View Full Version : Bendigo
Yummy_Mummy
09-05-2008, 21:50
im good whenever everyone else is :) in technically on uni holidays but have some exams & tests to do plus present some seminars...
Im happy with when is good for everyone else because i dont have to get any kids organised or anything as mine comes with me hehehe
♥PurpleStar♥
11-05-2008, 21:16
Im good for anyday :thumbsup:
I hope you all had a great mothers day :hugs::hugs:
sillysideup
12-05-2008, 14:33
Hi there. Just thought I'd pop in and say G'day again - it's been a while. We had our 3rd little girl last month (she is now nearly 4 weeks) so life has been busy busy. I have 3 under 4 atm!! Hope all is well with all the Bendigo and surrounding bods!!
Yummy_Mummy
12-05-2008, 17:36
congrats on the new born silly :D
♥PurpleStar♥
13-05-2008, 09:38
Sillysideup a HUGE congratualations on the arrival for you new baby girl!!
OMG its cold in the mornings:eek: Brrrr
How is everyone else going?
:hugs: to everyone Bel
merlottes
13-05-2008, 21:20
Congrats on the birth of your little girl Silly
♥PurpleStar♥
14-05-2008, 10:41
Hey GNB how are you?? Aww love your new avvy hun :thumbsup:
merlottes
14-05-2008, 22:19
:wave:Hi Bel thanks how are all you gang going?we've had colds here poor things but besides that we are good
♥PurpleStar♥
19-05-2008, 17:11
Hey darl, Im have a shocker cold at the moment :( Kids are starting to get it too.:rolleyes::(
♥PurpleStar♥
26-05-2008, 10:05
Happy Monday everyone :wave:
How are you all?? All good here except I still have this darn cough!!
YAY the sun is shining today so I will be doing washing washing and maybe some more washing oh what fun :laughing:
Kids are in daycare today so I might even have some me time (shopping in peace) :yelclap:
:hugs: to you all
Bel xoxo
Yummy_Mummy
26-05-2008, 11:17
Hi there :D
how awesome is this weather :D i hope winter is like this for the whole thing :)
So how is everyone? not much happening here just plodding along doing uni & being pregnant the usual :p
merlottes
30-05-2008, 22:53
:wave:Evening all
How are we all going?
The girls have had gasto so lots of fun here
Hope everyone has a good weekend
♥PurpleStar♥
01-06-2008, 19:52
Hi GB Sorry to hear you girls have been sick :( Hope they are feeling better soon.
Not much happening here, was the exs weekend with the kids so I had a a night on the drinks with my bestie :D
The little ones are now in bed and DD#1 is watching tv:smiliedance:
What has everyone go planned for the week?
Hi How are you all?
Ethan has just turned 2 years old and Locke is 5 months old it is hard work it will be good when they get older.
Does any one meet up on here.
mum01030408
05-06-2008, 11:36
Hi All!:wave:
Would it be too rude to crash your thread and say good to see the Bendigo girls with their own little forum home!
I grew up in Bendigo, left in 1998, spent 10 years in Melbourne, married, had 3 children, and moved back to Bendigo 7 weeks ago. (long Story)
I have 3 sons, and our 4th child is due in August. I am a SAHM.
DS#1 is in Grade 1
DS#2 is at Kinder
DS#3 is still at home.
Be nice to chat to the locals, and see if I know any of you - From what I have read, I think I am a bit older than most of you though, I see a few mid 20's girls out there....
Thanks for reading, sorry for babbling!
Erica:)
ooo this thread is finally gaining momentum now!!!!
Hi to everyone, and welcome to all the newbies!!!
I will have to make sure I pop in here more often now;)
♥PurpleStar♥
05-06-2008, 17:53
Hi Kleiny We have talked about a meet up but nothing has be set yet.
Welcome Erica Blabber away all you want LOL
Hi hercy good to see you back, how is you little man going?
All going good here, wow the nights are getting cold!! I just can't get over the fact that the year is almost half over:eek: Were oh were does the time go!!
:hugs: To everyone
Bel xoxo
merlottes
10-06-2008, 16:45
Welcome mum01030408 and welcome back Herchy
How was everyones long weekend?
We just had a quiet one. Must say i love this rain :rain:the girls were out in the puddles before.
:hugs: to all
♥PurpleStar♥
12-06-2008, 12:15
Hey Mel
Yes bring on more rain I say
We should get a meet up organised?? Anyone??:D
Yummy_Mummy
12-06-2008, 17:32
oh the rain has been great but it didnt last long enough :p
yeah im happy to help organise a meet up but next week from 16th-20th i have uni exams so i cant meet but after that i am happy with :)
merlottes
19-06-2008, 11:53
Where is everyone ????
Well not much has been going on here i've had a headache for a week now :fingerscrossed: it will go away soon
Meet up when, where, with who ? :laughing:
Yummy_Mummy
19-06-2008, 15:17
i havent been on for awhile as i have exams this week but after tomorrow i am free women :D
so are we going to organise a meet?
♥PurpleStar♥
22-06-2008, 14:15
Where is everyone ????
Well not much has been going on here i've had a headache for a week now :fingerscrossed: it will go away soon
Meet up when, where, with who ? :laughing:
Oh no hun :hugs: Hope you feel better soon:hugs:
How does K/flat McDonalds sound for a meet up. It easy to get to and there is lots of room for kids to run around and play :thumbsup:
Im free anyday any time so just let me know when.
it would be great to meet other mother ethan goes to child care on tuesday and fridays so those days are out for me the other days are fine.
Hope to catch you all soon.
♥PurpleStar♥
30-06-2008, 08:59
Morning everyone
Im loving this rain we are getting this morning:thumbsup:
Hope everyone is well
:hugs: Bel
Yummy_Mummy
30-06-2008, 16:30
the rain didnt last long enough IMO hehehe
how is everyone? im hating the cold weather :p but besides that im good
♥PurpleStar♥
03-07-2008, 07:59
No it didn't last long enought hey :(
Brrrr I thought it was going to snow the other day:(
Not much happening here kids are making me:hair: Im over school holidays already LOL
♥PurpleStar♥
05-07-2008, 08:59
Hope everyone is well
DD#2 is on her way to Melb with my mum to see Disney On Ice today:yelclap:
Im about to take DD#1 and DS out for breakfast to the pancake parlor YUMMO!!:D
Have a great weekend all
:hugs::hugs:
bellaicious
09-07-2008, 21:23
Hello I'm new here SAHM to a 3 and 2 year old boys...also have a 13 yr old girl and 8 yr old who live with there dad in NSW. I'm about to get married in about 5 weeks time. Hope everyone is well. I'm thinking I might know PurpleStar.:p Anyway keep warm.:thumbsup:
Yummy_Mummy
10-07-2008, 12:03
Welcome Bella :)
so i have been thinking..does anyone want to meet up next week? i know we keep talking about it but i think we should put it into action :D
OMG its hailing as we speak
the rain is great but it is so cold.
I am happy to meet up with you all.
where and when.
♥PurpleStar♥
17-07-2008, 09:42
Hello Bellaicious;):D
Im free any day but preffer Mondays.
How does Beechworth bakery sound??
Yummy_Mummy
17-07-2008, 22:15
well im also free on Mondays & Tuesdays as i dont have uni :D
im happy with anywhere that is warm & dry hehehe
♥PurpleStar♥
19-07-2008, 20:13
How about next monday (the 28th), beechworth bakery at 11am ??
Yummy_Mummy
20-07-2008, 11:06
im up for that :D count me & the belly in hehehe
I can't make it i am going to the movies to see Kung fu panda at the nursery time at the cinemas with my son.
I hope it will be good
♥PurpleStar♥
21-07-2008, 22:38
Oh my kids love Kung fo Panda, so do I. We have it on dvd:D
Anyone else??
Yummy_Mummy
22-07-2008, 08:40
im going to have to see Kung Fu panda..its looks sooo funny :D
♥PurpleStar♥
22-07-2008, 16:16
Its awesome and so funny. Its the one movie all my kids will sit still and watch all the way through. :)
merlottes
22-07-2008, 22:53
I would love to but not next monday just started back a school and monday is only day off so i already made a play date on it. but mondays are good just let me know a few weeks a head of time
♥PurpleStar♥
23-07-2008, 08:12
I would love to but not next monday just started back a school and monday is only day off so i already made a play date on it. but mondays are good just let me know a few weeks a head of time
:crying::hissy::crying::hissy::crying:
Yummy_Mummy
24-10-2008, 09:43
BUMP! :D
thought i would bump this one up :D sorry i havent been on for awhile but i have been flat out with uni & getting everything organised for bubs..so does anyone want to meet up in the near future? or just before christmas? :)
ComeBackKid
24-10-2008, 12:53
I dont live in Bendigo - sorry to gatecrash your thread, i didnt know where else to post.
But we are thinking of maybe moving out to Bendigo sometime in the future and just wanted to say hi.
Where are you guys from around Bendigo? Do you meet up? What is it like?
Ta
Madeleine
Yummy_Mummy
24-10-2008, 15:12
Hey Madeleine
nice to meet you :) do you know when you are looking at moving to Bendigo? if so what areas are you looking at? Bendigo is quite nice, i like living here as we have everything & its not too far to go to Melb if we want or to the beach :D
ComeBackKid
24-10-2008, 20:50
Hi!!
Thanks for replying. I dont know exactly when we are moving - still in the planning stages!! It might be a long term plan or soon. I have had a few issues with DP and we have recently separated. We have talked about moving to Bendigo, so it might be in a year or so when we get our stuff sorted out or me and the kids might move up there and he join us later?
I guess my big concern is that I dont drive so I dont want to be isolated? What is the public transport system like?
I was thinking of living probably as close to the heart of Bendigo as possible, again just so as not isolated.
Congrats on your jellybean btw!
Yummy_Mummy
25-10-2008, 08:33
there are plenty of transport around here..the buses tend to run approx every 30 mins to & from town so its easy to get around :) the parking in town is horrible so i avoid driving in there anyway so i catch a bus but it sucks when i do alot of shopping hehehe
there are many nice suburbs around bendigo that have easy accept to buses :) like Quarry Hill, California Gully, Kangaroo Flat (is like its own little town with a shopping centre which i believe will be expanding soon) just to name a few! :D
Thanks :D i cant wait to finally meet the little jellybean but everything has happened soo quickly but i think the last few weeks will drag on :p
Its nice to meet you :)
Yummy_Mummy
02-11-2008, 18:54
does anyone want to meet up before christmas??
ooo this thread does still exist!!!
I tried to search for it a few months ago and couldn't find it.
Is anyone still out there?
Yummy_Mummy
13-11-2008, 15:38
im still here :D
proudnewmum2b
20-12-2008, 18:45
My name is Samantha and I live in Swan Hill, and am due to be having my first baby in 7w 4d :eek:
I am in a bit of shock that we will actually get to meet this little one, DH and I have 2 Angel Babies watching over us, so this lil one is a miracle!
I have Dr. Cullen as my OB, and will meet him for the first time on the 30th of December, I'm a little worried though, seems he isnt very nice.
I want to deliver naturally even though I am a plus sized mummy and will fight him for the right to do so, if he doesnt like it i'll demand just midwives, stuff him.
I hope some of you are still out there!!!
Lots of Love
Sami
Yummy_Mummy
20-12-2008, 21:47
Hi Sam :) nice to meet you
congrats on your little bundle of joy that is due shortly :) i had Dr Cullen as my ob & i only had one appointment with him. Thankfully i didnt need him at the birth which was 4 weeks ago tomorrow because everything went smoothly :D
Im still here even though many people dont talk back these days but i guess its busy with christmas & stuff
Electric Rodeo
20-12-2008, 21:56
Hi girls,:wave:
I'm not from Bendigo but am hoping some of you could help me with a Bendigo question.
I am organising a friends hen's night there in a few weeks. We have booked a room at the Foundry to start. Even though most of you would have kiddies I suspect and don't get out much perhaps, does anyone happen to know where good places to go in Bendigo are on a Sat night. We are a bunch of ladies around age 30:( but wanting somewhere to embarrass the bride:D
very hard to organise a night out when you don't live in a town but anyway should be fun nonetheless. Hope someone can help:)
merlottes
01-01-2009, 10:58
Happy new year to all
Silver_Lining
23-01-2009, 10:52
Hi girls,:wave:
I'm not from Bendigo but am hoping some of you could help me with a Bendigo question.
I am organising a friends hen's night there in a few weeks. We have booked a room at the Foundry to start. Even though most of you would have kiddies I suspect and don't get out much perhaps, does anyone happen to know where good places to go in Bendigo are on a Sat night. We are a bunch of ladies around age 30:( but wanting somewhere to embarrass the bride:D
very hard to organise a night out when you don't live in a town but anyway should be fun nonetheless. Hope someone can help:)
Hi there!
Just wandering if you've had the Hens night yet? If not I'm happy to give you a couple of suggestions :)
Electric Rodeo
23-01-2009, 11:14
Hi there!
Just wandering if you've had the Hens night yet? If not I'm happy to give you a couple of suggestions :)
Thanks for that, but we had it last Saturday. Had a great night and just went by local knowledge once we were actually there.
Thanks again:flowerz:
ComeBackKid
27-01-2009, 22:42
Hi all! (especially you trini!) lol
first off CONGRATULATIONS on your bub!!
I have moved to bendigo - we are living in strathdale. dont get much time on the net -look at the ridiculous hour but would love to chat or catch up (i know that might be too muchw itha newborn!)
hope everything is going well
Yummy_Mummy
08-02-2009, 20:56
IS EVERYONE OK AFTER THE FIRES??
we could see the flames from our house (the one is specimen hill rd)
exhethia
22-02-2009, 13:58
Hi all! :D
Hope everyone and their bubs/soon to be bubs are all happy and healthy!
Just wondering...I've only just joined the hub today and was curious if anyone was from the Echuca/Rochy area? I grew up in Bgo so get back there lots, but am living in echuca now. :)
Natt XO
I'm just new to bub hub (and can I say what a fantastic website!) and I'm moving to sunny Bendigo in a few months and would love to get to know some mums up there. I'm also new to this whole forum thing so you will have to bear with me!
Yummy_Mummy
23-02-2009, 13:57
sunny bendigo? hahaha sorry i found that funny, dont ask why hehe its cr@ppy weather here usually..either too hot or too cold IMO :p
nice to meet you & would love to catch up when u come
Every time I visit Bendigo it seems to be beautiful and sunny so I just assumed it was always like that!
Yummy_Mummy
25-02-2009, 08:56
lol you come on good day hahahah
nah its not too bad but usually is from one extreme to the next but i love it here :D
Hi there, I was wondering if anyone had kiddies at kindergarten. I'm about to do enrolement for my 4 year old and I have no idea which kinder to send her to. We live in White Hills so I'm tossing up between the Airport Kinder, White Hills and Epsom. Does anyone have kiddies at these centres? Any feedback would be appreciated.
Yummy_Mummy
03-04-2009, 11:45
Sorry i dont have any kids in Kinder but i know about the ones in Kangaroo Flat & golden Sqaure! maybe look in the phone book under the Kindergartens & give them a call to have a look through
Yummy_Mummy
02-07-2009, 22:30
**raises hand**
i am :D
Me too :D
Although this cold weather is making me want to just stay in bed all day :laughing:
Hi, just bumping this up. We just moved to Bendigo, and don't really know anyone yet. Am finding it hard to find playgroups (read near impossible) for my LO to go to. If anyone knows of one please please please let me know :)
Also can anyone recommend a child health nurse. I went to take her to her 12 month recently and wasn't terribly impressed with that one. I was told by someone that you really have to shop around for the good ones around here, and was hoping for some recommendations.
Also good activities to do here? I haven't made the library sessions yet, got her in swim classes, and have been to the fun factory. Really I'm trying to find some organised activities for her and a chance to meet people for me.
(sorry for the 20 questions, just finding it all a bit frustrating)
Yummy_Mummy
16-09-2009, 18:44
Hey there :) what area of Bendigo do you live? because the child health nurse will depend on what area you are from as we each have our own nurses for the area :D
How old is you little one? there is also kids city in Kangaroo flat..ummm i will think of some other things
Hi to you too :)
We are in Strathdale. I thought we could go to other areas to see different nurses?
My DD is 13 months :O She somehow became a toddler during the move and has been going a bit stir crazy with the packing/moving and all that "stuff". I feel so bad, like I have put her life on hold for months.
I've just managed to get her into a playgroup- after literally months of searching. :smiliedance:Will not start until next term, but it is a good start.
She used to go to kindergym. Would love to find something like that, but apparently the gymbaroo here just closed down :( Does anyone know of anything else like that?.
Yummy_Mummy
29-09-2009, 18:59
sorry it took so long to reply but i have been flat out with my uni placement & wedding plans
Im not too sure about going to other areas because when my DD was born we got allocated to the area we live in :) ummm i will have a think about what else might be similar
ShysMumma
09-10-2009, 11:29
I'm living in Castlemaine , anyone else still in C/maine ? I have an-almost 17 month old little girl :)
Yummy_Mummy
14-10-2009, 11:02
Hello :)
Im from Bendigo but its not too far :D i have a 10 month old
skyla6161
05-01-2010, 20:34
Hi, Im from Bendigo, and have a 4yo daughter and i'm pregnant again. Seem to forgotten everything about being pregnant though... Hope to chat to some Mums on here for some guidance.:yelclap:
Hi and welcome.
Should get this thread going again!!
Yummy_Mummy
14-01-2010, 15:37
def should get it going again :D
alexsmum06
24-01-2010, 20:33
Hi, have lived in Bendigo for nearly a year and thought it time to meet some new people. :wave:
Have a 3 year old boy, Alex. Will be getting him into playgroup soon so I'll have to get my finger out and find one. Always hard to meet new people. :yes:
blondelizzard
27-01-2010, 19:22
Who's up for a meet up one day then? Now that the craziness of Christmas is done...
I'm actually about an hour from Bendigo, on the way to Kerang, but I always come into Bendigo to go shopping etc.
I'd be up for a meet if anyone else was keen :)
Yummy_Mummy
29-01-2010, 20:10
i would be up for a meet up :)
Herchy, i just read your first post and thought :eek: "herchy is preggas and shes due at the same time as me....awesome"....:laughing:. then i realized it was 2007. :laughing:
yeah, thought i would crash and say that. i live in Geelong by the by.
haha NO MORE FOR ME!!!! No way dude. haha.
A meet sounds good ladies. Any ideas?
Juststarting
26-02-2010, 19:42
Hi I'm from bendigo too, just realised this section existed.
Any of you ladies going private? I'm with Dr Roseler and just booked a doula. Not sure if that'll cause probs with the ob and midwives but i hope not. Dont think I'll say anything before d-day.
Hope your all doing well!
Hi there juststarting. I had Peter for my 2 kids and I think it would better to be honest with him from the start about the Doula. He'd be pretty peeved if you didn't tell him and just sprung it on him on the day. His midwives are absolutely lovely and I think they would be very supportive of the Doula? Are you booked into Mt Alvernia? When you have your meeting with Jenny there it might be worth telling her too so that they know too? Thats just my thoughts about it all. The staff at the hospital were all lovely and I really enjoyed my experience with Peter and the hospital. Good luck with your upcoming birth.
MumToMissB
02-03-2010, 20:42
Hi ladies, I hope you don't mind me popping in. My name's Claire and have just moved to Bendigo from Melbourne. I have a 15 month old girl and while I've joined a couple of playgroups here I'm finding it really hard to meet new people. I would love to catch up if anyone is interested? How about a playdate in a park or something? Any takers??? :)
ComeBackKid
29-08-2010, 23:27
Hi again everyone!!!!
Anyone still out there???
Yummy_Mummy
30-08-2010, 09:31
Hey :)
Hello!!!
I'm here! I was thinking about this thread over the weekend... I'd love to get in touch with you all again!
sarahkilpatrick
08-09-2010, 20:40
Hi Bendigo ladies,
I have just moved up here from Geelong with my three kids 2,4, and 6 . Not finding it that easy to meet people so far. Any suggestions for playgroups etc. we are in Junortoun.
Sarah
Hi Sarah and Welcome!
Not sure about playgroups in the junoutoun area.... Maybe call a MCHN. There is one in Strathdale at the Helen Jessen CC Centre - Crook ST. (Have a squizz in the phone book).
Sorry I haven't been around. We had to evacuate our home due to the floods on Monday afternoon and we're hoping we can get home tonight if the water has come down enough on our roads. It's been a crazy week!
sarahkilpatrick
13-09-2010, 21:27
Hi, Hope you got home safely. Finding the kindergarten system here quite frustrating! seems like there are not enough for the number of children. Thanks for the reply :)
Hi Bendigonians! I saw this thread and had to crash. I noticed the comments on how hard it is to meet people in Benders - it's the clickiest place I know! (I spent the first 20 years of my life there) So don't think it's you :) Hope you're all enjoying your new water front properties :P
Naww it's not THAT bad down here. haha. I don't actually live in the city limits anymore though..
No, you're right, it's not bad :) It is hard for newbies to feel welcome though. I remember what we were like at school! Or did you mean thr rain?! I hope it isn't that bad! Not long now til you get some nice, warm, weather :)
babybabycakes
17-09-2010, 20:52
Im another bendigo mum. This place is really clicky isnt it. How is everyone? Are you all Bendigo born and bred or moved here? born left and came back?
I'm born and bred but am an hour out of town. I'm not cliquey at all!!! I love everyone and love to make new friends :)
babybabycakes
29-09-2010, 07:13
Hi Herchy;
Im really shy so that doesnt help. I also ran from bendigo and didnt look back after an abusive situation- so left all my friends behind without a word really :o
at the time i just needed to get as far away as quickly as possible- but it makes it harder to make friends now.
Are you all going to babies day out if still BFing?? its at cooinda park on mackenzie st in golden square this saturday.
I believe the ABA will have a feeding tent or something there. So you can have privacy if you desire.
I'm pretty shy in person when first meeting people.
anyways, just thought I'd pop in and say hi!!
Just bumping as I've seen some mention of Bendigo lately. :)
ComeBackKid
10-01-2012, 00:52
Just bumping in case there are any bendigo mums around?!
babybabycakes
10-01-2012, 06:05
Bendigo mum here! Are there enough of us for a meet up? Is anyone else in Benders a little isolated?
Silver_Lining
21-01-2012, 08:48
Hi, I'm a Bendigo mum too =)
There's a private group on Facebook created where there's mums of kids all ages and we have regular meet ups. Everyone is great and really friendly. If you're interested, PM me =)
sambo1981
13-06-2012, 14:36
im a first time mum to be living in Bendigo. Im due at the end of July. Hoping to meet some mothers as im afraid of becoming isolated when bubba comes.