View Full Version : August 2006 Mums n' Bubs #6

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

missie_mack
20-02-2007, 16:45
I thought they all had to be healthy too(Schools). I tried to be mischievious by telling DH that he could buy his lunch today. I thought I was tricking him into eating healthy food. Well I just asked him what he had for lunch and he looked at me like I was mad and said "meat pie and can of coke" :confused: :confused: My evil plan was foiled again

Beany
20-02-2007, 16:53
Jess: Lots of people get their knickers in a knot about the whole vaccination thing. Especially people in the medical industry. Just smirk at them. It usually p!sses them off enough that they refuse to speak to you anymore :D

And I'm not responding to the lingerie post :no: It would make me have to acknowledge a lack of sex life. Not that I am, I hasten to add! I'm acknowledging nothin'!

jessi
20-02-2007, 17:12
And I'm not responding to the lingerie post :no: It would make me have to acknowledge a lack of sex life. Not that I am, I hasten to add! I'm acknowledging nothin'!

I didnt really expect a reply to that bit... But I thought the fact that im a total gumby on a treadmil and nearly fell off two days in a row would cause a small bit of laughter. Oh well.

biscotti
20-02-2007, 17:13
They all have to do this now...part of the healthy schools program....our kids get all the greek yogurts, apricot chicken, sushi, burritos etc
a little more exxy, but real food at least! I just miss going to buy my ice-creams when I desperately need one!

Not all the schools do it though sadly. I was sitting with some Mums at Gym this afternoon talking tuckshop and out of the 5 schools represented, only two had a "healthy" tuckshop. The one at the kids last school described their menu as "healthy" in that they had no lollies or coke for sale but they still had plenty of what I considered junk, pies and such, so I was quite excited by the menu that came home yesterday, completely junk free :laughing: The kids were ummmm ....less excited. They used to have tuckshop once a fortnight at their last school but Mr 9 feels he is "missing out" now, "may as well take lunch from home, it's just the same".... hahaha, poor boy.

jessi - don't let her get up your nose, seriously. People like that give me the pip so just hold your head high :hugs:

Beany - great pics! He is so cute that Asher, are you going to keep him ?? :laughing:

Missie_mack - I am hopeless with Lent, no will power, if you are feeling run down, maybe keep the meat and give up.....ummm...chocolate? nah, forget that......
Oh and arranged marriage to James is still just fine, Jane has put her hand up for Jasper (she'd like Noosa relatives haha) if all falls through though :laughing:

Madness starting here, back in a sec....

Noosamum XX

biscotti
20-02-2007, 17:15
But I thought the fact that im a total gumby on a treadmil and nearly fell off two days in a row would cause a small bit of laughter. Oh well.

Jessi - I didn't see that post, I have a bad habit lately, 'cos I'm always in a rush trying to fit everything into sleep times, of not scrolling back and reading everything, I tend to post and then go back if I have time......:wave:

mumstar
20-02-2007, 18:06
hey jessi!
special post just for you! i havent really been doing personals lately as i have been very slack! i think u have made a good choice in getting elsh immunised and remember if u have her all up to date before they are 2 you get an immunisation allowance from centrelink!! its a couple of hundred bucks! also u wont have a problem if u want to enrol her in a daycre and schools etc... some places can be very funny about that stuff... and hrmff to the reception lady! it is your choice and they should know not to put there 2 cents in! i would also be kicking up a stink about the doc not taing late appts that is just ridiculous considering how much they get paid!!! it took me ages to find a doctor i was happy with but now i now i have i always take me and the boys to the same one... as for u falling off the treadmill.. can totally sympthasise with u... im a gumby all the time not just at the gym!

shed
20-02-2007, 18:29
*ahem*

I have an announcement to make...

I have lost seven and a half kilos.

Thank you.

missie_mack
20-02-2007, 18:36
Ok Ive got a catch up on the photo sharing thingo havent done it in ages and Ive had to send some photos to the relos so Ive got them here and now

Here (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0084.jpg)
Christening Gown (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0885.jpg)
Swimming (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/PICT0066.jpg)
James last photo at home (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/IthinkImclever.jpg)
Our house in Mildura (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/houseinmildura.jpg)
James' The Bold and The Beautiful Smolder (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/DontyouthinkImsexy.jpg)
My turn with the camera (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/reachonthrutotheotherside.jpg)

missie_mack
20-02-2007, 18:37
Wow Shed you must be really wrapped!!!!! That would almost be two dress sizes right??

shed
20-02-2007, 18:38
I thought my weight loss deserved its own post.

Lottiesmum, looking forward to meeting you. Just hafta figger out which one is Centennial Park. I will be the one WITHOUT the bugaboo.

Looking forward to it girls. If the weather is **** we will just stay home then, is that the story?

I got the lesion on my face removed today, finally. He bulk billed it, yee ha. It was supposed to cost $150 for the lesion removal and the consultation would be bulk billed, but he did the lot. He said it would help me save up quicker to come back for botox. And yes, he is my botox doctor, he's a cheeky bugger as well. Cant get it till I stop breastfeeding apparently.

He also said I would need a boob job in a couple of years because "you are huge, they are going to sag for sure" and that he could also remove the sweat warts from my neck next time. I was like "but they are moles, I have had them forever" so here is the doc and his receptionist both standing there going "oh no, they are sweat warts" and then the receptionist poked me on the collarbone and said "and theres another one".

There is no icon for how I felt!! :eek: that is the closest.

Sweat warts....ewww. Ewww. (They are moles btw).

As for the boob job...speechless.

Bubby is on the mend. He is into everything. He rolls across the kitchen and got into the rubbish bag that I had sitting on the floor waiting to take out!! aaagh.

shed
20-02-2007, 18:40
missie-mack, dress sizes, um I don't know. Probably. I was a 14 ish and now I am still a 14 ish but different.

That makes no sense I know.

Different clothes in size 14, thanks to the crazy sizing methods in this country.

shed
20-02-2007, 18:44
Jessi: the treadmill - I am terrified of them. I use them but I remain 'on alert' the whole time because I am running scared, literally!

missie_mack
20-02-2007, 18:58
Ooooh ahhh Botox... Im seriously thinking about it but the needle thing gets me questioning it.

Umm immunisation. Will try and not get on my soap box. People carry on with a lot of ****e on what they think you should do. No matter where you stand on the issue a parent generally does what they think is best for their kid. You have to respect that. James missed his first immunisation because of my choice (hepb at newborn) I didnt feel it was neccessary (and its also not compulsary) part of the reason was that I took asthma steriods during my pregnancy. James hasnt had his 4 month injections and I dont know if he will have his 6 month injections as he now takes steriods for his breathing issues and they advise against it. If he cant get them I will still get the immunisation allowance as long as I have a letter from a sympathetic Dr. You can refuse to advise a childcare place about your immunisation choices also. Just a FYI thing. Im not sure if Im completely pro immunisation or anti but will probably have them all done when the Dr gives the nod. In the meantime after many bollockings from CHN and whatever over these issues oh and the non breastfeeding etc I choose not to explain myself to people like that receptionist. I wouldnt let some receptionist take the superior tone with me!:devil6:

*Country Bumpkin*
20-02-2007, 19:14
Jessi- I did reply to your post.. Im sure I did:confused: But I wouldnt worry about the gumby thing- atleast you got up and had a go- Im too lazy to even do that:laughing:

As for Nat well u know how I feel- **** him I say.... Tim made a similar comment to me the other night- if looks could kill hed be dead 100 times over. I dont think he will be making any more of those coments in a hurry

That receptionist was 100% out of line - she has NO right to challenge you on ur decisions. I would have told her off and then complained about her- how dare she

Missie_Mack- Oh ur new house is gorgeous- lucky you

Shed- WELL DONE:yelclap: How long has it been now? not too long from memory..... also what is the cost like???? I might give it a go:D

Us- Well Tims ute shat itself..... i think the started motor has gone....... Lucky we have friends out here who are mechanics- Ive had a pretty rough day wondering how we will pay all the bills,fix the car, pay the ute rego etc... etc... but Im sure we will get through it all... We have coped before and we will cope again... I hope

Hello everyone else!!!

MountainGirl
20-02-2007, 19:16
It is irritating,..isn't it,. they are the receptionists for gods sake,..not the doctors,..not the pope,...not god himself,.. the people who answer the phones,the people who make sure you can never get the appointment you want, and the people who type and laminate the 'do not change the channel' sign that is bluetacked onto the TV in the waiting room,.. I usually try not to engage in any sort of conversation with them,...... how dare they 'tut,tut' the decisions you make about your child,..... grrrrrr,...... will go now,...I am ranting,..:o

Beany
20-02-2007, 19:17
Beany - great pics! He is so cute that Asher, are you going to keep him ?? :laughing:

Considering the "department" he'd have to be returned to, not a bloody chance!

Ah the faces he's pulling right now at his father trying to feed him pumpkin - priceless!

*ahem*

Thank you.

*jealous*

I've lost 2 since the beginning of the year. Still as flabby and fatty as before. Maybe it was just hair :gloomy:

Never had botox. Not going to get a boob job. I'll sag with indignity!

Lottiesmum: will you be coming down to the city anyway on Friday whether we meet or not? If so, I think we should meet somewhere even if the weather is lousy (Pitt Street Mall? WBJ (see how fast I learn the lingo?! See? See?!) ). If you're making the trip down especially then we'll see about the weather.

shed
20-02-2007, 19:24
Um, its been about six weeks on the Lite n Easy I think? I am going to keep going until I get into a certain pair of jeans, and then i will try and go it alone.

Although I was out and about today and had to buy my lunch. I was very nervous!! I ended up buying a roast beef and lettuce sandwich and a ...umm...a...ahem...turkish delight bar :o .

I am SO not ready to stop the Lite n Easy.

I do the lunches and dinners and its $120 a week. DP pays for it which is quite good because it means I can't cheat (except for one little turkish delight) because if he sees me cheat he will crack the sh!ts and refuse to pay for it anymore.

Its a good system so far!

Roast chicken tonight, yum.

mumstar
20-02-2007, 20:21
i feel like a bit of a looser right now.. i went back to the other thread and was looking for y last post and couldn't find it.. i was there for ages till it dawned on me oooohhh new thread!

adele im sure things will work out and it seems like ur in luck if u have a mechanic friend!

shed: congrats on ur weight loss.. i did the lite n easy for a while and lost 5and a half kilos but then came around xmas and my holiday and it has slowly crept back on!!! stick with it !

well im officially chucking the ****s at troy again! we sre geztting our new telly delievered in the next couple of days and troy will be working away so we had to move the unit and old telly out tonight, he wanted to just chuc everything in the linen press and i told him i wanted to go through it all tomorrow and get rid of all the stuff we dont need... then he does something to the foxtel and when i try to help he cracks it at me! men!!! anyway rant over...

have to go bath noah as he has just vomited everywhere and it wasnt a baby spew!!! poor darl has gastro!

shed
20-02-2007, 20:28
what the hell is a linen press? is that some aussie thing I havent heard of? :confused: :p

Linen press, linen press...nup, I got nuffink...what is it?

biscotti
20-02-2007, 20:34
Cupboard for storing sheets, linen etc you dag :laughing: :laughing: :D

biscotti
20-02-2007, 20:36
....silly expression really isn't it....right up there with ...with...with...well all the other silly expressions :laughing:

biscotti
20-02-2007, 20:38
ooooh - I'm up to 700 posts, would be more except for the great post culling of 2006 :yes:

mum_I'm_hungry
20-02-2007, 21:01
OMG. If school food is like that, I'm going back to school! Sushi for $2.50. Count me in, baby!

Jessi, do you mean you're not supposed to fall off the treadmills? I've fallen off heaps of times. Mostly when something on the big bank of TVs is good. You know, like a Rick Astley video clip. They've been playing a lot of New Kids on the Block lately. Weird stuff. I once kept going on the treadmill for an hour and a half because they were having an 80s weekend! Had to laugh at whoever it was (Beany?) saying you'd get an earful from medical types about not immunising. Teddy had them all as soon as he could and my husband even got him extra ones. He does so love to jab us. I actually think he enjoys giving me my desensitisation injections. I'm never really sure how to take that glee on his face as he approaches with the needle!

Everyone's cute piccies have made me realise I need to take more. Took one today of Teddy's hair. It's growing very strangely -- kind of a big patch down the middle. This morning Ivy and I spiked it up so he had Beckham hair. So cool! Will have to see if it will show up in my avatar.

Missie M, Ivy's toilet training is going great guns. Only uses nappies for overnight and still asks for them for poos (unfortunately). Have tried to bribe her to poo in the toilet by using Smarties, but it's only worked twice so far!

Ooooohhhhh, Noosamum, did you like Music and Lyrics? I'm dying to see it. My fave movie of all time is Notting Hill, so you see the appeal! Valentine

cheekypossum
20-02-2007, 21:01
Hello all

Jessi - you were not being ignored. Generally I read posts from my last post, I have a note book next to me where I write down everyone who has posted since my last post...therefore if you have not posted since my last post I would not acknowledge you....does that make sense. I thought I better explain it as I don't want anyones feelings hurt :hugs:

Beany & missie_mack - Fantastic Piccies of your boys

Noosa - I just lOVE your avatar....such a beautiful pic of Miss C

mumstar - Hope your boys get over thier gastro soon

Shed - :yelclap: on the weight loss....glad to hear Baden is feeling better

lottiesmum, Adele and Jane :wave: :wave:

cheekypossum
20-02-2007, 21:04
OMG. , like a Rick Astley video clip.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: "Never gonna give you up" is my sister and my Favourite Karaoke song hee hee......she is 37 so a bit older then me....we do the dance moves and all

mum_I'm_hungry
20-02-2007, 21:07
Yes, I do love a man in a trenchcoat (as long as he's clothed underneath of course!) :laughing:

Well, will have to change to Teddy's hair pic for my avatar later. The dolly torture was too good to resist!

missie_mack
20-02-2007, 21:11
Alli- Do they play Bananarama too?? I use to do them treadmill to the Footloose soundtrack but when I had my own treadmill. Not quite the nice ones they have at the gym these days though....

Silly I thought you were trying to say that the last time you went to the gym thats what they were playing... you know it was in the 80s the last time you went.... derrrr I have such true blonde moments

Must return Im writing up DHs assignments for the kiddies...... :confused: Who says you need a degree to be a teacher? Ive become a teacher by default lol Im looking forward to the pop test he is giving his naughty year 9's should be amusing.

biscotti
20-02-2007, 21:11
Ooooohhhhh, Noosamum, did you like Music and Lyrics? I'm dying to see it. My fave movie of all time is Notting Hill, so you see the appeal! Valentine
Ohhhhh AlliJB - my all time fave movies - Notting Hill (god, I have watched this about a zillion times, my fave dvd on a rainy day, just ask my husband), and About A Boy.
Ok, Music and Lyrics - it was good, not as good as those two though, but if you liked Hugh dancing in Love Actually and singing in About a Boy (which I did in both :laughing: ) then you will like it :yes: Not much thinking required (which was good since I had Miss 6 mths with me, no brain space left for thinking hahaha), but you will leave with a smile .

I really wanted to see it which is why I went alone today because I knew my husband would have hated it immensely which wouldn't justify the $50 it would have cost for us both to go (babysitters etc), instead it cost me $7.50 :yelclap: And it was a lovely morning out.

Noosamum xx

biscotti
20-02-2007, 21:19
"Never gonna give you up" is my sister and my Favourite Karaoke song hee hee......she is 37 so a bit older then me....we do the dance moves and all

Oh, that's a just a classic, might have to get the purple dancing hippo out of retirement .... Shed, where are you, this is our era :laughing:

Altogether now...

We're no strangers to love
You know the rules and so do I
A full commitment's what I'm thinking of
You wouldn't get this from any other guy

I just wanna tell you how I'm feeling
Gotta make you understand

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna run around and desert you
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye
Never gonna tell a lie and hurt you

We've know each other for so long
Your heart's been aching
But you're too shy to say it
Inside we both know what's been going on
We know the game and we're gonna play it

And if you ask me how I'm feeling
Don't tell me you're too blind to see

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye

(Ooohh give you up)
Never gonna give
Never gonna give, (give you up)
Never gonna give
Never gonna give, (give you up)

We've know each other for so long
Your heart's been aching
But you're too shy to say it
Inside we both know what's been going on
We know the game and we're gonna play it

I just wanna tell you how I'm feeling
Gotta make you understand

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye

mum_I'm_hungry
20-02-2007, 21:23
Goddess on the mountain top... burning like a silver flame...

Oh, yeah. They play Bananarama. All the ladies get their jiggly bits wiggling to the old Bananarama. Or you can watch three Oprah's in a row on Saturday morning. Or Crossing Jordan and then Law & Order. You can see I go for the exercise, huh? I think I really go for the air-con, the TV and the creche. Not sure in what order!!!

Yay! Another Notting Hill fan. Love it, love it, love it. Poor Hugh Grant. Apparently he doesn't like doing these kinds of movies. Well, tough luck, I say. I need him to keep going!

mum_I'm_hungry
20-02-2007, 21:25
Ah, Rick. You really meant those words. I know they were just for me.

Sigh.

Gawd only knows what the poor guy is doing now...

Well, off to bed to dream about his trenchcoatness!

biscotti
20-02-2007, 21:27
Oh God I'm sad :D

And old :eek: :D

Goddess on a mountain top,
Burning like a silver flame,
The summit of beauty and love,
And Venus was her name,

She's got it,
Yeah baby, she's got it,
Well, I'm your Venus,
I'm your fire at your desire,
Well, I'm your Venus,

Her weapons are her crystal eyes,
Making every man mad,
Black as the dark night she was,
Got what no one else had,

She's got it,
Yeah baby, she's got it,
Well, I'm your Venus,

Goddess on a mountain top,
Burning like a silver flame,
The summit of beauty and love,
And Venus was her name,

She's got it,
Yeah baby, she's got it,
Well, I'm your Venus,
I'm your fire at your desire.

biscotti
20-02-2007, 21:30
Ah, Rick. You really meant those words. I know they were just for me.

Sigh.

No, no, no - they were for me, me, Me!!!!!!

Night all......and shed, I really needed you as a back up singer just before, ......where were you :D :confused: :D

Noosamum XX

Beany
20-02-2007, 21:32
Ah 80s memories!

My sister was of the era. I was a hanger on. She had the bona fide leg warmers. I had the manged jumper arms :laughing:

FAME! I'm gonna live forever
I feel it coming together
People will see me and cry
FAME!

I'm gonna make it to heaven
Light up the sky like a flame
FAME!

I'm gonna live forever
Baby remember my name!

Beany
20-02-2007, 21:33
Remember
Remember
Remember
Remember
Remember
Remember
Remember
Remember

... !

*drowns in nostalgia*

Beany
20-02-2007, 21:34
(I'm actually stunned that I remembered those lyrics!)

*Country Bumpkin*
20-02-2007, 21:40
well it seems life in the country isnt quite as peachy as it was supposed to be... Tims boss is an arrogant *** but we knew that befopre we came out here. As you all know tim has won countless awards for excellence in work and Apprentice of the Year etc.. etc... however EVERY job he does there is something wrong with it- well apparently according to his Boss there is- yet every time he does a job he will check it and there are NO dints etc.. but when Jason checks there always is:confused: :detective:

Just the other day tim did a job- came home for lunch and when he went back there was a dint in the door- which WAS NOT there before he left

Hes excellent at his job- I mean come on he wouldnt have won awards if he was s***:(

Soooooo

Tim has been given his "final warning" looks like were moving back to the "big smoke"......

How is it possible that life can be so f***** up..... when will we get a break- we try and try and try and never get ahead were loosing our savings cause of the car and now having to move.

We came out here to start over, why does this keep happening to us

mama anne
20-02-2007, 21:43
alrighty .... a forward i know you'll all appreciate :)

You Know you grew up in the 80s if...
1. You've ever ended a sentence with the word "PSYCHE".
2. You watched the Pound Puppies.
3. You can sing the rap to the "Fresh Prince of Belair " ...and can do the "Carlton".
4. Girls wore biker shorts under their skirts and felt stylishly sexy.
5. You yearned to be a member of the Baby-sitters club and tried to start a club of your own.
6. You owned those lil' Strawberry Shortcake pals scented dolls.
7. "WOAH " comes from Joey on Blossom.
8. Two words: Hammer Pants.
9. If you ever watched "Fraggle Rock ".
10. You had plastic streamers on your handle bars... and "spokey-dokes" or playing cards on your spokes for that incredible sound effect.
11. You can sing the entire theme song to "Duck Tales ". (Woo ooh!)
12. You wore a ponytail on the side of your head.
13. When it was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons.
14. You saw the original "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles " on the big screen... and still know the turtles names.
15. You got super-excited when it was Oregon Trail day in computer class at school.
16. You made your mom buy one of those clips that would hold your shirt in a knot on the side.
17. You played the game "MASH ". (Mansion, Apartment, Shelter, House)
18. You wore stonewashed Jordache jean jackets and were proud of it.
19. L.A. Gear... need I say more.
20. You wanted to change your name to "JEM " in Kindergarten. (She's truly outrageous)
21. You remember reading "Tales of a fourth grade nothing " and all the Ramona books.
22. You know the profound meaning of "WAX ON, WAX OFF".
23. You wanted to be a Goonie.
24. You ever wore fluorescent clothing. (some of us... head-to-toe)
25. You can remember what Michael Jackson looked like before his nose fell off and his cheeks shifted.
26. You have ever pondered why Smurfette was the only female smurf.
27. You took lunch boxes to school... and traded Garbage Pail Kids in the schoolyard.
28. You remember the CRAZE, then the BANNING of slap bracelets.
29. You still get the urge to say "NOT " after every sentence.
30. You remember Hypercolor t-shirts.
31. Barbie and the Rockers was your favorite band.
32. You thought She-ra (Princess of Power!) and He-Man should hookup.
33. You thought your childhood friends would never leave because you exchanged handmade friendship bracelets.
34. You ever owned a pair of Jelly-Shoes. (and like #24, probably in neon colors, too)
35. After you saw Pee-Wee's Big Adventure you kept saying "I know you are, but what am I?"
36. You remember "I've fallen and I can't get up"
37. You remember going to the skating rink before there were inline skates.
38. You ever got seriously injured on a Slip and Slide.
39. You have ever played with a Skip-It.
40. You had or attended a birthday party at McDonalds.
41. You've gone through this nodding your head in agreement.
42. You remember Popples.
43. "Don't worry, be happy"
44. You wore like, EIGHT pairs of socks over tights with high top Reeboks.
45. You wore socks scrunched down (and sometimes still do...getting yelled at by "younger hip" members of the family)
46. "Miss MARY MACK MACK MACK, all dressed in BLACK BLACK BLACK "
47. You remember boom boxes. and walking around with one on your shoulder like you were all that.
48. You remember watching both "Gremlins" movies.
49. You know what it meant to say "Care Bear Stare!"
50. You remember watching "Rainbow Bright" and "My Little Pony Tales "
51. You thought Doogie Howser/Samantha Micelli was hot.
52. You remember Alf, the lil furry brown alien from Melmac.
53. You remember New Kids on the Block when they were cool... and don't even flinch when people refer to them as "NKOTB".
54. You knew all the characters names and their life stories on "Saved By the Bell ", the ORIGINAL class.
55. You know all the words to Bon Jovi - SHOT THROUGH THE HEART.
56. You just sang those words to yourself.
57.You remember watching Magic vs. Bird.
58. Homemade Levi shorts. (the shorter the better)
59. You remember when mullets were cool!
60. You had a mullet!
61. You still sing "We are the World"
62. You tight rolled your jeans.
63. You owned a bannana clip.
64. You remember "Where's the Beef?"
65. You used to (and probably still do) say "What you talkin' about Willis?"
66. You had big hair and you knew how to use it.
67. You're still singing shot through the heart in your head,aren't you!

Beany
20-02-2007, 21:44
Noosamum, Alli, Missie ... you don't know what you started ...

*bopping along to "Take on Me"*

mama anne
20-02-2007, 21:51
shot through the heart ... and you're to blame
you give love .... a BAD NAME

Beany
20-02-2007, 21:57
Oh the dodgy perm and eyeliner days of the Jovi!

(I have moved on to Guns'n'Roses now. I won't post lyrics :D )

shed
20-02-2007, 22:08
Sorry I missed the karaoke, I was off knitting.

Which makes me laugh really because I had handknitted legwarmers back in the day. 1981 or 82 it was I think, when they were at their height.

And yes, I knitted them myself, I was a granny at age 12.

I also had fingerless gloves of various descriptions. I used to knit one and it would be so intricately patterned that I couldn't be bothered knitting a matching one, so it would just be the one. And no, it wasn't cool because it was before Michael Jackson did his one-glove thing.

mama anne, I remember most of what you mentioned. Some of them were too childish for me to have partaken in. I was a sulky teenager for most of the 80's, too cool for most things. NOT. :D

On a more serious note, Adele, sorry to hear about your troubles, it does seem like things are fairly dramatic in your life. I hope you come through it allright. I would love to move to a country town. I would love love love it.

Or Adelaide.

*Country Bumpkin*
20-02-2007, 22:20
thanks everyone- nice to know I have support when i need it the most:crying:

thanks Shed

*munchkin*
20-02-2007, 23:12
Firstly...Adele...sorry to hear you are having troubles.

Secondly, at the risk of sounding flippant...
Taaaaake on ME, take-a on me,
Taaaaake ME on, take-a on me,
I'llllll beeeeeee goooooooone, wooohooooo TAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYKKKKEEEEEE

Oh Beany, you've done it now. I was a huge A-HA fan. Still have the greatest hits CD...and bought it only a year or 2 ago:o . And I had Take on Me as my ring tone quite recently...:o

Thirdly, on a less flippant note...
Noosamum - thank you for your kind words. Seriously. You made me :crying: . And Missie Mack. It's amazing what a few words can do to me nowadays. I'm a big soggy bag of woossiness post-birth! I liked your idea...I might tell him I've sent his photos off for inclusion of "The Book of Really Sh!t Places to Live" lol.
Noosa...as for the job...I don't know. There's so many if's...like...IF I get the job :laughing: . It might be a good compromise. I promised myself that I would do whatever it took to put Em first, as I'm all she has. Because of that, I feel guilty working just for the money, instead of staying home with her and being pretty broke as a result. But the money would help to make me a bit happier. And it would be a good company to get in the door of. Aaaaaaanyways...Sorry to babble on...again!

Beany
20-02-2007, 23:14
Anne: most of those things are 90s things ... I'm definitely a child of the 90s.

Adele: I'm sure things will pick up. At least Tim has all his qualifications now and some experience. The "big smoke" will have more jobs on offer.

And the reason I didn't respond earlier is because your post snuck in while I was doing the 80s and 90s bop - I didn't see it. The reason other people haven't is probably because it's past midnight and they've done the sensible thing and gone to bed. Because their monster child didn't keep them up. Biting their nipple.

*munchkin*
20-02-2007, 23:15
P.S. :yelclap: Suddenly, let's just say
The odds and ennnnnds, and I see you
Stumbling away, slowly learning that life is O-KAAAAAY
Say after me,
Is it better to be safe than sorrrrrrrry
Taaaaaake oooooon meeeeeeee
Take-a on me
Taaaaaaaake MEEEEEE OOOOOOOON:smiliedance:

*munchkin*
20-02-2007, 23:16
I'm still up Beany. Singing that darn song. Because of YOU!!!!!!
Maybe I'll dream of Morten Harkett tonight....sigh...

Beany
20-02-2007, 23:18
Taaaaake on ME, take-a on me,
Taaaaake ME on, take-a on me,
I'llllll beeeeeee goooooooone, wooohooooo TAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYKKKKEEEEEE

Oh Beany, you've done it now. I was a huge A-HA fan. Still have the greatest hits CD...and bought it only a year or 2 ago:o . And I had Take on Me as my ring tone quite recently...:o

In which case, this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioqO5mDE7u8)is for you!

MountainGirl
21-02-2007, 04:37
Munhkin - you cracked me up! it is 5:30 and 'hearing' you burst in with that song made me laugh out loud!!! so,....hear goes,.....the hairspray is in,....

Close your eyes, give me your hand, darling
Do you feel my heart beating, do you understand?
Do you feel the same, am I only dreaming?
Is this burning an eternal flame?

I believe it's meant to be, darling
I watch when you are sleeping, you belong to me
Do you feel the same, am I only dreaming
Or is this burning an eternal flame?

Say my name, sun shines through the rain
A whole life so lonely, and then you come and ease the pain
I don't want to lose this feeling,...aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh

Say my name, sun shines through the rain
A whole life so lonely, and then you come and ease the pain
I don't want to lose this feeling aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Close your eyes and give me your hand
Or is this burning an eternal flame?

Is this burning an eternal flame?

An eternal flame?

(Close your eyes and give me your hand
Or is this burning an eternal flame?) :D :D

Adele - you seem to have more dramas than anyone I have ever met,...hope things work out so that you can give Skyla the stable home environment that she so desperately needs,.

:wave: everyone else

jessi
21-02-2007, 07:18
Adele- Only just saw your post then, as I was asleep when you posted. That downright sucks! Ohwell... now you're moving back here... (secretly sneaks in a :smiliedance: yay lol) Be my friend? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeease?
Anyways, hopefully things will pick up for you once you get back. :hugs:

(lol... its been over 6 months... and I still aint got no friends. Man, I suck.)

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 07:41
crickey...quite a party in here last night!

morning is here and the only song i can sing is:

there's a bear in there....and a chair as well
there are people with games....and stories to tell

ok - enough already
:o

i do believe that was 6 pages in one evening!

allijb - i love your avatars...

jessi - find a new doctor. tho' come to think of it i have found a great gp (after lotslotslots of searching) but the receptionist who was feral when i first came in (you could see her thinking ''who is this bloody blow in who will make me create a new file then never show up again") - she is now all sweetness and light. they tend to get all the cr@p from everyone so they become part pitbull....sadly having a child seems to turn on the ''give this person advice'' radar...it wont be the last time it happens to you. see! more advice!! and yep...same here with the treadmill :o

adele - i'm sorry you are having a rough time. i mean this in the best possible way - part of being an adult is learning to deal with the daily stress of life. it's hard. and you are young. give yourself a break and try not to sweat the small stuff so much. :hugs: i know this is easier said than done.

run out of time...back this arvo...

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 07:42
had to sneak back and say...

:smiliedance: and :yelclap:

to Shed!

*Country Bumpkin*
21-02-2007, 07:56
adele - i'm sorry you are having a rough time. i mean this in the best possible way - part of being an adult is learning to deal with the daily stress of life. it's hard. and you are young. give yourself a break and try not to sweat the small stuff so much. :hugs: i know this is easier said than done.

run out of time...back this arvo...

You havnt been around to hear half the stuff I have been through in the past year- believe me i already know all about dealing with daily stress- but this is far more serious:(

littlepickle
21-02-2007, 08:03
Munchin: Another Morten Harket fan!! You will have to fight me and Monique for him I'm afraid:D

Loved readig back on the Karaoke! :party: Sorry I missed the party!

Noosamum, Will definitely let you know if I find a mothers group. Zillmere is very close to Carseldine too. Actually, there are quite a few bubhub mums form carseldine. Does your SIL visit bubhub?

Shed: Congrats on the weight loss!:yelclap: Thats impressive!

*munchkin*
21-02-2007, 08:23
LP - Oooh! Catfight between 3 mummies over Morten! Sure he'd be flattered by that :laughing:

A few personals (btw: don't get poopy if I forget you in my personals or don't mention your posts...we're all mummies, which means we have mooshy mummy brain. We're lucky we even remember where to find the computer, let alone remember personals...)

MummaAnne - meant to ask what subject you are doing at uni? Is your DH a lecturer?

SJ - Confession time. I sat there and sang Eternal Flame out loud. Every word. Tee hee! :o

Alli - your avatars crack me up! I wanna see where dolly ends up next.

Jessi - I can't run on treadmills. They terrify me. I'm such a gumby I've nearly twisted my ankle numerous times on them.

Shed - :yelclap: Yay you! That's lots of Kgs!!!

Adele - I'm sure you have had some bad things happen in the last year. You're not alone. Just make sure you don't fall into the 'victim' mentality eg. "Why do these things always happen to me". We can all take control of our destiny. And sometimes when bad things happen, they turn out to be the start of good things.

Breaking news update here...*ddddtt dtttt dttt dttt.. cue news break music*... I found out last night my dog eats cabbage. :D She's so weird!

littlejoy
21-02-2007, 09:04
Ok I will have to come back later with more personals but just wanted to say that SJ I did the same thing sang it out loud... infact I sang it really loud ha ha ha Riley just sat there smiling at me the whole time... ok gotta run and feed the hungry boy I will be back when he is asleep again.. sorry!!

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 09:17
OOh Im a big Bangles fan. Infact I think DS was conceived after their concert at the Enmore. Speaking of sad ring tones mine is Manic Monday :o Im just sad with my 80s music. Im sure James just shakes his head when I clean to Blondie...

Mama Anne- I sadly fit into that category but half into generation x with my Dr Martins Levis and Nirvana.... And my hubby does the funniest MC Hammer impression across the tiles. Its hilarious but he pulls a hammer hammie after doing it generally :laughing:

Adele- Everything in life for its reasons. I just sometimes wished the reasons were apparent at the time instead of in hindsight

littlepickle
21-02-2007, 12:02
My ringtone is ...

"Dont you want me" by the human league! How sad id that :-)

Beany
21-02-2007, 12:14
Ah the 80s are lingering on nicely in this household still. I woke up with a bit of an A-HA hangover (I too sang "take on me" late into the night ... Asher seemed bemused with my choice of lullaby!). But hair of the dog and all that ...

Children beeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaave!
That's what they say when we're together
And watch how youuuuu plaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!
They don't understand
And so we're running just as fast as we can
Holding onto one another's hand
Trying to get away into the night
And then you put your arms around me and we tumble to the ground
And then you say,

I think we're alone now
There doesn't seem to be anyone arooouuund
I think we're alone now
The beating of our hearts is the only soooouuuund.
*dooofdooofdooofdooof*

*sigh*

I'm a traitor to the 80s, though, My rigtone is "children" by Robert Miles.

Beany
21-02-2007, 12:17
Oh and on the destructive babies front ... I have scratches all over my breasts! Asher digs his nails in and scratches for all his worth as he's feeding. I think he must have been a lion cub in a previous baby-life.

And he's learned a new trick. Spitting. It's doing my head in! It was bad enough when it was drool but THIS?! :banghead:

Anyone know how to make a baby fart? :o

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 12:26
mama anne - loved that list and had a good ole laugh at things i had not thought about in years. strawberry shortcake - check. peewee herman - check. he-man - check..well you get the idea!!

shed - what no boo? Me neither...well at least we'll find each other easily because its de rigeur in the eastern suburbs :p i hope you squirted milk in the docs eye for the boob job comment :D

missy mack - what gorgeous photos! does your dh know what a colonic involves?:eek:

[HTML][(btw: don't get poopy if I forget you in my personals or don't mention your posts...we're all mummies, which means we have mooshy mummy brain. We're lucky we even remember where to find the computer, let alone remember personals...)
/HTML] here here....or is it hear hear?? is your dog rather stinky (but healthy!) today after cabbage???

beany - i'm ok to cancel if it rains friday....the cbd is impossible with a toddler who wont go in a pram and i really cant think of anywhere else that's kiddie friendly and accessible. if we have to cancel i will make it to one of the meets another time. hopefully we'll be ok...

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 12:45
missy mack - what gorgeous photos! does your dh know what a colonic involves?:eek:

Yes of course Im not all together mean to the poor bloke lol. I actually like my husband. Strange statement I know but I know so many couples who dont really seem to. Anyhow on the TMI DH hasnt been well in that part of town. The Dr said if he was a older man they would be slicing him open looking for cancer. But cause hes only 30 they think its unlikely. So he has had xrays and god knows what. Hes due for the camera job soon. They think it is a series of ulcers on his bowel. Possibly. Because of other issues we thought we might try this and see if its helps. We just hope they arent like that pommy lady who has that you are what you eat program. She gives her clients a clear tube and makes them watch what comes out. Ewwwwwwwww! I think that would be too much even for the old scientist who has know everything and how it all works lol

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 12:46
Thanks for the compliements on my spunky boy BTW:D :D

*munchkin*
21-02-2007, 13:10
Beany...ow. Ow. Ow. OWWWWW!!!!
Guess it'll be many years before he learns to treat choozies with Respect.

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 13:19
Beany- We have a nipple pincher here. Made poor DH yelp and cry last night. Hate to be breast feeding him at the mo. My SIL use to put socks on my nephews hands while she breast fed and he was in this phase. Dont know if it will do the trick but its a idea.

Off to watch The Hoobs. They are hoobacious!! So have a hoobly doobly day!! .... I really need to spend more time with adults I thinks

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 13:40
missy mack your poor dh....sorry i was so flippant :o

hope it umm sorts him out.

like the socks idea btw...

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 13:42
[quote=lottiesmum;1138604]missy mack your poor dh....sorry i was so flippant :o
quote]

Oh dont be embarrassed. We arent uptight about it. DH keeps reminding me he has an appointment with the "bum bandits" lol

*munchkin*
21-02-2007, 13:55
/ here here....or is it hear hear?? is your dog rather stinky (but healthy!) today after cabbage???

She seems...cleansed. The doggie version of a colonic :D . She's weird - she eats all fruits and vegetables. Now including cabbage.

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 14:16
tashmusa - i'm making the cheesecake next weekend! friends are coming to stay and we have 4 kids under three between us so a babysitter is out of the question...so i'm the restaurant! your recipe looks beautifully simple and im thinking i could make it the day before...wish i could pop in a little icon licking her lips in anticipation!!

mumstar
21-02-2007, 14:24
well i went to my doctors check up today and they are keeping me on the antidepressants for about 6 months along with the conselling me and troy are having things are looking up! they also got me to have a blood test today just to make sure im not runnning low on anything!

adele: im really sad to hear that things are not working out... im not going to give u any advice coz im sure you have heard it all before but just know im thinking of you!

anyways love the singing girls!!! im one that loves the karioke too (thats spelling does look right sorry) we brought the singstar games for xmas and pull them out everytime we have a bit of a drink!

check back later!

mumstar
21-02-2007, 14:25
anyone else loose a heap of posts lately??? i lost about 80 off my count :(

Beany
21-02-2007, 14:35
Tegan: I'm glad things are going well down your neck of the woods. Bloody long neck too! I think you're the only WA-er in the Augustians!

I would actually have been rather stunned if they took you off antidepressants right now considering the stresses you are going through with your relationship ... it would be an adjustment and a half when everything was cruisey but when it's all up in the air, it would just be asking for disaster. Oh and good for Troy going along to counselling! It's not often men would agree to that.

Lottiesmum: cheesecake? *drool* I was supposed to make one for Christmas ... I only recently found the philly in the fridge :o :laughing: I chucked 'em without opening to find out whether there was a super-intelligent colony of cheesefolk evolving.

Gawd my fridge needs a proper clear out.

mumstar
21-02-2007, 15:15
yeah beany im the only WAer in here!!! gets a bit lonely when i hear u all meeting up u will have to come for a big bubhub holiday to perth!!!

jessi
21-02-2007, 15:25

Nothing to report here. Raining... busy... Elsh grumpy. I ate half a tub of Nutella. (there goes all the work Ive done at the Gym).

Here (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/Seat.jpg) is a new picture of Elsh, taken yesterday.

Bye

wattle
21-02-2007, 15:29
Far out.........here you all are. :o

I thought I'd lost you all for a moment.

Shed - you're a star, well done on the lite n easy. You've given me a boost of motivation. Thanks.

mumstar
21-02-2007, 15:40
jess im a big fan of the nutella too!!!

noah has been sleeping all day... its hot here! he was given a script at the docs today as he has dermatitus on and around his eye and i can also use it on his dribble rash so when that clears up i will post some more pix

lottiesmum
21-02-2007, 15:43
jessi - she is gorgeous...just gorgeous.

Tegan - not sure about the missing posts but i hope you are on the up and up with your little family...

raffee
21-02-2007, 15:49
Hiya ladies!

Thought I'd drop in for a quick peek and an update, and lo and behold, you're already onto a new thread!!!!

Hi to noosamum, beany, shed, anne, jane, wattle, tash, ali, tegan, lp, missmack, LM, FF, jessi, adele, and anyone else I might have missed! Its always lovely seeing new pics of your gorgeous blossoming bubs, and its refreshing to see that you guys have the commitment to keep the updates coming in.

I'm back at uni this year, attempting a MTeach. I go three times a week- two full days and one evening. Its pretty full on, but its good to be back doing something for 'me'.

The children have settled into their new school, and my eldest has landed a lead role in the school play, which is very exciting. We've also all started taekwondo again.

Speaking of taekwondo, it really does help you burn off those extra pounds, for anyone looking for weightloss ideas. The only problem is, the stretchmarks become a lot more visible!:thumbsdown: I'm feeling pretty dreadful about the amount of stretchmarks I've got. I'm trying to think positive about them, but it really is depressing sometimes, especially when I'm sitting down.

In other news, Eamonn is crawling! :eek: He started daycare this week, which was extremely emotional for me, but he did just fine, and soaked up all the attention he got. Thomas is also a lot more settled having him there.

Anyways, I'm melting as we speak and I've put off making dinner for long enough now. Gotta go! Love yas all!

xxRaf

mumstar
21-02-2007, 15:50
jess i just read your myspace thing about the breast feeding mums pictures! i cant belive that... i signed the petition

biscotti
21-02-2007, 15:50
*ahem*

Thank you.

Must have missed this last night when we were all busy dancing around our handbags...

OMG :yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

Shed, you are an inspiration, that is fantastic!!!

noosamum xx

biscotti
21-02-2007, 15:51
Raf :wave:

cheekypossum
21-02-2007, 15:51
Hello all

Well I did 4 hours back at work today. It was nice but I hated it...just wanted to be home with my girl. She was left home with my mum, then when she wanted her booba I just raced home, fed her and then went back.......positives of living in a small town.

Alli - Avatar :laughing:

missie_mack - hope all goes well with your DH

noosa - yes we need the dancing hippo

Beany - mmmm hairy Philly cheese

Adele - :hugs:

munchkin - :eek: Your dog eats cabbage. My dog can eat my Savoury mince and without a doubt leaves behind every single pea and carrot.....haha with the singing

Jessi - beautiful photo

lottiesmum - GL with the cheesecake...yep, day before is good, I always think it tastes better the day after it is made

LittleJoy - thanks for sharing you singing with us :laughing:

mumstar - sounds like you are feeling better these days - good to hear

Hello to Shed, Jane, Rach and Wattle

Loved the music talk, thanks to you girls I have music stuck in my head

Oh, Gotta run, Miss C is trying to climb up the TV Cabinet

cheekypossum
21-02-2007, 15:53
Oh :wave: Raf

Gee your life sounds busy...glad to hear all is going well for you....

raffee
21-02-2007, 15:56
Raf :wave:

Hello lovely!:wave:

Shed, what a star!!!! Congrats lady!!!!:yelclap:

Tash, good job on getting through the day! Big hugs to your cheeky bub- climbing already!!

amandaw
21-02-2007, 17:01
12NEW PAGES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I swear I was only on yesterday!

Breaking news update here...*ddddtt dtttt dttt dttt.. cue news break music*... I found out last night my dog eats cabbage. She's so weird!

Our Irish Setter used to go and help herself from the vege basket...didn't want anything else, you'd just find 1/2 a shredded cabbage somewhere!

Anyone know how to make a baby fart? :o - feed them brocolli....Charlotte's bum has been so bad since we introduced it last night (in fact she was terrible last night...hopefully we're in for a better one tonight!)

[quote=lottiesmum;1138604]Oh dont be embarrassed. We arent uptight about it. DH keeps reminding me he has an appointment with the "bum bandits" lol

:laughing: :laughing:
Beany and Missie-mack - the photos are great - love the boy band one Beany, and he has such gentle looking eyes MM

Shed :smiliedance: that's fantastic news...especially since we ca now look at out bubs and envisiage what that looked like

80's stuff....gave me lots of giggles. I was a baby of the 80's (just....born 9 days in), but lots of that list was familiar. Our school musical this year is Back to The 80's - The Totally Awesome musical.....spent yesterday choreographing to Wake Me up (before you go go) and tomorrow I start Mickey...full of all those dodgy classics, so should be fun (we are the world, footloose, man in the mirror, get into my car etc etc)...have to say though, I didn't know who Rick Astley was until we started this musical...I was more of a Patrick Swayze and John Travolta - grew up with Grease and Dirty Dancing

*Country Bumpkin*
21-02-2007, 17:05
jess i just read your myspace thing about the breast feeding mums pictures! i cant belive that... i signed the petition

whats this.... I tried to find it but I couldnt:confused: .....liiiiink me :D

wattle
21-02-2007, 17:20
Phew you guys are chatterboxes! I've been a bit busy over in the photo competition. If anyone wants to check them out and vote, here's the link
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=70965

As the proud mummies of the best looking babies, you guys should enter the next round. :D

jessi
21-02-2007, 17:31
Argh, my copy and paste thing isnt working so Im going to have to type this up myself.

Petition (http://www.petitiononline.com/Brstfeed/petition.html)

I hope thats right.

Heres the deal:

Myspace has been deleting photos of breastfeeding Mums. They have naked ladies and scantily clad teenagers on there aswell as Porn Sites who have pages yet they choose to delete the breastfeeding pictures instead as they are more 'offensive' than the porno and scantily clad ladies. Breastfeeding is a natural thing, this petition is to support the breast feedings Mothers on Myspace.

ALSO- theres another page which has been going around...

Click here (http://www.lightamillioncandles.com)

...If you are against child pornography. They dont need your money, just your support. Light a virtual candle to help try get Child Porno sites shut down.

**Apologies to the MODS if I am not allowed to post about these things but I think we all agree that both of these issues are wrong and they need as much support as possible!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
21-02-2007, 20:21
I am STILL singing Shot Through the Heart. I'm lucky I didn't get kicked out of the library today. I'm lucky Teddy is still hanging around with me!

Beany, Teddy is a grabber too. It's one of the reasons I'm weaning him -- his manners just got really bad. Biting, grabbing, nails, the whole bit. He can't concentrate on feeding anymore, either. He's always swivelling his head around to see what Ivy's doing etc.. It's getting really annoying!

Missed saying lots of stuff yesterday. Go, Shed! That is a huge amount of weight!

Adele, don't know if you'd be interested, but some friends of mine were going through some rough times a while back and someone put them onto this DVD/book combo that was on Oprah called The Secret. Apparently it's all about positive thinking. My friends loved it and said it's been really helpful. I've seen some people talking about it on bubhub, too.

Hey everyone else! :wave: Good to see you back, Raffee! Glad things are looking up, Mumstar. Hope work is going well, Amanda. :thumbsup:

amandaw
21-02-2007, 20:29
Hi Alli :wave:

Work is work....while I'm there I love it, but when I'm home I love that too (well other than being ready to give Charlotte away at quater to 4 this morning when she wouldn't go back to sleep.....anyone want a very strong, adventurous, not prone to sleep if she can help it baby :D ). Spent today at the Moderation panel (when we all look at the work from our subject from schools across the state to check that they are all marking comparatively and implementing programs etc) and we actually finished a little early, so was a nice little bonus getting to go home before 3....lucky, because my brain was just GONE (I'm sure it used to be there in the first place!?!?!)

I know it's still over a month out, but are any of the Brissie mums thinking Easter holidays could be a chance for a meet (still 6 weeks away, but not saying that you can't all meet up). That means I can join you, LP may be unpacked and organised, and now with the return of a few extra Aug mums, there may be a few others join us ...just a thought

shed
21-02-2007, 20:35
Am I the only slack mummy who hasn't bought a highchair yet?

I just strip him off and feed him in his bumbo seat, then wipe him down and dress him again! He had pumpkin and sweet potato mixed with farex tonight.

I had Tortilla Stack. Its my favourite one, I ordered two of them this week.

Baden's not a 'grabber' yet, he is a head swiveller though. Its so annoying. I have to turn the TV off to feed him or he has to watch the start of every ad. He's like "ooh hang on, I haven't seen this one" and then he turns back for a couple of sips and the next one comes on "ooh I haven't seen this one either", then the next one "oh, I HAVE seen this one...but I like it" :rolleyes: thats what I imagine going through his head!

I was out shopping yesterday and had to go into the most disgusting parent's room in Australia, to feed him. There was toilet paper everywhere, filthy nappy bins lined up under the broken change table, a hard plastic chair and - you guessed it - a TV. One that you couldn't turn off!!! aaaaargh.

missie_mack
21-02-2007, 20:50
Nope no highchair here. Im yet to find one I really like. We use the bumbo or the rocker depending on James' state of mind. Im off to look at a steelcraft one this weekend cant remember the style name summin starting with M I thinks

Beany
21-02-2007, 21:10
I bought a booster seat thingy. Liked it far better than any of the hair chairs I saw and love the portability (unclick the straps and its good to take to the family barbecue/birthday party/Christmas do).

And there's NOWHERE to trap any crumbs. All it takes for a thorough clean is a wet cloth run over it while the tray goes into the dishwasher.

Asher had some pumpkin and farex tonight. Not very much at all. He's been a bit out of sorts all afternoon. He cried a proper cry (not just a whinge) earlier when I went to get him out of the cot. He made "I'm awake" noises, I went in, we did our usual peekaboo game as he stretched and then I picked him up and he wailed. Don't know why. He's been pretty subdued since. He had a bath and winged in the bath, wailed after the bath, calmed down again and then wailed a bit again later.

He's now watching Medium and farting. Subdued, quiet and smelly.

jessi
21-02-2007, 21:35
some friends of mine were going through some rough times a while back and someone put them onto this DVD/book combo that was on Oprah called The Secret. Apparently it's all about positive thinking. My friends loved it and said it's been really helpful.

Would you believe, I ordered a book online and they sent me 'The Secret' instead. I felt somehow I was meant to have it but I sent it back without having a bar of it.
I really should have kept it though as I have been hearing amazing things about it, right from the day I sent it back!!

I also baught just a booster type seat. SIL gave me rave reviews about this one inparticular and said it was SOOO easy to clean when her son got food everywhere. And easy to fold if you want to take it anywhere with you. The real expensive high chair they originally purchased has been used... twice. LOL
I went into the Baby shop the day before yesterday and the lady was going on about this one that was all spongey and comfortable and looked incredibly hard to clean and I just ended up saying "nah, I'll take the cheap and easy to clean one!"

mumstar
21-02-2007, 22:01
we have a babyclub (target highchair) for aiden and that has been fine... with noah though we still sit him in his little rocker on the floor as he sits better in that and all that takes is a go through the washing machine if it gets really dirty!

got my telly today and its all set up now!!! im really excited! it came a day early lucky i was home... i also got my computer back today so yah no more laptop i cant use anymore!

Good on you tash for going back to work :) hope it all runs smoothly for you!

wattle
21-02-2007, 23:06
Ds just woke up crying uncontrollably. I leaped out of bed and took him out to the lounge and tried to calm him down, popped the telly on and made him warm milk.
Then I went back into his room to make sure he hadn't thrown up or wet the bed and guess what I found........a huge huntsman!!!!!! :eek: OMG I HATE them. Dh got up and killed it (thank you thank you) and I have just put ds back in bed, but I've got the heebie jeebies now and can't sleep. I can't stop thinking that it might have been crawling on ds....uggggh *shudder*.
That's the second one I've found there, near his nightlight so tomorrow night the nightlight isn't going on any more! It must be attracting them.

Beany
21-02-2007, 23:56
Wattle: throw the kids in the car and move.

Spiders ... *shudder*

MountainGirl
22-02-2007, 04:32
Cathy,....that is so scary,..... Squidg wakes up screaming too and when I go in she says "mummy,..the spider, the spider!",.. I have told her there is no spider,....hmmm,....will have to look into the nightlight spider attraction thing,..:detective:

lottiesmum
22-02-2007, 08:01
wattle you have lots of spiders at your house! so probably no mosquitoes?! maybe its time for the Flick man to visit...being a country dweller we get a fair few spiders in the house, but they are itty bitty ones...but of course the big ones eat the itty bitty ones :eek: . but my point (:laughing: ) was to say that a natural spider shooer-away is to get lemon oil and douse it on a clean broom - then go around the ceiling, skirting boards etc and this is supposed to keep them away...

SJ - good golly u are an early riser...its all i can do to stick a boob in DS's mouth at that time of day let alone read or type!\

noosamum - did u go to the meet??

wattle
22-02-2007, 08:21
Unfortunately we have a zillion mozzies, that's why the nasty old spiders are hanging around. grr. I think the hot weather sends them inside too.

Lemon oil eh? Will try that one for sure! Thanks for the tip.:thumbsup:

mum_I'm_hungry
22-02-2007, 09:21
We're still using the bumbo for feeding, too. Teddy hasn't quite got the sitting up thing yet and you definitely need to be able to sit to use the Ikea highchair. He's started doing this scary back arch in the bumbo, though. I'm worried he might fling himself out of it soon...

lottiesmum
22-02-2007, 10:21
well i've still to pop any solid food in DS' mouth...i went to coles fully prepared to buy rice cereal - but they were out of the brand i like (clearly i'm :confused: about who is actually going to eat it!) so I have and use the highchair, but not for feeding :laughing: . i ought to send a photo of my bonny lad to the vegetarian society...he's not quite the picture the meat board would have in mind for a vegetarian baby!!!! well, vegeaquarian up until rather recently :o

i'm horrified that he's 6mths in a minute. the first six mths of my daughters life seemed to stretch on forever in a bf haze...it seems literally yesterday that i gave birth to DS.

mumstar
22-02-2007, 10:26
good morning all!

really excited my telly is awesome!! we stayed up late last night playing singstar so im a bit tired today...

wattle: y dont you look at getting some bug boms... we did this a little while ago coz we were getting heaps of spiders, cockroaches etc and we havent really had much of a prob since... you just need to clear out of the house for a couple of hours and when you come home open it up for an hour or so... o yeah and be prepared to vaccuum a couple of times over the next few days as the dead ones show up every where!

i rhinkk we will be having a nice easy day at home with quite a bit of sleeping... aiden had a night mare last night so was very unsettled and noah has ben sleeping for like 4 hours a day with this heat!

take care

Beany
22-02-2007, 10:56
It's Asher's 6-month-day today.

:party: and all that *yawn* I'm too tired to make much of a fuss.

We had a truly awful night last night. He woke up every 2 hours again sobbing. Not just the usual "I'm awake! Feed me!" cries, but actual sobs. I think he was in pain but I didn't know in what way ... teeth? Headache? Wind?

I just kept feeding him (for 40mins at a time! It felt like the early days of breast feeding) and putting him down again. He came into our bed a few times but that didn't stop the unsettled behaviour, either.

He's been terribly clingy since he woke up for the day, too. Noodle is home today but even if Asher is being held by him, his face scrunches up and he *sobs* if I go out of eyesight. If I sit down near him, he just lunges at me, crying.

He's finally asleep now so my arms are getting a bit of a break. And wow! At midday, I get a chance to get some breakfast! I tried drinking a glass of milk earlier on - he smacked it out of my hand. Little wretch.

So yeah, happy 6-month-day little wretch! Behave better in 6 months' time or no pressies for you!

*yawn*

shed
22-02-2007, 11:02
Come here Asher, Sheddy is excited even if mean old mummy isn't...

:party: :yelclap: :smiliedance:

*Country Bumpkin*
22-02-2007, 12:49
Beany- For the last 4 days Skyla has woken up crying..... not a wingy cry a HELP me Im upset/ sad/in pain cry and its been between 3am-4am she used to sleep till 7am ish:confused: I dunno whats going on....

Happy 6months Asher

In other news Skyla is now on step 2 big girl formula.... we ran out of step 1 and seeing as shes very close to 6months we put her on that. *sigh* another milestone:crying:

Alli- Thanks for that Ill have a look at the book

lottiesmum- Ill have to try the lemone trick too... we have lots of little spiders so I can nly assume the bigins are around somewhere *shudders* unfortunatly both Tim and I are terrified of spider.... except Tim acts like a big girl and makes ME kill them So Im kinda like the "man" of the house when it comes to spiders- snakes however are Tims's job:eek:

mum_I'm_hungry
22-02-2007, 12:50
Poor Asher. Can't you see he's upset about getting old and losing his non-existent hair? See it from his point of view. One day you're cruising along in your frog and everyone's all over you because you're so 'tiny' and 'precious'. The next thing you know, you're a big six-month bruiser and the fussing has all but died down. The glass smacking is a just a bit of Russell Crowe-ish attention seeking now that the 'tiny' thing isn't working out for him.

Men.

mum_I'm_hungry
22-02-2007, 12:53
What is with these babies? Teddy was the one waking up three or four times a night and the last two nights he's only woken up once each night -- at 4am (by which time my boobs had already woken me up). I can't believe how good it is to get in one long stretch of sleep. It hasn't happened for about... oh, you know, three and a half years! :D

shed
22-02-2007, 13:01
I've been getting heaps of sleep for the last week or so. Bubby and I are still in the spare room. Its great.

DP is looking decidedly refreshed as well, and doesn't seem too concerned about my absence.

We have a friend staying tonight though so I will have to give up my new bed, and my good night's sleep.

But tomorrow I am going back there!

lottiesmum
22-02-2007, 13:28
sj - beany - shed : we are leaving for sydney soon so i'm not online again before we meet up. if you cant make it text me - otherwise see you there for 11am!
if our wheels fall off i'll text you beany...
bye everyone else :wave:

MountainGirl
22-02-2007, 13:33
See you at 11 Lottiesmum,.... looking forward to it!!!! I will pm you my mobs so we can keep in the loop,..

missie_mack
22-02-2007, 13:56
Question- My SIL is about to pop out a neice or nephew anyday now and we have been looking for a baby gift and have found us scratching our heads. This is her second kid so she has all the basics. I was thinking about buying her a baby bag or maternity bra but she thinks they are both a waste of money :confused: They live life pretty simply and dont really spend money on much (hence I have not much in common with them lol) Any ideas of what to buy?? What were you bought that you couldnt go without? She will more than likely be a longterm breast feeder if that helps....

wattle
22-02-2007, 14:00
Hi Everyone :wave:

Phew, another hot day here. I'm a bit over it all now....I even defrosted the freezer today to cool down a bit. :D

I took the kids to the park this morning - dumb move. Ds was in one of 'those' moods. He chucked a handful of dirt in Stephanies face for a bit of fun....grrrr. She started crying, so he started crying, so I thought we'd leave, but he didn't want to etc etc aaaaaaagh. Gawd, I should take a hip flask next time.

The bubhub bakeoff is on again, does anyone here want to enter? It's 'light 'n fruity' theme. Doesn't have to be anything complicated. Here's the link http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1142909#post1142909

shed
22-02-2007, 14:15
missie_mack: A MESH FEEDER :laughing: :laughing:

biscotti
22-02-2007, 14:36
....or maternity bra but she thinks they are both a waste of money :confused: ....

eh? What does she wear then .....:confused: No bra? Gawd mine'd be around my waist if I went without a bra while b-feeding.
Something for her maybe :confused: - Jo Malone candles, or a really nice magazine subscription, CD's, body products or would that all qualify as a waste of money also...

Thinking for you missie_mack.....hmmmm.....I love a challenge!

missie_mack
22-02-2007, 14:53
eh? What does she wear then .....:confused: No bra? Gawd mine'd be around my waist if I went without a bra while b-feeding.
She um er just undoes her bra from the back and flops them out. Which is fine but not my cup of tea if you know what I mean. Who would believe I was a love child of the 70s when Im such a prude lol.
Nice suggestions but she wouldnt use candles magazines etc. I also thought of a nappy wrapper. I adore mine. When we ran out of cartidges and decided to wait til the weekend to get new ones (the upgraded ones for solids etc) we nearly all died of fumes.... I asked her and she turned up her nose (and hinted that I was wasting money by having one) and said she just uses those nice smelly bags I bought her last time.... see my dilemma :confused:

*Country Bumpkin*
22-02-2007, 15:17
she just uses those nice smelly bags I bought her last time.... see my dilemma :confused:

ur answer is right there in front of you.... Buy her those NICE smelly bags she likes so much:laughing:

Perhaps a nice bf top- like fresh mums or something

MountainGirl
22-02-2007, 15:48
MMack - how bout a sling or a hug-a-bub or something like that,....

shed
22-02-2007, 15:52
I just looked on the map, Centennial Park is over in Bondi?? holy cow, thats miles away.

Oh well, thats allright.

What is the cafe called that we are meeting at?

Can someone PM me their mobile as well because I always seem to get lost when I venture to new places.

I was going to catch the train because I thought it was in the city. I think I will drive. Is there parking there?

mum_I'm_hungry
22-02-2007, 15:59
Well, I couldn't get by without my glamourmom breastfeeding tops. I wear them all day every day -- even to bed! I'm not huge (a 12dd when feeding), but I still like the extra support ones the best. I buy mine on ebay (new, of course), but you can get them at the fertile mind web-site, I think. They do lovely gift certificates there, too. :thumbsup:

Oh dear. Just got a message telling me that one of my best friends from high school went for a scan today and there was no heartbeat. This is even worse news as it's so hard for her to get pregnant as she has bad depression and has to come off all her drugs in order to conceive. The longer she stays off them, the dicier things are for her, poor thing. And, naturally, news like this will make things worse for her anyway. :gloomy:

MountainGirl
22-02-2007, 16:10
Shed,...its really easy to get there,...drive straight down oxford St to the junction of oxford and Queen Street,..at that set of lights turn right and drive alongside the park fenceline,.. turn left into the first set of gates into the park and then left again,... the cafe os called Centennial Park cafe and you should be able to park right out front,... we are meeting at the fountain in front of the cafe..... have pm'd you my mobile,...

missie_mack
22-02-2007, 16:33
OOh thats so sad Alli. Imagine having no option than having a curette.... I guess it wasnt that bubbas time and I imagine there will be no suffering on its behalf.... so sad still for the mummy. I read once out of 10 school girls 2 will never have children. One through choice and one unable to carry and deliver. Scary huh. Makes me count myself lucky.

jessi
22-02-2007, 17:57
Question- My SIL is about to pop out a neice or nephew anyday now and we have been looking for a baby gift and have found us scratching our heads. This is her second kid so she has all the basics. I was thinking about buying her a baby bag or maternity bra but she thinks they are both a waste of money :confused: They live life pretty simply and dont really spend money on much (hence I have not much in common with them lol) Any ideas of what to buy?? What were you bought that you couldnt go without? She will more than likely be a longterm breast feeder if that helps....

Is she into meditation etc? If shes abit of a hippy, you could get her some baby and mom meditation type music?? Or, you could just give her a card with $50 and tell her to buy whatever she bloody wants!!

So... Nat was in a car accident today. I was at the gym and I had just finished up... I checked my fone for some reason and right as I looked at it- it started ringing. He was fine and his car was fine but the guy who he hit.,.. well, his car is totalled. And the poor fella was on his way to the hospital to pick up his wife and new born bub! Luckily for us, the guys car is exactly the same as the car that my parents have that is just sitting in the drive way at theirs. We are going to buy it and give it to this guy. Can you imagine if he had of had the wife and bub in the car!!!

Elsh was really good at the gym creche again today. They love her in there! And talking of Love- apparantly her and this other little bubba boy were making lovey dovey eyes at each other today. LOL Cute.

I think Ive finally made some friends also! Jazzysmum and Mama2cierra met up with me today at the Lagoon down the road. Im stoked as they are both really nice chicks- Ive hung out with both of them before but yeah, they are both keen to keep meeting up! We also met a nice American couple down there too whos bub is 1. She is gorgeous. The have just moved here from NY and are looking for friends so I got their number and they are going to come hang with us again! Might be good for Nat also, as the guy is keen to make some male friends! I think they are a fair bit older than us, probably mid to late 30's but really cool couple. The lady is a doctor and the Guy is a nurse.

I got my HipSeat in the mail today. Have been trying it out this afternoon, seems pretty good! Elsh thinks its pretty fun to be sitting on a ledge off Mummies hip LOL... I didnt tell Nat that I was getting it so he'll probably be like 'What the hell is this?' when he gets home. What a great invention!! So much easier on the back!

Anyways, guess id better go. Gotta make this place look abit respectable as the bloody real estate lady is comming tomorrow... eh, I shouldnt really bother. She WAS supposed to be here Tuesday. Everything was spick and span on Tuesday. So tough luck.

Lol. Big hugs to you all!

MountainGirl
22-02-2007, 18:32
Oh Alli :hugs: so sorry to hear that,...I meant to post before, but was taken away,........ I feel very lucky,... which reminds me,...saving babies is on tonight,... I have my glass of wine, tissues and sleeping wrapped Jasper to cuddle,...all set!

Beany
22-02-2007, 19:11
We had our 6 month check up today. Clean bill of health and all is good and right.

We asked about the unsettled behaviour, particularly that of last night, and he said it's the time when most babies start to have nightmares. We also asked about the sweatiness of his head as he slept. Apparently it's a genetic thing. So we have a bit of a scaredy-cat hot-head on our hands!

I'm still absolutely buggered. We're getting take away for dinner tonight and then, as soon as Asher's sweaty little head hits the pillow, so will mine. We're still on for tomorrow, too!

Missie: how about a playgym? Or a baby photo album/memory box?

Jess: :eek: I'm glad Nat and that other bloke are okay!

shed
22-02-2007, 19:14
So sorry for your friend Alli.

I also feel very lucky. For a while there I thought I was marked as one of the not-lucky ones. Sometimes I forget that he is already here and I occasionally catch myself doing one of my deals with the gods. Its a bit like the old stepping on a crack type superstitions. I used to do them all the time "if I do this then I can have children" about the most mundane of things i.e. not pushing the snooze button...weird woman, but it all worked out and I know I am blessed.

I hope it all works out for her as wonderful as it has for me, I really do.

Jane, Beany, I will see you tomorrow then! Yay. I desperately need a change of scenery. I am starting to really give some serious thought to going back to work, but I think I am just bored out of my brains.

littlepickle
22-02-2007, 19:24
Alli, So sorry to hear of your friend. Thats so sad. Its hard to know what to say as everything just seems so inadequate. Wishing your friend and her family strength and support. I hope that she goes on to have a beautiful bub soon :hugs:

Beany
22-02-2007, 20:02
We are all so very lucky. Lack of sleep, spew down cleavage, poo in hair ... we are so very lucky. That came off as sarcastic but it wasn't meant to be - I'm serious.

As I was walking down the length of the hospital to get to the paediatrician today, I walked past a gurney. That bit of the hospital usually has gurneys going past carrying people with shattered limbs in casts and what-not. Today, I tried hard not to look because I knew it wasn't an adult but my eyes betrayed me and snuck to the right ... there was a tiny little baby in the bed. Tubed all over him, bits of plastic, fluid going in and out ...

What can we think but just how lucky we are.

Mrs Potts
22-02-2007, 20:50
Oh cr@p. Damn work again means I haven't been in for a few days, it's taken me an hour to catch up on all your chatter, and now I can't remember a thing except Yay for Shed's weight-loss!!

Miss K had a few unsettled nights last week too. Very unlike her so maybe it's an age thing?

Alli - I went to buy your books today and would you believe I couldn't get them? What dreadful bookstores we have here in Canberra! Although apparently we do have spunky, nice smelling sparky's :laughing:

Loved the karaoke too. And another one fighting over Morten Harkett *swoon* Take on Me was my ringtone for ages too LOL Can you believe I actually Googled Rick Astley too, though I was never that keen. Couldn't stand the Bangles either.

OK, I'll come back tomorrow to catch up some more. Too tired now.

Take care all *mwah*

missie_mack
22-02-2007, 21:21
Missie whispers to Mrs Potts "ebay" secretly hoping Alli might skim this post :o :o

*munchkin*
22-02-2007, 23:47
Alli - so sorry to hear about your friend - words are kind of insufficient. It does indeed make us realise how lucky we all are.

I went to morning tea at a friend's house this morning and one of his friends and her 7mth old were there. This 7 month old is practically walking :eek: . She has been crawling since she was FIVE MONTHS :eek: , and was all over the place, into everything. She even eats vegemite sandwiches :eek: . Em looked like such a BABY next to this girl. She was like a little pixie - smaller than Em, but just so mobile. I'm still in shock :eek: .

My sister, SIL, 2 nieces and nephew all came around this arvo, and it was wonderful. Kids everywhere, chaos reigned. I love it! Gee I'd love to have, like, FIVE kids if I could. Sigh... Best be grateful for the one, hey?

MountainGirl
23-02-2007, 02:08
Hmmm,......it;s 3am and I have resigned myself to the fact that I am not going to bed tonight,...at all,... Jasper is doing the strangest thing,......put him down - SCREAMS and SCREAMS - pick him up - Sleeps,....over and over again,.... so I am just sitting on the couch with a cup of tea,..in the semidarkness,..just waiting for the day to begin,......:no: will go and have a look around bubhub,....surely someone else will be awake!

Beany
23-02-2007, 08:27
Hey we're still on for today, yes?

Can Asher and I park on a corner of someone else's picnic rug so I don't have to lug one over? We promise to wash! And brush our hair! And blow our noses! ... er, not on your rug, obviously ... :p

I got a full 6 hours of sleep last night! Who'd have thought that this I-need-8-hours-a-night girl would be so thrilled to have had 6 hours!

jessi
23-02-2007, 08:38
Ive been having so much trouble sleeping lately. Im so restless. Elsh will sleep for hours but I just cant!
I think I got 4hr last night :sleeping:

(although im guessing the severe lack of sleep last night had something to do with my Mother not letting us BUY the car they dont use off them cos she wants it. I was so dissapointed in her and angry... I just couldnt stop thinking about it)

shed
23-02-2007, 08:38
yes we are leaving soon.

will find a rug. :detective:

Mrs Potts
23-02-2007, 08:40
<whispers> Thanks Missie ;)

You Sydney gals have a wunnerful meet today. Wish I could join you. <sigh>

Forgot to say yesterday HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my gorgeous boy. I can't believe he's 6! How on earth did that happen? And since he had a birthday, I guess that means I had one too. Trying not to think about that bit though. Would really rather stop the aging process about now....

SJ - Hope Jasper has some good sleeps for you today. Seems our bubs are doing some strange things lately.

wattle
23-02-2007, 08:48
I hope you all have a wonderful time today. Stephanie would be extreeeemely jealous, she just loves other babies so I'd better not tell her that you're all getting together.

SJ - hope you got some sleep. :hugs:

Missie_mack - for you SIL perhaps you could give her some music. This guy http://www.eventidemusic.co.uk/bio-kevin.htm just makes the loveliest calming music. I have a pretty reasonable calm music collection, and nothing else comes close. It gets played ALL the time in both kids rooms. I think you can buy them at JB hifi too. :thumbsup:

Beany
23-02-2007, 09:05
Hey missie, I was thinking what with her hippy money saving ways, perhaps you could get her a starter pack of cloth nappies?

*munchkin*
23-02-2007, 09:08
For your general amusement...

I received another package from my ex.

In it was...

1. my favourite t-shirt that he took by mistake. OK. Thank you.

2. A copy of the Coober Pedy News.
On page 6 are some pics of the locals (let me just say :eek: ). Including a family with their children...Krush, Kool, Fresh and Fly. :laughing:

I'll pay him for that one. That made me LMAO. Fancy living in Coober Pedy and calling your child FLY!! That's like a Brisbanite calling their kid Cockroach. Or your Sydneyites calling yours Huntsman :D .

The other goodie was Page 11 "BEER PRICES WILL INCREASE" story.

Oh..and if he's trying to convince me to move there by sending these things, he's more of a moron than I thought! Let's just say the paper *cough, aherm* confirms my decision.

happybirthday Little Potts (Cameron) and Mrs Potts!

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 09:13
Happy
Birthday
Mrs Potts!!!!!!
:wizard:
:party:
"If you carry your childhood with you, you never become older."

Abraham Sutzkever

Beany
23-02-2007, 09:13
On page 6 are some pics of the locals (let me just say :eek: ).

happybirthday Cameron! And you too Mrs Potts! :party:

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 09:15
Speaking of weird newspaper things. You know your really in the country when you read a job ad that includes the phrases.
"No thugs and deadheads need apply" It was in the little town where DH works newspaper lol

*munchkin*
23-02-2007, 09:16
:laughing: Missie Mack, that's hilarious!! BTW: your birthday message was just purrrty!

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 09:30
Hey missie, I was thinking what with her hippy money saving ways, perhaps you could get her a starter pack of cloth nappies?

:eek: Have you seen the price of cloth nappies?? I was stunned cause I was thinking of using them at home for DS.... she tight and frugal but she uses disposable she just buys them at Aldi instead lol.... I laugh because I made a stand that I would never step foot in the doors of Aldi cos of the way all the outlaws carry on. I had to ensure that I researched the catalogue everyweek before visiting

mum_I'm_hungry
23-02-2007, 09:37
happybirthday I baked a virtual cake! A Nigella choccie one, I think. Yumbo. Here you go...

I cut a recipe out yesterday that was for choccie cupcakes with chocolate icing and a tiny teddie on top. It was from a 'teddy bear's picnic' party themed piece in Good Taste magazine. I thought it might be good for Teddy's 1st b'day!

Thanks for all the wishes for my friend. I'm dreading calling her today. She's been kind of distant the past six months or so with our group of friends. Maybe because we've all got kids and two of us have recently had babies? I'm not sure, but I'm guessing this must be really hard for her and why she's pulling away a bit. It must be an awful feeling to try and be happy for someone else when it's everything you want for yourself. :no:

Laughing about ebay. Yeah, my books are always floating about there. Especially because they issued one with a copy of New Woman magazine a while back. Dymocks is usually the best bet bookstore-wise. It's difficult, because the past few years my books have mainly come out in the US, so there's not much here other than young adult books. I'll have a new one out next year, though I've been 'given' a new name -- Allison King, so will be using that. Wow. A new me. And I don't even get a facial and a mani./pedi.!

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 09:44
Actually I think I bought my Alli books in Tar-get.....

I have to share the funniest thing. Someone mentioned they give their kids toast bits well I thought I would give James some this morning while I was making mine. Its so funny anyone would think my son was starved he nearly launches himself off the swing to get a piece and scoffs it

First bit of vegemite on toast (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/myfstvegemiteandtoast.jpg)
Second bit of toast (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/secondvegemiteandtoast.jpg)
Im not sure if its the toast or the vegemite on it :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

I think its a winner

biscotti
23-02-2007, 09:51
Morning,

Oh Alli - I am sad for your friend, I can't think of anything worse than wanting a child and not having one.

My SIL - the odd one (the Bridezilla one), is desperate for a baby and has been on IVF countless times, has had Ovarian Hyper Stimulation Syndrome and it has just taken over her life. Her husband is in his 40's and never really wanted a baby but now would be happy to have one just so that his wife would feel some joy in life again. This SIL is very strange around Clio, gives me funny feelings but I guess if I were in her shoes, I would be the same.

happybirthday Mrs P and Cameron - how special that you share a birthday :party:

Missie_mack - well if she is so frugal, how about just a pack of nappies (lash out and get some huggies lol) , wipes, those smelly bags, ummmm baby bath stuff, and forget my Jo Malone candles :laughing:

Jessi - read your thread about Nat, OMG, has your heart gone back to normal yet?

Munchkin - still laughing at those names, although there are some odd ones floating around here in Noosa too believe it or not. My daughter used to play with a boy named Pandanus.

Have a lovely meet Sydney girls :yelclap:

Noosamum XX

biscotti
23-02-2007, 09:54
Couple of quick pics...

My girl..
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b91/krossman/cliofeb07009.jpg

and Tash - I blame you :laughing: , look what you started....

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b91/krossman/cliofeb07008.jpg

Noosamum XX

mum_I'm_hungry
23-02-2007, 10:10
Ha ha. Yes. LOVED those names, Munchkin! What is with people? At what point did the parents look at each other and say something along the lines of, 'OMG. Pandanus. That's IT!!!'.

As my grandma would say, 'There's nowt as queer as folk'.

Oh, and don't want to gloat, but my boy slept from 7.30pm till 6am this morning. :smiliedance: He's only done this once before! The last two nights before this have been 7.30pm till 4am, too. I feel like a new mummy!

Went out for dinner with some girlfriends last night. As I drove to the restaurant, I was thinking how much my life has changed. Thai on a weeknight used to be no big deal. Now it is like some super-huge treat that has to be planned weeks in advance and I have to start getting ready for from about 4pm (feed kids, bath kids, tidy house, get bottles ready etc. -- I'm sure you know the drill!). None of the girls I was having dinner with have kids and I had to laugh thinking about how they had no idea what I went through just to eat some pad thai! :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
23-02-2007, 10:15
Ooohhh, yes. Jessi. Sorry. I meant to say I hope you guys are all feeling a little less jittery today. Scary stuff. How weird about the car being the same.

We're getting a second car this weekend. How flash are we -- it's an Audi...

(shhh... a '93 model!).

We need a run-around till my husband gets a work car the year at the start of 2009. Don't want to spend a lot of money. So we're not! My mum has a local mechanic she's been going to forever and he quite often buys little run-arounds and fixes them up. And this is what he has in at the moment, so that's what we're getting. We don't really want a second car, but he has to work at a hospital for three months that is a 40 minute drive away, so there's no other option, really.

Geez, better go do some work...

jessi
23-02-2007, 10:28
Noosa, that little dress your little miss is wearing is devine!!!!

Yeah my heart has returned to normal beating pace... although, we are sh*t out of luck with that car that my parents have. Read here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=71346) about my situation.

Eh... *rests her weary head* I think im going to go have a bubble bath while Elsh is asleep.

Fairyfloss
23-02-2007, 10:40
Hello everyone
sorry didn't get a chance to read the posts, I am here to windge, cause no one else is listening to me , I have sugeray on Tuesday :eek: and I am scared to death. they are going to remove my gallblader cause t has multiple moving stone and they have blocked a bile duct or some thing. So here is my windge
"I DO NOT WANT TO HAVE THE SURGERY DONE. I HATE IT, I HATE AND IN CASE YOU DID NOT HEAR ME I HATE IT:crying: . I AM SCARED :crying:, WHAT IF I NEVER WAKE UP AFTER THE OPERATION"
oh well rant is over soryy guys my surgen and DH are refusin to hear me becasue apparantly I have to get it done.:banghead: .so it looks like I will be offline for a while, wish me luck I am so scared.

wattle
23-02-2007, 11:15
Oh no Parisa, that's terrible news. I hope it's all over really quickly and that you're healthy and happy again in no time. You will be fine.

Repeat after me "I WILL BE FINE" Keep saying it!

Happy Birthday to the Potts's. Hope you're all having a wonderful and special day.:party:

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 11:16
:hugs: It will be fine. They surgery is key hole now and you are up and running within a week. Dhs grannie had it after her wedding. Tried everything to get out of it and now is so glad she had it. :fingerscrossed: Will be thinking of you Parisa

Mrs Potts
23-02-2007, 11:20
:hugs::hugs: and more :hugs: for you Parisa. I agree, you WILL be fine. And will feel much better after it's all over, I bet.

Thanks for the birthday wishes for Cam and I. My day was nothing out of the ordinary. Didn't receive any gifts (aside from a little cash from my parents) but that's usual. However Dough has promised me that since it's our 10th anniversary this year that he will buy me diamonds later in the year. I can live with that :)

Cam, on the other hand, is getting days of celebrations. He's being taken to the Show this afternoon, then taking a friend to Questacon (the science centre) tomorrow, and having party food for dinner. To be a kid again!

mum_I'm_hungry
23-02-2007, 11:23
Oh, no. Parisa, that's terrible. Do you feel okay? I know before my mum had her gall bladder out she was drinking antacid like it was lolly water.

If it makes you feel any better, I'm sure the anaesthetist will take good care of you and make sure you wake up. They're usually a pretty decent bunch, or at least my husband is... ;) Seeing as you're worried, my tip is to ask for something beforehand (valium etc.) for your nerves. Most anaesthetists will give you one and they work really well. You go all nice and woozy and don't freak out when they take you into theatre and do the IV etc.. I'm a complete wuss, but I don't care. I know my limitations and ask for what I need! :yes:

wattle
23-02-2007, 11:38
Oooh AlliJB I'm so jealous. I'd loooove to be able to go out for dinner. Unfortunately Steph still won't take a bottle, so I'm quite restricted.

My 20 year school reunion (yep, I'm ancient :rolleyes: ) is on next week and I really want to go, but I just don't know what to do about Steph. It's 6.30 - 8.30pm, just when the kids are at their rattiest. She really hates being away from me for even two minutes, so I just don't think she'd cope if I left for a few hours. It wouldn't be much fun for me if I was imagining her home screaming either. What should I do??
I did think that dh could drop ds off at the inlaws, then take me & Steph to the reunion and hopefully she could sleep in the car while I attend the reunion. Does that sound too crazy? I'm not sure that dh was too excited about it.:confused:

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 11:51
Wattle no luck with the breast to bottle, bottle?? I read somewhere else to feed it to them in a shot glass.... What if you fed her early? Most kids only scream for the first 5 minutes and then tend to forget about the missing parent... if you just slipped out the door without mentioning it to anyone??

It would be terrible to miss out :thumbsdown:

wattle
23-02-2007, 12:21
No luck MM. Maybe I'm just being silly. If I go out for a walk with ds for 30 mins or so she just screams until I get home, even if I give her a feed before I go. :( The car is the only place she's happy (mostly) and she might nod off without a boobie in her mouth.

I try the bottle most days, but even if she's starving, she just lets the milk run out of her mouth.:banghead: Have tried cups, various bottles, straws etc. If only men could breastfeed too.... *sigh*.

*munchkin*
23-02-2007, 12:27
If only men could breastfeed too.... *sigh*.
Has DH tried the man-boob like in Meet the Fockers? :D

Seriously...maybe it's time you tried to leave her for an hour or 2.

Parisa...you'll be FINE!!!!!!! Take the drugs the Drs Wife has suggested :D

Psssst *whispers so as not to let anyone else know* I have an interview on Monday. Am excited. And scared. And sad. And happy. Am a complete weirdo!

mumstar
23-02-2007, 13:04
good morning girls! actually just turned 12.01 here so good afternoon!!! we had a very rough night last night so a very late start to the day!

i dont think i actually posted a post last night that i meant too

for the present i couldnt live withour my booby bib! it a singlet top with a built in shelf bra that soak up the breast milk so u dont have to wear a bra with nreast pads to bed! i couldnt live without mine here is the link!

booby bibs (http://www.boobybibs.com.au)

hope all u sysdney siders have a great meet... hopefully someone will take a camera and post some pics!

munchkin: u ex other half cracks me up!

have a good day girls!

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 14:57
Thanks for the birthday wishes for Cam and I. My day was nothing out of the ordinary. Didn't receive any gifts (aside from a little cash from my parents) but that's usual. However Dough has promised me that since it's our 10th anniversary this year that he will buy me diamonds later in the year.

No home made I love you Mummy birthday card even??? Hairy eggs on toast like only a kid can make?? That doesnt seem very fair :thumbsdown:
Heres my cyber present (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/flowers.jpg)...

Lets hope they're gorgeous diamonds you get for your anniversary.... We are only on paper this year I can see it will be really exciting by how creative my DH is lol

Mrs Potts
23-02-2007, 15:24
Aaaww Missie, you're so sweet. <sniff> Thank you! And nope, not one of the things you mentioned. Dough is almost perfect, but gifts are the one place he's lacking. He keeps telling me I can go shopping for clothes or whatever, but he doesn't get that I'd rather something worth $20 that he chose himself than me spending hundreds of dollars on myself. It also doesn't occur to him to take the kids shopping for a gift for me :crying:

And they will be gorgeous diamonds too since I'll be choosing for myself what I want. I had considered pink diamonds until I discovered what they're worth :eek: Might opt for pink sapphires and diamonds instead....

*munchkin*
23-02-2007, 15:35
Ahhh...poor Dough Potts. Just doesn't get the present thing. But hey, nearly perfect is pretty darn perfect!

Well kids :wave: , about to blow outta town for the weekend. Heading off to that there 'ole country outta west (staying at a friend's farm for the weekend). If Em misbehaves, it'll be the best contraception my 4 girlfriends ever have. Could be great :sleeping: or could be a nightmare :cool:

Taking my fresh baked chocolate hazelnut double layer cake with chocolate cream icing *insert licking lips emoticon*. I was so tempted to do an 'Uncle Arthur' and eat a piece then squish the rest of the cake together and ice over the top. Desperadoooooooooo.

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 17:26
I have a message from Adele on my msn asking to let you all know that she has been banned and hence AWOL.

Dont know reasons etc and I dont think those things are allowed to be discussed anyhow. Just passing the message on......

biscotti
23-02-2007, 17:38
I have a message from Adele on my msn asking to let you all know that she has been banned and hence AWOL.

Again :confused: :eek:

biscotti
23-02-2007, 17:43
Noosamum, Will definitely let you know if I find a mothers group. Zillmere is very close to Carseldine too. Actually, there are quite a few bubhub mums form carseldine. Does your SIL visit bubhub?

No she doesn't as far as I know, but then again, I haven't exactly pushed it, Bubhub is mine, all mine Bwwaahhhh (*evil laugh*) lol.

I do know though that she is desperate for some mum and bub type friends, and I'm just a bit far away, everyone she knew in Brisbane 10 years ago has either left themselves or is still single/childless and as a newly married mum she doesn't have much in common with them anymore and having been living/working in London for the last 10 yrs is feeling a bit out of touch anyways.
Thanks LP :)

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 17:56
No she doesn't as far as I know, but then again, I haven't exactly pushed it, Bubhub is mine, all mine Bwwaahhhh (*evil laugh*) lol.

I could understand this. When people ask what the best thing I did when I was pregnant. I tell them I joined a internet forum. When they ask which one I tell them one of the competitors incase they join bubhub and read all sorts of info I wouldnt share with them. Could you imagine your SIL or MIL for that fact reading all the TMI bits we talked about when pregnant???

biscotti
23-02-2007, 18:03
Could you imagine your SIL or MIL for that fact reading all the TMI bits we talked about when pregnant???

Exactly :thumbsup:

shed
23-02-2007, 18:04
Moving right along....

Speaking of mothers groups or as DP refers to it "ya muvvers thing" here is a pic of our gorgeous August boys enjoying their meeting this afternoon.

Jasper, 'Harry', Asher and Baden

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/9619/img1849gf7.jpg

http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/6633/img1848we1.jpg

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/5826/img1853gf3.jpg

Asher and Badey
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/8099/img1847di0.jpg

and one of the seven year old on his own! LOL
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/4412/img1854ot5.jpg

If you look closely you will see Jane's new 'boo' in the background...(next to my poor old Steelcraft - ignore that!)

MountainGirl
23-02-2007, 18:04
hmmmm,.....banned,...oh,.....bugger,...

but hey,...our meet was great today,..will post some pics if I can work out photobucket,...or maybe clever Beany will do it before me!

Lottiesmum - Harry and Charlotte are divine,... hope the rest of your weekend in Syd is not too tiring!

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 18:13
Harry and Asher seem to be having a very indepth conversation. Meanwhile Jaspers just sitting proud and Baden looks like he's too cool for it all. What a classic such little personalities already forming...

Mrs Potts
23-02-2007, 18:28
Great pics Shed. What handsome boys!

mama anne
23-02-2007, 18:29
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/8099/img1847di0.jpg

caption for this photo:

"look bades, mate .... i dont know how to tell you this .... um ..... when we were in their bellies ..... they talked about their poo. i know, gross ..... but mate ..... whats worse ..... um ...... now, they talk about ours" :o

biscotti
23-02-2007, 18:43
What are Harry and Asher talking about :confused: :laughing:

Gorgeous little men, Harry, Asher, Jasper and Baden :kiss:

Great pics - thanks so much for sharing :)

missie_mack
23-02-2007, 18:44
Oi oi oi what is this a boys club or summin??? :D
Wheres the pictures of the girls???

biscotti
23-02-2007, 18:44
mama anne - :laughing:

MountainGirl
23-02-2007, 19:09
the boys,...

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s293/scarlettjasper/jasperfeb06341.jpg

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s293/scarlettjasper/jasperfeb06277.jpg

hope that works!

MountainGirl
23-02-2007, 19:22
Oh,...and just to even up the score,....here is one of Squidg after getting into my 'witstick'!

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s293/scarlettjasper/jasperfeb06326.jpg

biscotti
23-02-2007, 19:22
Noosa, that little dress your little miss is wearing is devine!!!!

Thanks Jessi :) - that's actually the outfit that I bought the day I found out I was having a baby girl, I posted about it back then (don't think you were "with us" back then though) - it is Fred Bare and Miss 7 has the same dress in the "big girl style" - not that I dress them the same or anything though, it just happened that they both ended up with that pattern :)

Gorgeous isn't it :yes: I just love her in it (love her all the time though :yes: ).

Noosamum XX

biscotti
23-02-2007, 19:25
Oh Jane - that Scarlett is just yummy :yes:

noosamum XX

mumstar
23-02-2007, 19:25
hey girls just thought i would share that i have just been surprised with a night out this evening! troy is looking after the kids and my friend who is on hols from sydney is picking me up so we can go out to dinner!!! im sosoooooooo excited!!! *jumps around the room* yeah !!!!

jessi
23-02-2007, 19:30
teehee Shed, I love Badens hair. Its really in with the whole Emo style. He just needs to dye it black!

Your boys are all adorable. I just want to pinch Jaspers cheeks!! :)

mum_I'm_hungry
23-02-2007, 21:18
Squeal! Babies! Teddy is so jealous. He thought he had the mohawk thing going on, but I gave him a look at Baden's hair and now he's gone to bed all depressed (or maybe he's just gone to bed!). How cute are all those chubby-cheekers. I so wish Teddy could have been there for a 'man chat' and a rusk.

Ha ha. I've got a piccie of Ivy getting into my mascara, Jane! I couldn't find the one you were talking about, noosamum. Will have to go back and have another look... :detective:

shed
23-02-2007, 21:42
Baden was born with a David Beckham type mohawk, very trendy, then the sides fell out and left a strip in the middle. I can't imagine him without it. Its gonna be weird when it grows out.

Anyway ladies, have you all voted in the latest soaker knit off?

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=70225&page=2

Mama anne and I are both in it...(you don't have to vote for us though!).

yes you do

Beany
23-02-2007, 22:11
Ah the ugly side of Vista rears it's head ... my camera's drivers aren't compatible. Noodle will have to find a way to fix things. I mean I could just stop being such a bum about it and just hook the camera up to my laptop but I'm too lazy to walk across the room.

Thanks for a lovely day, ladies! I had a great time - always do! It's great getting out of the house for a while. I love the photos! I'm going to have to copy them into my file.

Asher had started a melt down by the time we had lunch but, strapped into the carrier (which I officially LOVE btw!), he fell asleep before we even got to Oxford Street. He stayed asleep while on the bus with a grumpy old man behind us grumbling to his grumpy old wife about everything. Literally EVERYTHING. People these days. Dogs these days. Why did they move that bus stop? Why didn't they move this other bus stop? There were too many road works. There was not enough work being done to smooth out the pavements. Hungry Jacks is bad for you. Cholesterol. But what would doctors know. Bloody doctors these days. They used to give you a pill when you went in to make everything better. These days they want to do tests.

Oh, who was after those baby sleeping bag thingies? David Jones have some on special - $40 down from $75.

He's awake - back in a bit.

littlepickle
24-02-2007, 00:55

I do know though that she is desperate for some mum and bub type friends, and I'm just a bit far away, everyone she knew in Brisbane 10 years ago has either left themselves or is still single/childless and as a newly married mum she doesn't have much in common with them anymore and having been living/working in London for the last 10 yrs is feeling a bit out of touch anyways.
Thanks LP :)

ooh, sounds like me, I worked in London for years efore coming back by which point jus about everyone I know have kind of drifted:rolleyes: Does she like craft or anything like that as I do know of a mothers group in the area that meet up and do craft type things. I have a friend that goes, but given the fact that I am pretty useless at craft, I havent plucked up the courage to go myself. I am always looking for someone to come to babes in arms movie sessions as I hate going on my own:o

Love the piccies of "the boys" How adorable are they! Gorgeous!
Jane - it has to be said, Scarlett is Absolutely devine, what a cutie!

We are moving house tomorrow so I may be MIA for a while as I will have to wait a little while for my broadband connection .. cant bring myself to use poopy dialup

mumstar
24-02-2007, 12:17
hi girls!
my night out last night was fantastic... it was soo much fun catching up with a heap of people i havent seen in years! for a minute there i didnt feel like a mum or a wife just myself for a little while... then i came home and aiden was asking for me i and relised i would much rather be at home with my kids then out partying with my friends!! i dont feel like i missing out on anything anymore because its always the same, have a few drinks, eat, dance come home tired and wake up with a hangover! no thanks anymore! but it was still fun for a while!

good luck lp with the move!
anyways i gotta go get to medicare before it closes! i might lurk on here a bit today!
chat later!

wattle
24-02-2007, 14:30
Those photos are just gorgeous. Little boys are so cute.

SJ, love the lippy shot too. :thumbsup:

Heres one I just took of Steph playing with her octopus kite.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/stephkite.jpg

Mrs Potts
24-02-2007, 15:09
Oooh Beany, that's freaky. You and I must be on some kind of weird wavelength today - I was just coming on here to ask Shed if she'd bought Baden a Bubbaroo sleeping bag yet! :eek: *insert Twilight Zone music*

All those pics are too cute. Love the caption LOL

LP - good luck with the move

Beany - re Vista: aside from the driver debarcle (sp?) how is it? Haven't had a chance for a look yet, and certainly don't intend on buying it for some time. I've heard that basically if you're buying a new pc that comes with it that's fine, but don't waste money buying it otherwise. And absolutely don't try to run it with less than 2gb of RAM.

I think most bubs are having some solids these days - does anyone else have a bub who isn't interested in them? Miss K still doesn't want a bar of it. She doesn't seem to mind the taste, but she has no idea what to do with the stuff once it's in her mouth (that's if you can get her to open it!). She's destined to forever be my Milky Bar Kid!

missie_mack
24-02-2007, 16:44
Things are quiet here today... I just thought I would pop on to thank everyone for their ideas on my SIL baby present. After a lot of thinking I decided I would try and make one of those baby sock/bib bouquets. Hope it doesnt look sad....
She is now officially overdue and no one knows what she is having. She didnt find out after our debarcle.

Gotta run back later to check up

wattle
24-02-2007, 17:00
I just wanted to say something to you all....

Some threads on bubhub get a bit heated and silly, but this one is quite special. You're all a wonderful bunch of mums and I'm really glad I had an august bub and was able to meet you (well sort of) all. I really like that we're all different here, but all get along.

Ok, thats all. :o

Beany
24-02-2007, 17:21
Good luck with the move LP! I'm probably one of the very few people in the world that actually likes moving. I like packing all my stuff up and unpacking it all, re-nesting ... Yes, okay, I'm weird :p

Glad you had a good night off, Tegan. I haven't had those in a fair while but I don't really mind, either. I feel at a bit of a loss when Asher isn't around, even if it's only for an hour or so. I'm sure that will all change in the coming months and years!

Beany - re Vista: aside from the driver debarcle (sp?) how is it? Haven't had a chance for a look yet, and certainly don't intend on buying it for some time. I've heard that basically if you're buying a new pc that comes with it that's fine, but don't waste money buying it otherwise. And absolutely don't try to run it with less than 2gb of RAM.

Its soooo puuuuurrrdddy!! They have definitely taken a leaf out of the Mac book and made everything so much ... shinier! I like it ... well, apart from having to go nuts with driver issues. Haven't experienced any issues with crashing or suchlike, either so it seems like a stable enough system.

I did need to get more RAM. Didn't mind that though - my old lot was a bit dodgy and was crashing with XP anyway.

I didn't buy Vista :D Microsoft has some sort of academic alliance whereby academic staff and students can use their product for free. This is supposedly so that the platform would be used for development purposes and as Noodle is a staff member, he got a copy. Granted, it's on my computer as opposed to his (he's sticking with XP) but it still serves various networky purposes. Well, that's our story, anyway!

If I'd had to pay for it, I probably wouldn't have bothered. If you can *ahem* source a copy, it is worth a play. Very pretty :)

I think most bubs are having some solids these days - does anyone else have a bub who isn't interested in them? Miss K still doesn't want a bar of it. She doesn't seem to mind the taste, but she has no idea what to do with the stuff once it's in her mouth (that's if you can get her to open it!). She's destined to forever be my Milky Bar Kid!

Asher is very uninterested. He takes the first couple of spoons and then turns his head, won't pen his mouth, fusses around, tries to climb out of the chair, develops a sudden utter fascination for the carpet ...

Although yesterday as I sat in a cafe and fed him tiny little bits of bread, he was more interested than he ever had been in any food. Also, today as I was eating a scone, I gave him small pieces and he lunged forward for those and demanded more as soon as his mouth was empty. I'm thinking of taking a different approach and just feeding him small bits of things from my plate (have a corner for baby food) and just feeding him as I ate dinner. Maybe he just doesn't like mush.

Beany
24-02-2007, 17:23
Oh and coootchie woooootchie woooo Steph! Those cheeks were made for pinching!

Oh and Clio too from a couple of days back (or was it yesterday? ... *shrug*) - adorable! Though Asher isn't allowed to look as that little girl either ... Standing up? :eek: :yelclap: :no: :yes:

Beany
24-02-2007, 17:26
I just wanted to say something to you all....

Some threads on bubhub get a bit heated and silly, but this one is quite special. You're all a wonderful bunch of mums and I'm really glad I had an august bub and was able to meet you (well sort of) all. I really like that we're all different here, but all get along.

Ok, thats all. :o

Aww you soppy liddle thing! :D

Me too, by the way! I'm so glad that I'm in amongst this chilled out mummies group.

wattle
24-02-2007, 17:34
So now I guess you can all tell which days ds is at the inlaws.....:yes: yep, that'd be today. hehe, none of this "I'm going to count to three. If you don't stop biting/kicking/licking Stephanie you're going to go to your room, right ONE, TWOoooooo, THREE. *screams, wails, crying as he's picked up and taken to his room, then more hysterical noises until the door is opened and I ask if he's calmed down*

(Of course then he smiles cutely, rushes over to her and does it again :banghead: )

phew, toddlers are exhausting - and noisy! But today I'm a happy stress free mummy, hence the mushiness.

shed
24-02-2007, 17:41
No sleeping bag yet, just haven't got around to it. Although we are sleeping in the spare room now so he can't kick his blankets off. I am still planning to get him some though. We don't have a David Jones here though. Might have to go on an adventure!

He had pears and farex this afternoon and I just changed a nappy and it was FOUL. I give him one meal a day. Yesterday I was going to give him two meals but I forgot! He is such a classic, all he wants to do is eat the side of the bowl. He launches himself at it as soon as he swallows what I just spooned into his mouth.

I don't know if I told you guys, but the other day we were at the shopping centre and one of those photo places were there so I got his photos done. They put him in a tin bucket and all he wanted to do was eat the side of the bucket. The girl ended up taking a photo of him doing it, it was so funny. They would briefly distract him, he would graciously offer a smile for the camera and then go straight back to biting the side of the bucket. So cute.

I am watching The Devil Wears Prada. I just stopped it so DP could watch the news. Honestly, I am so good to that man.

missie_mack
24-02-2007, 18:59
DH bought me the Devil Wears Prada as a belated Valentines Day- we missed as we were so busy. Movie was brilliant. Would watch again and again and again. I really love that handbag that she wears when she meets that famous designer. Ive seen replicas on ebay and Im so tempted to buy one.

Edited to add a link of the funniest toy (http://s140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/?action=view&current=PICT0118.flv)we have bought DS. This is a classic

Mrs Potts
24-02-2007, 20:41
Beany, I'm a bit of a freak like you and am keen on moving. Ok, the actual day when we're traipsing back and forth from old to new isn't so much fun, but I love the packing and unpacking and decluttering business. Can't see us moving again for a veeery long time however, and at this late stage in my life I'm kinda happy about that.;)
Thanks for the Vista review too :D

Wattle - :hugs: I agree. "people" get so upset about the silliest things don't they? That's why I tend to stay away from "discussion" threads as there's rarely much sensible discussing going on... Life's too short I say.

yawn, I'm exhausted. Have a great night ladies, I'm off to bed.

Beany
24-02-2007, 21:10
Yay the driver issue has been sorted out! So, it’s piccies time!

Asher got a new toy on Thursday.

Asher! Look at the camera! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4772.jpg)

Look up here, honey! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4776.jpg)

Up here! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4774.jpg)

Oi, you! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4776.jpg)

Never mind. I give up. (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4780.jpg)

And some of the boys.

The boys. (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4787.jpg)

The boys. (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4789.jpg)

The complaint. (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4792.jpg)

And just too cute to not share.

Cutey wutey! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP4751.jpg)

MountainGirl
24-02-2007, 22:09
goodness.....quiet in here today/tonight,..... we just had 10 of our fav people to dinner,...was brilliant,... too much wine though:hugs: !

Wanted to say that I agree with Wattle ,.....you lot are lovely,...... now I must go to bed,......zzzzzzzzz,.... night all! hope you had a great night! see you at 3:00am when I am up with Jasper and a headache!

shed
24-02-2007, 22:18
Just watched March of the Penguins. If you haven't seen it you should. Its beautiful, I loved it.

There was a part in it where I wanted to cry but I couldn't because DP was in the room. When the chicks died in the storm, sniff, sniff.

I might sneak it on tomorrow when he is at golf, and have a bit of a howl.

And yes, wattle, I agree, I love this thread, we are all so different but its lovely. I am occasionally involved in the argey bargey in other threads, :o , its a bit of a hobby, but I NEVER bring it into this lovely thread. No way!

I don't take it into real life either by the way. Some people on this forum get under my skin, but no one in this thread, I love youse all, you can do no wrong in my eyes!

Its called 'maturity' I believe!! We all have it :D Lucky old us ay.

amandaw
25-02-2007, 07:00
Fairy Floss ... everything is crossed for you!

Psssst *whispers so as not to let anyone else know* I have an interview on Monday. Am excited. And scared. And sad. And happy. Am a complete weirdo!

That's not weird...if it's the 3 day a week one you were talking about, it's trying to have the best of both worlds....a little bit of mental stimulation and some extra cash for you and Em, as well as 4 days a week with your much loved bub! I know I appreciate my time with Charlotte more...it's easier to forgive the grumbly times when all you want to do is hold them (and you haven't had to put up with it all day by yourslef too) Good luck for the interview!!!

Lets hope they're gorgeous diamonds you get for your anniversary.... We are only on paper this year I can see it will be really exciting by how creative my DH is lol

The most creative/best thing I heard for paper (I used to work at a jewellers, so there were lots of people who kept strongly to the tradition...was great for ideas!) was plane tickets OS....I could wish!

Good luck with the move LP! I'm probably one of the very few people in the world that actually likes moving. I like packing all my stuff up and unpacking it all, re-nesting ... Yes, okay, I'm weird :p

Nope me too....hate the cleaning and hoisting part, but love the sense of newness as you find homes for everything, and finally cull all the garbage that I seem to keep 'just in case'

Aww you soppy liddle thing! :D
Me too, by the way! I'm so glad that I'm in amongst this chilled out mummies group.

2nd this motion! In fact I agree (I think it was LP who said this) that we all need to conceive again at the same time, so it can just flow through :laughing:

Edited to add a link of the funniest toy (http://s140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/?action=view&current=PICT0118.flv)we have bought DS. This is a classic

Gave me lots of giggles! The other day (at about 4 am!) I was woken with a start because I could hear this pommy voice saying 'pat a cake, pat a cake backers man'...tried desperately to try and wake mysef up enough to work out what it was (and why there was a weird pommy chick in our house!) Walked in to Charlottes room to find her FP sing and learn dog in her cot (mum had put it in there trying to encourage her to settle the day before)...definitely the most annoying toy she has because it's SOOOOO sensitive to touch, and goes off randomly - she loves pressing the bits though

jessi
25-02-2007, 10:47
Happy 1/2 Birthday to you,
Happy 1/2 Birthday dear Elllllshaaa!
Happy 1/2 Birthday to you!

I love you special lady!

**Pity shes being a pain in the a$$ today!**

shed
25-02-2007, 10:52
Happy Six Month Day Elsha!!! :party:

mumstar
25-02-2007, 11:21
:party: Happy 6 month Bday today Elsha!!! :party:
Geez how the time flys! Anyway i have a baby shower to go to today after being at an engagement party last night! The kids were so well behaved last night... no fights over toys and they stayed were they were told! they even had a bouncy castle as there were quite a few kids which made it a nice relaxed party! today should be intresting... its gonna be 38 and thunderstorms today so nice and muggy and my friend sarah who is throwing this baby shower just rang me to tell me her air con has broken and do i have and fans i can bring!!! nice a room full of pregnant people and heat!!!!

hope u are all well!!!
love tegan!!

ps i love you guys and this thread as well!!! having u to take to has kept me sane!!!

Mrs Potts
25-02-2007, 11:56
Its called 'maturity' I believe!!
I was going to say the same thing originally but figured someone would take offence so didn't bother....

jessi
25-02-2007, 12:16
Its called 'maturity' I believe!! We all have it :D Lucky old us ay.

LOL... old?? I still have a few years left before Im classed as old.

Thanks for the Half Birthday wishes ladies. Shes out in her birthday suit, and enjoying herself now (after a MUCH needed nap!!)
Im thinking perhaps I will put her in her cot in her own room tonight... Shes been having lots of naps in there and whenever she is cranky, in she goes and she is instantly calm and happy. Must be time for the move. Will effect me more than her, Im sure!
I think it will be for the best though. At least I wont be so worried that she is going to smother herself- in her porta cot, she sleeps in a sleeping bag, and under it- we have a really thick sheep skin. Latley she has been rolling onto her stomach to sleep and smooshing her face into the sheep skin!! Ive lost SO much sleep over it!
Anywyas, better go chuck a nappy on this girl- shes already weed on her rug, now whats the bet she has a poop. :laughing:

Beany
25-02-2007, 13:29
Happy 6-month-day Elsha!! :party:

What is it with these kiddies having a mini-meltdown on their 6 month day? Asher was a pain on Thursday, too ... Actually, he was okay on the day - it was the night before that sucked.

We're going to the shops in dribs and drabs this weekend. It's the benefit of living so close to the shopping centre - when he gets tired and cranky, we come home, let him have a proper sleep in his cot (as opposed to a mini-nap in the pram or carrier) and then head off again when he wakes up. If he wakes up in time to make it back to the shops, that is!

So far this weekend we've bought a sleeping bag thing (by the way shed if you want one let me know and I'll pick one up for you), an Elmo and a Cookie Monster stuffed toys (he was giggling at them so much in the shop that it seemed too cruel to leave them behind. Besides, $6 each ... not bad at all!), a pair of little jeans for Asher and ... wait for it ... 2 tops for ME! ME ME ME! I can't remember the last time I bought clothes for me! But even as I'm typing this I'm thinking of returning one of the tops because it's too extravagant ...

I need pants so after his nap, we're off to find some cheapish jeans for me. Can't justify spending large sums of money on a far too large bottom.

Mrs Potts: what on earth do you mean "late stage in my life"?! You've got a few decades ahead of you yet before the blue rinse phase sets in! Start dancing around your nappy bag right now!

*whispers so the universe doesn't realise there is a conspiracy afoot* good luck on the interview, Munchkin! What's the job?

wattle
25-02-2007, 13:49
Beany aren't they cute. I took Steph to the supermarket and she was getting a bit grumpy. We went down the toy isle and she spotted elmo (conveniently placed at kiddy height) and her little eyes lit up. How could I say no. She had a big cheesy grin all the way to the checkout, then she nodded off in the trolley. :sleeping: Cookie monster is cute too!

It's weird, she just HATES people looking at her and speaking to her. She gets the quivering lip, then the tears, then sobbing....ooh so sad! So when people look like they're heading in her direction I have to quickly wizz the pram off in another direction. I think ds was like that at around 6 months too. Anyone elses bub antisocial too?

jessi
25-02-2007, 13:54
Gosh no!! Anyone who speaks to Elsh gets a huge smile and an excited flailing of the arms. Complete strangers can walk up and start talking to her! Im stoked. She will even go to people shes never met before and start sticking her hands in their mouths, pulling their hair and hitting them like she does with me. LOL

I have a situation for ya'll to help me out with... (ive posted this in another section but thought id ask here also)

So, as you know Ive started feeding Elsh solids... well, puree type foods during the days. She has one small serve (about 2 ice cubes in size) for breakfast, one at lunch and then another for dinner. Shes taking to the proper food really well.
My problem is, she is pretty much refusing breastmilk during the day. She will only take it as soon as she gets up in the morning because she is starving and then once at night. Im afraid she isnt getting enough fluids- I dont know what to do. Ive started giving her a bottle with some water in it- but because shes never really had a bottle before, she doesnt know what to do with it and ends up just chewing on the teat (doesnt have it tipped up so the water can fall out)... Ive tried holding it up for her- but she seems more interested in just chewing on it than actually having a drink. ( all te fluids seem to be dribbling out as she is chewing)

I dont know what to do... Besides being worried about her, my breasts are killing me!

Someone give me some ideas on what to do??!

lilbugalugs
25-02-2007, 13:59
Hi guys!! Been a while since I hve posted as usual....I don't know were you guys get the time from!! I think that I must be bad at managing my time...

I have loved looking at all the photos...Badens hair is very, very cool....Both of my children have been a bit lacking on the hair front!! Also Noosa's little girl is just gorgeous!!

Riley has a tooth!! One of the bottom middle ones...gosh he is growing up so fast, he is also sitting unaided and is getting up into crawling position and rocking back and forth before falling on his face only to try again...All so much earlier than Erin, she was a bit of a late bloomer!!

DH is still home recuperating from his accident...he is doing much better and has much more mobility now and is in less pain...I am secretly looking forward to him going back to work (is that wrong???) I love him dearly, but I feel like I need my space again to do things my way...Yugh that sounded terrible now that I have typed it..

I also love this thread ...I feel like I know some of you guys even though we have never met (weird) It is strange how you can find some people annoying even on a forum isn't it?? It is also strange how a group of people can be so vastly different and still have enough in common to chat.

Beany
25-02-2007, 14:08
Nope, Asher is a complete flirt. All grins and dimples and charm as soon as any woman approaches him ... he's not too sure about men, though. He stares at them and gets all crinkly eyebrowed is any male comes near him - unless they are old. All old people fine by him!

We were in a food court today getting breakfast and a couple and their toddler daughter sat down next to us. The father went off to get coffees and whatnot and the mother and girl stayed put ... sort of. As "put" as a two year old is likely to get. Anyway, she was very interested in the "baaaabeee!" and was trying to climb across the table to have a look at Asher in the pram. Fair enough, all little girls are fascinated with babies. The thing is, the mother brought her around to have a look at Asher and then let her continue to harass him even though he'd started to cry. I pulled Asher out of the stroller and onto my lap (away from grabby little fingers) and the girl was still allowed by the mother to pull at various things on my stroller! :eek:

She was pulling at the blanket and the toy attached to the top and even pulled my sunglasses off the nappy bag where they were hanging. And it was me that had to take all of these things out of her hands with fake cheerfulness as my poor boy sat bawling on my lap.

I was just getting ready to tell the woman off (the girl was by this time about to duck down and have a peek in the stroller's basket) when Noodle arrived. 6'2" of unshaven bloke scared 'em both off!

I'm still annoyed at the mother. The girl was too young to know better but the mother ... *shakes head*

amandaw
25-02-2007, 14:19
When we were out for the MIL's birthday on Friday night DH had taken Chrlotte for a little walk to convince her to go to sleep, and the 2-3 yo at the next table spied her jolly bear and came to play...the mother was horrified, unlike in your case Beany, but I could only smile it off...she just looked so sad when her mum took her back to her table

Hey lilbugalugs!
That's all sounding good at your end - :smiliedance: ! Don't worry...I've spent many a school holiday wishing that we weren't both teachers so that I could have a little time to myself, and that's with a fully functioning DH, not one whose probably a bit frustrated with how things have played out! I know how you feel....I always feel awkward when I said it out loud to mates as well. Hopefully since all is proceeding well you can join us at a next Brissie meet and then we really can meet!!!

Jessie - sorry can't help you there...Charlotte did a little bit of the same thing and I just used to express off a little if they got really bad (so that then I could use it in her food anyway....even 30 mls in her food to mix of custard/farex/whatever counts to their milk tally according to my CHN). Are you giving her food or milk first? Maybe go the milk first if it's getting really bad - I also found the breast to bottle bottles really good (the big wide Tommee Tippe ones in the gray box) - she wasn't so keen on the advent ones despite the large number of them I had!!

oh and I forgot to say earlier, I went through a stage in the early when I wondered what on earth you guys were going on about...you kept talking about other threads, but I knew nothing outside the August mums to be...I'd bookmarked the particular thread at work and it went automaticallt therte, so I forgot anything else existed :rolleyes: ...this was despite me originally finding the hub when I was seeking an ob - booksmart :yes: street smart :confused:

missie_mack
25-02-2007, 14:31
:eek: Beany thats just rude!! I dont mind other people looking at the bubba but touching your things and making him cry is an entirely different thing. I would have given the death stare.

On the antisocial front. James has always been super social. Not quiet as smiley to everyone at late but never cries or anything.

Sorry I got no idea Jessie. Sounds a little like the breast refusal I went through with DS. I couldnt find a suitable response and I had no real milk anyhow so cant give any useful advice sorry.

We had a shopping day yesterday too. We havent brought all our furniture from home as its too expensive to ship everything back and forth so we have bought a couple of make do things that we will flog off before we leave. Yesterday I was desperate for bench seats as we have no dining table and Im sick of eating off my lap. We got leather and chrome ones for $70 each, we were really happy with these but then we were in target and they had dining table and two bench chairs reduced to $300. There wasnt any left in storage so we took the floor model and got it even cheaper. Not the greatest but is good enough to make do.

I finished the baby bouquet last night. Im not a regular crafty person but Im pretty happy with my work. Now just got to wait for the baby to come and I will buy something gender specific. I thought a funky sling might do the job :yes:
Anyhow I thought I would show you all the bouquet (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/babybouquetII.jpg)

BTW I love our little thread. Its nice to see how other people do things and it helps me keep an open mind. You lot are alright tooo :D

missie_mack
25-02-2007, 14:37
Oh forgot to mention Im glad things are on the improve Lilabugalugs.... Ive been thinking of you all :yes:

wattle
25-02-2007, 14:55
OMG Missie_mack that looks incredible. What an awesome gift.

Hi lilbugalugs. :wave: Good to see you.

Hmmm time for socalisation classes here perhaps.:rolleyes:

shed
25-02-2007, 16:14
According to my book babies start to get a bit edgy round strangers any time from six months, so our little social butterflies might start to change soon. Its part of the separation anxiety that can start around that time as well. Some babies start closer to eight months.

I have noticed it a wee bit with Bade, just with some people, the ole bottom lip will start quivering, but usually he is very sociable and curious about people.

Jessi: not really sure but maybe she is just not hungry? remember their stomachs are quite small, and apparently the food is just for taste and texture in the first year, the main source of nutrition should still be milk, so maybe cut down the solids a bit. I am only giving bubby one meal on most days. He is drinking the same amount he always has and putting on weight. I always give him breastmilk before solids and then he drinks about half an hour after solids as well. he has two ice cubes as well.

Also, teething can cause breast refusal too. Self weaning is very rare before 12 months, so its unlikely to be that. Good luck anyway and let us know how you go.

bubby almost never feeds when we are out and about, unless he is starving. He is just not a social feeder, lol! He will carry on like a dork if I try, and then when we get home he will feed for ages, catching up. Strange little bloke.

jessi
25-02-2007, 18:14
Hmm... Perhaps I will cut back on the feeds...

Thought id share some funny fotos we got of ELsh this afternoon... they gave us a good laugh...

Dont you know im LOCO?! (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/Loco.jpg)
Dress Ups is crazy fun! (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/dressup.jpg)

:laughing: Shes still a cutie when shes wearing a couple of washers.

Mrs Potts
25-02-2007, 19:18
Jessi: I agree with Shed. I was also going to say it sounds like she's getting too much 'real' food so isn't 'thirsty'. Definitely try cutting back the feeds and make sure you're still offering milk before solids. Gorgeous pics too.

Beany that is disgusting! On occasion I've had toddlers attempt to put their grubby mitts on Miss K's pram and I'm always very quick to distract them, while giving the uncaring mother "the look". I don't care if they think I'm a cow - I don't know them so I'm not going to lose sleep over it!

*munchkin*
25-02-2007, 19:58
Hi Lovely Ladies. Back from the Boonies and bubba is sleeping. In her own cot. Not in my room. Thank the lord!! (Don't know how you ladies do it - she kept me awake nearly all night with her rollings and shufflings and snufflings). I'm shattered!

Had a lovely weekend on the farm. Em got to see horsies and cows and doggies (and mummy got to eat and drink herself senseless...burp...). And she got spoilt rotten by 5 women. I did wonder if she'd be the world's best contraceptive for them all, but she was Miss Super Cute and super well behaved. They all confessed she made them want to have a baby if they could have one "just like her". I did explain that this was not 365-day-a-year behaviour...

The dog was obsessed with getting to her, and seized the one opportunity to sneak in when the door was open, snatched up Em's favourite favourite Ballet Mouse toy and ran off with it lol. Very funny.

As for social v anti-social...she's JUST started to get the quivering lower lip and small WAAAH for the occasional unlucky person. And now wants me in the room all the time, where she never cared before. Must be a 6 mth thing.

Missie Mack - that bouquet is gorgeous! You clever chook!

Photos: Sorry, my internet is on snaiiiiiiiiil pace for rest of month, so I'll have to look later.

*whispers* my interview is for 5 day fortnight marketing job at well known QLD company. It's a 10 - 12 wk contract, so would be perfect! It feels right...
Note to Self: Must remember to wash baby goobers off clothes, arms and face prior to interview!

mum_I'm_hungry
25-02-2007, 20:43
Is Elsha still having plenty of wet nappies, Jessi? If she is, she's getting enough fluids. I'd definitely try the milk before the food thing, or maybe just cut back to morning and evening feeds? You're lucky she's so into the food! Teddy isn't interested unless it's fruit or custard and is too grumpy to be fed before bedtime. We're having to give him his feeds in the morning and for lunch. Not too worried about the vegie refusal. Baby Love (my bible...) says it's quite common, so I'm trying not to sweat the small stuff. It does feel alien, though. Ivy would eat anything (and take your arm off trying to get more). Her first 'real' food was some curry from a vegan food stand at The Channon markets in northern NSW! We were eating a big plateful and her eyes kept following our forks. We couldn't resist giving her a piece of mashed up pumpkin and she loved it!!! :laughing: She hasn't stopped eating since...

Good to see your husband is up to his old annoying husband-type ways, lilbugalugs. He's definitely on the mend, then!

How did the cake go over, Munchkin? As well as Emily did? Heaps of good luck for your interview. :fingerscrossed:

I'm still reeling from something that happened Saturday morning. I was supposed to be doing an online chat with a library book group in Kansas. It had all been lined up weeks before, I put it in my diary and... completely forgot about it. I'm still mortified. I've never, ever forgotten something like this before and am so embarrassed. The librarian was so nice about it of course, but :o.

Anyone else entering the photo comp.? I'm thinking of putting in an entry in the eyes section. Everyone's always going on about the size of both my kids' eyes, so I thought I should!

shed
25-02-2007, 21:11
DP has just informed me that the wedding plans can be put on hold until I am finished co-sleeping with Bade in the spare room!!! :eek: :laughing: :laughing:

oh dear, I thought we were both fine with it, getting heaps of sleep and all that. And its not like we have sex or anything ludicrous like that anyway so I thought we were fine, lol, oh well, I was wrong *shrug*.

So the wedding plans are on hold then....ha ha, nah. Just joking. The spare room will have to be sacrificed, bummer. I have been really enjoying snuggling up with my little bloke (instead of my big bloke).

soon, soon, not tonight, soon.

munchkin: good luck with the interview, sounds like just the ticket. I am itching to do something like that myself, just to have a bit of a break from this housewife business. I love being a mum but the housewife thing is not much chop. I can't wait till my friend opens her shop, she wants me to manage it on Mondays. Bade is allowed to come with me (dunno how that will turn out but we'll try it out before I look for daycare for him)

Oh and in other news, you guys will never guess what is being reincarnated. You won't believe your eyes when you read these words....my car, yes, my blown up car, the very same, is currently at DP's mates place being brought back to life...sigh!! I can't believe it, am I never going to get shot of the bloody thing? I thought I had killed it once and for all but the old girl still has a faint heartbeat (the b!tch! LOL).

I came so close to getting a new one...

*munchkin*
25-02-2007, 22:08
How did the cake go over, Munchkin? As well as Emily did? Heaps of good luck for your interview.
Cake was truly incredible. It wasn't called Chocolate Hazelnut Celebration Cake for nothing. It was complete chocolate overload. The icing had 400g of chocolate, cream, butter, 1/2 cup cocoa in it, and was so thick I could barely spread it. Everyone was rocked back groaning and moaning after tiny 'wafer thin' pieces. Of course, I had a humungous piece...burp...again...
If you ever need a really special cake for a big crowd, this recipe was the ticket.

So depressing. I just pulled out all my lovely work shirts, and...they don't fit :( . Even on the arms. I have fat arms :eek: lol. In 5 years they will officially be Tuckshop Arms.

*Next bit is a big vent, so skip it if you're sick of hearing it* My ex called tonight. And I took the call :banghead: stoopid stoopid STOOPID:banghead:
So hurt and angry hearing about his carefree bachelor life, when he is NOT one. Grrrrrrrr. He has bought a dugout in Coober Pedy, and was telling me how it was a great investment because the real estate market there is really on the up and up. I LMAO! Not enough HA HA icons to show how much I laughed! And he found a 'huge' opal the other day that 'must be worth $thousands$'. Moron. He's selling his house in Alice, which IS a good investment, and buying a hole in the ground.

I said to him "I love the country, I could be a country wife". He said "But you HATE the country". What the??? He never knew me at all.

*Vent over*
Off to bed now. Nighty night.

MountainGirl
26-02-2007, 07:13
Munchkin,...stupid men,...... I have been to Coober Pedy,.....it was the most frighteningly dismal place ever! there is no property market there,.... you just see a hillock you like,.dump your swag and dig a hole,...ahhhhhhh,...back to the caveman era! I dated a stockman from the NT once,....they come from a totally different world to the rest of us!

missie_mack
26-02-2007, 10:03
Munchkin sounds like you had a wonderful weekend which is rightly deserved. After being brought up by a single mum I know its a tough job! If your ex has soo much money lying about must be time he paid more child support or gave you half the money for Emilys childcare if you go back to work!!

S_J Dating a jackaroo??? Sounds like a interesting story lol:detective:

Alli- Forgot to ask why the new penname?? Going for a different type of book/market?

I just found out my mother and stepfather are coming to visit for my birthday next month :eek: Actually I just happen to be on their travel path while they go away for my stepfathers birthday (the day after mine) and my Mum is trying to make it sound good for all the years she has forgotten or been away when it was my birthday. My Mums ok but does she reaaaallllly have to bring her husband Ham?? He is such a perfectionist pain in the bum. He would make an ideal candidate for a psychological essay..... everything about him is a paradox. :ecomcity:

Have a great day ladies its James' bath time and he is being a sook today. I dont think he liked sharing Mummy over the weekend :confused: with daddy. He was a little standoffish at times to poor Gav.

lottiesmum
26-02-2007, 10:52
well i survived our trip to sydney....just!!when i get back i say to myself i dont know why i do it...but had a very nice relaxing time meeting SJ, shed, beany and their tribes. those photos are so cute! did i say shed - your boy has the wisest eyes...he looks all knowing...

well i finally relented and gave DS a taste of rice cereal with breastmilk...he's been waking 3-4 times a night to be fed for the past week...and is pretty much constantly feeding. yesterday i ran out of milk...there was just nothing left. it did make a difference and he did actually sleep 9am - 4am but it cant be the teaspoon of rice. i dont know.

munchkin - :hugs: i'm sorry to hear you were hurt by your ex. what a goober to behave like that. that cake sounds spot on...mmmmm i could eat a whole cake right now - DS is feeding so much im constantly starving!

SJ - that little scarlett is a delightful monkey...loved the lipstick photo

lillabugs - :wave:

jessi
26-02-2007, 11:02
So I put Elsh in her own room last night... 2 hours passed... there was much crying. From me!! I couldnt even close my eyes- every little noise made, I was up and in her room checkin on her. She was fine ofcourse- probably would have slept the whole night through but I just couldnt do it!!
When I finally baught her back into our room, Nat was like "Why did you bring her back? She was fine" and I was like ":crying: I cant sleep without her in here". He must of felt sorry for me or something cos he gave me a big cuddle and told me that she would be fine but if I felt I couldnt do it yet, then that was fine also.

Elsh is being immunised on Wednesday... omg, im so scared. What is she going to think of me? Taking her to this foreign place to get jabbed with something ouchie. :no:

MountainGirl
26-02-2007, 11:41
MMack,...yes,...an interesting tale to say the least,..I have dated some interesting men in my life,....the Stockman, A theatre producer, a Writer, a Geman Model!, An advertising director, an Actor, a film producer, a sheep farmer!! hahahaha!!! All interesting stories!

Lottiesmum - glad you made it home safely,..must be nice knowing that you don't have to go anywhere today,.....

Jess - Elsh will be fine! They forget pretty much instantly about the pain,..unless she is a big girl like Jasper who cried for about 40mins,......poor baby!

Just dropped Squidg off for her first real day of preschool,....... here is a photo of her in her room just before we set off! cute little girl,..

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s293/scarlettjasper/ScarlettPreschoolday1006.jpg

Mrs Potts
26-02-2007, 12:26
SJ - that pic of Scarlett is beautiful! She's such an angel.

Missie - that cake sounds like pure evil! Which of course means I could soon be PMing you for the recipe LOL

No news here so I'll be off again....

missie_mack
26-02-2007, 12:56
Mrs Potts- That must be munchkins cake. I make a policy to avoid cooking cakes and biscuits etc. If I can make them I can eat them and god only knows I dont need that! If I have to buy them it makes me stop and think because it involves having to hand over the $$$$ and that usually means a trip to the ATM for me. Thats another policy of mine I avoid carrying cash :D

mumstar
26-02-2007, 19:26
well i finally get a minute to myself today first thing i do jump on bubhub!

i have had my aunty and her boy over this morning for a play about 20 loadds of washing to do, my SIl around to do her resume on our computer which she lost and i am now in the process of redoing!, and another friend pop in for unexpected visit, look after the kids and get dinner on... will be going for a nice long bath in a minute!!!

munchkin it cant be a property market in coobery peady more like a rabbit hole market!

jess: im sure that elsh will be fine in her own room! i found the best way to over come that fear was to buy a angel care monitor... they do the sound but also the breathing! put my mid at ease! good luck with the immunisations!

biscotti
26-02-2007, 20:50
Evening all

Just a quick one from me, as usual I haven't scrolled back to read all the posts, but I will, I will!!

Clio is sick - she is alternating screaming with vomiting and we (she and I) have had hardly any sleep for the last 24 hrs. She is asleep now and I should be too :sleeping: She is usually such a happy, smiley baby - so it has been a torrid day and a half.

This is what I smell like ...... :barf: ....aren't you glad I shared that :laughing:

Ok - tomorrow I will have news about my health, please think happy thoughts or pray or whatever you believe in for me, at this point in time I think I need whatever anyone can spare. I don't come here normally to ask for anything, I just enjoy your support and very special friendship but I am thinking that what I hear tomorrow will not be good so if you have any prayers or good vibes to spare or whatever you go by, then I would be happy to have them :hugs:

Munchkin - expect a Pm from me for that recipe!!

noosamum XX

shed
26-02-2007, 20:54
oh noosamum, dear friend, my belief system involves asking the universe to direct energy in certain directions and you can be sure I will be doing that for you.

I was going to post some dumb whingey self indulgent rubbish but I have changed my mind.

Good luck good luck good luck.

Beany
26-02-2007, 20:57
Good luck Noosamum. You'll be in my thoughts.

missie_mack
26-02-2007, 21:07
I will make sure that you are listed for 'special prayers' tonight with James :hugs:

mum_I'm_hungry
26-02-2007, 21:36
:hugs: Good luck, noosamum. I so hope that this time tomorrow night you're celebrating with your good news with your family. :fingerscrossed:

*munchkin*
26-02-2007, 22:16
Noosa Mum :hugs: . All my good energies are focussed towards you. You deserve good news, you are such a good-hearted person.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

*I'll post my usual bollocks tomorrow after you hopefully give us the good news about your health*

Fairyfloss
27-02-2007, 00:04
Noosa mum you will be in my prayers, hope it all goes well
poor Clio :hugs: for both of you

Fairyfloss
27-02-2007, 00:21
just a couple of quick notes
I love all the bub pics, we have a bunch of cuties in our hands, they are adorable.

thank you for your support and well wishes girls, I think I am brave enough now to face the sugery today. well still scared and still hate it but now it is more "I HATE IT :fingerscrossed: " rather than "I HATE IT :crying: "
so here is the deal, once you have prayed for/send your good vibes to Noosamum, if there are any left over prayers or vibes stil lurking around I will happily take the left overs.
if I do not make it, through the surgery, would you please forgive me, if I have ever offended or hurt you.

:fingerscrossed: I will talk to you guys soon.

MountainGirl
27-02-2007, 00:56
Noos,...:hugs: :kiss: :fingerscrossed: :bfn: ha! Knew I would use the BFN for something!sending positive healing vibes your way,..you lovely lady,.....

MountainGirl
27-02-2007, 00:58
:hugs: :hugs: Parisa,... I am sure everything will be fine,.....:hugs: :hugs: (the BFN didnt work so well here!)

lottiesmum
27-02-2007, 06:25
noosamum - as we say in our house "crossed fingers and toes" and a :hugs: for good measure.

fairyfloss - i hope the surgery goes smoothly...:fingerscrossed: and :hugs: for you too.

SJ - mate you need to get more sleep! like this :sleeping:

littlejoy
27-02-2007, 06:32
noosamum I am wishing every possible good vibe I can find so that you get the healthy results you so deserve!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :hugs:
I will make sure that in my meditation this morning that I ask the universe for some extra love and help to be sent your way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good luck!!!!!!!! :hugs: :hugs:

lottiesmum
27-02-2007, 06:37
jessi - have you tried giving DD some water from a cup? like a small cup (ie: thin and plastic not glass because they dont know not to bite it). My DS drinks water now and then like this. is she still getting wet nappies at every change? Babylove (my bible too AlliJB!) says from 6mths its ok to feed solids first...you could always express until your breasts adjust to the demand.

oh and i think this thread is fab too :D i'm a little isolated here at times...and its nice to escape for a ''grown up'' chat that doesnt involve the phone. those of you with busy toddlers will know why :laughing: i check out the clothies thread sometimes (mainly to vote for shed's marvellous creations) but that's about it.

jessi
27-02-2007, 07:59
Good Luck to both Noosamum & LittleJoy.

I have had hardley no sleep... Im soooo tired. And cranky as all hell. Although, my girl made me smile like tha crazy woman this morning. She is officially crawling. She crawled half way across the room to her Daddy for cuddles. :yelclap: What an absolute angel!!

OK... I need to get some sleep... *please go to sleep Elsh*

missie_mack
27-02-2007, 08:17
Awww Parisa we will see you back here in a couple of days still healing but fine! But being a fairy here is a clap to help out :yelclap: (for those peter pan fans)

I read somewhere one of the most risky operations you could have is for a ingrown toe nail????:detective: :confused:

mumstar
27-02-2007, 09:44
My thoughts and prayers and with you both noosamum and parisa!!!

Well today i dont have much planned... clean up the house and some friends are coming around for dinner tonight so that should be nice...

does anyone have a bubba with a lot of cradle cap... noah keeps getting it constantly i'm not to sure what to do about it as aiden never got any!!!

also anyone formula babies out there... have you moved them up to the next tin yet or still on the new born stuff, the day noah was 6 months old i changed him and he started sleeping better again... maybe coincidence maybe it fills him up more... any thoughts?

mum_I'm_hungry
27-02-2007, 10:07
:hugs: for you, too, Parisa. Hope it all goes really well! Thinking about you today, noosamum...

Beany
27-02-2007, 10:07
Oh Parisa, don't think like that! You'll be fine :hugs: Best of luck and lots and lots of healing thoughts coming your way.

*whispers so Asher doesn't hear* Well done on the crawling, Elsha!

Asher made it forward a few inches yesterday. It was hilarious - he was on my bed with a rattle a little bit out of his reach. He got a look of utter concentration going, his bum went up in the air and released a couple of times and suddenly he was at the rattle which he promptly shoved into his mouth for a thorough gnawing.

I tried to get him to repeat the whole thing again (even though I'm really not ready for him to be crawling yet) but he refused. A few more days of semi-relaxedness for me, then!

Someone was talking about favourite toys a while back. Asher likes anything hard an chewable at the moment but his actual favourite thing is labels. He will take his fabric book, ignore the crinkly textures and plastic bits and go straight for the little fabric label sewed on to it. He delicately takes hold of any label he can find, looks at them hard and licks them. Why did I bother with toys? All I need is a box of labels!

He's still not too crash hot on this whole solids business. He eats bread when offered in small bits but when I tried with a thicker, more textured bowl of pumpkin (mush was rejected), he still wasn't very interested. I gave up using a spoon and tried just putting a little lump on my finger and shoving that in ... I had ever so slightly more success with that. I really didn't expect him to be so finicky! The way he was going, grabbing everything off everyone's plates, I thought he'd just guzzle up anything in sight. No such luck, it seems.