View Full Version : January Mum's - Weightloss thread

Hels*Bels
07-02-2007, 06:36 PM
We had a weight gain thread in the "when are you due" section, so now it's time for a weightloss thread.

How much weight have you lost since giving birth? and how much do you have left to lose?

Also, let's share some weightloss, diet and exercise tips. And give one another the inspiration to get back into our pre-preggy clothes again.

I gained approx 14 kgs, most of that went on in the last few weeks of pregnancy. Since the birth I have lost 8 kgs so I still have 6kg to go. I used to wear a size 10-12 but now I need size 14, especially as my boobs are alot bigger now.
After nearly 2 weeks since having bubs, the weight loss has slowed down now. I am BF but not exercising as much as I would like to due to still being sore "down below". I plan to eat a healthy diet and try to take bubs for a walk everyday.
I would be grateful for any other tips that anyone has?

tired*mummy
07-02-2007, 08:14 PM

I gained 20kg :eek: I have lost 14kg so far and its been 3 weeks and 1 day lol. I was 60kg before and 80kg at 9 months pregnant.I want to loose another 11kg even though its only 6kg til pre pregnancy weight. I gained 5kg before i got pregnant too. About 55kg is my ideal weight or weight that i really want to get to. I know i can do it as i was 60kg before DD1 was conceived and i gained 20kg with her and eventually got back down to 55kg about 6 months before i got pregnant with Seirra. It was hard work though.
I havent really been able to do alot exercise wise cause of the c-section and i find that when i do 'over do it' with housework, driving, shopping or walking i get alot of pain. So i am just trying to get back into everything slowly. I went for a 15 minute walk yesterday and will try to eventually add to that.
But so far just running around after the kids and trying to do all the housework has made me drop quite alot of the weight so i'm not too worried.
I'd love to get back to my ideal/goal weight though.
The only weight i dont want to loose is the weight i've put on my (.)(.) :laughing: But thats always were i loose weight first :thumbsdown:

Hels*Bels
08-02-2007, 02:56 PM
Georgia, we have got very similar goals :yes: . I was 62kg when I fell PG and went up to 76kg. I would like to get down to 60kg, which leaves me 8 kgs to lose. But anything from 65kg and under means my clothes will fit again.

I went for my first long walk today with Reece, it felt good. I could really feel the backs of my legs when we went up the slight hill :thumbsup:

I have also cut out all the naughty foods now, like chocolates and timtams. So it's all healthy stuff from now on.

freddie
08-02-2007, 08:34 PM
I was about 71kgs when I fell pregnant but should have ideally been between 60 and 65kg. I lost about 3kg pretty early on then gained 14kg to about 82kg. When I got back from hospital, 5 days after the birth, I had already lost 11kg and I'm now down to 68kg so pretty happy with that. I now need to focus on eating properly and trying not to be tempted by the cakes etc. everyone keeps bringing over when they come to visit! It will be harder to keep off when I'm not BF tho.

sugar n spice
08-02-2007, 08:46 PM
i gained 1kg above my pre pregnancy weight. i lost 13kgs in the first few wks but now at 7wks my weight has been going up and down by kg. im finding it hard to avoid the choccies,

Cordelia
08-02-2007, 10:05 PM
Well, I gained 8 kilos during pregnancy and have lost 11 so far... have heaps to go to my ideal weight!!

I actually joined weight watchers with my sister last week and I'm finding it good - because I'm breastfeeding I have to eat heaps more and I'm findign it hard to eat enough to keep up to my poitns! But it means i'm eating MASSES amounts of healthy food and no junk so Caitlin and I both have to benefit out of this. I'm not aiming to lose weight quickly - just to get a healthier and more nutritious diet.. I still have 22kgs to go to my ideal weight tho!

tired*mummy
09-02-2007, 07:52 AM
HI everyone
Well i weighed myself this morning and i'm 65kg... so only another 10 to go lol.
Yesterday i had quite a bit of take away becasue we were out from 11am for my grandpa's funeral. So i ended up having Nando's for lunch and Indian for Dinner :laughing: So not the best start to trying to loose the last 10kg.
I'm looking forward to being able to wear all my smaller clothes. I have 4 garbage bags full and i've bought a few things that are my incentive to loose the weight. I keep trying things on but think it will take a little longer lol... especially if i keep eating take away lol. I'm finding it hard not to eat chocolate and other sweet things. I have a bad sweet tooth.
Going to try and go for another walk today so hopefully some of the weight will come of my legs, hips and bum :laughing: :yes:

Hels*Bels
09-02-2007, 12:01 PM
I find that I get hungry when I am feeding during the night, so I usually get up for a snack such as a couple of weetbix. I think my body must need the extra energy when feeding. It's not the ideal time to be eating though :rolleyes:

2s'nuff
09-02-2007, 12:30 PM
OK, I'd better add my bit here. Beofre being pg I was 62 kg (a few kg's heavier than I should have been). I think I got up to about 73/74kg's and have just weighed myself and am a very surprising 63kg.

Though this weight loss is not because I've been exercising or watching what I eat. I think it's because I've been flat out since MIL left on the 26th. Often not eating regularly or well throughout the day. Have been eating better since DH has been home, so will hopefully be able to continue doing this once he's gone again.

Have to start the exercise though, cause even though the weight has gone, everything is still very wobbly:laughing: .

MyAlCoLo
09-02-2007, 04:14 PM
I gained about 8kgs - and weighed myself a week later and had lost 15kg...so around 7kg less than pre-preg weight. Haven't weighed since (don't have scales, lol) but feel about the same. Still a long way off ideal weight though.

Strawberry_Shortcake
09-02-2007, 04:50 PM
I weighed myself this morning and i'm back to my pre-pregnancy weight (48kg) My tummy is also still wobbly lol. My ideal weight is 45kg (thats what i was when i met my hubby) Hubby has given me some incentives to get back down to that weight. I'm into my second week of exercise. So far its all good.

LadyLou
09-02-2007, 07:58 PM
It's funny my weight has now become a focus point for me too!! Motherhood!

My pre-preg weight was 58kg. I think I put on 15kg/20kg (I have no idea really?). But I am now 66.8kg (have new digital scales!!). So I guess I have 8.8kgs to go.

I haven't moved from that weight in 2 wks, but I have been very naughty with the sweets!

Not sure if I want to get back to 58kgs, might just aim for 60kgs (I am tall and looked too thin before, wore size 8).

I plan to start walking and stop eating the sweet stuff - bought heaps of fruit yesterday - just have to eat it now.......

My brother's wedding is in about 6wks and I want to drop some weight in order to get a nice outfit - so I have incentive - just require some motivation now.... ha ha :):) :)

Hels*Bels
10-02-2007, 11:38 AM
I weighed myself today and I have lost 0.3 kg in the last couple of days without even trying. Once I start exercising properly and eating a balanced healthy diet (still having a few choccies and naughties :shame: ) I should get back down to what I was :fingerscrossed: .

Does anyone know when BF do we need about 2000 - 2500 calories a day? When I used to do Lite n Easy I was on 1200 a day, so 2000 seems like heaps!!

3Divas&me
13-02-2007, 08:35 PM
Weight- It has been my battle for the last 7 years (since falling pregnant with dd1). I put on 16 Kg when pregnant and have lost 14kg since which is good as I havent tried anything much either.

Cordelia- Was thinking of joining weight watchers but thought I was wasting my time because of the B/F. Do they have programs for B/F mothers? How many points are you allowed per day?

Cordelia
13-02-2007, 11:30 PM
Hi livies mum... if your b/f with weight watchers you have to have an extra 7 points a day - which is really hard.. i'm lucky to make it to 15 points every day and I'm supposed to be having 27!! I'm now 89kgs (crikey) though... and you also have to have extra servings of veges, fruit, oil, dairy and more water as well... so there are some differences. I like it because it's making me eat healthy!! annnd I'm really enjoying trying out new recipes at night - DH looks after bub while I have timeout in the kitchen every night.. really nice! :)

cate
16-02-2007, 10:08 AM
I'm starting to seriously watch my weight....i started at about 80kg....put on 9kg....am now 83kg.....

Ideally should be about 75kg so that's the target....

I agree it's so hard to be good when there are people around....the 2 weeks DH was at home were the worst....also all I wanted to eat were all the things i couldn't eat when preg....like cheeseburgers, tacos, steak....and basically anything with red meat!

My mum came to visit in the last few weeks before I had Audrey and cooked 20 meals and put them in the freezer...so this has been great! It means that when we are too tired we don't do takeaway we actually eat real food.

I find the afternoons really hard when I tired and bored....the biscuit barrel is calling! Even when we don't have anything in the cupboard I find something.........last week i made piklets just to have the sweet fix!

Good luck and happy exercising!

tired*mummy
21-02-2007, 08:27 PM

I have lost another kilo :smiliedance: Still have 4kg to go until pre-pregnancy weight and another 9kg until my goal weight.
Trying really hard not to drink soft drink lol... gone onto the diet stuff :laughing: Its also really hard not to eat chocolate.
DD1 has a fundraiser for kinder and now i have a whole box of freddo's and caramello koala's in my fridge. Very tempting and i have had far too many lol. Will have to send them to work with DH so he can get rid of them so i dont end up eating the whole box of 50! Even though it would be very easy too. :laughing: :yes:

Ellembee
22-02-2007, 01:01 PM
Hi all - my prepreg weight was 58 kg - which was 5kg too much. I now weigh 61.5 - so have a fair way to go. Weight initially fell off - first 9 kg was a breeze. Now have to work a bit harder at it.

Hels*Bels
22-02-2007, 02:32 PM
I have lost another kilo so I have 5 more to go. I would like to lose an extra 2 kg if I can.

Some of my pre-preg clothes almost fit me now but I still have to lose the jelly belly lol

3Divas&me
23-02-2007, 09:54 AM
Are breast feeding mums finding hard not to eat too much? I cant eat while feeding, it makes me feel a little queasy, but as soon as that feed is over I am starving!! I crave anything loaded with carbohydrates (simple and complex!):chef:

~J'dore~
23-02-2007, 12:28 PM
I'll jump in too:o

I put on 13 kgs this pregnancy, lost 10 in the first week and have lost 2 more kgs since. So only 1 more kg to my prepreggy weight, but i want to lose about another 4kgs:yes:

I'm finding it hard to stay away from the sweet stuff while bfing, but i'm not eating bread and i've started exercising again... I'm sooooo unfit:shame:

I want to go shopping and buy a whole new wardrobe now that i've finished having babies, so it's a big incentive for me to try and tone up and lose the extra squishy bits!!!

Karrina
02-03-2007, 11:46 AM
I now weigh 3 kg less than when I fell pregnant :yes: , having said that I am quite a big girl....

In total I have lost 16 kg since being 41 weeks pregnant. Would love to join weightwatchers to try to loose all the extra weight I have!

Flicka
02-03-2007, 07:57 PM
Can I join in too?

I need to lose about 8kg to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight. Everyone says how b/feeding helps you drop the kilos but it just doesn't seem to happen for me - even when I am being good foodwise. When I was b/f DS it took me about 8 months to get back to my old weight.

Also - having had 2 bubs I actually feel like my body shape has changed - my hips seem wider. Does anyone feel like this? I suppose it is inevitable after having 2 kids well over 9 pounds each!!!:yes:

tired*mummy
02-03-2007, 08:07 PM
Flicka - I completely agree with the shape change. I will never be the same shape again and i think that is what annoys me the most about the pregnancy weight. My hips are a lot wider since having babies and i've found that it took 2 years after DD2 was born for them to get down to almost normal size but i still wasnt back to normal shape. Guess i'll just have to put up with it lol. I'm hoping it doesnt take another 2 years this time round.

Havent lost anymore weight yet... still have the 4 kilos (maybe even 5 now, i've been a bit naughty with my eating) to lose to be back to pre-pregnancy weight. Now that Sierra is 6 weeks old i'm going to get the ok from my OB to start exercising more regularly. Which i'm sure he'll be ok with.

Flicka
03-03-2007, 01:55 PM
Tired mummy - Someone told me the other day that it actually takes a year for all of the ligaments in your pelvis to go back to normal (any excuse for my big hips). Also got told that after having kids you are actually wider around the rib cage because that also opens up a bit to fit baby in. Not sure if it is true tho.

Flicka
07-03-2007, 09:57 PM
Feel like a fat blob today. Have been eating healthy but haven't noticed a significant change in my weight the last few weeks. Feel like I am never going to get back into shape. Every night I go to bed with good intentions of getting up in the morning and taking the dogs for a long walk but it never happens. I suppose I should stop making excuses and just get fit. I was thinking of hiring a treadmill so that I could exercise after the kids go to sleep at night. Has anyone done this and was it worthwhile?

Hels*Bels
08-03-2007, 09:55 AM
Flicka, I reckon the treadmill would be a good idea. I have got an exercise bike but can't use it yet as the saddle is too hard and I am still sore "down there". I want to start a mum and bubs exercise class, but I have to get a certificate from the doctor first to give me the all clear health wise. Not sure how long that will take, it's so frustrating!!

My weight is staying the same, not really trying with it at the moment, have got too many other issues to deal with right now!

Flicka
08-03-2007, 01:43 PM
Well, I stopped making excuses this morning. Got out of bed and fed Kelsey then went for a 45min walk/run (needed to walk when puffed out). Left baby and screaming toddler with DH - Ds wanted to put his gumboots on and come with me. Returned sweaty but refreshed and had a swim in the pool with the family.

As for eating I have decided that I eat fairly well but I think I probably eat too much (portion control!!).
So......my mantra will be:
Eat less, do more.

Hey hels, after DS was born I did a mums and bubs yoga class which was great. The only reason I stopped going was because I was also doing weight watchers and didn't want to spend money on both WW and yoga.

Flicka
09-03-2007, 10:11 PM
Went for a walk today while DH took DS to swimming lessons. Had only gone about 7 mins along the path when kelsey started crying. I settled her a few times but she wouldn't stop for long. In the end I was carrying her and pushing the pram. She had the head wobbles going so I had to keep stopping to use 2 hands on her so she didn't face plant on my shoulder!!!! In the end I just went back to the swimming pool and just as I walked in the gate, she fell asleep!!! Oh well, 20mins of exercise is better than nothing.

Flicka
11-03-2007, 09:17 PM
Ok, so I did a BIG walk with the two kids and the two dogs yesterday. My pram is so heavy when I have to push Kelsey and DS in it so hopefully I am burning heaps of calories! I am seriously starting with trying to lose these kilos tomorrow. My treadmill (hired one) gets delivered so NO MORE EXCUSES.

cate
12-03-2007, 09:54 AM
Flicka...I read somewhere that sometimes it is hard to loose the last bit of weight when breastfeeding......I'm sticking to this theory!!! I feel really discouraged sometimes because I have been doing heaps of walking....and we have got some pretty fullon hills around our place and trying to eat well and there is no weight budge at all!!! After the initially big loss there's been nothing!!!!!

ARGH!! Oh well back to the gym for one class a week now.....it's also been stinking hot the last few days in brisbane so getting out to walk is hard...today 36 degrees!!!

Hels*Bels
13-03-2007, 06:44 PM
I'm getting frustrated with loosing the last few kilos, can't seem to get any more weight off. And yet I am being careful of what I eat, going for walks and running around after bubs all day long. Plus I have cut out the late night snacking as I don't have time anymore!
You would think that something would work!!

I really want to fit into my jeans and other clothes, most of my tops fit now but all I can wear are trackies day after day :banghead:

Charis
13-03-2007, 06:57 PM
Heh..I thought I was okay about my weight/weightloss, till a builder I was meeting with today asked about Number#2!! I am for real!:laughing:

I'm only 2kg over my initial preggers weight, but reckon I shed a lot initially and now am getting chubby again.. almost?! I had a feeling breastfeeding you get back to normal in about 9months! yikes. Tum tum go away come again another day..

Flicka
14-03-2007, 02:30 PM
Oh yes..... my tummy is where I am hiding all of those extra kilos. It's so flabby and bulgy despite all the sit ups I am doing. I know it will go eventually but I can't do up any of my 'normal' clothes around the waist because of my post baby belly.
However, I have been enjoying my treadmill and best of all I can exercise any time of the day........and mostly use it after the kids are asleep. PLUS a bonus is not having to worry about what to wear when exercising as no one can see me.:laughing: .

Flicka
17-03-2007, 08:47 PM
Ok, am I the only gal left with thunder thighs and flabby guts?

Have had a bit of a bad day with the kids and succumbed to eating some chocolate. I am really annoyed at myself because I have been good the last week and have been using my treadmill. Today was a disaster. Every time I put my sneakers on and got on the treadmill, Kelsey cried and I only ended up doing about 10 mins. Now I am so beat I am off to bed. Oh well, tomorrow is another day!!!

2s'nuff
18-03-2007, 04:15 PM
No Flicka, you're not the only one left with extra kilos. I initially was doing ok, but have started gaining weight again.

Unlike you I haven't been doing any exercise, definately time to start!

Got angry this morning, so emptied the rubbish out of the freezer and cupboards. Just have to refrain from buying any more. Also have to try and do more veges and basics for dinner. Have been finding doing real meals for DD1 and I a bit of a struggle - lots of home cooked fish and chips. Will also try and cut out the bread as this is always bad for me.

Have got just over three weeks before I start work again and don't have any work clothes that fit :banghead: .

Flicka
18-03-2007, 08:16 PM
I agree about cutting back on the bread. I also think the basics are best - lots of veges. It is hard with a toddler though as you have to cook things they will eat like lots of pasta and rice and potatoes. I would love to live on salads but it just isn't practical - what 2 year old eats lettuce for dinner?? Not mine! It is hard because I keep lollies and little chocolates for DS and have to hold back from eating them myself!!!
I am going to weigh and mesure myself tomorrow. Hope I have lost a little bit as I have been quite good.....:fingerscrossed:

Mouse - hope you find some time to get out and exercise. Do you have much to lose?

tired*mummy
21-03-2007, 04:21 PM
Have only lost another kilo, still have 3 to go to be back to pre-pregnancy weight and 8kg to my goal weight.
But i think i my hips have started to slim down a bit. I bought a pair of jeans when i was 9 months pregnant so i would have an incentive to loose weight and yesterday i got into them :smiliedance: and they fit really well. Just after the birth i couldnt even get them past my thighs... so something is working. I'm putting it down to just being so rushed the last few weeks with DD2 in hospital and myself being sick and not eating alot. But its some progress and i was so happy that its encouraged me to really try and loose the rest. Amazing what a couple of kilos can do for one's self esteem.

Flicka
27-03-2007, 07:13 PM
:hugs: Tired mummy - you have been thru so much lately. Not a good diet to go on - the sick family one!!! Hope all is still on the improve. YAY for losing 1kg and fitting into those jeans.

As for me - I have been doing my time on the treadmill. Have lost 1kg. Was a bit disappointed by the weight loss but I also measured myself and lost 5cm off my waist. Can you believe that??? All those situps finally paying off. Also lost 2cm off my hips so I am on my way. Just need to stay motivated. However, I am going to have chocolate at easter!!!

Hels*Bels
27-03-2007, 10:36 PM
After having complications after the birth and then surgery, I have been very inactive for over a week so I have gained a kilo :banghead:
Today I gave in and bought some larger clothes because I am sick of being limited to wearing the same trackie type clothes all the time or my maternity jeans :thumbsdown:
I have decided to start lite n easy in a couple of weeks time. I can only afford to do it for a week or two but it will kick start my weightloss and inspire me to continue. I will also walk everyday with bubs, even if it's only around a shopping centre :p
I have 6 kgs to loose and ideally 8 kgs is my goal.

Tabby
28-03-2007, 01:07 PM
Brought lean cuisine meals and salads etc today as am starting the weight loss.
Ideally I would like to lose a lot more than what I gained in pregnancy. :thumbsup:

wild at heart
01-04-2007, 10:41 AM
don't have much to lo lose- but lack motivation and will power.

lifetime member of weight watchers and finding it hard. go back tomorrow so will see how i have gone!

Flicka
01-04-2007, 01:37 PM
Good on you Tabby - some of those froz meals are yummy. I keep a couple in the freezer for dinners when DH is at work.
Wild at heart - Good luck going back to WW. I went after my DS was born and lost about 8kg. I would love to go back but just feel that I should save the cash while on mat leave. Still have all of my books from last time so have been looking at them for motivation. It is just so hard when DH is at home 'cos he will say "lets have some ice cream or chocolate" and find it hard to resist!!!
I am going to weigh myself again tomorrow and see how I am going. I am just so deperate to fit back into mt pre-preg clothes!!!
Can't use this baby as an excuse for my flabby belly and big butt forever!!

Tabby
02-04-2007, 11:42 AM
I just went for my longest walk yet since preg.
boy do my calf muscles feel it :laughing:
Am going to try for every 2nd day.

Flicka: I hear ya with dh and the food.
Mine keeps offering me cr@p like chips and icecream. :( So far Ive been good and not taken any !

oh and my teen son has joined me, hes quite over weight and when he heard I was watching my food intake he asked to as well..I was gobsmacked lol. Hes sticking to it so far !

Flicka
05-04-2007, 12:18 PM
Hows it all going Tabby?
I haven't been on the treadmill for a few days. I was getting out of the pool on the weekend as Kesley was crying and as I ran up the back steps I slipped and went A over T. I hurt one of my toes really badly and have been hobbling around since.
However I have been having salads every day for lunch so I am trying to be good.
I have to say that I am planning on a bit of a choc fest over easter so that will reverse all of my good work so far!!!
I really feel like my weight loss is really slow - most weeks it has been less than half a kilo. BUT I am determined to buy some nice jeans for winter. I just need a chef and a nanny and a personal trainer to make it all happen!!!

Tabby
07-04-2007, 10:31 AM
Heya Flicka

oh my, hope your toes better now? ouchie
ah you wont reverse it with a few chockies, long as you get back into it after youll be fine

Mines slow too but did you know they say if you lose it too fast your liable add it back too?
As said main thread we going to ttc asap so now am upping the diet and weight loss! I lost a couple of kilos since started but needs be a little faster if want to lose more incase get pregnant rather quick!
I did fall off it yesterday, but! is good to fall to the cravings within reason (for me anyhow). Am right back into it today as have a lovely incentive to keep me going now!

Flicka
07-04-2007, 07:46 PM
Ooohhh, I am so excited about you TTC......yes very good reason to stick to the "lifestyle change" (I refuse to say the word DIET!!). I wouldn't worry too much though - if you fall preg pretty soon, you will be so busy still with Katie that you probably won't put much on.
My toe is better thanks - have been back pounding away on the treadmill. DH keeps trying to convince me that I should do more exercise in the bedroom and that it burns lots of calories!!!!
I was hoping to have lost 5kg by now but have only lost 2kg so far. But as you said, the slower you lose it, the more likely it is to stay off. I just really want those skinny jeans!!!!

AND I agree that you have to treat yourself to the 'sometimes foods'. We still eat takeaway once a fortnight..........but the key is getting back on track afterwards.
Weigh in tomorrow for me and I am not feeling too hopeful.

Hels*Bels
08-04-2007, 09:02 PM
Flicka - Ouchies about the toe!

I have totally lost the motivation to do anything, especially with all the yummy easter eggs around :rolleyes:

Now I am thinking I won't worry too much about the weight gain until I have had bubs #2, which is probably not the best frame of mind to be in.

Didn't eat much today anyway due to having migraine and :barf: 3 times!!

I must get myself motivated this week :shame:

Flicka
09-04-2007, 07:55 PM
Oh Hels, :hugs: to you about the migraine. I used to get them when I was a teenager but they are very infrequent now and are usually hormonal type ones. Nothing worse though - even after it has gone you feel like you have been in a boxing ring getting punched around the head and body (from the :barf: ). At least the vomiting helps to relieve the nauseousness and symptoms a bit even though it is horrible. Glad your DH could look after Reece and let you rest.

I agree with what you are saying about not worrying too much about the kilos until after another bub. Can't believe you are already talking about another after all you have been thru. But I suppose you have to get the wheels in motion......Sorry if this question is too personal but can you use the same donor as Reece so that both kids look very alike?

I was naughty on Sunday and ate my fair share of chocolate. But back to being good today. As I said on the main thread, I am not going to beat myself up about this weight loss thing. I am just going to keep an eye on what I eat and exercise when I can without compromising my time with the kids. Looking back on after I had DS, I think it wasn't until he was about 6 months that the rest of my 'baby weight' disappeared.

Anyway, I didn't lose any weight this week but I think I ate about 2 kilos worth of easter eggs LOL!!!!

Hels*Bels
09-04-2007, 09:11 PM
Damn those Easter eggs :banghead: :laughing:
I have finished all mine today so that's the last of the choccie in this house for a while.

Flicka - :yes: we are hoping to have the same donor next time around, which means both kids would be biologically the same. I'm going to make enquiries in May about it as I have an appt already booked with Melb IVF. But we won't start TTC'ing until later in the year. My cycle has returned to normal now so I already know I am fertile again, it's just "down below" that is still healing. But it will be a caesar next time around for me anyway which I am quite happy about.
It is amazing how quickly we forget all the nasty things isn't it? Everytime I look at my little man's gorgeous face I can't wait to have another lol.

Back to the weightloss issue...
I worked hard in the yard today doing some much overdue pruning. The electric hedge trimmer has really worked my arm muscles lol. Then I went for a brisk walk with bubs in the pram. I feel better for having done some exercise :thumbsup:

2s'nuff
10-04-2007, 10:50 AM
I haven't been on to this thread for a while as I'm not doing well with losing weight. It's been hard lately to get five minutes to myself, let alone spending that five minutes exercising. I'm hoping the return to work next week will help - no bickies and chocolate to snack on throughout the day.

I'm sort of hoping the cooler weather is here to stay in Perth as I know I've got some clothes that will fit. I really don't want to buy any bigger clothes.

Tabby
11-04-2007, 09:03 AM
ok back on board yesterday!
I recon I added back that little I lost because of Easter. ah well..
Went walking yesterday and am trying to every day if not at least every 2nd. Weather here is perfect for it now.
Im not too concerned losing before next bub but am already a big girl so if I can lose some that would be awesome, had diabetes with Katie too so hopefully lose enough.
Would ideally like to be pre preg weight at least.
So about 8k to go.

Flicka
11-04-2007, 10:47 AM
Me too Tabby - need to lose about 8kg.
And yes mousebrown - don't want to buy any larger winter clothes this year.
I have been good so far this week. Eating lots of salads and yohurt for snacks. Lived on yoghurt and cereal when I was young and skinny at university so it worked for me then!!

I am also finding it hard to get some time for exercise. As I have said before, I hired a treadmill for a few months to help me out in my spare moments but the only time I get is when the kids have gone to bed at night and by then I really don't have the motivation and am usually exhausted! I prefer to knit or read if I get the chance before bedtime.

But the reality is that is is possible to lose some weight without doing lots of exercise. I just keep saying to myself - eat smaller portions. Also read that you should drink a big glass of water before you eat to make you feel fuller. I think I might try that too. Also saw on Oprah a while back that green tea is fabulous for weight loss (not to mention good for you too). I quite like it so I should get back to drinking a couple of cups per day. I think they said you can lose about 2kg a months just by adding the green tea to your diet!

Well, my little girl has just woken up so I had better go and feed her soon before she cracks a wobbly!

Tabby
13-04-2007, 12:05 PM
Cooler weather so I got out the winter wardrobe yesterday, If I dont lose some soon Im going be naked! ( DP says thats ok! lol )Nothing fits and if it does I look like cr@p cos its way too tight!
Wish I hadnt got them out now :(

ahh well more incentive to keep at it!

Hels*Bels
13-04-2007, 01:46 PM
I have pretty much replaced all my wardrobe now with bigger clothes. I only needed to go up one size though. I have bought cheap stuff in the sales so I don't get too attached to it all! I figured it would also be suitable if I was PG again, providing I started off at a lower weight first. I have got 6-8 kgs to loose now. I am still munching on chocolate daily so that doesn't help :shame:
But I am walking everyday, even if it is around a shopping centre for the whole arvo :laughing: .

Flicka
16-04-2007, 07:09 PM
HOORAY - lost another half a kilo and 2 cm off my waist this week.
It is slow going but at least it is something.
Tabby - Had a good laugh about you being naked for winter as you have no clothes - I can't face my winter stuff yet. I don't even have a pair of jeans that fit at the moment.
Hels - I am with you regarding the cheap clothes. I bought some stretchy shirts in the sales this year because everything gets ruined when preg or breastfeeding. Most of my tops are stretched from pulling them up to feed.

I have been super good so far this week (I know it is only Tuesday LOL!). Over the w/end DH and I ate fish/chicken and salad which was delicious. DH has booked a weekend away for my b'day at the end of May (with the kids too) so I would like to look nice for that. Would LOVE to buy some nice underwear to surprise him!!!

Tabby
17-04-2007, 12:28 PM
Oh lovely of dh with the w.e away! How sweet.

I tell you what THIS IS BLOODY HARD!!!:banghead:
As said main thread, yes go for a walk but then cant resist a chocolate!! Mind you I had been craving one for few days, prob why broke down so easy...ah well another walk later hopefully

Flicka
17-04-2007, 03:07 PM
Tabby - probably PMS or hormones or something making you crave that choc!!! Don't worry you sound like you are doing well anyway by walking every day. I think if you are walking you can probably afford to have a choc every now and again. I was looking on the weight loss section of the hub and there is a "yummy mummy" diet on there that says you will lose about 2kg a week......Might give that a try next week but will be careful as I don't want to upset my milk supply for Kelsey.

Tabby
17-04-2007, 03:14 PM
Oh will go check that out right now! thanks
Nope never a PMS sufferer..Im just a cranky b!tch all the time says dp hahaha, (in an endearing way though)
And yes your right, 1 or 2 here and there dont hurt. besides I didnt have ANY easter eggs etc
ok am not worried re: another walk today
Katie as I have said is now unwrapped sleeping but harder to get to settle. I have to keep going in there for dummy or just a shhhhh and touch her cheek. up down up down, go the abs!
and walking up down hallways more times than can count hahaha.
oh and spent a hr in garden so alls good now

Flicka
17-04-2007, 03:26 PM
Maybe get a pedometer. I got one from the chemist (about $25 I think). Apparently you are supposed to do at least 10 thousand steps per day and I was shocked to see how many I was doing (only about 6000 some days). I find it encourages me to do more to reach the 10 thousand steps. When I am folding the washing or cooking dinner or DS is in the bath I do side steps to boost my number for the day. Plus I have just started making DH do sit ups and push ups in the evening with me - for encouragement!

Tabby
17-04-2007, 08:09 PM
oh oh! I have one here somewhere, won in a pack of cereal ages ago but never used.
Will hunt tomorrow, good idea!
Will be interesting see how many I do

Tabby
18-04-2007, 11:58 AM
Yep found it last night so popped it on today, so far over 1000 and thats not even doing anything constructive like housework lol.
amazing really to see just how many steps we take.
Flicka is the 10,000 for weight loss or just recommended activity?

Pices_79
18-04-2007, 01:04 PM
I have about 6kg to lose....doesnt help when you are home and there are chocolate biscuits around :(:( I dont think Easter helped either LOL

I put on around 20kg when I was pregnant!!! By the end of the pregnancy I didnt weigh myself (too depressing!!) so it could be even higher than that!!!

Is everyone finding walking is the best form of exercise???

Flicka
19-04-2007, 01:05 PM
Tabby - I think I read something that said the 10 000 is what you SHOULD do per day for normal weight maintenance and that you should try and do more for weight loss. I guess if you just aim for a bit more each day you will notice a difference. Plus you will be surprised how many steps you end up doing after you and Katie have been for a walk. Tabby did you read that yummy mummy diet? Sounds pretty good doesn't it?

Pices - I love walking but to be honest I just don't find alot of time to coordinate the 2 kids. Someone always ends up in tears and we have to head home!!! I am just trying to eat healthy and exercise when possible. What about you?

DH offerred to get me a gym membership but I told him it would be wasted on me. I have never been a gym fan. I used to keep fit by training and riding my horses but have no time for that now. Miss it alot......

Hels*Bels
20-04-2007, 12:48 PM
I have lost 0.4 kgs :yelclap: Over the last few days I have started being more healthy and have eaten more fruit. I think after seeing all the glammed up ladies in my mother's group this week, it has given me the inspiration to get my figure back.
I try to walk everyday, it's the only form of exercise I am allowed to do at the moment. I don't have time for much else anyway.

Tabby
20-04-2007, 01:21 PM
Flicka: Nope forgot all about that thread!
Stupid pedometer has 3 buttons, one is to reset and I keep leaning on it or something..Going have to invest a better one. wow over 10,000 lol Before reset was 2000 and half day gone..going have to up that a bit lol

YAY Hels! Nice one, ive lost about 1kg, should have been more but I keep falling off the good eating!
I really need to kick it up a notch and behave, officialy ttc starts in 2 weeks or less :eek:
or maybe ill just burn it off with sex..isnt that like a 5 mile run or something :laughing::laughing: Am sure dp would agree to that form of exercise

Flicka
20-04-2007, 06:46 PM
LOL Tabby about the "sexercise". My Dh has been saying the same sort of stuff.......
I know what you mean about being naughty and eating bad food every now and again. DH was at work this arvo and the kids were driving me nuts......ended up eating 6 tim tams :shame: . And the worst part is, it didn't make things any better - the kids still drove me crazy. DS keeps telling me he's "sick and tired" of this and that - whoops I must say 'sick and tired' alot!!!

Hels - awesome about the weight loss. Good work chick.

Tabby - good on you for yours too......see you are going really well.

Even though I am going pretty well (minus today's tim tams) with my eating my weight loss is really slow. I actually think my hormones are still settling down from being preg and b/feeding. Oh, any excuse......Mum has just sent me a dress to wear for kelsey's christening and I def need to lose at least 5kg to look any good in it.

If only I could find my willpower.....if you see it could you please send it back!!!

Tabby
21-04-2007, 01:50 PM
:laughing: Its probably hiding where ever mine is!

Wonder if its the same place as libido hides?:laughing:

Flicka
21-04-2007, 06:46 PM
Hey Tabby you had better track that libido down......you will be officially 'TTC' soon won't you???

Tried on heaps of my 'pre baby' clothes last night. Can squeze into some but am left with a terrible muffin top/roly fat belly thing going on...*sigh*.
And as for my tops - my boobs are still too big for them.
Oh, and although I can get my jeans on, I can't do them up unless I lie on the bed......if I wore them and went to the loo, I would have to find somewhere to lay down and do them up again!!! If I haven't lost any weight this week I am going to do the yummy mummy diet for a few weeks.

Flicka
21-04-2007, 06:47 PM
Hey Hels and Tabby, I am starting to feel like this is our own private chat room.....

Tabby
22-04-2007, 09:44 AM
haha yep,Officialy ttc starts in just over a week.
Its just that dp allways picks when am tired! Like when we go to bed...We have plenty of opportunity through the day/early eve but he doesnt take advantage of it:banghead: Men!
So may have to have a chat before then, yaknow spell it out to him as to how to get more sex!!
1)Come to bed when I go to bed early and not later and try to wake me for it!
2)Make the most of when teen is away for the w.e and Katie is alseep. ( Like we used to)

Yep think its time for a chat.
I know my libido is here again just not when Im tired and I think I need to explain that to him, think he needs reminding im not just Katies mum Im still his gf too and to start paying me more attention like before katie, am sure libido is down because I dont get that as much.

weight loss, Doubt loss any since, havnt really been trying that hard. but at least im not gaining more at the mo. Weekdays are easier as I eat what I should but w.e I have to cook for them and it looks ohh so yummy lol

Acacia
22-04-2007, 10:06 AM
Hi everyone.
I know i posted a weighloss thing somewhere and im not sure if it was here or not. I put on 30kg when i was pregnant with tom. I have lost 20kg so far although i think 10 of that was him and fluid! So now i have 10 to go. im feeling pretty positive about it. Im starting kickboxing again and i recently became vegan so that cuts out the 2 nasties that i seem to be weak with...chocolate and cheese!

Good luck to everybody.

Flicka
22-04-2007, 07:29 PM
Hey Acacia - nice to have another gal to chat with here. Wow switching to vego....can I ask what your reason is?
tabby - yes i was just commenting on the same sort of thing to my DH. I mean, where is he at 7.30pm when the kids are asleep and I feel good still....instead I get the "hey honey how about it" at 11pm when I am half asleep. MEN!!!

Well, i am totally bummed. I only lost 200g this week. It is so frustrating and I just don't know what to do. Silly me actually ended up in tears because I just feel that i have been really trying (ok, minus those 6 tim tams the other day). But seriously, I am exercising when I can and eating right.......feeling like this....:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: .
Well, i am just going to stick with it...and hope for the best.

Pices_79
22-04-2007, 07:39 PM
I really need to stop eating cr*p and start exercising!!!! Why cant I stop eating chocolate!!!!!

:thumbsdown:

Tabby
23-04-2007, 09:17 AM
:wave:Acacia, Glad you've joined us here!

Pices_79: ahh same here, chocky my biggest enemy!

Yep hang in there Flicka! probably just one of those weeks where don't lose much but next week get a bigger loss.

Back to Monday so will be good through the week again , need to try keep it like that over the w.e too though..
Its getting quite chilly. I need to fit into my winter stuff and not just the saggy baggys lol

Flicka
23-04-2007, 05:34 PM
Oh, yes what I would do for a big block of dove chocolate right now. Or a box of ferrero rocher chocs - my fav!!! Just a thought regarding chocolate, maybe you could compromise and have nuttella on bread or on a cruskit. That is what I did when I was on weight watchers after Ds was born. That way I got a 'taste' of the choc without ruining my diet.

Thanks Tabby - I am going to hang in there. really want to lose a few kilos for my b'day w/end away (it's my 30th). Still have a month to go so maybe a miracle will happen!! :fingerscrossed:

Can't believe I am 30 this year. was watching big brother last night and was thinking - wow these people are all so young and I feel so ancient!! I can't believe I thought I was fat when I was 18 and a size 10 or when I was 24 and a size 12.......now I am nearly 30 and barely squeezing into a 14 (and wearing some size 16's too). I just really want to look nice for myself and I want people to think - wow she looks great and she's had 2 kids. Her hubby is so lucky......Know what I mean??

Hels*Bels
23-04-2007, 07:44 PM
I think I have lost a bit more weight this week as my bra actually felt a bit bigger today. I mean, I don't seem to be filling out the cups as well anymore. Typical isn't it, always goes from the worst places first :rolleyes:

LOL at muffin top, sad thing is, that's exactly what I have too. Doesn't look too good hanging over the top of a pair of jeans does it??

Lots of walking for me still, took a long one down to the lake again today. Soon the weather will be too cold in Melb though, will have to go to plan B. Just haven't worked out what that is yet.

Libido? what's that? I think I left mine in the delivery room :laughing:

2s'nuff
23-04-2007, 09:16 PM
I think I have lost a bit more weight this week as my bra actually felt a bit bigger today. I mean, I don't seem to be filling out the cups as well anymore. Typical isn't it, always goes from the worst places first

Libido? what's that? I think I left mine in the delivery room :laughing:

Yep, (*)(*) first place to lose wieght for me too. Don't seem to have the extra bits floating over the top/out the side this week:laughing: .

Haven't been on the scales yet. Managed to squeeze into a pair of jeans for work on Friday, so might use them as an unofficial scale. Hopefully with them starting to get looser rather than tighter:rolleyes: .

As for libido, as DH is away I only have to make the effort once ever three weeks. Haven't managed twice in three weeks yet, but he's trying:laughing: .

LadyLou
24-04-2007, 08:57 PM
I had to wear a belt with my jeans today :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: Woo hoo!!

They are my post preggie jeans and couldn't get them over my hips when I came home from hospital, then eventually got them on but couldn't do up, then was able to do them up and now today they were loose :thumbsup: hence the need for belt - yay yay yay!!

Just had to share! Haven't weighed myself lately but my jeans are my measure at the moment as it's my pre preggis ones I want to get back into.

Acacia
25-04-2007, 11:09 AM
congrats on getting unto your jeans! Yay!

In regards to becoming vegan, i was already vegetarian and then i found out that dairy cows are artificially inseminated to produce milk and when the calves are born they are killed at one or 2 days old. Although if there is a strike or a breakdown and the trucks cant get to the slaughter house the calves starve to death because they only know how to suckle. As a mother i just cant handle that we do that to animals especially baby animals. So i have chosen to not eat dairy.

I dont have scales at home and its a bit furstrating because i dont know how my wieght is going till i go to my mums house, but i guess not having scales keeps me from checking how much i weight every day!

I hope its all going well for everyone.

Hels*Bels
27-04-2007, 06:01 PM
I weighed myself this week and the nasty scales said I had put on again. But my jeans felt looser today so I don't understand it. I have just waved bye bye to AF this week so maybe it was fluid?
To make matters worse, DH just remembered that we bought some slabs of fudge at the homeshow a couple of weeks back. It was still in the bag in the pantry. Now half of it is inside my tum and the rest is in the fridge :laughing: :crying:

Flicka
28-04-2007, 07:03 PM
Don't feel bad Hels - I have successfully worked my way through a bag of funsize kit kats over the last few days. And besides - don't the experts say to go by the way your clothes feel and not by the scales!!! Speaking of scales - will weigh in again tomorrow but not feeling hopeful due to the kit kat feast....wish I had the energy and the willpower to shed these kilos once and for all.....

Hels*Bels
29-04-2007, 07:26 PM
Yum, I love kitkats :laughing: I always have a bag of fun size light mars bars in the fridge. I try to limit myself to 1 a day, hmmm...

I totally blew it today and had Maccas for lunch :banghead: I had a migraine earlier and it left me feeling the same as after a hangover and craving the greasy food. Sad thing is, I had the hangover feeling without tasting a drop of alcohol.

I have got to start being good this week :shame:

Flicka
29-04-2007, 07:52 PM
You can do it Hels!!!

Don't worry about the maccas. After a migraine I would say you should probably eat exactly what you feel like. I know I have said it before but I know how you feel - when I would get over one I would be ravenous (and yes that hangover feeling too). I think migraines can be so draining that you actually need a kilojoule boost.

Weighed myself today and HOORAY - lost 0.7kg!!! About time I had a good result and even after all of those kit kats!! I was so happy and then DH burst my bubble and said "Imagine how much you would have lost if you hadn't eaten all of those kit kats" What a meanie!!! I told him the kit kats were all part of the grand plan that helped me lose some weight his week.........no more this week tho as I can't seem to resist them!!

Flicka
03-05-2007, 03:30 PM
I gotta bump this thread up so we don't forget about it.......

Have been trying really hard this week to stick to good foods but DH is on days off and it is so tempting to eat bad foods. have a feeling take away will be on the menu tonight :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Flicka
08-05-2007, 10:35 AM
Whooohooooo!!! Just tried on my jeans and THEY FIT!!!! So happy about that. they are a bit tight around my bum but I can live with that. Thank goodness i won't have to buy new ones for winter. Hmmmmm - now i just need to find some winter shirts that my boobs will fit into!!!!

Hels*Bels
10-05-2007, 09:06 PM
Flicka - You sound like you are doing really well, how much more weight do you want to loose now?

I weighed myself the other day and I had put on again :thumbsdown: so I decided enough was enough. For the last 3 days I have cut down my portion sizes and eaten really healthily. eg tonight I had a salad and grilled fish. The hunger feeling has passed now or I am getting used to it. Anyway, I weighed myself today and I have dropped almost a kilo :smiliedance: I think some of it was fluid too, but I will keep it up, now I am on a roll!

Tabby
11-05-2007, 10:50 AM
YAY well done Flicka! Thats awesome!

and well done Hels! :fingerscrossed: for more for you

I havnt been on here much, just cant get motivated ffs! (scuse my french ) just so frustrating. I know im not putting more on which was a concern before so thats something....

Flicka
11-05-2007, 12:57 PM
Yay Hels on your weight loss!!

I think I would like to lose about another 6-8 kilos. It is going very slowly (usually less than half a kilo loss per week) but I am happy with that as I am still b/feeding and don't want to mess with that side of things. Today I even wore a size 14 skirt that my mum bought me when I was preg with Kelsey as motivation to lose my baby weight. It looked really nice.

I agree about not worrying too much Tabby. After all, you don't want to mess around with your diet too much when TTC as it might muck up your cycles.

How much do you want to shed Hels???

Hels*Bels
11-05-2007, 05:22 PM
I need to lose a further 6 kgs to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight, but another 2 kgs aswell would be good. That would make me 60 kgs and a size 10-12 again. I have set a target to lose it by september when we are going on holidays to Noosa. I know that I will fit into my summer clothes if I get at least 6 kgs off by then :fingerscrossed: .

Flicka
11-05-2007, 06:50 PM
You will probably be like me Hels - just get back into your old clothes and get preg again!!!! Took me about 12 months to get back into shape after DS and then I found out I was having Kelsey.

Tabby
17-05-2007, 04:53 PM
Well as you know have been unwell for a week, I lost 2 kilos! Am trying to make sure it doesnt go back on either which can happen when lost like that.

Flicka
18-05-2007, 11:53 AM
:thumbsdown: for being sick Tabby but :smiliedance: for losing 2 kilos. Hope you and Katie are feeling better.

Hels*Bels
18-05-2007, 03:49 PM
There's better ways to lose weight than being sick, but well done anyway Tabby :thumbsup: