View Full Version : Car seat issues

19-11-2005, 21:10

We're having an issue with our car seats & wanted some advice if you don't mind.

I've just turned MJ's seat around after we were cleared by the CHN and MJ is loving it :D

The thing is that it moves around so much (the seat) if its in the middle :eek: I know this is the optimal spot but its just so wobbly IYKWIM. I think its because the centre section of the back seat is raised slightly. I ended up putting it on the side and its alot more secure but i worry about her being right against the door.

Any helpful hints/tips or comments on what to do? Should we keep it on the side or what?

Thanks ladies :)

RB

H&B'sMum
19-11-2005, 21:14
Rb, If I was you I would keep it on the side where it is more secure. We have ours on the side and have the door on child lock so Harry can't open it. Usually he just plays with the window sock we have over the window instead.

Chickadee
19-11-2005, 21:20
We have the same problem in our car and initially installed the car seat behind the passengers seat instead of in the middle. When DH took it to the safety place (brain malfunction, sorry - anywhere they'll do a check of your seat installation) they moved it back to the middle spot since that's the safest spot (side impact). They recommended using folded towels on either side and a bit at the front to provide support and make it less tippy.

I also find I have to physically get onto the seat and use my weight to push it down while I tighten the seat belt around it. That's the only way I can get it tight enough.

perrywinkle
19-11-2005, 21:24
I thought the same thing when we swapped. Apparently it's meant to be a bit wobbly in case an accident does happen, Having that little bit of movement means it wont be a sharper movenment but as long as it's bolted it's fine. We put the seatbelt through the hole at the front of the seat rather than the one at the back.

tickle
19-11-2005, 21:38
I think as long as it is installed correctly the middle position is still the safest.
We had ours on the side for about the first 12 months and then I had a guy nearly crash into the same side that DS was on and I freaked out and moved it.
Even if it wobbles, if it's in, it's in and it isn't going anywhere. :)

Harmony83
19-11-2005, 21:40
We had the same prob, and as Martha said you can secure it with towels, but we went to the 'safety' place and they gave us this clippy thing (around $15) which secures really really well... RACQ also reccomend them, and I think you can get them from there as well...

annsam
20-11-2005, 06:10
When you get them fitted professionally they put a clip on the seatbelt that holds everything in place and stops it from moving. Do you have a mobile service that can help you out? Your local fitting station will probably sell you a clip for $10 or so (thats what ours cost).

Edited to say its the same clip the pp was saying about.

Hope that helps :)

Busymumof3
20-11-2005, 17:35
We have to have ours in the middle...we also have a booster seat and another car seat! I found it rear facing was terrible abd it wobbled so much but now it's forward facing it is so secure and I feel better now.

I think you should leave on the side seat since its more secure...car seats now have intrusion bars on the sides in case of side impact...too keep bub much safer. I find it a pain too having my youngest in the middle as I'm rather tall and it kills my back getting her into the middle...but I have no choice!

Ky
20-11-2005, 20:13
Yes, the mentioned "H" clip may help a bit ... we have found that with certain carseats we have had to use one and with others we haven't. This makes us sound like we go through a lot of carseats, doesn't it ... well, we had ones that didn't meet Australian Standards when we moved here, so had to replace them! Expensive exercise!

Even a well fitted carseat will wobble a bit.

20-11-2005, 21:34
The 'H' clips are the best bet i think...we have a dual cab and the seats are very upright at the back and the seat was very wobblywhen i put it on the side (we can't put it in the middle as the clip that holds the back seat to the car is there). I put the H clip on the seatbelt to stop it from moving about, and its really tight now. Try putting you weight on it like MarthM said, it seems to help heaps.

21-11-2005, 11:59
Thanks so much for the advice :)

I'll try the clip idea in the centre, if that fails we'll take it too the seatbelt fitters again. We only use this car on weekends so no major issue till then.

Thanks again
RB

JnA
22-11-2005, 02:20
Apparently it's meant to be a bit wobbly in case an accident does happen,

yes up and down, but not side to side. You may notice that no matter how tightly you put a seat in it'll still have an up and down 'give' to it. Safety feature.

Yes, the middle seat is the 'safest' in certain cars (sedans) but in cars with high mounts (eg econovans, some utes) the middle seat can be very dangerous in an accident. Also (as someone has mentioned) you have to think about your back and the general ergonomics of getting bub in and out of the car.

Side impact protection has been built into *some* baby seats.