View Full Version : Newbie in Sydney

shazb
18-02-2007, 18:06
Hi Everyone I have just moved to Sydney with my husband from the UK and am eager to get to know some new people, we dont have any children yet but hope that we will have some good luck here with that !! I am working as a nanny and would love to meet up with mums/nannies with young children.

Sharon xx

rubyredlips
21-02-2007, 08:06
Hi Sharon! :wave:

Welcome to Bubhub! I'm Jo, originally from Hull - moved to Sydney 6 years ago :D I'm in Manly so not too far from you, how are you settling in?

look forward to chatting

nats
21-02-2007, 08:13
Hi Sharon!

Welcome to Bubhub! I'm Jo, originally from Hull - moved to Sydney 6 years ago I'm in Manly so not too far from you, how are you settling in?

look forward to chatting

My DH is from Hull!!!
You know it took me ages to figure out where he was from as I thought he was from a place called 'HOLE" :D

I think he used to live at North Umberside I think I hear so many things like Humber Bridge, Hull Kingstom Rovers, Buttered Bread Cake :laughing:

How are you missing your Haddock and stodgy chips then :)

rubyredlips
21-02-2007, 08:16
My DH is from Hull!!!
You know it took me ages to figure out where he was from as I thought he was from a place called 'HOLE" :D

I think he used to live at North Umberside I think I hear so many things like Humber Bridge, Hull Kingstom Rovers, Buttered Bread Cake :laughing:

How are you missing your Haddock and stodgy chips then :)

nat - you have just cracked me up! HOLE!!!! ha ha ha!!!

and...Umberside does start with an 'h' - beleive it or not! my ex (aussie) used to call me ' aitch ' as he reckoned that sound is not in my vocab!

I miss the mushy peas!

Cute bubs by the way!

shazb
21-02-2007, 18:14
Hi Jo,
Thanks for the reply, I am finding my feet, but just would like some adult company during the day!! The baby I nanny for is lovely but he is only ten months old so the conversation is limited!! We looked at living in Manly but decided that it would be quicker for DH to get to work from here. Manly is lovely though.
I know what you mean about mushy peas, I love them too. I am originally from liverpool and then north wales.
Hope to hear from you soon, I can only reply when hubby remembers to bring the laptop home, we are still waiting for our furniture to arrive.

Love Sharon xx

rubyredlips
22-02-2007, 22:02
hey Sharon, would love to take a punt and meet you and the bub - mines turning one next week so they will be quite the same on the conversation dept!

theres a meet at palm Beach with a few mums in a couple of weeks - but if you want to do something sooner please let me know - I read about a place called chinamans beach in mosman which sounds pretty cool!

shazb
23-02-2007, 21:42
will find out about the beach and if I can get there by bus and let you know, would love to meet up and have adult conversation and if the little chap has someone to talk to all the better!!
Love Sharon x

Littleyorkshirepudding
23-02-2007, 22:36

And welcome Sharon hope you are settling in ok and enjoying Sydney and the lovely Aussies - I've been here 6.5 years and am originally from York and am still a true Northern Lass at heart even after all these years. I've just had a baby girl now 3 months old called Ruby.
If you fancy a day on the other side of the harbour let me know and we'll go and have some fun.:smiliedance:
Hope your furniture arrives soon!!!!!

Me - Karen
DH - Craig
DD - Ruby Mae - my beautiful gift
Plus Annie the Cat and Oliver the Rabbit.

shazb
24-02-2007, 15:46
Hi Karen,
Where do you live??
I like the name Ruby, its such a pretty name.

Would love to meet somewhere.

Sharon x

Beany
24-02-2007, 17:55

Hi there!

I'm originally from London and have been in Sydney for nigh on 7 years now :eek: Wow that's a long time! To think I thought I'd only be here for 2 or 3 ...

I too live on the other side of the Harbour - a stone's throw from Darling Harbour, in fact, and would be happy for a meet up anywhere accessible by train as I'm a lazy old moo that never bothered to get a license. Silly me!

Littleyorkshirepudding
24-02-2007, 22:54

We live in the Inner West in Annandale - perfect location to the city and I easily get to all places. I too don't have a license in fact I never even bothered learning to drive - oops silly me.

Would love to meet up with you Sharon & Beany (where near Darling Harbour are you?) - I have visited the Lindt Cafe in Darling Harbour a few times now - have you tried their hot chocolates oh my god to die for that's all I'm saying.

Talk soon

Karen

babyboo01
24-02-2007, 23:13
hi all im 37 weeks preg and so ovet it cant sleep and want it out can some one help me?

Beany
24-02-2007, 23:19
babyboo: the baby will make his/her appearance when s/he is ready - very little you do will effect it, really. Try to enjoy your last few weeks of an undisturbed shower. Go out to dinner a few times. Just rest and let nature take its course.

little pud: I live close to the QVB. Oh the Lindt cafe - it was the site of my first bubhub meet - also a UK ex-pats get together! Alas my fellow pommy-out-of-water Pixie has returned to the motherland. Yes, their hot chocolates are indeed to die for!

Beany
24-02-2007, 23:21
Oh girls, if we are having a meet-up, if you make it near Pitt Street Mall, I'll show you a place you'll LOVE :D

Littleyorkshirepudding
25-02-2007, 22:20
Hi Beany,

How nice to live near the QVB and I'm up for a meet, you have me intrigued about this place in/near Pitt St Mall - I'm definitely up for it - how about you Sharon? and anyone else for that matter.

Hope you've all had a lovely weekend.

Talk soon and let's arrange this meet soon.

Karen

DH - Craig
DD - Ruby
Pets - Annie the Cat and Oliver the Rabbit

rubyredlips
26-02-2007, 07:20
Hey all,

I'd be up for a meet, and can get the ferry in from Manly. Its a nice journey - in good weather!

littleyorkshirepudding - I used to work in York sometimes - i'm from Hull, just down the road, and also have a mini-me called Ruby!

shazb - I think you can get a ferry from mosman into the cbd aswell as a bus?

it would be nice to meet some english mums for a change! I'm free Tuesdays & Fridays....and some Thursdays....

Beany - I have a feeling I know where youre talking about......:thumbsup:

Beany
26-02-2007, 08:28
Oh I'm a Beany-no-life so I'm free most days :gloomy: :D

shazb
26-02-2007, 11:54
sounds good, when shall we meet, I can do most days too!! Billy no mates!!

Shazb

rubyredlips
26-02-2007, 13:08
Weeel.....I'm a bit tied up over the next couple of weeks, got a few appointments including some jabs for Ruby :thumbsdown: & dentist (AGAIN!) for me....

Also, gonna be cooking up a storm this Friday in the shape of cupcakes & stuff for Ruby's birthday bash

So, is this Thursday too soon?? Or else I may not be able to do it for a few weeks.... me me me!!!

whadya reckon dudes?

shazb
26-02-2007, 13:39
I can do thursday, will pm my mobile cant always get to use th laptop,

Sharon

Beany
26-02-2007, 14:33
This Thursday is good for me too as long as it's before 5:00pm (immunisation jabs :gloomy: ). Which I'm sure it would have been, anyway!

Coooool I finally get to meet you RRL! And of course you too, shaz! :)

rubyredlips
26-02-2007, 14:46
Yeehay! Thurs day it is! Umm...time & place?

11ish is good for me, we can leave after Rubes wakes from her morning nap.....What do we need from the venue? I'm happy with the botanicals or similar (plenty of floor space! darling rugrat wont stay put in the pram if we're stationary!),

and theres a cafe in there somewhere....

Anyone else?

yes Beany! finally get to meet you!

Beany
26-02-2007, 15:25
Little pud: You coming, too? Pweease?

RRL: if we're taking them to THAT place in Pitt Street, perhaps we can meet in Hyde Park? Or maybe a cafe in Pitt Street? The Gloria Jeans in Mid City Centre is pretty open planned and accommodating.

My little poopy-head is only 6 months old so not terribly mobile. He won't stay put in a stroller either but is happy enough if I hold him up (while he pulls my hair, twists my lips, jabs a finger in my eye ... ) so pretty much anywhere is okay by us.

Littleyorkshirepudding
26-02-2007, 17:26

I would love to meet you all, Thursday 11am sounds good to me - I have my mothers group in the afternoon (2pm) so this is perfect timing - I usually troddle off to the pictures on Thursday morning but would rather meet you lovely ladies.

RRL - that is so cool our daughters have the same name - I too call our Ruby RRL and you're from Hull - great my dad lives there and my best mate at work is from there too - looking forward to meeting another Northener.

It's going to be fun where shall we meet then? on the corner of Elizabeth and Market St where DJ's is - that way we are close to Hyde Park and Pitt St - Ruby is 3 months so not too mobile so we are easy peasy.

Looking forward to seeing you girls!!!!!!!

Little Pud

rubyredlips
27-02-2007, 07:48
Sounds like we're on! :yelclap: Shall we see what the weathers doimg on the day and decide where to meet then?

Shazb - send us your moby if you prefer...looking forward to meeting you girls and your littlies!!

shazb
27-02-2007, 08:23
have sent you my mobile number jo, I am on the computer at work at the moment because the little chap is having his nap, my dh doesnt always remember to bring the laptop home from work so I may not get to check later.

looking forward to meeting everyone on thursday

sharon

Littleyorkshirepudding
28-02-2007, 10:02

Hope we are still on for tomorrow - I have a Chiro appointment at 9.15am and will be leaving the house about 8.30am so if you could post where we are meeting up before then as I won't have access to the internet after then I'd appreciate it.

Have been racking my brain re the place near Pitt St Mall you have been talking about and finally the penny dropped I think I know where you mean and if so - divine.

See you all tomorrow

Little Pud :wave:

rubyredlips
28-02-2007, 13:55
Ok then, perhaps we should go with Beanys idea of Gloria Jeans in Mid City - just in case of weather and lateness! ( on my part!)

All in say aye!

Littleyorkshirepudding
28-02-2007, 14:13
Aye

Little Pud

Beany
28-02-2007, 14:24
Bah, Northerners :p

"Aye"!

shazb
28-02-2007, 17:07
Aye !! If I can find you!! And the baby's parents dont spring anything on me in the morning.

looking forward to it.

Sharon x:smiliedance:

Beany
28-02-2007, 17:21
Shaz: it's just upstairs from HMV

rubyredlips
01-03-2007, 15:18
Hey Ladies!

Really enjoyed meeting you all today! And your lovely little ones of course! I hope we can do it again soooooooon!

Sorry we didnt stay too long - Ruby was a bit grumpy for some reason, she's normally much happier - shes out on the deck at the moment playing in her mini sand pit in the nuddie! v cute

Speak later - I'm buggered!

Beany
01-03-2007, 20:06
It was lovely meeting you all today, too! Sorry about the chocolate drink all over the place :o Honestly, who gave me permission to have a child?!

I just thought I'd let you know that I made a mistake - the Centennial Park meet is on Friday next week, not Thursday. So if you can make it, let me know and I'll send you the details!

Again, it was lovely meeting you all and I hope we can do it again :)

BeachBaby3
01-03-2007, 21:11
:wave: Hello all. I'm also from the uk. Whats this about a centennial park meet. I'm in Maroubra so would love to meet too

Beany
01-03-2007, 23:28
Here's the thread:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=69245

Keep an eye on the section (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2) as new mets crop up every now and then :)

shazb
02-03-2007, 18:41
Hi, I have got the laptop for the weekend!! Yipee!!
Really good to meet you yesterday, I hope we will do it again soon, bubs was worn out after all that crawling about and I managed to meet DH for some lunch so a good day had by all. I made such a difference having some adult company and chat, thanks again girlies,

Sharon

Jamily
02-03-2007, 19:17
babyboo: the baby will make his/her appearance when s/he is ready - very little you do will effect it, really. Try to enjoy your last few weeks of an undisturbed shower. Go out to dinner a few times. Just rest and let nature take its course.

little pud: I live close to the QVB. Oh the Lindt cafe - it was the site of my first bubhub meet - also a UK ex-pats get together! Alas my fellow pommy-out-of-water Pixie has returned to the motherland. Yes, their hot chocolates are indeed to die for!

Haven't been on the hubber for a while but am pleased to see I'm not forgotten Beany luv ;)

Jamily
02-03-2007, 19:18
p.s. my goodness you deserve that prize for avatar Beany - how CUTE!!!

Beany
02-03-2007, 19:45
I didn't forget you - I was talking about you at the meet :p To which you should have come, by the way! I haven't seen you since that first meet and thought you'd left bubhub altogether since the arrival of James :o

You must come for the next one!

Littleyorkshirepudding
02-03-2007, 23:06

Sorry for my late reply have had a very busy last 2 days and should not still be up at this time but hey it is the weekend......

It was lovely meeting up with you lovely ladies and the wee bubs.

I really enjoyed it and would love to do it again.

Shaz - bet you're glad you've got the lap top all weekend

Have fun ladies

Little Pud

shazb
03-03-2007, 09:03
I was thinking of going over to Manly sometime in the next few weeks if you are interested little pud/beany, maybe we could meet up with rubyredlips too??

sharon

Littleyorkshirepudding
03-03-2007, 18:02
Hey Shaz,

Would love to join you in Manly - Ruby & I are fairly easy - except Thursday's as have Mothers Group in the afternoon and it would be too much to get back from Manly to get to that.

Just give me a few days notice when you plan to go over and let me know if you're coming over into the city again as I can come and meet you.

Have fun

Little Pud

shazb
04-03-2007, 09:08
Might come into the city on Wednesday if you want to meet?
Maybe we could go to the park so that he can crawl about a bit?

Sharon

rubyredlips
05-03-2007, 09:30
Come on over ladies!

If you make it quick there MIGHT be a coupla cupcakes left :D

Im free this afty ar tomorrow afty.......dunno what the weathers doing?:gloomy:

shazb
06-03-2007, 18:15
One day next week would be better for me, when can you make it???

Sharon

rubyredlips
07-03-2007, 09:21
Next weeks pretty busy, can only make Thursday?

mz sv6
07-03-2007, 09:24
hello :wave: :wave:
welcome to bubhub
n also welcome to sydney

Littleyorkshirepudding
11-03-2007, 11:36
Hello Ladies,

Our internet has been down this week :thumbsdown: now we've finally got it back on at super dooper speed yiphee I'm one happy bunny :smiliedance: and boy have I missed the internet........

Can meet up this week (except Thursday) if anyone is free - would love a jaunt over to Manly let me know your plans.

See you soon

Little Pud - aka Karen

Beany
11-03-2007, 11:53
Is anyone going to Hyde Park today for tha Oirish thingy? We're on our way now so see you there - if you are there, of course!

shazb
11-03-2007, 12:33
I think that Jo can only do thursday thisnweek so maybe we should leave the trip to Manly untill next week, if you would like to meet for a coffee and a walk in the park this week that would be nice. Maybe wednesday?????

Sharon

Beany
11-03-2007, 12:57
Wednesday sounds good to me ... which park?

shazb
11-03-2007, 13:34
Hyde Park, just so that the little chap can get out of the buggy and have a crawl about. Or even Darling Harbour ?

Sharon

Beany
11-03-2007, 13:41
Either are fine by me :)

shazb
11-03-2007, 13:54
Shall we go to Darling Harbour then?

You up for it too little pud?/ Rubyredlips?

I will probably bring the little chaps lunch with me and grap some lunch myself.

sharon

rubyredlips
12-03-2007, 07:35
Hey Ladies,

Would love to catch up again, I can come into the bigsmoke on Wednesday but possibly not til the afternoon as we've got playgroup in the morning which usually wears us both out! I can be in by 2pmish?

Or, if you want to come over here I can do Friday now?

Let me know! :D

Beany
12-03-2007, 09:22
After 2pm is good for me on Wednesday - my sister in law is coming down from Cairns. I need a good excuse to avoid her :D

Beany
13-03-2007, 12:35
Little pud, RRL: Shaz just smsed me today - she can't get to a computer before tomorrow so wants to know if we're all still on for Darling Harbour at 2pm tomorrow afternoon.

rubyredlips
13-03-2007, 14:08
I'm in if the weathers better than it is now :thumbsdown:

Beany
13-03-2007, 14:32
It's meant to be warm and sunny. Meant to be.

I never did learn to trust the weatherman :laughing:

Whereabouts should we meet?

Littleyorkshirepudding
14-03-2007, 08:54

I am going to try my hardest to make it this afternoon, I have a few things going on today that have crept up on me.

Let me know where you are meeting in Darling Harbour if you can by Midday, so if I can get down I will know where you are and apologies in advance if I can't.

Would definitely be up for a visit to Manly next week if anyone else is interested - RRL let me know what day is best for you.

See you soon

Little Pud

rubyredlips
15-03-2007, 09:35
Hey girlies,

Hope you had fun yesterday, good job we stayed home I think as managed to get a whopping 2 hour sleep out of Rubster :thumbsup: which means time off for me!! :yelclap:

Would love y'all to come visit next week - how about Friday? Ive stuff on most other days - except Thur but littlepud has mums group dont'cha pud?

Off to fill the paddling pool, think its going to be a cracker of a day!

Littleyorkshirepudding
16-03-2007, 21:36

Sorry I couldn't make it either ladies got tied up at work (trying to arrange going back part time - it's not till Oct but I'm away for 3 months in June and probably need to think about getting childcare - yes I'm the stupid one who has yet to put Ruby's name down on a waiting list)

Friday sounds good to me RRL as you are right I've got Mothers Group Thursday.

Let me know best time for you - it'll take us probably an hour to get there, I can plan Ruby around it all as she's very good.

Have a great weekend Ladies

Little Pud

Littleyorkshirepudding
18-03-2007, 15:16
Just had a call from my girlfriend who lives in Bowral she is up in Sydney on Friday and wants to catch up (apparently we organised this awhile ago - can't remember damn baby brain:confused:) so to cut a long story short Friday is no good now and now I only have Wednesday free if anyone is around.

Talk soon

Little Pud

shazb
19-03-2007, 17:56
I am supposed to be going to baby reading group with bub but to be honest I would rather not!!!!
Furniture arrived on friday and the sofa wont fit!!!!
Goodness knows what we will do now!
Hope we can meet soon.

sharon

rubyredlips
21-03-2007, 09:02
Oh no Shaz! I have had that happen to me although it was just a case of sending it back to Northern Upholstery! :D

Dont worry little pud - we're out of action, have fun on fri

We're a household of sickies this week it seems! Ruby has a constant tramline out of her nose, Camerons in bed surrounded by hankies but I'm soldiering on :thumbsdown: sore throat, headache, snot - and the builders have started next door. So, I'll be out and about but should probably stay away from you all - missed swimming & playgroup so its all a tad boring!

Fingers crossed we'll be right by next week.

Have fun y'all!