View Full Version : What is your 6 month olds routine?
olliesmum
25-02-2007, 10:12
Hi all. My six month old seems to be changing his sleeping routine lately and I'm looking to get some ideas about what might work for him. At the moment he sleeps 7pm - 6.30am, then has a big sleep at 9am-11 or 11.30, then only has a 30mins sleep at about 1.30 or 2pm - then we have a really cranky afternoon. I'm thinking he should sleep longer at lunchtime?
Hi Olliesmum, My DD is nearly 6months and has been a real shocker of a sleeper....she wont sleep longer than 5hours.
Ive only got her into a routine during the day just recently due to her being so sick, silent reflux then whooping cough.
Atleast you can get him to sleep of a night time, ive tryed everything, have you tryed a walk in pram at that time of the afternoon...that might work for you.
Good luck Kez
alanasmum
25-02-2007, 20:12
My DD is 8 months old now but at 6 months she was still having 3 naps as she was only able to be awake for about 2 hours before getting cranky.
So, you could try a sleep at 9.00ish, an afternoon nap at 1.00ish and then another sleep at 4.00ish. Once your bub starts to enjoy being awake longer then maybe you could move to 2 sleeps at around 10.00am and then 3.00pm, or something like that.
No answers for you! My bub has a very similar rhythm (except her 12 hour night sleep is interspersed with wakings!). She seems able to resettle herself in the morning to get 2 or 2.5 hours but in the arvo she wakes after 45 mins and can't go back to sleep. I'm interested to see if it's possible to actually change that! It does mean a cranky baby at 5.:30pm!
monkeytoes
26-02-2007, 14:05
My DD is 7 months, but about a month ago she changed to a new sleep routine. This is what she does.............. 6:30pm - 7am, then after brekkie she sleeps 8am - 9:30am (or sometimes 10am), then a lunchtime nap 12noon - 2pm then she has one more nap in the arvo usually around 3pm - 4pm.
I think you are right about the lunchtime naps being the longest nap. Seems logical for them to have a big rest in the middle of the day. I know they say never wake a sleeping baby, but maybe you could try waking him from his morning nap a bit earlier and see if he will then sleep longer at lunchtime.
Its probably not what you want to hear but that is a damn good routine that Im sure most Mums would kill for, I used to have one like that and now its gone, so enjoy it while you can. Just put bubs to bed if the tired signs are there. You are doing well and just be happy with it