View Full Version : Baby Pic Comp - What do you think of my idea
Sodor
28-01-2007, 05:28 PM
Hi all bubhubbers
After reading alot of community threads and wanting to get involved in organisations and charities i have come up with an idea. I am asking for all your thoughts and ideas on this.
I have an idea to do a bubhub baby and children contest to raise money for a charity that we can all decide on.
I thought it could consist of the main age groups such as 0-12 months 1-3 years and 3-5 years
I also thought there could be novelty subcategories such as cheekiest smile, best eyes, fancy dress etc
I thought that maybe everyone could giv $10.00 to enter the main ages and $3 for any sub category that you wanted to enter.
All proceeds would go to selected charity and i will write to places to get sponsored prizes.
Please have a think about it i thought this could be a way that we can all help and have fun at the same time. If this one worked maybe we could do them quarterly throughout the year.
I would appoint an independent non biased judge.
Mods please let me know if this is ok with you.
Any ideas and thoughts would be appreciated i am interested to see who would like to do this.:yelclap:
damien's mum
28-01-2007, 05:32 PM
I think that is a GREAT IDEA! I'm not too clever with those things, but i still think its a top idea!! :yelclap:
OopsieDaisy
28-01-2007, 05:32 PM
Great idea, you would need to run it by Bubhub tho if you are going to use their name etc?
Sodor
28-01-2007, 05:33 PM
yeah i would totally go through bubhub and do it properly i just wanna see who would wanna do it first.:thumbsup:
OopsieDaisy
28-01-2007, 05:34 PM
I would but am in Tassie, but it is a great idea!
What charities are you thinking of helping?
The Good Guys have been known to be good for donating to charities... just an idea and bit of help!:idea:
Sodor
28-01-2007, 05:37 PM
Tassie is fine you can still partcipate i wouldnt discriminate just because you live in tassie:laughing:
I was thinking of childrens cancer foundation, ronald macdonald house something like that, thats going to benefit children. Maybe even an orpahange in australia.
OopsieDaisy
28-01-2007, 05:56 PM
Tassie is fine you can still partcipate i wouldnt discriminate just because you live in tassie:laughing:
I was thinking of childrens cancer foundation, ronald macdonald house something like that, thats going to benefit children. Maybe even an orpahange in australia.
Great ideas...... Valentine
rynosmum
28-01-2007, 05:57 PM
As others have said, if this was to be a Bub Hub thing, you will certainly need to run it past the owners first and have their guidance and input. Send a PM to Bubhub and you can chat to Hilary.
Sodor
28-01-2007, 05:57 PM
ok will do
OopsieDaisy
28-01-2007, 05:59 PM
Good luck with it all :thumbsup:
Sodor
30-01-2007, 07:37 PM
Hi all Hilary has given me the go ahead to do this so now i need to get some ideas for a charity and then ill start from there. If anyone is confused you can see what im talking about in the thread in this section titled called what do you think of my idea. So any suggestions for me?
30-01-2007, 07:46 PM
What about Bonnie Babes?
bubhub
30-01-2007, 08:10 PM
The Bonnie Babes (and other photo type fundraisers) are already well established. I think what BertandErnie wanted was to start another one, specifically for Bub Hub viewers, with the entry fee going to a chosen charity.
~rambox~
30-01-2007, 08:13 PM
SIDS would be my first choice
Childrens Cancer foundation
Royal Childrens Hospital
Thats all i can think of atm and i would definatly be in on this :thumbsup:
Angelinalily
30-01-2007, 08:39 PM
A few ideas for you
Mater Foundation - Qld Mater Hospitals and Research
Starlight Foundation
Make-a-Wish
Alannah and Madeline Foundation
Can't think of any others right now. Best of luck organising it all. Great idea :thumbsup:
30-01-2007, 08:48 PM
Oh what a lovely idea!
~rambox~
30-01-2007, 08:50 PM
Alannah and Madeline Foundation
What is that one for i have never heard of it :confused:
Angelinalily
30-01-2007, 08:58 PM
Allanah and Madeline Mikac were the two little girls killed at Port Arthur. Their father started the foundation for Child victims of crime
Read more about it here
http://www.amf.org.au/
polony
30-01-2007, 09:04 PM
I am assuming that this will be on a regular basis?? If so, why just pick one charity? Why not have a different one each time?
Great idea by the way!!:thumbsup:
Angelinalily
30-01-2007, 09:14 PM
If you are just running it through Bubhub do you think it would be too much to run it every few months(I think that is what was mentioned earlier)? I would think it would be more of an annual event, with say a month or two to get your entries in, maybe enter as many times as you like. That way you would get the most possible entrants, for your time and organisation. Just my opinion.
Sodor
30-01-2007, 09:16 PM
Yes i would say it would be something that i could only do once every six months.
Keep the ideas flowing also want to see how many people would do it?
Angelinalily
30-01-2007, 09:18 PM
Keep the ideas flowing also want to see how many people would do it?
Maybe post a poll in the General section. That might be the best way to get the most responses :)
bubhub
30-01-2007, 09:22 PM
Maybe post a poll in the General section. That might be the best way to get the most responses :)
If we move the discussion to there, it will get disjointed - let's keep it in this section, please
Sodor
30-01-2007, 09:23 PM
Hi everyone just wanted to put a poll up to see who will enter the bubhub baby comp for charity that i am organising. I will go ahead if i get enough people interested.
kirstenriley
30-01-2007, 09:23 PM
me! me! count me in!:fingerscrossed:
Sodor
30-01-2007, 09:24 PM
oops sorry hilary can i adjust it so my poll is here?
bubhub
30-01-2007, 09:29 PM
I've merged your original thread into here and I tried to merge the poll too, but I've messed that up!
I'll try and sort it out, but you might have to re-add a poll into here...sorry!!
bubhub
30-01-2007, 09:33 PM
Sorry - can't retrieve the poll. You should be able to add another one in here. If it doesn't let you, for any reason, post the questions here and I'll create the poll for you again. (Sorry, any votes will have been lost, but as it had only been there a short while, that shouldn't be too many and those who voted before will be able to vote in the new poll)
30-01-2007, 09:34 PM
Brilliant idea! I'm in :yes: You'll make a lot of money out of me thats for sure :p
Sodor
30-01-2007, 09:40 PM
thanks hilary can you please add the poll for me i dont know how to do it the questions were
will you enter
answers were
yes
no
undecided
bubhub
30-01-2007, 09:49 PM
thanks hilary can you please add the poll for me i dont know how to do it the questions were
will you enter
answers were
yes
no
undecided
Done:wizard:
Sodor
30-01-2007, 09:51 PM
Thanks Hilary your a champion:thumbsup:
30-01-2007, 09:57 PM
Yes I would enter, I think it's a great idea.:thumbsup:
mum33
30-01-2007, 10:06 PM
would enter for sure! great idea!
sugar n spice
31-01-2007, 12:00 AM
i think thats a brilliant idea but could we vote on a charity from all suggestions?
Sodor
31-01-2007, 12:04 AM
thats a good idea i will compile a list tomorrow and we can have a vote
phineas
31-01-2007, 05:36 AM
Fantastic idea :thumbsup:
I'm in :yes:
jessgray
31-01-2007, 06:53 AM
which charity is going to get the money,i'd prefer a charity to do with kids
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 07:08 AM
which charity is going to get the money,i'd prefer a charity to do with kids
:yes: Me too :thumbsup:
the_original_duchess
31-01-2007, 07:18 AM
Yeah definantly, altho no comp really if jessica is in it. she'l kcik a$$ lol. nah kidding. but let me know the details and ill be in on it. how would we pay to enter, i dont have a credit card so would there be other options?
jessgray
31-01-2007, 07:37 AM
what about a charity for kids that doesnt get much publicty (if such a charity exists:laughing: )
jessgray
31-01-2007, 07:39 AM
how would we pay to enter, i dont have a credit card so would there be other options?
paypal takes credit/debit cards as well as bank payments
you could do bank deposits
checks & money orders <---subject to time to clear
i have a debit card its a visa one so is that ok:confused:
the_original_duchess
31-01-2007, 07:49 AM
thanx for that jessgrey. grant has a visa debit card, so ill use that.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 07:49 AM
hi guys i was thinking for those who dont have credit cards they could just post me a money order made out to that charity. The chosen charity will definately be a childrens charity.
jessgray
31-01-2007, 07:55 AM
:thumbsup: are vsia debit cards ok coz they work just like crdit cards only its my money:D
Sodor
31-01-2007, 07:56 AM
:thumbsup: are vsia debit cards ok coz they work just like crdit cards only its my money:D
yes that should be fine as they work just like credit cards.
*My Lil Blondie*
31-01-2007, 08:12 AM
i think its an awsome idea! we will be in for sure!!
i think the make a wish foundation does a wonderful thing for kids:yes:
Sodor
31-01-2007, 08:45 AM
Ok heres a list of the charitys i have come up with
Save the children australia
The mirabel foundation
make a wish foundation
mater foundation
childrens cancer institute
BlueGin
31-01-2007, 08:56 AM
Would you consider adding SIDS to the list? I know they're really big already, but it is such an important area that maybe it could still be a thought?
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:00 AM
Would you consider adding SIDS to the list? I know they're really big already, but it is such an important area that maybe it could still be a thought?
great idea cant believe i forgot that one:thumbsup:
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:19 AM
I will decide today on the charity and then i can sort out prizes does anyone know any businesses or organisations that would donate goods to be used as prizes?
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 09:22 AM
I will decide today on the charity and then i can sort out prizes does anyone know any businesses or organisations that would donate goods to be used as prizes?
I am a Tupperware Demonstrator and have heaps of stuff if you are interested.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:25 AM
I am a Tupperware Demonstrator and have heaps of stuff if you are interested.
Hi there would you be willinng to donate any of your tupperwear as prizes?
31-01-2007, 09:38 AM
Yeah I think it's a great idea
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 09:40 AM
Hi there would you be willinng to donate any of your tupperwear as prizes?
Yeah I have double of a lot of things still in packets and my DH would be happy to see the back of it :laughing:
31-01-2007, 09:48 AM
Can I ask, are the photos that we are entering, photos we have taken or professional? Because I dont think professional should be allowed.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:49 AM
No sorry i was meant to state that they have to be pics that tou have taken yourself professional shots is not allowed. Its to unfair otherwise.
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 09:52 AM
What about photos that you have taken and then done something to with a program on your computer.
eg: I took a photo of DS#4 newborn and with a program have put him laying in a flower.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:53 AM
What about photos that you have taken and then done something to with a program on your computer.
eg: I took a photo of DS#4 newborn and with a program have put him laying in a flower.
yes thats fine as long as there amatuer you can have what you like just no professional portrait ones:)
31-01-2007, 09:54 AM
No sorry i was meant to state that they have to be pics that tou have taken yourself professional shots is not allowed. Its to unfair otherwise.
Cool!! I'll enter!
31-01-2007, 09:54 AM
Would ppl be allowed to send in the photo via snail mail? And how would you go about paying the entry fees?
Sodor
31-01-2007, 09:56 AM
Would ppl be allowed to send in the photo via snail mail? And how would you go about paying the entry fees?
Yes sending them to me via post is fine as i have a scanner. The options for payment is to donate the entry fee via the charity and give me proof via receipt which the charity will give. Or you can send a cheque or money order to me in the charitys name.
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 09:57 AM
yes thats fine as long as there amatuer you can have what you like just no professional portrait ones:)
Ok thanks :hugs:
BlueGin
31-01-2007, 10:14 AM
Although it's a little too early probably for categories- so that people don't get discouraged, maybe the Photoshopped pictures could be in a "creative" category?
Sodor
31-01-2007, 10:15 AM
Although it's a little too early probably for categories- so that people don't get discouraged, maybe the Photoshopped pictures could be in a "creative" category?
Thats a good idea ill keep that in mind
Oh this sounds like a fantastic idea! Count me in for sure.
I have no idea where to ask for prizes though :confused:
Okay I am naive but what is photoshopped pics?
TyBean
Yep!! I think it is a wonderful idea!!
31-01-2007, 10:17 AM
What about asking a few of the cloth nappy stores to donate? Especially as alot of cloth users frequent this forum too!
And how about asking Huggies or one of the disposable companies?
oldermum
31-01-2007, 10:18 AM
:yelclap: :thumbsup: i think it sounds like a great and fun idea i would b in it .
~rambox~
31-01-2007, 10:19 AM
I have a program called Corel and you can do all sorts off wonderful things with photos and i think a seperate catagory would be a good idea
Sodor
31-01-2007, 10:21 AM
What about asking a few of the cloth nappy stores to donate? Especially as alot of cloth users frequent this forum too!
And how about asking Huggies or one of the disposable companies?
yeah i was thinking that if there are any bubhubbers that make clothies that we would happily donate feel free to pm me.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 11:24 AM
Its great that i have had responses. I will list the charity and categories tonite as well as any prizes that i have come up with so far. I will be sending the prizes via post out of my own pocket so will be keeping them small if possible. As part of the main prize there will be a dvd created with your kids pics along with music and poems.
I hope this is a fun event for all and its all fun for a great cause:thumbsup:
bubhub
31-01-2007, 01:50 PM
Just a couple of points from me to ensure that we run this correctly...
The options for payment is to donate the entry fee via the charity and give me proof via receipt which the charity will give. Or you can send a cheque or money order to me in the charity's name.
That is absolutely correct, viewers must not send money directly to another member to avoid possible scams being set up in this section. It's either a payment directly to the charity concerned (my preferred option) - most reputable charities would undoubtedly by able to receive money in any format, cheque, cash, online, credit card.
Or, if necessary, cheque sent to the Bub Hub organiser, but made out to the Charity concerned. (In this case, again to avoid scams, it must be a recognised charity, otherwise, a scammer could have set up a bank account in the name of 'Kids Charity Wish Foundation' themselves and just be pocketing the money.
Bertandernie, I'm not saying that you would do this at all!!
I will be sending the prizes via post out of my own pocket so will be keeping them small if possible.:thumbsup:
If some of the prizes are donated, the chances are the donating company will have to mail them to you, BertandErnie. Why not cut out this middle stage and ask them to keep the prize at their location. You will let them know the winner's address and they can mail it directly.
They are still incurring one mailing cost and you are incurring none at all (plus you don't have to store the prizes). It's different if a company is donating lots of prizes, but they still might be happy to mail them directly to the winners - it's part of their charitable donation, and as long as they know right from the outset, they will probably be happy with this. Worth asking, anyway!
That's my 2cents, anyway
phineas
31-01-2007, 01:58 PM
Just a note - I agree in keeping Photoshopped piccies in another category :thumbsup:
It's amazing what you can do in Photoshop - you can turn a blah photo into something spectacular, and that wouldn't be fair to Hubbers that can't use or don't like to use photo editing programs.
I prefer photos a la naturale :cool:
Also I had an idea for prizes, maybe some of our Hubbers have services that they could dontate (or would this be advertising??) like photography or hairdressing as prizes.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 02:18 PM
Just a note - I agree in keeping Photoshopped piccies in another category :thumbsup:
It's amazing what you can do in Photoshop - you can turn a blah photo into something spectacular, and that wouldn't be fair to Hubbers that can't use or don't like to use photo editing programs.
I prefer photos a la naturale :cool:
Also I had an idea for prizes, maybe some of our Hubbers have services that they could dontate (or would this be advertising??) like photography or hairdressing as prizes.
yeah it would be great if hubbers donate prizes i already have my self and another lovely hubber donating
Lunar
31-01-2007, 02:21 PM
I'd be in it....my girls are sooo cute, we'd have to win something!!!:laughing:
bubhub
31-01-2007, 02:46 PM
Also I had an idea for prizes, maybe some of our Hubbers have services that they could donate (or would this be advertising??) like photography or hairdressing as prizes.
This is a tricky one. Anybody donating a prize is going to get free publicity on the site - that's usually why people donate prizes. I have to ensure that (unofficial) comps run through here don't devalue the publicity that companies get on the main bub hub site. (if we don't get advertising $$, we can't run the site free of charge for viewers). I can't have it that unauthorised comps in here have more attractive prizes than on the main site. We have rules for those who are allowed to offer prizes on the main site because of the fabulous exposure that they get on the site.
It would be better if a cash prize was offered - eg $100. That would be taken out of the money that the charity received with the prior agreement of the charity.
People can donate goods and services to a charity - eg donate teddy bears to the hospital, donate nappies to The Smith Family, etc - but that doesn't really fit within the frame of this particular comp.
I'm sorry if that sounds harsh, but I have to protect the interests of those who pay to advertise on our site, versus those who will essentially get publicity just for the cost of donating products.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 02:50 PM
I get what your saying and understand so how about the prizes if there are any from companies arent said on bubhub. Im not lloking at making the prizes big really as my main aim is just to give to charity and have a bit of fun. I dont think that the cash prize is really an option.
bubhub
31-01-2007, 03:04 PM
How are people going to know about the prizes if they aren't mentioned? Or do you think that people will just be happy to know that there are prizes and just be grateful for anything received as part of the competition?
(I realise that you are being genuine here, I just need to ensure that the precedents are set for this first comp so that others, who are less scrupulous, don't take the **** at a later date)
our little treasures
31-01-2007, 03:11 PM
I'll be in it!! I just want to add GOOD LUCK Bertandernie sounds all to confusing to me!!:laughing:
Sodor
31-01-2007, 03:13 PM
How are people going to know about the prizes if they aren't mentioned? Or do you think that people will just be happy to know that there are prizes and just be grateful for anything received as part of the competition?
(I realise that you are being genuine here, I just need to ensure that the precedents are set for this first comp so that others, who are less scrupulous, don't take the **** at a later date)
well i could always have the prizes set out and just say there value and a description without actually stating what brand etc..
Each winner will recieve a certificate and a prize
ogilberry
31-01-2007, 09:40 PM
i would donate however i am located in brisbane and wouldnt be able to do other states. i could do a voucher or something!! if that is any help...i have some brand new clothing here also that i could donate if you would like.
i think this is a great cause. i cant see it hurting the advertisers if you are not stating the companies name or brand donated etc. just cloth nappies valued at $30 or something. or gorgeous cotton dresses valued at $50 rrp ...etc that is no way advertising for anyone. i think you will find a lot of advertisers on bubhub if you approached them would certainly want to donate and get involved.
perhaps you could do a state by state comp with a couple of categories...
i think you would generate a lot of interest if you were to run a thread first on the charities and then do a poll so that people feel they are really a part of something good. we all love that fuzzy warm feeling...
good one i knew when i met you that you had brains...good one gal..
love fee
JenNT
31-01-2007, 10:38 PM
Hiliary (& Bert&Ernie,)
Could you not create your own annual Bubhub Baby & Childrens Competition,Hiliary opens an account specifically for entry fees to be deposited,you could set up a page for advertisers to donate their prizes with free mentioning in return on that page,you never know,the advertisers on here may be interested in taking part,then allow a percentage of the fees per charity-say 50% for National winner with the winner choosing his/her favourite charity.Similair to what that radio station in brissie does every year.....is that possible?
cheers Jen:wave:
Two Little Buggalugs
31-01-2007, 10:58 PM
Hi BertandErnie,
Fab idea :wave: . I work(ed!) in marketing and would be happy to donate my time to help you in any way you need (getting prizes, pr, paperwork etc).
This is a tricky one. Anybody donating a prize is going to get free publicity on the site - that's usually why people donate prizes. I have to ensure that (unofficial) comps run through here don't devalue the publicity that companies get on the main bub hub site.
Instead of advertising the supporters on bubhub, would you consider having just an ad for the comp on bubhub with a link to the comp website? With all the talented bubhubbers, I bet someone could help BertandErnie with a simple site (we did this recently for a charity event).
PS. A word from experience - although this is a fantastic idea and we think sponsors would jump at it, often larger companies already have their charity budget set a year in advance, so sometimes smaller companies are better to approach. Not always, but something to consider. Also, it always takes longer than anticipated to organise something that starts as a simple idea when you are asking other organisations to get involved. Even just getting a charity to agree. A lot of them you have to fill in an application stating how you intend to run the event, what you expect to raise, who will be involved etc etc. These might not be things you even know yet which makes it hard to apply.
Sodor
31-01-2007, 11:31 PM
Hiliary (& Bert&Ernie,)
Could you not create your own annual Bubhub Baby & Childrens Competition,Hiliary opens an account specifically for entry fees to be deposited,you could set up a page for advertisers to donate their prizes with free mentioning in return on that page,you never know,the advertisers on here may be interested in taking part,then allow a percentage of the fees per charity-say 50% for National winner with the winner choosing his/her favourite charity.Similair to what that radio station in brissie does every year.....is that possible?
cheers Jen:wave:
Dont think hilary would go for that idea although it is a good one.
Trumpet
01-02-2007, 12:15 AM
This is a great Idea and would be happy to help in any way and of course enter my beautiful bubba's. I don't do these kind of contests but would be more than willing if it was supported by BH and all money goes to children in need.
bubhub
01-02-2007, 09:25 AM
Originally Posted by JenNT http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1064619#post1064619)
Hiliary (& Bert&Ernie,)
Dont think hilary would go for that idea although it is a good one.
The point here is that these are fundraisers that a Bub Hub viewer wishes to organise, and enlist the help of our online community. Bub Hub already has a number of organisations that we officially support through publicity and other means and this is planned into our budget. I don't have the time to get involved personally in these additional ideas - would love to, but I am just one person and managing a forum, a 400+ page website and 3 young kids is enough for me! We are happy to support fundraising efforts through the use of the forum - but they will remain 'unofficial' bub hub community events.
goose
01-02-2007, 09:53 AM
Just my 2 cents.. I think its a great idea and would enter as long as the selected charity benefited kids all around australia.. not just a certain state... eg, I believe mater foundation was mentioned which = QLD...
I think it would be more benefitcial to choose a nationwide charity not a state one...
OopsieDaisy
01-02-2007, 01:00 PM
The point here is that these are fundraisers that a Bub Hub viewer wishes to organise, and enlist the help of our online community. Bub Hub already has a number of organisations that we officially support through publicity and other means and this is planned into our budget. I don't have the time to get involved personally in these additional ideas - would love to, but I am just one person and managing a forum, a 400+ page website and 3 young kids is enough for me! We are happy to support fundraising efforts through the use of the forum - but they will remain 'unofficial' bub hub community events.
I think just letting us have this section is a job well done Hilary :thumbsup: Without it, how would these kind of events take place?! :D
wombatgirl21
01-02-2007, 01:29 PM
hey sweet pea where in tassie you from? i used to live in somerset.:wave:
KapowSchazam
01-02-2007, 09:43 PM
This is an excellent idea, I would enter (sorry everyone else!) for sure!!! Although my pick would be Mater Hosp, I agree that it should be a national charity (i would kick up a stink if it WASN'T a Qld one... so, you know ;) )
Good on you Hilary for giving the time you already have - we all know how flat out you can be just being a mum - handling this web site on top of it is amazing!
And Bertandernie - well done on thinking of such a fantastic idea!!! I'm not one for 'beauty contests' as such - but I think this is more to have fun! Perhaps even a section for mum&bub pics??? :D
babyluv3
02-02-2007, 01:13 AM
Can I just mention that it might be wise to enlist some legal advise, as I have an inclinking that you need a license (or something to that affect) to run a competition. Im sure that you cant even hold a raffle for a school, etc, without getting some sort of permission. It might pay to check first!!
Good luck with it all!!:)
Sodor
02-02-2007, 08:18 AM
Can I just mention that it might be wise to enlist some legal advise, as I have an inclinking that you need a license (or something to that affect) to run a competition. Im sure that you cant even hold a raffle for a school, etc, without getting some sort of permission. It might pay to check first!!
Good luck with it all!!:)
I have to register with the charity to make it all above board and when ive done that im fine.:)
Two Little Buggalugs
02-02-2007, 09:26 AM
I have to register with the charity to make it all above board and when ive done that im fine.:)
Yep, you only need a lotteries commission license if the prize(s) exceed $5K and there is an element of chance in winning. Since the entries will be judged, you don't need to worry about it. :wave:
OopsieDaisy
02-02-2007, 10:44 AM
hey sweet pea where in tassie you from? i used to live in somerset.:wave:
Hobart way, down the Channel area.
angel_cakesau
02-02-2007, 02:37 PM
hey thats a great idea id be in on it
from sarah:yelclap: :angel: :thumbsup: :yes:
mummabear86
02-02-2007, 02:43 PM
what a fantastic idea if you want any help or anything like that let me know i would only be to happy to help with something like this
Sodor
02-02-2007, 03:12 PM
what a fantastic idea if you want any help or anything like that let me know i would only be to happy to help with something like this
Thankyou i shall let you know
lachys_mama
02-02-2007, 03:40 PM
sounds awesome, i'd love to enter
Sodor
02-02-2007, 03:47 PM
Hi all you fantastic bubhubbers thankyou for your support on this. I have chosen the Make a wish foundation as the charity for this event. www.makeawish.org.au
The categories are as follows
0-12 months
12 months-3 years
3years - 5 years
The entry fee for these categorys is $10.00
The novelty categories are
Best smile
Best eyes
Fancy dress
The entry fee for these are $5.00
The entry fee will have to be mailed to myself as a cheque or money order in the foundations name. This is the only way they will let me do this.
The prizes have yet to be confirmed as is the start date.
I really hope this is something we can all enjoy and participate in.
Good luck to all the beautiful bubbas in bubhub land.
How the judging will take place is also yet to be decided. I would prefer an independent judge rather than a public vote. That way its fair on everyone.:)
02-02-2007, 03:49 PM
Will you send us back a reciept?
02-02-2007, 03:51 PM
How the judging will take place is also yet to be decided. I would prefer an independent judge rather than a public vote. That way its fair on everyone.:)
Is Hilary an option as a judge?
Sodor
Will you send us back a reciept?
They wont give me individual receipts only a group one but i could make a receipt myself and at the end i would also show a copy of the receipt that the foundation sends to me. Hope this helps:)
Sodor
Thats a thought im not sure i will have to discuss that with her.:)
02-02-2007, 03:58 PM
They wont give me individual receipts only a group one but i could make a receipt myself and at the end i would also show a copy of the receipt that the foundation sends to me. Hope this helps:)
Oh that's a shame - as bad as it sounds I like to keep the receipts for my tax.;)
bubhub
02-02-2007, 04:02 PM
My kids would win if I'm the judge!!
I might be nice to get a local photographer to judge. Are any of these photographers based near you, bertandernie?
Family photographers > qld (http://www.bubhub.com.au/servicesphotographyqld.shtml)
Sodor
02-02-2007, 04:04 PM
My kids would win if I'm the judge!!
I might be nice to get a local photographer to judge. Are any of these photographers based near you, bertandernie?
Family photographers > qld (http://www.bubhub.com.au/servicesphotographyqld.shtml)
lol i will see if any are in my area also can i enter:laughing:
~Kristin~
03-02-2007, 11:20 AM
Yes please! Be sure to me know when its on so I can enter my little munchkin! :yelclap:
Sodor
03-02-2007, 11:25 AM
Yes please! Be sure to me know when its on so I can enter my little munchkin! :yelclap:
will do thanks for the support
tyler's mum
03-02-2007, 06:44 PM
I said yes but i dont really see the point we all know tyler will win :laughing: :laughing:
Great idea, let me know when its goin to happen:thumbsup:
Natsmummy
03-02-2007, 09:17 PM
What a great idea. I would definately enter my little cutie:p .
lachys_mama
05-02-2007, 07:05 AM
Bert and ernie did i ever tell you how gorgeous you are in that pic? lol seriously though you're doin a great job hun, not too many ppl wanna he lp out these days. God Bless hun :yes: oh n keep me posted
Sodor
05-02-2007, 07:57 AM
Bert and ernie did i ever tell you how gorgeous you are in that pic? lol seriously though you're doin a great job hun, not too many ppl wanna he lp out these days. God Bless hun :yes: oh n keep me posted
Awww thanks for that it was really nice of you:hugs:
by the way thats me on a good day:thumbsup:
uniquelywonderful
05-02-2007, 09:11 AM
What a fab idea!! Good on you 'bertandernie' for putting in the time & effort :yelclap:
Not one to enter baby comps, I'm keen as beans to participate in this one especially with procedes going to Make a Wish Foundation.
I hope you get alot of support from other Bubhub's.
Sodor
05-02-2007, 09:12 AM
What a fab idea!! Good on you 'bertandernie' for putting in the time & effort :yelclap:
Not one to enter baby comps, I'm keen as beans to participate in this one especially with procedes going to Make a Wish Foundation.
I hope you get alot of support from other Bubhub's.
Thankyou so much. I am hoping to have it up and running very soon. Thankyou very much for your support:thumbsup:
Fantastic idea! Look forward to it!:thumbsup:
marcelsmum
05-02-2007, 05:22 PM
Fantastic Idea
I would love to participate but my DS is above 5, maybe next time you could have a pre teen category or even a generic "family" category- this would not exclude anyone.... I know there are a few bub hubbers out there (especially in the TTC forums) who have kids above the ages you mentioned, or who have furbabys. As every family is different, (kids, no kids, pets, single parents, same sex parents, grandparents etc.) no one would be left out and we could celebrate the amazing diversity of this wonderful community.
just a suggestion..
bellapaigesmum
07-02-2007, 10:25 PM
hi i think this is a great idea.
i had a lot of companies donate items to raise money for my school formal and would be happy to give you a list of companies that helped we raised $600 with raffles and still had stuff left over to give away at the formal and it was really worth it all i did was send emails and made a few calls but im in adelaide. let me know if i can help
Sodor
07-02-2007, 11:13 PM
Hi there everyone,
I have had confirmation that the make a wish foundation has recieved my registration form and I should have the go ahead tomorrow so fingers crossed Its up and running next week.:fingerscrossed: :smiliedance:
Sodor
08-02-2007, 07:04 AM
Morning all i am sitting here with tears in my eyes as last night i was up till the wee hours of the morning contacting businesses to donate prizes and i came and checked my emails this morning and i already have a response that is donating three prizes. I cant tell you how nice it feels to being doing this and people actually want to get behind and help. :smiliedance:
~Kristin~
08-02-2007, 07:07 AM
Fantastic news! :smiliedance:
PM me if you need a hand with anything! :thumbsup:
Sodor
08-02-2007, 07:07 AM
Fantastic news! :smiliedance:
PM me if you need a hand with anything! :thumbsup:
Thanks lovey will do.:wave:
08-02-2007, 01:29 PM
Yay! that's fantastic!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
lachys_mama
08-02-2007, 01:53 PM
jolly good show old chap AKA onya bert n ernie!!!!!
Sodor
09-02-2007, 12:13 PM
Hi everyone just thought i would let you all know that there will be an ad on bubhub next week for this fundraiser and i am asking for all you lovely mums and dads to get behind this and help make a difference to those children in need. Thankyou for everyones support so far its been fantastic:thumbsup: :hugs:
Mummy@home
09-02-2007, 03:31 PM
I dont believe in baby shows and alike.
Giving money to help people is certianly a good idea.
mummabear86
11-02-2007, 12:22 PM
just wondering who will be judging
Sodor
11-02-2007, 02:40 PM
just wondering who will be judging
I am deciding on a judge this week and will let you know. It will not be a bubhubber though. It will be a totally unbias person:thumbsup:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.