View Full Version : Breast Pumps and BF - few questions

26-02-2007, 20:16
Evening ladies! I'm sorting out what I need and what I dont need and am looking for some advice. I'm planning on breastfeeding (dont need any scary stories here thanks) and have a few questions about breastfeeding, pumps, EBM and bottles.

1. Do you use a breast pump regularly? Is it a worthwhile purchase?

2. Do you recommend electric or manual?

3. Any brand in particular?

4. Once bub has tried EBM from a bottle, is there more chance of him rejecting the boob?

26-02-2007, 20:20

Yes I think it is a worthwhile investment especially if you were to go back to work or even just to take away some engorgement.

Electric anyday! It's easier and I am lazy that's why I breastfeed;)

I had a Pidgeon one but it didn't last the distance for me. I am now using a Medela and it is still going strong and very easy to use.

4. Once bub has tried EBM from a bottle, is there more chance of him rejecting the boob?
There is a chance as sucking from a teat is alot easier than sucking from a nipple. But one bottle every now and then isn't going to hurt. Again though I am too lazy to give bottles though.

Becteria
26-02-2007, 20:24
1. Do you use a breast pump regularly? Is it a worthwhile purchase? YES!! AND YES!!

I used manaul with maikyra and have an electric one sorted for this baby.

Avent was brilliant... well priced has great accessories

4. Once bub has tried EBM from a bottle, is there more chance of him rejecting the boob?as i went to work when maiky was 6 weeks old she had to alternate. she continued to be both bf and bottle until 9 months old when she weaned herself.

the_queen
26-02-2007, 20:32

No I don't (with Vallerie having a cleft lip, I used one every single feed, plus inbetween feeds, so I got pumping overload LOL)
But I agree with Oscar's Mum, it is good to have one for engorgement relief in the early days. If you are going to go back to work, it's good to practice and get really good at pumping well before you have to go back to work.

Electric! I have used a few different brands. Apparently the Avent Isis can now come in an electric...? I've only got the manual one and it is good, but I love love LOVE my Nuk Electric. It was the only one that stood the test of pumping for Vallerie, and it's going great now for my sister who has had to return to work (my neice is 3 months old)

Yep, Nuk electric I like. The Avent Isis is also good, but if you're wanting to get good amounts you'd want an electric one.
Now, I have NOT tried a medela brand, and a lot of people rave about that. Remember you should also join the ABA because you can hire pumps from there, the ones the hospitals use.

This is kinda dependant on your bub. I know with Vallerie, she was breastfed but had EBM top ups after each feed, plus every now a full feed from the bottle. After her surgery she refused the breast completely - but that wasn't just the bottle issue, it was also the stitches in her mouth which made sucking painful. But, I was hesitant to give Curtis a bottle in case the same thing happened.... He got a bottle of EBM at 3 or 4 weeks old, he wasn't too keen on it LOL much preferred the boob! And he spewed most of it back up, so obviously breastfeeding from the breast works best for him. He had one other feed from a bottle that same night, but no other bottle feeds since. I think the best bet, if you want to introduce a regular EBM bottle, is to wait until breastfeeding is really well established (for some, this is 6 weeks, others 12 weeks) and all problems have been dealt with. Breastfeeding is like drinking a drink from one of those big curly straws, bub has to have a couple of big sucks to get the milk flowing, whereas a bottle pours the milk down his throat straight away, so for some babies, they LOVE getting the immediate reward, and don't like having to do those first couple of sucks on the boob.

Elemik
26-02-2007, 20:34
Hi Pinky Lady,

Congratulations on your pregnancy and the impending birth. Hope it all goes well.

I used an electric pump with my 1st. I hired the electric pump but had to buy the manual to go with it. I live in Melbourne and was paying $30 a week through a chemist for pump hire, but after joining the Australian Breastfeeding Association for $50 a year, I hired one through them for $15 a week. I used it for about 8 or 9 months. Electric is better by far.

Never had any problem with bub rejecting the boob. The only thing I did wrong was not offer the bottle often enough and she eventually lost the taste for it. This made it difficult for me to leave her with anyone. Although she probably would have taken the bottle if she was hungry enough - just 1st time mum paranoia I guess.

shed
26-02-2007, 21:46
No, not regularly as expressing has to go down as the most boring activity ever, but I do have a stash in the freezer that I add to whenever the mood takes me.

Yes its worthwhile because it gives me piece of mind and a sense of freedom (even though I don't go out, its nice to know I could if I wanted to)

Electric!! I have an Avent manual which was okay for a while but then seemed to lose suction. My cousin lent me a Medela electric a while ago and OMG WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! So much easier, can't even compare. I am never using the manual one again, ever.

Medela is the only electric one I have tried. Avent is the only manual one I have tried.

Depends on the baby. I fretted about giving him a bottle, I was sure he wouldn't take it but I just offered it to him and he took it no worries. He's pretty easygoing, my kid. I did notice his suction action was ever so slightly different for the next two breastfeeds though, which I thought was interesting. He hasn't had it very often since then, just every now and again to make sure he still does, just in case. Some of the other babies in our group absolutely refuse to take the bottle in the first place.

~Emmylou~
26-02-2007, 22:00

Yes I use mine and definitely worth having! Used it to relieve engorgment early on and still use it now so I can have a bit of a stash of ebm tucked away.

Mine is manual

I have an Avent Isis - it has seen me through two breastfed bubs and I am very happy with it.

Never had this problem.
DD had a bottle of ebm once a week on average and never any problems with her rejecting the boob.
DS has it less often - once or twice a month I guess - but he still switches quite happily. I mainly give it to him in case I ever have to leave him so at least I dont' have to stress about him being fed. If you leave it too long alot of breastfed babies will not have a bar of the bottle.
If your concerned about this you can keep bub on a slow teat so he has to work a bit harder to get the ebm out. DS is nearly 5 months old but when he has a bottle he still has a slow newborn teat. Takes him half an hour to drink it - but damn he has to work for it, so there's no chance of him thinking the bottle is easier :laughing:

26-02-2007, 22:08
So Medella electric is the brand to go for by the sound of it. Cheers for that...

And with using bottles with EBM; so its best to get bub into a routine with breastfeeding before letting him try a bottle? How often would you let bub try the bottle before actually having to rely on it. I have a wedding later on in the year and I'm scared about giving him a bottle leading up to it and leaving him for too long. I'm probably over reacting a lil here since I can take him to the reception - just not the ceremony lol...

RedPanda
26-02-2007, 22:11
[QUOTE=Pink Lady;1157765]
Okay Ally. I'll give you a perspective of someone who breastfed for about ten days. I know you don't want bad experiences, but I guarantee you, my experience will inspire you to bf and point you AWAY from things that will hinder you.

[B]1. Do you use a breast pump regularly? Is it a worthwhile purchase?

I used it all the time after day seven. My nipples were too sore and I felt all I could do was express every two hours (which I did for two days - even through the night)

I had manual, but I reckon the electric at hospy was better. I just read a mag while being "milked" and it was quite easy.

I had Avent Isis and it served its purpose, but I wouldn't really say it was gentle. It gave me more pain than my Ds would have!! (another reason to bf past pain rather than express!)

Every chance. I started giving DS EBM and for me it was the beginning of the end. Having said that, it wasn't one bottle once in a while, I was giving him EBM every time. It takes a commited person (like Queenie :thumbsup: ) to express every feed.

Good luck Ally! You'll do it because you really want to :yes:

26-02-2007, 22:22
Yes!!! I actually bought a second hand one and stuff because once it's much cheaper. I also have some the hubbers loveingly have leant to me. :D
Because I'm back at work I pump twice a day! :) definitely worthwhile in my case - however if I wasn't back at work I don't think I'd use it much, if at all.

ELECTRIC LOL I have a hand pump which exists for emergency use lol.

Medela Mini Electric.. works a treat, great trusted brand.

More of a nipple preference, but that's why Cobey's on a cup already (which will be phased out into a straw) because it's not the "same thing"
"They" recommend no bottles until 6 week - some babies DO develop a nipple preference whereas some don't. Cobey was completely boob fed until 6 months, now he has 2 bottles of EBM... he will actually still reject a bottle from me as he knows he's got me "on tap"

Good luck Ally! :D

Beany
26-02-2007, 23:47
And with using bottles with EBM; so its best to get bub into a routine with breastfeeding before letting him try a bottle? How often would you let bub try the bottle before actually having to rely on it. I have a wedding later on in the year and I'm scared about giving him a bottle leading up to it and leaving him for too long. I'm probably over reacting a lil here since I can take him to the reception - just not the ceremony lol...

Asher was given a fair few bottles in his early weeks. He was on the breast for 48 hours or thereabouts before he had a bottle (:gloomy: but I digress ... )

He never rejected the breast. He'd happily switch between bottle and breast ... never quite got the hang of dummies, though. I think it just depends of the quirks of the individual baby.

I'd say give the baby two or three goes on the bottle to make sure all is going well. If he does reject the bottle, remember that by the time it will be necessary, he might be happy enough with a spout top cup or even being (laboriously) fed using small amounts in a sippy cup.

And yes, get a breast pump! I thought mine was a waste of money in the first month or so as I couldn't get much milk and it hurt to use it and stuff. But then the baby started buggering around with my supply and I was waking up engorged because he decided he'd sleep in for a few more hours ... Oh the annoyance of having to get up at 6am when all you want to do is sleep and the throbbing of your melon-esque boobs won't let you.

Also, expressed milk will be a great thing to have around when you're starting little one on solids.

WeloveHarriet
27-02-2007, 10:50
Ally, just as breastfeeding is a learned art so is expressing. I was able to breastfeed really successfully - DD was 10mths when I weaned her to try to conceive this bub - but I couldn't express to save my life!!! I used both a manual and electric pump and the most I ever got to express was around 100ml - more usually I would only get 20-30ml a go. So my advice - don't stress too much about expressing, just concentrate on getting the breastfeeding down pat first. Your supply will need time to settle itself in those early weeks before I would start using a pump.

rosebaby
27-02-2007, 20:48
I think early expressing was crucial for me being able to BF at all. When Jack was first handed to me a midwife who looked about 12 shovelled my boob very awkwardly in his general direction and he clamped on sort of sideways. Blood gushed, and continued to gush for weeks. I found pumping, especially with those big impressive hospital pumps, was sooooo much less painful than having Jack suck. Once I gave my nipples a chance to heal (I stayed in hospital for a week - cannot recommend that highly enough, cos it gives you a chance to find your feet, get help when you need it and get over the newness of it all) then I was able to breastfeed with no problems. There was no way I could have kept letting Jack suck at my mangled old boobies.

28-02-2007, 00:30
So would you consider a breast pump (electric) to be a purchase that we need BEFORE bub arrives so we have it for the first few weeks? Or something that can wait til Baby Bonus $ come in?

Beany
28-02-2007, 00:47
I'd say get it in before the baby arrives. You might need to express and feed sometimes in the early weeks. Having said that, mine sat there gathering dust for a few months until the morning engorgement phase kicked in.

Although there is a baby expo on in May so you could wait until the last minute.

28-02-2007, 00:50
Baby expo...?? Interesting... What dates do you know???

Beany
28-02-2007, 00:55
Rats ... they pushed it back to the 1-3rd June.

Well you can go along with a newborn!

http://www.pbcexpo.com.au/sydney.htm

28-02-2007, 00:56
Ally im pondering this too but then i figure i can always hire one .... Maybe you can too ? That way you can work out what one is suitable etc.

28-02-2007, 00:57
Oh no!!! My 2 EDD's are 31st May and 3 June! LOL!!!

I made my appointment for my 30 week scan yesterday - we will find out on the 26 March if I can have a natural birth or if I have to have a c/sect... Its getting very exciting now!!!

28-02-2007, 00:58
Ally im pondering this too but then i figure i can always hire one .... Maybe you can too ? That way you can work out what one is suitable etc.

Not a bad idea... plus then we're not up for such a huge initial cost... I've heard that if your a member of the ABA then an electric can be as cheap as $10/week.

Beany
28-02-2007, 01:01
Apparently most women go about a week overdue with their first baby ...

If you haven't popped by then, you'll be desperate to do so. Crying babies are supposed to be a big labour inducer. There were no shortage of them there last year :p

28-02-2007, 01:03
Apparently most women go about a week overdue with their first baby ...

If you haven't popped by then, you'll be desperate to do so. Crying babies are supposed to be a big labour inducer. There were no shortage of them there last year :p

Glosh - it would be just like me to go into labour at an expo LOL :laughing:

So - whose coming with me!! :laughing:

Beany
28-02-2007, 01:10
Hey I was in pre-labour (granted, I was like that for a month!) and the lovely Sydney ladies had me walking around the Aquarium.

Brought a whole new spin to the idea of "water birth"!

28-02-2007, 01:30
Yes my aim was to show her what she was really in for & scare her into labour :D

But then her laughing at Boof running rings around me wouldve done that more so ....

28-02-2007, 06:45
You can hire breast pumps or even hand express if needed.. I don't think breast pumps are needed until at least after the baby bonus... :)

AmandaMum2B
08-03-2007, 06:20
Hello...

Yep, I couldn't live without mine! I've got two (which hubby finds quite funny when I use both at the same time!)

Electric, I'm lazy too!

I have a medela mini pump which is fantastic for going out as it's really small and battery operated (it has a mains for at home) and an Avent Isis which is great because it's both manual and electric and you can adjust the speed of suction. The other great thing about the medela is mine broke down on me after 3 months of pretty hard use (I got mastitis and the GP recommended I express full time until I was better), I took it back and medela replaced with a brand new one that is still going strong.

My lil' guy did initially reject me breast feeding when I started him on the bottle, but I persevered and now he's happy to do both. Also I mostly use the Tommee Tippee bottles with the teats that resemble the breast.

Best of luck.

Amanda

eviestar
08-03-2007, 07:53
i loved my breast pump, we had a few bf probs and dd just would not latch on, after weeks and weeks of trying i started feeding ebm and continued for a year, so my breast pump was my best friend in that first year. i used an advent isis manuel one, worked best for me :thumbsup:

08-03-2007, 08:03
I've never succesfully used a pump & I've been breastfeeding for 22 months. I did borrow one to try but just couldnt do it.

Cant hurt to have one though, you never know, it might be a life saver.

MariaO
08-03-2007, 08:07

For me it was essential for breastfeeding my little one. I had problems establishing supply, and had mastitis in the very early days. Once I was producing enough, I expressed a late night feed and my husband fed Aoife while I slept!

Electric, I initially had the Medela mini electric, but dropped that on the floor one too many times and replaced it with the Medela double (felt like a cow being pumped but it was quick and efficient)

My little one initially did not care where the food came from, she would suck anything, loved breast, bottles and dummies. At around the 5 month mark though she rejected everything except the breast (she finally realised that the rest were just substitutes) so that was the end of Daddy feeding her late at night.
It really depends on the bub.

mim1
13-03-2007, 06:17
I didn't think i'd need one so I didn't get one before Josh was born. Then he was in special care for 8 days and I had to go home before he did and so I was expressing 3 feeds a day. i had to buy a manual one to go with the hospital's electric one (i hired it from them) and so I paid $50 for the medela manual kit.

The manual one it's own worked fine for expressing a bit off when I was engorged - much better than hand expressing. Then Josh got reflux and now needs to have zantac mixed with EBM 3 times a day and handexpresing 60ml a day was really hard work. So, i bought a medela mini electric. It's SO much easier and it works really well. It was $139 at Baby Bunting, which isn't that bad when it means bubs gets EBM with his zantac rather than buying formula to mix with it. It's also really easy to express enough for a feed if i'm going out.

i wish i'd bought the mini electric first off, but as they are both medela sets, I do have 2 breast cups and 2 bottles, so it's not too bad.

When Josh was in special care and I was at home he was cup fed, but as he grew he needed more and more milk per feed, so at a week old he got changed to a bottle for the feeds when I wasn't there. The midwives said that after a week it would be fine. AND it was. He sucks well from a bottle, but also breastfeeds really well. I was worried about mixing the two, but I shouldn't have been cause it's been fine.