View Full Version : Plastibell Circumcision: Information, Links, & Resources

MotherNurture
14-02-2007, 08:50
I thought it might help to compile this information into one helpful thread. :)

---

The belief that Plastibell doesn't require cutting and is virtually painless is a myth, despite the fact that Dr. Russell's website (http://www.russellmedical.com.au/Plastibell.htm) conveniently (and dishonestly) omits this step. If you google, "plastibell pictures" or "plastibell video" you will see cutting is very much part of the procedure. You can view drawings from the manufacturer HERE (http://www.kelleycom.com/images/articles/circum.jpg). Another drawing, showing how a Plastibell circumcision is done, HERE (http://www.circumcisionquotes.com/images/plastibeldrawhow.jpg).

Also, from experience assisting with newborn circumcisions there are several points where the foreskin is torn or cut during the plastibell method:

1. When the foreskin is forcefully stretched open---this is very traumatic and causes tears at the tip.

2. When a blunt probe or scissors is introduced between the foreskin and the glans to tear the adhered structures apart.

3. When a dorsal slit is clamped and cut to introduce the plastibell device.

4. When the foreskin is trimmed after the ligature is tied.

Those reading may also want to google "necrotizing fasciitis circumcision", a very severe, horrific complication associated with the Plastibell method specifically. Within the first few links you should be able to find reprints of the journal article, complete with photographs.

Some people still insist that the foreskin isn't cut during the Plastibell method, the foreskin is 'just retracted' to place the device, as if it that in itself was no big deal, and I recalled the words of the AAP (http://www.medem.com/MedLB/article_detaillb.cfm?article_ID=ZZZRNBDTODD&sub_cat=108)with regard to forced, premature retraction of the foreskin: "Forcing the foreskin to retract before it is ready may severely harm the penis and cause pain, bleeding and tears in the skin."

It disturbs me to no end that the Plastibell method is still presented by many as some sort of kinder, gentler procedure-it's nothing of the sort. In fact, the glans is just as raw (from forceful separation of the foreskin and glans which are adhered-literally, fused-at birth) but unlike the gomco and mogen methods, no vasoline is used so, guess what? There is no barrier ointment to keep urine from coming in direct contact with the red, raw, weepy glans during the healing period -AND- plastibell circumcisions are notoriously looser, increasing the risk of penile adhesions.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?cmd=Retrieve&db=PubMed&list_uids=10893633&dopt=Abstract

The Sentient Circle has released a groundbreaking new film aimed at illuminating future parents on the impacts of conscious conception, pregnancy and birth. In this stunningly beautiful feature titled “Birth As We Know It” (1hr, 15 minutes), Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova (Director) shares her experiences as one of the co-creators of the “Conscious Birth” movement in Russia during the early 1980's. It included a very effective birth preparation program which culminated in summer birth-camps at the Black Sea where women gave birth to their babies in warm shallow lagoons.

The movie features eleven natural births, including home birth, water birth, birth of twins, breech delivery and an astounding self-birth by Tanya Sargunas - a world renouned Spiritual Midwife and pioneer of Conscious Birth in Russia. The midwife community calls this film "the most profound and comprehensive guide to conscious birth in the world", because it delivers a powerful transmission of what it really takes to give birth consciously and gracefully.

Also featured are informative interviews on topics rarely discussed, such as the Sexuality of Childbirth, Circumcision and Limbic Imprinting, and conveys its message in a non-intrusive, wonderfully inspirational way.

BirthAsWeKnowIt.Com

There's an excellent video clip from "Birth As We Know It" available on the mgmbill.org website, which discusses circumcision in the context of birth trauma, explains the functions of the foreskin, and shows a plastibell circumcision procedure.

TO VIEW THE CLIP:

-Go to mgmbill.org

-Click on "Multimedia" in the left hand column.

-Scroll down to "Birth As We Know It: Circumcision" near the bottom.

-Click on the image of the toy rabbit sitting in the basinett, it will take you to a page where the (almost 5 minute) clip will play automatically for most people.

(You can also download it in WMV format, or if you're on a mac you can view it on YouTube (link provided).)

As a birth assistant and childbirth educator I first saw this film at a screening in August, at the International Symposium for Circumcision, Human Rights, and Genital Integrity in Seattle. It was absolutely awe-inspiring and by far the most spectacular and professionally done birth video I've seen to date. It is very exciting and generous of Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova to make this clip available for free public viewing through mgmbill.org. Thanks, Elena!!!

In addition, parents should be aware that Dr. Russell-notorious Queensland circumciser-has had diciplinary action taken against him. Basically, he took advantage of his circumcison patients by inappropriately diagnosing and treating tongue-tie to make more $$$ off of them.

Dr Charles Terence Russell,
General Practitioner, Qld

Dr Russell practiced at Macgregor and Browns Plains in Queensland during the referral period of 1 January 1999 to 31 December 1999 inclusive.

In relation to the rendering of MBS item 30278 (repair of tongue-tie) Dr Russell's conduct was found by the committee to be unacceptable to the general body of general practitioners. In the majority of services examined, the patients had seen Dr Russell for circumcision procedures. He subsequently performed repairs to tongue-ties. Given this pattern, the committee was concerned that while parents consulted with Dr Russell for circumcisions, he opportunistically diagnosed tongue-tie. The committee found there were no clinical indications for the services.

The services were examined in accordance with an approved sampling methodology which resulted in a finding that 90 per cent of MBS item 30278 services rendered by Dr Russell during the referral period were inappropriate. The committee detailed its reasons in a final report to the Determining Authority. Dr Russell did not make a submission on the draft determination. The Authority issued a final determination directing that Dr Russell be reprimanded, counselled and repay $4 488.88. The determination came into effect on 13 February 2004.

The source of this information is the

Letter of Transmittal, Professional Services Review (http://www.psr.gov.au/docs/publications/PSRAR04.rtf)

Presented to the Hon. Tony Abbott MHR
Minister for Health and Ageing
Parliament House
Canberra on 5 October 2004

Jen

MotherNurture
23-03-2007, 15:57
Just bumping for mama2be. :)

Jen

prideNJoy
23-03-2007, 17:43
OMFG....i just watched that 'Birth as we know it" video clip of an infant being circumsised. Can you tell me if it really takes that long to do the procedure. I always thought it was something that took a matter of seconds!!! In the midst of nearly balling my eyes and dry retching it was a very quick decison that im relieved to have made :crying: ...to not get my son circumsised (when he arrives) i think i'll leave it alone until he is old enough to decide whether he likes it like his daddy's or the other way! pheww thats a load of my shoulders....

Aquamarine
23-03-2007, 17:50
I couldn't bare to watch it:no:

There is NO way I would have circumcised my boys before and NO way I would now!

Thanks for showing us the facts

MotherNurture
24-03-2007, 00:58
Circumcision usually takes 5-l0 minutes; using local anesthesia adds time to the procedure, which, according to medical organizations like the AAP *is* worth it because it's clearly a painful procedure, and even if they don't consciously remember it, it upsets their entire physiology.

Here's what Dr. Sears has to say:

Does it hurt?
Yes, it hurts. The skin of the penis of a newborn baby has pain receptors completely sensitive to clamping and cutting. The myth that newborns do not feel pain came from the observation that newborns sometimes withdraw into a deep sleep toward the end of the operation. This does not mean that they do not feel pain. Falling into a deep sleep is a retreat mechanism, a withdrawal reaction as a consequence of overwhelming pain. Not only does circumcision cause pain in the penis, the newborns over all physiology is upset. New research shows that during unanaesthetized circumcision, stress hormones rise, the heart rate speeds, and valuable blood oxygen diminishes. Babies should never be subjected to the shock of unanaesthetized circumcision.

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/10/t101500.asp

I agree, the video is upsetting. The procedure is upsetting. Circumcision is upsetting.

Trust your instincts...

why empowered women choose not to circumcise
by aubrey taylor

Circumcision? What on earth does circumcision have to do with being an empowered woman?

...Even a woman’s faith may be questioned if circumcision is perceived as a religious necessity. She doesn’t want to appear as though she is going against her religion. All of these pressures may make a woman feel as though it’s not her place to interfere with the issue of circumcision, and she finds it difficult to assert herself feeling less than empowered. However, a mothers’ first job is to protect, because infants cannot speak for themselves, so circumcision most certainly is her business. Taking a stand against your mate, doctor, or religious peers is without a doubt a challenge. Again it takes a woman with strength and courage to overcome such situations.

An empowered woman is educated, refuses to believe myth, is strong, moral, and she stands up for herself and the defenseless; it takes all of these things to say no to circumcision. For those empowered women who aren’t faced with making this particular decision, they will have the same qualities: refuse to continue to be a catalyst for the perpetuation of a harmful practice against the defenseless.

http://www.wnc-woman.com/0405circumcise.html

Jen

ImSethsMum
18-04-2007, 18:22
I just wanted to add a comment about the tongue tie issue raised about Dr Russell. Both my nephews were born VERY tongue tied and in both cases had trouble feeding (lost alot of weight). The peadiatricians my sister took them too (she got 3 different opinions for bub#1 and two opinions for #2) and both recommended getting their tongue tie 'cut', and all pead's referred her to Dr Russell. He only performed the tongue tie cuts and did a fantastic job allowing both boys to feed properly and start gaining weight.

I think that alot of people who get tongue tie referals to Dr Russell would argue that he did a good job. Alot may be wanting circ's done also and therefore get both done by Dr Russell. Sometimes stats can be misleading.

MotherNurture
20-04-2007, 01:39
I think that alot of people who get tongue tie referals to Dr Russell would argue that he did a good job. Alot may be wanting circ's done also and therefore get both done by Dr Russell. Sometimes stats can be misleading.

The issue with Dr. Russel, as far as I understand, is not that he's botching tongue tie surgeries, it's that he was performing them unnecessarily on his little circumcision patients at an astronomically high rate just to increase his profits---which is why he was diciplined. Parents considering having their sons circumcised by him should be made aware that he has a history of acting unethically.

What else might he do or not do to make or save $$$?

Jen

20-04-2007, 20:55
Falling into a deep sleep is a retreat mechanism, a withdrawal reaction as a consequence of overwhelming pain.

Thanks Jen, I really value all Dr Sear's stuff as I find him so wonderfully informative, non-judgemental and he just has a huge love for working with babies, toddlers and children (he has a fair few himself!!) I hadn't come across this myself before and how I am KICKING MYSELF very VERY hard that I didn't have something like this on the tip of my bl**dy tounge when I have had parents at playgroup/mum's group/one particular dinner party tell me me: "it was so quick and easy that he/she even fell asleep!!" and "I didn't go in but the doctor said he/she didn't even cry!"

I did know a little bit about it from Sheila Kitzinger though, now I come to think about it- but had forgotton... I love her stuff too :yes:

MotherNurture
21-04-2007, 05:14
I did know a little bit about it from Sheila Kitzinger though, now I come to think about it- but had forgotton... I love her stuff too :yes:

Ooooh, I love Sheila Kitzinger...her books are full of such wonderful information and breathtaking photographs. Truly awe-inspiring. :)

Jen

mumx3littlies
18-05-2007, 08:05
I couldn't bare to watch it:no:

There is NO way I would have circumcised my boys before and NO way I would now!

Thanks for showing us the facts

I cudnt finish watching it either! Came close to :barf: up my brekkie. Have people that have circumcised their sons actually watched this type of footage? I dont understand how you cud bring a beautiful baby into the world and have this as one of the earliest things inflicted upon them.:gloomy: Everyone has the right to their own opinions etc and this is only MY OPINION on the matter.

Can I?
25-05-2007, 10:56
Yes there are some extreem cases, but most circucision procedures go fine with no complications.

Do you have the stats to back that up?

Can I?
25-05-2007, 12:17
Anecdotal evidence and statistics are not the same thing.

Circumcised boys have a 9-10% chance of developing meatal stenosis and a 71% chance of developing penile adhesions if they are circumcised in the first year of life. And those are just the more common and less life threatening complications.

Do you know any men that have had problems or regret the procedure or blame their parents for having it done?
Do you know any men that wish they still had their bit of saggy skin hanging off them and have grown up with all these issues you all seem to think everyone man has or will aquire of not having a forskin?

Yes...and yes. I don't know at least one man who wishes he hadn't been circumcised and is at least a little angry that his parents took it upon themselves to do that to him.

Stats? Let me see what I can find.

Can I?
25-05-2007, 12:30
Emotional distress, manifesting as intrusive thoughts about one’s circumcision, included feelings of mutilation (60%), low self-esteem/inferiority to intact men (50%), genital dysmorphia (55%), rage (52%), resentment/depression (59%), violation (46%), or parental betrayal (30%). Many respondents (41%) reported that their physical/emotional suffering impeded emotional intimacy with partner(s), resulting in sexual dysfunction. For some,lack of compassion from parents, siblings or friends fostered bitter interpersonal conflict or alienation. Almost a third of respondents (29%) reported dependence on substances or behaviors to relieve their suffering (tobacco, alcohol, drugs, food and/or sexual compulsivity).

From this article http://www.noharmm.org/bju.htm
which was a survey of over 300 men in the 1990's.

xkwzit
25-05-2007, 12:52
I think that this is drifting into a general circ yes / no argument. Please keep to the OP, which relates specifically to the plastibell method - information, links and resources, not just circ in general.

Posts could be from either side of the circumcision discussion, but should be about the plastibell method.

MotherNurture
28-05-2007, 11:24
I think these are made out to be far worse than they really are. Yes there are some extreem cases, but most circucision procedures go fine with no complications.

MN do you ever get sick of defending 'your side'?

In answer to your question, no, I really do not. Intact, whole, healthy bodies are a natural state. They're the standard, not the exception. There's really not much to defend, when you think about it like that...no more than an earlobe or pinky finger or clitoris.

A complication of every amputation is the loss of the body part being excised, in the case of circumcision the foreskin and it's many protective, sexual, and immunological functions. Unless there's a solid medical indication for denying a sensitive, functional body part to a non-consenting child (a future, autonomous adult capable of making their own choice, for their own body), I think that's quite unfortunate.

If you google "plastibell complication" or "plastibell complications" you'll encounter a disturbing list of possibilities including something called "necrotizing fasciitis". Beware of the pictures...

Jen