View Full Version : Thought I'd make the place more homely
Pages :
[
4]
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 09:51 AM
Shed- Wow how wounderful that you are feeling better!!!! You sound complety different -so much happier and positive, its wounderful to hear:thumbsup:
I cant wait to be able to call my little belly monster my son or my daughter......:rolleyes:
LP- Hehe i laughed so hard after reading all the stuff you slather all over your body every day..... I nearly wet my pants (litteraly):laughing:
I think Elysse.... but then i suppose you really have to right it down with the middle and last name next to it to see how it looks..... thats how I would handle it!!
Ive only got this week and half of next week till my scan and I can go SHOPPING!!!!! I cant wait to find out what buby is...... its all just sooooo exciting!!
LP- IM glad you had a greta time with your Mum........
Have a great day all!!!!
Oh and another thing. My MIL started in on me about preparing my nipples as soon as I walked in the door.
A few weeks ago my SIL did EXACTLY the same thing. As soon as I walked in the door, the nipple talk.
I was so mortified both times I can't really remember what they said.
I can't talk matter of factly about such things. I am a big old prudey bum and I get embarrassed. I don't want to be standing there with people thinking and talking about my nipples!!
That's what bubhub is for!!
On a completely different note, I can see that my MIL is going to drive me crazy in the years to come. She doesn't yet, but its coming, I can tell. She made a few little weird comments.
One was something about not feeding me too much because they don't want me getting too fat. I said I had only put on 200g and actually needed to start eating more when I had an appetite (translation, SHUT UP and mind your own business!!...thats what I really meant).
And then she made a comment when I said if I bred my dog I would sell the pups without papers but I would ask for the same price as breeders who sell with papers. She said "oh you're greedy".
I took a minute to think of a comeback and by the time I did the conversation had changed subjects, so I changed it back!! I said that "Actually" it wasnt that I was greedy it was that puppies were hard to get so if you charged any less then the other breeders would ring up and abuse you.
littlepickle
13-03-2006, 10:28 AM
Sshed, I havnt had anyone mention nipple preparation to me YET!! Whats invlved in that? I dont think I like the sound of it though and it is bringing up all sorts of mental images:laughing:
I would also ask the same price for an non - papered purebreed, it sorts out the people who are going to look after it properly IMO. I have a purebred staffy, he has a wonderfull pedigree with both his grandparents being crufts champs (I bought him when I was working in the UK) I havent bred with him even though a lot of people asked me if they could use him. For me, he is a pet and I didnt want to go down tht road, but I think if you have a girl dog, its only fair to let them have a litter or two - imagine how unfulfilled they might feel otherwise! I gave my purebred ragdoll cat away when I came back over here and the peope I gave her to wanted her papers and I wouldnt give them. I said that if they wanted her as a pet and didnt want to use her as a cash cow, they wouldnt need the papers.!! If they wanted to use her to make money out of her when I was giving her away free - then I would find another home for her or sell her! Anyway, I digress - What I am saying is that I agree with you on charging the same price!
Hey Adele, not long to go til you find out the flavour! Yaaay! You will have to go check ut DFO when you know, they ave the most gorgeous baby stuff there - I had a ball when I went!!
wattle
13-03-2006, 10:56 AM
Hi Girls. Oooh this thread is getting so exciting. I guess as we're in the middle trimester now it's the time to enjoy things as much as possible.
Just to let you know that I'm feeling lots better - the homeopath treatment has been fantastic. I happened to flick through a book yesterday that mentioned that homeopathic remedies can be used to assist with an easy birth. After the success I've had recently I'll definitely be following that one up down the track.
Has anyone started feeling uncomfortable lying on their tummies? I still do at night time, but I can really feel those kicks now.....
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 11:01 AM
Haha Ive never slept on my tummy but id hate to think what id be like if i tried now...... it would be like a jolly see saw..... my belly being so big and all
ohh what a thought :laughing:
I havnt been feeling kicking that much so I dont know whats wrong with me....everyone feels them alot but not me.... when bub does kick he she does it for agaes but i cant really feel it very much:confused:
littlepickle
13-03-2006, 11:32 AM
i have always slept on my tummy, but lately it has been a bit uncomfortable, so I sort of lay on my tummy with my body pillow o one side so that I am on an angle, takes the pressure of my tummy.
BTW thanks Adele for the body pillow recommendation! I love my body pillow now and woonder how I lived without it!!
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 11:41 AM
Hehe thats ok:thumbsup: I told ya youd love it.....Its interesting though-I cantuse mine right now:confused: Its just not coumfertable lol
redbaby
13-03-2006, 12:26 PM
just tried to bring my morph scan earlier to this week,...... could get an appointment for this afternoon - but DH can't make it,... so now I am cranky, and cranky at him,.and will have to wait till next week,.. .pout. I hate being so impatient,...
Well I haven't felt so much as a flutter yet.
I sleep in the recovery position, sort of on my stomach to one side a bit.
My abdominal muscles are tightening and loosening a few times a day. My lower stomach goes really hard and then loosens up again.
I am meeting my possible doula tomorrow. I am having lunch with her. We really "clicked" on the phone so I hope she's nice.
neneales
13-03-2006, 01:33 PM
Hey Gals
How are we all?!! Well Im feeling GREAT!! I am feeling the best I ever have since I fell pregnant!! Im not tired anymore, I have heaps of energy!! My girls are loving it cause mums not laying down all the time now Im out the back playing with them and we have gone out all this week!! My 3yr old Taela normally says to me when Im feeling really tired "Mum is it ur baby in ur tummy making u tired?" and I say " Yes baby when the bubby is growing mummy feels tired!" And cause Ive been full of energy Taela says to " OH no mum has bubby stopped growing?"
She's so cute I just laughed and said no honey bubby is still growing but mummy is just feeling really good today!! She is so affectionate everytime I lay down on the couch she comes over and sits on the floor and pat my hair and holds my hand and tells " its ok mum its just ur baby in ur tummy!"
Im so lucky to have my girls even though they are little they have been a great support while DF is away and they get excited when new things happen!! I always tell when something happens!! Well I thought I would just share how good i have been feeling and I hope everyone is feeling well to!!:thumbsup:
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 01:57 PM
Jane- I feel your pain!!! I too am VERY impatient....if I could have gotten an appointment this arvi I would have been s**tty wil my DP too cause he couldnt come!!!! I probably would have pouted too:rolleyes:
Shed- Ahhh I know how your feeling..... I just wanna feel the bub moving all he time too. Every but of ummm hummm wind i get I go ohhh I think the bub just moved then i relise oooops nope that wasnt the bub:D
Neneales- Ohhhhh how cute are your girls!!!! Thats sooo sweet! Im glad your feeling good today.... I have been feeling quite sick!! I dont know why:confused: I even called DP and asked if he was sick cause i thought maybe it was my cooking lol...but nope hes feeling fine!! But then again his stomach is made of cast iorn lol
I did however manage to put on a load of towels AND clean the bathroom!! Still have to clean the shower and bath and mop and vacume but other than that its all done and it feels good.... then i have to do the dishes arghhhhh:mad:
I have felt a bit sick today too. Like morning sickness, AND it was in the morning which is strange for me.
Dunno what's up with that.
:barf:
But least I get to use this chundering smiley :laughing:
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 04:02 PM
ohhh shed- your a dag but ya make me laugh:laughing:
kacey
13-03-2006, 05:30 PM
Adele, are you able to get your family friend throw you a family belly party, then have your own friends one? Just a thought becoz family should be used to her already, hopefully. Don't know how to get out of it without a brawl. :rolleyes:
I'm SO sick of people saying "You don't look pregnant", or "I thought you just put on weight". Grrrrrr! I'm so glad you girls (except you, Adele) aren't wearing a basketball on your belly yet. I don't know what people expect. :(
Hey, tomorrow I get to hear our bub's heartbeat! :D I know lots of you have done that way back when, but I didn't want a doppler, so they're gonna listen with this amplifier thingy tomorrow morning! They tried at 14 weeks, but no luck, baby must've been hiding. I'm all excited. I'm going to tape it so DH can hear too (he can't come with me - working). I might have to use it as proof that there's something in my belly too, for all the scoffers!
Glad you're all doing well.
*Country Bumpkin*
13-03-2006, 06:18 PM
Kacey- Hmm nope I dont believe I can do that.... If I did it would only be my mum,nan, family friend her daughter and me!!! Im an only child see and all my cousins on my dads side live far far away (THANK GOD!!)
i have been trying to come up with excuses not to have one..... I always use bub to get out of things these days- im dont feel well, im too tired etc.... but somehow I dont think I can say "ohhhh I dont want/cant have a baby shower casuse Im pregnant" I think everyone would cotton on to that one:rolleyes:
And as for the comment about my basket ball belly- your just jelaous:laughing: Hehe I didnt mean that in a nasty way........... :hugs:
No seriously though- It aint all exciting....... people say "ohhhh how many weeks do you have left?" they always pat your belly and say "ohh its so firm and hard(my mum) You are always tired, you feel heavy and its hard to move, you dont walk you waddle(my DP decided I walk like an emporer penguin today lol), you knock things over, do you want me to keep going??????
Dont worry girls you too will soon have all the fun things to look foward too that just listed!!!
Hehe the h/b thing is sooooo cool- I heard if at 11weeks!!!! I was lucky...my dr is also an obstatricion (sp?) so he has a doppler in his surgery, so every time I go to him I get to listen!!!
Its sad tht your dp cant go too but taping it for him is a realy nice idea!!!:thumbsup:
neneales
13-03-2006, 08:08 PM
Hey Gals
How are we all this evening?!! Me still feeling good I cant believe I havent had a bad mood come along yet!!? ( Normally I am so moody )
Adele- About ur cousin I reckon u just need to have a talk with her and say u appreciate her intentions but the baby shower is very meaningful to u and would love to organise it urself!! Reassure her to, that its not her, its just u really want to experience organising it that way she doesnt get all upset on u!! Good luck!!:thumbsup:
Kacey- Hey babe how are ya? OOh thats so cool how u get to hear ur baby's heartbeat... I havent heard mine yet Ive seen it but not heard it!! Good luck with it!!
Well im counting down its 10 days till i have my scan!! YAY!! So cant wait to find out what my bubby is!! Really want to start calling it he or she!!
Well take care everyone hope all is going well!!!:thumbsup:
amandaw
13-03-2006, 08:57 PM
I got the nipple talk from my ob the first time I saw him!!! and he said it in a way that made me just blush from head to toe! Basically (for those not yet initiated :) ) the longer your nipples are, the easier it is to breast feed, since the baby needs the nipple down its throat to suckle... my ob was basically implying that my DP could have a lot of fun there!
everytime DH reminds me of the obs words, I reply 'I like them just the way they are thank you very much!' Not looking foward to next time ob brings it up!
Uniquey
13-03-2006, 10:16 PM
Adele Sorry to hear about the dreaded stretchies, i'm sure down the track some of us may be joining you, LOL! I lather on heaps of body butter (almond and shea) and also vitamin E crem'e, on my tummy, hips, chest and breasts. Like LP said, a lot of the time it's just hereditary, so no matter what we lather on, you just don't know if you're going to get them:rolleyes:
Rach After reading the 2 spellings for your little girl's name, I would go with your original spelling (Elise), as sometimes Elysse is pronounced E-LEE-SAY. Usually if there are 2 s' in the name, it's pronounced SAY. I like both spellings myself, but thought I'd let you know the possible pronounciations.:o P.s/ I wish I was the recipient of your Rag Doll, I love those Cats, they are just GORGEOUS!
Neneales Your little girls sound so adorable, isn't lovely when they are at the stage where they feel compassion etc. No doubt they will be besides themeselves once the baby is born, you will have two little 'Mother Hens' by the sounds of it!
I have FINALLY felt the baby, whilst I'm sitting watching tv, I get these little pushes, and it's just lovely. I am also showing side-on, front on you can't really tell, but you can if I'm side-on, but I have to admit, I'm sick of hearing 'you don't look pregnant'. I get it all the time:rolleyes: The house contract is in place, still waiting on the news of fiance approval:fingerscrossed:
Uniquey
13-03-2006, 10:24 PM
Amandaw You poor thing, I was blushing just 'reading' what your Ob said to you! I have inverted nipples (sorry if TMI), but I am like Shed, too prudishy/embarassed to talk about those things! I don't even like talking about breast feeding, let alone that I may need help with the nipple situation, LOL!
Uniquey
13-03-2006, 10:33 PM
Me again.... Did anyone read last week's Woman's Day on the article of the lady who breastfed her daughters until they were 9 years old? There was also a lady in there who breastfeeds her 4 year old as well, each to their own I guess:o
last night DP was comparing me to a woman at his work who is due before me and who doesn't even have a bump. In the end I was like "so what are you saying?"
I definitely look pregnant but its not really a bump, its sort of a curve from the ribs down. I like it.
Still haven't felt any flutters, kicks, anything but last night I was laying on my stomach and I could feel a hard lump. Get some stretching pains sometimes, not often.
Well, my non-vomiting record has gone. This morning while brushing my teeth I hurled into the sink. Dunno what that's about.
I bought a Jolly Jumper and I was imagining him in it bouncing away and dribbling and smiling at us and it suddenly occurred to me that my son might look like me!! I never even thought of that, all along I have presumed that this baby would look like DP's side of the family.
How bizarre to see my genes in a boy's face. Cool!!
I will meet my doula at lunchtime. Hope she's nice.
only1mica
14-03-2006, 08:28 AM
My 3yr old Taela normally says to me when Im feeling really tired "Mum is it ur baby in ur tummy making u tired?" and I say " Yes baby when the bubby is growing mummy feels tired!" And cause Ive been full of energy Taela says to " OH no mum has bubby stopped growing?"
Just had to say...How Cute!!!!
This is one of the things that I am sooo looking forward to....hearing what my child will come up with that will crack me up :D
I remember once telling my dad when I was very upset with him that he was only my father by marriage...hahaha obviously I didnt know how it all worked then :laughing:
*Country Bumpkin*
14-03-2006, 10:46 AM
Helloooo All-
Well I have just goten off the phone with the lady who lost her baby at the birtch centre where im going 2 years ago.....I met her through bub hub (of course):rolleyes: and she decided that she would share her story with me..... It was awful!!
Their bub died 11 days after she was born becasue the midwife didnt diagonose her with pre eclampsia!!! It was just an awful horndous and heart breaking story- it has just made me all the more determined to get the care that I and all of you deserve- The best!!! Heheh Im a pushy b**ch can ya tell???:laughing:
Well Uniquey- Im glad all is going well so far with the house:fingerscrossed:
Neneales- Its not my cousin unfortunatly- if it ws I would have no problem in telling her to back off lol, but unfortunatly this particular friend you have to tread very very warily cause she gets hurt sooo easily and she causes problems when she does.......ohhh what to do???? Grin and bear it i suppose!!!!'
Shed- The toothbrush thing...... the reason this happens is cause when your pregnant certain parts of your tounge become more sensitive and he "gag" reflex is far more severe than normal causing you to vomit....the best thing NOT to do is brush your tounge or push the brush right to the back of your mouth....also the tootpaste can play a big factor in this!!
I learned this at work (dental assistant)- we had alot of preggi women coming in and they use to spew cause of the suction being placed in certain parts of their mouthes!!!!
Well gals have any of you been suffering with the dreade insomnia?? I woke this morning at 3.30am and didnt go back to sleep!!!!! I lay there worrying about things I didnt even relise were bothering me and re evaluating my life....crazy I know
my3sons
14-03-2006, 01:42 PM
Hi Girls, I'm new here and only just found this forum this morning, I've had a wonderful time reading all the posts (well most of them - I skipped quite a few pages). So glad I found you all!!!!!
My EDD is Aug 11th, probably having a boy (it's what I do best :) but will know for sure on the 24th when I have my 20 week scan - can't wait!!!!!
Uniquey - Just wanted to say that I have "one" inverted nipple and had NO problems whatsoever feeding my boys - actually the inverted side was my better side. I get so embarrassed everytime a midwife tries to show me how to feed with it in hospital, they try all sorts of things, I've learnt to tell them that it's fine and works well :rolleyes:
__________________________________________________ _
Son - 14 (10/08/1991)
Son - 11 (22/11/1994)
Son - 5 (18/04/2000)
Bub - EDD - 11/08/2006
*Country Bumpkin*
14-03-2006, 02:32 PM
WELCOME TO THE MADHOUSE!!!!
Hehe nice ta meet :thumbsup: ya
Youll have agreat time around here....there is always someone around ready for a chat especially me!!!
Ok well hope to talk to you soon!!!:hugs:
Congratulations on your pregnancy my3sons, and welcome to our little patch in cyberspace. Sit yourself down and make yourself comfy.
Well folks, I met my doula today. She's lovely, so its all looking good. Gosh, things are starting to move pretty fast now aren't they? Remember when we were all five minutes along and the time was just dragging.
I am going to choose my diamond for my ring on Saturday. How exciting. But get this, DP doesn't want to come with me!! Far out, how romantic, not. I don't really care though coz it means he won't get shown cheaper ones :laughing:
*Country Bumpkin*
14-03-2006, 02:59 PM
Shed- Yep I can remember..... heck Ive only got 22 weeks left till bub will be here(hopefully) thats 156 days!!!!! Arggggghhhhhhb I think ill look at it in months 4 and a half to go!!!!!:eek:
Well Im glad your meeting went well has it made you feel more confident???? So I take it your going to the hospital yes???? Or are you having a home birth? Sorry Ive probably missed something lol dammm preggi brain:rolleyes:
Well all I think I might pop off to the drs this evening- Im still not feeling great and I have no idea why.....also bub still hasnt moved for a couple a days so ill go to the dr heart the h/b and ill be happy again!:thumbsup:
Kacey- How did your appointment go????
neneales
14-03-2006, 05:52 PM
Adele- Sorry babe must have misread ur post!! Oh what a shame oh well these things seem to happen dont they!! Look at it positively at least u will get a party for ur baby and u dont have to do anything!!OOh that poor lady, I hate hearing stories like that it really hits me hard cause I just think of my two girls and know their pain!! I couldnt live with out my little women!! Hey our scans are coming up YAY!!!!
only1mica- Oh its so funny the things my girls come out with!! Its amazing they can drive u nuts all day then it takes one funny phrase and its all forgotten!! U will love being a mum its so exciting!!
my3sons- Hey and welcome to bubhub and our fantastic thread!!:laughing: Congradulations!! I can see that u are good at producing boys!!Wow 3 boys!! Ur house must be a loud and busy one!!! Well if ya have a girl at least ya know she will be well looked after by her big brothers!! Good luck with it!!
Well I finally got my admission forms for the hospital been waiting forever!!! So my clinic appointment is in 2nd week of April!! Cant wait for that to start happening then its feels like this pregnancy is rolling!!!Still counting the days till my scan its now 9 days!!!:smiliedance: Dont worry gals I will be on here on the day to let ya all know what the flavour is!!! Well take care all hope everyone is feeling good!!!!!
kacey
14-03-2006, 05:52 PM
Hey girls!
Adele, Neneales - I got to hear bub's heartbeat today! It was really cool, kind of a reality check, in a good way. I taped it for DH and he loved it. You can hear the heartbeat, and the swoosh of the placenta in the background, then at one point the baby kicked and that made the microphone make a funny noise. I want to convert it to digital form so I can send it to my brother in Canada. Not sure how, though... :rolleyes:
Adele - I AM jealous of your basketball belly, but I'm also glad because I don't think I'd have the energy for that for another 4-5 months! :laughing: (Laughing at you, of course!)
Amandaw - I am NOT telling DH about your "nipple talk", I'd never hear the end of it. He likes to be helpful, you see! (Yeah, right)
Uniquey - There was a whole thread on bubhub about those ladies with their pre-teen breastfeeders. Check it out! It's a good thread.
My3sons - WELCOME! :D
Shed - grab an expensive rock! Glad you like your doula. I love the midwives at my birth centre.
Need some sleep now. Where is this 2nd trimester enery boost I keep hearing about?
Uniquey
14-03-2006, 06:44 PM
Kacey, I just read the pre-teen breastfeeding forum, you're right VERY interesting!
*Country Bumpkin*
14-03-2006, 10:28 PM
Hey all.....
Well I have just been through what I would class right now as one of the WORST hours of my life.....
AsI said I hadnt been feeling bub move and I felt sick so I went to the dr at 6pm- I couldnt get my normal dr as he had finished so I ended up with some doc Ive never seen before...
anyway I explained to him what was going on and he checked my pulse,b/p, had a feel and listen to my belly. Then he was like Ill just go and see if they have a fetascope-now of course I knew they had one so I told him where to find it:laughing:
Away he went trying to turn the fetascope on- well that was a fiasco initself(this is after he tripped on the stool) he didnt know how to turn it on:confused: EVENTUALLY he worked it out and then off he went trying to find the h/b- no luck..... now my normal dr uses that one on me EVERY time so I know it works....but nope nothing for ages....eventualy he found something and he said thats it thats your babys h/b....It was 80bpm!!!!!! I freaked I was like thats not normal and he just replyed well no not really......then he said well Im not sure if the h/b is there or not:confused:
He asked me if I could go for an ulrasound tomoro (umm you want me to wait till tomoro I DONT THINK SO!!!!) I told him I had no way to get there so he sent us to the hospital.......
Ended up in tears in the car- DP keept telling me everything will be ok i promise- hmmmm didnt help!!!!
Got there and sat in a room with a mother and her friend waiting for her daughter to give birth and having to listen to them prattle on about babys when here I am beside myself after being told somethigs wrong with our baby!!!
Not too long after in came a midwife and she took us into a delivery suite (they are SCARY) she put the monitor on and straight away found my babys h/b!!!!! I was so relieved!! It was the most amazing sound I have ever heard........ i nearly cried! She said at 18 weeks it is very RARE to feel any movement......not on bub hub it aint!!!
So anyway the dr let me go so I was in and out in 10mins max!!
I am so angry with the incompitent dr I am ringing up the head office tomoro and lodging a formal complaint against that dr......I mean what if somethig HAD been wrong and he HADNT picked it up??????? its just not good enough and it made it worse cause he was foreign and I could hardly understand him!!!!! The dr's at that surgery are incompetent and somethig needs to be done to fix it!
I felt like such a time wasting idiot- but i would never have been able to cope not knowing!!!!!!
Well sorry for prattling on- I just relised how long this is lol
Sorry again!!!
neneales
14-03-2006, 10:51 PM
Adele- OOhh rattle on all ya like ya need to get it out!! Sounds like u had a terrible day!! I wouldnt have been just how u were good on u for making sure u were seen to straight away otherwise u would have been stressing all night and stress is not good for u or bubba!! What a relief hey thank god all is well!! Oh im relieved when i was reading ur post i was going oh no she has lost her bubba and was waiting for that to be the result u had me stressin!! Phew its all ok!!!:laughing: Well take care sweety and take some relaxing time for urself u sound like u need it!!
Kacey- OOOhh cool its great when u can hear whats going on in there isnt it!! Thats wickid how u can tape it!! Ur DH must have loved it!! Cause its hard when they miss out on some of the experiences isnt it!! Well hope all is going good take care speak to ya soon!!
my3sons
15-03-2006, 07:48 AM
Adele - I am soooo happy to hear that everything is okay with your bub!!! I was holding my breath reading your post and let out a massive sigh of relief :) I hope that you're feeling better in yourself too.
Adele, I am glad everything is okay. :hugs:
I haven't even felt the first flutters yet which I suppose is good since I don't panic when they stop. My doula confirmed what the ultrasound lady said at my very first appointment, that since my placenta is at the front I shouldn't expect to feel anything till 20 weeks.
She also said she is really good at massage...yay!! I read somewhere that when the placenta is at the front you can experience back labour (painful) so the massage will be very helpful. As soon as I go into labour she is coming over to my house and will stay the night. I will labour at home until the second stage and then go to hospital when I want to start pushing. Might have bubby in the car!!
The good thing is that I won't go to hospital and be told I am only 1cm dilated and to go home again. I can just stay at home till the main show comes on :)
Apparently the second stage of labour is the one when you get very agitated. That's when you tell everyone how much you hate them :laughing:
Its weird how we are all cruising along for a while and talk about cots, car seats, clothes etc then we all sort of have these little anxiety attacks about bubby's health and then we all cruise along again for a while till another anxiety episode hits. We all seem to do it. I am on the verge of one now, they seem to coincide with my scans.
I have another scan on the 23rd since they couldn't tell everything from the last one because I went too early, (second time I have done that, did it for the nuchal scan as well). So I get to see bubby again, but the downside is that I still don't really know that he's 100% healthy. I'm sure he is though. I don't feel like anything is wrong. But I can feel my anxiety rising.
Its a rollercoaster all right.
Neneales, I find your posts really hard to read in that pink. My eyes my eyes!!
I have a lovely new pumpkin patch shirt on today and have already had a compliment. I love my new clothes. :ecomcity:
kacey
15-03-2006, 08:08 AM
Adele, Oh my goodness, I was panicking at the start of your post, can't believe what you must've felt like! :eek: So very glad that all is well, the heartbeat is a wonderful sound. Good on you for trusting your instincts and getting it checked out.
Neneales, yeah I am glad I had a mini tape recorder for the appointment. DH really loved it, and before we fell asleep I asked if he wanted to listen again. He sheepishly replied "Yes". It was beautiful to be able to share it with him. And I enjoyed explaining what all the different sounds are.
Booked in for my antenatal classes, in JULY!?! Hope bub doesn't turn up early!
Hey, does anyone know when our third trimester starts? I don't know what the official time is.
Uniquey
15-03-2006, 10:37 AM
Hi My3sons, welcome to the biggest bunch of chatterboxes,:laughing:
Thank you so much for the reasurrance regarding breastfeeding etc. It certainly made me feel much better when I read your post. I hope your pregnancy is going well for you and you enjoy all the chatter here:thumbsup:
Take care, Uniquey
Uniquey
15-03-2006, 10:46 AM
Adele GOOD ON YOU for getting your worries checked-out, I felt so sorry for you at the start of your post, then much relieved when I read the end:thumbsup: It's lucky that Tim was home to take you to the Hospital, as I'm not sure if you drive do you? Anyway, put your feet up today knowing that your little Bub is happy and RELAX the day away! I'm off to work now, ho hum, you take care of yourself OK.
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 10:55 AM
Well gals thanks for all the support:hugs:
I was so relieved last night!! I dont think ive slept like I did last night in YEARS!!!
DP dosnt think I should do anything about the dr.......but I dont think its right that drs should be practicing when they are soooo incompetent!! Hmm Ill have to think about it!
Shed- Yes it is a rollercoaster and its making me sick:barf: lol!!!!! Its quite amazing how well go along fine and then suddenly panic sets in.....its interesting that it only seems to happen to you and I though..... perhaps everyone is just alot calmer or something? Im glad that your doula is good at massage.....now im jealous!!
mrsbutterflygirl
15-03-2006, 10:56 AM
IT"S A GIRL!!!!..... i found out this morning that cookie is a little girl... i really wanted a boy but i am surprisingly really excited to be having a girl... :smiliedance:
sorry had to share... it was totally amazing the scan... and the little one wouldn't keep still... she kept moving heaps!!!! the doctor was like can you please stay still for a moment so i can measure you... lol .... now i know why i feel her move so much..... so i'm still in alittle shock!
Sorry to hear about your episode Adele... but really glad bub's is ok!
Go and get yourself a trainee doula. Its $40.
Yay mrsbutterfly...CONGRATULATIONS!!
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 11:03 AM
Uniquey- Thanks...... I will take it easy today! Im so happy that everything is ok I think im on a bit of a high......
I do drive but Im not supposed too without a open licensed driver:rolleyes: I still only have my l's...... I should have my p's now but when I lost my job I stopped lessons then I quit my next job and thn i fell pregnant so there goes that idea!!! Thats the reason I couldnt get into my normal dr....cause i couldnt get there(tim takes the car during the day)
Annnnnnyway ill go now....take care all and thanks again!!!:hugs:
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 11:09 AM
YAHHH Mrs Butterfly
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!
Wow how awesome!!!
Congratulations!!!!!!
my3sons
15-03-2006, 12:10 PM
Adele - Don't worry, you and Shed are not alone! I have really good days and don't have a care in the world and then have a mini meltdown once every now and then and worry, worry, worry. I had a virus a few weeks ago and my Ob has to monitor the baby quite closely so that freaks me out and I have only just started feeling the baby move this week (19 weeks friday) and most people keep telling me I should have felt it WEEKS ago because it's my fourth!!!!! ARRRGGGGGHHHH!!!!!!! Okay, deep breath......lol :)
Can't wait for my ultrasound on the 24th!!!!!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 12:29 PM
my3sons- Hehe you can join our club!!! Its always nice to have another member to the melt down club.....:laughing: I believe I am the worst offender.....:rolleyes:
littlejoy
15-03-2006, 12:41 PM
Hi I haven't written in a little while. But with everyone talking about being worried about their babies I finally felt as if I can. Shed I am like you the closer I get to an ultrasound the more I worry, I am sure it is because I think that I will be told the bad news at the ultrasound. Its weird I don't worry that I am going to start bleeding or get pains or anything, I worry that I am going to get to the ultrasound and they are going to say the worst possible thing anyone could ever say!!!
I feel like I am consumed with worry over this baby!! Sometimes it feels like to much to deal with and I am going to break down.
Anyway sorry to go on.
Adele I am so glad to hear that your bub is ok!!!
I think its because the whole point of the ultrasound is to look for defects.
Its so creepy.
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 12:50 PM
Hi littlejoy- I can totaly relate to how ur feeling.... I am always worrying about the scan too..... because i havnt had one if there is ANYTHING wrong I will find out next thursday at my 18-20wk scan....as the midwife at the hospital last night pointed out:confused:
I am so excited about this bub bubt the worry is just unbelievable...lol if its doing it to me now imagine what it will be like when bubs is here:eek: I always say to my dr after every trip to him over nothing "Im sorry I stress so much" his reply is always "its ok its normal it shows you care and love your baby, if you didnt care and love bub so much you wouldnt be here every 2 weeks" so i try to remember I may be overreacting but its only because I care:thumbsup:
I have this awful morbid habit of saying to myself "this time next week you might be sobbing into your pillow and have to tell everyone there will be no baby instead of sitting here all happy and excited".
What a stupid stupid STUPID thing to do.
My poor son. His mother is cracked.
This baby HAS to be okay. Everyone is waiting for him and he is already so loved.
*Country Bumpkin*
15-03-2006, 01:17 PM
Shed- I do a similar thing!!! I thought it was just me!!!
Well I have just taken maxilon- i feel so sick!!!! I just wanna :barf: ohhhhh i hate feeling sick....i wish they had told me why im feeling sick last night at the hospital...
Strange as it may sound, I am not comforted by being as crazy as you, :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Just messin wid yu :hugs:
littlejoy
15-03-2006, 01:25 PM
Shed, I can relate it sounds so morbid I know but I keep thinking the same thing. In august I am hoping to be giving birth to my Son but that thought is just so overwhelming and unbelievable that I keep thinking that surely nothing so fantastic would happen to me!! I have the babys cot at home and keep making excuses about why we can't put it up, but I know it is because I am so scared that if I let go and just trust that everything is going to be ok that when I am told that it is not ok then the pain is going to be that much worse. Shed and Adele it appears as if we have cracked it together!!! Thank god for BubHub otherwise I might be sitting here at working thinking I was the only one!! Thanks girls.
Adele I hope you feel better soon!! any idea what it is at all?
Shed, I love your little dog!!!!! I would love one just the same!!
Hi there everyone!!
Shed, Littlejoy and Adele I have to totally agree with you all. The week before my last visit to the Ob I was obsorbed with the thought that something was wrong as I had not felt any kicking and my bump had seemed to deflate a bit. Luckly Ob has an ultrasound machine and found that my placenta was across the front and thats why I would not be feeling any movements for quite sometime. I must say that I was extremely happy with this until this last week as I am back to feeling that something is wrong again and that they will tell me at my scan on Friday that not all is right!
Anyway on a happier note, congratulations to all the girls on finding out the flavours of their bubs! I was not going to find out but you all have me so excited for you that I now think I will also find out! Will have to make up my mind by Friday.
My placenta is at the front too and I am due around the same time as you Leo, so let me know when you feel something!!
I haven't felt so much as a flutter yet. Nothing, nada, zilch.
Shed...I am thinking it will be a couple more weeks but who knows!!! I didn' t feel any movements with my DD until I was about 19.5 weeks - that was five years ago and I have a little more weight around the middle than I did with her so :confused:
Also Shed, I notice that you are going to Fairfield Hospital - do you live around that area? I was hoping someone would finally be from somewhere remotely close to me( I live in Cronulla) - everyone seems to be from the Sunshine State!!!!!!!!!!!:)
I've just transferred to Liverpool now. I was going to go to Fairfield because they have a birthing centre, but now I have engaged the services of a doula so I can stay home for longer and won't need the birthing centre.
Everyone seems to think 20 weeks is about the time to feel something with placenta at the front. I can't wait.
neneales
16-03-2006, 07:44 PM
Hey Gals
God u girls are stressheads but its totally understandable I was exactly the same with my first then I learned that no matter how much u stress and worry the outcome is going to be the same!!!
SOO please girls dont overstress urselves cause its more harmful to u and ur baby than anything else stress can kill ya!!! If u feel urself starting to worry tell urself that its ok and if their is no pain or blood and generally u are feeling well then theirs nothing to worry about!!!
Look forward to ur ultrasound not dread them think of it as a chance to see ur beautiful baby!!!
Well take care everyone wish u all the very best of health!!!:thumbsup:
only1mica
17-03-2006, 10:46 AM
I was hoping someone would finally be from somewhere remotely close to me( I live in Cronulla) - everyone seems to be from the Sunshine State!!!!!!!!!!!:)
Hey Leo
I am close to you....well sorta anyway:rolleyes:
I live in Padstow...but I grew up in St George area...and was living at Bangor(near sutherland) until DH & I bought our place.
Which hospy are you going to?
redbaby
17-03-2006, 11:00 AM
Hi Guys,.. hope you are all well and not too tired!
I am buggered! Well and truely,. Scarlett has decided to push the limits in any way she can,..and by the end of the day I am exhausted! But,..have just booked a lovely 5 day break for Mike and myself at Port Douglas for June,.. just the 2 of us!!! Yay,.. a nice lazy holiday in the sun before the baby comes,....... beauty!!!!
Also,..I had the first real kick that you could feel outside my belly last night! Such a good feeling,..I couldn't help but respond with a 'Hi there'! Can't wait till Wed when I will know whether it is a Ruby or a Jasper kicking away in there!! For those of you with little kids,....have you told them about the baby? And how did you do it? Scarlett is 18mnths and maybe a little too young (and self absorbed!!!!) to understand,..but I would like to know what and when to tell her!!!!!!
littlepickle
18-03-2006, 10:38 PM
hey Adele, how are you? I read your post about DP! Soo glad to hear that all is ok now!
When is the next Aug bub ultrasound?? So excited to hear everyone elses news ..:rolleyes: on the other hand maybe I am just nosy and dying to know what flavours everyone else is having!
I have just finished uploading Elise's photos onto her homepage. if anyone wants a look, the url is http://www.babysites.com/sites/littlepickle/
I have had such a lazy day today, DH and I stayed in watching movies, it was sooo relaxing :-)
How is everyone else feeling today?
*Country Bumpkin*
18-03-2006, 10:49 PM
Hi Rach...
I was starting to wonder where ud got too......
Hehe yeah everything is good with DP now- Thank god....:thumbsup:
I do believe Im next for the scan....ohh and I think Neneales is the same day as me....Im probably wrong though so Im sorry in advance!!
I will check out the web page now....Im going to do one for bub too!
My day was spent at the 50th aniversary then at my mums...so not too excitinn and tomoro dp and i are going to the pup with a chick from his work and her b/f so that should be interesting!!
Ohh well better get going i suppose take care all!
neneales
18-03-2006, 11:05 PM
Hey Gals
LP- My scan is on Friday!!!! Yay i am so hanging to know what bubby is!!! Ahh ur day sounded glorious, a day I need badly!! Well I hope u r feeling well take care!!!
Adele- Is ur scan on friday or is it before mine if my memory is right I thik urs is before mine!!! Well if it is I wish ya all the best and :fingerscrossed: U can find out!!! :fingerscrossed: we can both find out hey!!!! Ahhh I just want to have my scan 2morrow!!!!!
Scarlett- I told my girls when I found out!! I just told them very excitingly that mummy is pregnant and we are going to have a baby!!! Then I told them that the baby is in my tummy and it will grow and grow til mummys tuimmy is really big then mummy will go to the hospital and have bubby!! My eldest was excited and my youngest was to interested but she likes the idea now cause everyday i get up and get the girls to say good morning to bubby and talk to it!! Sometimes my youngest doesnt want to know but i dont push the issue cause its just her age!!!
I think my girls have reacted quite well but i think we shall just see how things go when bubby gets here!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
19-03-2006, 12:28 PM
Hi Neneales- My scan is on Thursday..... I had a feeling you were the day afterme but i wasnt sure......
I cant WAIT I wanna see if I can get in earlyer hehe, but i dont want to go in too soon incase they cant tell yet!! If the hospital is right then im 18 weeks this week but if Im right (which I know I am) Im 19 weeks....so well just have to wait and see....the worst that can happen is they say ohh youll have to come back in a week- which means i get to see bubby again!!!!
salt water
19-03-2006, 12:46 PM
HI everyone - I have been awol due to work pressures but have kept up with a bit of lurking late one night. Good to see everyone doing ok and welcome to the new August mums!
LP - did you talk to your boss about reducing your days? I have only 3 weeks left of full time and then I am having a week off and going back after Easter for just three days a week until June - cannot wait. Work has been very stressful this week but have to keep going somehow :thumbsdown: Have also negotiated to have 12 mths off (actually I might stretch this to 18 mths) and then return half time in 2007 or 2008 (5 days per fortnight).
Worst thing is I seem to have lost my mind - One morning this week, I walked into my office and couldn't remember how to turn my computer on :confused: - had to call my assistant in from the other room- she gave me a very strange look as she reached across me and pressed the button :o
AND - am still throwing up :barf: I've got maxalon but it just makes me feel and look woozy so I can't take it at work (not a good corporate look!).
Anyway, good luck to anyone having their scans this week. I've got another one coming up in about 2 wks due to that pesky low lying placenta.
Cheers to all!
PS - Littlepickle - I just had a look at Elise's photos - she is one cute bub indeed! And what a good idea!
my3sons
19-03-2006, 01:30 PM
All this talk about ultrasounds had me re-checking my scan date. I "thought" my scan was the 24th, had this date stuck in my head but my diary says 23rd which is Thursday - I think I'd better double check tomorrow, I'd hate to lose my appointment.:eek:
Anyway, looks like Thursday and Friday is going to be a very exciting time for us Adele and Neneales. I can't wait and am counting it down like a little kid at Christmas.
I'm FINALLY feeling my little man kick (yes that's what I call bub, I'm 99.99% sure).
my3sons
19-03-2006, 01:40 PM
Ooops, forgot to mention that I spent about three hours today at baby bunting superstore looking at what's available these days for babies. Geez, I had NO idea what was out there!!!! I've decided that I want a Mountain Buggy Urban with a Carry Cot but they're a little more than what I wanted to spend :crying: . I'm not buying anything yet but just "window shopping" and what a shock to the system that is too!!! Everything is sooo expensive now :eek: Even good car seats are up around $400. Oh well, lucky I've got a few months to save and hopefully will find some great end of financial year sales ;)
Can you tell I haven't had to buy for a baby for around 6 years...lol.
salt water
19-03-2006, 02:52 PM
my3sons - I haven't had to buy for a baby for 6 yrs either and it has all changed sooo much. Not the basics I guess but everything seems so high tech now!!
my3sons
19-03-2006, 03:47 PM
Noosamum I know all about high tech after today. Have you seen the safe n sound platinum car seat with the speakers built into the head rest??? Whoa....that shocked me! Gorgeous car seat though. Even the good old porta cots now come with all sorts of attachments, music and vibrations.....being my last, I'm going for what I want but I think my big boys are going to have more fun with all the baby stuff than what the baby will!
salt water
19-03-2006, 06:01 PM
my3sons - I could not believe that car seat!!! Actually a car seat is on my shopping list as we sold ours in a garage sale last year but I think I'll be going for a more basic model. Like you, I had my last baby in 2000 so shopping for bub this time feels like I am doing it for the first time all over again - even rockers are more high tech with all sorts of bells and whistles (well not bells and whistles exactly but you know what I mean!).
We bought a rocker yesterday - I hope the baby enjoys it as much as Miss 6 likes playing with it!
Cheers :D
neneales
19-03-2006, 09:32 PM
Hey Gals
Noosamum & my3sons
I know what u guys mean about the high-tech stuff! I had my first in 02 and havent had to buy anything for my second! so this time round I have to get everything cause I gave my sister all my baby stuff as we werent planning on having anymore!! Now she is in Queensland im in Perth bit hard to give it all back!! Ahh well thats cool cause im gonna have fun going shopping!!!
Adele
Oh cool not really im jealous!! :laughing: Really am hangin to have my scan!! Well babe hope all is well good luck with ur scan take care!!
Well the countdown is still on its 4 days now till my scan!! :smiliedance:
missie_mack
20-03-2006, 08:34 AM
What a busy couple of weeks Ive got coming up and at the moment I feel like "bustin sum caps" with some of the family- we are 6 weeks off getting married, h2b is busy trying to get some essays in for uni and be ahead for our honeymoon (hes a correspondence student) we are stressed about money... and Im so nervous with my first midwife appointment this week. Im so methodical in everything i do it would be fine if some of the family would get over themselves. 2 of h2bs mothers siblings arent coming to the wedding because they cant have there kids attend- and the kids dont even know who we are might we add.... One aunt has decided that her husband herself and her children will come to the ceremony and not go to the reception- not because she cant get babysitter or cause she doesnt go out without her kids but because she feels its a family affair. When she got married she never invited her cousins and I think she forgets her kids are cousins to us!! So instead they will go out for dinner- and this is the worst thing- will have dinner at the same place our reception is at!!! We are having images of them having to suddenly bust in to see someone and end up crashing the wedding... any ideas of what to do??? Most people are understanding that its a child free reception (if we invited one we would have to invite all and it would be over 30 kids)
:banghead: I knew I should have eloped!!
Uniquey
20-03-2006, 09:56 AM
Missie_Mack, Wonderful news about your impending nuptials, but sorry to hear about the dramas. Just remember, it is YOUR and H2B'S DAY! We got married last year and I am agaisnt children at weddings. I didn't want them at the Church nor the reception, so in the invitation we had an 'info sheet' with maps, hotel info etc and at the bottom we wrote' We respectfully ask that children under the age of 16 do not attend the Church or wedding reception'. We then went on to add, we will endeavour to help those from interstate find suitable babysitting etc etc.
At first, we had a lot of noses out of joint, but we stuck to our guns and it all worked out. At the end of the day, most of the parents said they had a much better time at the wedding without the kids there anyway. My husband's family live in Victoria and they all have small kids, so they had to travel to Qld for the wedding and still not bring their kids to the wedding, but they hired a profesional babysitting service to come to their hotel and mind the children. Missie_Mack, you're never going to please everyone, but as I said earlier, it's your day, not their's. Fingers crosssed for you that it all goes well and that they respect your wishes!:thumbsup:
redbaby
20-03-2006, 10:42 AM
Well it is a big scan-ney sort of a week, isn't it?!? Mine is on Wed arvo,.......so I will let you all know! How exciting! Am a little scared that something will be not quite right though,...so can't wait to put my mind at rest,..... worry,.worry,.worry
I have to go back for my 20 week scan on Thursday morning. I already had my "pretend 20 week scan" which was actually my 17 week scan due to date mix ups again.
So I know he's a boy, but on Thursday I find out if he is healthy. I hate these scans, I always end up bawling the night beforehand.
On a lighter note, I have finally finished designing my engagement ring. DP reckons I have changed my mind constantly but I haven't...I have REFINED my decision in a PROCESS :)
So that's done, now to get it made. I "sold" my laptop to DP in the weekend for an extra 500 bucks on the ring budget. So I rang the jeweller this morning and asked him to look for a slightly bigger stone (greedy girl).
He uses the laptop more than me anyway and I am living with him now so it doesn't make much difference. Except if we ever break up of course, but if he says he's keeping the laptop then I'm keeping the ring!!
I wore him down over the weekend, trying to get more money out of him. He said he would think about it and tell me in the morning. First thing this morning the first words out of my mouth were "did you think about it?"
Him "About what?"
Me: "The extra money for the ring"
Him: Oh...whatever, just get whatever one you want. Before the price goes up again"
Me: "Okey dokes"
*Country Bumpkin*
20-03-2006, 01:05 PM
Jane- You can jump on the worry wagon with me!!! Im sure there will be nothing wrong...but I still have the thought in the back of my mind all the time!!
Well I had a lovely weekend with my DP- went to the 50th wedding aniversary on saturday- ate lots of cakes and desert:D Then yesterday I went to chermside and brought some new clothes! Then DP and i went off to the Leagues Club to meet a chick from DP's work well she didnt end up coming so it was just the two of us and it was lovely....... we played the pokies and won back ALL the money we spent at the club AND shopping!!!! We came home with all the money we left with PLUS an extra $30!!:yelclap:
Then we came home to our neighbours reaking absolute HAVOC!!!!! They have to go!!!:banghead:
DP has a new nickname for me- lUMPY Apparently its because I have a giant lump in my stomach- what did you only just notice?:laughing:
Ahh well all in all a great weekend was had by all!!
salt water
21-03-2006, 06:59 PM
Hello??? Hello??? HELLO???Seems to be an echo in here...where is everyone??? :confused:
Yoooo Hoooooo!!!
kacey
21-03-2006, 07:37 PM
Koooooeeee!
Hello Noosamum, hmmm, maybe everyone is entertaining their inlaws like I am? Maybe they're all rubbing their bellies in glee? Maybe they've stopped stressing about their babies? (Yeah, right!)
Dunno!?!? Hope you have a good night Noosamum (and any lurkers!) :sleeping:
*Country Bumpkin*
21-03-2006, 09:44 PM
Phew... I thought Id killed the thread LOL
Well I have been around but nobody else has:(
My name is Nigel NO Friends......:crying:
Hmmmmm what has happend today ummmmm- ohhh I know- Im getting 2x boxes of 200 huggies nappies and a s*** load of wipes for
NOTHING...........NADA..........ZIP............FRE E :smiliedance: A friend of a friends hubby works at Huggies and get em all free...so Im set!!
my3sons
22-03-2006, 06:41 AM
OMG Adele!!! You LUCKY girl, Huggies are so expensive but definitely the best ones out there (after 3 kids, trust me I know!) - enjoy your nappyfest :thumbsup:
P.S. - Where's the pic's of your massive lump???? I'm still thinking I might be up there with you!!!
Well girls my ultrasound is in 3 hours - I'm really excited and can't wait to see my baby again hopefully all well and wiggly :smiliedance:
Have a great day everyone, hopefully I'll be able to report back into the "flavour" section later ;) "If" DH will let me find out - I'm working on him :kiss:
I just got a delivery at work. My friend sent over the bassinette she bought for me.
I asked for a cream one with little teddies on it.
Its cream with little teddies on it and they have navy blue ties on.
Its so beautiful and so perfect that I started blubbering!!
Hormones!
*Country Bumpkin*
22-03-2006, 09:25 AM
My3Sons- I cant believe how expensive huggies are:eek: Hehe Im a very lucky girl because ive been told that I can get them whenever I want/need them!!!!:smiliedance:
Good luck with your scan!!!! Just tell DH to bugger off if he wont let ya find out lol.....he dosnt have to be in the room when they tell you if he dosnt want to know!! It was actually my DP that talked ME into finding out!!
Shed- Ohhh sounds so cute!!!!! Damm those hormones.... I cried the other night watching Steph off Neighbours goive birth to her baby Charlie!!!! Blubber blubber blubber
Uniquey
22-03-2006, 10:41 AM
Adele, Go the HUGGIES! Half your luck:yelclap:
Not long now until your much anticipated U/S. Mine is the day after yours, and for a moment, I thought i'd be going solo again, as DH was nearly sent to Innisfail to help clean up after the Cyclone. I was watching the news and saw this young couple whOm had just lost their newly renovated house and the lady was very pregnant, i cried, I thought they've just lost their house, all their possessions and to top it off she's pregnant!
Anyway, needless to say, my Dh doesn't have to go now, and so will be joining me at the U/S, he's excited, but i'm ANXIOUS!
I got a phone call from work today pecking my brain about maternity leave. I decided to work until July (in case I'm early) but then they wanted to know when I'd be coming back and suggested to me the 26th September!!!!!:eek: I'm due on the 15 Aug, and thought, like hell will i be going back to work in the following month! I don't even know what the baby and I will be like then. After all this, I don't even get paid maternity leave, it's just so they can fill in my position whilst i'm away. My brain has gone to mush, i can't even think that far ahead, LOL!
I was told by a very wise woman not to even consider going back to work for six months. With all the childcare centre dramas on TV we are considering changing that to 2 years. And you don't know if you are going to be able to tear yourself away from your baby.
DP wasn't going to come to my scan tomorrow because he came to the last (too early) one, but now he is going to. Its the one when they tell you if anything is wrong so I really want him there.
I used to be Miss Independent, but now I find I want him to be close. I have awful feelings that something is going to happen to him. Sometimes I think he is going to be mugged and its going to go too far and he is going to die, other times I think he is going to be in an accident at work.
Worry worry worry. Always finding new and innovative ways to nick myself in the head!
Hi there everyone...
Only1mica, great to see another local! I see that you are going to St George Birthing Centre - I have heard great things about that hospy from quite a few people. I went to St George Private last time with DD but it was just a little too far for DH to visit before and after work so this time I am going to Kareena Private at Caringbah which is like 2 mins from home.
Shed, have you felt any movements yet?? I think I have last Friday but still not that sure if it was as it is not a regular occurance yet - it just feels like a little tap! Maybe feel some more of them this week as this is the 20 weeks mark!! :smiliedance: Also, best of luck with your extra scan - you lucky girl!!:)
Adele and Uniquey, best of luck with both your scans as well! I cant wait to see what your 'flavours' are!!
As for me, my little bub was not very cooperative last Friday and I was unable to see if it was a boy or a girl - especially upsetting when it took me a whole month of deciding whether to find out or not. Oh well - at least everything is going well - much smaller bub than last time though but still the average measurements for 19weeks so that is good news.
littlepickle
22-03-2006, 05:27 PM
Jane, Uniquey, my3sons - How did your scans go? Did your bubs coorporate and let you find out their flavour??
Noosamum, unfortunately I haent been able to negotiate going part time bfore I go on maternity leave. if anything my workload has been increased until my maternity leave so I am a bit annoyed at that amd counting down the days till the end of June. On a plus side I do feel as though y energy is returning a bit, I am still tired but not falling asleep afterl unch anymore so that is something!!
Sooo, sorry for not posting so much on the forum lately, I have just been really busy at work and stressed out over that. I do lurk sometimes to see how everyone else is getting along but dont always post as I dont want to always be winging on the thread:ecomcity:
I cant believe I am 21 weeks already - wow, past the hafway mark already!! :smiliedance: I bought a book on hypnobirthing a while ago and I have been reading that, it also comes with a CD that has relaxation and visualisation exercises. Its really good, and I am looking forward to using it as a tool for my quest in having an active/natural labour - all oing well of course. I have a wonderfull doula who has been helping me out and giving me ideas.. I have to say, I am really ooking forward to labour! I know that probably sounds insane, but what an experience!! I cant wait!!
Uniquey
22-03-2006, 07:47 PM
Shed, I have to agree with the words of wisdom from your friend. I have no desire to rush back to work, especially not before the 6 month mark. I was told by my Boss though, that the maximum you can take off for maternity leave is 2 years, and that you can only extend or bring foward your leave once. I think I'll just put 2 years down and If I change my mind then I'll let them know. My boss actually said to me, 'if you're anything like me, I got sooooo bored at home with the baby and was itching to get back'. She then said she came back sooner and sooner with her 3 babies. I wondered then why she had any kids and how they're going at Childcare! Oh, that's those bitchy preggy hormones coming out of me:shame:
I also know what you mean about wanting your DF around, mine is in the RAAF so goes away a lot, and everytime he says he has to go (since being pregnant) I feel fretful, which I haven't ever been like. His work said he'd have to go away in July and I nearly had forty-fits!
Leo and Rach, thanks so much for your well wishes for the upcoming scan, mine is on Friday at 10.00am, so I am waiting with baited breath till then. I think Adeles' is on Thursday and Shed's too from memory?
No movements for me yet, but the sonographer this morning said not to worry, it could easily be another four weeks.
Bubby is as healthy as a horse. The scan this morning was great. Saw his little ankles crossed and his hand behind his head and one across his face. So cute.
His mummy isn't so crash hot today. Very emotional and overwhelmed. The build up to the scan always does my head in, which makes my blood pressure plummet and as it comes back up I go a bit psycho.
At the scan when she went to check the heart I was on tenterhooks because my cousin had a bad experience at this scan and my sister was born with a hole in her heart, so I was very nervous. The lady goes "Oh, its not in the ideal spot" and I nearly started bawling. Of course she meant the BABY wasn't in the ideal spot to check the heart. And then he moved so she checked it and it was fine, but it took me a good ten minutes to get over that shock of his "heart" not being in the ideal spot!!
So I am just going to pop off to my tree for a bit today. Its been a while so I need to go and check on it anyway...make sure Adele hasn't trashed the joint :laughing:
Have a good day folks.
littlejoy
23-03-2006, 08:22 AM
Hi everyone, thought I would just check in.. sorry I haven't been very active on the thread lately just been really busy. Anyway I had my 19 week ultrasound yesterday and confirmed that we are having a BOY!!!! everything went really well heart is healthy and baby is a good size, his feet are 3 cms long the sonographer said that at this stage babies are all out of proportion but wow!!! that is some big feet for a 13-15cm baby!!! We had the whole ultrasound video taped and watched it as soon as we got home. Both my DH and Dad came along so it was really nice. The 3D scan is amazing.. I can hardly believe the quality they can get can you imagine what it will be like when our children have children!!
Anyway I am glad that everyone is going well and enjoying their scans.... Shed I hope you come down from your tree soon.. you had a great result!! WOW I can't believe that is approx. 20 weeks time we will all be holding our bundles of joy!!!! :smiliedance:
redbaby
23-03-2006, 10:21 AM
Hi there everyone,....
Congrats Littlejoy!!! Very exciting!
I can also confirm that we are having a perfectly healthy little Boy!!!! yay!!! We have decided to call him Jasper Gabriel,.... and we are both terribly chuffed!!! He is moving around like no tomorrow at the moment! I think that somehow he is pleased that we know that he is a little man,... Mike called me this morning and asked how I was feeling,..how Squidgy was doing and then how his little boy was doing! So cute,..I burst into tears!! Mum and Dad were looking after Squidg when we had the ultrasound, and we stopped off at a divine babystore on the way home and dropped $150 on a sweet little blue outfit,.which I had them wrap up like a gift,.. when we got home Mum was standing at the front door going 'Well?Well?Well?" So I gave her the gift to unwrap and she started shouting 'It's blue! It's Blue! It's Blue!!! And then her and dad both cried! Very lovely afternoon!!!!!
Good luck for today Adele!!! It is the best thing, knowing that they are healthy!!! YAY!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
23-03-2006, 10:50 AM
Hello All
Little Joy & Jane
CONGRATULATIONS
!!
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Well only 4hrs to go........VERY excited and nervous!! Im praying that everything is ok....:fingerscrossed:
littlepickle
23-03-2006, 11:56 AM
Littlejoy and jane! Congratulations on finding out you are having boys!! It all seems so much more real now doesnt it! I mean, here we all are going for 20 week scans and it seems like only yesterday we were comparing morning sickness!! Congrats to you and your families!
Shed, Glad to hear that your little boy is healthy and that his heart is after all in the right place!! Hope you have a nice relax in your tree!!
Adele! Good luck with your scan today!! I will be thinking of you and checking back later to see how you got on! It will be fine, dont worry, just enjoy! We will soon get to see if your intuition is right and you are also having a girl!!
Uniquey - I think you would need to have a good chunk of time off work, definitely dont rush back!! My work have suggested that I leave it open and just let them know when I feel ready to come back to work after bub is born..That doesnt really sound all that official though so I may just have to put something in writing anyway just to be on the safe side
missie_mack
23-03-2006, 03:09 PM
Congrats to everyone on their healthy babies! :hugs:
Just curious but has anyone done the chinese birth charts and if so were they right with what they have been told in the ultrasounds?? A friend of mine commented that she has never found a case of them being wrong and August is a long time to find out for myself ...
wattle
23-03-2006, 03:36 PM
Hi girls. Glad all is going well. I had my 2nd appt at the birthing centre the other day and everything is fine. Bub is growing well, she is pretty big already. This pregnancy sure is different to the first time.
I'd highly recommend writing a diary, there is so much stuff that I'd forgotten fromn the first time - how I feel, when I felt kicks and stretching etc. It would be great to look back on it now.
I'm having my 19 week u/s in 2 weeks (although I'll be 20 weeks then).
littlepickle
23-03-2006, 03:40 PM
Yes. The Chinese gender predictor said I was having a girl too. But I already thought that Iw as having a girl, dont know why exactly, I just felt that I knew
*Country Bumpkin*
23-03-2006, 04:21 PM
Hello All,
Weeeeeeeel firstly I can say the chinese calender was wrong on me.......
And second I can tell you that buby is 100% healthy- from what they can tell....
And that its a
GIRL!!!!
I was right!!!!!
Tim is SO hapy I have never seen such a BIG smile on his face before and hes been texting all his mates telling them....
Its lucky that buby is a girl- My mum just informed me that she and my Nan brought a little girls outfit 2 weeks ago......they couldnt resist!!!
My due dat is now the 25th August- which is 2 days before tims B/day so hes hoping to get a bub for his pressi!! So Im now 17 weeks and 6 days- 18 weeks tomorow!!
I am SO happy
salt water
23-03-2006, 04:28 PM
CONGRATULATIONS!
That is very exciting news Adele - there seem to be a lot of girls in the August group!! Congrats again, and happy pink shopping :)
kacey
23-03-2006, 06:32 PM
Well girls, congratulations on finding out the sex of your babies. Even though DH and I are not having a scan, it is fun to see all the excitement of your experiences. It's kind of like watching a Christmas celebration from the perspective of another culture (IYKWIM?) looking in on this strange ritual. :laughing:
Last Saturday I felt the first proper kicks instead of just movement, and now I get them whenever I sit at the computer. Wonder if it's my bad posture? I ate some chocolate cake that night and lay down, giving bubs a sugar-rush and DH was able to feel a little bit of movement too for the first time. Very fun. Can't wait for bubs to kick his hand for real.
In-laws stayed for 2 nights, don't think I'll have them over again, not while I'm preggers anyway, I'm all emotional and just need my own space instead of constant people who just talk in my face 24/7. :( Egh! Is anyone else all emotional? I thought it was just for 1st trimester, now I hear it gets worse as you go! What the? At this rate I am gonna be a mess by the time August turns up.
littlepickle
23-03-2006, 07:12 PM
Hey! Congratulations Adele!!! You were right!!! I just knew you were! How exciting to have another girly in the August group. Now you can have loads of fun shopping for pink stuff :smiliedance:
Uniquey
23-03-2006, 08:32 PM
CONGRATULATIONS Littlejoy, Jane and Adele on yuor healthy babies and their flavours! I'm sooo happy for you all, and happy gender shopping!
As for me, Well I feel SICK WITH WORRY, ANXIETY, STRESS the whole gamut. My scan is tomorrow morning and I feel like I will be the one who reports back to the group that I have an un-healthy baby. I know that sounds sick or macarbe, but I just feel rotten with worry about the whole thing. I am trying to stay positive, but I hate the lead-up to these scans, I then analyse everything I've done, what I've eaten, that I took a panadol, stressed too much...need I go on.:( I just want tomorrow morning to be here yesterday:(
littlepickle
23-03-2006, 08:38 PM
Uniquey, you will be fine :-) I worry before every scan and usually cant sleep the night before. Its like Shed said once, I guess the fact that the scan is there to lok for something wrong IYKWIM. The facct is that you have already had a healthy scan, you will be fine with this one too, you wil see bub moving around and will maybe get to find out the flavour too! As soon as you are laying on the bed and the scanner is ut onto your stomach you will forget all of your worries :-) Your bub will be just fine:hugs:
Uniquey
23-03-2006, 08:49 PM
Rach, I can't thank you enough for your kind, supportive words. I just went into DH and had a big cry to him, and he said the same as you, then I felt guilty for being so negative to you girls, as I always try to be positive, so I came back in to the computer, and alas, your beautiful words were there. Thank you so sincerely, you've made me feel much better than I was 10 minutes ago.
:hugs: Monique
*Country Bumpkin*
23-03-2006, 09:12 PM
Uniquey- I worry before I go to the Drs EVERY time too......every appointment the lot worry worry worry!!
I was REALY scared and almost convinced something would be wrong today.....but as it turns out there was no need for any worry and it will be the same for you:thumbsup:
Like Rach the wise old (hehe) thing said- as soon as the scanner is put on your stomach youll forget all about it!! I did!
EVERYHTING WILL BE OK!!!! I would put money that I dont have on it- thats how sure I am (and I dont like to gamble cause im a chicken lol)
Thanks everyone for all the congrats!!!
Well DP must be excited-hes already talking saying how he 'cant wait till we can take it camping' lol ohh and hes decided hes having the car seats covered in plastic before bub is due so I dont ruin his seats :laughing:
littlejoy
24-03-2006, 05:29 AM
Thanks girls for the congrats!!!! I can't tell you how nice it is to be able to share all my concerns and joys with you all and know that I am not the only one.
Congratulations Adele.. a little girl thats great!! Congrats Jane.... we can now compare little boys clothing etc!! :smiliedance:
Uniquey... I know how you feel I literally feel like I am going crazy with worry leading up to the scan and then the relief usually lasts for 15 mins after the scan then I find the next thing to obsess with worry over... I guess it just comes with the teritory and we have many many many more years of worry left!!!! Goodluck with your scan, I will double Adele's bet that everything will be fine!!!!! I will check in later today to see how you went. :thumbsup:
littlejoy
24-03-2006, 05:30 AM
BTW Adele, Skyla is a really pretty name!!! :D
littlepickle
24-03-2006, 08:13 AM
Hey Adele!! less of the "old" if you dont mind!!:laughing: BTW, i love the name Skyla. I used to know a girl called Skylar when I lived in Amsterday (I think thats the way she spelled it) anyway, its really pretty!
Uniquey, I will be thinking of you today and checking back for news of your scan! Like I said, you and bub will be fine :smiliedance: Monique, I forgot what you predicted the gender to be? Most of us have been right so far, so I guess intuition must count for a lot. ps. I love the name "monique"! I was thinking of it for our bub, but we eventually went back to the origional choice of Elise which is also the only name we really agree on :-)
Adele, Congratulations, I had a feeling that a little girl had picked you out to be her Mum. I love the name Skyla, its beautiful.
I had my midwives appointment at the new hospital this morning and the midwife was very nice. I had to get blood taken, which I was supposed to do ages ago but somehow thought they wouldn't notice if I didn't do it! They did notice!
I was wandering around the hospital looking for pathology feeling very uncared about, like I do in hospitals, and I got myself so worked up I had to stop to vomit. I tried the door of the ladies and it was locked so I went to the disabled one, also locked, so by this time I was retching wildly about the place so ducked into the mens.
It was just stress from being at the hospital. I wish I could have bubby at home, but DP won't hear of it and besides that, its about 4 grand. I am just going to have to harden up. When I got to the antenatal clinic I had to take a number from one of those dispensers, like at the meat counter at Woolies. Crumbs! Don't they know I am carrying the bl**dy MESSIAH???? :laughing:
I got another Bounty Bag though. Not that I need it, but its "procedure" for a first visit, which this was, to this hospital, so I was obliged to take it!! Geez. The midwife was pushing it on me.
Uniquey
24-03-2006, 06:51 PM
Rach, Adele and Littlejoy,You guys are too kind! Thank you so much for thinking of me today, and all of you can feel free to say to me, 'I TOLD YOU SO'! :smiliedance:
The baby is healthy and on track, and even though I was going to have a 'surprise' in regards to the gender, I thought of all of you guys and caved in. I snuck in after my DH left the room and quickly jumped back on the bed and asked the Sonographer, sneaky huh! So, hopefully friends and family don't know Bubhub and have no idea who I am on this, as I am only going to tell you ladies..... My intuition was right, I'm having a .......... GIRL
Rach, that made my day when you said you liked the name 'Monique'. My parents love french names, and like Elise too.
Littlejoy, I know what you mean about feeling reassured post scan, and then starting to worry about the next thing, talk about worry worts!
Again, THANK YOU all from the bottom of my heart for your heartfelt care and support:hugs: p.s/ I think I owe you guys some money, LOL!
littlepickle
24-03-2006, 06:58 PM
Yay Monique!!! Congratulations!
I am sooo happy for you!! You must be feeling on top of the world!! Oooh, and pink clothes are so much fun to buy!! I can relax now :-) I have been popping back to check for your post! Yay Congratulations again! Oh, and french names are lovely!!
*Country Bumpkin*
24-03-2006, 10:41 PM
Uniquey-
CONGRATULATIONS!!
:smiliedance::yelclap: :smiliedance:
Ohh and- I TOLD YOU SO!!!!
Hehe what wounderful news!!!!
Shed- Ahh you poor thing!! I nearly vomited just reading ur last post....... what an awful feeling! You really do have some serious anxiety issues with the hospital!!
Hehe thanks all- It was DP who picked the name Skyla!! He has good taste- it was either that or Olivia...He has always liked them and has had them chosen for YEARS!!!
Now- Neneales WHERE ARE YOU LOVEY????? Were all waiting to see what your having!! I hope everything is ok:confused:
Uniquey
25-03-2006, 09:31 PM
Rach, Adele and Shed,
THANKS SO MUCH for the congrats. It all still seems surreal. Soon all us August Mummies will have had our 20 week scans, then it'll be onto the next hurdle!
Shed, my Dh heard, (obviously not scientific data) that when you have a scan, if the baby has their hands around their face heaps, resting on their forehead, etc, it's usually a girl, but if the hands are down below it's usually a boy as they are already 'playing with their little willies'! As I said, it's not scientific data, LOL, but I must admit my baby's heands did not leave the face/forhead region the whole scan! I can't say I I could tell the sex at all, but it would be interesting as you say, to see the difference between a boy and girl scan.
*Country Bumpkin*
26-03-2006, 09:40 AM
Hello Girls!!
Weeeeel I have a couple of pieces of information that I thought you might find interesting..... My friend is a pediatric and obstertric nurse and I was chatting to ehr on friday night- she said to me ohhh you must be having a girl.... I said "well yeah how did you know?" she said because your carrying 'high" so girls it is NO old wifes take about if you carry high=girl and low=boy!!Its an actually medical fact!!
The other interesting piece of information she told me was that if your having twins- the girl is ALWAYS on top!! See women are ALWAYS on top- even from the very begining:laughing:
So how is everyones weekend going?
Mine is good- came home last night and DP had decided to help me by packing away a whole lot of stuff I was sorting in the lounge room ....problem is he has packed allt he stuff i was THROWING away back into the boxes that were sorted so now I have to go back and re-do 2 days work!!!:banghead: I didnt have the heart to get cranky at the poor fella so i gave him a kiss and thanked him!! Ohhh well he tried lol!!
Weel now were off to a oorty game for tims little brother- so that should be fun!
Neneals- WHERE ARE YOU???? Im worried about you!!!:confused:
my3sons
26-03-2006, 06:41 PM
Congratulations to all the girls on their ultrasounds and "flavours". I had hoped to do it all seperately but there were soooo many posts to catch up on after being away from the computer for (only) 4 days and I got lost :eek: Actually I thought I was on top of it after posting in the flavours thread but then I started reading this one! Still a newbie at forums :o
Adele, your man has wonderful taste in names, Skyla is just beautiful. Did the sonographer say it's a big bub for this stage or are you just popping out quickly? I forgot to ask about my big bump!
To all anterior placenta's out there - :laughing: At my ultrasound on Wednesday I found out that my placenta is at the front also.... what I want to know is have any of you been told that it makes it more difficult to perform a c -section if it's at the front? I haven't seen my ob yet (3rd April) so haven't gotten the u/s report but will ask him (my sister told me this little bit of info, she's had 4). Also wondering if that's why I seem so big because it's at the front? Here's hoping I'm not just eating too much :D
missie_mack
27-03-2006, 06:29 AM
Went to see midwives at hospital for first app on friday- which is nerve racking enough with all the questions- even had to send other half out to ask about him slapping me about??!! Is that normal? I laughed when she asked me it would be the most unlikely thing to ever happen// I mean he cries when I get stretching pains cause he cant help me!!
Anyhow I got in trouble for not having my 18 week ultrasound yet so I have my appointment in a hour and Im very very nervous in an excited way and we have decided to find out what flavour we are having but not going to tell our friends and family so they still have a suprise when he/she is born. What a birthday suprise to find out the sex of my bubba ..Im off to keep drinking my water now......
littlejoy
27-03-2006, 07:44 AM
CONGRATULATIONS Monique!!!!!! I am so happy for you that everything went well!!!!! Great news!!!! :smiliedance:
Well I went to the worst wedding on the weekend!!! The bride was 1.5hours late, all the glasses on our table and other tables had to be sent back cause they were all dirty... lipstick marks and all and when the food came out it was chicken snitzel (sp) with deb potato and frozen veggies with some lamb looking slop, the food was cold one of the ladies on our table ask them to take it back and heat it up.. the waiter said "cold???" and stuck his finger in it to see if it was or not :eek: consequently I didn't eat a thing was too worried about the amount of bacteria in the food hurting our little boy!! The DJ/MC barely spoke English but at least the bride looked beautiful!! You just have to feel sorry for her I would have been so dissapointed if that had happend at my wedding.
Anyway I hope everyone is well... buba is doing somersaults at the moment feels so wonderful but strange all at once. The Sonographer said my placenta was at the front and to the right so my3sons I have an appointment on Thursday with my OB so I will ask him about the C/S then..
Shed I hope you are feeling better after your hospital experience I really hope that over the next few months you start to feel more confortable!! :fingerscrossed:
missie_mack good luck with your scan!!
Take care everyone!!! :D
my3sons
27-03-2006, 10:05 AM
littlejoy That sounds like a really bad wedding, poor bride - hopefully the food on her table was fantastic and only the guests got the slops :shame:
That would be great if you could ask your OB about the anterior placenta and a c/s. Mine isn't for another week.
Uniquey
27-03-2006, 02:18 PM
Thanks so much for the congrats Littlejoy:D
I really hope your friend didn't pay too much per head for her wedding reception! If I were the Bride and Groom, I'd be writing a letter outlining all the guests complaints etc, it's just not good enough for a wedding. There's too much competition out there for reception venues to be so slack.:rolleyes:
I went to the Babies Galore sale on the weekend. It was basically 10% off everything. I only bought a change mat to put on the change table/chest of drawers my little brother is building for us. I then went to the new big Spotlight store at Everton Park and bought some wooden shapes of animals, stars etc, to paint on for the nursery. Now I just need the motivation to actually do these projects, LOL!
Tomorrow I'm off to the Mater Hospital for my fortnightly physio visit and then to take my 'permission letter' from the Gp to the ante natal clinic to say i'm allowed to do the pregnancy exercises at the Hospital. I need to get a bit more active, I'm starting to want to just hybernate lately and be sedentary! Anyway ladies, hope you're having a good start to the week and good luck to those yet to have their scans this week:smiliedance:
amandaw
27-03-2006, 06:54 PM
Well just been lurking for the last few weeks..there really doesn't seem like enough hours in the day at the moment!!! Really really reall can't wait till the Easter holidays start!
Firstly a big CONGRATULATIONS to everyone for their news...I have my scan tomorrow, but am still determined not to find out the gender. DH still wants to, so we'll have to look at that - he's atarted coming up with a list of girl's names too, so I guess the idea that it could be a girl is starting to rub off on him!..I'm just really not looking foward to drinking all that water!!!
It's funny Uniquey that you say you are becoming more sedentary. While I'm sure that will come as the weather cools down, I have my kids at school telling me to stop!! They're all laughing at me with the little bulge, and sometime it's a case of do as a say, not do as I do! I think I'm going to have to fill myself doing one of their performance pieces (though niot tthe year 12's...it nearly killed me and that was three weeks ago!) just for the laugh! Thank god none of my classes will be doing performance work next term...so the emphasis is taken well and truely off me.
Have started to feel the flutters in the last two weeks, which DH can feel as well. This morning though was even a little more exciting because I could actually see where the kick was....much more obvious morning and night, but probably only because I actually stop then!
One query...does anyone know much about the Maclaren brand of strollers... Sales rep in DJ's well and truely talked them up, and I love the fact that they arte sooooo light....only 8 kg's compared to the Bertini that we were offered at 16kg's..I could barely lift it into the boot now, so am not going to want to do it it frazzelled mother state! Any feedback would be great
Anyway won't be writing back with a flavour tomorrow, but not to stressed about it all
neneales
27-03-2006, 11:40 PM
Hey Gals
Sorry I havent been on for awhile but my man has been home this week so been kinda busy!!
WELL I had my scan and its a GIRL!!!!!!!
So we are destined to have women ruling our house!!YAY!!! GO THE GIRLS!!!!!
My scan went really well bub is really healthy and my placenta isnt in the way this time so I can deliever normally!!YAY!!! Plus we had the 3D scan as well that was weird but really good!!! I will put a photo up on my avatar!!!
Well hope everyone is doin good, I will be back online and be able to read everyones posts after tuesday cause thats when DF goes back to work!!!
Well take care all speak to ya soon!!!!
my3sons
28-03-2006, 07:45 AM
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
Wow, it's really turning into a girly kind of August. I thought at first it was going to be Baby Boys all the way!
So happy for you and so glad to hear from you!
littlejoy
28-03-2006, 07:51 AM
CONGRATUALIONS neneales!!! That is fantastic!!! :smiliedance:
Congratulations neneales, that is great news.
Amandaw, good on you for sticking to your guns. I don't know how you do it!! Hope your scan goes well.
Well girls, I have been a bit of a cranky pants lately, well not cranky exactly, just teary and intolerant. I had a big spack at DP the other day about his flatmates still being there and now they are actively looking for a place because he gave them a date to be out.
And I also told him he didn't give me enough affection and I need lots of love at the moment because its not easy being pregnant and I am not really enjoying it very much and he is always on the computer and ignoring me, :ecomcity: :ecomcity: bawling.
And then yesterday I got home after work, hot and tired and thought to myself, "If he is on the effing computer I am going to lose it. I got inside, dragging a bag of clothes that I had picked up from my old place (still have one foot in each camp at this stage) and he WAS on the computer and he saw me and jumped up immediately and RAN across the lounge room and took the bag from me and put it in the spare room, then he comes in and gives me a HUGE cuddle and goes "hey babe, how was your day?".
This is why I love him. He's not perfect but he always tries to do the right thing. And you can't ask for more than that, can ya? :kiss:
*Country Bumpkin*
28-03-2006, 09:19 AM
NENEALES!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!
GO THE GIRLS!!
Pheeeew I was SO worried about you!! I thought something was wrong! Im so glad everything is OK
Amandaw -Good luck with your scan!!
Shed- Tell me about it Ive been feeling rather neglected myself..... just last night I had a bit of a spack at DP cause he didnt feel like "IT" cause he was too tired- that then turned into a big argument- on my part he just lay there wich made me even mader...It no fun arguing with yourself!!!
my3sons
28-03-2006, 10:25 AM
Is it just my DH or do the other do this -
Every morning without fail (anywhere from 5am onwards!!!) when DH wakes up he starts rubbing at my belly and poking at it (softly) saying "wake up baby" - meaning "wake up MUMMY"..... grrrrrr, so annoying in a cute sort of way :(
*Country Bumpkin*
28-03-2006, 11:06 AM
Ummm wel mine always says by by baby and kisses my belly b4 he goes to work and I love it!!
my3sons
28-03-2006, 11:54 AM
Adele - Awwww, that is so sweet :)
Gotta say that I would prefer that before he goes to work! I won't say too much to him though because "if" he stops doing it I'll probably miss it and wonder why he's not paying me (and bub) any attention :o
*Country Bumpkin*
28-03-2006, 12:14 PM
DONT SAY ANYTHING!!! I can guarantee if you do he wil stop lol- then you wil miss it!!
Uniquey
28-03-2006, 02:06 PM
Amandaw Glad to hear you're not going to be a big fat sneak like I was! Here I was going around saying, 'I love surprises, there is nooooo way I'm going to find out the baby's sex'. yeah right.... Good on you for having a stronger will then mine!
Neneales Glad to hear your new little girl is healthy and you're on track, it's a great feeling of relief isn't it:smiliedance:
Adele You crack me up as always, LOL, can I be a sticky beak and ask was 'it' that you were referring to, horizontal dancing?? If it was, I take my hat off to you for still having a Libido! My poor DH has been told to self serve:thumbsup: He is al, l 'oh woe is me at the moment', such a hard life for these poor males!;)
*Country Bumpkin*
28-03-2006, 03:29 PM
Uniquey- Hehe yep horizontal dancing!!
When I want it he dosnt and when he wants it I dont:confused: DP was also told to "self serve" not game ask if he has or not:rolleyes:
Im actually siting here trying to come up with ways to seduce DP when he gets home lol......all my lengeri (sp?) is too small so thats out...not that I d be game put it on now anyway lol Hmmm what to do..... any sugestions anyone?
missie_mack
28-03-2006, 04:09 PM
Adele- Who says you need lingerie?? Just wear a short skirt and no knickers and see how long it takes him to notice :devil6: lol... hes only a man right??? lol
littlepickle
28-03-2006, 05:01 PM
Neneales: Congratulations!! Yay the girls!!! Like I said before, this really is turning into a girly month!!!
I have to say that prior to finding out I was pg, I always thought I would have a boy - thats what I imagined anyway, then when I found out I was pg, I immediately knew that I would be having a girl! I am sooo happy about having a girl, and it is soo much fun shopping for girly things!
On another note - I am sooo loking forward to starting maternity leave - I have ages to go yet as I dont start maternity leave until 30th June - but I am sure the time will go so quickly between now and then, I have sooo much to keep me busy, work is full on! But it is making the time go faster. If I was at home I would probably be counting the days or something - not that it would be a bad thing - bliss in fact! I am just looking on the positive side of having to be at work!
I have been getting some humungous kicks from Elise over the last week - so much so that you can actually see bits of my stomach move - it is soo freaky!! but cool!
melbryan
28-03-2006, 06:29 PM
I can't wait till I start maternity leave. I am exhausted now but have school hols at Easter. Don't feel I can last 9 weeks after this. We are having our 5th wedding anniversary on May30, 1 month early but hopefully I won't be too huge for that.
Littlepickle how do you get through to June thirty I and so stuffed now!!!!
neneales
28-03-2006, 09:56 PM
Hey Girlys!!
How are we all? Me great that i finally know what bubby is I can stop saying it and say she!!
Adele- CONGRADULATIONS :smiliedance: We are having girls YAY!! Skyla is a pretty name, are u guys going to have a middle name? AWWW arent u sweet worrying about me but all is cool thanks! I think I should let u know the day before my man comes home so if Im not online that week u know why!!LOL!! Oh and good on u for still having a libido god man it takes me all arvo to crank myself up to get in the mood for "IT" that night!!! Mind u though I have two crazy women to chase around all day and our night doesnt start till about 8:30pm so energy is always on the low side!!!
LP- Thanks for the congrads! Isnt it so cool how there is so many girls YEAH girl power we definetly need more women in this world!!!
OH and we have thought of a name dont know how we are gonna spell it yet but its Alisha! I want a middle name but havent thought of that yet so if anyone has any suggests on how to spell Alisha and any middle names to go with it would love to hear them!!!
Hope everyone is feeling really well!! :kiss:
neneales
28-03-2006, 10:16 PM
Hey again well I thought i would do a seperate post so I can reply to everyone seeming as I have been off the Bubhub planet!!LOL!!
My3sons- Thanks babe yeah sorry havent been on but DF got home for his week off ( he works away) so the rest of the world is forgotten and he is mine for the whole week!!! Well shared for the week the girls smother him too!!! So how are u going? Hope all is well!!!
Littlejoy- THANK U!!!
Shed- Thank u for the congrads!!! It must be tough on u moving slowly from one house to the other! I bet u just want to be settled. AWWW thats so cute isnt it funny how they can frustrate u to the max then woo u the next!!!
Uniquey- Cheers babe, hell yeah Im so relieved that all is well and I have the choice this time whether or not to have a c-section or deliver normally!! Im a bit scared though cause I have done some research on VBAC ( vaginal birth after c- section) and there is a few risks with it and the major one is my uterus rupturing which can then cause heaps of problems. So havent quite made up my mind yet about it but am going to chat with my DR's at the hospy and my GP and just get more informed hopefully that wil give me some more confidence to go ahead with the VBAC!!!
missie_mack
29-03-2006, 07:10 AM
Quick question Ive noticed some posts on maternity leave and was curious when everyone is planning to start theres?? Im like Melbryan and already exhausted most of the time and Ive still got 5ish months before I can evict my tenant (ie give birth)
raffee
29-03-2006, 07:27 AM
I know I dont post often but I pop on here daily to get all your updates! Its good to see you and bubs are doing well... also great that most of you know what you're having (apart from a very disciplined few!!!!). I will be having my U/S on friday so I will finally know if my instincts are right again (still thinking girl)....I even bought two new baby girl outfits in the myer sale- I just couldn't resist!
Miss-mack, with regards to maternity leave, my personal advice is try to stay at work for as long as possible, because the minute you leave every day will feel like a week- time will come to a halt and you'll be wishing you had more to do to make it pass... I went on maternity leave 5 weeks before my EDD and it felt like 5 years. The first week was great- caught up on my sleep and shopping etc but from then on it was hellish. Plus, the later you take it the more time you can have with bub later!!!
Anyways, hope you all are having a great week, and I will be back to report on my U/S results in a couple of days.
Cheerio...
My contract finishes on 30th June so that's when I start my maternity leave. It was a complete fluke as I wasn't pregnant when I got this job and its actually to cover maternity leave for a girl who went off to have a baby. She left in her 33rd or 34th week and she was MORE than ready to go.
So my boss has been around pregnant women almost constantly for the past 3 years because he and his wife have two little girls aged 3 yrs and 15 months. The poor guy!!
I am having trouble getting out of bed in the mornings and I go to bed pretty early at night, but DP comes to bed quite late which wakes me up. We are still getting used to living together, but its going all right so far. No major dramas. He says I use too much toilet paper and dental floss and I say if that's the biggest problem in his life then he's doing allright ay? The toilet paper and dental floss are half mine anyway and I will use as much as I want to!! What an old woman he is.
We've both been flatting with other people for years so we are pretty used to working in together. Although I haven't shared a room since I was about 5. When his flatmates **** off I will set up another bedroom to go and make a mess in if I want, with my sewing machine and paints and books etc.
I haven't felt bubby kick or anything. Anything!! I know he's in there jiving away because I saw him, but there's this big cushiony placenta in the way. Should be in the next couple of weeks though. I can't wait!!
We are going to paint his room soon. Might do it in a beige and cream sort of thing because we have seen a jungle cot quilt set that we both like with those colours. Dunno.
littlepickle
29-03-2006, 08:04 AM
Melbryan, i know exactly what you mean about feeling tired.. most days, the last thing that I want to do in the morning is go to work. I have found that it is much harder to wake up in the morning these days. Like Shed, I go to bed pretty early and am still tired in the morning! Hmmm... 30th June seems like such a long time away but the way I look at it is that I will get an extra 3 or 4 months pay which can be used to buy some really nice stuff for bub as well as give me lots of spending money for later on when I am not working. It also keeps me more focused on something else other than bub. If I wasnt working I would probably be obsessing :-)
Shed, I think a lot of contractors get paid for time taken off for Dr's appointments but it sort of depends on the individual contract. I have been contracting for the same company for 2 years and get paid for sick leave, appointments and also get 5 weeks paid holiday a year as well as super. I also get up to 52 weeks maternity leave so I am for all intents and purposes a permanent employee. I think if your contract extends beyond a year you are enntitled to "full time" benefits
In regards to when to start maternity leave, I guess this is a personal choice and also depends on how you are feeling. I say I am staying at work until 30th June but that all depends on how I feel in the next few months I guess. Also some employers like you to start maternity leave a month before your due date incase you have the baby in the office - that terrifies them particularly if it is a "male" sort of office!!! lol!
littlejoy
29-03-2006, 08:19 AM
:sleeping: I can't believe how tired I am I really feel like I could fall asleep at my desk!!!!!! :sleeping: Bring maternity leave on now!!!!!!
Goodluck with your scan raffee!!
Where is this surge of energy and second trimester glow I heard so much about when I was suffering through the FIRST trimester?
Its a scam. There IS no surge or glow is there???
The ole carrot and stick trick, and we fell for it ladies.
*Country Bumpkin*
29-03-2006, 10:08 AM
Helllooo All!!
Well I cant comment on maternity leave- I took mine before I was even pregnant LOL!! Ie I uit my job- was going back to work in January but umm that didnt happen......
Im keeping prety busy at the moment...... doing alot of cleaning...I seem to have an abundance of energy lately. So it seems to be only me whos experiancing this...I dunno whats going on with the rest of ya!
Well I meet my Midwife Marion this arvi at 5.30pm so I get to see the birthing centre for the first time!! Exciting....I get to see where I will give birth to my beautiful little girl!! Ohh I cant WAIT to go into labour- unless im in public of course:eek: ......
Well Skyla has been soooo active(sorry Shed) she is doing sumersaults in there I sware!! This morning the sweetest thing happened- DP was off to work and came in to give me the usual good by hug and kiss and he kissed my belly and said good by to Skyla- she woke up and started kicking!!! She must no her Daddy!!! I just lay there smiling!:D <------- that was my face!!
Your face was green? :laughing:
kacey
29-03-2006, 10:43 AM
Yeah, and she needs some serious dental surgery! Man, those chompers are huge! :laughing:
*Country Bumpkin*
29-03-2006, 10:47 AM
Yeeah yeahhh laugh it up....your all just jealous!:laughing:
I just found this thread and wanted to be added to the August list. I am due 1st August.
I have been reading through the whole thread and laughing at the symptoms being described because it makes me realise I am absolutely on track with my boobs, my morning sickness and my cravings (not for coriander though, for Chocolate Quik).
As far as the intuition of what gender the baby is, I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that it is a boy. I am one hundred percent sure and will be absolutely gobsmacked if its a girl.
I went to bought one of my workshirts on this morning and it was too tight. I am only 10 weeks!! At this rate I will be in the preggy clothes very soon. I wanted to have one of those glamorous pregnancies where you wear the jeans and the little tops to cover the bump, but I think I am going to be one of the whale-women.
Oh well.
I just found my very first post!! You guys had been going for ages before I found bubhub!! I read through most of the thread, we were all asking each other about sickness, about nuchal scans, about when we will start to show, etc etc etc. A few dropped off along the way with sad news and a few have just disappeared.
We have come so far!!
*Country Bumpkin*
29-03-2006, 02:57 PM
Ahh yes......
We all have come a long way!! Amazing how were all so close to having our babies- it has gone soooo quickly!!! I cant believe it!
HORRRAY FOR US :smiliedance:
I will be 19 weeks this week- Im so close to the half way mark!! I just cant believe that Im actually pregnant!!!