View Full Version : Thought I'd make the place more homely
Pages :
[
14]
mama anne
13-08-2006, 05:31 PM
afternoon all :)
ah, i wish we were all at the stage where we could talk about our births ... soon :fingerscrossed:
OK, maybe I'm being a little unrealistic hoping that I'll have a big sneeze in the shower, bub will just pop out looking perfect, I'll dry off and we'll all live happily ever after
hey, that's what i'm hoping as well ...... for at least the first part.
my birth dream is wake up, have a shower, whilst in the shower have the show, turn the shower off but not step out yet, waters break, contractions start whilst still in the shower washing off the waters ........ and then labour at home for maybe half a day, go to hospy .... have a baby.
none of this "is it my waters?" ****
every time I sneeze lately, I wriggle around a little to see if my waters have broken.
same, except .... every time i sneeze, cough, stand up, sit down, walk, lie down, do anything ....
ah well. perhaps i should have another milo
missie_mack
13-08-2006, 06:43 PM
Wow August seems to be the month of beautiful babies!!
Im still praying that my water breaks while Im in the bath too :fingerscrossed: For the last two days Ive had lots of wriggles and cramps alllll day long. But still no baby. Last night I decided to have hot food. Cause I dont eat curry I thought I would have a yummy salsa. Bad move... It has had me ill all night and most of today. I dont think I will want to eat salsa for a long time now....
I had a lovely day today. We went and seen Cirque Du Soleil at Fox Studios- which was spectacular. Had a look at some shops and the markets. The only thing was I had to get out of bed early which Im not good at so by 3 it was like I was suffering jetlag and couldnt keep my eyes open any longer :sleeping: Sad huh.... Anyhow it seems that all bad luck is on its way out the door the boat sold today and we have extra cash and DH is back in paid work this week. So if anyone could give the bubba a ah-em it would be nice......
BTW Im beginning to think all the Mummas who have their bubbas are starting to rub it in :p The thread has gone a little quiet since all these babies came along and theres nothing much to save me from the mental instability of daytime TV!!
Congrats to all the newest Mums and fingers crossed for Noosamum :fingerscrossed:
wattle
13-08-2006, 08:29 PM
Don't worry missie mack, we're just being the patient ones..... a good attribute to have as a mother.
Maybe we should all have a big cough and sneeze at the same time hehehehe, all together now "cough cough cough, atishooooooooo" hmmmm, not working.
Anyone got a spare pogo stick?
Beany
13-08-2006, 09:06 PM
Maybe we should all have a big cough and sneeze at the same time hehehehe, all together now "cough cough cough, atishooooooooo" hmmmm, not working.
I suspect we all would indeed have wet knickers if we did that.
Unfortunately, I don't think it would be from our waters breaking ...
Fairyfloss
13-08-2006, 11:48 PM
Congratulations Monique and Scott! And hello little Avalon
Congratulations Tash and Damien ! And hello little Chloe Jade
Raffee thanks for the list it looks great
To everyone else hope you are all coping well with your new bubbas or waiting for your new bubbas. Can't wait to hear all about your birth stories.
BTW Im beginning to think all the Mummas who have their bubbas are starting to rub it in :p The thread has gone a little quiet since all these babies came along and theres nothing much to save me from the mental instability of daytime TV!!
Enjoy your TV and Sleep while you can, I am yet to feel like a human being, since giving birth. It takes me an hour and a half to feed the baby then another half an hour to change her, by the time I am done and she is put down to sleep it is time for her next round of feed (she feeds every three hours, cause she is so tiny). I will be lucky to grab a bite to eat, or just breath before she wakes up again. I so wish I was still preggy (Ok end of windging:o , I shouldbe fine in 6 weeks time:fingerscrossed: )
Rest up and enjoy your pregnancy while you can:hugs:
Beany
14-08-2006, 12:05 AM
What strange thoughts I have at midnight.
I have a question for the already-mums. It's poo related (isn't everything? :D ).
When you are in established labour with contractions and pain and the whole nine yards, did you need to empty your bowels? Would the pushing required for that effect the baby and the labour?
trece
14-08-2006, 08:17 AM
Beany With my 1st labour it just happened when I was pushing bubs out- I didn't even realise. I said to DH after, I think I might have pooed, and he said yep, but they cleaned it up straight away. I was mortified, but then realised I had no control and i'm sure the midis have seen it a billion times before. It all happened before bubs crowned, so they was no need to worry.
Hope that helps!
Beany, when I hopped up and realised my waters had broken I did a huge poo then. This is extremely common (good old mother nature).
I KNEW I hadn't poo'd during the pushing stage because of that!! I wasn't worried about it anyway but it was a bonus! Your body will expel anything in the way, and anything in the colon is definitely in the way.
Parisa, next to your avatar you have written "8 weeks old". I think you mean "8 days old".
Baden is two weeks old today.
He is squawking so I better go. He's getting FURIOUS!!
*Country Bumpkin*
14-08-2006, 01:04 PM
:wave: So did ya miss me???
Well as you can all see Im back.. and no- still no Skyla (never thougth Id say this but Im GLAD she isnt here just yet lol)
Well the move went well... we only had ONE breakage which just happened to be my fault:rolleyes: and it wasnt anything of huge importance anyway.....
We have finished moving in now... and all we have to do at the old place is mow the yard and mop and its all done :smiliedance:
Now to go and unpack the new house... kind of difficult when I can lift anything heavy......
I met one of our neighbours today... ended up talking to him for an hour and a half!!! I couldnt get away from him.... got his WHOLE life story and his girlfriends also... hes very nice though lol
Congrats to Tash and Monique!!!
DP is working tonight.. but as its a public holiday here in the Pine Rivers reigion of brisi he gets double time and then cause he works wednesday night and its the brisbane city council public holiday he gets double time then too!! WOOOOO HOOO we can now pay our bills lol
Ok well Im off now to unpack..... better get started onthe nursery I suppose...
Take care all!!
hello everyone-
ive only posted here once a while back i think but always reading to see how other mums due in august are going... im the 28th and i want her here now, i thought she was coming last night but no false alarm. im so over them, anyways jus wishing all the august mummies all the best and i'll reading this thread to see whats happeening !
littlepickle
14-08-2006, 04:45 PM
:smiliedance: Congratulations Monique and Scott on the birh of little Avalon! What a beautiful name! Looking forward to hearing about your birth and seeing some piccies of little Avalon! ps. What a lovely message scott wrote!!
Tash and Damien - Congratulations on the birth of your little bub! What a lovely photo!
I have finally got around to writing my birth story! (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=34582)
Adele - Glad to hear that your move went ok and that Skyla held off her arrival for a while for you! How are you feeling now? I hope you are not picking up heavy boxes:no:
Beany - In answer to your question about labour and poo. Well, I was induced but still had the urge to go to the toilet not long after my waters were broken, and didnt do anything embarassing during the birth ... unless of course they were lying and trying to make me feel better when I asked them:eek:
Beany
14-08-2006, 08:02 PM
Oh I'm not particularly fussed about pooing on the labour bed, to be honest - if it happens, it happens.
I was just wondering about what happens if the urge to poo hits earlier on, like during the first stage of active labour and whether the pushing required for pooing would put too much pressure on the uterus or something ...
mama anne
14-08-2006, 08:19 PM
evening all :)
hope we're all going well
i'm doin ok
thought labour was starting last night
woke up today feeling like an idiot
we went out for tea tonight
i felt sick (like i was going to vomit) and was in pain coz of bubs moving and pushing out on my belly/pelvis shocks so i ate half my meal and we left ..........
and now am at home complaining to you all!
have a hospy check tomorrow ..... maybe i'll go into labour tonight and not have to go wait in the waiting room but instead go straight to delivery suite :)
or maybe i won't and instead will complain to my ob and feel like a stupid pregnant woman ......
argh
someone slap me or something! i think i need a milo ....
raffee
14-08-2006, 08:41 PM
:hugs: mama anne... lots of hugs your way hun. A milo and a warm bath should do the trick. I've been really down these last few days too...my husband is starting to doubt that I am pregnant. He thinks I might be tricking him. For what its worth I think you'll be in labour before I am. I seriously think I will be the last August mum to give birth. Even some of the september mums are talking about losing their plug and starting labour!!!! Its just not fair.
Beany, I sense you're just about as fed up as we are. Lots of hugs your way too hun. I think we need some more news from our missing August mummies to cheer us up- where are you readytopush, jane&scarlett, noosamum....
Adele- glad the move went well for you- hopefully you will have Skyla in your arms in no time at all now.
My3sons and shed, your bubbas are so adorable. I want one of those.
I think I'll be doing more observing than posting from now on, until such time as labour hits.
Nighty night fellow Augustians.
Beany, it would be a different sensation at that point. The pooing during the pushing is actually caused by the baby pushing its way past the colon and squashing whatever is in there downwards due to lack of room. Its a different pushing sensation if you are actually trying to poo I think.
I think I wee'd a bit on the labour bed. Not really sure and didn't care then and don't care now :laughing:
Beany
14-08-2006, 09:55 PM
Raffee: you sensed right - I am fed up :mad:
My uterus has been a tight ball all day, started hurting this afternoon just from the constant tension, I think. Getting sharp lower abdominal pains that take my breath away from time to time. Sciatica is playing up something rotten, too. *sigh*
My in-laws are only away for another 3 days ... I really want this baby out before they return - I don't think I can handle them and hospitalisation at the same time.
*poke*
GET OUT OF THERE!!!
Why won't it listen to me?! *sob*
shed: thank you for the poo information! Should the situation arise, I shall ensure I don't hold it in, then.
(honestly, the things I type these days ... )
mama anne
14-08-2006, 09:56 PM
Even some of the september mums are talking about losing their plug and starting labour!!!! Its just not fair.
yeah i'm wishing i hadnt read that at this point .... :thumbsdown:
hey adele yay for you being in your new house :) have fun setting up the nursery also
Fairyfloss
14-08-2006, 11:19 PM
Beany
I shall ensure I don't hold it in, then.
I dno't think you can, You will have minimum to no control over the pushing feeling, good to know ahead of time though.
Sorry about your pain, sending lots of good vibes and cyber hugs :hugs: your way hope bub arrives before your inlaws.
raffee hope things start to roll on soon for you hun.
mama anne good luck with the apppointment today.
little pickle loved your birth stroy well done.
shed Thanks for the reminder, the minus 8 was refering to the U/s pic which was the previuos avatar. Placenta brain, is still at work in here :D I hope Baden is calming down:hugs:
Adele Yay for finding a new home so soon, hope you have better luck in this house
wonder how noosamum's appoitment was today.
Good luck to every oneelse still waiting, :hugs:
wattle
15-08-2006, 03:43 AM
Raffee, Beany, mamaanne maybe we should run odds on who's going to be the LAST to deliver in August! I mean seriously, how much longer do we have to sit here tapping our toes/fingers/tummies? Well all I can say is thank goodness for Milo. :D
I reckon my little bub wants to be a virgo, so she's patiently waiting. Then once she's born she'll be a quiet little angel for me all the time (so at least I'll have some energy to cope with her crazy older brother. hehe)
For those of you who have already had your bubs, here's a cute astrology page http://www.heavenschild.com.au/baby_2006.html
raffee
15-08-2006, 06:30 AM
Morning ladies
Thanks for the link wattle. That's a very sweet avatar by the way... wish hubby remembered to take more piccies of me- I've got a total of three pictures of this pregancy, all at about 36 weeks. I'm up for the last August baby comp! I think my lil one is holding out to being a virgo too, like its mummy (my birthday is the 2nd of September).
Beany and mama anne, sending you all the labour vibes I can. Beany I really really hope you have your bubba before your in-laws return. Do you have a cooperative doctor? Maybe you can get your membranes swept.
Parisa- thanks for the well-wishes.
Today is looking uneventful yet again. I so dread the school drop-off and pick-ups. I think I would be coping far better did I not have to face those women day in day out.:banghead:
See ya all later!
ourbump
15-08-2006, 09:09 AM
I think I will be close to the last one giving birth in August, if not the last!! I still feel miles off as I have not lost any plug, had any show or anything. I must say though I just had a major case of diarrhoea where I had to run to the toilet, ( made it in time ), thought you'd all like to know that.
I thought I had some period like pains this morning but after my dash to the toilet I have decided it was pains of another sort..
My Mum and Step father are still away and don't get back until Friday. The pregnancy expo is on this weekend which I really want to go to. Lastly my DH's work have organised for all regional managers from other states to fly to Perth for their meeting next Monday and Tuesday so that he can attend, as they all think I will be late as well... So I guess the stars are aligned I will not give birth before my due date this Sunday.
We have an appointment tomorrow ( actually it is the last one with my OB as she starts her holidays on the weekend, after that I get to meet another OB before my impending birth!) Hopefully the baby will at least be engaged this week :fingerscrossed:
Must go, have my morning tea at the hospital with the other Mums to be and I love it so don't want to be late.
So add me to that list of late birthers for August ladies!!
mama anne
15-08-2006, 09:44 AM
morning all :)
well i don't exactly WANT to be in the whose-baby-will-come-last competition but perhaps i should be ...... my baby is STILL 3/5 engaged (same for the last 3 weeks) and the obs say halfheartedly to me "see you next week unless you're in labour by then" .... but i know its only to make me feel better :o
hospy appointment was ok today. nothing new. they really should hand out chocolate (or at least milo!) to people over 38 weeks when they have their appointments, that way if you don't get the news you want at least you have a little treat to make you feel better.
raffee
Today is looking uneventful yet again. I so dread the school drop-off and pick-ups. I think I would be coping far better did I not have to face those women day in day out
i am actually starting to avoid people ..... and not want to answer the phone .... that way i don't have to have the same conversation with everyone ..... it's easier just to stay home and be a hermit! hope all the other ladies are late/early today so you don't have to see them!
ourbump enjoy your morning tea! that sounds like fun
beany sending hugs your way, not that a hug helps... but i'm keeping all the labour vibes for myself! (nah not really)
well, off to keep myself busy so the day flies by then it's bedtime then i will be one day closer to holding my bub ....
wattle
15-08-2006, 11:22 AM
Hey Raffee - my birthday is 2nd September too! And dh is on 3rd September! It sure will be virgoville around here if dd waits much longer. Actually I don't have too many photos of this pregnancy (dh is not much of a photographer, he just gives me that 'here we go again' look when I give him the camera...and they mostly turn out all fuzzy hehe). I took a couple of nice subtle nude ones at around 6 months, just silhouettes, but thought it might be good to have a few with clothes on as I'm really not an exhibitionist at all.
Just had a nasty bout of pain and thought - yay here we go..... but alas no. Just the constipation pain. Booo Hissssssssss. :mad: I drink about 10 litres of water a day, it must be the silly old gestational diabetes plus the fact that my poor old bowels are majorly squashed right now. Oh the joys of it all. :laughing:
So how are all the new mums enjoying motherhood? Is it how you thought it would be? Are you so exhausted you can't think? Or are you out shopping with bub in a sling and busy organising a hiking holiday? Is anyone having trouble breastfeeding? I found it very difficult last time and am wondering how things will pan out this time.
Beany
15-08-2006, 12:14 PM
Wattle: Nevermind September, I'm beginning to think this baby won't make an appearance until Christmas. Get its pressies, eat a bit of turkey and then it'll probably spelunk back into place ...
Hey, if your new little baby isn't as quiet as you want her to be, perhaps you can put her "crazy older brother" in the same bedroom as her. Sleepless nights will soon turn him into an extra from The Land of the Living Dead. Zombies can keep up with zombies :D
raff: I have a co-operative doc but unfortunately for me, my next appointment is on Thursday afternoon. The dreaded in-laws land in the morning. Boooooo!!
ourbump: don't fret about the lack of plug on your knickers :p I lost mine. Repeatedly. Great big lumps of the stuff. But it just regenerates and comes away again. Perhaps it needs to be bloody to mean anything ...
And I had diarrhea all last week. Still no baby. Bit of a sore bottom, though.
Hope the morning tea was great!
Anne: You vibe hog you! I wonder if it would even be possible for us to hug, tummies and all. We'd probably just end up reaching over as far as possible and patting each other on the forehead or something.
As for me ... had a very sore and restless night last night. Woke up every half an hour for the first part with cramping pains in the lower abdomen and accompanying back pain. It teetered off towards dawn when I woke up only every hour or so.
I just feel really *heavy* today.
Oh and hello again hemmies! :wave: :gloomy:
So how are all the new mums enjoying motherhood? Is it how you thought it would be? Are you so exhausted you can't think? Or are you out shopping with bub in a sling and busy organising a hiking holiday? Is anyone having trouble breastfeeding? I found it very difficult last time and am wondering how things will pan out this time.
Oooh, this is me!! I have been sitting here patiently waiting for you lot, not wanting to say much about mummyland yet because I don't want to upset you preggy types.
But since you asked...LOL.
I love it. Its easy. Breastfeeding is going well - I prepared with Lansinoh for the last couple of months of pregnancy (highly recommended - I haven't had ANY trouble).
I am not exhausted, I feel fine and have been told constantly that I look great, I'm glowing etc. I had prepared for some tough times but they haven't arrived.
I have figured out how to breastfeed while lying down and last night bubby slept next to me and as soon as he snuffled I would put the boob in his mouth and he would feed and then nod off again. DP didn't get woken up at all.
Bubby is a very good baby and he is of course very very cute. I didn't get the baby blues at all which I think is because my pregnancy and labour was so good. And of course I have fantastic support which makes a huge difference.
And yes, I did have bubby in his sling the other day :D , but I haven't been out shopping on my own yet. I want to take bubby to get some Pixifotos done soon so that will be our first outing without DP. We walked to the shop the other day in the stroller, bubby just nodded off.
lou81
15-08-2006, 12:58 PM
I found it very difficult last time and am wondering how things will pan out this time.
Hi Wattle, with DD I had real truble to in the first couple of weeks breastfeeding. I had engorgement and mastitis and it hurt heaps when she would latch on. Leading up to DS being born I was more scared of breastfeeding again then the actual labour. It turns out I had maybe 2 days when my milk was coming in that my boobs hurt and then they settled down. Its been fabulous, no mastitis, no engorgement and I am really enjoying feeding my little man. I hope this gives you some reassurance that hopefully it wont be as bad this time around.
Hows everyone else going, anymore bubs this week???
Hope everyone is well and having a lovely day
LOL
littlejoy
15-08-2006, 02:28 PM
Good afternoon all....
It is still early days yet we could have another 2 weeks before all the bubs come so we all need to grin and bare it for a little while longer yet!! and besides at least they are quiet where they are!!!:yes:
I am due on Friday and have not had any signs of labour so I think I am a long way off so I am just making the most of the me time and the us time with DH as it will never be the same again!!
I hope everyone remains as comfortable as possible!! Take care!!!
Renee
Beany
15-08-2006, 02:37 PM
There seems to be an awful lot of pressure on my bottom today ... I keep trying to find some where or some way to sit to alleviate it but it remains ...
Not amused. :(
littlepickle
15-08-2006, 02:45 PM
Originally Posted by wattle
All going well here too - DD is lovely, very calm and contented. I didnt have any baby blues either except for the fac that I wanted to stay in hospital - I liked having food brought to me etc hehehe.. DD took to the boob really easily and I havent had any problems with nipples being sore either, the feeling did take a bit of time to get used to - breastfeeding that is!
I think the scariest thing for me when I bought her home was the first bath - I was so worried that I was going to do it wrong, but it all went well, we have been out for lots of trips both in the sling and with the pram, in fact we go out for a walk every day, either into town of along the riverfront. DD loves it! I have lost my stomach totally now, its wierd to have a flat stomach again! I still have a bit of pg weight to lose around my thighs but I guess that will go soon enough, I am not worried.
So all n'all, I am loving being a mummy, I kinda miss my sleep-ins, and think it is a real injustice that the final chance for a good sleep-in is lost given the fact that we were all pregnant and uncomfortable at the time and couldnt appreciate it! SO for those of you still waiting, try to have a girly night of a nice bath and sleep-in with a good book - might be your last chance for a while!!
Confession: bubby didn't get a bath till he was three days old because DP and I were too chickensh*t to do it!!!
I tried to bribe my cousin to do it when she visited but she said it was too special. DP tried to bribe his mum but she said it had been too long and she couldn't remember.
Beany
15-08-2006, 03:08 PM
That's one of the things I'm most looking forward to - the bathing of the baby.
I'm not entirely sure why ...
What scares me already, even though it's not even here yet, is the prospect of anyone else picking it up or taking it for a walk or something.
I thought I would be too scared to let anyone hold him but I'm not.
Bubby has had a bath with me and a shower with me so far. We're old hands at it now. He LOVES the bath, he totally blisses out in the bath and the shower. Yesterday he was squawking in protest about having his clothes removed and then I put him in the bath and it was instant silence.
littlepickle
15-08-2006, 03:43 PM
I havent tried a co-bath yet.. good idea though! Do you just take him in with you, or does dh hand him to you when you are in the bath? I may try that myself later when dh gets home, see wha she thinks of it!
DP hands him to me when i am already in there. Same deal with the shower. You have to try the shower, bubby LOVES it. The look on his face was priceless. It was so beautiful.
I love a hot hot shower so I just turned the heat down a little bit, but the bath was at the usual temp.
raffee
15-08-2006, 05:38 PM
Sounds like you mums are all doing great! That's so cool- I remember me as a first-timer- had loads of issues and quickly slipped into postnatal depression. I suppose it was a combination of being really young, having a traumatising birth and being completely unsupported and isolated. But those days are gone!!! I'm really looking forward to bub no.5 and I've got hubby at home at the moment to enjoy the first few weeks/months with me.
Beany, I had that pressure in the backside for a while- I think it must have been the position bub was in, but it soon subsided. Hopefully yours will too. Have you been using the evening primrose oil capsules? I found some stashed in my pantry but they've expired- don't know whether to take them or not. I really don't want to forking out $25 for a remedy that might not even work. I did however buy another pineapple and had a hot thai curry for lunch- nothing happening yet, but I've yet to eat the pineapple so :fingerscrossed: something eventuates as a result.
Wattle, what a coinkidinky! Both on the 2nd eh?! :D I've never met anyone with my birthday and only know a handful of virgos so its nice to meet someone with my bday. Let's just hope our bubs don't hold on til then:eek: .
mama anne, littlejoy, ourbump:wave: . Sending lots of labour vibes your way (even if you are a vibe hog anne!)
Well, DH and I are off to a birthday dinner for one of our friends. Better go and get ready!! I can barely fit into my maternity clothes so I really don't know what I'm gonna wear. I so can't wait to get my body back!
littlepickle
15-08-2006, 11:17 PM
Thanks Shed, will definitely try the shower with bub. I liked what you wrote about Baden curling into the foetal position when put into the bath .. how cute! ps. Love your avatar! What a cute little man!
16-08-2006, 06:24 AM
. Even some of the september mums are talking about losing their plug and starting labour!!!!
not me raffee:D
im so impatient already i cant imagine how you must feel with the due date so close:smiliedance:
i bet your bub will be here with in the week:D
raffee
16-08-2006, 06:28 AM
i bet your bub will be here with in the week:D
From your mouth to Heaven's door! :D I will quite happily take 'within the week'. I'm even willing to take within the next 10 days. But any later and I might start going mental.
raffee
16-08-2006, 06:36 AM
Ok Im sending a search party for all the MIA Augustians.
Readytopush? Noosamum?? Jane&Scarlett??? Bella8???? Where are you all?! We need some encouraging news to keep us going.
I was wondering, how do all of you sleep at night? This pregnancy Ive not been able to sleep on my back at all- I feel like I'm being suffocated. I HAVE to sleep on my side, which kills the muscles in the pelvic region, but far better than being suffocated. In my last pregnancy I only ever slept on my back, if I tried to sleep on my side I felt like I was gonna roll onto my stomach. Dunno why that is, so I'd be interested to hear how it is for y'all.
Wattle, where are you this morning? I'm so used to waking up to your morning posts. You better not be off having a baby! (just kidding- have all the babies you like. Just get back here with a birth story soon- I'm dying for a little action around here)...
So when are you guys gonna be induced if your bubbas havent arrived by their due dates? Has this been discussed with you at your appointments? Anyone going for another U/S any time soon?
wattle
16-08-2006, 07:00 AM
Morning everyone. Hi Raffee... don't go getting all excited now, I'm not actually due until next Thursday you know.:banghead: AAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh.
I'm going to try reverse psychology now, because willing bub out just isn't working. I think I'll just hope for a virgo instead. :D
Had a few cramps this morning, or were they hunger pains. Oh I just don't know any more. Hmmmmm. Lucky I have a toddler to keep me occupied I guess, although the tantrums are slightly challenging at the moment. :yes:
Yes come back you MIA Augustonians. Where are you all?
raffee
16-08-2006, 08:10 AM
Wattle I just noticed that my youngest son is exactly 3 days older than your son. Born the 11th of January 2005! Wonder if we'll have the same gap between these coming bubs... I'll take the 18th and you can have three days after that!:D You agree?! Excellent! That's settled then.:laughing:
wattle
16-08-2006, 08:31 AM
Yep, Monday works for me. As long as it's not on the weekend. Dh and his rotten football watching addiction :banghead: Last labour he was glued to the tv in the delivery suite watching the cricket!!!!! Lucky I didn't realise or he would have heard all about it!
redbaby
16-08-2006, 10:13 AM
Hi guys! Just thought I would let you know that our beautiful baby boy, Jasper Angus was born last Friday (11th) at 13:06,.... 9 hour (far too long!) drug free labour,.. he weighed in at 3.2Kg,..and we got home yesterday,..... YAY!!!
ourbump
16-08-2006, 10:14 AM
Morning Wattle and Raffee seems like there are only a few of us still waiting desperately now. Well either that or the others have a life!!
Sleeping - I sleep on my side as I find it the most comfortable. A pillow firmly wedged between my legs, don't know how I am going to cope without that when I am not pregnant now :confused: I sleep fine but just wake up about every two hours for the toilet. I seem to get back to sleep alright, but my dreams are still very vivid and weird..
I go back to OB today for my last appointment with her before she goes on her holidays. Hopefully I will find out some more today about inducement dates if bub not here by due date. Or can I go over or can I even think about an inducement given baby might still not be engaged....aaahhh so many questions today but still keeping it together. Getting a little bored at home now, even the daytime soaps are not holding the same drawcard for me as they first did. I am excited that I have some ironing to do today, how sad is that??
ANyway be back later to let you know how I went with Doc.
Hope all new Mums will come back and let us know how they went and the rest of you all very well and rested. :wave:
Yay for Jane!!
CONGRATULATIONS!!
Welcome Jasper!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
wattle
16-08-2006, 10:43 AM
Well done Jane, and welcome to the world Jasper. I'm sure you're glad to be home. What a long labour - looking forward to reading about it. :smiliedance:
Ahem, now I am not one to brag....
BUT...
The community health nurse or whoever the heck she was, just visited us and my boy has put on 350 grams in the last week.
:yes:
In his first week he lost 100g, which is apparently perfectly normal, and since then he has shot back up. She was very pleased and of course I was very pleased since I am breastfeeding and basically flying by the seat of my pants. So its nice to know I am doing it right :D
She was asking me lots of questions and everything is going so well that I sort of felt a bit FAKE!! LOL. Like I was covering for something because all my answers were "oh yes, that's going great" "no, no problems at all" etc etc. I wondered if she was waiting for me to crack, ha ha!!
Labour vibes to all. I actually feel like saying "Come ON!!" but patience is a virtue.
Oh - this morning I got an email from my mother, and it was a forwarded one that she had written and received from my uncle and at the bottom she had written to him "I have attached a pic of Shed's baby - he looks like an eskimo".
(BTW, yes my mother does call me Shed - its my nickname in real life.)
But the thing is, the photo I sent isn't of him "bundled up" like an eskimo or anything like that, so I am wondering what she means. I presume she means his face, coz it was a bit squashed for the first couple of days. I am trying not to be offended. I can't believe my mother said my baby looked like an eskimo. wtf?
wattle
16-08-2006, 10:57 AM
Well done Shed, you must be doing something right!
Re the eskimo comment......wtf? Never mind, mothers have a way of saying the most inappropriate things sometimes. He is absolutely gorgeous.
littlepickle
16-08-2006, 02:09 PM
Congratulations Jane on the arrival of little Jasper Angus!! Yay!!! Wow, I am impressed - 9 hours and drug free! Good on you!! I so admire everyone who has been able to go drug free - I wanted to, but unfortunately that wasnt to be, but hats off to those of you that have achieved it!:yelclap:
Shed, dont worry about the eskimo comment, it was said that dd looked like the litle baby in "ice age" when she was born!! I think its just coz bubs looks all cute and squashed up.. and if they have dark hair, they look even more eskimo like! I think your little man is just adorable, and definitely doesnt look like an eskimo. Isnt it amazing how much they change from day to day though, I was looking back through the photos of dd and she has changed so much since she was born. You have one very handsome little guy there!
Has anyone hard from Adele? I dreamed last night tha she had her bub!!
mama anne
16-08-2006, 02:11 PM
afternoon ladies, hope we are all well and happy
beany
Wondermum: if you go into labour before me, mama anne, wattle or raffee, you'll be really really sorry ...
We'll hunt you down, I tell you. The results won't be pretty.
Signed,
The Pregnant and Frustrated from the August Droppers Thread.
you just gave me the best laugh, jolted me out of feeling sorry for myself actually :yelclap:
i had a little cry with dh because the bub isn't out yet and i'm sick of people asking me ..... do i look like i've friggin had the baby???
but the threat of random violence has put a smile back on my face!
raffee the whole sleeping/not sleeping thing has been different throughout the last few months for me .... i'd say i sleep better now than a month ago actually, now that bubs has less room to move. i'm a side-sleeper, but i have to say my pelvic region muscles are dying as well! it feels like i've stretched muscles either side of where bubs head is ... just when i roll over or if i move too fast whilst lying down. the rolling onto stomach thing - i've been kindof getting that! not sure why .... it's not like its even possible .... i wake up in weird positions these days.
and induction - they've told me they won't let me go over 41 weeks (cause of gd) but i don't know if thats 41 wks 0 days or 41wks 6days. very frustrating. i'm due next monday and tuesday is my next appointment so i'm sure i'll be asking then!!!
jane&scarlettcongratulations on the birth of jasper can't wait to hear all about your little man
ourbump i've been getting into queereyeforthestraightguy in the last few days. my tv schedule is queer eye or dr phil, then oprah, then readysteadycook in the background whilst bubhubbing/cleaning if i can be bothered/cooking/making nappies, then entertainment tonight .... and thats it for daytime tv for me.
shed congrats on having a growing bubba :) thats seriously great that u are enjoying motherhood so much. the eskimo comment - thats weird ...... was he wearing a fur-lined coat and clubbing a baby seal? if not i'd be asking for an explaination personally ....
well there's no real update on me. nothing new .... just waiting. But for me, i'm really enjoying hearing about your motherhood experiences the mums who have had their bubs ..... yes it does make me jealous but thats ok, i know in my heart that this baby has to come out eventually and i will join your ranks
LABOUR VIBES TO ALL (sory for being a vibe-hog before ..... one day i'll grow up and learn to share all the time instead of some of the time)
Beany
16-08-2006, 02:18 PM
Congratulations Jane&Scarlett&Jasper!
shed: Eskimo?! What an utterly bizarre thing to say!
I drove my older siblings to distraction calling their children "ET" for the first few days (all wrinkly, big-eyed and alien looking as they were). But that's sort of understandable. Eskimo is just out there ...
mama anne
16-08-2006, 02:44 PM
reading back over the thread again .....
bathing bubs i so completely cannot WAIT. also can't wait to have a bath with the bub or shower ..... it's funny what you look forward to
someone else taking bub for a walk i think i will be quite a posessive mum .... maybe you get over it in the first few days or weeks or something ... but the thought of someone else (other than dh) taking bub ANYWHERE even in hospital does freak me out.
ourbump
16-08-2006, 05:19 PM
Jane - Congratulations on the birth of Jasper. Look forward to reading your birth story
I am a bit too sad for personals this afternoon. Have just gotten back from Ob and yes baby is still not engaged. I now have to get my head around the fact that I will more than likely have to have a C-section. I know that many people have them and that at the end of the day I will have a bub and that is what is important, but right now I just feel like I am going to be cheated of the whole birthing experience.
Sorry to be so melodramatic but I think I need to just get my head around it.
wattle
16-08-2006, 05:27 PM
Oh dear ourbump, what a shame. Take your time dealing with it, I know I'd feel exactly the same too. Of course we all want what's best for our bubs, but it's hard when you go through all those months of planning a natural delivery.
We're all here any time you want to share how you're feeling. I guess the good thing is that as soon as you meet your little one you'll be so much in love that nothing else in the world will matter. :)
Beany
16-08-2006, 05:28 PM
Awww ourbump :hugs:
Don't look at it as being cheated out of anything - just a different experience than that which you expected. And hey, there's always next time, right?
At least you have a chance to get your head around it and have an experience that you can at least be satisfied with - pick your choice of anaesthesia, who you want in the room, who you want to hold the baby, where you want the baby while you recover and so forth.
I'm sorry you're feeling down - do the mama anne home brewed depression cure: Hot milo and a warm bath.
raffee
16-08-2006, 06:12 PM
Hi guys! Just thought I would let you know that our beautiful baby boy, Jasper Angus was born last Friday (11th) at 13:06,.... 9 hour (far too long!) drug free labour,.. he weighed in at 3.2Kg,..and we got home yesterday,..... YAY!!!
Congrats to Jane on the birth of baby Jasper!!!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Looking forward to your birth story and piccies of your lil one!:D
raffee
16-08-2006, 06:33 PM
Ourbump, :hugs: I'm sorry your appointment didn't go as planned and I know there's nothing that can take away the disappointment of not getting the birth you'd anticipated, but like the others have said, the important thing is the result and that is that you're gonna have your lil bubba in your arms, the lil bubba that you've so successfully nurtured for the last 10 months!:yes: Of course you're allowed and encouraged to talk about it here all you like- we are here to listen, comfort and provide all moral support you need.
Shed, some people can be so insensitive sometimes. :mad: For the record your bubba is one the cutest newborns I've seen (I'm not a huge fans of newborns ordinarily) but seriously he is too cute for words hun. And well done on the 350g in a week! That is phenomenal and you should be so proud of yourself.
Mama anne, Sorry you're feeling so down. I know exactly what you mean by not wanting to see people- its not like we have a say over when our bubbas come for crying out loud?! If I hear "oh you still haven't had the baby?!" one more time, I think I'm gonna punch someone. Maybe you could change your answering machine message to something along the lines of "sorry I'm unavailable to take your call right now, but I'll be sure to get back to you when bubba arrives- until then, let a pregnant woman be please!":thumbsup:
mama anne
16-08-2006, 08:29 PM
ourbump :hugs: sending you big hugs, as the other ladies have said, take your time and don't feel the need to be happy or sad or ok .... just think about it and talk about it lots and be whatever you are. the good thing - your bub is still coming out and you will get to hold them in your arms :hugs:
wattle
17-08-2006, 03:50 AM
Really...... I promise...... I wasn't going to post in the middle of the night tonight..... but I woke up from a funny little bzzzt feeling inside and thought my waters had broken. :eek: So I got up and...........nope. :no: Of course I was too hungry to get back to sleep so here I am again girls.
I have an appointment at the birthing centre today. This better be my last one! Well nothing else even a little bit remarkable happening here. Yawn.
my3sons
17-08-2006, 07:43 AM
WHOO HOO.... CONGRATULATIONS JANE, MR. JANE AND SCARLETT ON THE BIRTH OF YOUR LITTLE JASPER!!! Nice work Jane ;) I knew if I popped in this morning there would be some exciting news :smiliedance:
my3sons
17-08-2006, 07:52 AM
Shed - Don't worry about what your mum said - Baden is one handsome little man!
Sorry girls for not joining in lately, I've been totally swamped. Everything is going really, REALLY well with bubs but I keep getting visitors and can't seem to catch up with anything (housework included). :fingerscrossed: I'll get it together in the very near future :eek:
*Country Bumpkin*
17-08-2006, 09:04 AM
:wave: Morning everyone
CONGRATULATIONS JANE!!!
WELCOME TO THE WORLD JASPER
LP- Aww thanks for asking about me... but no- still no baby..... Mind you I am having alot of strange pains and things today so who knows..... Must get the bassinett set up again!!
Well I have been unpacking and putitng things away..... I have to tackle the garage now.. somehow my track pants for the hospy bag have gone missing and I know they are in the garage somewhere its just a matter of finding them now:rolleyes:
I can barely walk today I am so sore in my groin region and my bum I almost cry every time I move.... I wake up like this every day but its particuarly bad today
Im a little worried... Skyla has only moved once today and it was a tiny little movement that I could hardly notice... I hope everything is ok. I had juice and then lay down on my back- normaly she would move but no such luck today.... hmmm shes probably just sleeping.....:confused:
Ok well Im off to do Skylas nursery now- have a good day everyone!!
lou81
17-08-2006, 10:34 AM
CONGRATULATION JANE AND MR JANE ON THE ARRIVAL OF BABY JASPER AND CONGRATS TO SCARLETTE ON BEING A BIG SISTER. HOPE YOU ARE ALL DOING WELL!!!!
Shed - Well done on bubs putting on weight, it is such a great feeling when you know your doing something right. Also dont read into what your mother said, parents can say the most inappropriate things sometimes and not even realise they may offend you. Your little man is just gorgeous!!!!
Ourbump - Chin up everything happens for a reason and hopefully bubs will suprise you at the last minute and engage. If not doesnt matter, your birthing experience will still be special beacuse at the end you will have a perfect little bubba to cuddle.
Adele - Sounds like you are overdoing it a little, take a break girl and rest up you dont want to exhaust yourself in the last couple of weeks. Take it easy!!!!!!
Me - bubs is great and growing everyday, he is such a great feeder I am seriousy impressed!! DD is coping well with her new little bro, We have had a couple of jelous moments where she has played up when I am holding Cooper but nothing to drastic. She will get used to it, just the innitial shock I guess.
Well all hope you are all taking care and labour vibes to all those still waiting!!!
LOL
Louise
mum_I'm_hungry
17-08-2006, 10:51 AM
Hi everyone! Sorry I haven't checked in lately, but I've been busy -- having a baby boy!
Theodore (7lb 4oz) came two weeks early. I started having a few piddly little contractions late Saturday evening, so got my parents over to look after my 2.5 year old and we went into the hospital just to make sure (I gave birth very fast the first time around). I was 3cm dilated when we got to the hospital at about 12.30am, but the contractions kept coming and going and I ended up sleeping through the night in the birthing suite with just a hot pack -- they didn't hurt at all. At 8.30am Sunday morning, the obstetrician arrived, took a look and I'd dilated to 4cm, but he said he 'wasn't sending me home with a cervix like that' (lol!). He broke my waters and whammo -- things really started to happen. The contractions started coming thick and fast then, but I managed to get a nice shot of pethidine and some maxolon in. I can't say the pethidine helped much with the pain, but it did help to keep me warm and relaxed between contractions. In between each one, I just kind of zonked out and lay back with my eyes closed. After two good pushes, Theodore was born at 9.40am. No stitches -- just a few grazes. I got off pretty lightly, I know!!!
Now, a TMI tip for you. If you want to have your baby early, try the sex thing. It works! I started getting those piddly little contractions straight away. I couldn't believe it and waited ages to tell my husband because I knew he wouldn't believe me.
Also, ladies of Brisbane, the rumours are true. I'd heard these rumours about this 'room' at the Wesley. I thought it was all rubbish, but it's true -- The Room exists. There actually is a huge room (double the size of the other single rooms) with a big double bed, a bar fridge, mood lighting, couches and easy chairs, a big bath in your own private bathroom etc.. I was really lucky and scored it for my entire stay. The Wesley was pretty dead as heaps of women actually did give birth on the full moon, then shipped out the morning I gave birth. It made for a very nice stay!
Anyway, am off for a kip now. Will run through all the posts later and have a good read. Hope everyone is feeling really well and heaps of babies have arrived and are being cuddled!
Beany
17-08-2006, 11:29 AM
Congratualtions AlliJB! Theodore - what a grand name! :D
Just over an hour ... No wonder you're off for a kip!
Glad (and a widdle bit jealous :p ) to hear everyone else is doing well with their little bundles, too! Mine seems to have lost its road map. I keep trying to explain that there's really only one direction it CAN go but it won't listen ... What's the bet it's a boy? :D
Last night was a very sore contraction filled one. No regularity, though. Still having uterus tightenings, still getting accompanying back pain, still getting the odd lower abdominal pain here and there but still no baby. Not likely to happen today either, it seems - it's wriggling up a storm down there as I type.
Oh well. Have what is supposed to be my final OB appointment later this afternoon. Somehow, I think I'll be seeing him again a few more times in the coming weeks.
*taptaptap* You're due tomorrow, you know! Get a wriggle on!
Readytopush
17-08-2006, 11:35 AM
Hey all,
Like most of the rest of you, sorry i hadn't poped in earlier, but still just trying to get a handle on being a mummy :confused: and am struggling to do much after having a C-section. All is going well here, just wanted to let you all know Georgia arrived safely last Wednesday 9th (yes...full moon).:smiliedance:
I have posted her details on th August birth thread and will try and write up our birth story in the next week or so for you all.
Congratulations :yelclap: for all of you who have had your own little bubbies in the past week or so since i have been out of action, and best wishes to those of you yet to have their arrivals. I will get around to some personals soon also. Sorry :o
P.S. does anyone know how i can change my user name or do i have to re-register from scratch?
Cheers!!
Beany
17-08-2006, 11:41 AM
Congratulations ReadytoSleep and welcome Georgia!!
(Regarding nick change, contact a mod. You don't have to re-register :) )
mama anne
17-08-2006, 11:52 AM
morning ladies
congratulations ready to push
congratulations allijb:yelclap:
so excited for both of you that your little ones are finally here!
wattle hope your last:fingerscrossed: appointment went well and they told u everything u wanted to hear
adele not to sound like my mother but make sure you get some rest!!! i know the nesting urge is probably making living in boxes a nightmare but you need your energy for your labour and growing your bubba. having said that, have fun doing skyla's room!
beany hope your ob tells u everything u want to hear also. sad to hear about your tight-belly-filled night ....... if it helps i can empathise.
well i slept in till 12:30pm :eek: so now i'm off to shower and face the day ..... or perhaps just shower and watch tv ....
raffee
17-08-2006, 12:43 PM
Man o man!!!!! AlliJB CONGRATS!!!!. You must be stoked to have your lil bubba already!!! And what a perfect birth story- I'll happily take one of those!:yes: Now rest up and send us all the labour vibes you can. But mainly to beany (she's due tomorrow so she needs them the most).
And dear Readytopush! So good to hear from you finally!!! Congrats on the birth of your lil girl. She's such a cutie, and she looks so calm and contented. Wishing you a speedy recovery from your c-section and looking forward to your birth story.
Beany and wattle good luck for your appointments today. Hopefully they'll give you good news, like you're already 3 cm dialated!:D Beany, my advice is that you lay on the emotions real thick- cry if you have to but tell them that you really can't take it anymore and need to get this baby out.
Mama anne. you lucky thang you. A sleep-in til past midday! Haven't had one of those in ...oh ...about 9 years!!!! Enjoy the rest of your day...
Adele- take it easy woman! You need to conserve all your energy for the big job of childbirth. You should be getting your DP doing all the unpacking and letting you rest up as much as possible.
Well, nothing new here except for the overwhelming comments that I'm getting wherever I go. I was at Westfield today and I literally had about 10 different comments about my bulging belly- those that thought I was ready to drop or pop or that I should have already dropped or popped... I wish this baby would listen up and get the hint:banghead: . I've got a hospy appointment tomorrow- fingers crossed they say that something is happening.
Better go get lunch ready.
my3sons
17-08-2006, 01:23 PM
Congratulations ReadytoSleep and welcome Georgia!!
(Regarding nick change, contact a mod. You don't have to re-register :) )
Readytosleep.....lol, love it!
Beany, you're due TOMORROW....... WHOOO HOOO :smiliedance:
my3sons
17-08-2006, 01:26 PM
CONGRATULATIONS ALLIJB, HUBBY AND LITTLE HER ON THE BIRTH OF LITTLE HIM........ THEODORE, WELCOME LITTLE MAN!
my3sons
17-08-2006, 01:30 PM
Congratulations Kylie and Dinesh on the birth of beautiful little Georgia Lilli - she's ADORABLE! - Congrats to big brother Rashaan too :D
Bella8
17-08-2006, 02:43 PM
Hello everyone!!!
I haven't had a chance to catch up on all the posts but I'm assuming there are lots of bubs being born - will go back when I have a little more time and pass on my congrats. Unfortunately I haven't had access to the internet the past week - this has been my first chance and I have a bit of news.............
I had a Baby Boy - CALEB ZAC. Born 8/806, 7lb 11. :yelclap:
Didn't exactly go according to plan as I was admitted to hospital with pre eclampsia and had other complications. To cut a long story short, after 4 1/2 hours in labour Caleb went into distress and had to have an emergency c-section. I was heavily monitored the following days as I had high temp and blood pressure.
Anyway, back home now and enjoying motherhood. Very tired after a restless night but it is all worth it to have my baby boy in my arms. Will post a pic soon.
Have to run as I'm using someone else's computer but will be back soon to catch up and have a chat.
Congrats to those that have had their bubs and hang in there to those of you who are still patiently waiting!!!!!
Renae xx
raffee
17-08-2006, 02:52 PM
:yelclap: Congrats bella8 on the birth of lil Caleb!!!!:yelclap:
cheekypossum
17-08-2006, 03:35 PM
Hello all
CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE NEW MUMS
Being a new mum myself I am still settling things in at home so have not had time to read posts but just wanted to pop in and say hi to you all.
Chloe is doing really well, she basically eats and sleeps....I worry like anything am I feeding her right, is my milk still there etc etc...I tell ya what this breastfeeding is not as easy as it looks, it is all quite technical.....but she is a content little bub so I must be doing something right.....have any new mums joined the Aust Breastfeeding Assoc? I was just wondering if it was worth it...I just rang them up and spoke to a counsillor cause I was a little worried about the way she was feeding and she was so nice....
But I love her to bits, Damien and I could just sit there all day and watch her facial expressions...she will be 2 weeks on Sunday...I just feel so blessed..
Anyway might go and catch a little nap before Possum wakes up
Hope you are all doing well and for those who have not "popped" yet I hope your day comes real soon
mama anne
17-08-2006, 04:30 PM
congrats bella8 on the birth of caleb
everytime i log on here there are more babies!
sending lots of labour vibes to the rest of us .... :fingerscrossed: :rolleyes: :yes:
littlepickle
17-08-2006, 04:37 PM
P.S. does anyone know how i can change my user name or do i have to re-register from scratch?
Cheers!!
Congratulations
In answer to your question regarding a name change, all you have to do is send a pm to Hilary "bubhub" she is the forum owner and will be able to change your user name for you
Congratulations to all of the new mums :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
raffee
17-08-2006, 06:14 PM
..of the active members, these are the ones that are yet to pop (as far as I know!)
18 Amandaw - Wesley Private Hospital, Brisbane - ( surprise flavour )
18 Littlejoy - Hills Private Hospital, NSW - BOY!!
18 Beany - gills in Randwick Women's Hospital, Sydney.
19 Raffee-Canterbury Hospital, Sydney- BOY!!
20 Ourbump - St John of God Subiaco (surprise flavour)
21 Missie_Mack - Wollongong Hosptial Thinks girl
21 mama anne - royal north shore hospital - i think a girl
22 Jewelbar - Wesley Hospital, Brisbane QLD. GIRL
24 Wattle - Birthing Centre, Monash Medical Centre VIC. GIRL
25 Adele- Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital birthing Centre- GIRL
That's right- we're at our final 10!!! I'd like to take a stab at the order of arrivals but I will keep it to myself so as not to dishearten anyone. But for what it's worth, I'm still convinced that I'm gonna be last- even my DH thinks so!!!:mad:
raffee
17-08-2006, 06:21 PM
So sorry- missed a couple more...
Trece- 20/8
MeeG- 28/8
Didn't mean to leave you out but you weren't in the birth list thread.:p
Beany
17-08-2006, 07:21 PM
Congratulations Bella!
Raff: I'll camp out with you in at the end of the month ...
The OB told me today that most first time mothers of my age go up to 6 days late. Greeeeeeeeeat. Just fab. Another week of this.
:banghead:
He told me to make an appointment for next week, because if I don't make the appointment, I'm sure to need it. I asked if he was telling me to implement a bit of reverse psychology on a nothing-month-old - that making the appointment would send me into labour. He laughed and said yes. Then he said no. Then he said that either way, I'll be yelling so it doesn't really matter.
Bloody men.
littlejoy
17-08-2006, 07:36 PM
Congratulations to everyone who has had their babies!!!!!:smiliedance: :yelclap:
Well I had my last OB appointment today as I am "due" tomorrow he set Friday the 25th as my inducment date in case I don't go into labour before hand. It is so weird, nerve racking and exciting to have a date that this pregnancy will be brought to an end.. I am starting to get really scared now!!!!!
Labour vibes to all... Beany we are both due tomorrow so :fingerscrossed: when I log on tomorrow we will both have good news of regular contractions!!!!
Take care all
Renee:wave:
mama anne
17-08-2006, 07:47 PM
evening ladies
beany bloody men indeed! sad to hear about your appointment ... if it helps i think they'll be telling me the same thing at my appt next tuesday (i'm due on monday). perhaps i can camp out too?
littlejoy glad to hear they gave you a date :) having said that, hope as you said you have news of contractions tomorrow morning ...
me ..... nothing new. feel like **** from sleeping in so late .... beany i even had a bath and it didn't make me feel better! dh has promised to make me a milo when he gets home later so perhaps that will do the trick ....
nah i'm ok. just doing the same thing i always do at this time of night .... bubhub, bad tv (celebrity survivor), analysing every movement of bub or pain or twitch ........ ah the waiting game .....
hope everyone else's nights are a little more entertaining!
amandaw
17-08-2006, 08:44 PM
Warning...I'm putting this up after having read nothing since last Friday, so sorry if I'm ignorant...plan on catching it all up now
[QUOTE=Beany;555504]I
Thanks for the labour vibes amanda :) I'll clean them up a bit and send some back when I'm done!
QUOTE]
OMG Beany...you don't know what you started here...did they have to be cleaned up quite that quickly???????
As may or may not have been noticed, I haven't been around since last week, because after receiving this message (having had no pre labour signs in the slightest) Miss Charlotte Alyce made her way into th world just twenty four hours later on Saturday the 12th of August...:D
Have posted the full story at http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=572989#post572989. Arrived home yesterday to huge acclaim (no was actually very quiet compared to all of the amazing visators and congrats I got up at the Wesley...I think the staff were glad to see me go!!)
Anyway off to see what else everyone has been up to!!!!!
Beany
17-08-2006, 10:05 PM
See that's what's wrong with everyone - they've been sending me dusty vibes!
Come on people, get the cleaning products out and send me CLEAN ones like I did for amanda! (Congratulations, btw! :) )
Now if I am not in labour tomorrow, I'm holding you all responsible.
littlejoy: nice clean vibes are heading your way! Only one hour until it's tomorrow ... Isn't it weird that we're all hanging out hoping to be in agony soon? Anyway, best of luck!
Anne: Argh sleepy headaches! That's what we call them here - too much sleep makes us (me and the impregnator) groggy and miserable, too. Cool showers seem to help a little. Caffeine is also good. Have some coffee or coke before that hot milo.
Oh well, time to take another leaf out of Anne's book and go and watch some trashy TV until I get bored and wander back to the hub ...
*waddle waddle ooof*
Fairyfloss
17-08-2006, 11:27 PM
Just a quick post to say
Congrats to Bella, AlliJB, jane and readytopush for your new addition.
skimed through the posts, but bub is awake again, so won't be able to post any personals, except for beany, I am making a new batch of milton solution, I will scrub and soak your labour vibes in it, before sending it off to you, it will be ready in 15 minutes, clean and sterille:hugs: .
for every oneelse hang in there ladies, lots of hugs :hugs: and labour vibes
see ya
wattle
18-08-2006, 06:19 AM
Morning girls.
Tent - check
Camping equipment - check
34 rolls of toilet paper - check
Blow up matress.......um, you sure camping is a good idea?
I might just sit inside and wave at you all. :laughing:
Well I had my appointment at the birthing centre yesterday arvo. I saw a male midwife too, that was a surprise. He said the usual "Everything's fine, see you next week" NO NO NO NO NO I DON'T want to see any of you next week thanks very much! Nothing personal of course. :o He said even though I have GD, they wouldn't induce me until I went 2 weeks over. Well I'm not even considering that. ha.
I broke yesterday, couldn't stand it any more. I couldn't scrub my 15 year old microwave clean enough (geez what a surprise) so I jumped (ok...not literally) into the car and went to retravision and bought a new one. I told the sales guy if he didn't give me a great deal I'd probably go into labour right there in the shop. :laughing: I ended up getting it for nearly half price!!!!!!!! He looked so terrified at the thought of having to deliver a baby. hehehee.
Well hope you all have a great day.
Oh - Tashmusa, I joined the ABA last time and found them nice, but not quite as helpful as I needed. I ended up getting a lactation consultant and she was WONDEFUL.
The good thing about a lac cons. is that they come to your home, so they can see where and how you feed in your usual environment. She took all the time I needed and taught me how to feed lying down as well. I had already been to a breastfeeding clinic and the ABA, but she was so much better. The website of the lac cons. that I used is www.alca.asn.au They may be able to refer you to someone good in your area. It's really worth looking into as it can become pretty frustrating not being sure if you're on track or not.
*Country Bumpkin*
18-08-2006, 08:51 AM
:eek: OMG So many babies!!!
happybirthday and CONGRATULATIONS to all our new Mummies!
Well Im still sitting here.... waiting waiting.... I have to admit coming onto bub hub these days makes me a tad depressed.... I want a baby tooooooo:crying: BUT I havnt got her room finished or the capsule in the car or anythign right now so I suppose I can wait till maybe sunday night AFTER its all finished.
Now I cant remeber who it was that said I should get my DP to unpack everything.... BUT I would- except he works 6.45am-5pm then 5.30pm-10pm almost every day so its difficult to get him to do anything cause hes never home... But he will be home alot more after Skyla is born which will be nice.
littlejoy- excuse me but the 25th is MY due date.... do you hear me MY day NOT yours:D
Having said that Im happy to have her early next week and then you can have my original due date- I dont mind
littlejoy
18-08-2006, 09:15 AM
Congrats amandaw!!!! You were due today with Beany and I.. I am going to go and have a read of you birth story now.
Beany.. anything???? no?? me neither!!!! :thumbsdown: Oh well guess its back to Dr Phil and Opera and BubHub.. Sending as many clean vibes as I could manage to carry to you!!!:yes:
Adele... We might just have to share... but I am more than happy to go earlier and leave you to the 25th:D :laughing:
Labour vibes to all!! Take care!!
Renee
I'm not one to complain...but IF I was I would say that one thing I really missed was being able to say things like
"tomorrow" or "three days ago"
when someone asked when I was due.
All I ever got to say was "in two weeks" which didn't earn the look of sheer terror from people thinking I would go into labour there and then.
I was looking forward to that. Woulda been fun.
"In two weeks" just got a nod and a "oh that's nice" sort of look.
I said it for the last time on the Sunday. And then on the Monday I had him.
Hmph.
Beany
18-08-2006, 10:38 AM
Thanks parisa. I think they got damamged in transit, though :(
Wattle: Camping? Really? I mean I know preggy women go a little nuts but that's a new bar you're placing up there for us!
Littlejoy: lots and lots ... but nothing that seems to indicate an imminent baby. I'm scrutinising every twinge and ache, trying in vain to figure out if its more or less painful than yesterday, if there's any semblance of regularity whatsoever. Nope. Nada. Zip.
Tick tock, kiddo. Tick freaking tock!
Maybe I'll buoy up the sciatic and ligament pain with some panadol and take a wander up to Market City. I'm bound to go into labour if I'm alone and somewhere inconvenient like that! Besides, discount stores .... ooooooooooooo!
Adele: Can your mum and nan help you unpack some of it? I'm a bit weird in that I would ordinarily LOVE unpacking and nesting in a new home. Even the thought of it now is making my head hurt, though. You have tons of my sympathy heading your way!
raffee
18-08-2006, 10:43 AM
Morning everyone.
Just got back from my appointment and I have to say I'm well chuffed. I saw a different ob this time and re-explained the whole story to him (about my EDD discrepancy). Initially he just gave me one of those 'oh all preggie women close to their due dates want it to be over' looks but when he examined me and found me to be measuring 44cm he was a little less dismissive. He decided it was best to consult with his superior (his boss) and came back to inform me that due to bub's hefty size and my not so hefty size (I'm a tiny 5'3 if that) they are going to change my EDD to the 19th and have booked me i for a day assessment on Monday- whereby I will be monitored over the course of 4 hours and given another U/S to ensure all is well and to help determine a day of induction. The good news is whatever happens, I won't be left any later than the 29th of August so the countdown can finally begin!!!:smiliedance:
Thanks to all those ladies that gave me the courage to speak up and who comforted me when I was down. Although I'm yet to hold my baby I am feeling far more positive now and a lot more excited about the next 10 days!!!:yes:
Well, off to do some cleaning. My nesting instinct came and went and has finally returned (more out of necessity than anything else).
Check in later.
Beany
18-08-2006, 10:45 AM
I was in DJs yesterday, looking at baby clothes (what else? :rolleyes: ) and one of the sales girls there recognised me from months ago when I was buying some of the bigger items. She asked how I was feeling and how many weeks were left to go now. When I told her I was due tomorrow (today) she went all white and fluttery, offering me a chair to sit on and promising to put any purchases through as quick as possible. I assured her that the little one was not making any indication of moving out just yet but that didn't take the manic edge off her look.
According to the people standing around listening to all this, I'm meant to be on bed-rest at this stage. I tried to explain that the words 'bed' and 'rest' don't go together with most pregnant women at this stage. 'Hip' and 'pain', however ...
raffee
18-08-2006, 10:47 AM
Tick tock, kiddo. Tick freaking tock!
:laughing: :laughing: Beany you always have me in stitches. I think I just wet myself. Thanks!
*Country Bumpkin*
18-08-2006, 12:13 PM
Beany- Yeah my mum and Nan can help.. well more Mum than Nan really. Im a bit hesitant at asking Nan for help... shes a VERY young 79 year old but in the last few months she has gone down hill a little...
She takes wolfrom which thins her blood so if she knocks herself she bruises really badly and she has been having a few falls at late.. actually she had one last night getting on the train with Mum coming home fom the Ekka:( The step up from that particular platform is VERY high and she caught her shoe and fell.....and as Mum works its difficult.
Pretty much everything is done.... Its very much liveable but Skylas room is NOT:no: Im a tad worried that I will go into labour and not have her room done or bassinett set up.... or have the car ready...Its so difficult cause DP isnt here to help me and I just physicaly cant do these things-and if I did try I would get some harsh words from everyone:shame:
Raffee- Yaaaaah what great news!! You must be feeling relieved now....
Well I might go and bake DP a cake now.... mmmmmm caaaaaaake:D
my3sons
18-08-2006, 12:29 PM
Congratulations Renae and partner on the birth of little "Caleb Zac" Welcome Caleb :D
Glad to hear that you and bubs are okay after all that!
my3sons
18-08-2006, 12:33 PM
OOOhhh, another one :smiliedance:
Congratulations Amanda on the birth of little Miss Charlotte Alyce - Welcome Charlotte :D
my3sons
18-08-2006, 12:40 PM
Morning everyone.
Just got back from my appointment and I have to say I'm well chuffed. I saw a different ob this time and re-explained the whole story to him (about my EDD discrepancy). Initially he just gave me one of those 'oh all preggie women close to their due dates want it to be over' looks but when he examined me and found me to be measuring 44cm he was a little less dismissive. He decided it was best to consult with his superior (his boss) and came back to inform me that due to bub's hefty size and my not so hefty size (I'm a tiny 5'3 if that) they are going to change my EDD to the 19th and have booked me i for a day assessment on Monday- whereby I will be monitored over the course of 4 hours and given another U/S to ensure all is well and to help determine a day of induction. The good news is whatever happens, I won't be left any later than the 29th of August so the countdown can finally begin!!!:smiliedance:
Raffee - Thank God! I am so happy for you! That was a worry that you didn't need, glad you got to see someone with sense this time.
You can come out now bub :D :smiliedance: The time will fly for you now - Indi is 2 weeks old today and I can't believe how fast it's gone!
trece
18-08-2006, 12:41 PM
Congrats to Bella, AlliJB, jane and readytopush for your new additions, and to anyone I've missed too!
Beany I've had sales girls telling for the past month that I shouldn't be driving / out of the house - that I should be at home in bed. I felt like saying "I'm pregnant, not dying" and the funniest part was they were older than me - obviously never had the burden of a great big tum and the boredom of being housebound!
Shed I DO NOT want to say to people I was due 3 days ago - I don't even want to say yesterday! I want to say NOW and then a bubs magically appears and I instantly have my pre-baby body back, with a stunning new wardrobe for spring. magical genie, where have you gone? Stop giving people endless packets of tim tams and give us all the labour vibes we need! *sigh*
Raff i'm glad you had a chance to see someone else, and that you know you'll be holding your bubs within the next 10 days. Lets hope its before then!
Adele I'm glad you have most things sorted out. Do you have your car back to put the capsule in? It only takes a few minutes to do. As for the bassinette, just ask DP for 5 mins of his time when he gets home - that you really would like Skyla to have a bed when she comes home. The rest of it can be done in 5 min lots!
Sorry I haven't posted lately - been lurking, bit too depressed to do too much more. I'm ready to vacate my body and leave it all to bubs - i just need some space!! At least I sleep reasonably well at night, but then I wake up feeling ok, get depressed coz I actually have the energy to give birth and nothing has happened!
And to make things more frustrating, ALL my in-laws are here at the moment. ALL OF THEM!! A total of 5 staying on our floor / sofa bed and another 5 popping over for lunch. And DH is at work, leaving me to deal with it all :banghead: THey are meant to be leaving tonight, but then MIL threw in the "unless you go into labour this arvie, then we'll stay" :eek: for the first time in the last month I"M KEEPING MY LEGS CROSSED. I love them all, but my once lovely tidy house looks like a hostel and I want some time alone! And I want some time to recover after the birth just with DH and DD 1&2. After I had DD1 the inlaws were there straight away in the hospy and I just felt crowded. AARGH!!!! Stay put bubba - at least until tomorrow morning!
Had my midi appt yesterday, and she thinks that things should be happening by Saturday night :fingerscrossed: I wish the same for the rest of you gals who are still waiting!
raffee
18-08-2006, 12:43 PM
Thanks my3sons! Did you here that Mr? You need to come out now- enough procrastinating! There really is no avoiding it!!!
Happy 2 weeks birthday to Indi!!!:smiliedance: May she continue to be a ray of sunshine for you and your family!:D
*Country Bumpkin*
18-08-2006, 12:51 PM
Trece- Awww I hope you start feeling better soon... not long now!!
We have both cars back now- they are running perfectly :fingerscrossed: they stay that way!! Ive probably just jinxed myslef:rolleyes: My car is full of stuff still thats why the capsule isnt in there... Ill get DP onto it in the morning... Im going shopping with my mum for DP's b.day pressi so Im going to write him a list of things that need to be done while Im out.:D
*Country Bumpkin*
18-08-2006, 02:43 PM
Ok an update
15mins ago I lost my mucous plug.... had a bout of diareah(SP?) and now im getting pains.....:smiliedance: I think this might be it!!!!
DP is suposed to be working tonight but there is NO way hes going anywhere except downstairs to put the capsule in the car and get everything ready!!!
OMG this is SO exciting!!!:D
Beany
18-08-2006, 02:50 PM
I'm putting all jealousy aside and wish you lots of luck and lots of endorphins to make the experience as pleasant as possible :D
Keep us updated right up until you leave for the BC!!
Beany
18-08-2006, 02:51 PM
Raffee: GREAT news from your new OB. WE all like him. We think he's the cat's knickers. :thumbsup:
Glad you're all perked up and good luck for Monday!
wattle
18-08-2006, 03:42 PM
Goodness me, what a busy little arvo in the august thread.
Adele..... ahem..... queue jumping?? You go girl. Try and save some energy for later though, you really will need it. Remember to b-r-e-a-t-h-e.
trece
18-08-2006, 04:02 PM
:smiliedance: for Adele!
Just stay calm, and keep a track of the pains! It can take a while in 1st labours for things to move along, so stay positive! We're all thinking of you hun, hoping you'll be holding little Skyla in the morning :yelclap:
It can take a while in 1st labours for things to move along,
I wish someone had told Baden this - I might have got my bag packed!!
salt water
18-08-2006, 04:25 PM
Hi girls :wave: - well I am finally home (today) with my gorgeous girl Clio (3.9 kg :eek: )who was worth all the drama (went a bit pear shaped in the end - I'll let you know what happened when I have five minutes!!) - congrats to all the other new Mums, I'll have to go back through the posts and catch up with what's been happening!! Sending positive labour vibes to everyone else!!!!
XX to all, :hugs:
Noosamum
raffee
18-08-2006, 04:30 PM
Congrats to Noosamum !!!:yelclap: You're little girl is absolutely adorable!!!!: Now get busy writing the birth story missus!:D
Adele thats sooooooo exciting! Im so pleased for you and do wish it to be a smooth and complication-free labour:fingerscrossed: .
Thanks for the well-wishes beany! Sending lots of sparkling clean labour vibes your way!!!
Beany
18-08-2006, 04:31 PM
Welcome back noosamum! And congratulations on little Clio!
Yay noosamum, looking forward to the birth story.
Congratulations to you and Welcome to Clio!!
missie_mack
18-08-2006, 05:23 PM
Hiya All,
Well went into the clinic today.... Ive been very swollen for the last couple of days and after having my blood pressure taken today it looks like I might be lapsing into pre eclampsia (155/ 80) . I suppose if I had to have it this is the best time when Im able to give birth at anytime. Anyhow she insisted I had some blood works done today at the hospy (yuk) and that I see a Dr on Monday. The day was booked out but she found an appointment and kept going on about how important it is to see the Dr. Im hoping this means that if my blood pressure is still up they may try and induce me?? Time shall tell but the last thing the midi said was cross my fingers and try everything and anything to go into labour this weekend.
So I know Im not really due until Monday but if we have a willing person I would really like to share in some labour vibes and any other vibe that would help.....
my3sons
18-08-2006, 05:58 PM
Thanks my3sons! Did you here that Mr? You need to come out now- enough procrastinating! There really is no avoiding it!!!
Happy 2 weeks birthday to Indi!!!:smiliedance: May she continue to be a ray of sunshine for you and your family!:D
You tell him raffee - mumma know's best ;)
Now if I can just get my little ray of sunshine to sleep during the night and not the day :rolleyes:
my3sons
18-08-2006, 06:04 PM
Ohhhh Noosamum, hubby and kiddies - Clio is just gorgeous, congratulations and welcome little Clio - what a beautiful name :hugs:
So happy to hear from you :smiliedance: xxxxx
my3sons
18-08-2006, 06:10 PM
Adele Best wishes - I really hope this is it for you - sounds like it might be!!! :smiliedance:
missie mack I'm sending my labour vibes to you hun, sounds like you really need them. Best wishes that something happens over the weekend :fingerscrossed:
ourbump
18-08-2006, 06:37 PM
Firstly just wanted to say thank you to all of you beautiful people who gave me encouragement and positive vibes after my last post. I was really down, but now I feel a lot better.
Congratulations to all the new Mummies and welcome to the world Bubs.
I had written everyone down as I was going through all the pages I had missed and then the hub crashed and I was locked out and now I can't find the paper I wrote it on :confused: I am very happy for all of you and it is so exciting to see so many of us now with little bubbas.
Raffee - Great to hear your news from your last appointment. Must feel really great to feel like you have been listened to and now have an end date in sight.
Adele - goodluck I hope this is it for you, look forward to hearing all the news.
Missiemack - I was wondering where you had gotten to. Sorry to hear about your blood pressure but great that you too may have a bub at the beginning of next week.
Beany - Hope something is going on for you over the weekend!!
Me - I am feeling much better now. I called the parent education at the hospital yesterday and they were so fantastic, told me to come in today and a midwife sat with me for around 2 hours and answered all my questions about c-sections as well as playing a video of a ceaser for me to watch. She was great and now that I have the knowledge I feel like I will be able to cope if it has to go that way when I go back to my ob appointment on Wednesday next week. I am also really looking forward to reading the birth stories of those of you who have had ceasers recently so that I feel more prepared as well.
I am going to the baby expo tomorrow and I know what you mean Shed, I am looking forward to saying to people " I am due tomorrow" I just wont tell them that the baby is not engaged and it is surely not likely to happen!!
Anyway thank you again for all your thoughts and goodluck to all of you who will be labouring over the weekend. I think I have my hand up for the last birth Raffee!!
Have a great night :kiss:
mum_I'm_hungry
18-08-2006, 07:33 PM
Oh, wow! Yay noosamum and Clio (cute name!) and go Adele. I hope this is it!
Not much going on here other than feeding. And more feeding. And more and more and more feeding. And even more clothes washing. And not a lot of sleeping. Bleh. Good thing the kid is cute or I'd have to send him back (and I bet that would hurt...). Took him out shopping today for a new Mac as he's decided that's what he wants to spend his baby bonus on.
Baden wants to spend some of his baby bonus on a washing machine.
DP said before that I can give him some of the baby bonus for the electricity bill. A bit later on I asked him if he would change Baden's nappy. He goes "aw nah, I don't want to" and I said "And THAT'S why YOU pay the electricity bill". :laughing:
He has only changed one nappy and that's fine, but we have to get these things straight.
Ya gotta be tough with these Go Out To Work Dads.
littlejoy
18-08-2006, 08:31 PM
Congratulations Noosamum!! Well done!!!! :yelclap:
Adele... Now who is stealing whos due date!!!!???? Ahh half your luck!!! I hope that this is it for you!!!! Good luck....:fingerscrossed: :smiliedance:
mama anne
18-08-2006, 09:58 PM
hey ladies
too tired for personals tonight .......
but :yelclap: for you adele .... sending you all the positive vibes i can send at this time of night, can't wait to hear all about it
and CONGRATS NOOSAMUM you waitied for so long :thumbsup:
and i'm hoping beany's absense either means she is off having her bub or at least having milo and a warm bath :D
Fairyfloss
18-08-2006, 11:44 PM
Congrats noosamum and welcome to our world Clio :smiliedance:
Adele: Sending lots of good vibes and hugs your way dal, hope it all goes smoothly.
Missiemack: Have you tried nipple stimulation, don't be too harsh other wise you will hurt yourself and BF will be hard once you have given birth, but a gentle massage and stimulation (in the lines of expressing your milk type of thing) will cause contractions and might be enough to start your labour,( This is what the midi told me to do, once my water broke,but had not contarction happening, it worked) also don't forget, cinnamon tea and perhaps sex:o. Sending lots of labour vibes your way, hope it all goes well.
Raffee - I am so glad for you, not long to go now, lots of labour vibe coing your way too.
Cathy- Hope you are feeling all good and well,:hugs: YAy for the new microwave.
Lots of hugs and good vibes to every one else still waiting, :hugs:
Hope all the new mums are doing OK, and no major issues with the bub
Beany
19-08-2006, 01:17 AM
and i'm hoping beany's absense either means she is off having her bub or at least having milo and a warm bath
Neither, I'm afraid - but thanks for thinking of me! :D
I was off watching Buffy DVDs (oh hush - I can be a TV tragic sometimes!) and eating chocolate. By the way, that new Nestle mild and creamy dark chocolate Club ... :thumbsup: Muchly yummy.
On another and entirely different positive note (again, it doesn't cease to amaze me the things I consider a positive these days), I have diarrhea again so perhaps, perhaps, perhaps ...
Now that song is going to be stuck in my head for the rest of this insomnia-ridden night!
raffee
19-08-2006, 01:50 AM
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Beany!!!! Buffy??!!!! What are you thinking girl?!
Listen up Beany Jnr. Look what you've reduced your poor mama to. A Buffy Watcher. You need to head on down that birth canal and out before you send her completely insane. Now. We promise to be nice and kind and mummy will give you lots of yummy things if you'd only make your way on out. Don't do this to her, she doesn't deserve it!
I think that should do the trick. But please no Buffy woman. For the love of all things savoury.
Now as for the diarea :smiliedance: . All we need now is waters breaking. Try squatting- I think I read somewhere on this site in fact that squatting can help speed things along- or maybe I was hallucinating...
Adele you lucky thing you. Hope your'e mid-push as I type. Please please please keep us updated. None of this disappearing for a week business. I don't like suspense.
Ourbump- glad to hear you're feeling better hun. Enjoy that baby expo and let us know what new things are on the market. I'm so out of date with all that stuff. My prayers are with you- hopefully all that walking around the expo and all the baby vibes there will encourage your baby into engagement. Otherwise, wishing you a successful and painless c-section and all the support I can give. :hugs:
Parisa thanks for the labour vibes! Hoping that since you don't need them anymore that they'll actually work.
All the other mums-to-be, a big howdy and hello. I really sincerely hope we all go into labout together over the course of this weekend and come back monday with lots of new inspiring birth stories.
Ok, back to bed for me. I had/have a really sore throat so I just got up to try some natural remedies for some relief. In the end, I have resorted to a couple of panadols to numb the pain.
See ya all in the morning.
Beany
19-08-2006, 01:58 AM
lol the Buffy thing is well and truly ingrained by now, I'm afraid. I have all the DVDs. And all the Angel ones. And the entire Firefly series ... and of course Serenity. Bless good old Joss - the 3am feeds will be filled with episode after episode after episode ... :D
... squatting? Are you serious? You mean you can squat still?! I've been jipped again!
Hope your throat feels better!
wattle
19-08-2006, 05:29 AM
Morning everyone. :)
I could get a job doing a paper round with the hours I'm keeping these days. :D Ummmmm, except I think I'd look fairly ridiculous on a push bike. hahahaa. Or maybe a job at a bakery, after all I do have a bun in the oven hahahaha. Sorry, ahem, back to the bread......oops I mean thread.....
Noosamum - well done, can't wait to hear all about it. I hope you're comfortable and settling in well back at home.
Shed - whip that man into line, soon he'll be able to change nappies in the dark with one hand (like you probably can by now!)
Beany.... what the? Buffy and chocolate? Hmmmm well enjoy it now while things are quiet. You're very brave admitting it to the whole world though. hehe. Don't worry if you can't squat, the little bean will arrive very soon - yeah yeah, I know, heard it all before etc. Well it's TRUE.
Well I had a totally ridiculous dream that I was in some type of weird tv show and I was jumping over really high things, and scaling impossible vertical cliff faces etc. It sure was nice to be nimble again, now back to reality. Oomph, waddle waddle.
littlejoy
19-08-2006, 06:31 AM
Good morning all.. well I just jumped on to see if there was any news from Adele.. but no nothing:( hopfully that means that she is off having or had her bub!!!
Raffee hope your throat feels better how are you suppose to be able to scream and yell during labour if your throat is sore???:D
Wattle.. I had a dream last night that I went clothes shopping at Alannah Hill and was trying on size small... ha ha ha yeah right think it might be a little while yet before anything small is going to fit me!!!!! I guess we are starting to dream about the impossible as I am far from nimble!!!!:laughing:
Have a great day girls!!!:wave:
raffee
19-08-2006, 08:01 AM
ok ladies
Before I get into it, let me apologise to Beany& littlejoy. I really am not a fan of queue-jumping. But.....
It looks like this little critter is ready to unleash itself on the world- and yes, he's coming on his EDD!!!!:yes:
I woke up at about 6am with really wet undies- definitely not wee coz I know the difference (this is my 5th remember:thumbsup: )... Since then the regular "omg I cant talk" contractions have started AND I've had a lovely bloody show. So ladies, this may well be my last post before I'm pushing and panting out a baby.
I've talked DH through posting here, so he'll be making the announcement once bub is here.
Love yas all, and sending you all the spare labour vibes I can afford.
littlejoy
19-08-2006, 08:41 AM
Yay!!!!!!!!!! How exciting!!! Another one of our August babies is going to be here soon and right on time how obedient!!!!:smiliedance: :yelclap: Seems that after 5 you have perfected the art!!! Goodluck and lots of painfree labour vibes your way!!!!
I read Adele's other thread in the general chat section and it seems that nothing much has changed from last night :thumbsdown:
I wish my little critter would get the hint that it is time to vacate!!!!! I am really nervous about being induced on Friday guess there is still plenty of time to go naturally before then but I am still really scared!!! I go in on Thursday night and they insert this cord into my well you know which apparently softens the cervix my OB said it is better than the gel because you usually need two lots of the gel and that the second lot usually burns and can sometimes make your uterus contract and not stop then you are off to have a c-section:eek: and he said that he does not like the syntocin drip because it puts you in full blown labour within 15mins. So he is going to leave this cord thing in overnight then come in in the morning and break my waters... I am really scared that it is going to hurt heaps which is weird because I am guessing that the contractions and the birth is going to hurt more than anything else so I should just suck it up... sorry to go on so much! Well I am going to go have a shower, Dh is working this morning but will be picking me up at lunch time ( it takes me two hours to get ready these days) to go visit his Gran in hospital. Have fun all!!!
raffee
19-08-2006, 11:29 AM
A quick update
Contractions are now 3-4 minutes apart and lasting well over a minute each. I'm trying my best to labour for as long as possible at home, as the hospy is only 2 minutes away and I don't wanna be tempted with drugs.
God-willing this baby will be born sooner rather than later.
mum_I'm_hungry
19-08-2006, 12:48 PM
Raffee! That is so exciting! I can't believe you have the composure to sit there and type. Still, I guess you're an old hand at this by now! Heaps of good luck!
Beany
19-08-2006, 01:20 PM
Ah raffee - after the trials and tribulations you have been through, how can we deny you a bit of queue jumping? :D
Hope it's all going well still - you're probably holding the baby already!
It was the Buffy that did it! The baby just couldn't stand the thought of remaining in there and not being able to see the show! :p
wattle
19-08-2006, 01:21 PM
Yay Raffee...... I'm soooo excited for you. You're probably getting ready to deliver right now! Anyone want to guess the time? I'll go for 2.37pm. :D
Littlejoy I was reading my hypnobirthing book last night and it said that a mother being anxious can slow down or stop contractions because of the chemicals the anxiety releases into your body. So you have between now and Thursday night to be the calmest, most serene pregnant lady in the world and let all those worries just float away. And no matter how it happens, you'll be holding your beautiful little baby by the weekend.
wattle
19-08-2006, 01:23 PM
Beany have you been drinking?
Beany
19-08-2006, 01:24 PM
wattle: I wish.
wattle
19-08-2006, 01:42 PM
you need an avatar beany.
mama anne
19-08-2006, 02:12 PM
afternoon ladies
well i just walked around a shopping centre for an hour and a half .... and got the usual "hey you're up and walking lets contract your belly" thing happening
ah this preggo thing is fun
how is everyone else going?
Beany
19-08-2006, 03:59 PM
I was waiting for a baby pic for an avatar. Until then, I suppose Piney will have to do ...
(I did that and left it on the counter one night. The following morning, I found my husband in convulsions in the kitchen, tears streaming down his face as he fought for breath. I was quite worried until I remembered what I'd done :D )
wattle
19-08-2006, 04:11 PM
Thank goodness that's not your baby avatar - ouch, don't think I'd be too keen on giving birth to a pineapple :eek: :eek:
littlejoy
19-08-2006, 04:13 PM
Raffee you are an inspiration!! I hope I am even 5% as calm and together as what you are.. well done!!!
Thanks Wattle I will do my best I have a guided hypnobirthing CD so I think I will spend some time meditating and see how I go to try to calm down!!:cool: I feel quite calm about going into labour naturally I am just really scared of being induced so I will have to work on it before next Thursday night.
Beany, I love the avatar!!! :laughing: :laughing:
Littlejoy I was reading my hypnobirthing book last night and it said that a mother being anxious can slow down or stop contractions because of the chemicals the anxiety releases into your body.
Yes, I read about this too, its the old fight or flight response common to all mammals. You need a safe place to give birth.
Interestingly, once the birth has reached a certain stage, these same chemicals can speed up labour, presumably to allow the mother to grab her baby and run. Not really recommended if you are in hospital although I was tempted...
If you have read my birth story you would have read about Dr Death coming in to scare me into submission about the delivery of my placenta. The above is the reason I didn't stab him...I figured he might have made me release some chemicals to get the bollocky thing out. Didn't work, but he survived.
Can't wait to hear the news since it looks like there will be some from Raffee.
I took Baden out in his stroller today. I am so paranoid. I was when I was pregnant too, I had this awful feeling someone was going to stab me. Now I have the feeling someone is going to try and hurt my beautiful baby. I am like the Terminator, casing the joint.
ourbump
19-08-2006, 07:06 PM
Whooohoo go Raffee, thinking of you and can't wait to hear how it has all gone.
Had a great day today, the baby expo was really good, got a few crazy looks from people when they asked when I was due and I said "tomorrow".... We also came home and have sold one of our cars that we have been trying to sell for 3 weeks. It was very exciting and quite a relief as between my DH and I we have 4 cars... ( don't ask ) anyway we are selling three, the other is a company car and then we are buying one family car. The family car is already on order so we have to sell the others to pay for it, so it was very exciting today to have one gone... Now only another two to go. Anyone know anyone who might want to buy a cute little two door sportscar convertible mg, unfortunately the baby seat doesn't quite fit :thumbsdown:
Well I am hoping that tomorrow when I log on I will have some good news stories to read and some more exciting labours to hear about.
Good night all
raffee
19-08-2006, 07:48 PM
Hello everyone - I'm Rafee's darling fertiliser! just like to share the good news - this afternoon at 3.56pm, Eamonn Sean was born, weighing in at 3.78 kg and measuring 53cm.
Um, I think that is all I am supposed to type for now - I think she wants to save all the gorey details for when she gets back on-line...!
Beany
19-08-2006, 08:07 PM
Wheee!!! Yay for Raffee!
Congratulations 'Fertiliser' and welcome Eamonn!
wattle
19-08-2006, 08:12 PM
HOORAY RAFFEE!!!! :smiliedance:
That's fantastic news. Hope all went well and you're having beautiful new baby bliss time now together.
Well done on your first posting effort too, fertilser. hehe.
*Country Bumpkin*
19-08-2006, 09:12 PM
CONGRATUALTIONS
RAFFEE!!!
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Welcome little Eamonn!!!
Ohhh and congrats to you too Mr Raffee aka the "fertiliser
wattle
20-08-2006, 01:04 AM
OK, I need to have a whinge. It's nearly 2am and the new neighbours are having a doof party. :thumbsdown: I've had enough! I can't sleep, and I can hardly think (not that I need to think about much :o ) but some peace would be nice.
I went outside and listened to the music (and the hysterical girl laughing too loud :rolleyes: ) and it's not actually that loud, it's just the doof doof bass is carrying right into the bedroom.
Oh dear..... doof doof doof doof doof doof doof doof, they have been playing the same song since 9pm. :banghead:
Beany
20-08-2006, 02:45 AM
It's nearly 4am and I'm still up. And there's no doof-doofing around here either.
No progress this end, I'm afraid. Same old, same old. :gloomy:
Oh well, bed time for grumpy moo. Night all!
littlejoy
20-08-2006, 06:32 AM
Good morning ladies!!
Well at 2.50am I had a show.. well at least I think that's what is was.... TMI warning.................... pink coloured running discharge sorry that does sound discusting!!! :o Followed by a couple of bouts of the runs... and very very very mild pains every 10-11mins I managed to fall back to sleep at around 5am and could sleep throught the pains so I am guessing that is not a good sign! Anyway I just got up so I will keep you all posted if anything else happens.. but I feel like this could go on for days yet..........:confused: but it is better than nothing!!
Congratulatios Raffee and fertiliser and welcome Eamonn!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can't wait to read all about the gorey!!!
wattle
20-08-2006, 07:13 AM
Oooh Littlejoy, maybe today could be the day. How exciting. :smiliedance:
Well the doofing stopped at 3.30am, so I managed to sleep until 5.30am when ds woke up. Hmmmm. How is it that dh can sleep through all that noise?? Wonder if I can catch a few zzzz's today.
salt water
20-08-2006, 01:28 PM
oh raffee - you clever thing you!! A big congratulations to you and welcome little Eamonn (I love that name BTW!!). :yelclap: :yelclap:
Littlejoy - :fingerscrossed: for you here that this is it!
Wattle - doof doof doof!!!! Just in case you were missing it!! Hope you are getting some sleep today. I have to tell you that I am getting more sleep now with a newborn than I was in those last few weeks when I hardly seemed to sleep at all!
Back in min with some more personals - Clio is awake and HUNGRY!!
PS - thanks for all the congrats!! She was sooooo worth worth waiting for, we are besotted with her, totally in love. Will post my birth story when I can - all went a bit askew just after she was born but I'll tell you about it later (not for those who go weak at the knees easily at the sight of blood!!)
trece
20-08-2006, 02:15 PM
Afternoon ladies.
Well, I'm back from the hospital after giving birth to our beautiful second daughter yesterday (the day before her EDD)at 10.47am - after only 4 1/2 hrs labour! DH couldn't believe how quickly it all happened. He was my rock, and I couldn't have done it without him. She was 50cm and 3.5kg. We haven't decided on a name yet, but we're almost agreed on Alliyah Kate. I'll post my birth story when I get a chance. The look on DD1's face when she came to see us at hospy was priceless.
Hope you are all doing well, and that those who are still waiting will be blessed with their arrivals soon!
Beany
20-08-2006, 02:30 PM
Congratulations Trece! And welcome the possible Little Miss Aliyah Kate!
That leaves me, wattle, mama anne (who is AWOL ... ), adele (who is likely to pop any second) and littlejoy (but probably not for too long considering her earlier post). Anyone else?
*tapping fingers* this waiting malarky is dead boring, you know ...
*Country Bumpkin*
20-08-2006, 02:40 PM
CONGRATULATIONS TRECE!!!!
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
ourbump
20-08-2006, 02:42 PM
Congratulations Raffee and Mr Rafee. Welcome Eamonn