View Full Version : Here it is: a menu plan for the week ahead.
MammaMia
24-02-2007, 16:25
Some time ago, I asked if any BHers would be interested in submitting weekly recipe plans to help us all juggle the dinner dilemma.
As usual, life interfered and despite the interest, I didn't get back to it....until now.
I have prepared 7 meals for the next week that my little family (DH, 4 yo DS and 17 mth old DD) and I will be eating. They are low-calorie, low fat, moderate carb, tasty, tried & true recipes. They're simple!
If anyone else feels the urge to contribute a dinner plan for a week that would be very much appreciated!!
Signed
I love that Swedish chef from The Muppets
Whatever happened to him?
Chinese cabbage & pork stirfry
Serves 4
Olive oil cooking spray
2 garlic cloves crushed
500g pork mince (or lean lamb or chicken mince)
3cm piece ginger, peeled, grated
300g Chinese cabbage (wombok), shredded
1 red capsicum
4 green onions, sliced diagonally
120g snow peas, trimmed, thinly sliced
¼ cup hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon warm water
1. Heat wok over high heat until hot. Lightly spray with oil. Add garlic and mince. Stir-fry, breaking up mince for 2 -3 minutes until browned. Transfer to a plate and set aside.
2. Lightly spray wok with oil again. Add ginger, cabbage, capsicum, green onions and snow peas. Stir-fry for 3 – 4 minutes until just tender. Return mince to wok.
3. Combine hoisin sauce and warm water. Add to mince mixture. Stir fry for 1 minute or until heated.
Nutrition per serve: 1097kj, 4.1g sat fat, 28.5g protein, 10.6g carbs, 4.5g fibre
Chicken & sesame salad
Serves 4
1 barbecued chicken
120g baby spinach
1 large carrot, peeled, thinly sliced
4 green onions, thinly sliced
2 bunches asparagus, trimmed, cut into thirds
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted
Dressing
1/3 cup fresh orange juice
2 tbls tahini
1. Remove meat from chicken & shred. Add spinach, carrot & green onions.
2. Blanch asparagus.
3. Make dressing – whisk together orange juice, tahini & salt and pepper.
4. Add asparagus and dressing to chicken mixture. Toss to combine. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.
1300kj, 16.7g fat, 3.4g sat fat, 33.5g protein, 4.7g carbs, 4.5g fibre
Tuna and macaroni bake
Serves 4
145g (1 cup) macaroni pasta
1 tablespoon butter
1 brown onion, finely chopped
2 tablespoons plain flour
2 cups skim milk
1 tablespoon wholegrain mustard
½ cup grated light tasty cheese
Can tuna, in spring water
2 tablespoons flat-leaf parsley, chopped
½ cup wholegrain breadcrumbs
Steamed vegetables, to serve
1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a ovenproof dish. Cook pasta and drain.
2. Melt butter. Add onion. Cook. Add flour. Remove from heat. Make white sauce.
3. Remove from heat, stir in mustard, cheese, tuna, parsley and pasta. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon mixture into prepared dish. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until top is golden.
Sesame Beef with noodles
Serves 4
450g hokkien noodles
300g broccoli, chopped
400g beef strips
2tsp minced garlic, 2tbs sesame seeds
¼ cup oyster sauce
¼ cup sweet chilli sauce
1. Prepare the noodles.
2. Cook the broccoli in the wok until tender, yet crisp. Remove.
3. Cook beef strips & garlic in the wok until the beef is tender – about 3 -4 minutes. Remove from pan.
4. Add the sesame seeds to the pan and cook until golden. Return to the pan with the sauces, broccoli and noodles. Gently stir until heated through.
Creamy Salmon and Pumpkin Pasta
Serves 4
4spring onions, finely sliced
1tsp minced garlic
1 ¼ cups low-fat evaporated milk
1tbs cornflour
2tbs water
1 large can pink salmon, flaked with skin & bones removed
2 cups cubed pumpkin (2cm), microwaved or steamed until tender
4 cups cooked pasta shells, hot
2tbs flat leaf parsley, chopped
1. Coat pan with cooking spray and heat. Cook the spring onions & garlic for 2 minutes while stirring.
2. Add the evaporated milk to the frypan and bring to the boil. Mix the cornflour with 2 tablespoons of water and stire in. Cook, while stirring, for 3 minutes or until thickened.
3. Stir in the salmon and pumpkin and heat through. Mix in the hot cooked pasta. Serve with parsley on top and a green salad.
Chilli Chicken & Sweetcorn Meatballs
Serves 4
450g chicken mince
4 spring onions
1 small red chilli, finely chopped & deseeded
Small piece ginger, finely chopped
100g sweet corn
Sauce:
150ml chicken stock
100g pineapple in natural juice, drained, with 4tbsp reserved juice
1 medium carrot, cut into thin strips
1 small red capsicum, diced
1 small green capsicum, diced
1 tbsp light soy sauce
2tbs rice vinegar
1 tbsp caster sugar
1 tbs tomato paste
2 tsp corn flour mixed to a paste with 4 tsp cold water.
1. To make the meatballs: place the chicken in a bowl with spring onions, chilli, ginger, seasoning and sweetcorn. Mix together. Form into 16 balls. Bring a saucepan of water to the boil. Arrange the meatballs on a piece of baking paper in a steamer or large sieve, place over the water, cover and steam for 10 – 12 minutes.
2. To make the sauce, pour the stock and pineapple juice into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Add the carrot and capsicum, cover and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in the remaining ingredients and heat through, stirring, until thickened. Season and set aside until required.
3. Drain the meatballs. Serve with boiled rice and the sauce.
Easy Meatloaf
Serves 6
750g extra-lean beef mince
1 onion, finely chopped
2tsp minced garlic
1 ½ cups soft breadcrumbs
4 tsp mixed herbs
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tbs Dijon mustard
1 ½ cups bottled tomato pasta sauce
1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Place the mince, onion, garlic, breadcrumbs, and herbs in a bowl and mix well.
2. Add the egg and mustard and season with salt and pepper. Shape into a sausage shape about 7cm in diameter. Lay a double sheet of foil on a flat surface & coat with cooking spray. Wrap the meat tightly in the foil, place in a baking tin and bake for 1 hour.
3. Leave to stand for 5 minutes before removing the foil. Meanwhile, heat the tomato sauce in a pan. Cut the moatloaf into thick slices and serve with the tomato sauce. Accompany with green vegetables.
jasminesmum
24-02-2007, 16:34
They look yum! I will be printing them off.
I will try and get back later and write some of mine out.
well that makes it easy for next week. i will just take this shopping with me to make sure i get all the ingred.
pickles
dd 02/03
ds 03/05
SmileyBJ
24-02-2007, 20:26
I have 5 days planed so far while I'm staying with my rents I'm cooking for them all... Sorry I don't have the chance to write the recipies yet though. Pm if you'd like me 2 type them out for you Im more then happy to! :)
Vegetable bake (Pumpkin/potatoe/peas/corn/egg) & teryaki chicken legs
Spaghetti & meatballs
Vegetarian Pizza (Capsicum/pineapple/mushroom/herbs/tofu/onion ect)
Steamed fish (with lemon, pepper & herbs)
BBq (sausages,hamburgers,halved peaches,cornfritters)
jembelina
24-02-2007, 20:35
Here's this weeks menu at my house........
sat - tacos
sun- snags, pasta salad, salad
mon - vegie stir fry
tues- fish, salad, potatoes
wed - chicken teriyaki, salad, pots
thu - cream and bacon pasta
fri- cold meat salad with the absolute works
sat- homemade pizza
MonkeyMum05
24-02-2007, 21:07
Here is our meal plan for the next week....
Tonight - Satay Vegetable Pizza ( I will post the recipe for this at some stage... it is beautiful!!)
Sunday - Bean enchiladas with rice and salad
Monday - Fish, Salad and a baked spud!
Tuesday - Pumpkin and Eggplant Curry, with brown rice
Wednesday - Wholemeal pasta with homemade vegetable and lentil sauce.
Thursday night - Leftovers/toasted sangers/soup... whatever, don't care, do it yourself!
Friday - Vege Burgers
monkeymum could you share your pumpkin/eggplant curry recipe please....sounds delicious
lachys_mama
25-02-2007, 05:29
tonight: bean enchiladas with salad
monday: roast lamb with herbed vegies
tuesday: pork chops stuffed with garlic, home made apple sauce and vegies
wednesday: pumpkin, spinach, rocket and feta fritatta
thursday: vegetarian spaghetti
friday: fend for yourself I'm having the night off dangit!
saturday: home made calzones with salad
sunday: bbq snags, potato bake, grilled corn, greek salad, marinated steak etc
I can't offer a menu plan but want to say thanks to MM for the first recipe - it solved my dilemma of what to do with my pork mince and we had it tonight - very yumbo (to quote my children!)
25-02-2007, 21:32
One: Quiche and Oven Chips
Two: Burrito Stack and Salad
Three: Honey Soy Chicken with rice
Four: Pizza Pasta Bake
Five: Meatloaf, Steamed Vegies
Six: Satay Burgers
Seven: Porcupines
I can type recipes later if anyone needs them.
Isaac's Mummy
26-02-2007, 10:22
One: Quiche and Oven Chips
Two: Burrito Stack and Salad
Three: Honey Soy Chicken with rice
Four: Pizza Pasta Bake
Five: Meatloaf, Steamed Vegies
Six: Satay Burgers
Seven: Porcupines
I can type recipes later if anyone needs them.
ME! ME! I'd love the recipes CK! Thanks:thumbsup:
Blessed Mum
26-02-2007, 10:32
:thumbsup: sounds good ladies - you've inspired me to try a few new things, thanks :)
Saturday: Bacon and Mushroom Pasta Bake
Sunday: Sausage and vege casserole with mashed potato
Monday: Beef and vege Chow mein with noodles
Tuesday: Chicken, rice and vege bake
Wednesday: Tuna Curry casserole, steamed veges
Thursday: Spaghetti Bolognaise
Friday: to be continued...
Can give recipes if anyones interested...We buy meat in bulk and usually have some frozen and fresh vege on hand.:)
buzzing bee
28-02-2007, 11:18
geez, you guys have far more interesting meals than us.
28-02-2007, 17:06
Think I might start planning a weekly meal, some great suggestions here, tonight we're having tuna pasta and tomorrow probably a roast but who knows?
Just a quick question are these meal ideas always the same each week or do they vary? I am thinking about doing a 2 week meal plan (having weekends off for take away or left overs)
so it might look something like this:
week 1:
Mon: sweet and sour pork with rice and stir fry veg
Tue: Mince meat and mashed potato (shepards pie)
Wed: home made chicken burgers with home made chips
Thur: Lasangne (store bought)
Fri: home made fish and chips (fish fingers for Hayley) with veg/salad
Sat: take away
Sun: quick and easy/left overs
week 2:
Mon: sausage and baked bean caserol with mash
Tue: Quiche and salad
Wed: Tuna pasta
Thu: nachos
Fri: roast
Sat: take away
Sun: quick and easy/left overs
alot of Saturdays we have visiotors so we have take away or a bbq and with the left over cooked sausages or whatever we freeze them and have them another night with salad.
Isaac's Mummy
10-03-2007, 07:33
Just wanted to say a huge THANK YOU to MammaMia for the menu plan:thumbsup:
It was so good having new recipes to try that were quick, easy and healthy:yelclap: . And shopping was so simple - just print off the list and off we went!
So, who's next? :laughing: Anyone else care to type up their recipes for the next week so that I can be totally unoriginal and lazy and just print off those recipes when I go shopping this arvo?!
MammaMia
12-03-2007, 15:04
No problems, Isaac's Mummy!
I'm trying to build up a cycle of menu plans, so just tackling it slowly.
It certainly made my life a little easier in the shopping and thinking what to prepare department.
Here is my Week 2 plan. Hope it also provides some meals that please the taste buds.
Corn & Capsicum Pasta Salad
Serves 4
240g spiral pasta
310g can corn kernels, rinsed & drained
Punnet cherry tomatoes
3 green shallots, finely chopped
2 celery sticks, chopped
1 large red (or whatever is the best price) capsicum, finely chopped
4 tbs low-fat yoghurt
4 tbs low-fat cottage cheese
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 tbs lemon / lime juice
4 tbs chopped fresh flat leaf parsley
4 tbs chopped fresh coriander
Cook pasta until al dente. Refresh under cold running water.
Add vegetables and season with salt and pepper.
Combine the youghurt, cheese, garlic, juice and half the herbs in a small bowl.
Drizzle dressing over pasta mixture. Spoon into serving bowls & sprinkle with remaining herbs.
Chicken & Apricot Bake
Serves 4
8 chicken drumsticks, skin removed
1 packet French onion soup mix
1 onion, cut into thin wedges
410g can apricot halves
Place the chicken drumsticks & onion in a casserole dish
Sprinkle with the soup mix and pour the apricots and juice over the top.
Bake in a moderate oven for approximately 60 minutes.
Serve with green vegetables, and for my kids, mashed potatoes.
Smokey bacon & pumpkin pizza
Serves 4 – 6
400g pumpkin, peeled & chopped
1 medium red onion, sliced
300g plain pizza base (or large pita bread)
¾ cup barbecue bacon salsa (or plain if you prefer)
9 slices short cut bacon, chopped
80g low fat cheese, grates
2 tbs black olives, pitted, sliced
1 handful of rocket
Preheat oven to 200°C. Combine the pumpkin and onion. Spray with olive oil spray and toss to combine. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until the pumpkin is tender. Remove from oven and increase heat to 220°C.
Cover the pizza base with the salsa. Arrange the pumpkin, onion and bacon over the top. Sprinkle with the cheese and olives.
Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes. Scatter with rocket and serve.
Zucchini Slice
Serves 6 ~ can make night before
2 packed cups grated zucchini
¾ cup self raising flour
2 cups mixed vegetables (eg grated carrot, diced capsicum, celery)
1 ½ cups (110g) low fat cheese
½ cup frozen peas
½ cup frozen corn kernels
2 whole eggs
3 egg whites
1 diced onion
1 cup (120g ) diced lean ham
Preheat oven to 180°.
In a large bowl, add all ingredients except the cheese. Add 2/3 of cheese mixture. Mix well. Coat quiche dish with cooking spray. Spoon mixture into dish and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Bake 35 – 40 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with salad.
Beef & Vegetable Pie
Serves 4 – 6
500g diet mince
1 cup each of finely chopped onion, grated carrot, grated zucchini
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup frozen corn kernels
3 tablespoons low-calorie gravy powder
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablepoon tomato sauce
2 teaspoons beef stock powder
2 cups hot water ¼ cup water
7 sheets filo pastry
Cooking spray
Filling: brown mince. Remove. Saute onions, then add vegetables and cook for further 2 minutes. Blend stock powder in hot water, add to the pot and bring to the boil. Simmer, covered, for 5 minutes. Stir in sauces. Mix gravy powder with ¼ cup water, stir quickly into pot. Add minces, stir well, leave to cool.
Preheat oven to 200°C. Spray pie dish with cooking spray. Fold out pastry sheets and cut in half. Layer pie dish with 8 cut sheets of pastry, rotating, and spraying with cooking spray between each sheet. Spon mince mixture on top. With remain sheets, repeat layering process, crinkle edge together, spraying with cooking spray. Cut small slit in top of pastry. Cook 30 – 35 minutes and serve immediately.
Quick mushroom risotto
Serves 4
1 tbs olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tsp minced garlic
300g Arborio rice
3 ½ cups water
2 chicken stock cubes
125g button mushrooms, sliced
1 carrot, diced
2 medium zucchini, chopped
1 bunch bok choy, trimmed
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
40 black olive, drained and sliced
30g parmesan cheese, grated
Heat the oil and cook the onion and garlic. Cook until onion is soft. Stir in rice and coat with the oil.
Add the water and stock cubes, and simmer, covered for 10 minutes. Remove from the heat, and stir into the vegetables. Cook gently for 5 minutes. All t stand for 10 minutes, covered. Add the olives. Return rice to heat until hot. Serve sprinkled with the cheese.
Chicken rissoles with Cabbage Salad
Serves 4
500 grams chicken mince
½ small onion, very finely chopped
1 green chilli, seeded and finely chopped
¼ cup mint, chopped
1 tsp ground cumin
2 cups cabbage, shredded
1 carrot, grated
1 cup bean sprouts trimmed
2 tbs Weight Watchers Honey & Mustard dressing
Combine the chicken mince, onion, chilli, mint and ground cumin. Season with salt and pepper and shape into 8 rissoles. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
Heat pan and cook the rissoles.
Toss together cabbage, carrot & bean sprouts and dressing.
Serve 2 rissoles per person on bed of cabbage salad.
*babygirl*
14-03-2007, 23:24
hey everyone... some of these meals sound absoloutely delish!!!
heres what we're having this week...
Monday: lemon pepper grilled chicken breast with balsamic and garlic green beans and rosmary baked potatoes.
Tuesday: chicken ceasar salad
Wednesday: Garlic bread(homemade) with beef and veg soup. ( from scratch.)
Thursday: beef stir fry- w/ bok choy, carrots, mushys,zuchinni,onion,capsicum,brocolini,
babycorn,celery etc...
Friday: roast Lamb with rosmary spiced roast veges, silverbeet, cauliflour and borcolini.
Saturday: vegetarian lasagne with green bean, tomato, bochinni and basil salad.
Sunday: potato bake, steak and silverbeet and honey carrots.
if anyone wants more detailed recipies please feel free to PM me lol...
ThreePinkFaireez
15-03-2007, 09:49
OK guys, got a tough one LOL....
We are tryin to eat as healthy as we can.... but my DH is quite picky and will not eat pasta, rice, soups, casseroles, curries or anything like that.....
So that leaves us with 3 meat and vege, salads or sangas lol... anyone got some yummy, healthy recipes that dont' involve the above?? LOL Thanks!!
Isaac's Mummy
17-03-2007, 20:10
MammaMia - you are amazing:thumbsup:
Thanks for coming to the rescue yet again! These recipes sound delicious. Makes life so much easier for DH and I now that I'm back at work!
Can't wait to try these recipes:D
whatwasithinking
17-03-2007, 20:23
Thank you so much for starting this thread MM. I have already PM'd three ladies for their yummy meals recipies.
I hope I can improve our family eating as compared to most of you ladies - our family does not eat too good. :o
Hopefully I can pick up my game with a bit of help from my bubhubbian friends. :fingerscrossed: :D
lachys_mama
17-03-2007, 20:47
tonight(saturday) chicken and mushroom risotto
sunday bacon, tomato and rocket spaghetti
monday spinach and feta pie
tuesday vegetable lentil curry
wednesday chorizo, ham, mozarella pizza
thursday fettucine boscaiola
friday tortilla stack with salad
stilldreaming
17-03-2007, 22:28
tonight(saturday) chicken and mushroom risotto
sunday bacon, tomato and rocket spaghetti
monday spinach and feta pie
tuesday vegetable lentil curry
wednesday chorizo, ham, mozarella pizza
thursday fettucine boscaiola
friday tortilla stack with salad
ooh Can I please have the recipe for the vegetable lentil curry and the fettucine boscaiola???
Sounds yummy!:yes:
2girls&1boy
18-04-2007, 09:13
Thanks for the great ideas. I love this thread so much I want to keep it alive so I have got my plan for the week. Nothing as interesting as a lot of you but my 2 1/2 year old eats them all and that is the biggest hurdle at the moment:
Here it goes:
Thur: Tuna Mornay & Rice
Frid: Home Made Pizza
Sat: Home Made hamburgers
Sun: Roast Chicken & vegetables - jelly & icecream 4 dessert
Mon: Easy quiche & Salad
Tues: Beef Goulash & Vegetables
Wed: Sweet & sour chicken & rice.
Any recipes you might like I can give them to you.
Paula
Isaac's Mummy
18-04-2007, 09:23
Thanks for the great ideas. I love this thread so much I want to keep it alive so I have got my plan for the week. Nothing as interesting as a lot of you but my 2 1/2 year old eats them all and that is the biggest hurdle at the moment:
Here it goes:
Paula
I love this thread too! I've gotten so many great ideas.
Paula, I'd love all of these recipes if you have the time!!
Jax Tellers Old Lady
19-04-2007, 07:56
You have all inspired me and i have done a meal plan for the week.
Chicken,mushroom and avacado fettucine
Lamb cutlets and minted potato salad
home made pizzas
Home made hamburgers
Roast lamb
Curried chicken
Tuna and macaroni bake
I have done mine for next week
Monday: Chicken tacos
Tuesday: Honey Mustard Herb Baked pork Cutlets with steamed vegies
Wednesday: Bacon, Mushroom, Tomato and fresh herbs Pasta
Thursday: Sweet N Sour Pork
Friday: Swiss steak Crockpot style with rice
Saturday: Crockpot Roast chicken with roasted vegies
Sunday: Left over Roast Chicken Foccacias
This is the most helpful thread I have come across in ages! I have so many ideas now, and all quite simple things I know I can make.
It is so easy to prepare your own meal plan when you look at others for ideas!
Thanks so much for this thread and keep them coming!!!:thumbsup:
Amberlea
19-04-2007, 19:04
*drools over some of the ideas*
I do most of our meals with either salad or veges depending on my mood.
*Salsa flavoured pork schitzels topped with taco sauce and melted cheese (I use taco sauce because tomato paste is too strong for me) and veges.
* Chicken Kievs
* Chicken tacos
* Kangaroo sausages with caesar salad
* Chicken and Mushroom strudel
* Homemade fettucini cabonara
* Beef and thyme burgers
One day will most likely be takeaway or leftovers of some description - or baked potatoes with sour cream/fresh herbs and shallots.
hayleylea
19-04-2007, 19:19
*drools over some of the ideas*
I do most of our meals with either salad or veges depending on my mood.
*Salsa flavoured pork schitzels topped with taco sauce and melted cheese (I use taco sauce because tomato paste is too strong for me) and veges.
* Chicken Kievs
* Chicken tacos
* Kangaroo sausages with caesar salad
* Chicken and Mushroom strudel
* Homemade fettucini cabonara
* Beef and thyme burgers
One day will most likely be takeaway or leftovers of some description - or baked potatoes with sour cream/fresh herbs and shallots.
What a great thread. Id love the recipe for the chicken and mushroom strudel! Please :D
This thread is great :thumbsup: thanks for giving me some new ideas.
Here's what we are eating for the next week or so. I usually just work out what is in the freezer then make a list of 7 meals each week using whatever is in there first.
~ Pork stir fry, inc heaps of veges and noodles.
~ Fish cakes (homemade, don't have a recipe for these tho, kinda just throw the stuff in til it looks the way mums always do)
~ Roast chicken, roast veges (potato, pumpkin, carrots, sweet potato, onion) peas (if I can be bothered), gravy, bread rolls
~ Sausages, mashed potato, steamed veges
~ Marinated steak, vege quiche (kinda like zucchini slice but with more veges) & maybe salad or chips if I can be bothered
~ Veal snitzels, mashed potato, peas, carrots
~ Pork chops, pasta (packet pasta & sauce thing), steamed veges...or veges cooked in with the pasta
~ Hot dogs, cheese, onion, sauces etc...
Some nights DH isn't home for dinner so I either cook something that can be frozen if he doesn't eat when he gets home (eg spag bol) or the kids and I just have something that is already in the freezer and is easy to reheat. Some of the quick, easy meals we have on these nights are
~ Homemade chicken nuggets (I make a big batch then freeze them) with veges or salad & homemade chips
~ Fish fingers or similar, lately kids are into 'Golden Hoops' which are fish & veges, with veges or salad & homemade chips
~ Scrambled Eggs
~ Homemade mini pizzas
~ Pasta mixed with a small tin of flavored tuna
You ladies cook yummy meals.:yes:
Amberlea
20-04-2007, 17:39
Chicken and Mushroom Strudel
(as requested :D)
30g butter
1 Tablespoon olive oil
125g mushrooms - sliced
1 capsicum - chopped (optional)
6 shallots - sliced
2 cups of BBQ chicken (or cooked chopped breasts/thigh fillets)
3/4 cup sour cream
1/2 cup tasty cheese - grated
1/4 cup parmesan cheese - grated
1 Tablespoon parsley
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste
6 sheets Filo pastry (I actually use more - probably double because I love filo pastry!!)
Heat butter and oil in a pan and saute mushrooms and caspicum until tender, add shallots and remove from heat, place in a bowl.
Add chicken, sour cream, cheeses, mustard, parsley and seasonings, mix until well combined.
Take one sheet of filo - brush with oil, place another on top, brush with more oil - continue until all sheets used.
(for lower fat content - only oil every second or third sheet of filo)
Arrange chicken mix alone one long edge of pastry leaving a gap at each edge to tuck in. Roll up like a swiss roll tucking the ends in as you go.
Brush with oil
Put on greased or paper-lined baking tray.
Bake at 180 for 20-25 mins until golden.
Serve with salad or veges.
Chickadee
03-05-2007, 15:13
I apologise, these may not be the most creative, the cheapest, or the healthiest. But all the weekday dinners are ready in 30 minutes or less. :thumbsup: I'm sure if you had a bigger fridge/freezer than me or were more organised at weekends it could be improved.
This is this week:
Saturday - BBQ sweet chili chicken thighs, with veg (make enough chicken for leftovers)
Sunday - Pork tenderloin roast, scalloped potatoes, fresh steamed veg. (buy a big enough roast for leftovers)
Monday - Leftovers: sliced bbq chicken and pork roast, scalloped potatoes. Salad and/or peas & corn out of the freezer.
Tues - Ravioli with tomato vegetable sauce. Last remains of scalloped potatoes to DD. Salad, steamed green beans.
Wed - Buy a supermarket/deli roast chook at lunch or on the way home. Oven chips, corn from the freezer.
Thurs - Leftover roast chicken, rice and veg mountains for DD. Chicken caesar salad and rice for adults.
Fri - take out!
SassyMummy
03-05-2007, 16:46
Don't have any SPECIFIC days that these will be made... but my upcoming week will have...
Tortilla Stack with Guac and sour cream
Pork Stir-Fry with Bok Choy, Snow Peas and Red Capsicum... with rice and a Continental Flavour Base (Vietnamese one - lemongrass and chilli).
Hotdogs (you know, sauce, cheese, buns...etc)
Felafel Burgers (made with chickpeas and such)
Fish Bake - veg pasta sauce and herbed crumbs on white fish fillets, with brocollini
Baked Potatoes with Baked Beans and Cheese topping
Probably have take-away one night, but I also have "back-ups" like spaghetti ingredients and chicken drumsticks and frozen veg and stuff.
Will also be making some pineapple and carrot mini muffins as well... just for snacks. (Maybe some low-fat choc brownies I've been planning to make for a few weeks now...lol).
can u please post the recipe for the pineapple and carrot mini muffins??? thanks heaps ! :smiliedance:
SassyMummy
03-05-2007, 21:41
Mini Pineapple and Carrot Cakes
Okay...(Makes 24 mini-cakes)
1/3 cup plain flour
1/2 cup SR flour
1/2 teaspoon bicarb
1/4 cup caster sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
225g can crushed pineapple, drained
2/3 cup (160g) firmly packed finely grated carrot
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg, lightly beaten
Cream Cheese Icing:
125g cream cheese, softened (not jar of cheese stuff, like philadelphia or something)
1 tablespoon icing sugar mixture
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons milk
Method:
1. Preheat oven to 180. Grease two 12-hole mini-muffin pans.
2. Sift flours, soda, sugar and cinnamon into medium bowl. Add pineapple and carrot. Sir in combined oil and egg (do not over mix).
3. Divide mixture into muffin holes. Bake, uncovered, for about 15 minutes. Stand muffins in pans for 5 mins then tip out and cool on wire rack.
4. When cool, combine ingredients for icing in small bowl. Spread on cooled muffins.
It's from the Womens Weekly Baby and Toddlers cookbook... there's also some apple, banana and chocolate (ABC) mini-muffins that i like making for DD, and pumpkin & cheese scones.
Cordelia
04-05-2007, 10:14
What a cool thread!! I've gone nuts and written out this week's recipes for you guys seeing as everyone else has been so helpful!! Some of these recipes are my versions of weight watchers recipes.
Sunday - (we go to my parents for dinner!)
Monday - Corned Beef
Chuck the following in the slow cooker in the morning:
Corned Beef (obviously)
1 onion with 8 cloves jammed into it
1 bay leaf
a squirt of golden syrup
some potatoes and carrots
some black peppercorns
bit of vinegar
and I serve it with a basic white sauce with some dijon mustard stirred through. DH has been having this all week in his sangas...
Tuesday - Greek Lemon Chicken
8 Chicken thighs
2 tablespoons worth of lemon juice
1/2 cup chicken stock
couple of cloves of garlic
oregano
some potatoes quartered.
marinate everything (except for the potatoes) for at least 2 hours.... chuck it all in the oven with a spray of oil for 45 minutes and we had it with a greek salad.
Wednesday - Lamb Kebabs and Cous Cous with spicy vegetables
We bought the lamb kebabs (cheaty!) but sometimes I make them....
Chuck some veges on an oven tray - I used capsicum, onion, pumpkin, sweet potato and potato... big veges are cubed. Spray them with oil and add a mixture of cumin, coriander and chilli flakes. Toss it all around and put in the oven for 45 minutes. Toss 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar in with them when you get them out of the oven.
Put 200g raw cous cous in a bowl and add 1/2 cup of stock.. cover and leave for 5 minutes.
Mix it all up together and put the lamb kebabs on top - YUM
Thursday - Chicken and potato salad.
Mix the following up:
roasted potatoes (cooled)
some bacon
cooked chicken (cooled) (I roast 2 breasts with oil and salt and pepper in the oven with the potatoes)
1/2 a container of sour cream
squirt of mayonaise
mustard to taste (I use about a tablespoon)
something green - chives or parsley.
YUM
Friday - Spaghetti Bolagnaise
Chuck the following in the slow cooker in the morning:
mince
onions
garlic
carrots
celery
can of tomatoes
tomato paste
chillli (my Dh likes it a bit spicy)
italian herbs
worcestshire sauce
salt & pepper
serve with spag that night.
Saturdays - Frozen Leftovers
I always freeze leftovers in single portions so there's a buffet of meals to choose from when I can't be bothered cooking! Yoiu can get like 100 containers for $7 at chinese speciality shops. We love it!
Thanks for inspiring me, I've just written a couple more recipes into my book to try in the next few weeks :thumbsup:
I feel like I've hardly cooked this week, we had frozen lasange last night, oven bake fish the night before, saugases in bread before that :laughing: I've been so slack this week.
Next week we have
~ Kangaroo steaks, probably with some slalads...potato or pasta or rice salad and lettuce and stuff.
~ Chicken wrapped in filo (has yummy mushroom stuff in there too), with steamed veges.
~ Honey mustard pork chops, with apple/apple & pear sauce, and steamed veges.
~ Homemade spring rolls (either chicken or beef & heaps of veges) with chips & salad or steamed veges.
~ Marinated steak, potato bake & steamed veges.
~ Shepards pie, I put heaps of veges into it.
~ Tacos, heaps of salad stuff to go in them.
Oh, and tonight we are having pork snitzels, mashed potato & steamed green beans, butter beans & carrots.
Stargazer Lily
05-05-2007, 19:31
my 2 1/2 year old eats them all and that is the biggest hurdle at the moment:
Paula
Hi Paula - I'd love to see the recipes if you have the time?:fingerscrossed: They all sound like things I could convince my 3 year old to eat (and maybe my 15mth old too!)
thanks in advance!
ps. thanks to everyone who has posted their recipes - you have given hubby and me lots of great new ideas to try
MonkeyMum05
05-05-2007, 21:56
I haven't done one of these for a while... but here is our meals for the week...
(Oh, and apologies to the bubhubber who asked for my curry recipe!! I deleted your PM by accident, and couldn't rememebr your username to send the reply!!)
- Mushroom Risotto (Brown rice mushies, vege stock etc)
- Bean Enchiladas and salad
- Vege Sausages, a baked spud (probably with sour cream) and vegetables (ya can't get too many veges, lol)
- Fish, chips and salad
- Pumpkin, spinach and chickpea curry with brown rice
-Salad with toasted nuts, cheese and some yummy bread!
(hmm... this is souding a lot like my last menu plan...)
-
-
m0nal1sa
06-05-2007, 05:11
Here is our menu plan for the week in no particular order. dh does most of the cooking, but I am doing first on the list:
mexican-style homemade hamburgers
prawn laksa
chicken and mushroom lasagna
homemade pizza (store bought base)
roast sweet potato risotto
grilled salmon fillets with lemon rice and steamed vegies
roast chicken with roast vegies
m0na
Phyllis Stein
12-05-2007, 16:17
Great thread :thumbsup:
1. Chick pea, pumpkin & green bean casserole
2. Marinated tofu & vege stir-fry
3. Grilled haloumi & sweet potato salad
4. Spaghetti with lentil sauce; salad; garlic bread
5. Vege & lentil curry
6. Spinach, tomato & ricotta cannelloni; salad
7. Marinated tofu burgers
Wish_Bear
16-05-2007, 19:53
Am loving this thread ladies!
Has made me sit down and write out my recipes for the next 7 days. So here goes...(I'm out 2moro night so mine will start from Friday).
Friday...Mince Burrittos
Saturday... MamaMia's Beef Pie
Sunday... Baked Potatoes
Monday...Chicken and vegetable Noodle Stir Fry in Oyster Sauce
Tuesday...Chicken and vegetable soup and garlic foccacia toasts
Wednesday... Apricot Chicken and Rice
Thursday... Beef and vegetable Stew
Well thats the plan anyway..we'll see if i stick to it :D
EmsMum72
16-05-2007, 20:14
What a great thread, here's my weekly menu plan (I'm also going out tomorrow so will start it from Fri nite).
Friday - chicken schnitzel (topped with chopped tomato, ham & light cheese under the grill), boiled potatoes & steamed cauli and carrots
Saturday - Beef tacos or beef stroganoff with rice (not sure yet)
Sunday - Roast lamb with roast potatoes, pumpkin, broccoli & beans
Monday - Lasagne with salad & garlic bread
Tuesday - Grilled chicken breast with baked jacket potatoes, and steamed vegies (maybe asparagus & squash)
Wednesday - Lamb & pearl barley soup, with lots of vegies thrown in for extra oomph!
Thursday - Black bean stir fry chicken with udon noodles, OR butterfly pork chops with baked potatoes & vegies (if hubby is chickened out, like he often is - i could eat chicken every nite :yes: )
It's quite possible that this meal plan may not 'go to plan' so possible alternatives would be nachos (hub's favourite), or lamb shanks with a white, parsley sauce with steamed vegies and possibly mashed potatoes!
BlessedWithBlue
17-05-2007, 14:31
oh yummy some great ideas here!!
I don't usually do a meal plan but i have been meaning to forever lol so you all have inspired me!! We have just moved and don't have a working oven, only the stove top works so everything has to be easy lol.
This weeks meal plan-
Mon- Cheese and Bacon Rolls
Tues- Coconut Chicken Curry with rice
Wed- Chicken Teryaki Stir Fry with rice
Thurs- Chilli Con Carne with garlic mashed potatoes
Fri- Corned beef hash with rice
Sat- Apricot chicken with rice
Sun- Chicken, cheese and bacon pasta
As you can see we eat a lot of rice lol
I'm working on next weeks meal plan now lol and have some great ideas now!!!
Amberlea
17-05-2007, 16:59
Crispy skinned salmon steaks with veges
Garlic and chilli chicken caesar salad
Kangaroo honey and soy stir fry
Chorizo, vege and egg bake
Italian stuffed canneloni with tomato and cheese sauce
Pita bread pizzas
Tacos
Tacos
& more Tacos*
(* just kidding - thats how it would be if I had my way though)
EmsMum can I have the recipe for the Lamb and Pearl barley soup please!! my nana used to make one and it was delicious.
mahna mahna - the recipe for the spaghetti with lentil sauce please? I have two packets of lentils and was wondering what to do with them.