View Full Version : What pet should we get?

*Sal*
06-02-2007, 23:42
Looking for some advice.

We want to get a pet for our kids but don't know what to get. DH won't have cats and I think fish are kind of pointless (sorry to any fish lovers).

We're tossing up between a small dog or something like a rabbit, guinea pig etc.

Pros and cons would be appreciated, as I have no idea how to care for a rabbit, but it may be easier than a dog??

What's a good kid-friendly pet?

LilShenanigans
07-02-2007, 01:38
I can't say much on Rabbits or Guinea Pigs (although I know don't leave a guinea pig outside in winter!).
I did have trouble as a kid with my friends pets that would bite. A lot of my friends in primary had rabbits, but I remember one girl had about 3 guinea pigs and they were horrid. (sorry any guinea pig lovers:p).

I'd find dogs easier to train in this area, especially for training around small children.
But then, at the moment I'm obsessed with the idea of my sister getting a daschund (Sausage dog)... have never met a bad sausage dog in my life... and they can't really jump up high, so no sleeping on beds etc.

That's just my 2c :D

*Sal*
07-02-2007, 08:30
Thanks Erin.

Poor guinea pigs, can you imagine the kids faces :eek: when they see them frozen in the morning.

I certainly don't want anything that bites. It's supposed to be fun!!

Hadn't really considered a sausage dog, but we'll think about it.

RoarsomeMum
07-02-2007, 08:52
I think Rabbit's make good Kids Pets (I remember Dr Harry recommending one that was really fluffy, cant remember what type!)
So not useful - Im sorry!:o

Mum2Tyla
07-02-2007, 11:07
with rabbits it is mors luck of the draw some are really tolerant and are happy to be held others go feral when you go near them guinea pigs are tyhe same i think it depends on the age of the child, all pets are work unfortunately, rabbits and guinea pigs need to be cleaned daily but dont need to be walked or trained so it also depends on how much time you have to dedicate to the pet
Kelly

SaintAnk
07-02-2007, 11:44
I had guinea pigs as a child, I loved them but they died a bit easily.
I dont know if it was a snake bite or what but i woke up one morning and the mumma and baby were dead... the daddy had died a couple of weeks before.
we also had a dog which was brilliant. we had a male staffy, he was a bit of a sook but we all loved him to bits, staffys are great with kids. we would just play with him all day. :thumbsup:
as an adult, I now have my own dogs, a staffy and a husky cross. the staffy is brilliant, very obediant, very gentle (my cat had kittens 6 weeks ago and our staffy is soo gentle with them, she doesnt move at all when they are climbing over her, claws out. and she just plays with them and protects them).
staffys rule for kids.

kiah
07-02-2007, 11:51
We had a turtle (deceased) it was so much fun...he used to get out and crawl around. U have to get a license. Not hard. And they live in a tank. Sooooo cute.

mama2cierra
07-02-2007, 11:59
we have fish so far

but your right..they are only fun to look at ! cant really hold 'em....:D
We are thinking of setting up an avery under the deck of our house...so maybe some birds?? they may get pretty loud tho, but if you get ones with thier wings clipped you can train them to sit on your shoulder. hehe kiddies will love it

a fluffy rabbit does sound gorgeous too! :rolleyes: the choices!

floggadog
07-02-2007, 12:03
How about an axolotol? They had one at Kindy . He was pretty cool. Fed on worms.
OK so not so cuddly.Guineapigs & rabbits don't have the shelf life of a dog which means you'll find yourself explaining death to your kids sooner than you'd hoped & believe me they never let go of the death of the 1st pet. (it's been 4 years now & we still have tears). How about a pet chook? We have 2 and the kids can pick them up & cart them around. I even found them giving one a swing the other day.:laughing: You'll even get a bonus egg for you're breaky.
BUt if you decide on a dog try a little sized xbred as they're less likely to cost you much in the first place & they won't have as many health issues . Good Luck

LilShenanigans
07-02-2007, 12:07
Oh you can so play with fish! lol
I used to grab and pet my goldfish as a kid, until I found out they died without water lmao

Speaking of Staffys, my dad had one growing up and it was the most beautiful and well behaved dog he had ever met (besides our neighbours dog later on). So I agree with the staffy idea too... :thumbsup:

woven_wings
07-02-2007, 12:18
Weve had rabbits and guinea pigs growing up and my neighbours (kids are now 6 and 8) have had guinea pigs since their youngest was 2. Never had troubles with them... fantastic pet!

Ive found some information for you:

Fact Sheet - Basic Rabbit Care here (http://members.iinet.com.au/~rabbit/factsht1.htm)

RSPCA Rabbit Care here (http://www.rspcavic.org/animal_care/rabbitcare.htm)

And do you remember with Burke's Backyard used to road test animals? They reccomend mini lops or dwarf lops (http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/2000/archives/2000/roadtests/farm_and_holiday_animals/dwarf_lop_and_mini_lop_rabbit), dwarf angora (http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/2000/archives/2000/roadtests/farm_and_holiday_animals/dwarf_angora_rabbit) and rex (http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/2000/archives/2000/roadtests/farm_and_holiday_animals/rex_rabbit) rabbits for children

Hope this helps a little :fingerscrossed: .

Harmony83
07-02-2007, 13:37
Apparently Beagles are an excellent dog for kids under 10! And they are absolutely gorgeous too! When DS is a bit older we are thinking of getting one of those!
I had mice when I was younger and absolutely loved them, but they dont live for long either...

Little_Toad
07-02-2007, 13:42
How about Terrapins (tiny turtles)
My sister had them when she was 9 and took really god care of them.

or a Toad!!

*Sal*
08-02-2007, 20:21
Thanks for all the replies and links too, wonderful!!!!

I'm amazed at how many people have suggested staffies, because I had them growing up too! And they are great with kids, I remember.

We were leaning towards something smaller though, as the backyard is not as big as we'd like it to be :(, and I may struggle to walk it often enough.

Off to do some more research :thumbsup:

vvsingh
13-02-2007, 14:37
How about a cocker spaniel. I have one and I can safely say that they have a gorgeous temperament.

http://thierrythedog.blogspot.com/

SixtiesChild
13-02-2007, 18:42
Guinea pigs are also very sensitive to hot weather and can easily die on a hot day.:(

manxgirl77
15-02-2007, 19:18
What about a bearded dragon or a blue tongue lizard? They are a native animal, don't mind being handled. The kids can catch insects for them to eat, or you can buy meal worms from a pet shop. You need a licence from parks and wildlife, but that doesn't cost much. You can't catch them from the wild, you need to buy it from a pet shop or licenced dealer. Just check out the conditions they need - you may need a heat lamp if you live in a cold place. Small freshwater turtles are great as Little toad suggested. (need a licence as well). :yes: Good luck with it!