing you can do, then embrace what the future brings! a new baby!

M O P
29-03-2007, 05:47
Now the hardest part picking names. DH likes the name Hamish but I don't like it at all, so I can see now that a few arguments will happen over names.

If it helps any we have a couple of friends called Hamish and they are all really nice guys.

We are having so much trouble finding a boys name we both like-:fingerscrossed: that means we're having a girl :)
I'm off to post in the Aug names thread.

Tara congrats on having a girl- means you won't be having a Finn I guess!

Carmen- love the vows!! Just going to drag out a few wed pics.

Donna that is very very low b/p- what can you do about it though?

Tingles
29-03-2007, 06:22
Never thought it would effect me but the news has for some reason and I have been teary all arvo just thinking about it.

Firstly :hugs: to you for feeling teary - I bet your feeling better today!

My attitude has always been - it doesn't matter 'how' the baby comes into the world - as long as it all goes okay!

You have a special 'DUE DATE' - and you know you won't be 1 day over - lucky you!

In regards to 'not showing' my advice:wizard:

Go and eat a few dounuts and chocolate milkshakes, that will get the tummy popping out!:laughing:

Tara, maybe you could have 'Finlay' like on Home & Away years ago...

Must get Miss K ready for school - bye for now.

M O P
29-03-2007, 06:46
Here's some wedding pics-I know some of you have seen them in the wed pic threads. It's pretty casual :thumbsup:

We got married on Cable Beach (Broome) on 05/01/05-it was a Wednesday, I liked the date.
Our immediate family all flew up with us and we all had a week long holiday.
Angus and I had the most relaxing day on the day of our wedding. We spent the day in the pool then got ready about 3pm. I put my dress on at my parents apartment as Angus didn't want to see it before the wedding. We were married at 5pm then had heaps of beautiful photos taken in front of the sunset- they were the professional ones, not these ones.
Afterwards we had a beautiful dinner. Later on us young-ens headed to the pub and saw a band- we got changed first.
About 2 weeks later we had a party in Adel for the rest of our family and friends.

the ceremony (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/everything023.jpg) with Angus' bros Henry & Ben
with my bro Simon afterwards (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/everything026.jpg)
the view for our wedding tea (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/everything035.jpg)
us having cocktails afterwards (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/everything040-1.jpg)

mom2jake
29-03-2007, 07:36
Kaz- You looked beautiful and so happy!!! What a beautiful place to get married too...

Conrgatulations to everyone re. 20week scan. It seems most of us are finding out what we're having! I wish I was allowed, but I've struck a deal with Df...If we don't find out this time (our first) I'm allowed to find out for our next baby...

M O P
29-03-2007, 07:44
thanks Kellie-
Bit off topic but I was so glad it was all happening just as we'd imagined,
my m-i-l was being a bit of a b about it before(didn't like the idea of going to Broome for it and thought we should have the same wedding she had) but she said afterwards it was beautiful and I heard her telling her friends that!

mom2jake
29-03-2007, 07:52
Well thats great that you went with your original plans.

There will always be someone that wants to complain. We're thinking of getting married in Vanuatu next year and I'm sure we'll hear some complaining as well! At the end of the day, you did what you wanted and it sounds like it was enjoyed by all:yelclap:

niesl_bug
29-03-2007, 10:19
Donna - sorry you're not getting the birth you want hun :hugs:

We think we have picked a name but we are keeping it a secret ;)

I can highly recommend getting married away! Carmen - there is a thread where we all posted our wedding pics, you should check it out - I love looking at brides! Here's just one from our special day:
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Bali%20Wedding%20-%20June%2006/FlowerShower.jpg

All good here - have a great day xxx

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 11:29
Kazza & Bug - I am loving the wedding photos....and kazza - could you get a better sunset, hun!!! Gorgeous!

Mum2Bee - I havent found out either - we can be the ones who um and ahhh over what gender it will be...

I need to have a run to donut king for two cinnamon d/nuts and a yumbo decaf cappacino whiich i will lick the froth off!:party:

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 11:33
oh and ...I'm funny about sharing my names list too....

I think its because

(a) people I know (more so ones where you see the actual look on their face) might screw their face up and ruin it for us

(b) because its nice to know a name after the child has officially been "named" it, and then (a) cant happen because people have to be happy for you

and (c) because I couldnt start calling "it" the name yet, because what if something happened??

thats just me though.....I think its wonderful that some of you have already named your little chubbabubbas!!! how cutie.....

M O P
29-03-2007, 12:59
yay Tara :yelclap: I was hoping you'd post a pic from your gorgeous wedding!

Kellie- my family used to live in Port Vila. Vanuatu is a great choice for a wedding. And yes- stick to your plans and have the wedding you want! I very nearly gave in to shut my m-i-l up, it was Angus who was like no way. I'm so glad now we did it our way.

Thanks Mammy, after visiting Broome as gf and bf we just knew we'd get married there. We'd love to take our children there for a holiday one day.
And I'm funny too about telling people the names we have chosen- except Bubhubbers. We didn't tell anyone we had Hugh in mind. I wanted a nice surprise for family/friends and my m-i-l kept trying to get it out of me so deliberately wouldn't tell her!

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 14:36
la la la

I had spaghetti for lunch and i loved it

mmm mmm

xpress2
29-03-2007, 14:38
I had 2 jacket potatoes with butter - Gee aren't I exciting...

M O P
29-03-2007, 14:41
Hayles are you ok after your crash yesterday?

xpress2
29-03-2007, 14:46
Yeah, Im pretty good... I went to the doctor and she checked everything.... Blood Pressure was a little bit high but she said that was fine. Probably caused by stress....... She checked bubba and all was fine.. I got to hear the heartbeat for the first time... :smiliedance:

I have lots of scratches and bruises lol But apart from that, all is good..

Thanks for asking! :D

M O P
29-03-2007, 14:51
Thanks for asking! :D
:hugs: that's alright- I was thinking of you,
glad to hear you're fine. Like I said yesterday I fell off a chair I was standing on when preg with Hugh and it was probably the scare of it all that really got to me.

xpress2
29-03-2007, 14:55
The scare is most definately the worst part.. Gee I was worried.... But after hearing bubs heartbeat, all was good.. My little brother was home with me from school with Tonsillitis so I had we had to take him to the doctors too... 45 min wait! DP, I and Leyton enjoyed Nandos for lunch afterwards.. YUM! So it wasnt all bad lol.....

The doctor said she was soo glad that I came and got checked out though! :thumbsup:

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 15:01
wtf...

what happened? Did you have a car accident hayles? Poor thing...

xpress2
29-03-2007, 15:03
I fell off a chair straight onto the hard tiles... A pretty hard fall.... But everything is ok now.... :thumbsup:

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 15:07
I LOVE a baked potato - but only if its completely oven cooked (micro sucks, no crispy skins)

I always have mine like this:

Halved at the middle and then put on a plate, then I criss-cross it through the middle with a knife and add LOADS of western star BUTTER (not marg) and let that sink in, then I add spinkled cheese, like tasty or something, and some salt, and then let that melt a bit, then I go to town with the sour cream...full fat baby yeah...

Then I get my teaspoon and I mow it down like its nobody's business, and when I get to just near the skins, I load a little more sour cream and some cheese, fold up into a boat shape and shovel it down my gob...butter streaming down my chin...

If anyone is actually still reading,well you're either disgusted or drooling...

hahaha

God I love being pregnant and having to have this hi-carb thing going on!!! Its heaven...:chef:

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 15:11
I too fell over on sunday - it was more embarassing than dangerous really.

We were out with Bonnie our dog down at the boat house, the Henley Regatta was on...

and we sat on the side of the maribrynong for a bit and then when we moved, i couldnt get myself up because of the slope we were on, DH tried to help me up but had one hand free (as one was holding Bonnie's lead....and so I slipped and slopped in the MUD....I had a new dress thing on with jeans and I was COVERED like I had been roling in it

hahaha I checked my dignity at the door at pregnancy day 1...

I'm an eeeediot...

niesl_bug
29-03-2007, 16:09
Oh Hayley - I'm so sorry to hear about your fall, but glad that you are ok!

Deb - your potato sounds delicious! I have been eating a lot of butter (not marg) since being pg ... normally smealred on toasted hot X buns :o

I had a very boring cheese, lettuce, tomato, pickle, s & p wholemeal roll for lunch ... I usually have this every day, the only thing I can eat when at work unfortunately!

Areca
29-03-2007, 16:14
mmmm that baked potato sounds so yum!

I had eggs on toast for lunch...exciting hey! Thankfully dinner is more exciting (chicken and sun dried tomato pasta, home made and yummy!)

OverTheMoon
29-03-2007, 17:02

Hayley - Glad you are ok.

Deb ( and now ACE1!) - girls, all this talk of food... cinnamon donuts, stuffed spuds, chicken with sun dried tomatoes..... mmmmm i'm hungry! for some good food! Although, the waffles with ice cream Mum and I indulged in for morning tea (after a 45 minute wait in the Medicare queue!) were delicious!

All good here, had obs appt this morning, went well, although mum came with me and when i said about the Braxton Hicks i had at the u/s and have been having, he turned to mum and asked her if she went early with either me or my bro. He said we'll talk about dates next time, but he thinks i'll go early....woteva! He also said my uterus is sitting very high (apparently 'cos i'm slight), and that's where the rib pain is coming from - bubs is that high!

My excitement is that Mum and I (and Dad, he was walking around like a lost soul) went to a big baby shop where i've found the service to be excellent, prices great and large range. And, good thing i took dad, he wanted to know all about the prams, and kept asking about different ones. And the cots - he wanted to know about the convertible ones, the Grotime Rollover etc. And then the car seats vs capsules thing. It was really informative! I had thought i had it sussed, but i found out so much more! DH and i had already picked pretty much what we wanted, so when dad asked if i would like to layby cot, pram and car seat today and he would pay the deposit and the pram, i was so happy! How noice! And I called DH to double check all choices and if he was ok with not being there to layby it all, and he was not bothered in the slightest - he said he knew which products i was talking about and was happy not to have to go back to another baby shop for a bit!

So, if you want to know, here's our choices: Peg Perego Venezia pram (in the grey/red, they had a special on that, the toffee was not on special and $110 more, just couldn't justify my vanity when i found out that!), Grotime Rollover cot in Walnut, and Safe'n sound unity capsule (for now). I just felt better about the capsule, but was in two minds.

Woo hoo! Not that we have it all yet, but i feel like we've achieved something!

Sorry for the :ecomcity: , i'm on a high!

niesl_bug
29-03-2007, 17:03
Last night I made roasted chicken with garlic, potato wedges, drizzled in olive oil .. i was delicious! It was my first Wednesday off and DH loves having me at home !!!!

mom2jake
29-03-2007, 17:21
[QUOTE=Kazza;1272980)
Kellie- my family used to live in Port Vila. Vanuatu is a great choice for a wedding. And yes- stick to your plans and have the wedding you want! I very nearly gave in to shut my m-i-l up, it was Angus who was like no way. I'm so glad now we did it our way.

[/QUOTE]
I know, we've mentioned to few friends and had mixed comments, but we're just going to do it our way...We're off to Vanuatu in May (for my birthday) for a week so we'll have a good look around and hopefully start making plans for the big day!!

Tara...Your wedding pic is gorgeous, where did you get married?

Areca
29-03-2007, 17:23
I know, we've mentioned to few friends and had mixed comments, but we're just going to do it our way...We're off to Vanuatu in May (for my birthday) for a week so we'll have a good look around and hopefully start making plans for the big day!!

Tara...Your wedding pic is gorgeous, where did you get married?

I lurrve Vanuatu!!! We stayed at the Le Meridian for 2 weeks for my 21st....they do weddings there, check them out when you're there!!! I'd love to go back to Vanuatu....my all time fave holiday destination (so far)

mom2jake
29-03-2007, 17:30
I lurrve Vanuatu!!! We stayed at the Le Meridian for 2 weeks for my 21st....they do weddings there, check them out when you're there!!! I'd love to go back to Vanuatu....my all time fave holiday destination (so far)
That may be where we are staying? not sure, will have to find out...

I've had a few people say it's their fav holiday destination...can't wait for May:yelclap:

niesl_bug
29-03-2007, 17:35
Kellie

your plans sound fab and you should stick to your guns. we got married at a gorgeous place called Ku De Ta (www.kudeta.net (http://www.kudeta.net)) in Seminyak, Bali. DH proposed on 2 May (my birthday) and we were married on 17 June !!! The wedding only took about 3 weeks to organise - I did it all online, it was totally stress free and just perfect!
We have also been to friend's weddings in Fiji and Maurtius - I love beach weddings and always dreamt of one ... wouldn't have changed 1 thing about her wedding.
We had a huge party a month after we got back for 100 people - I wore my dress again, we played a dvd of the actual wedding and a photo slidewhow and got to celebrate all over again :party:

mom2jake
29-03-2007, 18:08
Tara,
Your wedding sounds amazing, I'd love to see more pics if you get a chance to post:D

I would love to get married on the beach also..Df has a close family friend who is a celebrant, who we'll take to marry us...Kevin has known him since he was 9

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 18:43
Over the moon - your dad sounds amazing - and its wonderful that he asked and asked and asked all these questions.

other peoples view points and ideas are great!

well done on your bigassss-purchase - I love a good shop-up

even though we bought/buy in fits and spurts, i would have loved to go to baby bunting and do a bigassss shop myself - you know, one of those ones where you buy it all in one hit

well done on capsule - VERY safe - best place for baby is capsule..

MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 18:46
neislbug - you go girl on the roast chook with garlic...yumbo.

i had another cooking frenzy with making a lasagne and extra spaggi sauce for pastas which i froze...

DH LOVES having me home all day...he walks in and WHAM, a plate is on the table...i am a 50s housewife! yah!:wizard:

imisschampagne
29-03-2007, 21:18

ACE1 - love your wedding pics, you guys looked hot & your DD is just gorgeous, loved the cake too, we had our fur bub on our cake was so cute, will have to post a pic.
Kazza - love ur pics too I wish my wedding could have been more relaxed, it wasnt ultra formal but it all seemed so stressed. Love Cable Beach in Broome, just stunning!!!

Mum to twins, hope ur back is feeling better spine on spine sounds so painful OUCH!

Tingles, Hayley & Angelgirl hope u r all feeling better. Poor things!
Hayley, I have been so clumsy lately, centre of balance is right off, tripping over things at work bringing things crashing to the floor, so embarrasing, you can feel everyone looking at u:o
Tan - hope ur DD is feeling better also. Must be just so awful to see your little one feeling under the weather :gloomy:

Nieslbug - congrats on your Baby Girl, great to see another girl on the list, august seems to be a month for the boys!

OTM & Mandymoo congrats on your Baby Boys!!!!!!!!

Chicken - i had a sneezing fit the other night and same thing happened, i have already started on my PF exercises so i was a tad upset about it, DH just giggled, glad he finds it amusing:D

To all the other girls who had scans and r waiting for a surprise i applaud ur strength!! :yelclap: Glad to hear all is going well.

Everything good with me! went to the hospy on monday for my first appoint with hospy dr. OMG he was so young, it took me by surprise and very good looking. Italian Stallion i think. He checked mine and bubs heart, bubs was great, but he said i had a slight heart murmer, (i thought to myself, well is it any wonder, u are very attractive) apparently this is common in pg women, anyone heard of this? He also said to avoid sex as i have a low lying placenta, i frowned at him and said DH would never believe it, could i have it in writing he laughed and said just take it easy ok.

Anyhoo, bed is calling, sorry it's so long, u gals r hard to keep up with, wish i had the net at work!!

DueInAugust
29-03-2007, 21:20
It have been MIA for awhile.
I'll try not to miss anything.

Tara- Congratz on the dream wedding! Sounds like you couldn't have done anything better.

Over the moon- I love dads. Mine has been great and got a top of the range reversable car seat for us.

Congrats to everyone that has had great scans and to those who have found out the sex of there little bundles of joy.

Still waiting for my scan. Not long to go now.
Spent the day with my sister and her 3 month old today. I love being able to hold a real little bundle. I felt a few kicks in the side almost like my bub was saying no you have to wait for me!!!

Hello also welcome to our new addition. Even if you end up being a september mum!

Sorry its only a short one but I will try not to be MIA again so I can keep up.

M O P
29-03-2007, 21:39
i had another cooking frenzy with making a lasagne and extra spaggi sauce for pastas which i froze...

great idea Mam,
I did heaps of frozen dinners for Angus when I went away to have Hugh. I was away for a month. It was very lucky I did too as our pub shut the week I went away so Angus had no where to even buy his dinner.

chicken
30-03-2007, 08:00

but he said i had a slight heart murmer, apparently this is common in pg women, anyone heard of this?

No, I hadn't heard of this, but just over the past week or so I've noticed my heart sort of skipping a beat here and there, and it feels like I can feel it in my throat (I realise how strange that sounds!). I wonder if that is a heart murmur? Are you supposed to notice any symptoms? And is there anything you have to do?

Overthemoon - my Dad has gone absolutely ga-ga since I've been pregnant too. He's just so cute. They've offered to buy our Phil&Teds pram, and DH's parents are buying our Boori cot. How cool is that? I'm going for my super-massive baby shop this weekend - currently I'm up to over $4000 (how quickly it all adds up when you have to start from scratch). I can't wait!!

2princesses1prince
30-03-2007, 08:03
Hi everyone.

My back is still touchy. I phoned my antenatal clinic on Wednesday and they don't believe it is bub laying spine on spine, they think it could just be my hormones.

It's driving me insane. The other thing driving me mad is the fact that I don't know if I am 22 or 24 weeks due to my 19 week scan actually saying that for bubs size I am 21 weeks. So have to wait till i am back at the hospy to find out when this baby is actually due. I know 2 weeks isn't alot, but I am booking in for a c-section so need to know for sure.

I am hoping that they do change my dates, as it will mean I only have 15 weeks to go not 17.

Areca
30-03-2007, 08:07
Just a quick tip for those of you buying everything first go round..
we bought all of our big stuff from Babies Galore (we have a great store here, I know other areas they aren't so good) and we put it all on lay-by but they gave us a 10% discount and gave us a free under the cot drawer (we have Boori nursery furniture). I think our lay-by was about $3000 (my parents had already purchased the cot seperately but we told them they had done that cause they bought it from there).
It saved us a bundle and we still got to pay it off as if we were paying for one thing at a time!
Gotta go...swimming lessons this morning.

deb1234
30-03-2007, 09:30
morning everyone :wave:

how are you all up to $3-4K already?!!! we've bought a cot + mattress, change table + mat & pram for about $1000 all up. you must have expensive tastes!

re the heart murmur issue, in the last week or so i've noticed my heart beating faster at around 1pm in the afternoon each day, well i think it's beating faster but my DH doesn't think its fast, but i can FEEL it if you know what i mean...i thought i was just hot & didn't get enough water in me. it always goes away when i cool down. :detective:

mom2jake
30-03-2007, 09:38
Our hearts beat faster when preg due to the extra amount of blood that we're pumping around our bodies, I think up to 50% more...

Mine's been pretty fast from early on...

niesl_bug
30-03-2007, 10:54
Good Morning Lovely ladies :wave:

NIc - I cracked up when I read your email about the Italian Stallion! I have been having heart palpitations again which i haven't had in years. I have had all the tests done and there is nothing wrong with my heart, but the palps have returned with being pg. Will check with Ob next week.

You girls are so lucky to have supportive Dad's! Mine still hasn't called me to say congratulations on being pregnant :(

We bought a chaise lounge for the nursery last ngiht - that's all our big ticket items bought! Now I am hunting for hot pink accessories - have bought a lamp, looking for a rug and some cushions and a throw rug for the lounge now!

I am planning on cooking heaps of meals and freezing them before i go into hospital to make things easier when i am back home - lasagne, shepherds pie, pasta sauce, soups, etc ... always nice in winter!

All good here. Still shaking this cold but other than that loving life and our little daughter growing inside me :D

have a fabulous day xxx

Snugglepot
30-03-2007, 11:09

It is always so lovely to log on after a day and find so much to read about! I also planned to cook a lot before having DS, I did a bit, but make sure you do it early. When you hit 3 weeks to go you will be amazed at how tiring it is to stand up for longer periods. The same with shopping, you stop work and think Beauty....I am off shopping, but by the time you get into the shops you are tired again and have to go home!

I was so lucky with DS, we were given loads of things, cots, carseats, it left some money for curtains and stuff in his room. It is so easy to spend up, everything is so cute!

Have a great day, kez

AngelGirl
30-03-2007, 11:48
Whoa! I just got through reading about 3 or 4 days worth of posts (when I posted last time, I didnt have a chance to do many personals).

I've got a virus but 2 days of resting at home has done wonders (with the help of some panadol and strepsils!). I have been enjoying all the friends re-runs on foxtel and getting some good info from Birth Day and Bringing Home Baby!

Carmen - what stunning wedding photos, you look gorgeous!!

Tingles - ouch sounds like a nasty ulcer. Hope it clears up soon.

Ryleysmummy - hi and welcome!

Mandy - congrats on your little boy!

Mom2bee - I'd love to get the 4D scan done but DH reckons it's a bit of a rip off. I agree with him, but it would be great to have done!

Tara - How cute is your little princess?!!

Donna - I went to the doctor yesterday (not my normal GP) and asked him what I could take to reduce the symtoms of this virus. During the consultation he said "So you said you are 8 weeks pregnant is that right?" I replied "ummm no I'm 21 weeks". He couldn't believe how small I was!! Remember, we are all different and I'm sure you'll pop out in no time. Naughty for DH saying you're fat, that is certainly not the case. :hugs: You are creating a little person inside you, your body is doing amazing things!!

Kazza - lovely photos!!

Hayles - I'm glad you and bubs are ok after your fall.

Deb - I am just about to make myself lunch but don't have any pototoes in the cupboard. Think I might make a little trip to the supermarket, you had my mouth watering :laughing:.

Nic - you crack me up about your Italian Stallion doctor!! I have noticed my heart is beating faster too, if I've been exercising, I can hear my pulse in my left ear!

Tara - that's awful that your Dad has not congratulated you :hugs:. It sounds like you are not as close as you like to be? Did you have a falling out?

AngelGirl
30-03-2007, 11:54
oh I forgot....

Mel - Well done on all your purchases!! I think we'll do our big purchase trip next Saturday. We've done a bit of research and going for the following stuff:

Pram - either the Mountain Buggy Urban Elite or the Phil & Ted's Sport.

Car Seat - Safe'n'nSound Meridian but we'll hire the Safe'n'Sound Capsule for the first few months.

Furniture - We LOVE all the Boori stuff but it is quite expensive so hoping to get a bargain on Ebay!!

Haven't thought about any other purchases yet, I guess those three are the biggies. I keep looking all the cute clothes and nursery linen and kinda wish we knew what we were having so we could buy stuff that's gender specific! ah well, the wait will be worth it :D

Areca
30-03-2007, 12:05
Hey guys! Back again! Having a lazy day today (DH is going away for the weekend so I figure I deserve one lazy day!) and DD is having a good nap today.

As far as the Boori furniture goes....it is expensive but Dh and I figured that we'd use it for all our kids and the only thing that will go to waste eventually is the change table. We got the 3 in 1 cot so it goes from a cot, to a toddler bed, to a lounge, and then we got a chest of drawers and a bookshelf. They aren't babyish or anything so we'll use them for ages! Also, we have a nursery. It's not DD's room, it's the nursery so this time round we will decorate DD's room, and go a bit cheaper cause she'll outgrow it in a few years! We will get the Boori toy box for her room, only cause it has great safety features though! The fact that she can't jam her fingers or climb inside and suffocate if she closes the lid get the big :thumbsup: from me.
We have a Valco pram. We got it cause you can attach a toddler seat, the wheels all pull off easily (we had a Toyota Echo when we had DD so we needed to do that to get in the boot) and a three wheeler was a must for me!
We have a safe & sound platinum AHR car seat. I love it! It's rear facing up to 12kg so DD still gets to sit rear facing! She'll go into a maxi-rider II when she reaches 12kg (or when the baby is here, whatever happens first....they have fitting stations at the hospital so we can arrange the car seats once bub is born) and the new baby will go into the convertible.
So we spent up big, but we went quality to make sure they'd last us through 3 or 4 kids!

Tara, your wedding dress was stunning!!! I love that pic in your avatar! If I was going to wear white that was the kind of style I would've liked! you looked gorgeous too!

I'll be doing a huge cook off here! DD was born in November and I didn't worry too much (had a couple of meals in the freezer) cause it's a bit harder to freeze summer foods but for the 1st 6 weeks I couldn't cook. DD just wouldn't let me (she was a horror of a newborn!) and DH didn't used to get home until about 9pm. We ended up living off those heat and serve pasta's, it was all I could manage. Hoping to be a bit healthier this time so will be making stew's, lasagna's, soups etc!

Ok, well I've p*ssed some people off on the main board so time to go see if anyone else has something to say! :laughing:

M O P
30-03-2007, 13:09
Ok, well I've p*ssed some people off on the main board so time to go see if anyone else has something to say!

:laughing: Carmen what have you been up to? :shame:

Yes the Boori stuff is beautiful. Our nephew has a sleigh cot and a gorgeous bookcase/toy box.

We have a really old meat safe cot Angus did up for Hugh. It's all everyone on stations out here has had for the last 70 years :laughing: Our's has been through Angus' family- including his cousins who have kids his age. Angus' Dad's cousin lives on a property near us and they're loaning us their's that's about 60 years old.
For out here they are fantastic :thumbsup: lots of creepy crawlies!
Hugh's cot (http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n11/kazcrawf/sleeping001.jpg)

xpress2
30-03-2007, 14:06
Wow Kazza - That's an interesting cot.. Don't think I've seen anything like it before - Looks good though.. :thumbsup:

I've got the car seat sorted and thats about it lol We know which pram we are getting, just have to go and but it... I'm pretty set on which Cot and Change Table I want... But I won't get that for a little while yet....

Other than that, collecting pieces here, there, and everywhere... I've just pulled all my baby gear out - For the 100th time.. I'm soo excited :smiliedance: ... The fun part is putting it all away again!

Hope everyone is well, all is good here.... Now for a nice relaxing weekend :yes: ... Have to go with DP to the doctors this arfternoon - He has a huge boil on his leg - Ouch! :thumbsdown:

M O P
30-03-2007, 14:29
Wow Kazza - That's an interesting cot.. Don't think I've seen anything like it before - Looks good though..

Hugh's been sleeping through the night since he was 6 weeks old so it does a good job! :yes:

xpress2
30-03-2007, 14:32
Hugh's been sleeping through the night since he was 6 weeks old so it does a good job! :yes:

A good job indeed.... Fingers crossed this bubba will do the same... :)

niesl_bug
30-03-2007, 14:50
Tara - How cute is your little princess?!!

Tara - that's awful that your Dad has not congratulated you :hugs:. It sounds like you are not as close as you like to be? Did you have a falling out?

Thanks Angelgirl!
Long story with my family - lots of things have happened, very dysfunctional but it's ok ... i have dealt with it!

Carmen - I cannot imagine you p**sing anyone off :confused:

Kazza - I love Hugh's cot! We got the Childcare Modena - it's pretty contemporary, chocolate veneer ends a bit of white and stainless steel bars. All the other furniture is white. I'd kind of like the nursery theme to be like neopolitan ice cream (choc/white & hot pink!). We have got everything else from Ikea mainly. Our pram is Steelcraft bayamo (red) and we got a black Safe 'n' Sound car seat.

M O P
30-03-2007, 15:18
A good job indeed.... Fingers crossed this bubba will do the same... :)
:fingerscrossed: they all do!
Hugh's always been a good baby (senseless boasting from his mother!:laughing: )- hence we had the time and motivation to conceive another when he was 4 months old!

M O P
30-03-2007, 15:21
Tara your cot- well your baby girl's cot- sounds very nice!
We too have a black Safe & Sound car seat- convertible Royale I think is the model.
The new baby will go in to that and we'll get Hugh an upright one designed for 9 kilos on wards.

Areca
31-03-2007, 05:57
Tara I wanna see your nursery!

Kazza that cot looks awesome! Great bug protector!! and can you send me a baby that sleeps through form 6 weeks thanks! I lived on 4-5 hours of broken sleep a night until Emily was 12 1/2 months old (not to scare you first timers, your body adjusts). I want a sleepy baby this time! Thanks for your help last night too! I'll let you know my parcel arrives! :laughing:

I annoyed some people cause I admitted to parking in the parents with prams car parks when they are literally no other parks and I don't have Emily with me. Bad me! It's all good, the thread got completely off topic so they have forgotten how horrible and mean I am!

Just came online to tell you all the I have officially grown out of my pre-pg jeans. So sad! Goodybe jeans, see you in 6 months time! Good thing mum, Emily and I are having a shopping day today. More clothes for me!

Just came on quickly

M O P
31-03-2007, 06:53
I annoyed some people cause I admitted to parking in the parents with prams car parks when they are literally no other parks and I don't have Emily with me.

:shame: you terrible person you!
It's bad karma and as a pay back you had a baby who didn't sleep through :laughing: Seriously I wouldn't worry too much about lost sleep over that- so to speak.

And thank you for bringing the Peter Alexander catalogue to my attention :rolleyes: I'm now ordering new slippers! I did love the pj pants you ordered though.:thumbsup:

nikki78
31-03-2007, 09:28
had my 20 week u/s yesterday,and he said hes 99% sure its a girl, my partner wanted a boy but its our first so he doesnt really care, theres more babys to come.
So im pretty excited, so people i told yesteday said dont go buyin alot incase its not a girl..
I just said ok

NIKKI 28
JAY 29
BUBS DUE 21ST AUGUST

Tan-mumof3
31-03-2007, 09:58
Hi everyone.

You all sound so organised with all your baby gear.
I don't have to get too much this time, i had to get a new cot & change table cos i gave mine to my sil who lives along way from me. But i got given a cot & change table i just have to buy the matress.
I still have my car seat, my pram, my rocker and lots of clothes, bottles, accesories etc.
I have had to throw alot of clothes as they are all stained, but i think i have already replaced them all ( i can't help myself everything is so cute).

I don't even have a room for the baby yet. I have to wait til i move Tahlia into Jordans room, then i can start setting up the babys room.

What are you all up to this weekend?
I have my sisters baby shower which i have helped to organise so that should be really fun :smiliedance:.

2 more sleeps until my ultrasound i can't wait, still a little bit nerve wracking though.

Anyways must be off to start preparing some food for today. Hope you are all well and have a great weekend :).

ETA congratulations on your little girl Nikki.

M O P
31-03-2007, 10:24
Have fun at your sis' baby shower Tan- that does sound like fun.
I haven't worked out where our baby will go yet. We'll have 2 in cots so not sure if it'll work having them in the same room. Hugh is a great sleeper so I guess if the next one is too it'll be ok but if not we'll have to change one of the guest rooms around.

jamb
31-03-2007, 13:31
no time to read whats been going on as i have snuck upstairs to use the inlaws computer but just had to let you all know i am having a girl99% sure she said she clearly saw the labia lips lines!!!

very excited, be back when computer is fixed!

MammyMammy
31-03-2007, 19:51
Hi all...great to read 3 pages of posts!!!

Congrats jamb on girl!!!

Will write more tomorrow

xxx Deb

Tingles
31-03-2007, 20:37
Well, tonight I cleaned the shower, the bath, and all the basins - hmm nesting? It felt good! DH wanted to take over... 'shouldn't be breathing fumes':ecomcity: Well he can see it needs cleaning - he can just P/off, because if he was really concerned about the fumes he would have done it !!:mad:

Yes, I'm ****ty with him:rolleyes:

VENT: He was at work all day today because he's taking the next 10 days off - I have a photographer coming to our home to take pic's on Wednesday - the same day HE organised that I can entertain some friends with a BBQ lunch (I'm the one who will stress out about a clean house, putting on a nice meal etc) - Oh but that's the only good day (forecast wise) Yes and what about the plans we had with the children - puffing billy, animal farm etc... Am I being unreasonable?? BTW both myself and the friends wife are PG within weeks of each other - her DH didn't want to go to 'the lake' - I imagine he may have to do a little supervising of his kids if we did that... Anyway I made DH contact them saying that the day he suggested was unsuitable...

**sigh**

Congratulations... a couple more baby girls are joining us!!

MammyMammy
31-03-2007, 22:21
DH and I have just shared a small Big Mac meal !

I've never had one in my whole life....it was GOOOOOOD

Baby is now kicking and turning - he/she liked it!

M O P
01-04-2007, 08:37
Hope things are better today Tingles:hugs:

I'm the one who will stress out about a clean house, putting on a nice meal etc
I completely understand you here.
When we've people coming over I stress out and Angus says "such and such doesn't care if the house is messy" but I do!!

Great to hear from you Jamb- been missing you!

niesl_bug
01-04-2007, 09:00
Nikki & Jamb - congrats on your little girls ... GO PINK :smiliedance: I have already gone crazy buying girls clothes ... all the summer stuff is on sale and I couldn't help myself :o

Carmen - it's sad saying good bye to your jeans. I kissed all my sass 'n' bide ones before putting them away! Just want a hot pink throw rug and floor rug for the nursery, then I will take some pics !!

Tingles - how stupid our are DH's sometimes? Re: the cleaning, I found this amazing sponge (made by the people who make the magic markers) and you don't need any chemicals. Now I am normally a chemical freak and didn't think it would work, but it gets my shower and basins sparkling without choking me out with fumes :yes:
My DH does things like that all the time, inviting people over and then I have to shop, cook and make sure the house is spotless .... ARRGHHHH :mad:
I've realised he ain't gonna change and maybe I should take a leaf out of his book and relax a bit ... sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't!

MammyMammy - I must confess that I have had a couple of filet-o-fish burgers lately. I have not even been to McDonald's since I was a kid but have been really craving them and have to admit they've been delicious !!!

I am really looking forward to gorging on easter eggs next week ... anyone else ??? Have been eating hot x buns for about a month now though - I love them toasted with a bit of butter!!

xpress2
01-04-2007, 12:34
Hey Girls! :)

Hope everyone is well. I'm feeling pretty good today... About to grab some lunch... DP keeps letting me know that I am the one that is meant to be eating for two, not him :laughing:

We finally went out and bought most of the major items yesterday/today - We now officially have the cot, mattress, change table, change mat, car seat, baby bath and stand... Yay! :smiliedance: The only big things I have to get now is a pram and rocker and then I'm done... Oh, but there is all of the little things of course.... Yay! It's so exciting though...

niesl_bug - Your nursery sounds absolutely beautiful! Can't wait to see a pic....

jamb and nikki - Congratulations on your little girls...

For the girls yet to find out, Good Luck! Just 2 days to go for me - Woo Hoo... I can't wait... :D

MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 12:42
Ok Ok Ok All I ever do is talk about food but its not my fault...I just get the URGE to share my exciting meals..

This morning I sent DH out for FRESHHHHHH BREAD....so I took out two lovely soft cotton-wool-softy slices...

I got out my butter and an avocado, put half back in fridge...

and I toasted it up and slammed on butter quickly and then while its still hot I carved up some avocado (has to be fairly soft but not blackened) and spread it on fairly on every last millimetre of toast and then quickly I added grinded salt and pepper and started munching that big bad boy down!

Its got to be good for adding all that WONDERFUL GOOD FAT into my body - avocado is a superfood in terms of nutrition too...

it was soooo good i am thinking of hitting the kitchen again for same for lunch!

I slept really well last night - normally i am up at 4am for no reason (only in the last month) so I am happy!

I decided that I have been Soooo frugal with water lately that I have earned a bath ...havent had a bath since JANUARY (as I recycle every water we use - laundry, shower catchment, kitchen water, you name it, i reuse it on plants etc) and so I had a nice warm bath this morning and DH washed my back with J&J baby bedtimebath (the lavendar one) and I soaked in a moisturising bath for 1/2 hour then got our (DH helped me to get out - I am a belly shaped beast from now on, god he is good) and then I dried off, went in our room, put a towel on the floor and covered and lathered and smothered and massaged myself with Aromababy "stretched to the limit" body cream....I am talking everywhere ladies....even between the toes and my back and my b00bies and everywhere, because lately my skin has been unnusually DRY.

God my skin is thanking me for it....:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

So i am feeling like a pampered woman today!

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend!

MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 12:49
hayles it sounds like you really got a great start on the BIG items!

Some of us (me included!) need to back it off a bit on getting "everything"

I've decided to leave these things for people to chip in and get for baby shower:

* lots of toiletries for baby -its a given
* toys
* play mats/activity gyms etc
* singlets (I have 4 and thats it as all sorts of people will grab a singlet for baby shower)
* basinette mattress (will add to a list)
* maclaren rocker
* one of those things that clips on either side of baby capsule to keep baby occupied
* my little bed
* socks / booties

....otherwise people will have nothing to get us for the baby showers....as my DH keeps reminding me...

has anyone seen "my Little bed" in baby shops?

I want one for our bub....and how cool would it be if they did an adult size and you could whip it out at the shops or in the park or whenever you were feeling like a nice 1/2 hour sleep!!! kaboom, there is a bed! :wizard:

Areca
01-04-2007, 13:07
Oh it must've been the weekend for baths! I haven't had a relaxing bath (on my own, occassionally I jump in with DD but 5cm of water is no fun) since I was pg with DD. Cause DH is away for the weekend I soaked in the bath and put a star shaped bath bomb in the bath from Lush that my sis got me for xmas. It had little stars in it that are still in my bath but I soaked in my purple bath (the water) for a bit before going to bed. I did feel guilty about the amount of water I used though. I would've bucketed it and watered our garden with it but we live in a unit and I think I would've drowned our one and only plant, a bonsai! It's raining here today, and I figure that the day we got married had good rain too, it hasn't rained here on the 25th march for 10 years (we looked it up)! We're not even in drought here, but I still feel guilty!

Congrats Niki and Jamb on your baby girls!!!!

12 days to go until my scan!

Mammy mammy - Your last post about food got me drooling, this one not so much :p But fresh bread is the best!!! We live across the road from a bakers so we get fresh bread every day! No icky preservatives in it...yummy!!!

Kazza - Sorry about introducing you to the PA catalogue! I'm getting it delivered to our house now...very dangerous! But his slippers are divine! I love them! Very comfy!

What is it with McDonald's? I haven't had McDonald's in ages (except for their chips occassionally when I've been starving and nothing else is around) but I've been craving a quarter pounder! I haven't given in though!

I weighed myself this morning....now weigh 56.6kg so I've gained 3.5kg. I didn't weigh myself with Emily until I was 28 weeks and had gained 6.5kg. I'm guessing I'm gaining about the same, maybe a little quicker.

Well DD is complaining....must've finished her lunch! (she sleeps through lunch time so always gets it late)
Off to an indoor play centre with her this afternoon.

M O P
01-04-2007, 13:23
What is it with McDonald's? I haven't had McDonald's in ages (except for their chips occasionally when I've been starving and nothing else is around) but I've been craving a quarter pounder! I haven't given in though!

I hear you- I don't even like McDs and we wouldn't normally go there but both times I've been preg I've craved things from there.
I was laughing when I read Mammy & Tara say they had it too and don't normally.

MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 13:31
Has anyone had a change of heart about their own personal style since becoming pregnant (with number 1 especially) ???

I have to admit before there were "others" in my mind, I would buy a $3000 designer bag a couple of times a year, or, when I saw one that I couldnt live without, and in general my taste in clothes and shoes etc etc was at the highest end....and I have changed since becoming emotionally "a mum".... I have sold some bags on ebay and lots of things we didnt need/had never used etc, and I have stopped spoiling myself --- completely --- and buying clothes - hey I ranted and raved the other day on another thread about HOW GOOOOOOOD Kmart maternity clothes are....

The thing is this: I am NEVER AGAIN going to be alone...there will be a little one with me for the first 5 years at almost every hour of my day, and we'll be supporting our kids until they leave the nest in 20 odd years...wow thats a lifetime away... and there is of course a financial cost to that....so the other day when the BIG W catalogue came, I had a flick thru and saw this BEAUTIFUL Hooded vest that was in the catalogue and a nice wintery long cardigan and I sent my mum (who prefers the hunt of shopping to me....I just walk in and walk out with purchase in hand...this was fun for her - i set her a shopping task) to get these items

the cardigan is great, and I got a chocolate brown hooded vest (you know, like a puffer jacket without sleeves) and I'm telling each and everyone of you there is absolutely no difference in this $24.99 article than if i bought it from witchery for $149.99 !!!!

I am so happy with it - wish i could show you catalogue / picture!

I am becoming a cut-price mammy!:yelclap:

M O P
01-04-2007, 13:39
:laughing: Mammy, it's funny how your priorities change isn't it. I did actually buy a new dress the other week(I had nothing else to wear!) then I got back in the hang of things and lashed out on a new jacket as well. I hadn't bought anything for myself really for so long.
Big W is my preferred store for Hugh's clothes, he has lots of Bonds things.

I'm on another site right now though buying little girl baby things. I thought Hugh was a girl but I never bought anything pink. Again I think I'm having a girl but this time I'm confident enough to buy girl things, can always use them as pressies for other baby girls if I have a boy.

MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 14:03
We have a neice and nephew that are 5 and 6 months old so I havent worried if i saw something I "had to" have that was gender specific....I figure anything that is too gender specific for girl or boy to carry off, I will either keep for 2nd bub, or give away as presents / just give away.

We have two sets of friends with newbies due 2 and 4 weeks after ours -so they can have our leftovers when we visit them in hospy too, when they know what baby is - girl or boy

I am starting to have a strong feeling now that its a girl, but what is a feeling really!?

I have to find a pic of this jacket i got - its all quilted and its for a girl - so cute...if we have a girl she can come home from hospital in it!

We have all our singlets and wondersuits and general baby "bumaround" clothes in 000 and 0000 in white and neutral and turquioise....yah!

I'm trying to find a pic of it on i/net to show you!

No more big spends for myself though - i love my brown jacket - will be great for pram walks in winter

Areca
01-04-2007, 16:53
:laughing: Deb I've always been cheap when it comes to buying clothes! Valley Girl is my favourite store....their clothes fit me (I have nothing against K-Mart and Big W clothes, they just don't make them small enough for me) and who can go past a cute top for $13? I'm so cheap I won't buy a top over $40....and for me to spend $40 it has to be one damn hot top!
We have the same problem with DD....she's too small to fit a lot of the cute clothes from Big W and K-mart. They seem to get the length right but their clothes are wide! So she gets a couple of outfits from Pumpkin Patch and then she gets a lot of her clothes from Target, or the sprout brand at Myer fit her well too. I much prefer going shopping for DD!
Your priorities definitely change, in more ways than one! Clothes are just the beginning, trust me!

MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 18:24
Too true!

imisschampagne
01-04-2007, 20:55
Hi Gals, reading all ur posts about ur purchases has made me realise how unorganised and unprepared I am, all i have bought is some bonds singlets, dont get me wrong im so excited about becoming a mummy but money always seems so tight. Damn mortgage.
My dad bought us a stroller today, it's the steelcraft strider but they were out of stock of the red one so i just have to wait until it comes in:crying: DH's parents r buying us the safe n sound platinum convertible carseat later on. Havent decided on the other big things yet, im a meticulous planner. My MIL has already bought a gorgeous baby pink button-up hoodie with matching pants set and a cute bib and rattle set. I didnt think if we had a girl i would buy pink things but now i know it's a girl pink just looks so cute.

Kazza - love hugh's cot, great for keeping crawlies out.

Carmen - i know how sad it is with the jeans, i laybyed a pair of rock & republic jeans a few weeks ago, im getting them tom. but have a feeling they will be put away till next year without even one wear :crying:

Jamb and Nikki congrats on the BABY GIRLS!!!
Another couple for the august list!!

Mammy - i love ur food posts keep them coming i love avo on toast with heaps of salt n pepper but why cant u buy a ready to eat avo at the supermarket, everytime i crave them, i have to wait 4 days before they ripen:banghead:

Tan - :fingerscrossed: for the big day tomorrow, let us know asap

Catch u all tomorrow! Have a great day! xx

Tan-mumof3
02-04-2007, 09:01
Thanks nic :).
Just a quick one this morning to let you all know i have my scan at 10am (perth time). I will be back on later to tell you all about it.

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 10:48
Tan - thinking of you and can't wait to hear how your scan goes!

Carmen - your weight now is my starting weight! I'm only 62kgs now but you must be so tiny!

Deb - white bread, baths, body lotions ... good on you girl!
I have been craving weet-bix with hot milk poured over then drizzled with honey - even have it for dinner some nights. My body must be craving the dairy as I never have cereal or much milk!
I am with you on the spending too! I am (or was) a shoe and handbag freak! I have been searching for some smart jumpers for work for winter and they were quite expensive so I went to Big W and found a gorgeous black cowl neck one for $24 !!! Have been scouring eBay too! Bought some great tops from Cotton On (they are really long and go over my bump) and the picked up some great bargains from the outlet stores (Pumpkin Patch, Mother & Me, etc) and they were the same things I had seen in the stores! Everyone at work has said I'm the best dressed pregnant woman they've seen so it just proves you don't need to spend a fortune to look good :thumbsup:

Felt a couple of proper little kicks last night ... poor DH still can't feel them though :(

Have a great day gals !!!

mom2jake
02-04-2007, 11:18
Tan...Let your sis know the 15th of may is a great day to have a baby(it's my birthday)and I can't wait to hear all about your scan:smiliedance:

Tara...I've been craving milk too. I only ever have milk in coffee. But I'm loving glasses of cold milk.YUM:thumbsup:

Everybody sounds like you've put a good amount of weight on, I'm starting to worry, I've put on 13kgs already! I think I'm carrying alot of fluid (as my mum did when preg with me).

Tan-mumof3
02-04-2007, 11:59
Well im back.
Scan went great dates still match up and bubs is growing normally so all is good :yelclap:.
We didn't find out the sex but we think we may have seen a little pecker. Not 100% sure though as we didn't ask and have to wait til i get my photos back from gp to have a better look.

With regards to weight gain i have put on 6 kgs already, this time last pg i had only put on 2, but my gp told me i have a lot of fluid and my uterus is measuring about 3 weeks ahead.

I will tell my sister that, but i think she will go early at her baby shower we did bets and my bet was the 1st, so we will see.

anyway hope you are all well and have a great day, im sure ill be back on later though lol. :)

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 12:27
Oh Tan - I'm so glad your scan went well!!!

M O P
02-04-2007, 12:57
all i have bought is some bonds singlets,

Don't get too stressed about not buying much- I was amazed how much stuff people gave us. We were given a portacot, rockers, playmat/gym things, clothes, toys and more and more clothes- Hugh has sooo many clothes. Some were presents, some were his cousin's and some came from others who only used them a handful of times on their own children.

I have been craving weet-bix with hot milk poured over then drizzled with honey - even have it for dinner some nights.

Both pregs I've been craving Weetbix with hot milk or porridge. One night it was about 37 deg in our kitchen and Angus thought I'd lost it as I was making myself porridge for tea!

leishacaz
02-04-2007, 13:03

I had my u/s on Sat and we found out we're having another GIRL!!! We're so happy about it, but very surprised, I was convinced I was having a boy and I had everyone else convinced as well. It seems there's going to be a few little girls being born in August!

Mammymammy- I'm lovin those food posts. The way you describe it has me in stitches! Keep 'em comin!

Tan- great to hear your scan went well. Its such a relief isn't it?

Ace1- I wish I could say that was my starting weight, you must be so little!

Tara- can't wait to see the pic of your nursery! I'm excited about getting pink things for our nursery now that I know its a girl!

I finally felt a big kick on the outside last night, but only the once so my DH hasn't felt it yet. I can tell my tummy is getting bigger each week, I love it!

We decided to ask my DH's mum if she would like to be my other support person for the birth. I asked her today and she's over the moon. I was originally going to have a trainee doula but my DH wasn't to keen on that. I just know that I'll need a female support person as well as my DH so if my MIL didn't want to do it I would've had the doula. Does anyone else know who they're going to have present at the birth?

mom2jake
02-04-2007, 13:18
Does anyone else know who they're going to have present at the birth?

Just me and Df. It's our 1st, I couldn't imagine sharing this moment with anybody else.

Tan...Glad to hear that your scan went so well, I'm going to look over my ultrasound now to see if I can see anything:fingerscrossed:

M O P
02-04-2007, 13:25
Does anyone else know who they're going to have present at the birth?

Angus was pretty good last time so think I'll ask him back again :laughing: . It'll be just us. My Mum is going to come down to Adel-she's about 2 hours away- and look after Hugh. As he'll only be 13 months old it'd be too hard having him there (ie-I want my husband concentrating on helping me through not changing nappies!)

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 13:28
Congratulations on your little girl Velisha - GO PINK :smiliedance:

MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 13:39
I'm such a dipsh*t...I havent known how you can all reply individually without forgetting what to say and to whom....now i have opened 2nd browser so i can remember....i am so dumbo today.

Well I have my jacket potato for lunch today (I am a lady of leisure so I go to the kitchen and rustle up something, its easy but I can not imagine what it would be like if i was still at work - i remember when i was still working at about 14 weeks and i couldnt find something i wanted at work (at the cafes etc) and i was so sad, just couldnt find something i wanted that I was allowed to eat!

Potato is hot and buttery and cheesy...mmm mmm

Champagne - dont worry that you dont have much yet - I think buying stuff is all about being in right frame of mind - sometimes you'll just see stuff and go for it, other times you see nothing to buy. I wonder what my tightass MIL will buy...I am still waiting for her wedding present, she is such a hack.
With the avocado dilemma - you buy three at a time, of various ripeness, one for now, one for 5 days time, one for 2 weeks away (rock hard that one) and you'll be cool.

NeislBug - I am happy I am not working - I have NO IDEA what I could wear that would still look professional so I am glad I only have to buy casul, fun maternity gear (esp since lots of work/career pants in maternity shops are plasticy looking polyester (the devil fabric) pants. gross. I love the longer jumpers - good idea! Go Big W! Go! There was a lady at my work who totally 'dropped the ball" when she was pregnant - overalls and big shirts etc....I didnt want to be like that. Some of the latest fashion is in baby doll and lomg lengths though, so we are lucky the fashion at the moment is supporting our shapes, sometimes you can still get normal clothes that fit! cool.

This whole topic of weetbix has me in a frenzy - i will try it tonight as my DH has month end at work so i am only cooking for me (and bub) hehehe - weetbix and fullfat, here I come. I love MILK!

Mom2Bee - if thats you in the pic in avatar - dont worry about the 13kgs - you still look gorgeous hon!

What else is new?

MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 13:46
I just did a line....of cadbury dairy milk that is...

its so creamy - i liked it...

DueInAugust
02-04-2007, 14:06
I love all the food Ideas.
I had never had a potato done in the microwave before. But OMG I love it.

leishacaz- Congratz on your little girl!!!
I find out tomorrow if I will be joining the girls or boys to be. Can't wait!!!

MammyMammy- I feel you on tight *** relatives.

VENT-
My grandpa, Who by the way is kinda loaded, just bought us a second hand pram ( i'm not fussed about the second hand part) for $40 from an op shop.
He suggested a few weeks ago that I put toghether a list of what I wanted each family member to buy for bub. I gave him the list with my suggested brand and model but he just saw that I needed a pram.
I have a problem with this due to the fact that I told him why I wanted the one I suggested. The one he got is heavy, big and will not fit in our car ( 2 door next to no boot).

Is it rude to tell him I can use it?? I mean it will be ok for walkes around home but I can't take it anywhere!! Even to the shopping center.

I am happy with the rest though. My dad had got us the Safe n Sound Meridian!!! My mum has given us a budget and said get what you want.
So all good there.
We have not bought anything yet. But I'm sure we will have to soon.

Sorry about the long post. It has been a hormonal day.
Thanks for listening (reading).

Will let you all know how the scan goes tomorrow.

MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 14:17
Due IN August...

Switch off your reactors because what I am about to say might sound MEAN...

But WFT does your granddaddy think he is playing at?

It is wrong of him to do the following:

a) expect that you will want someones trash for your FIRST BORN, it would be different if it came from a relative you know, but not opshop for your baby

b) You specifically asked for pram X, therefore you obviously did your homework ( I think I remember because you were in the "maternity products/recommendations thread") and so why would another pram be "ok"

c) Grin and bear it. You should just politely say that the reasons you needed that pram was that it does this and that, and would he mind if you didnt have this pram

People sh*t me to tears when they are tightasses....my friends boss sent her a package the other day for her baby (that was born in november, what a slack ***) and when I opened her front door I said "open it" and she did and he (made of money, mind you, he is a broker) gave her a boys jumpsuit (she has a girl) and a shady-secondhand hat....WTF?

On the other hand some people are just 2-lovely! My SIL and I spent 2 hrs on phone earlier and she is so excited that she blurted out what she got us (just for now, not even for baby shower) - a play mat thingy....she is just a beautiful soul....:thumbsup:

I think you HIT GRANDPOPPY UP, Sistah! :mad:

Tan-mumof3
02-04-2007, 14:38
Thanks Tara, Kellie & Velisha.
Yes it is a great relief to see that everything is fine and in working order.
Congratulations Velisha on your little Girl.
Im going to have DH, my mum & my sister at the birth. The same as my other 2.
Due in august- i don't think it is rude to say that you can't use it you are only telling the truth. And goodluck for your scan tomorrow.
Kellie- the shot should look like a U shape with the legs on either side and then something in the middle (or not for a girl) :fingerscrossed:.

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 15:47
Deb - you crack me up with your potatoes :laughing:
When you make the weet-bix, don't pour the milk on first, heat the milk on its own in a little jug in the microwave and then pour it on your weet-bix - that way it doesn't go gluggy! then i drizzle with honey - YUM!!!
Re: clothes ... we are very lucky that a lot of the fashions cater for our bumps :thumbsup:
I am an idiot too and never thought to open another browser window ... I try and go by memory or write notes of who said what :o

Tightasses!! Don't get me started! We are still waiting on wedding presents from BOTH our parents (we got married in June).
My mum came over yesterday with my baby gift. A 2nd hand musical clown the the nursery. I hate clowns - they freak me out! Like everything else she buys me i put it in the cupboard and put it on display when she comes over ;)
I am giving my sister a list of what we need as she is organising my baby shower. then if anyone asks she can let them know. we are just leaving the small stuff for people to buy: beanies, socks, bibs, first aid kit, thermometer, etc ...

xpress2
02-04-2007, 15:53
Tan - Congrats on your scan - Glad to see all went well...

DueinAugust - My scan is tomorrow as well. I'm starting to become so excited.. It's not until 3:20pm though so I've got all day to wait, but it shall be worth it!

leishacaz- Congrats on your little girl....

I'm going to have DP and my mum present at the birth.. Hopefully they'll do a good job lol...

Anyway, just a short post. Hope everyone is well. Will be back tomorrow to fill you all in... :smiliedance:

xpress2
02-04-2007, 15:54
Does anyone else eat Weet-Bix the way I do or am I the only crazy :laughing:

I boil the kettle and pour hot water over them and then put a little milk on - Tastes soo good.. I feel like some right now!!

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 16:39
Does anyone else eat Weet-Bix the way I do or am I the only crazy :laughing:

I boil the kettle and pour hot water over them and then put a little milk on - Tastes soo good.. I feel like some right now!!

YOU CRAZY :eek: Gotta have mine with milk :yes:

OverTheMoon
02-04-2007, 17:13
Yep, crazy with the hot water weet bix thing. I've been craving weet bix too, but my scummy DH won't let me buy them 'cos of the cost. To be fair though, we only have enough money for bread and mild 'til pay day (that 20 wk obs appt hit us hard!) , so i guess he's safe - for this week anyway, once pay day hits, i'm getting my weet bix!

Glad to hear everyone is going well, congrats to all the pink ladies, and those who had scans and didn't find out (i envy your ability to wait!).

DueInAugust - yes, i think that is rude of gf.

My DH gets his scumminess from his mum (and dec. dad, but he's gone now so can't blame him), which is why i've told her nothing about what we need, want, have bought etc. Mind you, DH made a point of letting her know that my p's had paid deposit on big layby and were paying for the cot. And that my rich aunty and uncle were paying for the pram and my nanna was paying for the bassinette. I think he was guilting her, i'm so proud of him :laughing: . Sorry, i'm a devil woman!

SIL bought us the nursery co-ord cot set we wanted on Sat (very generous of her, she normally gives nothing to no-one!) BUT she told us we weren't to tell MIL she bought it. LOL.

All good here,feel pretty well apart from snotty nose. Had pleasant success with my other job today (whilst i was teaching, LOL), so am now closer to getting my car and on a high!!!! Yay!!!!!

Gotta run, dogs going off their nuts! Soz if i forgot personals for anyone.

MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 17:26
:) Dear Over the Moon - I cannot at all relate to your "no money until payday" situation, but I do very much sympathise . I dont know what that would be like.

It might be an idea to sit down now while you still have time to, and do a budget so that you can alleviate your money hurdles,

doing things like:

-planning what will be coming up and making sure its covered,
-evening out the fluctuation of bills so they are evenly divided into monthly commitments,
-level out your spending and other outflows so that even if you are scraping by, you are never left waiting for payday.

When the baby comes there will most likely be some financial strain, so you should try to work out some sort of plan now so that you can work out where you will be financially and what situation you want to be in, so that you can plan to achieve it.

I do hope this helps. There are financial businesses that specialise in rolling every outflow into one monthly payment, and take care of everything. They get paid incentives by the companies they do this for, and so wont therefore expect a fee directly from you - so its worth looking into in your situation.

You might even be able to squeeze some weet bix in !

mom2jake
02-04-2007, 17:45
Mom2Bee - if thats you in the pic in avatar - dont worry about the 13kgs - you still look gorgeous hon!

Thankyou...I'm not too worried, I'm pretty much just all belly, just a big one:yes: I put on most of the weight in the first 3months, due to dislocating my knee 4days after we conceived!!

Kellie- the shot should look like a U shape with the legs on either side and then something in the middle (or not for a girl) :fingerscrossed:.
I just checked my ultrasound pics and there doesn't seem to be a shot like that.Baby was on their back until they got to that area when the baby flipped over to be on all 4's

We've been extremely lucky with excited grandparents buying a lot of our things and thankfully the brands that we wanted...Dad brought us a mountain buggy urban elite, my sis brought us a cot, mum brought us a port-a-cot. We still have a little way to go, just started to turn junk room into nursey, my Df is such a hoarder:banghead:

niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 17:53
so i guess he's safe - for this week anyway, once pay day hits, i'm getting my weet bix!

Mel - you can come to my place and eat all the weet-bix you like hun :yes:

MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 19:28
i want to go out now and buy weetbix

mom2jake
02-04-2007, 19:35
I haven't had weetbix for ages, but all this talk, I'm buying some tomorrow...YUM:yes:

Areca
02-04-2007, 19:37
How gross....I'm losing my pinky nail. Well I've lost it, it's just stuck in one corner. Stupid false nails, never again I tell you, never again! It hurt like all h*ll when I did it too and it's been 5 days and still hurts, not to mention looks gross! how long does a nail take to grow back? I'm going to go invest in shares with J&J cause I think I'll wear a bandaid over it until it does grow back. How disgusting!

Weetbix - When I have weetbix I have 3 and then have soymilk on it, warm it in the microwave (I like it gluggy) and then mix in a teapsoon of sugar. That'll be my brekky once the weather cools down. I'm sure some of you are screwing your face up at the soy milk part and trust me, I used to too! The joys of bf'ing a child who has allergies. Milk/nuts/eggs/barley and maybe fish. I had to forgo them all when we found out she was allergic (didn't find out until she was 10 months...so 4 months of super strict diet). I've stuck to soy milk though...if this baby gets eczema (DD's sign of having allergy's) then I'm back on the same diet straight away. At least I'll lose any baby weight quickly right? You can't eat much when you cut all those things out!

More baby girls in the August group!!! I need to check out the poll, see what gender is winning. I might be able to even it up a bit!
Mom2bee - you so don't look like you've put on 13kg!

I understand the whole tight a** thing. My MIL got us a Jolly Jumper For Emily when she was born. Well actually, when she was about 4 months old we asked for the money for it so we could go buy it. She came to the hopital for a whole 15 minutes and empty handed, not even a baby singlet. Not holding my breath for anything this time. She didn't get us an engagement pressie either. She's not my favourite person! As far as the pram goes, I'd rather the person tell me that they couldn't afford what I wanted and then tell me their budget so I could tell them something else. I was very adament in what I wanted with DD and wouldn't have accepted anything less.

We haven't even bought a singlet for this baby yet! Once we know the sex we're going on a shopping spree!

Ok, my finger has had enough airing time. Time to go put a bandaid on it again and get stuck in to the things I need to do before going to bed.

Night all!

xpress2
02-04-2007, 19:38
I often eat weet-bix - Usually at lunch or dinner time though... And yep, with my hot water.... Mmm yum! I do add milk though... But still... :laughing: Crazy is me!

xpress2
02-04-2007, 19:40
I often eat Weet-Bix, at various times during the day though. Not necessairly for breakfast.. But I have to have them with hot water, then a little cold milk.. Yum! It might be crazy, but thats me :laughing:

Areca
02-04-2007, 19:50
I lied!
I forgot to tell you my very exciting news! I got mail the other day from Hunter Health and it was a letter telling me I had my midwife of choice for this baby too!
I was soooo excited! For me, giving birth is a very empowering experience. I'd do it 100 times over if it meant not having 100 babies. It hurts yes, but I'm so grateful to be a woman to get to have the experience. Anyway, I gave birth to Emily in a birth centre, but in a hospital, not a free standing birth centre. I had the best midwife for my care last time. It was just DH and I in the room and her and she was incredible! DH was a great support person but when I was leaning over the bath projectile vomiting into a milkshake container she was the one that kept me calm....years of experience I guess. She also never gave me an internal until I asked to push cause she didn't want to interrupt me, she came to visit me twice in the 2 days I stayed in hospital, one of those days she wasn't even working.
She is just a fantastic midwife for me and my needs while I'm giving birth. When I found out I was pg I rang her work mobile and told her I was coming back! lol She knew I was pg before my parents did!
Because it is a hospital and the birth centre is only small, and being a completely free service, I always worried that I might get a different midwife this time. Well, nope, I'm under her care!!!! YAH!
She rang today to make an app with her but I was at the gym so she's going to call later. I can't wait to see her again! I just know my birth experience is going to be as awesome as last time now!!! She might not be so keen to see me though, by the end of it she'd given up on gloves cause when I pushed out my waters they broke all over her...poor lady was drenched in my amniotic fluid, after cleaning up my vomit....and then getting to pick up my poo too. Nice job hey? lol Maybe I can gain some dignity back before doing that all over again!

Sorry, had to share. It's very exciting news to me!

So I guess that answers the question.....in the delivery room there will be me, DH and my midwife. That's it! Well, except for a video camera but we're just going to get a tripod. I was so exhausted after pushing Emily out (it took me over 2 hours) that I didn't see the cord get cut, or see what she looked like when she very first come out etc. so I want this birth on video, just for me (and our kids when they become sexually active to scare them into being extremely careful!!! lol)

Ok now I'm going!

imisschampagne
02-04-2007, 20:35
Kazza & Mammy- tnx, that makes me feel better, i think ur right on being in the right frame of mind, sometimes i like to plan what im going to buy, instead of buying on impulse, i just havent seen anything i really really like yet, havent really had time either. Dont like shopping without DH cause we have so much fun, and i dont want him to miss out cause he loves being a part of it all. God it feels like forever since we had a day off together:(

Tan - great news on ur scan, it's such a huge relief when u hear those reassuring words that everything is going well.

Tara - congrats on your kicks, feels amazing hey...i love seeing my belly being kicked from the inside, it is so weird but i just love it, poor DH hasnt seen it yet, everytime i say 'quick look at my belly', she stops:D On the weet-bix, i have been having 4 every morning but with really cold milk and raw sugar, it's still really muggy in brisbane, but im gonna try the hot milk & honey when it gets cooler sounds YUM!

Leishcaz - congrats on ur little girl, PINK is taking over!!! On the birth support, i only want DH with me, my mum would drive me mad, and my MIL would be saying nooo Nic dont have an epidural, she has already said she is going to be out in the halls yelling for me not to have an epi:confused: I hope she is joking!!

Due in aug - i just wouldnt use the pram ur GF got u, would he notice? If he did, thats when u could tell him why ur not using it, that will teach him for not going by the list. My dad picked up a porta cot from vinnies for $30 it looks nearly brand new, but im not sure if we will use it, maybe just for camping or something, i very nicely told him thanks for thinking of us but pls dont buy anymore second hand stuff for us, i just want new stuff for our first, i dont think it's to much to ask, not that im asking him to buy anything, he has already bought us the stroller we wanted thats enough for me!!
Good luck with ur scan tomorrow :fingerscrossed: U too hayley, cant wait to hear the news!!

Carmen - congrats on getting ur midwife, she sounds awesome, im gonna go for the birth centre at the Royal Bris next time.

Sorry for the long one gals!

OverTheMoon
03-04-2007, 10:03
It certainly does seem that it's go pink at the mo'! Congrats girls.

I think i felt my first kick last night at a meeting! It was awesome. My manager (who is due 2 days before me!) and i had just been talking about me not feeling much and it was like he was listening and responding!

Has anyone ever been to an Aust B/feeding ***'n class for preg women? I had it suggested to me the other day, and have just been wondering about it since. Have checked their website, and seems like good info, but thought i would ask here.

Mammy - thanks for your advice, but our money troubles are not due to us being poor money managers, they have come from the high cost of emergency surgery through my specialist on a public holiday, and the ongoing costs of IVF (which do not stop when you get pregnant, with hundreds of dollars a week going on drugs until week 16 for me), and me being bed-bound for my first trimester, unable to earn money from my second job (which i will now be able to continue earning money from when bubs is born). I am now building my business back up to make manager and we will be on the up again soon. I didn't mention the money thing in my previous post to gain sympathy, everyone has their own issues to deal with.

MammyMammy
03-04-2007, 10:19
Hi Over The Moon....Hope I didnt offend....I was only trying to make some suggestions for getting through the hurdles that life can throw at us (and so you can have your weetbix and eat it too!) The IVF sure sounds expensive! Hope you are on the Up n Up soon xxx :thumbsup:

On the topic of weetbix i had mine last night - i was just pulling out of the driveway when DH pulled up in a cab from work (at half 9) and so we went to coles together....got me some weetbix, some fresh bananas and cooked em up and added golden syrup at the end....yumbo. Cold naaa naaa and hot weetybix = perfect....yumbojumbo

I was supposed to be going to the ABA feeding class on saturday but we got held up (not by a robber, by being at my mums!) and didnt make it and i didnt want to go late....I'll let you know when we've done it though - hopefully we can book into another class...I felt so bad doing a no-show

This morning I have quilted a blanket for my baby, ok so it pink camo...its so funky....and if we have a boy....well... i think i will do one of both, just for fun. The quilt is all done....I am amazed how quickly i did it once i was in the swing of it.

Now I am on to making the baby sling....its so rewarding. (You know, like a hippee version of the baby bjorn)

How are we all today?

niesl_bug
03-04-2007, 11:28
Hi Ladies :wave:

I feel like I have started a weet-bix phenomenom :laughing:

Carmen - I am so thrilled for you that you are getting the midwife you want!

DH felt bub's first kicks last night! We could even see them - he was absolutely stoked!

Wow Deb - you sound very talented with your blanket making ... I can barely sew a button on :o

OTM - I haven't even thought about b/f yet. I thought this would be something that we tackled at ant-natal classes?

Had an awesome workout at the gym last night, feeling fabulous and loving my life right now!

I hope everyone is doing well - have a great day gals xxx

DueInAugust
03-04-2007, 15:47
Hey everyone
Sorry I have not been able to catch up on the last few days of posts just yet.
I have been sick for a few days.

But I had my US today and all healthy.
Were having a boy.

I'll try to catch up on the last few days when I can stay awake for more than an hour.

Hope everyone else is well.

Snugglepot
03-04-2007, 15:51
Congratulation on your BOY DueinAugust! Little boys are gorgeous, but I am biased!

2Cherubs, Congratulations on you 3rd GIRL[/COLOR]How lovely to have 3 girls together, they will be special and lucky sisters!

niesl_bug
03-04-2007, 16:41
DueinAugust - CONGRATULATIONS on your little BOY :yelclap: Sorry to hear you're not well - hope you're feeling better soon.

2Cherubs - CONGRATULATIONS on your little GIRL :smiliedance: I am one of 3 girls and we are all so close - to each other as well as our Mum ... I wouldn't want it any other way!

MammyMammy
03-04-2007, 16:51
Wow DueInAugust Thats fab news.

I know you were thinking you were having a girl, what a surprise. thats lovely! A little BOY!!!! I hope you are both thrilled to bits - its wonderful!

I hope you are feeling better again soon - make sure you keep up the vitamins!

Am I the only one left that doesnt know gender!!??
:yes:

imisschampagne
03-04-2007, 19:41
So im in best & less today, cause i heard they have bonds singlets for bubs and for mums, so i grab a couple of 000 & 0000's for bub (not sure what size a newborn is?) and grab about half a dozen for myself, they have a RRP on them for $6.14, but when i go through the checkout they scan for $6.59, so i tell the young girl, and she said 'no thats right, $6.59' so i say well how can u have a recommended retail price and then charge me more, that seems a bit silly, she mumbles something about it only being $3 and then reduces the price. Sheesh i know it's only $3 but $3 is $3, Thats $3 towards the new Cosmo pregnancy mag that has just come out:D Sorry for the winge, i feel better now:laughing:

Due in August - Congrats on your BOY!!!and like i said in the other thread, it will all be great...you will see!!!

Tan-mumof3
03-04-2007, 21:09
Due in august- Congratulations on your little boy.
2 cherubs- i think i said it in the other thread but congratulations on your little girl.
I miss champagne- i would have said something too, the customer is always right and they have to give it to you for the lower price. $3 is better off in your pocket than theirs :).

Deb- i don't the gender of this bubba either, we think we may have seen a little pecker but not sure as we didn't ask.

ETsMum
03-04-2007, 21:47
Hi Everyone, :wave:

Now don't get excited. I'm not new... I've just had a name change (formerly Len - remember me?). Yes - I'm lazy and copied this post from the July thread.

I haven't been MIA, I've still been reading all the posts every day, just taking a break from posting. I didn't want to jinx myself. I've had a bit of a stressful time lately. Amongst other issues, I have been bleeding for over 3 weeks now. Not heavy, just enough to stress me out and annoy me and make me front up to the hospy twice. So far this pregnancy I have had 5 scans and I'm only just past half way!!! Luckily I LUUUUURVE scans! Anyway, it looks like bub is all ok :fingerscrossed:. It is just me with problems.

Also - I am pretty impressed that I've had the will power not to find out the sex of this bubba - even with all those scans. I thought I might have caved by now... but, I'll tell you - if I have a third kid, I won't be torturing myself like this again. This will be our only "surprise". (If I can continue to hold out, that is... hahaha! I reckon I've got at LEAST 3 more scans to come.)

Anyway - I just wanted to say hi to you all. I can relate to so much of what you've been posting about lately - loving the food chats, but at they same time, they are oh so cruel!! hahahaha!!!!

niesl_bug
04-04-2007, 09:08
Len! Great to hear from you hun! Sorry you've been having a tough time, but so glad to hear that bub's is ok :thumbsup:

Nic - I'm pretty sure shops have to sell you the item at the price they have it advertised for. I was very excited to see the new Cosmo Preg in the newsagent yesterday and already bought mine!

Does everyone know about the new August thread?
Should (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=80803) we start a new August 07 thread ??

Shall we ask the forum moderators to close this thread?

Snugglepot
04-04-2007, 09:50
Yes, lets close it, but should we start a new thread called #6 to make it easier on those that pop in every so often? Are you happy to do that Tara?

niesl_bug
04-04-2007, 11:30
Kez - the new thread has already been started! I found it by accident yesterday ... thougt it had been very quiet :confused:

M O P
04-04-2007, 11:51
Tara did you put in a request to close this thread?
If not I'll go do it now.

M O P
04-04-2007, 12:03
Just put in a request for some closure
so everyone head over here (and read my exciting news! LOL)
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1298625#post1298625