View Full Version : SAHM's how do you keep sane?

nuddle
16-02-2007, 18:24
I have always worked a couple of days a week, but am now off, and do not plan on going back for a while. At the moment, I seem to be pretty busy, and being 34 weeks pg, any time I am not busy, I use to rest, but just wondering how do you keep sane, I have a 4 year old at home with me during the day, we have playgroup once a week, and try to meet up with friends every so often, but I am worried he will get bored, especially once the baby is here. I think my 8 year old gets enough stimulation during school, and she has two afternoon activities as well.

Do you have a set routine? Any tips?

kiah
16-02-2007, 18:28
Yep, i have a routine.

And i give myself heaps of time to myself.

I try to get all the lunches and dinners organised in the morning as well as the housework and any washing. I get up early too. I like ti to all be done before i leave the house to drop jayce off for school.

I keep myself sane with heaps of exercise, reading, pampering and just loving every second of being a mum.

Pm me if u want to chat ever. That goes for anyone. Ta

Lots of luv Kiah

Bewitched
16-02-2007, 18:55

I know how you feel. I went from full time work to staying at home with a newborn and my three year old son at the time. I have been doing this for nearly two years yet but luckily i can't say i get too bored, and neither do they really.

Like Kiah, i like to have all the jobs done before we drop their older sister to school. We have morning and afternoon tea times together when we eat and read books, the boys love this.

I keep busy studying part time for a uni degree from home, so i am ready to go back to the workforce into a job i want - rather than a job i have to do - so that will be good.

I go to Bingo and netball once a week, and have 'me time' on Sunday arvo when i hook into a good book. It works well for everyone so i guess we are lucky :) Good luck!

16-02-2007, 21:54
I'm going insane atm so I will be keeping a close eye on this thread.
I go to play group twice a week (well ones actually a young mums club so when I turn 25 in August I probably won't go there anymore)
I try and catch up with friends when I can (usually on a Saturday night so that Grant can mind Hayley and I can get a break) but other than that I don't do much. I take Hayley for walks to the park sometimes too.

Yes we have a routine for Hayley but it varies sometimes depending on what the day brings.

~Emmylou~
16-02-2007, 22:07
Get out of the house.....GET OUT OF THE HOUSE!! :laughing:

This is my mantra at the moment.

If I stay home all day, I go insane, DD goes insane...by 5pm it's just ugly.
So lately we've been going to playgroup, story time at the library, the local indoor playground, walking, and activities at the PCYC. Even window shopping will do if I'm desperate....
I was going stir crazy at home with the two of them and since doing this things have been much easier.

mumma_jessy
19-02-2007, 15:18
Mon - morn playgroup
Tues- morn kinder gym
Wed - morn food shopping
Thurs - morn pre-school for DS
Thurs - afternoon - mums group
Fri - morn preshool for DS & playgroup for DD

Then in the afternoons we come home, the kids have a sleep and i can do whatever jobs that need doing, have a bit of a catch up on bub hub, then we do stuff at home. Playdough, painting, playing outside etc

I keep them and me busy by having activities in the mornings and get us out and about. On the weekends we go with the flow... I don't have time to be bored!

SAMum
19-02-2007, 15:56
Yep, i have a routine.

And i give myself heaps of time to myself.

I try to get all the lunches and dinners organised in the morning as well as the housework and any washing. I get up early too. I like ti to all be done before i leave the house to drop jayce off for school.

I keep myself sane with heaps of exercise, reading, pampering and just loving every second of being a mum.

Pm me if u want to chat ever. That goes for anyone. Ta

Lots of luv Kiah

Kiah, just wondering how you have time for exercise, reading, pampering etc with a 7 month old?? I have been waiting 3 weeks to do a face mask! and I don't even bother getting books out of the library any more as no way I can get them read before they have to be returned, would love to know your secrets!!

neeky
19-02-2007, 17:30
I went insane until i started getting out and about.

We have playgroup once a week. go to the library regularly, go the park, go for a walk around the block. We have fun doing cleaning! (this is only new) ie ds goes in the carrier on my back while i sweep/vac/mop floors, and i listen to my mp3 player and sing the songs to him. if i am washing the dishes and he is being particularly grumpy there is the wiggles or i give him a little container of water and let him pretend he is "washing" too, it gets messy but its only water so i dont care!

I read at night and in nap times. and sometimes when he is having playtime by himself.
My housework system (when i follow it) is one or two jobs a day at most so that doesnt take long, and i try to do it when he is sleeping. (ie 1 MUST DO and 1 WANT TO DO, then anything thats not done by the weekend gets done then)

there is also exercises you can do at home that you can include bub in. ie if your a push up person (im not) can do them with bubs under you and everytime you go down give them a kiss, so its fun for both of you!

19-02-2007, 17:35
How do i STAY sane? I don't........I'M NOT!!!

Mwahahaha!! :devil6:

19-02-2007, 20:17
I bake!! When I'm not doing the kinder and school runs thats what I do to stay sane. In between those 'runs' the girls have there naps so I use the time to bake, it always keeps me sane and the kids love it hehe :D

I have a routine and I'm fairly strict on the girls nap times and the kids bedtime and wake up time and I don't like interruptions lol

trinitylee
19-02-2007, 20:33
BUBHUB keeps me sane....:laughing:

I just go with the flow... I try to do all my housework everyday...and we get out of the house everyday. I got to my mums alot, im lucky she only lives 5 mins away. and we just wonder round the shops everyday, to get in the air con and to get out of the house

nuddle
19-02-2007, 20:56
thanks for all the tips girls...

Snuffys Mum
19-02-2007, 21:06
BUBHUB keeps me sane....:laughing:

I just go with the flow... I try to do all my housework everyday...and we get out of the house everyday. I got to my mums alot, im lucky she only lives 5 mins away. and we just wonder round the shops everyday, to get in the air con and to get out of the house

Hey Kelly, any time you want a "wander round the shops" partner let me know! :wave:

Kathryn

19-02-2007, 21:13
same with me. ive always worked, but decided to quit when i had dd3. thanks to bubhub, have met many wonderful ppl, and its fantastic when they are so close by, but now i have gone back to work 1 day per week, just so i can get some "me" time. but as of next week it will be 2 days per week.

if i dont have any meetup plans, i just take the younger 2 to the shops :D

jessgray
20-02-2007, 07:21
:laughing: short answer i dont keep sane

RuthK
20-02-2007, 07:22
Find a gym or swimming pool with classes that also has a creche and go out and exercise. I find the 4 times a week I get out to do some exercise gives me a kid-free hour or 2, keeps me feeling fit (to be able to handle them) and fills me full of exercise endorphins so I can be a happy mummy to them.

BlakeNatsMum
20-02-2007, 07:46
Nuds,
I am with you at the 34 week preg mark, and that is why I have set up DS's Kinder and care routine, just to give me some time to myself... We have:
Monday - 3 Year Kindy
Tuesday - Swimming lessons
Wednesday - Daycare
Thursday - Home or out grocery shopping
Friday - Daycare..

There are some days that I get driven around the bend!.. So I know how ya feel there, but I think if you can keep them busy you are right!.. It's also hard when it's stinking hot and you really dont want to go out...!

trinitylee
20-02-2007, 10:52
Your on Snuffy's Mum & HIGA!!! :yelclap:

Kel

mumofcaleb
20-02-2007, 10:55
Get out of the house.....GET OUT OF THE HOUSE!! :laughing:

This is my mantra at the moment.

If I stay home all day, I go insane, DD goes insane...by 5pm it's just ugly.
So lately we've been going to playgroup, story time at the library, the local indoor playground, walking, and activities at the PCYC. Even window shopping will do if I'm desperate....
I was going stir crazy at home with the two of them and since doing this things have been much easier.

Same here. Just getting out of the house for a bit, even if it's quick walk to the shops, I find I feel better and it gets rid of the "cabin fever".