View Full Version : Just a few questions
:HI!
I am due with bub in the first week of april.
I am going cloth, like I always have from birth (just flats and covers)
BUT now I have all this choice with MCN's.
I want to get my stash up a little before birth (and get it going properly with the Mat. Payment)
But I have a few q's.
For a newborn, are Fluffies covers ok.
I have about 30 terry flats, and heaps of the old, velcro type covers.
I have soon, 6 homemade fitteds (thanks heaps to Danni :D
and also very thankful to Danni, I have 1 soaker.
Now, today I made out of an old knitted by my grandmother jumper, which I cut then sewed into 4 soakers, which are shockers, but will do, I think :fingerscrossed:
I am just wondering, what is the maximum of covers, and/or soakers I will need, I wash everyday, but will do the naps every second (this is the 5th babe, so have tons of washing anyway, heay, whats another load?). I was thinking about just getting some fluffies until I can afford some proper ones, iykwim?
I am just wondering if there is anything else that is ok, as I cant knit, noone I know will do it, cause I have asked everyone I know, and they all made me feel like an idiot, saying cloth sux, which, of course, I dont agree to (tell me, why is it embarrassing to use cloth??). so that is out of the question, hence the reason why I attempted my own recycled soakers today..
now, q2, what do I use to lanolise, sounds silly, but I think lansinoh is ok?..
thanks for reading this noob post!!
From Jodie
hey jodie :wave:
I wash every 2nd day and i have say 20 nappies thats does fine. I used to work on say 1 cover for every 3 fiteds maybe a newborn might need 1 to every 2 cos they poo more lol) im not 100% sure tho.
i think fluffies covers would be ok for starters ive never used them, i used bummis covers on bub when he was little:yes:
Lansinoh is fine to lanolise with. Just disolve a pea size amount in hot water, add to a tub of lukewarm water and soak for about 1/2 hr then hang to dry:thumbsup:
HTH
Hi Jodie.
I have 4 PUL covers that I rotate: a couple to use during the day each nappy change and the others in the wash, or something along those lines.
If you have 2 wool soakers for night time it will suffice. 1 to use and the other airating. If you've got more than that it just makes it a bit easier.
Fluffies would probably be alright to start with, but I would start looking at the alternatives. I found my girls just stayed really wet when I used the homebrand covers (can't remember what brand they were except they were from woolies or coles).
Flats are fine, I've got about 50-60 that I used for the first 9 mths with dd2. Great thing is if you change over to MCN you can still use them for rags, stuffing pockets, or still as flats alternating between fitteds etc. It's really up to you to decide what works best.
Re lanolising: Lansinoh is fine, it's what I use atm. I had 2 tubes given to me when dd2 was born. I'm pretty sure they assumed I'd be using them for my nipples but little do they know it made it no where near:laughing:
Zada's explained how to lanolise, but I should mention you can soak from anywhere 15mins to overnight. Most ppl recommend soaking the soaker inside out.
What zada and gremily said. :thumbsup:
I used fluffies with flats years ago. I think wool soakers are best and wont even compare to fluffies. But they would be okay as back up. You will be changing often anyway during the day. But use the wool at night - best way - less washing of sheets I bet. It sounds as though you will have enough. I think for a newborn flats are fine - maybe prefolds if you want more ease (less folding and more absorbency) Prefolds can also be used later on like flats. Maybe get some fitteds for going out (if it will make it easier) but I wouldn't spend too much on newborn sized nappies - small would be better or even one sized.
Hope my babbling thoughts help (can anyone tell i am already thinking about cloth for next bub??_
Thanks heaps girls!! :yelclap:
Im planning on getting some AIO when bubs is a tad bigger for going out, Ill use the mat. payment for some, I think..
lol, the only problem is that if I get some really noice ones, then I may just have to have another bub so I can keep using them, my DH would be happy with that..
I think I may invest in some pul covers, instead, prolly work out cheaper in the long run, iykwim? but, hmmm, now that I have discovered wool soakers, Im in love.. wonder if hubby needs that woolen jumper his mum bought him for his birthday, let me tell you, I have been searching the house for all those wool jumpers I got for hand me downs for the kids over the years, and never used!! :laughing: .
ok, so Im going with the fitteds, terries, the soaker, so I still have to get some microfleece to line them, some more covers, and some boosters for night/ heavy wetter, where is the best place for boosters? I have spoken to Lesley from cherubs kiss and also Sasha from GK, cause I am seriously thinking of getting a starter pack or something, and I like both of them, and they both do layby..
Where would you'all go? gosh this is confusing!!
Thanks for reading my ramblings..
cheers, and thanks for all your help!
You guys have saved me so much $$$$. (or cost me, depends on how you look at it, I have a VERY addictive personality, once I start on something, WATCH OUT!!) :rolleyes:
Why dontcha just learn to knit?? :D
Ooh shed, I have tried a billion times, and just cant seem to get it, see, Im left handed, and stuuuff it up every time. Im the most cacky handed person in the world, I swear, I cant even use scissors without cutting myself, the wrong thing, or just making a mess..
Im going to the salvos to see if there are any jumpers, :D , that way, Ill have some soakers for home only, you should see the ones I made yesterday, seriously a joke, but heay, Im sure they'll do the job!:smiliedance:
I think I may invest in some pul covers, instead, prolly work out cheaper in the long run, iykwim? but, hmmm, now that I have discovered wool soakers, Im in love.. wonder if hubby needs that woolen jumper his mum bought him for his birthday, let me tell you, I have been searching the house for all those wool jumpers I got for hand me downs for the kids over the years, and never used!! :laughing: .
ok, so Im going with the fitteds, terries, the soaker, so I still have to get some microfleece to line them, some more covers, and some boosters for night/ heavy wetter, where is the best place for boosters? I have spoken to Lesley from cherubs kiss and also Sasha from GK, cause I am seriously thinking of getting a starter pack or something, and I like both of them, and they both do layby..
RE PUL covers: Baby beehinds, Bummis, Tots bots, and Motherease. There's also a one size pul cover out now called Wonder Wrap but I'm not sure what they're like.
Personally I think PUL covers are better if bub is going to be sitting for a long time (like in pusher/carseat) as some ppl have found the soakers leak through during those times. "Go Wool" for night time though!! Nothing else compares:)
Re boosters: Look at hemp or bamboo, both extremely absorbant. There are lots of different types, just have to shop around. I have bamboo and hemp foldups (boosters) from Baby Beehinds that are great - I use these for extra absorbancy at nighttime in dd2's fitteds. They have layby aswell, as do many other places like Darlings Downunder, Nuture Nappies (I have 3 Berry Plush AIO's on layby atm) and many others.
If you're unsure of a stores reputation just ask here:yes:
I think wool is cheaper in the long run. even bumjumpers are okay. There are diff kinds of wool though.
Would love to see the bumjumper you make. I have made a couple(longies) - I need practive.