View Full Version : on plane with 9 month old??
sorry dont know if this is the right place but was wondering if anyone could tell me their experience.
we have booked our holiday to new zealand we go in 2 months now ds will be 9 months old when we go and it takes approx. 3 hrs to get there im so worried about him being cranky on the plane and his ears hurting him i really dont want him screaming 3rhs on the plane (he never screams unless hes super hungry tired or sick) but im just freaking out cause i dont want the other ppl to get angry. any sugestions
also does anyone know if you can take formula on the plane like in the dispenser not mixed and a bottle of water to mix it with???
thanks in advance
dunno about the formula but as for his ears, I took DS when he was about 3 or 4 months old and he had no trouble whatsoever. He slept most of the way and the rest of the time he sat on my knee and smiled at everyone.
Just make sure your baby doesn't have a cold because then the pressure would build up, and if you have a dummy then I would take that to give him on the descent or time the feed for then.
zoemacaroni
19-02-2007, 10:11
hope you have a great holiday first.... i would love to go to new zealand...
anyways we have done a lot of flying with our two girls from the time they were babies ...for startes they will usually give you a seat right up the back, and your baby wont be the only one that gets upset on the plane so dont be afraid, my dd1 used to be a great flier but on the odd occasion she would crack it, and i would get embarrased and try to keep her quiet, but there were always other mothers on the plane trying to do the same thing, and it cant be helped, the flight attendants are always great, you can walk the isles with them if u like (assuming they arent serving food) the flight attendants might even take them for a walk if u let them, regarding formula, they will mix it for u if u take stuff that isnt made up, they even carry formula on the plane in case u forget it......... just take things to keep him occupied his favourite toy, books whatever he likes, and the ear hurting i have been told is only on the way up and down (if he gets it mine never did they were always fine) once you are up in the air crusing the cabins are pressurised.... just get him to drink a bottle on the way up and down or chew something like a rusk or suck on a dummy.... that should help, and carry some panadol just in case.... but i reckon he should be ok ....
hope it all goes well.....
hahhaha i doubt he'll sleep he'll be way to interested in the new faces and new things to look at but ill remeber the dummy thing thank u heaps for your help!
:wave: Hi there we took DD last month on a 1 1/2 hour plane trip (so she was 8months) and it was pretty good :thumbsup:
We took formula and mixed it on the plane no worries, and I just gave it to her as we were taking off- or have a dummy so no problems with her ears.
Only problem we had was she was getting tired and DOES NOT like sleeping in peoples arms (not even mine!) so we had a bit of a whingy bubba for awhile...
It did get the better of her and she fell asleep... 5mins before we landed :rolleyes: :laughing:
thank for the advice zoemacaroni thank you.... ill take toys and panadol and try not to freak if he does chuck a tanty ahhahah thank again!
It did get the better of her and she fell asleep... 5mins before we landed :rolleyes: :laughing:
its always the way isnt it ahahha hes pretty good with sleeping on my lap or in my arms so hopefully itll be ok they said theyd put a bassinett there too..
Ashleigh<3
19-02-2007, 10:19
Oh have fun Tina! :)
ps: If it's easy to get formula on the plane, Imagine the people that get away with smuggling drugs in the tins......:eek:
Oh god I think like a druglord.... :laughing:
I always chew gum on the plane, but obviously a baby can't do that, resort to a dummy or a chew toy and bouncing on the knee :D
No worries :D I'm sure you'll be fine- worst case is if he does fall asleep you may have a dead arm for three hours lol :p :laughing:
I heard crying on the plane both landing and taking off actually helps them clear their ears. As long as they suck something during take off and landing (landing is more important as they bigger pressure drop) they should be fine. Regarding formula I suggest calling the airline as there has been some changes to rullings on the flight very very recently.
We have travelled intensely (once when she was 4 months old, 9 months old and 15 months old) since Jess was born and we travelled when she was 9 months to Singapore for my granny's funeral. I suggest if you can do the late night flight you have more chance for you child to sleep.
Oh have fun Tina!
ps: If it's easy to get formula on the plane, Imagine the people that get away with smuggling drugs in the tins......
Oh god I think like a druglord.... :laughing:
I always chew gum on the plane, but obviously a baby can't do that, resort to a dummy or a chew toy and bouncing on the knee
hahahaha your secrets out ash!! hahhaa now we all know.. jks.. thanks should be a ball! haha:thumbsup:
No worries I'm sure you'll be fine- worst case is if he does fall asleep you may have a dead arm for three hours lol
hey its worth it if hes happy hahaha!:yes:
I heard crying on the plane both landing and taking off actually helps them clear their ears. As long as they suck something during take off and landing (landing is more important as they bigger pressure drop) they should be fine. Regarding formula I suggest calling the airline as there has been some changes to rullings on the flight very very recently.
We have travelled intensely (once when she was 4 months old, 9 months old and 15 months old) since Jess was born and we travelled when she was 9 months to Singapore for my granny's funeral. I suggest if you can do the late night flight you have more chance for you child to sleep.
they flights have already been booked for moring on they way there and arvo on they way home! ill just ty my best and keep my fingers crossed:fingerscrossed:
thank you