View Full Version : Thought I'd make the place more homely
Pages :
[
8]
Fairyfloss
24-05-2006, 03:21 PM
On general topics:
You comments reminded me, I should check to see which way the bub is, I know its back is towards my belly, but I don’t know which way the head is.
I decided that I am going to opt for one of those long PJ T-shirt thingies, instead of a long nightie, cause I tried to do my squatting practice in them, and it just would not work, it is so much easier to do when you only have a top on. (Was that TMI?)
I have my glucose test tomorrow:fingerscrossed: , and then have to come back work afterwards.
On the good side
I finished my shopping last week, except, for the things my sister is getting for my baby shower (which is a decent list on its own right:laughing: ), I am the first one in family, so no hand me downs for me.
I had my whole day antenatal class last Sunday, the only things I remember, is the things I wrote down, and the photocopies she gave us, other wise, I was either in toilet vomiting, or sleeping. (not my fault though, it was the comfy couch:D ) lucky for me DH was there, and he is been going on and on about the things he has learnt, well he is definitely coming to my labour now.:yes:
My iron, theroid, ECG and all test results came back as being good.
Fairyfloss
24-05-2006, 03:25 PM
Edited : sorry but I had to vent, so feel free to ignore this post.
On down side:
I am sad because, I am one of those really deep belly button people as well, no hope for mine to pop.
DH managed to finally feel the baby kick, even though later on, he kind of went, maybe I imagined it!!! Come on now, I could even see the arm making impression on my belly let alone feel it.
I am tired all the time now:sleeping: , still vomiting, still having horrible dizzy spells even though I am like drinking 2 litres a day, sore boobs, and just recently I got this never ending backache added to the list. It looks like with this pregnancy, I am only adding to my list symptoms, nothing is coming off the list.
I am absolutely tired of work, and am wingding my head off every day, but still have another 9 weeks to go, worst part, I have a job application due tomorrow:eek: , It is for the job I am doing, now, but if I get it, it becomes official, but judging by the way my boss is acting I am not going to get it, but if I don’t put it in, then I will miss out big time, time well after my leave finishes, cause they will be using the same merit points. It seems like every one in my family wants me to apply for it, but I just don't have the motivation and I am so angry; I applied for this job last December, and did not even get an interview, then ended up teaching the guy who got the position how to do “MY JOB”:thumbsdown: . I bet the same thing will happen this time.
Not that every thing else is going well, I now, have my garage door coming off its brackets and will soon fall on my car, and this tradesman who installed it three months ago, keeps putting me off, I paid him $3000 for the job, and all he has to say is that I am exaggerating things cause I am pregnant and hormonal:mad: . I will show him who is hormonal when I sue his head off. You ladies are all welcome to come and bite his head off with me.
Beany
24-05-2006, 04:54 PM
Now now, Paris, we know that a common side effect of pregnancy is for the garage door to fall off it's hinges ...
The bloody moron.
When he does finally come around, pee on his shoe.
amandaw
24-05-2006, 06:10 PM
Just a quick pop in to say g'day....I can join the multitudes that seem to be having a bad week...Have a masters assign due monday that I am only 1/2 way through (and not motivated to finish!), got a cold last Thursday (so that started off the motivationless side of me...had already planned to chuck a sickie and work on my uni assignment, so must be karma!) and then got a devastating phone call on Saturday from Mum who said that our family dog had had to be put down :gloomy: (had a twisted stomach...she was 10, but a beautiful Irish Setter, and we'd only all seen her the previous weekend and she was like a puppy..we'd just got our new video camera and were learning how to use it, so very very thankfully, there's a lot of recent footage of her which my darling hubby has put with photos and music for the whole family....only brings more tears though at this stage) Needless to say very stressful and lots and lots of tears, but have had that side thought of 'can't let it get to me, got to stay stress free for the bump.' Have been feeling a little less movement over the last 3 days (still some, but just one big boot, rather than 1/2 an hour of it). Have an obs appointment tomorrow, so I'm sure he will set my mind at ease:fingerscrossed: ...anyway, figure that it can only loook up from here! Had a great day at work (had my 11's and 12's competing in the Brisbane Dance Eisteddfods today, so had the day just watching performances yipee!) catching up with lots of friends this weekedn, will have the blimmen assignment out of the way on Monday, and also start antenatal classes then, so can only get more me focused!
Bella8
25-05-2006, 08:47 AM
Quick post from me..
parisa - big hugs to you darl :hugs: sounds like you're having a tough time of late. That sucks that you are still getting the sickness which for most of us passes after 3-4 months. Combined with all the other side effects of being pregnant, no wonder you're tired!!!! I can completely understand your lack of motivation re: your job. Only go for it if that's what you want though - if you get it, thats fantastic. If not, wasn't meant to be. So many other fantastic things to look forward to with motherhood on its way!!! With the garage situation - you go girl!!! Fight for your rights. How dare they say its a hormonal thing. Nothing to do with it - sounds like they just haven't done their job properly!!!!
Oh and thats fantastic that your DH is getting excited about the antenatal classes. Fingers crossed my DP will be the same as I think these classes will benefit him more than me!!! :fingerscrossed:
amandaw - really sorry to hear about your loss, when you have a pet for so long they become family just as much as any human. I'm glad you got some footage and time with them though :hugs:. good luck with your assignment, it must be really difficult to concentrate and have the words all come out right!! I'm having major problems in that area at the moment. In the middle of a meeting and after speaking for a few minutes, look around to the sea of blank faces and realise I made no sense at all!! You speaking about the eisteddford brought back some memories - in high school I used to perform and later on choreographed and miss it greatly!! It was SO much fun.
Must go, lot of work to do as I have a day off tomorrow!! :smiliedance:
Rx
Have we all popped suddenly then? I am definitely getting the comments now.
At the footy last night we were right up in the cheap seats and had to walk for blimmen miles. I had to keep stopping because I get quite strong Braxton Hicks's's's's now. There was a girl there who is a few weeks AHEAD of me and she was tiny. This cute little bump and she was full of energy walking down the ramp thing after the game. DP and I had to stop every 50 metres or so because my muscles were tightening. By the time I got up the stairs I had stripped off my jacket and handed it to DP along with my handbag!!
I figured that at least my muscles work. It was quite weird how different we looked though. Gawd. I wonder if she's freaking out today that she is too small, after seeing me :laughing:
I told DP how the boss had upset me and he said he was going to come around and break his neck. How sweet!
Katie22
25-05-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi i just thought id join you all, my 2nd child, a girl is due 10th August. My fiance and i are so excited as is my son and both our families!
Im due to give birth at Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide (public) and was wondering if anyone has given birth their also and could share their experience with me as im originally from the UK and have had no experience of childbirth/hospital care in Australia. Any would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks alot
Katie x
Uniquey
25-05-2006, 03:05 PM
Waddle, waddle, waddle , waddle, I never thought I'd be one of 'those' pregnant women that waddle! HAHA, what a joke, I have too. Has anyone else got the sore groin/ligament/pelvic shifting pain? I even have a sore bum bones area. I've taken to putting a wheat pack on my crotch at night.:o
Someone mentioned earlier about vaginal discharge too, yep, can say it's come with a vengeance, but all seems pretty text book when you read about this stage of pregnancy.
As for all the other 'dramas' in my life, I have settled in better into this home and anything I can't unpack or lift, I just put in a cupboard! As they say, 'out of sight, out of mind'. The nursery will probably have to be done by my Dad (painting) and me the rest, as it doens't look like DH is coming home anytime soon, It looks as though it will definately be the 3 month deployment. I just hope, hope, hope he is allowed to come home for:crying: the birth, it's our first baby. I will have to think of an alternative birth partner just in case. I'm also going to cancel the ante-natal classes as well, as I don't see the point of going alone with other Mums and their partners there.
I'm sorry I haven't individually replied to some posts, but I just haven't had time to scratch myself lately. But from 'memory' I'll try and address thos eposts I remember,
'welcome' Mummy2be I love the picture in your Avatar, is that you?
Parisakamali Thank you so much for your kind words:hugs: Sorry to hear about work hun. I hope you're feeling much better about the situation now.
Amandaw I'm am so, so sorry to hear about your loss. I am sending you a big hug:hugs:
Littlejoy How could we have forgotten you! Welcome back to our lively thread again.
Shed I'm sorry to hear about your Boss etc. I know the feeling regarding wanting to quit and being emotional. Pregnancy just seems to magnify everything doesn't it. I had a phonecall from my boss the other day, telling me my 'First Aid and CPR had expired last month and that I needed to do it. I couldn't believe she was asking me 'now' to do it. I got in such a dither over it, and now I can do it after maternity leave. Can you imagine a pregnant women on all fours doing cpr etc on a mannequin etc for 5 hours! LOL
Uniquey
25-05-2006, 03:10 PM
Hello Katie22, I can't help you with your birthing Centre question, but would like to say, welcome onboard! I look forward to reading your posts! All the best:D
Uniquey, if you WANT to go to the classes then I think you should go. You might learn some stuff that bubhub hasn't told you about (can't imagine what but anyway).
Why should you miss out on that part of the experience? Its not your fault DH isn't here. To be honest I think I might be going to a couple of our ones on my own anyway because DP already tried to get out of it by asking if I could go and just tell him what they said!! The lazy bugger. I said that HE could go and tell ME what they said.
But if you don't want to then that's a different story.
Katie, welcome to our patch!!
amandaw
25-05-2006, 06:19 PM
Thanks for the thoughts Uniquey and Bella8! I know it's just one of those life things, but just so unexpected, and definitely sad!
And a warm welcome Katie:wave:
I agree with Shed Uniquey...I'd still be going along to the antenatal classes (but maybe I just feel like I might be better prepared that way...could just be freeked out!) Is there someone else who would come and giggle their way through it with you?
Found out today that the squid is currently breech (not that that's a problem yet). We'd sort of figured it out, because I only really feel movement down low. A friend (who has had 2 boys) made a comment about how 'pointy' I was (so got me starting to think that maybe we were having a girl) but the ob said that basically the bub is sitting in an L shape with the head up, hips under my belly botton, and feet off to the right, so it's widest feature is currently sitting side on, creating the pointy effect! Also had a fundus measurement of 31 cm (at 28 weeks) so rather 'healthy':eek: , but ob said this measurement is also usually bigger if baby is sitting breech because the biggest parts are much more obvious!
cheekypossum
25-05-2006, 08:27 PM
Wow I am away for a couple of days and now have spent the last hour trying to catch up - so I apologise now for anyone or anything that I have missed while I skimmed through them all
:wave: Mummy2B and Katie - welcome to the best thread around!!!
My3Sons - I love the kidsline manchester sets, my mum and I were looking at them all at ToysRUs - but I have to get mutual colours as we don't know what flavour we are having but I love the under the sea one - oooh makes me just want to spend loads of money.
Adele - Sorry to hear that you had those scary pains - I am a complete worry wart in this situation and would have found my self on the phone to the hospital the minute I was worried - you are so much braver then me - glad to hear that it all turned out well - I read into the cord blood research when I was preg with the twins but the costs of it were way too much - I did not realise you could donate it - something to think about anyway
Bella - Glad to hear the your DP was being nice - I bet you felt a whole lot better writing that letter even though you did not give it to him - writing down you feelings sometimes works wonders
Hannah -:bday: sorry you were sick on your special day. How did your Thyroid results go?
LittleJoy - Bet you are excited knowing your finish date for work.....Re the Doppler maching - I did not realise you could hire them out - I think I would find myself obsessing over it cause I would want to make sure I could hear the heartbeat all the time :banghead:
Jane - Hi Jane - I saw that you are heading up my way (Innisfail is 1 hour south from Cairns) and sorry to burden you holidays but if it is anything like Innisfail youwill be seeing no sun - sorry!!
Your room colours sound splendid
But wait there is more.....
cheekypossum
25-05-2006, 08:42 PM
Ourbump - :wave:
Wattle - Not sure if I have talked to you before but just wanted to say that your room sounds so nice
Beany - just cause I had to bring it up agian - DISCHARGE - oh what a marvalous thing to be a lady
Pariskamail - Thanks for asking about our Builtins - the Cabinet maker has been to measure it all up but just waiting on the quote - we may have to wait a little while not sure just yet as they are extremely busy after the cyclone
Shed - so after you finally got to your seats did you enjoy the footy? - I must be so far behind in size I am not getting a lot of the symptoms that all you ladies seem to be getting
Only1mice - Sorry to say this but I agree with your sis and think that purple is a little feminine - but then if you added things to the room you could make it look more boyish But that is just my opinion
Noosamum - :banghead: OMG Can't believe you still ahve not got you stuff - oh I would be so peeved off
Amanda - :crying: Oh I am so sorry to hear that you have to put your family pet down - My dog is 13 years old (Silky Terrier) - I got her for Christmas when I was 11 and just the thought of her not being around makes me feel so sad - and I think that I must be in the same position as you in regards to bub - I am also feeling my movements down low and am having no pain in my ribs or anything just yet? Go to the OB on 13th June so will hopefully find out then
Uniquey - You sound a little more settled then last time and I am very happy to hear that. I definately agree with the girls and think you should still go to classes - sorry to hear that your hubby will be away for taht long :hugs:
cheekypossum
25-05-2006, 08:49 PM
Oh I forgot the most important person ME :laughing:
Well I am today 29 weeks and I still feel really small :confused: I had a check up on Monday with my GP and he was happy with everything.
I got my Braces off yesterday:smiliedance: now I have to wear this awful retainer full time for a month and then just for sleeping after that until they tell me - but I am so happy with them they look really good.
I start my A/N classes on 7th June and my hubby and I are looking forward to them - I am sort of prepared as I have been though a "practice run" when I delivered the twins so I know what to expect pain wise but am looking forward to actually being prepared this time and to know what I am doing.
My DH and I have now purchased the Cot and Stroller and we have already got the car seat and Porta and nappy bag from the twisn - I was bored today so I typed up this big list of everything tha we have to get..as well as a list for my hospital bag...
Well look at the time - my bed is calling me
sorry about the long emails - just needed to remind you all I was still around :laughing:
Talk again soon
mrsbutterflygirl
26-05-2006, 07:54 AM
Tashmusa: Congratulations on getting your braces off!!! it's a really weird feeling isn't it! Good luck with Antenatal Classes, I finished mine a couple of weeks ago and I must say that they were really great.. good to know there is alot of other women as nervous as me! As for my Thyroid... I'm too scared to go take the test so I havent done it yet... and also cause i have the flu i want to get rid of it before I go and get any tests done.
Amandaw: Hey we have something in common... my little cookie is breech too!!! and she only has a couple of weeks to turn.. so it's making me alittle
nervous
Parisakamali: I know how you feel about the deep belly button... i dont think mine will come out at all... it has mostly but there is still part that hasn't 'popped'. I hope you feel alittle better soon.. i must say i am not really liking 3rd trimester of pregnancy... bring back 2nd anytime!!! It sucks about your job... what is it you do??? As for the garage door guy what a *Beep* you should be ringing the office of fair trading.. and reporting him for not doing his job... that is what i would be doing anyway.
Shed: I can't say i know what your feeling with the braxton hicks.. i'm not even sure i have had one... not that i am complaining but i would like to.
Katie22: Welcome to the very busy august thread... all i can say is good luck trying to keep up with the conversations.. i find it almost impossible.. but at least you know there is always a new post when you come back :)
Uniquey:So sorry to here that hubby isn't coming home anytime soon... Can you get someone from your family or a freind to come to antenatal class with you?? I found they helped heaps.. and there was quiet a few people at mine with no partners there and only a mother or something... we have an army base near by and a few of the hubby's were away too.
Me:Well not too much to say at the moment.. trying to catch up with all the posts that i have missed the last few days. I am still sick with the flu but not as bad as i was so i think i might even be able to go to the shops today to get something for my birthday... (I didn't get anything.. .well hubby bought me a teddy but that is all) so i am going to buy something for myself. I only have 9 and a half weeks left to go in this pregnancy and i'm starting to wish it was over already as i am so uncomfortable all the time.. and it's so cold!!!
Anyway I am off to get something to eat :D
missie_mack
26-05-2006, 08:09 AM
Doppler Machine- Early on we bought a Deluxe Prenatal Heart Listening System from Summer Infant. It isnt as good as the one the docs use but you can still hear and it allows you to record the movements into your PC. It wasnt expensive it was about $30 but brilliant for those times you just need to hear.
I was hoping to go part time at work soon (for those who dont know I work shiftwork fulltime) but if I went part time before going on maternity and parental leave my company would reduce my maternity leave payments to those of a parttime worker which would financially kill us. Yesterday my mind went on a funny tangent to my benefit I realised I will have a week and a half of annual leave owing to me as of 13 July... which ends up meaning I can work part time hours by taking a day off every week basically (shiftworkers might work 6 days straight one week and the next week only need to work 3) and boy are my bosses unhappy but theres nothing they can do to stop me :smiliedance: So Im now aiming to work until 21 July which is financially great for my little family.
Thanks for all the thoughts about my health issues. I havent been to the docs yet and Im still yet to have had time to have my blood tests done. Crossing my fingers I have time off next week to get this over and done with. Im off to baby zone this morning they have a sale on their Valco prams which means Im saving about $130.
All be good and have a great weekend
Miss
missie_mack
26-05-2006, 08:22 AM
Me again .......
Baby Bags Got this deal via the email from Toys R Us
50% ANY NUSERY/NAPPY BAG!
Choose from an extensive range of premium quality Nursery/Nappy Bags. These bags hold all your baby items, with plenty of space for the main essentials of nappies, bottles and clothing. Each bag is made of durable material, has multiple compartments and is ideal for travelling with baby. Prices start from 24.99
Present your exclusive email coupon to receive 50% off any Nursery/Nappy Bag in store. Valid until June 8, 2006.
Anyone interested pm me and I will forward the email on for the coupon
I have to ring up and get my results today, for the blood glucose.
I am booked in for a massage tomorrow morning...the first of many if they play their cards right.
Remember "Miss Energetic" from the footy? Well DP got home last night and said that his workmate told him that she had to have the day off work because she wasn't feeling well.
So that made me feel kinda....smug! tee hee!! I might not be full of beans but I was at work yesterday. The rabbit and the tortoise!!
Tashmusa, congrats on the new braceless face!! I remember when I got mine off...it felt so SMOOTH. Make sure you wear your retainer. I went on holiday to Bali and didn't wear mine and one of my eye teeth twisted back a little bit.
We start our antenatal's on 7th June also. It goes for 2 hours!!! I hope we get a smoke break (preggy joke, ha ha!! shall I ask at the start of the class?).
Well laydeez, I feel quite glamorous today. I must admit I am going to miss "pregnancy hair". My hair is usually fine and quite thin, but at the moment its thick and healthy, like a normal persons. I LOVE it. The leg and underarm and general body hair situation is also thick and healthy, LOL, which I won't miss as much!!
Bella8
26-05-2006, 10:06 AM
Katie – welcome to the group. I was the only one on this thread from Adelaide (I think) so I am extra happy that you have come on board!!! I too am having bubs at Flinders and am due on 14th August. You never know, we could bump into each other!! Have you started antenatal classes? I’m doing mine at Noarlunga Hospital starting beginning of July. This is my first so I can’t pass on any experiences but Flinders has a fantastic reputation and the best technology which is why I’m having mine there.
Unique – I’m sorry to hear that it looks like your DH is going to have to be away for the full 3 months. Yes, I hope they allow him to come home for the birth. Re: antenatal classes – like some of the others said, do you have a close friend or someone in the family to go with you? It would be a shame to miss out.
Amandaw – I get the ‘pointy’ effect from time to time aswell when bubs decides to change positions. It’s quite funny really but can be really uncomfortable if I’m awake while he decides to clumsily get comfortable!!! He moves around SO much these days!! And he’s still breech so don’t be too concerned. My doc thinks he is trying to make the move as I’m getting lots of pain in my ribs section but she said that she will only be concerned if he is still breech at 34 weeks. Got another 5 or so weeks until I will worry about it. Here I was worried that he was making the move too early!!!!!
Tash – wow, you ARE a chatty chick!! (I should talk - :ecomcity: ) Glad to hear things are going well with you. Don’t be concerned about your size unless your doc thinks it is a problem. I have been getting the opposite – people tend to think I’m bigger than what I should be. And I have NO idea cause its my first. Also, I think that maybe my belly looks bigger casue I’m such a short ****!!! And congrats on getting your braces off!!! :smiliedance: I bet your teeth look great and there’s nothing like a little boost in confidence when you’re pregnant!!!
Hannah – good luck with your birthday shopping. Buy something really nice, you deserve it!!! Glad to hear you are feeling a little better.
Missie_mack – I too had considered cutting back from full time to part time but had the same problem – it would affect my maternity leave so I’m hanging in there. Good luck with your shopping!
Shed – I had the fantastic preggie hair thing going for a while but it seems to be all over the place at the moment. Badly need to go to the hairdressers…:o
Dye or not to dye??? – just curious to know how many are still dying their hair?? I have had mine done a couple of times throughout the pregnancy (just not in the first 3 months). My hairdresser says that it is not a problem but I know many avoid this during pregnancy…. I’m really due to get a colour…
Me - well, today is my day off but thought I'd come online to have a little chat and do some banking. Off to do the food shopping soon and call into a girlfriends house to have a coffee and get clucky over her little baby. I can't remember the last time I had a day off that wasn't filled with appointments!!!! :smiliedance:
Bye for now ladies,
Rx
*Country Bumpkin*
26-05-2006, 11:01 AM
Hello All:wave:
Well I dont have time to respond to all tehrposts so Ill just say HELLLOOOO!!!
Im SO happy today!! Im 28 weeks YAAAAAAAH:smiliedance: Only 12 more to go!! WoooHoooo....
On sunday my g/f is coming over- shes studying art at uni and has decide that she is going to paint my belly and use it in her portfoilo and as an asessment piece!!! HOWEVER I was thinking and relised that the paint might not be good for Skyla... SO she has decided to make me a belly cast!!
Shes actually going to do it all herslef with NO kit or anything- shes so clever lol... then she will paint it for me!! Now I will have it forever!!
Im in such a good mood today! Everything is going so well!!:o
littlepickle
26-05-2006, 11:12 AM
Hello!!
Hope everyone is well: I just spent about 1/2 hour typing up a reply to everyone, and when I posted it, it all hung and I lost all of it .. not happy, cant bear to write it all again. So I thought I would say hello :wave: and I will rewrite the rest later on.
ourbump
26-05-2006, 12:43 PM
Bella8 - I have been colouring my hair throughout my entire pregnancy. I did ask my hairdresser and she said as long as I have never been effected by the colour it will not harm the baby... Anyway it is a personal choice as obviously she is not a doctor. Books say pretty much the same, but I just couldn't bear to not have my hair coloured, so vain I know but it just makes me feel better without dark roots..
littlepickle - Hate that when you write a big reply and it disappears!
Adele - How cute a belly cast... Good thinking with the paint, my Mum just told me actually that anything you put on your skin goes straight to your liver! Didn't know that, anyway I am sure Skyla will love the feeling.
Shed - I too can get my glucose test results today, but am going to see OB on Monday so am just going to wait and see then. I am sure it will be fine, but I do worry because I have such a sweet tooth which is a new thing for me. I hope your results were good. I love your comment about the smoke break, I so wish I had thought of that when I went to my first class last week... Hilarious! Please do it and let me know how it goes down.
missiemack - I could not help myself if I got a doppler I would be listening for the heartbeat constantly and DH will not let me have one as he thinks I will just stress myself out tirelessly if I cannot hear a heart beat at any time.
tashmusa - congrats on getting your teeth free!!
Mrsbutterflygirl - :wave: hope you are feeling better
Me - Good, good, got this spontaneous stabbing pain last night under my left rib and just yelled all of sudden, gave DH quite a fright, but not as much as me. Sat up and gave it a rub and it disappeared, don't know if it was little feet, but it was just so strange, I have never had a reaction to pain like that before, usually can just grin and bare it and not yell out at all... Kind of worries me about the pain I am yet to endure, and I have a high pain threshold. Yeh it's Friday!!:smiliedance:
Boy, you could seriously set your clock by me.
Yawn!!!....must be 2 o'clock (check clock), yep, 2.08pm.
Sleepy time.
At least I'm consistent.
cheekypossum
26-05-2006, 02:43 PM
Mrsbutterflygirl - glad to hear that you are feeling better - there is nothing worse then to be sick with the flu - What did you buy yourself for your birthday? Where do you live? You said it was really cold - just to make you freeze even more my hubby and I are still putting the air con at night - but I live in Far North Queensland :laughing:
Missie_mack - your bosses need a good kick up the bum - they could be a little bit more considerate of your needs - Oh well just think - counting down the weeks now.
Shed - how did the results go? Glad you are feeling so "beautiful" today
Bella - LOL about me being Chatty - that is what I get for not checking the emails for a few days - Re Dying your hair - I personally have not done that or had any part of my body waxed during the whole pregnancy - but I have read that there are no medica reasons to stop but it was just my choice
Adele - that would be such a nice keepsake
Littlepickle - be you were annoyed to lose it all
Ourbummp - :wave:
Talk again soon
salt water
26-05-2006, 02:52 PM
Afternoon all :)
Shed are you awake ? - you were saying that you were going to miss your pregnancy hair well I'm going to miss my pregnancy wardrobe - I LOVE these clothes, never have I been so comfortable!
Bella - I have been colouring my hair all the way through, checked with GP and hairdresser and they both said fine. I didn't for a little while but those roots got to me - it just had to be done!
Well Treehouse and I have parted company as of today, after many many (ad nauseaum) phone calls and emails back and forth - they emailed me yesterday to say that my order had NOT been despatched (:banghead: !) and that they would start to pack it up and send it off but I have said I'd rather let it go and leave it at that. They have just mucked me around too much leaving me feeling very frustrated and disappointed :( . Both my older two have their rooms styled by Treehouse but Bub no3 is going to have to be different. JANE - I replied to your post about Scarlett's and Jasper's rooms with how I have done my two chn's bedrooms in Treehouse but it disappeared ??!!???
Be good everyone,
noosamum XX
Mummy 2B
26-05-2006, 04:05 PM
Thankyou for your welcomes and I hope everyone is well.
Beany Your not alone, I too have been experiencing vaginal squelching.
Adele thanks for your welcome and advice, I know wot u mean about keeping up with this site
Bella8 regarding bra extenders, there great hey, ive been doing the same thing
Mrsbutterflygirl :bday: not sure if im going to be a mummy next bday or not, im due 7 days after my birthday
Parisakamali I feel fantastic thankyou, although I didn’t feel that way till bout the 5th month, damn morning sickness
Katie22 welcome and hope all goes well in ur pregnancy
Uniquey no not me in my avatar, ive been meaning to get round to having glamour shots done though. Has anyone had any done and can recommend a good photographer?
Me Ive been doing well, love the feeling of bub kicking me. Only experienced heartburn once so far and it was horrible! Getting very breathless that my doctor has had to prescribe me with asthma puffers. Starting to find sex very hard, trying to get in comfy positions, I cant breath in missionary position and run outta energy when im on top... is anyone else having any probs?
Anyways till next time, take care!
cheekypossum
26-05-2006, 04:17 PM
Noosamum - Wow you must be fuming - I hope that they gave you all your money back if you had paid any -:mad: You would expect them to have been really fast especially considering it was for baby stuff - all that stuffing around
Mummy2B :wave: Yes it is extremely hard to keep track of the chatty girls some days....don't fall behind whatever you do:laughing:
Re Sex - my hubby is not so lucky with me as I only give out on sparce occassions. Unfortunately I had bleeding up until 16 weeks and am very afraid to "do it" and when we do he has to be very gentle...wait until this bub is born :smiliedance:
Beany
26-05-2006, 05:15 PM
Goodness. Sex has become a a bit of a mind-boggling task at the moment. Not being in the mood for it very often, I'd just sort of assumed we'd be going at it the usual way (which I won't share lest this become one of *those* forums where strange men in greasy anoraks hang out).
All I can say to that after the other night is "HAH!". turning this way made my back hurt, turning that way aggravated the pubic ligament I had managed to painfully pull. Trying something else for a bit made my calves seize up so I'd be gasping with the cramps - not quite what I was supposed to be gasping over. Eventually, we just sort of made do and lay there probably more confused by the experience than anything else.
Must admit, though, I slept really well that night.
Tashmusa: I must say, your decision to use an emoticon as bouncy as " :smiliedance: " when talking about doing the wild thing gave me a serious case of the giggles. Yes, I'm an immature child. :p
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 07:23 AM
Shed-oh, now you are "Miss Energetic":hugs:, glad you arefeeling great.:yelclap:
Beany- OMG you make me laugh:laughing:
only 1 mica- I suppose it depends on what shade of purple it is, I have two different shades of it in my nursery one of them is very feminine, while the other one is very boyish/unisex. perhaps, try having a bluish purple.it looks much more unisex, than the bright ones.
I splitted my wall in half vertically and painted each half differently, may be try that. also remember, you curtains and bed linnen can change the feel of the room alot, so even, if you paint the purple, you can get gender specific, linen and curtains once teh baby is born and change teh feel of the room.
noosamum- I am sorry you had to give up on your treehouse stuff, you certainly deserve better service.:yes:
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 07:28 AM
amandaw- I am so sorry for your loss:hugs:, how is your ob treating your bigger than normal fundal height,
shed- oh that is so cool, you are much better than her.
Katie22- Congrats on your preggy, and welcome to the August tread. sorry I am in melbourne can't help with your question.
uniquey- for sure go to the classes, they are very good, and take you alternative support person, it will be handy
tashmusa- time to bit into a big fat juicy burger now
mrsbutterflygirl- how is your belly, feeling any better?
missie-mack- that is so smart, welldone,you go girl:thumbsup: , your boss deserves what ever comes his way. I just checked my shifts, arrg... we can only have two people on leave, and it is already filled:crying: . but my shift are almost evenely spread so it is not too bad I supose.
Bella8- how was your me time?
ourbump- you have one active bub in there now don't you?
Adele- you lucky girl, have fun
mummy2B- have you tried spoon position or variation of it (sorry for TMI)
Me- my fundal height was 32cm at 28 weeks, and midwives said that is outside the normal range, but don't know what it means, it could mean I will have a big baby, but also I have GD, they did my GD test day before yesterday, and said if there was anything they would call me, but they have not yet, so now I am totally confused:confused: . is anyone else too big for their dates?
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 07:35 AM
Just though I would update the list with Kate's and Mummy2B dates.
31.07 Lou - Tweed Heads Public Hospital, QLD - GIRL
August
01 LittlePickle - Mater Mothers Private Hospital, QLD - Girl
01 Lelee
02 Mrsbutterflygirl - - Saint Vincent's Hospital, Toowoomba, QLD, GIRL!!!
03 Noosamum - Selangor Private Hospital - it's a girl!
03 Only1mica - St George Hospital Birth Centre, NSW - Think Blue atm
05 Shinebrite
08 Lilbugalugs - Mater Mothers Hospital, Qld - Its a boy!!
08 Leo - Kareena Private Hospital Caringbah, NSW - Thinking Girl????????
08 Romey
09 Tashmusa- Cairns Private Hospital
10 Youngmumi2b- ............................ boy
10 Katie22- Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide (public)- Girl
11 Mum2lily
11 My3sons - Peninsula Private, Vic, (GIRL - not convinced - yet!!)
11 Foolish2-campbelltown hospital nsw(boy)
13 Shed - Liverpool Hospital, NSW, (BOY)
13 MelBryan-Blacktown Hospital, NSW ( BOY)
13 Kacey - Mercy Women's (Family Birth Centre) - surprise flavour.
14 Jane&Scarlett -Boy
14 Suzzan
14 Renae (Bella8) – Flinders Medical Centre (SA) – BABY BOY!!!
15 Uniquey-Mater Mothers Hospital, QLD, (GIRL)
16 Parisakamali- Monash Medical centre- (Girl)
17 Neneales- Joondalup Health Campus,WA,( 3 wks find out)
18 Amandaw - Wesley Private Hospital, Brisbane - ( surprise flavour )
18 Littlejoy - Hills Private Hospital, NSW - BOY!!
18 Beany - gills in Randwick Women's Hospital, Sydney.
19 Raffee-Canterbury Hospital, Sydney- BOY!!
20 **Nic** ~ Nepean Hospital, NSW ~ I think a boy
20 Ourbump - St John of God Subiaco (surprise flavour)
21 Dace101 - Homebirth, (surprise flavour)
21 Missie_Mack - Wollongong Hosptial Thinks girl
22 Jewelbar - Wesley Hospital, Brisbane QLD. GIRL
24 Wattle - Birthing Centre, Monash Medical Centre VIC. GIRL
25 Adele- Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital birthing Centre- GIRL
27 Mummy2B- .............. Girl
30 Expectingtwins - Mater Mothers Private Brisbane
Got my blood test results, all is normal, yay.
My cousin had her baby last night, a little boy named Zander. No stitches or anything like that, so that's great.
I went for a massage this morning and my boobs hurt all the way through which sort of spoilt it. Oh well.
ourbump
27-05-2006, 11:05 AM
Parisakamali - I have noticed that I have fallen off the list again, it seems to happen everytime someone updates it. REally not a great concern however just thought that if you were updating again you could add me back in.
20 - Ourbump - St John of God Subiaco ( surprise flavour )
Bye for now
Uniquey
27-05-2006, 11:25 AM
Hello Ladies
Cannot believe how frrrrrrreeeeeezzzing it has been here in Brisbane, and not to mention dry, not humid for a change. I took all your advice and decided to go ahead and book the Ante-natal classes anyway, Shed made some good points and I thought, 'yeah, I'm going to do them'.
I'm yet to do my glucose test, haven't had the time and I'll be 29 weeks on Tuesday, so I'm hoping that's still ok. I know the visits to the Doc are supposed to be fortnightly from 28 weeks on, so I had better get my finger out.
Just thought I'd let you all know if you like the OIOI nappy bags like me, David Jones has them on sale at the moment for 20% off. Anyway all, I must away for now, have some housework to do, yey...
Have a great weekend:D
my3sons
27-05-2006, 11:43 AM
Grrrrr so annoyed! Posted a big reply to everyone this morning and it's GONE....I even submitted it twice because it didn't go through the first time! :banghead: Don't know if it's my computer or the forum :confused:
Anyway I'll keep this one short......
Welcome to mummy2B and katie22 :wave:
tash - bet you look gorgeous without your braces!
Shed - Glad all is well with your test results and congrats on the new baby in the family, your cousin did well and I love the name Zander :D
paris - did you find anymore out about your GD? I don't know if I'm too big for my dates because my OB has never told me my fundal height but I'm carrying huge like my last little man.... I have an appointment on Wednesday so I must ask. I really miss not having an ante-natal card this time around to refer to.
Beany - all I can say to your post is LOL!
Ohhh our new fridge just arrived will finish up later!!!!
Have a wonderful day ladies.
Fingers crossed this post submits!
Kel x
mrsbutterflygirl
27-05-2006, 01:44 PM
Ourbump: I did the same thing last night with waking up and yelling scared hubby so much... but it was a leg cramp the second for my pregnancy i dont want another one that is for sure.
Tashmusa: I bought 2 pairs of earrings for me... i needed little studs that i could wear with some dangly earrins (i have 2 holes in each ear) and i kept loosing my little studs so it's what i bought cause it's exactly what i wanted :) I live in Toowoomba... on the range and it has gotten really cold here lately especially at night. I'm jealous.. we are putting the air con on but onto heat!!! wish i could say i could sleep nicely without freezing. least it's better than summer though.
Mummy 2B:I totally understand what you are talking about with the breathing... except i am already and asthmatic so doctor has gien me a set amount of hours i am allowed to be on my feet aday.. kinda gets hard.. as for the sex thing... i find i'm totally not motivated to have it at all!!! and when i do have it it hurts cause i'm not really in the mood.. and cause i suffer from thrush also it burns after a while... the positions though.. best i have found was doggy cause i dont have to do anywork hehe.
Parisakamali: Yeah my belly is feeling heaps better... not sure what was going on last night! hehe
:wave: To anyone i have missed
Me: Well i was complaining the other day that hubby didn't do anything for my birthday... but he surprised me this morning with pancakes in bed! and we are going on a picnic soon to have fish and chips... he is the sweetest.
I am finding it ever more difficult to sleep... woke up again lsat night with a leg cramp!!! so annoying least this time dh was able to help me and i didn't have to suffer as long as last time. well i hope everyone is doing well.. i am off :wave:
my3sons
27-05-2006, 03:17 PM
mrsbutterflygirl How sweet of your hubby! Pancakes in bed? YUM! Lucky girl, now that was worth waiting for :)
Don't you just hate the leg cramps? I get them in my calf muscles - if it's not one playing up, it's the other. It's hard enough sleeping without being woken by cramps - my latest thing is waking with my hips in pain....almost like they're all compacted from sleeping on either side. Hubby said last night I was groaning and moaning everytime I turned over and it kept him awake - well all I can say to that is :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: Welcome to MY world!
Anyway......have a WONDERFUL picnic.
Better get back to cleaning out the old fridge! I love my new fridge - we're upgrading to stainless steel in the kitchen.....last week it was the dishwasher, today the new fridge and "hopefully" next week my oven and rangehood will be here.
cheekypossum
27-05-2006, 05:38 PM
Hello all
Beany - I am glad you got a laugh out of my :smiliedance: hee hee My DH keeps mentioning the "wild thing" after we have the baby - but I might be so tired I won't feel like it anyway - poor thing hee hee
Pariskamali - if you update the list again - can you please add me as like Ourbump I keep dropping off -
9 Tash and Damien - Cairns Private Hospital
Gee I am feeling the opposite - too small - Oh well there is nothing pleasing us preggy women - don't think I/we are going to be happy until the bub is out and safe and healthy in our arms - well then we might have other worries hee hee
Shed - glad your results came back good - Congrats to you cousin too - must make you extra clucky knowing you are not that far away
Uniquey - glad to hear that you have decided to attend A/N classes:smiliedance:
My3sons - New fridge - congrats - don't just love new things
mrsbutterflygirl - your earrings sound beautiful - aww and your hubby is so cute - brekky in bed - who would need anything else - my hubby would never do that - he always gets out of bed after me on the w/ends ....touch wood have not had any leg cramps this pregnancy - but I do get really aching thighs (some nights) when I am sleeping as I try and only sleep on my left side
Me - Talking about sleeping bugger me if I can help myself sleeping on my back - I generally wake up and I am lying on my back but it feels so comfy I don't want to move hee hee.
Hey I bought myself a big bag of peanut M&M's today - has anyone heard about peanuts during pregnancy - I know when they are bubs and toddlers you are not supposed to feed them peanut products and was just wondering if that goes with being preg too - my mum just mentioned it - just thought some of you might know?
Oh well must go and make myself beautiful hee hee - going out for dinner tonight
Talk again soon
my3sons
27-05-2006, 06:29 PM
tash - I too wake up on my back nearly everynight and quickly try and roll myself back onto my side....I can't wait until I can sleep on my back again without freaking out! Funny thing is about 3 years ago I never slept on my back until I read that women who do rarely get verticle wrinkles - well the joke is on me because I "trained" myself in my vanity to sleep on my back and now I love it and don't stay on my side.....sheeshh! At least the wrinkles are no worse :laughing:
I haven't heard anything in the negative about eating peanuts whilst pregnant and I know I've eaten them.
Yep, I do love new things....just ask hubby! At least giving the kitchen a face lift has got me motivated to start "spring" cleaning and getting rid of all the clutter. I think I'll start my nesting so I stop shopping for awhile.
Have fun at dinner and enjoy your M&M's :D
mrsbutterflygirl
27-05-2006, 06:45 PM
Evening Girls... Just thought I would say hi..
Also about the peanuts during pregnancy... my obst said not to eat them cause they have been known to cause allergies in the child... but i know I have eaten them sometimes.. i'm sure it is just if you eat them often you should probably cut back.
wattle
27-05-2006, 07:38 PM
Ds has peanut and egg allergy, and the allergist stressed not to eat any nuts during my pregnancy with second bub.
It's a bit inconvenient, but I'd do anything I can to help ensure that my next bub doesn't have allergies, they're so dangerous. Hopefully my being careful will mean that she won't have to suffer what ds does.
Did anyone have a bad reading on their glucose test? Mine wasn't too good, so I have to go back for the full test next week..... bleugh.:(
my3sons
27-05-2006, 08:18 PM
Thanks for the info on the nuts Cath (and Hannah)....I had no idea! I'm so glad that tashmusa posted that question. Three of my friends children have peanut allergies and I know how scary it can be for them. One of them has four children and only the oldest has an allergy so :fingerscrossed: for your next bub.
Sorry to hear about the bad reading on your Glucose Test - I hope the next one is better. What do they class as an above 'normal' reading? I didn't ask my Ob any questions about the test results.
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 08:45 PM
Shed- Oh that is so good, I am happy everthing is good with your results. did you get the sore boobs cause they messaged them or cause you were lying on them? and a big :bday: to Zander, and welldone mum:thumbsup:.
Ourbump- sory about that, I added you to the list again, I will also update the list in the due date tread, I think, the reson for disapearnace might be because we are updating one list but not the other???.:confused:
my3sons- oh...that would be annoying , from what I have discovered there is a 30 sec posting limit on teh forum, that might have been the problem. hope it does not happen to you again. btw, your size is just about alright, according to what I know, we are suppose to have the same fundal height(in cm) as the number of weeks that we are preggy, +/- 2 cm is noraml range which your fall into it, mine is 4 cm bigger, which is not normal . Enjoy your new fridge
mrsbutterflygirl- take a heat pack with you to bed and keep your legs warm( wear pants or something), my doc told me to do it and since doing this my legs cramps have gone down in numbers big time:D. (I still get the odd one just before sun rise, cause my pack is gone cold, so top it up if you wake up in teh middle of the night).
that was so sweet of your DH, hope youhad fun.
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 08:46 PM
tashmusa- sorry about dropping you off, you are now added to the list, see replay to ourbump for my lame excuse:o, I though peanuts are Ok, since they keep telling us to eat nuts. have fun tonight:yes:
wattle- oh, you poor thing hope your next test is better, you can never be too careful I suppose, so if you ob says no peanuts, that that is the way it must be ?????
sleeping on my back is not really a big deal, although that is one of the most comforatble positions, I don't really like sleeping on my side, casue I have big boobs and they get squashed when I sleep on my side, but body pillow does help a fair bit. can't wait to sleep on my tummy, without see-sawing all night:laughing:. they still have not call me, so :fingerscrossed: it might mean the GD results were OK
Boobs were sore from lying on them with the gown material being too coarse. No one massaged them!!:laughing: gawd.
Went and met Zander today, he might be Xander yet, jury is still out on the spelling. He was so little, but at eight pounds one ounce not so little really. Bit bruised around the brow, but so beautiful. the cord was ....creepy.
So cute, but I was holding him and it still didn't sink in that i am having one of those.
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 09:27 PM
shed- I was not assuming anything:no: , just a possibility I suppose:p
Missie Mack- The list says 21 Missie_Mack - Wollongong Hosptial Thinks girl , but your signitures says 20th, did docs change your EDD?
my3sons
27-05-2006, 09:56 PM
Been having a little "lurkaround" the forum and just realised that the first "Due in June" baby arrived today! How exciting is that? (congrats to Stu'schick)...... I can't believe it, seems only a week ago the May girls were starting to have their bub's! In no time at all it'll be the July girls......then US :smiliedance:
Also just read that Gwen Stefani and hubby had their baby boy.....they named him "Kingston James McGregor Rossdale". Awww how sweet.
cheekypossum
28-05-2006, 10:48 AM
Morning ladies
I am soooo bored today - just finished my ironing - I mean there is a lot of cleaning to do but that will always be here tomorrow or next week - DH is working today...
My3sons - :laughing: re the sleeping position heehee - do you want to come and clean my house when you are finished yours?:thumbsup: Wow a june bub as arrived - how exciting. Thanks for the info on Gwen Stefani - though I can't say that I like that name sorry!!!!
Wattle & Mrsbutterflygirl - thanks for clearing taht up about the peanuts - lucky that I have had braces this whole time as I have not eaten many - (occasionally the few M&M's) - but since Wednesday I have eaten Peanut M&M's a fair bit - will have a few more then let DH finish the packet then will go to the shops and buy myself the plain ones hee hee........Wattle - sorry to hear about your bad reading...
Pariskamali - thanks so much for adding me back on
Shed - wow you got to meet Zander - how beautiful....just think taht will be you in a little while:smiliedance:
Talk again soon
my3sons
28-05-2006, 11:57 AM
Another famous bub is born....... Angelina and Brad had their baby girl -
Shiloh Nouvel Jolie-Pitt.*Thanks to the General Chat section for my info....again :o
Okay, yes! I've had a stay at home sort of a weekend - can you tell that I have nothing else to do :rolleyes:
BTW - I love that name!
wattle
28-05-2006, 01:23 PM
Hi August mums, thanks everyone. I'm a bit bummed about the glucose thing, I've been feeling pretty ordinary lately and can't cope with any sugar at all, not even fruit juice or fruit. (It also makes bub go absolutely crazy) So I'm sticking to a really strict low GI diet until I have the next test and see what's going on. My reading was 8.1, which I don't think is too high during pregnancy - not sure though. I know that anything over 6.0 is considered diabetes when not pregnant. I'm really really hoping I don't have gestational diabetes though as it would mean that I couldn't go to the birthing centre, I'd have to see a special ob.
I'm really craving some fruit, chocolate, danishes etc. Somehow carrot sticks and hommus don't quite do it the same. Oh well, less kilos to shed after bub comes along.:D
Re allergies - it seems to be a growing thing and I guess down the track there will be more testing of the affects of eating nuts etc during pregnancy. Fortunately ds's allergies aren't life threatening, but it still takes constant thought at meal times and at the supermarket. It's hard to realise the impact it has on family life until you have a child with allergies. I have a feeling that in time peanuts will be a no no during pregnancy just as soft cheeses etc are.
Jewelbar
28-05-2006, 04:08 PM
Hi All, :wave:
Just wondering if anyone else was going to go to the Wesley for wednesday night Antenatal classes next month... hoping to know someone before hand...
My baby seems to react to sweet foods too... :smiliedance: and I crave them so! They dont make me feel sick or anything though. Is the baby reacting to sweet stuff a symptom of GD? I go for my test next thursday (I MUST book in tomorrow).
Oh, as for peanut allergies. I have heard that it is the PROTEIN in peanuts which is the biggest no-no, so Asian food cooked in peanut oil is ok. In fact peanut and olive oils are much better for you than canola which can affect your eyes in teh same way that canola oil can.:eek: If in doubt use olive oil. They say people with athsma or other allergies should be particularly careful with Peanuts.
Sleep is fine with me, I sleep on my side, or on my back with my left hip propped up on a pillow. Higher than 10degrees is supposed to remove any presure from the vein behind the uterus, and so you dont need to tip yourself up a mile. Sleeping on my side is becoming increasingly comfortable. I just put a pillow under my knee, and lay my bottom leg straight. My belly seems to rest against the bed quite nicely. Rolling over and getting up out of bed are different things all together though, with my Pubic Symphesis playing up...
SEX As for the sex topic... well we havent done it for AGES. It just hurts too much being so dry. Lube doesnt seem to help much. Now my Pubic Symphesis is playing up, and she protests when I lay on my back, I dont know what we will do. I do get interested at times, but not usually when DH is around, or Im deep in sleep, and cant get motivated to wake myself up enough to pester poor DH about it.:sleeping: Any tips welcome!
I hope all is well with everyone!
:0)
Jade.
*Country Bumpkin*
28-05-2006, 05:56 PM
Hello all- Wow you’ve all been busy yet again lol….Im sorry in advance if I miss anyone I have had to skim- I went back like 5 pages and Im totally lost lol
Shed- Congrats on ypu little nephew!! How exciting!! I look at bubs and it still dosnt quite sink in that Im going to have one of THOSE soon…..Ohh and get used to the cord- your going to have to clean one of them soon lol
Uniquey- Im SO glad you have decided to go to the classes- you really cant afford not to… I think youl probably need all the advice they give… I was going to say that if you wanted I will come with you. I wouldn’t mind doing two lots and the you wouldn’t have to go alone!! So if you like then I will come- its no problem….hey it saves me sititng here alone while DP's working too lol.:thumbsup:
My3Sons- I have the same problem… Im ALWAYS loosing my posts and it really makes me MAD especialy as it is ALWAYS the really big ones….Like this one lol.. Its definantly the forum Yaaaah on the new kitchen too!! I want one lol- if you could see my kitchen you'd understand lol:rolleyes:
MrsButterflyGirl- Im so sorry I didn’t wish you a happy Birthday!! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY:bday: lol I really don’t know how I missed that one lol. Im glad that your DP made an efforet!! See wasn’t it worth the wait!! I hope you had a great time on your picnic- sounds really nice!!
Tash- Hehe I also got a laugh out of the little icon you used… I thought it was very ummm appropriate lol… you have plenty of energy LMAO
Wattle- Hello there!!:wave:
Jewelbar- Hello!! Sorry Imnot going to the wesley but if I was it would be good to meet up!! I too crave sugar.. And it wakes bub up so much
*Country Bumpkin*
28-05-2006, 06:02 PM
Hello just me again
Well now about me.. I have a 21st to go to next weekend and its being held OUTSIDE... now obviously cause Im such a big huge heffa whale nothing fits me so I had to go and (try) buy new clothes.. I cant warrant spending a couple of hundred dollars on maternity clothes that Ill only wear once or twice- I mean I ownt be going out anywhere till after Skyla is born now so Il probably only wear them once...
I decided to go to chermside well that was a big mistake..I wandered around aimlesly trying to find something that looked remotley nice and actually FITTED umm yeah that went well- NOT! I was so disheartened by the experiance.. I ended up buying a nice jacket I cant do it up but I figure I can wear a scarf...
Came home and my G/F that was supposed to be doing my belly cast called to cancel so all my plans feel through... then I spoke to my Mum who upset me so I ended up in tears. DP was very nice and offered to make me scrambled eggs lol...:rolleyes: I accepted hehe
I then went out today to try and find boots- I have heaps of boots and shes but they all have high heels or they are stilletos so Im not game wear them... do you think I could find a nice pair of funky boots with a smaller fine heel... umm no. I walked out of the shops feeling yuck again so I guess I will just wear a pair I have in my wardrobe.:(
This afternoon we put up the mozzie net in Skylas room and started to hang butterflys from her ceiling... Its starting to look more like a bubs nursery now!!:smiliedance:
Ohh and I think Im getitng the flue... I woke up witha sore throat and I feel like s***. SO al in all the weekend could be alot better but I guess Skyla is fine so I shouild be happy.
Ohh has anyone elses bub stoped moving around so much now..In the last few days Skyla has hardly moved- I dont know if I should be worried or not.. I think I rememebr reading somewhere that from about 28 weeks bubs stop moving so much due to limited space:confused:
Beany
28-05-2006, 06:42 PM
I've found that the Bean is moving a fair bit but isn't giving me the sharp kicking to the extent it used to.
It still gives me the odd one now and then, just to put me in my place, but Kicky has turned into Wriggly in the past couple of days.
Uniquey
28-05-2006, 07:05 PM
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO ME!
Today, 28th May, is my FIRST wedding anniversary, and as you all know DH is away:crying: I wouldn't have thought a year on, I'd be sitting here pregnant, which I feel so blessed about, and home alone whilst DH is away. Not to worry, I'm sure when he does eventually return home, we'll make up for it.
Adele, You are SUCH A SWEETHEART, i feel like you're my little sister:D We'll see how time goes closer to the class dates, thank you so much for your kind offer!
Well, just a short post from me, I've had another busy weekend unpacking boxes etc, and I'm jiggered.
QUESTION For the Tea/Coffee drinkers out there, can you pleae tell me how many cups a day you drink? Since I've been so stressed lately, I've been drinking cups of tea, sometimes 3 a day, and I don't know how healthy that is?
Have a great night all, Uniquey
Beany
28-05-2006, 07:21 PM
Uniquey: I usually drink a cup of tea in the morning with my toast. Coffee in the afternoon to help my poor forehead (which goes slamming at great speed onto my desk if I don't get something to wake me up) and a glass or two of diet Coke here and there throughout the day.
I doubt 3 cups of tea a day is going to make much of a dent in the caffeine allowance. "They" (whoever that might be) recommend you don't drink more than 3 cup of coffee a day but tea is not nearly so high in caffeine and you could easily get away with 5 or six cups a day (depending on how strong you make it, of course).
*Country Bumpkin*
28-05-2006, 07:47 PM
Uniquey-Hehe Id like to have a big sister:D Im an only child and it SUCKS:( BUT having said that Im SURE I would be wanting to be an only child if I did have a sister- amzing how we always want the opposite of what we have:rolleyes:
I meant what I said... If you do decide that you dont want to go by yourself or you cant get anyone else to go with you- Ill come along... Im sure wed have a great laugh both of us being so huge and all trying to get up off the floor lol:laughing:
I dont drink tea or coffee- I stopped drinking coffee when I was first pregnant cause I was told that you shouldnt... I now know that you can but in small amounts.. I have been SO tempted to have a vanilla late but Im not sure how SKyla would take to it now- seeing as I havnt drunk it through the whole pregnancy.. So I guess Ill just wait
Well Im bored so Im off to clean out the fridge.. darn nesting instinct Im almost out of cleaning products lol
littlepickle
29-05-2006, 12:46 AM
Uniquey - when are you having your A/N classes? I am booked in for the 10th and 11th of June, but I vaguely remember that you are a week before me, so I guess you might be next week?? Happy Anniversary!
Adele - I love the idea of having butterflies hanging from the ceiling.. sounds really pretty! Sorry to hear that you have the flu.. I hope that you dont get a bad case of it - there is a lot of that going around at the moment.. I have been popping garlic capsules like they are going out of fashion.. keeps the colds away.. along with everything and everyone else!!!:D at least i get some peace and quiet!!
Shed: congrats on becoming an Aunty! Xande/Zander is a nice name, very cool and yet distinguished at the same time! Glad to hear that your GD tests came back ok. I still havent had a test for that and I am 31 weeks on Tuesday!! eeek! I will have to ask obbie at my next visit.. forgot to ask last time
Noosamum - Hows the nursery coming along - sorry to hear that you and treehouse decided to part company.. Do you have another nursery range in mind?
Sorry if I have skimmed a bit hre and left a few people out. I havent been online much for the past few days as I have not been feeling too great, and really stressed out.. I am starting to feel a bit better now though and have my appointment with the cardiologist tomorrow which will be a load off my mind. I am sooo over work now, I have 3 weeks left and am counting each day... aarrrgghh...
Fairyfloss
29-05-2006, 06:00 AM
Adel- if you can feel 10 movements in 12 hours, then skyla is fine.
Uniquey- :yelclap: happy paper anniversary:yelclap: , it is hard being alone especially on your first one. 3 caffeinated drinks was actually the limit my doc gave me, but being a shift worker, I could not stick to it, so I switched to decaf and supplement it with herbal teas. You are fine don’t worry. Just remember the energy drinks such as V also contain quite a lot of caffeine and unfortunately so does chocolate.
littlepickle- good luck with you appointment today
wattle- hope your next GD test gives better results:fingerscrossed:
I'm really really hoping I don't have gestational diabetes though as it would mean that I couldn't go to the birthing centre, are you sure about this, how come they didn't tell me about it, damn it, now I want my results today, I will be so angry :mad: if I miss the BC because of GD.
Kicky has turned into Wriggly for me too. Bubby doesn't boot me, he just squirms around. The other day I could feel something quite hard next to my bellybutton, I think it was a foot or something.
My blood test came back at 7.4 I think she said, which she said was fine. I don't know the ins and outs of it though. What did everyone else get?
I drink two cups of coffee a day. One before I leave the house and one when I get to work, so they're about an hour and a half apart, and that's it. I was on the decaf for the first trimester and will wean myself (and bubby) back onto decaf in the next few weeks.
I am so tired today. I couldn't sleep at all. One month left at work...the countdown is well and truly on.
DP has the week off this week. The carpet cleaners are coming today to steam clean the ferals ex-rooms and then we can set up the spare bed etc. Yay.
*Country Bumpkin*
29-05-2006, 10:50 AM
Morning all :wave:
LP- Hehe on the garlic capsules LMAO I hope you go well at the cardiologist.... I have my :fingerscrossed: all is fine(Im sure it will be)
Parisa- Well Skyla must be fine then- I figured she was.... As for the BC kicking you out if you have GD- its true... Once you are diagnosed with GD you become a patient in the "high risk" category and the BC dosnt take high risk patients as it's staffed by Midwifes and when you have GD you have to be monitored by Dr's as alot of things can go wrong and they need to watch for symptoms of other thing(preclampsia ect...)
I have my GD test AGAIN this friday so I will find out then too... Im pretty sure Im fine. The only reason Im being tested is that I have a few family members who have had it... mainly due to the medication they took but they want to check me to be sure
Shed- Yahh on getting the carpets cleaned- you can finaly get in there and start to sort the house out.. God its a good feeling when you can do that!!:smiliedance:
Well I had the WORST nights sleep EVER.. I woke up every hour to pee.. and once Id get back to sleep Id wake again because I was so dam uncoumfertable... I think the time has come for DP and I to part company and start sleeping in seperate beds...:( Im simply to uncoumfertable and i need to surround myself with pillows but cat dot hat while hes in bed with me- so it looks like we will have seperate rooms- Im so sad.... I will miss sleeping with him..
mrsbutterflygirl
29-05-2006, 12:44 PM
Adele:I totally know what you mean about the no sleeping.... I soent last night trying to get compfy and it just wasn't happening... i think i would of got 4 hours at best the whole night... I'm sorry about your miserable day the other day with not finding any clothes.. It is hard isn't it... i can't justify buying maternity clothes either. Your bubs nursery shounds wonderful.. i am having butterflies too around cookies room. (i kina have a thing for them - hence the name hehe) I really hope you dont get the flu.. I have had it all week.. not really bad but i feel like i have been hit by a truck all the time so I really hope you dont get it. My bubs is not moving nearly as much as she was... i'm nearly 31 weeks and i just get kicked now... but not as much and i really have to be kinda concenrating to feel it... otherwise i miss it.
Uniquey: Happy anniversary for yesterday!!! i hope you had a good day even without hubby. As for the tea and coffee.. i'm not sure.. i have the rare cup of coffee, i think i have had probably 5 my whole pragnancy.
Shed:I am not sure what i got for my test... They didn' actually tell me jsut that I did fine and it came back perfect. I hope your next month of work goes quickly... I feel so guilty as i havent worked my whole pragnancy (well i did work for dominos delivering pizzas up until about 2 weeks ago) but not full time... I study so i feel like i get it easy!
Me:Well I am still getting over the flu.. spending alot of time in bed... Hubby and I didn't end up going on the picnic on saturday but that was ok cause i spent the whole day with him anyway and we got to talk like we havnet talked in ages... so it was nice. I am having my baby shower on sunday and have no idea what i am actually going to do! Not sure if i should play games or not. I was thinking of pass the parcel but not too sure. My mum is coming down on friday so hopefully she can help me alittle. I have finially got my hospital bag packed... but it's hard to pack it all cause you use alot of the things you need to take like a toothbrush! anyway i made a list for hubby of things he has to grab and it's on the fridge hopefully he wont panic too much when it all happens hehe.
Hope you ladies have a wonderful day!:smiliedance:
Beany
29-05-2006, 12:59 PM
I haven't had my GTT yet ... it's scheduled for some ungodly hour on Wednesday. Been carb loading since yesterday - it's the best diet I've ever been on! :D It's great to have people tell me that I must have pudding!
Alas, the hind brain is smarter than that and all last night I dreamt that my thighs had got so fat, they'd dribbled down to my ankles. Perhaps I'll just use fruit to up my carb intake today.
Okay, maybe a cup of chips, too.
And chocolate.
my3sons
29-05-2006, 01:23 PM
Uniquey - Happy 1st Anniversary :yelclap: I bet your hubby was sending you his loving vibes all day long :hugs:
Re: tea drinking - I have around 2 - 4 cups during the day, depending on what I'm doing but always have at least 2. I really don't think it's a problem and have done that with all my pregnancies.
LP - Best wishes with your appointment tomorrow.
Adele - What a pity your friend cancelled doing your belly cast! Is she going to re-schedule? That would be amazing to have as a keepsake of your pregnancy. Regarding Skyla not moving as much - my bubs had a couple of quiet days last week and I was getting worried, but all turned out fine. Maybe they are just having a growth spurt when that happens and are conserving their energy? Like some of the other girls have said my bub dosen't really "kick" anymore, just squirms and wriggles and sticks large parts out!
mrsbutterflygirl - Have fun on Sunday at your baby shower - how exciting! Hope you're well and truly over the flu by then.
I haven't started packing a hospital bag yet (I always go over anyway!) but I have been doubling up on things and buy something new every week for my gorgeous new pink make-up bag :p ..... so far I've got deoderant, toothbrush, face moisturiser, foundation (gotta look my best :o ...lol) and will just add to that. That way everything will be new and fresh and I won't need to purchase more for a while after bubs is born. I'm doing the same with PJ's etc.... then when labour begins I can just throw in my preggy clothes for the hospital stay and all will be ready.
Well rambling now....have a lovely day everyone.
I am also having trouble sleeping at night and DP seems to take up SO much room these days (or could it be me?? LOL).
Its just past 2pm and I would have NO TROUBLE sleeping right now though...
I had forgotten about a Baby Shower!! I think I would rather sleep than have a whole load of people looking at me. Although pressies are nice...
cheekypossum
29-05-2006, 05:26 PM
Afternoon ladies
Wattle - sorry to hear that you have been feeling ordinary...hope you start feeling better soon
Jewelbar - :wave:
Adele - What a bugger your belly cast was cancelled...hope she can do it soon...sorry to hear taht you have been having bad days - there is nothing worse when you can't find something to wear - not sure where you live but you could try the OP shops - in big cities you would be surprised in what you can find in them...Good luck with your tests...Your room sounds so nice - hanging Butterflies that is so beautiful...My bub is the same with the movements - ti is nice to read it is happening to evreyone...
Uniquey - HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO YOU - I am sure you hubby was sending you his love....I have been having 2 cups of tea a day and have just gone to drinking decaf coffee as I could not wait any longer hee hee
Littlepickle - Good luck with your appt - let us know how you go
Pariskamali - thanks for the info on the movements - that is good to know - my bub is at least moving the 10 times a day heehee.....I know that chocolote cotains caffeine but what a bummer - I could eat soooo much at the moment.
Shed - bet you are getting excited to have the room finally cleaned - and only 4 more weeks:smiliedance:
Mrsbutterflygirl - Glad to see that you are slowly getting over the flu - you sound like you had a nice day with your hubby - Good luck with your Baby shower....if I were you Hannah I would jus buy double of things eg toothbrush, deo and stuff for you bag taht way you knowt hat it is all there
Beany - :laughing: your dream made me laugh - that sounds like the dreams that I have heehee
My3sons - :wave:
Me - well I have not had my Glucose test yet - I see my OB on 13th June so will ask then - I asked my GP and he just did the finger prick....so don't know - I would not say that I am having cravings but boy oh boy do I want sweet foods - if there is chocolate in the fridge ahhh just can't help myself.
Is everyone having baby showers? How do you plan it - when do you plan it? How do you tell people what you want? I was thinking if I went ahead and had one to ask my guests to put money in an envelope that way we could use it how we wanted - any ideas? Cause we have only bought the big stuff like Car seats, Cot & stroller - everything else basically we need to get - but things like quilt sets I want to be the one to pick them out but still what to leave things for people to buy us so we dont' get too much of the one thing....any ideas would help out greatly pleeaassee
Anyway enough blabbaring - off for a shower then gotta cook dinner.....
Talk again soon
Mummy 2B
29-05-2006, 06:50 PM
Tashmusa - Check out the website www.babyshower101.com for tips on baby showers. I'm about to start planning mine also, just a bit busy planning my mum's 60th, my fiance's bday and his brothers 21st. :eek: These next few mths are so busy!
cheekypossum
29-05-2006, 07:42 PM
Mummy2be - gee you sound busy - thanks so much for the website will go on now and check it out
ourbump
29-05-2006, 07:44 PM
Feel very excited this afternoon. Had an appointment with Ob today and my test results for gestational diabetes were fine :smiliedance: I was a bit scared because of all the sweet foods I have been craving and eating.... Anyway iron a bit low but just have to take some tablets. Should be good.
Baby is in correct position for now which is great, head down, and it was the first time she was able to measure me because tummy has grown. Measuring 29 which is good although I am 28 weeks exactly today. She could feel the head and body which was just so exciting as she has never been able to feel before. We have now booked all our appointments up to 36 weeks. It just seems to be flying now. I can't wait. :yelclap:
I also received a little parcel today from my boss in Brisbane with some cute little basics for bub. It was just so gorgeous to receive, just as I had got off the phone to her as well...
Sorry it is all about me today, just had to share with you all. Hope everyone is well and personal messages will follow I promise. Have to go and cook some meat to try and boost up my Iron intake.... just not looking forward to being all bound up later :laughing:
mrsbutterflygirl
30-05-2006, 11:29 AM
my 3 sons: thanks I will defintately be trying to have fun on sunday... hopefully some of my freinds will help with setting up and stuff... I also took your advice and went shopping last night and bought a new toothbrush, a tube of toothpaste and all the stuff i could to have in my hospital bag so that i dont need to pack those things when it's time to go thanks for the great idea :thumbsup:
tashmusa:thanks also for the advice about the hospital bag :thumbsup: I did end up just buying 2 of everything!
Ourbump:Congrats on passing the glucose test!!! i know i was totally excited when i got my results back... i jsut hate needles with a huge passion... my obst just laughed at me hehe.
Me:well considering i got about 5 hours sleep if that.. i am actually feeling really really good. I have been sitting on bubhub this morning all ready to chat to someone and no one is here hehe it's so quiet!!! i guess i'm just in a chatty mood. :ecomcity: I am really excited that i took new pics of my belly... hence my new avatar. NO much else has been happening... have a scan next tuesday which i cant wait for cause i really hope bub will have turned by then... anyway i am just talking for the sake of talking now hehe
Hope everyone is having an awesome day!!! (I must be feeling better)
my3sons
30-05-2006, 01:37 PM
Hannah - You look gorgeous :D Love your new avatar!!!!
Hi everyone :wave: Hope you're all feeling GREAT :smiliedance:
Beany
30-05-2006, 01:42 PM
My feet are freezing!
Other than that, doing good :)
Won't be the case in a couple of days though when the months of laziness with my dissertation catch up with me and my supervisor flays me ... :rolleyes:
Mummy 2B
30-05-2006, 02:18 PM
My feet are freezing too.
Ive just got a question.... does any know what would be the normal weight gain for someone who is 27 wks? I've been told 10-15kgs is normal weight gain for the end of the pregnancy. I've already put on 15kg.
cheekypossum
30-05-2006, 02:35 PM
Afternoon ladies
Ourbump - Glad to hear that your GD results came back good :smiliedance:
Mrsbutterflygirl - Glad to see that you bought double of the important things:thumbsup: You sure sound like you are feeling much better - I am happy to see
My3sons - :wave: back
Beany - :hugs: warm hugs - heehee I am still wearing summer clothes
Mummy2be - sorry I can't be of much help I don't think I have even reached 10kgs yet...I weighed myself today and I have put on 1.5kgs since my visit on 22nd May - but I have only a small bump (or so I think anyway) hope some of the ladies can be better help to you
my3sons
30-05-2006, 04:02 PM
Great results ourbump :thumbsup: I'm also craving sweet foods (and eating them too!) and my results were okay as well. I'm also a little anaemic but it dosen't help that I am not eating meat at all but I'm taking my elevit religiously!
Beany and mummy2B.....maybe we should all head up and visit Tash seeing as it's still toasty warm there ;) Was soooo cold in Melbourne this morning.
Mummy2B...re: weight gain. I had put on around 10kg by 27 weeks - currently sitting on 11kg but I wouldn't be too worried about 15kg if your Dr. isn't - everyone is different and some people just retain heaps of fluid at this stage of pregnancy. I put on around 18kg with my last bub and it all came off without doing anything about it other than B/F....(and a lot of peeing :thumbsup: :laughing:)
I've put on 9 kilos I think. It will have gone up next doc visit though.
Isn't it exciting that we now can't justify buying more maternity clothes? Do you realise what that means? It means we are nearly there, oooh!! I have pretty much run out of clothes. The outfits were the best part, oh well. My maternity shirts that were "flowing" are now "fitted" LOL.
Well, my 2pm snooze-longing turned into 11am snooze-longing today. AND I had a good night's sleep last night too. I only had to get up ONCE to pee, at 4:39am. Is that some kind of record? I couldn't believe it.
I can't wait to finish work. Have I already said that?? Oh, only about a hundred times. I say it every day.
My feet aren't freezing. Are my feet supposed to be freezing? Why are everyones feet freezing?...(fretting now coz my feet aren't freezing).
I will look in my book...it will probably say:
You may notice that you feet are started to feel freezing. This is nothing to be concerned about".
Ha ha, the magic book!!
ourbump
30-05-2006, 04:34 PM
Shed - That was very funny, I was thinking the same thing, hang on my feet aren't freezing.. Think it might be a weather thing not a pregnancy thing.
My3sons - Very strange I have gone off eating meat during my pregnancy, just do not want it and have not been very good at taking my vitamins, anyhow feel okay just going to get into these tablets to be safe.
Mummy2be - I am probably the closest to you, I am just over 28 weeks and have put on 13kgs. I don't think I am huge but my ob got a surprise yesterday and said wow your tummy has grown, she seemed happy about it though and did not ask how much weight I had put on... I think everyone is just different that's all. I haven't got any fluid retention either it is all just baby, ( and a bit of backside! )
mrsbutterflygirl - Love your avatar you look gorgeous and so happy!! really have to update mine soon too.
I had better go, I have so much work to do. I have had an unbelievable 4 resignations in the last 4 weeks!! I really need to get these gaps filled asap but still not in a panic, isn't that funny, before being pregnant that just would have thrown me in a spin, but now I am just so calm and think oh well I will fix it somehow. If I get another one it might be a different story though!!:banghead:
littlepickle
30-05-2006, 05:08 PM
Afternoon everyone!
Well I had my cardiologist appointment yesterday, they are going to put a monitor on me on Friday for 48 hours and then next week I am also having an echo-cardiogram so hopefully they will be able to get to the bottom of why my heart is speeding up all of the time. I ended up having the rest of the day of yesterday as I was in the hospital for so long there wasnt much point in going back to work:smiliedance:
I havent been experiencing cold feet yet - well not literally anyway which is a bit unusual as usually my feet are freezing!! As for weight gain I think I am at about 12 gain now.. I have read conflicting advice regarding weight gain in ate pregnancy. Some books say that you dont put much on in the last month and may find that you actually lose some, and some books say you can put on a lot in the last month, so I guess it is a wait and see kind of thing. Most of my weight gain seems to be my boobs and stomach and fuid as my clothes are fitting the same on my legs, bottom and arms etc....oh and some days my ankles are a bit puffy too .. unfortunately I do seem to have a bit of cellulite now which I am not at all happy about!!
Well I have another 2 and a half weeks left in work.. and counting... I am so looking forward to having some "me" time before bubs arrives!
Hope everyone else is well
missie_mack
30-05-2006, 07:28 PM
Im beginning to really find it difficult to keep up with all the posts in this thread..... so if I dont answer questions or something dont get offended
Mrs Butterflygirl you look lovely in your new avatar
Baby showers Mine is July 1 and while Im mostly kept in the dark my mum (whose organising it) advises me she is going to have psychic at the shower to do readings for a bit of fun. Sounds interesting..... lemme see my future a baby perhaps??:D
Weight Gain- Im not telling anyone how much I have gained but its more than I would like to have. But Im retaining HEAPS of water. I plan to be out in my 3 wheeler as soon as I can and will rejoin my local gym :(
Im starting to stress over everyone preparing their bags for hospital. Nobody has given me a list of what Im expected to take. Can anyone advise what they have been told to bring so I have some guidelines??
Ive also ordered a Epi No which I should start using in a couple of weeks. Cross my fingers it works!!:fingerscrossed:
Beany
30-05-2006, 08:19 PM
Shed and ourbump: yes, the icicle feet are a weather thing not a pregnancy thing. They are warmer at the moment but now my nose is freezing.
Mummy2Be: I've put on about 10 kilos since December. Like I said elsewhere, I want to believe it's all bump but my tree-trunk thighs won't let me maintain that delusion for long. My husband insists that I must be retaining fluid as my legs look puffy (charmed, I'm sure).
Missie Mack: What's an Epi No? I have weird visions of you self-administering epidurals for practice, now ...
Okay, better go wolf down dinner - should technically be starting to fast for the blood tests tomorrow in 10 minutes but classes wore on later than they should have and I didn't get in until 10 minutes ago. Ah well. I'm pretty sure I don't have GD anyway - there was no indication from my pee and I haven't been craving anything much at all, really.
I'm still sure they are in league with an underground network of vampires.
missie_mack
30-05-2006, 08:37 PM
I heard about the Epi No initially on bub hub where there was debate on them. They are used from about 36 weeks to exercise your body internally gradually preparing for birth. It was designed by a german OB and should if all things work prevent or minimise the need for an episiotomy and reduce grazing during the birthing. Apparently they are also used to improve pelvic floor muscles before and after birth. Those who have used them have only had good things to say Im yet to hear anything to poorly about them. If you google them there is loads of info avail if anyone else is interested.....
Not cheap about $180 but if they work I think that was well spent. My poor mother copped it giving birth to me. Her episiotomy was so severe she had difficulties walking for a couple of days and the scaring was so bad that when she gave birth to her next child they decided it was best to let her tear. Ouch!!
Her story served her well it was something Ive never been allowed to forget and something that always made me very cautious about having children- something every parent hopes their only daughter will be lol
I'm hiring a fetal doppler, it arrives today.
I look like a whale today. I am wearing a top that I bought and then realised I hated, but its comfy so I don't care. I cared before, but that was a long time ago :D
Last day of May today. On to June, yaaaaay. I really really hate my job now. I don't want to be here and I hate the boss now too. He's a workaholic and I can't keep up at the best of times, and these are not the best of times.
Went and saw X-Men last night and bubby was booting me during the intro music!! He seems to be all over the place, to the sides mainly. Is he supposed to be head down now? I should go back to the doctor. The kicks are to the sides and in the bladder still sometimes. I haven't had a breathless day for ages. Maybe he's transverse or breech. Where is he supposed to be?
ourbump
31-05-2006, 10:19 AM
Shed - I get kicked to the side too, my right side, you can actually see the movement from outside my belly.. Anyway I was worried about how the bub was lying, when I went to the OB on Monday she felt it and felt the head down, the back over to the left side with the feet and arms out to the right. I hope you can imagine that, it sounds a bit like a contortion act, but it is kind of curled up and rounded out to the right. Just thought you might be the same and no need to worry.
Missiemack - Hope your epi no works well. I am going to be starting the perinimum massage myself or with help from DH so that hopefully will help in the getting ready for birth phase. I feel like we have spent so much money on things that are only wants already, but you are a lucky girl and goodluck with it.
littlepickle - hope everything goes well with your monitor testing on Friday and that the docs find a reason for your increased heartrate. Take it easy at work.
Me - Went on a tour of the maternity ward and post natal ward last night. It was great, a lot more clinical than I had imagined though, scared the pants off me. Anwyay what will be will be and I wont tell you anymore in case I am spoiling for those who are yet to start classes. HAve a great day :wave:
*Country Bumpkin*
31-05-2006, 10:42 AM
MrsButterflyGirl- Wow I love your avatar!!:yes:
Mummy2B- I am almost 19 weeks and I have gained 10kg.. I only LOST weight till I got to 24 weeks then suddenly I put on 5kg and then another 5kg!! I was stuck at 76.4kg for 24 weeks which meant I was loosing BODY FAT and Gaining BABY weight to replace it if that makes any sense… I looked in my book and it says 10kg is normal.:thumbsup:
Shed- Yeah it IS exciting not being able to justify new maternity clothes!! I have a problem though NOTHING in my wardrobe fits and NOTHING in normal shops fit either… SO this winter I'm gunna freeze lol. I want to hire a Doppler!! Let us know how it is and I might just get one… Sklyla does A LOT of kicking on the sides too.. I'm going to ask my Midi about it on Friday...
Our Bump- Wow 4 resignations that’s heaps!! What's going on! That would be pretty stressful especially now.. Just try to stay calm and relaxed and you'll be ok! Sending you hugs!:hugs:
LP- Oh I hope everything goes well with the whole monitor thingo.:fingerscrossed: Not long now till you finish work- YAAAAAH
Missie_Mack- I have heard about the epi-no's. However my Midi gave me an instruction sheet on basically doing that yourself… I wont go into to much detail as it is WAY TMI…. But I think you know what Im talking about lol
Baby Showers- Now forgive me cause I cant remember who originally brought this up… I'm having my bub shower on 11 June at 2pm… We are NOT having any games- I HATE the stupid things. We are having more of an afternoon tea and chat sorta thing. It’s a "high tea" theme- have you ever heard of a high tea? If you haven't its like a fancy afternoon tea with tea pots and little finger food etc…
I went to spotlight and brought pink and purple decorations- balloons, a baby banner all that sorta stuff and we are making table centres (was going to have pink roses as the table centres but that idea got scrapped) So now we are making them.
*Country Bumpkin*
31-05-2006, 10:52 AM
Hello just thought I dbeter start a new post the other one was getitng too long.
Well I have full on flu. I feel like ive been hit by a truck and then it has reversed over me again and again....:( I will be ok though. Im just hoping Im better before Saturday. I have the 21st to go to and its outside and where it is, is freezing at night so Ill just end up even sicker if I go....
Have any of you been given any Info on perineal Massage? Ill write what it says here in the booklet I have about it...
[quote/]Perineal massage will help preper you for the feelings of stretching and pressure as your babys head is born. Knowing about these sensations may help youi to relax and give birth rather than tensing up in response to these sensations during the birth of your baby.
Massaging the perineum(tissues around the vaginal opening) daily for the last 4-6 weeks of pregnancy, may help to increse the elasicity of this area. The studies to dat, show that it does not help in avoiding tears or an episiotmey. HOWEVER, by increasing the strechiness, particuarly if you have a tight painful perineal scar after heling, perineal massage may be of help. [quote/]
Now I OWNT go into detail on how its done... UNLESS you would like to know.. I honestly find it to be very good. I have stared doing in now as I figure the sooner the better.
So if you would like to know more let me know and Ill tell you how its done!:thumbsup:
Yes, I am planning to do that massage and DP has kindly offered to help. Gawd.
I hear its very very good. Doesn't feel good, but works very well.
only1mica
31-05-2006, 12:34 PM
Hey all...
Just thought I would post..had to show off my new Avatar...It is my first belly shot...it was taken on Saturday - So 31 weeks!
I saw my midwife on monday and she said geez you look like the bub has a lot of room in there (like you adele...i am about 6ft)... she also said that i could wear something a little baggy and that no one would know that i am pregers...I beg to differ tho!
She also had a feel and told me that the baby is not engaged yet but its head is down now...so we are on our way!!
Bub has gone nuts...last night ant was moving soooo much it looked like someone was playing bongos on my tummy :laughing:
I keep on having dreams that the bub is going to be a girl even tho I really think it will be a boy
Last nights dream was my nanna wanted to name Ant...Natalie...and I was fighting her saying NO its my baby...i get to name her what I want! hehehe dreams hey ;)
Oh well...better go - take care all
Mic:D
mrsbutterflygirl
31-05-2006, 01:09 PM
Mummy 2B: I don't think they really worry about weight gain anymore... cause i was worried about the same thing.. but i am 31 weeks and only put on 5 kilos! but the doctors arnt worried because the baby is really healthy. they said it really depends on how big you were before you actually got pregnant. So i really dont think they take too much of the weight factor into account anymore... they don't even weigh me!
Tashmusa: Thanks! I am feeling heaps better.. and i think i am sleeping better cause i am sleeping till midday while hubby is on prac! so i am getting the whole bed to myself which really helps! hehe
Our bump:I noticed you said you had 4 resignations in this week... do you own your own business?? I thought the same thing about the maternity ward and birthing suites being so clinical! i wanted to go and put up posters and flowers all around! hehe
Shed: I know what you mean about bub's being all over the place.. it's staring to worry me actually... cause bub is sitting across my belly head on one side feet on the other.. and hasn't given any hint to move down... she has been like this since about 23 weeks... not sure what is going on...
Only really good thing is i get to play with her foot alot.. she sticks it out and i can see the shape... she also likes to push her whole back and bottom up and i can run my hand down her back! that is pretty nice!
Adele: I hopw you get better soon with the flu ... it has taken me around 2 weeks to even have a hint of it go away!
Only1mica:Love the piccie of the belly...
Me:was wondering if anyone has been suffereing from thrush through their pregnancy? I have had it pretty bad.. but it hasn't really bothered me.. but since i am getting closer to giving birth i didn't want to give it to my baby so i went and got some canasten.. has anyone used it?? does it really work??
Has everyone picked names yet for their little ones??:D
lou81
31-05-2006, 01:15 PM
For some reason I keep dissappearing from the list, so I thought I would add myself again.
31.07 Lou - Tweed Heads Public Hospital, QLD - GIRL
August
01 LittlePickle - Mater Mothers Private Hospital, QLD - Girl
01 Lelee
02 Mrsbutterflygirl - - Saint Vincent's Hospital, Toowoomba, QLD, GIRL!!!
02 Lou81 - Hervey Bay Hospital, QLD. SUPRISE!!!
03 Noosamum - Selangor Private Hospital - it's a girl!
03 Only1mica - St George Hospital Birth Centre, NSW - Think Blue atm
05 Shinebrite
08 Lilbugalugs - Mater Mothers Hospital, Qld - Its a boy!!
08 Leo - Kareena Private Hospital Caringbah, NSW - Thinking Girl????????
08 Romey
09 Tashmusa- Cairns Private Hospital
10 Youngmumi2b- ............................ boy
10 Katie22- Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide (public)- Girl
11 Mum2lily
11 My3sons - Peninsula Private, Vic, (GIRL - not convinced - yet!!)
11 Foolish2-campbelltown hospital nsw(boy)
13 Shed - Liverpool Hospital, NSW, (BOY)
13 MelBryan-Blacktown Hospital, NSW ( BOY)
13 Kacey - Mercy Women's (Family Birth Centre) - surprise flavour.
14 Jane&Scarlett -Boy
14 Suzzan
14 Renae (Bella8) – Flinders Medical Centre (SA) – BABY BOY!!!
15 Uniquey-Mater Mothers Hospital, QLD, (GIRL)
16 Parisakamali- Monash Medical centre- (Girl)
17 Neneales- Joondalup Health Campus,WA,( 3 wks find out)
18 Amandaw - Wesley Private Hospital, Brisbane - ( surprise flavour )
18 Littlejoy - Hills Private Hospital, NSW - BOY!!
18 Beany - gills in Randwick Women's Hospital, Sydney.
19 Raffee-Canterbury Hospital, Sydney- BOY!!
20 **Nic** ~ Nepean Hospital, NSW ~ I think a boy
20 Ourbump - St John of God Subiaco (surprise flavour)
21 Dace101 - Homebirth, (surprise flavour)
21 Missie_Mack - Wollongong Hosptial Thinks girl
22 Jewelbar - Wesley Hospital, Brisbane QLD. GIRL
24 Wattle - Birthing Centre, Monash Medical Centre VIC. GIRL
25 Adele- Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital birthing Centre- GIRL
27 Mummy2B- .............. Girl
30 Expectingtwins - Mater Mothers Private Brisbane
EDD Bub #1: 16 Aug 06
lou81
31-05-2006, 01:49 PM
Hi ladies and babies to be,
Again have left it a week between posts and have just had to catch up on a million posts, just skimmed through so hoping I havent missed anything to important.
weight Gain - have read that healthy weight gain goes on your BMI (body mass index) before pregnancy. Something to do with your height and weight before. The book I read said that my healthy weight gain would be between 11 - 16kg, and I am about 171cm tall and weighed about 62kg before. I have gained about 11kg so far so think I am on track at this stage. Put on 28kg with DD, not wanting to do that again.
Hair dye - I have been going to the same hairdresser for years, when I was pregnant with DD I asked about dying my hair. She laughed at me and said that if dying our hair was bad for bubs then it would be bad for us to.
Maternity Clothes - I didnt buy any with DD, but as this one is an august baby I needed some warmer clothes. I bought the most comfy jeans and cargo pants from Pumpkin Patch, they will also come in handy after while losing baby weight. Although they are expensive I think its worth it just for comfort and will need clothes once bubs is actually born.
Me - Bubs has turned finally!!!! Yippeee!!! Such a huge weight of my shoulders. Have had no kitchen for the past week, DP and I pulled our old one out and fitted the new one over the last few days. I have been doing the dishes in the laundry tub and having to cook using my clothes dryer as my bench. Had Father in-law here helping, so it wasnt just me (I didnt do anything to strenuious). It is so lovely, before I had like 3 cupboards and maybe a metre of bench space, and no pantry. Now I have a beautiful brand new kitchen with lots of cupbards and an island bench, i have so much space I really need to go grocery shopping, it really looks like I have no food in the house. I hate reovations, but once they are done its well worth the inconvenience.
Cant wait til I have my new bathroom to, but that will have to wait till after bubs is here, no time left.
Anyway hope everyone is healthy and happy and having a lovely day.
LOL
Louise.
*Country Bumpkin*
31-05-2006, 04:29 PM
Yes, I am planning to do that massage and DP has kindly offered to help. Gawd.
I hear its very very good. Doesn't feel good, but works very well.
:eek: Geezi I had to ASK my DP to help me.. mind you I think I would have been slightly put of if he had just offered:rolleyes:
Ohh and by the way- loving the belly shot!!
*Country Bumpkin*
31-05-2006, 04:36 PM
Hi all:wave:
Well DP will be VERY happy when he gets home as I have lost my voice!! Thank GOD my fingers still work :D Not so good for all you gals though hehe!
Only1Mica- Love the piccy!! Soooooo cute!!
Mrsbutterflygirl- Wow I sure hope it dosnt take me that long to shake this...:(
Lou81- Congrats on bub turning!!
Beany
31-05-2006, 04:38 PM
I'm too sleepy for a coherent post of any great length so I'll keep this short.
Shed: Great tummy shot! The pup was cute but the bump is impressive! I must admit, I didn't realise it was you until I read the "I hate work" bit of the post :D
I had my GTT this morning. I'm surprised people were complaining about the drink - tasted more or less like a Sprite Recharge to me. Pleasant enough stuff.
After an hour of waiting for the second bleeding, I was looking around for a couple of matchsticks to hold my eyes open. I felt like a granny coming home at nearly midday and going to bed for a couple of hours. Gawd that sleep felt good, though :D
I've only been up 3 hours and already I'm looking longingly towards the bedroom and sighing for the bed and duvet it contains.
Coffee. Need. Now.
*clonk*
:sleeping:
Adele, I declined my DP's offer. I got the distinct feeling he thought it was going to be more play than work, like his useless massages. Its all foreplay to some people!!
Yeah, so that's my belly. I am getting loads of comments on how big it is, but I don't think its excessive. It looks like I am pushing it out, but its just my sway back. I can't help but stand like that now.
Beany, I know, I hardly recognise myself. It takes some getting used to. If it wasn't for the whingeing I wouldn't know meself!!
Bella8
31-05-2006, 05:07 PM
Sorry I've been MIA for the past few days - not that you guys would have noticed as you chat SO much!!!!!!!!! :ecomcity: I must admit, I have only skimmed the last 6 pages or so that I missed so apologies for no personal messages!!
bubs movement - I find that bubs is moving pretty well ALL the time. He's so active that if he stops for over half an hour I get worried!!!! I have no idea when he rests because he has been kicking me and moving around at night which has meant that my sleeping has been all over the place. As some of you have said, I too am able to see him just by looking down at my belly. It looks like there is an alien in there!!!! I'm in meetings some days and he moves so much that my ID badge starts jumping around. It's really hard to keep a straight face!
weight gain - well, I'm now 29 weeks and I've put on 10kg which I think is around the norm but like I've said before, everyone is different and I will only be concerned if doc thinks it's a problem. Everyone thinks I look like I'm about to drop but that's because I'm short!!!!
belly pics - all your belly shots look great. I can't believe I don't have a single pic of mine. I broke our digital camera and really miss it at the moment!! Will borrow one and put up a pic as soon as I can!!!
Thats it for me for now. Can't believe I've only got jsut over 10 weeks to go!!!! I have so much to organise.....
Bye for now, big belly rubs to all !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rx
cheekypossum
31-05-2006, 05:35 PM
Hello all
when I first decided to log on here I did have the intention of writing you all personal messages but just checked my Roast Pork in the Webber and the Crackly does not look like it is working so that has upset me:crying: feel very emotional..oh well
Movements - Like some of you I am feeling my movements mainly on my right side still sometimes quite low - I don' t have my check up until 13th June so will find out then what is happening but thanks to Ourbump for telling us that her bub is in the right spot as I feel a little more confident
Thrush - I have not experienced Thrush during my pregnancy but have had it before and found the Canestan works really well
P Massage - Thanks for the info - my OB gave me a pamphlet on it - had actually forgotten about it so thanks for the reminder
Not much else happening....sometimes these my emotions so a bit wild - think I might go and have some chocolate heehee
my3sons
31-05-2006, 05:41 PM
Hi Girls :wave:
Had my Ob appointment today and I've gotta say I'm a little depressed. Dr. said my fundal height is 32cm which is two weeks bigger than I should be (I'm 29w 5d) .... I told him that my last bub was 9lb 12oz and his shoulders got stuck so Doc is sending to hospital where I had him to get the birth report and also I'm having a growth scan in 2 weeks - so not sure what all that's going to mean in the long run. Hopefully the growth slows down to normal :fingerscrossed:
Anyway don't want my mood to rub off so I'll lighten up now with the good news :) Bub is head down, bum up and back laying on my right hand side which is weird because I feel the kicks on both sides :confused: Heartbeat good and asked what my glucose test was and he said 6.3.
Well that's me "updated", now I'll go back and have a read of all the news posts!
amandaw
31-05-2006, 05:42 PM
Wow!! Lots happening here!! I know these pm's go back a week, but it's that long since I've been on
Wattle - I'm a little stressed about the GD test results... I only had mine this arvo (figured I couldn't procrastinate anymore) and as I was leaving, the woman said not to worry if I get a call back (apparently a lot of people do) most often it's related to fruit that has been easten that day.....well needless to say, I've had an orange, two kiwi friuts, some chocolate muffins and a row of white chocolate (about an hour before the drink)!!!!!!!!!!! Needless to say, I think I'll be one of those going back for a second test!!!
Jewelbar - I won't be seeing you on the Wednesday, but I started my classes at the Wesley Monday just passed. All seemed very relaxed, and good to know that they don't freak you out with any video's week 1 (though we've been warned they start next week). A really good thing is that they provided nearly everything for the 5 days (ie nappies, clothes, baby toiletries, linen etc), so we don't have to feel like packhorses. One thing that was really interesting to note, the midwife said that any crawling you can do the week before you are due has got to be a good thing....if the bubs is sitting back the front, there is more likely to be pain, but crawling (ie back in the heighday of scrubbing floors) means that it's heaviest part (ie back ) will drop to the front of you.
Adele - I saw the coolest body cast in town a few weeks ago...it had been covered in photos from throughout pregnancy and early months and then coated...a much better momento than just the white plaster! Hopefully your friend can reschedule.
Bella8 - I was strating to think I was going to be the only one with out a picture avator...have pictures, just can't be bothered working out how to do it!!! There are some beautiful ones out there, particularly some of the professional shots that people have had done.
Re the peanuts... my doctor said to the avoid them (when we went to confirm the preg) and the obstetrician nearly laughed out loud when I asked him, so have been enjoying them occassionally.....When you think about all of the things that we are avoiding now, it really makes you wonder we should really be shoving them in our bodies at any stage!!!
Had a few more random notes written down beside me, but have no idea what I meant by them or who they referred to now!!! So I guess that means a me update. Managed to get myy uni assignment in the post Monday (about quater to five mind you, but it's there nontheless). STill haven't felt like I've stopped though - had a funeral yesterday (for one of DH's family members..a little more relief than anything else, the relative had been sufferring from Parkinsons disease for 40 years (since he was 30), and quality of life had been pretty bad lately...still not easy, but definitely a sense of relief for him) and then today has been full on as well. Got a little concerned last night because I was feeling the worst that I have felt - just felt constantly tight across my whole belly. Am wondering if that was the squid trying to turn around, because I felt really different this morning . DH had the day off yesterdya and spent some time researching turning bubs around and there are some bloody funny ideas there ie doing multiple handstands in a pool and shining a torch down the belly to 'guide' them....hope that it doesn't come to me actually feeling like these are the only options!!!! Still a few weeks to turn though, so not really too worried about it