View Full Version : Townsville Mummies!
Am looking to chat to any young mums from around the townsville region, to find out what sort of activities there are for the littlies here?
Hi, I am also in Townsville. I have a 13 mth old daughter. I've found most things are for real littlies or 2 & up yr olds.
Hello Neasa
How young does the mum have to be (I'm 30 which I think is definitely still young!) and how little is the littlie (mine is only 10 weeks).
New to Townsville myself so not really sure what is out there but going to try and go to a mother-baby postnatal yoga class next week if I can make it out of the house by 9am........
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
25-03-2007, 16:32
I have a 16 month little girl and we moved to Townsville August 2006.
Her fav things to do here are :-
*Freckles fun factory in Kirwan
*Water Park at the Strand
*Maze Mania for Kids - across from CastleTown
*Gymbaroo at Aitkenvale
Hope this gives you a few Ideas :wave:
Hi, my hubby is in the RAAF and I've found it really hard to make new friends in Townsville. If anyone is interested in forming a mothers group or playgroup I'd love to hear from you. I am available Wednesdays - Fridays.
Hi Olismum
We are a defence family too so I know what some of the challenges are. Usually when we've moved I've still had work as a way to meet people but now I'm a SAHM it's a bit different.
My bub's not really in the same age group as yours but hopefully some other Townsville mums with toddlers will reply to this post and be interested in starting up a playgroup with you. Good luck!
Hi Cathy, This is our first posting where I am a SAHM. I've always worked too so this is a whole new thing for me. I found the defence playgroups very unwelcoming in that no one really wanted new people there and only wanted to chat with their little circle of friends and not outsiders. I hope you've found people a little more friendly.
hi ladies.
we used to live in townsville. (pre baby though). And we will be moving back in June so i would love to meet up with you ladies after we get up there. my son is 16mths, so will be about 18-19mths by the time we get up there, I can't wait to take him to the strand, and alligator creek, and all the places we used to go.
There is a pretty cool park on love lane, but its more for older kids though. And there is one in aitkenvale... can't think of the name of the park or the street its on, its on ross river and has a crazy looking frog.(riverside park?)
have you checked out the council website to see if there is anything on there for things to do with littlies?
Hi, there are some really great new parks around, though at the moment Magpies are a bit of a problem. I've started taking my daughter to a few of the different playgrounds even though she is still a little young for most things and taking her to the pool on base. I've found the one at the strand and the water park to be good and also the Aitkenvale one near the dog park. This weekend we hope to check out the new Riverway waterpark and centre. We post out in July so I think I'll give up trying to make friends now as it's only another few months and I'll be in the same predicament again, lol.
Hi Im Naomi I have been in townsville coming on 2 yrs my partner wks in the mines and I only know a couple of ladies but would like to met other mums with kids closer in age to my 2.I have a lil girl Jenna 22mth and lil boy Corey 4 mthshope to here from someone?
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
25-04-2007, 13:51
Hi ladies I moved here in August 2006 and my DH is also in the RAAF and currently away...would love to catch up for coffee with any one who wants to..My DD Eloise is 17 months and loves to play with other kids..I am also a stay at home mum...I try not to do the RAAF coffee group and play groups cause I find them really clicky but would love to meet you girls:wave:
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
25-04-2007, 13:53
Feel free to message me any time:ecomcity:
Hey Kristi H, My DS is also 17mths (im in the nov 05 thread too), we aren't there yet but we are moving up in 2 months (aarrghh its so close!), I'd love to catch up when we get up there! Then DS can have another friend the same age as him to replace the one we are leaving behind!
Can anyone recommend a good child care center? I called the Mike Reynolds one at Nth Ward the other day and was told we would be on the waiting list until NEXT YEAR! We kinda need something a lot sooner then that!
Cant wait to get up there again, I have missed it.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
27-04-2007, 06:15
Hi Neeky that sounds great...cant wait to see you up here:smiliedance: ..Eloise loves playing with other children but apart from the kids at gymbaroo we dont know any one with children in her age group !!! Where are you moving from? Do you know where in Townsville you might be living..I am at Kirwan.
I only work 1-2 nights a week so I don'y use day care but I have heard from my nieghbours that Coral Sea at Bamford lane is really good and also a place called BusyKidz on Ross River Rd.
P.s the wheather is amazing up here at the moment.
hi Kristi, we are moving from brisbane. I'm not sure where we will be living, at first we will be at aitkenvale until we can get a rental, our price range we are looking at probably condon/kelso, maybe kirwan (i prefer kirwan) or aitkenvale/douglas, or wulguru. We don't really mind where, anywhere but deeragun! Ideally north ward would be good since i will be working there but then we would have to get a tiny unit and i don't want to do that, i want a yard for aiden!
Do you know what the phone number is for Coral sea? It hasn't come up in any of my searches for centres.
I'm starting to get nervous about moving now, its going to be a huge change for aiden!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
01-05-2007, 13:44
Hi neeky- I am pretty shore Coral Sea is an ABC learning center on Bamford lane..my niece and nephew go there, when I speak to their mum tonight I will get the deatils for you.
It would be great if you did get a place in Kirwan, you'd be nice and close for play dates...not that any where in Townsville is really that far away.
I am shore adian will be fine...I was worried about Eloise when we moved but she loves it up here.
I am getting excited for you:smiliedance:
Hi, we are RAAF too. My daughter attends the Defence ABC centre at Riverside Gardens. We've found it to be really great. We were supposed to be posting out in July to Adelaide but are now staying until December.
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
04-05-2007, 12:11
Hi Olismum...one of my really good friends got posted to Adelaid at the start of the year so if you need any numbers for day care or anything she will be glad to help you out..both her and her hubby are in the RAAF and she is has 3 kids DS 3 1/2 DD 17 months and is PG with #3 at the moment and due in NOV 07 and she is desperate to make some new friends down there !!!
Glad to hear you will be here till the end of the year...if you ever want to have coffee and let the kids have a play just let me know... When Neeky get here we should all try to catch up !!
youngmumof1
04-05-2007, 13:57
Hey ya my names jemma, my partner and i moved up here in dec 2006. we have a son who not long ago turned 1, i am interested in meeting some mums up here as i only no a couple an yeah would be great to meet some more, to get out that little more often. If you are interested let me no....
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
04-05-2007, 14:33
Sound great youngmumof1...let try and see if the three of us can catch up really soon!!!
youngmumof1
04-05-2007, 14:56
hey ya that would be excerllent..... im very quiet and shy though to start with though........ but yeah that would great anytime would suit me....
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
05-05-2007, 19:56
I am a bit shy myself but once I get to know you I will probably never shut up!!!:laughing: ...My brother is coming to stay with me for a week as of tomorrow then I am going to brisbane for a week but when I get back i will message you...maybe we can take the kids to Freckles here in Kirwan my DD loves it there and we can have a coffee if you like...I am really nice and not scary at all :D ....I really look forward to catching up with you !!
Only 6 weeks until DP heads up there! (probably 8 weeks for me!)
Time is going way too quickly! I really have to get my act together and call these child care centres! It's just frustrating because I don't know where we are going to be living!
But at least I know where I will be working so thats a start!
Can't wait to meet you ladies!
I see your coming down my way Kristi! maybe we will walk right past each other and not even know lol!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
08-05-2007, 19:36
How exciting Neeky..cant wait to meet you !!! Time will fly now and you will be here before we know it !!! The weather is fantastic...had some rain today and its lovely and cool.
I will be the lady pushing Eloise in the pram if you see me say Hi:laughing:
youngmumof1
09-05-2007, 13:59
hey ya, yeh that sounds great, where bouts is freckles?????? We r in kirwen too..... cool cant wait to meet u...... chat soon.....
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
09-05-2007, 14:46
Hi YoungMum... Freckles is next to Indoor Netball and Gymnastic place just behind BBQ Galore across from Willows shopping Center...So glad you want to come, will message you as soon as i get back from brisbane !!!
youngmumof1
09-05-2007, 15:44
hey ya, cool that would be great!!!!!!! cant wait talk soon..................
becNjack
23-05-2007, 18:42
I've just registered on the forum today.
My name is Rebecca and I have 3 year old Jack. We live in Townsville (Kelso). I am a SAHM - mainly - I do work casually on the weekends though:thumbsdown:
Jack and I have been checking out some cheap and fun things to do lately. We have found some great parks and done fun stuff - bowling today. We do go to a really good playgroup, but it is only once a fortnight - if anyone wants details please PM me - but in between we are finding it hard to find fun stuff to do. And Jack is desperate to play with other kids:smiliedance:
Look forward to chatting,
Rebecca
youngmumof1
01-06-2007, 09:51
hey becNjacK welcome on Bubhub..... will pm u....
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
01-06-2007, 11:00
Hi Girls..well I am back from my trip to Brisbane !!!
Been so busy this last week since we have been home:eek: ..LOL..
How are we all ???
I thought if you like we could all meet up for coffee and let the kids have a play at Freckles Fun Factory or Mad Maze for Kidz..just let me know which one you would like to go try out !!!
I was thinking we could make it Wednesday 13 th June which is a week and half away at about 10 if that's ok with you all...
Just PM if your interested and we can sort out the exact detail once we know who want to come...
Alright have a great day..chat to you all soon xoxox
youngmumof1
01-06-2007, 11:41
hey ya, welcome bac!!!!!!!!!! Yeah sounds good to me...... Count me in..... will pm u next day or so... gtg getting ethan ready to go to park, his not happy atm...... chat soon......
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
01-06-2007, 12:47
great..have fun:smiliedance: ...:D
forosoco
27-06-2007, 06:40
this is my first ever post to a forum! i've only just found out that my husband is being posted to townsville in january - our first baby is due in december and i'm extremely aprehensive to say the least! i've lived in sydney my whole life and don't know anybody in townsville. hoping to meet some people here who could help make me feel less scared about the whole thing!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
27-06-2007, 07:31
Forosoco...Your gonna love it up hear trust me :hugs: ..My DH is in the Airforce what your do ??? I would deffinately love to chat to you and meet up with you when you get here..no need to be scared Townsville is a great place !!! We got posted here at the end of last year and are loving it !!!
I look forward to chatting to you more xoxox
Susan Mac
27-06-2007, 14:26
Yay! Forosoco I'd love to meet you too! I'm a bit of a local. Let us know when you get here.
youngmumof1
02-07-2007, 16:34
Hey ya ladies,How u all going??? Hope u all had a good weekend...Was wondering if ya all wanted to have a get together on the 21 st of this months its a Sat???If so that would be kool but if not thats fine theres always another time....Have any of u got any ideas of where to meet up cause the only places i really know of are Freckles and the parks thats bout it.... Any ideas would be great....Chat to u all soon and look forward to meeting u all eventually to hopefully....Take care and talk to u all soonJemma
Hi ladies im finally here! YAY! It felt so good when we finally got off the plane it was like all this stress just melted away! :laughing:
I will be willing to meet up sometime in a couple weeks once i get a bit more settled!
hope to talk to you soon!
Hi All i we live in townsville and have done so for ages but am looking at expanding my group of friends would love to meet up at some stage and ahve a playdate. my DS Brodie is 12mth on the 23rd (cant wait) i work full time now (have only just gone back been offered a wonderful job at an employment company, so those who are looking for new line of work or wanting ot get back into let me know!! )
But happy to organise something on the weekends Love to hear from you all! Shannah N Brodie XoX
Harrys Mum
17-07-2007, 10:42
My hubby has just accepted a job at Cannington starting Aug 20. Have never been to Townsville so I was so glad to find this thread. I have a four y/o girl Caitlin and a 15 m/o boy Harrison.
I am a little worried about the move taking Caitlin away from her extended family and so on.
I would love to hear more about the area, also does anyone know about the schools in the area? Caitlin starts prep next year and we had a place for her just 5 mins away here but will now have to start again:confused: .
njbrandi
31-07-2007, 12:10
Hi Naomi
We moved to Townsville 18 months ago, our daughter turned 2 in June and we're expecting a little boy in about 4 weeks time!
Starting maternity leave in 3 weeks, and very keen to meet more local mums for chat / todder & bub playdates / adult company to stay sane :) Email me if you'd like to get together in the next few weeks (are Fridays any good?) to see if our little girls want to be mates!
Nicky
Susan Mac
31-07-2007, 14:05
Harry's mum - where abouts are you going to be living? Are you interested in public or private schools?
Im originally from Sydney, moved up here 2.5 years ago.... recently had a bubba... Tyler is now 6 weeks old... currently a SAHM.. and hating it!.. i love my bubba to death... but my partner works full time and im at home all day alone...
I dont know many people here.. actually no females... my best friend just moved to melb :(...
mattymum
22-08-2007, 11:48
Hi everyone wanting to meet other mums will be moving back to townsville soon from ingham with 7 week old son..... hope to hear from you all soon :)
njbrandi
23-08-2007, 10:45
Hi mattymum!
I'm fairly new to bubhub but there seem to be a few of us Townsville Mums on here, I am hoping to make some new friends to keep me sane during maternity leave.
I have a daughter (2 in June) & bub #2 is due to arrive on Monday !!!
I'm hoping we can have a bubhub meet up sometime soon, I know from first time round that getting out of the house and spending time with other mums is a real lifesaver for staying sane and sharing information especially during those tough, sleep-deprived first few months!
Nicky
DD - Helen (2 1/4)
& bump!
Susan Mac
23-08-2007, 11:27
okay, i'm keen to organise something.
Are people looking for a regular sort of meeting thing, and are there any preferences of days or times.
I'm thinking maybe a thursday.
susan
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
23-08-2007, 11:37
Oh this sounds great count me in !!! Regular meet ups would be great !!!
Tell me where and when and I will be there...oh and I will bring DD to :laughing: !!! She is 21 months old !!!
youngmumof1
23-08-2007, 18:27
Hey ya ladies,
Sorry i haven't been on for a while the computer died!!! But we got a new one YAY!!!
Hope u r all well and will talk to u all soon..
Count me in also for meet up's i would love regular ones as DH works away and i get very bored!!!!
Anyways talk to u all soon...
Oh yeah DS 16 and a half months....
Jemma...
Maggie&Lewis
24-08-2007, 12:48
hi, i'm pretty new at this too. i'm a sahm at the moment with a 2yo son and a 4 month old daughter. i'm from tsv and would be keen to meet up too.
Susan Mac
25-08-2007, 10:50
okay, I've got a plan.
pm me for details.
HI! We moved to Townsville about 6 weeks ago (Army posting) and I'm hoping to meet new people and find some activities for my kids-like dancing, kindy gym etc.
I'm a SAHM with 5 kids, aged between 8 & 7months.
Any advice and info would be great!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
27-08-2007, 14:10
Hi Mama05..
My DH is Raaf we moved here August last year... PM me and I am more than happy to give you any info I cant also look out for the deffence magazine called "gone troppo" that always has heaps of thing that are on in Townsville for the month in it too !!!
Well I've been a slack Townsville mummy as Cameron's has been home from his operation (which went really well) for ages and he is dying to get out of the house and see people besides his mum.
I've been promising to drop in on youngmummyof1 for ages but I'm hopeless unless there's a definite plan/event. So sorry AGAIN!
Susan Mac, you said you had a plan? I'll PM you!
Welcome to the new Townsville mummies as well. Looks like there's quite a large group of us now (including a fair few of us defence mummies!)
youngmumof1
29-08-2007, 18:28
Hey ya ladies,
Sorry i haven't been on for a lil while we went and bought a new comp cause old one died... Sorry im not able to make it to the meet up but hopefully will be able to next time.. Hope u all have a great time..
Cat13: Hey ya, thats kool we have been pretty busy anyways with heath cause there lots a stuff going on at his work anyways.. Glad to hear Cameron went well and hope he is fully recovered, if not yet soon anyway...
Talk to u all soon!!!!! :wave:
Jack2006
31-08-2007, 08:44
I just moved to Townsville last month and we are in Annandale.... I am 29 with a 17 month old boy called Jack and a new baby on the way.... We don't know anyone but would love to meet some new people so please let me know when the next meet up is as I would love to come along....
Hope to hear from someone soon,
Rach
youngmumof1
31-08-2007, 09:22
Hey ya ladies,
hey ya jack2006 how are u i think there was a meet up yesterday.. not sure when there will be another one as yet but will kepp u informed...
Was thinking of maybe taking Ethan down to Freckles some time next week, he wants to get out of the house big time, if anyone wants to come ur more then welcome to....
Talk to u all soon,
hope the meet up went well...
jemma:wave:
Susan Mac
03-09-2007, 13:09
we are meeting again this week, same time same place if anyone who couldn't come last week still wants to come.
or pm me if you still want to know more...
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
03-09-2007, 14:57
I am in for sure..I had a lovely time last week !!!! Just let me know where and when and I will be there....
Also for anyone who is interested wednesday at 10.30 am at the Kirwan library is story and music time..its free and I am going to start taking DD as of this week if anyone wants to join me..
Will definitely come to this week's meet. Hope to see some new mummies there too.
Will try & make the story time too Kristy if I can get myself organised enough. Have been meaning to check out the library for ages but haven't quite made it yet.
Jack2006
05-09-2007, 09:52
I will be coming along to tomorrows meet up too. Look forward to meeting you then.
Rach
youngmumof1
05-09-2007, 20:09
Hey ya ladies,
Im so gunna try to come for tomorrow, but just have to see cause the last few night i have been up all night with Ethan cause his teething another 2 teeth (about time)!!!!!
SO yeah im feeling pretty exhausted and knackered... So if i don't make it i hope u all have a good time...
Talk to u all soon if not tomorrow..
Jemma:wave:
youngmumof1
06-09-2007, 14:59
Hey ya Ladies,
Sorry i didn't make it, Ethan was up again all night last ngiht.... Hope u all had a good time though...
Just wondering would any of u be interested in a meet up with the huggies mums???
They are having a meet on the 18th of sept at mount view park (cnr mill drive and bamford lane) and the more the merrier, not sure what time it is yet but will let u all no as soon as i find out....
Talk to u all soon...
Jemma
Jack2006
07-09-2007, 08:51
Huggies mums meet up is 10am on the 18th.
youngmumof1
07-09-2007, 10:50
kool thanks jack2006 :thumbsup:
Susan Mac
07-09-2007, 10:58
oh, that's no good I don't think we can do a Tuesday. oh well.
njbrandi
10-09-2007, 15:24
Hi! Great to see some get-togethers have been taking place in the last week or two, I'm keen to join in! Will PM for details.
DS was born 2 weeks ago today and is doing great, so we're keen to get out & about on a regular basis.
DD was 2 in June, so if there are any mums juggling toddlers & babies let me know! (She goes to kindy 3 days a week but I think I'm going to struggle to keep her entertained the rest of the time!)
Looking forward to meeting you all!
Nicky
Jack2006
13-09-2007, 07:39
Is the meet up still on for today??
Harrys Mum
17-09-2007, 18:49
Hey all, so we have finally settled in townsville, cant believe it still. We have chosen to rent at bushland beach... I know its way out but we really like it here, except the street we are in is really quiet (not many houses) which has made for a few nervy nights when hubby is away. Would love to meet up with you all as I am going a little crazy on my own with the kids DS 17m/o and DD 4y/o. Hope you are all doing well and would love to hear from you.
Amanda (Harry & Caitlins mum) :ecomcity:
Hi Harry'sMum, glad to hear you are all settled in. Not sure if you've read back over the posts but we've been having weekly Townsville mummy meet ups.
PM me if you're interested in the details. Not that close to Bushland Beach but not tooo far either.
youngmumof1
19-09-2007, 19:28
Hey ya ladies,
sorry haen't been on this last week heaths been home so we went camping with some friends it wa great...
Well im def going to come tomorrow... so i look forward to meeting all of u guys...
Jemma :babydust2:
Hiya, how are you all going?
I'm Leighanne (or Lollie), thought I would come on in and introduce myself. A little about me. I am 24 in a few short weeks, my DH and I have 4 kids. Corey is 5, Ethan & Shaiyan are 14 months old and Riley is 3 and a half months old. I'm up for a meet up whenever if I am able to be PMed details or whatever. I would prefer to meet up on Tuesdays or Thursdays because my eldest is at kindy and makes it for a less stressful outing.
Hope to remember to come in and say hi from time to time. Have a memory like a sieve. :wave:
Harrys Mum
20-09-2007, 07:46
Wow Lollie you certainly have your hands full!! Welcome to Townsville. :wave:
I have a 17m/o DS & a 4&1/2 y/o DD who is desperate for a playmate, Caitlin goes to care Monday, Thursday & Harry goes to care Tuesday, Thursday... Thursday is my sanity day. Anyway would love to meet up if you are free, just PM me.
Amanda
Susan Mac
20-09-2007, 11:36
Hey Lollie,
I think you've already heard that we have a meet up on a Thursday morning at 10am at Riverway.
Next week we are going to the Baby Rhyme Time session at the Thuringowa Library at 10:30.
We should be back down at riverway the following week. I can let you know if you like.
Susan
Hi Ladies! Started this forum and havent been back on, due to family emergancy, but being home now would still love to meet some other Mums, Ive got two little girls, aged two and three, and have moved to townsville with my partner (who yes, is in the army!) And would really like to meet other mums, and know any good places to take the little ones!:wizard:
Have experienced same clickiness with some of the DFA members, So glad to know Im not the only one whos noticed this!
kellandashee
12-10-2007, 17:23
Well, I have noticed there arent too many mum's in townsville.
I am looking to meet other young mum's too & have only been living in townsville for only a few months moved from the Gold Coast initially.
Am really loving the NQ Sunshine (laughs, but it is hot)!
I tend to have sorted out all of what's available up here for youngster's as such, there's plenty for them to do am really loving how family orientated it is!
My husband is 28 and I am 21 and my daughter is 2 and a half, 3 in February coming, so would love to make some new friends...
raquelbernhardt@hotmail.com is my MSN, you'll catch me on there .
:p
I have just signed up Bub Hub! I can't believe there are so many mums from Townsville in here! Its great too see!
My name is Sara. I am a 23 year old mum of 2 beautiful girls. Briley (16 months) and Colby (9 weeks). I live on a cosy little farm with my partner, Brent and our 2 girls up the top of Hervey Range (just passed the tea rooms).
Although i am a Townsville girl born and bred, i don't have too many friends that have children of their own. I would love to meet some other mums in the area to have a chat with and for my girls to have to some other kids to play with.
I am also training to be a Doula through Optimum Birth for those who would are expecting or know someone who is expecting.
I would love to join in on one of your meetings. When is the next one???
I can be contacted on MSN @ sarajaynecox@hotmail.com (sarajaynecox@hotmail.com)
Hope to hear from one you of you soon!
kellandashee
15-10-2007, 20:42
Hey!
Im new to the forums as well, maybe email me or add me to msn and we can have a chat!
MummaBear03
23-10-2007, 19:57
:wave: I've been in Townsville since 2004, I'm 27 with a 4 year old girl. I work 4 days a week and have Tuesdays and weekends off and would love to meet up on the weekend if possible, as we are pretty busy with swimming and billpaying and so on each tuesday but if tuesday is all that could be managed I'm sure we could make time for an afternoon at the park or something.
Madmummaof3
24-10-2007, 13:18
Hi everyone!!!
My name is Kirsty, I am 26 years old, married and have 3 kids. Nearly 8, 5 and 2 1/2 years old.
We moved up to Townsville from Brisbane January of last year and couldn't be happier.
We find that the people up here are so much more friendlier and things are a lot more stress free.
How is everyone???
Kirsty :wave: