View Full Version : November 06 bubbas! #2
Welcome Dione
Where is everyone? I don't feel like talking today so I'll leave it at that!
Harlequin
19-02-2007, 19:21
Welcome to the thread Dione :)
I'm around... just hard to type when a baby is on your shoulder so I tend not to post heaps :D
Kristy - Are we all still on for tomorrow morning at your place?
My bubby girl is 3 months old today so we are going to the chemist nurse to get weighed and measured. I wonder how long she is now. I'm just waiting for the whinging to stop coming from the bassinette and then I'll have a shower and we'll head off on our walk to the shops. That's the only exercise I get these days, a 5 min walk to the chemist. How lazy am I.
I've just started waking Stasia at around 11pm for a top up feed to keep her asleep longer and I'm not so sure if it's a good idea. Last night she still woke at 4am and then at 8am but the night b4 she slept right through till 7am. I think she just likes to keep me guessing.
Harlequin
20-02-2007, 09:58
Are all chemists able to weigh babies?
Baileyjaysmum
20-02-2007, 11:13
Pinkie - Yes morning tea is still on at my house. Just been to the shops to get some nice biscults. I am looking forward to it.
harlequin - Yes I take Charlize to Terry White chemist to get weighed every month - there is a really good health nurse there.
I just had the worst shopping experience with DS he has turned into a terror and I dont know what to do but I might post somewhere else about that.
The christening went well I will post some pics when I get a chance.
Goodbye for now and look forward to the meet tomorrow brissy girls!
Harlequin
20-02-2007, 17:42
Sorry to hear about your shopping experience, Kristy. I haven't really braved a big shop day with Ava yet.
I went to the dentist today to get a cracked tooth filled and a smaller filling. Stupid me forgot to check if they were using an anaesthetic. Well they did, cos the crack was so massive and turns out I can't breastfeed for 48hrs :(
Me stupid. Poor Ava. I feel so bad. Thankfully she's a good girl and will take her formula. I just hope she's good at night :(
Hi everyone, Hope you're all well. Dione and youngones I totally understand about the sleep thing- my DD sleeping for 2 hours in a go is a miracle, any longer and I have to check if she's still breathing. I still feel like I'm hungover every day (people said that would get better after 6 weeks!). During the day she loves little 30min cat naps...it drives me nuts. About the tummy time thing- she hates being on her tummy but has good head control so I'm trying not to worry about it.
On another note my DH was curious about me joining this forum and asked if he could read our posts, I suggested it was probably not a good idea considering I need an outlet somewhere to complain about him! (although I do love him dearly!)
As for the shopping thing, I'm seriously considering doing even my grocery shopping online!!!
Anyway 30 minute catnap is over so gotta run.....ciao :(
wow, we've got a new thread!! Well, i can't really complain about samantha's sleeping, usually she has 2 x 2hr naps a day, and sleeps from 5pm - 6am with a total of about 20 minutes up for feeds...
I'll be there tomorrow, hopefully i won't be late :)
bambikins
20-02-2007, 21:10
Hi Girls:wave:
Great to see the new thread.......
Went to the docs today for Leki's 2nd round of vaccinations...........poor little bubby, she was so busy cooing away at the doc with her big grin and when he put the needle in she gave him a look of why did you do that with tears running down her face. (broke my heart)
Anyway, she was fine and dandy a minute later and it was confirmed that she is infact teething..........she's been a bit whiney the last couple of days. The doc ran one of those wooden spatulas over her gums and she just sat their drooling with relief (he said she would like the sensation of the wood across her gums if she was teething). I purchased some bonjella and she spent half an hour this afternoon chewing on my thumb. I pulled my thumb away, but she grabbed my hand and brought it back to her mouth........not sucking, but actually biting down on my knuckle (really bizare).
I also got one of those tommee tippee teething rings that you put in the fridge........lets hope that she prefers that instead of my knuckle.
youngones
20-02-2007, 22:51
Welcome Dione - I'm in western suburbs Bris too - in Kenmore.
Lily has been grabbing my fingers to put in her mouth to munch on too. Its actually making it harder for me to know when she's really hungry or just wanting to gnaw on something, because before when I brushed the top of her lip with my finger, she'd only open her mouth when she was hungry, now everything goes straight to the mouth.
She had some nappy free time under the playgym today while I hung washing and I came back in and she was off the mat and on the floor, with her head stuck right up against her froggy toy, sucking and chewing on his hand. It was so cute!
I had a real fright a couple of days ago when I went to the chemist to get Lily's first rotateq vacc - was leaving the car park when the guy in front of me just stopped suddenly in the middle of the intersection and I was rolling forward in my sleep deprived haze. I ended up bumping him and while no damage was done, not even a scratch (thank God), the noise alone frightened Lily and she howled, which left me in tears. I think the guy felt sorry for me actually.
Doesn't motherhood just make you terrified of horrible things happening to your bub, or that something might happen to you to leave your little one without you? I know that is a bit doom and gloom, but it really makes me see the world differently.
Well I havent been around for a while, I have so much trouble keeping up here! You girls sure can talk LOL, Sounds like everyone and there bubbys are doing fantastic! EXCELLENT to hear!! Mikaylah is doing well, she rolled over for the first time yesterday, she is growing up so fast. will be 15 weeks on Thursday, doesnt feel that long ago we were all counting down to our due dates!!! Time is flying!
Another reason I have not been around is I have been so ill the last fortnight, its been terrible, I have been in bed pretty much the whole time.
Founf out today why.......... Looks like I am the first one of us to be going back again, I did a preg test today and yep you guessed it ............:bfp: I shat my pants, I am so scared! I have a 3 and a half year old, and was only planning on having two children. I havent told anybody else apart from my husband as Im just tripping out at the moment. Its all so terrifying.
I am just mainly worried about the financial side of things, 3 children isnt cheap, hell one or 2 children isnt cheap. And I want to be able to give my kids everything, I just worry how tight things will be with a third. I dunno, I dont really know what a feel at the moment, my head is so scattered.
Anywho I wont bore you all with my nonsense, im sure nothing I have written even makes sense so I apologise LOL.
Thanx for listening tho, feels good to get it out a bit.
Julzy
Harlequin - What the? I can't believe you haven't had a big shopping day yet. I think I'd die if I went 3 months without spending a whole day at the shops :eek:
I'm able to stay a bit longer these days as bubba finally will sleep in the pram. Previously it was merely a place for me to lay her down while I paid for stuff and to use as a trolley because she'd start screaming when I put her in it. She will actually have little sleeps in it now.
I hope you are feeling OK after your trip to the dentist. Poor bubby will have boobie withdrawl! Just flash them to her every now and then so she knows they still exist.:laughing: You could get one of those boobie aprons (we have one) and cut a hole in the nipple and poke the bottle through. I'd love to see that, what a cack!
Deepie - Stasia will only sleep for a max of one hour during the day and she'll only have two of those short sleeps each day. As a result, I get nothing done and frequently don't even have a shower. I know that's gross but hey, I'm a mummy now so that's my excuse. Don't know what my excuse was before though :o
My little girl hates tummy time too. Only problem is that her head control is still really bad. Most other tummy time hating bubbies seem to still be OK in the holding their head up stakes. I'm trying to get her to support on her own when I'm carrying her around but it still isn't that great.
Amber - Good luck with the teething. You can be the first victim and then tell us all how to deal with it.
Well little Stasia is in her cot for the first time tonight. I put her there for both her day sleeps today and she's been asleep for a few hours now so hopefully it will be smooth sailing. She is fairly used to sleeping wherever I put her though. We're usually out and about a fair bit so she will generally have a nap in the pram/ on a random bed/ in someones arms etc. I just thought, maybe my hatred for being stuck at home is why she sleeps so badly during the day. No that's not it because she still sleeps badly even if I have been at home for a few days. Look, I can have a chat to myself on here. I don't need to come on here at all. Nah, just jokes. I love you guys.
OMG Julzy, CONGRATULATIONS on the :bfp:
What's done is done, don't worry about it now, just enjoy your pregnancy and chat to us if you are feeling down, overwhelmed, stressed, sick and elephant like. We seem to just cope when we have to and I'm sure you'll be just fine. So when abouts would you be due. Would it be around October ish? Your littlies will be less than a year apart and I'm sure they'll end up being the best of friends.
Harlequin
20-02-2007, 23:45
Holy **** Julzy! Congrats! Good luck too. :yes:
Harlequin - What the? I can't believe you haven't had a big shopping day yet. I think I'd die if I went 3 months without spending a whole day at the shops :eek:
I'm able to stay a bit longer these days as bubba finally will sleep in the pram. Previously it was merely a place for me to lay her down while I paid for stuff and to use as a trolley because she'd start screaming when I put her in it. She will actually have little sleeps in it now.
I hope you are feeling OK after your trip to the dentist. Poor bubby will have boobie withdrawl! Just flash them to her every now and then so she knows they still exist. You could get one of those boobie aprons (we have one) and cut a hole in the nipple and poke the bottle through. I'd love to see that, what a cack!
Ok I almost peed my pants. ;)
My boobs are so hard right now. Typical this morning I wake up with engorged boobs, and now I cant even feed her!!
My teeth are still a bit tender. I have to organise a wisdom tooth removal but im scared cos they have to cut a little bit of bone away :( I might leave it for a while and just get antibiotics.
Im scared to go shopping still! Ill try when my mum and sister come to visit again in april.
Baileyjaysmum
21-02-2007, 09:10
OMG - Congratulations Julzy!!!! You were obviously meant to have three kids! It will be great dont worry too much - hard work to start off with but then it will be great they will be great friends!!!
Well wont talk much cleaning house getting ready for the big meet. Will post this afternoon and let you other girls know how it went!
By the way is anyone else bub waking every three hours from 12 for a feed I am just about had enough!! I need sleep!!!
21-02-2007, 09:19
Hi girls :wave:
Aragh! Heartattack moment there, I thought our thread had gone forever! But I found it again! Yay!
I hope you girls have a lovely time meeting up today, wish I could have been there but maybe next time (hopefully!)
Taliyah looks so cute right now, she is on her play mat and she has figured out how to grab all the toys of it & stick them in her mouth. She looks so adorable because she is trying to sit up as well so she half sits up, grabs it and shoves the toy in her gob :laughing:
Harlequin- Sorry to hear about you not being able to breastfeed for that long, how are your boobies holding up? With the massive load now? Glad bub is doing well on her formula though, imagine if she refused it!
Youngones- That bump would have scared me too! Thank god there wasn't any damage. Us mothers should have 'No sleep' as a excuse if we bump anyone :p I know how that feels, I don't even try to drive when I've had no sleep, I get Karl to do it even though he's had no sleep either. Poor guy has to wake up at 3am for work yet the girls barely let him sleep at all.
Julzy- CONGRATS ON THE :bfp: !!! HERES TO A SAFE & HAPPY 9 MONTHS!!! Wow, how exciting to be going bacak already. I had a scare the other day, hadn't had my period for 2 months (but always used protection) so I tested anyway & got a BFN. Thank god, I was sh!tting myself. Good luck hunny!
Harlequin
21-02-2007, 10:48
I ended up ringing a drug hotline and asking them about it a moment ago. The guy said that it should be out of my system after 4hrs and it should be safe to bf within 8-12 hours.
I'd waited 20 so I figured that was good enough!
My tits were SOOOOOO fricken sore and big n stuff. On the upside I taught myself to express manually. I swear it works better than my bloody pump.
Bambikins, I just saw you note about teething, my DS is teething too - sucks doesn't it. We can see his teeth on the top coming through. The ones on the bottom are there, but don't seem to be moving up any further. They only really bother him in the morning and then late in the afternoon, but a bit of bonjela and a few mins later he's fine. He doesn't really like the teething rings, so if your DD is the same, try a wet cloth - my DS loves it and will chew on it for ages. I know what you mean about chewing on your knuckles, his finger of choice is my thumb! Another thing you can try is a plastic spoon or a soft toothbrush. My DS has a spoon, he seems to like that because he can hold it and shove it in his mouth himself.
My DS rolled over this morning for the first time and scared himself ... it was very amusing. I helped him do it a few more times to get used to the idea, but I think he's still not quite sure about the whole thing.
I vote we ban anyone talking about how well there babies are sleeping ... it's making me more sleep deprived just thinking about it. LOL
Best go, he has just woken up and is looking for a feed.
Just got home from our Brissy meet and bubba was pooped and is now asleep. :fingerscrossed: it lasts for more than 40mins.
I've got photos of all the bubbas but I'm going to be slack and let one of the other girls put them up. Our downloads have cut back to dial up so it takes ages to upload onto photobucket. I'm emailing them as soon as I get some addresses.
julzy - congratulations!!!!
pinkie - i've just sent you my email
Harlequin
21-02-2007, 13:02
am I allowed to post my email on here?
*removed email :)*
Here are a few links to the photos...
1. the whole group http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/group1.jpg
2. another of all of us http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/group2.jpg
3. Charlize and Samantha (born the same day!) http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/P1010058.jpg
4. Will and Anastasia. http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/sleepingwill.jpg
5. Anastasia and her first boyfriend :) http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/staciaandboyfriend.jpg
Harlequin
21-02-2007, 14:43
What a beautiful bunch of babies :D
Oh No! How will she choose. Will or Rowan? Or maybe Thomas from playgroup. He's 5 months, ahhh an older man perhaps :laughing:
Stay tuned for more in the next episode of "The Life and Loves of Anastasia Rose"
Will's Mummy
21-02-2007, 15:26
Thanks for the photos Pinkie and Alybel. Will really does look like a big sleepy buddah compared to all the others doesn't he! Was great to meet you all. I don't have many friends with babies so was great to chat to others who can relate to my life at the moment!
I went to Ikea after the meet to get a bookcase for Will's room but none of the staff would help me take it to the car so will have to go back sometime with DH to get it.
Harlequin, glad to hear you can feed again. I know what it's like - I had a local when i got my breast abscess drained and couldn't feed for 24 hours. It was so annoying having to express every 3 hours as well as feed Will with formula at the same time.
Congrats on the bfp Julie. Hope you are feeling ok and good luck for the next 9 months.
Harlequin
21-02-2007, 15:41
I went to Ikea after the meet to get a bookcase for Will's room but none of the staff would help me take it to the car so will have to go back sometime with DH to get it.
Wow that's incredibly rude. I'd have asked for a refund and walked out of there. :eek:
Hi Everyone!
I just found this thread and I would love to be in contact with other Brisbane mums with bubs born in November... aaaaagh! bub has just woken up- will write more later but just wanted to introduce myself!
Baileyjaysmum
21-02-2007, 16:43
Welcome ggmama.
The meet was great today girls I really enjoyed it and Pinkie the photos are great.
Emma that is so rude that the people at ikea wouldnt help you where has the customer service gone??
Well Charlize has been really unsettled this afternoon I think it is the wind. I have finally got her to sleep which will only last 20minutes we will wait and see.
Well better go and cook tea.
lil' starlette
21-02-2007, 17:54
I'm glad we have a new thread-the last one was a bit confusing and long!
Has anyone noticed their babies change as they have hit 3 months?
Mine has-she becomes feral when I'm settling her.I've started to wrap her with 1 arm out because she didn't like being constricted.But the last couple of days I have had to feed her to comfort her because she has been so hysterical. And today she was even worse she was screeching like a banshee!!!She's still ok during the nights thank god!
I just wanted to see what everyone else does...are you still wrapping your baby? Do you put them in a sleeping bag or tuck them in?
Do you put them in awake? Or put them to sleep first?
I'm just experimenting with stuff at the moment...
Also I went for my P's today and failed! I was so mortified! I went so well in my lesson and then screwed up on the second roundabout!:banghead:
I'm so jealous that you guys met up! The photos are soooooooo cute! Love them
And congrats to Julzy!I cant't believe your having sex! Well done!
lil starlett - i don't wrap samantha up and never have, i would consider using a sleeping bag, but she is a tummy sleeper so would just prefer it if she wasn't restricted much... Oh, and i usually put her down awake with a dummy, sometimes i have to go back in and pat her onthe bottom for a while. Good luck
ggmama - welcomes, where in brisbane do you live? I'm at Bundamba, near Ipswich.
Has anyone noticed their babies change as they have hit 3 months?
2 wks ago DS morphed from the perfect textbook angel baby into one of those wailing shopping centre babies that I always promised myself I would NEVER have...:devil6:
I thought he was ill for a time but a trip to the doctor and the clinic nurse and the verdict is that 'it's just a stage he's going through'.
He doesn't sleep through the night, he cries at least twice as much and yesterday I was almost at breaking point with him when he just would not stop crying for about 4 hours straight :banghead:
Fortunately he was a lot better today and I even managed to get a little housework and grocery shopping done (shock, horror!)
I haven't wrapped my baby since he was 2 wks old... he would get so cranky and scream and try to tug his arms out so I just tuck him in now... he sleeps in his bassinette- always on his back- during the day and for part of the night and after his 10 30 pm feed he sleeps with me... I use a dummy with him too to get him to sleep.
Hope this helps! :D
Also, Alybel I live in Paddington/Bardon about 10 mins NW of the CBD... are there any others in this area??
Congrats Julzy- where did you find the time!!??? :laughing:
Youngones- I know how you feel I did the same thing yesterday but I did alot of damage. I rearended someone (too busy worrying about the screaming baby in the back). He got a scratch on his 4WD and I have over $5000 damage to my car. A few months ago that would have really upset me but all I can say is that I am SO relieved that bub is ok and that no-one was hurt. Not sure when I'm going to feel ok driving again- it was quite a shock to the system.
Thanks for the photos- all the bubs are gorgeous!! Wish I didn't live so far away :(
Goodnight everyone.
Harlequin
21-02-2007, 20:45
Mine has-she becomes feral when I'm settling her.I've started to wrap her with 1 arm out because she didn't like being constricted.But the last couple of days I have had to feed her to comfort her because she has been so hysterical. And today she was even worse she was screeching like a banshee!!!She's still ok during the nights thank god!
Hahah!
Ava likes to kick. She will be in the bassinet and Ill be on the couch in front of her sleeping. I'll wake up to this "THUD!!" "THUD!!" which is her kicking the front of the bassinet cos shes waking up. :D
I haven't wrapped her for AAAGES. I just have a baby blankie or muslin on the bottom of the bassinet. When she goes to sleep ill make sure she's dead to the world and then transfer her to the bassinet and just fold the edges of the blankie over her carefully.
And congrats to Julzy!I cant't believe your having sex! Well done!
HAHAHAHAHA :laughing::laughing:
That reminds me, I have to make an appt to see the doc about my giney. It's so broken. The reinforced steel hymen is still there, I don't know what the dr did when he stitched me up but it aint right!
lil' starlette
21-02-2007, 20:57
I completely agree-after all the prodding and poking you end up feeling like a high school science experiment! Poor giney's!:confused:
Thought I'd introduce myself. Mikki, my 2nd was born 27 November 06. Can't believe it's been 12 weeks already. Time flies when you've got a bub or two to look after.
Eating and sleeping well and loves her big sister, who loves her back. Enjoying her smiles and can't wait to hear her first laugh.
Baileyjaysmum
21-02-2007, 21:16
Welcome - Elemik - you are like me I had my DS in November 04 and my DD in November 06 - if there is a next time I think I will time it better to have a bub at the start of the year - it is way too expensive with christmas and two birthdays!!!!
Baileyjaysmum
22-02-2007, 11:45
Where is everyone today it is very quite in here!!
lil' starlette
22-02-2007, 11:55
Hi I'm here! I have my 1st mother's group today at the health clinic and then after that I have a fellow bubhubber and her dd coming over for a haircut. It's good to have stuff to look forward to!
My little poppet has been settling down a bit more so thats good.
Don't really have much else to say-I'll let you know how my mothers group goes-I hope they are nice!:yes:
hi and welcome ggmama & Elemik.
ggmama - im a brissie girl too...from alex hills.
Its good to hear everyone had a great time at the meet. the photos are cute.
lil'starlette - i havent wrapped DD for 2 months or so...she hates it.
DD is now sleeping in her cot full time. im still not used to it though. i have to get up and check on her a few times a night. i kind of miss hearing those little noises she makes while she sleeps.
Talk soon
'Rene'sMumma'
22-02-2007, 16:41
Hi Ladies!! I joined this thread a while ago but then lost internet and so disappeared again lol. Alas here I am.Been reading through the threat and I've got so much to comment on! its so crazy how much you can totally relate to,and I'm sitting here going 'That's me - that's my life!' lolAnyway my DS (21-11-06) is doing really well these days and I'm finding life is getting easier. He's really growing and developing, I love how he is starting to reach for toys. One thing that I'm struggling with though is car travel.... anyone else? DS just doesn't seem to like it one bit. Some times he will go alright and even fall asleep (only in DP's car mind you!) but mostly he just screams???? I find myself catching the train or walking where possible. I hope he grows out of it soon. its just not practical. Also I was reading about some people changing bubs to the cot. I'm totally dreading that cause I rock him to sleep in his bassinette and thats the only way to get him to sleep. But I can't rock a cot!! anyone else rock bubs to sleep?Well I think I'd better leave it there for now. I'm rambling on.
Welcome ggmama and Elemik
Welcome back Chantel - We didn't really have any probs when we transfered Stasia to her cot (we chose her 3 month birthday for the big move) Granted, it's only been a few days but the only difference is that it takes a little bit longer to settle her, I'm assuming because it's a new environment. You can actually rock a cot! There is an Aussie invention that goes on each leg of the cot and has different rocking motions. I think it's called the lulabub or something like that. I'm sure you could find it on the net if you had a search.
Stasia gave us her first laugh on Tuesday. It was quite out of the blue and so very cute.
Off to mothers group tomorrow. I think I might even go to Sexpo if I can con a friend into it. Not that I'm doing much of that lately though :laughing: I'm just curious to see what goes on there :detective:
Try this for the cot rocker thingy. It tells you all about it.
http://babyhugs.com.au/lullabub.htm
I have been noticing the time of the posts, don't you ladies ever sleep, at 1am in the morning my brain is fried I would not be able to post.
Julyz - congratulations, hope the pregnancy is going to be a breeze.
Well - Tahlia has had her 1st cold, poor little thing. Monday night was a little heart breaking, kept waking up because she could not breath thru her nose, and then I had to express and feed her with a dropper because she could breath and drink from the booby at the same time. But got her onto the Dimetapp and things have improved. She has also worked out how to breath thru her mouth, it is so cute.
Well we hit the 3 month mark tomorrow, and I can't believe how much things have improved. She still only sleeps in cat naps during the day (sometimes she sleeps for 1hr), but is much happier. She has just woken up now and is playing in her port a cot (soooo cute) - which I have set up in the living room, she likes it out here during the day (will not sleep in her cot during the day at all).
Anyway got to go and get some cleaning done. The lady from the chruch is coming around so we can get Tahlia's Baptizm organised, not sure what needs organising, I thought you just showed up.
Cheero
Good luck with the baptism Lenko- by the way I love the name Tahlia....
Mira had her first laugh today- it was soooo cute- now I'm going to spend all day with the video camera on, trying to get her to do it again! She's going to hate me by the end of the day!
I just wanted to do a quick survey- how many of your DH/DP's get up during the night to help with the baby. I'm just not sure what's normal...? Is it mean to expect them to get up if they have to go to work the next day?-
Hmm..let me know your thoughts.
Ok now where is that video camera? :)
hi Deepie.
my DF does not get up. it was hard at first but im used to it now. id actually prefer it. i would hate for him to go to work tired, he has dangerous/risky job.
saying that, i wouldnt mind a sleep in every now & then.
'Rene'sMumma'
23-02-2007, 09:32
Try this for the cot rocker thingy. It tells you all about it.
http://babyhugs.com.au/lullabub.htm
Thanks Pinkie I'll check that out for sure.As for my DF and getting up. I was usually always the one getting up although he helped out when with bottles or morning feeds. Fortunatly we don't have to get up in the night anymore as bub sleeps through now but he will often stir in the night and needs some help getting back to sleep. Sometimes that can go on for an hour. When that happens it is me who deals with it. DF gets up for work at 4am so I dont mind too much. DF goes to sleep at 8.30 and usually bub is off by then but if not I look after him. I let him sleep in on saturdays but I make sure that on sundays I get a sleep in and he gets up for the first morning feed.
My DH doesn't usually get up through the night cause I'm breastfeeding, but if DS wakes up early in the morning 5.30-6 and has a feed but won't got back to sleep, DH gets up and plays with him or tries to get him back to sleep. He also looks after him after his 7pm feed if he won't go to sleep so I can get some sleep. We agreed that because he gets to sleep through the night and his sleep isn't interrupted, he can get up in the early hours of the morning.
alybel, I live at Silkstone .... just up the road from you!
dione - wow that is close by, if you want to join our mothers group we met for the first time today, we meet up every friday morning, next week will be at my place (all in the ipswich area)...
DH doesn't get up during the night for dd as i usually just give her a feed and she is back asleep within 10 minutes, but if ds wakes up during the night, he is dh's responsibility, so i don't have to worry about that.
Thanks everyone for your replies!
Mira is a very poor sleeper, she'll maybe sleep 2 hours at a time and then be up for a few hours during the night (wanting to play etc!) before going back again for a few hours. Some nights I just can't cope due to severe lack of sleep- I get tempted to wake up DH but don't cos I feel guilty that he has to go to work in the morning.
I can't even nap during the day cos she just catnaps all day and by the time I'm just about to go to sleep she'll wake up. I think I have an insomniac on my hands...
I'm very jealous of those of you whose babies 'sleep through' :(
Oh well I'll just keep hoping things improve as she gets older...
Thought I'd check in and send a big hello from muggy Melbourne. Thank god for air conditioning!! Everyone doing well down here.
Rene's Mum bub isn't getting bored in the car is he. We used (are using) a mirror that secures to the back headrest, seems to keep the little one entertained and we can keep an eye on her through the rv mirror. Mikki, the youngen, sleeps in a baby hammock. Doesn't sleep so well in the cot. But we rock and bounce her to sleep no probs. Can use it up to 15kg, about 2 years of age, you just lower to the ground as bub gets older. But wouldn't mind hearing from you if you decide to purchase the lullabub. Afterall she can't sleep in the hammock forever.
Lenko hope everything goes well with the christening. It's such a memorable occasion so enjoy the day.
Deepiea DH got up with me at nights when our 1st was born. Do it all myself these days - I think the novelty of having a baby in the house has worn off. Do what you have to do to get some sleep. DP may have to go to paid employment during the day but you work just as hard if not harder. Happy and well rested mum means happy and well rested baby. Perhaps you could compromise and he can do Fri and Sat nights.
Julyz congrats on the pregnancy, hope all goes well.
Will's Mummy
24-02-2007, 09:02
Hope all mums and bubs are going well.
Will has been out of sorts the last few nights because he has two teeth coming through. Poor little thing keeps biting down on them. It only seems to affect him in the early evening though. Anyway, i am off to buy some Bonjella today. He has also done two projectile vomits in the last 12 hours. He went through a stage of regurgitating his feed when he was younger but hasn't vomited like this for about 8 weeks so it caught us by surprise! Luckily last night it was outside on the deck but this morning it was all over me in the bed - on the freshly cleaned sheets, mattress protector and pillows...just another load of washing to add to my list for today!
Deepiea, my DH is really good getting up for Will, although he sleeps through now so is not usually an issue unless he kicks his covers off. Because i had a caesar and then got sick with mastitis he was a great help because it was harder for me to get in and out of bed. Although your DH has to work all day I think he should still help you to a certain degree through the night - especially if your little one just wants to play and not go back to sleep - you need rest too!
Harlequin
24-02-2007, 12:46
Is bonjella safe for babies under 4mths? I was going to use some on Ava a while back but I think the label said something about not using it on babies?
Ava's been pretty good lately as usual. She hasn't been pooing much though, not sure what that's all about. Maybe her insides are just maturing or something... god knows.
She's a little monkey. I think I fall in love with her more every day!
Ive got some tummy time videos if anyone is interested:
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/AvaMarieMovies2/AvaMarieSMovies3mthsOnward
There are also a couple of videos of her screaming at her mobile. She has been doing these crazy cat calls lately when she's excited. It's hilarious, half the time I don't know if shes excited or angry! :D
I haven't been on for a little while caus I've been working and bubba has been sick. I think it was you Lenko who had a sick bub also. I can sympathise with the blocked nose thing. It's so sad to watch her struggle. I'm getting the dymatap and baby balsam into her but they don't seem to be helping much.
I worked a full shift yesterday evening and my parents bought her in to me for a feed, I got home at 11:30pm, to bed just after midnight but couldn't sleep till about 1am, then she woke at 4:30 and we've been up since. I've got to go back to bloody work for another full shift this afternoon. :crying:
I'm so tired. I was struggling to keep my eyes open last night at work and now I've got to go back with pretty much no sleep again. There's nothing anyone can do about it, I just want to whinge really!
The poor little poppet looks so sad and keeps crying which is only blocking her nose even more. I hope this improves really quickly or there might be a few meltdowns
Thanks for all your advice re: getting some sleep! Think me and DH will come up with some plan for the weekend so at least I can catch up on sleep I've missed during the week.
Harlequin, I just watched your videos of Ava Marie- she is soooo cute- and very talkative! If I put Mira on her tummy she would scream the house down.
Pinkie, I'm so sorry that DD is sick but just think in the long run its good that she's already starting to build up her immune system. I don't know how you manage to work as well- are you able to take days off when bubba is sick (?parental leave or something?). If you're not careful you'll end up sick too. Well hope she gets well soon.
Hmm...think I'll go back to bed :sleeping:
wow, it's been quiet in here...
Pinkie - i hope you feel better soon, i feel like you at the moment as ds has decided he wants to be awake every 2 or 3 hours during the night for about an hour each time, and i'm not gettingmuch sleep as dd has gone back to waking up every 3 hours during the night as well.... i want to start her on formula to get her to sleep longer but she refuses the bottle, screams whenever it is in her sight! She quite happily went 7 hours today while i was out without a feed so that she wouldn't have to have the bottle, it was offered numerous times, but each time she refused!
Baileyjaysmum
25-02-2007, 20:01
It has been quiet in here this weekend. Where has everyone gone?
Pinkie - Sorry to hear you are sleep deprived. i think you are amazing working and having a 3 month old let alone breastfeeding. There must be something going around because little Charlize has had a runny nose and the sneezes all day and I feel a bit off. I hope you catch up on some sleep tomorrow.
Alybel - Sounds like you are sleep deprived too!!!
Not much here is happening. Tomorrow I am looking after my friends 20month old so I will have three kids under 2 and a half. It is a bit scarey but should be alright.
Kristy - Good luck with your 3 little darlings today!
Alybel - I hope you had a better night last night!
My little cherub seems a bit better today. I got 4hrs sleep last night once I got home from work. She woke for a feed and a play at 5:30 and then at about 7 she went back to sleep and so did DH and I. She didn't wake up till 10 so we got another 3 hours. Yay!
Better go, my aunty is coming for morning tea and a visit with bubby
well, my night was even worse, this time it was samantha!! i think she is gettinga cold, she was a little hot and waking every 45 min but not wantinga feed, just wanted to whinge a little and then go back to sleep...
'Rene'sMumma'
26-02-2007, 19:25
Thanks Elemik, I'll try your suggestion and put some of his toys up in the car. Today he actually traveled well????? who knows. Sounds like we're all having a rough trot with the bubs. Rene has been totally out of sorts today. My sister has been down with her three kids and its been crazy. Poor Rene doesn't know what hit him and he has been missing out on alot of sleep. He was so tired today he just couldn't even feed. He'd scream when I tried to feed him and I couldn't work out what was wrong and where my guzzle guts had gone. Turns out he just wanted to go but to sleep so he has only fed 2-3 times today! Guess he needs the sleep more. I'll give him a big feed when he wakes up and send him back to bed and hopefully he will catch up on his sleep!
Hi Ladies :wave:
I would just like to say hi, I havn't been on bubhub for a long time now. Not since being pregnant, and as i'm a fellow November baby mum it seems like forever ago I was crusing through this site.
Stella was born 7.11.06 and was just wondering if any other bubbies arrived on the same date out of curiosity?
Also is there a Brisbane November Mums group?
I'd love to make some more friends with babies the same age as Stella.
Thanks guys xoxo :thumbsup:
lil' starlette
26-02-2007, 21:28
Hey!
Sooo embarrassing! I remember a mum on here saying that she went to mothers group late?! Well I went EARLY-a week early. I walked in on some well established group only to be told to come back next week! Very typical of me!
AND something GROSS happened!I was settling Aiyanna at 5am after a feed and it felt like I had long hairs dangling and tickling my legs.I kept brushing them off and looked down and my house was COVERED in ANTS. Thousands of ants everywhere!Going from the back door to the front! There wasn't any food laying around so Dp thinks the nest was moving.I don't know I just thought EEWWWW!
Welcome back Shilo!
I hope everyone is feeling better from all the clods and stuff!:hugs:
lil' starlette - That's pretty funny about the mother's group. Make sure you do go back though. I love my mother's group. We seem to be a really meshable (is that a word?) goup.
We have a huge ant issue as well. No matter how clean we keep the kitchen, there is always an ant trail somewhere. Usually they are headed to the bin but sometimes I think they are just hanging around because they like us. DH has a running battle with trying to kill them off.
Welcome back Shilo. There are plenty of us here from Brisbane. We've had a few meet ups already. I'm sure there will be plenty more and you're more than welcome to come.
Stasia seems to be better today. Now she's just grumpy, maybe I prefer her sick. She is really getting to me the last couple of days. She only wants to be carried around and I don't have the energy for it. I think being tired and stressed is affecting my supply also, so she's probably not getting enough milk and it's just compounding the problem.
Baileyjaysmum
27-02-2007, 16:05
whats happening to our November thread - is everyone having a bad run with there little darlings?? It has been very quiet in here the last few days.
Not much to report here except I am really sick of my hair falling out. Having white tiles on the bathroom floor I am forever vaccuming!!! I feel like I will be bald any day soon! Charlize has been good, she is over her cold which is good. She is waking once at night which is even better. I am having her four month check done on Thursday and needles next week. i cant believe it has been four months already. I was looking in the when are you due thread yesterday and there is one for November 2007 I cant believe a year ago we would have been pregnant or nearly. It makes me want to have another one. Not for a couple of years or at least until DS is out of the terrible twos!!! He has been an angle today which is nice.
I brought these really nice photo frames from Spotlight so I am putting them up on the walls. They were only $10 which is great and they hold four photos. I am going to go back tomorrow and buy some more so all my frames are matching. I like things to match. I also brought table clothes for $15! They have great things at Spotlight and not too expensive.
Well better go and start the night time routine.
A big hello to Shilo :wave:
Kristy, I was just about to come on here and ask if anyone else was having their hair fall out? its nice to know I'm not alone. My hair is dark and it ends up all over my white tiles too and all over bub!! I wonder why its happening now?
I think we are all reaching that 3/4 month period where bubs become grizzly. My DD's sleep is getting worse and she spends half the day crying for no obvious reason- its driving me nuts!!
Just wondering how you mums found your mothers groups? I would love to join one in Sydney but have no idea how to find one in my area?
Harlequin
27-02-2007, 17:02
Hey girls.
Not sure what's going on you poor ladies having troubles at the moment but Ava is still the same old peanut. The only change is that she hasn't been pooing as much the last few days, then when she finally does poo its this HUGE creamy mucousy explosion that goes up her nappy and all over her belly.
Sorry for the imagery but I have no idea what's making her poo like that.
Do you think it could be Lite n Easy dinners? I've been getting them for convenience sake and they do make me a little farty.
Ava is such a screecher. She screeches at her mobile, screeches when I blow on her belly, screeches at her pram toys, screeches at everything. I don't know where she got the idea from that screeching = talking. Goodness me.
Re mothers groups, I was gonna go to mine and then totally forgot about the first meeting. After that I didn't want to go cos I didn't want to be the only one who didn't know anyone. :/
Deepie - My mother's group was formed by the Child Youth and Family Health Service. You just ring your local clinic and they book you into one. The babies at mine range from 6 weeks to 5 months
Harlequin
28-02-2007, 03:52
Ok I jinxed myself. Ava has been crying uncontrollably tonight... not sure why but I suspect it has something to do with those yellowy brown mucousy poos. Maybe bad gas.
Its almost 3am and ive just managed to settle her down a little. So very tired.
Why couldnt she have done this last night... my hubbie would have been home during the day and i could have slept! Oh well.
Hi mums and bubs.
Hi ya to all the newbies or the oldies who haven't been on for a long time.
My hair is falling out big time its amazing. But my hair is still too bloody thick. Always finding a strand in liam's hands. My hairdresser will have fun on sat. Getting it coloured and cut plus straightened for my brothers wedding on sunday. As my hair is so thick it takes so long for her to do all that even now i've had a hell of a lot cut off. Can't wait to have it cut it has grown so much in 4 months and it is annoying me. She only likes trimming hair likes long hair so she wasn't too happy when I got it all chopped off last time but she didn't do it. It will be the first time I leave liam for over 1 hour. Anth is looking after him. Hope it all goes well. The only problem would be him feeding him. Liam is breastfeed and rarely has had the bottle. Not for a full feed. He will on sunday a few drinks for me and i'll be on my back :laughing: Anyway for sat I will try and feed him before the appointment and get anth to give him an early feed so he isn't going nuts for his feed. Have been trying him with the bottle once a day.
Anyway my bubs has been changing his habits. Hasn't slept a full night for a month now till last night :smiliedance: 7.5 hours. Thank god. I have been having a hard time falling asleep so I haven't been coping well with normal situations being sleep deprived and all. Anyway the last 2 weeks he has been wanting feeds more often and waking 3 to 5 hourly over night. Very draining.
He had been having really bad pain about once a day when he poo's or farts and the poo is very mucusy. So yesterday I have cut out a lot of foods and drinks. Ok chocolate and softdrinks and not as much dairy to see if it helps. Been writing everything down. Seemed better yesterday but he was very grumpy anyway think its his teeth chewing on everything dribbling. This morning he was only having a small bit of a feed kept refusing it, this used to happen when he slept over night as the milk would come out so fast so I'll have to express a bit before he has it. Since 5am he has gone through 6 nappies :no: Mr poo bum
Ok should stop typing. Will add more later.
Take care mums and bubs
Kirrilie
Oh I forgot Liam and I had our first bath together yesterday. He loved it. Much bigger than his little bath.
I'm glad i'm not the only one complaining about my hair falling out out. It is so annoying !
ANTS.... don't even go there. I'm finding them everywhere.. usually in the kitchen trying to find water.
And i'm not into the idea of spraying them due to the bubba... so some advice to others with ants being a problem... sprinkle some flour or coffee where you find them ! For some reason they hate it :)
My mothers was formed by my local CHN.. have been attending them weekly. I find it quite interesting.
Hope all is doing well.
my hair isn't falling out... i wish some of it would though, i have way too much!
Harlequin
28-02-2007, 12:35
Give some to me alybel! :)
Mines not falling out, its just always been really fine. I cant do a thing with it.
I finally got Ava to sleep at 4am this morning, but she sobbed in her sleep through most of the night. I think the panadol i gave her helped her a little. Even this morning at 9 I woke to her little sobs and gave her a dream feed. Poor thing. I think I might have to stop having the lite n easy dinners.
Had a visit today at the early childhood centre- bub got weighed. Bad news :( she's not putting on as much weight as she's supposed too. I feel devastated. It probably explains why she's always crying- she's probably hungry. The nurse thinks my supply is low. I feels so bad. I have been told to start supplementing with formula. I just can't believe I didn't notice she wasn't putting much weight on. Anyway will give the formula a go- it might help her sleep longer too. I really hope I can still breastfeed her as well- I look forward to feeding her and I'll miss it if we're on the bottle all the time.
On a good note though- I am joining a mothers group, starting in a few weeks.
Harlequin- are the poos frothy?- if they are, it can mean she's overfeeding (her body can't process all the extra lactose so hence the froth). If she is feeding extra- don't do anything about it- its usually harmless in breastfed babies (so I'm told by my paedatrician).
Anyway I have to go and work out how to make formula :(
Baileyjaysmum
28-02-2007, 13:46
Oh my God ANTS!!!! I hate them. The kids bathroom was infested in them last night - they must be trying to get water.
Deepiea - I breastfeed and comped my DS from 4weeks because he was losing weight not gaining and I continued this until he was six months old so dont worry. With DD I didnt want to comp her because I hated the sterlising of bottles etc and thankfully she is gaining weight (not alot) and not losing no I am not too worried. In my opinion if your DD is putting on weight well she must be getting something. Maybe try to fit in another feed during the day or try taking a herbel supplement to boast your supply. There is also a great receip in the breastfeeding thread for lacating (sp?) boasting cookies. I try these when DD was first born and they are so yummy and they helped my supply. Best of luck!
Harlequin
28-02-2007, 14:00
Deepiea, nah her usual poos are frothy, but these ones are creamy/mucousy... really kinda sticky. And she hasn't been pooing much lately, which i think is part of the problem. :(
Hey have you tried expressing after your morning feed to try and stimulate your supply?
I've just started expressing after most of my feeds cos I want to start stockpiling some milk for emergencies. I have to express a lot though cos I dont get much out with the pump.
Apparently Fenugreek is a herb a lot of women at the BF forums take to help with their supply. I plan on buying a bottle of pills soon to give it a go because I want more milk supply myself.
I've heard that the best way to increase your supply is simply to feed bubs more. This won't work if bubs doesn't want it though.
My supply dropped a bit over the weekend when I was working and sick and bubs was sick too. So the last few days, I've just been feeding bubs when she wakes and instead of putting her to sleep whinging, I've mostly fed her to sleep.
Seems to have worked in upping the supply and bubs is loving the extra attention especially seeing as she isn't at her best. She had a temp of 38.3 today so I took her to the doc who said her ears and throat were clear so if it continues, I have to send of a urine spec. I hope she feels better soon caus it's heart breaking to see her like this again. I thought we were finished with the constant screaming back at 9 weeks.
Pinkie – I think we must have very similar children – Tahlia also loves been carried around, some days are better than others, but the days that she want to be carried are just sooo long. Have you tried setting up a porta cot on the living area and putting her there for her sleeps during the day – this seems to be working for Tahlia. She still wont sleep more than 45 min at a time, but I manage to get her to have two naps between feeds. Tahlia has also been sick, she is better today, but it lasted 9 days, so hopefully she will get better soon.
Harlequin – Tahlia is also a screecher, it is funny now because you can tell from her screeches if she is excited or really mad, it is very funny when she is really mad.
Alybel – don’t you dare give all your hair to Harlequin (sorry harlequin), my hair is also really fine and I need as much as possible, if I start losing it I am in big trouble.
Well Tahlia starts swimming lesson on Saturday – I am so excited, she loves the water and I really want her to be confident around water. It is also something she can enjoy with daddy. We have a meeting on Friday with the instructor to go thru the classes etc.
lil' starlette
28-02-2007, 20:51
Hey!
I'm gonna give my mothers group another go tomorrow-hopefully its the right day this time!We are also looking at our pixie photos as well I hope they are nice!
I'm trying to get Aiyanna into good sleeping habits by putting her down awake and having a night routine.It's really annoying though cos I know that she would be asleep in half the time if I didn't put her down awake cos she starts screaming and I have to feed her untli she calms down. I'll see how I go.It's hard trying to sort through all the advice to see whats good for you.
I have started my baby scrapbook-it's really cute. I'll have to show you guys when I get sround to it.All my friends are paying me out saying I am old.But I think it's fun so who cares!
I'm sorry that everyones hair is falling out-it will settle down after a while so don't fret:hugs:
Lenko-you'll have to tell us how the swimming goes.Aiyanna is put on the waiting list-she loves the water too!I have been taking her in the shower with me-it's so cute watching her face when she goes under!
For the milk supply thing I heard that a glass of stout really helps!Like guiness or something...and the cookies are meant to be good.I wrote the recipe down if anyone wants it.
Thought I'd check in and touch base with you all.
After 2 years, hubby and I have managed to get a few nights sleep in our bed without any children in the bed with us. It's been marvelous, and with Mikki sleeping almost all night I have to say I felt like supermum for a couple of days there. We put our 2yo, who's been co-sleeping with us since she was born in her own bed and she's been loving it. We were expecting a big transition, with perhaps just starting with day sleep before moving on to nights, but as soon as the bed arrived she wanted to go in it. I think she's more comfortable on her own, things were getting a bit tight there, with her getting so big and the 3 of us sharing a bed.
Mikki still hasn't slept through a whole night yet. I've been getting up once for 1/2 hour, changing her nappy, giving her a bf and putting her back to sleep in her hammock. The last couple of days though she hasn't gone back to sleep after her feed so I've resorted to putting her in bed with us, hoping to get some sleep myself - not that it's been working. Lately it seems that as soon as I drift back off to sleep the 2yo gets up so I've been a bit grumpy in the mornings. Not to worry though, it's all part and parcel of having children and I know Mikki will grow out of it soon - I hope.
Had a fabulous time with Mums' group at the park today. It's really the only time I've taken both the kids out on my own, knowing that there's someone there to help if I need it is quite reassuring. Mine was formed by my CHN, there's about 15 of us who have been meeting for 2 years now. I was the first to have another child. One mum is pregnant now, due in July and someothers are ttc.
Sounds like a couple of the bubs have had some colds. I use nasal drops on the bubs when they've had blocked noses to help them feed. I've found it more effective than Dimetapp, although that helps with the other symptoms of cold and flu. Just a few drops down each nostril 15mins before a feed works wonders. I'm using Narium at the moment but Fess is also good. It's just saline, so very safe.
Deepiea, sorry to hear about your supply problems. Expressing and more feeding is the most effective way to boost supply. If you're using formula, you can get an attachment for your bottle (a supply line I think it's called) through the Australian Breastfeeding Association, which you can attach to the nipple (not sure how). Baby sucks on the line and gets her formula while the nipple is being stimulated to boost supply. If your milk comes in, bub gets a delicious feed of breastmilk as well. Just a thought. Never used one myself, but know a few mums who have. More importantly, you and bub maintain the breastfeeding relationship.
Hope it all goes well,
Elemik
MCNmummyof2
01-03-2007, 13:01
HI girlies,
we are back from holidays, not sure I could really call it a holiday though!!! We've decided to move up there, so spent the whole time looking at rentals and jobs etc, then our car broke down :(
Im thinking I may be pregnant :(, fingers crossed that Im not, we cant deal with another pregnancy atm!
mcnmummyof2 - have you taken a test? i sometimes miss being pregnant and would love to be pregnant now, but unfortunately doesn't work for me, have to start saving the money for another ivf cycle, probably this time next year...
MCNmummyof2
01-03-2007, 13:19
Im only 6 dpo, but I had 'the dream' the same one i had when i was preg with lachy and soph, and been feeling rotton lately
Hi girls, I have read back through alot of the posts I have missed, but now my heads all jumbled from reading so much and i cant remember who said what to do personals haha. Just know I have read it all LOL.
Things here are awesome at the moment. The whole being pregnant again thing is sinking in now, and my and hubby are actually feeling a bit excited by it really, sure it wont be easy and it definently wasnt in our plans, but everything happens for a reason , so we are embracing it all with open arms.
I got my blood test results back today, Just confirming the pregnancy, From my results, they said I am about 7 or 8 weeks preg, But I have my ultrasound tomorrow anyway so we will get a much more accurate timeline then.
MCNmummyof2: How scary for you, I definently have a rough idea of how your feeling. When do you think you will test??
Anywho I will pop back in tomorrow night , and let you all know how my first u/s went :)
Julzy
MCNmummyof2
01-03-2007, 20:23
I think I'm going to test on monday. Fingers crossed for a bfn!! Hubbys started coming down with a tummy bug etc, so fingers crossed thats what Ive got too!! We really dont want any more babies! At least not for a few years. I'm hoping that maybe me thinking that I could be pregnant has made things seem as if i am iykwim
Julzy - I'm glad you're happy about being pregnant again. Good luck for your scan.
MCNmummyof2 - As Julzy said, things happen for a reason. I'm sure you'll cope just fine if you are pregnant.
Little Stasia has been very sick and apparently screamed the whole time I was at work tonight. The poor little thing looked exhausted. I gave her a big feed the minute I walked in and now she's asleep, hopefully for the long haul. 8am would be nice, wishfull thinking though.
Will's Mummy
02-03-2007, 09:03
Thought I would pop in to say hi as I haven't been on the net for a few days. Sorry to hear some of the bubs aren't feeling well. It must be awful seeing your bub not well and upset.
Will has still been a really good bub and his teeth haven't seemed to be troubling him much this week. I can see the little white bump coming through and he is constantly feeling it but he is not crying about it so that is good. He has been sucking really hard when feeding lately and almost biting down on my nipple so the longer it takes his teeth to come through the better!
I have been taking him outside in our backyard in the afternoons this weeks and he absolutely loves it! He goos and gahs at the trees, birds and everything else out there. It is so cute to see him so happy and discovering the world around him. I think I will try and take him out there everyday to get him used to the outdoors. I really want to go walking with him around the streets but I am a bit scared with all the sex attacks in Brisbane lately - think I might stick to walking around the shops with him!
I finally went back to the gym this week, after having my membership on hold since I had Will. It was good while I was there but I am still sore four days after! I think I will have to get back into excerscise slowly.
Sorry for all my babble - dont get to talk to many adults during the day so I find myself blurting it all out here!
Good luck with your test MCNmummyof2 - hope you get the result that you want.
Will's Mummy
02-03-2007, 09:07
Lil Starlette - forgot to say that I have started a scrapbook for Will too. I have never done it before but am having lots of fun doing it as well. My friends think it is a bit of a daggy hobby too but if they had kids I am sure htey would do it too!
i do scrapbooking too, but have only gotten up until christmas 2005 with ds, haven't started on samantha's one yet ...
Will's Mummy
02-03-2007, 10:59
I don't have anything to do today so I am back here again. I have just loaded up some more photos of our little bubba:
http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u260/emma_doyle/ontummy.jpg
http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u260/emma_doyle/munchkin.jpg
http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u260/emma_doyle/playgym.jpg
http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u260/emma_doyle/bigsmile.jpg
I also forgot to say before that Will rolled over from his tummy to back on Monday. He was so proud of himself he did it three more times while I was trying to find the camera to video it for DH! He was rolling again on Tuesday but hasn't done it the last few days.
Harlequin
02-03-2007, 11:29
Oh what a cutie pie!
Check out my new Avatar of my super cool princess, Mikaylah haha how cool is that!! LOL :cool:
Well I had my scan today and I am due on the 8th of October, so 1 day before Mikaylah's first birthday!!! Crazy huh!! Well bubby is looking happy and healthy in there and everything appears to be going well.
I cant believe my baby girl will be a big sister before she is even one~!!!! How nuts! I can only hope that her and her new brother or sister will be best of friends :hugs:
Anywho i dont really have much else to say,
MCNmummy goodluck with your test hun! Please let us know how you go :)
Julzy
xxoo
lil' starlette
02-03-2007, 20:39
I just wrote the longest post and deleted it! Don't you hate that!
I went to my mothers group yesterday.I almost forgot it while watching Oprah. Good effort on my behalf after going on the wrong day last week!
We got our family portraits today.Some of them were a bit dodgy-off centre,out of focus, eyes closed!!! But we just got the nicest ones.I'll post them soon.
I'm going to start doing saturdays in the salon from tomorrow. I'm looking forward to it-I love the girls there and the clients. It'll be weird having to dress up a bit!Pinkie-assuming you breastfeed-how often do you express at work?I have 1 break. I hope it's enough
Will's mummy-Will is sooooooooooooooooooo beautiful! I love his chubby arms in the 1st pic. Can he be Aiyanna's boyfriend?
Also I'd love to see your scrapbooking if you can be bothered putting it up. Alybel too!I'm doing a class next week. Very exciting!
Emma - Will is just gorgeous!
Julzy - How exciting! Now that you have an EDD you can get all excited and start planning life around it. That's awesome that your bubba is due exactly 1 month b4 little Mikaylah. Her avatar is very cool by the way :cool:
lil' starlette - I generally only get one break at work and I've been using that tea break to express so I haven't been eating. It's not the best arrangement for keeping up my supply but so far it has worked. There have been some shifts where my mum has bought bubba to me for a feed and she hasn't actually missed any breastfeeds while I've been gone.
When mum bought bubba to me last night at work for a feed, I noticed that her head seemed a bit splotchy, kind of like a rash. I pointed it out to mum and she thought it didn't look too bad so we left it at that. When I got home from work it had gotten quite bad so we took her back to my work to get seen in the emergency dept. They did a good check over and concluded that her sickness for the last week has been a virus and it was just a viral rash. Treatment = lots of feeds whenever she wants them and sleep. That would be fine if I could get her to sleep.
I hope she's OK when I go to work tomorrow. I was feeling fine about leaving her to go to work but now that she's been sick, it's been a bit harder. I feel like she needs me here for lots of cuddles. Nanny and daddy just aren't the same as mummy :crying:
Damn that gold lotto for not making me a winner :mad:
Will's mummy- you have a very gorgeous bubba there!
Julzy, I'm excited for you- you get to have a little newborn again so soon. I already miss how little Mira was- they grow so fast.
Pinkie, make sure you keep a close eye on the rash, doctors usually call it a viral rash when they don't know what else it could be. Hope bub gets well soon.
Thanks to everyone for their advice on how to increase my supply. I decided to take the ECN's advice and started formula supplements with the bottle after every b/feed. I also started expressing after every feed. After a few days my supply has definitely increased too the point that I feel like I'm going to explode every hour unless she feeds. But guess what?! The cheeky thing won't take the boob anymore- she's decided the bottle is alot less work. Now I'm stuck expressing every feed and then feeding her the EBM through a bottle. It just feels wrong.
On a positive note,the screaming monster is gone and my angel is back. Now, if only she'd feed properly again!
Babies! :confused:
Anyway enough rambling- hope everyone is well.
bambikins
03-03-2007, 16:51
Hi girls:wave: Haven't posted in ages, feeling laaazy.
I just skimmed read some of the posts and have to say a big congratulations to Julzy. My Dh and his 2 other brothers were all born in may so it must be something to do with fertility being higher for women in certain months
Elektra is doing well........started to roll the other day, so no more leaving her on the couch. She also loves to watch me eat and drink, so I find myself moving the soft drink bottle out of her view as she kind of licks her lips and reaches out to grab it.
They are growing up so fast, and it's really hard to keep track of it all. All the babies are looking so cute.
onkybear
04-03-2007, 12:27
just wondering if i can join in on your chats. My little man James was born on the 10/11, and jees they grow so quick!
Hope everyone is having a great day with their bubbas!!
Just got home from work. :thumbsdown:
Stasia seemed much better today (or should I say yesterday!) She was much more settled and I could only see a tiny bit of rash.
I got up at 3am to feed her and then dozed on and off till 5:30 when I got up to go to the international womens day fun run at Southbank (it started at 7am). I had to express b4 I left so she had a feed for while I was gone. Got home at 10am and cleaned the house (DH and mum helped) because DH's grandparents, AKA great nana and pa were coming to see bubby. They came at 12:30 and I left for work at 2. I've just gotten home now at 1am and had to express because bubba needed a late feed at 11pm that she normally doesn't have. DH brought her to me at work tonight for her evening feed and she usually goes to sleep after that till about 3am but not today! It's almost been 24hrs since I got up. Almost feels like I shouldn't bother going to sleep.
Oh well. Hope you are all well. I'm looking forward to my day at the day spa on Tues for my B'Day. Will be nice after a VERY challenging week of work with a sick bubba. I don't know how women manage to go back full time this early :eek:
Baileyjaysmum
05-03-2007, 08:09
Pinkie - Sounds like you have had a busy weekend. glad to hear Stasia is feeling a bit better.
Does anyone elses bubs poo after every feed? Just wondering as Charlize was pooing every two to three days now its after every feed. I thought she had a bug but she seems fine to me. i tried to give her some water on the weekend and it was so funny - she was using the teat as a dummy and when i took it off her she put on the biggest performance. i thought she was drinking heaps of it but I dont think she took any of it.
We are thinking of selling AGAIN to reduce our mortgage - how stressful and I think I will have to go back to work in the next couple of months which I am dreading but the money is running out fast and i want my kids to how a good life so that is something I will have to do. I still have to way things up to see whether it is worth it with daycare and travel.
Off to swimming lessons today for DS I think I will start charlize next term.
Baileyjaysmum
05-03-2007, 08:09
By the way welcome *Kris* look forward to talking with you.
youngones
05-03-2007, 16:07
I've been a bit slack too - just busy and tired. That 3-4mth mark is really hitting me.
Lily is not really sleeping much better than she was. Days are ok, but she often wakes either every hour or every two hours at night. I still think it is the itching from her eczema.
Someone mentioned their bub had rolled - Lily started that about a week ago too and it is really cute to watch how clever she thinks she is. Each roll is followed by a giggle. She can go from front to back both ways and from back to side and then to front after a little rest, but she still gets her arm caught underneath her and then gets cranky when she's going from back to front.
Our mums group is good too - only a handful of us and most are bubs around 3-4mths.
I think it was BaileyJay's mum - I know what you mean about dreading the "w" word. I have to go back to work 3 days a week from June and I'm really dreading it. DH does exactly nothing to help around the house at the moment and I don't really see that changing. I'm a rep, so I have to drive for work and unless Lily starts sleeping better, I'm going to be a danger to myself and others on the road.
On a happier note, our allergist apt is only a few weeks away now and hopefully he will be able to help with her skin. I'm completely dairy and egg free at the moment (didn't realise how many things I like I've had to give up but cheese and chocolate are the two worst for me) and we are trialling a new skin cream that is doing a slightly better job than some of the others we've tried.
To Julzy and anyone else who has found themselves pregnant again - great news. I know that I would be scared to be, but in a way I'm not getting any younger (35 this year). I also think you're champs for managing to have sex enough to fall pregnant. I'm not disinterested, but I am just ridiculously tired.
Bub is peacefully sleeping right now, so I might just have a little lie down...
Oh, and another thing that I've heard helps with milk supply is having rolled oats for breakfast. I have oats made with rice milk and water every morning. Good thing I like them.
Will's Mummy
05-03-2007, 19:15
Hope everyone had a great weekend. I am so excited - my best friend arrived home from London today where she has been for almost 18 months. She is only back for two weeks for her engagement party and to organise her wedding for this time next year (she got engaged while she has been overseas). It was so good to introduce her to Will for the first time this morning at the airport. I am spending all day with her tomorrow - having a girly day so cant wait! I am bridesmaid for her as well as for another friend at the end of the year so I am going to have to get working on toning up my flabby baby stomach so that I can look nice and trim with the other bridesmaids who haven't had a baby!
Pinkie - I am glad little Stasia is getting better. It must have been such a stressful week for you. I don't know how you manage to go back to work and work such late hours too - i wouldnt have the stamina for that right now. Hope you enjoy your day spa tomorrow.
Kristy - Will still does about three poos a day and I think that is normal for breastfed babies.
lil' starlette - Will can be Aiyanna's boyfriend if she likes the look of him. They will have to do internet dating :laughing:
MCNmummyof2
05-03-2007, 20:23
Poos for breastfed babies can last from after every feed to about a week. Im stuck with the weekly ones atm, would much prefer daily ones!!!
Kirsty have you looked at other ways you could cut back? I dont want to offend you, but I had parents that worked all the time to give me and my sister the 'good life', and I would have much prefered to have them at home. We're pulling through on about 28,000 a year atm, we are renting, but about 16,000 of that is loans/rent/uni, so it can be done!
lil' starlette
05-03-2007, 21:19
Pinkie-your life seems so hectic at the moment!I really admire you.I worked on saturday,hairdressing and I had so much to tell my clients I started running late with all the talking and then my lunch got eaten away. I didn't care about lunch I just wanted to get out to express. I am petrified of my milk running low. And my partner with 3x120 ml bottles at home ran out!It took me all week to make that! So I have been expressing twice a day in the morning and I've hardly been getting anything!
Do you think it would be ok if I gave her some water while I'm away? The only other option is formula? Which I would like to avoid. I think I'll have to start eating oats and having fenugreek and those cookies all at once!
MCNmummyof2
05-03-2007, 21:50
How long are you gone for? Water will quench her thirst, but it wont make her full. You can give 1/2 formula 1/2 ebm.Definately go the fenugreek, works wonders. Do you have a heatpack? Put that over your boob when you are expressing. I would try to express after each feed, even if its only for 5-10 minutes, that way you will trick your boobs into making more milk, because sucking will stimulate them to make extra. Is work anyway close to home? Do you get a lunchbreak at a particular time? Could hubby bring bubba into work for a quick boob feed?
lil starlette - The more you express, the better you'll get but you also won't be able to get anything out of an empty breast! I usually aim at expressing the same amount while I'm away that bubby would be having anyway. Sometimes that's not possible so I express at home on days when I'm not working in order to boost my supply so that when I do express at work, I get heaps. Does that make any sense?
I will express sometimes at home a few hours after bubs has gone down for her long sleep. It ranges from between 7pm and 10pm so I express around 10pm to midnight. I just wait a few hours so my milk has time to replenish and then I get lots. This boosts your supply for the next day as your body thinks bubs is needing more. The more you do it, the more your body will make. The other time I do it is after her first morning feed at around 3-5am. If she only takes one boob and then goes to sleep, I express the other one and usually get around 100ml because it's been ages since her pre sleep feed.
I'm pretty tired so none of that is making sense now that I've re-read it. Hope you can make something of it.
On another note, bubby met Police commissioner Bob Atkinson today. My DH's police cricket comp had their final today and DH's team won. DH won player of the match and Bob came over for a chat after the presentations. Thank god she was behaving herself! He seemed like a lovely bloke. My bro is also a policeman and Bob rang him one morning after his police car had been in a crash to check that he was alright. I'm sure he's a busy man and it's nice to know he cares about the "little people" so to speak.
Anyways, off to bed so I'm rested for my relaxing day spa trip tomorrow. I'm so excited. I'm having a body scrub and vichy shower, massage, champagne lunch and pedicure with my best friend. I hope bubby behaves for my MIL.
Pinkie - sounds like you are havinga great day tomorrow, i'm jealous....
I get a bit of a break tomorrow and only have samantha at home!!! DS is at childcare so i get the day just with her... although i will spend all day doing the housework :(
Morning all
Pinkie – you are a wonder woman, be kind to yourself else or you will end up getting very sick.
lil starlette – I sometimes give tahlia a top up of formula after her last feed before she goes done for the night. I have always expressed the last feed of the day and give it to her in a bottle (so she would learn how to use a bottle), but it is not always enough so I give her a top up with formula.
We took tahlia for her 1st swimming lessons on Saturday, she loved it, but was very tied (slept for 3 hours after – umm maybe I should take her swimming every day), we learn how to get her to take a breath (you blow on to their nose and mouth) and then how to hold their breath (poor water over their face), this is all in preparation to putting them under water. I think you blow on their face to get them to take a deep breath, and then you dunk them under (water of the face makes them hold the breath), and then when they come up the let the breath out, can’t wait.
I am also going to be going back to work in July – I am hoping only 3 days (2 in the office and 1 day from home), I am looking forward to it, but petrified at the same time, and don’t know how I will handle being away from Tahlia. I think because I always knew that I had to go back (money issues), that I never given myself permission to think about the negatives of going back to work. Luckily my sister and my mother in-law are going to look after her the days I go back, and my sister in-law has also offered to look after her one day if needed (so if I have to be in the office for 3 days I have it covered).
Hope everyone is well.
charlen49
06-03-2007, 14:05
Hi everyone........ive been reading stuff on the hub for a few months now.....and thought i would like to join this thread since i have a november bub......i was also curious if there were any other november bubs and mums living in the newcastle area???
Bailyjaysmum: It says that you live in the Kuraby area....nice place...i use to live there back in 2001 for about a year and 1/2
Deepiea: Reading about your baby made me think of my own....they have very similar sleep patterns . Even though your bub capnaps during the day, does she sleep through the night?
Anyhow..hope i can chat with u guys........november is a great month..my bub and myself are born in that month...a little biased....cheers
onkybear
06-03-2007, 14:40
Hello lovely ladies,
CHARLEN49 - Welcome!! I agree, Nov is a great month for bubs!
PINKIE - Enjoy your day spa today!!
Well my hubby and I are starting a comp to see who can stick to a diet and exercise plan. I think I am getting ripped off though cause he has a gym membership and can go whenever he wants & I have to cook for him! I think we are going to have to rethink this whole bet thing.
Well I am off to do the housework while James is in bed. It feels like a never ending cycle!!
MCNmummyof2
06-03-2007, 15:18
Hi girlies
Having an interesting day today. I wish mothering wasnt a competitive sport!! Got a girlfriend that just thinks if things arent done her way you are wrong, and boy did she give me an earful today about studying full time!!! Do wish a lot more mothers were supportive of each other!!
Hmm thats my whinge for the day.
We are slowly getting things packed up, Im cleaning/tidying everything mostly atm, cause packing things wont take too long once we have sorted through the ****. Or thats the idea anyway!!
Listing a whole heap of things on freecycle tonight, if I get time, just want to get rid of the junk we have before we move.
Gotta get a heap more uni done today (mental note to self - never ever go away the first 2 weeks of semester again!!!)
LEVIsMum
06-03-2007, 15:46
This is my first time here so thought I'd introduce myself.
My bub was born 23/11/06 & his name is Levi. First time mum so everything is new huh!
Got a few issues but I'm sure things will sort themselves out!
welcome sylvia (that's my mums name :))
charlen49
06-03-2007, 18:10
Hello lovely ladies,
CHARLEN49 - Welcome!! I agree, Nov is a great month for bubs!
PINKIE - Enjoy your day spa today!!
Well my hubby and I are starting a comp to see who can stick to a diet and exercise plan. I think I am getting ripped off though cause he has a gym membership and can go whenever he wants & I have to cook for him! I think we are going to have to rethink this whole bet thing.
Well I am off to do the housework while James is in bed. It feels like a never ending cycle!!
MMMMMM day spa..yet a distant memory.....since my birthday was a week after having a very traumatic birth last year , my DP bought me a 4 1/2 hour spa special occasion package ( aint he sweet!).....i waited until recently to use it.....so he looked after bub whilst i enjoyed being pampered........now a couple of weeks later.......feels like it never really happened......babies do that to ya i guess:(
Welcome Sylvia! I'm also a first time mum and just being on this forum has helped me heaps..I'm sure you'll find it useful. Where in Sydney are you?
Charlen49 welcome! So you're from Newcastle- I lived there for 7 years, am now in Sydney but would love to move back to Newcastle- I miss it so much!
My bub doesn't sleep through the night but things are slowly getting better now that she actually isn't starving all the time.
My whole feeding regimen is a mess right now- am expressing every feed for the bub as she won't take the breast. I did manage to trick her once in the middle of the night while she was half asleep- I really did not want to get out of bed to warm up EBM from the fridge. I'm not sure what I'm going to do- I can't keep expressing every feed and then feeding it to her through a bottle. I see the ECN tomorrow- maybe she'll have some bright ideas.
Oh well, hope all mums are well.
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 07:48
Hi deepiea,
I'm in Blacktown. How about you?
Today is the very first day I managed to get enough sleep to function!! haha Levi usually sleeps for 3-4 hours at night then has a feed, last night he slept for 6.5 hours, had a feed then slept for another 4! Either it's just luck, or a sign of things to come...
'Rene'sMumma'
07-03-2007, 08:06
Welcome Sylvia and Charlen49!!!!Well I had a breakthrough yesterday. I usually have to pat and reock Rene to sleep but yesterday morning, for his first sleep I just put him down and he went off by himself!!! shock!! I'm starting to think it was a once in a lifetime thing. He hasn't done it again . oh well at least he had a lovely time with my mum last nigh while DF and I went to our rehearsal. It's only a couple of hours which he sleeps most of but I find it a bit hard to leave him, even with my mum. Bit of a sook I know. Congrats to those of you who are brave enough to work already. It must be quite hard.Well lovely rainy day in Brissie!yay!
it's not raining here :( It never rains in Ipswich it seems...
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 09:13
Just wondering if going to a mothers group is something that everyone thinks is helpful and should be tried? To be honest it never crossed my mind until I came into these forums and saw people talking about it.. That's bad huh!
I don't know anyone who has had a baby recently, nor do I have any immediate family in Aus - they're in NZ, so the topic never came up. My husband went back to work fairly soon after having the baby so I've just kinda done it on my own! Has everyone given it a go and recommends it? Or have I left it too late - bub is 3 months.. And how do you even find out where they are??
charlen49
07-03-2007, 09:44
deepiea: Hi...where abouts in newy did you live?...........I'm pretty with bubs night sleep (touch wood) she usually sleeps 10 to 12 hours anight with an occasional wake through the night.....probably capnaps through the day........Jaimee is 4 months old today and we are celebrating by getting her needles....lots of fun not.......not looking forward to the sreams after the jabs...but its for own good i guess!.it will be interesting to see how much she has grown in the last month...sure feels heavier!
charlen49
07-03-2007, 09:46
Opps..sorry Sylvia.....i think if you go to your local CHN they can point you in the right direction......im going to wait a little longer and will probably join a playgroup i think
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 09:53
so...... a playgroup isn't different to a mothers group? Is play group more for the kids than the mums? I know I should know all this huh!
a playgroup is usually held at a hall or something and requires a payment each week, whereas a mothers group is more informal, usually held at different places each week... you could do a post on here asking for other mums in your area, that's what i did :)
Welcome charlen49, Kris and Sylvia!
Deepie - I'm not in any way qualified to give feeding advice but have you tried offering her the breast b4 each bottle, and each time, just make her hold out a bit longer b4 you get the bottle. Maybe she'll get sick of waiting and just take boobie. The other option is to be mean and not give the bottle. She'll get hungry and feed eventually won't she? You could post in the breastfeeding forum where Pinky Makay gives replys.
Sylvia - Playgroup is a fee paying group (As Alison said) and more for toddlers and older. Mum's groups (or should I say parents groups caus dad's are welcome) are free and just a group of new parents meeting to chat and get advice/ keep their sanity. There are official ones organised by child and youth health (i'm in one of those) but we have also had meet ups of mums off BubHub. There is a section somewhere in the forums where you can talk to parents in your area. We're just lucky that lots of the Nov mums are in Brissy so we've just been organising it in here!
My day spa was fabulous and I think I might try to make a habit of it. I've heard there's a really nice one in behind the Gold Coast so I might go there when bubby is a bit older and can be left for an overnighter.
Bubby's aunty (DH's little sis) gets back from o/s today. She's been in the US since bubby was 2 days old. She saw her in hospital but bubby's so different now. I can't wait to see how she is with bubs. She's been emailing and saying she can't wait to see her.
Emma - How's it going catching up with your friend?
well, i just got back from samantha's 4 month immunisations, i hate to see her cry, the needles look so painful :( Well, here were her stats from today!
Weight: 7 kg
Length: 66.5 cm
Head: 39.5 cm
still has a small head, but her length is on the 97th percentile, looks like she is taking after dh (6'4"), not me...
susannahjoy
07-03-2007, 12:56
I'm new to bubhub.. this is my first post, just thought i'd introduce myself. I'm Susan and my little one is Luke, born 15 Nov.
It's good to find a chat that is all about bubs the same age as mine.
Susan
charlen49
07-03-2007, 13:06
wow alybel...i just got back from jaimee's needles too..shes exactly 4 months today......
weight:7.7kg
length:65cm
head:43cm
still big bub......on the 95/97 percentiles too...dh tall aswell....and im not short either....she was really good this time which surprised me, had a short cry then that was it. Had atalk to Dr about the fact she hasnt been drinking much , although she is happy and content.....dr said as long as she has plenty of wet nappies and is growning she will eat/drink when hungry...she has 2 very sml solid feeds aday and lately only been drinking around 700-800 ml of milk.....well she certaily doesnt look undernourished thats for sure
charlen49
07-03-2007, 13:09
Hi susan....welcome!!..this is only my 10th post......and i know what you mean! Its nice to find out about other bubbas the same age....where are you located??
Baileyjaysmum
07-03-2007, 13:10
welcome to all the newbies!!
Had Charlize's needles done today. I was so unorganised this morning. I didnt get the chemist to order the rotavirus vaccine in so I have to go back to the doctors next week than I forgot the red book. Anyway she screamed but nothing that boobie didnt fix! She is not putting on as much weight as they would like so they want me to give her some formula after her last feed for the night. I am happy to do this and anyway she may have to go on the bottle soon as i might be going back to work five days a week - how scary!!!
I am having such a lazy day today - i should be doing housework while Bailey at daycare instead I have had a rest and done nothing - oh well there is always tomorrow.
I am having Charlize's twinkle toes done tomorrow.
Well better go and do something as our financial adviser is coming over at 3.00pm so I want the house to look respectable!
susannahjoy
07-03-2007, 13:13
Thanx for the welcome :)
I'm in Brisbane. I've just been going through the earlier posts and notice there are quiet a few poeple from Brissie.
charlen49
07-03-2007, 13:23
Bailyjaysmum;...wow this may be a silly question but what do you mean you have to get her twinkle toes done???
Do you have to order the vaccines from the chemist??in QLD
Down here in NSW they are at the drs or clinic where you take your child to be immunised.....i take Jaimme to my dr....because they have a bulkbilled nurse that doesit/ weighs checks etc.....and they also get the dr to come and check the vaccine before its done....its good because i end up getting to have a free chat about bub with her as well!
charlen - here the vaccines are all available at the dr or clinic, but the rotavirus one is an optional one, costs about $100, i had to order mine today, i forgot too... Oh, and twinkletoes is when they do a cast of your babies hands and feet and cover them in gold colour, then framed with a picture, we had it done when samantha was only 4 days old..
susan - where in brisbane do you live?
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 13:54
charlen good to hear about the 7.7kg! Mine was born 23/11 and he weighs 7.2kg. People are always telling me he's chubby (I swear he's not! Its normal baby fat!) Even the doc said he has 'an extra kilo to play with'.. What's up with that??? I think the weight is fine! Do you ask them to weigh & measure bub? Mine never offer but I'll ask them to do it at his 4 month imm.
A question for all - how are you all going with tummy time?
Levi hated it until a few days ago so am I behind or what? I know they all do things at different times BUT my book says he should be able to lift his head right up at 3 months... He's 3.5 months and this morning he lifted his head up a bit for the first time. How much tummy time should they have?
AND he started giggling yesterday - just a tiny bit.. Are there many gigglers out there??? One lady I know said hers started giggling at 10 weeks!!
Welcome aboard Susan
Sylvia - My Stasia hates tummy time and has right from the start. I had her on her tummy for about 5 mins this morning. I don't try everyday because she just gets herself all upset. She can lift her head up but she's only down there for about 1 min before she starts screaming to be picked up. I'm certain that she is just super intelligent and knows that she doesn't need to hold her own head up, that's what mummy is for! :laughing:
I'm thinking that she will be academic and maybe not so strong with the physical side of things! Or maybe she is just making the most of this tiny bit of her life where she doesn't need to do anything strenuous and she can just lie around getting everyone else to do her dirty work. :cool:
I better go ring the chemist and make sure they have Rotarix in stock for Stasia's second lot next week. Thanks for the reminder ladies
susannahjoy
07-03-2007, 14:15
i'm on the north side of Brisbane at Bridgeman Downs.
'Rene'sMumma'
07-03-2007, 14:19
Hi Susan!! Welcome. I'm in Brissie on the north side... where abouts are you?Charlen49: I noticed you said you were feeding your bubba solids... just curious as to when you started and why you decided to? I know they say to wait until 6months but I've heard of some bubs starting earlier so I was wondering why and how you know when to start them.
susannahjoy
07-03-2007, 14:20
Don't you love it when you change a nappy and then they do a poo about 1 minute after the new nappy is on! I'm sure it is one of Lukes favourite games.
Luke hated tummy time untill about 12 weeks. He still doesnt like it if he is tired. He is good at rooling from his back to his tummy, but not as good rolling back. Often he will keep rooling over, get upset and i have to put him back on his back only for him to roll over again and get cranky.
'Rene'sMumma'
07-03-2007, 14:23
Oops sorry Susan, I'm in Lawnton!
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 14:31
when did he start rolling over? Levi can't do that - yet
susannahjoy
07-03-2007, 14:37
he rolled over first at about 12 weeks. the 2nd time was when his nanna came to visit and he did it straight away. from 14 weeks he started rolling all the time. i think he might be an early roller. He is a verry active baby. he kicks his legs all the time.
i had to just go look at the calendar now to work out how old he was in weeks, i'm thinking more in months now.
charlen49
07-03-2007, 14:53
Alybel: I,ve never heard of the rotavirus one?? nore have i been offered it??.....all i know is that she gets 2 jabs ...one in each leg
twinkletoes...hehe..silly me..yes i have heard of that.....but had forgotten........sounds like a cute thing to do!
Sylvia: Wow.ur bub does sound healthy....glad to hear it....sometimes....because jaimee was big born, i feel like the only one with a big bub sometimes and no they always weigh and measure...though i only get done once a month.
tummy time....i must admit i was a bit slack at first....mainly cause she didnt seem to like it....then after visiting chn at 3 mths......she said i should do it to strenghten her muscles.......so i try atleast once a day.....she has got better as time has gone on.......she even rolled over from tummy to back at 14 1/2 wks......she laughed giving herself the hiccups at 12wks......first slept through the night at 7/8wks........i think u give them tummy time when ya have time and it feels right....thats my opinion
Rene'smuma: i started jaimee on solids about 3 weeks ago because she started wanting to have bottles allthe time......she started waking up through the night hungry when she previously slept through.....she was watching me eat.....when i saw the dr for myself.....i mentioned that i had started and the reasons and she rekons i was right......that she obviously needed something more.......she strted very slow...i let her guide how much...sometimes she has very little.....sometimes she is a little piglet...lol:laughing:
MCNmummyof2
07-03-2007, 15:19
My god, its so hard to believe my little fatty will be on solids soon!!! When I read, yours I thought, jeez they are only a couple of months old, then i realised, nope they arent they are already about 4 months lmao! Why do they grow so quick!!
Lachy was about 7.2kg at his last check, at 3 months. Hes very quickly catching up to sophie!!
We are slowly getting everything packed. Cleaning and decluttering as we go, so it is taking a little bit! Listing a whole heap of stuff on ebay. So hopefully we'll get some money back!
LEVIsMum
07-03-2007, 15:59
Charlen - Levi was only 3kg (6.7lb) when he was born so he's put it all on since! He doubled his birthweight at 2 months...
Hey does anyone think I should be doing anything to encourage him to rollover? Or maybe I'm just making a mountain out of a molehill...
Its so hard to know what I should help him with, and what he needs to learn in his own time!
I guess everyone has gone through that huh!
charlen49
07-03-2007, 16:16
Sylvia: wow....a tiny tot at birth......he 's certainly doing well by the sounds of it........in regards to the rolling over thing.....he will doit when he is ready..... my dd doesnt do it all the time....you can tell when she is being lazy or not the little buggar......she gets this look.....sometimes i get down to her level in front of her and talk to her......she usually rolls over when when she wants something near her.....but ur right they do everything in their own time
Will's Mummy
07-03-2007, 17:16
Hi to all the new mums - you sure have been busy chatting today!
Had a great time yesterday with my best friend catching up and hitting the shops (thanks for asking Pinkie :wave:) . Bought a nice dress to where to the engagement party on sat night - will nice to get glammed up and go out for a night! Will have to be on my best behaviour though as Will is coming to the party and my DH wont be getting there till late as his cricket presentation dinner is on....cricket never ends!
Sounds like there are some more big bubbas out there now. Will is still a little monster - he was only 3.3kg born but is now 7.8kg at 4 months! I think he is about 65cm long. Each time I take him to the clinic to get weighed the nurse says he should slow down on the weight gain soon but he hasn't - he just loves the boobie!
Re tummy time, Will never really like it much till last weekend when he started to lift his head up and then rolled over. He rolled over three times last Monday and Tuesday but hasnt done it since - think he is ready for a new trick.
Better go, hubby is home from cricket training cause of the rain and is getting bored...better go and talk to him!
'Rene'sMumma'
07-03-2007, 18:09
Charlen, thats really interesting about the solids. I'll have a much better idea when it's time for Rene to start. Thanks!
I wasn't sure I was on the right thread- you guys have been busy chatting today!
Sylvia- I'm in baulkham hills so not far from you.
Pinkie - I do always offer the boob before the bottle but she's just too lazy. I'm scared of letting her go hungry because she is so underweight. Maybe once she's fattened up a little I'll try and make her hang out for the boob.
Hearing all the weights of everyone elses bubs has made me realise that DD is definitely little! She was only 5.2kg last week. We see the nurse tomorrow and I'm hoing all that extra formula will have helped. Fingers crossed.
Charlen49 where in Newcastle are you located?
I'm keen to start solids as well to help bub put on weight faster but everyone keeps telling me that their digestive systems are not ready for normal food until 6 months but a few years ago the recommendation was to start at 4 months so who knows whats the right age?
Oh and Mira has been giggling again today- I've discovered her ticklish spots- its soooo cute! :laughing:
wow you girls have sure been posting up a storm again!!
Welcome to the new girls!! How awesome that we are still getting some new mums in!! Its so great having a place like this to come to for support.
Lil update on my lil family,
Mason is loving pre-school and I am loving all the artwork that he is bringing home! He is really enjoying everything about it and looks forward to his days that he gets to go.
Mikaylah will be 4 months old tomorrow! I cant believe it! Where has that time gone! She is doing awesome, she has still only rolled over the few times, which was from her tummy to her back, she is soooo close to going from her back to tummy, but changes her mind at the last minute LOL. She is getting so loud and she certainly has a lil personality on her LOL, Her lil giggle is hillarious. She went for a check up today sounds like she is one of the tinier ones of our november thread
weight : 6.1
Length : 62
Head circ : 40.5
She has a big head tho compared to some of the other bigger bubbas haha.
Everything with my new pregnancy appears to be going fine, i havent been having to many sick days now, which is great, hopefully it goes away totally by 12 weeks, would be nice to be one of those lucky ones for once hehe!!
charlen49: Im in Port Macquarie, like 2 hours away from u, but still your the closest one to me so far haha Im excited LOL. Welcome to the thread! Our girls are only a couple of days apart to!!
Sounds like everyone is well and that everyones bubs are doing awesome!! I cant believe how fast they are all growing!! They will be on the move before we know it!!!!! :eek: :crying:
Anywho i gotta head to bed. im sooooo tired tonight!
I will check back in tomorrow, looks like i am gonna have to pop in more regular so I can do some personals and keep up with everyone a lil better!!
Julzy
xxoo
charlen - regarding the rotavirus vaccine, you need to request it, not normally offered.. oh, and samantha got 3 needles, one in th right leg, two in the left, same as at th e2 month immunisations..
Just finished feeding samantha, i can't wiat for her to start sleeping through the night again, but i don't want to feed her solids yet, will wait the 6 months, maybe i'll try her on a bottle of formula at bedtime and express that feed for another time...
susannahjoy
08-03-2007, 07:21
LEVIsMum: I wouldn't worry about the rolling over. My Hubby did try and teach Luke to roll over, mind you he is now trying to show him how to walk, I think he might have to wait a while for that one.
Charlen: My doctor recommended the rotavirus vaccine if Luke was going to be in child care before 3, just cause gastro can spread pretty quickly through kids.
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 07:26
NO WAY Julzy - If we had found out we were havinga girl we were going to call her Makayla!! Spelling is different - but how funny is that!
I just have to say this forum is great aye - especially because I'm not part of any group so it's good to hear what everyone else is up to/going through...
I made the call to find out about mothers groups yesterday so they're supposed to call me back...
It's interesting reading about the solids and when others are starting. I've been thinking about doing it in the next month or so - only because the constant 1.5 hours feeds during the day are just CRAZY - maybe he needs more than milk....? And now the aba reckons his stools (icky topic I know) have been green and more watery the last 2 weeks (Maybe I never mentioned that here?) because he is feeding so often and getting too much foremilk and not enough hindmilk. I'm not sure how that works considering I'm pretty empty from lunchtime onwards so I figured he'd get it all!
Something to think about I guess. The next step is that rice stuff huh? I forget the name!
Hope everyone is good today, Levi's sleeping from 8pm-8am with a feed about 4ish so I'm happy about that! I'm not sleeping though coz my lovely Hubby brought a cold home from work!
Isn't it rough being sick and you just can't stay in bed all day???!!!
Harlequin
08-03-2007, 07:45
Welcome to all the new november mummies :)
Deepeia, Ava is also small compared to the other bubs... unless my electronic weights are funky. I sat her on them and apparently she's only 5.8kg.
I had a good night on tuesday. Ava slept from 10:30 til 7am can you believe it?!
I won't be feeding Ava solids til she's 6mths. I keep reading sites that say their insides aren't developed enough for solids til then which puts me off a little.
Re: Solids - I have a girlfriend at work who said that her biggest regret was not giving her bubba solids until she hit 6 months. She said that her bubba was showing interest in food from about 4 months and was always trying to get a hold of it and really looking excited when mummy was eating. She held out till the magic 6 month mark and low and behold, bubba had gotten sick of waiting and wouldn't take them. Almost like she had broken her little spirit by not giving her food when she was saying she was ready. I think the whole 6 month thing is a recommendation. As always, some bubs will be ready earlier and some later.
The CHN that ran my mums group said to look for the bubs signs that they are ready and I think that sounds like the best advice. Waiting till a set month isn't going to work for all bubbas.
That said, my little girl is no where near ready for solids. She'll be 4 months on the 20th, so plenty of time up her sleeve I suppose
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 08:32
Yeah that's what I think - it's different for everyone. I have a book here that says the range to start solids is from 4-8 months and that's why people generally go somewhere in the middle - 6 months. Then again I have also read that thier tummies are not ready till 6 months - but I know people who started it around 4 months (including ppl in this forum) and their bubz are doing perfectly fine.
I just thought maybe it might help on my end with his constant feeds, I just get the feeling its not enough for him anymore - he's a big boy! I was thinking of trying it in the next few weeks maybe.
There's this guy at my husbands work, he and his wife have three kids and they started all thier babies on solids at THREE WEEKS! I hope I'm not offending anyone - but surely that's too early??? All the babies have been constipated all the time.. Sad huh
Hey guess what - Gave Levi more tummy time today - he stayed there for ages and kept his head right up!! Gee they learn fast!!
Thats sooo cool that some of you have bubbas that are giggling!!! It must be the best thing to hear!!!! Levi did the other day, but hasn't since - he makes little noises when he smiles so he's getting there! How cute huh..
Harlequin
08-03-2007, 08:35
Can she be sure that if she'd given them at 4mths she wouldn't have just reacted the same way anyway?
If I looked for signs with Ava I'd have been feeding her solids a long time ago, she's always been very interested in what I eat and watching me eat. :D To be honest I think its just because 'Mummy' is doing something and not that babies really want the food.
I just worry about the consequences way down the track of feeding solids too early. That said, if a paediatrician recommended it because of weight issues etc I would take their advice.
MCNmummyof2
08-03-2007, 08:44
On the other end of the spectrum. Breastmilk is a complete food till 12 months. So if your baby isnt interested in solids at 6 months, 8 months, even 10 months, dont worry about it if they are breastfed!
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 08:48
Is it really ok to give ONLY breastmilk for up to 12 months? I didn't know that... That's pretty good. I thought that they would start needing something else sooner & have breastmilk as well - you learn something new everyday!
susannahjoy
08-03-2007, 09:22
Is it really ok to give ONLY breastmilk for up to 12 months? I didn't know that... That's pretty good. I thought that they would start needing something else sooner & have breastmilk as well - you learn something new everyday!
LEVIsMum - I have the same thing with Luke. The grrn frothy poos, and the chn told ne the same thing, too much foremilk and not enough hind, and by the end of the day i feel really empty. Luke has always been a constant feeder, its rare he goes 3 hours during the day between feeds. At firt my mother in law seemed shocked i was feeding on demand and not every 3 or 4 hours on schedule. I don;t think Luke would have handle that.
He is pretty healthy and happy apart from that. I have a 3 month mothers group meeting at the clinic today, and next week we have an introducing solids session, so i might ask the chn about the poo again.
charlen49
08-03-2007, 09:23
Jaimee is not a happy camper today.....has a temp from her needles yesterday and is quite irritable......hopefully the good old panadol will make her feel a bit better.
Thanks susan for the info on the rotavirus vaccine.
Deepiea: im living in Kotara in newcastle not far from gardencity/ westfield kotara....do you know the area?
Julzy: i have an 11yearold niece who name is michala(spelt different) nice name! Port macquirie is a nice area...my brother,wife and kiddies live at diamond beach up that way
Re: solids....as u all said everykid is different......i have a ten yearold daughter that started solids around 4mths as well.....for the same reason. Both were/are ff basically from hospital...the only difference is jaimee is on the s-26 lactose free......7 weeks of screaming made us realise that the norm formula was upsetting her tummy. ( plus severe colic).......the dr agreed.....tried putting her back on normal formula a couple weeks back......she still doesnt cope well with it......deciding to wait a bit longer again......dr agreed again that the solids were fine following the reccomdations of how/what to give her........i would have waited if she didnt need them ...but she obviously did....so i guess u go on what ur individual bub needs.........she may eat heeps one day , then barely a spoon ful on others....i follow her lead......and she is certainly a lot happier than she was
MCNmummyof2
08-03-2007, 09:32
quote from the aba website
For most babies, there is no need to add to the breastmilk diet any earlier than six months. There are good reasons for not introducing your baby to other foods before she is about six months old. Breastfed babies often reject solids, apart from 'tasting' them, well beyond the first year. Babies will not benefit from the introduction of solids or other fluids until they are developmentally ready.
So they recommend trying solids, but if baby isnt interested its no big deal. The say just to go by what your baby is telling you.
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 09:33
susan - Yay someone else who has had the same experience! Did you get dirty nappeis EVERY TWO HOURS day and night? That's what I've been getting for 2 weeks now...So it must be not enough hindmilk then, it just seems weird to me because by the afternoon I can tell he's barely getting anything and he keeps sucking till nothing comes out - so wouldn't there be hindmilk there as well? Maybe not enough of it. But hey, I'm sure these experts know what they're talking about. The fact that it might be time to start solids was just a guess for me but now that you have had the same experience I'll definitely talk to a midwife about it...
And people have said to me that I shouldn't feed him so often - maybe true - but I have tried EVERYTHING to get his mind off food to stretch it out, but he won't rest till he gets it!
Charlen - Thats no good about the temp. Did you give her panadol before the shots? Thats what the doc told me last time - but I didn't know coz I was already there to get them done and nobody mentioned doing it before!
charlen49
08-03-2007, 10:03
Sylvia: yes i gave before needles......before bed last night( she went earliar than usual...cying that she was tired ) and she slept through till 6.30 this morn......i thought she'd wake up during the night concidering she didnt want any solids and only drank 140 ml before going down at 6.30
susannahjoy
08-03-2007, 10:20
I get about 4 to 6 dirty nappies a day, he was going through the night without a dirty one, but in the last week i have been getting one a night. His poos have been green and frothy since he was a month old, and he is doing fine so i'm not too worried about it, although it would be nice to not have as many dirty nappies.
Luke was sleeping for 6 hours before waking for a feed, but nw it has gone down to 4 hours. I am hoping when we start solids he might sleep through. Can't believe that i survive with the broken sleep. Before Luke i couldn't survive without my 8 hours sleep.
charlen49
08-03-2007, 10:37
Susan......i only get one dirty nappy a day and sometimes she will do one every second day....gee im glad i dont have as many as you u poor thing......sleep depriviation is a bad thing......a couple of weeks ago when jaimee stopped sleeping through ( because she was hungry)......the getting up again nearly killed me......i have definatley been spoilt with her night sleeps
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 10:52
Well Susan I can definately sympathise! I used to get 1, maybe 2 a day but something happened 2 weeks ago, I have no idea what, and they turned green, quite watery, and every 2 hours. The last 2 nights he's only had 2 during the night, but still every 2 hours during the day. That's why the explanation I got about the hind milk really threw me because he's been feeding that often for about 2 months now so I didn't understand why the sudden change in the nappies! So over it though huh! If they could only change thier own nappy somehow...
Charlen49- I know where Kotara is- used to go shopping there all the time. I have a house in Carrington near Honeysuckle. I miss Newcastle so much!
So we visited the early childhood nurse today. Mira has put on 250g in 1 week-Yay!!! I was so happy- that extra formula has helped but we still can't get her to take the boob. Tried a nipple sheild with no luck. Its so sad to think I can pump 150mls in 5mins (so I'm sure I have a supply) but have to feed my bub through a bottle. Not sure what I'm going to do....I really don't want to give up b/feeding but this expressing and then feeding thing is driving me nuts. It seems I spend all day and night obsessing about feeding.
What I would give right now to have a baby who wanted to breastfeed avery 2 hours- it beats this!
Sorry you mums who have to keep changing nappies so often- at least that means your bubs are getting lots of nutrition.
I'm dreading having to take Mira for her needles- last time she screamed so loud the GP thought she had a reaction to the needle. Maybe I'll put it off til next week.
Well better go express.......(..story of my life..) :(
charlen49
08-03-2007, 14:56
So do you live in carrington deepiea??
Question for all you gals regarding car seats.....does anyone know how long or what age/size etc bub has to be before you turn the carseat from rear facing to front facing....just looking forward to it cause the gymnastics i have to go through to get her in the car seat is annoying the hell out of me!!!!!........if u do live in newy deepia....which hospital did you have bub at??
LEVIsMum
08-03-2007, 15:02
Our car seat is hired for 6 months and the conditions were that he can go in a front facing at 6 months or 9kgs - whichever comes first. I think good head control matters too!
Charlen49- I live in Sydney now and I rent out my house in Carro to a friend, but I go back and visit often. I had my baby in Sydney. I used to work at John Hunter though- where did you have your bub?
I empathise about the car seat gymnastics- I have the same problem but was told I had to wait til bub was 6 months before turning it around.
susannahjoy
08-03-2007, 17:50
Iv'e been really lucky with bf, thank goodness. LUke feeds often, but it's not really a hassle, nothing to prepare.
Weighed Luke for first time in a while today.
6.5kg
I think the weight/height/head control is the more important factor in facing forward in the car seat rather than the age. I can't wait till i can turn it round.
I was thinking of going to visit my mum soon and I was looking at car rental places online this morning, and the couple i looked at only seemed to have forward facing car seats.
Seems like too much of a pain to take my own car seat. i'm suprised they dont offer rear facing.
I asked the chn today about starting solids at 4 months and she said it was better to wait till 6 months, they start being able to handle it at 4 months but by 6 their stomachs are fully developed to handle it. Luke seems to be happy and doing fine just on the brest milk, so i guess i will wait till 6 months. I think i'm just so eager to try new things with him. Gotta enjoy him as a little bubby as it isn't going to last long... can't believe how much he has changed in the last 3 and a bit months!
charlen49
08-03-2007, 18:39
Susan: the one disadvantage of ff is the bottles, the cleaning and sterilising....its never ending.......though the biggest advantage is when dh gets up on the weekend and feeds bub to let me have a lie in.....though i find it hard to sleep with those 2 gooing and gaaing out in the lounge room....though it is cute
Harlequin
08-03-2007, 18:56
I didn't think you had to sterilise bottles anymore? The community nurse lady... or was it the midwife... one of them told me you just have to wash them in really hot water now.
I just use a tiny bit of morning fresh, clean all the bits and then run them under reaaaally hot water to clean them.
Before you first use new bottles, nipples, and rings, you should sterilize them by submerging them in a pot of boiling water for at least five minutes. Then allow them to dry on a clean towel. After that, a good cleaning in hot, soapy water, or a cycle through the dishwasher is sufficient.
I got that off some breastfeedy page.
Well bubby screamed the house down at my inlaws last night and she's been doing it again tonight. I really hope we aren't back to that again. She was such a good girl during the day yesterday and today and is just being a terror in the evening.
She has really bad nappy rash and I don't know what to do about it. Sometimes it looks like it's getting better and then at the next change it's worse than ever :banghead:
It's mostly in the fat crease at the top of each leg. Not really a rash as such, but more like a burn. It's all shiny looking like leather and wrinkled looking as well. I clean her really well between changes and today in a bid to improve it, I've bathed her 4 times to really clean it out and then smothered zinc and castor oil (so far it seems to be the best at clearing it up) all over the whole area. I even used a fitted cloth nappy because I think the sposies are cutting right into the crease and causing her to scream.
On a better note, We changed the pram over from the bassinette to the chair today and she seemed to be happy in the semi reclined position so she could look around while we were at the shops. I bought a wonderwoman shirt from Jay Jays. I think it adequately describes me at the moment. There were shirts there with wonderwoman, supergirl and some other super woman chick all together and it said "Girls night", I think all the mums with more than one bub should get those caus they are tripply (probably not a word) good.
Harlequin
08-03-2007, 19:27
Have you tried sudocrem on the rash pinky? I use sudocrem on average every second change and Ava hasn't had any problems yet. *touch wood*
I hope you get it sorted soon, poor dear. Maybe that's why she's been angry?
Speaking of tshirts, I really want to buy Ava some of the Baby Hell tshirts at Tshirthell.com they are sooo funny but so very rude.
I like the one that says "Im this many!" and there's a picture of a little hand giving the finger.
Also like the "I tore mummy a new one!" ones cos its sooo true. ;)
Some of the rude ones are funny as heck.
charlen49
08-03-2007, 20:17
Pinkie: I only use disposable nappies & use powder on her after a poey nappy and after a bath.............as yet i havent had aproblem...touch wood.......i feel for u and ur bub.....its horrible when they are upset
I have tried sudocrem and some other zinc based creams but none seem to be clearing it up, only helping a bit and then not at all when it gets worse again.
I've just bought some cloth nappy stuff on the net. I got some tots bots bamboo nappies and covers and a few extra liners. This is my first foray into cloth nappies so any advice from those using them re: brands etc would be great. I'm also interested in some all in ones. They sound great. Also which brand of liners are good? I bought some natures child ones ages ago with some really cheap modern cloths but now that I've opened them, they seem quite rough and I don't want to put them on bubs bottom with it so sore at the moment.
Those shirts sound hillarious. Only thing is, at the shops, oldies wouldn't think it wasn't funny, neither would my MIL or grandparents. Maybe just for at home or when youngins with our dirty sense of humour come over :laughing:
Harlequin
08-03-2007, 22:04
I haven't started using my clothies yet pinkie so I can't really help you, sorry.
'Rene'sMumma'
09-03-2007, 09:57
Pinkie: Your problem with the rash sounds exactly like what Rene had recently. I also suspected the Sposie to be cutting into his inner leg and I couldn't clear the rash up with any zinc creams and so on. What I have ended up doing is cutting out all the products and when I change him I have reverted to cleaning his nappie area with only water and cotten wool or a cloth (except for poos when I use fragrence free Johnson wipes and even then once I've cleaned him I do a once over with the water to cleanse the area) After that I make sure he is dry. Basically the only thing I have been putting on him now is the oil I massage him with after his baths which is 'WELEDA-Calendula Oil' it is a mixure of a few different oils and flowers and is free from synthetic fragrences and preservatives. Basically it says to use it after a bath for massege and after nappie change as it cleanses and protects which I have found to be true as within a couple of days his cuts and rash were gone. I continue this now to make sure it doesn't come back and I like the idea of not using all kinds of stuff on his skin.I also have powder that is pure cornstarch with aloe and vitamin E it helps as well. Talc is very bad for bubs.Sorry for going on and on but I know how sucky it was for him to have that rash. I really hope this helps you.
MCNmummyof2
09-03-2007, 10:15
Ooh clothies!! I love clothies!!
Liners - I make my own from polar fleece/flanalette, The homebrand liners are pretty good, Think it was $2 for 100, I cut them in half cause they are fairly large, and if they are just wet, they go in the wash, and you can reuse. My daughter reacts to these though, (but thats not unusual for her!!)
When using cloth, if you need to put cream on their bums, make sure u use a disposable liner.
youngones
09-03-2007, 18:18
Hey Pinkie,
Congrats on the foray into clothies. Tots bots bamboo are an excellent choice and I agree with whoever it was suggested using fleece liners. If you can't make your own, nurturenappies sell them in packs of 6 I think.
The best AIOs I've found are BumGenius, but I prefer their pocket nappies to the AIOs - the pockets have a row of snaps that let you adjust the size, so they fit from about 4kg to about 16kg or some such thing.
Also, don't forget the calmoseptine - it is still working a treat for us with Lily. We only use it about every 2nd or 3rd change and she hasn't been rashy since. I found it not too expensive - about 12.95 for a tube and we only use a tiny bit.
If you are using cloth naps and a bum cream, do use a liner, but I don't use the disposable liners I also find them really harsh - the poly fleece is fine and when you end up with a bit of build up of cream on them, wash them in a bit of palmolive by hand and then run them through the regular wash. It is mild and breaks down the cream build up really well.
Must go and attend to wahhing creature again...
Baileyjaysmum
09-03-2007, 20:49
Well I havent been on for a while and I cant keep up!!!
Not much happening here.
I have gone blank as to what I was going to say. Thats lack of sleep for you.
I gave Charlize a bottle of formula after her last feed tonight so I am hoping she will sleep through!!:fingerscrossed: I cant belive how well she took the bottle it was like she had been on this planet before. i brought those new tommee tippee ones and they are great.
All this talk of cloth nappies makes me think whether I should try them to save money??? How many do you girls using cloth nappies have?
I went to the chemist again today to get the rotorvirus vaccine and the chemist told me that Brisbane was out of stock until the middle of march. I think i am going to ring around a few chemists to see if anyone has it.
We put our house on the market today. Dont know if this is a good thing or not but we want to reduce our mortgage. We still want to live in the same area but have a low set house. I hope it works out.
Well I am off to bed have a good weekend
Thanks to everyone with all the advice on nappy rash and cloth nappies. MCNmummyof2, I'm not surprised you like clothies, I'm assuming the MCN in your name stands for modern cloth nappies? It has taken me this long to figure it out. I went on the cloth nappies forum last night in a little research effort b4 buying any nappies and found the abbreviations. Then it all made sense.
I think I'll give the water wash and no cream a try now. It sounds like the cheapest option so why not give it a go first hey!
I'm excited about getting my nappies in the post next week. I was previously anti cloth nappy because of my laziness and not wanting to do any extra loads of washing. I think my part time cloth using will be a nice compromise. Bubs can have a soft cloth bum when her nappy rash appears and I don't have loads and loads of loads to do :laughing:
I love the idea of coloured and patterned covers. Although it means she might be getting around pant less so I can show off how cute they are. I guess I'll have to go through showing DH how to do it all with clothies now. :thumbsdown: Always something to try and teach him.
Bubby was happier today so I've decided she just doesn't like my in laws at the moment. I don't get along with them very well (more like they don't like me, I try really hard to be nice) but I need bubs to like them cause I need MIL and SIL to babysit :eek:
I just got home from work and I'm expecting my mum to turn up soon with bubby. She always steals her. They are here at home when I leave and then mum always whisks her back to her place. She's such a baby stealer. I think she likes pretending Stasia is her's and reliving her youth or something. It's quite funny. Does mean I can organise myself, baby free when I get home from work though so that's good.
Geez this is a long post. Can't think of anything else to blab on about so have a good weekend all.
Oh yeah, good luck with the house stuff Kristy!
Harlequin
09-03-2007, 23:19
Which ones did you end up buying pinkie? I've been looking into cloth nappies for a while now and can't decide. Most are too expensive for me as well.
I have plain cloth nappies here but I can't be bothered doing the folding n stuff so they will probably never get used.
Harlequin - I bought two tots bots sample packs which have a bamboo nappy and a PUL cover and I also bought a spare PUL cover to go over my other 2 clothies that I bought ages ago. Now I will have 4 nappies and 3 covers. I also got a couple of boosters to go in the nappies. The nappies are the fitted type, they look just like a disposable only fabric and caus they aren't waterproof, you need the cover. The boosters just sit inside the nappy as far as I'm aware. So you can just replace the booster only if it's just wet. If the experience is a good one and I don't end up with wee all over the place, I think I might buy some more and maybe do the cloth nappies at home and sposies when out and about. I've got about 4 boxes of sposies to get through though.
I also have a six pack of bright bots nappies (the old fabric square) and they have been my spew rags. I got them on the way home from hospital with bubs. We parked the car and I sat in it (air con on of course) with bubby while DH ran in to buy them. I didn't think I could possibly survive the first day at home without them. What an idiot :laughing:
MCNmummyof2
10-03-2007, 06:10
Yep MCN does stand for modern cloth nappies!!
Atm, I have about 15 nappies i think. 8 greenkids, about 5 pockets that I've made and 2 eenees. I have 4 bbb, 1 eenee and another greenkids on the way. And Im going to buy 3 more greenkids off one of my gfs. I have enough pul to make another 7 or so, but I dont see me being able to make them before july!!!
Ive had a shocker of a day. To cut a loong story short, I left home when I was 14, I had a massive falling out with my mother, I had nowhere else to go, so I came up to sydney and ended up going to a girls refuge. My time there was horrible. Spent a couple of years jumping from place to place before me and Andrew decided that it was probably best for us to move in together.
Anyway, when I was growing up, I never had anything to do with my dads side of the family - because according to mum, they didnt like us. I always remember as a kid making my bday wish that my nan and pop would come to my next bday party. They never did. We used to see them once a year for about 1/2 an hr on christmas day (mum always told me they never wanted us there longer than that).
Well over 5 years later, this morning I get a phone call from my auntie (dads sister), and shes been looking for me for all that time. I find out that they always wanted to see us, but mum would never let them. I just cant help but feel that if mum had done things differently, I wouldnt have had to deal with the stuff that I've had to over the past years, so needless to say Im rather peeved.
Anyway, Im meeting my auntie today!! It'll be the first time I've spent a day with her in my life, Im so excited!!
MCNmummyof2
10-03-2007, 06:13
Also meant to say, hubbies learn quick!! I regularly see hubby going through the nappies choosing what colours they will wear next!! I now wash my nappies in with my clothes, makes it so much easier, also means I can wash them daily, cause being a family of 4 there is always enough washing to do lmao!!
If you are just starting out, have a look on the cloth nappy threads on bubhub. There is also a swap and shop where you can get 2nd hand nappies. Definately a good idea if you want to try a few. And the great thing about mcn, they hold their value, so if you buy something you dont like, its pretty likely you may lose a couple of bucks, but no more!!
Harlequin
10-03-2007, 07:24
Geez that sucks MCNMummy. I hope your meeting goes well :)
Let me know what the tots bots are like, pinkie!
susannahjoy
10-03-2007, 09:19
Good luck with your meeting MCNMummy. It's a shame that your Aunty has missed out on seeing you grow up. But if everything works out well, at least she will be able to see your babies grow up.:)
charlen49
10-03-2007, 09:34
Good luck MCNMummy......hope all goes well!
Well once again you girls have been busy lil bees in here!
looks like everyones bubbys are doing well! Alot changing over to cloth nappies it appears! Good for you girls! It sounds like a whole different world LOL.
MCNmummyof2 - Im sorry to hear about the way you had to live your teenage years. I hope you have a great meeting with your Aunt! I cant wait to hear all about it!
Harlequin: Wow I have never heard that about not having to sterilise before LOL. I wish it were true, as I hate sterilising , its a pain in the butt LOL :thumbsdown: but it is essential, they say till 12 months. i sterilised with my son till 11 and a bit months and will do the same with mikaylah, not that it will matter coz I will have another newborn to sterilize for again by then anyway haha.
Has everyones bubs been for there 4 month needles yet?? Mikki goes next week. Providing her runny nose is gone by then of course. I hope she goes okay with them, she wasnt too bad with her last ones so fingers crossed she is much the same this time round! I hate needle time :gloomy:
Well i spose i better go, i need to have a lay down while mason is playing outside with his dad and mikki is asleep.
Talk soon
Julzy
charlen49
10-03-2007, 10:28
Im the same as you Julzy as far as sterilizing bottles go........i've never heard of stopping at least before 6months...........yes been for needles.....she had a bit of a temp from them this time/and irritable/ lumps on legs.......very different to her 2 month needles.
I actually had a **** night with bub last night......she decided to wake up twice through the nighT ( this is a bub who most of the time sleeps through).It nearly killed me!!!!!
MCNmummyof2 - Sorry to hear your story but best of luck with your meeting! It's never to late, so they say! :hugs:
10 days left till Stasia's 4 month needles. They'll be on her 4 month birthday. What a great way to celebrate, NOT! :crying:
Bubby has been asleep for 2 hrs now and is just starting to stir. :fingerscrossed: this might be the end of 45min catnaps during the day. I won't get my hopes up though
Harlequin
10-03-2007, 12:06
Are you sure about the sterilizing? The community nurse said it's not necessary these days and everywhere I've looked seems to say the same thing - that you have to sterilize the first time you use the equipment, but then after that it's fine to just clean them in soapy hot water. *scratches her head*
At any rate, Ava's perfectly happy and I haven't been sterilizing her stuff constantly.
I'm not looking forward to Ava's next needles either. I'm more dreading the MMR one though. :(
Charlen49 did you try baby paracetamol after her needles? It worked well when Ava was sore from her first ones. She'd jerk herself awake sobbing, I think because of the pain from that one needle.
Edit: I just had another search about the aussie breastfeeding boards, apparently formula bottles need sterilising, but bm bottles just need to be washed in hot soapy water once a day because BM has natural antibodies there's no need to sterilise. Same goes for the pump.
Check out the last post:
http://www.lrc.asn.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3141&highlight=sterilising
LEVIsMum
10-03-2007, 12:15
Mine hasn't been for his 4 month shots yet - its coming!
He wasn't too bad either - althought I asked them to do the tetanus one first to get it out of the way because I knew that would hurt more - but they did it last. So the cry was MUCH louder after the 2nd shot - only cried for a minute or so though. Isn't it sooooo hard to watch and have to hold them there??? Levi kept looking up at me at first but then I got him to look at the doc while they did the shot - I figured maybe then he wouldn't 'associate me with the pain' silly huh....
susannahjoy
10-03-2007, 13:06
Luke hasn't had his 4 mth needles yet either. Think i will drag dh along to this one as well. Had my support at the first one (more for me than Luke) but he wasn't too bad, started crying for the 2nd needle and screaming for the 3rd, but giving him some boobie made him feel better.
Thiis time i am going to get mine and dh whopping cough boster shots as well, as they reccomended that at his 2 month shots.
charlen49
10-03-2007, 13:09
Yes i di give panadol to her.....the needles were on wednesday..her 4mth birthday.......so i know what you mean pinkie!!.....i thought i was right about the ff bottles....then again i've been proven wrong many a time.....lol
LEVIsMum
10-03-2007, 13:13
My DS only had 2 shots - I wonder why some get 2 and others get 3.......?
charlen49
10-03-2007, 14:22
same here.only 2.....i think the 3rd is that rota vrus one they have been talking about
Baileyjaysmum
10-03-2007, 15:37
Charlize had her 4 month needles on Wednesday and she had three. One is one leg and two in the other. The rotarvirus vaccine is an oral vaccine which she should have on Wednesday if I can get it from the chemist.
MCNmummyof2
10-03-2007, 17:30
Well back from my meeting my aunt. It was daunting, but boy are we alike!!! Found out alot of stuff about my mum that was pretty hard to hear. But I'll get over it. My mother is very very selfish. Found out the xmas after i left she went to their christmas party, and bragged about how she got a huge promotion, getting a **** load of money, company car etc, and dads side of the family asked well what about jade, and she just said, oh we dont talk about her anymore.
The only thing she has ever been worried about is how her image would be damaged by me leaving. Guess now shes got all shes ever wanted, shes a mayors right hand woman, getting paid a **** load for it, and thats where she wants to be. Everything when I was growing up was about her image - we went to the private school, had a big house, did a heap of extra curricular activities, had a huge amount of material posessions. But my dad was gone every morning before we woke up (we were up about 6!), and he didnt get home till about 6 ish, mum left when we went to school, but didnt get home till 7.30-8. Dad worked every second weekend, and for as long as I can remember, we had a key to let ourselves in every afternoon after school, we'd have dinner together and go to bed.
Apparantly mum hired a nanny to look after me from 7 days old - 6 weeks old, then I was put into daycare - cause u guessed it, she was back at work! I dont understand why people like her have children. People like her shouldnt be allowed to have children.
charlen49
10-03-2007, 17:58
Sounds like u have had a rough time growng up MCNmummyof2.......but remember what they say those things sent to try us make us stronger.......you are the lucky one by the sounds of it...you escaped that **** and have what sounds like a loving husband and 2 beautiful children. Just remember u have the richest things anyone could ask for....the love of your own family....dont allow her to diminish that for goodness sakes......and congratulations on your achievments..your loving family............something she will never have!!!!!
i have a very sick little girl and boy here... oh, me too.. I never knew that they could vomit so much, when they're hardly eating or drinking :( Will be back in a few days hopefully
Harlequin
10-03-2007, 20:13
Aw that blows, alison.
I hope you all feel better soon!
charlen49
10-03-2007, 21:10
hope u are all better soon!
Kirstlea
10-03-2007, 23:34
Haven't posted for ages infact not at all in this second stage of our thread.
Baileyjaysmum - how are you going with your toddler now? Someone suggested that I worm dd and that I would more than likely see a huge change in her manner and boy were they right. Over night she now wants to help more and goes out of her way to ask me if she can help me. She has finally gone back to drawing and painted etc without requiring my attendance every second of the day and is much nicer in general, although ds still startles when she comes into the room singing at the top of her voice:laughing: She doesn't understand that it freaks him out, oh well it can't all be perfect.
Julzy - WOW congratulations on your :bfp: sorry I'm a bit behind the eight ball.
Pinkie - Thats great that bubba is finally getting past the 45 min naps:sleeping: it won't be long and she'll be going for 3hr snoozes.
Harlequin - I also haven't heard of not sterilising bottles etc. I sterlised up til dd was 2 yrs old which was ridiculous because she was crawling all over the floor at 10mths old and was even licking the floor so this time round when I do use bottles if at all I will not be sterlising once ds starts crawling but I've never heard of it being less than 6mths, I'll check out the link you posted.
Alybel - sorry to read you are all sick, what a bummer, hope you all get better soon.
Hi to all the newbies
Hi to everyone else that I have missed for personals, sorry I just haven't got enough energy in me to read this whole thread at the moment.
We have all be flat out trying to get work through from prior to christmas, both dd and ds have been sick which has been a strain on me with trying to run the business and I have also been organising a proper holiday for the family which will start on Wednesay thank god I can't. This is our first real holiday in over four years so I have made it a decent holiday and we are off to NZ for 2 weeks and a stop off in Brisbane on our way back to Cairns so it should be great.
I am going to a school reunion which will be hilarious I'm sure, and catching up with a few old friends whilst on our travels of being lazy in the north.
4 more sleeps - gosh I'm excited.
Ok better go, take care everyone and more than likely I won't get to post again until we get back on April Fools day but I'll try to keep up with your posts.
Kirsten
Alison - So sorry to hear you are all sick. I can actually say now that I know what that's like. Hope you r all better soon :hugs:
MCNmummyof2 - I'm glad you made it through your meeting with your aunty today. It must be a load off your mind now :hugs:
Mum bought bubby into work for a feed again tonight and we actually got some laughter out of her. It was so fantastic. She giggled, laughed and smiled at mum, DH and me for about 10 mins. We were all in hysterics. She giggled to me the day she was 3 months but there's been nothing since. Her whole body was jiggling with happiness. It was so great to see because normally she's quite serious and I've been thinking that any smile I get is great up untill now. :smiliedance:
Kirsten - Great to hear from you again. Hope your holiday is fantastic.
I think the difference in needles is due to location. I'm pretty sure it's different in each state as it's governed by the state health dept. and not the federal gov. Our baby health books (little red book in QLD) are all different as well
lil' starlette
11-03-2007, 14:17
Hey!
It's tricky keeping up with all the nov mums on here now! But it's great our group is getting bigger and bigger.
Last time I was on I was having trouble expressing but now I have heaps-I have been massaging and hand expressing and using the pump. I did get weird lumps though and I was scared I had mastitis but they seem ok now.
I've been very busy meeting lots of bubhub people lately for coffee etc and last night I went to a girls night which was good. It was the 1st time I had been out in 1.5 years and I had so much milk I had to express into the toilet!:confused:
I have been putting Aiyanna down awake and she has been responding perfectly! It was a real worry for me and I wanted to get her into good habits before our 16hr flight to South Africa in a couple of months. So its looking good!
Hope all the bubs are getting better, Aiyanna will prob have her needles this week sometime.
youngones
11-03-2007, 16:01
MCNmummy I'm so glad things went well with your aunt. Its nice after all this time that you've got some family around you, especially with your own family.
Alybel - sorry to hear you are sick. We've managed to avoid the dreaded lurgy that seems to be going around everyone I know with kids. :fingerscrossed: we don't get it now I've said that...
Here's a question for you all - has anyone been on a long road trip with their bub yet? DH has to go to Bowen for work in a couple of weeks and has to drive to get some kms up on the car (its leased), so we thought we'd make a family holiday of it. Lily likes the car, but I'm not so sure she'll like being in it for 12 hrs in one day. We can break up the trip up there by staying overnight with family in Bundy, but the trip back will be straight through, with only nappy change, toilet and feeding stops.
MCNmummyof2
11-03-2007, 16:34
I drove from sydney to maclean the other week. We did it over 2 days, with about 5 hrs driving each day. I think it would have been easier with just lachlan, cause Sophie got really restless, so I think you will be fine!
charlen49
11-03-2007, 18:15
no havent done a long trip yet......sounds scary to me.....hope it goes well.........wouldnt mind a holiday at the moment....lol
Baileyjaysmum
11-03-2007, 20:35
Kirsten - Someone told me about worming DS to see if that helps so now that you have tried it I will be off to the chemist tomorrow to get some worm tablets. He has been a midnight I am at the end of my tether!!! I am going to a postive parenting seminar in April so I hope that helps. Have a great time on your holiday - lucky thing.
Alybel - i hope you and your bubs are feeling better soon - your poor thing having two sick and your self.
youngones - I went to Casino which was suppose to be a two hour but took three in january. Charlize was pretty good and we didnt have to stop to feed her. It was my DS that was the pain. Charlize hates the car at the moment she screams everytime i put her in it.
I went to a 30th last night and had a great time. My MIL looked after the kids and they were well behaved. We got home at 12.30pm got to sleep by 1.00am and Charlize woke at 2.00am than was up at 6.30am i am soooo tired. I liked going out but I cant seem to function on little sleep. Dh has coped it today as i have been cranky - oh well better go to bed
Megan - The longest trips I have taken have been a max of 3 1/2 hours. Mostly down to Lismore, Grafton, Evan's Head. Stasia has been pretty good and generally slept in the car. They have all been day trips with a break in between (3-4 hours there, spend the day, 3-4 hours home). She got grizzly just as we were getting home on each trip so about 8 hrs in the car is all she can handle for one day. You might want to just allow for extended feed/nappy stops so she can have time out of the car seat. Their little bodies get sore from being in the same spot, they can't just move around like us! In a cot they can wiggle around but in the car seat they are pinned down.
I'm peeved at my inlaws today but that's a story that would take 20 pages of posts so I'll just fume about it in my head and then go shopping tomorrow to make myself feel better.
My colleauges and I have a Sunday ritual of doing the Sunday Mail Big Quiz every Sunday night at 10pm. Tonight we got 39/40. I always knew we were a bright bunch, I just couldn't find proof till now. Actually our wardsman knows most of the answers so I can't really take any credit. Although I was the only one who knew what Liz Hurley's new husband's name was. :laughing: Now that's knowledge to be proud of.
Will's Mummy
12-03-2007, 08:39
Pinkie, just saw that you have been down to Lismore and Grafton - my DH parents live in Lismore and he grew up in Grafton so we head down there a bit too.
We are thinking of going down to Sydney in the week before Easter to see DH's grandparents and family and I was wondering how Will would go in the long car trip too. DH thinks we can do the trip in one day but I think we should cut it into two days for the sake of Will - I think it is cruel to have him locked in his car seat for that long and I am also worried that it will stuff up his sleeping routine as he always sleeps in the car. Has anyone done a 12 hour trip with a bub in one day and if so, how did they sleep at night?
I am so over the heat in Brisbane at the moment - and we have only really had one hot day! I am going to head to the shops today with my SIL who is having her bub by c-section on Thursday - so excited for her. We are going to get some last minute stuff for her.
Kristy, glad you had a good night out on Sat. I sympathise with you about the lack of sleep though. I had my best friends engagement party on Sat night which was lots of fun and Will slept well at but when it came time for us to leave (at 2am mind you:eek: ) Will decided it was a great time to be up and laughing. We stayed at my Mum's place so he was in a different cot and thought it was great fun! DH also thought it was great fun to be up and playing with him too :eek: . That was until he passed out snoring and I was left to deal with the wide awake bub. I eventually got him off to sleep and managed a few hours sleep before he woke again at 6.30. I would have got more sleep if I went out on the town after the party like all of my other friends with no bubs did...at least I wasn't hung over!
well, we are heading off to the rocks today for a playdate thingy... hopefully it wont' be too hot! Then off to spotlight as they have 20% off everything today, and i need to buy some material so i can start making more clothes for the kids...
hope everyone else has a good day.
youngones
12-03-2007, 11:10
Will's Mummy - the 12 hr thing and the possibility of a very grumpy and awake little girl over night is exactly what I'm worried about. We could break up the trip back by stopping in Bundy again, but that would mean I miss out on seeing my brother who will be up from Tamworth for the whole week we're away. I haven't seen him since my mum died in Jan last year, so he hasn't seen me pregnant or met Lily yet and I really want to see him. It will be ages before we can catch up again.
Here goes my out-law rant for the week:
Tamworth is too far for a day trip and we can't really stay overnight because I intensely dislike my SIL. She didn't visit my mum at all during her 16mth illness, apart from coming to our wedding (for one weekend). She also didn't come up for mum's last Christmas (and we all knew it would be her last) because she wanted to spend it with her family and she didn't even want my brother to come either - what a cow :eek: !
So instead, he spent that Christmas with her family (like he did the previous 3 years and the one since) except for a couple of days (arriving Christmas day at about 10.30pm) and he also wasn't there when my mum died because that evil cow didn't want him away from her for too long and, get this, they went to the Australian Open over the weekend that mum died and had the cheek to text me about what great seats they had - I can't BELIEVE what a cow she is.
SIL isn't coming up on this trip with my brother, because she's worried we won't be nice to her (well DUH!), but with us going to Bowen, we're basically going to miss my brother and that makes me :crying:
Why is it that some really nice guys end up with really nasty women? He'd pretty much do anything for her and he just seems miserable all the time. He spent the whole time up here for mum's funeral trying to justify and explain away her behaviour.
- Rant over -
DH's brother and partner and their little girl live in Bangalow, so we'll be doing the Lismore trip soon too.
On a different track, I bought a Medela Swing breast pump yesterday and it is AMAZING. The little hand held electric pump I was using was brutal and I was getting nowhere with it. First go in the afternoon, when supply usually seems to be low, I managed to get 110ml and I hardly noticed it!!! Expensive, but a good investment knowing that I'm going back to work soon and will have to express 2 feeds a day, 3 days a week.
My little princess has awoken, so I'd better go.
'Rene'sMumma'
12-03-2007, 11:33
Hi All!!!Its interesting to hear of everyone's travel adventures.We'll be heading up to Bundy at easter for a band competition so we're planning on taking it a bit steading. %vhrs is long enough in a car for anyone.I was also wondering if those who are bottle feeding are giving their bubs water as well....? I started giving it to Rene recently and he seems to love it. I'm now wondering how much he should have....
MCNmummyof2
12-03-2007, 12:44
with water - id probably give him about 50ml or so. but as long as it isnt affecting how much milk he is drinking it shouldnt matter.
Also - another tip, cooled boiled water is great for wind.
charlen49
12-03-2007, 13:12
I have had to give dd water since week 2.....she loves it......she had colic and it helped....also helped to stretch between ff.....though now...if i think she is drinking too much i give her ff instead.....but its a soothing thing as well......for the water i use no#1 teats to reduce the flow.......the nurse told me to give her the water.......she cant believe how much she loves it.........told me also to cont with water later and not give fruit juice( too much sugar)....fresh fruit will be much better later
charlen49
12-03-2007, 13:17
on another note.....Youngones.........unfortunately you can pick ur friends but u cant pick ur relos............and its always weddings or funerals that tend to bring out the best and worst in some people. i can totally sympathise with you.....i have SIL from hell as well!!!!!!!!!!
susannahjoy
12-03-2007, 17:33
What a hot day in Brissie today... Guess we have been lucky there haven't been too many hot days this summer. I had to escape to the shopping centre, which keeps Luke and me much happier, but not sure what dh is going to think when he comes home and see's what i bought. I just had to buy this cute little outfit with bugs all over it for Luke, it was only $6, but then there were the books, and the jeans for me (still not getting into my old ones :( )
Luke loves the shopping centre. It's cool, and he loves to smile at people and get attention.
Plus i didn't realise i would get any money back for the rotavirus vac, but i got the total cost of the first dose refunded from Medibank, and i should get some of the next one as well.
Baileyjaysmum
12-03-2007, 20:15
Susannahjoy - thats great you got the full cost refunded from medibank the vaccine - I only got half back from MBF:thumbsdown:
youngones
12-03-2007, 22:51
I'm lucky - I actually work for Merck (who make rotateq vacc) and whatever my health fund won't refund, the company will pay for. Also for Gardasil (cervical cancer vacc) - useful for when bub is older - that is if I stay working for that long....
Off to bed.
Harlequin
13-03-2007, 11:37
Hi to all the new mums in here :)
Sorry I haven't posted in a while, not much has been happening here. I had a bath with Ava last night, she loves bathing with her mummy! I took a photo, well DH did.
http://picasaweb.google.com/irene.m/BathTime/photo#5041006022341534690
Not long til Ava has to have her 4mth shots. How scary. I'm more dreading the MMR one though.
I haven't been on any long trips with Ava yet, I haven't even been on a shopping trip with her! Well I took her out to some shops once, but not into a shopping centre with her pram n stuff. I'm still too scared to. I'm gonna try when my mum and sister come over in April.
Ava has been lovely. We really are very lucky to have been blessed with such a good natured little monkey. She still goes to bed pretty late (around midnight -1am) but will sleep for about 7hrs or 8hrs straight half the nights. The other half she will wake once. So that's pretty good.
She's just found her thumb unfortunately and has been gnawing/sucking on it furiously :D She doesn't know what to do with her index finger when she sucks, though, and almost pokes herself in the eye every time!
She had a bad day yesterday, well for a little while anyway. The massage lady came over and I gave Ava to DH after giving her a feed and got on the table. DH left her in her cot with the mobile for too long, I could hear her grizzling. When he finally went in there to check her, she was real grizzly and p'd off. She just started bawling and he could not get her to stop. He still gets frustrated and angry when he can't stop her and that makes her worse. I felt horrible. After 30mins I gave up and went and took her and told him to have his massage then I would finish mine. He was angry and said, "I dont even want one now she's ruined my day!" I was like, "Just go have your massage".
So he did.
Ava was SO upset. She was sobbing and taking little gasps. She normally doesn't get left to cry for 30seconds let alone that long! She was looking at me with these shocked little eyes like she didn't know what was going on, so I gave her my boobie and she sobbed a little while she ate and I stroked her hair and made her laugh a little so she felt better. Then she drifted off to sleep. I pushed her around in her bassinet until DH's massage was over then I got the end of mine.
The massage lady rubbed my boobies!! Omg how funny.
I felt sooo bad, but I couldn't really say anything to DH cos I know he felt horrible too. I don't know why he lets himself get so angry and frustrated when she cries. She's a baby, that's what babies do, its not the end of the world, you just have to be calm and play with her and make her giggle and she will eventually feel better. Getting angry and upset just makes her sooo much worse. Poor thing, she was so upset, argh it makes me feel sad just thinking about it!
Not much else has been happening here.
Just counting the days til my mum and sister come to visit!
'Rene'sMumma'
13-03-2007, 14:54
Harlequin: Well isn't she gorgeous!! looks like she's getting plenty of boobie there with that pot belly! lol...Very cute. Rene loves the big bath too he usually comes for a shower or bath with me. Meanwhile bloody men!!! I'm surprised you didn't get getto on his butt!!! Thats not fair at all, and bubs really feel when someone is tense or angry so she was probably reacting to that. I also find that my DP pushes a good thing too long aswell. I'll ask him to look after Rene (never for long)and you would think he'd want to spend quality time him but he'd rather put him down to play and he'll be getting really ticked off but he'll just leave him there and I'll have to end up leaving what I'm doing to get him or say 'Hello!!! I think he's sick of that now" arrrggg it is frusterating I know how you feel. I think in their deffence the men don't usually get as much time as we do to get to know the bubs as quickly as we have and I do find myself just doing everything myself because it ends up being easier and thus the vicious cycle continues. I'm trying to let and help DP to spend more time with bub and learn more so he doesn't get frusterated with not knowing what to do and I don't get frusterated with him not knowing what to do. It's hard not to take over but I'm am seeing positive results and the boys seem to be having a better time with each other. I hope your DH gets better with her soon! Rene is 4 months today!!! OMG the time rolls on. I have his health check coming up but i weighed him at the chemist on thursday and he's already nearly 7.5kg!!! surly that can't be right lol we'll see at his check for sure!! big boy he is.
Will's Mummy
13-03-2007, 18:06
Harlequin - Ava is such a little cutie! Can't believe you havent been to the shops in 4 months! I go there just about everyday! Not good for the bank balance though!! Will loves being in his pram and looking around at all the people and shops. We always have people coming up and talking to him so it takes me forever to go shopping!
Will had his injections yesterday. Poor little thing was a bit upset last night and we gave him some baby panadol which seemed to settle him. He has been pretty sleepy today which might be from the injections too.
charlen49
13-03-2007, 19:53
Hi November mums.....had a nice..ish day today....drove up the valley (an hour plus & first time with out dp) to visist my mum and sis for the day. I have discovered ( and im not sure if its a stage thing) that bub screamS ( especially if tired/hungry) with everyone else except me or dp. She drops the bottom lip and sreams/sobs and it sounds like she is saying mum mum mum in between sobs. Have come to the conclusion that we need to visit more often because she so attached to me (mummys girl).Im hoping its a stage thing........but i guess when she is around me mainly 24/7 i can undersatnd why.
Renemuma...is your baby's birthdate wrong on your signature??......you said he is 4 mths but brthdate reads 21/11/06
wills mummy.. my bub reacted the same way as yours after she had her needles.....upset and sleepy!
'Rene'sMumma'
13-03-2007, 22:48
Yes that is his birthday by 4months I mean 16weeks :)
i thought you had the date wrong too, so he will be 4 months on the 21st of march...
Baileyjaysmum
14-03-2007, 05:51
Well i feel like i have up all night with Charlize. Another growing spurt???? I am sooo tired and need some sleeo:sleeping: Luckily DS is at daycare today so I am going to have a kindy nap today. I am taking Charlize back to the health nurse today to see whether the formula I am giving her after her last feed is helping her put on weight. Nothing much else is happening.
charlen49
14-03-2007, 06:40
You poor thing baileyjaysmum. is it a growth spurt or might she be hungry?? or maybe a combination. hope the health nurse can help you out today!!!!
kristy - good luck with the weigh in!
MCNmummyof2
14-03-2007, 13:51
Chantel, your bub has the same bday as mine :D
Hello ladies
Well it has been quiet in here the last couple of days. I am posting to off load, so those of you who don't feel like listening skip this post.
Tahlia has been driving me mental the last week. She was gettig so good, going to bed at 7 - 7:30pm no problems, waking for a night feed, and going straight to sleep. Even the day time sleep where getting better, never over an 1hr but at least it was happening without much fuss. Then over the last week she has been carring on like a port chop. Last night we put her down at 7:30, she went to sleep no problems, then she woke 45 min later and all hell broke loose. Man o man we had histerical tear (I am now sure there was nothing wrong with her but that she did not want to go back to sleep), she cried histerically for an hour, in the end DH ended up rocking her in his arm until she fell asleep. Then at 5 this morning, she woke, had one boob, I changed her nappy, the she did not want the 2nd boob, but did not want to go to sleep either. It took me another 1/2 hour to get her to sleep again (in her cot), then she work at 7 crying, went to get her (thinking she was up for the morning), but she just was not happy, so I eventually got her to sleep a little more with me in my bed, then she woke up at 8:30 this morning, but was wingy all morning. I got her back to sleep at 11 AM after a lot of complaining on her behalf, I hope she wakes up happy. And basically the whole night time bussiness has been going on for a week, however she has been good during the day, but this mornig she is also in a bad mood. I hope it does not last long.
Sounds like we've all hit growth spurt heaven again! :eek:
Stasia was sleeping from 8pm till 6:30am for a few nights in a row but last night was horrid like yours Lenko. Just whingy, not wanting boob, then wanting boob but getting cranky caus let down was taking too long, not wanting to sleep but being really tired, I could go on forever!
She is, however, really starting to come into her own little personality in the last 5 or 6 days. She has started to have a few times a day where she is very happy and contented and will even have a giggle with her mummy and daddy. It's sooooo cute now that she is finally giving back to us!
Good luck to those hitting immunisations. Stasia has hers next Tues. We had the last Rotarix yesterday.
On another note, we bought a water tank and a garden shed yesterday. I'm so glad we've finally done it. I've been at DH since last July to organise them both and yesterday I'd had enough and said this is what's happening, stiff if you don't like it.
DH is going to Townsville next week for a police footy carnival. Needless to say, he is on thin ice and better comply with my demands at the moment or pack his bags.
Hope you are all well and that all bubs are happy and cooperative!
Pinkie everytime I read your post I am sure that we have the same child, maybe they where twins separated in heaven. To have one of those little content babies. Oh well, they do have a lot of personality, and hopefully it will mean that they stick up for them selves when they are older.
I just came back from the gym, my sister was watching Tahlia, and she was screaming and apparently had been like that for 10 min before I got home. As soon as I picked her up she stopped, and then she started laughing at my sister - what a cheeky little thing. She still in a ferral mood at the moment (she is on her swing - it is keeping her quiet for 5 mim). I better go and save her I think the swing still freaks her out sometimes.
Baileyjaysmum
15-03-2007, 17:55
Pinkie - My DH is leaving tomorrow morning for Melbourne to watch the F1. He will be away until Monday. I am sooo jealous. It is the second year he has gone and the last mind you. It is my turn next year to go to Melbourne and shop! I think I deserve it. I am not looking forward to having to look after the two kids by myself. I am going to spend the day at Mum and Dads on Sunday so I hope that breaks up the four days. They can run after DS while I have a break.
Charlize put on 250grams in two weeks which was good but not as much as the health nurse would like. i have only been giving her formula at night since Friday so I go back in two weeks and see if it has made a difference.
Pinkie - I see you have the rotarvirus vaccine. Did you have any trouble getting it (Obviously not). We were due to have it on Wednesday but the chemist told me that the wholesaler was out of stock until mid April. I hope it just wasnt that chemist but they reckon it was all over Brisbane. I checked with the doctor and she said as long as she has the second one by the time she is 24weeks so we should be alright.
I am soo tired today. I mowed the lawn which is a first and it took me an hour and I am so worn out. I thought I better do it before the weekend in case we have a house inspection.
We better go I am off to the chemist to get worm tablets for DS and get Maccas for dinner.
kristy - i got the second rotavirus vax from the chemist yesterday, they had it in stock... that was out here at Booval though, maybe you should ring around a few other chemists...
Baileyjaysmum
15-03-2007, 19:37
Alybel - Thanks for that - I will ring around tomorrow. I think the chemist just wanted my business because they kept my preceiption(sp?) I thought it was a bit odd.
Will's Mummy
15-03-2007, 22:09
Hi girls, hope you are all well.
Kristy, Will had the Rotaviisrus vacine on Tuesday and there was no probs getting it in. I got it from a chemis in Stafford Hts - but I know that is a bit far away from you!
My SIL had her baby today - another little boy! Went and saw him this afternoon. He is so tiny but is bigger than Will was when he was born - I think they must have weighed him wrong because I am sure Will was never that small! It was like holding a feather compared to big 7.8kg Will! So exciting that he and Will will be able to grow up together and be best fo friends (well I hope so anyway). My poor SIL is feeling a little worse for wears. She had a caesar and the drugs have made her really nauseous and sick. I was lucky with my caesar that I didnt really have any problems or pain. I am sure she will be ok tomorrow once she can get up and have a shower.
I am off to have some professional photos of Will tomorrow - hope I dont go too crazy buying them all. I find it hard to say no in those situations!
Oh and Pinky, I have a friend going up the police footy games in Townsville next week - he is in trouble too as his wife is pregnant and she is not impressed about being left on her own
susannahjoy
16-03-2007, 06:29
I can't believe how big our Nov babies are now. I'm just amazed when a see a new baby now, it hasn't been that long since our bubs were born, but i can't rememberLuke being that small! Can't imagine life with out him though!
I wasn't feeling well earlier in the week, and had yesterday morning Luke decided after his 3:30 feed that he wanted to wake up and play. So dh had to get up and play. I also made him stay home from work to look after Luke so i could try and get more sleep, which helped. It's funny how he doesn't seem to be able to get any house work done when he is looking after Luke.
Susan - I hope ur all better now! I made DH take a sick day when I lost the plot (I wasn't even sick though) back when bubs was about 2 months old. They gave him "special carers leave". What a laugh :laughing: Funny how looking after bubs AND working is just my lot in life but DH gets classed as a special carer.
Emma - Slap your friend up side the head for me and tell his wife that I can sympathise. Men with bubs and or bubs on the way need to really start to prioritise. Mums life stops but dad expects to go on as normal and just have wife and bub waiting at the door in clean clothes with dinner on the table when they get home from work. They deny it but I'm sure they all want the 1940's dream. Those wives didn't work at all because they got married really really young and coped it sweet when they found out about the mistress, their husbands must have been so stressed, having to work and all :rolleyes: I'm not saying that the dads can't have any time to themselves but they really need to start participating in more family friendly activities and show their wives that they are appreciated. All the nice things I've done since having Anastasia have been completely organised and paid for by me. I've also gone to the trouble of organising babysitting. It would be nice if DH went to the trouble of organising something for me to show me he loves me. Actions speak louder than words so they say.
Kristy - I rang my chemist last week and they said they had one in stock so they reserved it for me and I just picked it up on the way to the Dr's. They didn't mention anything about a shortage but I assumed that they could have ordered one if they didn't have any in stock.
charlen49
16-03-2007, 09:06
I had a **** night with bub......i think she has her first cold..very snuffly.Have any of u girls bubs had a cold etc yet? How do they react and what do you do to help them? What are you dressing bubs in at night ( now its starting to get a bit cooler at night/ early morn)?
Harlequin
16-03-2007, 12:51
Sorry to hear you had a crappy night charlen49 :(
Ava hasn't had a cold yet. She hasn't been sick at all actually *knocks on the table*. If she had one i'd probably just give her a little baby panadol and try to soothe her as best I could.
Its getting a little cooler here at night but Im in perth so it's still pretty hot! Ava's just wearing a singlet on hot nights, or a singlet and a thin jumpsuit with no sleeves/legs or a little shirt.
I lay her muslin or flannel blankie down over her bassinet then when she's asleep I put her in it and fold the edges over her. She hates being wrapped now and still kicks the blankies off her legs, but this is the only thing I can do to make sure she's warm. If she gets hot, she just kicks the blankies off anyway.
When it's cold I'll just put her in a singlet and jumpsuit with sleeves/longlegs, but thats when its pretty cold. Ava seems to hate the heat a lot so I wouldn't want her being too warm.
I got my carpets cleaned today! I ended up forking out for Electrodry cos the last steam cleaning company I used was REALLY pathetic, it was some young kid who didn't clean the carpets at all.
I'm very impressed with the results, it's nice to have clean carpets!
Nothing much is happening here. Ava's been a good girl. I'll have to book her in for her 4mth immunisations sometime next week.
I can't wait til my mum and sister come visit in april.
Did you sterilising girls have a read up on any info? I seriously wouldn't bother sterilising breast milk bottles and equipment every single time. It takes up sooo much time and effort and you really don't need to. I can't imagine sterilising every time I had to use my pump and bottles, man i'd go crazy.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
16-03-2007, 16:09
hi
im new to bubhub. And i came across this thread. I have a november Bub too!
Keanu bai 18/11/2006. Weight:2.836kg, Length:52 cm, HC: 32cm
I am finding being a first time mum great (lucky and glad i had 2 years expereince with babies in childcare- has helped a great deal)
It is the most beautiful and amazing thing in the world. I think keanu is teething, dribbling and chewing on whatever he can get his hands on....lol.
He is GREAT sleeper. I can't complain. From 8 weeks he has Slept from 6/7pm to anywhere between 3-5am....so i am very lucky! he just went into his own room last weekend and is doing SUPERB! He is a ver placid/easy going baby. Sometime he stirrs if he wants his dummy! He has 3 to 4 sleeps a day, depending when he wakes up in the morning/how long his sleeps are for!
can anyone tell me what there bubs are/were doing at 17 weeks?
keanu has rolled a few times, but doesn't do it too often....
snake crawling - prefers on his back lol
can grasp rattles etc
yeh....um can't think at the moment....
he is always laughing and smiling lol
he isn't close to sitting up unsupported. (heard some bubs are sitting up completely unsupported)
he has been good at holding his head up since born.....
hope everyone is enjoying there little bundles....hmm..not for long, they grow uyp too quick, enjoy every moment!!
jackie:)
susannahjoy
16-03-2007, 17:33
Welcome Jackie,
my little one is 3 days older, he gas been rolling heaps, but he never lies still, he started kicking heaps before he was born (specially when the broncos were playing so he should enjoy tonite).
He has only just figured out how to grab things this week. before that i could put stuff in his hand but he wouldn't realise it. Now he has worked out that he can pick up other stuff to put in his mouth!
Luke is pretty happy smiling and laughing, loves going to the shops and seeing other people, specially when they stop and talk to him.
He can’t sit up yet, not sure when they start to do that. He loves to be held in a standing position .
He generally sleeps from 9pm till 1am, and then in 2 2 hour blocks after that. During the day he will normally nap for an hour.
Thanks Pinkie, felling much better today. Think it helped being able to have rest while dh looked after bub. And being able to take neurofen again… yay.
Charlen - Luke sleeps in a short sleep jumpsuits and long pants bonds stretchies or similar, but he is still in our room and we have the aircon going.
MCNmummyof2
16-03-2007, 17:44
charlen49 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=12582) - I would buy a vapouriser. I swear by mine! Cost about $50, and I've always used it when Sophs had a cold. The saline nasal spray is good too, you can use drops but i found the spray to be more effective. They hate it though!
I put lachy in a singlet, a bonds wondersuit and a sheet and a light blanket over him.
charlen49
16-03-2007, 19:19
Hi Jackie:wave: ...nice to have another new person to talk to....my bub is about a week older and does basically the same things....been grasping for a while now...some mornings( once she has busted out of her kiddopottumus wrap.lol).i find she has scuttled on her back from the lower end of her cot to the top end (terror!). My bub is usually a good night sleeper ( disregarding last night because she has a cold, when she gets her needles) ussually sleeps roughly 10-12 hours at night....though she has been a shocking day napper since birth.
Thanks MCNmummyof2.....someone suggested the saline drops from another thread today, so DP ducked out from work, god bless him and got me some and some more supply of panadol.... I think if she couldnt breath totally i would definately invest in a vaporisor....at the moment:fingerscrossed: she is snuffly with runny nose....i'd love to know how she picked it up......apart from a visit to my mums this week and a trip to do the groceries we havent been anywhere??
Jaimee wears a short sleeve bodysuit and is wrapped in kiddopotomus wrap( she likes it .not looking forward to not using it oneday!). She hates the heat. We intalled an aircon in her room and a ceiling fan. I occasionally put a sheet over her. MCNmummyof2 do you have aircon as well? my dd would be crying and in a lather of sweat ( like her father unfortunately ) if she had as many coverings as your ds!
Oh well lets hope tonight( touch wood) is better than the one i had last night....poor little pumpkin seed!:sleeping:
MCNmummyof2
16-03-2007, 19:50
We dont have aircon, the last few nights it has been freezing. Ive had long pjs and a quilt on. He normally kicks off his blankets so i need to allow for that as well.
Normal summer Id just have him in long leg, long sleeve light cotton outfit with nothing over the top.