View Full Version : Toy Boxes
Wooden or Material?
We are going to buy a toy box but I am going for a material one as Eliza is a climbing maniac and is trying to walk so is falling over heaps so I figure softer = better but wooden looks much nicer
HELP:D
~rambox~
15-02-2007, 08:42
Wooden as they last longer and when bubs is leaning right over trying to get a toy from the bottom it doesnt tip :thumbsup:
blueangel
15-02-2007, 08:50
I agree wooden. The material ones seem to lose there shape, mine is always falling over! Wooden is a lot more sturdy and will last longer.
KapowSchazam
15-02-2007, 12:18
I have a wooden one for DD. If your DD is pulling herself up on things, I would be worried about her trying to pull herself up on a material one, and fall when it doesn't hold her. The wooden ones are usually very safe.
We have a Boori toybox (http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r292/NayBobBianca/P1160206.jpg), it's got a slow close lid and a gap for air, in case she decides it's a good idea to hide in her toybox one day! :rolleyes:
15-02-2007, 12:28
I'm another one to agree to the wooden ones. We brought a wooden one when Summer was a few weeks old and it is still in perfectly good condition. They last so much longer and are so much stronger than any other ones.
I have wicker ones. when I have more money I will be getting the kids a boori one each, to match their beds:yes:(which will also be bought when Im rich lol)
I figure when they get older the boxes can be used for linen etc
~mia&ryan~
15-02-2007, 13:48
I agree with wooden!:thumbsup:
sam's mum
15-02-2007, 16:54
I have a wooden one for DD. If your DD is pulling herself up on things, I would be worried about her trying to pull herself up on a material one, and fall when it doesn't hold her. The wooden ones are usually very safe.
We have a Boori toybox (http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r292/NayBobBianca/P1160206.jpg), it's got a slow close lid and a gap for air, in case she decides it's a good idea to hide in her toybox one day! :rolleyes:
I agree, we have got a soft dirty clothes basket in the bathroom. Sam just assumed that he could grab it and walk holding it. He went splat and hit his head on the tiles... big bruise and lots of tears (from me too)
Wooden :yes:! So much more stronger and long lasting.
mumofcaleb
15-02-2007, 17:10
The toy boxes we bought are plastic Elmo ones with Seasame Street Characters all over them. They seem to be doing the job fine. I would have liked to have a couple of wooden ones but they cost too much!
wow, wooden it is then I like the idea of a slow closing lid and a gap, I know what I was like as a kid :D
15-02-2007, 17:14
I use a clam shell as my toy box.
Geez, the dilemmas we face eh Pix?
Wooden for us, but that's because it was bought as a gift when he was born.
subaruforestermum
15-02-2007, 17:24
My son has 3 big 60 litre plastic storage boxes full, I just leave the lids off, and they have wheels for easy moving (he doesnt know this yet.....:laughing: )...I like to change things around all the time, so makes it so much easier..now if only his bookshelf had wheels:rolleyes: ....lol
He doesnt get fingers stuck, and its easy for him to put his toys away and see the toys down the bottom that usually get forgotten about......
And cheaper too.......
presently her's are in a plastic tub and a veggie cardboard box...:D she likes it :D
15-02-2007, 19:30
I bought a couple of big plastic buckets from Bunnings. They are great. Not too deep (dd climbs in no worries) and safe :thumbsup:
pinkandblue
15-02-2007, 19:40
My son has 3 big 60 litre plastic storage boxes full, I just leave the lids off, and they have wheels for easy moving (he doesnt know this yet.....:laughing: )...I like to change things around all the time, so makes it so much easier..now if only his bookshelf had wheels:rolleyes: ....lol
He doesnt get fingers stuck, and its easy for him to put his toys away and see the toys down the bottom that usually get forgotten about......
And cheaper too.......
Yep we have these too.
Natalie