View Full Version : Food???

Queen
24-02-2007, 15:52
Just curious what other peoples bubs aged between 12 months-3 yrs ISH eat in a day?
Roughly how much?
and what do they eat?
And how often?

Sorry for the million questions:o Curiousity killed the cat and all that.....:D

Thanks in advance..

MissJanuary
24-02-2007, 16:10
Hi dd is 14mths and she eats,

breakfast

1 maybe two weetbix. or toast and fruit.

m/t yoghurt and fruit & water

Lunch - sandwich and fruit or cheese and a drink of milk

afternoon tea fruit and a biscuit & water

dinner
depends what we have for dinner dds fav it shepards pie or roast meat, last night we have egg and bacon fettuccine which she loved and then afterwards will have some banana custard or a piece of fruit.

dd has been fussy with dinner lately wont eat until we are eating as well she use to have dinner around 5pm but now its more like 6pm when either dh or i are home first

Me
24-02-2007, 20:33
I also have a 14mth old dd who eats the following:

breakfast - 1 piece toast, 3-4 tablespoons yoghurt and 150mls milk.

morning tea - equivalent to 1 med piece fruit, just depends on what daycare are making.

lunch - equivalent to 1 sandwiche, again depends on what daycare are making, could be anything from pasta bake to fritatta's or chicken with rice and vege's.

afternoon tea - equivalent to 1 med piece fruit

late afternoon tea - 1/4 sandwiche

dinner - a child's sized bowl of whatever i make.

desert - some custard or yogurt and 150mls milk.

jembelina
24-02-2007, 21:00
My ds has just turned two. He always eats 2 vita brits for breaky. Throughout the day I let him tell me when he is hungy so he pretty much grazes all day - fruit, sultanas, corn thins, pita bread, dried apples, homemade icypoles, milk. Of course I make him lunch and dinner as well, sometimes he will devour them sometimes not so much. Lunch is usually sandwiches, pita wraps, smoothie or this bean and tuna salad which is his favourite atm. Dinner ranges from a bit of what we are having to toasted sanwiches, baked beans, pasta, salad and cold cuts. I generally follow his lead. Long ago I decided battling over food is a waste of time! I always make sure i have lots of healthy snack options available.Quite often he will want to eat the same thing all day long(usually sultanas and milk!!) but I just offer something else and it is up to him if he takes it or has nothing.
He genrally does most of his snacking in the morning then has lunch aftera sleep then might have something around 4pm then dinner. Oh, and I musn't forget tuesday mornings - baby chino and a fruit scone with nanny at the shops!

mumofcaleb
24-02-2007, 21:10
My ds has just turned two. He always eats 2 vita brits for breaky. Throughout the day I let him tell me when he is hungy so he pretty much grazes all day - fruit, sultanas, corn thins, pita bread, dried apples, homemade icypoles, milk. Of course I make him lunch and dinner as well, sometimes he will devour them sometimes not so much. Lunch is usually sandwiches, pita wraps, smoothie or this bean and tuna salad which is his favourite atm. Dinner ranges from a bit of what we are having to toasted sanwiches, baked beans, pasta, salad and cold cuts. I generally follow his lead. Long ago I decided battling over food is a waste of time! I always make sure i have lots of healthy snack options available.Quite often he will want to eat the same thing all day long(usually sultanas and milk!!) but I just offer something else and it is up to him if he takes it or has nothing.
He genrally does most of his snacking in the morning then has lunch aftera sleep then might have something around 4pm then dinner. Oh, and I musn't forget tuesday mornings - baby chino and a fruit scone with nanny at the shops!

My DS is almost 16 months and he basically eats the exact same..except has loads of porridge for breakfast!!

Natsmummy
24-02-2007, 21:13
What I give DS and what he actually eats are two different things as a lot of it seems to end up on the floor at the moment.

Today I gave him:

2 pieces of toast with melted cheese

An apple (I grated it because he still doesn't have too many teeth)

A few slices of Coon cheese

2 Arnotts shredded wheat biscuits

3 fish fingers

1 potato, carrot & pea rosti

2 corn cobbettes

1 sheet of mountain bread with nutella on it (as a special treat - I only give him this once every few weeks)

It varies day to day though.

lovingmotheract
25-02-2007, 11:10
any thing as she is at that stage now that she will not it anying so it's hard.

Queen
25-02-2007, 15:02
Thanks ladies for those....

I am wondering how much DD should be eating, plus hoping to get some more meal ideas:thumbsup:

It is helping thank you all so much?

Anymore out there, PLEASE:o

mum33
25-02-2007, 16:55
DS 14 months is going through a stage right now and wont eat alot of the things i try and give him. he is refusing alot of the things he previously would eat.

i make sure he has his 2 weetbix in the morning but lately he has been refusing that too so i try and give him wholegrain toast with either vegemite or cheese spread.

during the day i try and offer fruit and sandwiches, we he may or may not eat. i also offer him yogurt, tinned spagetti, spag bol, mashed potato and vegies.

he doesnt like the texture in some foods so refused to eat them, like he wont eat watermelon but i reckon if i have a go at juicing it he'd take it.

i feel like this :banghead: at the moment because i am having so much trouble with him at the moment. he used to be a big eater because he is a big boy but now its so frustrating coz he wont eat anything.

25-02-2007, 19:30
Hayley is 2 this is what she eats:

breakfast: 1 bowl of cereal or 2 pieces of toast OR crumpets/english muffins

morning tea: yogurt/fruit/cheese and cold meat (strass, chicken etc) fruit cake, mueseli bar

lunch: sandwich with cheese/ cheese and vegemite/ cheese and lettuce/ cheese and meat, vegemite or tinned spaghetti OR left overs from dinner if she didn't eat it the night before, sometimes she might just have some fruit and yogurt or a cheese/fruit platter with dry biscuits

afternoon tea: fruit, cheese, yogurt, muesili bar or something healthy

dinner: whatever we're having, meat and veg, pasta, fish, chicken, toasted sangas with cheese, spaghetti on toast etc

dessert (not every night): usually fruit and something like ice-cream/jelly/yogurt/custurd or some cheese.

She has 2 cups of milk each day (sometimes with chocolate in it) 1 cup of juice at lunch and heaps of water (we just leave a cup of water out for her to help herself)

She has gone off fruit lately so that is frusterating (usually loves the stuff) so I am hoping its just a phase.

mama2cierra
25-02-2007, 19:37
oh my god
this'll help me out too, im tearing my hair out :banghead:
my DD wont have dinner anymore!! I spose we give her too much during the day right , so i cut back and she still wont eat her tea! what is going on?
I always feel soo much better when she has a meal at night time . Probably becoz i cant fathom her sleeping 11 hrs with an empty tummy!
and alot of ppl I have met has said that my DD is just skin and bones ! :crying: Im doing evrything i can to get her to eat but to no avail

can anyone suggest anything?

25-02-2007, 21:26
oh my god
this'll help me out too, im tearing my hair out :banghead:
my DD wont have dinner anymore!! I spose we give her too much during the day right , so i cut back and she still wont eat her tea! what is going on?
I always feel soo much better when she has a meal at night time . Probably becoz i cant fathom her sleeping 11 hrs with an empty tummy!
and alot of ppl I have met has said that my DD is just skin and bones ! :crying: Im doing evrything i can to get her to eat but to no avail

Hayley doesn't eat much dinner (or any dinner) some nights but I just think to myself if she eats well in the day it doesn't matter that much (although it DOES get frusterating when you've spend ages over a hot stove) if she doesn't eat her dinner I give her a cup of milk and maybe some fruit (that way at least I know she has something in her tummy before bed) but she doesn't get any special treats (ice-cream, jelly or whatever, though she doesn't always get this anyway even if she DOES eat everything, dessert for her is usually something healthy like fruit and/or yogurt)

~Emmylou~
25-02-2007, 21:29
My DD is two and she eats all day long :rolleyes:
We both need a second job to feed her....her typical day

Breakfast - 150ml milk, 1-2 weetbix, 1-2 pieces of toast with vegemite

Snacks: 1/2 box sultanas, 1/2 muesli bar, cut up fruit (usually some grapes or a whole peach), water

Lunch: milk and a sandwhich - ham/cream cheese, toasted cheese and tomato. OR Noodles, OR pasta, OR last nights leftovers

Snacks: more fruit - apple/banana/peach, cruskit with spread, dried apricots, yoghurt, other half of morning's muesli bar

Dinner: whatever we're having. Meat and veges, stirfry, pasta.

Before bed: 150ml milk.

She eats ALOT.:yes: She grazes pretty much all day and eats three meals as well. Some nights though after all that she just picks at her dinner but I don't stress about it.

Queen
25-02-2007, 21:47
DS 14 months is going through a stage right now and wont eat alot of the things i try and give him. he is refusing alot of the things he previously would eat.
i feel like this :banghead: at the moment because i am having so much trouble with him at the moment. he used to be a big eater because he is a big boy but now its so frustrating coz he wont eat anything.

I know how you feel, hence why I started this thread :laughing: She was sick, then ate everything in sight, but now NOTHING....its so hard...I am looking for inspiration and HOPE.....

and alot of ppl I have met has said that my DD is just skin and bones ! Im doing evrything i can to get her to eat but to no avail

:fingerscrossed: Things pick up.....or someone has a great idea for you here.....

Anyone else? What do you kids eat?

25-02-2007, 22:01
My DD is two and she eats all day long :rolleyes:
We both need a second job to feed her....her typical day

Breakfast - 150ml milk, 1-2 weetbix, 1-2 pieces of toast with vegemite

Snacks: 1/2 box sultanas, 1/2 muesli bar, cut up fruit (usually some grapes or a whole peach), water

Lunch: milk and a sandwhich - ham/cream cheese, toasted cheese and tomato. OR Noodles, OR pasta, OR last nights leftovers

Snacks: more fruit - apple/banana/peach, cruskit with spread, dried apricots, yoghurt, other half of morning's muesli bar

Dinner: whatever we're having. Meat and veges, stirfry, pasta.

Before bed: 150ml milk.

She eats ALOT.:yes: She grazes pretty much all day and eats three meals as well. Some nights though after all that she just picks at her dinner but I don't stress about it.

Yep, sounds alot like Hayley shes always hungry (well except at dinner times lately) she eats lots of healthy foods and some junk as well (in moderation) and she is a thin toddler (was thin baby too) and it gets annoying when ppl think I don't feed her, if only they knew. :rolleyes:

SorenLorensen
25-02-2007, 22:29
hannah is 19 months and does not eat all that often, she is not really into snacks

brekki = 1 wheat-bix and her milk +yogurt

lunch = sandwhich of if she did not want it befor her yogurt and juice + muesli bar or 2 anzac bikies

after noon she will have a bowl of fruit normaly grapes or two fruits

dinner she has what ever we are having or if we have something she cant i will make her spagetti (her fav, my nightmare)

subaruforestermum
25-02-2007, 22:37
This is what my son had yesterday....he's 19 months

Breakfast:
2 Weetbix (sometimes he will have up to 4)
Grapes
Half a banana

Lunch:
Whole Pack of Mac Cheese (those single serve sachets)
Tub Yoghurt

Tea:
Chicken
Peas, Carrot Broccoli in cheese sauce

Snacks throughout the day:
Fun size Milky Way
Bikkies and dip
Cheese
99% Fruit Ice-block
1/2 a Blueberry muffin

And then his milk, water and juice throughout the day.........

Queen
26-02-2007, 15:39
Thank you all for your many posts.....

More are welcome:laughing:

This has helped me, just wanted to see what everyone elses kids we doing, and get some inspiration for meal ideas, when she puts on her "FUSS POT" hat...:laughing:

Thanks again.....anyone else wanna share what their bubs eat???

SassyMummy
26-02-2007, 17:57
Okay... well... here's what she'll be having today (she's 19 months).

2 weetbix and milk

A banana smoothy with 2 bananas
1/2 hot-dog roll with ham and cheese (probably 3 inches in lenght).

A few cubes of cheese (cheese is her fave food)
Some rockmelon

Dinner will probably be pasta with veges, or 2 salmon patties, or pork and apple rice casserole stuff.

She also eats a lot of MY food too... I can't seem to eat without sharing at least 1/3 of it with her. lol.

Miaow
26-02-2007, 18:01
EJs 15 mths and her usual amount of food a day in addition to about 3-4 breastfeed and water throught the day - during the day would be ;

Breakfast - jar of pureed fruit, Approx 1/3 tub yogurt or a petite niam and 1/4 slice toast & vegemite without crusts.

Snacks - Ritz Biscuits or cheese or fresh fruit or a combination.

Lunch - 1/2- 1Large jar of baby food and 1/3 tub yogurt or a petite niam. Sometimes 1 slice bread sandwich with ham without crusts instead of all the jar food

Snacks - as above

Dinner - Similar to lunch - sometimes has soup instead of the jar food.

After dinner snacks - usually a few bits of my dinner.

Doesnt like cereal or things with rice in them much. At present her eatings a little off as her teeth are bothering her.

Sometimes as a treat she'll have a dairy desert (milky bar or milo ones etc) instead of the yoghurt for lunch or dinner.

Dinner tonight that was about 2 tablspoons of soup - shook head no after that and wouldnt have more, 1/2 tub yoghurt - 1/2 of a 1 slice ham sandwich then 2 hours later the rest of the yoghurt 1/3 bottle of spagetti and a biccie lol

SassyMummy
26-02-2007, 18:25
I thought I was pretty lax with DD's eating... but after reading some of the replies, I think I'm pretty strict!

I feel guilty if she eats biscuits or anything.. she pretty much gets fruit, veges, wholemeal cereals/breads/pastas/rice, meat and dairy.

Glad to see other people are giving their kids biscuits and stuff like that... makes me feel like I shouldn't worry so much.

Queen
27-02-2007, 11:04
Sorry girls it just occured to me that I didn't share what my DD eats:o so here you go....

Breaky - 0.5-1 jar of cereal or 0.5-1 Weetbix plus 0.5 piece of toast (of that)

M/tea - Yoghurt 60g-100g plus fruit

Lunch - 0.5-1 jar of vegetables plus some sandwich

Dinner - 0.5-1 jar of vegetables plus some fruit or roast vegetables

Grazing through the day she has dried apple, sultanas, crackers/biscuits.

So very little really.....but she seems happy:rolleyes:

lukaelmo
27-02-2007, 11:16
Okay... yesterday my teeny weeny 19 month old ate:

oats and hot milk (full bowl)
toast (chucked it overboard)
grated cheese (handful)
steamed veggies (four or five largish squares of sweet potato)
chicken (four or five breast slices)
avocado (half)
rice (1/2 bowl)
grapes (10 or so)
biscuit
steak pie (homemade, small slice)
yoghurt (3 tablespoons)
veggies again (1 bowl)

and just water, he won't drink milk.