View Full Version : December 06 mummies #2

draught
31-01-2007, 14:11
Not a very original name but here 'tis none the less!!:wave:

bloggedissue
31-01-2007, 15:02
Babies can actually go up to about a week without a bowel movement - definitely okay for breastfed, not so sure about formula.

31-01-2007, 15:06
Babies can actually go up to about a week without a bowel movement - definitely okay for breastfed, not so sure about formula.

Yep 10 days is not unusual for a breastfed baby to go without a bowel motion.

LizzieLou
31-01-2007, 15:06
Well i just had my second visit from the CHN and she has assured me I am doing a great job...gotta love hearing that. Imogen is well fed and very happy.

Regarding the 2 hourly feeds and green poo, it is actually due to the feeds getting absorded too quickly along the digestive tract and the green is from bile secretions. I need to slow her feeds and stretch them out by comforting her by other means (swing, dummy, cuddles) and get her back to longer gaps between feeds. It is not a big deal though but may help others.

She's awake and calling for me :wave:

Melo
31-01-2007, 15:53
Oooh a new thread!

Well took Ava to get weighed this morning, my little porker!

At 2 weeks she weighed: 3.7kg and was 53cms long.

At 4 weeks she weighs: 4.4kg and is 55cms long!

:yelclap:. My little girl is getting big! So shes put on a kilo in a month and grown 5 cms!! CHN was very happy :)

Ava poos 3 times a day, there not too big just little 'squirts' but enough to run out of the nappy.

Nanay
31-01-2007, 16:16
Im envious of those who dont have to deal with poo daily. Mine seems to have a bit every nappy change and he is bf....hopefully it slows down soon as we are drowning our money is nappies and wipes..not complaining..

One quick question, how long am i supposed to leave DS to self settle before picking him up again. Whenever he wakes up, I feed him and he falls asleep on the boob. But as soon as I put him down on his cot he wakes up again. So I play with him for a while and when I see him yawning I put him down but sometimes he just lies there at times playing and talking to himself ... just wont sleep (tried the dummy but wont take it at times), sometimes i think i should just go in there and play with him as well, but i know he's supposed to be sleeping so i just play with DH's PSP until he falls asleep and then I try to get some sleep. does that make sense?

aggero
31-01-2007, 17:22
Hello lovely ladies :wave:

We have been away for just over a week so I must confess that I haven't read all the post in our last thread......I hope everyone is well anbd that all bubs are growing (and sleeping) nicely.

DS had his 8 week check with the CHN and has decided that he wants to be long and skinny as at 8 weeks he weighs 4060gms but has grown 9cm since birth :yes: He had his needles today and was fantastic, cried a little but settled down and was a sleep within 10mins. I'm not getting too excited though as I know that it side effects can develop.

He is starting to sleep better at night, I have even had a couple of 6hr stretches but generally he now sleeps 4hrs between feeds at night and is down by 9:30pm instead of midnight :smiliedance:

Will head off now and try catchup on the posts I missed.....

MW&S
31-01-2007, 17:30
Hi strangers!!

Well Zara is taking up all of my day with her catnaps and play times! She is smiling all the time now and last night grabbed one of her toys!

Caught up on most of the pages, but now Z is screaming!! hehe. I love her to bits! Valentine

Nervous about the immunisation next week...is it 5 needles or just 1 w. all the vaccines in it? those who have done it already, did u give panadol b4?

Hope u r all well and ur bubs r thriving!

MCNmummyof2
31-01-2007, 21:28
Im gatecrashing again lol.

Weekly poos are horrid lol. Much prefer daily poops. Lachys going good he just started smiling the other day!! I hate having to wait longer for him to do things lol. Needles - lachy had 2, but have heard of people getting 3? Dont know why they would differ. The dr got a nurse too come in as well and they were done at the same time, much better than 2 jabs!!

31-01-2007, 21:31
Im gatecrashing again lol.

Damn gate crashers:p ;) Love the username by the way:thumbsup:

aggero
31-01-2007, 21:35
Nervous about the immunisation next week...is it 5 needles or just 1 w. all the vaccines in it? those who have done it already, did u give panadol b4?

Hi Kim, DS had 2 needles, one with all the usual vac's and one for meningacocal (sp?). I didn't give panadol before but have given him one dose tonight

draught
31-01-2007, 21:45
My DS had three needles - two in one thigh and one in the other. He only cried for a second or two and we had no side effects.

Oscar'smum - in the other thread you asked about protein options for vegos - the lactation consultant said that it was animal protein that helped milk - she suggested sardines on toast for breakfast - so if you are a fish eater then maybe increase your fish intake during the day?

DS had his first dinner outing tonight - we took the children to a nice steak restaurant attached to a pub locally - very family friendly. The little angel slept while we ate then woke for a feed while his sisters played in the playground, so not too bad for a first attempt!

andrewsmum
31-01-2007, 22:53
About the vaccinations the twins both had two needles, one in each thigh. I gave them panadol about 30mins before the appointment but it was useless anyway, as both boys screamed (VERY loudly!) for about 3minutes afterwards. LOL, the looks on the other patients faces were quite sympathetic when I got out of the dr's office!! If you're brave, go for it, otherwise bring DH with you to hold the baby while it's getting done :crying: Hurts the mother more than the child, me thinks!!

I really should be in bed but I've had a lazy day today, didn't do any housework, just dealt with the babies and AJ. So I'm not really tired! But goodnight anyway!:wave:

angel_one
31-01-2007, 23:37
Yep 10 days is not unusual for a breastfed baby to go without a bowel motion.

so what is my kid's problem, he has a million dirty nappies a day (or what seems to be a million! LOL)

Hi Kim, DS had 2 needles, one with all the usual vac's and one for meningacocal (sp?). I didn't give panadol before but have given him one dose tonight

hayden had his 2mth shots a few weeks back, he had 1 in one leg and 2 in the other. i didnt give him panadol - as i dont like to drug my kids unless they really need it (or i do lol -NOT) i have found that my kids have handled their vac really well, and if later on after having the shot they get a fever or are truly not happy then i would consider giving them panadol!
here's something i have just discovered! (on the topic of not using panadol on the kids) baileys cutting his bottom i teeth and is quite miseralble (and is making me miserable) so i attempted to give him some panadol! yep you guessed it he very politely spat it out! lol! so there you go, wont even take the stuff even if it will make him a a bit happier!. got to love jamie though - after watching mummy give hayden his medicine for 3 months she beleives she is always sick and need medicine too, i walk to the fridge and she suddenly has a cough, or runny nose !! lol so i have one that wont take it and one who is a little druggie!! lol not bad hey!

well im off before i fall asleep her at my desk!

MCNmummyof2
01-02-2007, 06:53
Panadol - squirt it slowly into their cheek, and they'll usually swallow it

AnnaC
01-02-2007, 06:58
Well we had a bit of a scare in the night, we have a sound and movement monitor on James' cot and the alarm goes off if theres no movement (ie baby stops breathing!) and it went off in the middle of the night, we went in and checked him and he was fine (and looked at me like Mum how rude of you to wake me up lol) so i think it was just the monitor playing up, makes you realise just how prescious our little bubbas are! It was really scary.

RavenDancer
01-02-2007, 07:44
morning ladies, sorry i havent been around lately eli is giving me a run for my money, that 6 week growth spurt is a killer lol, and the dredded witching hour!! hes not sleeping during the day at all except for 10 mins here 20 mins there...but im lucky he sleeps from 10pm to 5am everynight feeds then sleeps till 8ish.

hubby should be home in a month or so if everything goes our way, its been 8 months since i last saw him, hes champing at the bit to see his son for the first time...i bow down to single mums, at the moment i am one and its bloody hard. cant wait for hubby to get here and take some stress off my shoulders because im close to breakdown mode.

Nanay
01-02-2007, 08:19
Hi all hopefully everybody had a good night...
Braden decided he would not sleep last night so from about 10pm to 5am i was trying everything i could to make him go to sleep. Although I fell asleep with him on me and when I woke up he was fast asleep (this was at 3am when DH called from Adelaide and wanted me to try putting Braden back to his cot, what a mistake that was). Everytime I put him down in his cot, asleep or awake he'd scream like a banshee...I'm putting it down to the 6 week growth spurt..or him not recognizing night from day what ever it is i hope it goes away soon so I can sleep better at night.
DH is in adelaide at the moment, they wanted him to go for 5 days every week for the next three weeks, I had to put my foot down and say no way. They have no choice coz DH is the only one they could send so they asked what I would be comfortable with and I said two days a week should be fine...should have said no coz DS doesnt sleep or does not sleep well at night when he's not here...hmm..he probably knows somethings up when dad's ginga beard doesnt kiss him goodnight...

cordu68
01-02-2007, 08:35
Hi all hopefully everybody had a good night...
Braden decided he would not sleep last night so from about 10pm to 5am i was trying everything i could to make him go to sleep. Although I fell asleep with him on me and when I woke up he was fast asleep (this was at 3am when DH called from Adelaide and wanted me to try putting Braden back to his cot, what a mistake that was). Everytime I put him down in his cot, asleep or awake he'd scream like a banshee...I'm putting it down to the 6 week growth spurt..or him not recognizing night from day what ever it is i hope it goes away soon so I can sleep better at night.

I had a smilar thing happening this morning. I wanted to put Jasie into his snuggle bed after a 4 am to 5:45 am mega feed, but he was crying so bitterly and always wanted more milk. Eventually after a third try he sucked for 3 min at the boob and felll happily asleep and made no protest when I put him down to sleep.
I really think he is a milkaholic !!
He is still sleeping now but I have to wake him up soon to go to mother's group. Fortunately he slept from 11 pm to 4 am this morning otherwise I would feel like a zombie now.:rolleyes:

Yesterday we were out and about and he was awake from 12:30 pm until 6 pm , just didn't want to go to sleep, too much happening in the big wide world :p

Oh He is waking up for a brekkie drink.

Take care and settling vibes to all!! :hugs:

01-02-2007, 08:38
Oscar'smum - in the other thread you asked about protein options for vegos - the lactation consultant said that it was animal protein that helped milk - she suggested sardines on toast for breakfast - so if you are a fish eater then maybe increase your fish intake during the day?

Oh I wish I like fish:(

so what is my kid's problem, he has a million dirty nappies a day (or what seems to be a million! LOL)

lol yep I know that feeling - yesterday I changed 17 nappies between both Oscar and Isla! Just as well I have a huge stash lol:yes:

Melo
01-02-2007, 09:25
Well we had a bit of a scare in the night, we have a sound and movement monitor on James' cot and the alarm goes off if theres no movement (ie baby stops breathing!) and it went off in the middle of the night, we went in and checked him and he was fine (and looked at me like Mum how rude of you to wake me up lol) so i think it was just the monitor playing up, makes you realise just how prescious our little bubbas are! It was really scary.

We had this happen a few times with DS, In the end Matt ended up moving the Mats under the mattress and we never had a problem with it again. It makes your heart race doesnt it? Very scary indeed!

Oh I wish I like fish:(

Me too.

Well Ava slept from 9:15pm to 4:45am!!! Was very happy indeed. She fed for about 20 minutes and went straight back to sleep until 7:30! My boobs were massive this morning though.

Mrs Dolphin
01-02-2007, 10:44
Morning everyone...

Glad to hear most had a good night last night....ours wasn't as good as usual. Leah had her immunization yesterday afternoon...one needle in each thigh. Poor thing had just dozed off sucking her dummy so didn't even see it coming and she screamed like i have never heard her scream before. It broke my heart to hear her cry like that...hope I don't hear it too often. Afterwards she cried for about 5mins then snuggled in to me for a sleep - we had to wait in doc surgery for 10mins to see if there was any reaction and I just held her the whole time! Any someone said, I think it is just as hard on the parent/s as the child! So last night she slept on and off to about 8.15pm when she was really crying hard again and DH and I tried to comfort and cuddle her and put her to bed for about 2 hours before we decided to give her a small dose of Panadol (we kept it as a last resort and we could tell she was in pain) and then she went to sleep to 5am, had a feed and slept again to 9am. Now she is playing in her bouncer and doesn't seem too bad.

Well better go give her some tummy time...hope you all have a good day!

quitecontrary
01-02-2007, 11:21
Hello there, thought I'd better say something so I get this in my inbox! I do like to catch up on you all as often as possible even if I don't have much to add.
Genevieve is still as beautiful as ever, at all of 20 days old today. She is "singing" and sleeping in the sling on my lap at the moment, so lovely and so much more pleasant to the ears than what she was doing in the bassinette a few minutes ago.
She is still sleeping well, day and night, and usually goes from a 10-ish feed to a 5am first breakfast, which is fine by me.
Here are some pics www.weakley.org.uk/photos/genevieve
no titles yet but you can work it out I'm sure.
Went to our first Early Birds group meeting at the clinic yesterday, where she behaved beautifully and I got to meet some mums (and a dad) in what will be our new suburb at the beginning of March.
Still no birth story - it will happen one day when I think I have more than 10 minutes on the net.
Hugs to all and cuddle to the little ones!

RavenDancer
01-02-2007, 13:49
my hotsling came in the mail today, and i want to marry it seriously! hes been asleep in it for the last hour while i potter around make myself some lunch read our posts! i feel refreshed that i can leave the couch!! yay

angel_one
01-02-2007, 14:08
firstly - i am so over this, every time i get on here and read everyones posts (the nappy ones mainly) a huge rush of guilt hits me!! im still in 2 minds over friggin cloth and disposable!!! grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

morning ladies, sorry i havent been around lately eli is giving me a run for my money, that 6 week growth spurt is a killer lol, and the dredded witching hour!! hes not sleeping during the day at all except for 10 mins here 20 mins there...but im lucky he sleeps from 10pm to 5am everynight feeds then sleeps till 8ish.

hubby should be home in a month or so if everything goes our way, its been 8 months since i last saw him, hes champing at the bit to see his son for the first time...i bow down to single mums, at the moment i am one and its bloody hard. cant wait for hubby to get here and take some stress off my shoulders because im close to breakdown mode.

as i sit here with my 3 grubs counting down the mins till dh gets home and i can be "relieved" of my mummy duties for a little bit, i have often wondered how my mum did it with 4 girls by herself!! hell im ready to quit by 2pm (usually when the grumpy little ****s wake up - note they wake up in worse moods then they had before!! - go figure!)

my hotsling came in the mail today, and i want to marry it seriously! hes been asleep in it for the last hour while i potter around make myself some lunch read our posts! i feel refreshed that i can leave the couch!! yay

we have a swing that does that trick, its a loan from my sil who now is pg again and is gonna buy a new one (i think she is just a money spender !) so we got a free swing that under most circumstances is my best friend - humm dont tell my best friend i said that about a swing though!! lol

well im of to console a screaming baby who must think he is hungry - he who put on like over 400gms in 2 weeks! oh and i dont know i i already siad but he rolled the other day and is starting to giggle and do baby talk!!! lol

ok got to go

Sabby
01-02-2007, 14:35
Chelsea slept for 8 1/2 hours last night!!!

Got to love that!

Just a question - With breastfeeding - how many times a day should I be feeding her?

She is now 11 weeks old and I feed her about 6 times a day. Is this enough? Also she is not feeding long enough - bout 10 minutes. What do you think is the minimum time to feed her?

Thanks in advance everyone.

Nanay
01-02-2007, 14:46

my moby came in the mail today as well...its great!!!since bubs is being clingy lately he wont sleep ... only in my arms... now im typing and eating lunch at the same time while bubs is asleep in the wrap...hopefully he will sleep in his bed tonight though..

Sabby
01-02-2007, 14:50
well im of to console a screaming baby who must think he is hungry - he who put on like over 400gms in 2 weeks! oh and i dont know i i already siad but he rolled the other day and is starting to giggle and do baby talk!!! lol

Well done! That's excellent weight gain!

He ROLLED!!! Oh dear... he'll be walking in no time!

01-02-2007, 14:54
Just a question - With breastfeeding - how many times a day should I be feeding her?

As long as she is putting on weight and has I think 8 wet nappies a day it should be fine.:thumbsup:

andrewsmum
01-02-2007, 15:07
Just a question - With breastfeeding - how many times a day should I be feeding her? She is now 11 weeks old and I feed her about 6 times a day. Is this enough? Also she is not feeding long enough - bout 10 minutes. What do you think is the minimum time to feed her?

Feed her if she's hungry - but as O's mum said, if she's putting on weight and having wet nappies, she's doing fine. Also, as your bub gets older the time on the boob gets shorter as she is now more efficient at sucking. So I wouldn't worry too much.

6 feeds at 10 minutes each - you only spend one hour each day feeding!?! Wow!! How clean is your house?? :laughing:

meags
01-02-2007, 15:09
hey everyone just got a quick question... my lil Jasper has his bottles every 4 hours however he is not liking sleeping that much at the moment whether it be in his hammock or somewhere else... we actually have found he is sleeping better back in his cot sometimes now... his last feed is at 12 - 12:30am and he sleeps till about 5:30am from there... how do i get this one to be earlier and him to maybe sleep through lol... not that it is a huge issue.. i know i could leave him after his 8pm feed and he would probably sleep longer but i dont want him to get used to waking up at like 2 or 3 in the morning... any tips on how to get your kid to sleep better.. and anyone understand why he is prefering the cot again???

andrewsmum
01-02-2007, 15:16
On the cleaning topic...

I have just spent all day cleaning and disinfecting the bathroom in between looking after my 3 boys... I can't believe that a job that once took me 45 minutes now takes all day!!

Pity I couldn't do the vacuuming/mopping/washing/ironing too!! I'm over the cleaning thing for today already, I feel like I've done enough. It's sure gonna be ages before I can get back to the one day a week housework only routine I had before babies!!Oh well, tomorrow's another day, I'll prob just do the floors :p

Had a bad night last night unfortunately, so Tuesday night where BOTH babies slept 7.5 hours straight was only a one night wonder :sleeping:

Tea Lady
01-02-2007, 15:55
Must be something in the weather - I've been doing housework all day too! We had the pest guy come yesterday and I don't like letting DD walk around in bare feet until I've mopped the floors so she was trapped in her highchair while I tried to get X to sleep and mop at the same time - fun!

Xander gave me 2 big smiles this morning (the first ones that I was sure weren't just my imagination!) so that was a nice start to the day :)

Angel_One don't feel guilty - I'm sure that's no-one's intention! I'm even using disposables most of the time on DS at the moment - I'm the one who should feel guilty since I actually OWN cloth nappies and should be using them :laughing:

We had such a terrible night last night - DD was up half the night screaming blue murder and nothing we did could settle her - in the end we just had to leave her and it just about killed me :crying: Fortunately X slept through it all and just woke up his usual two times.

Glad the slings are working well for people - I can't wear mine outside at the moment - it's just toooooo hot and humid. The ergo was great at the shops the other day though - I couldn't go shopping without it!

It was the worst shopping experience though - I filled the trolley literally to overflowing and DD started chucking a wobbly as I got to the checkout. Then I was planning to do parcel pickup and send DH down to get the shopping later, but stupid me waited till I was at the checkout to ask if they have it - NO!!! That's the last time I shop at Coles. Anyway, I'm trying to process the fact that I have to fit a trillion bags of groceries in our tiny car which already has a pram and a portacot and 2 kiddy seats in it, when Xander starts screaming like a banshee and I'm trying to calm him down and stop DD carrying on at the same time as loading all the stuff onto the conveyor belt thingy. THEN I realised I'd left my bag in the car (with my purse in it) at which point I was sorely tempted to leave the whole lot behind and go home.
So much for my first shopping attempt with the 2 kids :rolleyes:

Sabby I agree with what the others said - feed her when she's hungry. If she's had enough after 10 mins then dont' force her to have more - some babies just suck more efficiently than others (count yourself lucky!!).

Re: animal protein - you could try milk / cheese etc - that's high protein and it's from animals - might do the trick. Eggs are pretty high protein too so they could be worth a go.

Gotta run - DD wants more bikkies!

01-02-2007, 16:20
Re: animal protein - you could try milk / cheese etc - that's high protein and it's from animals - might do the trick. Eggs are pretty high protein too so they could be worth a go.

Ooh cheese I lurve cheese will give that a go:thumbsup:

Tea Lady
01-02-2007, 16:20
I've been meaning to ask if anyone knows how Jade and Clare and Bris_mummy are going (and anyone else who hasnt' been in for awhile). I hope they're ok :)

MW&S
01-02-2007, 19:40
tealady: I have spoken to jade in the last 2weeks on msn and she was doing much better. :)

Z is not sleeping well at all now. She will sleep at 10pm-11pm then up at 2am on the dot! Then 4 then 6 then 8.30am. Makes for a very very broken sleep. I really hope it passes. She used to do 11-4am. I might try putting her down at 12am again, but she seems so cranky by then...........what to do!

All our bubbas will one day sleep and then we will too, its not forever!!

We had to have her spine u/s this week. She has a spinal dimple with a sinus. which can be a sign of spina bifida. The u/s guy said nothing and i was to scared to ask. So now just have to wait till next week to see the dr. Im sure she is fine tho. her legs r very strong so im sure she is fine.

OMG MY DH JUST SPUN ZARA AROUND SO QUICK. Dummy, she went bright red and started SCREAMING!! :confused: Oh my poor bubba. Better go rescue her from Dh. hehe..sometimes he forgets she is a little baby and treats her like a 3yr old!! makes me nervous!! :o

:hugs: to everyone. xx

Nanay
02-02-2007, 06:35
t

Z is not sleeping well at all now. She will sleep at 10pm-11pm then up at 2am on the dot! Then 4 then 6 then 8.30am. Makes for a very very broken sleep. I really hope it passes.

I know what you mean...Braden went to sleep last night at 11 woke up at 130 then again at 330 and then at 6 he is still awake in his cot but at least he had a play with daddy before he went to work. Me need sleep...

I took him in to my work yesterday as he was not sleeping everytime he goes in his cot he screams...that was good seeing everyone again, although we did get mixed reviews, some said I look like him some say DH looks like him...hmmm.. At least he's sleeping in his cot again.

AnnaC
02-02-2007, 07:01
Tead Lady- Thank you for sharing your shopping experience, I can really relate to it (and I only have one baby to contend with) I avoid the shops like the plague and try to only do the groceries with DH

We had quite a good night, James slept from 10.45 until 4.45am then back asleep til 7. I couldnt get him to go to sleep last night until i finally wrapped him , i hadnt wanted to because its so hot and when he woke at 4.45am he was soo hot and sweaty poor thing, im off to give him a bath now, he loves baths!

James smiling: http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/84/35201484_full.jpg

Have a great day all :wave:

angel_one
02-02-2007, 08:36
ok it must be the day for sleeping babies, hayden slept thru from 1 to 7am, well that is i dont recall actually feedin him last night, so unless i have been sleep feeding (you know like sleep walking) then im asuming he slept thru - good o keep it up boy and you will have a room mate soon!
lol

so do we have any north qlders here, if so how you liking the rain, my step mum just told me mackay got 10" in the last 24 hours! and it hasnt stopped raining here for that long either, so im guessing we shall be home bound this weekend, due to possible flooding!! lol omg i just found out the hospital bridge was closed last night too !! and oscars mum - the school is closed today too - funny enough when you stick a school on the edge of the mangroves its tends to flood when lots of rain sets in!! duh! lol

so coool (sorry for those who think im weird, havent seen this much rain in like 7 years!) i feel like going out side and sitting in the rain for hours! (like a tree sucking up every bit of water i can!) shame i have a few kids to look after and siting out there all day would prob make me sick, thus making it hard to look after the kids

oh and i think i had an allergic reaction to a bandaid! i have a scratch (sorry tmi) in my belly button that is a little gooey, and i but a clear bandaid thing over it and now instead of a little scratch there is a big rash! so i have a sore belly! :crying:

lol bailey is playing with the laugh and learn puppy we got him and is listening to insy wincy spider and dancing so cute

ok i dont know about this stuff, i am now on herbalife (for weight loss) and had my shake at about 7 while i feed bub, and then i decided im still tired and layed down on the couch to have a nap and i think 10 mins later im all jittery - like i couldnt sleep! (this stuff is supose to give you energy too! ) so now im wide awake, and well babbling to you girls about ****!, humm maybe i should go do some house work! (noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! ) my poor hubby would come home and have a heart attack!

omg i just turned around and bailey has got a big box of wet ones - half of which are all screwed up and on the floor!!!

ok so last night after spending hours searching the net and most likely annoying the **** out of oscars mum - sorry - i brought some PUL and suedecothe and microfibre from a nz company so that i can start making some nappies! (dont tell dh) so hopefully i will post a pic withing the next few weeks! (i have to actually get to mackay - or rocky first to get some sewing supplies - and my sewing machine of my sister - so i guess it had better be mackay then! dam.

well i must be off need to go find red clothing for the kids, as it is red day at playgroup (in other words it hypo kid day in middlemount - massive amounts of red foods for morning tea!!) this should be an intresting day anyway!

angel_one
02-02-2007, 08:37
humm i beginning to believe i might need a journal !

cordu68
02-02-2007, 08:48
I've been meaning to ask if anyone knows how Jade and Clare and Bris_mummy are going (and anyone else who hasnt' been in for awhile). I hope they're ok :)

Just read in the January thread that poor Bris_mummy is treated for PND and had withdrawn from bubhub.
Poor thing, hope you and Lily are ok , big hugs and thoughts to you.:hugs: :hugs:

Haven't heard anything from Clarebear, hope she is ok.

Good that Jade is getting better !!

Melo
02-02-2007, 09:27
Hmmm, havent heard from Clare for awhile either.

Ava went down last night at 8:30 and I can hear her stirring now (8:25am). I woke her up at 5:15 for a feed because I was worried, she fed for 6 minutes and had enough! :eek:. Do you think I should of woken her up? Obviously she was content enough to sleep through, but I dont want her to starve.

Back later, shes screaming now!

Sabby
02-02-2007, 09:40
Oh poor Bris_mummy - hope everything gets better for her soon.

Thank you all for the advice on how long I should feed Chelsea.. I was just concern bec last wk she got weigh with clothes and nappy on and she weighed 4.66kg then the last tuesday she got weighed bared and she weighed 4.65kg.. thought she must not have put on any weight for the week...

Also just to point out it takes me 20-30 mins to feed her. 10-15 mins of her sucking then the rest is burping her and patting her back so she doesn't get reflux. Then 1/2 - 1hr of playtime (till she give me the signs of tiredness and sleeptime) then can take me 15-45 mins to put her to sleep. Then she wakes up in half an hr during her light sleep and spend another 10-30mins trying to put her to sleep. So majority of my day is spend with her.. So no my house is not clean at all.. Hubby had to clean it the other day as I have no time at all. Even just to fold a basket of washing.

I only change her nappies 6 times a day because she is only feeding 6 times a day now as she sleeps through at night and sometimes during the day she over sleeps her feeding time (eg instead of feed every 3 hours she might go till the 4th hr - IYKWIM). So sometimes she only feeds 5 times a day!

She'll get weighed again next tuesday so hopefully her weight has increase.

Meags - Chelsea didn't start sleeping past the 12pm mark till after she was 6 weeks. The only way I got her to this routine is not to let her sleep during 6-9pm.. I know this is slack but it worked. She is very difficult to put to sleep fr 6-9pm anyway so I thought why struggle with it when she just catches up on her sleep fr 10pm onwards anyway. If I put her to sleep fr 9.30-10.30pm = she would sleep through till 4.30am or the most sleep till 7.00am. I figured if she's hungry then she'll wake up... GoodLuck!

Hope everyone has a nice day today and bub's will be good to there mummy's!

Love the weekend - have hubby to help out with Chelsea... Good to have a breather!

Sabby
02-02-2007, 09:43
[QUOTE=Melo;1069918]Ava went down last night at 8:30 and I can hear her stirring now (8:25am). I woke her up at 5:15 for a feed because I was worried, she fed for 6 minutes and had enough! :eek:. Do you think I should of woken her up? Obviously she was content enough to sleep through, but I dont want her to starve.
[QUOTE]

No I wouldn't have woken her up.. If she is sleeping - let her. I figured if bub is hungry then she will wake up and want her feed..

We complain when our baby wake us up too much but then when they sleep through we wake them up. Poor babies hey!

Just enjoy it that she is sleeping through as it might not happen again for a few days. If you are lucly that might be her routine.

Melo
02-02-2007, 09:51
Thanks for that Sabby. It was a nice sleep (Although I was up to DS 3 times during the night :rolleyes:).

RavenDancer
02-02-2007, 10:53
afternoon ladies,
I finally gave in last night and drove to kmart to buy a swnig that rocks itself! because i was getting foot cramps from bouncing eli in the bouncer chair we have on loan lol, and I put him in it while he was screaming the house down, and within 5 mins he was fast asleep! I sat there with my mouth open for about 10 mins after that because I couldnt believe it!, its rather cold in the moutains today, its been raining and misty so little man and i have spent the day under the covers on the couch, hes really content today.

Hes got a small rash on his leg from where his pilchers rub, Im using curash cream on it every change but it doesnt seem to be getting better which worries me a little. I also have a huge Rash (tmi) under one of my boobs, absolutely stings like buggery, i think its from my maternity bra, because im using a nipple sheild sometimes it leaks out a bit making my bra damp at the bottle which is then rubbing against my boob, causing the nasty rash i have now!

I got my first baby sounds today, I was most impressed, it felt like he was just chatting away to me as i folded his nappies, he looked happy for the first time in a long time, so it made my day.

I hope bris_mummy is okay, its awful to wait the whole 9 months getting excited and then to get PND, my thoughts are with her.

I hope everyone has a lovely settled day!
love Raven & Elijah xx

Tea Lady
02-02-2007, 12:39
Poor Bris_mummy :( I hope things get better for her soon.

GCK - what a lovely smile your James has! I can't wait to see some of those from my little guy!

Angel_One - what is IN those Herbal Life things??? You crack me up! Good luck sewing the nappies - I admire you! I can't get near my machine and I only have 2 kids (doesn't help that the bassinett is right next to it though - I'm hardly going to wake DS up just so I can make him some nappies!).

Raven it sounds like money well spent on your swing thing! What a terrific invention :yes:

I think I might actually go and try to have a sleep :eek: DS is sleeping and the howls of rage have subsided from DD's room (for once......... the last few nights have been murder) so maybe I'll actually get a few zzzzzs myself. I hope so!

Have a great day everyone :)

02-02-2007, 13:00
ok so last night after spending hours searching the net and most likely annoying the **** out of oscars mum - sorry

No you didn't annoy me, can't wait to see pics of your nappies:yes:

Sabby
02-02-2007, 15:27
Hes got a small rash on his leg from where his pilchers rub, Im using curash cream on it every change but it doesnt seem to be getting better which worries me a little.

I use sudacream for Chelsea's rash and the rash has dissapeared in a day.. Got a few sample ones from the bounty bags.

02-02-2007, 15:34
RavenDancer - what type of pilchers are you using?

angel_one
02-02-2007, 17:01
Angel_One - what is IN those Herbal Life things??? You crack me up! Good luck sewing the nappies - I admire you! I can't get near my machine and I only have 2 kids (doesn't help that the bassinett is right next to it though - I'm hardly going to wake DS up just so I can make him some nappies!).

as a new herbal life distributor, i would like to tell you what is in them but hah, i only started 2 days ago! lol. but basically i have 2 shakes a day, with some protine powder (which makes you feel full) and then a healthy dinner (meat and veg) and also 2 healthy snacks a day between meals , and at least 2 lts of water

i beleive they are full of all the vitamins and minerals you need so instead of eating real food you drink the shake!

i have a wonderfull hubby, who even though can annoy the **** out of me, he will look after "his" kids when im scrapbooking or sewing (as its not something im doing for me its for the kids /family ) - well thats the way i pakage it to him , and he buys it so!

lol
well im off on the great nappy hunt thing!

meags
02-02-2007, 19:00
Thanks Sabby.. Jasper usually has a bottle around 4:30 - 5pm then he is a lil bugger to get to sleep then has another bottle around 8:30-9pm... he usually settles well after this one.. speaking of not settling here he goes again better bolt.. take care talk soon... ciao!!! oh he also has an upset belly and a lil cold so that doesn't help...

02-02-2007, 20:54
Oooh silly silly me ate some chocolate today and omg is Isla upset tonight! That will teach me:banghead:

Sazeby
02-02-2007, 21:24
Hi everyone..

Havn't been online for a while so i hope i havn't missed out on too much

hope everyone is doing well.

Ebony is doing ok.. she's starting to get into a good routine, she is getting so big and today i think i witnessed her first real smile (not just wind) :)

RavenDancer
02-02-2007, 21:44
RavenDancer - what type of pilchers are you using?

im using just the plain blue plastic ones you get in the bub section at kmart and target, three to a pack for like $2.00, i also have two other pairs that are cotton on the outside with star pattern on them, I cant seem to find any others, do you have any suggestions

Sabby- thanks for the cream advice ill tip my bounty bag out tonight and get the samples see how it goes!

Tea Lady
02-02-2007, 22:13
Hi Sazeby :wave: Glad things are going well for you and Ebony.

Raven I found those pilchers weren't too comfy for my DD either (I think the elastic is a bit scratchy). They also don't last too well unfortunately. There are a few other options depending on your budget.

* You can buy some great adjustable ones made out of Polyurethane Laminate (PUL) fabric which is much longer lasting (they also have much nicer leg elastic). They're pretty pricey though (~$15-$20) and you have to buy different sizes as your baby grows.
* Other people love fleece covers which are pretty easy to make yourself, but still reasonably expensive to buy, but I can't get mine not to leak like a sieve!
* Wool is meant to be great but I think it's better once they stop doing the explosive poos. Still reasonably expensive to buy ready made though, but you can knit your own.
* You could get the nicer PVC covers - Fluffies brand from Kmart was ok for my DD (about $3) each. They don't last too well though. Fluffies also make some kind of fuzzy ones that I haven't used but the leg elastic feels quite ok.

Make sure you check out op shops if you want to use some of the different PVC ones - there are alot of very cheap covers out there (not the good quality ones though unfortunately).

HTH :)

GraceUnhearing
03-02-2007, 11:05
im using just the plain blue plastic ones you get in the bub section at kmart and target, three to a pack for like $2.00, i also have two other pairs that are cotton on the outside with star pattern on them, I cant seem to find any others, do you have any suggestions

why dont you pop over to the cloth nappy thread and ask a few questions there.
theres a heap of them you an get on line.
i love the bummis ones you get get really cute desings on them, and they are not so plastic.
i also got a few tot bots and they seem to do the job really well.
as for wool.
i used one on my little man last night that i knitted myself (he fits in it now) and it worked great!
it was over a baby beehinds bamboo nappy, he had peed and pooed in it and it held everything in and was still dry when he woke up this morning (he sleeps from around 11, to 7.

just a quick question Rylans finger naisl are getting quite long.
how does everyone cut their babies finger nails?
i dont want to use the nail cuttter someone got me cause im scared im going to cut his finger or something.

angel_one
03-02-2007, 12:29
just a quick question Rylans finger naisl are getting quite long.
how does everyone cut their babies finger nails?
i dont want to use the nail cuttter someone got me cause im scared im going to cut his finger or something.

i was told when jamie was born to bit them off (you know that horrid habit lol) as you cant go too far then, but i find it quicker myself to use the baby nail clippers - ones that have a bulb shaped handle thingy make them so much easier to handle.
but bear in mind i have been cutting babys nails for nearly 4 years now so i have had a bit of practice!

andrewsmum
03-02-2007, 12:55
i was told when jamie was born to bit them off (you know that horrid habit lol) as you cant go too far then, but i find it quicker myself to use the baby nail clippers - ones that have a bulb shaped handle thingy make them so much easier to handle.
but bear in mind i have been cutting babys nails for nearly 4 years now so i have had a bit of practice!

I'm too scared to use those clippers (I have one of these, too!) but I bite their nails while they are feeding.

Woke up this morning to find I've got my period :no:

The twin's witching hour (or rather, hours) goes from 6pm to midnight EVERY night. :banghead: They do not sleep at all during this period, and it's right when we're trying to do dinners/AJ's baths/reading books etc... Last night we took them in the pram for a walk around the neighbourhood hoping to settle them, but nope... Their last bottle was at 9pm but didn't sleep till 11.30 for Hayden, 12midnight for Jake. Only to get up 3hours later for their next feed. I just want them to go to bed earlier so DH and I can have some 'timeout' or time together, or even an early night (for once) without interruptions. Guess I can't have it all!:rolleyes:

angel_one
03-02-2007, 14:33
andrews mum, i was watching discovery health last night with a family that had just had quintuplets! (bear in mind i was dealing with the witching hour at the time too!) and all i had to say to dh (who was saying how we gonna do uni with this kid doing this every nite) was at least we only got one of them!!
so i feel for you with 2, and i think its hard with my 2 being so close! at least i havent had them going thru babyness at the sametime!

you watch now, knowing my luck, i'll end up with twins next pg! lol (after getting the heads up on the family history of twins the day before hayden was born!!)

SammieSnail
04-02-2007, 01:57
Wow new thread already? :eek:
Thanks Draught
I've been so busy, but I really miss talking to you guys. By the time I read all the pages I am behind I run out of time to post lol.

On the topic of trimming nails....

I just can't bring myself to bite them off, yet I'm too scared to use the clippers:rolleyes:

I am so jealous of the bubs that sleep through.
Kevin feeds around 6pm, 9pm, 12pm and stays awake from his 12 o'clock feed right through till 4 or 5pm, then feeds at 7:30am, 10:30am, 1ish, 4pm.....

The result is that I haven't got to bed before DH goes to sleep for at least three weeks....I want cuddles :crying:

I keep saying, at least he is predictable, but then today he fed EVERY two hours :banghead:

Andrewsmum: Oh bummer on getting your period back. I hope the boys switch their 'witching hour' so that you and DH can have some alone time.

Angel_one: Good luck with Uni...when does the semester start for you? What are you studying again?

My course starts on the 28th, I'm sorta looking forward to using my brain lol.
It's sad, one of the guys in my course died a few weeks ago on his family's farm. Our school (Ag. Science) is quite small and closenit so all the lecturers and students will probably be dreary for a while.
Ahhh I'm rambling....

Some photos (yes, yes, I am addicted! lol):

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks1dayold522-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks4daysold325-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks4daysold525-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks3daysold231-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold43-02-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold113-02-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold133-02-07.jpg

It is our 1st wedding anniversary today so I better get some sleep or I'll be a pain haha.
Hope mums and bubs are all well

Sammie

cordu68
04-02-2007, 05:53
Wow new thread already?
Thanks Draught
I've been so busy, but I really miss talking to you guys. By the time I read all the pages I am behind I run out of time to post lol.

On the topic of trimming nails....

I just can't bring myself to bite them off, yet I'm too scared to use the clippers

I am so jealous of the bubs that sleep through.
Kevin feeds around 6pm, 9pm, 12pm and stays awake from his 12 o'clock feed right through till 4 or 5pm, then feeds at 7:30am, 10:30am, 1ish, 4pm.....

The result is that I haven't got to bed before DH goes to sleep for at least three weeks....I want cuddles

I keep saying, at least he is predictable, but then today he fed EVERY two hours

Andrewsmum: Oh bummer on getting your period back. I hope the boys switch their 'witching hour' so that you and DH can have some alone time.

Angel_one: Good luck with Uni...when does the semester start for you? What are you studying again?

It's sad, one of the guys in my course died a few weeks ago on his family's farm. Our school (Ag. Science) is quite small and closenit so all the lecturers and students will probably be dreary for a while.
Ahhh I'm rambling....

Some photos (yes, yes, I am addicted! lol):

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks1dayold522-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks4daysold325-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin6weeks4daysold525-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks3daysold231-01-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold43-02-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold113-02-07.jpg
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h241/sammieoOo/Kevin%20Lucas/Kevin7weeks6daysold133-02-07.jpg

It is our 1st wedding anniversary today so I better get some sleep or I'll be a pain haha.

Sammie

Great pictures of Kevin!! He is just gorgeous and is sooo cute !! Love his smile!! :yes:
I am addicted too and take lots of pictures, try to capture every moment !!
Have a great anniversary!! :party:

Good luck with your studies!!
I'm jealous, I also would to like to continue my studies again but as we are trying to move back to QLD and Dieter is applying for jobs in Brisbane, I don't REALLY know when I can study again.

Trimming nail,hmh ...
I have bitten a few off , and I have used the nail clippers. I can do it only after a feed when he is half asleep, but only 1 or 2 at a time, afterwards he wriggles too much around, so his nails are still long and are scratching me !!

I wonder how you survive without much sleep during the night, I couldn't ! Jason slept today from 11 pm until almost 6 am , now the second consecutive night that I didn't have to get up!! :yelclap:
Please don't be offended, but it sound to me that Kevin still has a bit day and night mixed up!

You have to change a bit his sleeping / being awake pattern , otherwise you probably can't survive and go insane!!Please don't be offended!!

I started reading yesterday the "The new contended little baby book" from Gina Ford which I got out of the library This is about finding a rhythm and following a plan for your baby that he and you can sleep through the night. I reckon you should read it and may take some advice on board.
I just saw she has also a website:

http://www.contentedbaby.com/

Exactly what this woman describes happened to me yesterday...
Jasie slept a little bit longer than usual from 6 am until 11 am and afterwards he was cranky, always wanted a feed, didn't want to sleep and I could only settle him finally by carrying him around in the sling in the late arvo.

Or another example:

You should treat a feed before 7 am as a night feed, dim lights and no talking or eye contact, and just give only one boob and the next one at 8 am. Well he fell asleep after a feed on one boob and didn't want the other one. Just what she reckons you should do.

I don't agree with her totally but I think lots what she said has truth in it.

Hope you soon can sleep through the night :fingerscrossed:

Big hugs to you and Kevin !!

RavenDancer
04-02-2007, 08:56
ive had 3 hours sleep and had a screaming baby the rest...im a mess

angel_one
04-02-2007, 10:19

Ahhh I'm rambling....

Sammie

i believe it starts begin of march, still trynig to figure out dates, and im stuyding nursing.

where do you study?

congrats on the wedding anniversary!!!!!
we have our 8 year "together anniversary" in about 2 weeks and then our 4th wedding anniversary 3 days later! , just means i have just over 1 year till out big wedding!!!! ekkkkkkkkkkkkkk

ive had 3 hours sleep and had a screaming baby the rest...im a mess

i feel for you, but you should try having the same situation then waking up to 2 grumpy toddlers (or what ever jamie is considered these days - aka little *****! lol)
i actually feel like joing them in there crying and screaming those days! (and often daddy will come home and mummy will be dobbed on for putting a hole in the wall, or breaking something - not intentionally, i happend to have pushed the door a litttle too hard and it sort of tried to go thru the wall!!! lol)

so ok im am still waiting for my sling, and if it aint here by monday im gonna scream!!!

ok just dealt with a screaming 1 year old

well im off on the great down under nappy hunt - bloody thing, im now addicted!!!!
to the extent that i was up till 2am searching last night!!!

LizzieLou
04-02-2007, 10:24
Rave - is there someone in your family who can come over and give you some relief? Often just having someone else cuddling / soothing Eli will be enough to settle him and you can get some sleep :sleeping:

It will also give you enough of a mental break to help you deal with the next round!
Last week i called my sister who came over for 2 hours and just held Imogen. Even though I didn't use the time to sleep, it was enough just not to have to hold and settle her myself.

Take care xox

04-02-2007, 10:43
well im off on the great down under nappy hunt - bloody thing, im now addicted!!!!
to the extent that i was up till 2am searching last night!!!

lol - don't blame me:p

angel_one
04-02-2007, 10:46
i sure am !!!

Kells
04-02-2007, 15:58
Sammie - you have one cute kid!! :kiss:

AngelOne - Lie down and join them. Scream and yell like they do, and just see the reaction. Dont say anything afterwards, just get back up off the floor and do the dishes or whatever, carry on as normal. It makes them stop screaming, and definitely releases that built up tension inside.....:D

Prob not recommended for supermarket tantrums however....:laughing:

Tea Lady
04-02-2007, 16:34
Raven - :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
I hope things have improved since you posted.

SSnail love the pics! Kevin looks disturbingly like a guy I used to like at highschool who was also called Kevin - freaky!!!

Melo
04-02-2007, 19:07
SSnail - Gorgeous photos! Kevin has just gorgeous skin.

Ava has those gorgeous milk spots at the moment :rolleyes:. It looks terrible, Jacob came up with them at aroud 6 weeks and shes only 4 so hopefully they go soon!

I'm assuming the heat isnt helping either :rolleyes: It was 47 here the other day :eek:

draught
04-02-2007, 21:09
Lovely photos!!

Re the fingernails - I use the little clippers on them - too scared to try scissors and my teeth don't meet properly at the front (thanks to two sets of braces and many $$ spent at orthodontists) so I can't bite them off! Never had an injury yet though so don't worry too much about hurting your babies.

Not much to report here - DH took the two older children out today so I could clean the house (yes - my life IS exciting) and DS slept for 5 hours so I cleaned like there was no tomorrow! My kitchen is sparkling, my floors are clean and everything is dusted. Made me feel much better knowing that it was clean as well as tidy - gave me a sense that I had some control over my house for once!:rolleyes:

angel_one
04-02-2007, 22:36
Sammie - you have one cute kid!! :kiss:

AngelOne - Lie down and join them. Scream and yell like they do, and just see the reaction. Dont say anything afterwards, just get back up off the floor and do the dishes or whatever, carry on as normal. It makes them stop screaming, and definitely releases that built up tension inside.....:D

Prob not recommended for supermarket tantrums however....:laughing:

lol
i already do that, start whining back at dd ! and screaming like her! lol

freaks her out i thnk

AnnaC
05-02-2007, 07:55
Morning All,

Hope everyone had a good weekend. I just need to have a vent, feeling really miffed at DH. It was his Birthday on saturday and he went to a car thing left at 3am because its 3 hours away didnt get back til 3pm, i wanted to go with him just to get out of the house but it wouldve been to hot for James, so i hardly got to see DH on his birthday until he got home all cranky and tired, then yesterday we went to his parents place from 1.30pm til 9.30pm and DH worked in the garage on his cars while I had to put up with a screaming baby. I feel like he doesnt have to give up any of his old life, hes probably only changed 5 nappies in his life and done one bath, i feel like a single parent sometimes, i really dont know how you guys do it!

With James fingernails i cut them with nail scissors when hes asleep, but theyre still sharp, i tried to file then but theyre too soft and bend, so i have to keep mittens on his or he scratches his face, i dont know how to stop him

Sammie- lovely photos

Raven- I hope things are going ok for you

andrewsmum
05-02-2007, 08:03
andrews mum, i was watching discovery health last night with a family that had just had quintuplets!
you watch now, knowing my luck, i'll end up with twins next pg! lol

Hey there Angel One, oh I wish I had foxtel!! Would have been interesting to watch I reckon! Also, are you planning MORE kids?? Wow! To be honest, I don't think I'm finished having kids either (but my DH thinks that yes I am! LOL).

I am reading the Mother and Baby mag at the mo, in there was an article on a lady who had a single baby and then two months later fell pregnant with triplets, making four babies under 1!! :eek: How she keeps (or kept) herself sane I have no idea LOL.

Sammie - Kevin is just sooo gorgeous!!

Chrissy - how are you coping and is Kyan's reflux getting better with the Losec??

Raven - it's hard being on your own with DH away eh? Hope you get some decent sleep and perhaps just go for a walk with the pram when things get hard. Do you have a friend that you can call??

Sabby - how's the christening planning going?? I saw your photos in the last thread, where did you get them done as they are sooo beautiful! BTW, do you know there's a shop at Carnes Hill Marketplace that sells candles and little gifts for christenings?

Can you tell I really love photos!! Keep them coming!

Draught - congrats on your BubHub award, it's sooo appropriate!! Also, congrats on a clean house!! Wish my DH would take all three boys out so I can clean the entire house in one fell swoop!! Oh well, I'll do it bit by bit everyday :rolleyes:

I'll be back later with photo updates... :D

05-02-2007, 08:06
OMG I have to share - Isla slept for 7 hours last night :party:

andrewsmum
05-02-2007, 08:13
DH worked in the garage on his cars while I had to put up with a screaming baby. I feel like he doesnt have to give up any of his old life, hes probably only changed 5 nappies in his life and done one bath, i feel like a single parent sometimes, i really dont know how you guys do it!

Just read your post - I can really sympathise with you there - my DH has just returned to work today after four weeks off. Just quietly I'm :smiliedance: He spent pretty much every day building a music room in the garage and not much time helping me out or doing much 'quality' family time.

It's just not fair, I don't think he understands the meaning of sacrificing any hobbies in place of family. The holidays were meant to be an introduction to our family, getting to know the babies but I feel now that he'll get home from work, and hide out in the garage playing his music and drums as opposed to helping me out with the babies. :mad: I do let him know that I'm not happy with the room in the garage.

Maybe just sit down and talk things over with your DH. Tell him you'd like him to help you out more by taking the baby out for an hour or so while you enjoy some baby-free time.

andrewsmum
05-02-2007, 09:14
I'm back, and as promised, some pics:

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0878.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0888.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0901.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0913.jpg

Can you tell I'm proud of my babes???

05-02-2007, 09:23
It may be better to ask when I'm not so tired and grumpy...

Chrissy - the baby hammock seems to help alot with Isla's reflux.:yes:

Mrs Dolphin
05-02-2007, 09:43
Hi Everyone :wave:

AndrewsMum - Oh My goodness your 2 boys are just too cute!! You should be a proud mumma!!

Sammie - You have a very cute little boy too...the December bubs sure were little cuties weren't they!!

Raven - Hope things have improved for you over the weekend...

Chrissy - Hang in there chicky....hopefully now that Kyan is feeling better you will get some more sleep and feel better too!

Oscar's Mum - That's great Isla slept for so long...I hope she keeps it up for you! :thumbsup:

Draught - Congratulations on your Bubhub Award...very well deserved indeed! :thumbsup:

Melo - Leah has still got the milk spots/rash on her face...just when I think it is getting better she breaks out again...I hope it goes soon she is 9weeks tomorrow!

Well Leah didn't really have a sleep at all yesterday except for a 10min nap here and there but just wouldn't settle during the day. So by 7pm last night she was just soooo overtired...so DH and I bathed and fed her at 5.30pm and she was asleep finally by 7pm and she slept through then to 3am this morning! Since it had been around 8 hours since her last feed she was starving hungry so I fed her then she went back to sleep to 7am. Now she has just gone down again about half hour ago so hopefully we have a better day today!! Mind you yesterday was quite hot and smokey here from the bushfires so don't think that helped at all.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

angel_one
05-02-2007, 10:03

wooohooo, hayden did 6 hours last night !!!

I'm back, and as promised, some pics:

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0878.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0888.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0901.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n320/andrewsmum_2006/100_0913.jpg

your hayden looks a lot less yellow now, andrews mum! and they are soooo cute in their matching outfits!

i want to get some matching stuff for the boys!
and like i said last niight as i was sorting thru a million baskets of laundry (yes it built up again!) and folding them im trying to figure out what fits bailey and what fits hayden! i was like god i cant wait till they fit the same stuff! (god please let it be soon!!!)
i do however think it is sad that my 3.5 year old dd fits her 1 year old brothers clothes!!!!

i think i need to get one set of big draws for the boys and just shove all the clothes in their and that way i can see the clothes that fit bailey still and fit hayden (certian 00 clothes still fit bailey and now hayden!- so im almost there!)

well i might make that mnext months mission, a new set of draws!

ok and im back to rambling, really need to find a journal!!!!
.lol

angel_one
05-02-2007, 10:07
woohoo my sling just arrived!!!!!!!!!!!

draught
05-02-2007, 10:12
Draught - congrats on your BubHub award, it's sooo appropriate!! Also, congrats on a clean house!! Wish my DH would take all three boys out so I can clean the entire house in one fell swoop!! Oh well, I'll do it bit by bit everyday :rolleyes:

Well done Isla!!:yelclap: Bet you feel great today O's mum!

I feel like he doesnt have to give up any of his old life, hes probably only changed 5 nappies in his life and done one bath, i feel like a single parent sometimes, i really dont know how you guys do it!

I know how you feel - I used to feel this way a lot. But slowly, over time, DH has become really hands on and involved in the children's lives. A lot of my friends found, as I did, that once the babies were over the 6 month mark the fathers felt more able and confident to do things with them, and that things improved from there on in. I hope that things improve for you!

As you should be - they are gorgeous!!

I need to get organised and upload some shots into photobucket one of these days - my baby is growing so fast!! He is really long in the body so his 00 suits are getting a bit tight lengthwise and he is only 10 1/2 weeks old! I have been looking at the pumpkin patch online sale because all of a sudden I have realised that we have no size 0 boys clothes and he will need them sooner than I thought! (I also like to buy things at the end of the season in the sales for the next year so I am getting my head around buying size 1 and 2 shirts for him too!)

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 11:18
family wish Ella is just gorgeous :)
sammysnail and Andrews mum your boys are so cute!

Angel_one I know what you mean about the dam nappy hunt, I’ve been doing the same thing trying to fins the dam nappies, and not seeming to get anything else done! Which sling did you buy?

Chrissy that sucks about taters dad. why don’t guys want to take responsibilities for the kids they help create? where will you be moving to?

oscars mum that’s great about Isla I bet your feeling much better today with a nice sleep during the night. I hope Oscar slept well as well. Rylan sleep from 11pm to 6.30 am just in time to come with me when I take his dad to work.

goldcoastkiwi I know how you feel sweet. My DF is still going out most nights to the pub and coming home drunk with his mates. he complains when I ask him to help me. He got cranky the other night cause I asked him if he could wrapped Rylan before putting him in his bed as I was busy. When I got back into the room Rylan was still asleep on our bed unwrapped and DF was asleep next to him.
I asked hi why he didn’t wrap him and he yelled at me and said he was 'sick of this' apparently he does everything! He’s not even here most of the time to do anything with him. And he wonders why Rylan still isn’t smiling at him. I think he’s the same as your DH he doesn’t want to give up his 'old' life. But he does need to make some changes

mrs dolphin I think your right about all the December bubs being cuties :)

I just had my little man checked over for his six weeks at the early childhood centre.
he’s now 5.21kg (with clothes and Green Kids cloth nappy) and he’s 57cms long! that’s a centimetre a week!
I though he looked longer hehe.

heres some more pictures of him. I got his first smile on camera (lucky I had my phone next to me at the time) i love taking pictures of him. i got some developed the other day and i had 202 of them!!
theres a few i want toshare with you all :)
isnt he cute?
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/firstsmile290107.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00146.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00156.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00159.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00148.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00129.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/220107.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/210107.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/21.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/rylan6.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/rylan4.jpg
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/290107.jpg

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 11:22
wow i went on a bit didnt i hehehe
sorry

AnnaC
05-02-2007, 11:30
Draught- Thanks for the tip, yeah i think hubby will become more inolved when bub can interact more, its so nice to have bubhub to vent at so i dont go off my head at hubby and cause an argument! Sounds like our babies are the same size james is 9.5 weeks and in 00 and 3-6 month pumkin patch

Angel_One- let us know how you go with your sling, what type did you get?

Mrs Dolphin- :fingerscrossed: Leah catches up on her sleep today for you

Andews Mum- What lovley boys you have! Very cute photos

Chrissy- :hugs: to you, hope Kyan settles into more of a routine for you

AnnaC
05-02-2007, 11:38
My Fallen Angel- Lovely photos! Also its good (or not so good!) to hear the your other half is the same, funny how they think they do everything! :rolleyes: Im sure mine thinks i just sit on the couch all day watching Oprah, i'll have to correct him and say no i sit at the computer all day on bubhub :laughing:

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 11:50
My Fallen Angel- Lovely photos! Also its good (or not so good!) to hear the your other half is the same, funny how they think they do everything! :rolleyes: Im sure mine thinks i just sit on the couch all day watching Oprah, i'll have to correct him and say no i sit at the computer all day on bubhub :laughing:

hahaha yeah i can relate there too.
he seems to think i do nothing all day as well!

he spent 1/2 alone with him the other day (i had to go to he chrioprator) and he couldnt handle it!
but he still doesnt understand.

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 12:25
chrissy yep its a MAM one.
i tired quite a few on him including the Nuk ones but he didnt like them.
hes a comfort sucker i think, only thing i could do to settle him was him sucking on my finger but i cant do that all the time.
So i caved and got him a dummy (even though i didnt want to)
my little man sometimes sucks on his dummy to get to sleep, when he does this he keep sucking until hes in a really deep sleep then it just falls out of his mouth. it does take a while though.
same as with my finger i could feel when he was drifting into a deep sleep cause he wouldnt be sucking as strong.
its good that your going to have a fresh start. and having your family close would be quite helpful aswell

05-02-2007, 12:53
It's just a sucking reflex isn't it...or does my son like never sleep ?

They do suck in their sleep:yes:

Tea Lady
05-02-2007, 13:02
Lovely photos! I love Rylan's hair! The twins are just gorgeous too :yes:

O's mum you must be feeling great today - well done Isla!

I agree it takes men awhile to be able to feel really involved with the babies. My DH is great and I know he finds it hard because Xander only really wants me (it's all about food at the moment!) and it's a bit demoralising when he just cries at him. Xander does like DH's singing though, which is a plus (he doesn't seem too fussed on mine though!). It was only a month or two before we had X that I realised both DH and I had really "let go" of our old lives if that makes sense. It took us that long to accept that we don't HAVE any other life - we just look after kids! Now it's even more full on with 2 so it'll probably take us another 2 years to get used to that!

Chrissy I hope the move up the mountain goes well. Sounds like a great idea to be near your family there.

I felt like the meanest mum ever last night. DH gave X a bottle of expressed milk because I really want him to have a bottle every week or so since his sister wouldn't take a bottle and I couldn't leave her for more than an hour until she was about 10 months old (drove me insane). He took the bottle ok but was soooo upset for the rest of the night and cried more than he has any other day :( I felt so bad for him. He's fine this morning of course so at least I haven't scarred him permanently!

I did the groceries this morning and it was much more successful than last time (phew!!) and I found out I can get home delivery for only $6.60 - I think I'll do that next time I have a big shop to do.

Better go. Have a great day everyone :)

angel_one
05-02-2007, 13:24
ok, it was a sling of ebay - doesnt have a brand name!!!

and secondly GCK - i feel for you, my dh although he helps out (as i have told my sil, if he didnt help out from day one, we wouldnt have #2 or 3!!!) of an evening when hes home, and the weekends. however, when i mention like i did 2 nites ago that im going to a scrapbooking workshop on sunday, and he will have the kids, he was like ok, then i mentioned i'll have to express some milk for him so he can feed bub, he was like what im not lookinag after hayden as well, now what am i gonna do i cant take the kids down the beach if i have him!!! ---- all im thinking is well what the hell do ou think i do all friggin day, i do have all 3 of them for more than 6 hours once in a blue moon!!!!!! grrrrrrrrrrrrrr, one simple little day is all i want! a few miserable hours!

so anyway i do believe i am about to beg my poor pg sil (who yesterday was compliaing about m/s! and her boy with croup) to baby sit hayden!

man im such a cow! lol

StarMumma
05-02-2007, 13:57
Phew! My children (sounds funny saying that!) have finally given me a couple of hours to catch up on all the news - and what a lot there was!!!
I feel quite fortunate after reading them! I have a bubba that sleeps fairly well most of the time, no reflux and a DP that is a fantastic hands on father.
Besides DS1 still being in plaster, things are going well. DS2 is sleeping through some nights, and others just waking at 5am for a quick feed and back to bed for a few more hours! He's grown heaps, length and weight, has lost a heap of hair at the front an has the dreaded milk spots - not at his prettiest this week!
Spending lots of time keeping DS1 entertained, so the house work has gone down the tube, but the washing is getting done and meals are being cooked, guess you can't ask for more than that at the moment!
DS1 is meant to be getting plaster off on the 15th, so it'll be action stations around here again!!!
Keep well everyone and I look forward to catching up again soon xox

SammieSnail
05-02-2007, 15:44
Thank you for the compliments girls.
I don't have anyone else to show the photos to :o

Well Kevin was to have his 8 month check-up today and his immunisations....appointment was at 11am.

I get there a chirpy five minutes early only to be told that the appointment is tomorrow, NOT today...haha
I nearly fell over, all that for nothing.
Shall try again tomorrow I guess.

Cordu: Thanks. lol it's ok I'm not offended, I think you are right. He gets a bit too stiimulated during his night feeds...think the lights are too bright and I end up carting him from the bedroom to his room and back again in bright light.
Might have to go get some of those nightlight thingos next week.

Oscar's Mum: Congrats on Isla sleeping so well last night!

Chrissy: Good luck with Kyan's dad Chrissy :hugs:
He doesn't know what he's missing!
Our boys do look similar, in their barely there eyebrows and the shape of their noses. I love your av pic of Kyan

Angel_one: Ahhh yes nursing, that was it.
I'm studying Agricultural Science at the University of Tasmania.

Andrewsmum: Thanks for the photos, Hayden and Jake are just so cute. Love the shot of them on the couch.

Melo: I know what you mean about the spots, Kevin's are finally pretty much gone but they looked shocking for a few weeks.
I still can't get over how good you looked in that photo of you the day you left the hospital :p

Goldcoastkiwi: I hope your DH becomes more helpful, and fast! I can definitely relate.

Mrs Dolphin: Wow what a sleep Leah had! I hope you had a good day today.

Draught: How do you estimate so far ahead how big bubs will be next time the season comes around?
Can't wait for some piccys.

My fallen angel: Beautiful photos! How special that you captured Rylan's first smile. So cute that he fell asleep in the bath.

Tea lady: I hope your next attempt at using a bottle of EBM is less traumatic. With the home delivery do you do your shop and then they deliver it when you get home? Sounds like a plan! Our pram and carseat take up half the car already lol.

2boysforus: You are amazing to be keeping Baylen occupied while in his plaster, I hope the 15th comes quickly for you. Will he have to build his strength up again?

Melo
05-02-2007, 16:13
SammieSnail - Geez, its Kevin 8 months already? :p :). Bad luck about the appointment though, i'm yet to do that! Damn placenta brain!!

Andrews Mum - What gorgeous photos! The twins are SO cute :D

Chrissy - Goodluck with the move!

OM - Wow, you must feel great with 7 hours straight sleep!! :D'

A BIG hello to everyone else that i've missed! I think I need to start taking notes!

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 16:27
Well Kevin was to have his 8 month check-up today and his immunisations....appointment was at 11am.

wow 8 months already hehe
gee that went quick.

i thought our brains were supposed to come back after we had babies?
i still keep doing to stupidist things!

angel_one
05-02-2007, 17:08
omg, i had one of the most scaryest things happen before, i was putting hayden back in is swing after finishing his feed, and usually while having a feed (usually in the first 5 mins) he'll have his little gag, and cough a bit sometimes enough that he cant get a breath in right, and well obviously he takes a breath, well this time - after he finished his feed, and as i put him down he must have started choking on some spew, and he was coughing so much that he couldnt take a breath and started going blue!!!!!!! i dont think i have ever been so scared!!! - (apart from hearing the stupid apena monitor go off at the hospital - but they were there to save him, if anything had happend) i mean hes gone blue before when having his coughiing fit, but not for as long as this one was!
so now im on edge for every sound he makes, thinking hes gonna start choking again!

welll i must go get dinner ready so that i can put these kids to bed before my work phone call at 6:30 - not bad timing if i do say so! (considering the kids go to bed at 7pm!) thankfully it looks a tad overcast so we might just get away with putting them down in broad daylight! lol

Kerry76
05-02-2007, 19:10

I am new to this post. My DD Charlotte was born 23.12.06 and is the apple of her Mummy and daddys eyes!!!

Charlotte is our 1st child (maybe only .......) and we are loving being parents to her.

Motherhood is so rewarding, challlenging, hard, wonderful. It amazes me how much love i have for this little one and how complete she makes our lives, I cant remember what my life was before she arrived, it makes everything else seem so mundane...

Looking forward to getting to know all the other december 06 mummies.

Kerry

Melo
05-02-2007, 19:30
Angel_One - How scary for you!

Welcome Kerry76, hope to see you around some more :D

Here are two new photos of Miss Ava:
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture004.jpg
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture015.jpg

Better go, someones hungry! :)

family_wish
05-02-2007, 20:29
Melo - Miss Ava is a cutie :angel:

Sorry I haven't had a chance to post - was put on some medication (metronidazole) for my tooth/sinus/jaw infection and it made me sooooooo depressed and I was having panic attacks. At one stage I thought I had PND but then did some research and found out that metronidazole (flagyl etc) can cause depression. OMG it was TERRIBLE...I stopped the drugs straight away and now I feel normal again :party: - was very scarey!!

While researching I found a list of other medicines that can cause depression and I was taking a few of these after my c-section. Its just crazy. Anyhoo even Voltaren was on the list :gloomy: ...

Promise I'll catch up on the goss!!! :hugs:

Boxox

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 20:44
Sorry I haven't had a chance to post - was put on some medication (metronidazole) for my tooth/sinus/jaw infection and it made me sooooooo depressed and I was having panic attacks. At one stage I thought I had PND but then did some research and found out that metronidazole (flagyl etc) can cause depression. OMG it was TERRIBLE...I stopped the drugs straight away and now I feel normal again :party: - was very scarey!!

wow thats scary!
glad to hear you found out and stopped taking it.
i used tosuffer from panic attacks and they are horrible!

angel_one that would have been so scary!!

welcome to the december mums Kerry76 :wave:

GraceUnhearing
05-02-2007, 20:46
opps forgot to add melo Ava is very cute

SammieSnail
05-02-2007, 20:54

OMG :laughing: :o
Just trying to keep you ladies on your toes ;)

Hi Kerry!
Welcome to the thread.
Charlotte is a gorgeous name :thumbsup:
Look forward to getting to know you too.

Angel_one: How scary! I hope everything is fine and you don't get any more frights.

Melo: Oh Melo, Ava is BEAUTIFUL....love her hair

Family_wish: That is SO shocking! Have also suffered panic attacks...not nice.
How dare they not tell you of the possible side-effects!
Glad you are fine now, and good you got on top of it ASAP.

StarMumma
05-02-2007, 21:02
2boysforus: You are amazing to be keeping Baylen occupied while in his plaster, I hope the 15th comes quickly for you. Will he have to build his strength up again?

Thanks SS - I've no choice about it, I'm his Mum and it has to be done...Although the little mite is getting a bit smelly and I'm finding it hard to make the big smiles!!

i thought our brains were supposed to come back after we had babies?
i still keep doing to stupidist things!

I heard somewhere that placenta brain can last up to 2 years!!

2boys4us You didn't happen to be in Brisbane last week did you? lol... it's just I was talking to a mother in a parent's room last week who'd baby was born on the 27th... I was desperately hoping it was one of the dec mummies, but Chayse is the only bub born on the 27th - and your in melbourne...

...So I guess it wasn't you. :(..

Nope wasn't me. Here in Melb all weekend, but I do have in laws in Brissy.

omg, i had one of the most scaryest things happen before, i was putting hayden back in is swing after finishing his feed, and usually while having a feed (usually in the first 5 mins) he'll have his little gag, and cough a bit sometimes enough that he cant ...

That sounds so scary. I am sure they do it just to test us and see if we're paying attention!

I am new to this post. My DD Charlotte was born 23.12.06 and is the apple of her Mummy and daddys eyes!!!
...Looking forward to getting to know all the other december 06 mummies...

Welcome to the site Kerry!

Ah...have 2 kids in bed, house is clean, been to the gym....and I'm bored!!
Might gone and do the food shopping on line....oh I remember my old life..:rolleyes:

GraceUnhearing
06-02-2007, 08:07
I heard somewhere that placenta brain can last up to 2 years!

2 years!! Dam theres no hope for me then!!

Mrs Dolphin
06-02-2007, 08:34
Good Morning Everyone...

I just have to share....Leah slept for 12hours straight last night!! :smiliedance:
She had her last feed at about 6pm then fell asleep in my arms, I put her to bed around 6.45pm (expecting her to wake up again) and she slept right through the night to 6.45am this morning! I can't believe it...hope it continues!!

Angel_One - OMG how scary...I hate it when they choke and splutter...I am always scared that will happen to Leah too...hope little Hayden is ok now.

Kerry76 - Welcome to the December Mummies thread! Look forward to talking to you and Charlotte!

Melo - Ava is sooo cute! Her face looks exactly the same as Leah's at the moment with the horrible milk rash.

Family_Wish - how scary...glad you realised and stopped the meds....hope you continue to be on the improve.

Yes my DH can be a bit the same...he is very good and helps me when he is home but he is still getting the hang of the fact that babies don't wait for anyone or anything...if they want food now then they want food NOW!! Not in 5 or 10mins time when DH is ready!! LOL!

RavenDancer
06-02-2007, 10:19
morning ladies,
from my last post things didnt get better they got worse, i have spent the last 2 days with eli screaming from sun up to sun down. I had some stupid salsa on my sayos the other day and goddess did I pay for it the next day, he started at 9amish and didnt stop screaming till about 8pm, with like 10 mins of sleep the whole day, i got to the point where i wanted to put him in his room and shut the door and walk out of the house, i was so stressed out...nothing settled him, not a bath, not a walk in the pram, or the car ride, rocking patting, sling, swing! nothing all i could so was burst into tears. It was then i started thinking about puttin eli on the bottle because if i stepped one foot out of line with what i eat, we both pay for it the next day! and its not good for him or i. my mum took him off me for the night so i could just relax and not fall apart all over again.

We talked and im going to try and perservere with breastfeeding, and if it doesnt get any better with his wind problem and extrememly sensitive belly, ill seriously think about going on the bottle, even if it makes me feel like the biggest failure, like i cant provide for him..hes just in so much pain and so unhappy...breaks my heart

Mrs Dolphin
06-02-2007, 10:25
Awww RavenDancer I really feel for you - big :hugs: to you! Please remember you are doing your best for your little boy and you are not alone! See what happens with the breastfeeding but please please do not feel guilty or like a failure if you end up going onto the bottle... you need to do what is best for BOTH of you! If that means a happier mummy and baby then so be it...both of your health and happiness is what is most important!

I hope things get better for you...hang in there and remember we are all here for support for you.

I hope you have a better day today...:thumbsup:

cordu68
06-02-2007, 10:27
Morning mums'nbubs :wave:

Mrs Dolphin
Oh wow that is long! Hope this continues for you. I would be too scared that he dies of hunger!!
Our longest was 7 hours from last saturday to sunday.
This morning Jasie also didn't want to wake up after his early morning feed at 4 am. I woke him up at 9 am as I didn't want him to sleep longer during the day.

I have to catch up with you all.

I am one day not online and you are chatting away.

You all have gorgeous bubba, great pics everyone!!

Welcome Kerry76 and congrats to your baby girl!!Looking forward to getting to know you.

SammieSnail glad you are not offended. Hope dimming the lights will make a difference for you.
I always dim the lights on his last evening feed and the 4 am feed, and when he wakes up before 7am.I don't talk to him and wait until sleeps on the boob, works most of the time.

angelsmum the photos of your bubba are sooo cute.
Love them

Melo Ava is gorgeous.

2boysforus good luck for the last days while Baylen is in plaster, hope he will build up his strength soon.

angel_one how scary, glad that is was just a cough.

O'mum, oh wow, that's is so great. Did she sleep so long again last night?

family_wish glad you found out about the medications and that are feeling better. So glad it is not PND!!

Chrissy, glad that Kyan is getting better!!
Hope everything goes well with your move and that you settle up the mountains quickly and like it up there!

my_fallenangel great pics and well done capturing his smile.

goldcoastkiwi hope your hubby will help you more.
DP is not too bad with helping although I tell him when he should change nappies, or to settle Jasie.

draught congrats on your bubhub award!

ravendancer hope you got more sleep last nights!

I can't think of more personals now so if I have forgotten somebody I do apolgize.

We are doing pretty well. Except during the witching hours where he cries inconsolably and screams the house down. Nothing really helps then except a feed aor carrying him around in the sling.

I would like to share some more pics with you:

Jasie made it almost to 5kg yesterday not quite :)

http://picasaweb.google.com/corduinoz/JasonOliver/photo#5028159048419212226

And I think I have a froggy baby, have I kissed a frog maybe, well have look yourself:

http://picasaweb.google.com/corduinoz/JasonOliver/photo#5028160031966723026

Just one question , I want to do some finger and foot prints of him. I bought some finger paint but it is washable and didn't work well. I don't really want to use an ink pad. Has somebody else done that and what paint did you use?

I am off to do some washing and to the great nappy hunt. I have just managed to find 4 nappy icon in how many hours??

Hmh I think Jasie is calling...oh no he went sleeping again :p

Hugs to all :hugs:

Oh btw how about a get-together of all Sydney mums?
We all had our bubs now and have settle with them....

Sorry for the long post ....

Mrs Dolphin
06-02-2007, 11:17
Cordu68 - Yes Know what you mean - I was worried Leah would be hungry but then figured she would wake up when she is ready...when she did wake up she was VERY hungry but all was ok once she had had her bottle! I was also up a few times early this morning to check on her to make sure she was ok and had DH check when he went to work at 5.30am! If it had been during the day there is no way I would let her sleep that long without a feed!

Mrs Dolphin
06-02-2007, 11:19
BTW - Jason is very cute in those photos - Leah likes to sleep like that too! Leah is still only 4.6kg and she is 9weeks old! But she is putting on weight so guess that is all that matters...she is the lightest one in our mother's group and probably the lightest here too!

AnnaC
06-02-2007, 11:23
Cordu- Love the pic of Jasie on the scales, James was 4.9kgs at birth :eek: :laughing:

RavenDancer- I really feel for you, im glad your mum was there to give you a hand, its the hardest job in the world, its so hard when they wont stop screaming isnt it, im having some breastfeeding issues too i really have to learn to stay away from chocolate :rolleyes:

Mrs Dolphin- What a wonderful sleeper Leah is

Not much to report here, James had a good day yesterday and is being unsettled today, hope all other mums and bubs are having a good day :wave:

LizzieLou
06-02-2007, 12:06
Sorry no time for personals as little miss is continuing to feed every two hours and refuse to go to sleep for longer than 40mins.

Just a quick question for Draught. I want to buy the Moby sling but I was wondering if you know whether it is the same soft stretchy fabric as the original Hug a Bub?

Thanks in advance xox

angel_one
06-02-2007, 12:08
ohh i just had to share, hayden did another 6 hour sleep last night!!!!!!:yelclap:

draught
06-02-2007, 14:14
Sorry no time for personals as little miss is continuing to feed every two hours and refuse to go to sleep for longer than 40mins.

Just a quick question for Draught. I want to buy the Moby sling but I was wondering if you know whether it is the same soft stretchy fabric as the original Hug a Bub?

Thanks in advance xox

The fabric is very soft and stretchy. I don't know that I have felt an original Hug a Bub but the hug a bubs I have seen in shops recently are of a very similar fabric. I ended up buying the Moby D which has a panel of non-stretch fabric in it - because my babies get heavy fast and I am a sucker for a sales pitch that this will help it last longer....but I reckon the normal one would be fine.:rolleyes:

Sorry - will do personals later as my children have woken up.

Just quickly though - I have heard that placenta brain can last for up to 18 years.....so there is no hope for me! Mine went on holiday about the time I gave birth to DD1 - and that was four years ago and it has never returned!

GraceUnhearing
06-02-2007, 14:26
Just quickly though - I have heard that placenta brain can last for up to 18 years.....so there is no hope for me! Mine went on holiday about the time I gave birth to DD1 - and that was four years ago and it has never returned!

great there really is no hope for me then,
i do want more kids one day heheh

Tea Lady
06-02-2007, 14:51
My GP says your brain never goes back to normal :eek: Apparently they can see the difference between women who have and haven't been pregnant on brain scans. Scary!!!

family_wish
06-02-2007, 17:26
We talked and im going to try and perservere with breastfeeding, and if it doesnt get any better with his wind problem and extrememly sensitive belly, ill seriously think about going on the bottle, even if it makes me feel like the biggest failure, like i cant provide for him..hes just in so much pain and so unhappy...breaks my heart

Big hugs RavenDancer - I know what you mean. But, if bubs is more comfortable and you are both happier...then you will get used to the idea of bottle feeding. People have said to me that hangups about not breastfeeding do eventually subside...mine are!!:hugs:

Morning mums'nbubs

We are doing pretty well. Except during the witching hours where he cries inconsolably and screams the house down. Nothing really helps then except a feed aor carrying him around in the sling.

I would like to share some more pics with you:

Jasie made it almost to 5kg yesterday not quite :)

http://picasaweb.google.com/corduinoz/JasonOliver/photo#5028159048419212226

And I think I have a froggy baby, have I kissed a frog maybe, well have look yourself:

http://picasaweb.google.com/corduinoz/JasonOliver/photo#5028160031966723026

Just one question , I want to do some finger and foot prints of him. I bought some finger paint but it is washable and didn't work well. I don't really want to use an ink pad. Has somebody else done that and what paint did you use?

Sorry for the long post ....

Cordu he looks so cute :) - I had a disaster trying to make plaster casts of Ella's hands and feet...OMG...the foot looks ok but the hand is totally mangled. I still have another hand and foot to do but she keeps moving and not co-operating...

I just have to share....Leah slept for 12hours straight last night!!
! LOL!

Wow!!! That is impressive. Ella slept from 9ish to 7am this morning but made so much noise during the night I was up every few hours checking on her anyway....

My GP says your brain never goes back to normal Apparently they can see the difference between women who have and haven't been pregnant on brain scans. Scary!!!

Eeeww....well I wonder if I will be ever able to join the workforce again. I mean, I am feeling seriously dumb at the moment....like my brain cells have disintegrated...;)

Well, Ella has awoken (of course I am on the puter....)

Bye for now
Boxox

Tea Lady
06-02-2007, 22:22
Hi all, I really should be in bed but I just wanted to check in for the day :wave:

Raven I'm glad your mum was able to help out - I think I would have really lost the plot if that had been me! Something that might help you persevere with the breastfeeding is the fact that babies tummies get much less sensitive after a couple of months / weeks. At least if you do keep going, soon you shouldn't have to stress about what you eat as much. Have you tried talking to an ABA counsellor? They might be able to give you some hints to make things easier. :)

Sorry I've got a bad headache again and have only just got Xander to bed so my brain's not functioning and I can't remember what anyone else has been talking about sorry! :o

Oh yes, someone mentioned (SSnail?) about too much stimulation in the night............ just thought I'd let you know that what's working for us is to have a disposable change mat (so it folds up small), a box of tissues and a couple of nappies next to our bed at night. I feed X sitting up in bed and then just change him on the bed in the light of the nightlight (it's not the most thorough clean up job!) to minimise disruption for him. Seems to work ok. Mind you I have got wee on the bed a couple of times......... but I was so tired I didn't even care! I can't believe the sorts of disgusting things I put up with now - ughhh!!

Sending lots of sleepy vibes to everyone's babies. Night night :)

draught
06-02-2007, 22:27
I need to go to bed but wanted to post quickly before I forgot. I think it was Sammie Snail that wanted to know how I work out sizes for the future? For next summer I am buying size 1, for six months time size 0. Then I normally work on a size a year so for a 2 year old I look at size 2's etc. My DD1 has a long back so she is wearing size 5 and 6 tops although she will be 4 next year but that sort of thing works itself out over time.

hmmm...rambling. tired. need sleep.

just quickly - my trivia for the night is that it appears that DS is only pooing once a day now - about 5pm - but boy does he fill the nappy with that one big explosion!!

Hope all sleep well.

Tea Lady
06-02-2007, 22:38
just quickly - my trivia for the night is that it appears that DS is only pooing once a day now - about 5pm - but boy does he fill the nappy with that one big explosion!!

I'll sleep better now I know that :laughing:

Congratulations on the award by the way - you deserve it!! :)

RavenDancer
07-02-2007, 06:27
took bub to the doctors yesterday cause the crying was non stop for the last two days, he has to have an ultrasound to see if he has reflux, the rash on his legs that i wrote about before is dermatitus so he gave us a cream little stronger than a nappy rash cream, he urged me to keep breastfeeding but smaller more frequent feeds to try and combat the vommiting, the poor darling has cried and screamed so much his throat is red raw and he can hardly make a noise, its all gravelly sounding, so the doctor told me to put some honey on his dummy to soothe his throat. He also wants a sample of bubs poop to make sure he hasnt got any viruses...i just broke down in the doctors room when i heard him cry while he was being checked over because it sounded so sad and so painful, the doctor was brilliant with me...I hope we find out whats causing him so much pain because I want my happy little boy back, im going to go do a little research on reflux, hopefully the scan shows something.

thankyou lovely women for being so lovely towards me in my time of comfort, it is very hard with hubby on the other side of the world. You guys have given me so much strength words could not describe how much it means to me that your here for me. Thankyou from the bottom of my heart is all I have.

have beautiful days Majestic Mothers xx

Nanay
07-02-2007, 06:50
hey all...been away the past couple of days..DH took me and bubs with him to adelaide so we could be together on our anniversary rather than being separated by state lines. a mate of his offered to babysit so we went out to dinner at Harry's (Novotel Barossa Valley). It was great.
I think the hardest part was keeping bubs quiet in the middle of the night at the hotel so other guests wont complain :confused: yeah it was hard...
I just have to catch up on whats been happening...when i left it was only 8 pages

angel_one
07-02-2007, 07:24
..... so the doctor told me to put some honey on his dummy to soothe his throat......

um not to worry you raven but isnt himey a big no no for the first year of a childs life, due to infant botulism?????????

just thinking you should double check that.

but other than that, i was talking to my mum last night and we were planing the next call and she was like it cant be frisday i will be at the hospital with your sister (the 9 year old) and so im siting here almost balwing - worring about her, (you know the hearts just stopped, cause your that friggin worreid - think of the way you would be if your baby tried the choaking trick! ) and so im like WHAT? why?
and then i get oh i put her in a reasearch program!
all that worry over a bit if bloody hayfever!! lol
so hopefully they can do something to fix her hayfever (which obvoiusly isnt the cat hair anymore ~ as there is no longer a cat in the house!!! - which makes me soooooooooo wrong! lol)

well have to go bailey has just woken up!

AnnaC
07-02-2007, 07:26
Morning Everyone, :wave:

I hope everyone had a good nights sleep. I bought a DVD yesterday called the Happiest Baby on the Block about how to calm a crying baby and help them sleep longer. It talks about the 5 S's Swaddling, Side/stomach, Shush, Swinging, Suck. Its nice to have a plan now instead of trial and error, James is :sleeping: now and hes not usually so maybe its working, im now looking forward to him crying to see if it works :laughing:

Jaundy- Glad you had a good trip away

Raven- Sounds like you have a fantastic Dr, I hope you manage to find out whats troubling bub soon

Draught- Thanks for the sizing advice, im hoping James stays in 00 for longer than he was in 000's!

Tea Lady- Sounds like we have a similar night time routine, seems to work well

Cordu- I did plaster moulds of James' feet they look really good and I painted it gold

OscarTheGrouch
07-02-2007, 08:05
Good morning ladies.:wave:
It's been a few days since I've logged in and I haven't read everything. We didn't have a computer for a few days as DH was installing Vista and there were a few problems ...etc.... Things here have been good. Josh continues to sleep through the night, giving me 8-10 hours sleep at night.:yelclap: He's off to the Paediatrician today for his 6 week check (a week late), I would say he's definately over 6kg's.:eek: I have settled in to a routine with the 2 boys and it's going well. :hugs: to all you Mummies who are finding it a bit tough at the moment, it will get better.

cordu68
07-02-2007, 09:42
took bub to the doctors yesterday cause the crying was non stop for the last two days, he has to have an ultrasound to see if he has reflux, the rash on his legs that i wrote about before is dermatitus so he gave us a cream little stronger than a nappy rash cream, he urged me to keep breastfeeding but smaller more frequent feeds to try and combat the vommiting, the poor darling has cried and screamed so much his throat is red raw and he can hardly make a noise, its all gravelly sounding, so the doctor told me to put some honey on his dummy to soothe his throat. He also wants a sample of bubs poop to make sure he hasnt got any viruses...i just broke down in the doctors room when i heard him cry while he was being checked over because it sounded so sad and so painful, the doctor was brilliant with me...I hope we find out whats causing him so much pain because I want my happy little boy back, im going to go do a little research on reflux, hopefully the scan shows something.

thankyou lovely women for being so lovely towards me in my time of comfort, it is very hard with hubby on the other side of the world. You guys have given me so much strength words could not describe how much it means to me that your here for me. Thankyou from the bottom of my heart is all I have.

I am so sorry that Elijah is not well.:gloomy: , I really hope that docs will find out soon was is causing him so much pain.It is so awful when the little bubs are crying so insolable and they are so helpless and can't tell you where the pain really is.

Big hugs to you!!:hugs: :hugs:

07-02-2007, 09:52
Raven Dancer- I know your dr told you to try the honey but I wouldn't be doing that at all!:eek: Honey is not recommended to be given to infants under 12 months as it can contain botulism spores;)

07-02-2007, 09:57
um not to worry you raven but isnt himey a big no no for the first year of a childs life, due to infant botulism?????????

just thinking you should double check that.

I didn't read your post Angel_one first but good minds think alike there!

On a good note Isla slept for 8 hours again last night - this kid has certainly got it together!:thumbsup: Pity the 8 hours finished at 3am though :p

Melo
07-02-2007, 10:01
RavenDancer - I hope that you find out whats wrong with Elijah :fingerscrossed:

All is going well over here, Jacob is teething so it a bit off colour.. Ava slept for 8 hours last night :D!!

07-02-2007, 10:03
Ava slept for 8 hours last night :D!!

Must have been the night for 8 hours sleeps huh:yes:

Melo
07-02-2007, 10:07
Sure was :D. Although I was up to Jacob at 1 and 4 am!!

07-02-2007, 10:12
Sure was :D. Although I was up to Jacob at 1 and 4 am!!

Oh you poor thing. Hopefully you have a better night tonight!:fingerscrossed:

Melo
07-02-2007, 10:16
Hopefully!

Oh Mrs Dolphin - I was told to put Bepathen on Ava's Milk Spots and its meant to clear it up! Well I put it on last night and this morning her face is SO much clearer!

Nanay
07-02-2007, 10:18
Thanks GoldCoastKiwi...it was a good trip too bad DH has to work though it would have been better. And we treated the flight over as a test run for when we bring DS to NZ in a couple of weeks. the one hour flight was not too bad because he was asleep...but i dont know about the 4 hour haul to NZ. About your rant about DH wanting to spen lots of time in the garage..i could relate to that...DH is exactly the same although he does ask me or tell me before he goes out there..and if he needs to go to the garage a full day i tell him the next day he will be babysitting the whole day all i'm there for is to feed and help him if he cant settle bubs...at least he done a bath, mine hasnt.

RavenDancer - hope you find out whats wrong with bubs...nothing worse than not knowing why they're crying and in pain all the time.

DS slept last night from 10pm to 3am...i was so happy...but now wont sleep for more than an hour and keeps wanting to feed...sometimes i wonder if i have enough supply for him...sometime he feeds for 45mins sometimes 10...

Nanay
07-02-2007, 10:49
I kept meaning to ask...do you guys hear your bubs stomach grumbling...I hear it quite a bit especially when he's feeding...I have no idea what it means ... someone told me it could be the wind that he doesnt bring up...

07-02-2007, 11:13
DS slept last night from 10pm to 3am...i was so happy...but now wont sleep for more than an hour and keeps wanting to feed...sometimes i wonder if i have enough supply for him...sometime he feeds for 45mins sometimes 10...

Maybe he is going through a growth spurt? If you feed him when he wants feeding you will definately have enough milk.:yes:

StarMumma
07-02-2007, 11:54
Morning girls!!!
DS2 slept from 11 - 630 this morning!!! So was lovely to have a big sleep!
Both boys are now asleep and am hoping it'll stay that way so I can have lunch with the local paper. We're planning to do some renovations (yes, I know we only built this house in April!), so I need to find some tradies to give some quotes.
DS1 is starting to get frustrated with his lack of movement...poor bubba, he's been so good. Only a week or so to go! Oh, and I think some asked if Bay would need physio?? Apparently he should be fine, maybe a little shaky, but will be off and running in no time - great!!
We'll be off to a beach house for a week after the plaster comes off, so it'll be good for his leg to swim and run on the sand. And he'll be back at swimming lessons 2 days after it's off!
DS1 has been a dream baby during this whole episode, thank goodness!
A friends mother told me that siblings of children with a disability/illness, are often quieter and quicker learners...they must know the parents need a break.
I'm rambling and getting shaky from not eating enough - better go eat while I can.
Does anyone else now have a bottomless pit for food? Is this because of breastfeeding? I feel like I'm never full!
Thankfully I've joined the gym to combat this unstoppable hunger!!

07-02-2007, 11:56
Does anyone else now have a bottomless pit for food? Is this because of breastfeeding? I feel like I'm never full!

I felt like that after I had Ozzy I was always starving. This time though I am not hungry at all and have to force myself to eat.

AnnaC
07-02-2007, 12:01
Jaundy- When are u off to NZ? Im going next month, just waiting for James' passport to arrive before i book the tickets. I think i'll hire carseat and pram over there as none of my friends have babies. Hope you have a great time

angel_one
07-02-2007, 12:03
I didn't read your post Angel_one first but good minds think alike there!

On a good note Isla slept for 8 hours again last night - this kid has certainly got it together!:thumbsup: Pity the 8 hours finished at 3am though :p

yep they sure do

im not sure what time you go to bed (or want to go to bed) but i make sure i feed hayden at midnight (that usually when i go to bed) even if he only had a feed 1-2 hours ago, (and yes he will feed whenever the boob is stuck in front of him - the little piggie!) and he has a normal feed and then goes to sleep! and wakes up at 6ish in the morning!!
if isla doesnt wake i reckon you wake her and try the midnight feed, you might get really lucky and get to wake up later than 6am!!! lol

well as you can see now for the 3rd day straight hayden has slept thru!!!!!!! now i got to get me a cot for him so he can mover out of our room and then hes out and i can walk around my room agian!!!!

07-02-2007, 12:06
if isla doesnt wake i reckon you wake her and try the midnight feed, you might get really lucky and get to wake up later than 6am!!! lol

Unfortunately this kid just will not dream feed or feed when she dosn't want to! :banghead: :p

cordu68
07-02-2007, 15:06
Cordu he looks so cute :) - I had a disaster trying to make plaster casts of Ella's hands and feet...OMG...the foot looks ok but the hand is totally mangled. I still have another hand and foot to do but she keeps moving and not co-operating...

Thank you :) :hugs:
Where did you get the plaster from? I wonder if I should just do the finger and foot prints in paper to send to his grnadparents o/s and for his album or if I should do the plaster casts too.

cordu68
07-02-2007, 15:24
Must have been the night for 8 hours sleeps huh

We had 7 hours sleep from 0:30 am to 7 :30 am after a long time of settling by feeding almost every hour or two from 6:30 pm. on.I was already wondering how he can keep all this milk as his tummy was so bloated and full !!
Unfortunately I was up at 5:30 am and didn't go back to sleep, waiting for him to wake up!
Well I caught up on some sleep during the day....

What do you guys do?
Do you wake your bubs up when they have been sleeping too long during the day?

I knew if Jasie would sleep 5 hours during the day, he never really catnaps, I knew I would have a long night until he finally drifts off to a night sleep.
Well excactly that happened, he cried insolably and was at the milk bars non-stop.

This morning he was up at 7:30 am until 9 am.
Then he woke up at 12:30 , went to sleep at 2 :20 and I am wondering when I shall wake him up now?
I don't want to repeat the monster time we had yesterday.:rolleyes:

Might wake him up at 6 pm, or is that too early??

Still not sure how long a 6 week old bubba should sleep!:confused:

Yesterday I really had problems waking him up, was already worried that he was sick.

Tomorrow we are both going for our 6 week check-up.

Thanks for all your nice comments about pics of Jasie:)

And thanks draught again for the liner (I have sent you a pm), wil try it out in the next days.

Nanay
07-02-2007, 15:27
Jaundy- When are u off to NZ? Im going next month, just waiting for James' passport to arrive before i book the tickets. I think i'll hire carseat and pram over there as none of my friends have babies. Hope you have a great time

we are going in a couple of weeks...car seat we are hiring at plunkett depending on which area i think its $50 bond and $20 hire...for us anyways...

Bubs has a cold right now so he's being very clingy ... which is okay...CHN told me to squirt some breast milk in his nose to make him sneeze ... sofar he hasnt sneezed ... hopefully he will get over the cold soon... i think he's thinking "mummy what are you doing my mouth is over here" whenever i squirt breastmilk on his nose

Sabby
07-02-2007, 15:48
Cordu68 - My sister told me that I shouldn't wake Chelsea up if she is asleep.. just let her sleep, if bub is hungry he/she will wake up. But I must confess sometimes I wake her up for a feed.

Well Chelsea is now 12 weeks old!
Gees time flies so fast. When I look at her and tell her how much I love her.. I just get so teary!
I can't believe she's my daughter! I love her so MUCH!

She got weighed yesterday and she has put on a wopping 550grams in 2 weeks! That is so excellent.
Birth weight was 2.96kg now she weighs 5.22kg!
So all that worry that I thought I was not feeding her enough was for nothing. So I guess feeding her 6 times a day is good enough.

Sorry for the lack of personal but have to cook dinner now.
Having steak, mash potatoes, peas, corn and carrots.
Yummy!

Hope the little one cooperates!

Sabby
07-02-2007, 15:50
Oh BTW Chelsea is still sleeping 6-8hours at night!
Got to love that!

About the christening - finished handing out the invites, done the candles and her giveaways. Just need to do the gifts for the 10 godparents - hahahaha!

07-02-2007, 16:04
What do you guys do?

No I just let her sleep.

About the christening - finished handing out the invites, done the candles and her giveaways. Just need to do the gifts for the 10 godparents - hahahaha!

What are her giveaways? It's interesting to hear all the things you are doing for the christening - Isla is having hers this Sunday and I am not doing giveaways (not sure what that is)? and I am not giving the godparents gifts they are giving Isla a gift. Funny how different cultures do things.

Flutter
07-02-2007, 16:15

I have sadly had no time at all to post since my baby came, how do you all manage to find the time to come online?
I miss coming on here....

Although my baby is easy going and relaxed, I have had a really confusing time so far with the breast feeding & sleeping.

Up until 3 days ago it seemed like he was up almost every 2 hours or less at night and he would only sleep on my chest during the day.
Then I got a sling which made life easier and I can now get things done during the day. I feel bad putting him in it as he gets very hot in there but it's my only option as he so loves to be held.

3 nights in a row we have put him down at 10pm and he has slept until 4am, feeds again for half an hour and then goes back to sleep until DH goes to work at 7.30am.
During the day he really only naps so I am hoping that he will carry on this way. The long sleep at night feels great for me too, I really appreciate the sleep I get as the first few weeks of no sleep or 2 hours or so was a huge adjustment to make.

Baby Armin is 4 weeks old now & I can only hope things carry on as they are now, I think that I am only just feeling more confident, did anyone else feel this way? I guess I just had to get to know my little boy and now we are feeling more settled.
Have my first mothers group meeting tomorrow but am feeling nervous about venturing out with the baby, hope he doesn't scream for the boob the whole time I am there!
Hopefully I can get back on here again sometime soon.
Bye for now :wave:

Taddy
07-02-2007, 16:43
Afternoon Ladies,

How are you all doing right know?

Well both of my boys are sleeping, little angles they are. (For the time being.)
Sean was 9wks on Monday, where has that time disappeared to. I got Sean weighed last friday he know weighs 6.060kgs which he put on 360g within 2 wks. So hes definately feeding alright then. He is 61cm in length. He also had his 2mth needles,which he didn't cry for the 1st 2 but the 3rd he cried for a max of 10secs and got over it very quickly.
He must be going through another growth spurt as he is waking every hour and half as it is usually once a night.

Waking- Depends what time I manage to go to bed, if I know Sean will be waking soon I will wake him up, but that is only during the night though.

Hope all is well with mums and bubs.

angel_one
07-02-2007, 16:48
Unfortunately this kid just will not dream feed or feed when she dosn't want to!
damm!

We had 7 hours sleep from 0:30 am to 7 :30 am after a long time of settling by feeding almost every hour or two from 6:30 pm. on.I was already wondering how he can keep all this milk as his tummy was so bloated and full !!
Unfortunately I was up at 5:30 am and didn't go back to sleep, waiting for him to wake up!
Well I caught up on some sleep during the day....

What do you guys do?

I knew if Jasie would sleep 5 hours during the day, he never really catnaps, I knew I would have a long night until he finally drifts off to a night sleep.
Well excactly that happened, he cried insolably and was at the milk bars non-stop.

This morning he was up at 7:30 am until 9 am.
Then he woke up at 12:30 , went to sleep at 2 :20 and I am wondering when I shall wake him up now?
I don't want to repeat the monster time we had yesterday.:rolleyes:

Might wake him up at 6 pm, or is that too early??

Still not sure how long a 6 week old bubba should sleep!:confused:

Yesterday I really had problems waking him up, was already worried that he was sick.

well done jasie on the big sleep!!

cordu - as i am 3rd time mamma - i now have a rule in my house - that baby and any other babies to come, will sleep for as long as they wish, whenever they wish!!! (unless i have to run out of the house- which is when you keep your fingers crossed hoping he stays asleep while you transfer him to the car!!! lol) and i will now never dismiss the demand feeding thing, as i did with the first 2, (every 3-4 hours with them if they were alseep they were woken fed and then were welcome to sleep once again!!), now i feed when he wants and if that happends to be every hour at times than oviously hes hungry (or just after a suck - which i test first with a dummy- if he dont settle with that then he'll get the booby) i do work on a 3 hour "scheudual" which is not set in concrete, and that is normally howoftern he will cry for a feed (even wakes by himself! and i will feed him if he wakes - but doesnt cry and it has been 3 hours!).
so basically let um sleep - unless of course you have weight gain issues (in that case if you are told to feed every few hours i would do so) that is the actual reason why bubs was demand fed to begin with, he was feed as often as possable to gain weight (and casue he was only little and getting a full feed in one suck session was just to tiring for the poor boy!)

well i again am rambling!

and i have just spent the last hour with a screaming baby that i have not been able to settle (he just had a feed), and his dad walked thru the door took over and hes friggin shut up!!!!! horrid child!! just didnt like mummy this afternoon!

well sadly im off to hunt some more!

MW&S
07-02-2007, 18:39

Cordu: i agree with evryone else, let him sleep whatever he wants.

I have stressed about this too, but in the end im just letting her do what she wants in regard to sleeping. Its stressful trying to wake her.

She has been an angel sleeping this week. Sleeps alot during the day (FINALLY!) has her unsettled period from 8pm-12am then sleeps 12am-7am. I feel so refreshed!

So weird i got a baby shower invite yesterday that came w. a huge lolly bag! she has couried them to eeryone. Im talking HUGE like 500gms of lollies. hehe. just what i need for my weight watchers.

Im so not losing weight tho! opps..

Flutter: are u or your husband armenian? my hubby is and Armin is a popular armo name so just wondering..hehe

Z has her immunisation tommorow! hope it doesnt stuff her sleeping pattern.

:hugs: to all... xx

cordu68
07-02-2007, 22:35

thanks all for the advice. He woke up at 5 pm for a big feed and was basically awake until now, just had a short catnap in the car. After that he was very unsettled and
was on the milk bars for a long time.

Hope he stays asleep now, I 'm so tired!!

Hugs and settled bubs to all :hugs:

SammieSnail
07-02-2007, 22:39
Why did I get the baby that doesn't sleep through??
I am just so fed up....

Have been trying to change the 'routine' the past few nights, but nothing seems to be any different.
How much longer will this go on for? There is no way I can go to uni if I'm only sleeping a few hours a night....

Will start a diary tomorrow to track exactly when he eats and sleeps.
How many hours should a baby sleep for per 24hrs???

DH is p***ing me right off.... "How many hours sleep do you actually get a night?"..."Well I usually get to sleep around 5am....then up around 7:30-8:00am..."..."Oh yeah sure!"....
Whatever you moron...

Ahhhh thanks for listening, I feel much better. :o

Oh Cordu, Jason is just the cutest!!

Oh yes, someone mentioned (SSnail?) about too much stimulation in the night............ just thought I'd let you know that what's working for us is to have a disposable change mat (so it folds up small), a box of tissues and a couple of nappies next to our bed at night. I feed X sitting up in bed and then just change him on the bed in the light of the nightlight (it's not the most thorough clean up job!) to minimise disruption for him. Seems to work ok. Mind you I have got wee on the bed a couple of times......... but I was so tired I didn't even care! I can't believe the sorts of disgusting things I put up with now - ughhh!!

:laughing: Can relate to not even caring about stray bodily fluids every now and then.

I would love to change Kevin in our room but would rather have a screaming baby than a screaming DH....:banghead:

I think it was Sammie Snail that wanted to know how I work out sizes for the future? For next summer I am buying size 1, for six months time size 0. Then I normally work on a size a year so for a 2 year old I look at size 2's etc. My DD1 has a long back so she is wearing size 5 and 6 tops although she will be 4 next year but that sort of thing works itself out over time.

hmmm...rambling. tired. need sleep.

Hope all sleep well.

Thanks Draught.

Good to hear you can prepare yourself for the almighty poosplosion!

:hugs: Am so glad you are getting somewhere with Elijah

Thankfully I've joined the gym to combat this unstoppable hunger!!

Yes! ME ME! lol....
Only wish I had bottomless pockets to satisfy my bottomless stomach.
I read somewhere recently about how much extra energy breastfeeding takes up...can't remember.

I really can't be bothered eating most of the time, but due to the breastfeeding I try to force myself as I know Kevin will suffer if I don't.......ahhh slight hang-up.

Hugs to everyone else.

Sammie

Melo
07-02-2007, 22:44
Cordu: I hope that Jason sleeps well for you!

Sammie: It sounds like you need a big HUG! :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:. Hopefully Kevin sleeps for you tonight aswell!

Tea Lady
08-02-2007, 07:54
SSnail don't worry - my boy certainly doesnt' sleep through either. I don't think I've had more than 3 hrs sleep in a row for a long long time! I still think I'm getting more sleep than you though, you poor thing!
I remember with my DD that sometime before 10 weeks she'd started only having 1 feed a night - that was soooooo much more manageable! It shouldn't be too long before Keving settles down a bit for you. I hope it's soon :hugs:

Raven I'm so glad you're making some progress working out how to help Eli. I hope the Dr can figure out what's wrong so that you can do something for him. Take care of yourself :hugs:

Well I'm off to a 2 yr old birthday party today - should be fun! Our mum's group is taking it in turns having a party for each of the kids ...... just privately I think it's madness, but anyway:rolleyes: We're going to have a party every week for about 8 weeks!

Yesterday my morning bible study group started up again, so it was nice to go and catch up with those people too. There were a few other babies there too so it was nice mine wasn't the only one making noise!

I've realised though that if I do my groceries one morning, I"m now booked up 3 mornings per week, and every 4th week I have something on a 4th morning as well. It feels like a bit too much but I don't really want to drop anything. I'll see how I go I suppose. Doesn't look like I'll be going walking anytime soon though, and I need to lose some weight.

Uh oh, baby crying beter stop rambling.

Have a good day. :)

Nanay
08-02-2007, 08:07
I am just so fed up....

Mine doesnt sleep through either...he sleeps for about 2-5 hours a night then have to wake up for a feed... I'm lucky if its about 5 hours...right now he has a cold so he doesnt sleep well...I ended up sleeping in his room last night on the futon and him sleeping next to me...he wants mummy all the time at the moment ... thank goodness for the Moby poor thing doesnt even want to sleep in his own cot...

GraceUnhearing
08-02-2007, 08:25
I have just been put on antibiotics again for mastitis.
I had it once before on my right breast and now its in my left breast.
when I feed him I make sure he empties the breast out completely to try and help with (as tealady put it) my fire hydrant let down, so why is it happening again?

my boob is so sore!
I’ve tried massaging it when he’s feeding but it doesn’t seem to be doing anything. half of my boob is quite hard. and red.

I’m worried my milk is going to stop producing on that side and I don’t want to stop breast feeding my little man when he’s only 6 weeks old :(

GraceUnhearing
08-02-2007, 08:43
does anyone know of anything i can do apart from massaging my boob or taking panadol that will stop it hurting so much.

it hurts to touch it :(

im so annoyed and disapointed its happened again :(

OscarTheGrouch
08-02-2007, 09:42
I am just so fed up....

Have been trying to change the 'routine' the past few nights, but nothing seems to be any different.
How much longer will this go on for? There is no way I can go to uni if I'm only sleeping a few hours a night....

:hugs: to you Sammie. Sleep deprivation is awful. I'd say the majority of babies this young don't sleep through the night, so you're not alone. I felt as you do with DS#1, I was just so tired, exhausted and needed a good sleep. It will get better. He started sleeping through the night from 11 weeks old, which I thought was great. I'm lucky this time round as Josh started sleeping through from 3 weeks. It will get better.:hugs:

Tea Lady
08-02-2007, 09:47
Kellie, I haven't had mastitis myself, so I don't have too many ideas. I would strongly suggest ringing the ABA hotline though - if anyone knows anything it should be them :yes: If you don't know the number, it's on their website.

I do hope it improves soon :hugs:

Flutter
08-02-2007, 10:14
[QUOTE=Kimberly;1089698]

She has been an angel sleeping this week. Sleeps alot during the day (FINALLY!) has her unsettled period from 8pm-12am then sleeps 12am-7am. I feel so refreshed!

wow 12am-7am! Bliss.... lucky you Kimberly!

Flutter: are u or your husband armenian? my hubby is and Armin is a popular armo name so just wondering..hehe

I am actually German and it is a very popular name for the germans too, how interesting:)

Sabby
08-02-2007, 11:35

I posted this on another thread - general health issue. But just incase you gals don't get to see it, can you please help me.

Hope I can get some advice about this.

I think I may have developed nipple thrush. My baby has got white oral plaques in her tongue but she has had this since maybe 2 weeks old and we just brush her tongue and majority of it comes off.

But the other night I noticed my nipple was pinkish, dry (at times flaky) and was itchy. Is this thrush?

If it is, do I need to get antibiotics to treat it or is there just creams I can get fr the chemsit for me and my baby?

Sabby
08-02-2007, 11:43
What are her giveaways? It's interesting to hear all the things you are doing for the christening - Isla is having hers this Sunday and I am not doing giveaways (not sure what that is)? and I am not giving the godparents gifts they are giving Isla a gift. Funny how different cultures do things.

Giveaways are presents you give to your guests for coming. We are giving mini rosaries that you put on your wrists. We have 50 of them so had to print out small thank you gift cards attach it with curled the ribbon to the rosary.

The godparents will surely give her gifts but it's just a small token to say thank you for being a godparent to her. Just giving them a framed picture of her. Just need to wrap it then will attach a thank you poem and put a ribbon. That's about it. But doing 10 of it can take a while... Also finding a reasonable price frames.. some good ones cost about $10 - which means spending $100 just for the frames.. hmmm so much spending and I'm on unpaid maternity leave. Thank goodness for savings!

Sabby
08-02-2007, 12:01
I am just so fed up....

Don't worry it will get better. I didn't believe when people used to tell me that. When she was 4 weeks old I felt so upset bec I was so sleep deprived, now she is 12 weeks old she is sleeping much better at night. So don't worry, your baby is just trying to still get use to the world etc etc.

All babies are different I guess. But they say for babies birth to 6 weeks average sleep time is 18 hrs and 6 weeks to 3 months is 16 hrs.. Mine is averaging of 14 hrs sleep on a 24hr time. So that's below average but she is putting on weight and is growing so I'm not too worried if she doesn't sleep well during the day because she sleeps so well at night.

draught
08-02-2007, 13:06
I am just so fed up....

Don't worry - after DS sleeping through on two different occasions he hasn't repeated it. He does only wake once a night but my other two often wake too so I am up a lot in the middle of the night - but it will improve - promise!!

Kyan is constantly wheezing. He's always snored (loudly to hehee) but these last few days it sounds like there is liquid or something stuck in his throat.

It doesn't get better and doesn't get worse. It's just constant. It doesn't seem to worry him, but it worries me.

Could it be asthma? Both Brendon and I have asthma...

:confused:

Doctors are reluctant to diagnose asthma under about 6 months. If he is otherwise in good health then it is unlikely to be asthma. My DS has something similar and coughed a few really phlegmy coughs so I rushed him off to the doctors - they said he had a milk upper respiratory tract infection. It cleared within a day or so but he is still a very noisy, snorty breather at night time. I think it is because they are still learning about swallowing their own saliva etc. But - with all things - if you are worried, take him to the doctors!!

I think I may have developed nipple thrush. My baby has got white oral plaques in her tongue but she has had this since maybe 2 weeks old and we just brush her tongue and majority of it comes off.

But the other night I noticed my nipple was pinkish, dry (at times flaky) and was itchy. Is this thrush?

If it is, do I need to get antibiotics to treat it or is there just creams I can get fr the chemsit for me and my baby?

It is unlikely to be thrush if her spots are wiping off - my doctors have always said that a milky tongue is just because the baby doesn't produce a lot of saliva to clean their tongue - if it wipes off this is the case. IF it doesn't wipe off then it is thrush.

If it does turn out to be thrush then daktarin cream for her mouth and your nipple is the answer - bought from the chemist over the counter.

Before starting down that road I would try expressing some milk onto your nipple at the end of a feed and massaging it in a bit and letting it air dry - that will probably fix the problem if it isn't thrush.

Well - I spoke too soon about DS only doing his poosplosions (great word SammieS!!) once a day - he is back to twice a day....and I think that all the chocolate I have been eating while DH is away is having some affect.....they are not nice nappies:eek: . Time to cut down - for both our sakes!!

Not much else to report....would like DH to come home so I can have a sleep in one day - he will be home on the weekend so I am planning one for then!

StarMumma
08-02-2007, 14:10
I've offically entered the "bad mother's club"...

I don't know how it happened, but Kyan fell off my bed about an hour ago. I went to feed him and realised there was a huggee wasp in the room so I put Kyan on the bed ( a good metre from the edge) and was trying to get the wasp out... All the sudden Kyan lets out this almighty scream, and I turned to see him face down on the ground... I honestly dont know how the heck it happened.
I didn't think he could even move!

I've only just stopped crying. We've been having cuddles and watching TV. He's happy as Larry - but this just adds to my already "worst day ever"... :banghead:

He's only 6 weeks old and already, I've let my guard down enough for him to hurt himself.

Chrissy, don't beat yourself up for this - accidents happen (ie - my DS1's broken leg), and this is only the beginning of them! He's ok and is probably loving the extra Mummy time cuddles he's getting. RELAX - no one can predict what is going to happen. He's ok and you've now learnt he can move!

SammieSnail
08-02-2007, 15:58
Thanks Melo, Tea Lady, Jaundy, L&J's Mum, Sabby and Draught :hugs:...I have recovered from my winy mood lol :o

After complaining about Kevin's sleeping habits he actually slept from 2am to 7am this morning :smiliedance:

He had his needles on Tuesday....
Wasn't too bad, screamed for a second or two after the first, but for a few minutes after the second. Gave me a heart-breaking look of "Why are you letting them do this to me Mummy?"

He is now 5600g and 60cms...can't remember head circumference.
He was 3840g and 50.5cms born....
Gee they grow rapidly hey.

Tea Lady: Wow you sure are keeping yourself busy!
Ahhh baby weight....I keep procrastinating over getting out and walking.

Jaundy: I hope Braden's cold clears up quickly! I'm also leaning towards getting a sling as it seems impossible to get things done some days....

My_fallen_angel: Oh you poor thing, mastitis sucks. I've heard putting cooled cooled cabbage leaves on your boob can help. Someone even said to put some water on a disposable nappy and then freeze it, to be used the same way.
Nothing helped me, massaging etc, so I went to the physio for ultrasound treatment to shift the lump. I had to go back for three treatments. Maybe check with your Family Health clinic to see if they offer this service??

Sabby: When I had nipple thrush my nipple was pinkish, with whitish flaky/peeling skin (not dry) and I had shooting pains from my nipple inwards during a feed.
As Draught said, Daktarin which is available from the chemist will clear it up if it is thrush.

Draught: Thank you, poosplosion sounded fitting!
Hope you get your sleep-in this weekend.

Chrissy: Don't worry, Kyan is a tough bub! He will be fine, at least you now know that he can move around like that.
I bumped Kevin's head on the car door the other day... was freaking thinking I'd given him brain damage or something :o

Melo
08-02-2007, 16:05
Huge :hugs: to you Chrissy! Accidents happen, I remember when Jacob first fell of the bed we felt SO terrible! (He ended up doing it again 2 weeks later :o).

Sammie - :thumbsup: for Kevins weight! Good to hear that the needles werent too bad!

Tea Lady
08-02-2007, 19:35
Well - I spoke too soon about DS only doing his poosplosions (great word SammieS!!) once a day - he is back to twice a day....and I think that all the chocolate I have been eating while DH is away is having some affect.....they are not nice nappies:eek: . Time to cut down - for both our sakes!!

Not much else to report....would like DH to come home so I can have a sleep in one day - he will be home on the weekend so I am planning one for then!

I'm sure babies do that on purpose..... try to con you that they're in some great pattern, then WHAMMO!! Why does it have to be yummy things like chocolate that they react to? Very unfair!

I admire you so much coping with your DH being away so often. My DH was late home last night and it was chaos!! I can't imagine what I'd do if he wasnt' coming home at all.

After complaining about Kevin's sleeping habits he actually slept from 2am to 7am this morning :smiliedance:

Woo Hoo :smiliedance: THat's great!

I'm glad his needles went ok - I'm dreading Xanders! Much better than actually getting any of the diseases though!

Chrissy try not to stress - I'm sure Kyan will be fine. They sure know how to give you a fright though don't they!

Better run :)

cordu68
08-02-2007, 21:07

I just need to whinge...

is it normal that when you think everything is going fine, everything else is falling apart all of a suddden.:gloomy:
Today after our 6 week check up (we are both fine !)
and mother's group I just wanted to catch up on sleep as i was tired but hey Jasie didn't want to go to sleep or settle down.
At 5 pm he woke up and until now he was crying on and off.

I gave him so many feeds as he was permantly hungry, I didn't count them, I tried to put him in the sling , he didn't like it. I put him in the rocker also no success, DP was settling him a bit but always we tried to put him into the snuggle bed he cried.

Well after a very long time on his favourite boob I put him to sleep and rock him and soothe him until he fell asleep.

Today after dinner and argument with DP who has even more stress at the moment , as he applying for a job interstate where the deadline is tomorrow , I started for the first time really to cry and feeling depressed.
Is that normal that I'm feeling like that after 6 weeks without a 6 hours sleep without a break I feel so knackered.I just don't want to get PND, as I love my son and feels most of the time very happy.

Thanks for listening..

SammieSnail , great that Kevin slept 5 hours during the night, hope this continues for you and that he might even sleep longer!!

My_fallen_angel hope you'will recover from mastitis very soon.

I'm sorry I'm too tired, can't think of more personals.

Hugs and settled bubs to all :hugs:

cordu68
09-02-2007, 05:59
Good morning ladies:wave:

life looks much better today as Jasie has slept 7.5 hours last night! Just wanted an early morning feed and is back to sleep.

To all cloth ladies.
Would you recommend the baby beehind hemp nappies?
I can get some for a cheap ($14 each ) and get some bamboo ones too. A girl from mother's group recommended to use a bamboo liners with the hemp ones.

Catch up with you all later!!:hugs:

draught
09-02-2007, 07:19
Cordu

Yay for a better night. Sounds like Jason was going through the classic 6 week phase of being unsettled and wanting to be permanently attached to the breast - hope it passes quickly for you!

The baby beehind hemp are good- especially at that price! I find the bamboo more absorbant and my DS is a huge wetter but I do use the hemp on him too and haven't had any dramas yet - they just don't last as long as the bamboo. At that price I would buy them and give them a go - there is always a good resale market on the forum if you decide that you don't like them!

angel_one
09-02-2007, 08:06

I don't know how it happened, but Kyan fell off my bed about an hour ago. I went to feed him and realised there was a huggee wasp in the room so I put Kyan on the bed ( a good metre from the edge) and was trying to get the wasp out... All the sudden Kyan lets out this almighty scream, and I turned to see him face down on the ground... I honestly dont know how the heck it happened.

I've only just stopped crying. We've been having cuddles and watching TV. He's happy as Larry - but this just adds to my already "worst day ever"... :banghead:

He's only 6 weeks old and already, I've let my guard down enough for him to hurt himself.

dont stress chrissy, we all have experiences like that, i know my little sister rolled off (granted she was about 1) a bed and fell face first to the floor and had an imprint of the tile (funny design) on her forhead for a bruse!!,
so i take it you have a mover on your hands!!!! must remember to stick a pillow either side of him if you leave him like that again (please bear in mind, my baby can roll fomr his belly to his back and i still forget this and leave him on the couch on his belly!! - so im just as bad!) oh oh oh no even better, in one day, i left him sitting on couch with my 1 year old ds, (who can now climb the couch) running around!!! so im bad!!! lol

but never mind, they will all fall of something eventually, and scare the **** out of you, (especially when they go head first of a play gym and the first dumb thing mummy does and runs over and picks her up - can you guess how much trouble i got in to from my dh - who is a first aid officer, for picking her up!!!!- what if she had a neck injury???? - and he wasnt even there!!!!!) anyway, the fun we have with our babes!

Melo
09-02-2007, 08:47
Good luck with the move Chrissy!! :hugs:

Nanay
09-02-2007, 09:22
I was always wondering why DH would only hold DS a short amount of time when he's awake and playful before giving him back to me...I thought it was because he would rather be back on his computer as fast as possible, I was actually already getting frustrated with this as I want a bit more time to do stuff around the house and he wont hold him for long...Last night i finally said why dont you want to hold him longer i need to do stuff around the house..he told me that he gets scared when DS bops his head. :rolleyes: Which reminded me of my dad who doesnt hold babies until they could sit up by themselves (have complete control of their heads). I kept telling him last night how can you be scared of this little thing..and he replied to me that that little thing is a monster in disquise (DS did not want to sleep no matter what we tried).
When I did finally get him to the cot, he would cry so I ask DH to give him his dummy...I cringed when he went in to the baby's room and basically in a loud voice talked to the baby...instead of putting the baby back to sleep, he's actually woken him up:eek:
Oh well, at least now I know that him not holding DS is not a matter not wanting to spend time with him, its a matter of him being scared, when DS grows up a bit he will have to take a more active role I suppose.

GraceUnhearing
09-02-2007, 10:08
good luck with the move Chrissy i hope everything works out!
And you have a great fresh start with Kyan!

GraceUnhearing
09-02-2007, 10:38
coudu get the hemp ones for that price.
i find them alright but the bamboo so much more absorbant. you can try using the hemp liner or the bamboo liners every bub is different see what works with Jason. Or you could always just boost them by using both :)

i use the hemp one during the day, but bamboo or Green kids during the night.

cordu68
09-02-2007, 12:01
coudu get the hemp ones for that price.
i find them alright but the bamboo so much more absorbant. you can try using the hemp liner or the bamboo liners every bub is different see what works with Jason. Or you could always just boost them by using both :)

i use the hemp one during the day, but bamboo or Green kids during the night.

Cordu

Yay for a better night. Sounds like Jason was going through the classic 6 week phase of being unsettled and wanting to be permanently attached to the breast - hope it passes quickly for you!

The baby beehind hemp are good- especially at that price! I find the bamboo more absorbant and my DS is a huge wetter but I do use the hemp on him too and haven't had any dramas yet - they just don't last as long as the bamboo. At that price I would buy them and give them a go - there is always a good resale market on the forum if you decide that you don't like them!

Thanks draught for your support, I hope it is soon over as I was so exhausted last night when he didn't start crying and was hanging on my boobs non stop.
Is that the growth spurt.

Thanks for your opinions draught and my_fallen_angel :hugs: about the bb hemp nappies.
I'm getting 13 hemp and 3 bamboo ones , yeah!!!

I also had a scary moment when Jason had tummy time in his jungle gym when he was 2 weeks old and all of a sudden his head bumped on the mat which was lying just on the wooden floor as he turned himself around. He started crying and I was so worried the whole week-end that he might have a concussion or a brain haemorrhage (sp?).
I don't really know how he did it , but now the activity gym mat is lying on a rug and the cot quilt is lying on it too, so it is padded and soft in case it happens again.

Don't blame yourself and good that he is not hurt seriously.Good luck with your move up the mountains!

This morning I got the biggest reward what a mum can get. I got the cutest smile from Jasie and I captured it with my new webcam by accident. I was melting away, oh so cute!!
I will edit the video and post the link to share it with you all.

Melo
09-02-2007, 15:38
Aw how cute Cordu! :). I got a cute photo of Ava this morning with her brother..

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture082.jpg
The size difference:
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture110.jpg

OscarTheGrouch
09-02-2007, 15:53
Was just thinking about the Due in December group and wondering about jacki and *Lauren*. Does anyone know hey they are?

Melo
09-02-2007, 15:55
Nope and Clarebear is missing too!

Taddy
09-02-2007, 16:00
I haven't heard or seen from them either along with ClareBear. :detective: Hope they are doing alright?

Taddy
09-02-2007, 16:17
I thought that I might share some pics of my 2 boys and I am warning you know there also is one of me and Sean bit scary I know.

Sean & Mummy
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/8Feb07039.jpg
Sean So Happy
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/8Feb07036.jpg
Jayden & Sean
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/8Feb07033.jpg
Goofy Smiles
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/8Feb07037.jpg

Well there they are.

Melo- Ava looks so big. In a good way. What was she at birth?

GraceUnhearing
09-02-2007, 16:22
Was just thinking about the Due in December group and wondering about jacki and *Lauren*. Does anyone know hey they are?

yeah we are missing a few here.
maybe they dont know this thread is here.
maybe send them a pm or something with a link to this thread?

Melo
09-02-2007, 16:39
Melo- Ava looks so big. In a good way. What was she at birth?

Gorgeous photos Taddy!

Ava was 7 pounds 8 ounces (3.4kg) at birth, and was 5 weeks yesterday (:eek! Already!!). At 4 weeks she weighed 4.4kg, so i'm guessing shes either at or over 5kg. Will find out next Wednesday!

cordu68
09-02-2007, 20:34

thanks Melo :)

Ava is gorgeousand I love the pic of the size difference.:yes:

Great pictures Taddy and not scary at all!!

I am a bit nervous, I just purchased the nappies from a private source which will cost me $245 and they will be sent to me from Perth. I haven't told DP yet and he won't be happy!
Hope they will arrive, I asked for registered post!

I am just trying another settling method by patting him while he is laying on his side and saying "shh shh" while he is crying. Well he calmed down with shh (amazing) and patting and seems to sleep now. He still cries himself into his sleep but as I must admit normally I wait longer until I attend him.

Hope we all will have settled bubs tonight.:wizard:

I wonder what Clarebear and Lauren and Jacki is doing? Hope they and their bubbas are all well!

Hugs to all!!:hugs:

cordu68
10-02-2007, 06:45
Morning girls:wave:

hope you all had settled bubbas and could catch up on sleep.

Jasie was last evening on the milkbars until 0:30 am , he always woke up crying. I tried patting him saying sh, sh sh but we ended up twice again at the milk bar.

Oh well we both slept until 7 am so I don't complain.

Enjoy your week-end

Hugs to all !! :hugs:

aggero
10-02-2007, 08:22
hi all just a very very quick note as DS is already crying to be picked up :banghead: but just wanted to let you know I am still around and checking in as much as I can. DS is still very demanding, feeding every 2hrs during the day and every 3hrs at night so not alot of time in between feeds to do anything. Gotta got the noise has increased :rolleyes: Stay well everyone :wave:

family_wish
10-02-2007, 08:53
Good morning

Just writing to say that I am still around. I seem to have lots of problems getting onto Bubhub lately...then I write posts and they disappear - or it jams...(wonder if this post will get through)..

Scared to write too much because it might be a waste of time..

Ok...here goes...about to press the submit reply button...:fingerscrossed:

family_wish
10-02-2007, 08:53
Wow...it actually worked!!!:party:

draught
10-02-2007, 13:30
A quick post from me to say that I met two beautiful babies from this thread last night - TeaLady's X and Oscar'smum's Isla - they are quite divine!!! And beautifully behaved at dinner - as was Oscar! O'smum - I am very much in awe of you - to bring the two of them to dinner, have them both asleep and be so calm and together - you are doing a fantastic job!!! I hadn't realised that you would both be at dinner and it was so lovely to see you both and your babies!! You will be pleased to know that DS slept all the way home and transferred to his bed without waking....and I didn't have nightmares about rats!

Hope everyone else is well. I need to go and spend time with my little people so won't type much!

Tea Lady
10-02-2007, 15:25
Aww thanks Draught! Your little (not so little!) man was pretty handsome as well, I thought! I'm glad he wasn't any trouble through the night either - that's always the risk of a night out, isn't it? Xander slept pretty well too although poor DH was waiting up for me (I would have gone home earlier if I'd known) so he's exhausted today!

I agree - top marks to O's mum. What a chilled out couple of kids you have (not to mention cute!):yes: I thought you looked fantastic as well.

Cordu - sounds like you're onto something with that shh-ing. I hope it keeps working!

F_W - isn't that annoying. I've lost entire posts in the past too and I wasn't impressed!

Aggero - I hope things settle down soon. I'm glad you're able to at least keep up with the news :)

Sorry I haven't had time to look at the latest photos .... will check them out later!

Which reminds me, I don't think I ever told you how stunning you looked in your photo Draught. :D

draught
10-02-2007, 17:05
Ah TL - love your work!:D
Thanks!!

OscarTheGrouch
10-02-2007, 17:36
Here's the latest of Josh. He looks very much like his Mummy..........

andrewsmum
10-02-2007, 17:37
Hi, I've been catching up on all your posts!!

Also, trying to read up on babies with flat heads, as Hayden seems to have developed a flat head on one side. I didn't really notice it until the other day but it's quite obvious. I knew he preferred to sleep on his left side but didn't realise that it was full-time sleeping on that side. So after reading up on the net, I am a bit scared of him maybe needing a helmet, shortened neck muscles, physiotherapy etc. I have already changed sides in the cot but he still prefers to sleep on his left. I also try to move his head physically but it always returns back to the left side. Will bring it up at the next paed visit on the 22nd Feb, but make sure your bub gets tummy time, both my babies hate it with a passion though.

No time for personals, so hope you are all well.

sexy_lexie
10-02-2007, 21:22
Hello everyone, Im Jamie and I have a beautiful baby girl, born the 27th of dec.. I am a 1st time mum looking for sahms to start a mums group in the clayfield brisbane area. If anyone is interested pm, me.. have a good and safe one mummies..:thumbsup:

cordu68
11-02-2007, 12:24
Good arvo mums'n bubs:wave:

Jamie, welcome to the Dec thread forum and congrats on your baby girl!! Looking foward to getting to know you!

Hope all mum's and bubs are doing well!!

andrewsmum sorry to hear thay Hayden might have a flathead.Hope he doesn't need a helmet.
At the beginning I was also concerned that Jasie would just sleep on one side.Since he is in the snuggle bed he sleeps changing the sides.

aggero good to hear from you and that you are doing fine. You must be quite exhausted feeding your bub every two hours during the day and every 3 hours at night. I was yesterday as Jasie demanded boob every 2 hours , normally he doesn't

Jasie is doing fine, last night the same 'fight' as usual, but at 10 pm he finally fell asleep until 4:30 am this morning and then he slept from 6 until 9:30 am again and me too ;)
Yesterday he was on the milk bar almost every 2 hours. I suppose this is the growth spurt?

Hugs to all:hugs:

AnnaC
11-02-2007, 12:35
HI All,

Cordu- Yes sounds like Jasie is having a growth spurt, James has been the same wanting to feed every 2 hours day and night the last few days, its so exhausting as im hardly getting any sleep!

Jamie- Wish i was in your area to join a mothers group, the one near me doesnt start til mid march

Andrews Mum- Are you able to use rolled up towels or a wedge to change Haydens position? I hope the paed is able to give you some answers

L & Js Mum- Love the photo

cordu68
12-02-2007, 07:33
Cordu- Yes sounds like Jasie is having a growth spurt, James has been the same wanting to feed every 2 hours day and night the last few days, its so exhausting as im hardly getting any sleep!

Oh also during the night , that sounds exhausting!!

Last night he slept 8 hours, I didn't even wake up to check on him , well I slept only until 6:30 pm, he an hour longer.
We had a bit of a monster evening.
He slept in the sling and in the rocker when it doesn't rock.
As last resource we wanted to give him a bath but he slept on the change table after I gave him a top up feed. He still got his bath , grizzled a bit but slept then safe and sound

Hope you all had quite and long sleeping nights!!

12-02-2007, 09:36
Okay - as promised - a photo of the Moby with baby wrapped up in it - not the most flattering photo of the wearer but as I don't normally post photos of myself at all none of you are to know that anyway!
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i2...0/P1040004.jpg

Draught you look really good in the pic - and the sling looks quite comfortable too. ;)

12-02-2007, 09:41
Draught and Tea Lady it was wonderful to see you both the other night - we all have absolute angel children don't we:yes:

Draught - glad there were no nightmares about the rats though;)

Tea Lady - you forgot to show me that nappy:( Will have to catch up sometime soon again. Also a little while ago you posted a link about breastfeeding and how it was normal for a bub to take one side etc, I forgot to bookmark the site can you please post it again?

cordu68
12-02-2007, 10:23
Monring ladies :wave:

I just need to whinge...

I was just on my way to mother's group on foot (as DP has the car), happy that it finally stopped rainig and the sun was shining.

Haha, I didn't come very far, a very heavy rainpour made me soaking wet so I had to return to change cloth.
Jasie looked also quite stunned and I had to hurry up to swap the sunshade to the raincover on the pram.
I ended up going home and I didn't feel like trying it again so no mother's group for me today. :(

Oh well at least it is raining again so I know why I stayed at home.

Might go sleeping as Jasie is sleeping in the rocker, no rocking of course.

kYlEe_22
12-02-2007, 10:49
hey there well i havent been on here for ages....... but i had my dd maddyson on dec 5th 2006 my msn is kylee_adam_joshy_maddy@hotmail.com if anyone wants to add me and chat...... any other mum with bubs born 5th dec????

Nanay
12-02-2007, 10:55
Morning..or is it afternoon to all...
Nothing much to say here except that DS is getting over or I think he has gotten over his cold. He is still sneezing but nothing comes out now so I think hes done. I caught his cold this weekend and DH caught it yesterday...lets just say he was not happy jan.
But mine seemed to have cleared up...after a bag of peppermints (i had a bit of a sore throat as well) so hopefully DH's clear up fast too...he has started taking Night/Day tablets though...lucky for him he can take stuff for his ailments, while I'm trying to be good and not take any drugs so bub's wont get it in the milk..although I know panadol/panadiene is alright to take.

DS is asleep right now..so back to filling out immigration papers for me...hopefully i get my permanent residence ... finally after three years of living in limbo in the land down under...

Sabby
12-02-2007, 11:00
Chelsea is due to wake up any minute now so just a quick one.

Yes do have nipple thrush and using Nilstat drop to treat her and then also I apply it on my nipple. It has improved a little. Draught - with Daktarin can I BF her without having to wipe it off first. Thinking of using it it this Nilstat doesn't work.

Andrew's_mum - Chelsea also has the same thing - flat head and on the right side where she only sleeps. I have rolled blanket on each her side and what I've been doing is putting her down slightly sideways and then tilting her head to the left so she is lying on her left side. Then I put folded face towel on her right side so she can't put her head that side. She hated it at first and would wake up bit with persistant she is slowly getting used to it. So her head is looking a but better now, but still very flat on the back. I'm too scared to put her to sleep on her belly due to SIDS. So I'd rather she has a flat head than anything happening to her. So her sleeping slightly on her side, I'm more comfortable with.

Cordu - so nice to hear you go to Mother's group. I've been meaning to do it but somehow my plans always get changed. Hopefully I can go next month after her christening.

GCK - hopefully things is getting better with James. The growth spurt will pass.. but I do hate those days because they are so unsettled.

sexy_lexie - Welcome to the thread

Nanay (previously Jaundy?) - Are you filipino? Because Nanay stands for mother in our language.

Well hope everyone have a lovely day today.

After her feed might have a shower during her playtime. She loves just sitting there on her rocker next to the shower where I can see her. I smell like overdue breast milk! :laughing:

Might have maggi noodles for lunch - healthy ha! But with this rainy weather nice to just have a soupy meal.

Oh also I've changed the radio station in her bedroom to the Classic FM... so she's been listening to mozart and those kind of music this morning. Apparently stimulates babies brain and makes them smart ?!? It might make me smart too as I've been listening to it through the baby monitor :laughing:

Mrs Dolphin
12-02-2007, 11:53
Hi Everyone!

Kylie_22 - Hey there :wave: My DD was born on the 5th December too!! Leah was born at 5.09pm (Perth time) - what time and where was your DD born?

Nanay - sorry to hear your family has been unwell...hope you are all better really soon!

Cordu68 - Sometimes it is easier to just stay home and try again next week isn't it!! I think I would have done the same!

L&J's Mum - Love the photo - very cute!

Leah has a bit of a flat head too...she sleeps too much with her head to her left...we have turned her around in her cot and try to do little exercises to turn her head but not sure if it is helping. Have to ask CHN next week. We tried putting a rolled up towel so she wouldn't turn her head to the left but she ends up turning her head anyway and then her face is turned into the towel and i worry it will stop her breathing so have stopped doing that.

Well had a pretty good weekend...It was my birthday on Saturday so DH and I stayed overnight Friday night at a hotel in Fremantle and DH took me out to dinner at a very nice restaraunt while my mum looked after Leah. It was really nice to spend some time alone with DH but we both missed Leah and so by Saturday lunchtime we were glad to come home to her and we were greeted with big smiles!

Since Leah slept through for 12hours last week she hasn't done that again but is sleeping for at least 6-7 hours straight at night so still can't complain. Last night she went down about 6.30pm slept to 10pm had a bottle then slept to 5am this morning.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

GraceUnhearing
12-02-2007, 12:05
happybirthday mrs dolphin

i was just reading a test they did on dummies. any one who uses NUK dummies should read it. or any dummy for that matter.

its quite scary that they are allowed on the market!

click here for the results of the test (http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=105548&catId=100512&tid=100008&p=1&title=Test%3a+Danger+dummies+still+available)

kYlEe_22
12-02-2007, 12:16
Hey There Miss Dolphin My Lil Girl Was Born 4:03pm At Hawkesbury Hospital In Windsor ,nsw:) Do U Have Msn Hun?

Nanay
12-02-2007, 12:30
Nanay (previously Jaundy?) - Are you filipino? Because Nanay stands for mother in our language.

Yes i'm a filipino...that's why i chose that name... hehehe...

Mrs. Dolphin - thank you..hoep we do too...

DS has his vaccination on Wednesday hopefully he'll be well enough to travel to NZ on Friday or even be well enough to be vaccinated...he does not have a temperature or anything so he should be...

RavenDancer
12-02-2007, 12:36
well tomorrow is the ultrasound to test if little man has reflux, and I was reading ur post sabby about the white stuff inside chelseas mouth and eli has it too, so I duno if I should book into see the doctor again, to show him or wait till we go to the pediatrist.

The only problem with eli is he refuses to sleep during the day, its like 20 mins here 10 mins there, the moment i put him in his bed within 5 mins hes awake and crying, if I want him to sleep i have to hold him! my shoulders are suffering because of it lol, I cant get anything done during the day except sit on the couch! lol and i hate that day in day out

i hope im not the only one with an insomniac child lol

Mrs Dolphin
12-02-2007, 12:40
Kylie_22 - yeah i do have msn - my email is mrz_dolfin@hotmail.com... not on there alot ATM but will add you in and try to log in more!

Would love to chat to you!

Thanks My Fallen Angel!

kYlEe_22
12-02-2007, 12:41
ok no worried will chat to u soon!!!! .... what is ur dd's name?

just read back up ^^ (leah) .......:)

Nanay
12-02-2007, 13:13
The only problem with eli is he refuses to sleep during the day, its like 20 mins here 10 mins there, the moment i put him in his bed within 5 mins hes awake and crying, if I want him to sleep i have to hold him! my shoulders are suffering because of it lol, I cant get anything done during the day except sit on the couch! lol and i hate that day in day out

i hope im not the only one with an insomniac child lol

My DS was like that...for some reason he isnt at the moment..he just turned 8 weeks today ... and he's being good for mumma so far. But I can sympathize...For me its not my arm, but my back..I actually resorted to buying a Moby wrap, but he'll only stay in it for an hour tops even then he doesnt like his head to be in the wrap so I still have to support it with one hand...I have a CHN check up for him in a couple of days, I wouldnt be surprised if he's gained another 600g as that seems to be his pattern the past few times...
How is he during the night though? DS wakes up twice during the "night periods"...at 1/2am and at 4/5 am...i'm hoping this will go longer as he gets older...

andrewsmum
12-02-2007, 13:24
Andrews Mum- Are you able to use rolled up towels or a wedge to change Haydens position? I hope the paed is able to give you some answers

We tried putting a rolled up towel so she wouldn't turn her head to the left but she ends up turning her head anyway and then her face is turned into the towel and i worry it will stop her breathing so have stopped doing that.

Doing that rolled up towel thingy already :no: He, like Leah, ends up wriggling a little outwards and still puts his head on that side. I've just come back from the ECHN and she didn't appear too concerned as he's under 12mths old. But will still get paed to double check for me.

Their stats are:
Hayden - 5.9kg and 60cm
Jake - 5.1kg and 58.5cm

All is well and good. :thumbsup:

AnnaC
12-02-2007, 15:03
Well ive just spent 1.5 hours trying to get James to go to sleep wrap, cot , dummy, swing, lullabies and finally i put on Bon Jovi (quite loud) and hes gone to sleep lol its really strange was listening to the CD quite a lot while pregnant and now he loves it puts him to sleep nearly every time, i put on Robbie Williams and he screamed :laughing:

Andrewsmum- Sounds like your boys are growing well

Raven Dancer- As you can see from my post, James isnt a good day sleeper either!

OscarTheGrouch
12-02-2007, 15:13
Well ive just spent 1.5 hours trying to get James to go to sleep wrap, cot , dummy, swing, lullabies and finally i put on Bon Jovi (quite loud) and hes gone to sleep lol its really strange was listening to the CD quite a lot while pregnant and now he loves it puts him to sleep nearly every time, i put on Robbie Williams and he screamed :laughing:

Considering Robbie's history with a couple of Kiwi models I find that hard to believe.:laughing:

RavenDancer
12-02-2007, 15:25
How is he during the night though? DS wakes up twice during the "night periods"...at 1/2am and at 4/5 am...i'm hoping this will go longer as he gets older...

he goes down bout 10pm sleeps till 3-4ish then wakes bout 6-7 most nights so hes not bad but my days feel like they are repeating over and over

family_wish
12-02-2007, 15:30
Here's the latest of Josh. He looks very much like his Mummy..........

L&Js mum - just went to look at your photo of Josh and you have removed it because "nobody seems interested"....:thumbsdown: - I am!!!:) Its quite funny because you have the doggy picture there now!!!:p

Hi everyone...

Bye - Ella is screaming..........:eek:

draught
12-02-2007, 17:18
A quick post - my normally incredible sleeper has slept for a total of about 45 minutes today. He would normally have slept for about 6 or 7 hours by now! he has just fed all day - I suspect this is the beginning of the 12 week growth spurt. Just hope it doesn't happen tomorrow as I am rostered on as mother's help at pre-school for the first time and he will be coming with me!
Better go - he is awake again after being down for 7 minutes.

RaryGirl
12-02-2007, 21:06
Hello Everyone

I haven't been on here for ages - been trying to settle in with my little man - so I'm sorry but I haven't caught up with were everyone is at.

We seem to be in some sort of routine at the moment (thank goodness) he goes to bed around 8pm and wakes between 2 and 3 for a snack (feeds for about 10 minutes and goes straight back to sleep), then wakes around 5:30-6:30am for a good feed and dozes off again around 7:30am for an hour (as I had to drop DD off at school) - feeds again around 9am and goes to sleep till 12-1pm. The afternoon is nanna naps (10 minutes here, 30 minutes there) and feeds every 2 hours but that's not too bad cause he has such a good morning. The only way Sam will sleep for any length of time is on his tummy - which frightened me at first, but the Dr told me that some babies are just tummy sleepers and there is nothing I could do to change that.

At the end of Jan we went for a weeks holiday up to Fraser Island and DS was a dream baby. Travelled really well, slept beautifully and even enjoyed his first swim at the beach. Wouldn't have even known there was a baby in the house. Same couldn't be said for DD who on her first swim got stung by a blue bottle - poor thing was miserable. But it didn't stop her swimming the next day.

Here's a couple of photos of my little man on holidays.

Cheeky Baby
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h40/nic71/My%20Little%20Man/?action=view&current=cheekybaby.jpg

Grinning at Dad
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h40/nic71/My%20Little%20Man/?action=view&current=samlaughingemailsize.jpg

Exhausted after a swim
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h40/nic71/My%20Little%20Man/?action=view&current=121_0215.jpg

I must admit I'm a lot calmer and more relaxed this time around, but it is easier with a calm baby and I'm enjoying my time with Sam.

I hope everyone else is doing well and enjoying their bubs.

family_wish
13-02-2007, 07:02
Cute photos Nic :yes: He is lovely!

OscarTheGrouch
13-02-2007, 07:12
Lovely photos Nic, he's got a great smile!!!:yes:

Tea Lady
13-02-2007, 07:43
Tea Lady - you forgot to show me that nappy:( Will have to catch up sometime soon again. Also a little while ago you posted a link about breastfeeding and how it was normal for a bub to take one side etc, I forgot to bookmark the site can you please post it again?

Arrrrgh I know!! It was taking up half my nappy bag too!! I had your eenee thingy to give back too - d'oh!!

How was your social extravaganza on Sunday? I'm so sorry we couldn't be there - I was thinking of you and I hope you had a lovely day.

The bf article is here (http://www.lalecheleague.org/NB/LVSepOct95p69aNB.html). Xander is still nearly always just having the one side and he's not exactly dying of malnutrition! :laughing:

A quick post - my normally incredible sleeper has slept for a total of about 45 minutes today.

Yikes! I'm glad to see you still have your priorities right and had some bubhub time even with an unsettled baby ;) I hope he catches up today and you have fun at preschool.

Hello Everyone

I haven't been on here for ages - been trying to settle in with my little man - so I'm sorry but I haven't caught up with were everyone is at.

We seem to be in some sort of routine at the moment (thank goodness)

Hi Nic!! It's really wierd - I was just thinking about you yesterday and wondering how you were.... spooky! Your photos are really great!

I sure hope my little man gets himself in a pattern like Sam's soon! That must be great!

Raven I hope you get some answers from Eli's appointment. Bummer about the day sleeping hey? My DD was the same so I can sympathise. I survived by sitting on the couch with her and watching ots of DVDs and getting into the Bill again.... must have been desperate!!

Well I"m exhausted ..... had the most busy day yesterday. Won't bore you with the all details, but amongst everything else I had to get X to the hospital for his hearing screen (yes, he can hear - which I already knew!) and then got home to a GRUMPY toddler who'd overslept and my DH didn't get home till really late and then X didn't go to sleep until late. He woke up at 4:30 and I've only had a bit of sleep since then.

Ok whinge over.

Have a great day everyone!

cordu68
13-02-2007, 08:23
Gorgeous little bubba Nic71, great that your doing so well!

RaryGirl
13-02-2007, 09:32
Hi Nic!! It's really wierd - I was just thinking about you yesterday and wondering how you were.... spooky! Your photos are really great!

You probably felt my guilty vibes for not being on here! lol. I started work again in Jan, so when I wasn't working I spent as much time as possible with DD and DS and was exhausted by the end of the day so bubhub didn't get a look in - need to get my priorities right hey. :laughing:

But with school going back work has quietened down a bit and I have time to myself when Sam is asleep, so Bubhub here I come. :yelclap:

Great article on breastfeeding. I've finally got the hang of breastfeeding - after really wanting to give up ages ago. The only thing that kept me going was our holiday to Fraser - no microwave/kettle, so everything had to be boiled on the stove which just sounded like to much work. :rolleyes: So I preserved through the pain and discomfort and have finally got there. I can even express a good amount for the feeds when I'm working.

Raven I hope your Dr appointment goes well and you have some answers.

Andrew's mum - your bubs are thriving! How are you going with twins? It must be fantastic with double the grins and cuddles.

Suppose I better go and do some housework before Sam wakes up.

Have a great day everyone!

RavenDancer
13-02-2007, 10:34
well the ultrasound came back normal! so he doesnt have reflux so I puzzeled as to whats wrong with my little guy, he seems so unhappy, he doesnt smile like all your beautiful babies, if hes not feeding hes crying, he just seems so unhappy, so im so unsure as to what is wrong with him makes me feel like a bad mum when hes so unhappy all the time, am i not doing something right, i hate being so confused. :(

RaryGirl
13-02-2007, 10:48
RavenDancer - sending :hugs: your way, it's so hard when they can't tell you what is wrong.

OscarTheGrouch
13-02-2007, 11:07
family_wish - How's Ella going?

Nanay
13-02-2007, 11:09
Raven -:hugs:

Hopefully you find out whats wrong with him soon..you are not a bad mum from what i could gather you have done everything in your power to find out whats wrong with bubs...

cordu68
13-02-2007, 11:39
well the ultrasound came back normal! so he doesnt have reflux so I puzzeled as to whats wrong with my little guy, he seems so unhappy, he doesnt smile like all your beautiful babies, if hes not feeding hes crying, he just seems so unhappy, so im so unsure as to what is wrong with him makes me feel like a bad mum when hes so unhappy all the time, am i not doing something right, i hate being so confused. :(

Glad he doesn't have reflux!!
Maybe he has a growth spurt at the moment. and he is crying because he has growing bone pain.
DOes he feed vey often.

Jasie also cries sometimes bitterly and I'm not sure why...I assume it hasd something to do with the growth spurt.

Don't blame yourself , you are not as bad mum at all.

Hugs to you and Eljah and hope he will get better soon.:hugs:

MW&S
13-02-2007, 13:29
hi everyone,

Ravendancer huge :hugs: to you. I can imaine how frustrating it must be. I know Zara will really only sleep during the day if we go out and she is in the pram or the sling. Hang in there!! It will end one day!! (my mil says my dh was like this too, and he turned out to be a very happy toddler)

nic71 good to see u on here. Glad everything is going well.

TL hope u get some rest today! :yes:

Ok im so annoyed i bought a 240$ medela breast pump and its broken!! im going out to lunch and leaving z w. dh for 3hrs on sudnay so hope 100mls of milk will be enough. ill feed her just b4 i go.

will be first time away from Z. Im so scared but excited!!! hehe..
ok Z is screaming playtime must be over...

Tea Lady
13-02-2007, 13:33
I'm so sorry you're feeling down Raven :( :hugs: Some babies do just cry heaps even if there's nothing actually "wrong" with them, but I know it's not much comfort to you if Eli is one of them. I can't remember if you said you were having a pediatrician appt for him as well as the u/s - maybe that would be something to consider if you didn't already go.

You're definitely not a bad mum, and he's not crying because of anything you've done / not done. I hope it gets easier soon :hugs:

Glad you enjoyed the article Nic! Wow - it really sounds like you've got it together ... back at work already! :yelclap:

Kimberly - thanks! I'm about to go and have a lie down now.

RaryGirl
13-02-2007, 14:09
Glad you enjoyed the article Nic! Wow - it really sounds like you've got it together ... back at work already! :yelclap:

Work is not by choice - I'm self employed, so if the business is to survive I have to work, but I'm very lucky, I work from home and I have a nanny come in for Sam when I have client appointments during the day and DH cares for him at night, so he's not far away from me. I also don't work any more than 3 hours in one stint - so it's not too bad.

family_wish
13-02-2007, 14:41
family_wish - How's Ella going?

L & Js mum - lovely of you to ask :hugs: She is going well although we have some issues with sleep during the day. Might have to head off to sleep school if things don't improve. She has powernaps and they really aren't enough the health nurse told me this morning.

She now weighs exactly 6kg!:detective: ....

How are your little men going? Thanks for sending me the photo of little Josh...he really is a handsome little guy :D

Whats news with you? How are you coping with two little ones?

Boxoxo

babyluv
13-02-2007, 15:38
Hello everyone,
Well have moved forums now (cause Im a mummy :laughing: ). A december mummy.
Sorry I have not been about been away on holis and prior to that just adjusting to parent life.
Hope everyone is doing well and bubbas r doing well. My little man is 8 weeks old tomorrow we r so proud of him he is just amazingValentine .I cant believe how big he is getting in one week he had put on nearly 500 grams.
Have noticed his feeding has changed in the last week. He is going every 3-4 hours butis feeding mainly from one side and most of the time for a max of 30 mins, does anyone else have 'short er' feeds now??? Bub is content so not to worried but just curious.
Also anyone got their bubba to sleep through thenight yet??
Well better go chat soon :fingerscrossed:
Amy

clarebear1983
13-02-2007, 15:54
Hi people long time no talk-sorry...............................

Thing have been rather hectic since Lauren was born. Brodie has had a permanent ear infection since the 19th of december!! Luckily we have a date for his surgery-next tuesday!!!

Lauren was in PMH for an over night trip a week ago because she hadnt pooed in a while and got a real belly ache. They didnt even have a bed for me to stay in so DH and I had to sleep on the floor which was shocking!!!

Lauren is now feeding and sleeping well. She is still small. At 8.5 weeks she is still under 4kg and is only just into 0000's and 00000's still fit.

I have gotten into external nursing for this year. and to my shock DH wants to go back and finish his education degree so we are living with mum and dad for the rest of this year so we can both afford to study. Just trying to figure out how to afford it all!

Ever since i gave birth i have been severely tired and found out i was badly anemic and i had a minor post partum hemorage that the hospital didnt tell me about (apparently my hospital only tel you if u require a transfusion!!!).............So i have been finding it hard to get out of bed most days.

I have also developed insomnia!!!!!

We are selling one of our cars because we have decided we cannot afford to run two cars.

This time i dont have signs of PND which is a bonus.

How has everyone been? I have to go back and read sooooo many threads it isnt funny.

I will try and keep in touch more than i have been.

Luv Clare

RavenDancer
13-02-2007, 15:59
well I spoke to the midwife and she is coming out thursday, but tomorrow morning when he wakes for his feed around 7am i have to feed him and put him straight back down within an hour! and if he cries i let him cry for 4 mins max, pick him up and settle him and put him back down, and keep doing this till he stays asleep for more than 10 mins...gosh that will be a test,
she is going to give me some settling techniques and ill try them, and if that doesnt work she said i might have to be booked into tresillian for 4 days! not my choice but if it helps our little one then ill go in. Has anyone had any experience with tresillian? anything would be nice to hear about...and I couldnt get a pediatrician apt till the 26th! lets hope i dont lose my mind in that time!

Nanay
13-02-2007, 16:49
Has anyone had any experience with tresillian?

Raven - there was one thread about tresillian in here somewhere but I warn you it was about a bad experience so I dont know if you want to read about it...

Not to pick him up for 4 minutes...that will be the longest four minutes of your life i could imagine...
Braden today did not want to go to sleep at all he has just had 2 30min powernaps so i decided to put him in bed with me...alas he's been asleep since 3 and its now almost 6pm... hopefully it wont be a long night...

Melo
13-02-2007, 17:33

Good to hear from you Clare. Thats terrible about PMH! They must of been really busy! And poor Brodie with his Ear Infection! :fingerscrossed: that the surgery works next week!

:hugs: to you Raven, it must be so frustrating for you!

Well Jacob and I have both come down with tonsillitis so life in our household is pretty cr*ppy at the moment :rolleyes:. Jacob decides to scream for 3/4 of the day and then decides not to sleep at night. :fingerscrossed: that Ava doesnt come down with it! Matt didnt go to work today so hes been a good help!

Kells
13-02-2007, 23:23
Raven - So sorry to hear you are having a bad time. Just curious - has anyone looked in his ears? Apparently when I was a baby I screamed constantly and no one knew why, and it wasn't until I was about 18mths old they discovered I had ear infections, and so would scream any time I wasnt upright. Just an idea...:rolleyes:

Clare - good to see you back. Good luck with the study this year. Also, good luck with the gromets. They changed my son's behaviour dramtically when he had them in. We actually have an ear appt tomorrow to check that they are still there. I know one has fallen out but the other has been in for 2 years!!! I am going to ask about removing it cos I dont think it should be there that long. But in that 2 years he has only had 3 infections, compared to about 10 every year before that!

Sorry for the lack of personals. I havent been on here for about a week and there is so much to catch up on! It's getting late and I should go to bed....:sleeping:

Well, DH is still working away, and I must say I am quite enjoying it :o I am much more organised, and the house stays clean! I'm amazed at how much mess he must create!! (Either that or I am cleaning more cos once the kids are in bed I have no one to talk too :laughing: ) He comes home every weekend though so that's nice.

Phoebe had a whingy night tonight, but on the whole is a good baby. I had a kindy meeting and had to take her with me and ended up standing up the back swaying for the entire time! Oh well, I cant complain if thats the worst thats happened.

I got an SMS from BrisMummy last week. She seems to be okay and Lily is a good baby - she is just a little down atm and will be back ASAP.

Ok, enough rambling... I need to come on more often so I can write shorter posts..

cordu68
14-02-2007, 07:05
Morning ladies :wave:

Good to see you back, Clare :), and glad to hear you don't have PND!!
Hope it will go all well with Brodie's surgery and he will get better soon and you can settle down a bit. :hugs: Hope you will feel more energetic soon.:fingerscrossed:

I was quite stunned yesterday.I was expecting the usual fight of going to sleep yesterday evening but Jasie started sleeping at 9pm without a big fuss after a megafeed at 6:30 pm and chilling out time with dad, just a bit of crying but that's how he puts himself to sleep.
I gave him a feed at 1 pm and he immediately fell asleep at 2 am until this morning at 5:30 am.

Oh better go, little piranha is calling ....

Hugs to all mums'bubs

clarebear1983
14-02-2007, 09:52

Good to hear from you Clare. Thats terrible about PMH! They must of been really busy! And poor Brodie with his Ear Infection! :fingerscrossed: that the surgery works next week!

!

Yep PMH were busy but still, to have to sleep on the floor was a bit rough! And i couldnt leave her there alone being a breastfeeding mother an all........didnt have enough warning she was going to be staying to express and it was 2am by the time they decided lol. At least i wasnt alone-DH stayed too.

Clare - good to see you back. Good luck with the study this year. Also, good luck with the gromets. They changed my son's behaviour dramtically when he had them in. We actually have an ear appt tomorrow to check that they are still there. I know one has fallen out but the other has been in for 2 years!!! I am going to ask about removing it cos I dont think it should be there that long. But in that 2 years he has only had 3 infections, compared to about 10 every year before that!

A lot of people tell me grommets are great so Im going to be optimistic and say that this time next week brodie will be a changed kid!!

I hope your appointment goes well!!!

I hope Brodie goes from constant ear infections even to just one every few months that can be fixed because permanent infection is just reduiculous!

Good to see you back, Clare :), and glad to hear you don't have PND!!
Hope it will go all well with Brodie's surgery and he will get better soon and you can settle down a bit. Hope you will feel more energetic soon.

:) Thanks

Ok well I tried reading up on all the posts that i have missed but two months worth got a bit beyond me with my current state of exhustion lol.

Brodie is very sick with ANOTHER ear infection. Yesterday he was really really upset and kept putting himself to sleep and had a fever. When mum got home we realised he had discharge from his right ear :eek: So off to the after hours dr. Poor kid. Its never ending! He has only had about 5 days not being on antibiotics in the last two months and this time its antibiotics AND drops...........He was suposed to go to childcare today but when he woke up he was so upset and wouldnt move that there was no way that he was spening the day anywhere else but with me. So i got no sleep last night and now he doesnt want to sleep so napping is out of the question. With the way my luck runs he will go to sleep and then Lauren will wake up. Soooo im pretty much running on empty at the moment and am living for tomorrow when DH has an RDO.

Lauren slept all the way through the night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for two nights in a row!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now if Brodie would just do the same i would be ok. 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep (aside from toilet stops which still happen frequently) would be bliss!!! But until his surgery thats not going to happen.

Lauren is *gulp* getting her first lot of immunisation today.

Ravendancer: my thoughts are with you. Sounds like things are far from easy for you as well. Chin up and keep at it chiccie. Just remember no matter what you are an extremely awesome mother

I know Brismummy isnt on here much anymore but i heard that she was down and something about PND and wanted to send wishes to her. Do u know if she would still get pm's if i send her one????

i am so glad to be back in contact with you guys. You were all my rocks during my pregnancy with lauren and i love you all!!

Hugs all around

Sorry i havent done many personals and all but tiredness makes much catching up impossible...............but thoughts are with each and every one of u brilliant december 06 mums!

andrewsmum
14-02-2007, 10:14
Clare - so good to hear from you! Don't worry about not being on here so often, it sounds as though you have been busy!! I'm sorry to hear that Lauren had to stay overnight in hospital and also poor Brodie, hope he feels better when he gets the grommets in. Please don't leave it quite so long between posts though LOL!! We want to see pics of your kids hehe!!

We're doing OK, just getting really tiring looking after the babies and Andrew and not really getting much co-operation from my husband (who thinks his sleep is much more important, even though he stays awake while I feed babies in the night - he waits for me to get back in bed). If he's lying there awake, why doesn't he come in and help me :mad:

I've now weaned my babies onto full-time formula feeds, and life is a lot easier. It was getting crazy doing tandem feeds and comp feeds for a while. Please don't judge me for not continuing with the breastfeeding (I've had the lecture from my mother who thinks I was being selfish and not giving my babies the best start). So there's the guilt thing too :rolleyes:

I'm suffering from cabin fever - it's really bad. I need to get out and about abit more!! Hard with the babies and AJ on my own though, so it rules out shopping!! I think it's easier to put babies in pram and AJ on his bike and go for a small walk around the block (AJ can't go far as yet!).

Hope you are all well. :D

Nanay
14-02-2007, 10:21
Hi all..
Braden has his first lot immunisation today. As we were waiting for our number to get called, I decided to wake him up. I was thinking about it, if it were me I would want to be semi awake and not just get jabbed in the thigh when I'm asleep...
He hasnt been himself lately though...yesterday was a fight to put him to bed...I tried everything... putting him down awake, groggy, falling asleep on the boob, falling asleep on my arm...nothing he would wake up every 30 minutes, finally, out of sheer exhaustion, i decided to just put him beside me on the bed with the boob on his mouth and alas he fell asleep for 3 hours... and then another three hours after that, but the night was not so good as he did not want to sleep past 3am...at least he's asleep in his pram now after the immunizations. I am waiting for him to wake up to give him panadol before a feed there is no way I am picking him up from his pram when he's asleep...
Hope you all had a good night...

14-02-2007, 10:35
How was your social extravaganza on Sunday? I'm so sorry we couldn't be there - I was thinking of you and I hope you had a lovely day.

It was really good - tiring though lol! Isla didn't cry the whole time throughout the ceremony either - even after the minister splashed a heap of water on her face. I will post a photo of it later.

Unfortunately now both Isla and Ozzy are a bit ill with a cold so that has been a great time for the last few days.

cordu68
14-02-2007, 11:43
I feel so bad. I was cutting Jasies's finger nails after a feed when he was very sleepy and I cut a bit skin and he is bleeding now. Well it is not too bad but he was /is crying and was wondering if I should a band aid on it.

Of course he doesn't like mum anymore...:gloomy:

Hope it doesn't hurt him too much poor little darling..

14-02-2007, 11:51
Well it is not too bad but he was /is crying and was wondering if I should a band aid on it.

I wouldn't as babies are constantly sucking their hands.

clarebear1983
14-02-2007, 12:08
Clare - so good to hear from you! Don't worry about not being on here so often, it sounds as though you have been busy!! I'm sorry to hear that Lauren had to stay overnight in hospital and also poor Brodie, hope he feels better when he gets the grommets in. Please don't leave it quite so long between posts though LOL!! We want to see pics of your kids hehe!!

We're doing OK, just getting really tiring looking after the babies and Andrew and not really getting much co-operation from my husband (who thinks his sleep is much more important, even though he stays awake while I feed babies in the night - he waits for me to get back in bed). If he's lying there awake, why doesn't he come in and help me :mad:

I've now weaned my babies onto full-time formula feeds, and life is a lot easier. It was getting crazy doing tandem feeds and comp feeds for a while. Please don't judge me for not continuing with the breastfeeding (I've had the lecture from my mother who thinks I was being selfish and not giving my babies the best start). So there's the guilt thing too

I'm suffering from cabin fever - it's really bad. I need to get out and about abit more!! Hard with the babies and AJ on my own though, so it rules out shopping!! I think it's easier to put babies in pram and AJ on his bike and go for a small walk around the block (AJ can't go far as yet!).

I will take some pics when Lauren wakes up and Brodie is a bit perkier (he is much better than he was earlier) but will have to wait for DH to load them onto the puta cos thats one thing i cant do.

I know how it feels to have a DH that thinks his sleep is more important but i dont have 2 babies so i admire you greatly!!!! They dont seem to realise that child raising is a fulltime job and we dont get a break from it.........and my DH has the ability to go back to sleep in like 30 seconds where it takes me an hour which annoys me even more. I feel like screaming WAKE UP while im feeding so he stays awake too (actually one night i did it cos he had the day off the next day).

Good on you for going onto formula inspite of it being a hard decision. I definately wont judge you because my sister had twins and she had to do the same. I think your a strong person for deciding enough was enough!!!!:hugs:

I feel so bad. I was cutting Jasies's finger nails after a feed when he was very sleepy and I cut a bit skin and he is bleeding now. Well it is not too bad but he was /is crying and was wondering if I should a band aid on it.

Of course he doesn't like mum anymore

Hope it doesn't hurt him too much poor little darling..

:hugs: awww children are fairly resilient. I did the same thing to Brodie and im sure hes turned out ok lol................lots of hugs to you and dont feel too bad. Every mother does things like this.

I just got a valentines delivery!!! Ishould have expected it cos DH told me to stay home but it was still a surprise!!! I got 6 roses and a stuffed valentines dog which was so nice.

But i got him nothing so i feel bad. Maybe when Lauren wakes up i might go to the shops and get him something small seeing as he went to a lot of effort for me.

Has anyone been told to comp-feed their baby at night? PMH told me to do that with Lauren to help her gain weight but after 2 formula feeds she just wants boobie still. I think its because i drink a minimum of a ltr of water a day now rather than nothing because up until last week i didnt drink water because i didnt like it and didnt think it helped. Now im sure it helps because she drinks then sleeps for hours and now sleeps the entire night. I dont think i need to comp feed.

Luv u all and HAPPY VALENTINES DAY Valentine

14-02-2007, 13:00
I dont think i need to comp feed.

I am constantly told to comp feed - was told with Ozzy and now with Isla - never did it though, you do what you think is best, I thought for my children not comp feeding was best - and I was right!

MW&S
14-02-2007, 15:42
Cordu: I did he exact thing to Zara last week i just sucked it and she was fine. healed very quickly.

I have a brand new medela swing breast pump to sell if anyone is intrested.

We paid 290 for it but would take 250 ono. I have two!! My mil bought the new one without knowing i had one. She is desprete to baby sit! hehe...anyway she cant get a refund for it at the chemist. So pm me if anyone is intrested. It is really efficent and very quiet.