View Full Version : Getting petrol with a baby in backseat?

rosebaby
09-02-2007, 11:02
This is probably a really stupid question - but I've just bought a car (hooray!) and I'm planning to drive my six month old up to my Dad's tonight (double hooray!) and know I'll need to get petrol.

I haven't done it before with DS - what do you do? Is it ok to leave him in the car while you dash in to pay, or should I get him out and bring him in with me? Please don't bust me if I'm asking something completely elementary!

09-02-2007, 11:05
It isn't illegal to leave your child in the car whilst paying for petrol - I personally drag my kids out of the car though anyway, even if they are asleep. As someone mentioned once what if someone hit your car?

Pinkbug
09-02-2007, 11:06
What I do is lock the doors and run in quickly.. or if u have Mobile petrol station near u they have I am not sure what u call it a ATM at the petrol u put ur bankcard thru it and fill up petrol and receive receipt and drive off without going inside the store....so u would be by ur car at all times

Chumps
09-02-2007, 11:08
I never leave my DS in the car whilst paying for fuel either. I don't care about the filthy looks I get from people behind me waiting to use the bowser. Better to be safe than sorry. Chances of something happening are slim, but should something happen, at least DS & myself are together.

Niki
09-02-2007, 11:12
i take me ds in with me or i just get dh to put it in on the night so i dont have to worry about it

trinitylee
09-02-2007, 11:12
I always wondered the same thing too...I just ended up leaving DD in the car..

I would prefer her to be safe in a locked car for a minute than out of the car breathing all the petrol fumes...

If i look into the shop and see a line i actually wait by my car until its shorter so im not standing in the line for too long (and i NEVER take my eyes off the car).

our little treasures
09-02-2007, 11:13
U use the mobile petrol when kids are babies but I do also leave them in the car as well. I unwind windows a bit and lock the doors.

I know people get the kids out but I am yet to see any one who has while I am at the petrol station!

Also the way people drive into the stations while getting them out they could get hit, while in the station a robber could come in and shoot us all. So to me there is pros and cons both ways!!

Best bet look for a mobile and use the swiper machine!!

our little treasures
09-02-2007, 11:15
The law I in vic is you can leave kids in the car as long as you can see it at all times and it isn't more than 3 metres.

RoarsomeMum
09-02-2007, 11:18
I would be worried about some-one hitting the car, or a fire/emergency. I dont think being able to see the car is enough.

09-02-2007, 11:27
I leave her in the car and quickly go and pay.

mama2cierra
09-02-2007, 11:32
I do the same as trinitylee
wait for the line to go down, run in quick and pay

but sometimes Id go fill my car up when there was more than just me and C in the car (like maarty or my mum) so someone else was there with her.

Refresh
09-02-2007, 11:33
I take them in...can never be too careful.....I usually try to time it so that I have t o put petrol in when hubby is with me though!

chameleon
09-02-2007, 11:36
I used to worry about this all the time too! So I generally just get DH to fill it up when he can! Or if she is asleep I will lock her in and run in. But I am so on edge and just keep an eye on everyone around the car. I hate getting petrol! :no:

~Candy~
09-02-2007, 11:37
It would be more dangerous for my kids if I was to get them all out the car and bring them in...I have to carry baby, hold toddler's hand, watch the older ones near cars, keep toddlers free hand away from grabbing lollies all over the shop!! Then I need a spare hand to pay :confused: ..NOPE, I leave the all in the car. I have the windows down and I only put fuel in the car when I have my older 2 there with the little ones. I take the keys and leave the radio on for them. Ohterwise, I'll do it at night :)

Refresh
09-02-2007, 11:38
I hate getting petrol!

me toooooooo:rolleyes: The amount of time I spend driving around with the fuel light on:rolleyes: I wish there was one of those "pay at the pumps" near us...

lovingmotheract
09-02-2007, 11:58
i leave bub in the car and if the line is to long and i have the right change i just go up and tell them what number pump and just hand them the 20 and don't stand in line.

Melo
09-02-2007, 12:00
I take them in with me, a pain in the butt thou!

nickalex
09-02-2007, 12:12
I try to avoid having more than one kid in the car when I go and get petrol, that way it is easy enough to get them out and take them in with me. That said in the past I used to leave all the kids in the car and do the quick dash. However the petrol station I normally go to was robbed one night at a time not long after I was there and the cashier was shot by a 16yr old. I have a hard time weighing up what is better risking your child being shot or risking your poor child being locked up in a car for god knows how long if something was to happen to you. On balance I would prefer my child to be with me.

09-02-2007, 12:14
I leave mine in the car, now way would i try and take them into a shop crammed with lollies etc! :no: I dread going anywhere with the 2 of them nowadays.

I leave the windows down and the radio on, and am in & out in no time. If there was a long queue however, i'd take them in.

jasminesmum
09-02-2007, 12:18
me toooooooo:rolleyes: The amount of time I spend driving around with the fuel light on:rolleyes: I wish there was one of those "pay at the pumps" near us...

This sounds like me too. I will drive my car untill the fuel thing says I have 3km to go till I run out. Just enough for me to get to the servo.:D

If it is just me and dd I will get her out of the car. I try and get dh to do it though if I can.

rosebaby
09-02-2007, 12:22
Thanks everyone. I think I'll get him out - he'll like the break from the car trip anyway. If he's asleep...maybe I'll reconsider...!

GraceUnhearing
09-02-2007, 12:26
i take DS out even if he's alseep.
its illegal to leave a child in the car even just to pay for petrol.
plus i couldnt leave him in there anyways

catalicious
09-02-2007, 12:29
I leave him in the car and if I have loch I leave them both in there.

Unless loch specifically asks to get out with me...

I unroll the windows a bit and lock the doors..

But Whenever I get petrol there is never a line there has only ever been like 2 people in front of me max and so im in and out....

I would only take jack if it was one of the times he is a sook whenever i leave his sight.

DB&O
09-02-2007, 12:45
I always get Liv out of the car, having said that DH usually makes sure the car is full of petrol when he knows that I will need it, that way I don't have to worry about taking her in with me or leaving her in the car on her own.
Worth his weight in gold I say, pity he's such a stick :D

Ciao,
Brooke & Liv.
xxxx.

stompy
09-02-2007, 12:55
I never leave dd in the car ever! I just could not live with myself if I left her in the car and something awful happened.

Foxy
09-02-2007, 13:02
99% of the time, I use a pay at the pump servo. You can use a normal savings key card or credit card. I'm pretty sure the one near me is a Mobil. Try and find one near you, and this is one problem you wont have!

~Candy~
09-02-2007, 13:20
99% of the time, I use a pay at the pump servo. You can use a normal savings key card or credit card. I'm pretty sure the one near me is a Mobil. Try and find one near you, and this is one problem you wont have!

I'm very interested in finding one of these near me. I've never paid much attention to them being there as I usually pay cash thinking those things are only for credit card or the servo card...but if it take eftpos and I I don't have to leave the car...then I'm up for using it :thumbsup:

Foxy
09-02-2007, 13:29
I'm very interested in finding one of these near me. I've never paid much attention to them being there as I usually pay cash thinking those things are only for credit card or the servo card...but if it take eftpos and I I don't have to leave the car...then I'm up for using it :thumbsup:

I only ever use it as EFTPOS, I have never had any problems, although I do always press yes for receipt in case I get chased for non-payment!

Try this bubhub link here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/servicespetrol.shtml)

lukaelmo
09-02-2007, 13:41
I can't can't can't leave the noodle in the car. It is the biggest pain in the world having to get him in and out of the carseat and then hold him and try to get money out of my handbag, but that's what I do...

~Candy~
09-02-2007, 14:14
I only ever use it as EFTPOS, I have never had any problems, although I do always press yes for receipt in case I get chased for non-payment!

Try this bubhub link here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/servicespetrol.shtml)

Ohhh..Thanks soo much Foxy :thumbsup:

danielle13
09-02-2007, 14:16
I always take DD into the store with me, even if she's asleep. Yeah sure it's a pain, but far better than if anything was to happen to her..

I didn't know they had the pay-at-pump ones here, they've had them in NZ for years and I was just the other day thinking how lame it was they don't do it here. Might have to investigate and see if any of the ones around here have it :thumbsup:

kiah
09-02-2007, 14:17
I try to get fuel once a week, usually on the weekend so hub is with me and one of us can stay in the car.

mumslilspunks
09-02-2007, 15:26
Luck for me we have a petrol station where the guys come out and serve you! So i dont have to get out of the car!!
But whenever im in melbourne i make sure there is someone elese with me and either they go and pay or i do.

BubbaNoogie
09-02-2007, 15:34
My hubby fills my car up for me:angel: , so I have never had to worry about it.

But I think I would probably bring her in with me.

Ekoorb
09-02-2007, 15:46
When my boy was a baby I used to take him in, now that he runs around everywhere, I drive a little further to a full service petrol station and they pump it for me. It costs a bit more but Im lazy and hate doing it myself anyway.

~mia&ryan~
09-02-2007, 16:24
I try to avoid getting petrol when I have DD with me.. But if I have too I get her out of the car and take her in with me..:yes: I just feel so uncomfortable about leaving her in the car..

BigweeBigwee
09-02-2007, 16:47
I watch far too much Oprah to leave my little one in the car!!

So much can happen in such a short space of time.

I always go to our local Mobil and pay at the pump or make sure I fill up when my husband is with us.

subaruforestermum
09-02-2007, 16:54
lol..when I read this I thought there was going to be an uproar about parents leaving kids in the car.....

I personally do both, I give my son the option, if he chooses to stay, I wind all the windows down and lock the car. And sometimes cut the line (asking nicely first).... other times I have to struggle with him trying to run away through the store cos he wanted to come in, and then I have trouble paying etc......

Or I get fuel most of the time, when my mum or sister is with me, that way I dont have to drag him out......

flib
09-02-2007, 22:50
I try not to go to petrol station with my kids in the car.

If I do I leave them in the car. I don't lock them in. I don't want them to be trapped in the car for any reason.
I prefer to do this when my 6 year old is in the car.

I also think it would be more dangerous to take three children aged 6, 2 and 3 months out of the car at a petrol station.

Flib

MonkeyMum05
09-02-2007, 23:46
I always take my son in with me... I wouldn't leave him in the car, even if he was sleeping... but he's only 19 months... so still a baby to me :D

tiptoe
10-02-2007, 15:17
I try to fill up on my way to or from work when DS isn't in the car.

If i have to fill up and he's with me, i fill up, then drive the car over to the shop and park directly out the front, run in and pay. I hate taking him in because he always wants a chockie or a pack of chips.

blueangel
10-02-2007, 15:43
It depends on where I am. If I am at my local servo which is very small and I am literally only 2m from the car I leave the kids in it. If I am at a big servo with lots of cars/ people etc I take them in with me.

~Mands~
10-02-2007, 15:46
Normally I fill up when Dh is with me, but if he's not, I will take Cooper in... I wouldnt risk it- but thats just me. :)

M.

3kidz
10-02-2007, 15:59
I have 3 kids and there is no way that i am taking all the kids out the car and into pay. I always make sure i have the exact money $20 or $40 then i run to the front of the line say i have 3 kids in the car, say the number bowser i'm at and give them the money and run back out. I know it seems rude to push in but no one has to wait cos i have the correct money and to me its safer then getting my kids out who would take off on me then i'd lose track of them...however when i had one child i use to get him out the car...

dannii
10-02-2007, 16:11
i always think about this, but can NEVER bring myself to leave her in the car on her own.
so i usually bring her in with me.
the guilt would be too much if something happened, and it was all because i didnt want to take her in to pay for fuel.

Besides this... i usually run it dry till DF fills up :D or on the off chance im without her, i will get it myself.
however usually me that ends up doing it :rolleyes:

Mum to 4
10-02-2007, 17:01
I have 4 kids and am always th eone to put fuel in our car.

I always take all 4 kids in with me, yeah its a big pain, especially because 2 are in carseats, but better to be safe than sorry. I'd rather us all be together incase of an emergency..

Refresh
10-02-2007, 17:13
I always take all 4 kids in with me, yeah its a big pain, especially because 2 are in carseats, but better to be safe than sorry. I'd rather us all be together incase of an emergency

I agree......

Ana Gram
10-02-2007, 17:23
On the rare occasion that I do get petrol, I leave her in there.

draught
10-02-2007, 18:00
its illegal to leave a child in the car even just to pay for petrol.

Just to correct this misconception - it is not illegal to leave your children in the car while you are paying for fuel.

our little treasures
10-02-2007, 18:04
I was going to say that but didn't want to get into trouble.

the_queen
10-02-2007, 18:09
I wouldn't wind the windows down and leave my purse in the car - so I certainly wouldn't do it with my priceless precious children :no:

I like pay at the pump ones too, I will always use one of those if possible. Now I'm in the country though, I park at the bowser which is right next to the door of the shop, I put the petrol in and then hand the $20 through the door to the guy - I'm as close to the car as I am when I'm pumping the petrol. So I guess technically I leave them in the car :eek: But I'm literally less than a metre away from the car.
At bigger service stations I take them both in with me. DD does ask for lollies etc, but hey I'm the parent :)

lachies_mum
10-02-2007, 21:52
I had this dilemma, and thought I was being paranoid, but am glad that I am not the only mum who has worried about this!

I leave my son in the car, but make sure i can see the car at all times from the servo, and hurry as quick as i can. Once I felt sooo bad afterwards, i couldnt see the car and was so scared while I was paying for teh petrol, but i will never do that again.

I like the idea of pay at pump and am going to do this from now on.

I guess bad things could happen either way-

Leaving child in car-

- kidnap?(unlikely, i know)
- Someone crashing into car
- child playing with car
- Something bad happening while your in shop and delaying or stopping you from getting to child in the car

Taking Child In store-

- Traffic dangers- I think this would b the main one
- Petrol dangers?
- Something bad could happen in shops??

I dont know! Just trying to weigh it up

Also, I think it is a bad idea to leave kids in car in summer.

Sheer Bliss
11-02-2007, 07:42
I ALWAYS get DD out of the car & take her in with me. I wait for the bowser that is closest to the door, so we don't have to walk past lots of traffic, but I can't bring myself toleave her in the car. I do think it's easier for me to do that with only 1 kid, i'm not sure if my opinion would change if i had 3 or 4 - but i can't honestly say, as i am not in that situation. It oo have heard too many 'Oprah' style scenarios so can't leave my precious angel in the car alone. I worry far too much - i know! I usually get DH to fill up where i can, or make sure the two of us are there, so one of us stays at the car.

I never realised you could pay with credit card on these ones!! :banghead: I always thought it was cheque/savings with pin only. If you can use them with a credit card without a pin - i might start looking for those - will make it easier when DS arrives!

xkwzit
11-02-2007, 08:18
I guess bad things could happen either way-

Leaving child in car-

- child playing with car
- Something bad happening while your in shop and delaying or stopping you from getting to child in the car

Taking Child In store-

- Traffic dangers- I think this would b the main one
- Petrol dangers?
- Something bad could happen in shops??

I dont know! Just trying to weigh it up

Also, I think it is a bad idea to leave kids in car in summer.

And when you weigh things up, all the things that could happen to you both if you take the child in can also happen to you if you were alone, this also need to be considered. I worry about what if something happened to me and no-one realised that my child was in the car. Say you pass out or are hit by a car and loose conciousness, and they spend 15 minutes worrying about you regaining conciousness before help arrives. Would they think to consider that you *might* have a child in the car? Would they check? Would your child be left alone while you were out of it? Just something else to think about in your assessment.

I would rather get both my children out of the car. We don't have pay at the pump here (they took them all away :( ). But I have trouble even leaving them in the car when the dude at the full service petrol station offers to watch them for me while I whip inside to swipe my card.

Zada
11-02-2007, 08:27
i stop at the pump closest to the door so im not far away. altho at one servo here they come and fill up for u so makes it better:thumbsup:

ShadyCharacter
11-02-2007, 11:14
Leaving child in car-

- child playing with car

It's funny, parents put their children into cars and drive on highways with them every day. The chances of having a car accident on that highway are much higher than one of the above happening.

To me, its a measured risk. When DS was young, if he was asleep, I left him. If he was awake, I took him in. Now he is old enough to understand I tell him I will be back in a minute and leave him, unless he asks to come with me, in which case he does.

I make sure I am at a servo that is not busy with a long line, and make sure I park closest to the store so I can see him the whole time.

Seriously, the chances of us leaving the service station and being involved in a serious car accident and DS being injured are much higher than the whole servo catching on fire/kidnapping scenario.

OJandMe
11-02-2007, 11:42
Generally we get petrol when the kids aren't in the car... either Myself or DH will get it. On the odd occasion when we get petrol when the kids are in the car.. it's most likely a family day out, so both of us are there and whoever is not driving just stays with them...

If I ever was to get petrol with the kids without DH... I'd leave them in... no way I'm dragging out 2 disobediant 2 yr olds who don't hold my hand, grab everything and have no road safety... safer to leave them in while I pay.... I'd just turn the radio and aircon on before I went in.... but as I said... hasn't happened yet.

katherine
11-02-2007, 11:47
i try to avoid doing it on my own now, as i have a newborn and two year old. but before the newborn came along, my 2 year old would tell me to leave him there, and it would have caused more trouble and fights, and not to mention hold everyone else up longer.

our little treasures
11-02-2007, 12:13
My dd knows that petrol day is chocolate for her. When we fill up she says and we NEED chocolate...