View Full Version : who has a staffy? need some advice!

shinebrite
04-02-2007, 18:38
HE WINES!!!!! he sooks ALL day well when he is home that is he is the biggest spoilt little boof head in the world! DH takes him to work and has a huge truck that he sits in ALL day he obviosly parks in the shade and he has a back section all to himself with a food bowl and water and when DH lets him out for a walk around the yard he is at he gets scraed he will get left so jumps out and then jumps back in! he loves the truck! NO ONE can go near it only DH otherwise his back gets up and he growls at whoever it is even if he has met them in the house! and when he gets home usually on the weekends he sits and wines at the door cause DH is inside and he is outside RAH its SO annoying he is SO vocal! when DH starts the truck in the morning he yelps SO loudly until he puts him in! even if DH walks across the road to the naeighbours he yelps and yelps its embarresing!!!! anyone have any iseas on the subject? and please no lecturing bout the dog in the car thing, its a truck and they dont get as hot as cars because the poistion of the front window he even has a little fan and wouldnt wait on the tray for the world he is a weird weird dog!

floggadog
04-02-2007, 18:50
He sounds like he's in love. Maybe you need a visit from Dr Harry!
He is like our dog outside on the chain now. Our dog is a talking dog and stands at the door and moans whinges growls and carries on while we talk back. Also if we go without him he barks and wines and at times sounds like he is being murdered!(he isn't.)
The only thing I can suggest is that you try to win his affections so that he feels comfy staying with you. Doggy treats and training might make some difference. The carrying on when your hubby goes accross the street is like separation anxiety. So if you can get him to associate you as his other number 1 person you might have a chance.
Good luck . My full sympathy - I have little patience for whinging animals and I'm surrounded by them,(no I'm not talking about my DH or my kids!!:laughing:

shinebrite
04-02-2007, 18:55
he he SO sounds like he is being murdered SO ANNOYING!!!! might have to do the trick thing...mayb if Dh would stop babying him that wuld work too!!! I recon if we divorced Id take the kids he'd take dexter! SO pathetic!

floggadog
04-02-2007, 19:10
Sounds like your Dh is treating him like his only child!! Definently get in some extra lovin via food with this dog. You might even find something if you search on google. I found out how to get my dog to bark on command from some guard dog breeder site. Still haven't taught him which is why he barks ALL THE TIME!! Forgot to mention - my whinging, barking dog - Flog - was my mothers day pressie to myself. My sheepdog. DH has taken him over as his own and I'm left with the old faithful who is blind and has arthritis!!

mel79
05-02-2007, 11:31
This is a hard one cos it seems to be your DH who is encouraging him to be so attached by babying him. If your DH pays attention to others instead of the dog then he will start to understand that he is NOT the most important person in the family - which ATM is sounds like he thinks he is!
I think you feeding him and giving him treats would definitely help him to see you as one of the leaders of the pack and then pay more attention to you.
Your DH should acknowledge (hug, kiss) everyone else in the family before the dog so that the dog realises he is not the top pack member.
'The Dog Man' by Martin McKenna has been an absolute lifesaver for me - i have 3 staffies who have been spoilt rotten - they still are pretty spoilt but they now know their place in the pack. My dogs would sook and sook if they were put in their pen, and if one got more attention than the other then they would start fighting. I've been following 'the dog man's 10 golden rules and the change is absolutely amazing! I can post them if your interested......

Areca
05-02-2007, 11:47
Staffy's are loud. What you're dog has is seperation anxiety. Google that and crate training. Our Staffy was a rescue but she was soooo bad with it and so loud. Crate training, and the right tools to deal with it has helped a lot.
They are a vocal dog, our dog is still a bit whiney but much much better than what she was when we first got her. We used to lock her up inside of a night and the neighbours across the road could hear her whining, inside with doors and windows closed.

SaintAnk
05-02-2007, 12:05
Staffys are sooky dogs. especially the males. they need to be a part of the family...
it's a bit mean keeping him outside all day by himself while the rest of the family is inside... but i know how psycho they can get when they are inside, knocking things over etc.
I have a staffy too (a female, who is a sook but not as much as males - i have also owned male staffys too, i love them)
To keep them outside the only 'nice' solution i found was to get another dog. so we have 2 dogs... a husky cross and a staffy. both female. neither whinge or sook anymore (they do when they are apart) they just run around outside and keep each other company. Two very happy dogs and much easier to keep than just one.

cath
05-02-2007, 12:58
We have a sooky male Staffy (Ollie) too who looks through the glass door all day and barks at my crawling son who responds by going to the glass and banging on it which escalates the barking -great!! Ollie just want to be inside with us but he is too boisterous and knocks Paddy over and constanty licks his face. Having 2 dogs is definitely a help (we also have a Staffy/Kelpie). Ollie would be 10 times worse if he was on his own. We had an older Staffy (Stanley) who died about 4 years ago and we had to get Ollie to keep Stan company because Stan was going nuts when he was on his own while we were at work and destroying the house. Maybe a second dog might help as someone suggested (it does create alot more chaos though -our 2 go nuts when they are let in just before Paddy does to bed and we have to stand back while they tear around the house for 10 minutes). Good luck - I know how irritating the sooking can be. If I had my choice I would actually find new homes for our 2 dogs and not have dogs until we have had all our kids and they are old enough to be left together (never thought I would feel like this but everything changes once you have a baby).

Cath

liah
05-02-2007, 14:51
Staffy's are loud. What you're dog has is seperation anxiety. Google that and crate training. Our Staffy was a rescue but she was soooo bad with it and so loud. Crate training, and the right tools to deal with it has helped a lot.
They are a vocal dog, our dog is still a bit whiney but much much better than what she was when we first got her. We used to lock her up inside of a night and the neighbours across the road could hear her whining, inside with doors and windows closed.

I second exactly what you have said, you know your stuff :thumbsup:

Areca
05-02-2007, 14:59
I second exactly what you have said, you know your stuff :thumbsup:

Thanks, I agree totally with your siggy too :thumbsup:

RoarsomeMum
05-02-2007, 15:00
I've been following 'the dog man's 10 golden rules and the change is absolutely amazing! I can post them if your interested......

Yes Please Mel!

shinebrite
05-02-2007, 16:55
Mel78~ that would be great if u could post those I might get the book too...

mayb we do need another dog? something to keep hime occupied cause he aint coming in the house! he sleeps in here and thats about it I wish he didnt even do that! DD is on the floor crwling and gets hair all over her its gross! he is too rough as well he is quite phsyco actually! a good dog though he really loves us its just too much tho!

thanks for all the advice! satffies rock!

munchkin05
05-02-2007, 17:52
my boy is a little sook to

think its a real staffy thing lol

but he obviously loves his daddy

mine is a shocking chewer :mad: he chews everything expecially plastic im hoping one day he will grow out of it :fingerscrossed:

mel79
06-02-2007, 13:26
Ok Dog man rules of leadership - i think its important to note that the dogman is TOTALLY against violence of any kind towards dogs - his most severe punishment is a bucket of cold water over the head of a sooking dog - after the dog has been warned in a stern voice "WATER!" My dogs are instantly silent when they hear this word!!
I highly recommend this book for anyone who just wants to know more about how their dog thinks and why they act the way they do. I read it & it was like the biggest lightbulb came on in my head!! :idea: I stuck these rules on my fridge until i got them into my head.

Rule 1: The Leader/s always eat first. Dog eats LAST. When feeding him, make him sit - no food until sitting. Give the dog 15 mins to eat, then take away any uneaten food.

Rule 2: The Leader/s tells everyone what to do because they understand the rules best and provide the food. Don't let your dog rule the household (you'll have to see the problems section in the book for moredetails) He does everything you say WITHOUT EXCEPTION.

Rule 3: Don't make the dog the centre of attention - it only confuses the dog into believeing that he is the Leader.

Rule 4: The Leader/s always take control when something unusual happens. This might be a stranger arriving or a sudden noise outside. Once your dog has alerted you to something unusual, call him over with a treat, clip him on a leash near his bed. We mean what we say as leader "It is our right to investigate, Dog, not yours"

Rule 5: The Leader ALWAYS has to win any games being played. For example, if the dog does a trick, he gets a treatand praise. Another example is fetch the ball. Always make sure the human wins this game by using treats to get the dog to give the ball back. "You give me the ball, I give you the treat. I win again. See how easy i can beat you?"
Dangerous games we DO NOT PLAY ie. tug of war, wrestling, play-biting, chase and jump-up. These are all things dogs would do if they were killing food or fighting an opponent. We're not food & we don't want to be an opponent - especially our children. No compromises here, they just can't play them. The law won't compromise when it comes time for your dog to be put down for biting. These games can only be played by your dog with another dog - good reason to have a second dog.

Rule 6: Never let your dog take food froma child unsupervised. Under supervision, a child may give dog a treat by getting it to sit, pretending to eat the food and then casually dropping it to the ground.

Rule 7: A Leader (in dog world) uses body postures to prove dominance. Some of these are: leaning against you; standing on your feet; jumping upwith paws onyour chest; staring at you with chin up high, lying on your lap. Start recognising these postures and don't let your dog do them to anyone, especially children

Rule 8: Leaders have the right of way through entrances and exits. If the dog goes to push past you through the door, then close the door firmly, (making sure not to hurt him in the process- this is for shock value not pain) Make sure everyone always goes through the door before your dog.

Rule 9: ( i really struggled with this one, and compromised by letting them get on couch only if I invite them up)
The Leader always has the most comfortable & important resting & sleeping spots. So don't let your dog on any couch, bed or chair.

Rule 10: Don't let dogs block or get in your way. Just barge straight through as though you didnt see him. If dog is lying in your way - do the 'Harlem shuffle': say nothing, shuffle your feet noisily towards the dog without looking at him. Shuffle towards him & he will get up out of the way very quickly!! Say nothing, act as if you knew he wouldget out of your way anyway.

BubblesMummy
01-03-2007, 14:10
You have yourself a great staffy there. He guards the truck at a young age without prompting and he's accepted your DH as his responsibility. Ignoring him when he is whinging will help with the seperation anxiety, as any attention... even telling him off.. is attention he craves. Maybe give him something to preoccupy him before you go anywhere.
If he can see your DH leaving to see the neighbours through a fence, cover it so he can't see out. We find that ALL of our staffy's respond better when they cant see through the gate. They cant see it as a possible escape route and won't allow strangers near it to familiarise with them, which them becomes a potential risk for break-ins. Staffy's are people dogs and once they know someones smell as being accepted at your home they can slip up by letting them into your yard or even your house! Cars lukily are a different matter.
I find that if I tell my staffy that I am going somewhere without her and tell her when I expect to be back, she will not be so anxious about me leaving, if I'm not back when I say I will be she goes crazy!!