View Full Version : Full time studies
uni-mum-2-2
08-02-2007, 18:46
hi everyone, I am trying to find some other young mums who are studing this year. I live in Perth, have a 15 month old daughter and have been married for 2 and a bit years.
Any replies would be great as I am feeling really lonly:gloomy:
Anyway thankyou and hope to chat soon:wave:
Julie
clarebear1983
08-02-2007, 19:17
hi everyone, I am trying to find some other young mums who are studing this year. I live in Perth, have a 15 month old daughter and have been married for 2 and a bit years.
Any replies would be great as I am feeling really lonly:gloomy:
Anyway thankyou and hope to chat soon:wave:
Julie
I live in Perth. I am studying part time external nursing (though a darwin uni) and i have a 2 year old and a 2 month old and have been married almost 4 years (im 23 turning 24) if u wanna chat my email is mystic_tapper@hotmail.com
mum2mischief
09-02-2007, 15:12
Hi. sounds a bit like my situation. (except I'm near Sydney) I have a 13 month boy and married 2 and a bit years. I'm going back to complete my BA this year.one year to go of major full time study.
dont mean to but in here, but.....
how do you guys manage to afford to study full time and where do you find the time to do it full time????
Is bub in daycare fulltime/part time to do it???
I'd want to study but it is expensive....I couldnt afford to stop working (3 days a week) to study as I dont get any gov support to do it.
MCNmummyof2
10-02-2007, 11:16
Hiya
Im studying full time - starting this year - bachelor of general studies/bachelor of education by correspondence through university of new england. I have a 18 month old daughter and an 11 week old son. Ive been married almost 18 months.
Babyboo - Im putting all my uni fees on hecs, and just saving like mad to be able to afford textbooks etc. Both of my kids are home with me full time. My husband is on a traineeship, so mone is tight, but we make do with what we have got. I also dont get government help in order to study.
book_mum
10-02-2007, 20:57
Hey there,
I use HECS as well and study part time by distance. I work 4 days a week but in school hours and my eldest just started kindy, the youngest in pre school.
We save madly and have a large debt, as last year we had both in pre school.
It is tiring and could not imagine studying full time. I can only manage one subject at the mo and if I had to travel to lectures and get long day care, there would be no way I could afford it.
part time and online isn't perfect but its optimum at the moment!
what did you want to study?
M
Hey there, i'm 25 and live in QLD, i also have a 15 month old son, i study externally and will have my son home with me, but my DH is also at home, so he will have to do the majority of the work cause i'll be busy studying. I have a lot of support with family, so i think i should be ok.
Goodluck with your studies!
I want to do natural therapies through Nature Care College. Trying to work out a way to do the study and fit it in .
I work 3 days, would like to study instead but cant see how I would be able to pay for the course and live.
How does HECS work? and are you entitled to use it if you not studying through uni??
It will be even harder when DP and I move into another house as I lose my single parenting payment so wont have much money at all.
I think through this college you can pay as you go. The modules are like $400-$500 each, so not cheap.
U can do it external, but id really like to be able to attend the classes and meet people - be in the face of it, IYKWIM. - but not sure if thats an option at the moment.
I dont think studying external qualifies you to pay as you go - you have to pay for your modules up front. I guess I could do one at a time, etc - but wouldnt that take a very long time???
arghhhhhh - what to do???!!!!????
Hi there! :wave:
I am also in Perth and study full-time. I am a single mum to a 21 month old. Feel free to PM me any time!
Luff Brooke :D
I want to do natural therapies through Nature Care College. Trying to work out a way to do the study and fit it in .
I work 3 days, would like to study instead but cant see how I would be able to pay for the course and live.
How does HECS work? and are you entitled to use it if you not studying through uni??
I don't know about this but you need to check to see if the course is HECS accredited. This also applies when referring to govt. payment to study.
It will be even harder when DP and I move into another house as I lose my single parenting payment so wont have much money at all.
I think through this college you can pay as you go. The modules are like $400-$500 each, so not cheap.
U can do it external, but id really like to be able to attend the classes and meet people - be in the face of it, IYKWIM. - but not sure if thats an option at the moment.
I dont think studying external qualifies you to pay as you go - you have to pay for your modules up front. I guess I could do one at a time, etc - but wouldnt that take a very long time???
arghhhhhh - what to do???!!!!????
goo luck with it all!! It is a big decision but worth it, IMO
jessgray
11-02-2007, 10:03
there is a site called going to uni that could tell you which courses are covered by hecs
Hey Babyboo
I study fulltime at uni and I get single parenting at the moment which you also get a pensioner education supp which is about $60 a fortnight which helps. But my partner and I are looking at moving in together too and I have spoken with centrelink and if you are not working you should be entitled to family tax benefit Part B which my b/f is a high income earner and I will be able to get $120 per f/n which doesn't cover childcare or textbooks but it helps. Sometime you can buy secondhand textbooks and sometimes depending on how much info you need from the book you can just photocopy the relevant pages or they have copies in the library. It is hard but just think about what you will have at the end.
Good luck
Di
SimplyMum
19-02-2007, 21:47
Hi, my name is Lee. I'm a single Mum, I study full-time (although I wouldn't call it full-time, iykwim) and have a 17month old DS. I study 4 days a week with DS in daycare for 3 and my sister looks after him for 2 hrs on the 4th day. I have a strict 7pm bedtime for DS and then I spend from 7-7.30 eating dinner and from 7.30 til late doing assignments/readings/sample exsercises 6 days a week (I have 1 night off). I also catch up on anything extra on the weekends (if I get a chance).
Sometimes I find it really hard but it always seems to work out in the end. I have a great support system and a really bossy sister whom I love with (and her 2week old baby).
At the moment, I attend Tafe. Next year I hope to be going to Uni (hopefully NSW) which will be harder with travel time etc, but like everything I will make it work one way or another.
I get a parenting payment single and the parenting education supplement. Text books are a killer, this semester I have spent so far $480 on textbooks and equipment but I know I will make it up three fold when I am earning a billion dollars a year!:laughing: