View Full Version : Great sleepers

bindiloo
12-02-2007, 14:18
Just out of curiosity, are there any mums out there with bubs that actually do sleep really well and have long day sleeps.
Everyone is always talking about how badly they sleep but is there any other mums with good sleepers.
My DD never was but now she sleeps hours of a day.
Yesterday she slept 8.45am-10.50am
Then back down at 1.30pm -4.40pm
Then she goes down for the night about 7pm-5.30am sometimes 6am.

And thats pretty much everyday with her now.

AquaDevil78
12-02-2007, 14:21
Mum told me that i slept right through from 11pm til 6am from Birth... lucky her.. om just hoping my little one is the same... :fingerscrossed: LOL. My Dp was a good sleeper too, so i guess there is a slim chance he will be too. :D

Mamaduke
12-02-2007, 14:24
Both of the boys have been great sleepers from the get go - it's God's way of saying 'have more children' I reckon!
Lucas is 2.5 yrs and still has 3 hour naps every day. He'll go to bed when Jesse does (around 7.30/8pm) and sleep until 8am.
With the horrible pregnancies I've endure I deserve good sleepers though! :yes:

~mia&ryan~
12-02-2007, 15:03
DD has always been a great sleeper.. She slept through from 7 till 7 from about 8 weeks.. Before that it was 9 till 4.. She has 3 sleeps a day too, she is a great sleeper...

becca022
12-02-2007, 15:42
My DS is a great sleeper at night, he might wake up once for a drink of water through the night & go straight back to sleep. He started sleeping through at 9 weeks & only woke up once in the night from birth to 9 weeks :smiliedance: . He sleeps for an hour of 2 during the day too. He used to only get about 40 mins during the day when he was younger. he is 2 BTW. :yelclap:

*My Lil Blondie*
12-02-2007, 15:45
Brodie has always been a great sleeper just like meee:rolleyes:

0 - 3 weeks 9pm - 5am

3 weeks till now its 7pm till 7 am

he has 2x2 hour naps during the day... love it:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
12-02-2007, 16:19
All 3 of my kids have been great sleepers.

Jacob was sleeping 13hrs straight at night by 9wks (he had spent 4 of those weeks in hospital, so I wasn't sleep deprived at all). Before then, he would go to bed at 7pm, wake at 11pm and 2am, then again at 7am. He would have 2-3 naps each day until he started school.

Brooke was unsettled until 10mths before of her reflux, but once it went, she was sleeping 17hrs in every 24 until she started school.

Matthew didn't sleep through until about 8mths, but he was only waking once or twice a night, so it was no big deal. He has only ever had one day sleep because of the school run, and it's been between 3 and 5hrs long. These days it is generally 3-4hrs.

Snuffys Mum
12-02-2007, 16:32
We had a little bit of a rocky start but my ds is a great sleeper now too!!

He'll sleep 7pm- 6/7am at night and have three daytime sleeps between 1-2 hours each.

mum2peanut
12-02-2007, 16:58
I too am blessed with a great sleeper.
Two two hr day naps, and sleep from 7pm - 7am. It's fantastic.

tegz_84
12-02-2007, 17:43
my lil man is 3 months old and goes to sleep @ 9pm, wakes up @ 7am.

When he was born until about 6 weeks old he went to sleep @ 9pm, woke up @ 5am for a bottle then went back to sleep til 9am.

We are pretty lucky I think!! As long as he sleeps @ night he can play up as much as he wants during the day.

Wivi
12-02-2007, 17:49
My DS was a "textbook bub". Slept through (12 hours) from 8 weeks and prior to that only ever had one night feed. He also had the day sleeps almost exactly the way those "guidelines" suggest.

Even now -he sleeps 12-13 hours a night with a 2-3 hour day sleep as well. he is 16 months old. We have the occasional night time issue with teething (bloody molars!) or if he was ill but otherwise he has always been sensational!

Wish_Bear
12-02-2007, 18:37
My DS was a "textbook bub". Slept through (12 hours) from 8 weeks and prior to that only ever had one night feed. He also had the day sleeps almost exactly the way those "guidelines" suggest.

Even now -he sleeps 12-13 hours a night with a 2-3 hour day sleep as well. he is 16 months old. We have the occasional night time issue with teething (bloody molars!) or if he was ill but otherwise he has always been sensational!

Sounds like my 2 kiddies! I have been really lucky that they are both great sleepers (touch wood). DD was a little trickier to start with but as she was my first bub I guess I had no idea what to do. DS has 2, 2 hr sleeps per day, :smiliedance: and I am dreading when that stops.

belinda1976
12-02-2007, 18:49
It's only now that I would consider DD a great sleeper. In the beginning her day sleeps were all over the place.

She now sleeps from about 8pm through to 5-6am and during the day normally has one catnap, 1 hour sleep and one 2-3 hour sleep.

OscarTheGrouch
12-02-2007, 18:53
I've got 2 good sleepers. Both sleep from about 9pm till 8am. DS#2 has slept through the night since he was 3 weeks old. DS#1 is 17 months and has a 3 hour sleep during the day also. DS#2 sleeps for 2-4 hourly intervals during the day. We love our sleep so I guess they're following in our footsteps.:smiliedance:

ourfirstbubba
12-02-2007, 22:26
no complaints here....our bubba sleeps from 8pm through to 6am and then from 6.30am until 8.30am..during the day she sleeps anywhere between 45 mins to 1.5 hours for each sleep......she definetely knows her night from day and I am happy with that!

Kizmet
12-02-2007, 22:38
Abby has slept through since she was 2 weeks old . A solid 12 hours a night! She still does now . She has a nap for about an hour in the morning at about 10-11ish and then goes down for about 2 hours in the afternoon and when she gets up from that nap it is about 6ish and she has her dinner , has a bath and goes to bed for 12 hours!

until tonight, tonight she was a monster :laughing: gotta love teething:rolleyes:

WeloveHarriet
13-02-2007, 12:28
DD is a gorgeous sleeper. She only woke once from birth at night for a B/F - so normally would sleep from 10pm-ish until 3am then 15min feed and straight back to sleep again. At 8mths she started sleeping through - now goes to bed around 7.30 and sleeps until 7am. She also has two day naps - first one is around 9.30am until 11.30am then her afternoon nap is around 3.30pm until 5ish pm. My whole family jokes that she can only stay up for a max of 4hrs before she needs to "recharge". Keep thinking that we have had it too easy and that this next bub will be a nightmare!!!!

carroll38
13-02-2007, 22:42
My daughter is 3mths old and has been an excellent sleeper from the day she was born.

She was sleeping from 9pm to 4-5am then have a bottle and sleep til 8-9am. Now she sleeps from 9pm til 6am(then I put her dummy back in) and she sleeps til 8am.

During the day she is still doing those 40min cycles but thats ok, she wakes for about 15mins then sleeps again for another 40min. In the last few days she is starting to sleep closer to the 1hr 15min mark so she's slowly getting better. And when she is awake she just lays there happy as can be playing with the toys on her swing or floor mat.

My first daughter (now 4 1/2) was a great sleeper too. She had day sleeps of 2 to 3 hrs right up until she was 3 1/2. Then she started Kindy and we got her off the dummy 2 wks berfore kindy started so the day sleeps then stopped.

I have found through my mothers group that the ones who used dummy's were the best sleepers!!! and it's working for me again with DD2. :smiliedance:

Me - 38
Hubby - 38
DD1 - 4 1/2
DD2 - 3 mths born Nov 16th 2006

mum2anthony
13-02-2007, 22:55
my boy slept as below:

0 - 8 weeks: about 9pm - 3am then 3.30 am til 6.am then 6 - 10am.

8 weeks til now: 7.30 - 8.00 pm - 7.30 am then has a bottle at 7.30
back to bed at 10.30 til 12.00 awake til 1.30 then bed from 1.30 til 4 - 4.30.

I am blessed with a child that loves to sleep

cwsmum
13-02-2007, 22:59
From 6mths old DD has slept from 7pm-6/7am and had a day sleep from noon-2/3pm. Before 6mths she was having 2 day sleeps of about 1-2hrs and still sleeping the same at night.

DS used to sleep from 7pm-6am then have 2 day sleeps, dropping to one day sleep at about 12mths. He hasn't had regular day sleeps since he was 18mths old.

My kids are great sleepers, if it's their bedtime will sleep pretty much anywhere :D