View Full Version : Sad about weaning
Did anyone else feel sad when they finished b/f.
I gave my DS aged 14.5 months his last feed last friday. Has been a slow weaning process but feeling a bit sad that we don't have that closeness now. I basically stopped the last feed as he was biting unintentially but it was hurting.
DS is still grabbing at me a bit when he is upset and when he realises that nothing is there he hits my boob :eek: we are both adjusting I think.
He is a big boy now.:crying:
~Emmylou~
01-03-2007, 21:01
I felt a little sad when I stopped bfing DD at only two months - only a little because our breastfeeding relationship was never easy so in some ways I was also relieved.
I have a wonderful breastfeeding relationship with my son though and even though he is only five months old I get teary when I think about it being over....even though I hope to go for as long as you have.
Big hugs to you I can understand how sad you must be feeling. You have done a wonderful job.
My little one weaned herself off just after her first birthday... the last few times I offered her the breast she looked at it as if to say "yeah ok.... thanks but nah don't need it now" and then she laughed at it and started flicking the nipple with her fingers and obviously not wanting a breastfeed!!!
It's so sad when they push you away!! But I made it to 1 year of breastfeeding even doing it while I went back to work full time when she was only 5 months so I'm very proud of myself!!!
And I'm glad she weaned herself off! It was her decision!
I still have a little bit of milk though but after a year of wearing maternity bras and breast pads it certainly does feel weird not to now!!!
In the process of weaning at the moment, went from 6+ feeds a day to 1 feed a day before bed over 2 months, he just hit 17 months old and was showing no signs of slowing down and was taking HEAPS out of me so through alot of tears we're down to one a day.
I really really miss it already and we haven't stopped completly yet! :o
I am looking forward to buying some new bras though but have no idea what size I am now (smaller :thumbsdown: ) my maternity bras as so daggy now so won't miss those.
I find it hard to comfort DS now when he is REALLY upset as I would usually put him on the boob for a bit so he would calm down, but no more :shame: :(
I have not weaned yet, but I remember attending an ABA meeting when ds1 was about 11 months old, and the topic was 'weaning' I got really teary and emotional even thinking about it! Was really wierd, so I can imagine how hard it is...:hugs:
ElizaDee
01-03-2007, 22:10
Yeah I can understand how you feel Deb, I think about it too, as I know the time for us is coming to an end. Mind you he is tappering off a bit as he BITES! ouch! when he really isn't interested.:thumbsdown:
He will take what he wants then pretends to want more only to bite me. So he is getting more solids to stop that! :yes:
:hugs: to you and Ty!
i was really sad when my dd weaned herself at 7 months. i was really upset that she didnt want the breastfeeds anymore and blamed myself as i had to use formula at one stage as i hadnt enough milk , anyways she never looked back, i guess it was easier and quicker for her.
i was devestated that she went onto formula so easy. she refused the boob, and kept pulling off. when i gave her a bottle she would drink it all.
anyways sorry for the long post. i know how u feel.
but u have done a fantastic job, be proud. :hugs:
Funkychicken
02-03-2007, 22:46
Coming to the end of a breatfeeding relationship is such a huge thing for both mummy and baby. It has been such a huge part of parenting for such a long time. From the moment of arrival, bub has been drinking down that wonderful stuff we make for them.
If the time is right for you both, then it is right for you both. As you said, you can go and look at a new bra (maybe something that actually has some lace or frill!) and over the next few months, maybe a new top or two as your breasts decrease in size a bit. You can focus on the next stage of your relationship with your bub but you'll always have beautiful memories of the time you shared together when BFing.
You have done a wonderful thing, BF your bubba boy until now. Be proud of yourself as a mother, a woman and a human being. :yelclap:
Samaras Mummy
09-03-2007, 20:23
I weaned my daughter nearly 7 week ago. I miss it still. I never fort i would miss it that much when i was bfing.
I gave up becuase i wanted to quit smoking. i felt selfish for smoking while breastfeeding. But feel even more selfish now that i gave up breastfeeding to quit smoking. But im happy that im 7 weeks smoke free as that means weaning was for a reason.
My daughter still looks for milk all the time. I feel very sad for her as she seems to really miss it and i often wonder if i should of kept going for a bit longer.
anyway sorry that was a bit :ecomcity:
Hope you feel better soon