View Full Version : Thought I'd make the place more homely
Pages :
[
11]
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 01:11 PM
Parisa, my ob doesnt do step b tests as a routine- only if waters break to early or if there are no contractions within a certain time of waters breaking or something like that. So I think it jus depends on your ob. My ob also doesnt do the routing GD test as he said that the urine samples every visit, along with the blood pressure and weight check would indicate whether or not there is anything to be concerned about. Like I said, it just depends on your obby. Mine is very laid back - then again he has been doing this for 30 years or something and is now delivering babies to babies he delivered!! Suits me as I dont like to be prodded and poked too much... didnt stop him booking me in for an internal exam this afternoon did it!! oh no:no: :gloomy: Drats..... speaking of which, I'd better get myself there now, I only have 1/2 an hour and I am not ready yet!!!
BTW - crippling inner thigh pains started this morning when I got out of the shower -I wonder if that menas that bub is even more engaged or just dancing on a nerve??
Adele - good news on skyla engaging even more!! Isnt it funny we kind of expect that midi's should have kids so that they would at least have some "real" experience of what they are talking about!! Having said that - my obby is a MAN!!! What would he know about even period pain!!!! Nothing! Nada! :rolleyes: At least midis albeit childless midis will have a vague understanding of what things feel like in there!!:laughing:
missie_mack
19-07-2006, 01:12 PM
I think the strep B depends on the doc and hospital. At my hospy it is standard and they made my cousin stay longer when she had her baby at the end of june because she hadnt been swabbed.
Could it possibly depend on your state also?? I do know its only a recent thing and have only started testing for it in the last couple of years
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 01:12 PM
Sorry about my spelling/typing in previous post ... shocking!! Havent got time to correct it now.. have to goooooo!!! Taraa!:D
cheekypossum
19-07-2006, 01:14 PM
OMG you girls talk too much......
Was going to write personal but have tired myself out catching up on all the posts...though like someone said I would only be repeating everyone elses comments.
Well re BH - I don't know that I am having any - yeah I get aches and pains but nothing like you all are saying.. I only started taking Rasberry Leaf Tabs yesterday...I am now 37 weeks.
But gee there are some exciting things happening to some of you hopefully meaning that you will go into labout soon.....wow that seems so surreal....I think just because it would be handy for bub to come early - it won't.
I had my last day at work today :smiliedance: finally felt ready and decided today cause that is how we get paid.....so a bit of me time before the big day....
Uhm basically that is all I have to say...thanks for the Birthday wishes girls....
Talk again soon gonna go for a nonna nap
Littlepickle, when you get back from obby I vote that you should update your avatar.
I want to see your belly.
Besides which, you're making the rest of us look huge.
*Country Bumpkin*
19-07-2006, 01:17 PM
Cool. So if I keep my mouth shut I might sneak past them without the test!!!
Yeeeeeep:yes: :laughing:
Carla
19-07-2006, 02:31 PM
Seems standard with my Ob - I'll be having it at 37 weeks (even though he can't count and thinks it will be 36 weeks hmmm) - wasn't a question but was told I'd be having it. Each OB to their own I think.
Fairyfloss
19-07-2006, 02:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by shed
Cool. So if I keep my mouth shut I might sneak past them without the test!!!
Yeeeeeep:yes: :laughing:
I am taking this advice to heart, if it is not broken, don't fix it I say:D
Fairyfloss
19-07-2006, 02:57 PM
Ok, I have been meaning to say this all day, but I keep forgetting. Shed, I love your bump, so cute and neat.:yelclap:
Thanks. I love my bump too, I have been working on getting a tan on it.
Girls, I just had a bit of a "moment". I was in bubby's "room" i.e. the spare room with all the baby related paraphenalia in it, going through his clothes so I could wash them.
I decided to choose his little coming home outfit, so I laid out a plain little romper and a little embroidered pumpkin patch jacket and a little hat.
Then I reached into the back of the cupboard where there is a box that my cousin gave me with a pair of cotton knitted booties. They are so sweet and so delicate, made in France and sitting in tissue paper. I got them out and laid it all out to see what it looked like. The second I put the booties at the feet of the suit it hit me:
I AM HAVING A BABY.
This has happened a couple of times but never this strong. I had to sit down on the floor and I stared into the mirror at my belly for about five minutes, just sitting quietly realising that I am going to be somebody's mum, very soon. A real little person.
And he is going to be all mine. Not somebody else's cute baby. Mine.
Its my turn.
I am nearly 37 and have been waiting so long. And now its my turn.
I can't believe it.
mum_I'm_hungry
19-07-2006, 03:34 PM
Well, I hit those shops. Pjs, robe, towels, wok (?!), pillows (needed them anyway) and bulk buying of Huggies at Woolies (cheap this week). Speaking of which, I am so peeved how Huggies suddenly jacked up their box price from around $38 to $42 and thought no-one would notice!!!
I read the other day that second and subsequent babies don't engage at all until you're ready to give birth. Anyone know if that's true? I keep bombarding my husband with questions (he's a dr), but he's the wrong kind. I still can't believe I didn't get any anaesthetic last time around (he's the epidural dude). A can of Coke during and two Panadol after the fact! What a gyp!
Beany
19-07-2006, 03:38 PM
shed: I got one of those moments earlier today when I shoved a box of stuff out of the way with my foot and then leaned against the door frame realising the "stuff" was bed linen for a cot. Which has a little mattress. For a little person ... that's in my tummy! There *poke* right there! And it will soon be out sleeping in the cot and throwing up on the linen ...
Alli: if my husband was the epidural dude, I'd have him put the stuff in now. Just in case ... :D
cheekypossum
19-07-2006, 03:49 PM
Shed - your post gave me goosebumps how cute
I had a message on my phone from the husband of a lady whom I went to A/N classes with - she had a healthy baby boy last night 5p11...:yelclap: OMG she was due about the same time as me...yeek I am so excited for them
AlliJB - You sound like you had fun at the shops spending money :devil6:
Beany - :wave:
Beany
19-07-2006, 03:50 PM
Hiya Tash :) :wave:
Fairyfloss
19-07-2006, 04:11 PM
Alli: if my husband was the epidural dude, I'd have him put the stuff in now.
yep have to agree with this one, at the very least, you can except, a good sleep after wards.
Bella8
19-07-2006, 04:18 PM
Hi ladies!!
When I went for my obs appt yesterday they made ME do the swab myself - has anyone else had this happen?? I'm definately not complaining but I'd psyched myself up to have the internal!!!!!
Thanks to those of you who have set my mind at ease re the measurement and sugar thing. What would I do without you???? :kiss: I feel much better now.
I am also getting the 'oh my god - I'm having a baby' moments. I think DP is sick of hearing about it!!!
Adele - you were talking about the frustration of your partner expecting you to be the housemaid as well as carry his baby. I'm getting a bit of that too. As if we haven't got enough to cope with!!!!! :banghead:
At home - I've now finished work for 2.5 weeks and almost every day when it comes close to DP coming home I feel like I have to have something to show for my day - does anyone else get these pangs of guilt? My day seems to go so quickly and now that the doc has said to rest up more I am finding myself doing less and less and then feeling bad cause DP has been working overtime so we are not short when bubs comes... mind you, someone said to me that i AM doing something - I am looking after the baby and no one else can do that so i should try to keep that in mind....
Renae xx
salt water
19-07-2006, 04:22 PM
I read the other day that second and subsequent babies don't engage at all until you're ready to give birth. Anyone know if that's true?
My second baby didn't engage until I was in full blown labour and this one, no. 3 is still floating around just above my pelvis - Obs and midwife have both said that she may not engage until labour either (if I get that far) , so I guess it's true. :)
Shed - you are going to be the best Mummy :hugs:
salt water
19-07-2006, 04:33 PM
Ok girls - this is possibly my last post for a while but I'll make it quick. :yes:
Don't know if I'll get on in the morning, so many mummy type things to do for DS and DD but I will try.
Tomorrow afternoon I am having another scan - if placenta is still where it was then I will be admitted straight up for a c-sect which will be early Friday morning. OMG Otherwise I will come home and continue my life until I go into labour naturally!! :fingerscrossed:
SO (big breath) in case I am going into to have my baby - thanks for sharing the journey :hugs: , I have laughed (and cried) with you all and I feel blessed for having stumbled onto such a lovely group of women and although we don't know each other in the real world, the support you have offered me has been greater than any I could have found elsewhere.
So MWAH, big kisses :kiss: all round and I'll talk to you soon.
Noosamum XX
PS - I'll try to convince DH to come on with an update in the event that I am unable to but this chatting online business is "not his thing" so if you don't hear from either of us, assume that it has all gone ahead.
XX
Beany
19-07-2006, 04:37 PM
Best of luck Noosasmum. If we don't hear from you, we'll be thinking of you :hugs:
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 04:59 PM
Noosamum - Best of luck! I hope everything goes well for you. Looking forward to hearing an update in the very near future!:hugs:
Shed: I agree, my avatar is very outdated - I will try to update it this evening :fingerscrossed: But first I have to tell you my news...
I had my obby appointment this arvo and he did the internal - checking cervix thing and said that he could touch bubs head:eek: So I am guessing that this means that I am already quite dilated.. correct.. anyway, he said that I might get a bit of spotting later due to the internal but not to worry... Anyway, I walked home from town and was getting quite a lot of tightenings like BH, and period pain rolled into one, but nothing particularly painfull, also I was getting a lot of shooting pains down my inner thighs and pubic bone. When I got home, went to the toilet and (Warning TMI) there was blood and what looked like bloody snot everywhere ... spotting....huh! my foot! I was like ohmygodohmygodohmygod.. what do I do now.. wasnt expecting that at all.. spotting is not that much blood in my opinion.. so I rang the obby and explained what had happened and he said not to panic but to ring the labour ward if the pains get any worse or more frequent... SO. .. I dont know what is happening, I am getting what feels like period pain but not what I would consider as contractions.. I'm scared!!!!
Sorry for lack of personals, my head is all over the place at the moment
Beany
19-07-2006, 05:09 PM
Sounds like the mucus plug and pre-labour to me. If you are THAT dilated anyway, it's likely the internal and the walk dislodged the plug and you are starting to get ready to go ...
Are you racing Noosasmum or something? ;p
Hope things are going well ...
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 05:13 PM
Thanks Beany, yep all going well here - just a bit apprehensive tis all! I cant keep still, I have made a roast beef dinner and thats all in the oven cooking away merrily.. dont know why I decided on cooking a roast dinner tonight of all nights... maybe its a nesting type thing??
Beany
19-07-2006, 05:15 PM
It also keeps you nice and occupied for a little while. And it's comforting. Can I have the potatoes?
By the way, this internal exam ... what did he do exactly? :eek: :( :gloomy:
Fairyfloss
19-07-2006, 05:20 PM
littlepickle- don't panick, the baby is term so it is normal I suppose, hope things move along as you want them. have you packed your bags? (just incase;) ) hope it all goes well.:hugs:
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 05:29 PM
Parisa - Yep just gone 38 weeks so bub is term.. actually obby commented that bub is quite big... so I am a bit worried about that!! :laughing: he didnt elaborate on how big he was talking! I do have my bags packed though, they have been packed for quite a while.. I just know I will have forgotten to pack something though!!
Beany - course you can have the potatoes.. do you want a parsnip and yorkshire pud with that? (they are not aunt bessies though.. but made from a jamie oliver recipe):D
cheekypossum
19-07-2006, 05:29 PM
OMG all this labour talk AHHH can't beleive that it is all so close.....:smiliedance:
Bella - What the!!!! I have an awful picture in my head when you say they made you do it yourself...I have never heard of that before..I mean when I go for scans in the beginning I put the Probe in myself but a swab...weird.....And they are right you are doing something...taking care of you and bub...I can understand that you may feel guilty but I bet DH would want you to take care of yourselves
Noosamum - GOOD LUCK....push your DH on this site so he can let us know...BIG TEARS - what lovely words you said....:hugs:
Littlepickle - ooh how exciting (scary and not a nice thing to happen)....keep us updated....
Thought We all should get Laptops so we can take to hospy so we all are not anxious to hear how everyone is going....GOOD idea????
littlepickle
19-07-2006, 05:36 PM
beany - sorry, I meant to tell you what the internal was like.. well not too bad albeit a bit painfull.. he didnt use a ducks beak thingy at all, just put some gloves on, ut some lube on the gloved and put his finger(s) realy deep inside. I had to tilt my pelvis up as it is difficult to reach the cervix at this stage apparently, anyway, I am assuming he measured the dilation of my cervix with his finger(s) (dont know - or want to know how many fingers he used in there...:eek: ) it hurt a bit like period pain while he was doing the inernal and afterwards, I had a bit of lower back pain...
You will be lad to know that no scapula is used and because it hurts a bit, the last thing you are thinking about is the embarassment of it all!
my3sons
19-07-2006, 07:15 PM
I am getting electric shocks in my cervix. bzzz........bzzzzz......bzzzz
Me too! They started around a week ago and getting more ouchy - from past experience I think it means that my cervix is starting to open up a little :fingerscrossed:
My first EDD was also 13th (my date), my scan date is the 11th tho'. Maybe that's why we're both buzzing :D
ourbump
19-07-2006, 07:16 PM
LP - Wow how exciting sounds like you are going to go soon... Can't wait to hear
Noosamum - Good luck I really hope that you are able to update us can't wait to hear all.
Shed - It really was beautiful what you wrote, I had a moment like that today at the shops with my Nan and we walked past a couple with a very small baby, the dad was pushing the new pram with the Mum holding this tiny baby. They had it wrapped in a bunny rug that I have as well so it seemed to really hit home to me and I got so excited all of a sudden.
tashmusa - At our pre admission appointment my DH was so excited to hear that they have dial up connection in the wards so that you can connect your laptop... I just thought oh no he is going to be working and writing emails to work while I am in labour, but no he is adamant it is only to send photos to family in NZ. I have also warned him that he will have to log on to the hub and let you all know when we have the baby. I think he is looking forward to that, each day now he is asking me so what is happening on the hub, any babies yet?
Don't you think it is ironic how we are all freaking out about internal examinations... Like it is not going to be the most undignified experience we are going to go through very soon! I too do not want an internal and am secretly hoping that my Ob will not suggest one.
Anyway must go, DH has just got home from work and I have to show him all the purchases I made today. OOOPS.. Lucky he loves me..
my3sons
19-07-2006, 07:19 PM
Does anyone know if the strep B test is a routine test or not, and when I should expect one?. gee I am full of questions today.:o
It is for my Ob. He does this at 36 weeks (had it on Monday - blah! AND he had a student present for the first time in 8 months :o ).
my3sons
19-07-2006, 07:26 PM
Could it possibly depend on your state also?? I do know its only a recent thing and have only started testing for it in the last couple of years
I had it done in 2000 with my last bub.
Beany
19-07-2006, 07:26 PM
my3sons: you scratching yet? :D
mama anne
19-07-2006, 07:31 PM
evening girls
littlepickle it's exciting that you might almost be there! i know what you mean about not being able to sit still .... last night i couldn't just sit there and feel what was going on, i had to be doing something. sending good baby vibes your way .... and (depending on which you'd prefer) either hoping you start to get real labour pains and can go and have this baby OR that the weird cramping period type pains and bh go away by themselves ......
all this labour talk .... and the thing is there's only going to be more and more of it between now and the end of august!
tashmusa yay for you finishing work!!!
bella8 i know what you mean about the guilt factor .... some days i do nothing and feel SO guilty and other days i do stacks and then am WRECKED all night ............ but you are right. no one else can grow these babies for us!
shed :smiliedance: you are going to be a mummy!! it's exciting and massive and i haven't got my head around it yet either .... but those moments are big heart ones hey.
me - havent had pains like last night today ... which is a good thing. am still feeling pressure on my bum and other place ... i just keep thinking that the amount of women that have painless (or not overly painful) contractions compared to the ones who have painful contractions must be miniscule .... so unless i actually have a show or my waters break or the pain gets worse than normal period pain then i'll just sit on it for awhile (sorry bad image). obviously that can change at any time (my mindset i mean) .... but thats where i'm at with it all now.
cooking dinner for me and dh but we won't actually eat till 9:30pm (when his lecture finishes) so i'm just hanging around doing nothing .... i have lots of things I COULD do to fill in the time but can't really be bothered.
might just sit here and grow my baby for awhile :)
lilbugalugs
19-07-2006, 08:04 PM
Oh wow it is really starting to get down to it now huh?? When I read last night that Seekrit had a BOY, that really freaked me out!! What if my little boy is not really a little boy? I think that it would take me a few moments to adjust!
AliJB - I thought that was the case with second bubs not engaging also...but this bubs is 3/5 engaged at the moment...the middi did say that that is about as far as they expect it to engage before labour...so I guess that some bubs do and some don't! With DD I was fully engaged 3 weeks before I went into labour.
Good luck Little Pickle! You will be fine, just relax your body knows what to do:-)
I caught up with my friend who had her bubby last week (It was a girl only just 5 pound!) She is sooooooo tiny..she is wearing 00000 clothing and it is a bit big:eek: I came home and had a Shed moment...'Oh my god, I am really going to have a baby!' It is all a bit sureal at the moment!!
Cheers everyone!!
my3sons
19-07-2006, 08:20 PM
Noosamum No matter what happens tomorrow it's going to be a wonderful day - either the great news that your placenta has moved OR that your precious little bundle will be born on Friday :smiliedance: Lots of :hugs: and :kiss: . Can't wait to hear all about it!
Bella Hiya - don't worry, I have heard of "do it yourself swabs". My ob commented to the "student" on Monday that some Dr's get their patients to do it - I was laying there with a bright red face thinking "great!!!! why couldn't I????????"
Beany YES!!! I am - and stop LAUGHING!!!!!!!!!!!! All I could think about was you taking it "all" off and how dreadful that would have felt growing back - if you let it grow back that is.....hmmmmm?
LP Whooo Hooooo, it's all sounding very good for you - are you all ready, just in case? We had a roast tonight too - not because I'm nesting but because my new oven is going in over the weekend and didn't wanna get it dirty.........lol. Hope you enjoyed it! The yorkshire pudding sounds delish, we just had the old butterscotch from the packet!
mum_I'm_hungry
19-07-2006, 08:31 PM
Wow! Good luck Noosamum. As my 2.5 year old likes to say... 'Bit scary!'
Beany
20-07-2006, 12:13 AM
Yet another very strange question from me ...
Is anyone else's uterus making a sort of clicking noise every so often? I know I'm not just imagining it because as I was sitting on the couch with my husband, it happened again and he heard it too.
Goodness, my body has a tendency to really disturb me these days.
my3sons
20-07-2006, 05:51 AM
Beany - Sometimes bubs foot (or some other small protruding thing) pushes against me and makes a "clicking" feeling but I don't think there's any noise? Probably dosen't make sense......lol. I have heard people talking about a clicking noise though so you're not alone ;)
wattle
20-07-2006, 07:16 AM
LP - hope you're feeling ok today and managed to get some sleep. Isn't this turning into the most exciting/nerve wrecking thread on bubhub! It's so wonderful that we're all about to become parents, it won't be long until we're all holding our precious little bubs and feeling proud.
I had a shocking night - after doing waaaaay too much cleaning yesterday (goodness knows why I suddenly HAD to scrub the laundry and kitchen to military standards) I was feeling really exhausted and rundown last night. I went to bed at 9pm bud dh wanted to chat about stuff for a while. So at 10pm I turned off the light. 2 minutes later the phone rang, then my mobile, so thinking it was important I got up and answered it - it was my friend who was really really drunk. :banghead: I was stuck on the phone for an hour while she sobbed about problems with her Ex. Finally I hung up, got all comfy, then..........whaaaaaaa from ds's room. (sigh)
He started screaming and I knew something was wrong, so I got up and he had a fever and was in a real state. I stayed up with him until midnight with him clinging to me and crying. Eventually he calmed down and I put him back into bed. I got back in bed and had just got back to sleep when whaaaaaaa again. (sigh) I got up again, he was even more hysterical. So I sat up until 3am in a chair cuddling him. Needless to say there isn't a lot of room left on my lap for a toddler, and my bum and feet ended up with pins and needles!
Finally he got to sleep, but then woke up at 6am. :rolleyes: So today I'm totally wrecked, but ds seems ok. Phew.
Sorry to ramble..... :o
littlepickle
20-07-2006, 07:31 AM
Oh Wattle - Sounds like you have a helava night! Poor ds, I hope he is feeling better now, its a scary place having a fever when you are little :gloomy:
You have just reminded me that I should probably sort out my laundry cupboard.. the whole nesting thing seems:gloomy: t have left me now, and I am just too tired to do anything too much.. I have energy now and then but it is in fits and bursts!
Is anyone else finding it really difficult to get a comfy position now? I am finding it so difficult to sleep or relax, then I find if I do get comfy, the phone will ring, the door will knock or something else to make me get up..:banghead:
beany: I had the clicky thing once or twice but it came from higher up in my stomach - hasnt done it for a while now, but when I looked it up it said that it was the mothers ligaments making the noise rather than bubs apparently
me: Well I have slept for a total of 1 hour last night. BH contractions are here in force today but manageable - I might go for a long walk to see if anything else happens? Walking is a bit painfull now with the watermelon between the legs feeling .. oh joy! I have truly perfected the art of "the waddle" now! I dont know if this bub is going to want to hang on to be a Leo ..:rolleyes: leo starts Monday doesnt it? hmmmm
I hope everyone else is feeling fine!
BTW isnt it COLD this morning!!!!
Fairyfloss
20-07-2006, 08:01 AM
Cathy and little pickle, I am so sorry about your restless night, here is a big hug :hugs::hugs:for both of you, hope, you have a better day today.:hugs:
Bella8
20-07-2006, 09:15 AM
Hi everyone!! :wave:
Noosamum – my thoughts are with you… could be the second one on the way!!! Your kind words were lovely – I’m sure I speak for everyone when I say that we all feel the same way about our little group
Tash – yeah I thought it was weird too that they got me to do it myself but it basically only a long cue tip that I had to swish around there so it wasn’t too bad. I was just thinking ‘I hope I’m doing this right!!!’ Oh and I would LOVE to have a laptop but haven’t got one unfortunately as I would love to update you all while in hospy. My DP is also not so familiar with online forums but will try to get him to come online…. Oh hang on… will it be a good thing???? Have to remember how much I have winged about him in past posts…… :o
LP – Keep us updated. Like the others said, a little scary but quite exciting too – this could be it!!!! Yes, the roast thing sounds like you’re nesting. Here in Adelaide it is only 9.30 in the morning but you’ve made me really hungry for a roast!!!!
Electric type shocks – me too!!!! I was lying in bed and got them and thought that maybe the electric blanket had shorted and I had fried my little boy!!! All was ok though and I had the same feeling later in the day when I was on the couch. Feels really weird eh
Beany – thank goodness you mentioned the ‘clicking’ thing. I have been meaning to post that question for ages!!!!!!! What the **** is it??? :eek: I get it quite a lot and at first I thought is it my little mans bones cracking then thought that was a bit premature but couldn’t come up with an explanation. Everyone I’ve spoken to have never experienced it…
Wattle – sorry to hear you had a bad nights sleeps. Sounds like you really needed a good one after your busy day. I too didn’t sleep very well. Sat up until about 1.30am as I was really uncomfortable and had bad heartburn. DP got up to go to work at 4am which woke me up and then I managed an hour or two after that. Feel really tired…
me - Apart from feeling really tired, I'm not too bad today. Have had moments where I have felt really short of breath but I guess bubs is taking up more and more room these days.. Yesterday I managed to finish my birth plan and also made a list of all the people to be contacted once our little boy arrives.
Stretchmarks - well it wasn't long ago when I was boasting about not getting any but I'm afraid to say that I think my luck has run out. I'm not 100% they are as DP reakons they aren't but there are red marks which have suddenly appeared under my belly button going down to my pelvis. If I touch them they seem to be like dents (if that makes sense). I had a bit of a cry last night when I discovered them!!! I only have 3.5 weeks to go - couldn't my skin have lasted a little longer?????????????????
Anyway thats my little spit. The plan today is to do a bit of a tidy up and go and do a food shop. I feel exhausted just thinking about it. Must get some preggy pics real soon before I drop. Might use the opportunity to update my avatar!!!
Bye for now,
Rx
Bella8
20-07-2006, 09:20 AM
oops - forgot to ask another question...
I am making my way through washing bubs clothes and wondered - do you have to wash EVERYTHING? I have also been washing sheets and wraps but didn't know if I should be washing blankets, quilt cover etc....
Where do you stop??
cheekypossum
20-07-2006, 09:36 AM
My3sons - :wave:
Ourbump - that would be great if your DH could update us when you are in hospy....your family are going to love getting the pics over the email - most of mine are going to be text messages until I get home to my computer
Mamaanne - I know how you feel - lots to do but can't be bothered doing anything...was going to get stuck into things today but DH is home sick so can't make too much noise
Lilbugalugs - your friends baby - can't believe how small they can be....how cute
Beany - Re clicking sound - I did read somewhere about that - will have to go and investigate cause I can't remember what it was about
Wattle - sorry to hear of your rough night - hope DS is feeling better - there is nothing worse when little ones are sick
Littlepickle - YES it is so hard to get into comfy positions and I am not really that big - oh to sleep on my back again hee hee
Bella - Well I won't be leaving it up to DH to update all you girls as he knows how to do internet banking and basic searches..otherwise he is internet illiterate hee hee - but like you said then he might read of all the whinging we do about them....we also made our "to contact" list the other night and this morning my mum packed her bags as she is coming with us (our hospy is 1 hour away aHHH)
Re washing - I washed EVERYTHING - only cause one of the books say you are getting rid of any extra chemicals that might be in the materials
Me - well my 1st day off from work, work rung me up and wanted me to in to do some typing....but I got myself out of it....the sun is out :smiliedance: so more washing - I think we have only had 21 fine days since March...otherwise just going to toddle around the house - need groceries badly but don't feel like going anywhere....also feel in a baking mood - but then I will want to eat it all...oh well will catch up later
Re: the washing. I just started out washing his clothes and the little sleeping bag things.
I have been told that I don't need to wash the new things, but I did anyway. I only washed the newborn sized ones and the 000 size ones and this kid has TWO washing machine loads of clothes already, all designer stuff, spoilt little b*gger.
I used Am-o-lin washing liquid and OMG that stuff smells so beautiful I swear I was SNIFFING the clothes when they came out of the machine and again when they came out of the dryer. I was like sniff-fold, sniff-fold. We are DEFINITELY switching to Am-o-lin in this house from now on!! I have never smelled anything so lovely in my entire life.
No clicking for me, just the bzzzing and a very very very full belly of arms and legs. My skin is still holding out, no stretchies yet. I am in shock about that, I was sure I would cop it. My mum did and she reckons the worst ones were from me!
cheekypossum
20-07-2006, 09:46 AM
Shed - it is lovely to smell the washing stuff....I am using the Lux Flakes and it just has that little bubba smell OHHH
Beany - this is the info that i read
QII. What is that strange clicking sound?
Occasionally a pregnant woman will describe a distinctive 'click' or 'pop' coming from inside her uterus, usually when her baby is moving during middle to late pregnancy. This is not very common, but we have been asked this question by a few women over the years during the course of them sharing their experiences.
The 'clicking' phenomenon is not documented in midwifery or obstetric text books. Therefore it is hard to know what really causes it. One plausible explanation may be that the baby's joints are rubbing or 'clicking' as they move, but we cannot be certain. In our experience, women who have noticed 'clicking' have gone on to have healthy, normal babies. Therefore we do not think it is anything to be concerned about. Perhaps it will just remain one of those strange mysteries of pregnancy?
Beany
20-07-2006, 10:17 AM
Thanks tash :) So the basic upshot is that Bella and I are freaks :D
I do hope it's not the baby's bones clicking, can't be good for the poor little sod. Maybe I should drink more milk, give it more calcium - though considering the amount of calcium I'm getting, I might end up giving birth to a Devondale cow or something.
ourbump
20-07-2006, 11:01 AM
HAve just come back from the Target toy sale, felt a little bit strange being at the sale with all the mothers almost there when the doors opened!! Anyway bought a CD player for Bubs room, it was reduced to $49 from $99 so that I thought that was a good buy. If I knew the sex of the baby I could have bought a blue or pink boombox ( don;t you love that terminollogy, reminds me of the 80's) for only $29. Nevermind got a different one in white. There were quite a few bargains around but it is hard to know what to buy, did you guys that have other bubbas already have many toys, teething things, squeaky things etc when bubs was born. I kind of go in and out of wanting these things for fear of overstimulating and then not having a settled baby. ( AS if it is going to be that easy!!)
Anyway I have come to a point right now where I got the nursery sorted out ages ago and since then, all the things I have bought have just been thrown in there and are now piling up. Even DH said last night, babe I think you might need to sort out the nursery tomorrow so that you can show me where to find things like socks and jocks etc for the bubba... Cute hey, here are the jocks, points to the huggies nappies and here are the socks opens a drawer full of white clothing that is overflowing... I just can't seem to get myself motivated to get it sorted, still haven't packed my hopi bag yet!! What does this mean? I am just a lazy @$% or am I putting it off for a reason???
Beany - I too have been drinking unbelievable amounts of milk, I have even found myself snarling at DH if he drinks it as somehow I believe that it is all mine! Strange creatures we are..
LP & Noosamum - OOH so close. YIPEE :smiliedance:
Bella8 - I think you should listen to your DP and believe that you do not have stretchmarks... I find that denial works well for me. Mind you I have been lucky so far to not have stretchies but I am in denial about all the extra fat on my normally small thighs and butt... God I have put on 20 kilos AAAHHHH help !
Hello to everyone else :wave:
I must go and try and carry out my domestic engineer duties. lol
Uniquey
20-07-2006, 11:07 AM
Rachyep , it is COLD this morning, I guess that means the dreaded EKKA is just around the corner with all the bugs and westerly winds:(
Rach, I didn't get around to answering your questions the other night regarding the Mater etc. We enjoyed the ante-natal workshop, it was light-hearted, no revelations for me, but good for DH. I liked the whole tour thing, but we didn't get to see any babies etc, as there were too many of us to take up. All in all though, it was good. It's exciting to know that they're building a new Mater Mother's next year, as the RBH Mothers is so nice and new, and it does make a difference from the old and smelly Mater sections!
As for how I am, well, I had my 36 week visit yesterday, and had a bit of a down day:crying: After I hopped up on the bed, the Ob said to me, 'your baby's upside down', very matter of factly. I knew what he meant, but it didn't register, and I said 'pardon', and he says, 'your baby's breech'. I tried not to cry then and there, and then he went on to say that they can 'turn the baby', sometimes you can deliver vaginally, but when it's your first they prefer a C-section'.
So, needless to say, my mind went into a spin. I now have to go back to the Mater every week. He didn't mention anything else, bar the whole 'breech' situation, so I felt awful all day. I know I have another 4 weeks and things might change, but it was the shock of going in there, expecting to hear about engagement etc, like everyone else and i get the 'your baby's upside down' like it's some kind of freak:(
Anyway, no point worrying, I will just have to go to these appointments and see what eventuates.
ALL VERY EXCITING NEWS for you though, I don't think your little Elise will be waiting much longer by the sounds of things, how very exciting!!!!!! I can't wait !!
Noosamum I guess I'm probably too late wishing you well, but if you do manage to get on-line, BEST OF LUCK and I will be thinking of you, and PLEASE get DH to let us know when you've had Bub's, as we will all be waiting in suspense!
Beany Yep, have the 'clicking' sound too. I don't think DH believed me about the sound, until he ehard them for himself, very weird isn't it.
Shed How nice is Amolin! I washed the baby's Hospital outfits last night and like you, sniffed and sniffed. I also have Purity which is just as beautiful. It all still seems so surreal this having a 'baby thing':smiliedance:
Leo territory is approaching ladies!
Uniquey
20-07-2006, 11:14 AM
OurBump You made me laugh with the whole 'Boom Box' terminology:laughing: I still call them 'Ghetto Blasters' and boy, did I get paid-out on by my siblings and Husband! I don't care if I'm stuck in the 80's, I still watch Breakfast Club, Valley Girl, pretty In Pink and love them still, LOL!
Uniquey
20-07-2006, 11:17 AM
Bella8 A friend of mine in America whom ahd a lot of stretch marks from pregnancy said, 'think of them as trophies of the wonderful work you've done for 9 months', a little corny, but nice nevertheless!
As weird as this sounds, I think I would quite like to have one little stretchmark somewhere on my belly.
MILK!!!! DP knows to bring milk home every night, don't even need to ring him at work and tell him now. He knows that if he doesn't bring any home then he will have none in his coffee in the morning because it will be GONE. I used to put
Quik or Milo in with it but now I just drink it neat. Sometimes straight out of the bottle coz I can't wait. glug glug glug.
oooh
**gone to the fridge**
missie_mack
20-07-2006, 12:14 PM
It would appear that I belong to the freak club too with Bella and Beany.... Sometimes when I bend over I hear a popping noise and I struggle about to make sure it isnt my water breaking. I too am glad that I am not alone with this symptom.
A girl I work with calls her stretch marks love marks and claims they are signs of the love a mummy has for her baby. I dont have many from the top view where I stand but I know I have a few below my sight level. DH doesnt mention them for my sake and I try not to look in the mirror.......
On the milk subject it has been one of BIG cravings in th pregnancy. Im drinking nearly 4 litres a week sometimes. Funnily enough I dont drink milk ever normally and Im actually lactose intolerant (thus why I havent had issues in the bathroom like many of you have) . But I cant help myself and it has to be moove chocolate milk. The shop was all out the other day and I had to drink strawberry. It was disgusting...... has anyone else noticed how hard it is to get flavoured milk in any flavour besides coffee...
*Country Bumpkin*
20-07-2006, 12:17 PM
Ohhhh wow....
Noosamum- GOOD LUCK!!!:hugs: Cant wait to hear what happens!!
LP- How exciting!! I CANT wait to have Skyla.. I hope you have everything sorted out ready for Elise cause it soudns like she will be joining us all very very soon:D
Milk-I wish I could drink milk.. but Im lactose intollerant so Ill vomit:barf: if I do.....
Clothes Washing- I have washed every sceric of bedding, clothing and even the pram,bouncer and swing inserts. Anything that will come in contact with bubs skin basically.... All the fabrics have "dressing" in them and if you dont wash it out it can cause rash and allergy.... also seeing as alot of stuff is made in china etc... you dont know whos been handling it.
Also when the products are shipped in to Australia (usualy by boat') once the containers reach Australian docks they are fumigated(my Dad owned an importing buisness thats how i know) so the chemicals will go through everything. I have even gone as far as wiping everything like the swing and bouncer over with Pine O Clean to kill any germs- yes Im anal I know....
Well we had our last antenatal class last night.... I was really looking foward to it on tuesday but it was cancelled as the midi who was taking it had a woman in heavy labour(Im pretty sure it was Seekrit) It was the postnatal class- so we were supposed to be learning about breast feeding, home saftey, needs of the newborn etc.... it was ****.
The midi that took it told us nothing and Im pretty sure we were all about to fall asleep..... She had us in one of the birth suites when normaly we go up to level 6 and into a parent education room which is actually coumfertable- DP had to sit on the bath step and two of the other gals there were on the floor for goodness sake- it was really awful.
Like I said this class was the one I was really looking foward to considering Im a tad bit worried about the postnatal period... but I left feeling really let down and dissapointed.....:(
Well Im off to cook lasagne to freeze.....Then over to DP's mums place tonight for a quick visit after DP plays squash.. it will be quite sad going there tonight- her little dog ruby had to be put down earlier this week... she had a tick and they couldnt save her. She was very much loved by everyone so it will be difficult going there and not being greeted by Rube
Anyway have a good day everyone!!!
mum_I'm_hungry
20-07-2006, 12:23 PM
Bit of a freak out this morning. Had some spotting and so called obstetrician's office and the secretary told me to come into the labour ward for an ECG. I ended up in the exact same delivery suite I delivered my daughter in 2.5 years ago. Boy, did that make this all seem a bit too real! Everything is fine and the ECG was perfect, thank goodness. Now I just have to deal with the mental trauma of reliving the last birth so close to the next one!!! Did the final bit of baby shopping on the way home, all in a panic because I kept thinking what if I'd had to be induced, or do the emergency caesar thing etc.?
That's weird about that clicking noise. The one that I find strange is when the baby gets the hiccups!
As for stretch marks, I can't believe I never got any last pregnancy, or this one. They say it's something to do with your type of skin and if your mother got them you're more likely to as well. Doesn't make sense for me, though, as I already had some on my hips from my teenage years when I gained some weight too fast. Maybe it depends on how big you get and how fast -- if you're a slow and steady type, or if you suddenly pop out. My bumps don't get very big. Unfortunately, my body seems to like to carry babies on my butt. Not sure how that works, but my butt definitely gets bigger than my bump!
cheekypossum
20-07-2006, 12:44 PM
Just reading all the posts
:wave: to all the ladies
and just wanted to say thanks - now I have to go and have a glass of milo cause I can't get milk out of my head:banghead:
Uniquey - sorry to hear that bub is the wrong way - I am sure they will do what is best for you and bub
my3sons
20-07-2006, 01:07 PM
AlliJB So glad to hear that everything is fine with you and bubs after the spotting :)
Uniquey Sorry that your baby is breech but :fingerscrossed: bubs turns for you in the next couple of weeks - there's still enough time :hugs:
Uniquey:
http://www.spinningbabies.com/05site/index.html
my3sons
20-07-2006, 01:17 PM
did you guys that have other bubbas already have many toys, teething things, squeaky things etc when bubs was born. I kind of go in and out of wanting these things for fear of overstimulating and then not having a settled baby. ( AS if it is going to be that easy!!)
still haven't packed my hopi bag yet!! What does this mean? I am just a lazy @$% or am I putting it off for a reason???
I haven't bought any toys as such except for an aquarium thingie for the cot (which I'll use for the music at first - then later when I need five mins for a shower or something then I'll put the whole show on to entertain bubs!!) I've got a swing, rocker etc. but not any toys. I found that I purchased toys when my boys got to an age where they were getting bored with what they had.
Don't worry, I haven't packed my hospital bag yet either - I have done bubs bag though :D
my3sons
20-07-2006, 05:59 PM
shed Thankyou so much for posting that link for uniquey. That website is fantastic - my bubs is laying on my right hand side so the sleeping positions etc. mentioned might help make bubs move a little. One thing I read that is really good news is that it mentions that the "pinching" feeling that is felt in the cervix is really reassuring! I had such a severe pinching feeling tonight that I had to cross my legs and count to ten until it went away - ouch. Hubby looked slightly worried :laughing:
Readytopush
20-07-2006, 07:15 PM
Gee, i miss posting for 1 day and i feel like i missed everythying!! Seems so much has been going on in the past couple of days.
Well, i too have been told i am fully engaged.....but from my own point of view, i thought i was suppose to be able to breath much easier..........Yeah Right!!! :no: I walk around the local shopping centre for 30 mins and by the time i get to the car, i am huffing and puffing like i have been smoking for 70 years. Insane!!
Went to the hospital today to visit a girlfriend of mine who had to be enduced due to Pre-eclampsia and it got me think about pain relief.
Ah yes.....bring on the pain relief. :D I am however so confused at this point as to what my main preference is. Epidural or pethadine?? I had always been dead set on an epi......but now leaning towards pethadine. My brain is so over thinking at this point in time and this is a biggy i should already have a clear opinion on i would think?
Can anyone tell what their preferences is who has been there done that, and those not yet, how you came to your decision (if you infact even have?)
Anyway, sick of looking like a teletubbie :( when ever i walk around these days i am deciding to have a few days of couch rest watching good old chick flicks starting this evening whilst hubby is on night shift!! (lets see how long it lasts)
Have a great Friday :smiliedance: all and look forward to your input!!
lou81
20-07-2006, 08:10 PM
Well I would do some personals but I have just had the most exhausting and stressful day that I thought I would tell you all about it.
I decided to go up to the Target toysale at about 12.30 today, to put a booster seat for DD on laybye, after doing this I had a wonder around and bought DD a giant Dorothy the Dinasaur toy and then had to get some nappy bage and some panadol for DD (teething), anyway got back to my car ready to head to my Hospital appointment today and I had lost my car keys somewhere in the shopping centre. I went back into the shops and had a wonder around looking and asked at the front counter of Target and nothing couldnt find them anywhere. Called my mum in tears and completely stressing out, but she couldnt help cos shes away with dad in Bundaberg, called DP, but hes no help cos hes 4 1/2 hours away. So called my cousin luckily she was able to come up to the shops and pick me up. But I had no car seat for DD and had to go back into the shops and buy the booster seat that I had put on Laybye. Anyway headed up to the Nissan dealer and told them what had happened, and the guy said that I needed to get the car towed up there and the ignition and locks would all have to be replaced, I was just thinking $$$$$.
Anyway had my hospital appointment and all is well with bubs and I am measuring 39+ weeks and I got to talking with the midwife and I mentioned that I was actually sure of the date of conception of bubs, being the 23rd of October, she then laughted and said that, that would have me due 4 days ago. So stressing even more now,. she told me to go home and relax...... hahaha, not possible. But if I havent had bubs by next Wednesday they would look at doing a stretch and sweep or something like that.
Anyway headed back to the shops to have more of a look for my keays and they had been handed in at the front counter of Target, what a relief. I couldnt believe it, it took me like 2 hours to calm down I was so worked up.
So now I am sitting here relaxing and having a milo and half a block of chocolate and trying not to stress, DP is not back from work til Monday so hoping bubs waits til then!!!
In other news my other cousin had a baby girl on Monday, Tiana Maria, both mum and bubs are doing great!
Noosamum - good luck for tomorrow!!
Well that was my day, hope I didnt bore you all to much, will right more and update my avatar tomorrow.
Must try and get some sleep.
LOL
Readytopush
20-07-2006, 08:41 PM
Hey Lou81,
Sorry to hear what a crappy day you had. I can't beleive how unhelpful the nissan dealer wass as well. I have found thoughout being pregnant it feels so much like people want to make things difficult for us on purpose!!
Glad you found your keys afterall back at Target cause an un welcomed expense i am sure would have been the straw that broke the camels back.
Fingers crossed bubs stays where it is until at least your DP gets back from work Monday.
*Country Bumpkin*
21-07-2006, 08:24 AM
Hello :wave:
Well I have had an interesting night... I started having period like pain at about 6.30pm and the pains have continued on all night. I managed to go to sleep but was woken all through ther night by them- they are getting pretty strong and full on.
I have however worked out that DP can infact sleep through me moaning in pain!! Not once did he wake up last night and ask if I was ok.. I had to wake HIM!!!:rolleyes: And even then- he didnt wake up properly he just went "errrrrm ahhhh zzzzzz zzzzzz zzzzz....."
So there you go... i have decided that Im NOT calling my midi until I have been up and moving around the house a bit- cause knowing my luck they will stop if I go to the hospy lol.. I want to make absolutley sure that this is it.... Kinda hoping it isnt- that would mean Skyla would be kept in the special care nursery as shes 5weeks early.... and no birth centre- which terrifies me!! I reeeeeeealy dont want to go "main stream" hospital- there are Dr's there:eek:
Well here I sit with a filthy head cold feeling just awful. I cancelled my midwife appointment and now I can't get in till next Friday! and then they will probably tell me off for not coming in sooner, but they had no appointments!!
I am going to get DP to pick up some cold relief for preggy ladies on his way home.
Readytopush: There is a lot of information around about pain relief and you need to look into each one to know the risks and benefits. From what I have heard, the pethidine is sh*t, but that's just what I have heard. It also crosses the placenta so it can make bubby a bit groggy.
I am going to try water for pain relief, i.e. hopping in the tub, and endorphins, which are the body's natural response to pain. Oh yeah, and the gas, definitely the gas, but it makes some people vomit, so I'll try it and see.
I am quite worried about my back problems, so if I am in too much pain I will probably go for the epidural, but only a small dose so it wears off so I can push. Once the epidural comes into the picture you can't move around so you can't use gravity to help you, you also have to be monitored which stops you moving around as well. Also, the numbness means you don't have the feeling to push so this can lead to other interventions such as forceps which will require you to be cut.
Anyway, lots of options but none of them are very good if you ask me. I think they need to do a lot more work in finding an effective pain relief for childbirth. They're a bit slack. If it was men giving birth they would be a little pill you take with a glass of water which mean't you could feel every sensation but it wouldn't hurt and it wouldn't affect the baby at all.
ourbump
21-07-2006, 09:02 AM
Wow Adele, that sounds a bit real to me, not that I would know because I too am a first timer and have fears that I am not going to know when I go into labour.... Isn't that wishful thinking!!
Keep us informed, I hate to sound ignorant, but could it be constipation? I know when I had pains all night, I thought oh my here we go but in the morning I realised that it was not the baby just yet, just the high fibre diet!
Anyway if it is Skyla I think it would be very exciting, she will be fine being looked after in hospital for a little while because you and DP would be right there with her everyday. Don't fear the main stream hospital you also will be looked after just as well. You might be meeting Skyla very soon :smiliedance:
Lou81 - did not like the sound of your day, so glad you found the keys though :)
Readytopush - Don't worry I feel exactly the same about pain relief, don't know what to do. In my heart I want to try and do this without an epidural or pethadine ( I can hear all the already Mums laughing at me....) that would be my dream if I could handle it, but know that I will not be a martyr so may be asking for the pain relief as well. It is not that I am tree hugger it is just that I want to truely experience it all. I am going to try not to make any big decisions with hard and fast rules until I get there and am in the moment. At our pre admission meeting when asked what I wanted, I just said to middi, I will take your cue and just work with you as I have no idea how I am going to go at all..
my3sons - Thanks for the info re; toys, I am going to do the same, minimal distraction just yet I think. Just the nice soft music and see what happens. I made a lot of head way yesterday in the nursery feel like rewarding myself with a massage or something today!
Bye for now :wave:
littlepickle
21-07-2006, 09:04 AM
Morning Girls!
I am still here!!! All has come to a bit of a standstill really, pains are still there along with the dreaded "show" but nothing that can really be described as regular .. *drums fingers* I think little Elise has changed her mind and doesnt want to come out...
I am a bit down in the dumps this morning though.. everything hurts, walking hurts, sitting hurts, laying down hurts etc etc etc... and I feel like something is going to happen very soon but dont know when, so I am kind of on pins and cant relax in the meantime!!
Anyway, enough about me! How is everyone? Any more August bubs on their way?
Adele - how are you? How are you feeling now? Have the pains gotten any worse? Let us know how you get on!
Has anyone heard anything from Noosamum?
*Country Bumpkin*
21-07-2006, 09:14 AM
Hellllllllllo everyone......
Well Im still here lol..... kinda hursts to move- well thats my excuse anyway :D ....
The pains are still there.... so Im just sitting and waiting....
LP- Hello- arggggh you must be feeling a bit frustrated.. wanna swap??:o I havnt een got my bags packed properly yet.. hmm I should possibly go and do that now..... Well Im feeling good- very hungry but good lol. The pains are bearable sometimes they make me squim a bit. Im really hoping DP has his mobile on him:fingerscrossed: I did remind him but he has a memory like a sieve......
Our Bump- Definantly not constipation lol- dont suffer with that problem- Im lactose intollerant so everything just goes straight through me lol Sorry TMI.....
mrsbutterflygirl
21-07-2006, 10:06 AM
Well it's not long now for all of us... I had an obst appointment yesterday and had an internal (man they hurt!) and he said bubs is engaged and everything has started and could be in the next few days as I am nicely starting to dialate (he didn't say how many cm's) but he did get to touch her head! which i thought was pretty cool! I have another appointment next friday and he said if she hasnt come by then we will talk about inducing even though i am not at the due date he gave me... (my original due date was 27th July - he pushed it back to 2nd August) so things are finally happening... and i must say i'm alittle scared lol.
Shed: Sorry to hear about your head cold... the worst thing you can have when your pregnant i reckon!!
Adele:Hope your feeling ok and that the pains are false so bubs has more time to cook :)
readytopush: well with the pain relief stuff i plan on going gas and tens machine and if i need to go with an epi... i'm not 100% sure why i have choosen epi over pethadine.. but i have always had a bad feeling about it and it never really sat right with me if you knowwhat i mean... but yeah i'm hoping i dont need an epi.. but will have one if needed. :)
Anyway just a quick note from me... sorry i havent been around much.. been sleeping alot as probably you all have too.
Hannah
Readytopush
21-07-2006, 10:11 AM
Adele & Littlepickle.....you guys are scaring me now :eek:
All night i kept dreaming about looking down and seeing the dreaded "show" in my undies, and now to hear the two of you talking about constant pains, and having had the show, it all sinks in that this is REALLY happening!!!
It is funny how when ever we would have previously had pains here and there, we would have said it was caused by either this or that.....now we are like "OMG....is this actualy happening"!!!! :confused:
Littlepickle....it sounds like its not long at all for you now. your little girl it sounds like is just being cheeky and wanting to hang out inside mumy before making her grand appearance :p . Best wishes.
Adele, do keep us posted on any changes in your pains. Hope all goes smoothly for you no matter which way it goes....now or later.
Thanks Shed & Ourbump for your input on pain relief. I too indeed plan on having no medicated pain relief, however i know my own pain threshold (which i am like a little girl) and know i am more than likely going to be screaming for something at some stage. Been reading so much about all the options and the more i read the more confused i get. Good to hear what others in the same situation actually feel on the topic anyway. Thanks!
Otherwise, have a greaat weekend ahead all!! :wave:
*Country Bumpkin*
21-07-2006, 10:23 AM
Hannah-:wave: Wow not long now!!
Readytopush- Thanks.....I will definantly let all know whats going on....
Well I phoned my Midi and she asked a heap of questions about the pain etc.... she finaly said "hmmm well I dont think its anything (:( ) BUT Ill call you before I finish to see how your going- just relax and take it really easy"
Then I called DP to let him know what was happening.... he said "Dont worry.. you wont be having her today" When I asked how he knew he simply said "well you should know by now that I know everything":rolleyes:
So there you go.... seems that everyone except my midi and DP thinks Im in labour- I have to say LP I can kinda understand how you must be feeling right now:crying:
Bella8
21-07-2006, 11:44 AM
Hi ladies :wave:
Tash – thanks for the info re the clicking noise. I seem to have put up with everything possible during a pregnancy!!!! Including the ‘not common’ things!!!
Beany – oh no, now I’m not only in the insomnia club but the freak club too!! You made me laugh about giving birth to a cow. My gut seems so big that it may not be far from the truth…
Ourbump – oh yeah I like the denial approach, might have to do that…
Uniquey – sorry to hear that your baby is breech. Hopefully bubs will do a somersault in the next couple of weeks. It is possible, happened to a friend of mine. Big hugs to you, sounds like it was upsetting news. Oh and welcome to beany and my freak club – you are getting the clicking too!!!! As for the stretchies as trophies – I like it!!!
Missie_mack – woo hoo!! Another member!!!!
Adele – thanks for the cleaning info. I think I will end up washing everything too. Sorry to hear about your DPs mums dog. Oh and as for the ongoing period type pain – I’ve been getting that too. Pretty well EVERY morning…
AlliJB – sorry to hear about your scare, I’m glad all is ok though. My bubs gets hiccups ALL the time!!!! :eek:
Readytopush – I’m really out of breath these days too and am only 2/5 engaged!! My preference for pain relief will be an epidural over pethidine only because I don’t like the idea of the drug going to the baby. From what I’ve been told it is very safe and they can give bubs a needle after birth to reverse but I’m still not keen… That’s just me though and I know of people who have had it and swear by it.
Lou81 – what a day!! oh the preggie brain. I’m suffering too!!
LP – hi there :wave:
Me - another night of hardly any sleep. Have started a pooh bear long stitch for the babys room as there is nothing on TV at 2am. Hopefully that will keep me sane!!! Last night had our 3rd antenatal class where we saw a birthing video. Bit dissappointing really. They were all water births and didn't look very realistic. Actually made it look too easy I think. Lots of editing!!! The midwife said the reason they show this one is so new mums dont get too scared.... Anyone else see a similar birthing video???
Rx
salt water
21-07-2006, 11:51 AM
Well guess what?? I am home, intact, still in one piece!!
Had the scan in the afternoon and Obs was happy enough with the placenta position (it is not covering the cervix but on edge) to let me stay in one piece for now but they were very good and said it was touch and go anyway, it was up to me, that I had come in to have my baby and if my mind set was that way inclined then it could all go ahead if that was what I wanted. I had DH and a midwife with me and she said to me, that it was all about me and my baby, nothing else mattered. Call me a scaredy cat if you will, but the whole surgery thing had me a bit freaked out, I have never had any sort of surgery.
So, I said I was happy to go home and wait it out. Then they noted that my blood pressure was way up (Gee, I wonder why :confused: !!) and bubs heartbeat was doing some strange things so I ended up being admitted anyway for observation, but all settled down again and I came home this morning.
So - there you go. Thanks for the lovely words of support too :) I feel a bit let down in a way :o (would have been holding my baby by now) but I think I have made the right choice for me and bub. My SIL took ages to recover form her c-sect and I just didn't want to go down that path if it was safe to go for a natural active birth - of which I am equally terrified in some ways!!!
I'll try to get back on later with some personals, must go and do some mummy things with the family.
Noosamum XX
Bella8
21-07-2006, 12:04 PM
noosamum - glad to hear all is ok. You're back in the waiting game with the rest of us!!!! Sounds like you made the right choice for YOU and thats what its all about. I would have done the same...
Rx
mum_I'm_hungry
21-07-2006, 12:40 PM
Yay noosamum. That's great that everything is okay.
The pethidine/epidural thing is a tough one. I never even considered gas, because it makes me hurl, but I'd had pethidine before (whee! It's the best drug ever!) and of course my husband's all for epidurals (being an anaesthetist). In the end I didn't have time for anything and didn't really need it. The contractions hurt like hell, but the actual pushing was more like a really severe stinging more than anything. I was really surprised. It felt nothing like I thought it would feel. I think I got a bit of local in the end for a few small internal stitches, but that was it. Oh, and don't forget my two Panadol (gee, thanks for that...). I'd like some pethidine this time, but I'm guessing it'll be too late. If you have it too close to the end it can affect the baby's breathing and I don't want that. I guess I'm just hoping it'll all be over quickly. My mum keeps telling me I took five hours to arrive and my brother took two. Which means that, if my daughter took three hours... scary stuff! Maybe I should just go camp out at the hospital now!!!
lilbugalugs
21-07-2006, 12:44 PM
Afternoon all :)
Wow I think that we have some babys that are going to be here soon!!
Readytopush - In relation to pain releif..I made it through DD's labour with only a little gas in transisition (gas is great, it made me a bit spaced out but it helped to concentrate on breathing)...Don't get me wrong I am a bit of a woose, it can be done though...I kind of went into the whole thing with an idea that I would like to try a natural birth, but was happy for intervention if necessary (that was my birth plan:rolleyes: ) I found hot water (and lots of it) was great...I spent 5 hours in a hot shower (we have a gas hot water system) DH was just aiming our shower head at my back with each contraction. I found that to be best. I also think what stuck with me is that I choose to stay at home until my DH started to panic :D We were in constant contact with the middies, DH would call and give them an update and then they would listen to me have a few contractions and give DH an update. The car ride to hospi was a bit nasty though.
Adele - Good luck, try to relax and enjoy your last days/weeks being well, just you!!
noosamum - That is fabulous news..you must be so releived!! Good luck waiting like the rest of us!!
Me - Nothing happening here!! I kind of expect to go overdue again :yes: Had my middie appointment on Tuesday and everything is fine. So just joining everyone waiting...waiting and spending heaps of quality time with DD.
Cheers and goodluck all...
salt water
21-07-2006, 01:24 PM
Hi all :wave:
Readytopush - back to the pain relief thing, I had an epidural with my first baby and would never have another one with a vaginal birth (I would have had to have had one today with the c-sect though).
I just had a bad experience in that it took quite a few goes for the anaesthetist to get it in and he seemed to get more nervous with each try. I got the full range of negative side effects including horrible vomiting during labour and after, a severe headache during labour and after, shaking legs and was unable to walk during or after the labour and birth. I was unable to push and son was born with the big ginormous forceps, bleeding from wounds on his face from the forceps, and still has the forceps scars on his cheeks 8 years later :( There is more I could tell you but don't want to scare you for life!!)
With baby no.2 I had a full active birth, no pain relief at all (not even a panadol) and felt like superwoman at the end of it all. Which is what I want for this bub!!! I am hoping for a water birth actually. I just think you have to go with what works for you, do lots of reading and talking and see what happens on the day - go with the flow!!
salt water
21-07-2006, 02:05 PM
BTW - if you don't have any pain relief, they certainly don't hand out any medals for it, so if you feel you need an epi or pethidine or whatever, then it doesn't make you any less of a birthing goddess!!
salt water
21-07-2006, 02:09 PM
One last thing :D
It's nice to be back amongst the August Mummies, (thanks lilbugabugs, Alli and Bella) back playing the waiting game with the rest of you :yelclap:
Off to do Mummy things, (back to reality), Miss 6 has ballet and I can't find her leotard!!
Noosamum XX
*Country Bumpkin*
21-07-2006, 03:06 PM
Afternoon all
Well my Midi called and I went over everything again with her... she asked if I wanted to go in and be assesed but after thinking about it- I decided that I would saty at home for as long as possible
She and I both agree that Im probably in pre labour and we all know how long that can take so Ill just wait it out....
She said that at any stage if I feel like I want/need to be assesed to go up and they will have a look to see whats going on..... she seems really happy and confident which is good.
So there you go- it has started:smiliedance:
Beany
21-07-2006, 03:18 PM
:eek:
Best of luck Adele! Wrap some towels around your nether regions - just in case :D
my3sons
21-07-2006, 03:31 PM
Yay noosamum!!!! That is the BEST news :smiliedance: We all know how much you want a natural birth. Got to say that I really admire you for making that decision today to not go ahead with the c-section - I think that would have been an extremely tough one. Best wishes that placenta keeps moving - every mm counts.
Adele Oh my goodness! Best wishes hun if this is the real thing and if it's not, then your body is definitely preparing for the arrival of Skyla :hugs:
Kyles Re: pain relief - I've tried pethadine and gas. The pethidine made me violently ill so can't go there again. I have used gas both with a mask (which I HATED, made me sick) and with a plastic mouth peice which you can also bit down on, this was FANTASTIC and I found I was really in control of it. If I'm in need of pain relief this time, that's definitely my choice :D
hannah How exciting! Maybe your bubs will be the next to arrive.
Bella I remember my ante-natal classes with DS1, the birthing videos were VERY realistic and showed all different scenarios - epi, forceps, c-sec etc... was pretty full on :eek:
Sorry for anyone I've missed. Hope you all have a great weekend.
Beany
21-07-2006, 03:40 PM
Btw, my3sons: *scratch scratch*
my3sons
21-07-2006, 03:43 PM
Lol Beany, nah it's all good now :o I've got an internal Monday and have decided that the Ob can just see me in all my glory, no more shaving for this little koala :D
Beany
21-07-2006, 03:44 PM
awww you're no fun :p
Well, I have no pains or anything interesting. Just wanted to let you all know that!!
DP came home from the chemist with nasal spray. BIG FAT HAIRY DEAL. I wanted some drugs. the pharmacist told him I can't have anything. hmph.
cheekypossum
21-07-2006, 04:12 PM
My3sons - Good on you for going "A La Natural" - the last thing a OB is going to be worried about is a "Hairy Koala" hee hee
Shed - thanks for sharing the site....go for a warm shower and hop into bed
Ready2push - Don't know if you want anymore input re the pain relief but am going to put my 2 bob in....when I lost my twin girls last year I had to go through a normal labour...now I did not know that I had to do this as Naive as that sounds nor had I been to any classes or read about labour (dah, I new it hurt that is all), I was offered Pethedine or Epidural, I went with Pethidine and I feel that it did not help one little bit, in the end I used gas but by then I felt quite doped out from all the pethidine that I had had....but now that I am prepared and I have been to classes etc I feel that I can do it on my own, yeah I might have the gas but will say no to the other 2......OH HOT WATER definately helped me last time...
Lou81 - So glad to hear that you found your keys after that terrible day, you poor thing....you really deserve all that choccie now hee hee
Adele - OMG - BEST OF LUCK - it all sounds like it is happening....she just wants to get out and start wearing all them nice clothes
Orubump - Nice to hear you have done some work on your nursery
Littlepickle - all that excitment now it has all stopped....bugger...oh well it must be soon
Hannah - It was so nice to hear from you...have been wondering where you are...how exciting that you are so close
Bella - The birthing video we watched had 3 scenarios....2 were nice and 1 was a not so nice...but the one that was not so nice had a "STRICT" Birth plan...so it was more showing you to be prepared for all the options
Noosamum - :wave: nice to see you in one piece.....thanks for letting us know how you are as we have all been thinking about you
AlliJB - I am hoping I don't have a quick birth cause we have to travel an hour to get to hospy AHHH
Lilbugalugs - glad to hear that your middie appt went well
Me - Well I am buggered...have been over to DH's Nonnas makin big batch of Spag sauce, now have 8 meals of Sauce in the freezer YAY
I had a bad day yesterday where I was just all sick of it and wanted it to be over....was in such a bad mood...especially when I was cutting pumpkin and a bit flicked behind the shelf and I could not get to it to get it out AHHHH, there is so much mould in this house from all the bad weather and I can't do anything about it this is all driving me insane now...but when bub comes I won't have the energy to do anything anyway....Oh well I just go through these little stages ehere everything bothers me....and I hate feeling like that cause I think I am so lucky to be here
Well something good my dearest mum has cooked us roast lamb for dinner YUMMY
Chat to you all later
Bella8
21-07-2006, 04:33 PM
Quick post..
Adele - all the best if this is the real thing:fingerscrossed: Mind you if it was you're probably got other things on your mind than logging on here!! Anyway, my thoughts are with you and will keep my eye out for the big announcement!!! Hopefully an easy labour...
missie_mack
21-07-2006, 05:24 PM
Shed- My GP has given me the OK to use Benadryl Original for my hayfever and sinus. Its not something that you would take anytime as it tends to make me drowsy. I just had DH have a look and he cant see anything that may be a problem but when we looked on the website it advises you to check with your doc... everyones health issues are different. I find this dries up my nose and relieves coughs. DH says it can differ from chemist to chemist in what they suggest because of personal opinions of the chemist. I seen a GP a couple of weeks ago (which wasnt my normal) about an ear infection and he wouldnt give me antibiotics for it because in 10 years they may find it causes problems even though its seen as being safe now........
Maybe give your GP a call in the morning and ask?? :fingerscrossed:
Beany
21-07-2006, 07:27 PM
Shed: try some Lemsip - it's only paracetamol but the hot lemony drink adds a much needed comfort factor.
Hope you feel better soon.
Fairyfloss
21-07-2006, 08:47 PM
Bella8-All the videos I have seen one non water birth that was really good, but I have not seen one out of birthing centre. the oher ones were heavily edited.
Tashmusa
shed-If it was men giving birth they would be a little pill you take with a glass of water which mean't you could feel every sensation but it wouldn't hurt and it wouldn't affect the baby at all.
I agree with you, how is your cold? any better?
Ourbump- I think your DH should put everything neatly in the nursery drawers, that way he will know for sure where everything is.
Beany- no giving birth to cows, just a very white baby.
Uniquey- oh dear, hope your baby turns soon
Adele-How are you now?any new news? take care.:hugs:
AlliJB- Glad everything is going well, with the bub, that must have been scary. if camping in hospital gives you more, me time then go for it.
my3sons- oh god, you make me laugh
Readytopush- Yay, for a fully engaged baby.
lou81- Glad you found your car keys. Hope your DP makes it to the birth.
mrsbutterflygirl- I know it is scary but you are term, so I suppose the sooner the bub comes the better it is.
noosamum- glad you and bub are well, and things turned out the way you wanted.
lilbugalugs- I like your birth plan, I don't have one yet, so I might just plan the same.
Milk: I have started on milk too, I am drinking like a fish now, where as before I would hardly touch it, I wonder if me changing to full cream has made the difference??
Pain relief: I am hoping to get away with gas only, and all my non chamical pain relief methods, but epi and pethadine are on the table just in case ,although I know they may not work, and oh the side effects.
Me: had my obs appointment today, and the baby is not engaged , so all this pain in the last weeks for nothing:crying: , I am 36 weeks, when is she going to do it??:confused: on the up side he was happy with my progress, so I transferred back to midwife care:smiliedance:.
my3sons
21-07-2006, 08:56 PM
Hiya parisa :wave:
Don't worry she'll engage when she's ready. You're only 36 weeks and I'll bet she's all nice and snug down in your pelvis by 38 max. :hugs: I think mine has just moved down now and I'm 37 wks, we'll see what the Ob says Monday...... Yippee for being transferred back to the middies :D
cheekypossum
21-07-2006, 09:00 PM
Question - how do you know if your baby has engaged? What does it feel like? Is it meant to be painful? I have not been in much pain like some of you ladies so does that mean it is not engaged?
Sorry 20 questions time :laughing:
mrsbutterflygirl
21-07-2006, 09:07 PM
Question - how do you know if your baby has engaged? What does it feel like? Is it meant to be painful? I have not been in much pain like some of you ladies so does that mean it is not engaged?
Sorry 20 questions time :laughing:
Well i wasnt sure my bubs was engaged.. but docs told me.. but i have noticed in the last couple of weeks i get sharp stabbing pains "down there" like someone sticking in a knife! it is the worst pain i have felt all pregnancy... it's like a lightening bolt... is that helps.... and doc said that is cause bubs head is in the pelvis and is pushing down... almost grinding... :eek:
Uniquey
21-07-2006, 11:07 PM
Good Evening fellow Club Insomniacs!
Shed THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH for the website link, it's wonderful and very informative, and very sweet of you to post it to me.:hugs:
P.s/ Sorry to hear about your cold. When I had my belly rash that time, the DR put me on Polarimine (over the counter). He said it doesn't cross the placenta as it was water soluable, and it has anti-histamine in it which might be good for your cold symptoms. When you're pregnant they give you 2mg which is 1 tablet every six hours.
THANK YOU also to everyone whom gave me kind words of reassurance, I really do hope you're all right, and that the baby will turn eventually:fingerscrossed:
NoosaMum YEY for you! I think you made a very wise choice by going with your motherly instincts:D
Me: I hurt...... My back hurts, my bum hurts, my front hurts, my tummy hurts, everywhere I hurt!
I finally picked up my chest of drawers today to put the change mat on top, and then started on washing all of bub's clothes etc. It was totally surreal setting up the change area with all the nappies, cotton buds, wipes and lotions and potions! Did lot's of bub's clothes washing too, so now all I need is the baby:)
Uniquey
21-07-2006, 11:14 PM
Hello Beany, can't sleep either huh?:rolleyes:
Beany
21-07-2006, 11:50 PM
Hey Uniquey :)
Nope - I think the bladder bouncer has me in training for the late night feeds. Little rotter :D
Uniquey
21-07-2006, 11:56 PM
Yes, It's very cruel of Mother Nature to give us these 'practice sessions' of being awake at ungodly hours! I really hear ya with the bladder situation:rolleyes:
P.s/ Would like a Husband, he's free? He is currently SNORING HIS HEAD OFF and I am really tempted to pack his bags and give him a new home, grrrrrrrrrr:laughing:
Beany
22-07-2006, 12:01 AM
Oh good lord no - I've already got one that shows off with his uncanny ability to fall asleep as soon as his head hits the pillow. And he turns over in his sleep! Without grunting groaning and moaning in pain like I have to! And, worst offence of all, HE SLEEPS ON HIS TUMMY SOMETIMES! I think that in itself might be grounds for divorce.
Uniquey
22-07-2006, 12:25 AM
HEAR, HEAR!:yelclap: I don't understand how one minute they can be talking to you, and the next literal 'minute' punching out zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz's! It's like when you have a fight with them, and you're in bed crying etc, and you look over and they're fast asleep!!! SO UNFAIR.
Well Beany, I'm going to hang up my Insomniac hat for now, I have decided to take my pillow and 'sleep' in the spare room, even though it will be a case of reading all my tabloid mags in the bed in the spare room for a few more hours, then hopefully nod off:fingerscrossed:
I was really silly a little while ago,, I decided to do a Google search (bad move) o Breech babies and why they could be possibly breech. Happilly reading away until I read that some babies with 'physical deformities' are almost always breech, and then I went into freak-out, panic mode which really doesn't help this no sleep situation. Needless to say, there were other reasons, but typical of me, I only focus on the most scarey, negative one:eek: I told myself I would stop googling pregnancy things, but alas there I was, and now I'm all anxious.... again.
Anyway, better go set myself up in the spare room. I hope you get some good sleep soon:hugs: Night , night
Bella8
22-07-2006, 07:57 AM
OMG - freaky!!!! Uniquey I'm having the same problems with DP. Because of his ultra loud snoring last night, I slept (well, tried to sleep) on the lounge and now my aches and pains are even worse than they were before!!! Sometimes I just want to cry!!!!!!!!!!!!!
But.. he has been working a lot of overtime and is working again today so I let him sleep and snore his head off. Tried to go back to sleep but no go so came here for a chat.
tashmusa - I'm not sure if it's the sign of engagement but I have an ongoing pressure in my pelvis area and get period type pain quite a bit. I didn't seem to get this when bubs wasn't engaged... When i spoke to the midi about engagement she said it's quite normal for some people that their bubs don't engage until they go into labour so don't be too concerned.
Rx
Readytopush
22-07-2006, 09:24 AM
Morning ladies,
Hope everyone managed to get some sleep around our snoring, bed hogging, sleeping like the dead inconsiderate men!!
Uniquely, i am the same as you and once i read something bad about a situation i am in, that is all i can think about. I know it is easy for others to say, don't stress, but not always as easy to do. I have had two girlfriends of mine in the past 3 months have breech babies. Both bubs were 100% healthy if that reassures you at least :thumbsup: . The only down side was that they both had to have C sections, so as long as you are prepared for that as a worst case....i am sure bubs is perfectly healthy and just comfortable in the current position and being stubborn. I have read that they can turn anywhere up to 38 weeks so still time for movement. I have also read there are some things the Drs can do to try and minipulate your stomach with physically trying to move the babyin your stomach. Not sure if it works though. Maybe walking on your hands and sleeping on your hea might help as a last resort :laughing:
No wierd dreams for me last night about going into labour, but the hip pain kicked in again which i have managed to avoid for the past week or so. Bugger!! Getting mega organised today and going to buy some thank you cards to send after bubs is born for all the lovely gifts we have been given. Thought if i don't do it now....i never will. :ecomcity:
Have a great weekend all!! :smiliedance:
Readytopush
22-07-2006, 09:34 AM
BTW, thanks all for your opinions of Pain relief. It honestly does help to hear why others have chosen what they have, and what others have experienced. Much better than reading all clinical views in books and on the web.
Has anyone heard from Adele since yesterday arvo?? I hope all is well. Maybe our next August baby is about to arrive????:yelclap:
Hi chicks...no pains for me, except the usual of course, back pain, front pain, rib pain and a headache. But no labour type pains I mean!!
I know I am weird but I always have to remind myself that I definitely WILL go into labour. For some reason I only think of this as a "possibility". I think its because all the way through the pregnancy there have been chances of this and chances of that for different things when being tested, and now I have to get into my head that labour and the birth is inevitable. The baby IS actually going to be born, its not something that can be tested and the results come out 50/50 or negative!!
I have no signs of it, even the bzzzing has gone but I can breathe a bit easier so bubby must have moved down a bit. I am using the doppler quite a bit, just checking he's little heart is still beating.
I am not ready for him to come yet, I want an August baby.
mama anne
22-07-2006, 12:23 PM
hey chicks, glad to hear we're all doing well
i tell you what, i miss one day (yesterday) and there was about 10 pages to catch up on! i suppose that's the way it will be from now on, especially with so many people in possible (or actual) prelabour .... and with most of us now off work too!
nothing much is happening in my neck of the woods .... went to a one year old's birthday party this morning ... that seems like a LONG way away for me ...... well i suppose it is especially seeing as i havent even given birth yet ........ but even one year old's look HUGE to me. How can something grow and learn so much in one year?
i just don't want to go to bed anymore :gloomy: i have always loved my bed. especially sleeping in in the mornings. But now .... bed is not inviting really at all apart from snuggling with my dh. i'm a bit sad about the bed situation :(
so yesterday it was one month till i'm due :eek:
i know we're all going through the same headspace ..... i just can't get my mind around the possibility of going into labour anytime, even when i'm having pains and pressure and everything i still can't believe it's actually a possibility that me and my body are in actual labour. i mean obviously the pain makes it real ...... but the labour bit just doesn't seem ........................... something. i don't know
well thats about all from my brain at the moment ..... ooh bubs chest of drawers arrived this morning so i can put all the clothes and stuff away if i get the motivation later on .... also it's my first baby shower tomorrow (my next and last one is in 2 weeks) so that should be okay ................. i'll check back with you all later on:wave:
mum_I'm_hungry
22-07-2006, 04:15 PM
Oh, that is so true about bed. I used to be the best sleeper. My head would hit the pillow and that's all I'd remember. Well, that was before I got pregnant the first time around and that was in early 2003. I'm just hoping that once the kids can get up and get their own cereal and watch Saturday morning cartoons that things will return to normal programming. I'm actually looking forward to them being teenagers and sleeping all the time!!!
AlliJB
Teenagers? then you will be up half the night waiting for the little buggers to come home from whatever rotten party they have gone to with whoever rotten friends they have.
You will need to sleep in after that!! LOL
Is anyone getting pain at the top of their fungus? It feels like a tummy ache and it lasts about 30 seconds. Is that a contraption? I don't know. A fungal contraption? it feels like wind, but you don't get wind there.
Sorry about the silly language. I am in a bit of a strange mood.
littlepickle
22-07-2006, 07:38 PM
Shed - :laughing: Hey you have cheered me up with that "fungal contraption" Yay!!!! Actually it could be a contraption.. I have read that a contraption can start at the top and slowly spread downwards... oh btw if you are missing the "electric shocks" then you can get them back by going for a long walk ... worked for me.. if I walk, I get a lot more pains ... depends if you want the pains or not though!! Hehehe.. I would like an August bub but I think mine will be here before then.. I will settle for her being a Leo though.. so if she can stay there till Monday that will be :thumbsup:
Uniquey - Sorry to hear that you are getting the same problem re: snoring dh! I have that problem too! I find myself waking up in the middle of the night due to gh's snores.. then I go downstairs and wake up in the morning on the lounge .. surely it should be dh on the lounge? The spinning babies website is great, I hope that you can spin your bub around. How long is your obby going to wait before trying to turn bubs?
I am in pain again tonight and still no bub... I still have the "show" which is brilliant fun:rolleyes: and lots of pains in my cervix but nothing regular.. Is anyone else getting REALLY fed up with the pains?
I feel as though my pelvic bones are a bit loose because they keep clicking, I feel as though I am about to start falling apart at the seems..oooops! There goes a hip!!:eek:
my3sons
23-07-2006, 12:35 AM
Hi :wave: waving to myself!! I think I'm the only one in the "club" tonight. Hubby is blissfully snoring his head off - AND laying on his side. There goes the *jabbing in the ribs and saying turn on your side trick* *sigh*
Littlepickle, things are really sounding like they're moving along for you nicely - how exciting :smiliedance: I'm not getting sick of the pains because I'm not really having any except for the occassional cervical shock and BH but not enough for my liking! Been out all day walking around the shops and nothing :( Of course, I've the got the usual hip and back pain though which I AM sick of. Don't worry if bubs comes before August just keep the legs ... ooops, I mean fingers crossed that bubs stays put until Monday :D
Beany
23-07-2006, 12:50 AM
Nah, "the club" has at least one alive, kicking and altogether far too awake member ... Two if you count the member (me) and the cause (newly nicknamed to Bladder Bouncer).
LP: I have been sick of the sodding rotten pains for weeks now. If it's not one thing, its another. Since Friday afternoon, I've also getting period-like pains - nothing regular so nothing with an end in sight. Stupid pains.
I've also had the joy of the return of metallic taste in my mouth. Gawds that is horrible. Oh, and the nausea has decided that it had left the party for too long and decided to come back for the endgame. Not nearly as bad as the first trimester (thank god) but still annoying. Stupid nausea.
Anyway, there appears to still be milk in the fridge - a situation that must be rectified immediately so off I must go :D
*glug glug*
my3sons
23-07-2006, 12:58 AM
Enjoy your milk :D Glad I'm not the only on "in da club" tonight ;)
Ewwww massive hunstman walking down the wall at this very moment..... I don't mind spiders but they must stay up high where I can see them. Okay, that's it, it's on the floor, I'm running back upstairs to bed NOW :eek:
Night Beany and little Bladder Bouncer :sleeping:
Beany
23-07-2006, 01:17 AM
What do you mean running upstairs to bed?! I'd be screaming until someone came and got rid of the thing!
I hate spiders! Hate them hate them hate them!
Though admittedly, I'd rather have spiders than roaches ... I wouldn't be screaming when I saw them. I'd be too busy packing my bags.
wattle
23-07-2006, 02:30 AM
Can I come and join the club please? I have finally given up hope of going back to sleep after lying in bed for the last 2 hours with my brain on overdrive. Aaagh, where's the off switch. I'm trying the old piece of toast & cup of chamomile tea trick, with a bit of bubhub thrown in :D .
Still a month to go. I'd forgotten how much the end just drags. I must say that having to look after a toddler whilst being so pregnant is a mixed blessing - he is so beautiful and lights up my day, but it's also really hard work. It's impossible not to lift him a zillion times each day which I know I shouldn't be doing. He's also been really really clingy lately - I wonder if he knows that something is going on?
my3sons if there was a spider in my house there's NO WAY I could sleep. :no: I absolutely hate them. In fact I should probably get the pest people to come just before spring, but that is when bub is due and the little crawlies tend to come out of all their hiding spots for a few day after a big spray!:eek:
raffee
23-07-2006, 07:55 AM
Man o man I dont know where to start?!
Sooooooooooooo much has gone on here since I left for perth!!!! How exciting about all the impending labours!
Firstly, let me just wish adele good luck in case she's off labouring as we speak (which I suspect she might be given her last post!!!)
Readytopush- how's the hip pain going? I would suggest doing a couple of yoga classes before bub arrives because you will be more supple than you expect at this stage and the stretching will more than likely get things moving along a lot more effectively. Did you buy those thank you cards yet?
Shed- You had me in stitches with your posts! Dont worry I have a feeling you're having an August baby and that pain you speak of it sounds like contractions to me! Remember any contraction is a good contraction- if nothing else it will be helping the cervix to efface (thin-out) in preparation for birth!
Oh, just one thing I heard yesterday- apparently August is the busiest month to be giving birth in in terms of sydney hospitals so expect to be sharing a room if you haven't gone private- oh joy for me!:cool:
Mama anne- hope your baby shower was beautiful! Looking forward to hearing all about it. I just found out a few g/f of mine have lined up a 'surprise' baby shower for me on the 12th. Little do they know that I might have already popped by then!:D Ah well...
AlliJB- I second that on the teenager thing! Even at 9 yrs old my eldest still wakes up between 5 and 6am daily. :mad: ...
littlepickle- I have a feeling you wont read this til after you've had bubs- I think you may well of already had your bubs- how exciting! I can't wait to hear your news. Hope it went brilliantly for you.:fingerscrossed:...oh and my gut feeling is that beany is next!
Wattle- I know what you mean about looking after a toddler, but I do think its more of a blessing than not- if handled carefully it should help get things moving along- its like doing light exercise...at least that's what I keep telling myself. Its my excuse for avoiding traditional exercise, apart from walking around the shops which is all i did on my trip to perth.
parisakamali- don't worry about baby not being engaged. It may well have been engaged before your appointment but popped out for the examination which frequently happens- they can engage and disengage at their leisure... at least that's what's happened in some of my previous pregnancies and it was confirmed by the middies I saw. Glad your a-ok to return to middie care.
my3sons, tashmusa, bella8, mrsbutterflygirl- hi there girlies- hope all is progressing nicely with all of you. I empathise with you on the insomnia and constant pain. Just try to enjoy these last few weeks before our new bundles arrive...oh and remember to take piccies of you at full bloom- I forgot to do that with a couple of my pregnancies and I really regret it.
Uniquey- Fingers crossed bubs turns for you. You've still got a fair bit of time for that to happen and it can happen right up until labour... you will be in my prayers.
As for me, well perth was beautiful but exhausting. My mother-in-law lives in Kelmscott which is way out from the city so I did a lot of driving daily and a lot of entertaining a 5 yr old. I also had my 18 month old Thomas in bed with me so I didn't get a single night of restful sleep. The plane trips were horrendous- Thomas was a sod and wouldn't sit still for for a single minute and I swore I would not travel until he was old enough to understand the consequences of disobeying his grumpy exhausted mother.
Since getting back I've been busy preparing kids for school *breathes a sigh of relief* and I've finally started preparing for the coming new addition. We have assembled the cradle, washed the linen and clothes, bought two new chests of drawers to accomodate all the extra stuff we've got- so the only things left on my to-do list is to pack my hospital bags, instal the car-seat, wash the car, buy a double pram and clean this god-awful house. The nesting instinct has kicked in with full force and as a result I loathe my home at the moment- I've started re-organising cupboards and drawers and culling unnecessary clutter... it feels good but its also quite overwhelming.
Pain-wise, I'm still coping but I do feel that this bub will be here sooner rather than later... I've also started swelling dramatically- fingers crossed its not my blood pressure playing up- I will know on Tuesday (middie appt then).
Well that's all from me for now. Hope to come back to some news of new bubs!!!!
cheekypossum
23-07-2006, 08:53 AM
Morning ladies
Mrsbutterflygirl & Bella8 - thanks for answering my question re bub engaging...am seeing my OB on Tuesday so will get him to check how I am coming along
Pariskamali - Hope Bub engages for you soon
My3sons - Good luck for your appt tomorrow
Uniquey - Happy to hear your chest of drawers have arrived and you were able to wash clothes etc and get things set up....Fun, Fun, Fun
Ready2push - Have fun picking our thank you cards....we don't know what we are having so will wait and see before I think about cards
Shed - Hope you get your wish of an August baby hee hee....only 9 more days to hang out......out of your silly mood now :laughing:
Mamaanne - Have fun at your baby shower
AlliBJ - wishful thinking that bubs will get up and make own brekky so you can sleep in :laughing:
Littlepickle - Oh, it sounds like you are so close AHHHH :thumbsup:
Beany - Metallic taste...I have read about that but have been fortunate not to experience it YUK!!!
Wattle - Running around after a toddler...it must be so hard....at least you are getting lots of exercise
Raffee - Your holiday sounded exhausting...I bet you are happy to be home and you sound like you are getting nice and prepared for bubs....take it easy
Me Well I see my OB on Tuesday so will find out how things are coming along.....I must be one of the luckiest here I think cause I have only had one bad night of sleeping in 2 weeks.....I still get up a few times to pee but have no trouble getting back to sleep and my DH says that I have been snoring HEE HEE...I still get awfully tired during the day....I hope I am not jinxing myself and am going to have a really tough labour cause I am missing out on all the bad stuff at the moment.....that's a thought.
OMG the sun is out......quick gotta go and hang out towels while I can
Off up the coast today. Thats as far away from home I will be going for a while.
No night time contraptions, I had a good sleep actually...didn't recognise it!!
Have a good day chicks.
mrsbutterflygirl
23-07-2006, 10:34 AM
Hey girls..... sorry if this is tmi.. but i'm trying to work out how big the mucus plug is... i'm pretty sure mine came out last night and am trying to find out roughly how big they are usually... does anyone know????
my3sons
23-07-2006, 11:05 AM
Hi Hannah :wave:
I'm really not sure hun so am not much help because I've never lost mine! BUT I have been religiously lurking in the July thread and those girls seems to have lost either a little bit or heaps that seems to come daily for a few days. I did read in my book that it can be all sorts of colors ranging from greyish, pinkish, whitish or brownish. I'll go have a look in my book for you :D
my3sons
23-07-2006, 11:15 AM
My book just says a "chunk"........ sorry, not much help!
Readytopush
23-07-2006, 12:49 PM
Hey mrsbutterflygirl,
I have read it can generally be considered to be t he size of either a 20 cent or 50 cent coin. Or as others have said.....it can also come little by little over a few days. Hope that helps hun.
mrsbutterflygirl
23-07-2006, 01:02 PM
Thanks for the replies girls!!! i think mine is one of the ones coming apart over a few days.... really nice topic hey... lol.... anyway I think it will be the next couple of days that I will be going in as have been having lots of practice labour last night and today.. jsut not regular... here's hoping!!
littlepickle
23-07-2006, 03:18 PM
Hey mrsbutterflygirl, Just thought I would give you my experience with the mucus plug which may be a bit TMI. It started when I had the "show" which was like a period but with what appeared to be "clots" since then ots just pinky mucousy but more continuous in my case rather than a "chunk" iykwim. Sorry if that was TMI - nothing to do with pg symptoms is particularly charming is it? I read that it can range from a tampon sized plug to a gradual watery mucous! Also most people go into labour within a week of losing the plug so:fingerscrossed:
Uniquey
23-07-2006, 03:42 PM
Hi Chickadees,
Bella8 I just love your new Avatar, you look great!:thumbsup:
Ready to Push Thank you so much for the reasurrances. It really helped to read about your 3 friends, and yes, I will definately have to keep in mind that a C-section will most likely be the worst case scenario. :o
Raffee :hugs: For keeping me in your prayers
Tash I wish I could snore like you, to give DH a bit of 'payback', hehhe, Evil woman I am!
I have just spent, (and still going) all day washing, washing, washing. I didn't realise how many baby clothes I'd bought until I started this exercise! The Bassinet in our room now has it's cover on and I am just waiting for the matress protector to dry, then it's all set to go. Boy, when am I going to be an official lady or leisure on maternity leave, it's just not happening!
mrsbutterflygirl
23-07-2006, 06:25 PM
Hey mrsbutterflygirl, Just thought I would give you my experience with the mucus plug which may be a bit TMI. It started when I had the "show" which was like a period but with what appeared to be "clots" since then ots just pinky mucousy but more continuous in my case rather than a "chunk" iykwim. Sorry if that was TMI - nothing to do with pg symptoms is particularly charming is it? I read that it can range from a tampon sized plug to a gradual watery mucous! Also most people go into labour within a week of losing the plug so:fingerscrossed:
Thanks for that reply!! it helps heaps... i have the more watery mucus but i deffinately can notice the difference and it was the frist time i thought to myself... something is actually happening.. i kinda knew it was... but i have been suffereing from really painful braxton hicks all day so i'm hoping it will be the next couple of days!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
23-07-2006, 06:54 PM
Evening all-
Well Im STILL here.... getting more and more frustrated too....
The pains are STILL 15-20mins apart. We went to Bribie Island in the 4wd today and cause its so bumpy I was SURE that it would get things moving along.. BUT alas.. no such luck yet:(
I have my g/f coming tomorow to do my belly cast which is exciting..... But knowing my luck Skyla will decide its "time" just as shes about to do it and Ill miss out :rolleyes:
I was talking to DP before and I asked him if we should go to the hospy so I can be checked to see whats going on... Still waiting for an answer....
Half of me wants to go and the other half dosnt. Im worried that they will say 1) nothing is happening down there and I will be left dissapointed or 2) Ohh you have to stay here now as you will be delivering soon- and I wont get to go to the birth centre cause Im not 37 weeks or over..... Either way Im going to be dissapointed so perhaps Ill just keep wondering....
Mrs Potts
23-07-2006, 07:46 PM
I'm new to the forums and wanted to introduce myself.
I have a 5 yr old and I'm due with bub #2 on 8 August, although I'm booked for a c/section on the 3rd. Only 9 days til I hold my brand new baby :smiliedance:
It's been a long time, so I'm a bit nervous about the newborn business. I'm sure we'll do fine though :)
Good luck to everyone else who is due in August!
littlepickle
23-07-2006, 09:11 PM
I was talking to DP before and I asked him if we should go to the hospy so I can be checked to see whats going on... Still waiting for an answer....
Adele - I cant believe you are waiting for your DP to decide whether you should or shouldnt go to the hospital:confused: If you are worried enough to ask, then I think you should go ... I will be "telling" dp when we are going to the hospital - not asking him lol :D At least if you go to the hospital, you can get checked out by the midi which will put your mind at rest one way or the other. You have been in pain for quite a while now, and although your contractions are not that close together, they are in fact regular, that and the fact that they have been like this for a few days is a good reason to be checked, just to mak