View Full Version : Thought I'd make the place more homely
Pages :
[
1]
littlepickle
23-11-2005, 01:05 PM
Well looks like I am the first one for August so far with an EDD of 04/08/06!
It still hasnt sunk in, I have loads of +ive HPTs but I dont think it will all sink in until I at least have the blood test results on Friday. In the meantime, I thought I would pop in here and spruce the place up a bit - you know, make it all a bit more homely :-)
Feeling a bit rough today, bbs are killing and I feel really dizzy, also, since the doctor confirmed a +ive hpt I have been feeling nauseous too - now that has to be psychological, I wasnt feeling nauseous before that.
Anyway to introduce myself, I am Rach aka little pickle and I live in brisbane with DH. This bub will be our first - so exciting. We have been married for a year and together for 5 years, I feel so blessed that I have my wonderfull Dh and now a little bub to look forward to as well!!
StormAngel
23-11-2005, 01:13 PM
Congrats Rach, hopefully i will be joining you sometime in the next month! (fingers crossed)
tickle
23-11-2005, 01:35 PM
Congratulations!! :D
The 4th of August was Oliver's due date!!
It is a great time of year to have a bub, wishing you a trouble free pregnancy with not too much m/s!!! :)
Congrats Rach!!
I just found out yesterday that I'm pregnant too. It's so exciting!! I think that I'm due on the 1st August. But I'm not too sure! When the doctor told me yesterday I was a bit too stunned to ask any questions. So I think that I'm due either early August or late July. How do you work it out when your EDD is? (Sorry probably a really silly question!)
Anyway, this is our first bub as well, so it's all new!
Good luck :)
lilbugalugs
26-11-2005, 06:55 PM
:o Hi all,
I just thought that I would introduce myself. I am not new to Bub Hub ....I have been a lurker for some time now...however I thought that it was time to introduce myself because... I just wanted to let everyone know that I found out that I am pregnant again today :D I am due 05/08/06. It still hasn't sunk in for us yet. Looking forward to sharing the journey with some friends.
littlepickle
29-11-2005, 06:16 PM
wow, I cant believe how fast the "due in Aug" thread is filling up!
Congratulations lilbugalubs and Lou, looking forward to hearing how your Pg's are going!
Lou - The way to work out your due date (easiest) is to find a due date forcaster such as:
http://www.mydr.com.au/tools/pregnancy.asp
Then just put in the first day of your last period and it will calculate the due date for you.
I am supposedly due on the 4th Aug, but I guess anytime within two weeks either side of that would be more accurate :p I was almost 3 months premmie when I was born, I hope that bubs doesnt take after me there!!
Thanks JLK and Happy Lady for your congrats :D Still feels a little surreal but starting to sink in a bit now that I am booked in with the obs and the hospital too eek! Now I am trying to sit tight and hoping for an event free nine or so months :D
Congrats Littlepickle and lilbugalugs.
Since posting in here originally, I have worked out that my EDD is 28th July So I have been posting in the Due in July thread. I would say that it will more than likely be early August though, so I will keep popping in here occasionaly to see how you're all going.
I have my first scan next week. Yeah, I can't wait!! I will be 6 1/2 weeks by then.
Good luck everyone!! :p
only1mica
30-11-2005, 03:31 PM
CONGRATS GIRLS :)
Ok well....I thought I would hijack this thread ;)
I am actually due 29th July 2006...but I feel that I would have more in common with you fine ladies (since I am due right at the end of July).
I have also been lurking for a while (before i knew I was pgers-just wanted to get as much info as i could)
This will be DH & my first buby....we have been married for just over a year and we live in Sydney.
I am really interested in hearing what symptoms you other ladies have been experiencing. Personally for me I have been really tired (and cant have a coffee to wake up :eek: ), I havent had any m/s but when driving I have felt really car sick (for about 2 weeks)
Well I hope you dont mind that I have hijacked this thread...I look forward to sharing the experiance with you :)
Mic
Hey Mic - Congratulations!
You sound like your in exactly the same position as me. This is Dh and my first bub too. It so exciting!! I'm due on the 28th July, supposedly (but I'm sure that it will be more likely early August).
So far I have been feeling pretty good. Besides for a bit of a scare last week :( . I'd been having a bit of bleeding so my doc told me to go to the hospital, which I did. The doctor their gave me a blood test and told me that my HCG levels were WAY below what they were supposed to be (he was not very nice). So anyway I left thinking that it was all over.
But went to see my doc on Monday and she looked at the test results and told me that my HCG levels were perfectly fine! (all that stress for nothing :mad: stupid doctor). And of course the bleeding stopped the afternoon when I got back from the hospital. So I'm feeling really good now. I have my first U/S next Tuesday (on my birthday, Yeah!). I've just been really tired and have felt a bit quesy occasionally.
How has everyone else been doing?
lilbugalugs
30-11-2005, 09:07 PM
Congrats to all!! How exciting...
I have been feeling fine, in fact a little bit too fine. When I had my DD I am sure that my boobs were immediately huge and really sore....this time they arn't sore at all :confused: I have been feeling really tired though. No MS so far, but it is a bit early for that, just feeling a little light headed sometimes. Time will tell I guess. Now that I am pregnant I am freaking out about having two little ones..DD will be 2 year and 2 months when bubba is due :o Oh well, I guess we will cope somehow, heaps of people have done it before us!
littlepickle
30-11-2005, 09:28 PM
Welcome to the thread Mic, of course you are not hijacking! Looking forward to sharing this woderfull albeit scary journey with you all!
I havent been experiencing any morning sickness at all so far, but I have been getting a bit of heartburn and a lot of headaches as well as major tiredness - I am practically asleep after lunch!! My boobs are incredibly sore and I have gone up almost a cup size!! Had to switch from my usual underwire to non underwire as I have been finding the underwire way too uncomfy!
Other than that, have been fine, when I was just 1dpo I had a lot of pressure in my lower abdomen and sort f ovulation pains which my doctor said was just implantation, that has gone now, and I must admit, I kind of miss that feeling that something is going on down there!
I think this is the hardest part of the pg because not many people know and I am not showing and havent got an obs appt until just after christmas so I am kind of twiddling my thumbs now and hoping that everything goes smoothly!
only1mica
01-12-2005, 08:50 AM
Hey girls
Lou - What a nasty doctor!!! I dont know how I would have handled that situation myself - I am glad that everything is fine for you now :)
Lilbugalugs - We will all have to draw on your experience - all the rest of us being 1st timers. what is your DD name? From my calcs she would be just under a year and a half...is that right?
Rach(littlepickle) - Man do I hear you about hitting the wall after lunch! Like you I think that because I am not showing, I have really got no proof...other than the line on the hpt and I just keep my fingers crossed that all is going well!
We actually decided not to tell anyone until Christmas just in case(I let it slip to my sister - just HAD to tell her ;) ) and it is VERY difficult....everytime I speak to my family...it is the only thing I have on my mind.
It is quite funny actually my sister is also pregnant with her second buby and we are three weeks apart (and she has told everyone) - I keep on thinking that when our family finds out they are going to wet themselves....two bubas due within 3 weeks of each other!!! :eek: :D
Better go - take care
Mic
Hey again,
Well I'm still feeling pretty good (hopefully it will stay like this! But somehow I doubt it). I just need to go to the toilet every 1/2 hr. I think the receptionist at work must think that I've got something seriously wrong with me! I just went again then, and she gave me this look as if to say "your going again??". But oh well, what can you do.
Mic - I know what you mean about keeping it a secret. It is so hard. We've told our immediate family and one or 2 close friends. I can't help myself! I dont know what I'm going to do this Saturday night because we're going out for dinner with about 20 friends to celebrate my birthday. And they all know how much I like to have a glass (or 2 or 3....... or maybe a bottle or 2) of wine. So they will definetly all notice when I'm not drinking. Any suggestions of excuses I can use?
I know what you mean about the sore boobs littlepickle. Mine are so sore! They haven't increased in size yet though.
Hey Lilbugalugs, I honestly dont know how you can cope with another little one to look after. I'm having enough trouble just looking after myself! ;) I've been going to bed at 7:30 every night and not waking up until 5:30. As Mic said, you might have to give us first timers a few tips!
lilbugalugs
01-12-2005, 01:03 PM
only1mica - My DD's name is Erin and yes she is just about to turn 18 months old...I just had some professional photos taken of her yesterday and for the first time she smiled like a trooper (usually she gets a bit freaked out)
Lou - in fact being pregnant and having a toddler isn't too bad because I can have an afternoon nap when she does if I feel like it (I couldn't do that first time around because I had a pretty demanding job... but this time I am just a mum!!) Although right on que DD is getting eye teeth and we have had a few restless nights and very early mornings (yawn)
We don't plan on telling anyone until January, you are the only priviliged few to know. My SIL is coming over to Aus from the states and she has a 4 month old baby that noone has seen!, we don't want to take any attention away from her and bub. Although if morning sickness kicks in I might have trouble hiding that with my parents staying with us for christmas. When I was pregnant with DD immediate family knew straight away just like you guys :)
Enough from me...but I just have to say that I love this web site, it is so nice to be able to talk to others in the same situation. Cheers.
I like the sound of an afternoon nap! I wish I could do that. Somehow I dont think my boss would be too happy if I did :(
Can you answer a question for me lil (I'm going to call you that from now on if you dont mind? I'm too lazy to type the full thing :p ) When do you normally start showing? I know that everyone would be different, but from your experience when can you start to see a bit of a bump? I can't wait for this to happen!! I just got back from my lunch break and have been looking at really cute maternity clothes and swimwear (we're going to Hawaii in Feb so it's a good excuse to get some new clothes).
lilbugalugs
01-12-2005, 06:51 PM
Lou, Yep Lil is fine with me :) Wow Hawaii sounds great! I am very jealous. Get all those trips in now, because I cannot imagine taking my DD on a long plane trip at the moment...she is too wiggly :D
I think that everyone is different you are right...I didn't really show until about 20 weeks with DD. At 12 weeks I could still fit my pre-pregnancy clothes they were just a little bit tighter than before. It was really annoying because I desperately wanted to show also and everyone kept on saying throughout my pregnancy "Oh you are so tiny" "Your bump is very small" Just to prove them wrong I had a healthy 3.3kg girl...I think that it depends on your body type, I am quite tall and slim and I think that the baby sort of had a lot of room before having to pop out...IYKWIM? I have heard that with 2nd pregnancys you pop a lot quicker because you are pre-stretched :rolleyes:
Enough from me. I have a doctors appointment for blood tests etc next week. Hopefully everything with be OK. I don't feel 100% confident with this pregnancy yet...still havn't let myself get excited.
only1mica
02-12-2005, 10:16 AM
Morning Girls
Lou - Hawaii sounds awsome! I would love to go overseas again - I have only been once which was last year for my honeymoon, I would really like a break...any break. Last time I went away was in June for the long weekend - even then it was just down the coast.
Lil - Oh and I am sure all of your tests will go well...Positive thoughts comming your way :)
That little tid bit about being tall and bub having a little more room is somewhat comforting...I am 6ft (so maybe that will be the same for me:) ) although most of my height is from my legs.
Any way I have my chrissy party tomorrow...the one night that the company foots the bill....and i cant have a drink...everyone will be sus!!! Oh well ;) I love the fact that there is a special reason that I cant drink!!!
Well have a good weekend :D
Mic
redbaby
04-12-2005, 09:43 AM
Hi Guys! I can now join you!!!! Our Squidgy#2 is due on 13/8/06,.....the same week as Scarlett's birthday! Goodness!!!
We are terribly excited,..and it is all feeling a little surreal at the moment,..especially as we have really only been serious about trying for the past month!
Feeling ok so far,. cept for my enormous sore bbs,... was terribly sick with Scarlett,.....and had a pretty bleugh sort of Christmas,..no oysters, champagne, proscuitto, pate, cheese,...........and it is going to be exactly the same this year! Oh well!!!!
Looking forward to talking to you all over the next 9months!
littlepickle
04-12-2005, 10:02 AM
Hi Jane,
I just left a post for you on the ttc dec thread saying that I was loooking forward to seeing you on this thread!! Heheheh!!Congratulations!!!!
I am supposedly due on the 4th Aug, but who knows like I read somewhere, they would be better off giving people a due "fortnight" than a due day - would be a bit closer to being correct!
How is everyone feeling now?
regular toilet trips have been my biggest problem, had to fly interstate for work. Anyway, was running late, got to the airport as they started to board the plane and didnt have time to find a toilet ----I was so desp!!! I seem to have to go every half hour at the moment. Anyway, asked the lady at the counter if I could please run to the toilet, but she said no, I would have to board the plane. So boarded the plane, but there was a delay so we were on the tarmac for about 15 mins before takeoff. When we we airborne I asked the hostess if I could please use the toilet, I was in so much pain, my face was burning up and my stomach was killing me, I tried explaining my predicament and why I just had to go, but she jus wuldnt let me use the toilet - said she had to wait for the seatbelt sign to be turned off - fair enough!! oooowwww!! Would you believe they left that seat belt light on for 35 mins by which time I was almost in tears!! Another 2 mins and they wuld have been cleaning up a puddle!!! I am sure they would have shown more compassion if I had a bigger belly!! I know its safety reasons etc, but I think the lady at the counter should have just let me dash off to the toilet first - we ended up sitting in the plane for 20 mins before the door closed anyway!
Sorry, thats my winge out of the way :D
As to other symptoms, have been feeling a little quesy today, but nothing too bad, very sore breasts that are very large with very prominent nips (on high beam constantly)
I have gone off coffee, and sweet tings and seem to be craving steak and chicken - wonder if that means that I am low on iron or something.
Pretty excited as I am already booked into the Mater Mothrs private hosp and the obst etc - so now I just have to relax and hope everything will be ok. I think Christmas might help to make time go a bit quicker! Hopefully!!
littlepickle
04-12-2005, 06:15 PM
Just a silly qustion, at what point do you reckon it is safe to really get excited and tell everyone and perhaps buy a few neutral outfits? I have to admit, I couldnt resist buying a little unisex outfit that cought my eye - it was so cute. I know its early days but at what point do you say - right lets get prepared? I know it might sound like a stupid Q, but I have been so looking forward to all of this and I am not sure what I am supposed to be doing between now and the magic 14 week mark. I have been eating healthily, taking elevit etc, no drinking or anything but I dont feel that I am actively doing anything and its kind of frustrating to just wait! I know that pregnancy involves a lot of waiting - starting to learn that one!! Heheh :D it seems that things seem slow in the first 14 weeks because you dont et to see an ultrasound or hear the heartbeat or have a bump or anything, but after 14 weeks, the milestones seem a lot closer together I think.. Anyway, I am not winging, I am just soo happy to be hear, I think that is my prob, I am so excited I want to be doing everything now :D
redbaby
05-12-2005, 10:07 AM
Hi there chicks!
I got your message just after I posted mine Littlepickle! The whole thing is pretty exciting.isn't it? And I agree,..it does seem like a million years till the magic 14week point,..especially when you are constantly concerned that something may happen,.. I bled for the first couple of weeks with Scarlett,..and I am freaked out that that may happen again,........apparently it is quite normal,..but it is very scary when it happens!
Having a pretty lousy day in good old Stanmore today,.. it is very hot and both DH, Scarlett and Myself have all come down with the cold from hell! We are all miserable, ,...and Squidg is whinging all the time ! And she can't sleep,..so I am exhausted! Goodness,...what am I going to do with 2!
When did you all get your pregnancies confirmed by a Dr?
Are any of you going to find out what you are getting? We have decided to find out this time,....just to maybe make the adjustment for Squidg a little bit easier,....can't wait!!!
Hello again
I've been a bit slack and haven't been on here for awhile. How's everyone been?
Congratulations Jane - And welcome!! :D
Hey lil, make sure you let us know how you go with the blood test. I'm sending lots of positive vibes your way. Good luck.
littlepickle - I know what you mean about it being frustrating at the moment. I'm having my first scan tomorrow, so at least I dont have to wait until 12 or 13 weeks to find out that everythings ok.
Yesterday my SIL gave me a huge basket with all of these baby things in it! I couldn't believe it. In a way I kind of wish she hadn't of, because if anything goes wrong, I dont really want to have all of these baby things sitting around at home. I probably wont buy anything myself until about 14wks. Just in case.
I'm still feeling pretty good. I just get a bit quesy occasionally. Besides for that, the sore boobs and needing to pee every 20 minutes I've been great. Hopefully it will stay like this!!
lilbugalugs
05-12-2005, 07:10 PM
Congratulations to all new members due in Aug :D
Well I have been feeling very 'not pregnant'. No sore boobs, no MS ..... nothing. I do feel a little tired and I am really feeling the heat today!! I can't beleive that I am pregnant again...I just feel very 'nothing'. For some reason I don't feel right about this and can't let myself get excited.
I have an apointment with the Doc on Wednesday...perhaps it will seem a bit more real then.
Sorry to be a but of a downer...I am just bit anxious about everything. The pregnancy hormones are probably playing with my mind :o
Mum2Lily
05-12-2005, 07:24 PM
Hi :)
I'm new here. I just found out today we're expecting again! Due 11 August 2006!
I already have a list full of symptoms...
Nausea
Horrid Heartburn (had this bad with #1)
Headaches
Sore, huge, veiny boobs
Going to the loo a lot more
The only thing i can stomach is water which at the moment tastes really foul!
Lovely for all of them to come before i hit 5 weeks even LOL
Hey Mum2Lily - Congratulations and welcome!! :D
Where on the Gold Coast are you from? I live at Tallebudgera, and work in Surfers.
You poor thing having nausea already. That must really suck! I'm 6 1/2 wks and haven't really experienced morning sickness yet (thank god!).
I had my ultrasound today which was really exciting. We couldn't really see much, (just a little spot :p ) but it was so cute. We could see it's little heart beating which was pretty amazing.
so how far along is everyone else?
kelsta
06-12-2005, 11:46 AM
Hi there.
I am new here too.
Just tested today and should be due 13 August. DH and i have only been trying for 2 months, so i guess we are lucky!
Already have a 7 year old beautiful girl from 1st marriage, and is DH first.
The only symptoms i have so far are sore boobs.
With my daughter i didnt really have any symptoms either, one of the lucky ones not to get morning sickness!
Looking forward to sharing the next months with you all.
Kell
kelsta
06-12-2005, 11:47 AM
Hey Lou
I work in Surfers too!
Live at Gilston! Such a small world!
Kell
Welcome Kell :) . Good to have you here!!
Another Gold Coaster! That's great. They're seem to be a fair few of us on here. We will have to organise a Bub Hub Gold Coast catch up day. It would be great to meet everyone. Where in Surfers do you work? I'm in the Daikyo Building on Elkhorn Ave.
Hey lil - good luck tomorrow. I'm sending you lots and lots of positive vibes ;)
brideofjabba
06-12-2005, 02:13 PM
I just go my BFP today! I should be due around the 16th of August. I still can't believe it. We had been trying for 7 mths. And bingo the month we only bd after i ovulated, i'm pregnant! Who would have thought?! :D
I don't have many symtoms - slightly achey boobs and diahrrea occasionally and blue veins on the boobs but nothing really standing out. Nothing else! Which is weird for me. I had more symtpoms when i was pregnant with my ds.
I hope to be able to get to you everyone over this next 8 months!
CONGRATULATIONS ANDREA!!! :D
Thats such great news. I have been following your posts for the past couple of months in the TTC threads. Good for you!
I look forward to sharing this wonderful experience with you (and of course everyone else in this thread). I am technically due in July, but I am absolutely positive that I won't have it until August - hence why I'm here :p
littlepickle
06-12-2005, 07:43 PM
Hey Andrea!! congratulations!! and welcome to the thread!! How exciting!
I still dont really have many symptoms apart from my bbs going up a whole cup size already and being really sore and needint to go to the toilet more often in more ways than one!!
I have actually lost weight, I am not sure why, I havent been eating less and havent had any morning sickness either. I have kind of gone off chocolate and sweet things a bit so that might be the reason, I keep checking my tum for any trace of a bump - of course I know that it is waay to early for that but I just feel a little like a spectator at the moment, my bod is obviously very busy but nothing I can see!!
I have still continued to give my tum and thighs a massage with various oils morning and night in an attempt to declare war on anf future stretchmarks. I know that there is probably little to be done about that, but I also like the act of spending a bit of pamper time on me :D
brideofjabba
06-12-2005, 08:47 PM
Littleickle - i didn't get stretch marks until i was 7 mths with my ds. I rubbed cream on my belly the whole time and them one day i suddenly exploded! My whole belly looked like it had been scratched up by a tiger! I hope you don't get it that bad! Hopefully i wont get any new ones. ;)
Jane asked a question that i was wondering too....when did you go to the drs? With my ds i went when i was almost 7 weeks but this time by then it will be near christmas...should i go before or after? I mean i know what vitamins to take etc since i'm already taking them. So it's only blood tests and probably a pap smear :eek: yuck yuck yuck.
I'm not sure if soon or later is better. Ok totally rambling now! lol
littlepickle
06-12-2005, 10:24 PM
Andrea,
I dont think there is too much of a rush to see the doc, I went to my gp who ordered a couple of different bloodtests, pregnancy, blood type, iron levels and blood screen but said that the obs will probably order a lot more when I see him. I will be 10 weeks at my first obs appointment. I guess it just depends on whether you are using a private obs because a lot of them arebooked quite far in advance. I booked my obs the day I found out I was pg, and still the earliest I could be fitted in was 6 weeks from then. Apart from that, I think you need to book into the hospital pretty early. Everything else I will just deal with as it comes up I guess
littlepickle
06-12-2005, 10:27 PM
Just wanted to say that my first doc appointment was not that exciting, no examination or anything except the blood test results and blood pressure, so I wouldnt say it is really that important, themain thing is to book in with the hospital and carer (obs or midwife)
I am prob rambling, I am sure you already know heaps more than me :o
brideofjabba
07-12-2005, 08:16 AM
Unfortunately i'm just going public. The first appointment with the clinic at the hospital is 12 weeks. So i guess before then. Did i just answer my own question? lol I probably should make an appointment for this week just to be on the safe side.
only1mica
07-12-2005, 09:16 AM
Hi all...
Congrats to all the new Aug mamas :D
Hope everyone is feeling well - I have been feeling pretty seedy...
Constatly tired, sore nipls, gone off foods but feel like i need to eat something...weird I know!!
Anyway I have been trying to work out a time to call the hospital to book in - it is really difficult...I dont want to call when at I am at work because I dont want anyone at work to know about it yet. And when I get home I think it would be too late for anyone to book me in.
it is a constant cycle....:(
Anyways better go....chat soon...
xxoo
mic
redbaby
07-12-2005, 09:38 AM
Hi Guys,.. Woo Hoo Andrea! That is unreal! We are due a couple of days apart,...though Squidg was 2weeks early,..so hopefully this one will be too,...otherwise their birthdays will be in the same week!
I went to the Dr for a blood test yesterday...etc,.. and have booked the same Obbie as the last time,......first appointment in the first week of Jan,..I am really looking forward to it! Time is going to drag until then! My boobs are so huge atm that my girlfriend (who is due 2weeks before me) has taken to calling me Jane Mansfield!
brideofjabba
07-12-2005, 01:27 PM
Wow Jane, my boobs haven't done anything. They are a little sore and still as small and saggy as usual :p
littlepickle
07-12-2005, 02:14 PM
Not feeling the best today :( I have taken the day off work as I have a really bad headache that I cannot shake and a sore throat and cough. I think it is because of the little heatwave that we are having up here and going from that into aircon constantly, I feel out of breath too and am just sitting on the long not really sure what to do with myself.
Also a bit upset. I have been thinking of the option of a doula but my mother said that I am not posh spice but an ordinary person and should just get on with it like everyone else :( the only reason that I am looking into a doula is that even though I have an ob, I really want an active birth and thought a doula might help with that. Do you think it is wrong to want to try to create the environment that uou want? My mother knows my nickname on bubhub so she will probably be reading this too, I just hate the way that everyone has their own opinions on how you should do things based on how they did them, surely it is a personal thing though..sorry for winging, I am a bit fed up today. Anyway enough about me. How is everyone else feeling! There are quite a few of us for Aug already!!
brideofjabba
07-12-2005, 02:24 PM
Littlepickle - you have to do what is best for you! I think doulas are getting more popular these days and there is totally nothing wrong with having somewhere that to help you have a great natural birth. Especially if your dh doesn't know what he's doing! lol
If that's what you want then you need to look into it. I think it's best not to tell anyone what you plan for your birth, because eveyone usually sticks their nose in where it's not wanted! :p
I felt a little queezy this morning but my dh said it was psychological since i found out i was preggo yesterday. LOL He's probably right! I made my drs appointment for Tuesday.
littlepickle
07-12-2005, 02:55 PM
Thanks Andrea,
I think you are right, I will have to try to keep things to do with the birth etc to ourselves. I kind of get a bit carried away with telling people things as I get excited, but everyone has an opinion on the right way of doing things. The important thing is that it feels right for me and DH
I know what you mean about the psychological nausea, I had it the day after I found out I was pg too!! but nothing much since until today that is :D
redbaby
08-12-2005, 06:33 AM
Littlepickle - Hey Girl,..it is your labour! You have the right to choose whatever options you feel most comfortable with,..... And why can't you be Posh Spice if you want!?!?!?!? I had an active labour with Scarlett (mind you it was only 3 hours go to wo)...but I would not have had it any other way,.. You need to check out all your options and go into the situation as clued up as possible,.otherwise you may regret it afterwards,... And,.honestly,.does your Mum even know what a Doula is? I don't think that my mum would,..(none of that hippy nonsense for my daughter!!!!),.... Labour doesn't need to be restricted to the poor woman lying on her back with a Dr. elbow in at her other endup to his elbow at her other end!
only1mica
08-12-2005, 08:01 AM
Hey Girls
Littlepickle - I am with the other girls on this - it is your pregnancy and if it suits you & DH then that is all that matters.
A doula sounds like such a great idea (I am thinking about it too) and i think that only positive things can come from it....:D
Oh and I hope you are feeling better - the last thing you want at the moment is to get a cold and have m/s too!
Bride of Jabba - I know what you mean about it being psychological, as soon as I found out, I was the same....but now I think that when I was feeling sick before I didnt know what was causing it so I wasnt thinking about it.
Hope everyone else isnt feeling too queezy:)
brideofjabba
08-12-2005, 09:31 AM
Ok i'm still feeling sick...but hungry at the same time! I was sick even before i tested with my ds so i know it is possible to have m/s this early.
Jane - you described my delivery perfectly! Feet up in stirrups with goodness knows how many drs poking around 'up there' Of course i didn't have a straight forward labour and needed help at the end. Totally hoping for a nice quick hopefully drug free birth this time....i can wish can't I? :D
Has anyone bought a book on pregnancy yet? I borrowed some last time because we were so poor. lol This time i'd like to buy one to have on hand all the time. I heard Up the Duff was good. Any suggestions?
littlepickle
08-12-2005, 10:51 AM
Thanks girls!!
Heheh, you really have cheered me up! Jane, I loved that bit about the doc in up to his elbow!! Heheh, now thats exactly what I dont want if I can help it, so I am going to go with my feelings on having a doula! I want to try to have an active birth if possible, I want it to be as positive an experience as can be, and anything that I can do in preparation to help that along I will do. Of course, you have to take what you get, but at least I will know whatever happens that I did it my way ... ooh I feel a song coming on... :D ahem..sorry about that!!
I am off work again today, went into the office this morning still feeling rough but got off to a very bad start. I was sitting on the bus when this scruffy guy came and sat next to me --gaawd he stunk!! BO and wee aaarrrggh!! I had my head out of the window gagging, not helped by the 34 degree 78% humidity here in Brissy, got to the office to discover the aircon wasnt working and I was just about passing out, so I grabbed some work to carry on with at home but I am just feeling crappy. I think morning sickness has begun but I also have a cold and sore throat so I dont know what is making me feel worse!
On the subject of books, I have a few already, in fact I bought a few b4 I was even pg. My favs are "up the duff" and "the girlfriends guide to pregnancy" I do have "what to expect.." which is really good to use as a reference, but not so much fun to read. I also have a book called "the gentle birth method" which is good too.. wow, I do have a lot of books!!
Hey, I think it is a good thing to be pg just b4 Christmas, I think the time will go faster because of everything that is hapening this month, plus we get to have a bit of time off work too - excellent! I dont mind not being able to drink or anything as I rarely drink anyway, but it does raise a few questions at work gatherings, I have taken to carrying around a glass of wine (not drinking it) to avoid speculation. Its funny that nobody notices that the wine glass is staying full! I have decided not to tell work until I start to show. When is everyone else going to tell work?
Hey Andrea, I have two pregnancy books which I'm finding really good. One of them is Up the Duff. It's hilarious! I'm loving it. The other one is What to Expect When Your Expecting which is pretty good as well. I find it a bit more informative than Up the Duff
kelsta
08-12-2005, 11:31 AM
Hey Andrea
I have What to expect when expecting, which is a good reference book.
I too am trying to not be noticed without any alcohol, and our work chrissy party is in the 19th. I am going to have to come up with a good excuse why i am not getting stupid drunk like everyone else in my office!
I am going to try and hold out as long as possible to tell work, iwill be 13 weeks at the end of January and maybe will tell them then. I have heard that you pop out sooner with your second, so i am guessing they will begin to notice something?
Has anyone had any wind like pains in there stomach? I had one last night and once i laid down all was ok.
Also, i bought DH a book called what to excpect when she is expecting and he ia loving it!
brideofjabba
08-12-2005, 07:19 PM
Cool! I'm totally buying those books...i'm sure i can find a way to justify it. :D
I don't drink anyhow so the alcohol thing isn't going to affect me. Actually the only thing i have to give up is soft cheese!!!!!!!!! I still love you Brie please don't forget me!!!!!!!! ;) My dh and i are cheese lovers and i was planning a nice big platter for christmas. :mad:
I did up a 'movie' poster announcing our pregnancy to our families. I got the idea from an online friend, she did it for her last baby. I hope everyone likes it. I sent them today and then got paranoid and did another hpt just in case! lol it was still positive. PHEW!!!!
I am a sahm so i don't have work issues. Though i think other then immediate family and a couple of close friends i will just wait til people notice. lol I am sporting a little tummy weight(thank you for nothing antidepressants!) so it might not be noticeable for a while...hopefully!
Kelsta - i have had af type pains but nothing else pain-wise.
brideofjabba
08-12-2005, 08:11 PM
Ok this is way early, but is anyone else disgusted at the cost of maternity clothes? I'm just browsing a few sites. Seriously last time i had to borrow clothes because of the cost and only bought a couple of things from Myers because they were on sale big time. I thought i could rack up a nice collection this time since we are better off financially, but its still so expensive!!!! I think i might have to hit Big W and some tent dresses even though i wanna be a cute trendy mum this time. lol
Naggy
08-12-2005, 10:07 PM
Just did two hpt today and got two red lines both times. AF is only two days late but I'm usually spot on and boobs hurt. Think I am! Dear husband refuses to believe I'm pregnant until I have a blood test, then he still doesn't really believe until he sees the baby.
This will be my second, first is Sam who just turned three.
Looked at a lot of your posts and if I'm correct I think I'm the same as a few of you 16 August. Does that mean you guys just found out in last day or two as well?
Naggy
littlepickle
08-12-2005, 10:25 PM
Hi Naggy
Welcome to the thread! Congratulations!!! :D
Andrea, In regards to maternity clothes, I have been looking on ebay, there are quite a few of the good brands like egg, ripe, belly button etc at a fraction of the cost, okay so they may be preworn - but only for a few months! I am going to do it that way I think, I will get a few key basic pieces as new and some nice things of ebay to pad it all out a bit I think. Also, even through I am not likely to be showing that much in January, I was thinking of trying to pick a few things up in the January sales as they will probably be selling off thei 2005 winter stock in the jan sales.
I think we are all quite lucky having our later (bigger) stages of pregnancy in the winter - we can get away with more layers and stylish wraps and ponchos etc. I have quite a few nice wraps from Witchery that I bought this winter which will easily still accommodate me when I bigger next winter. I guess the more important things I can see is having a good pair of maternity jeans and some work pants or skirts and a few tops and a few wraps
Luckily fashion at the moment is all about flowy layers etc so thats got to be god for us right?
brideofjabba
09-12-2005, 08:51 AM
Hi Naggy congrats and welcome.
I found out on Tuesday, af was due wednesday. I was having a long cycle and didn't end up ovulating until cd29! I really thought we had missed the boat because we bd AFTER i had already ovulated (my temp went up, i told dh and we bd just in case!) and according to everything i have read that is the worst day to bd if you want to get pregnant. Looks like it is our lucky month!
I am due the 16th too! How cool!
Hi Naggy, Congratulations!!
In regards to maternity clothes, I've been having a bit of a look around lately and I can't believe how much they are! I have an Egg clothing store accross the from where I work, so I've been in there a couple of times having a look. A nice pair of jeans started at $160!! I've had a look on Ebay as well and they seem to have alot of really cheap things.
I will probably end up doing the same thing as you littlepickle, buy some things at the January sales. I've got two weddings to go to next year (one in Feb and the other in March) so I want to buy a nice dress to wear to both. Your right about the fashions at the moment. They're so many nice tops and dresses that would be perfect to wear when you have a growing belly! I can't wait :D
suzzan
10-12-2005, 01:19 PM
hi guys, im also due in August around the 14th. im 4 weeks pregnant and just got it confirmed with a blood test. it is my first pregnancy and im overwhelmed. im from sydney and am wondering which hospitals are good?
brideofjabba
10-12-2005, 06:58 PM
hi suzzan and welcome! I live in QLD but i'm sure there are a few Sydney siders around.
Naggy
11-12-2005, 11:00 PM
Hi Suzzan
Congratulations!! It is scary and exciting at the same time isn't it?
In terms of hospitals - DO NOT go to Prince of Wales Private in Randwick. The midwives were great, but the after care was atrocious. I've had about three of my friends say the same. For the amount of money it cost it was truly pathetic.
When I buzzed for a nurse it took at least 20 mins for one to come, then when one did it was like "what do you want?". I left with bleeding nipples in a lot of pain.
Also depends where in Sydney you live, I'm now on the North so I think I'll opt for the San in Wahroonga. Apparently the maternity section is highly rated. A few of my friends went there and said it was excellent.
A couple of thoughts anyway.
Naggy
DH
DS - Sam aged 3
Naggy
11-12-2005, 11:02 PM
PS Thanks for the congratulations messages.
Naggy
redbaby
12-12-2005, 05:58 AM
Hi Suzzan,.... I had Scarlett at Royal North Shore Private,..and it was just brilliant,... midwives were excellent,..I had a great big suite (it was actually the VIP suite!!!!),...totally brilliant,.. I am going to have Squidgy#2 there for sure!
brideofjabba
12-12-2005, 09:14 AM
Naggy, i totally had the same sort of thing at the Toowoomba Base. Midwives were great during the birth. Horrible aftercare! I am dreading going back there :(
romey
13-12-2005, 10:46 AM
Hi All!! im due 8th August... still keeping it very quite as im so paranoid something might happen :( . This is will be baby no 2. First baby will be 2yr2months when im due so a little bit worried, but i have a great family for support :D .
First baby i had sickness :eek: for 4months, sick after every meal, so far its been a lot better, little bit of naseau. Having my baby at Westmead private again, but this time using a OB recommend from these forums. Wasn't very unhappy with my first OB :confused: so this time im looking forward to trying Dr Pesce.
Good luck everyone and look forward to chating about all the joy (and no so joys) along the way!!
brideofjabba
13-12-2005, 02:46 PM
hi Romy, and welcome.
I'm glad the dreaded morning sickness seems to be better this time round. I'm hoping for a better time too. With my ds i had it for 9 mths! I felt sick before i did a hpt, bad nausea set in at 7 weeks and i threw up everyday from about 8 weeks til the day before i delivered. It was horrible!
I just bought some sea bands in the hope that they will take the edge off it when it gets bad. I've been feeling sick for the past week and had my first gagging experience today.
I went to the drs today too and had the usual bloods done. If we go by my last af i am due on the 2nd August, but if we go by conception date it is 16th. I think i trust my conception date more though because i had a long cycle. Anyways, my ultrasound will give a better estimate. And as long as i know its in august sometime! lol
littlepickle
13-12-2005, 05:15 PM
I think I read somewhere that doctors would be better off giving us a due month rather than a due date as babies usually arrive within two weeks before or 2 weeksafter the due date. I am due on the 4th August if I go by my last af date and 30th July if I go by my ovulation date, I think it is more likely to be in August though, I have heard that first bubs are usually late rather than early.
I am soo looking forward to my first scan! I think I will be having a basic scan done by my ob on my appointment in 6 weeks but I havent booked any other scans myself yet, I figured I would wait to see what my ob has to say. I have been toying with the idea of a nuchal scan but I am not sure if it is something that I would need or not. I am 30 now and I dont think I am in the at risk age group, I guess thats another thing I will have to check with the ob.
kacey
13-12-2005, 05:23 PM
Hi August Girls!
Ok, so I'm excited, but can you blame me? Guess what! I'M PREGNANT! YAY! Not surprising since I'm writing in this thread, but soooo exciting for me and DH!
I found out 10 days ago but the computer was getting fixed and I only got it back today. I've been hanging out to tell you all. We're due August 13! It's our first. I was told in June that I have PCOS (devastating) and I've lost 18kg this year. It had an incredible effect on my testosterone levels and I began ovulating again in July. We've really only been trying since June. I've just finished my teaching degree, and I had resigned myself to looking for work next year since I never dreamed I would fall so soon, or maybe even at all. We planned to have a bub after 5 years of marriage. What a way to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary in April (with a growing belly). YAY!
No morning sickness yet, but holding my breath as mum was throwing up until the day all three of hers were born.
Only told my best friend and DH's parents so far. Going to tell my brother tonight. May tell more family at Christmas, but apart from that everyone will have to wait till Australia Day.
Will post again soon, but it's just so wonderful to be pregnant!
(Can you tell I've been clucky since I was 4?)
suzzan
14-12-2005, 06:26 AM
Thank you for the hospital recommendations. My husband and i are going to the Calvary Hospital at Hurstville today to have a tour and then to St George Private hospital on Saturday. I was told to book a specialist and hospital asap.
I have been feeling really sleepy especially in the afternoon. I havent had morning sickness but ive lost my appettite and feel like i need to force myself to eat. I have to admit im turned off junk food. i feel nauseas when i see some food.
im really excited that im 5 weeks pregnant with my 1st baby. i feel blessed from God to have a baby. :D
redbaby
14-12-2005, 06:36 AM
Welcome to all the Newbies! How exciting,......there seems to be an awful lot of us???!!! Hey Romey,.....Scarlett will be just 24months when bubba#2 is born,......so that is pretty similar to your age gap,.....hmmmm,... it is very hard to think of what she will be like in 8or so months though,..she grows up every day,..so I am thinking that it will all be ok,.... Just bizarre that both my children will probably have their birthdays in the same week! Hmmm,.!! Scarlett was 10days early though,..... Have you all started to tell people yet? I have told my parents and a few friends,..but don't really want to tell my MIL,..she is so incredibly negative,. when we were pregnant with Scarlett her response was "well,.I won;t congratulate you yet,..it is still early and something may happen,.." Stupid woman!
brideofjabba
14-12-2005, 08:28 AM
Jane, what a horrible thing for you MIL to say! We have told our families. We made up a 'movie' poster announcing the baby coming in august. It was so cute and we only got 2 replies! I'm totally bummed. Apparently 2nd babies aren't that exciting :(
Littlepickle - my first bub came 2 days before my due date! You never know...lol
Congratulations Kacey & Romey!
I haven't posted on here for awhile becuase I've been feeling pretty unwell lately. I haven't actually thrown up (sorry TMI!) but I feel sick 24/7. I brought some sea bands yesterday which I've been told are good. But I dont think they're doing much. I'm still wearing though just in case. Last night I had my first craving - for hot chips and gravy. Yum!! Has anyone else had any yet?
I was looking at the Due in July thread and thought that I would pinch this idea from them. What are you missing or enjoying the most so far?
For me, I'm missing:
- Feeling normal (i.e. not feeling sick all of the time)
- Ham
- A glass of wine
I'm enjoying:
- The look on peoples faces when I tell them I'm pregnant (not that we've told that many people yet though)
- Know that a beautiful little baby is growing inside of me
- Being pampered by DH
What about everyone else?
kacey
14-12-2005, 09:44 AM
Thanks Lou.
I'm missing:
- camembert (could eat a whole one right now!)
- going one whole hour without seeing how much the loo needs a coat of paint.
I'm enjoying:
- no m/s (hope I can be a lucky one).
- the delight of those who know our news.
- this wonderful secret which makes me smile.
Can I add a category? or two?
I'm dreading:
- silly people on the street who think I'm 16 giving me evil stares.
- a few negative people's reactions (can't avoid them, they're family).
I'm looking forward to: (apart from the obvious, birth)
- seeing my belly grow.
- DH becoming even more soppy.
- the thought of my brother seeing his neice/nephew when we visit Canada next Christmas.
Hope all is going well for all you August mums!
redbaby
14-12-2005, 10:40 AM
I know,...she truely is an evil woman,..and she is visiting this afternoon - worse luck!
I am missing:
A glass of wine at night
Proscuitto!!!!!
Brie and Haloumi cheese
Oysters
Sushi!!!!!!
Ooohhhhhhhh,..........
And am craving Watermelon,..
Scarlett and I sit in the garden in her pool all afternoon eating watermelon and iceblocks,.. heaven!
brideofjabba
14-12-2005, 11:05 AM
I'm missing:
- being obssessed with ttc! weird
- my appetite!
- definately soft cheeses! I am doing a big platter for christmas...is it bad to have a little bit? lol
I'm enjoying:
- my dh calling me the 'mother of his children' plural!
- picking names and knowing i will be able to use them
- knowing i can get fat and not care!
I'm dreading:
- throwing up
- getting all the bad stuff again i had last time i was pregnant
I'm looking forward to: (apart from the obvious, birth)
- seeing my baby for the first time...its such an unreal experience
- buying a new car seat!
- probably buying a new pram with a toddler seat... i just love buying new baby things!
- the $4000 so i can actually buy my baby decent things this time!
brideofjabba
14-12-2005, 11:05 AM
oh and i haven't had any cravings yet... i have no appetite.
lilbugalugs
14-12-2005, 11:48 AM
Congratulations to all the new people since last time I posted :D There are too many for me to mention, must have been a good month to get pregnant.
Well I had my blood tests done last week and the results are all good. I still feel completely different to last pregnancy....I shouldn't complain but I feel just normal.
I am missing:
Not having to worry every day that something is wrong :(
I am enjoying
Having a little secret that only hubby and you guys know about!
I am dreading
Breastfeeding (I had some major issues last time and was only able to Bfeed until DD was 5 wks old)
I am looking forward to
Getting a baby bump
Holding my baby and believe it or not smelling my baby (new babys smell special)
Hey Lil, good to have you back! I'm glad that the blood tests went well for you. At least you can relax a little bit more now (maybe ??)
I forgot to mention that I'm missing sushi! I love it. I used to treat myself and have some for lunch every Friday. Oh well, I will have to find something else instead.
I am dreading
- Negative comments from people saying that I'm too young (this comment actually came from a good friend of mine who waited until she was 40 to have her first baby (not that there's anything wrong with that). I was pretty offended though).
I am looking forward to
- Getting a baby bump (can't wait!)
- Buying cute baby things
- Everything!! :p
kacey
14-12-2005, 02:16 PM
I'm constantly hungry. I feel sorry for those of you who are feeling too yuk to eat or your appetite is gone, but this baby is eating all my food and leaving me starving! :o
My pants are already a little tight when I am sitting. I haven't put on any weight (lost half a kg, actually). Anyone else noticing a tiny podge?
Andrea, don't we get $5000 since it's next financial year? Ours will probably go towards central heating and our trip to Canada, no matter how much it is.
I'm going to tour my two favourite hospital choices next week. How soon do you need to choose? It seems a little early but some people say you have to decide straight away.
Hope you all feel great over the festive season.
Also I am enjoying: Getting along well with my MIL! :D
I'm hungry all of the time too. Even though I'm feeling really sick, I still seem to be so hungry. But then when I go to eat something I can't work out what I feel like eating - Strange!!
In regards to choosing the hospital, my doc said to book in with the hospital at about 12 weeks. Are you going public or private? I'm just going public, so it might be different for private. I'm not too sure.
Guess what I just did? I made a couple of bids on some maternity clothes on Ebay! Am I jumping the gun a bit? I'm 7 1/2 weeks at the moment.
I thought that my tummy was starting to get a bit bigger, but I think that I might just be a bit bloated. Well I hope so anyway. I dont think that you normally start showing until alot later? I think I asked this question before :confused:
brideofjabba
14-12-2005, 05:29 PM
Lou, i can't remember when i started have a bit of a belly but i know by my 12 week appointment at the antenatal clinic i was the exact same weight as i was pre-preggo but i had to hitch my skirts up higher to fit...and my pants didn't fit without a belly belt! My dr sent a letter to the hospital i'm going to(public) and they will send me out an appointment time and you book into the hospital at that appointment.
Kacey - is it $5000!? i'll have to check that out!
brideofjabba
14-12-2005, 05:33 PM
Ok i just checked out the maternity payment. Its $4000 as of 1/7/06. It will go up to $5000 as of 1/7/08. So that will be the next baby! lol
kacey
14-12-2005, 07:45 PM
Lou, I'm going private probably, pretty cost effective for the choices you get and not too expensive with decent private health cover. Not sure what type of attendant I will get (not keen on an ob) but private is more likely to support my choice, from what I hear.
Anyone have any ideas on threads already existing to help a newbie decide on what type of person to employ?
Andrea, bummer about that extra grand! Oh well, mental note to self - have 2nd bub after 01/07/08! 4 grand is still going to be really helpful.
So excited about buying stuff, especially baby clothes, but restraining myself until 12 weeks. You never know who might see and guess!
kacey
14-12-2005, 07:54 PM
In the ttc threads they list everyone and when they're in the tww, etc. I thought it would be fun to list everyone in this thread and their edd. So many names, it would be nice to see how our group grows. Hope no-one minds, let me know if you do.
29.07 only1mica (mic)
31.07 lou
04.08 littlepickle
05.08 lilbugalugs
08.08 romey
11.08 mum2lily (tegan)
13.08 jane+scarlett (jane)
13.08 kelsta (kel)
13.08 kacey
14.08 suzzan
16.08 brideofjabba (andrea)
16.08 naggy
Twelve so far, wonder how many more we pick up? We've still got half the month to fill! :D
Fairyfloss
14-12-2005, 10:23 PM
it is so nice to see every one so happy, I had 3 negative results start of last week, then after waiting for a week for my blood test results, apparently I am pregnant, but my hcg levels are indicating 4 weeks at most, but based on dates I am suppose to be 5 weeks prag today. going back for another blood test tomorrow, to see how things has changed. I don't really want to believe it but I think I am heading for another miscarriage. right now I am sitting at my desk trying to get through another dreadful night shift, and pretend I am my usual happy self. I am sorry if this is too long but I needed to get this out my system, since no one knows I am prag except dh. :confused:
Thats a great idea Kacey, listing everyones names and due dates. Hopefully we will have some more additions before the month is over!!
Parisakamali - Good luck with your blood test today. Hopefully all will work out well for you and we will be seeing you alot more in this thread. I'm sending lots and lots of positive vibes your way!! :p
littlepickle
15-12-2005, 07:19 PM
Sorry I havent beeon online much for a while, have been feeling really awfull :-( not so much on the morning sickness side of things, I think that has just started to kick in yesterday and today, but I have just been feeling really tired and run down. The worst thing is that I have been suffering from the most terrible wind (TMI) my stomach swells up like a baloon, and I have a bad stomach, then it all goes (like a deflating baloon) then comes back again the next day. I have tried to watch what I eat but I still keep getting it and dont know what else to do, its just so uncomfortable and kind of antisocial too :o
I do not have anything remotely resembling a bump otherwise, in fact my stomach seems flatter most of the time, I think I have lost a bit of weight due to being off chocolate and sweet things.
That is good news about the maternity payment, I thought that it was going to be about 3000, 4000 is even better!
When is everyone else going to be having their first scans??
Naggy
15-12-2005, 10:48 PM
Hello
I've finally got a minute to sit down and write. Have been working SOOO hard lately.
Littlepickle - I also have the wind thing. It's so horrible because I feel like you've got this tummy and then really it's only my little fat layer sticking out because my tummy is so bloated!
Other than that I have monstrous sore boobs and same with nipples. I didn't have this with my first so much, boobs only hurt a little bit last time.
You know one thing that is a bit scary, I had a Xmas party before I found out and knew it would be a bit of a big night so I did one of those early detection tests and it came up negative - now of course I'm positive. I had about six drinks that night and can't help feeling scared.
Just went to a Xmas party tonight and really had to tell people because I had no other excuse. I am the most hopeless liar!!
wattle
16-12-2005, 06:25 AM
Hi girls, thought I'd pop in and say hello. I think I'm due around 22nd August. (Bit hard to tell as my cycle has been all over the place since weaning ds in Sept.) I did a test yesterday and it definitely came up with a big positive. I'm soooo excited.
I look forward to taking this amazing journey with you all.
tickle
16-12-2005, 06:39 AM
Sorry to crash in here but:
Wattle WOO HOO!!!
Congrats!
So happy for you!:D
draught
16-12-2005, 06:40 AM
Sorry to crash in here but:
Wattle WOO HOO!!!
Congrats!
So happy for you!:D
Ditto Wattle!! I sent you a Pm cause I was worried about crashing but dammit - I am crashing with Happy Rady!!!!
Pixie
16-12-2005, 06:44 AM
Waltz's in
CONGRATULATIONS!!!! TO YOU ALL
May you all have happy and safe pregnancies!!
it's cool to crash :D
16-12-2005, 07:09 AM
me too me too!!
CONGRATULATIONS WATTLE :D
Wattle Congratulations and Welcome!!! :p
I look forward to talking to you alot more over the next few months.
How have you been feeling??
only1mica
16-12-2005, 11:16 AM
Well it has been a while since I have posted here (been busy at work - no access to pc at home) so I thought I would start by filling this out...
I am missing:
Feta Cheese
Not feeling tired all the time
Not feeling so sick in the stomach or being so picky with food
Coffee
I am enjoying
thinking about what it will be like with our first buba
thinking that someone special to me is growing inside me RIGHT NOW! :D
keeping a huge secret from almost everyone...so that we can give them a special christmas pressie
I am dreading
putting too much weight on (very hard to eat right at the moment, if i feel like eating something i will...I think it is better than not eating at all)
the labour & birth (after the birth I am sure I will be on cloud 9 :D )
I am looking forward to
having more than just 2 of us in our family
a baby bump
everything working out with Breast Feeding
and sooo much more...
Ok now that thats done....
I contacted the Antinatal Clinic (Going to St George Public - Any stories out there about that hospital?) last week, who said that they were going to send out some forms that I need to complete...to date havent got them :confused: so i might have to call again soon.
I cant believe that I am 8 Weeks Tomorrow - YAY!!!
Still feeling yuck - no throwing up though which is good ;)
Congrats to all the new girls...thanks for the list it is very helpful!!
Take Care
Mic
brideofjabba
16-12-2005, 11:59 AM
Hey girls! congrats wattle and welcome!
I had my first puking episode this morning, though it was just bile since i hadn't actually eaten anything. I am feeling very queezy but living on ginger beer and potato chips seems to be working ;) I still feel sick all the time though. Sea bands did nothing. So pooey on them! I wasn't this pukey this soon with my ds so maybe its a girl:p I'm hoping it means i wont be sick as long this time either. But i guess you never know.
I'm soooo looking forward to puking up prawns on christmas day...................NOT!
wattle
16-12-2005, 04:54 PM
Thanks girls. Feeling fantastic at the moment. All is good.
We were going to wait until Christmas day to tell the family, but I was too excited and let the cat out of the bag today! Oh well, that just gives them more time to share the joy.
suzzan
16-12-2005, 08:22 PM
Hi I was wondering is it ok to eat cheese, the only cheese i was told not to eat was blue vein, ricotta etc. Is Haloumi, feta, kraft singles cheese bad for you? i have to admit ive been eating kraft single cheese on toast as i need calcium for my body. what about parmessan and mozarella on pizza or lasagne? can somebody help me on this issue as i love cheese. thank you
kacey
16-12-2005, 09:49 PM
Hey, welcome Wattle! (Nice of your friends to drop in to say congrats :) )
Suzzan, I believe the reason we're cheese-deprived is because a number of cheeses (esp all soft cheeses) are made from unpasteurised milk (that's a bad thing when you're pg because it can carry lysteria). Hopefully others can help you out on the specific cheeses, but I do know that camembert, brie, blue vein (pretty much all the nice cheeses) are out. I'm trying to grow a liking for tasty or vintage, but it's not working for me! :(
Dunno about kraft singles, but I would reckon they're pasturised. Don't take my word for it, though, what would I know, half my brain went missing about 6 weeks ago. (By the way, am I the only one who's DH keeps teasing them about 'baby brain'? Surely it's too early for that to kick in?)
Gosh, isn't it nice to have some people to share the joy with! Have no pg friends, so no-one who really understands just how darn exciting this is! So great to be able to chat to all of you. (All together now... Awwww!)
Hey Suzzan in regards to cheese, I have done alot of research on the internet about it because I too love my cheese!! So, this is what I have found out:
Unsafe to eat during pregnancy
- All soft white cheeses e.g Ricotta, Brie, Camembert, Blue Vein and Fetta
- Pate
- Unpasturised dairy products
- Cold meats
- Dried/fermented sausages
- Raw seafoods e.g Oysters, Sashimi
- Smoked seafood (canned is okay)
- Pre packed and prepared salads
- Soft serve ice cream
Safe to eat during pregnancy
- Washed fruit and vegetables
- Home made salads
- Hard cheese
- Processed cheese (Kraft singles!!)
- Canned foods
- All meats - thoroughly cooked, hot and fresh
- Pasteurised dairy products
So I guess that answered your question. Yes Kraft singles are ok! Yeah :p
If you want any further info, the website is www.pregnancy.com.au/listeria_&pregnancy.htm
About the 'baby brain' Kacey, I think that I've suffered from this my whole life, so I doubt if my DH would notice any difference !!:D Actually, I just thought of something, maybe because I've got it already it will just get worse :p
redbaby
17-12-2005, 10:38 AM
Hey Suzzan,..
Haloumi is ok if it is cooked,... we bbq it and then chuck it into salad,....yummo!
littlepickle
17-12-2005, 12:10 PM
Just wanted to say Congratulations Wattle!!! Welcome to the thread! I hope you have a wonderful pregnancy!
How is everyone else feeling today?
I am good the whole wind thing seems to have settled down today, I am a bit ****ed off as work appears to have forgotten to pay me! Baa humbug, so I am going to have to wait until Monday to speak to them, so it will be Tuesday b4 I get paid at least and I want to do Christmas shopping waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!
Anyway, enough about that, isnt it a beautiful day today, well to look at anyway - bit hot to be out in so I am cowering in the airconditioning lol!
Guess what! I had my first real craving yesterday!! It was for frien onion rings of all things!. I rand dh and got him to pick a big supply up from Hungry's on his way home - they tasted amazing! Funnily enough DH was really excited as he said he finally felt like he had a purpose! Bless, I guess the poor guys dont get to go through what we go through, sometimes I think maybe they feel a bit surplus to requirements after ttc is succesfull! Anyway, he is happy to go off looking for interesting food stuffs (or not so interesting foodstuffs as the case may be) for me, I think it is really sweet!
suzzan
17-12-2005, 06:59 PM
Hi Guys! thank you for all ur help regarding cheeses!I wen to my gp and he said to avoid soft cheeses and cheeses high in fat, so im going to eat y low fat kraft singles and forget about my feta cheese and blue vein...........oh yum! I went to St George private and i liked it. Im thinking of getting Dr Karen Harris to be my specialist. has anyone expereinced her or heard about her and the service at st george private?:o
Fairyfloss
18-12-2005, 08:45 AM
Hi every one, and thank you for your support.
Congratulation to everyone, I love hearing good news. how is every one feeling?
I had another test and that one is positive too, yehhhhh!!!. Except my edd is still mixed up, as a first guess it will be 16 Aug 06, that make me 5 weeks and 4 days prag today, I am so excited, no sign of pregnant feeling yet, no sore boobs, no ms, I think I will feel much better once I actually have the signs. Yep you read that right I actually want to have ms, I will not mind if I can’t hold thing down.
Because of my previous miscarriages my doctor has asked me to book in for scan at 8 weeks to refine the dating and make sure everything is OK, the only down side, I haven’t been able to book anything yet, due to Christmas shut down. Cross my fingers everything will work out.
I glad the only soft cheese I used to eat was fetta, otherwise, I am a testy and cheddar girl, and I think they are safe!!!?
When is every one doing their first scan?
Naggy
18-12-2005, 03:04 PM
Hi Guys
I had the weirdest craving the day before yesterday - CORIANDER - it's the only thing besides my sore boobs that made me feel in the slightest bit pregnant. By the way, not one cafe near my work sold it!! Luckily I have a plant at home and chomped my way through that.
Naggy
kacey
18-12-2005, 04:10 PM
Naggy, I hope I never crave coriander - YUK! Well, that kind of defeats the purpose of a craving, doesn't it?
Parisakamali, good to hear from you again. I was wondering how your tests were going. Go with the sore boobs for a sign, skip the m/s if you can, I hear it's awful. I know what you mean though, I like the reasurring (but slightly painful) niggles which remind me that this is actually real. No m/s for me yet, but starting to get more travel sick in the car - m/s is lurking around the corner!
Updated list:
29.07 only1mica (mic)
31.07 lou
04.08 littlepickle
05.08 lilbugalugs
08.08 romey
11.08 mum2lily (tegan)
13.08 kelsta (kel)
13.08 kacey
14.08 suzzan
16.08 naggy
16.08 parisakamali
22.08 wattle (cathy)
If your ultrasound changes your EDD I'll change it on the list. A few people have mentioned ultrasounds, but I'm pretty sure I'm not going to get one. My doc sent me to get a blood test, but I didn't know he put a down syndrome/neural tube defect test on the list. I was really upset when I found out at the lab, and I refused to have the tests done. From what I read it's too early for that test, but I don't want it done at any stage. Similar reasons for not wanting an u/s. DH doesn't see the point of an u/s either, which actually surprised me. Boy, I need a new doc! Anyone else not sure about wanting an u/s?
raffee
18-12-2005, 05:23 PM
Count me in too please! Im due 12th August.:p
kacey
18-12-2005, 06:55 PM
Welcome and congratulations Raffee! Looks like you might have some wisdom to share with a novice like me. (I hope so, anyway). I'll add you to 'the list' next time I post it.
brideofjabba
18-12-2005, 07:10 PM
Good evening girls! I've been gone for the weekend and its good to be home again. I've had a pretty good day actually. I was dry retching this morning but felt pretty good the rest of the day. But i think i ate too many potato chips on the way home and now i'm feeling yuck. Plus there is something awefully smelly in the fridge and when i opened it i nearly gagged! :( I'll have to get dh to clean it out ;)
As for cravings....none yet but i asked dh if he would go out day or night to get me anything i wanted. He said he would if i went with him! Whats the use of that?! lol The other day i suddenly wanted a Whopper...sounded so good at the time but i doubt by the time he went to the other side of town to get it, i would want it! lol
Actually the only meat i can seem to tolerate eating is sausages. Weird because i haven't eaten then in the longest time and i don't really like them! I had been dieting for the last 16 mths and snags were out! But now they taste sooooo good! I had them at my brothers bbq last night. mmmmmmmmmmmm drool.
Its so weird though, how much food tastes different. My nephew got baptised today and afterwards there was a luncheon. There were fruit mince pies there. I LOVE fruit mince pies! I took one bite and gave it to my sister. She assured me it was really yummy, but to me it tasted horrible! :(
Hope everyone had a great weekend. I'll catch you all later!
Oh and welcome to anyone new!
4panayi
19-12-2005, 12:54 PM
hi i'm pregnant with baby no.4 due 18/8/06 i have all the symptoms under the sun exept for ms i'm expexting it around the 10th week for me i'm currently 5 weeks. Anyone here from sydney?
anyone else on baby on.4?
redbaby
20-12-2005, 06:26 AM
Hi Guys,.. I am feeling surprisingly normal and 'Un-preggie' today,.. does anyone else have days like this? And why the hell do we worry about how we are feeling all the time!!?!?!??!!?? Pregnancy has turned me into a major health freak!
wattle
20-12-2005, 07:48 AM
Morning August girls. Well the doc rang back yesterday with the results of the blood test - yes, I'm pregnant. (I think I had that sussed out already:rolleyes: , but still good to have the proof I suppose)
I went and checked out the birth centre at monash the other day (here in Melbourne) and LOVED it. So I'll book in there when the time is right.
Could you please move my edd to 27th August..... doc seems to think I'm not as far along as I thought. I'm edging towards the Sept thread...and it looks like I might have a Virgo after all.
brideofjabba
20-12-2005, 05:53 PM
HI! I got my appointment at the hospital for the 11th of Jan. I will only be 9 weeks by then. I thought it strange because i remember last time the midwife telling me that they only do hospital appt. from 12 weeks onwards, just in case you miscarry. weird. Anyways thats ok, i just hope my ms isn't bad then! I remember last time i was feeling soo sick but just had to sit there and endure the appt.
I am feeling quite good today. I am still dry retching every morning and feeling squeezy all day but no throwing up since the other day. Is anyone else not peeing every 5 seconds? I was expecting it but its not happening! lol not that i'm complaining.
I can't believe how different this pregnancy is though. Is anyone experiencing that? Its just feels totally different. I'm convinced i'm having a girl;) I guess i will find out in about 12 weeks!
Naggy
20-12-2005, 11:46 PM
Hi Payani
Welcome and congratulations! I'm from Sydney. This is my second baby, don't think i'll be trying for number three or four somehow...
Naggy
wattle
21-12-2005, 05:07 AM
Updated list:
29.07 only1mica (mic)
31.07 lou
04.08 littlepickle
05.08 lilbugalugs
08.08 romey
11.08 mum2lily (tegan)
13.08 kelsta (kel)
13.08 kacey
14.08 suzzan
16.08 naggy
16.08 parisakamali
27.08 wattle (cathy)
Here's the updated list.
Has anyone started thinking about decorating a bedroom for bub? I keep looking at the spare room thinking about what to do..... so many choices. I guess we should wait until we know if it's a boy or a girl though:confused:
Does anyone have a 'feeling' about the sex of their baby. It might be interesting to see how many of us with Mothers Intuition turn out to be right. I have a feeling that my little bub will be a boy.
kacey
21-12-2005, 08:01 AM
Sorry for not updating the list sooner, Wattle.
I've put new entries in blue. Has anyone heard more from emmie, jane_35 or baysmummy? They all posted one post in other threads in August, but it'd be good to hear how they are going.
29.07 only1mica (mic)
31.07 lou
04.08 littlepickle
05.08 lilbugalugs
08.08 romey
11.08 mum2lily (tegan)
12.08 raffee
13.08 kelsta (kel)
13.08 kacey
14.08 suzzan
16.08 naggy
16.08 parisakamali
18.08 4panayi
27.08 wattle (cathy)
For some reason (trust me, not logic or science) I just think I'm having a girl. Maybe it's because I can easily picture myself with a daughter, but it's more of a stretch to picture/imagine a son. I'm not planning on an ultrasound, so I will find out on his/her birthday.
We're going to decorate the nursery in lime green and lemon yellow. New yellow curtains, light green walls, timber furniture (hubby is a cabinetmaker).
only1mica
21-12-2005, 11:19 AM
Does anyone have a 'feeling' about the sex of their baby. It might be interesting to see how many of us with Mothers Intuition turn out to be right. I have a feeling that my little bub will be a boy.
I think we are having a little boy...no reason really other than, we have always wanted a girl....so I guess if we get really excited about a buba boy we will be happy either way :D
My reasoning is really silly :rolleyes: but hey....
Also, I had a dream about 3 weeks ago that my sister(who is due in early July) was having twins - a boy & a girl.
So I think either she is having twins...like my dream OR one of us is going to have a girl and one a boy ..... hope that makes sense!!!
brideofjabba
21-12-2005, 12:30 PM
I have a feeling we are having a girl. I've had that feeling for months! Of course though if my conception date is correct the chances of a girl are slim based on the theory that for a girl you need to have sex a few days before ovulation. Anyway, i'll be happy with a boy. At least i wouldn't have to get any new clothes! lol
My pregnancy has been totally different this time too, so another reason why i think it might be a girl.
As for the nursery, my mum is staying with us at the moment and the room she is in is the nursery, so i can't do anything until she goes. We rent so i can't paint walls, but i have picked out a dark purple and yellow if its a girl and not sure about a boy colours yet
I'm 6 weeks today!!
raffee
21-12-2005, 02:44 PM
Thanks for adding me to the updated list!
I don't have a very strong feeling yet but I think that's because I've only known that I am preggie for a week. I would like a lil girl, but I really wouldn't mind another boy either. My DH and i have even agreed on names ALREADY!
littlepickle
21-12-2005, 07:40 PM
Hi Girls! How are we all feeling today?
I have been getting the dreaded morning sickness lately and sooooo tired - I have been in bed before 10 every night which is unheard of for me! DH thinks it is funny!
I am going to decorate the nursery in cream and beige with dark wood Boori furniture and bedding from mamas and papas, I think it is called Millie and Boris, I am not sure when to start that though, I guess after the 19 week scan would be a good idea, I dont want to leave it too late as I dont want to be busy doing that at the end and also it is all so expensive, it will be easier to get things bit by bit. I am no good at saving!!!
I have a very strong feeling that we are having a girl, but cant really explain why. I always wanted to have a boy, but because I believe I am having a girl, I am quite used to the idea now, and would be happy with either. I dont really have a preference as this will be my first bub. I guess if I had a boy already I might want a girl and vice versa! Anyway, 11 weeks to go until I find out (fingers crossed)
I am definitel going to find out the sex so that I can start shopping, I know that they are not always right though even with a scan, so I guess I will buy mainly unisex stuff. Personally I like babies to be dressed in white in the early days, so that should be quite easy :-)
Hey ladies!
I thought that I was starting to feel a bit better yesterday, but then woke up this morning and realised that nope, I'm still not feeling too good. I tried the Sea Bands, but they didn't do anything except dig into my wrist! I brought some of the Blackmores Morning Sickness Formula a few days ago and I think that it might be helping?? Or maybe I'm just imagining it!! :p
I think that my bubs is a boy. I really dont know why I think that, but I honestly think it is. I always imagined that my first child would be a girl. But I really wouldn't mind either way. We're going to find out the sex. Does anyone know when you can normally do this??
Has anyone got names picked yet? DH and I have had names picked out for years. Boy - Jaxon Jeffrey and Girl - Ellah. They are both such common names now, but I dont really mind. What do you girls think?
brideofjabba
22-12-2005, 09:18 AM
Lou - you usually find out the sex at your 18 wk scan.
My ms seems to just be feeling nausious all day and dry heaving or vomiting bile in the mornings. Though last night i was dry heaving after going shopping, dh was zooming around the corners in the car too much! :mad:
Still having food aversions though i can eat more now then i could a week ago. Its very weird! I am just praying that this is as bad as its going to get. I seriously don't know if i could handle another pregnancy like last time :(
I am quite fatigued. I feel like dropping off to sleep by mid morning, the heat isn't making it any better either.
Have a great day everyone!
lilbugalugs
23-12-2005, 11:48 AM
Well I thought that I was feeling really well this pregnancy and bam...Morning sickness. Not physically sick yet...I just feel car sick all the time...yuck.
Got a letter saying that I had an appointment with the doctor at the Mater last week and was a little worried that there was something wrong with my blood results. It turns out that they were a little worried about my Thyroid (I have an underactive Thyroid) I have to monitor my medication closely because if it goes haywire again I am at high risk of miscarriage. It brought back a few memories going back to the Mater Mothers again...it has a particular smell, or perhaps that is just my overactive pregnant sense of smell talking:D
We told my husbands parents, who we are very close to, the exciting news last week...we were going to hold out until I was 12 weeks but decided not to. They are very excited.
As for having a boy or a girl...when I had DD, until the 18 week ultrasound I was certain that I would have a boy (boy was I wrong:rolleyes: ) It took me just a moment to be very happy to have a daughter. I wouldn't have it any other way. I feel that I understand her and that we have a special little bond. Therefore, I am not going to say either way this time. We are planning to NOT find out the sex at the ultrasound this time...we will wait and see... it will probably be like waiting until 12 weeks to tell everyone...I am too impatient. I didn't really feel that I missed out on anything knowing that I was going to have a daughter...I felt that there were enough surprises with labour etc.
We have decided that it is time to buy a bigger house. DD is rapidly filling our quite small house with all her toys and things...I can imagine that it is not going to improve with another little bubba in the house....something to look forward to..not..I really hate moving.
I am eight weeks today.
If I don't post again before the big day...Merry Hot Christmas to all !
Naggy
24-12-2005, 05:02 PM
Well I'm just back from a weekend in Melbourne (I live in Sydney). Went for my husband's work Xmas party, which was excellent. They had the best drinks which I couldn't touch of course - Cosmopolitans, Toblerones, B52s - all free and unlimited and not even a sip could I touch - aaaaghhh. Not that I'm an alcoholic or anything but is anyone else finding it hard being pregnant at Xmas party time????
Other than boobs that feel like two big bruises (because they are so sore) stuck on the front of my chest - I don't feel at all pregnant. I have just as much energy as I ever had, no more cravings (after the coriander incident), and no morning sickness - even had the bumpiest plane ride in the world today and felt fine.
It's for these reasons that I think I might be having another boy. I've heard that you don't get as sick with boys, and I certainly only had slight ms last time with my Sam. However, my boobs weren't nearly as sore! I would love a little girl, just because then I'd have one of each, but if it's a boy that's fine too because I love being a boy mummy!!
Hope everyone has a great Christmas.
Naggy
DH
Sam - born 5/11/02 (Melbourne Cup Day!)
wattle
24-12-2005, 07:24 PM
Hi August Mummies.
Well it's here - morning sickness with avengence!!!!! The last few days I felt a little seedy, then today - BANG it hit like a freight train.
Amongst my queasy sessions I managed to cook the most exquisite Christmas turkey with all the trimmings for dinner with the relies tonight. I am extremely impressed. What a super mummy. hehe.
Actually I feel much better now....... I wonder if that's because I just ate a lot of Xmas dinner??? Or just rotten luck, because now I'll end up cleaning up as well.:rolleyes:
raffee
24-12-2005, 09:02 PM
Hi August Mummies.
Well it's here - morning sickness with avengence!!!!! The last few days I felt a little seedy, then today - BANG it hit like a freight train.
Amongst my queasy sessions I managed to cook the most exquisite Christmas turkey with all the trimmings for dinner with the relies tonight. I am extremely impressed. What a super mummy. hehe.
Actually I feel much better now....... I wonder if that's because I just ate a lot of Xmas dinner??? Or just rotten luck, because now I'll end up cleaning up as well.:rolleyes:
Wattle, you deserve a medal girl! I hope your DH and rellies were thankful.
I have to admit that although I've been trying to deny it to myself, my morning sickness is gradually getting worse too...I am nauseous almost all the day through but luckily I rarely actually spew. I also get really bad dizzy spells, so I'm looking forward to a swift 1st trimester.
I just noticed that our DS's were born 3 days apart and we are both expecting again in August:D ...
Anyways, I hope you have a wonderful xmas day tomorrow.
See you all later,
Raf
Fairyfloss
26-12-2005, 07:34 PM
How was Christmas?
I had lots of fun, even though it reminded me of a lot of food I could not eat,like the Brie that was staring at my all night but didn't touch it. thanks god I am not much of a drinker so did not miss the alcohol much. :cool:
I am very proud of my self these days, since my blood results all came back good, (well almost, my hep b immunity is low, but not going to worry about that now), but most important of them all, I now have regular m/s :eek: , and makes me feel very pregnant.:)
I am taking that as being a good sign, since with my previous m/s I hardly had any m/s, so I think this bub has decided to stick around, but I will feel much better once we have a normal hb on my next u/s visit (4 Jan).
This u/s is optional for me, but the doctor recommended it to make sure every thing was going the way it should. just out of curiosity, I have heard that if I have u/s early in the pregnancy that the baby will develop speech problem, does any one know anything about this, I could not ask my doctor, cause she is on holidays. Has any one else done an u/s at 8 weeks? were you warned about this?:confused:
By the way should my bobs be sore by now, does every one has sore bobs except me???
Parisa
raffee
27-12-2005, 05:57 AM
This u/s is optional for me, but the doctor recommended it to make sure every thing was going the way it should. just out of curiosity, I have heard that if I have u/s early in the pregnancy that the baby will develop speech problem, does any one know anything about this, I could not ask my doctor, cause she is on holidays. Has any one else done an u/s at 8 weeks? were you warned about this?:confused:
By the way should my bobs be sore by now, does every one has sore bobs except me???
Parisa
I have had early ultrasounds done in previous pregnancies and have never heard such a warning. Was this given by a medical practicioner?
Don't worry about the sore boob thingy. Mine aren't sore at all either.
wattle
27-12-2005, 07:27 AM
Mine aren't sore either :confused: I keep waiting for symptoms I had last time. :rolleyes:
Naggy
27-12-2005, 01:56 PM
Hello
I had an ultrasound at about 8 weeks last time, didn't get the speech warning, and my little 3 year old is fine. I wonder why they say it might give speech probs?
There are some weird warnings about, a friend of mine was told she shouldn't eat salad when she's pregnant!!!!
Naggy
brideofjabba
27-12-2005, 03:32 PM
Hi girls! I hope you all had a good christmas. My ds had tonsillitis so it was miserable for all over us over the weekend. I'm truely glad its all over!
I ate lots and felt so sick but i guess it was worth it. I also was bad and ate a tiny bit of brie...it was so good! I figure since it says on the packet it was made with pasturized milk that the chance of getting listeria was slim.
My morning heaving seems to be getting worse but during the day its still the same. I'm 7 wks tomorrow!!! And i am expecting ms to fully hit me anytime now. My boobs aren't sore. They were way sore last time and this time its hardly been anything. I am so ready for the first trimester to be over too, its just dragging so slowly!
Take care everyone!
kacey
27-12-2005, 05:04 PM
Hope you all had a good Christmas! New Year's greetings for this coming weekend!
I had a pretty good Xmas, just a bit exhausted the whole time. It was wonderful being able to tell my SIL and some really close friends over the weekend. One of our friends just kept repeating 'That's such good news, that's such good news' with this astonished voice. Another person told DH he'd be a great dad, and that made his day. SIL asked if we know if it's a boy or a girl yet. :rolleyes:
Can't tell too many people yet, especially no-one who knows my folks. They're in Canada for a visit and we haven't told them yet. Not really looking forward to that. :( My brother (30), in Canada was diagnosed with tumours in his brain and had one of them removed, all just weeks before we found out we're pg. We were heading over in Feb, but now we're going hopefully next Xmas. The melanomas are all through his body and he's been given about 2 years, so we don't want to wait too long, but we asked him and he'd like to meet his neice/nephew rather than have me travel pg. It's pretty hard being this happy and this sad all at once, that's why I didn't post it sooner.
Sorry to bring down the mood of the Xmas posts. Give your family a big hug and enjoy the start of 2006! :)
amandaw
29-12-2005, 09:47 AM
I'm another newbie to the site, and have had fun just lurking for a week or so since I had confirmation. This is first time around, and I'm also due 16th Aug so it's all a little overwhelming at the moment!!! This site is great, because I've only told imm family at the moment (and having all younger brothers they're no help for info) so have to get info from somewhere. Have ob. appointment mid January, so hopefully it will all become a littl;e more real then!
Fairyfloss
29-12-2005, 08:28 PM
Dear Kacey
I cannot even imagine how hard that must be for you, being so happy for your baby, and yet having to face the prospect of losing a loved one, it is a very hard position to be in, I pray to God to give you patience and lots of blessing to help you through these tough times. I hope when you go to Canada next year, you and your baby can enjoy some quality time with your brother.
Lots of good wishes and prayers for you.
Parisa
redbaby
30-12-2005, 10:03 AM
Blah,.. feeling so sick,.... All day long! And with a toddler! Blackmores Morning Sickness Tablets are useless,..have ordered some Preggie Pops,..hope they arrive soon,.. Craving salt,..so just made myself a vegemite tea,....tragic,.. how is everyone else doing?
brideofjabba
30-12-2005, 10:33 AM
Kacey, i'm sorry about your brother. I lost my dad in March from cancer.:(
Jane, hang in there! I haven't been that bad yet. I'm really hoping this is it for me as far as the level of sickness. I can only hope!
littlepickle
30-12-2005, 10:42 AM
Jane - sorry to hear that you are suffering there with the morning sickness - and in this eat too - it just makes it worse doesnt it! I have been getting morning sickness on and off during the day, sometimes the blackmores tabs work and sometimes they dont. Yesterday, I had these huge cravings for a roast chicken dinner - spent hours cooking i, it was lovely, but only abou 4 mins after I finished it, I was sick, so I was feeling kinda cheated about that :(
Amandaw - welcome to the thread!!! I hope you have a wonderfull and enjoyable pregnancy - looking forward to sharing stories and experiences with you over the coming months!
Kacey - I am so sorry for the news about your brother - it must be so hard for you, if you ever need to chat, we will be here for you honey
Parisakamali - I think I will be having an U/S in about 3 weeks or so - looking forward to it, I havent heard that there are any problems with having early ultrasounds, I know that a lot of people have them as routine from very early on, they are supposed to be safe used in the right hands
Andrea, hope your ds is over the tonsilitis now! Ho are you feeling?
I bought my first maternity wear yesterday - well alright, I dont need it yet, nt in the slightest, but I was walking past Egg at the southbank and they had a big sale on so I decided to pop in and buy a few winter pieces, they were such good prices, and egg is normally really expensive, but at least I dont feel that I am growing ot of all of my clothes knowing that I still have some clothes to grow into.
I know it is way too early really - I am only 9 weeks and it is still early days, I guess if I had erred on the side of caution, then I would have waited until week 14 or something.. still, I like to try to be positive:) Has anyone else done anything like this?
I have a question that hopefully you can help with, I m getting conflicting opinions on baby clothes sizes. The lady in DJ's said that 0000 is premmie and 000 is newborn and the lady in Marquise said that 0000 is newborn and will last the first month or 2 and 000 will last until roughly 3 months. Some of the 000 stuff looks quite big thoug - would you go straight for size 000 or buy a few pieces in size 0000?
wattle
30-12-2005, 10:53 AM
Most 'normal' size babies fit into 0000 for around 2 - 4 weeks, then they move on to 000.
Bonds suits are a little smaller than most other brands, but they're really good, so I'd get a couple of those at least.
Definitely have some 0000 stuff ready for bub, but not heaps as they grow so quickly.
Jane - I'm feeling a bit like I'm on a roller coaster too, it's not much fun is it. I have found that Rennie indigestion tablets help heaps (the mylanta ones do too, but they have a lot of aluminium in them), and chewing gum as well.
kacey
30-12-2005, 06:41 PM
Welcome Amanda! Isn't it fun when you suddenly think "Oh my, I'm preggers!" It's not really real for me yet either. Can't wait for my belly to make it seem real.
Parisa, Andrea, Littlepickle - Thank you all for your kind thoughts and prayers. I get down sometimes, but knowing that this bub is giving my brother something to look forward to really helps me enjoy my pregnancy even when I'm sad. Andrea, I'm so sorry to hear about your father.
Littlepickle, I wanna go shopping as sales come up over the next few months, but I can't bring myself to buy stuff yet. I'm not holding back due to superstition, I just don't want anyone I know seeing me swooning over tiny jumpsuits before I've told the world! :p Thanks for the useful info about sizes, Wattle.
Updated list:
29.07 only1mica (mic)
31.07 lou
04.08 littlepickle
05.08 lilbugalugs
08.08 romey
11.08 mum2lily (tegan)
12.08 raffee
13.08 kelsta (kel)
13.08 kacey
14.08 suzzan
16.08 naggy
16.08 parisakamali (parisa)
16.08 amandaw
18.08 4panayi
27.08 wattle (cathy)’
Happy New Year!
Fairyfloss
30-12-2005, 09:11 PM
littlepickle, I bought my first maternity pieces, a business shirt and pants for work and a pair of pants for home this week, and I am only 7 weeks along, hoping that if I have these around me then I will feel more confident, that I am going to carry a full term and need them, hence all happy chappie inside. :) (mind you I have hidden them well out of sight, so MIL and SIL would not see them, :o have not told any one yet, except you guys and DH. )
WOW, the Aug 16th is taking over followed closely by the 13th, just a silly observation.:p
redbaby
31-12-2005, 08:54 AM
hey guys,.. feeling a little better today,..thank god,. I have sent DH off to the fish markets (no way was I going),..to buy some mudcrab so that we can have chilli and blackbean mudcrab for dinner (the only NYE thing we are doing!).......
Re: Baby clothes,.. I bought all 000's and when Scarlett was born she had to go home in the hospital gown cause they were all MILES too big! Even the premmie suits were too big for her,.. she was an incy wincy 2.81kg,........ but after a couple of weeks she was into the 000's and now she is - at 16months - wearing a size 3! My only advice is not to buy too much,...I still have cupboards full of stuff that still have the labels on them! Oh,..and the Bonds stripey stuff is excellent...cheap,..stretchy..and cute as!
Michy
31-12-2005, 09:20 AM
Well, I'm a bit new to all this! Just found out 2 days ago that I'm preggers with our first baby! The doc thinks I might be 5/6 weeks along, but I have to have an ultrasound to find out exactly, because the dreadeds never came regularly, so I wouldn't have a clue when it was supposed to happen! So, I figure at this stage that I'm due some time August/September.
Funny storey though... I'm supposed to go for a job interview next week, but said to my DH, "I might just do a test before the interview just to make sure" (we have been trying since feb), and low and behold... there were two lines! I don't think i'll bother with the interview... i get paid maternity leave where I am, so I'll stick with it... now that the end is in sight!
The only thing that I've been experiencing is really sore boobs - they feel like boulders! Mind you, my DH isn't complaining, because they look huge too!
Funny thing, too, is that my sister is due in May, so there'll be two new munchkins in '06! And here I was two days ago saying... "Why bother with new years, it's just another year the same as any other!" Not any more!!!
Anyway, I'll pop back regularly to catch up with everyone, and hope that all goes well for everyone!
Luv Michy
brideofjabba
31-12-2005, 02:06 PM
Congrats Michy and welcome, i hope you have a great pregnancy! Last time i was pregnant with my sister(her dd was born 6 weeks before my ds) it was so fun!!
Thank goodness i'm not the only crazy one looking at maternity clothes! lol Today i went into Pumpkin Patch, they are having a sale!!!!!!!! I saw some stuff that i love and didn't know whether to buy it or not.....i figure by winter with all that extra heat that preggo women produce i'll probably still want to wear skirts and short sleeves! lol And i can always wear a jacket. I'll leave the jeans until i know how big i'm going to be. Skirts can be more easily adjusted. I don't have a lot of stuff from last time, we were really poor then and i borrowed a lot of clothes and i need a whole new wardrobe!!LOL I might run it past dh first just in case:D
Littlepickle - ds is over his tonsillitis, thank goodness!!! It was horrible. I am feeling ok. Not as bad as last time at all!! Its totally amazing.
brideofjabba
31-12-2005, 02:09 PM
Just an afterthought...i wonder how many of us will have our babies on the same day!!!??? I'm so excited! lol
annie71
31-12-2005, 03:01 PM
My name is annie and I'm a newbie (first post). I'm due with my first baby on the 23rd August , at this stage though I am just concentrating on my first 3 months as I had a miscarrage early in the year. I am currently 7 weeks and will be having a scan at 9 weeks, all seems to be going well so fingers crossed. I am a bit scared to get really excited this time but I suppose it is my way of preparing for the worse.
That said I am feeling very confident all will go well and I look forward to making some online friends to share and for support.
God knows I will need it as I am the first in my social group to go down the parenting path.:D
Welcome Annie, and any other newbies since I posted last.
I hope that everyone had a great Christmas and has an even better new years!!
I "think" that my morning sickness might be going!! Yeah:p . But then every time I say that it seems to come back again, so who knows. Here's hoping though! I will be 10 wks on Monday so I'm guessing that it should be almost due to disappear soon anyway.
I had a check up at the doctors yesterday and everything's looking good. I'm having my next scan on the 16th Jan. I'm counting down the days.
I made my first maternity purchase the other day, well actually I made 3 purchases! I brought some maternity bras. I probably dont really need them yet as my normal ones still fit me, but they were on sale so I thought that I might as well. Here's a hint for all of you first time mums like me, go to Myer and get one of the sales ladies to help fit a bra for you. The lady who helped me was fantastic. I would've been lost without her.
I had hoped to buy some maternity clothes from Myer as they have such a big sale on at the moment (and I received a few gift vouchers for there for Chrissie) but they dont have a maternity section :confused: They have every other department but not maternity! I'm not sure it's just this particular store or if they're all like that. Does anyone have a Myer near them that has a maternity section?
Naggy
01-01-2006, 09:47 AM
I'm staying at my mum's in the country for a bit of a break, except it's about 43 degrees, I have the sniffles and m/s has shown it's (tiny) head - only a couple of feelings of nausea in the evening - hope that's it for me.....mmm.... don't like my chances.
Just wondering - where is everyone from? Some people's post have a location and others don't - I'm from Sydney - anyone else?
Naggy
DH
DS - Sam 3 years
annie71
01-01-2006, 10:44 AM
Im from Hobart Tassy.
Absoulute shocker of a day today so just sitting here reading everyones posts. It's a great comfort to hear everyone is all feeling different, with some people getting some symptoms and others not. I don't have anyone close who has had a baby that I can talk to so this forum has been a great find.
My only symptoms so far are
Tired, sore nipples on and off and a little bit a nausia if I let myself get hungry.
Plus my face has broken out like I'm sixteen again.
Conrgates to all
Annie
Michy
01-01-2006, 05:58 PM
Hi again,
I'm from brisbane, and Hi Annie! Hope everyone's new year was eventful! I didn't even last until 10:30... I guess that's one of the side-effects of this... emmensely tired!
Has anyone else had anyone say to them... "I thought you were pregnant!"? I mean, they knew before I even did! They said, "It takes one to know one". I guess it's possible, but I've had three people say that to me now! My sister-in-law said she was embarrased, but I looked 'a little bloated'... a little??!! And, one of my other sister-in-laws said she just 'had a feeling'. And, a friend just came right out and asked?!
Am I the only one who has experienced this? Or is this a common phenomena?
Michy
salt water
02-01-2006, 08:14 AM
Hi everyone, ;) I'm another newbie here but you all look friendly so "hi!"! I am due August 8. We have an 8 yr old and a 5 year old so there is a bit more of an age gap for number three! There is a lot of stuff I have forgotten for this time around but have remembered/learnt heaps just from reading the threads and posts!
I will be 39 this year so maybe I am the geriatric of the group?!!! :)
I will pop in again later, so nice to meet you all.
portiasmum xx
littlepickle
02-01-2006, 01:33 PM
Wow, there are a few of us brissy gals on here!!