View Full Version : Mum and Bub Morning Tea Northside

nickosmoo
06-02-2005, 13:59

Looks like there are a few of us mums on the northside trying to get together so I thought it might be a good idea for us to have morning tea and maybe see if this can become a regular playgroup

I live near Huxtable Park at Chermside West which is nice and shady with ducks, turtles in the creek so if anyone is interested in getting together there next Monday or Tuesday (14 or 15 Feb) at around 10.30 am, let me know.

Just to let you know my boy is 12 weeks old.

Look forward to hearing from you

Kris

kaleb'smum
07-02-2005, 15:29
Hi Kris

This is a great idea! My son Kaleb is 8 weeks old and I am really keen to meet with some other mums. Unfortunately, I can't do next Monday or Tuesday (Immunisation Clinic on Monday and CHN appt on Tuesday) but any other day or next time would be good!

Jo

Xandersmum
07-02-2005, 20:57
Sounds like a great idea. :) But I'm not able to make it next week either, unfortunately. Xander goes to Kindy every Tuesday and Thursday, and every second Monday is our shopping and bills day..lucky me. :P Another day would be great though. Pity it's so hot atm though! Is making things very uncomfortable.

Kassiasmum
07-02-2005, 21:36
Sounds like a great idea. i can do Mondays after 10.30am but work different days alternate weeks so would have to check my work dates, can't make it on Tuesday next week.
Tracey

nickosmoo
08-02-2005, 14:04

I've checked my week and I can't do Thursday next week but Friday is looking okay though - is that any better for you guys - let me know.

If this heat continues I'll have it at my place with as I have a/c.

Kris

Xandersmum
08-02-2005, 14:13
Friday looks good for me so far. :)

kaleb'smum
08-02-2005, 14:50
Yes, I would be able to make Friday.

brocksmum
09-02-2005, 12:49
Hi everyone, I stumbled across this site while looking for a playgroup. I live at Everton Hills and have a 22 month old son Brock. I'm quite shy when it comes to things like this but you all sounds like lovely ladies so I thought I'd post. I would love to join in one of your groups, both Brock and I need the interaction ;)

Emma

nickosmoo
09-02-2005, 13:53
Hello Ladies

Great looks like friday is the date - I'll PM you closer to the time to confirm location after we suss out what the weather is doing.

Brocksmum - come along on Friday if you can - the more the merrier!

Kassiasmum
09-02-2005, 14:05
Friday suits me as well. Brock's mum, I live at Everton Hills as well, so if you would like to meet up locally just pm me.
Tracey

justtwogirls22
13-02-2005, 21:10
i'd love to meet up in the park too - don't know too many people in brisbane, let alone ones with babies!!

nickosmoo
15-02-2005, 11:12
Hi - I'm doing this with one hand as the catnap king is perched on my shoulder - I think he's got an inbuilt sensor - always wakes up just before my first bite of food or just when the internet connects - bless him!

I was going to PM with home details but looks like the weather is okay this week so far so I thought we could meet at 10.30am at
huxtable park at the entrance/parking area closest to the corner of
Lupton and Dundalli streets.

If we all bring a drink, rug and plate - nothing time consuming to organise - bikkies or fruit whatever.

Just a warning the park has no public toilet so be prepared, I live just up the road so if we have an emergency we can scoot to my place - same goes if the weather changes.

I've got a red Phil & Teds and very short hair so look out for us. Lokk forward to meeting you on Friday

Must go...arm going numb...shoulder filling with saliva...aggghhh!!!

kaleb'smum
15-02-2005, 14:43
Sounds great - I'll see you there!

justtwogirls22
15-02-2005, 23:56
sounds great to me too - hope to see you all there :D

Kaylene
27-02-2005, 22:05

Bummer I missed out ... How did this go, did many show up? When is the next one? LMK ... interested

Kaylene

justtwogirls22
27-02-2005, 22:51
It was great & we are meeting again this Friday in New Farm Park (near the city cat jetty & bus terminal) at 10:30am - hope to see you there!

alicesmum
28-02-2005, 13:42
I hope to make it along with Alice, so might see you there, if that's ok!
Rachel

Kassiasmum
28-02-2005, 14:34
Hope to see you there

Tracey

Xandersmum
28-02-2005, 18:50
I'm hoping to be there too....if I can find my way around! I've never been there before.

Susan_75
28-02-2005, 20:25
I have a 6 month old daughter and have only just stumbled across this site! I am keen to meet some other Mum's on the northside and do a bit of socialising. Therefore, if new members are welcome, I would like to join up and meet you all at your MT this Friday.

justtwogirls22
28-02-2005, 21:13
It will bw great to see you all there - we have only met up once & hope to make it a regular thing so the more the merrier :D

busymum
01-03-2005, 22:22
Hello all

I also live on the Northside. I would love to come along to one of your catch ups at some stage. I have an 18mth old boy and 1 on the way due Aug. The only thing is that I work on Thurs/Fri. Do you ever meet on any other day?

Paula

Kaylene
02-03-2005, 08:36
Hi melbee70,

I would love to join in but New Farm Park is too hard to get to when you dont drive :( . If you have another get together at Chermside LMK I'll be there with bells on.

Kaylene

nickosmoo
02-03-2005, 20:43

Looking forward to this Friday - bringing melt free snack this time!

See you all there - by the way my hair is falling out - anyone else had that problem I hear it is fairly common after 3 mths from birth - lucky I have thick hair to begin with !!!

Kris

2girls&1boy
03-03-2005, 15:35
I have just come across this website and would love to come along on Friday if that is okay!! I have a 7 mth old daughter and really would love to meet some other mums.

Talk to you all then.

Paula W.

kaleb'smum
07-03-2005, 13:31
Sorry we couldn't make it last Friday - Kaleb and I have both been sick :( How did it go?

If you could let me know when the next meet up is, I'd love to come.

Brontesmum
14-03-2005, 01:46
Hi Ladies - Have come across your get together ideas and wondering whether they are still going. I live at the The Gap but would love to join in if there is room. I have a 4 month old daughter - "Bronte". Interaction is great both for Bronte and myself. Look forward to hearing from you.

alicesmum
14-03-2005, 13:40
hi kaleb's mum and brontesmum
email me and i will keep you up to date. i think there is another meet this friday. hope to hear from you.

Xandersmum
15-03-2005, 10:27
Where is the meet being held this week?

vikki a
15-03-2005, 12:49
Hi i just found this post and was wanted to know if i could come along?? I would love to meet some mums with bubs as we dont know any body here yet. My name is Vikki and i have a little boy named Jazz whos 1, i also have a girl (11yrs) and another boy(8yrs). Im also having another in August!! My two older children go to school and my husband works nearly every day, so Jazz and I are getting a little bored of being home by our selves all the time. My email is JazzA04999@hotmail.com so if its all right i'd love to meet you all. :p

Kassiasmum
17-03-2005, 10:19
Has anyone let the new mums know where we are meeting this week?
Tracey

justtwogirls22
17-03-2005, 12:18
i have told kaylene :D

Kassiasmum
17-03-2005, 19:09
I have let them know.
Tracey

nickosmoo
17-03-2005, 19:49
I think Rachel got onto Brontesmum. I got to Vikki a and Xandersmum and emailed location to Paula and Susan

Jo are you coming? Haven't heard back from you

Is that everyone?

Sorry Tracey had your email in wrong so they weren't getting to you - :p fixed it now

Kris

Xandersmum
18-03-2005, 07:03
Hey guys. I'm not going to be able to make it again this week. I've been sick, and need to rest...and pick up a present for my step sons birthday. Looks like we might be in for some rain today...I hope it stays dry for you! Have a great day.

Kassiasmum
18-03-2005, 08:41
Does everyone still want to meet with this rain hanging around?

Tracey

nickosmoo
18-03-2005, 08:53

Just had a huge dump of rain here - not that we don't need it - so the ground is probably too wet down in the park. It's stopped raining for now but I think it's going to hang around.

I think we should scrap it today - is anyone free next week - I have a pretty event free week for a change and can do anytime except wed am and friday so if we want to reschedule for next week instead let me know when suits

Kris

justme
18-03-2005, 09:02
I agree, with the rain around, not much fun to meet up outdoors. I think for one of our group, only every second fortnight on a Friday was suitable. Shall we try again - same time same place - Friday next week and then meet up again a week later to keep to the fortnight when she is available?
Karen & Ben

justme
18-03-2005, 09:05
Sorry, just read Kris' message. Friday next week is no good. I'm happy to do whenever suits everybody else if we're still keen to meet next week.
K& B

Xandersmum
18-03-2005, 09:06
I'm heading over to chermside shopping centre in the next half an hour or so...will be taking Xander up to the play centre so he can have a bit of a run around, if any of you want to meet up for a coffee or something. :)

Xandersmum
18-03-2005, 09:38
We wont be leaving here until about 10-10:15, so we'll be there for 10:30 if anyone is interested in coming along.

justtwogirls22
18-03-2005, 09:46
I agree not much fun in the rain & we are high on the hill here & all I can see is rain clouds so think it will keep raining.
I will be away on the Sunshine Coast next week but will definately meet up in a fortnight :D

Kassiasmum
18-03-2005, 10:01
i can't do Friday next week, but can do the following Friday. Am happy to meet up then, I can only do every second Friday.
Tracey

alicesmum
18-03-2005, 11:44
Sounds like we should maybe leave it until a fortnight from today - Friday April 1. Next Friday is Good Friday anyway, and Easter makes it a bit messy. Does April 1 suit people? Same time, same place??

Rachel

2girls&1boy
18-03-2005, 15:19
April 1 sounds good to me, we are away next week for Easter. I was running very late today so I am relieved I didn't miss it. Have a great weekend everyone..

Kassiasmum
18-03-2005, 17:26
April 1 sounds good to me.
See you all there
Tracey

vikki a
21-03-2005, 12:17
Hi all, Apirl 1 sounds ok to me. I might have my two older ones though if thats ok.(school hoildays) If any one wants to meet up this week some where i'm free too. Otherwise i look forward to meeting you all next week. By the way do we have a back up plan for when the weather is bad??? :p

alicesmum
21-03-2005, 16:38
maybe a back-up, bad weather plan could be to go to Chermisde Coffee Club (although the coffee there is not much good, but there are a couple of other cafe's in the centre).
whatdoyareckon?

ktmg82
21-03-2005, 20:23
id really like to meet up and get to know everyone. April 1 sounds good to me, just wondering where it was going to be? also, im still pregnant, 30 weeks!!! does anyone mind if i tag along?

kel79
21-03-2005, 20:41
I too would love to join you in meeting on April 1 but am unsure where it is going to be. Could someone please let me know. Looking forward to it, you all sound like lovely ladies.
Thanks Kelly

2girls&1boy
21-03-2005, 21:00

I think the Chermside Coffee Club sounds good, there is also Zaraffas which, being the coffee expert(not) I am is quite nice,maybe the venue is a bit small though.

Anyway to Kelly and ktmg82, I think at this stage the next catch up will be at the rained out venue. I will let you know when it has been confirmed though if you like. We stopped putting the venue on the forum due to a little paranoia( mainly from my husband....)

Talk to you soon

Paula

Xandersmum
22-03-2005, 19:33
I'm hoping to be there on the 1st of April. The back-up plan sounds good to me, too. We could go upstairs to the coffee shop and let the kids run around in the play centre. :)

vikki a
22-03-2005, 21:31
Hi all, not knowing westfeild very well i was woundering where the play centre is??? Xandersmum said some thing about upstairs??? I thought the pictures was the only thing up there!!!! Anyway sounds good to me. See you all soon.... :D

Xandersmum
23-03-2005, 10:31
Yeah...it's right near the escalators. There's the movies, coffee shop, rebel sports, replay and the bowling alley up there. :)

LouLou
24-03-2005, 12:39
Hi, I am mum to (almost) 4 year old and a 7mth old. I am at Chermside regularly and wondered if you guys would mind if i joined in your get togethers. This is my first post so hopefully it's right...

alicesmum
24-03-2005, 16:50
hi lou lou
email me and i can put you on the email list and/or let u know the location details
rachel :p

Nickster
25-03-2005, 22:38
:o Would there be any mums who live on the southside who would like to meet casually for coffee and mutual support? Sorry northside guys, you're welcome to come too, but it's a bit far to travel sometimes!

nickosmoo
26-03-2005, 19:34
Hi Nickster

I think there is a thread already for the Southside meets - you might want to check that one out

nickosmoo
31-03-2005, 11:20
Hi Northside Mums

Next meet is 1 April - tomorrow and I aint fooling - if you are keen to come along and you want details on the location please PM me or email me with your details.

Look forward to seeing you there !

Kris

yeahagirl!
01-04-2005, 09:28
Hi northside mums,

Just saying hi at this stage , Im 21 weeks pregnant but thought I could tag along to your get togethers soon and get to know you all, maybe there will even be a few "still preggie" girls coming along?

Amy

vikki a
04-04-2005, 12:26
Hi Amy, I'm Vikki and I'm 18 1/2 weeks pregnant!! I go to the mums group I also have a13mth, 9yr and12yr olds. So come along if you like! :) You'll get a idea of what its like to have a bub, and maybe we will be able to answer any questions you may have about mother hood.

ktmg82
04-04-2005, 17:20
Just wondering when the next mornig tea will be. Im also pregnant, 32 weeks! and would love to come along and meet everyone. Maybe ill have a bub by the time the next one comes around.
Let me know! thanks

nickosmoo
05-04-2005, 15:41

Next meet is the 15th of April - please PM me your email address and details for location information

Kris

yeahagirl!
05-04-2005, 19:33
Thanks Vikki! would be great to chat to you all, I will definitely try to come along to the next one. Hi ktmg2, hope you are feeling good and relaxed hope to see you and bubba soon am very excited for you, am feeling like I have such a long time yet but am trying to enjoy it and not wish the time away.

ktmg82
15-04-2005, 10:06
hope you all enjoyed the morning tea at new farm this morning. was sad i couldnt make it, but im just getting more and more immobile lately. only 6 weeks to go. Not that im wishing it away, but things are getting so unconfortably lately!
Would love to meet up with everyone once bub is born, so i will keep an eye out on the thread for when you guys are planning more meets.
Hope to meet you all soon
Katie :)

nickosmoo
02-05-2005, 19:40

Next meet is the 13th of May at 10 am PM me with your details for further information

izzy
05-05-2005, 10:07
Hi Nikosmoo

I too would love to join in with your northside mothers group. I am a Chermise West local and have a 10 month old boy, Alexander, who just loves to be around other children. The 13th of May is great for me.

Elizabeth

nickosmoo
05-05-2005, 19:42
Hi Izzy

Check your PM's as I've sent you details - look forward to seeing you there!

alicesmum
13-05-2005, 07:49
Nickosmoo and I were chatting just now and decided we would go for the outdoor venue, see how it is, and if it's too wet, we can do a convoy to the indoor venue. We figured the kids would be better in an outdoor area, rather than a cafe.

If you have any small tarps or wet-proof mats, perhaps bring them along. I think I have a big tarp I will bring.

See you all about 10 then!

Rachel

babyjode
15-05-2005, 21:02
Hey my name is Jody-Anne im 17yrs old and have a son called giago who is 6weeks old. I live at kilcoyfor those who don't know, its 30mins nrth west of caboolture. I would be very interested in joining the northside mother group can you please give me some more infomation bout it thanks.

nickosmoo
25-05-2005, 19:47

Next meet is this Friday at 10 am - check your emails for those of you who have supplied them. If I have emailed you and you know of other interested mums, can you please pass the details on to them?

Thanks and see you on Friday!

Kris and Nick

Xavvysmum
26-05-2005, 08:01
Hi, I'm quite new to Bub Hub. I am a 31 yr old mum to 1 (almost) 7 month old boy Xavier. I am currently living in Bundaberg, but we have bought a house in Brighton and will be moving in later this year. It would be great to get in touch with some mums in the area as I will probably be a stay at home mum for a while when we move. I travel to Brissie to visit friends about once a month and was wondering if it would be ok to join your group and come to meets if these visits co-ordinate.

petster
29-05-2005, 18:55
Hi guys!

Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed meeting you all on Friday... I'm looking forward to the next meet! Eleni enjoyed herself too - I think the fresh air was good for her - she slept well that afternoon...

See you all soon!

Cheers!

vikki a
30-05-2005, 10:48
Hi all, sorry i've missed the last two meets now. I was sick then all the kids had there turn, and finally my poor husband just this weekend!!! :eek: So i'm hoping thats it!!!!!! I've all also just been pain old busy!!! I need a rest...... Any way looking forward to catching up with everyone at the next meet. By the way when is it?? See you all soon. Vikki and Jazz :p

nickosmoo
30-05-2005, 19:21
Hello

Thanks for a great meet on Friday. It was great to get out in the fresh air and have a chinwag. Thanks for the emails to those who couldn't make it and hope you are feeling better.

Our next meet is on the 10th of June so check your emails for details.

Hope to see you all there and stay well until then

Kris

nickosmoo
09-06-2005, 19:08

For those coming along tomorrow there has been a forecast for rain. I think there is a covered area in the meeting place so we should be okay but bring plastic backed rugs or a tarp if it rains overnight and the ground might be wet.

If it is actually raining then we'll meet at the "rainy weather" meeting point.

Hope to see you there

Kris and Nick

alicesmum
10-06-2005, 08:42
hi all
well, this is tricky weather-wise! miranda and I are going to meet at the cinemas at chermside. not a lot of people coming now by the sounds of the emails going around.

sorry, i deleted all my group emails and so am posting this message instead. if anyone checks it in time, hope to see you at chermside ~ 10.15/10.30
rachel

justtwogirls22
10-06-2005, 10:19
oops i forgot :eek:
we are actually up at my parents so couldnt have come anyway
catch up with you all soon :)

nickosmoo
12-06-2005, 08:53

Next meet is 24 June. Thought I'd put it out there early so we can all try to get healthy by then. Did I mention I hate winter??!!?? (only 100 times already!)

Hope everyone is feeling better, I know I am and Nick is climbing furniture and falling off it so he must be feeling better too.

Will send further details by email. See you soon

Kris and Nick :D

vikki a
22-06-2005, 11:57
I was all set to come this Friday (finally!) But then i looked in my diary and reliased i have a Antenatal appointment at 10.15!!! So Jazz and i can't come again!! :(
On a good note the doctor is going to give me a date for my c-section!! So i will know when i will get to meet this new little kicking baby!!! :) I would be nice if she stayed still for a while!!
So i hope everybodys well and happy, and has a good time Friday!!! Hopefully we will get to see every one next time!!

petster
23-06-2005, 16:06
Hi guys!

We won't be coming tomorrow, but hopefully we'll see you at the next meet...

Cheers!

ELA23
23-06-2005, 20:18
hi guys,

i wasall set to come tomorrow but have just been called into work. very dissappointed. but we will definately be at the next one as we have missed the gatherings :) . ok have a good one

emma & zali

nickosmoo
24-06-2005, 18:46
Hello Mums

Thanks again for a great meet today and for those who couldn't make it, hope you can get to the next one which will be in a fortnights time.

If you aren't receiving the location emails then please resend me your details as I may have lost a few along the way (apologies but I am technically challenged).

Aren't the baby photos great, just wish Nick didn't look so compressed - how can I fix that? Told you I was challenged!

New mums are always welcome to come along and don't forget for the regular mums if you have a location near your home you can suggest by all means let us know

Thanks and see you all soon

Kris and Nico

justtwogirls22
25-06-2005, 11:04
lol about nic being compressed - looks like he has a mohawk! email me his pic & i will resize it for you

it was good to out in the sun yesterday :)

nickosmoo
30-06-2005, 15:04

Check your email for details of the next meet

Yippee that's better - not sooo squissshhyyy!

justtwogirls22
30-06-2005, 21:15
he looks much better now :D

Marabelle
01-07-2005, 09:12
I would love to join you or at least get to know a few of you. I don't have my bub yet, not due till november. Let me know!

Tamara

ktmg82
01-07-2005, 12:41
id like to come along as well. Im 23 and my bub jake is five weeks old. Hope to hear from you.

justtwogirls22
01-07-2005, 14:32
hi tamara & katie
we would love to have you join us - send a message to nickosmoo or me & we will give you the details :)

nickosmoo
14-07-2005, 07:18

I'm getting a bounceback one an email address I have but because of real names, bubhub signon names I don't remember who's it is - if you usually receive the meet details but haven't in the last week can you let me know so I can fix your email address - you know who you are I guess

On another note for those who are on the list but haven't made it to a meet as yet, I usually remove your details after a couple of weeks (assuming you are no longer interested in coming) so if you still want to catch up and haven't heard from me, please resend your details.

Details of the July 22nd meet have now been sent.

Kris

TLCC
17-07-2005, 09:09

I have just found this thread and am amazed at how many mums are on Brisbane's Northside.

I'm 31 and my DD Tayla is 10 months old and we would love to catch up and meet you all.

octobermum
24-07-2005, 20:39

I've also just found this thread and would love to catch up and meet other mums and bubs. Having just recently moved to the northside I haven't had much of a chance to get to know others. I'm 27 and have a 9.5 month old daughter named Isabelle who loves crawling around everywhere!

If you are meeting up again then we would love to come along.

Thanks,
Sacha

justtwogirls22
25-07-2005, 10:03
hi sacha
we meet up one a fortnight - send a message to nickosmoo & she will give you the details
hope to see you
melissa

octobermum
28-07-2005, 09:33
Thanks Melissa, I've just sent a message to Nickosmoo. Looking forward to meeting you all.

nickosmoo
29-07-2005, 08:57

Next meet is 5 August. Details have been sent so see you all there! Aren't these days just the nicest at the moment - warm and sunny - a great time of the year to be outdoors!

See you soon

Kris :D

petster
29-07-2005, 10:43
Yay!! We should be there with bells on! My angel child has returned so life is great at the mo... See you all there!

Cheers!

sillymum
05-08-2005, 22:11
Hi I am Angela and I am 22 years of age, I have a 8 week old girl. I live in Chermside and I am interested in meeting up sometime. Feel free to email me at any time or add me to msn at flytheloveclouds@hotmail.com. For anyone there are some mums who are meeting up at Roma Street parklands Cafe on Thursday at around 10ish so feel free to come along if you would like too.

sillymum
06-08-2005, 10:52
Hi its Angela who is organising the meet up at Roma Street Parklands if anyone is interested. I made a mistake it isnt on Thursday it is on Wednesday so sorry for the inconvenience to anyone. It is definately Wednesday at around 10ish at Roma Street Parklands Cafe. I have an 8 week girl.

sillymum
06-08-2005, 10:54

Next meet is 5 August. Details have been sent so see you all there! Aren't these days just the nicest at the moment - warm and sunny - a great time of the year to be outdoors!

See you soon

Hi just wondering where abouts the next meet is I live in chermside and i have a 8 week old baby girl and my name is Angela

nickosmoo
06-08-2005, 20:27
Hi Angela

I'll email you the details of the next meet shortly. Hope to see you there

Kris

nickosmoo
11-08-2005, 19:06

Details have now been sent for the next meet. See you there

sillymum
12-08-2005, 08:47
[hi just wondering when and where the next meet is as I didnt get a message on where it is. There is a few mums meeting at Chermside Shopping Centre at around 10.30am on Monday.
i am angela

nickosmoo
03-09-2005, 18:59
Hi Northside Mums

Our next meet is on the 16th of September - details will be sent shortly along with further info regarding our girls night out and bowling day!

Stay well ! :D

babyjode
04-09-2005, 20:43
Hey me and my friend would love to come to the next meet ty.