View Full Version : Playgroups in Bundaberg QLD
3cherubs
05-02-2005, 20:59
hello,
I have recently moved from sydney to Bundaberg and would like to know if there are any playgroups in the Bundaberg area. I have a one year old girl.
sandra
Hi Sandra,
Just wondering if you had any success with finding a good playgroup?? My husband and I moved to Bundy in October last year - we have a 3 year old daughter and a 4mth old son. From my experience, there doesn't seem to be much going on here - it is difficult to find out about things too. Has this been your experience ??
cheers,
Louise
3cherubs
30-08-2005, 10:45
Hi louise,
I did find a few playgroups, i rang the Playgroup Association and found 2. But it is a bit difficult going with 2 kids under the age of 2, as you are with one and trying to chase the other. I found my daughter gravitated towards the slide and it was a bit too dangerous for her.
If you want any info on the playgroups i can send you the info...
sandra
arwen 2/2/04
rosie 12/06/05
Sandra,
That would be good, thanks! I haven't taken the kids to playgroup before and honestly the whole exercise freaks me out a little. I know what you mean about looking after one while trying to keep an eye on the other. My eldest likes to go for the slides too and while she is 3 she is still extremely accident-prone! We don't have any family here so playgroups seem to be the only option to get out and interact with others.
Louise
Quinn 7/6/02
Cole 20/4/05
3cherubs
30-08-2005, 20:31
There is one at 111 targo st ( Neighbourhood centre )called Hinkler playgroup, it is from 9 to 11.30, ask for Linda. The other one is at Bargara at Bargara Primary School(in a building out the back, near SES Building. It is at 9.30 - 12.00, ask for susan.
Hope this helps.
sandra
lisa&boys
31-08-2005, 08:28
Hi Guys!!
I live in Melbourne. But I just wanted to say hi as I grew up in Bundaberg I have been away for about 10 Yrs now. I am planning on going back soon to visit my family who i have living there still.
hugs
Thanks Sandra for those playgroup details I will look into those ones and hopefully one will be a good one.
Hello to you too "lisa&boys" - I think you are very lucky to have escaped Bundaberg! I am not too fond of it here and my husband and I are planning an eventual return to Brisbane. Have you found Melbourne to be a supportive place with regard to mothers groups etc.?
cheers,
Louise
lisa&boys
01-09-2005, 13:11
Hi Louise,
es sometimes I wish I could go back but its cause I miss the warmth of the Beach!!!!,lol
Melbourne life is great. Except not the friendships. To be ver honest, I find it really hard in making friends here for some reason everone i meet it takes ages to spark friendship up and it never lasts for long, really hard to explain online, sorta reminds me of that i am not worthy as very clicky. so i dont do playgroups anymore, as got sick of feeling the uncomfortable feeling.
so my house gets cleaned alot, i go for walks and have started to really enjoy my own company alot.....lonely existence really....
Hows that gorgeous weather up and beaches up there?!
hugs
Lisa
Hi again Lisa,
That does sound extremely lonely!! I hope you have a supportive partner! I guess Melbourne is such a big city whereas I keep hearing that things are much more supportive in Brisbane which is not as big. I have (hopefully) finally found myself a playgroup to join here in Bundy. It turned out that the contact lady had her son in the special care unit at the hospital when I had my son in there too and we had chatted a few times. This place is so small!!! She seems really nice so hopefully the playgroup will be good. Otherwise I lead a pretty solitary lifestyle with the kids too. Live for the weekends as my husband is home and we might see friends who work through the week. The weather here has literally just turned close to perfect. It seemed to be as soon as spring hit yesterday. I have to say the beaches here are pretty neat - we were in Mackay previously and though the beaches there are nice too you risk fatal jellyfish stings if you go in the water!! Hope Melbourne's weather isn't treating you too harshly. My step-brother and his wife just moved to Melbourne last year after being in Hobart for three years so I think Melbourne has been a step up for them as far as weather conditions go! Take care and have a nice weekend!
cheers,
Louise
Just a quick hello :wave: to those living in Bundaberg. This is my first time using this site tonight. I'm living in Bulli NSW & am considering moving to Bundy (Coonarr actually) in the coming months. PLEASE TELL ME SOMETHING POSITIVE about BUNDY :-) ?? I've only visited the area once & it looked great, seems to be adequate child care, playgyms, music classes & other social stuff for toddlers. I have a 2 1/2 year old daughter & another on the way due in Feb. I am considering joing a playgroup if I can find one close by. Would love to chat to other mums in the area if possible. I've also just been reading about the Bundaberg hospital / maternity situation & from what i've seen it has me very worried. Any positive's at all about the area would be greatly appreciated. The beachs look great, i'm hoping to be right by Coonarr Beach which is beautiful. :fingerscrossed:
Hey guys! I am in Bundy too! I have spent been looking for bundy ppl in here for ages!! Only found one other so far lol. I also have a four month old boy(almost anyways) we should start our own mothers group!!
leebeeag
19-07-2006, 21:27
i lived in bundy two years ago and went to a playgroup at the church up the road to the shalom college, not sure of the roed they do markets there every sunday..they didnt presure me to mothers meetings which was great as im not religious. when the days of ds#1 preschool days changed i found another playgroup the street away from me at another church, i lived im mclachlan dr avenell heights so its close to there. but i suggest call the local churches or the family day care centre they were a great help to me while we lived there.good luck on your hunt:wave:
I have just joined and I too live in Bundaberg. We moved from Brisbane to Bundaberg in January. I have 3 boys, aged 4, almost 2 and a big moody 13 year old! I have heard about a mothers craft group called MOPS held at a church in town? Does anybody have any info about it? Apparently the grandmothers of the church look after the kidlets whilst the mums have a coffee and craft session. Sounds good to me! I would appreciate any feedback or if anybody wants to chat, please email me. I am a SAHM and live at Avoca.
Michele.
Amanda06
27-07-2006, 20:53
Just joined after I found your posts about playgroup.
Michele - some information about MOPS. It is run on the 1st and 3rd Thursday in the month. It is great, a bit of time out for us overworked, stressed out mums. It runs from 9.30 - 11.30am and the kids are looked after for you. And the food is terrific. It is run by the Heritage Church in Woongarra Street.
There are now quite a few playgroups running in Bundaberg through Playgroup Queensland. You can get onto their website and find info on all of them. I am part of the Bundaberg Uniting Playgroup. It is a very informal get together for us. We meet Mondays 9.30am, the kids get to play, we get to chat. There is a small cost involved. The kids ages at the moment are from about 4months to 4 years. Any way if you want anymore info let me know.
Amanda
CassieAndra
16-08-2007, 10:15
:wave:Hi, I have just joined Bub hub. I am looking for a playgroup to join in Bundaberg. I have a 22 month old boy. So if you have any info - I would love to know.
Thanks heaps
Cassie:thumbsup:
Hi Cassie,
Was`wondering if you had any luck finding a playgroup in the bundy area..we moved here a year ago and im finding it hard to find anything, with a 20mnth old and 4mnth old!
3cherubs
17-09-2007, 18:40
Hi Toosie,
I go to a Playgroup in Bargara at the Anglican Church Hall. It is on a Monday 9am - 11am.
Also there is one that runs once a month ( friday at the end of the month) the Anglican Church in town.
PM me if interested....
Hello my name is Anita and i am a Bundy mum of 3 boys! I have had no trouble at all with the maternity hosp in Bundy and all 3 of my kiddies where born threre my youngest is 8 months :)
The community as a whole is preety relaxed and there are plently of facilities such as shopping centres,child care centres, schools etc! Coonar is great also been there many times!! Talk soon Anita
Heh!
I am soooo glad that I stubbled onto this site!! I am moving to Bundaberg on the 4 Dec and would love to get together with ANYONE!!
I have 2 twin girls 21/2 and a 1 yo son. At present I'm with a mums group that take turns every week meeting at someones home. We all bring a plate of food and the kids play and we have coffee and chat. I'll be living at Innes Park, just near Bargara. If this idea appeals let me know via this site.
kysensmummy
03-02-2008, 10:34
hi all,
just in reply to playgroups. i go to one out at moore park beach. its only small at the moment but is great fun. its held every tuesday from 9am till 11am.
i was also woundering if theres anyother mums out there that would like to chat. i have an 8 month old lil boy. hope to hear from u's soon!!!
if u'd like to contact me feel free to email me on sammie_b_90@hotmail.com or www.myspace.com.au/sammie_b_90 (http://www.myspace.com.au/sammie_b_90) :smiliedance:
take care
sammie :wave:
:babydust2::Dkysen- born: 16 may 2007
tracey81
19-03-2008, 09:37
:hair:hi my name is tracey i have a 1year old girl and a 7year old boy we have moved to bundaberg from sa we know no one hear an i'm looking 4 somthing for my littel girl to do an looking to meat othere mums so if you think you can help let me no thank you an cant what to hear from you:fingerscrossed:
I have lived in Bundy all my life and find it a great place to live and bring up the kids. I guess it is hard to make new friends etc in any new town but you have to start somewhere. I have a 13 month old and we go to Kindermusik classes, Kindergym and swimming lessons. There is another playgroup at the church on McCarthy Street, I think its either Mon or Tues from 9.30am-11.30am. The beaches here are great, there are heaps of sporting groups for older kids too (I have a 10yr old) and the ski club is fantastic for anyone thats into water sports. As for the hospital, I have had both my kids there the first being 9 wks prem and they were fantastic with her, the second time round I was only there half hr when he was delivered and went home the next day but still they were great and looked after us well.
I have just discovered this website and have been reading that there are alot of Mums new to Bundy, I am also, I have 3 girls aged 1, 4 and 7, its is hard to meet people in a new town. Nothing worse than being stuck at home by yourself with the kiddies!!! We too have arrived from Brisbane in December, we love Bundy, the beaches, weather and the lifestyle is so relaxed. I am looking to get the girls into gymnastic but preferably on a Saturday, does anyone know of any? Cheers. Vjking.
:smiliedance:Hi there dreami, My family and I moved from Brisbane to Bundy about 2 1/2 years ago, its a nice quiet life, still find it hard to meet to friends, looking at playgroups now to join. Yes Bundaberg has a few issues with the hospital itself but I must say that when I had my 7mth son last year in the maternity ward it was absolutely brilliant, full attention quiet room, checked on regularly nice nurses better than brisbane mater thats for sure, now there is a new maternity ward that was built and now in use, so would be even nicer stay. Its not a bad place here at all, we were at coral cove by the sea now closer to town and school for the kids, dont believe all the rumours. Do you have family and friends here? why the move?
Hi tracy, I have a 9yr and 3yr girl and 7mth boy, been here 2yrs and still hunting for some new friends and now looking at playgroups.maybe can meet for coffee and discuss ideas? sally
hi michelle, I to have moved from brisbane to bundy about 2yrs ago now, i have 2 girls and one baby boy, I'm living in Avoca also.. would like chat and interested in meeting new friends haven't met many yet mostly busy. If you find information about that playgroup let me as I to am looking around . sally
:freakingout:to tracy 81,
I have 3kids a 9 and 3yr girls and 7mth boy, im currently hunting around for some playgroups also. Would like to meet some new friends find it bit hard up here. look forward to hearing back. sal
zaralacey
29-04-2011, 09:44
hi,
i just moved to the bundaberg area from sydney and am looking for a play group for my 4 year old boy and 2 year old girl. am also wondering if anyone knows of any sports up here that allows 4 year old to play, i thought it would be a good way to get out and met people as we are finding it difficult to meet new people.
sharon sutherland
05-05-2011, 13:01
I am SO glad to finally find a thread like this!! Hi all :-) .. my name is Sharon, my husband and i are moving to the Bundy area very soon when our current house in Melbourne sells. We have 2 children and are looking for a fresh start. We do not know a single person in QLD and i am TERRIFIED of being a loner, lol. My son is just about to turn 5 and is currently in kinder here, but with the cut off dates being different there i will need to be finding him a school to start at pretty much straight away .. does anyone know of any highly recommended schools? I am personally in love with Moore Park State School but that might be too much of a hike depending on where we will be living ...
We also have a 3 year old daughter who is a real social butterfly so i will definately be wanting to find some playgroups or similar for her. Im hoping that when we get there and start getting the kids into some activities/school it will be an easy way to make friends for all of us ..
Is anyone interested in chatting more via emails or facebook about schools/playgroups/sporting activities etc .. if so .. sharonsutherland@live.com.au .. any kind of info on Bundy would be SO greatly appreciated so i could stop stressing that we are going to be a family of loners with no friends and no life!! Lol .. even info on jobs etc for my hubby, he is a Steelfixer here but is prepared to do any sort of work there. I work in childcare so will probably eventually be looking for work in a childcare centre..
Looking forward to hearing and hopefully meeting some of you soon, Sharon :-)
sharon sutherland
06-05-2011, 13:08
my facebook is being a bit silly, it's sending me messages, but not friend requests .. so if anyone wants to chat more over facebook please send me a facebook message and i will add you as a friend rather than you adding me .. cheers :-)
bubbasoley
25-05-2011, 09:51
Hi everyone, just moved to Bundaberg from Newcastle & am a first time mum to a beautiful 6 week old baby boy. We are almost ready to have our shots & venture out into the world, trouble is I don't know anybody here & everyone seems really clicky... My husband & I are in our early 20's ... He needs friends too if anyone has a hubby I can dump him with XD. I'm going out of my mind & would love to make some friends, I miss my old friends terribly & would really like to get out of the house!! :D.
sharon sutherland
26-05-2011, 05:42
Hello and congrats on a wee little baby :-) do you have an email address or facebook account? My hubby and i move there in a few months .. I'm getting very excited :-)
zaralacey
26-05-2011, 06:02
congrats on the new bub, i moved here from sydney about a month ago, my husband works on the mines so he is away all the time, i have a almost 5 year old little boy and a 2 year old little girl.. we are loving it up here but i find it really lonely as i dont really know anyone. would be great to meet some new people.
bubbasoley
26-05-2011, 11:39
Thanx guys I'm on Facebook you can add me - Zoie Soley. Really looking forward to making some friends around here!
FrancisMcG
16-06-2011, 12:27
Mira's Cafe at Bargara, (outside Bundaberg) and Francis from OasisLiving are starting a mothers group on Thursday afternoons.
We are going to have a health professional every week to talk from 2.00PM to 2.30PM and then a social time until 5PM.
Tell your friends that live local.
Address: 100 Hughes Rd, Bargara, Australia 4670 ยท Get Directions
Phone: 0741591245
sharon sutherland
09-07-2011, 10:45
Does anyone use or know of any karate or self defence classes for kids in the Bundaberg area, preferably on the Branyan-ish side of town? My son is 5 and does karate here in melb but will need to find something different when we get there next month?
And any other recommended sports really? My daughter (3 years) would probably like to start dancing
Lulubellesmumma
05-08-2011, 20:36
Hi Guys
I know its been some time since anyone has posted on here but was hoping to get some feedback from you guys!
My husband is going for a job interview (we think, still deciding this weekend) in September that most probably will result in a job (he was offered the job but had to go through the formal application process) so I'm freaking out a bit. We've lived in SA for over 14 years now and all our family (except for 1 brother in Melbourne) live here within 1 hour.
Hubby has 1 friend up there but that is it! I'd love to hear from some other mums what life is like! We currently live in a small coastal town (only 12 K people) so it would be upsizing! But are people generally friendly? Schools o.k etc?
Big Thanks in advance
From a terrified (but maybe excited!) Mum lol!
sharon sutherland
08-08-2011, 20:28
Hi lullubellesmumma, i cant be much help as i move there next week and will be finding these things out for myself. We are moving from melbourne, victoria and like you i am leaving everyone and everything i'v ever known behind .. Scary isn't it?!?!
The way i see it is you only live once so why not try, if it doesn't work theres always the option to move back :-)
When i was holidaying there last year i found the people to be friendly and good company .. Everybody was very helpful.
I have also gotten to know some lovely ladies from this chat board, hopefully they will respond and give you some feedback :-)
Cheers, sharon.
TrulyBlessed
08-08-2011, 23:06
Hi guys I've lived in Bundy on & off over the last 18year. I am glad to be living here these days (even with a prem) means I have to travel for her specialist appts every few months but I love being so close to the beach etc.
I have a 5.5yo son, a daughter turning 3 in 2 weeks & a bub turning 1 in 16days (although her corrected age is 8months). I'm on my phone ATM so feel free to PM me any questions you might have xoxo
Lulubellesmumma
09-08-2011, 09:59
Hi Sharon and Trulyblessed
thanks so much for writing back guys! I feel like I'm just consumed with Bundy fever at the moment hehe. Will be really good to actually just make the decision whether its a goer or not! My hubbys interview is 8th Sept, he's more of less been told that he's got the position already so it'll just be the formality of the head boss meeting him, making sure he's as good in person as on paper lol!!
Sharon, we sound like we've very much the same thoughts about it, I'm also thinking life is so short and precious that you need to take the leaps of faith in these things! We're looking at renting out our place so we have the flexibility to come back our house if things don't work out!
It sounds like all of our kids are very similar ages, I've got a 6 year old daughter and my other daughter is 3 next month! They both do gymnastics so I told hubby I'd definitely want them to keep going! Truly blessed, I do have questions but have no idea how to PM, bit technically challenged with these things hehe!
Anyhoo, would love to chat more my email is emlburton@yahoo.com.au, if your keen to talk more! and a bit about me, I'm 32 a Theatre nurse, 2 girls obviously and married for 11 years in November.
Thanks again! Makes a huge difference just knowing, or getting to know someone lol!
My husband has also applied for a job in Bundy, and is having an interview on Friday - so I have been looking for playgroups etc as ways to meet people if we do end up moving to Bundaberg.
We have moved a lot this past year as hubby has been moving up the corporate ladder - I have been very supportive, but it has been hard packing up and moving towns every 6-12 months, and making new friends etc.
I have a 2.5 yr old girl, and an 11 month old girl :) I am a stay at home mum, and do not work at the moment, although I used to be a teacher before becoming a SAHM.
I look forward to getting to know some of you if we do move to Bundy! :wave:
Take care,
Vicki
Lulubellesmumma
29-09-2011, 21:17
Hi Vicki
so annoyed I just wrote a long email and it got deleted!!
anyhoo, I'm Emma and I'm also a mum to two girls, 6 and 3. We are moving up to Bundaberg Oct 26 next month, no family at all and just my hubbys best mate (who is gorgeous with a gorgeous family but not my best mates obviously!)
when do you think you'll move up if your hubby gets the job? I will be working Tues - Thurs most weeks but would love to meet up Mondays and Fridays if you do come up, will be hoping to do as much social stuff as possible and we are really hoping this might be our last 'lifestyle'change as we've moved around a fair bit, and my parents have discussed moving up to us if we love it there!!
love to chat more if your keen
Emma
ByronsMum09
10-10-2011, 11:27
I have recently (1.5wks ago) moved to Bundaberg from Canberra, with my other half and our son and am looking for playgroups and/or other families to meet as we don't know anyone at the moment.
Hubby is 30, im 24 and our son is 2 and a half, we're a friendly, outgoing, fun family who primarily enjoy family activities, days at the beach/pool, playdates, visits to indoor/outdoor playgrounds etc and are generally just looking to make some friends.
littlelilahsmummy
26-10-2011, 10:42
I am a new mum of a 3 1/2 month old girl. We live in Coral Cove/Bargara. I am 24 and my husband is 34. If anyone is interested in playdates let me know.
Bye!