View Full Version : What does your partner do?
Just having a lazy snooze on the couch earlier and was hit with inspiration for my 1001st post..
What do our partners do for work? We all known what WE do, us talented mummys, but I'd like to know more about the daddies!
I'll start..my DH works in Business Development for a division of Chubb security. Works his own hours which is lovely, but he still works too many of them for my liking! He's happy, he's working a *normal* job after years of shift work.
Anyone else care to share?
katesmom
30-11-2005, 16:49
My dh and I are both disabled Gulf War vets.
Hunter's Mum
30-11-2005, 17:07
my hubbie is a hairdresser... comes in handy when u want 2 go out
My DH runs a Vodaphone Store.
30-11-2005, 17:12
My DH is a timber cutter, working in the forestry and on private blocks......He's away ALOT...which pings me off sometimes, but hey, its gotta be done....
mumof2girls
30-11-2005, 17:20
My hubby use to work on satelite space stations (from the ground) then project management but gave it all away about 5 years ago to look after the girls and let me go to work, and he just loves it :)
Megansmum
30-11-2005, 17:28
My DH is a Cotton Farm Manager, growing cotton for all the clothes that you are wearing LOL!! Works lots of really weird hours but would give it all up in a heart beat and be a SAHD if I could find a job that paid as much and included all the extras. :rolleyes:
This is so interesting.
It's amazing the range of different jobs people do. So many that I've never even thought about! :)
My DH works in Special Effects. They do animatronic creatures for movies. Can be pretty interesting. We always end up with weird stuff around the house though. :rolleyes:
sugar n spice
30-11-2005, 17:45
My DH is a town planner. He is the manager of Planning and rangers services in albany where we live. brings alot of work home.
Mummy-2-2
30-11-2005, 17:52
My DH works in Special Effects. They do animatronic creatures for movies.
My hubby would be so jealous of your hubby Happy Lady!!
Mine does multimedia design, If any of you have the St John First Aid Manual on cd, My hubby did it!! I think he's clever, but really he's just a computer nerd :D
My dh is a senior school maths teacher at a boys school (and he teaches sport and religion too, hehe). It's funny watching him do corrections on school work.... it takes me back.
It baffles me how smart he his at complex equations, but he can't work out how to wipe the kitchen bench properly :eek: .
He also coaches top level cricket.
He is also a wonderful dad.
30-11-2005, 18:08
My DH works with his hands, he looks HOT in his tool belt :p and you call him when your toliets on the blink ;)
His a Plumber, but the ironic thing is he hasnt fixed a toliet in years LOL he does roof plumbing mainly!
My DP is a plumber also he sub-contracts out to a company in Sydney
Harmony83
30-11-2005, 18:30
My DF is an electrician!! He mainly does industrial, but will do domestic for cash in hand! He works very long hours 6am - 5pm - 6 days a week (sometimes a little shorter, sometimes longer!) He is also a fantastic Daddy!
whatwasithinking
30-11-2005, 18:34
DH is a Director in a large organisation.
Ana Gram
30-11-2005, 18:39
Mine is a Cad Monkey, which is just fiddling around on the computer, drawing stuff adn then setting the factory machines to make it.
Supermum
30-11-2005, 18:49
Mine is a full time student studying Primary Ed. In his holidays he does landscaping - he's a horticulturalist.
He's a magnificent dad. My son looks at him with such admiration and pride. I hope he turns out just like him.
LittleBoysRock
30-11-2005, 18:50
My DH is a computer programmer... he writes computer software and does lots of web work. :) Very clever!
DP is an Event Staging Manager, so he makes all those major events look good with lighting, audio, venue styling... stuff like that. He's also an Audio Engineer by trade and therefore is OBSESSED with our home stereo - we have seven remotes. :rolleyes:
My DH is a public servant, a mad golfer (he would like to do THAT full time) and a great Dad who worships the ground his daughters walk on.
My hubby works for AQIS, Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service. He's does auditing on export grain houses, making sure they're up to standard and other inspections as well. He mainly does a lot of driving around now, he has a lot more freedom than when he was in the city working in import clearance. He cleared mostly machinery coming in from OS. Though the bug side of grain is more what he's interested in, he's an environmental chemist by trade and he's looking at going back to do some more study maybe next year.
30-11-2005, 18:59
My DH works in Special Effects. They do animatronic creatures for movies. Can be pretty interesting. We always end up with weird stuff around the house though. :rolleyes:
My DH is chucking the biggest tantrum right now. He is a trained sculptor & would LOVE to have a job doing creature effects sculpture again, but full time, not contract. But at the moment he's a welder/sheet metal worker.
RB
My DH is a carpenter, he works mainly on restoring old qld'ers. :)
You would think having a hubby that is a carpenter it would make life easier, but no I have been at him now for over 2 years to hang a door in our house and everytime he replies with yeah yeah I will, I am just tired from work! :rolleyes: Yet he says to me that doors only take 5 minutes to hang! :confused:
My DH is chucking the biggest tantrum right now. He is a trained sculptor & would LOVE to have a job doing creature effects sculpture again, but full time, not contract. But at the moment he's a welder/sheet metal worker.
RB
LOL RB, that is the problem with that industry. They've got a museum exhibition on at the moment which keeps him busy a fair bit now. It is on now in Sydney if anyone wants to go.
Sorry that's advertising. :rolleyes:
30-11-2005, 19:07
My hubby is a Stock Checking and Integrity Officer (Inventory Officer). He loves it, heaps of variety in his work and he is half in and half out of the office. Plus gets some day travel. :)
My DP is a project controller for an international engineering firm. He has some specky title, but I forget what it is... the title I remember is 'fantastic father'. :)
my DP is a D.J at night and works on a hydroponic farm during the day.
ElizaDee
30-11-2005, 19:40
My DH is a computer nerd, programer and web developer. He would love to change and do something else, perhaps soon when he works out what he wants to do :)
stormanet
30-11-2005, 19:43
My hubby is a high school English teacher for another week and a half. Next year he is going to be Mr mom for the year while I go back to work. I don't know how I'm going to handle it, but he is going to have the best time!!
Nickster
30-11-2005, 19:46
My hubby is the general sales manager for a multinational industrial firm. If he had his time over again, he said he would love to be a chef! He is also an awesome musician and a bloody good actor (especially anything comedy that requires an accent). Not to mention the best hubby and most devoted daddy that ever was....
perrywinkle
30-11-2005, 19:47
My hubby runs our business. We sell bracing & mounts for race cars & high performance cars. Just what he loves!!!!!!!
Melissa1983
30-11-2005, 19:49
My Hubby is a Medic in the Navy! Use to be a security guard at the clubs... Use to bet them up now he fixes them up :D
Peaceangels
30-11-2005, 19:50
My DH is the Operations Manager for a large company that imports and distributes products on behalf of companies not based in Australia.
It is mostly electrical goods (tv's, dvd players, camera's etc), so you can imagine what we have lying around the house!!
It is a pretty full-on and high powered job, but he still makes an effort to be home every night to bath the boys and never complains about how bad his day has been - god bless him! :)
Shelly68
30-11-2005, 20:02
My husband is a night filler at Woolworths , he does nights 4 times a week and sleeps basically from Thursday to Tuesday (when he's not working of course).
This makes life very difficult in our house because we can't get housework done (like the vacuuming, washing clothes, anything noisy basically).
Then with my hours (I do split shifts of 3 hours each) sometimes if feels like we hardly see each other, just ships passing in the night so to speak.
I'll be waiting out the front for the car when he gets home from work, then when I get home from work he's asleep and sleeps all day.
And those with DH's who are carpenters and sparkys gosh they must be busy, we've been waiting since end May just for a quote off one guy (he did the measurements). We want to build in our existing deck and make it part of the loungeroom and it's impossible to find anybody that wants to do it.
Mamaduke
30-11-2005, 20:32
My husband works for Toyota in Altona Melbourne. Don't really know what he does, something to do with really hot metal and cylinder heads. We went to an open day and he showed us where he works and I came away thinking, you couldn't pay me enough to do that job! He works afternoon shift and works around 80 hours a week (so I can stay home with the boys) so we don't see much of him (hence my addiction to bubhub!) but he is a wonderful provider and a fantastic daddy!
My DF is a fibreglasser, he makes water tanks. He is doing great hours at the moment, and works with his best mate and is really good friends with his boss. I actually question the amount of work he does sometimes! (Okay, he works REALLY hard)
He is a wonderful partner, great provider, best daddy in the world and my best friend :)
He also thinks he is a comedian :rolleyes:
My DP is a spraypainter.....he paints cars! He's not like a hooligan graffiti artist or anything! LOL :D
He also thinks he is a comedian :rolleyes:
Don't they all?? :rolleyes:
My husband is a dentist. That really doesn't require any further explanation!!
Mine is a real estate rep, plus has his own webdesign business part time
And those with DH's who are carpenters and sparkys gosh they must be busy, we've been waiting since end May just for a quote off one guy (he did the measurements). We want to build in our existing deck and make it part of the loungeroom and it's impossible to find anybody that wants to do it.
Oh god just noticed you are from Brissie, really hoping that it wasn't the company my DH is with that hasn't got back to you! :eek:
Terrible2+1cutie
30-11-2005, 22:09
My DH is a process technician/cell controller at our local aluminium smelter, he has been in the same place for almost 9 years now before that he was a medic in the army.
Catherine
mummycloud
30-11-2005, 22:20
My DH drives around with millions of dollars a day in an armoured truck, but the silly prick is too bloody honest and never brings any home for me :rolleyes: :p
mummycloud
30-11-2005, 22:22
Ummm, well "future DP" - As of tomorrow lol !
He's a Famous singer - No Joke :o
Construction worker and Security Guard :D
Does anyone recognise him when he's working construction or security?
I so want to know who he is :p
AlbertaJes
01-12-2005, 01:30
My DH is an Environmental Supervisor for oil drilling rigs.
He keeps track of the waste that comes out of the holes and makes sure it gets treated and disposed of properly.
dormouse
01-12-2005, 02:11
My hubby is a roof carpenter. He sub contracts for a big building company.
ThomasMum
03-12-2005, 16:07
To cut the story short:
My DH is The Head (Director) of Convergent Technology. He just finished his Master degree recently. He’s also a JP (Justice of Peace). He thinks he’s Homer Simpson lol
Most importantly though, he is the best dad and husband! :D
ThomasMum
lil monkey
03-12-2005, 17:52
My DP is a pharmacist - certainly comes in handy around the house!
We have every single type of medicine for bubs and adults in the house - when we moved recently, we had a large removal box full of stuff!
Downside is he brings home a lot of germs - the past 2 weeks it has been chicken pox but no sign of bubs having it yet!
my dp is a herbalist, lecturer at college, recycled paper maker (hey its tough to get by in sydney!) and next year a full time medical student. should be fun when little baby arrives!
Ffrenchknickers
03-12-2005, 18:10
herbalist, lecturer at college, recycled paper maker
Cool :cool: :cool: :)
yeah it is cool! :D
I never stay sick, or get sick and there are always a hundred different teas to choose from!
oscarsmilkbar
03-12-2005, 19:33
My DF is a National Logistics Manager for a Transport Company...
He wants to send me to work and look after DS nimself...not a chance buster!!...I love being at home!..but ask me in a few more years!!
My DP is a Scaffolder which suits him as he acts like a monkey at times, but he would love to take over his dads business and become a professional fisherman (He hates being stuck inside)
SweetSerenity
03-12-2005, 20:37
My hubby works in a timber yard. He cuts the orders, loads them etc...very physical work...he's got the arms to show it ;)
When he's not working, he's playing or watching cricket lol
Nat xxx
Ffrenchknickers
03-12-2005, 22:13
My hubby is a phlebotomist at the Mater hospital....he ia also in the process of strating up a photography business:)
Cheyenne's*Mummy
03-12-2005, 22:44
My DP is a 3rd Year Apprentice Baker right now. He will be fully qualified at the end of next year.
It's good cos he comes home by 10 in the morning but then, he brings home all that yummy stuff that i should stay away from :D
He wants to send me to work and look after DS nimself...not a chance buster!!...I love being at home!..but ask me in a few more years!!
My hubby's thoughts also!!
I told him if he has the next baby then he can stay home ;)
My hubby is a phlebotomist at the Mater hospital....he ia also in the process of strating up a photography business:)
What is a 'phlebotomist'??
My DH is a great lay.................he's a bricklayer.
My DH manages a supermarket!
What is a 'phlebotomist'??
A phlebotomist is someone who takes blood. I think they're also qualified to do tests on it as well but I could be wrong.
My hubby is a boilermaker. It's fantastic to have a tradesman around the house. Nothing is ever too much trouble to fix, repair, make etc but give him a bill and he is completely lost!!
He is very artistic too.....makes gorgeous candelabras and entertainment buckets. In fact he did them for our wedding. Hours and hours of work!
He's just the best really :p
Ffrenchknickers
05-12-2005, 18:22
Haha yeah, he takes blood and sticks needles in people, does all kinds of yucky tests, puts iv drips in newborn babies :eek: .....Yucky stuff but someon's gotta do it!
05-12-2005, 18:29
My hubby is an Electronic Technician in the Navy. He plays with sonars, radars, underwater telephones and anti-missile launchers.
alicesmum
05-12-2005, 18:33
environmental lawyer.
sounds noble but mainly involves battles with folks over trees being cut down, smells being emitted from piggeries, and noises being generated by macadamia nut farms etc.
while preggers with #1 i was his PA (never again!) and i had to do some couriering to this salami factory that was objecting to townhouses being built next door as they wanted to prevent any future action against them because of the smell. and what a smell!! it was sooooo bad. like pure 100% old dead rotting pig! :eek: and i was pregnant so my sense of smell was 10 times better than usual. One day I just had to stay in my car, call the secretary of the company on my mobile phone and ask her to come out the front and collect the paperwork i had for her because i couldn't even go in the front door to reception....that's how bad the smell was!!!!!!!!!! (i hope the people who bought those townhouses are okay!)
:p
Hmm think I might put that piece of salami down.
Can you manage to eat salami now?
alicesmum
05-12-2005, 18:39
not a big salami fan anyway (don't mind it on pizzas).
when we went down to this macadamia nut farm near lismore though i ate so many macadmaia nuts (they are so cheap, just buy them off the side of the road in huge bags) that i couldn't eat any more for a while after that!!!! :p
07-12-2005, 19:48
My hubby is a surveyors assistant. He's currently at TAFE to get the Diploma in surveying.
Hey there,....who does your hubby work for? That is also my industry,..and though I have been on extended leave,.I know most of the people in Aust. who do the same thing!
My hubby is a Garden Stylist,. Creating gardens and environments to suit peoples personalities and lifestyles,... and he kinda looks like Jamie Durie,..I reckon he should have a TV show!!!!!
My Fiance is a Timber Cutter but also cuts posts and runs a Portable Lucas Mill. He works long hours aswell. Usually 7 days a week but hasn't worked much in the last couple of weeks due to the rain.
Samaras Mummy
10-12-2005, 21:19
My DP is a Concreter / Roof Tiler / Boatbuilder But is currently working in a factory producing bricks atm.
onabreak
12-12-2005, 16:28
My husband (and I) have our own business. My husband is a refrigeration mechanic and installs air-conditioners for a living. He is contracted by a major company in Brisbane and currently booked out 3 weeks in advance. Hubby has had his own business now for 3 years and it is getting bigger every year. As the weather is getting hotter here is Brisvegas more and more people are wanting air-conditioning so it is a great business to be in.
We currently employ 6 people and eventually the business will be big enough where the employees can do the work for us and the business can run itself and my hubby can be at home running his dream business restoring and working on cars.
My DH is a process technician/cell controller at our local aluminium smelter, he has been in the same place for almost 9 years now before that he was a medic in the army.
Catherine
My DP is also a process tech at an aluminium plant. just went team leader :p
Catherine, where about are you from?
Its so interesting hearing all the different types of jobs!
20-12-2005, 00:03
My gorgeous man works in the financial field & no not for a bank :p
He is basically the last person who sees your loan & either makes sure it goes through or denies it !!!!! :eek: With that he also has to deal with lawyers & other institutions to make sure funding etc goes through & all the legals are correct as he is actually someone who does care about people not getting stuffed around especially when all they are trying to do is buy their "dream".
He is also the run to man for everything else in the company !!!!!
Good to see some people know how to do their jobs as well as everyone elses ! :confused:
I keep telling him to ask when they are giving him a pay rise to coincide with all the extra work & time he puts in but he seems to think it could be a bad thing to so i will keep dreaming about us selling this place & building our "dream" ;)