View Full Version : Camping with Kids

New to Sydney
20-02-2007, 19:13
Hi hubbers,

I was just wondering if anyone has attempted camping with two small children and if so, how did it go? What tips do you have? Where abouts did you go?

Tips, advice would be greatly appreciated.:)

floggadog
20-02-2007, 19:25
Yep been camping with my 2 older ones from as young as a couple of months. only for a couple of nights.
At the beach & a country show. We used the travel cot , had to watch for biting insects, kids running off unseen, took a battery night light, 1 fav toy, good esky or shop near by, plenty of sun protection.
All the commonsense things.
We usually had a great time. Arvo naps were my nap time cause there was no housework:smiliedance: .
Have fun

TwoBoysOnly
21-02-2007, 09:39
Yes we have been camping since DS1 was about 3 months old....just they same as home really but no cleaning...just be prepared for EVERYTHING....take activities and toys the boys like bubbles and sparklers as camping treats.....it's great for them :yes:

kiah
21-02-2007, 09:48
Yep, we take both of our little ones with us.

We have a big tarp that we put up for the kids play area and the porta cot goes under that so princess can play safely if i need to take a quick swim every now and then. We put grass mats down so she can crawl around everywhere.

Jayce sleeps in a swag and we sleep in the tent.

We take Jayce's little work table and chair so he can sit on it and we use it as our bench. Easier for him.

We don't take many toys just fishing rods and buckets and spades and a couple of trucks.

We bath bub in the washing up bucket. And we have a steelframe backpack she sits in that stands up on its own for when we feed her.

Hope that helps.:hugs:

sonlou73
01-03-2007, 15:29
Yes, we've done the camping thing but in a Camper Trailer so kinda the same thing.

On our first trip we came home after two nights. DS1 broke his arm 2 days before trip so he was unpleasant, poor bubba.

Our second trip was at Eden (south-coast NSW). We booked for 15 nights and came home after 9 nights! The first night & last night were bad, other than that the boys were good, but wouldn't have any naps so became quite grizzly and so did I! My problem is that I worry too much about the noise for the other campers. So the last night my DS2 woke up at 2am & wouldn't get back to sleep & that was enough for us - plus it rained 7 out of the 10 days! We sold the camper when we came home and we've decided to give camping another go when the boys are at school.