View Full Version : Detox

susiehomemaker
19-02-2007, 19:38
Oky doky! Over feeling like a fat tub of lard and over the constant headache I have had the last 3-4 weeks:thumbsdown: So the detox started today. LMAO it made my headache even worse, but hopefully it will start to ease soon! Even when I dont have a headache starting a detox has that affect- oh well! Basically- the first 2 weeks you can eat as much fruit and veg & fish as you like. But that is it. But no bread/rice/pasta etc no butter, no oil (at least limit it to the max!) no sugar, no wine etc, no black tea, no dairy. Herbal tea's are fine (encouraged) herbs on all your meals too & of course the all important lots of water! Then after the 2 weeks are up you can add chicken and brown rice, and then 2 weeks after that you can add red meat again (if you feel so inclined)
Today- breakfast. 2 bannana's & a bottle of water - lunch - tuna/capers/rocket/cherry tomato salad with lemon juice squeezed over the top with a chamomile tea - Dinner - Tuna paties (sml can of tuna with mashed steamed veges & grilled with tiny amount of olive oil to stop em sticking) with lemon wedges & bottle of water. Snack - apple. Desert - bannana with cinnamon sprinkled on top and another chamomile tea.
Treat for the soul- lovely soak in the tub & an hour reading in bed + nap (stupid headache!) while DH took DD to his mums for a visit. Desperate housewives tonight!

Jules16
20-02-2007, 08:43
What detox diet are you doing? Is it hard? I feel like I need something to give me a lift atm.

susiehomemaker
20-02-2007, 22:48
It was one I did ages ago. I did have a book but I lent it to a work mate & it never came back :-( The first day is hard & it was hard for me to get used to no pasta the first time I did it (I am a pasta freak!) but there is no limit to the amount of OK foods you can eat so that helps heaps (lol- esp for an emotional eater like myself!) The headache day one was really bad by the end of the day but I felt great when I woke up this morning! And I didnt have any headache at all today (a first in about a month!) so it must have done me the world of good. I really felt the need to do this before TTC no 2 as you cant do a detox while you are preggers as it can knock you about a bit & its not good for bub for you to be on a restrictive diet. But I see that you are still TTC (fingers crossed 4 you that you get your little bundle soon) It might help to do this if you are not pregnant as yet to help clear any toxins out of your system. Anything is worth a try & it is good for you anyway- they recommend that this diet is done with organic fruit & veg too. Not ordinary stuff as is has too much stuff sprayed on it. This was no drama here as we already eat mostly organic foods anyway.

Jules16
21-02-2007, 07:15
Sounds great! Do you have the name of the book?

nickysam
08-08-2008, 16:23
A detox diet might be the quick way of getting rid of those love handles, but according to health experts, the hydration diet is dangerous and must be avoided.
---------
nickysam

Drug Detox (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/Drug%20Detox)