View Full Version : Bambini Models

MissSparkle
28-11-2005, 14:56
I know some of u have mention u have ur child with Bambini Models and I was just wondering how they are. We have an interview there next week and I thought it was strange that they charge a booking fee?!
Also the woman I spoke to on the phone was very pre occupied and wasn't really listening and I found her to be quite rude.
Ive heard some great things about this agency but i just wanted some more opinions.

youngmumflik
01-12-2005, 10:55

My baby is registered with Bambini Models. It cost around $500 for his contract but you get a portfolio shooting and a website that you can update, plus they update the photos in 6 months.

Jordan hasn't had any work (YET?!) but he's had 2 auditions since he joined.

I know they sound a bit off with the fairies but when I went in for the interview, they were REALLY busy.

Hope that helps!

01-12-2005, 17:48
Well jayden is in Bambini Models and i think they are great. The photo i have in my avatar is one of his professional photos that they use for his portfolio. They are a little bit expensive but i personally think they are worth it. They only take on the children that they feel that would make it in the industry. That was one of the things that appealled to me. Jayden hasn't had any work yet but most of the jobs that has been going at the moment in Sydney are for the older children. I personally think that if you decide to place your son into the agency that you are making the right decision. Good luck with your interview and if you have any other queries feel free to ask.

MissSparkle
02-12-2005, 10:54
We schelduled an interview for next tuesday! I really hope Angelo is in a good mood that day coz he's a really funny lil one!!
Just one more question- if ur child gets accepted how long was it b4 u had to go back for them to get their portfolio done?
Thanks for ur replies and we have our fingers crossed! My friend who models with CHadwick (and is in every mag at the moment) said Bambini is the best child agency in aust.

02-12-2005, 11:38
The portfolio photos was done within a month of signing up. They get you to take a few good photos of your child to put on their portfolio until they get their professional ones done. Good luck again and let us know how you go! :D

MissSparkle
07-12-2005, 13:53
Aj got into bambini models yesterday! not only did he get in but they sent him straight to his first casting yesterday arvo!

07-12-2005, 14:22
Thats fantastic youngmumsteph!!!! :D Congratulations, i knew he could do it!! :D

Pitterpatter
01-03-2006, 22:02
:mad: Hi everyone im new to the Block...Im so glad i found this forum!
My son has been with bambini for 4 months now and not one single casting and im actually really angry with myself for being a fool,since i should have known better having modelled for eight years myself.
what bothers me is it is nothing to set up a web page and wack any kids photo on there,how are we to know if our children are really being represented as they are not displayed publicly for our own proof?
They could have a seperate web page for the kids they want and another web for the kids that they just wanted to earn $500 bucks off(not bad for 10 min sitting at a desk uploading some shots.
My son worked for two huge catalogue clients overseas and was even in demand for GAP clothing yet nothing over here??
And i find the reception girl down right rude!!
I understand that some children never will get work but if thats the case we should get some of our money back.
I recently signed with a new agency and have not had to pay a dime to be on there website,and my test shoot is $700 but will last all day and i will get three looks,bambini charge about $400 for photos and you get these crappy cheesy shots not even taken in a studio,and there done in 10MIN!!And they cram about 10 people in the one day,IMAGINE the money they make every weekend $5000.
You cant tell me that they dont sign up every child?:mad:

Rahmi'sMum
02-03-2006, 07:14
Well... my hubby's best friend had his son signed up for 10mths before hearing anything from Bambini's. When they did it was a job that was for 4 days. They wanted the dad as well as the 2 y/o... dad got paid $1500 PER DAY, bub got $800 per day.

They think it was worth the wait. I would agree!

taysmum
05-03-2006, 15:36
hi i put my daughter in there agency 6 months ago and when i went for the interview they were going on how beautiful she was and she would get so much workand they havn't called me once.
good luck anyway.

RedPanda
05-03-2006, 17:19

I used to be with Bambini as a child (well, from about age 14 to age 16). I always found them quite good, but i guess the thing to remember is that it is a big risk - there's not always a lot of work out there. Also, I guess the agency can't actually predict what type of look a casting agent will go for. I don't think a reputable agency like Bambini would intentionally take money unless they genuinely thought the child would get work. There's a lot of shonky places out there, but in my era (which is now 13 years ago!), Bambini was one of the best. There was also a good one called Small Fry, but not sure if this is still around (or whether it is outside of Vic). I reckon go with your instincts!

sarahM
08-03-2006, 11:27
:mad: Hi everyone im new to the Block...Im so glad i found this forum!
My son has been with bambini for 4 months now and not one single casting and im actually really angry with myself for being a fool,since i should have known better having modelled for eight years myself.
what bothers me is it is nothing to set up a web page and wack any kids photo on there,how are we to know if our children are really being represented as they are not displayed publicly for our own proof?
They could have a seperate web page for the kids they want and another web for the kids that they just wanted to earn $500 bucks off(not bad for 10 min sitting at a desk uploading some shots.
My son worked for two huge catalogue clients overseas and was even in demand for GAP clothing yet nothing over here??
And i find the reception girl down right rude!!
I understand that some children never will get work but if thats the case we should get some of our money back.
I recently signed with a new agency and have not had to pay a dime to be on there website,and my test shoot is $700 but will last all day and i will get three looks,bambini charge about $400 for photos and you get these crappy cheesy shots not even taken in a studio,and there done in 10MIN!!And they cram about 10 people in the one day,IMAGINE the money they make every weekend $5000.
You cant tell me that they dont sign up every child?:mad:

It's unfortunate that you feel this way! I have also modelled with Chadwicks for the past and been in the industry for eight years & have my Kids listed on Bambini's books. My Kids started over 6 years ago with the agency and I have been happy all the way! I personally would not want any parent or the general public to be able to view my childrens details and they make sure that no one can view you childs details for safety reasons...to me this is no. one!

I know that they don't sign up every child because my kids friends have gone on interviews with them & have not been accpted to the agency. One of my friends took her baby in there & was told no because the baby was to shy and to come back in 6 months. She did go back and they accepted her then because she was no longer shy! She has had three jobs 2 with Huggies & one for a Myer catalogue.

Over the six years my kids have had work and then times they haven't been chosen. We lived in QLD in the beginning & only had one thing in the 1st year because there isn't that much work there compared to Sydney. I'm so sick of mothers who put agencies down because their child isn't being chosen! Ever thought that your child might be the reason not that it's the agency?? The agency doesn't pick the children for jobs it's their clients!

Parents do have to pay for their kids marketing, why should the agency pay for it? I always had to pay for my test shots for my portfolio when I worked unless a photographer thought I was great and offered to do it for free but then I still had to pay for the prints which were over $55/print!

I would recommend bambini 100%. At the end of the day don't hand over your money and expect the world because your child might not me the star those clients want.

LDL2508
17-03-2006, 12:45
I took my 6months boy for an interview last week with Bambini Models in Sydney. They seemed good and answered all our questions. After the interview they accepted him and we decided to pay the 12month joining fee.

Now that we have joined what are some of the pitfalls we should be aware of child modelling? Are castings and Jobs easy to get? Thanks any information would be great both good or bad.

bubba01
10-04-2006, 10:25
It's unfortunate that you feel this way! I have also modelled with Chadwicks for the past and been in the industry for eight years & have my Kids listed on Bambini's books. My Kids started over 6 years ago with the agency and I have been happy all the way! I personally would not want any parent or the general public to be able to view my childrens details and they make sure that no one can view you childs details for safety reasons...to me this is no. one!

I know that they don't sign up every child because my kids friends have gone on interviews with them & have not been accpted to the agency. One of my friends took her baby in there & was told no because the baby was to shy and to come back in 6 months. She did go back and they accepted her then because she was no longer shy! She has had three jobs 2 with Huggies & one for a Myer catalogue.

Over the six years my kids have had work and then times they haven't been chosen. We lived in QLD in the beginning & only had one thing in the 1st year because there isn't that much work there compared to Sydney. I'm so sick of mothers who put agencies down because their child isn't being chosen! Ever thought that your child might be the reason not that it's the agency?? The agency doesn't pick the children for jobs it's their clients!

Parents do have to pay for their kids marketing, why should the agency pay for it? I always had to pay for my test shots for my portfolio when I worked unless a photographer thought I was great and offered to do it for free but then I still had to pay for the prints which were over $55/print!

I would recommend bambini 100%. At the end of the day don't hand over your money and expect the world because your child might not me the star those clients want.

I listed my little girl with Bambini models over 7months ago now. I wouldn't recommend them if you are Brisbane based. In my time with them I have found them to be extremely unprofessional. We never hear from them even when there are open castings on, so basically we have been very unhappy with them.
I would put my money into ****** as they gurantee your money back in a year.
Having modeled myself as a child if you are any good you really shouldn't have to pay, they paid for my portfolio so Sarah I tend to disagree with you.

Charly24
10-04-2006, 10:48
Hi there, i am located in Brisbane and looking to get my baby into modelling, i was wondering if you where with ****** modelling agency and if you would be able to tell me any more about them, thankyou

bubba01
10-04-2006, 11:51
They are located in Brisbane City. I recently was phoned by them as they have a big job for 1yr olds apparently. She told me there would be an outlay but they guarantee that you will get your money back within a year. Her name was Kristy and their website is http://www.******.com.au
Hope they are OK.

Charly24
10-04-2006, 12:07
thanks for that i might give them a ring and find out my baby is only 6mths though but you never know.

mixi_mama
10-04-2006, 18:40
i spoke to someone from bambini the other week and i also found the women to be rude and preoccupied. She stopped talking to me and started talking to someone else 3 times during our conversation... which quite frankly ****ed me off. We decided against Bambini and went with Babyface here in brisbane. They give you the same thing...portfolio, website etc... but for almost 1 third of the price and you didnt need to pay a booking fee either

20-04-2006, 21:57
Jayden got called to a casting yesterday for Big W bill posters and catalogues! :smiliedance: He had the casting today in the city and i hope that he got the job!! :fingerscrossed: This is his 2nd casting in a month!! :eek: He has been in Bambini's since he was 3 months old and now finally he's getting somewhere, well i hope anyway!! :p

MissSparkle
21-04-2006, 09:14
Thats great Jaydensmum! Goodluck and :fingerscrossed:

21-04-2006, 09:40
Thanks youngmumsteph!! :thumbsup:

yummymummy
27-04-2006, 13:18
I am reallly glad that i found this posting, was giong to put my daughter in for a interview with them, but dont think that I will now........................thanks for all the advice

poppy
17-05-2006, 08:54
Hi There,

I have my son signed up with Bambini, he has been a member for 4 months, it took them 8 weeks to get us in for a photo shoot just to get on the website, he has not been selected for a casting as yet, and I have also found them very rude. At the photo shoot we also had to pay a further $150 for a copy of the photos which turned out to be very average!!!!!!!!!!!

When i enquired why it had taken so long to get in for a photo shoot they said it was standard!!!!!!! During this time they said that we were recieving free marketing which i find extremly hard to believe as the bonds ads were casting during this time and we weren't even put forward for this............(as it turns out you didn't need an agent for this casting anyway which we were also not told)
I tend to think that they sign alot of kids up with the intention of using only a small proportion of them, just to make money.

When I questioned bambini about the marketing that they had done for my son they told me to read the contract and that selection was based purely from the internet, the receptionist said "that a client would put in the details that they were looking for like height, weight, colouring ect, then bambini website would give the client a list of all the members that matched this criteria." Hence what actual marketing is the company doing other than providing a website!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I also asked for my money back before the photos were taken as I felt it had been too long to wait(8 weeks ) and I was refused, i was told once again to read the contract section 12.3.1.

Well to finish off i wish i had joined with another agency. :mad: :mad: :mad:

SammyG
17-05-2006, 13:28
Poppy,
I am sorry to hear about your bad experience with bambini, mine has been completely the opposite so far, although maybe my expectations weren't too high after reading this forum. DS had original interview 2 weeks ago, shoot one week later and web page up and running 1 week after that (yesterday) with the gorgeous pics I supplied. I declined the CD for $150, I thought that was a bit rich for a 20 minute shoot. I got to have a sneak peek at the shots on the digital camera and they were gorgeous, can't afford it after signing up though.

I just discovered the list of castings you have access to from your childs page and can understand now why there are not that many call ups for castings. Most jobs seem to be for 7-12yr olds.

Did you also know the Bonds job specifically wanted size 0 with lots of hair and able to sit unaided? Some of the clients have pretty narrow briefs!

It does sound like you got a rough deal though!

Some tips for others with Bambini, update your childs details regularly, clients won't even look at them if you haven't! They suggested I update my 19month old every month till he's 3. She can upload new photos that I take if he has a dramatic haircut or major change in looks. You don't need to wait for the next professional shoot! Also if you aren't an easygoing parent to deal with they probably won't. I'm sure none of the Mum's in this forum are like that anyway but it's good to remember we do actually play a major role with little ones in particular.

MissSparkle
17-05-2006, 14:24
We havent heard much from Bambini lately but when I look thru the casting there isn't much that would fit my DS's description. We actually got approached in the Kids Central store a week ago asking if he was a size 00 because they thought he was gorgeous and wanted him in the catologue but unfortunately hes a size 0 nearly size 1.
Oh well. What can u do. Everyone warns u that it is a tough industry to get into....u just have to take the chance.

I actually didn't pay for copies of the photos from his initial shoot but they sent us out copies and negatives anyway! Possibly a mistake but no complaining from me!!

DoubleMum
20-05-2006, 07:39
I think they are a good agency, quite professional and efficient. The only comment I would make is that they are probably not as selective as they claim (ie they say they will only take kids they think have a chance of getting work). I think "quirky" looking babies are more likely to get work than traditionally beautiful ones.

hollysmummy
05-07-2006, 19:24
It's been interesting reading everyone's experiences, I have learnt alot. I had an interview with Bambini Kids (Melb) today and it went well. My daughter has blonde hair and blue eyes (like her mum!) and this is an 'Australian' look that is quite popular they told me. I am going to give the talent scout another call tomorrow to ask a few more questions, but my first impressions were good. If you have any other experiences please share...

dueinjan
12-07-2006, 14:30
I went in for the interview with Bambini today and my daughter was accepted on the spot. I will most definitely sign up with them. They are professional and I have a very good feeling about them. :fingerscrossed:

I was accepted by Bettina after a booth meeting and had that call to say she did not win but would like my daughter to go in for an interview. Needless to say, she was accepted and booked in for photoshoot. Turns out I had to change the appointment but was given a very nasty bullying to say I cannot change last minute (it is for tomorrow) b/c they had already paid for photographer. So because of this, I do not intend to ever use Bettina ever.

BAMBINI KIDS Way to Go!!!!:thumbsup:

susmamma
15-07-2006, 15:26
we signed up almost a year ago and were told our child would be in hot demand.... still no word. feel that it was a TOTAL waste of money. thought the photo shoot was a joke and we were really unhappy with the pics. when we brought it up with the photographer she was dismissive and said the photos were excellent. proof is in the pudding tho huh?

susmamma
15-07-2006, 15:38
sorry just to clarify - we signed up with bettina.

secondtimearound2
01-08-2006, 20:12
We have just signed up with Bambini in Mel and so far the experience has been fantastic and professional. We have had the photo shot and the photos are fantastic :thumbsup: We brought most of them lol!! It was a lot of fun and if My little Girl doesn't get anywork it doesn't matter to us. You get enough money from the govenment to spend it on your little angels, money parents never got years ago!!

dafffy
18-02-2010, 13:06
We paid & signed up on the day of selection (with numerous others), all being told how gorgeous our little one's were. Then it's up to you to make contact with them every 3 months or so to update your photo's (they have way too many people on their books to be able to deal with anyone direct).
I would always have to ask them 2 weeks after sending in my recent photo's why they hadn't been uploaded yet.?
Then a year later I had to remind them of my child's "free" photo re-shoot.
Whilst there the second time you only deal with the photographer. No one else is interested in you.
I got to reminisce & see all the new recruits waiting to go in & be told how lovely their little one is etc.
I had the opportunity to talk to some other parents who all had the same thing to say. They paid & then they heard NOTHING.
All I can say is why are they taking on soooo many people, it's all income related to keep them afloat.
If this can just save one struggling family from signing up & handing over good hard earned money then my story has been worth it.
"All children are beautiful" - so how does one pick a single sole out of a crowd of thousands!