View Full Version : Panic Attacks....
damien's mum
18-02-2007, 19:29
I hate them, I hate them so much, they control you, they tell you when you are going to go out and what you are going to do... I hate them i hate them, i hate them!!! :banghead:
If you haven't gathered it hasn't been a very good day for me.. :crying:
I was feeling a bit anxious for the last few days on and off, and well today it struck like lightening.. I was out at a friend's birthday get together, which by the way i had given another friend a lift there, when i was sitting in the room with everyone, i started to get really really racey, felt like i couldn't breathe, so i had a valpam, and thought that will do the trick (they normally do calm be down) But not this time, the auderenlin sp? started to burn my back and run to my ankles, it was horrible, i had to leave which i felt so bad for my friend and she wasnt having a very good birthday as it was.. Luckily the other friend that i had taken with me, her mum suffers from them, so she didn't think i was a totally d!ck.....
I just can't believe how much it is in your head, that rules you.. ITS HORRIBLE and i just wish they would go away, i've had them for 2 years now, so i'm kinda used to them, but nothing like today...
Although i'm not sure if anyone knows, but i have red bull every now and then, and i have never had any trouble with them, but today i'm thinking that might have been what topped me... I just don't know...
It's horrible, and i have been in tears most the arvo, even now as i'm typing this my chest is getting tight again... :mad:
Don't really want any notice, just had to get this out..
Sorry to rave on
Nickster
18-02-2007, 19:57
Sweetie, big hugs for you. I know what you are going through. I suffered from them for 5 years in my mid-twenties, some days I would have up to 10. Fun.
Then I went to a psychologist and did CBT. It changed my life - I don't suffer from them anymore.
Unfortunately, the trap with the panic attack is that there is a nasty little cycle whereby just the fear of having one is enough to bring on a panic attack - or beginning to get related symptoms (ie. increased heart rate after exercise) will then make you have a panic attack. So you can really set yourself up for a bit of misery - but CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) teaches you to recognise the signs, monitor your symptoms and ultimately break free.
Can you get to a GP and get a recommendation for a psychologist?
:hugs: :hugs: Awwww babe........I am hear PM me, Chat on MSN with me.....anything I am here to help....
No one thinks you are silly, its not like you put it on......
Talk to your GP can they help?
Until then :hugs: :hugs: TAKE CARE!!!!
Row xoxoxoxo
damien's mum
18-02-2007, 20:13
Thanks guys... Just needed to get it out... Been a hard day!
I have been on the heart montior things, but i have never heard of that, i have an appointment next week, with my gp, so i might bring that up with him, and see what he thinks, Thanks! :fingerscrossed:
I know what you mean about having it once is enough to fear another one on.. i think the last few days of being anxious, has made me panic about having an attack, and then bang what do you know..
Guess i'll just be sitting here, house bound for a few days! :o
Nickster
18-02-2007, 20:28
Just know that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
And it's not the headlights of an oncoming train.
I got through it - so can you.
But I can't stress enough the importance of seeing a trained psychologist. GP's are a good starting point, and meds can alleviate the symptoms, but CBT will knock it on it's head. Trust me.
If it helps - when you start feeling an attack coming on - breathe. Count to 3 as you breathe in, then count to 3 as you expel the breath. Stop whatever you are doing. It will probably only take about 3 minutes. This helps to counteract the adrenalin in your system, allowing the feel-good endorphins to begin circulating and thereby stop the panic attack.
Hope you have a better day tomorrow.:)
damien's mum
18-02-2007, 20:48
Just know that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
And it's not the headlights of an oncoming train.
I got through it - so can you.
But I can't stress enough the importance of seeing a trained psychologist. GP's are a good starting point, and meds can alleviate the symptoms, but CBT will knock it on it's head. Trust me.
If it helps - when you start feeling an attack coming on - breathe. Count to 3 as you breathe in, then count to 3 as you expel the breath. Stop whatever you are doing. It will probably only take about 3 minutes. This helps to counteract the adrenalin in your system, allowing the feel-good endorphins to begin circulating and thereby stop the panic attack.
Hope you have a better day tomorrow.:)
Thanks Hun, you have been a real help. I know there is a light at the end of the tunnel, it's just a long loong journey at the moment, I have been using that breathing tech, for a while now, aswell as putting my hands on my tummy to make sure i am breathing from there and not my chest...
I just hate that i have to be on pills to make me happy, i never used to be, until the night i had ds. Don't get me wrong i love him, but i didn't ask for this.. I don't something telling me what i can and can't do, and how i'm going to feel!!! Arghhhh
damien's mum
18-02-2007, 23:16
Thanks again girls, for just letting me get that out! :hugs:
2 Cherubs
19-02-2007, 00:38
Hey Alicia...
I Soooooo know what you are going thru..
I too suffer from panic attacks..Well did and only dont now due to being on medication for them.
No one that as never experienced one can ever understand what they are like and it is the hardest thing to describe.
:fingerscrossed: they ease for you and that you can get some relief soon...(cause I know they take everything outta you)
:hugs: Kim
SixtiesChild
19-02-2007, 09:18
Hi Alicia,
You are not alone. I second what Nickster said. A psychologist can help you recognise what is causing your panic attacks. By finding out what triggers them in you and then working on a plan to help you diffuse them.
I used to get them, they can knock you about emotionally- I know.
Little_Toad
19-02-2007, 09:20
Google Congnitive behaviour therapy.
it's a fantastic way of learning to control them.
bearsmummy
19-02-2007, 10:58
Oh hun im so sorry you had a bad day :hugs:
I dont have any advice but im always here to listen like i have said before :)
Guess i'll just be sitting here, house bound for a few days!
No no no! No your not ....even if i pop by for a visit thats better than nothing aye? :D if i am welcome that is :p
damien's mum
19-02-2007, 13:02
Thanks so much everyone, i didn't want a huge reply.. i just wanted to vent, makes me feel loved! Hehe, i appericate it heaps girls! :hugs:
And mel, u and the boys are welcome here anytime u know that! :hugs:
Well today i didn't get outta bed until 11.30am.... I was awake, just didn't wanna face another day, my eyes were so sore, and chest was sore from all the tightening yesterday, aswell as my back was still getting warm flushes... It's horrible..
I am on lexapro, which has helped me really well.. I only get a bit racey now and then, but this is the first attack that i have had on them... :rolleyes:
Tomorrow a friend is having a meet for us perthies for my ds birthday(which is on wednesday) and she lives about 40 mins away.... Which i'm really trying not to think about, coz what if something happens, i'm too far from home.. Arghh :mad:
I called the dr this morning and made my appointment for the next earliest one he has which is thursday afternoon... Soo.... yeah..............
munchkin05
19-02-2007, 13:08
[QUOTE=damien's mum;1129776]
Tomorrow a friend is having a meet for us perthies for my ds birthday(which is on wednesday) and she lives about 40 mins away.... Which i'm really trying not to think about, coz what if something happens, i'm too far from home.. Arghh :mad:
QUOTE]
well i will take you and if something happens we can take off early but im sure you will be fine doodle !!!
will work it out and you know i dont mind giving you a lift :yes:
mum2anthony
19-02-2007, 13:36
Leashie I know exactly where you are coming from and I have been mates with you for years. This is something handful of people go through (as I did at one stage) and it's a horrible feeling... I reckon try that CBT thing... Maybe you can knock them on their head...
I used to suffer from panic attacks and I had a major one about a year before I fell pregnant. I was petrified. Heart racing and all the other symptoms you described. I had a shower and basically talked myself out of it. Told myself there was nothing wrong and I was fine. It was just a panic attack, I wasn't going to die and it'd pass. Now every time I get the same symptoms which I have a few times since then I just tell myself I'm fine, ignore it and find something to keep me busy...
I know this may not work for you or you have already tried it but anything's worth a shot for your sanity mate.
I am here for you no matter what and if you need me just gimme a call or msg me on msn. I'll be right at your door.
damien's mum
19-02-2007, 13:41
Thanks Ang, might take you up on that, i know how much of a lead foot you are, so i know i will get home quick! :laughing:
damien's mum
19-02-2007, 13:48
Thanks lisa... :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
RoarsomeMum
19-02-2007, 13:54
Then I went to a psychologist and did CBT. It changed my life - I don't suffer from them anymore.
Unfortunately, the trap with the panic attack is that there is a nasty little cycle whereby just the fear of having one is enough to bring on a panic attack - or beginning to get related symptoms (ie. increased heart rate after exercise) will then make you have a panic attack. So you can really set yourself up for a bit of misery - but CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) teaches you to recognise the signs, monitor your symptoms and ultimately break free.
Worked for me too.. and if I am having a really bad day, I carry a paper bag in my bag. I know breathing in it will stem the attack. I feel a lot more in control when I have my paper bag.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: to you hon.. Its an awful awful feeling.
munchkin05
19-02-2007, 15:26
Thanks Ang, might take you up on that, i know how much of a lead foot you are, so i know i will get home quick! :laughing:
sorry leish with getting 2 speeding fines come through within days of each other i cant speed :laughing:
but your still more than welcome to get a life it doesnt bother me at all we are going to the same place so it seem logical lol
damien's mum
19-02-2007, 16:32
Worked for me too.. and if I am having a really bad day, I carry a paper bag in my bag. I know breathing in it will stem the attack. I feel a lot more in control when I have my paper bag.
Yeah my mum has to do that, i have my valpam in my bag all the time, and the rescue remedy!
:hugs: :hugs:
damien's mum
19-02-2007, 16:39
sorry leish with getting 2 speeding fines come through within days of each other i cant speed :laughing:
but your still more than welcome to get a life it doesnt bother me at all we are going to the same place so it seem logical lol
Lol, i guess that is true! Thanks dude! :thumbsup:
mumtok&z
20-02-2007, 10:32
Hey Alicia, I know your friend understands that you had to leave her birthday early. Don't feel bad, your health and well being are more important to her.
iluvmeboyz
20-02-2007, 11:56
i agree
damien's mum
20-02-2007, 23:14
Thanks Guys... I appericate it..
Today while we were out at the meet, i was fine, started to feel a bit racey but i popped a valpam and i calmed down, ang dropped me home and that was it, i went into panic mode, i was crying, and screaming and ds wouldnt stop crying, i was going mental i had to call my mum and tell her to come and get ds i can't handle it...
I think also it didnt help that last night, i had a few words before i went to bed, and woke up at 2am feeling like i couldn't breathe, and then was too scared to lay down incase it happened again, which may sound silly to some, but i thought sitting up would help me breathe...
Bring on the dr's please!!!!
2 Cherubs
20-02-2007, 23:23
Hey I just wanted to know what valpam is....??
I have heard of it before
onabreak
20-02-2007, 23:24
I used to suffer from Panic Attacks years ago but I am now over them
I bought a book about it, read it front to back and have never suffered one again. All it is is "MIND OVER MATTER". I learnt that when I felt an attack coming on I thought of something nice, eg sunbaking at the beach or what I was having for dinner so this would get your mind off your attack, which in time would slow your heart rate down. This worked for me everytime, or another is to take deep breaths and relax.
Hope you feel better soon.
damien's mum
20-02-2007, 23:27
Um it's otherwise known as dizapem (sp?) A muscle relaxent (sp?)
damien's mum
20-02-2007, 23:28
I used to suffer from Panic Attacks years ago but I am now over them
I bought a book about it, read it front to back and have never suffered one again. All it is is "MIND OVER MATTER". I learnt that when I felt an attack coming on I thought of something nice, eg sunbaking at the beach or what I was having for dinner so this would get your mind off your attack, which in time would slow your heart rate down. This worked for me everytime, or another is to take deep breaths and relax.
Hope you feel better soon.
Thanks, i have that BOOK! And many more... :hugs:
damien's mum
22-02-2007, 14:19
:fingerscrossed: Well i have an appointment today at 3pm, so i'm hoping that he can give me some answers to alot of things and help out with them, a bit more than the lexapro :fingerscrossed:
munchkin05
22-02-2007, 15:33
Thanks Guys... I appericate it..
Today while we were out at the meet, i was fine, started to feel a bit racey but i popped a valpam and i calmed down, ang dropped me home and that was it, i went into panic mode, i was crying, and screaming and ds wouldnt stop crying, i was going mental i had to call my mum and tell her to come and get ds i can't handle it...
I think also it didnt help that last night, i had a few words before i went to bed, and woke up at 2am feeling like i couldn't breathe, and then was too scared to lay down incase it happened again, which may sound silly to some, but i thought sitting up would help me breathe...
Bring on the dr's please!!!!
you should have called no matter what time of day or night and you know your more than welcome to drop damo off here anytime ir i can come and get him even if its just for 1hr or so just so you can have that break
hope you get some answers at the doc :fingerscrossed:
wannabemum
22-02-2007, 15:45
:hugs: to you Alicia....
I too suffered panic attacks when I suffered agoraphobia (scared of big crowds), it was a horrible time in my life. I still to this day suffer anxiety so I completely understand. There is help however.
Firstly buy the book "Power over Panic", by South Australian author Bronwyn Fox, it is a fantastic book and helped me alot!
Secondly (as the other girls have said), cognitive behavioural therapy helped me tremendously, it is best to find a psychologist who deals mainly with this type of therapy.
THis is also a good site http://www.panicattacks.com.au/ (http://www.panicattacks.com.au/)
It is curable hunny, and the best advice I can pass (which is alot easier said than done I know) is:
Once you learn to stop trying to control it, that is when it will leave you....
damien's mum
22-02-2007, 18:08
Thanks guys, ang i know you would, but it's me asking for help... it's hard... i know you are there and i appericate it heaps!!:hugs:
Well i went to the dr and today, and he has put me up to 30mg of lexapro a day, and says that it's major depression. Pffftt, i have to wait two weeks and see how i go, if not then he is going to do some research on that stuff to see if he thinks it will benefit me, even though everyone here has raved about it, i'm going to tell him i WANT it, if im not feeling any better soon... :fingerscrossed:
Also i was hoping to get some answers and things done with my lap banding aswell, but 5 months ago he sent of my referral and a week ago they sent a letter back to my old address, which we can't understand coz everything was changed on their notes for me, so now i have to wait again. :mad:
damien's mum
26-02-2007, 12:00
Well things have been going really good since upping my tablets, until last night...
Yesterday ds had his birthday party here.. and it was such a great day, i really had a great time, and i think everyone else did too, but when everyone left, i had a monster headache, went to lay down and that was it, woke up feeling like i coudn't breathe, i was just a mess and crying all night...
Well today was meant to be my driving test.. Needless to say i didn't go, after having another attack last night, and feeling so worried this morning about the test, that i started to bring one on, i wasn't going to put myself through that.. its not worth it, and with eyes on me, would only make it worse.. I feel sooo angry with myself, i need to get the test done, and get it! But i know i would have lost the plot there, feeling how i am feeling...
The dr did say give the tablets 2 weeks to kick in and work right, but hello, things have being going great, and now this!!! Omg, i am soooo mad with myself :mad:
mum2anthony
26-02-2007, 13:16
Awww Leashie... That's such a shame you couldn't do it but look at it this way... YOUR Health is more important. The test will be there in a couple of weeks or months when you sort this out and are confident enough to go again... We all know you are a fantastic driver anyway so you'll do great when you are ready mentally...
I hope yesterday went well... I tried to call you yesterday morning and I sent you a text saying I couldn't make it. My eye's been infected and had to be put on antibiotics. It looked like I had burst a blood vessel and that I had been crying for a year. (You know how puffy I get... lol)
The way you need to look at this is you will get better.... You haven't always had it easy and this would make it harder for you to get on with things you need to...
Be strong... I have a good feeling things are going to get better this year for you. :)
damien's mum
27-02-2007, 00:30
Thanks Lisa, i'm hoping that it is too :fingerscrossed:
No2WhereAreYou
09-03-2007, 21:25
I started having major panic attacks when i drank those booster drinks, alcohol and caffeine. Guarana is the worst thing to put in your body when you have an anxiety disorder.
I definitely recommend stop drinking the above and cut out chocolate.
I have suffered from attcks since I was 16, and have recently accepted them as a part of me, thanks to CBT, Psychologists, yoga and exercise like swimming( the best thing to do!) and a good diet.
My grandfather, father and sister all suffer, and so do so many people.
Do a google search on Bronwyn Fox, I recommend her books and Bev Aisbett.
If you like send me a private message and we can chat about this! it gets better, trust me:D
No2WhereAreYou
09-03-2007, 21:28
Dragon fly you are so right! No one that hasn't experienced them knows.
mama kare
10-03-2007, 04:55
they really are the worst!
hope you are feeling better DamiensMum!!! :hugs:
damien's mum
10-03-2007, 09:24
they really are the worst!
hope you are feeling better DamiensMum!!! :hugs:
Thanks babe, the last two have been a downer, haven't really been out much or on here.. But hey we always go down to come back up right?!
I know you are going through a hard time aswell, so i hope that things are looking up for you Kare :hugs:
Thanks babe, the last two have been a downer, haven't really been out much or on here.. But hey we always go down to come back up right?!
:hugs: Awww babe, I hope you are okay...Sorry to hear about your downer:( I hope things get better...
I am always here to chat:hugs:
And babe, to appreciate the good times we must feel the bad....
R xoxoxox:hugs:
suzannec
12-03-2007, 19:40
damiens mum, i havent read all the pages of this post, but i have suffered panic attacks for the last 10 years, and i agree they are the worst feeling on earth, and the residual effect after having one is just as bad.
I deal with mine thru some exercises my psychiatrist taught me, visualisation and meditation techniques. but the sneaky little buggers still get me.
damien's mum
26-03-2007, 09:37
damiens mum, i havent read all the pages of this post, but i have suffered panic attacks for the last 10 years, and i agree they are the worst feeling on earth, and the residual effect after having one is just as bad.
I deal with mine thru some exercises my psychiatrist taught me, visualisation and meditation techniques. but the sneaky little buggers still get me.
I know, no matter how hard you try to control them, you just can't.
I have been alot better since being on the higher tablets, still have my down days, but im lucky to have a great set of friends, that kick my butt into gear..
Hope everyone else is doing well.. :hugs: