View Full Version : How often do you Treat your children to Maccs, kfc, HJ etc
Me one a week if that or once a fortnight.
I fing my kids go a Bit high after a mcdonalds so i try to limit it.
i also find it very annoying that they only want to go for the toy...so what i have started to do is treat them to a milkshake and buy the toy sometimes
We go to Subway or Go sushi whenever we are at the shops and need to eat. So maybe a couple of times a month. Mainly sushi.:thumbsup: Coz we're addicted.:yes:
catalicious
28-02-2007, 18:10
Once or twice a week...
I love it and I figure everything in moderation is A OK
But then again if mine went high after having it he wouldnt get any...
Every 3-4 weeks.If we get maccas or kfc then riley will have nuggets and a few chips-hes still at that fussy stage so I would be lucky if he ate a nugget LOL
Maccas for us is a school holiday treat. We never eat it otherwise and I can't remember the last time we had KFC or HJs:no:
Layla doesn't really have Maccas, HJ's or any of that stuff. The only time I would get it is if I was hung over and that doesn't happen much anymore!
She does however have a love for chips! ARGH! So she gets them maybe once a fortnight. She also has pizza but we get the healthy pizza (not Pizza Hut) or I make it.
Thankfully she loves her fruit and vegies!!!
Every 3-4 weeks.If we get maccas or kfc then riley will have nuggets and a few chips-hes still at that fussy stage so I would be lucky if he ate a nugget LOL
Jake is exactly the same, its not worth buying him anything.
He is usually happier with a little chocolate, so that is his treat. He gets one on shopping day.
bellagirl
28-02-2007, 18:26
i go shopiing on mondays and so thats when my dd gets maccas, normally coz where out till after lunch, thats the only time she gets it!
iluvmeboyz
28-02-2007, 18:31
i would say once amonth realy i dont like giving my kids junk food
but they luv subway
i would say once amonth realy i dont like giving my kids junk food
but they luv subway
Subway is yummy:yes:
wa mum of 4
28-02-2007, 18:38
The kids get choose a take out once a fortnight.
I have to eat what every they pick, lucky I like Macca's.
MMmmm Mc Chicken add Cheese and Bacon, ssoo yummy and sssoooo fattening.
Bewitched
28-02-2007, 18:43
My kids get treats on my shopping day, so every fortnight for them. We love Subway best!
Once or twice a day......sometimes 3 she likes it so I figure why not :thumbsup:
JUST KIDDING :D
I am bored DD is at the park with her Nana.
I treat her to Maccas every few weeks.
PMSL Cupcake...
Im lucky, Wyatt chooses Sushi over any takeaway so Im happy to treat him to that when we go out to the shops every fortnight.
Other than, we would eat Macca's or HJ's once every couple of months. If that. Cant afford to eat it and plus Im seeing a dietician and he would seriously wack me one PMSL.
mum2littleman
28-02-2007, 18:52
DS will have it if we are out sumwhere with sumone else and there kids have it only because i dont want him to feel left out{maybe once a month if his very lucky} other wise if we are out he gets healthy habbits or sushi, he doesnt miss out he eats alot of vegies and meat at home but sumtimes i make him his junk food- a mini pizza with lots of veggies and sum chips- id rather make his junk food than buy it
that way i can make it that little bit healthyer.
None...DD wouldn't know what any fast food joints were and I plan on keeping that way for as long as possible! Even she wasn't allergic to everything but their chips she still wouldn't get it. We live across the road from KFC (literally...my bedroom window looks into their 'restaurant') and she still doesn't know what it is.
She's way too young to care so why introduce her to it?
Once or twice a day......sometimes 3 she likes it so I figure why not :thumbsup:
JUST KIDDING :D
I am bored DD is at the park with her Nana.
I treat her to Maccas every few weeks.
LOL:laughing:
Yeah see I love sushi...so I give it to Riley BUT I think subway sux.Like if I want a sandwich-I have it at home!!We have sandwiches everyday so I would not go out to buy a sammie IYKWIM???
FourAngelKisses
28-02-2007, 19:10
About 2-3 times a year. It would probably be more if we lived in a town that had these places, but as we don't, they rarely get it.
mumofcaleb
28-02-2007, 19:31
If we ever have take out I will only ever give DS the chips and we only do that a couple of times a month.
we eat junk way too often. maybe once or twice a week. but we only let DS have it once a fortnight if that. but i know soon he'll want what we have and have to cut down on the junk.
bearsmummy
28-02-2007, 19:39
We have it roughly once every 3 weeks when DF is on his week off from the mines... its our little treat when he is home....
every now and then i will get it on a night when he is away as sometimes with working nightshift i lose track of time and dont have time to cook dinner. But i do try limit all that junk :)
mumof2angels
28-02-2007, 19:41
Maybe once every 5 mths they only get an icecream at maccas and as for kfc they wouldnt even know what it is. There is just too many wasted calories and not much nutritional value in kfc and maccas I dont want to feed my girls that for a meal as it wouldnt fill them up and id have to end up making something else anyway. Id rather give them scrambled eggs and baked beans on toast and grain bread when i dont feel like cooking. Shopping day I grab a charchol chook and have that with salad or veges.
blueangel
28-02-2007, 19:43
We only have any sort of takeaway about once a month - and even then it is only because we are out and have to eat :laughing:
I just can't warrant spending the money. We can have a home cooked meal for half the price :thumbsup:
merlottes
28-02-2007, 19:47
once a month
Ana Gram
28-02-2007, 21:37
Depends what is happening. When her father takes her to Frankston for the weekend, I think that is all she eats. :rolleyes:
~Emmylou~
28-02-2007, 21:49
McD's, KFC etc usually only once a month.
We do eat take away more often than that but usually we try to go for something a bit healthier if she's eating it as well.
madreader
28-02-2007, 22:03
Because every Thursday is normally so full on i REFUSE to cook and so we get the mega feast every Thursday night.
misskittyfantastico
28-02-2007, 22:06
We don't have takeaway here:crying: I am a greasy, salty food fiend. Probably good that I can't access it! Amelia has oven chips though....
we have it about once a fortnight, jake usually only gets the chips but even then he isnt really interested in them he would rather just play with the toy lol
Chub Chub
28-02-2007, 23:42
Once a month.......if that?
DD much prefers a crumbed sausage when out shopping as her treat. Her grandmother introduced her to those:rolleyes: . She has one about once a fortnight.
01-03-2007, 00:06
Not really sure maybe once a month it all depends.
But Boof isnt into fast food or take away, yeah he might have some chips but thats it. It was only the other week we got him to have half a cheeseburger but that was all he wanted.
He much prefers his sandwiches, fruit & vegies.
We are very lucky.
We have it whenever I feel like it which may not be for a period of a few months then all of a sudden I might have it twice in a week.
Emily would probably only get it once a month.
I don't like her eating all that fat and preservatives. She only realy eats their chips anyway. Then she'll ask for fruit or yogurt or a vegemite and cheese sandwich:D
our little treasures
01-03-2007, 00:40
My 2 have it sometimes eat takeaway 2 times a week. Mainly chips or a hot dog. However we may go without takeaway for a couple of months and then have it a few times in 1 week.. All depends what is going on!!
01-03-2007, 00:46
It used to be once a week (pizza) from our local woodfired place, and rarely Dominos.
We've stopped that now DP is on a NO-TAKEAWAY diet as ordered by the doctor :devil6:. I think it's the longest we've been without takeaway in a very long time.
neeshNgeorgia
01-03-2007, 00:56
We would prolly have take away once a week, depends on what we feel like though, i'm a massive macca's and KFC freak and would eat it everyday if it garenteed it wouldn't go straight to my butt lol, DD will only eat the chips from maccas and KFC, she used to eat nuggets but has gone off them, which isn't a bad thing, But we would mostly get Fish and Chips from the local take away and it is the best Fish and Chips i have had (that's not from the coast) not oily at all, and the batter is never soggy or crusty for that matter, so we take the fish out of the batter for DD and give her chips.
SassyMummy
01-03-2007, 01:04
She's only 19 months, so it's not like she ever asks for anything (except cheese - she LOVES cheese!).
She has had maccas occassionally, either nuggets, chips or that pasta stuff. It's usually grabbed if we're on the run (or I'm poor), or we're in the car at night. There seems to be a maccas drive-through every 5 minutes between my place and the city... and nuggets and chips are very easy for her to eat while we're driving.
I prefer to grab her a sandwich, a pasta or sushi if we're out though. Sandwiches always seemed to be way too overpriced though (like at least $4, even if all it has on it is cheese...). Sushi is a very easy one... the rice is about the only mess made, and because it clumps together, it's pretty easy to get rid of.
lachies_mum
01-03-2007, 01:50
Once or twice a week...
This is not meant to offend, but I wouldnt call having junk food once or twice a week "moderation".
i also believe in everything in moderation, and dont agree with parents who NEVER give kids lollies/soft drink etc.
But to me, moderation is more like once every two or three months as far as macDonalds, Hj and KFC is concerned
JMO
If i have maccas etc EJ will have a few bits of a burger but its not as a meal etc - usually just a few tastes. She doesnt really like chips
the_original_duchess
01-03-2007, 08:56
Me one a week if that or once a fortnight.
I fing my kids go a Bit high after a mcdonalds so i try to limit it.
about the same, once a fortnight, more if im lazy and dont want to cook. but that would only be once a week at the most. i dread to think how many times they ahev been there with my dad tho. the kids always talk him into it hehe
01-03-2007, 08:58
More often then we should (trying to cut down to once a month) we have take away once a week though its not neccesarily Maccas or whatever Hayley doesn't really like Maccas anyway, she'll eat a handful of chips and thats about it.
well i have not been for 2 weeks and the kids asked me can we go tomorrow night, last week i went home a different way and they never even asked.
so i may go home that way again LOL, i dont mind treats but i have cut mine down now as i have found maccas makes my kids go a bit hyper. and my friday nights have been bliss ever since
Because every Thursday is normally so full on i REFUSE to cook and so we get the mega feast every Thursday night.
Thursday night is a crazy day and so has become take away night in our house... Sometimes its maccas/kfc etc... sometimes chinese, sometimes pizza or maybe fish n' chips, Both DS and I had take away once a week when we were younger so we kind of just followed suit I guess...
Never - We don't eat at Maccas, KFC etc. We still have junk food occassionally but it's not part of our main diet. We do have cakes and biscuits and icy poles as treats and the occassional pizza and chips.
Honestly we save lots of money and the kids don't mind. They haven't expressed a desire to go to any fast food places and don't feel like they're missing out on anything. It's just not part of their routine or mine.
Each to his/her own!
01-03-2007, 22:01
I go shopping in the next town once a fortnight, and DD1s treat is that i bring her Macca's home for dinner (started out that she hated daycare - or rather, hated me going shopping without her :rolleyes:, so i said i'd bring her a Happy Meal, and it just kind of became the done thing). DD2 doesn't eat anything but a few chips...
I don't mind her having it that often, we don't have much take-away in our household, so the odd treat is fine. :yes:
FourAngelKisses
02-03-2007, 07:24
I go shopping in the next town once a fortnight, and DD1s treat is that i bring her Macca's home for dinner (started out that she hated daycare - or rather, hated me going shopping without her :rolleyes:, so i said i'd bring her a Happy Meal, and it just kind of became the done thing). DD2 doesn't eat anything but a few chips...
She can have my kids chips. They eat the nuggets but leave the chips and the drink.
~J'dore~
02-03-2007, 08:49
Ideally never, but occassionally they do, or the grandparents turn up with pizza every now and then:rolleyes: .
If i'm in a shopping centre they normally get vege rice from an asian shop and a fresh fruit salad.:thumbsup:
MountainGirl
02-03-2007, 12:06
Never,.. I wouldn't eat it,.so I wouldn't feed it to Scarlett,. the closest thing she has to junk food is a cheese and bacon roll from Bakers Delight.
Thursday night is a crazy day and so has become take away night in our house... Sometimes its maccas/kfc etc... sometimes chinese, sometimes pizza or maybe fish n' chips, Both DS and I had take away once a week when we were younger so we kind of just followed suit I guess...
same
theycallmemum
02-03-2007, 16:39
Well, call me a bad mum. We have take away at least twice a week, we are a really busy family and have sport every night of the week plus most of the weekend and sometimes it's just easier. My kids are so skinny they are actually underweight so I don't think it's hurting them, maybe if they just came home and sat in front of the tv it would be different. Even now, before training my 10yr old is running on the treadmill because he is training for the cross country in a few weeks, he will run 5-6km before going to taekwondo.
MonkeyMum05
02-03-2007, 17:11
We don't really eat much takeaway...
Though Bodhi did have hot chips for lunch today with his little lady friend... which turned into a very messy gravy-ish food throwing game. (Wasn't my kitchen, so I didn't care! :D )
mythreelittlemonkeys
03-03-2007, 01:29
at the mo never but when step kids come I usually give in if we have them for week or longer...they get it all the time at home and I feel bullied into letting them go... my DH and I didnt touch any junk food when in UK for year and half just when you come back here every other minute there is a KFC,Maccas and a child saying when can we go there!
I hope that DD is like I was and isnt exposed to it before fairly grown up and knows what good nutrition is. I have already tried to stop taking step kids as it will have to stop once DD old enough to recognise golden arches etc...
Not to say we wouldnt go for fish and chips or indian every now and again...just Macca's etc never really been part of my culture/diet
(however I still fat!!):rolleyes:
ds won't be setting foot in maccas of kfc or subway or any of the other disgusting fast food places.
he's had a hot chip or two, and he'll be allowed a treat once in a while, but it won't be coming from one of those places, at least not until he can buy it himself and makes the decision to eat it himself.
he eats what we eat, and we don't eat that kind of stuff.
jess_live_die
03-03-2007, 13:52
once a fornight lol they need a treat lol
ds won't be setting foot in maccas of kfc or subway or any of the other disgusting fast food places.
he's had a hot chip or two, and he'll be allowed a treat once in a while, but it won't be coming from one of those places, at least not until he can buy it himself and makes the decision to eat it himself.
he eats what we eat, and we don't eat that kind of stuff.
What's wrong with subway? What's wrong with the salad?
SamanthaJane
03-03-2007, 13:59
Never :p She doesn't eat yet!
When she is older (like, years away) i will treat her every once in a while. I grew up having maccas or kfc or pizza as a treat, so i believe them to be "treat" type foods. Not necessarily bad foods, just more like "sometimes" foods.
Like on Cookie Monster, cookies are a sometimes food ;)
By the way, me and all my siblings are happy and healthy and we know what foods are appropriate and in what proportions. Teach the nutritional value and they will eventually understand :yes:
DD never has take-away. DH and I barely eat it these days. It just doesn't fill you up and why leave the house and spend extra cash on takeaway when I can just whip up something in 30mins from the fridge/freezer/cupboard?
I just don't see the point. For me, it's more of a hassle to get take-away.
No offence...but why is Macca, KFC, HJ considered a treat, I would be calling it a death sentence!! A treat to me would be something like a yummy bit of fruit, at the very least maybe a little piece of chocolate....but a saturated fat, salty, sugary, disgusting piece of food is by no means a treat! Ahhhh the power of advertising
What's wrong with subway? What's wrong with the salad?
the smell of subway makes me want to :barf:
the food is marketed as fresh but looks awful and probably tastes worse.
gross white bread, processed meats....don't need to go on:thumbsdown:
FourAngelKisses
05-03-2007, 10:43
I love Subway....my sister used to work for them.
the smell of subway makes me want to :barf:
the food is marketed as fresh but looks awful and probably tastes worse.
gross white bread, processed meats....don't need to go on:thumbsdown:
i like subway but dont think its much better than other fast food. after all it still is "fast food"
sure its a healthy alternative but i dont think its that healthy iykwim...
i mean white bread and sauces and cheese... the only way it is healthy if you have salad, some turkey and no sauce. for the price of that i may as well make it at home with wholegrain bread, much cheaper and tastier... but thats JMO.
Once or twice a week...
Yep same as us. Except our children will eat subway. I find it is alot cheaper for us to go to fitzy's for dinner as the often have kids eat free so we all end up having a really nice meal together. And it only costs us about $30 at the most inclu drinks.
Me :ecomcity:
DH :sleeping:
DD 5:angel:
DS 4 :devil6:
I'm glad other people have said that subway isn't healthy....DD won't be getting subway either. I often eat sandwiches for lunch when we are out (if we want 'fast food') but it's from real sandwich shops, not subway. I have friend's that worked in subway when we were teens. What went on behind the scens was truly disgusting...totally unhygenic.
just curious.. those of you who insist your child will never eat it etc..
What happens when they start kindy/school etc and they get invited to a macca's or hungry jacks birthday party?? Are you going to make them miss out becuase of your feelings towards the food.. or will you take into consideration the feelings of your children and the child whose birthday it is and let them go?
Well I said DD has never had it and won't for a long time if I get my way but DF and I both agree that the times when she does get it will be when they get invited to a party. We won't stop our kids from going to the parties, after all, it's probably only going to be a couple a year and that's ok.
We don't eat fast food and I think it's ridiculous to make a special trip to go somewhere that isn't even healthy for a kid, especially at her age.
DF never got KFC, McDonald's etc. when he was a little kid (under 5, maybe even older) and he has always thought the food was disgusting, same goes for him with chocolate, chips etc. We figured if we can keep her away from junk food for as long as possible then with a bit of luck she won't even like the food because she would never have tasted it.
not very much, i cook at home alot, so takeway is rare for us.
If shes invited to a birthday party, its fine for her to eat it, because its a party, but at home its home cooked meals.