View Full Version : Getting to know parents with partners working away
Hi there Everyone :wave:
I am new to this thread so I am not sure if this has been done I am sure it has, but i will ask anyway.
What region/minesite /or place does your partner work and what is his fifo roster?
How many children do you look after on your own?
My DP is in Ravensthorpe WA on a minesite and his fifo roster is 4 weeks on 1 week off.
I have 2 kids to look after on my own.
Carmel Jane
30-01-2007, 16:21
Hi Kylie,
My DF works fifo from Port Hedland, on an 11/3 roster.
We've got one baby, she is almost 8 months old.
Your doing it tough! Those 4/1 rosters are just outrageous! (I used to work fifo b4 bub and I know how hard that one is without a family, let alone missing wife & kids).
Has he been doing it for long?
Hope your having a good day... I'm absolutely shattered and broken and counting down the sleeps (3 to go!)
wow, 4/1 is a hard roster! my hubby works week on week off at argyle, WA. he is home tonight, yay!
our first baby is due in 3-6 weeks (he is breech so might be having a caesarean at 38 weeks). my DH has 9 weeks off!! i am a bit nervous about when he goes up to work but i have a good network of friends and family and it will only be one week then he will be home with us all week (which is more time than lots of dads get to see their kids)
hey, since we are all in perth, we should meet up sometime? i'm not making any plans for the next few weeks but once i am settled into being a mum, i would love to have coffee or something :)
Hi Carmel Jane :wave:
Yes the 4 week on 1 week roster is really hard on the both of us and not to mention our 3 year son.
My partner did it for 2 years straight then I got pregnant again so I said to him he had to come home and work so he was home for a year and we had our daughter. And she is now 6 months old and he has just gone away again. I am totally hating it.
I am so tired as my little girl is a bad night sleeper and we used to take turns getting up at night so it has really hit me. It is definatley harder with two children.
I hope you have a better day tommorrow
Hi library-laksa :wave:
yes 4 and 1 is very hard. Your partner has a great roster i could definatley handle that.
I hope all goes well with your birth. I too had to have a ceaser at 38 weeks with my daughter as she was posterier.
You will do great if you have a good network of friends and family.
Do you know what u are having? and where are you having the bub?
Hope to speak more soon take care.
hi again
yep, we are having a little boy.
at murdoch.
i think i am really lucky with DHs roster, it will be hard if/when it changes...
my DH is a metallurgist, what do others do?
mythreelittlemonkeys
31-01-2007, 11:21
My DH FIFO of the Pilbara sometimes Tom Price, Brockman or Paraburdoo...I think he may be going to West angeles at some point too...He works a 3 week away &10 days home for past year and half but they always muck the shifts about he has been up for 5 weeks before, and oftern not home for the full 10 days either. They didnt send him up after christmas kept him in the yard here in Perth for 3 weeks on 1/2 pay which really sucked!!!! APparently he will be going on 2/1's later this summer but I will wait and see... he is a relief driller.
I have a 7 1/2 month old baby girl who was due on the date Adia (CJ's baby) was born...but came 11 days late :) She is pretty good most of time...though fighting a day nap at the mo big time...my DH flew out on Monday - so I a bit sad at mo
TeamAwesome
31-01-2007, 13:34
Hi my DH is working in Innisfail and does 8weeks on 4/5 days off thats hard for me cos up until May last year he was working an 8.30am-5pm for two years so I was spoilt having him home so much... I miss it now cos he's a great hands on dad! the sacrifice will hopefully be worth it in the end.
We're going to be moving up near Cairns so he can come home every night he's got R&R next week (starting the day after our anniversary) last year he missed all of our birthdays except his own (not of his own accord I'm sure you know what the companies are like) so I'm going to be spoilt having him home I must admit I do like the space some days and hate it other days.
btw he's a transmissions line/power line rigger.
we're currently TTC#3 which has been kind of funny so far as he's been away when I've O'd the last few cycles but moving will hopefully help that!
Hi there antlmummy,
Your partners roster is pretty harsh. I too was in the same boat as you I had my partner home for a year and he also was a real hands on Dad. So I got spoilt for that year and I think I got really reliant on him being home so when he went it was a big shock to me.
I too am deciding to move where he is so we can be closer.
My DP is an Electrician
My DH is on a 2/1 roster and has just started a new job in Newman (he was at Nifty Copper). He works on the crushing plant.
When we met (10 years ago) he was working on the mines and did some 6/1 and 4/1 rosters before he found a job in Perth. He only returned to the mines in March, but we seem to be coping ok with the change so far. DD1 didn't really have any issues dealing with the change. We recently had bub #2 and this is my first week at home without any help.
At the moment I'm planning to return to work again in April. 3 days at first, building back up to full time. Whether or not this is a realistic expectation is yet to be seen.
We're in Greenwood and I'm happy to have people call in for a coffee and a chat if you feel like getting out of the house. Just PM me for my details.
Hi, I know about terrible rosters. My hubby was on a 5 week on 9 day off roster - until 3 weeks ago (our son is 12 weeks old now) and it was awful. He missed his first smile, when he started "talking" and rolling. He was working on the Yandi site and is now at home looking for another roster but struggling to find anything better than 4/1 so looks like he'll be back to missing out again.
When Lachy was so little, I was extremely depressed and hating being a mum. While hubby has been home, I started to love it as I had more support.
It is so hard and I won't let anyone tell me otherwise but my hubby doesn't want me to go back to work so this is the sacrifice we make.....:(
mythreelittlemonkeys
10-02-2007, 14:28
:hugs: Yandi is that near Tom Price??
That is a hard roster!! I so know what you mean about missing everything DH missed all of my scans, appoints etc and then missed her roll, smile, laugh etc etc...luckily (though not financially!) he was hled down in Perth for 4 weeks or so so he saw her crawl for first time...but that a first...
Where are you in Perth??
xgeorgie
babyluv3
11-02-2007, 01:55
We live in Albany, WA, and my dp has FIFO job at Darlot Gold Mine, just out of Leonora (WA). His roster has been 2/1 (weeks) for the last 9 yrs, but they are now changing it to 8/6 (days).
We have an 8yr old daughter, 5yr old son and our latest addition is our 5 mth baby girl.
I am so use to dp's work schedule, that this new one is totally stuffing me up!! Now I never know when he's due to come home or go to work (he has to drive up to Perth then catch a plane to mine site, so some days he needs to drive the day before, stay in Perth over night, then catch plane 6am) So, I must admit, its hell on trying to get any sort of routine going at the moment!!
The kids find it hard some days, but we speak a few times a day on the phone. Its been harder as theyve gotten older and have to go to school and they miss out on spending all day every day with their dad, whilst he's home.
I have found that its nice when dp's home, that I dont have to stress when bubs cries in the night, as dp doesnt have to go to work the next morning.
I must admit tho, for some bizzare twist of fate the following events only occur when dp is away:
-spiders (and other nasty critters) in the house :eek:
-car problems (I am the RAC'S best customer!):o
-accidents or sickness with the kids, resulting in mad dashes to the hospital/dr's
-appliances breaking down
-special events (birthdays, xmas, etc):crying:
-not so special events (immunisations, etc)
Hi babyluv3
I would have to agree on those kind of things happening too while my DP is away. Wonder why that is?????
Your partner still has a pretty good roster mine is on a 4 week on 1 week off which is soooo hard.
We also agreed that it would be harder to do as your kids get older thats why we are doing it now. Our kids are nearly 3 and 6.5 months.
bearsmummy
11-02-2007, 20:28
Hi ladies:wave: , im Mel..... my DF is a sparky up at Telfer.
He does a roster of 2 on 1 off, which is pretty good.
We have 3 boys aged 8, 4.5 and 19 months. I work doing nightfill which makes things a little hard at some points, but we manage :)
His week home is pretty full on now that im working nights i dont have much energy to do much other than the basics around the house.
I know he has been throwing round ideas of doing some overseas work which may involve swings of 8 weeks on, 4 weeks off.
I know the 8 weeks on will be tough but could i even handle 4 weeks straight of him being home? :laughing:
Id love to catch up with you all soon, would be nice to meet some other ladies who understand how i feel.
Mel xoxoxo :)
babyluv3
11-02-2007, 21:20
I know the 8 weeks on will be tough but could i even handle 4 weeks straight of him being home? :laughing:
Yes I know what you mean :laughing: Ive been so use to having dp away for 2wks at a time (I can watch whatever I want on the tellie and have all the choccie to myself!!:laughing: ) that his change in roster to 8 days away has totally upset my routine!! Naughty me for thinking that!!:shame:
Hi bearsmummy
My DP used to work at Telfer.He too is a sparky.
He did two years up there.
Never know they might know eachother.
Seems like everyones DP is on a pretty good roster. I think I am getting a raw deal with 4 weeks on and 1 week off.:( Any way enough complaining.
Have a good week everyone.
Georgia, Yandi is about 2 hours north west of Newman - huge site and so many different companies are based there. He is looking to now head to Hope Downs which is about 30 mins closer to Newman or has another offer at Port Hedland - personally I would prefer Port Hedland as that would be a better place to be based for him on the coast. The new roster will be 4 weeks on 1 week off which everyone says isn't as bad but that's nuts. I find it hard because we have always been incredibly close and never had many nights apart until he started this about 8 months ago. It has been nice though the last 3 weeks having him home for support as Lachie is getting very clingy.
I am in Ashby - near Wanneroo - how about you?
bearsmummy
13-02-2007, 18:58
Hi bearsmummy
My DP used to work at Telfer.He too is a sparky.
He did two years up there.
Never know they might know eachother.
Seems like everyones DP is on a pretty good roster. I think I am getting a raw deal with 4 weeks on and 1 week off. Any way enough complaining.
Have a good week everyone.
DF has only worked there since may 06.... any chance your hubby was there then?
As soon as i mentioned your DHs roster to my DF, he guessed straight away where he worked :laughing:
Yeah Telfer isnt too bad, he seems happy there...ATM anyways ;), but is always looking for something new and interesting to do.
You can complain all you like babe,we all are here to listen to each other do the same thing :laughing::hugs:
kewlchicmum
16-02-2007, 13:06
hello all :wave:
Well my DH does 2 weeks on 2 off roster which I know I know is a really great roster but this is the first week that is has gone back to work after having 6 weeks off (for bubs birth and us getting married) and I am home alone with Lachlan who was born on the 20th Jan so this comuite is hard first one and all my DH works at Argyle up north and I dont really have any friends whos partners work away and the friends that I do have seem to think that I am sooooo lucky that my DH works away to have a break from him and that I can do what I want went I want and I just try to explain to them that its harder having your partner working away and not seeing him for 2 weeks or more and when you do seem them you have to fit what you both missed and catch up and stuff.
Am I just having a sob or do you guys feel the same?? Would be great if we all caught up some were some time.
sara-jayne
18-02-2007, 01:12
hi all, im so glad i found this thread, i never thought to look here.
im 21 and i have 2 daughters. katherine-jayne is 17 months and taylor-jayne is 3 weeks.
my fiancee, 24, is an earthmoving operator working in queensland on a gas and oil field. he works 3 weeks on and 3 weeks off which is a good and bad thing, its great to have him home for long periods of time (much better than the 4 and 2 roster he was on when he first started) at the same time is is hard cause i have my way of doing things and when he comes home and does them differently is kinda spins thing around a bit.
i hate that he is away for so many milestones but i console myself with the fact that the money he is earning we can have the house and the cars paid off in a few years and then he can do something else.
does anyoone else feel guilty about staying home and having him go away to work? i can help but feel like if i got a job mabey the extra money would mean he could get some work where he could come home each night.
well must go and change a very smelly baby.
will definetly be back tomorrow.
i look forward to getting to know you all
sara-jayne
ps. does anyones partners work at or out of moomba in SA?
babyluv3
18-02-2007, 03:21
Hi Sarah-Jayne,
I know what you mean about how you have your own way of doing things, then your df comes home and does things differently, my dp has been working away for 9 yrs, so you can imagine how crazy I get sometimes, when he does something so out of our routine!! (I hate to admit this, but it even drives me crazy when he doesnt put the cats bowls in the right spot in the laundry, no matter how many times I move them, every morn when he feeds them, he puts them on the other side :banghead: Now how much of a control freak am I?? )
I think 'cause Im so use to being the one in charge of the household when he's away, that its hard to change to sharing the responsibilities when he's home!! My kids are now 8 and 5, and 5mths, so you can imagine what the eldest two get away with when daddys home :banghead:
Ive had times when I felt bad that dp is the one who works and I get to stay home, but honestly, I dont think he could stand to be a stay at home dad, he gets to go away and drink with his mates and escape all the chaos and dirty nappies :laughing: And I never entertained the idea of working, I thought it was bad enough that the kids didnt see their dad every night, let alone not seeing their mum during the day, its really not worth having them if they never see their parents :no:
Rest assured that you arnt alone!! At least your girls get to see their dad all day for 3 weeks, I figure how many dads that work near home actually have much time with their kids after work? And how many do you know actually spend the weekend at home? Most of the dads we know are out playing golf etc!! Although, it is a lot harder once the kids start full time school, mine hate having to go when their dad's home!!
Well my week went and gone with my DP home. he left this morning :crying: . It was a great week but I have to get back to reality now. I always hate the first few days after he has gone away I always feel sooooo lonely.:crying:
Anyway I will post more later tonight.
I hope everyone is doing well.
Kylie
bearsmummy
20-02-2007, 00:35
:hugs: to you hun, that week off always goes too fast doesnt it? Yes your right... i find the first few days the hardest as well.
Hope you had a great time together though :D
Take care,
Mel :wave:
bubs_and_us
22-02-2007, 09:52
hey, my DP has just started his job in the mines.... he's working at area C in WA (in coondawanna)....
he's on a 2 and 1 rotation, which is really good in comparison of some other rosters listed here....
he started as a sampler, but has now been promoted (? we're not sure if its a promotion or just moving around.... will find out when the pay goes in the bank!) to a shotfirer.
kewlchicmum
22-02-2007, 22:00
Hello :wave:
My DH work 2 on 2 off at Argyle we have a DS 20th Jan this is my second week of having my DH working away since we had our DS DH had 6 weeks off work before and after bub was born....I am fairly new on here as well and the girls are great. :D
Hope to see you around the threads some time.
:yes:
My DH work 2 on 2 off at Argyle we have a DS 20th Jan this is my second week of having my DH working away since we had our DS DH had 6 weeks off work before and after bub was born....I am fairly new on here as well and the girls are great. :D
my DH works at argyle too! he is a metallurgist and does 1 week on and 1 off but he is currently home for 9 weeks for our first bub's arrival.
Best of luck with the arrival of your first bub. Enjoy the 9 weeks at home with DH.
kewlchicmum
23-02-2007, 12:58
Hey my DH is the mob main sup and he just had 6 weeks off for bub being born and all although I was due 16 and had him on the 20th Jan this is our second week of him being back at Argyle it's a bit strange but it has gone quick I was really :gloomy: the day he left us after having him home for 6 weeks and me being home alone with bub for the first time......but all is great with bub and me being home alone....when are you due library-laksa??
hi again kewlchic
our baby is due march 4th. he was breech and we were going to have a caesarean today but then he turned at the last minute!! glad i don't have to have the caesar now but disappointed i don't get to hold my little boy just yet.
my DH thinks he knows who yours is, i tried to PM you to ask his name as i didnt want to put it online but it says you can't received PMs???
bearsmummy
23-02-2007, 17:37
Aw LL i cant believe that happened to you!
At least you wont have to have a c sec but i can imagine you counted down to the day you would meet your bub and now thats all up in the air.
All the best hun! :hugs:
Kewlchic glad to hear things are going well :D
Only 5 more sleeps till my DF is home.... i really need a hug :(
This swing has been tough, with the house, work and a few other hiccups, but we are all healthy so i guess thats a bonus.
Take care ladies :hugs:
Mel xoxoxoxo
kewlchicmum
26-02-2007, 18:01
Hey library-laksa
Try PM me now it should work fingers crossed
How are you guys going?
Aw
Only 5 more sleeps till my DF is home.... i really need a hug :(
This swing has been tough, with the house, work and a few other hiccups, but we are all healthy so i guess thats a bonus.
:hugs: Coming your way Mel.
I'm trying to adjust to DH coming home on a Tuesday rather than a Monday. By yesterday I was absolutely stuffed and ready to have a meltdown (DD1 was a wee bit naughty too). I think its because previously it was survive the second weekend and then DH will be home to help. That one extra day makes it seem a whole lot harder.
library-laksa...great news about not having to have a CS. Hope bub now behaves and arrives on or before its due date.
Then DH calls today to say the plane they were to fly out on was struck by lightening and he probably won't fly out until later this afternoon. That itself doesn't phase me, it's the grumping he does on the phone to me about it that gets to me....what the #@!! can I do about it:banghead: .
kewlchicmum
27-02-2007, 15:52
Thanks Bearsmummy
So how are you ladies all going out there my DH is coming home tonight:D midnight flight bumer but oh well it's not like Lachy and I will not be up for a feed around that time any ways I can't wait...It's the first time my DH has been away since we have had bub.:yelclap: :smiliedance:
mythreelittlemonkeys
27-02-2007, 21:05
Have a fantastic 2 weeks!!! :smiliedance:
bet you soooooo excited :D and he will be blown away at how much Lachy has changed I bet!!
Mataamua
03-03-2007, 20:02
Hello, i just found this post, so hopefully I am not too late in posting,
My DP works 2 & 1 FIFO to Mt Keith, he is a supervisor.
its hard for me while he is away, but It is just as hard for him, he hates leaving our little girl, But you just gotta do what ya gotta do, it makes it hard having no support network like family. I use to be up there with him till bubba came along, my job now is much harder than the 12.5 hour shifts i use to do up there and the money is terrible, ha ha...
Hi Everyone, sorry havent posted lately but It has been really crazy lately. I am feeling really lonely tonight and have been for the last week. I have been having major issues with my mum, step dad and sisters and I have been soooo stressed out about it that I cant sleep or function properley. I am missing DP so much I just wish he was here so I could have a massive cry and hug him. My poor kids I feel so sorry for them I just havent been able to give them my full attention this week. I have been very short tempered with them and I feel terrible.
I just hate being lonely, I feel I have no one to talk to really, I talk to my friends about the situation with my family but it is just not the same as having DP here.
I hate doing the same thing every night just sitting on the couch on my own watching TV. But I really dont have any choice. I talk to DP every night but really what can he do. He can only say so much, like he is sorry and he wished he was here too. But it really does not help.
I am really hating this working away at the moment.
To top it off my DS had a cold this week and DD was vomiting also with her cold. Then my MIL and FIL had family over from overseas for 5 days and because DP wasnt here I was expected to go along to everything that the inlaws had planned for them. I was getting so annoyed with MIL as she would ring me and say 'well are you coming to this and are you doing that?" Far out doesnt she realise I am on my own with 2 small kids and I cant just go out every night and day. It is just too hard for me on my own.
I did it a few times but I wasnt getting home till about 10.30 pm and then I had to bath DD as she always has a bath before bedtime, then it is trying to get DS into bed and do DD last feed. It was just too bl**dy hard. In the end I just said "no I cant do this the kids are sick and it is just too hard"
If DP was here to help me it may have been different.
Anyway just had to get that off my chest, not too sure if it made sense sorry
Sorry for the rant, I just thought you ladies would understand being on your own and all.
Thanks for reading my rant. Hope you are all well.
mythreelittlemonkeys
03-03-2007, 22:49
Kylie :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: hope things get better for you soon with your family...
Mataamua - my DH just gone to Mt Keith on a contract for 3 months...he thinks it a pretty good place to be...accomodation much better than what he had in Tom Price...they called that the Bronx...
well I am missing DH being here...I specially hate weekends by the way...everyone I know has partners and at the weekend busy with them so weekends very very lonely for me...
ok going to go to bed...as I am soooooo tired...my DD was very active and pickly today
Take care all of you!!
X Georgie X
:hugs:coming your way Kylie. Sometimes family just don't understand how hard it is to go out on your own with kids when DH/DP is away. And like you said, it's often the things you have to do once you get home that are the hardest.
:hugs: to you too mytillieroo. Hope you have a better day today.
DH flies out again tomorrow, so I'm making the most of him being home today. Looking forward to getting back into a routine tomorrow.
Does anyone else find something their DH/DP does while home actually makes it harder for you once he's gone again? This week it's been putting DD1 to bed that's p!$$ing me off. DH had been making great fun of it (taking an hour to get DD1 to bed). And no matter how I ask him to keep it simple and explain how hard he's making it for me, he continues to do it:banghead: .
Have a great day,
Lisa
kewlchicmum
09-03-2007, 17:34
Hello Ladies in the houes :wave: lol
Well I thought I would drop in and say ciao and sorry I have not poped in for a wee while my DH is home woohoo but going back on Monday boohoo you get that right mmmm....any ways I just wanted to send :hugs: to every one who's DH/DP is away at the moment I know it's tough and we are tough ladies too but it some times gets to us all.A BIG sorry to Mousebrown for not beening able to make it to her play group I was really looking forward to meeting you and the ladies. And Mytillieroo how are you going dude sorry I have not PM you of late thinking of you hope your doing ok.....Well better go get back to my boys talk to you all soon enough......:hugs:
Proudofmy3Babies
19-03-2007, 00:13
I just wanted to get to know some of you, not many people around my area knows what it's like to have a partner working away.
But I thought I had it tough, and I think I need to stop whinging, my husband is a merchant seaman and he goes away for 4 and home for 4.
We live in the Gold Coast and we don't have any family and only a few friends, so would love some going through the same thing to talk to.
You poor chooks with your husbands in the mines, Im going to make my husband read this thread when he gets home on Wednesday, he has been talking about getting into the mines!!!
Home on Wednesday. THANK GOODNESS, My second time with him away and being a mum and this time it was tough, although I got a treat, he got evacuated off the rig he works on and I got to fly to Darwin and spend 3days with him.
It was awsome.
Hope your all having a good week, love to chat to you all soon.
kewlchicmum
20-03-2007, 13:05
Big hello to MelandChris :wave: my DH does FIFO 2 weeks on 2 off he works in the mines up north Argyle the girls are really nice on here but its been a bit quite here of late all the DH/DP must be home I guess. This is my second week of my DH working away with our baby so I know what its like this time has been harder then the first. My DH arrives home next Tuesday and is home for a week then off on a fishing trip for the second half of the week its been planed for like ever but bad timing for me maybe I am saying that cause yesterday with DS was a full on day he did not sleep at all and in the afternoon all he wanted was for me to hold him the whole time even putting him down to go to the loo was hard cause he just cried and cried I was waiting for next door to come over and ask me what I was doing to him he was that loud. It really upset me that I could not help him. That was my first off day since he has been born he is 8 weeks now so I guess I should not go on cause I know some ladies on here have it tough 24/7. Well hope to hear from you all soon take care.
Proudofmy3Babies
22-03-2007, 08:22
Hi kewlchicmum,
Two weeks on and Two weeks off would be really difficult, and he is going away in one of those weeks, I'm glad you sound like you have a happy bubby, it's difficult though when you have off days all on your own and there is just nobody to help you, it frustrating because you feel you can't help bubby, I had that for a whole week, we had an hour sleep every night and none through the day time, it was really difficult, but then she just snapped into a fantastic routine and she is happy as pie and sleeping between feeds and all through the night.
I'm lucky that I have the best neighbours ever and when they know I'm doing it rough they come over and take her for an hour to give me a chance to rest or do some housework.
Hubby came home last night and she was a little unsettled, hope this isnt a constant change!!
Take Care everyone,
TeamAwesome
22-03-2007, 14:13
I only posted once and then wemoved and I'm pregnant with #3 so I've had morning sickness and we only have dial up so it always seems to drop out when I'm replying (:fingerscrossed: it stays on for me)
Feeling rather hom sick at the moment (originally from Sunshine Coast) as we moved to Cairns to be closer to DH's work and he's been sent back to Townsville as there is a lack of work (I call it serious miss-management) up in Innisfail so he's there until Easter. and then probably back again. I'm not moving again unless it is back to the Sunshine Coast as I'm sick of moving and renting.
Of course all the dramas happen whne he's away. So far DS has split under his chin open which required the nurse and I to hold him down while he was wrapped in a blanket so the Dr could glue it shut. Poor kid he just wnated a cuddle with his Daddy and had to suffice with listening to Daddy's voicemail.
I've also started looking into day care for DS one day a week so I can have a bit of break as he very full on and I need to have some sort of a break with DH being away so much. and also only having one child to contend with for my check ups etc.
Little miss is letting me my time is up.
SO I'll write again soon.
oh and :hugs: :hugs: to all those of you whose men are currently away and need it!!
kewlchicmum
22-03-2007, 23:30
Hello all :wave:
And hello again to MelandChris and antlmummy and a :hugs: for you as you are doing to tough with DH away and it's not fun when little one's get hurt....:fingerscrossed: mine has not as yet but no doubt being a boy he will one day...mmmm so how is everyone going???? It's still quite on here what's going on hey hey...mmmm.....Well DS has settled down now thank goodness gee it's fully on went they are unsettled and you are home alone with them that was my first time too.
We should all try and catch up some were to meet and maybe have a coffee what does everyone think?...That is the Perth Mummies sorry you other Mummies who are not in Perth but it's sure nice talking to you on here:yes:
Proudofmy3Babies
23-03-2007, 07:14
Hi Again Kewlchichmum,
Maybe everyones DH/DP's are home and they complain like mine is right now about us being on the computer:) hehehe
I'm just stopping him getting on here and looking at cars and bikes on Ebay, do your husbands like to try and spend lots of money when they are home? We have had 8 cars in the last 4yrs lol, he comes home and is bored so starts looking at cars and bikes, and the latest craze is Go-Karts, I keep telling him his go-kart is a little princess called Mackenzie!!! hehe
Well I'm going to run them a bath, my husband is going to be flying to Perth in the next few months and I'm going to come for a holiday cause I've never been to Perth, maybe we could meet up then for coffee??
MelandChris...money never seems to be a problem where DH is concerned. Last night when packing to go he suggested he needed more pocket money to take away, "I earn a packet" he says. I reply, "but I'm not working at the moment and perhaps you should have beer at the pub rather than Beam (@$8 a can)" Blank look from DH:banghead: .
In our case we are doing the FIFO thing to try and get ahead, but DH seems to forget this when it comes time to socialise.
Hope everyone is having a good week.
Lisa
My hubby just went back to work on Monday after having 9 weeks at home. He was trying to find anything better than a 4w/1w roster (he works in construction so their rosters are hard) but had no luck so he went back to the original company he was working for - at least it's only 4w/1w and not 5w/9d anymore. He is now working at the new Hope Downs site which he says is a much better place to work than Yandi and the camp is much better.
In some ways I was looking forward to having some "me" space again but when he left on Monday my heart broke. It is a real strain at times and so hard to go through each day saying 27 more sleeps etc etc. A girlfriend said to me what is 28 days anyway - I said a month....
A good friend of mine with a small bub herself was heading back to work and admitted she was jealous of me staying home. I said to her I am jealous of her as she sees he hubby in the morning and at night everyday. Sometimes it's hard for others to understand.
Hi kym479
I just wanted to give you some :hugs: I know how you feel. My Dp does a 4 & 1 also. He is coming home on Friday though from a 6 week stint. He had to do longer this time so he could be home for mine and Ds birthdays.
We all feel for you. It is horrible doing the say goodbye thing. It always kills me.
kewlchicmum
10-04-2007, 23:53
Hello
Mousebrown I know its a catch 22 having DH working away to get ahead and then when they are home wanting to do stuff together and its always $$ cause you dont get to see them when they are away so you both want to make it special or buy some thing special for the other. Then the whole getting ahead gets put on the back burner...mmm...or like us we pay top $$ for the ex to keep her lifestyle (wouldnt mind if it was going on the DSD) but its not:banghead: but thats a whole other kettle of fish.
MelandChris catch up would be great just let me know when and we can arrange some thing maybe some of the other chickies could all meet as well.
Kym479 I have some of my friends say that they would love to have there DP work away and think that I have it made cause I can come and go as I please and do what I want but its just not like that is it as much as I try and tell them its not they just dont understand that having DP/DH come home from work at night and see them off in the mornings is so much better.
Kylie80 you know that I dont think that it ever gets easy seeing them off I see my DH off at the airport and you know what I always leave the airport with a tear in my eye some times I get really sooky when he is kissing me goodbye and I have to put my sunnies on so no one can see me crying (big sook I know I know)
But you know what I dont want it to get easier caues for some strange reason I always want to feel that emotion is that strange?...mmm maybe I am a nut job :laughing: (hope you can understand what I mean) other wise you will all think I am a nutter :o
diannamumof3
22-04-2007, 14:43
Hi mousebrown we are currantly in Newman for my hub work. We are moving to Perth next week and he will be doing fifo he used to do fifo for 8 years but we thought we would have a change so he could come home every night but I miss the city so we are going back. cannot wait.
I guess I'd better jump in here too lol.
DP works for ESS at Mt Keith. He does 2 on, 1 off.
I have 2 kids from a previous relationship that are with me full time and we have a bub on our own due in just over 8 weeks, so that's 3 kids at home full time for me while he's away! EEP!
My DH has only been working away for a short time, we have just moved back from the UK (he is English, I am a Perth girl).
He is working 2/1 all over the place at the moment currently he is on a mine site somewhere 120km away from Coolgardie, he thinks it is a bit of a novelty at the moment seeing emu's and lizard's and being in the bush. I'm sure it will wear off.
I have one DS who is two, and he just gets more energy every day!!!
Welcome Heydeho. I'm sure the novelty will wear off for your DH soon.
Diannamumof3...can understand where you're at with living in Newman. We had the chance to move up there several years ago(before they did FIFO) and I refused to go. Small towns can be horrid, I grew up in one! I also think you miss the convenience of everything in the city. Good luck for the move.
no small towns for me! :)
DH was offered a promotion if we moved to kununurra but he would rather have a wife than a promotion LOL...
this has been his first week back after 10 off (6 with bub). he only does one week on and one off, thank god! Harper has been really good but i am really looking forward to my sleep-in on wednesday (he flies in on tues night). poor guy is really missing his son too.
for those of you in the southern suburbs of perth, there is a meet being organised for next week in this thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=84641)
i can PM you the details if you want to come along. i'd love to meet some other "mining wives"
I'll be there on Wednesday :)
hi there could you pm the details please. I will see if i can make it:fingerscrossed:
I have never met anyone on here before so i am a bit nervous:eek:
Kylie
Aww don't be nervous, I have only met a few and they are all LOVELY!!!!
Proudofmy3Babies
26-04-2007, 10:15
Sorry I have been missing in action, when hubby was home we went away for a few days which turned into over a week, because our dog got sick while we were away and hospitalised at the local vet, unfortunately she died before we got home :( She was just like one of my babies, I loved her to bits, when my hubby was away before I had Mackenzie, they were just everything to me, company to come home to and someone to snuggle up with at night. We all miss her :(
But he is back away now, and along with a stack of family issues that came up just after he left (doesnt stuff always happen when they are away???) we got a new puppy to keep our other dog company and the puppy is driving me bonkers, and my husband thinks its hillarious that he has a new baby (Its a chichuawa x toy poodle and he loves chichuawas) and doesnt have to worry about the tiolet training and crying through the night while looking after Mackenzie!!!
arrrgghhh Ok I will stop my whinging now.
How is everyone?? Wish we were in the West, I rarely get to meet other mums with partners working away, except I have one good friend, her husband works with mine out on the rig.
Hope you are all well, Mackenzie has learnt to squeal since Daddy went back to work, and she thinks its funny, and it is for the first 5mins, but for the extra 25 that she does it it gets a little much and it always turns into a squealy cry??? I'm not sure why?? Maybe it hurts her throat?
Take Care!!! I have 3weeks to go, if he doesnt get stuck out there, they are moving the rig off Karartha next week, depends how long it takes to move as to when he will get home this time:(
Well hubby left today after his 1 week home :crying: which is always hard. Sometimes I guess I underestimate how hard it is for him - probably more so in some respects. While he was home DS learnt to roll over and over rather than just the back to tummy thing which was so cute - although now I need eyes in the back of my head :eek: . He also started properly on solids and took to them really well. DH was quite upset this morning but I reminded him that he saw these things happen and he should be proud and happy he was there.
Can't believe in 2 weeks my little boy will be 6 months old! The time has flown by and while I am excited about the stage he is at I am also a little teary about the fact he is growing so fast :( .
Well on countdown now - 29 sleeps to go..... I know this never gets any easier.
I know exactly how you are feeling, my DH left on Monday. We had such an awesome week as a family and then he had to go back again!! DS is starting to get closer and closer to walking, he is standing for longer on his own each time he trys. I just hope DH doesnt miss it.
This was the 3rd time of saying goodbye and I dont think it will get any easier. I feel the same that it must be harder on them being away from their DS. I couldn't do it.
Always makes for a very emotional goodbye. 12 more sleeps for us!!
Hey girls I am really in need of a good vent so I thought what a better place to come. Although I notice no one has been on here for awhile so I could end up talking to myself again anyway!! Which is becoming a very frequent thing.
I got a call for DH last night saying that he was moving mines today, I feel sorry for him cause he is moving to worse conditions, sounds terrible.
Not only have they extended his trip which I could kind of handle but now he wont have any mobile contact what so ever.
I feel like I could survive before knowing that if I really needed to talk to him I could.
Now I wont be able to at all, he said they will be on this mine for another 4 months, thats a long time of going with out talking in my book!!
I dont think it would be as bad but DS has been having a rough trot and he has been waking every hour during the night, for no real reason that I can see and during the day he is extrememly sookie.
I dont think thats helping cause it is making me more tired and emotional.
Anyway thats my vent I hope everyone understand where I am coming from. I just need to be able to speak to someone every now and then and vent my frustrations or have a break!!
Hope everyone is well
Aww Leanne! Big *hugs* to you. I would be sooo upset if that happened to my DP, I hate him being gone for just two weeks at a time :(
We're all hear for you though, come along to some of the SOR meets(we've got another coming up soon), it will make the time go a bit faster, and u can meet up with a few of us from this thread and vent away, we all understand(in fact we all had a bit of a whinge about it at yesterdays meet! lol).
Only 1 week til my DP is home! Yay! Trying not to think about it so much so it goes a bit quicker. Then after he's home for a week, he'll be away for 2 weeks and then has his 7 weeks leave! *dances*. I'm very excited to have him home for so long, but a bit anxious because it means that I'm very close to having bub!
Proudofmy3Babies
03-05-2007, 16:57
I feel like I could survive before knowing that if I really needed to talk to him I could.
Now I wont be able to at all, he said they will be on this mine for another 4 months, thats a long time of going with out talking in my book!!
I dont think it would be as bad but DS has been having a rough trot and he has been waking every hour during the night, for no real reason that I can see and during the day he is extrememly sookie.
I dont think thats helping cause it is making me more tired and emotional.
Awww :hugs: to you Leanne, you poor thing, that doesnt sound like fun at all, is that four months straight???
I'm in the same boat as you for at least 10days starting tomorrow, my husbands rig is on tow and they have no communication when it is on tow, I'm not looking forward to it, not to mention if it takes to long he will come home late:( And I am having heaps of family issues at the moment which doesnt help things much!!
Good Luck, meet up with the girls, it might get your mind off it for a few hours, wish I was in the west so I could.
I have MSN if anyone ever wants to have a chat if they are lonely mellymoo81@hotmail.com
Thanks everyone!! Good to hear from people that understand.
Didnt mean to form confusion but he will be on the same mine for 4 months but he will still be doing 2 weeks on 1 week off thank goodness. They have just extended this trip thats all!!
Hey Leanne,
I am sorry to hear that about your man and no communication. I have had that and it is not fun. Just try and get him to call you from a sattalite phone when he can.:hugs I have just added u 2 my msn.
Kylie
2 Cherubs
04-05-2007, 00:10
Hey girls
Looks like Ill be joing you all soon
Dp will be starting a Fifo job at the end of May
Kim
Loving Leyla
04-05-2007, 09:04
I just wanted to introduce myself. I am 21 years old with a 9 month old DD Leyla. My story is a bit different to yours but we have something in common- Were all doing it tough and things are hard at times.
My partner has never seen our daughter, he is in Turkey working on the fishing boats to save money for flights over here. I have not seen him for 18 months now. He was deported from Australia in November 05 due to his working visa being expired. His lawyer promiced that she could extend his stay but that was not the case. Two days later I found out that i was pregnant with his baby. The first time he saw his daughter was on web cam, it broke his heart and cried for hours.
He has tried to come back many times to be with us but over its all about money and politics and has found it very difficult. We will know our outcome if he is allowed back and when this month, so fingers crossed :fingerscrossed: .
We talk on the phone, send emails and see each other on cam, but i just miss him so much. It hurts so much that he cannot experience his daughter growing up threw his eyes not just pics that i send.
I would love to chat to other mums also with partners working away. It has been very tough for me threw my pregnancy and birth. I think the worst thing for me was for him not to be there for the birth of our daughter- that killed me. But we will never give up- We have much hope that we will be together again as a family at last. Thanks for letting me share this story- Sorry It's so Long lol.
Thanks Tasha.
Me (Tasha) 21
Suat (Daddy) 30
Leyla (9 months, 16/07/06) :angel:
Dragonfly - welcome to the FIFO group!! lots of fun to be had!!! Its a test for sure.
Thank goodness i got on to check my emails this morning and I had one from DH, turns out that he has free broadband access, so at least next time he will be able to take the laptop with him and we can communicate on skype or msn!! YAH
Hi-ya girles,
Haven't been down this far for a while as I've returned to work (3 days a week) and don't have as much time on the hub as I used to.
Welcome tashasa. Hope you get some good news soon.
Leanne...did your DH have an option when it came to changing sites? Hope your Dh can type faster than mine - it would take the whole two weeks for my Dh to get one email off to me, :laughing: .
We're coping ok at the moment. Dh is home this week and next time he's home his parents will be visiting too, so it will be a full house again.
Take care,
Lisa
sara-jayne
04-05-2007, 14:36
hi dragonfly, thats horrible, i hope you get it all sorted out soon and he can be home for her first birthday.
i am 2 days into my 3 week single parent shift and hating it, I MISS HIM SOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!. DH is going to apply for a job in town when he gets home. its getting too hard to say goodbye each time, katie is getting old enough now that she notices him missing, its all dad, dad, dad, dad.:ecomcity:
poor thing today he has to drive a scrapper that will only do 44km an hour 650km's and they have to stop every so often to let the tyre cool down.
leanne- thats great about the broadband, my dh lives in a caravan-like cabin on a 40ft tralier he pulls with the scrapper, so he stays wherever he is working, usually in the middle of nowhere, so no phone no internet and no mobile coverage, i will be lucky to get one call a week. :crying:
if he gets a job in town he will be on 4 day shift, 4 days off, 4 night shift, 4 days off. dosent that sound like bliss?
we will drive each other mad, im not used to seeing him that often.:banghead:
i said to him the other day "im going to miss you once you leave but i cant wait for you to leave" i get so used to doing things my way that he really annoys me when hes home,
altho i must say there are a few things i cant do untill be gets homeValentine mabey now we can try for #3
well must go been very lazy today, i havnt done any house work today. i did go to the gym tho.
i hope the time flys for those of you with men away and i hope time freezes for the ones with hubbys home, and i hope babies sleep for all of you.
Welcome to Dragonfly and Tasha. Tasha, I hope you get some good news soon and your partner can finally hold his beautiful daughter :hugs: .
Well my hubby decided to tell me today that he is thinking of doing 5 weeks on 9 days off instead of his 4w/1w roster as he will then get 2 weekends at home. In a way it makes more sence but on the otherhand it's 5 weeks!!! I have told him if that's what he wants to do I will go along with it but not 100% happy about it. Didn't win powerball last night so I can't bring him home. As much as I love being at home with DS, sometimes I think about being at work fulltime so hubby can come home but then we both wouldn't get much time together anyway and poor DS would be in daycare. Oh to have a :wizard: sometimes huh?
Is there a meeting held at all for NOR mums? Big :hugs: to everyone that needs it at the moment.
Loving Leyla
05-05-2007, 08:17
Hi kym, :)
Thanks for your kind words.
Tasha.
Dragonfly I think I missed something!! Did you say your husband will be away for your DS 1st Birthday??
Cause I am going through the same thing. My DH roster is going to fall so that he misses DS 1st birthday by 3 days!!! We havent yet organised anything. But not knowing many people here I was really hoping that I could have DH around. Thats just not fair to miss DS 1st Birthday!!
Proudofmy3Babies
07-05-2007, 12:55
Dragonfly and LeanneHehir - My husband too will be away for DD's first birthday, it falls right in the middle so there is nothing that can be done about it!!
It sucks, but hoping to have a little party before he goes away. My brother is going to come from Sydney for her first birthday so I won't be alone.
Hope time is flying for you all, I've got at least another 10days, the phones are down and they are on tow, so who knows how long he might be away for!!!
Aww that sucks ladies, that ur DPs will be away for first birthdays :( I wonder if DP will be away for our bubs first birthday(won't know til he's born lol). I have a feeling DP would take a few days annual leave and come home for it anyway.
Only 3 more sleeps til my DP is home! YAY I can't wait. I'm finding it very hard to get up in the mornings now and yeah...my body just needs a break from running around all the time.
2 Cherubs
07-05-2007, 15:37
Dragonfly I think I missed something!! Did you say your husband will be away for your DS 1st Birthday??
Cause I am going through the same thing. My DH roster is going to fall so that he misses DS 1st birthday by 3 days!!! We havent yet organised anything. But not knowing many people here I was really hoping that I could have DH around. Thats just not fair to miss DS 1st Birthday!!
Nope... I didnt mention DP will be away hehe Not sure where that came from.
Dp hasnt actually started his job yet and DS 2nd Birthday isnt until Sept so who knows he may be away for it.
Im sorry your DP will be missing your sons first birthday :hugs:
Sorry dragonfly I must have got confused!!
Maybe I will have to plan a birthay party before DH goes back. Thanks for that suggestion, just dont think it will be the same though!!!
Still not sure when DH is going to be home. He finishes work next Tuesday but Skippers dont fly on Tuesdays so not sure what that means.
Does anyone have any idea what happens?? DO they have to hang around at the mine and fly out the next day?
I'd say they'd hang out on site til the next available flight!
Great thats not what I wanted to hear!!!
That doesn't sound right as he woudl then be having a day of R&R at work... my hibby flies National Jet so I'm not sure.
I know that DH is going to work and extra week somewhere in his roster so he can be home for DS 1st birthday (and our anniversary 4 days later) - is there any way Leannehehir & MelandChris that your partners could do the same?
Hey everyone I have changed my username but its still Leanne!!
I am not sure about working an extra week but if he is going to do that he needs to do it very soon!! He is just so unorganised!!
Proudofmy3Babies
09-05-2007, 18:43
That doesn't sound right as he woudl then be having a day of R&R at work... my hibby flies National Jet so I'm not sure.
I know that DH is going to work and extra week somewhere in his roster so he can be home for DS 1st birthday (and our anniversary 4 days later) - is there any way Leannehehir & MelandChris that your partners could do the same?
Unfortunately not, they have pretty strict swing cycles, he would have to get his opposite to work an extra 2 1/2 wks and maritime laws doesn't allow that I dont think??
My brother will be here with me though so thats cool!! We might do the Birthday thing before as well or maybe when he gets home.
kewlchicmum
12-05-2007, 01:00
Hello girls how is everyone going of late?
Whats your plans for mothers day?
Proudofmy3Babies
12-05-2007, 10:40
Hi Kewlchicmum,
I'm not doing anything, a hazard of their jobs I guess, my hubby will be away and it's his Birthday on Mother's Day as well.
I will spend the day at home with my little princess - it's my first monthers day Yeyyy
You're lucky!! Here's a list of what my DH will miss out on.....
* He has missed my birthday
* He'll miss being here for his birthday
* He'll miss being here for DS3's 1st birthday
* He'll miss being here for his Mum's birthday
* He'll miss being here for DS2's 3rd birthday
* He was almost going to miss being here with us for Christmas - now he can be here, but he has to fly out on Boxing Day
* He'll miss being here for New Year's Eve
Lucky us.....Not! :thumbsdown:
hi everyone, Never knew this topic was even here glad i found it.
my dh works 3 on 3 off on a mobile oil rig around the moomba area, although he has done a stint in Africa for 6wks and a stint in New Zealand for 4wks but they were before bubs came along.
it sucks him being away but i do love my time.
i just struggle with his ex wife and her antics which happen a lot.
Hope to talk to you all soon.
kewlchicmum
06-06-2007, 23:45
Hey chickies
How is everyone going my DH just flew out on Monday so its just me and our DS for 2 whole weeks....I always hate the first couple of days after he has gone they seem to be the hardest for me. Does any one else feel that way....I had a sook this time when he left:gloomy:
Aww *hugs*
I find that halfway is the worst for me, I dunno why!
I haven't been around in this thread much because DP is on his annual leave now, we're just waiting, waiting, waiting for our baby to arrive hehe.
kewlchicmum
07-06-2007, 13:18
Hey Starlet thanks for :hugs: so when are you due? Oh how exciting for you both and what is the age of your other bubby?
kewlchicmum
07-06-2007, 13:21
Oh silly me sorry Starlet just read your tag thingie....:o Is it the first for you and your partner together?
Yep, this is our first bub together, we have 15 days to go til my due date and boy is it dragging on! lol. DP has been home for a week and has another 6 weeks off. He usually flies out tonight, so it's going to be really weird having him at home!!
kewlchicmum
08-06-2007, 10:57
Hello Starlet I know it's strange having them home when they are meant to be back at work my DH had 6 weeks off for the before and after the birth of our DS and it was strange having him home for so long a time but good to. My DH does 2 and 2 what does yours do?
kewlchicmum
18-06-2007, 15:26
:yes: Wow we are all very quite on here all your DH/DP must be home woho for you all if they are mine is due home morra.....can't wait.
i've got another 2 weeks (been 2 weeks) and I'm sick UUUUHHHHH. got no voice, the older kids are loving not yelling. Hope all are doing OK. Few of the guys on site got rained in so couldn't make their flights. hope that doesn't happen to hubby.
Take care and keep smiling
hi there, dh has gone off to work again so me and ds for just over 3 weeks this time. why is it that ds always seems to get sick and have a really hard time when dh is gone!!! ds has spent most of the day screaming with wind pain and the sniffles and dh had to call right in the middle of it all, he said he is going to call back (hope so).
i just hope ds doesnt have too much of a restless night. i am exhausted from my 4.30am wake up.
:hugs: to you "jdsmum". hope your little fellas feeling better. It's never fun when their sick (or you are).
The school holidays have started.....yay. DOn't have leave the house early in the morning in the cold but have to entertain them 24/7. My mum has them for a few nights. It seems like ages since i've had a break and some time to myself. I still have little one though, she is a full on 15 month old. I just can't figure out which jobs are more important to get done and what jobs I can do without hubby. Should just take it easy! easier said then done though.
One and 1/2 weeks left and counting.
Hope all are healthy and happy. Keep smiling
hubby will be home in a week (yay) but only for 2 days then he is off to qld to do a course. but i am meeting him there for a couple of days later in that week. i dont know how i am going to go i am leaving ds with grandma. its the first time i will have left him overnight before. but i know grandma will look after him really well (probably too well)
hope all is good with everyone.
youngmumof1
30-06-2007, 19:43
Hey ya ladies,Im from Townsville, and my DH just left on Tuesday night for Skarden River up above Weipa, 2 on and 1 off he comes back Wednesday week.... Its only been 4 days and i CANT WAIT LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!He was home for a month before he left so thats prob why im starting to notice it i rekon....well i best go incase someone rings me....Chat soonTake care....Oh yeah our son is 14.5 months
Oops, sorry ladies I'm here lol.
Just been busy, our little man arrived almost 3 weeks ago, so we have been busy. DP has 19 days left before he goes back to work and I'm a little scared of being left with the three boys on my own!
He works 2 on, 1 off.
perrywinkle
01-07-2007, 09:09
Hello Everyone,
I might join in on this thread if it's OK.
DH works away 2 weeks on 1 week off. He's due to fly out Tuesday morning but he has to go back tomorrow morning. He's a wanted man LOL!!!!
He works at Prominant Hill ( I think I've spelt that wrong) in SA!!
Congarts starlet on the arrival of your little one. Hope you both enjoy the time you have together.
Welcome perrywinkle to this thread. Feel free to share your happy and sad times.
You have a good roster, sure bets 4 on 1 off as we are at the moment, only 1 more stint till they have the job done then onto the next place.
See you all soon. I have partner home for a week. He came home a few days earlier but hopefully can go back to make in the next weekend.
Take it easy and keep smiling
Di
Starlet that is great news!! Feels like you have been pregnant for ages!! Well I know it has been 10 months!!! Congrats, how are you going with little Owen?? Is it hard with DP not around??