View Full Version : August '07 Mums2B #4
whatwasithinking
28-01-2007, 03:15 PM
Hope people don't mind but I thought I'd start another thread as the previous one is well over 300 posts.
Anyways - Having the PAPPA (neucal?) test tommorrow both u/s and blood test.
Haven't had morning sickness for a couple of days which can only be good.
Everything else seems to be progressing well.
Hope everything is going well for everyone else.
M O P
28-01-2007, 03:25 PM
Just thought I'd jump in the thread and say HI!
Kirst
28-01-2007, 07:40 PM
Tired, tired, tired.
DD has been getting up at the crack of dawn the last few days, and I'm exhausted!
NT scan on Wednesday for me.
Went to a friend's place for lunch today, and they were so polite, not wanting to ask if I'd put on weight. It wasn't until I refused a glass of wine that I was questioned a bit more in depth.
It's getting a bit hard to hide.
2princesses1prince
28-01-2007, 09:43 PM
Well I can't believe it, I am 13 weeks and still sick with all day nausea, sometimes vomiting. Sometimes I think I should go have a scan done to make sure bubby is growing (I opted out of the neuchal test), next scan isn't until 19 weeks.
Hope everyone else is doing well. And my thoughts are with those that have had the unfortunate loss.
AngelGirl
29-01-2007, 06:52 AM
Someone else who's opted out of the NT scan! I was beginning to think I was the only one...
I can't wait till the 18 week scan to see little bean again. I was asking a friend yesterday what happens at each prenatal appointment with the Oby and she said that she will probably do the little scan each time and check the heartbeat so hopefully I'll get to see beanie at next weeks appointment :D
Snugglepot
29-01-2007, 08:35 AM
Angelgirl, I did not get the NT scan done last time and I only got it done this time because I was sure I was having twins! You are not alone, lots of girls do not get it done! It is mainly us oldies that consider it!
My heart goes out to those with losses and I wish you the best of luck for the year ahead.
I am so pleased to have hit 13 weeks, I am no longer sick and have much more energy. I can actually get through my working week and still have energy on the weekends! I am going to enjoy this time before the heartburn, carpel tunnel and other pregnancy pains begin!
Did anyone watch From here to maternity last night, I cried as always! Watching the women give birth brings up so many emotions in me, I am not scared as such, I have done this before, but the pain is still a worry, will I cope with it all again?
Anyway, thanks for all you lovely posts, it is great to read them and feel normal (well as normal as I can feel!) I am so pleased to know I am not the only only who is huge already, I can not believe I can only wear maternity clothes already!
Take care and have a great week, Kez
mothertobein2007
29-01-2007, 08:49 AM
im 13 weeks today im so happy i havent been for my first prenatal app is that normal
baby due 7th of august 2007:fingerscrossed:
M O P
29-01-2007, 09:01 AM
Mother2B- do you have an appointment made to see someone?
If you were wanting the nuchal scan and blood tests to assess your baby's chances of having Down's Syndrome or Neural Tube defects it's generally done in the window of time between about 10 and 14 weeks, so if you were wanting that done you might need to get your skates on and get a referral asap.
Tan-mumof3
29-01-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi all.Another new thread my goodness we must chat alot lol.Goodluck whatwasithinking with your scan today.Mother2be- im not seeing the MW or ob at the hospital til 14 weeks but as my gp is doing my antenatal care i have seen her at 4 weeks (to confirm) and at 8 weeks, i will go and see her again at about 12 & 1/2 weeks after my nt scan. As kazza said you may want to make an appt if you want the scan done.Not much going on here. I had gastro last week which wasn't much fun. but im over that now (thankgoodness). Still have a bit of morning sickness, but it is starting to ease off. I still have absolutely no energy (is anybody else like that ?) I think it may also have something to do with the weather over here it has been 40+ for the last 4 days.I too have felt my little bubba moving (dh didn't believe me though he thought it was still too early and bubba was still too small).Anyone else feeling any movements or flutters yet? Im 10 & 1/2 weeks but this is my 3rd pg.Anyway i better get off my butt and go and do some housework before it gets too hot, have a good day all.
deb1234
29-01-2007, 09:57 AM
there you all are! i've been checking the other thread and no one was home.
sorry to all of you still feeling sick! none here :) hopefully it will ease soon as we all get well into the 2nd trimester.
shirls84
29-01-2007, 10:08 AM
VENT - I whinged at my GP enough last week that they finally gave me a referal to have an ultrasound done - why couldnt they do this two weeks ago i ask? So i have that later today so i will finally found out how far along i am - as i basically have no real idea!! I have my OB appt tomorrow and i guess i could just wait for that but I am so sick of not knowing when im due and if the pregnancy is all ok etc
Other than that Im pretty good, nausea isnt too bad these days only really gets upset in im in the ute too long getting bounced around! I have been getting headaches all the time though and have found my sleeping patterns have changed - I dont go to bed until the early hours of the morning! Thats enough rambling from me i think - i hope everyone else who has appts and scans coming up that they all go well :fingerscrossed:
Kirst
29-01-2007, 12:43 PM
Hey guys. I'm thinking of Sandy today. Anyone else?
Having been through this before, and knowing what the 'flutters' feel like, I would say that I have felt them, but thought that it was WAY too early. I've been putting it down to gas. I'm not even 12 weeks!
Is it possible to feel it this early? Do you feel it earlier in subsequent pregnancies? Or are you just more aware of what it is?
M O P
29-01-2007, 12:48 PM
Hey Kirst can't help but keep thinking about Sandy. My husband and I have had a few discussions about their predicament, we'd do the same thing.
Kirst
29-01-2007, 12:50 PM
My husband refuses to discuss it. Doesn't want to think about it unless he has to. He's like that about that sort of stuff.
shorty_851
29-01-2007, 01:06 PM
Hello everyone
I thought i might pop my head in here i was in the otehr for a while but sort of got left behind LOL
Anyways i have finally reached the 12wk mark last Saturday.
I agree Sandy is one strong woman.
I too am with therst of you in saying that i feel tired tired tired and woren out. I have finally booked into the hospital. Thank goodness.
Anywho about to head off ofr the day not feeling the best and would rather be in bed the way i feel so
ciao
niesl_bug
29-01-2007, 01:18 PM
I found you gals !!!
I shed a tear for our lovely Sandy and her angel Grace this morning. It breaks my heart every time I think about her. She is one tough cookie :hugs:
Just got back from my 12W scan and all is perfect! 1:14000 chance of d/s, bubs measures 6.23cm and everything is where it should be which is such a huge relief.
M/S seems to have gone, but still totally off a lot of foods, including meat. Managed to cook and eat a bit of chicken last night though. Have my energy back and feeling like myself again. Last night cooked a gorgoues meal, made cupcakes to take to work, did the ironing - I was on fire!!!
I hope everyone else is doing well and if you still have M/S I hope it disappears soon ...
Take care lovely ladies - sending you lots of sticky baby-dust and hopefully we'll have better luck in Thread # 4 :wizard:
Kirst
29-01-2007, 01:21 PM
Glad to hear that everything's fine Tara. I hope it has put any of your nerves at ease.
mothertobein2007
29-01-2007, 01:23 PM
i:barf: in the middle of someone hous my sister was looking to buy i felt silly
mothertobein2007
29-01-2007, 01:25 PM
i want to go to the royal brisbane birth centre is any one else
trendy1
29-01-2007, 02:30 PM
Hello everyone,
Do you mind if I join you? I joined back in December but went on holidays for 5 weeks so missed out on everything that has been happening. I am due around the 18th August and have my 1st ob appointment tommorrow morning. Just wanted to say hello and congratulations to everyone and hopefully I will get to know you all.
niesl_bug
29-01-2007, 02:36 PM
Trendy1 - welcome to our wonderful August thread and CONGRATULATIONS after 3 years of TTC :smiliedance:
Wishing you a happy and healthy pregnancy :yes:
Kirst - yes, lovely to not be worrying :o
Milis
29-01-2007, 02:48 PM
Trendy1 - welcome and congratulations!!! Hope all goes well with the ob tomorrow.
Tara - great news about your scan, and the return of energy. Feel free to come over and do my ironing if you like :laughing: .
Mothertobein2007 - you poor thing, hope the ms clears up for you soon :hugs: .
Shorty - Congrats on reaching 12 weeks! Hope you have a nice relaxing afternoon :sleeping: .
Kirst - I felt something the other day too but just passed it off as gas, but now I'm not so sure! I'm only 10 wks though so surely too early???? I read somewhere that 16 wks was the earliest you could expect to feel anything.
I've been thinking about Sandy a lot this morning, and over the weekend too. I hope she's doing ok.
I'm starting to feel a little better now, actually felt relatively normal this morning and went on a massive cleaning spree. I'm exhausted now and feeling yucky again so think I may have overdone things! DS is refusing to nap in the afternoons now which makes for one very cranky little man come dinner time (and one very cranky mumma!). Anyone else nervous about how they'll cope with 2?
ETsMum
29-01-2007, 03:08 PM
OH MY GOODNESS!!!! Gee, you can't blink around here or you miss stuff!!! Sorry, some of my personals are a bit late as I've been away on hols.
Welcome to all the newies!! Great to have you join us!
Crazy Monkey - So sorry for your loss. My heart skipped a beat when I read your post, because I could relate sooo much to what you would write. :hugs:
Sandy - :hugs: Thinking of you today. I was all numb and speechless reading your updates and when I read the part where you named her 'Grace', I just bawled my eyes out!! Please take care. You've got my support 1000%
Faeml - Great news!! I had everything crossed for you.
AngelGirl - You posted something about needing pregnant and hormonal or something similar written across your head. I reckon I need that too. Maybe we need to get some shirts printed up. :laughing:
niesl_bug - Great news re: your scan. Sounds like your bub doing just great - and not small at all!!
Kirst - my DP is the same. He refused to discuss anything, but if it came to it, we'd do the same thing.
Milis - I used to think I could feel flutters, but when the doc actually pointed out where the top of my uterus was, it was no where near when I felt the movements (even tho I now have a popped out pot belly.) So I have decided that it must have been digestion or gas. :o
Anyway as I said, I haven't been on here for a while. We went to Syd for a holiday. DP went to the Big Day Out and we all had a great time celebrating Aussie day in the place where it all began.
Sorry - have read about 6 days worth of posts at once and I can't remember anymore... Sorry to those who I missed.
I had a Ob appointment today. I was a bit annoyed as he didn't get the doppler out to listen to bubs heart, but I supposed they only did it last week. I am being refered to the diabeties doc as he reckons I'm not going to last the rest of my pregnancy without going on insulin. I'm ok with it, cause I am finding it really difficult and tiring to keep my bg levels down and I am really grumpy being so tired and hungry all the time. I just am not good with needles... (Sugar really does make you sweeter...)
I went to a bubhub meet today for Northside Brissy, it was nice to meet some new mums and bubs, but I think I had too much sun. I am ready for lunch and a nap! DS has been asleep for over 3 hours now. He must be catching up on missed sleep when we were travelling.
whatwasithinking
29-01-2007, 03:49 PM
Sandy - my thoughts with you and your family today. :hugs: .
Trendy - welcome to the group and congratulations.
Everyone else - Big huge hello.
Had the NT test this morning - without it's drama though. First had blood test ( waited over an hr - grrrrr) then had ultrasound. Ultrasound went really well, bubs growing as should be and was bouncing around like having hiccups or a seizure (was the only way I could describe it - even asked u/s lady if bubs was OK and she said it was just playing).
H/B was 153. Don't know the length - didn't tell me - but she said I could be 7days more than first advised WTF - now I'm confused but not going to really change the EDD date until I see what 19wks scan says.
Lady then told me the blood test I had this morning was the wrong one and I would need to have another and this time it would cost me $$. No way I described the writing on the form and the questions blood lady asked me and they matched the same questions u/s lady asked me. So she told me to ring them and just check. Rang and of course I had the right test - WTF again.
Don't know the actual results until I pick up u/s tommorrow - was I meant to ask or was she meant to tell me (as some of you ladies seem to have found out at the time?). Anyways.
Got a photo of bubs however she gave us someone elses and Jaesen picked it straight away as he said the baby wasn't as cute as ours. LOL. We finally got the right picture but I feel sorry for the lady before us - she either has someone elses or doesn't have one at all.
Still feeling yucky but other than that going well. Start my new job in Customs on 7 Feb so it should be interesting as I will only be there for 6mths then leaving for Mat leave (transfered from another government department so am entitled to Mat leave - lucky).
Anyway best go and stop rambling. Talk very soon when I get the proper NT results.
OJandMe
29-01-2007, 03:53 PM
YAY! Guess what girls! I'm able to birth with teh Mater Hospital Midwifery Group Practice!! Coz Freckles is only ONE Freckle! YAY! I"m so excited... looking good for a VBAC!!!
Welcome Trendy1!!
Sandy: Hope everything went okay today :hugs:.
Everyone else who I'm completely slack with and haven't written anything to in ages. I PROMISE I'll catch up on the posts tonight!!
Love to all!
whatwasithinking
29-01-2007, 03:54 PM
To be perfectly honest I have been in denial with this baby since I found out I was pregnant. Knew I was pregnant but really didn't "connect" (IYKWIM).
Anyway I am proud and pleased to say after seeing the bub actually bouncing around I feel a connection now - even Jaesen picked up on it with my questions and stuff at the u/s.
So I have finally accepted and connected with this third child.
Sorry just had to get that out and admit to it.
shirls84
29-01-2007, 04:11 PM
Hope all went well with Sandy today!!
Glad to hear everyones scans are going well
Ive had my dating ultrasound and looks like im leaving the august thread and joining september and dude said looks like im due 5th Sept which is about a week and a half later than i expected TBH but its all good - ive calmed down now cause we know there is a strong heart beat etc
So wishing you ladies all the best of luck and i will drop in from time to time, who knows my next scan might tell me something different!
Snugglepot
29-01-2007, 07:21 PM
Everyone seems to be wondering if they can feel bubs moving yet and I am no different!
I thought I could feel bubs stretching and moving a little bit last night.
Well I may have the answer.....I thought I might as well find out for sure by eating a hot curry! With DS the curry effect was a full on party in the tummy for quite a few hours during the night! I will let you know tomorrow! (I love curry and I am eating as many as I can before heartburn and baby partytime stop me!):smiliedance:
Tan-mumof3
29-01-2007, 07:27 PM
Im pretty much 100% sure i felt the baby moving. The movement is really low (behind my pubic bone). I think that with subsequent (sp?) pregnancies you can feel it earlier, and as this is my third im sure this is what im feeling.Whatwasithinking glad your scan went well and you feel a connection with your bubs now.Welcome to Trendy 1.
OJandMe
29-01-2007, 10:28 PM
I can definately feel Freckles. :yes: She's a feisty one ( she... :fingerscrossed: )
OverTheMoon
30-01-2007, 09:23 AM
I hope Sandy went ok yesterday too.
Things are starting to sound more positive with everyone, which is great!
I went back to work yesterday, and it absolutely shattered me! I cut back for this year as i didn't know if i would still be on ivf, so i'm doing mon/wed - we'll see how i go on wed when the kids actually return! I had to run out of the meeting a few times yesterday 'cos i've still got m/s, so should be interesting.
My back was so sore, i was so tired, and grumpy, and i started to feel more pulling pains in the evening. Apart from that, i feel good and have started to develop a bit of a bump. Some fool told me yesterday i looked like a straw with a pea in it. I wanted to slap him. I thought i was looking good!
I'm getting excited, and just realised it's almost 6 months to go! Feels like it's going fast!
Hope everyone has a good day!
niesl_bug
30-01-2007, 09:27 AM
Hey Mel
Glad to hear you're doing well - I found it tough going back to work, but OK once I was back into my routine.
I would have slapped the stupid fool who said that to you!!!
Re: feeling bubs - I am sure I can only feel gas! Unfortunately there has been a lot of action in that department since becoming pg :o
My friend who was 9 weeks pg m/c on the weekend. She is having a D&C today. My heart breaks for her. Our DH work together and we live close by and we were so excited that we were going to have our bubs together :crying:
Sandy - we are thinking of you honey :hugs:
Take care gals xxx
Sandy
30-01-2007, 09:36 AM
Well I am home for a week to recover, physically but mentally may take ALOT longer. My body is doing great, no bleeding and all my pregnancy symptoms are gone bar the pot belly which will reduce with my hormones I was told.
I went into surgery at 12pm yesterday and woke up in recovery at 2pm. I broke down in the ante room off the surgery room where they met you and I had to be given a sedative to calm down.
All the staff were LOVELY and the oby who did it, well, she was wonderful.
I will have the tests back from little Grace in 4 weeks and I have my check up at the Fetal Medicine Unit in 6 weeks. I was told no sex for 2 weeks (fine with me and my state of mind at the moment) and then there is no reason why we cannot try for another baby after that. They said to maybe wait for one normal cycle to gurantee that I ovulate. I was given an 80% chance of having a normal baby next time round.
From 4 am last night I lay awake thinking about how to best remember Grace. I would like to buy a climbing rose and plant it against the courtyard wall in our new house. My best friend does gorgeous childrens art paintings and I will ask her to paint a small pale purple, pink and yellow name plate that says Grace and place it within the climbing rose.
I'm still totally sure that I have done the right thing, and I love my little one no less.
From having a surprise pregnancy that I wasn't sure that I wanted, I am now more determined to have another child than every before and DH is pleased as he always wanted more kids. And believe me, any child born to me now will be the most precious child on earth (along with DD!).
And thankyou to everyone for your kind words, thoughts and prayers. I'm doin' ok so don't worry about me and I will check in from time to time to see how you all are going.
Sandy
leishacaz
30-01-2007, 10:01 AM
I have posted for ages, I've just been to tired to do anything lately! And the nausea doesn't help either!
Sandy- I'm so very sorry to hear of your loss, my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
I haven't had any scans or anything yet, I'm not quite 10 weeks but I feel like I don't really know if everythings going ok. I've opted out of the n/t test, as I'm young and don't feel its necessary and I my doc didn't think so either. But I feel like its so far away til I get to have the 18 week ultrasound and want reassurance thats bubs is ok and if I'm definitely due at the time we've worked out. Oh well I'm sure everything will be ok, Ill just have to be patient.
Is anyone showing yet? I'm sure I am but I feel embarrased to be showing as peole say "oh its to early' but this is my second so I'm sure you show earlier with your second. So I just wanna check when other people have started to show, just for some peace of mind...
Hope all is well for everyone :wave:
2princesses1prince
30-01-2007, 10:08 AM
leishacaz - they normally do a scan to confirm your dates. If they haven't suggested it, you can ask for it to be done.
OJandMe
30-01-2007, 11:08 AM
I feel gross.:thumbsdown: And I'm HUNGRY! I've only kept down ONE meal in the last 24hours... and that was 3 dimsims. I feel like I've got this lump in my throat that I can't get rid of... and everytime I eat something I end up losing it :barf: it sucks.
On top of that, I've got insomina... and by the time I actually get to sleep... one or another of the boys wakes up coz they've rolled out of bed :banghead: I slept for 3 HOURS this morning.. coz DH saw I was just losing it and told me to go have a sleep.
Okay... winge over.:D
Hope everyone else is doing well.!!
LiciaSings
30-01-2007, 11:53 AM
I have the n/t scan one week from today. I can't wait to actually see her (or him, I just have to pick a pronoun). I have no idea how to tell if I feel baby moving yet, so I'm pretty sure I haven't felt a thing. I can tell I have a tummy bulge and hubby sees lots of little changes, but I'm sure I'm not actually "showing" to strangers yet.
I wonder what it'll feel like when she moves. I wonder what it'll be like to see her. It doesn't all feel totally real yet.
M/S is pretty much gone, but I just started back to work this week too. Being a teacher, I was on holidays for most of the first trimester - really lucky timing. I was exhausted, but got to take it really easy. Now that I'm working again, I seem to get tired and hungry really quickly, but only working 4 days a week, so should be a peice of cake :)
So I'm new to this site today. Heard about it from a friend. Finally finished reading all the posts on this thread ... You sure are a chatty lot :ecomcity:
Can't wait to get to know you :D
AngelGirl
30-01-2007, 12:01 PM
Sandy - you are quite remarkable. I had tears in my eyes when reading your post, what a gorgeous way to remember little Grace. I wish you nothing but the best for the future and hope that you a blessed with a healthy pregnancy soon.
Velisha - IKWYM about waiting till the 18 week scan to know everything is ok. I'm not having the NT either but my Oby did a dating scan at 10 weeks and I was happy to see Little Bean bouncing around! Perhaps you can ask for dating scan?
Gretel - sorry to hear you feel awful, hopefully it will pass very soon! :fingerscrossed:
[quote=OverTheMoon;1056646]
Some fool told me yesterday i looked like a straw with a pea in it. I wanted to slap him. I thought i was looking good!quote]
I couldn't help but giggle when you wrote than - I would take it as a compliment if I were you! He's probably not very good at giving them but I think he mean't that you're looking great, just a little bump! :thumbsup:
Mandi - Well done on reaching th 12 week mark. So exciting for you!
Tara - wow, sounds like you've got your energy back! Want to help me with my chores? Haha!
Trendy - Welcome back! Good to see you here.
Shirls84 & Donna - Glad your scans went well, that's great news. Oh and Donna - good luck with the new job!
Len - shirts, what a great idea! What should they say "Beware - Crazy Pregnant Woman" or "Pregnant and Hormonal" ??
Tan and those of you who've felt movement - how exciting is that!! I can't wait, I laid in bd last night trying to see if I could feel anything...nope not yet!
Mothertobein2007 - oh how awful that you were sick when viewing a property. :o I hope the m/s eases up for you soon.
As for me I'm feeling much better, m/s has eased off quite a bit and I have a bit more energy. Not as much as Tara though!! :laughing:
Sorry if I have missed anyone, there's quite a few of us now isn't there?!
Have a lovely day ladies. xxx
AngelGirl
30-01-2007, 12:04 PM
I wonder what it'll feel like when she moves. I wonder what it'll be like to see her. It doesn't all feel totally real yet.
Welcome to our little thread Alicia! I feel exactly the same! Can't wait till bubba starts moving and my tummy gets a bit bigger. My clothes are getting tighter and I have a little potbelly but nothing that strangers would be able to notice!
trendy1
30-01-2007, 01:01 PM
Hello everyone,
Well I had my 1st ob appointment and they have me at 11 weeks and due on 21/8/07 which is only a day before my husband!! All went very well and she did an ultrasound so we got to see the baby again - a very active one too. We have a week to decide on the n/s test and I am really unsure what to do so will be talking to hubby to see what he thinks. Are there many people that haven't had it done?
I am glad to hear that most of you are feeling pretty well and starting to feel better, I just get so tired it is unbelievable, I went back to work yesterday after 6 weeks off and it is killing me, I really can't be bothered at all. Bad attitude I know.
Anyway I am sure I will get to know you all soon and be able to post personals. But in the meantime I wish you all the best and hope everything is going well.
deb1234
30-01-2007, 01:37 PM
hi everyone :wave:
sandy, your idea to honour Grace sounds wonderful. you are so strong. :hugs: best wishes for conceiving a healthy baby soon.
i am glad to report that as soon as i hit 13 weeks i slept almost through the whole night!! woohoo. only have 1-2 toilet stops instead of 10 :laughing:
can i employ you as well tara? i haven't even managed to hang out my washing yet and the cycle finished about 8am...its sitting in the machine calling to me. although i have been working. bring on retirement.
hope you are all doing well today girls :thumbsup:
livismum
30-01-2007, 02:10 PM
I haven't been on for a while. I find it hard sitting in front of the computer at the moment. I feel sick all day and lately have been :barf: most of the day too.
I had an OB appointment two weeks ago and everything was fine except for low blood pressure. I have my 12 week scan next week.
I've been trying to catch up on all the posts. I am sorry to those of you who have been through hard times. :hugs:
Sandy, sweetheart. I read your post about your decision and predicament and I cried. You are one strong woman. I would probably do the same thing in your situation, I have always said that if my child did not have a chance of a normal life or survival then I would not bring it into this world. I am glad that it all went okay and that you are coping as best as you can at the moment. Don't let anyone judge you for your decision, you did what was best for your child.
What a lovely thought to plant a rose in 'Grace's" memory. Keep your chin up hun and remeber we are all here for you. :hugs:
I am glad that everyone else seems to be progressing along nicely.
Take care everyone.
niesl_bug
30-01-2007, 03:09 PM
Sandy - what a beautiful way to honour your little Angel Grace :angel:
Livismum - I had my last :barf: literally on the day I hit week 12. I hope this is the same for you.
Girls - I will come and help with your chores if you'll pay for my airfare !!!
Deb - I am luckily only getting up 1 - 2 times during the night too, which is why i think i have more energy - what heaven to almost sleep through the night!
Trendy1 - I think the nuchal test is probably a good idea once you're in your 30's ... the decision though is yours at the end of the day. But i would say if you're under 30 and have no history of d/s in the family then you should be ok? I am 32 and was given a 1:15000 chance of having a d/s bub.
Whoops - welcome Alicia :wave: sorry, with so many posts I nearly missed you!
OJandMe - I hope you're feeling better soon hun!
All is good here. I actually cooked a steak for DH last night - although i couldn't bring myself to eat it, a big accomplishment just actually cooking meat!
Take care lovely ladies xxx
30-01-2007, 05:02 PM
Well today and yesterday I read the last augaust thread and this entire thread too, pheww alot of reading and alot has happened, good and sad......
So sorry for what you are going through Sandy :hugs: that must have been one difficult decsion to make, I don't know how I would cope in your situation, stay strong and don't give up hope for another healthy baby as soon as you are ready to try again.
I hope the memorial you are making for Grace will help you grieve and come to terms with your loss.
Also to crazymonkey - huge :hugs: I was really shocked to read of your sad news, you poor thing how awfully heartbreaking for you, again I can't imagine how I would cope and I can only commend you girls on your bravery through such tough times.
I personally have only suffered one m/c at 5weeks, 3years ago and I know I didn't do too well at coping and grieving in that situation.
Well I had said right from the start that I would post in here too, since my EDD was 30/07/07 making it possible for me to have an August bub.
I had my scan and they changed my date to 29/07/07, but whats one day? pfft no difference to me.
so I am now 14 1/2 weeks and feeling ok, still really tired and slightly off certain foods but am definately over the worst of the m.s thank goodness.
I hope the rest of you are feeling better now as the 2nd trimester approaches and has already approached for some of you.
Anyone here taking note of their weight here?
I am this time for interests sake and so far I have lost 5kgs since pregnant. (I am only a small person to start so 5kgs is alot for me).
This is despite not being :barf: once this pregnancy, anyone else lost weight instead of gained it?
My Doc is monitoring me to make sure I am not losing anymore but she is scratching her head too as to why this is happening , all my blood tests came back perfect, strange:detective:
This is the only time in my life where I am not happy to be losing weight lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My little tummy is growing though and I am feeling little somersaults going on in there!
Goodluck with all the scans coming up am looking forward to seeing some pics girls!
Tan-mumof3
30-01-2007, 06:17 PM
Sandy- you are sooo strong and brave. The idea of planting the rose for Grace sounds really sweet and the name plaque sounds really nice. I too hope you conceive a healthy baby soon (when you're ready).
:wave: & welcome Alicia.
OJ & Me- i know how you feel, but lucky for me im not actually:barf: but im sooo hungry but when i eat i feel sick (can't win). Hope you feel better soon.
Angelgirl- i can't wait to have more energy, i just don't want to do anything.
Lil x-man- wow 5 kgs without :barf: it sounds like your bub is draining any fat off you (wish mine would:laughing:).
Livismum- i have my 12 week scan next week also goodluck for yours.
Sorry if i missed anyone, hope your all well, have a good night.
Kirst
30-01-2007, 08:24 PM
Hi gals!
:hugs: Sandy. I"ll say it too, you're one strong woman. Good luck, and keep well.
Welcome Alicia.
Weight - have put on about 3 kgs in 12 weeks, so I'm pretty happy with that. I was sure that I had put on HEAPS more, as my tummy is getting so big and I've been eating ****, but surprisingly right on track.
M/s seems to be subsiding, but I am still SOOOOOO tired. I am still getting an afternoon nap in more days than not, and insomnia seems to have alleviated a bit too, so I'm sleeping heaps (or I feel like it). I guess that's what happens when you have a little person in you growing and dancing 24/7.
I'm still not sure about this whole movement thing. I'm not convinced that I can feel movement at 12 weeks. Am having u/s tomorrow, will speak to someone there I think. Who knows, maybe there's 2 in there!!!! Ha! That would be funny....not!
30-01-2007, 08:51 PM
I believe ya Kirst, I am sure I could feel rolly pollies in there at 12weeks. I definately do now at 14weeks, especially if I get down on my hands and knees
(which I do all the time looking for toys under DS bed) when I get up again my tummy does this massive roll, makes me a little nauseaus lol!
Sorry you are still feeling so :barf: Tan, I was like that over Xmas, absolutely starving and all the xmas food was beautiful, then I'd eat and feel like utter cr@p! I had it easy though least I didn't :barf: like most of you have.
:fingerscrossed: it subsides soon.
Kirst
30-01-2007, 08:55 PM
That's one thing I'm glad of with both of my pregnancies, I have never actaully :barf: . Came close once (once in each pregnancy), but never actually did.
Feel like sh1t often enough though!!!! Morning sickness?!?!?!?! I've def. had the 'All Day' sickness.
I'm sure that makes up for it....a little bit.
30-01-2007, 09:02 PM
I have felt absolutely terrible with this pregnancy ( worse than last time) up until a couple of weeks ago, but I can't bring myself to say I have had real m/s coz I never actually threw up and I still ate relatively well barr a few days where I ate soup only.
Sometimes I reckon it was worse lying there wanting to be sick but you can't. But still when I hear of poor people :barf: day in day out I feel like I'm just whinging and being a sook talking about my m/s lol!!
BTW goodluck at your scan tomorrow, how exciting!!!!
Tan-mumof3
30-01-2007, 09:55 PM
I know i have never had morning sickness with my last 2 pg's but this time i have all day sickness (like you Kirst).
Lil x-man i also feel like im just whinging about my ms cos i know it could be alot worse my best friend is also pg and she has been :barf:, i spose im actually lucky that i don't. Although feeling laike cr@p all day isn't nice either. At least there is hope im nearly 11 weeks so i hope it fades soon like yours did.
30-01-2007, 10:07 PM
Yep fingerscrossed that the magical 12week mark spells the end of m/s for you!
Gosh I am so off to bed look at the time :shame:
Will check in tomorrow to see how your scan went Kirst!
Tan-mumof3
30-01-2007, 10:12 PM
Thanks Julie.
Goodluck with your scan tomorrow Kirst.
AngelGirl
31-01-2007, 07:26 AM
Morning lovely ladies!
Good luck for your scan today Kirst!
I'm with you guys on the all day sickness, I have :barf: a couple of times but it's mostly it was the all day nausea that got to me. It finally went over the weekend (:fingerscrossed: that's the end of it!!)
Trendy - I'm not having the n/s scan and I know quite a few women who haven't. It's a decision that's totally up to you and your partner and what you would do if you found out you were high risk. For my DH and I, we wouldn't act on bad results so there was no point in having the test done. You are only 26 so I'd say the risk for you would be quite low anyway...totally up to you though. Some like to have the test to give them peace of mind.
deb1234
31-01-2007, 08:44 AM
hey trendy, i'm 26 too and my risk for DS started out as 1 in 908 based just on my age. we got the scan done mainly to see the baby again before we told our friends about the pregnancy, but i must admit it was a relief to get our results back as well.
hope everyone is having a great wednesday! :D bring on the weekend.
my sister is coming to stay with me next week (she'll be 39.5 weeks) so that i can be her official driver to the hospital if she goes into labour :eek:
niesl_bug
31-01-2007, 09:47 AM
Hi Julie - I have only put on 1kg. I bought a journal which I write in every few days and I record my bust, waist, hip measurements and waist. So far I've put on 3cm on my bust and 4 cms on my waist!
Kirst - hope your scan goes well today :thumbsup:
Happy Hump Day Girls !!!
31-01-2007, 10:33 AM
We only had the scan because otherwise we would have to wait till 18 -20weeks to see the bubs and know that everything was going well, since we didnt get a dating scan this time.
I wasn't to concerned about chances of d/s, but my ratio came in really low at 1:19000 so I guess it was some comfort to know. Definately not necessary though unless you are for some reason really concerned about your chances of abnormalities.
Deb - how exciting having your heavily pregnant sister stay with you, hope she has the baby while she's staying with you that would be incredible, I havent seen a birth before, would love to.
Tara - 1kg thats pretty good for 12weeks but then you are only little anyway so probably wont put on alot.
I am still 5kgs lighter than my pre preg weight so I have a bit of catching up to do, not that I mind I'm certainly not wasting away by any means anyway!!
I have wanted to lose this weight for months now, and now I am back to the weight I was at this same stage last pregnancy, so it's no big concern really.
Man I am a gas bag when I get typing, ok I'm off to see what little monster is up too, mischief most likely................
deb1234
31-01-2007, 12:12 PM
hey julie,
yeah it will be quite exciting if we have to go to hospital those few days. i would stay at the hospital until her husband arrives but would definitely be up the head end of the bed!! i'd better keep my car topped up with petrol :)
lastone
31-01-2007, 12:50 PM
Hi Everyone...
I'm new at this - thought i'd start in here as i'm due around the same time as you guys - 1st August.. Is it ok to join the discussion?
I'm an oldie - 35.. this is my third, but it's been 14 years so feels like my first - the rules have all changed!!! i've been munching away on things i'm not supposed to eat without having a clue!
I'm past the yucky stage now - 14 weeks today... have my appetite back and am pigging out! belly is starting to pop out a bit - strange feeling again! is anyone else showing yet or feeling the bulge?
I noticed that a few of you didn't have the Neuchal thingy... i feel so paranoid - i had a CVS! i think it's the age thing that scared me though...
I rave on as well - so will sign off for now.
niesl_bug
31-01-2007, 12:53 PM
Hi Lastone :wave: and welcome to our little thread!!!
Wishing you a happy and healthy pregnancy. Yes, it is us oldies that get paranoid :o and stress a lot!
deb1234
31-01-2007, 01:10 PM
hi lastone :)
us youngies stress as well!! i trust everything turned out ok with the CVS?
yes i'm definitely feeling the bulge. i'm about 2-3 kgs more than my pre-pregnancy weight but really feeling it. i don't think i have a waist anymore!
Snugglepot
31-01-2007, 01:28 PM
Welcome to all the Newbies!
I have really popped out, I actually look about 5 months pregnant, not 14 weeks! It is really amazing how your body remembers (even if you don't Lastone!) and yes all the rules have changed, they do every 5 years or so and I think it is a conspiracy to keep everyone on their toes! My SIL has a 9 and 8 year old and all her advice to me was way out of date. Then you have your MIL telling you stuff that is so far behind the times it's laughable!
I remember when DS was 10 months old and my MIL was looking after him she offered him raw carrot to chew on. When I got home I freaked out at her saying how notorious carrot and apples are for choking kids.:eek:
lastone
31-01-2007, 02:26 PM
Hi again,
Thanks for the welcome!... The CVS results were good... but of course that doesn't cover everything so am now leaving it in the hands of the gods... it's good to know that DS is not an issue though! the CVS itself wasn't the best though - that's a whole other story!
I'm lucky to have a sis and sis in law who are both new mum's so they're doling out the advice thick and fast! they just got to me a bit late with regards to bad foods though!
It's strange to think that this time there will be so many helpers around - I have a 14 & 15yo.. (18mths apart).. they are aching for it to come so they can take over!! does anyone have an older sibling for their new one?
My last two were like having twins - and the second was quite a handful... still is!! still can't quite believe i'm doing it again!!! and another little Leo... my daughter is a Leo and she has the sweetest nature and is a bit of an old soul..
M O P
31-01-2007, 04:53 PM
My obs just rang me, yes the fact she rang herself raised alarm bells.
Anyway, tests came back 1 in 134 so I'll talk to Angus tonight and we'll discuss the next step, amnio- he's away and I'm home alone which sucks right now. Lucky for me I have you girls right here in the office!
niesl_bug
31-01-2007, 05:42 PM
Oh Kazza
We are all here for you no matter what.
Did they get those results combining the scan and b/t???
Please let us know how you are going.
Lastone - my best friend has a new bub and a step-daughter who is 13 and they get on fantastically! the DDS is like another little mummy and takes really good care of the little boy and is such a wonderful help.
Tan-mumof3
31-01-2007, 05:57 PM
Oh kazza :hugs: we are all here to listen and support you. I hope the amnio if you choose to have it brings good results.
Kaz will be thinking of you :fingerscrossed:
I am absolutely shocked at how unlucky the aug ladies have been.:no:
I was considering not going for nuchal as we seriously have so little money right now, but now I am def going.
Still sick as a dog, angry as a spitting camel, so hope thats a good sign.
mumma_snuff
31-01-2007, 07:58 PM
Hi everyone! Another newie. This is my first post so be gentle with me :wave: .
It's comforting to know that there's lots of other women going through the same things. I'm almost 13 weeks and have put on about a kilo, but in the last week my belly has popped out a mile.
As for cravings... the strangest one so far has been 2-minute noodles.
Kaz - :fingerscrossed: for the next test. I hope it goes well.
LiciaSings
31-01-2007, 10:46 PM
Welcome mumma_snuff. I'm a newie & a 1st-time mum-to-be in Brisbane too. (Have you found the Brissy thread yet? There's a bunch of people in the area too.)
Kazza - hoping & praying really good thoughts for you. :fingerscrossed:
About that n/t scan - my doctor just pretty much signed me up for it right away. I guess he's one of those who's just been doing this for so long he just makes decisions. Or maybe it's because of my age? (I'm 29 -will be 30 in March). I don't mind I guess, it's free - bulk billed at the public hosipital - so he said basically it's a good way to just get a chance to see the baby for free before the 18 week mark. And it's nice to make sure everything's forming in the right place and all that. So I'm all for that - I'm really excited to get to see bubba. I'm hoping that'll somehow make this all feel a bit more real!
The really weird thing is, I wasn't worried about d/s at all before, until after I'd heard about this scan. Now I occasionally have these little fears I'll find out something I don't want to hear. Now I'm just antsy waiting for next Tuesday to come and go and to know that everything's normalnormalnormal!
LiciaSings
31-01-2007, 10:50 PM
I have really popped out, I actually look about 5 months pregnant, not 14 weeks!
Wow - You're so lucky! I have a little pot-belly, but no one can tell yet. 12 weeks, and I just look like I've put on some holiday kilos - about 2. I wish I looked pregnant! :o
I guess that'll happen soon enough :)
deb1234
01-02-2007, 06:54 AM
hi mumma_snuff :wave: i live in ormeau which is just counted as the gold coast.
kazza, so sorry that you have to go through all this decision making. :fingerscrossed: the amnio comes back with great results.
ah only two days until the weekend i can't wait.
AngelGirl
01-02-2007, 07:01 AM
Welcome lastone and mumma_snuff!
Kazza - Do they give you an explanation on how they get to that number? I hope all goes well with the amnio if you decide to have it.
I have a little potbelly but no-one can tell unless I'm wearing tighter fitting clothes and they are all friends who are staring at my belly, waiting for it to pop!
Snugglepot
01-02-2007, 07:54 AM
Oh LiciaSings, I am not sure been huge already is such a good thing, I have no clothes to wear and all my old maternity stuff is too big yet!:eek:
Kazza, good luck and I hope it all works out well for you.
Well it is my Friday today as I work 4 days a week and I am looking forward to my first weekend with some energy for a change! I hope everyone is over the tiredness and morning sickness very soon (here I will wave my :wizard: wand!)
M O P
01-02-2007, 08:49 AM
Thanks ladies for your wishes.
Yes the result was the blood and scan combined. I'm sure it's nothing, people get high risks all the time and it's nothing. I was reading up on it last night and it said only 1 in 25 women who have a high risk actually have a baby with something wrong.
Man, all these numbers! I personally think 1 in 134 is such a small risk myself, and the amnio holds a 1 in 200 risk of m/c.
Obs is sending out some info and when Angus gets home we'll be able to discuss it more. I'm going to make an appt anyway for now as it's apparently hard to get in then if we change our minds I'll cancel.
The worst part for me is the dates to get it done are when we start shearing- only the biggest thing on our calendar all year, so Angus won't be able to come with me. That's what scares and worries me the most. My Mum rang this morning to say she'll either come with me or if I don't actually want her there she'll baby sit Hugh while I go in. That was nice of her- she's 2 hours from Adelaide herself.
Thanks again ladies for your concern but I'm sure it's just a false alarm.
niesl_bug
01-02-2007, 10:00 AM
Welcome Mumma_Snuff :wave:
Kazza - good on your for having such a positive outlook, boy I wish I took a leaf from your book sometimes! I am thinking if you hun :hugs:
Not much to report here - feeling fantastic actually, but feel guilty saying that! I am really starting to love feeling pregnant :)
To all those still feeling icky - I really hope you feel better soon. I really did the day I hit 12 weeks so i hope it's the same for you :fingerscrossed:
Have a great day gals !!!
OverTheMoon
01-02-2007, 10:10 AM
:wave: Welcome to all our newbies !
Kazza - thinking of you. Hope you have a chance to talk it over with DH soon.
I have today off - which is probably very good, 'cos much like Tuesday, i'm so tired. Just as well i decided against 2 consecutive days, I don't think i'd have the energy. I just keep hoping i have some more (energy) after the next week or two (i'm 12 w on Sat), so i can do some relief work - finances are in serious disrepair! Darn IVF and operations!
Apart from being tired, i've had cravings for tinned spaghetti (????) which i haven't eaten in... at least 5 years! Also nacho cheese Doritos, and stuffed spuds (that's a healthy craving, i think!) with cheese and spring onions.
Car is in for a badly needed service today - it was like 8000km overdue, and leaking oil. I hope it doesn't end up costing too much more than the $600 quoted - the timing belt needed doing too. So i'm home, unable to go anywhere:thumbsdown: . DH at work. Maybe Mum will take pity and take me for a coffee. Dad is visiting his mum today (her -don't laugh - boyfriend- is in hosp just had another stroke - maybe partner is better than bf), so i might go with him.
Anywho, sorry for my babble - this is what happens when i am left on my own!:ecomcity: chewing all your ears off!
Have a good day everyone, good luck with scans etc.
deb1234
01-02-2007, 10:45 AM
hi mel,
i hate being stuck at home. that is so cute that your grandmother has a boyfriend. one of my friends gran's had a boyfriend too and they were getting married, but not living together first! :)
tara, great that you are feeling good. amazing the difference that 12 week mark makes. i think i would feel much better if this heat would go away!
Kirst
01-02-2007, 11:22 AM
:hugs: Kazza. Whatever happens, you are a very positive and strong woman, and you and Angus will make all the right decisions with regards to your bub.
Welcome Lastone and Mumma_suff. I hope that you are anjoying your pregnancies.
Well I had my 12 week scan yesterday, and all is good. I think the ration was about 1:7000....very low risk. Heartbeat good (162 from memory) and LONG. She specifically mentioned long legs, but that's no surprise. DD was/is the same. My DH's family is all quite tall, and thier height is in their legs. So she dated me a bit further along because of its size, but only by a few days, so I'm going to keep my due date on the calendar where it is.
With DD I was dated a week earlier, and she came on the original due date.
I'm starting to feel a bit better too. Bang on 12 weeks - happened the same with DD. Still a bit tired, but HUNGRY as, and thirsty too. It's all good.
I caved and wore maternity pants yesterday for the first time, and ended up pulling them up all day, so today I'm back in my jeans. They're not really tight, but just a bit uncomforatble if I sit for long periods.
I have a belly, but I reckon I still just look FAT. I hate this in between stage. I want my preggy belly!!!!!
Well, that's enough from me right now. Good to hear that everyone is well and positive.
niesl_bug
01-02-2007, 12:38 PM
Mel - I hope the car doesn't cost too much :fingerscrossed: . I have similar cravings to you and had tinned spaghetti on toast for dinner the other night!
Deb - I hope the heat eases off soon. The weather here has been just lovely!
Kirst - I am soooooooooooooooooooooo glad your scan went well :yelclap:
I am already wearing my DD maternity bra (usually a C cup) and it is sooooooo comfy! I can still fit into my jeans but I am the same as you and hate sitting in them for long and feel like I'm squishing bub. I don't look pregnant, just like I've put on about 2kgs. No-one at the gym has dared said anything to me yet but I know they think i've been slack for a few months and gotten out of shape :p
Ciao Bellas xxx
chicken
01-02-2007, 01:18 PM
hi girls! I've haven't posted for a few days. Glad to hear many are starting to feel a bit better.
Kazza - its great to hear you feeling so positive about things, as you should be.
Kirst - great news about your results
I also don't look pregnant, at least not in normal clothes, but I do look like I've eaten too many pies! I've actually lost about 1.5kgs compared to when I started, but I think I've been a bit more hungy since I hit about 13 weeks, so hopefully I'll start gaining weight soon.
I told everyone at work this week, so it was great to finally get it out there, and for people to not wonder if I've just let myself go. In an organisation of 400 people, I can't believe how quicly the gossip has spread!!
Unlike most people, I think the second trimester has been less pleasant for me so far. After not having a single headache for the first 12 weeks, I've had one almost every day since.
Plus is anyone else feeling the constant ligament stretching feeling now? Would help explain the rapid tummy expansion in the last week.
I'm not really complaining. I still feel really great. Its just that having had such a discomfort-free 1st trimester, I haven't really got anything to improve from!
pregomum
01-02-2007, 03:11 PM
Hi Haven't been on for a few days, internet wasn't working so thought I'd better fix it today!!!!
Sandy - you are so brave and had me in tears with your memorial for grace. You are so strong and we wish you best of luck for next time.
Good to hear everyone is getting over their ms, I'm still getting there was 12wks last thurs but they normally put my dates forward 1 - 2 weeks. The heat isn't helping at all. I've had all day ms since day one, but no regular being sick. Although it does make me feel better f I do.
Only put on 1kg but at about 6 weeks my jeans no longer fitted me as I piled on weight around my hips. Now I can't even get em on!!! Feels like I've put on heaps of weight. Can see a little bump if I'm wearing tight clothes but I still reckon that I just look fat. Can't wait to get a BUMP. My clothes don't fit but maternity clothes are huge, started wearing DF's clothes at home cause they're so comfy. Has anyone else only put on small amount of weight but their body is showing more? Wonder what it is caused by?
Am getting married 31st of March so hope I don't get too fat, but will be good to look back at photos with 'DD or DS to be' and say they came to the wedding. My dressmaker has made the most gorgeous dress to fit.
Good luck to you all
OverTheMoon
01-02-2007, 05:24 PM
oh dear. picked up the car.:no: no.no.no.no.
looks great, cleaned, tyres black again, shiny, vacuumed.
it needs work done for the oil leaks. leaks in two things. one will cost $950. other about half that.
but it looks really great. black tyres, shiny, vacuumed.
i think i already said that. just trying to be positive.
My ms is subsiding. That's a positive. Lots of cravings though. And i get GRUMPY if i don't get what i want. DH just goes "If we don't have it here, i'm not going to get it - the craving will pass". He sucks sometimes.
Did i say that my car is shiny and the tyres are black?
deb1234
01-02-2007, 06:43 PM
haha mel glad you are seeing the positive side! cars suck so much money. :thumbsdown:
mumma_snuff
01-02-2007, 08:49 PM
Thanks for the welcome everyone! Every time I get my car serviced it ends up being far more than the original price quoted. They always manage to find things that absolutely must get fixed straight away......grrrr....
I'm so glad there's brissy mums on here! Can't wait to catch up with you all at the meets in the coming months.
I just doubled checked my weight and I have only put on a kilo, but it seriously seems like 10!
Almost the weekend.. thank goodness!!!
AngelGirl
02-02-2007, 07:14 AM
Mel - what a pain about the car....$950 :eek: ****!!!
I am also craving baked potatoes, I like them with cheese, tomatoes, mushies and corn. Yum Yum! (oh and a little sour cream on top!).
I have two pairs of jeans - a skinny pair and a fat pair. I put on the fat pair last night and I had to walk around with the top button undone. Might have to start using the belly belt a friend gave me. I am feeling very uncomfortable in all my pants so usually wears skirts as much as possible. I'm also popping out of my bra's, I'm a size D so god knows what maternity size I'll be!!
I'm feeling very blah, I haven't been as healthy in the first trimester as I thought I would have. I've given in to lots of my junk food cravings and I've put on a couple of kilo's. I know this is totally normal but I'm disappointed with myself for not making an effort to exercise and try and keep fit for the baby. Well I have been exhasusted..... I guess I'm scared of what I'm going to look like when I'm pregnant. I have to work really hard to keep my body in shape so I'm feeling a little apprehensive!! There's a few women at work who are late into their pregnancy and look amazing. They've retained their great figures and just have a bump! I can only hope to look half a good as they do.
Any other first timers who are apprehensive about these massive body changes?
AngelGirl
02-02-2007, 07:15 AM
ps. Pregomum - how exciting, you're getting married next month!! Fill us in on the details!!
LiciaSings
02-02-2007, 07:21 AM
Morning! I'm feeling great! :D Woke up with no queasiness, and the heat's out of the air. Cloudy and cool - hope it stays that way all day :fingerscrossed: . I've been getting a few headaches too the last couple of days - I think more due to the heat than anything. But hungry all the time and really feeling pretty good for the most part.
Finances are a mess (My hours just got cut back - I went from full time down to 3 and 1/2 days per week. They cut our funding and nearly all of us in my department felt it - that's gov. jobs for you. ouch! Now I don't know what to do - I really wanted to work full-time up until I couldn't anymore...and now how hard is it to get extra work when you're pregnant and only available for another 5 or 6 months or so? I feel so ...I don't know, unsuccessful at bringing in the money, which I'd gotten so used to doing. Hopefully I can find some extra temp/relief work.)
Wow -sorry! enough whinging! All that's to say...even with the struggles, for the most part I'm feeling really good. excited. mysterious. Isn't it beautiful to be pregnant?!...with a little new life growing inside you :D. It's cool!
deb1234
02-02-2007, 07:34 AM
it is pretty amazing that you can grow a human being inside you! :)
i'm a bit worried about putting on a lot of weight but from now on (i promise :D) i'll try to eat well so i'm not a big fatty boomsticks by the time august rolls around. i'd hate to have to spend the next year trying to lose all the weight i put on.
LiciaSings
02-02-2007, 07:38 AM
Mel - what a pain about the car....$950 !!!
Yikes! Sorry about that Mel. I hate cars - they always come up and bite us when we least expect it too.
I am also craving baked potatoes, I like them with cheese, tomatoes, mushies and corn. Yum Yum! (oh and a little sour cream on top!).?
Yum! Me too! I've been craving lots of cheese and dairy things. Bagels and cream cheese have been my biggest craving so far - and the hardest to find here! It's a popular American thing. So far I've found one Starbucks that sells them, when a preggy friend and I were out shopping, and we were in heaven! They were great :)
Jeans are all too tight. They all go unbuttoned around the house. One day last week, I tried wearing a maternity pair that a friend gave me too :laughing:. They were incredibly comfy, but I had to keep pulling them up! Not quite there yet I guess.
Yep, I'm a bit worried too, and curious...but probably about some different things. I've always had teeny tiny A cup bras. (And didn't always fill those out properly!) So I've been really hoping that pregnancy will finally give me something resembling a bust! :laughing: Not sure it's gonna happen! I'm going to be the funniest little pregnant woman with a big bump and hiding little breasts you can't even see! oh dear. well, I'm growing a little bit, filling out my bras nicely and feeling pretty good about it, but not into a new cup size yet. Wondering what pregnancy is going to do to me - I won't know myself anymore. Getting hail damage thighs which I'd never had. and my belly button's gone from a little slit to a gaping hole. If it pops out, does it ever go back to the way it was? will I ever be the same again?
Oh well, Angelgirl. Pregnant women are beautiful and can get away with anything, that's what I keep telling myself :D
deb1234
02-02-2007, 08:53 AM
alicia, you can have some of mine! i'm starting to squeeze into my old bras so might have to go shopping. but then how do you know how big you are going to get?? i guess you need a few sizes for on the way up and on the way back down again :)
when are belly buttons supposed to pop out? anyone know??
chicken
02-02-2007, 09:15 AM
Yes!! I'm really worried about stretch marks. And I really don't want to put on too much weight. A friend of mine put on 28kgs with her first a few years ago, and that horrifies me. Only about 8kgs of that is baby, and 20kgs is just unnecessary eating, which I have to say is still there today.
Having said that, I haven't been purposely trying to restrict my diet, but I've lost 1.5kgs so far, which has been a shock to me. But I have noticed myself becoming a lot more hungry in the past week, so maybe things are finally kicking in. I will always eat when I'm hungry and stop when I'm not. I just hope following my hunger doesn't lead me to a 20kg+ gain!!
OverTheMoon
02-02-2007, 09:28 AM
Hiya girls!
I hope i'm not speaking too soon, but i haven't had much m/s this week! That said, i felt worse with our 40 degree heat late last week, and today is s'posed to be 38, tomorrow 41, so we'll see what happens.
LiciaSings, i understand about the waiting for something resembling a bust! I'm still waiting for some movement in the (*) (*) department! I'm still a 10B,-just- just with bigger nipples. I did have to buy a new bra (which took days to find) cos they were so sore and i couldn't wear the underwires anymore. Does anyone know how hard it is to find a small size non-underwire bra that isn't a teen bra?!
I've put on 3 kgs, but considering how small i was before, i figure it's just the weight that i should have had before, that i tried for so long to gain. I am eating more, like i can get through 3 pieces of fruit, cheese, 6 veggies, breads etc easily. I have eaten rubbish too, but no more than i ate pre-pregnancy.
I've been walking around with my pants unbuttoned for 5 weeks now :o - they just don't do up, but it's hard to find maternity 6's, and i don't fit an 8 - so i have to make sure i'm wearing longer tops with a long singlet underneath. My SIL leant me her 2 'belly belts' - not technically belly belts, more those fashion belt things that were trendy a while ago. They've helped heaps.
Everytime mum goes shopping she comes back with another baby doll style top, which is great cos i love them. She also picked me up some stretchy wrap top 3/4 pants the other day for cheap, and i think they'll get me through for a fair while! yay!:yelclap:
Have a great day girls, I'm off to have a coffee with mum, MIL and my nanna. Then i'm getting stuck into making jewellery this arvo - i need to get my butt into gear, i've been told :shame: (by DH) i need to make stuff with the hundreds of beads i've got :eek: & start making some money!
trendy1
02-02-2007, 09:46 AM
Hello everyone,
Welcome to all of the newbies, great to see more due in August. It is great to hear that most of you are going pretty well with the pregnancy.
As this is my 2nd I just thought I would let you know that with my 1st I put on a total of 25kg, but on saying that when leaving the hospital I was only carrying 5 kgs more that before I got pregnant (was in hospital for 6 days) as I carried a hell of a lot of fluid.
Not too sure if it will be the same this time around, I know I am bigger than with my 1st as I didn't even show until nearly 30 weeks and only got 2 weeks wear out of maternity clothes (I am tall and carried the baby long so got away with it for longer) and this time around I know already that I am going to show earlier. I wouldn't say that I look pregnant but more like I have a big pot belly!! (not really a good look)
Thanks everyone for making me welcome it has been great and I look forward to getting to know you all over the next 6 months!!
spunkyboysmum
02-02-2007, 09:56 AM
Im just hangen around waiting for the big anatomy scan!! 6 weeks to go!! I dont mind what I have, Boy or girl im happy but im dying to get out there and buy some cute bits and pieces.
Alicia- With my son my belly button went back in and once I lost my pre preg weigh it was excactly the same as before:)
All you who are worried about weight gain... I just want to say that not all those who gain a lot of weight in pregnancy cant loose it:) I was always small before having my son and when we started trying to have him I gained 5kilos then once pregnant I gained another 20kilos!! after his birth I was determined to loose the weight but NOONE had any faith in me.
I was careful with what I ate and excersized( a lot of walking with the new bub!!) sit ups every night and pelvic tilts etc.I was carefull as I was breastfeeding to eat enought to keep my milk supply.
I stopped breastfeeding at 6months (as my DS had 3 teeth and was known to bight!!) and was not far off my pre preg body. After that I tried diets and reached my goal weight. then with healthy eating I actually ended up smaller than before having my son!!
This time around i was determined not to put on so much weight but i can see Im gainind weight at the same rate( if not faster being my 2nd preg) and Ive accepted that its just the way it is... I feld fat ugly and horrible with my son and longed to be the skinny girl with the bump as EVERYONE had expected.
It made me realize how hard it must be to carry that much weight around all the time!
Ive realized that If going through that meant I have my son then none of it matters, Ill deal with it all once the bub arrives:) this time too.
Ive also talked to my DH about getting me a gym membership once the bub arrives so I can get my body back. It gives me a positive goal for my body.. so I know that I will feel like me again.
Sorry for going on and on lol!! I know everyone has different feelings and stories on this subject but I just want those first time mums to know that if you set your mind on it you can have your body back.
PS: I hate streatch marks too!!
Love Kellie
niesl_bug
02-02-2007, 10:03 AM
Wow you gals can chat :ecomcity:
Mel - bummer about the car babe. I have an 11 year old Festive and it has been a dream to run! A bit sad of getting rid of it for a bigger car ...
I too worry about putting on weight. I've only put on 1.5kg so far so I'm now 57.5kg. I danced for 15 years and a bit of a gym junkie so everyone is expecting me to stay small and just have the bump. I really hope that's the case! Boobs have gone from a C (I have breast implants) but i am already wearing my DD maternity bra I got fitted for as it's so comfy!
I will have to have my belly ring (it's a post type one) taken out soon.
My clothes still fit me just fine, but my pants are starting to get a little tight around the waist and a bit uncomfortable sitting down at my desk all day.
I hope to do heaps of walking with bub and my gym has a creche so plan on getting straight back into my training as soon as I can. My motivation is that I am head bridesmaid at my best friend's wedding in January!
Have an awesome weekend gals - looking forward to our Perth BH dinner tonight :yes:
chicken
02-02-2007, 11:02 AM
...everyone is expecting me to stay small and just have the bump.
Me too. I feel a little bit of pressure from those around me (eg DH, my Mum of all people, etc) to not gain too much weight. And I've had others say to me, 'you won't even need to wear maternity clothes as you're so slim'. I always thought p/g women were given a bit of slack to 'eat for two' etc, but I feel like people will be disappointed if I don't remain slim with a 'bump'. I think I'm probably making too big a deal out of it, and everyone's little comments are probably just meant to be a joke. But if I do happen to put on lots of weight, then I hope I keep a healthy and positive attitude like Spunkyboysmum.
AngelGirl
02-02-2007, 12:58 PM
What would we do without each other? It's so great to experience this with all of you and to know we are all going through the same thing.
As much as we'd love to, I guess we are not all going to look like pregnant supermodels and I guess the main thing is that the little bubba inside is healthy and happy. We are no longer in control of our bodies, our bodies are controlling us!!
(Ok so I'm trying to be positive!!) :p
OverTheMoon
02-02-2007, 03:05 PM
Very well said, AngelGirl!
Is anyone else suffering from the real grump-olas? I've been such a cow today (after my crying until hyperventilating at Will&Grace last night:eek: ). The poor door lady at BigW asked to check inside my tiny handbag, and she copped the biggest evil i could muster. I have trouble just fitting my purse in there, and was just so unreasonably cranky! Sorry door lady!
Then i bought these space saver bags to put some of my pre-pregnancy clothes in over the next 6 months, 'cos there ain't enough closet space for preg and pre-preg clothes to sit harmoniously together! Alas, stoopid me bought the cheap one's that aren't vacuum one's, you just roll the air out - i immediately thought of rolling the air out of a sleeping bag, and went on a rant that my poor mum and nanna had to listen to! They dropped me home for a nanna nap pretty soon after!
Just hoping there's someone out there being as much of a nutter as me...someone???? Oh, and if anyone finds the even-tempered Mel that existed before pregnancy, could you please let me know? DH would love her back!
ETsMum
02-02-2007, 03:28 PM
Well, for some reason I didn't get my subscribed threads posted to me last night. So, I didn't think anybody had said anything, so I just came on here for a quick check and I had PAGES AND PAGES TO READ :ecomcity: hahahaha!
OverTheMoon - "Apparently" (acording to DP) I am just awful when I am pregnant. I've got such a short fuse and no tollerance. DP thinks I wasn't like this last time, but I told him I was, it was just that I was working and when I was home I was just tired. Last time the staff that made me :banghead: would cop it!! This time DP is the only one around to blame things on. hahaha!!
To the first timers, :hugs: I wouldn't worry too much about weight, esp this early on. Like Trendy said, it might seem like you've put on a lot, but some women just carry fluid. (And the best thing for that is to drink more water, belive it or not.) Also, you aren't just adding on the weight of bub, it is also the placenta, the fluid, extra blood etc, etc, blah, blah... and you leave all that behind at the hospy. Stuff everyone else - take no notice, they aren't the ones carrying your bub, just make sure you are comfortable.
livismum
02-02-2007, 03:37 PM
Good to see the pregnancy hormones are really kicking in for everyone.
Tara - I hope my m/s stops soon. Hopefully I'll be like you, I'm 12 weeks on the weekend. I'm keeping my :fingerscrossed: .
Tan - Goodluck with your scan next week. I'm a little nervous, don't know why.
I've been feeling quite light headed lately and with low blood pressure it's not great.
I'm off work today so I went to the doctor's and all my bloods were normal. Iron levels fine, all other levels were normal. Blood sugar normal too.
Must be those horrid pregnancy hormones combined with low BP.
I'm not complaining, I just want to be feeling fantastic and enjoy my pregnancy.
Anyway enough rabbiting on.
Take care everyone.
niesl_bug
02-02-2007, 03:37 PM
I am very emotional, but in a sad, teary way - not in a crazy PMT kind of way. But - I have found that it feels like the "filter" is off my mouth and sometimes I say things I am thinking - but out aloud!
Is it just me - or are you finding everyone has very strong opinions on your birth, the sex of your baby and what you should name it? Starting to drive me crazy already! I have decided to not discuss my birth plan / the sex of our bub / name ideas from now on as people think their ideas are better :mad:
trendy1
02-02-2007, 04:05 PM
Hello again everyone,
niesl_bug: I know what you mean completely about the birth and pregnancy thing, I have people at work that watch what I eat and then tell me I shouldn't eat it and stuff and that really annoys me and also as I had an emergency caeser with my 1st people keep saying that a ceaser is the best option for me. I want to choose the birth myself and my 1st choice is VBAC if possible so I am the same not saying anything and with the food I am just eating what I want to eat (I am of course not eating the salamis, soft cheeses etc) but was eating a can of soup and being told how bad it was for me. GRRR
Overthemoon: I am so with you on this one, I have no tolerance for people at the moment and by the time I get home I just want to relax and not do anything especially make dinner, do the dishes and everything else and my lower back is aching by the time I get home. So fully understand where you are coming from!! Lets hope it doesn't last too long.
Well I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend.
M O P
02-02-2007, 04:42 PM
Is it just me - or are you finding everyone has very strong opinions on your birth, the sex of your baby and what you should name it?
My m-i-l was a total itch when I was preg with Hugh. When we said we were having a baby her first words were:
"I knew you were preg, don't call it Shane, Wayne or Dwayne." Her partner had to butt in to say congratulations!
And for the whole rest of the preg she tried to tell us what to call our baby. I even had a night mare I had had a c/s and was knocked out for 3 days when I came to Angus told me we had a son called Kalan cause his Mum didn't like Hugh Thomas :eek: (the name we had chosen right from the start).
We didn't tell anyone the 2 names we had picked as I didn't want anyone saying bad or nasty things about them.
pregomum
02-02-2007, 05:56 PM
I'm getting opposite from my mil 2 be her and her husband,they are trying to stuff me with food saying I'm too skinny to carry a baby ( although my weight and height are in the normal zone). I've been trying to tell them that "I went from 60kgs with my DD to 113kgs I don't need to be fed". Most of it was fluid and I was down to 62kgs a week after I had her.
My biggest fear is baby size DD was 9lb 7 and DS was 9lb 8. DF was 13lb, I'm so scared, everyones saying they get bigger as you go.
Still don't know about names although everything I mention to my mum she hates.
Feeling alot better today although headaches are still there but not as bad, no ms today.
pregomum
02-02-2007, 06:00 PM
I'm a libra and normally don't really have a temper but this pregnancy I've been horrible, everyone has copped it. Wish I could tame it, I know what I get angry about is nothing but just have to vent my thoughts.
Snugglepot
02-02-2007, 07:50 PM
Hello Everyone,
I hated how everyone had an opinion on how you should give birth when I was pregnant with DS ( and it just gets worse and worse by the week! :ecomcity: ). But after listening to people say "take the drugs" etc I started to wonder why a 50 year old man or my brother or a friend had such strong opinions about birth? When I questioned them they all had a story about someone they loved who had a hard time giving birth.
I figured in the end they were saying these things out of love. They had seen a loved one in pain and they didn't want anyone else to go through what they had been through. It is just my thoughts on the whole thing, but it does make it easier to listen to people telling you how you should give birth! (oh and I found the best answer to that is to say you will see how you go on the day!)
As to people telling you what to eat, their terrible opinion of your favourite name and commenting on your weight gain etc, they are all just nosey parkers to me that deserve all the raging hormone evil looks we can give! :devil6:
LiciaSings
02-02-2007, 09:14 PM
Very well said, AngelGirl!
Is anyone else suffering from the real grump-olas? ...
Just hoping there's someone out there being as much of a nutter as me...someone???? Oh, and if anyone finds the even-tempered Mel that existed before pregnancy, could you please let me know? DH would love her back!
:laughing: I'm an emotional tornado! I guess I was always a pretty passionate person with lots of ups and downs, but it seems the moods are swingier and extremer lately! DH said the other day "You didn't used to be a naggy and grumpy person." ouch! But sometimes I'm absolutely floating on cloud nine. Bissfull and sweet. So unbelievably happy and excited and just want to spread the joy :angel:. All of a sudden I'm :crying: or :devil6: for any and no reason at all. It's quite a ride. DH's been really patient and understanding. He's read 2 books for 1st time dads-to-be, and apparently they're full of warnings for the boys about the mood swings, so he's been extra nice to me!
LiciaSings
02-02-2007, 09:16 PM
Hey, BTW, can anybody tell me how to subscribe to a thread? Thanks :)
LiciaSings
02-02-2007, 09:17 PM
Oh wait - nevermind - I just figured it out!
Tingles
03-02-2007, 07:35 AM
We had our scan the other day.... h/b160... I think it looked like a boy??? I thought the facial bone structure was prominent... only time will tell I guess!:laughing:
Hello & welcome:hugs: to new people, I have not been on for a while...
Still feeling nauseas...
mumma_snuff
03-02-2007, 08:46 AM
Angelgirl - I too am worried about my weight as I have always struggled with it. Last year I lost a heap of weight through a sensible diet and excercise before we TTC. I'm dreading to see the scales creep back up again. But on the up side, I know that its possible for anyone to loose the extra kgs if you just put your mind to it (once I'm done with being preggers of course)... even cheese and wine lovers like me!! ha ha.
Had the all clear yesterday at our nuchal scan which is a huge relief.:smiliedance: I'm amazed they can show you so much detail when they are so little. My EDD has been pushed back to the 18th Aug which I expected anyway.
I've have been really surprised by some people's reactions to my news. My best gf told me to keep in mind that when you tell people about your pregnancy, their response is all about THEM and how THEY feel about it personally. So I just ignore silly suggestions and comments now and think "good for you for feeling that way".
Meanwhile is anyone else going private and is absolutely shocked at the out of pocket expense. I got a $330 bill in the mail yesterday for a series of blood tests :eek: . I know so little about how the health care system works I feel like I am getting totally ripped off!!!
Have a super weekend all!
OverTheMoon
03-02-2007, 11:11 AM
mumma_snuff - yes, going private and surprised at costs too! Although my good friend who is due near me has an obs who is charging far more than mine (the visit after 20 weeks is $950 for me, $2500 for her), so i feel a little better.
On top of all of the ultrasound, obs etc costs, we are still receiving bills from the fertility clinic for the IVF and for the emergency surgery i had in October. I worked out the other day that (and i know we have gotten out of this fairly well, lots of people pay heaps more, and we are lucky to know one person in the right position) we have spent over $4500 on those two alone in the past 6 months. When i thought about that, i realised that our money problems are not because we've been frivolous, they are because we were trying everything we could to overcome my medical issues and infertility, and to bring our bundle of joy into our family before it was too late and i had to have my whole ladies bits removed. At least i know if worst comes to worst, i have to swallow my pride and ask mum and dad or my aunty & uncle to help us out to tide us over, there are many people who can't do that. It's just so embarrassing to ask in the first place!
Anywho, enough of that! Sorry, i am such a chatterbox of late:ecomcity: . Maybe because DH has stopped listening to my whinging, so he's tuning out quite a lot!
Feeling more even tempered today, my joints (particularly one knee and my hands) are very sore, and i've done nothing in terms of straining them (unless sitting on the couch constitutes straining :laughing: ). Weird. Still feeling tired a lot, hopefully that wears off this week. 12 weeks today !!!!!! Yay!!!!
Have a great weekend girls! Roll on tomorrow when it's not as hot!
M O P
03-02-2007, 11:28 AM
We're going privately but our Obs, same one I had last time, has a pretty good fee structure I think.
The initial visit was about $200, with a scan, and I got about half back from Medicare.
Each ante natal visit from now on is bulk billed, I actually won't have many with her as I'll see my GP- who is Flying Doctors so no cost there at all.
The big fee for the obs will be $1400 2/3 of the way through and the actual delivery charge is billed straight to Medicare and my health fund so no fees there for us.
I have a $500 excess for the hospital, the trade off for cheaper health insurance.
I was so lucky as I've been bulk billed for my scans as I used to work for a referring Dr, I told them I don't work for him anymore but if they want to keep bulk billing, I'll let them!
One of the biggest costs for us last time was the travel expenses to Adel for appts and scans and I had to spend the last 4 weeks in Adel. It is so expensive living away from home. I was so lucky some friends let me use their town house- they live in the country- a 7 minute walk from the hospital/Ob's rooms and right behind a fairly major shopping area.
The really annoying thing is if I was to go to my closest hospital in the country- 200kms away and have my baby I would have been able to claim travel and accommodation from the Gov, but we chose privately so it isn't our closest hospital. It's really annoying cause if I lived in Adelaide I'd have a choice and have a hosp not too far away and I could stay in my own home with my husband- man I'm just whinging now aren't I.
After reading your story OTM I really can't complain.
OverTheMoon
03-02-2007, 02:50 PM
Kazza - course you can complain! We're here to listen:hugs: .
I sympathise with the living in the country predicament - we gave up and moved back to Perth 'cos of lack of access to the treatment we needed. It's great though that you have someone who can help you out with a place to stay- one positive in there! Sounds like you've got a good obs/ u/s people, which is good.
Anywho, i have a stoopid first time mum question, if anyone can answer?????? Woolies had nappies out cheap - Huggies 108 for $29. DH asked how long this would last, and i have no idea. Anyone able to give me a rough estimate answer?
I had a wee bit more spotting (sorry if TMI) when i went to the loo :crying: . I know my baby is ok, but it still scares me every time.
SilverStarfish
03-02-2007, 04:35 PM
Please pardon the cut and paste job. I don't feel like typing this out again. I'm afraid I'm leaving you lovely August ladies now, and not for the reason I wanted to. I had another scan today and it confirmed that our baby had died. This is the email I sent to friends to let them know.
I wish all of you well, and I'll be looking for your birth announcements later in the year.
We have some very sad news to share with you. Last night I went to the hospital as I had some bleeding and pain. They booked me in for a scan this morning, and it was during the scan that they confirmed the heartbreaking news. There was no heartbeat. Our baby had died.
Jim and I are both doing as well we can. While it might seem that we're going about like nothing has happened, the miscarriage is not something Jim and I want to talk about right now. Right now we want to just focus on little Sarah (and the K man, of course) and to give ourselves some time to heal. We'll bring it up if we want to talk about it.
Thank you everyone for you kind words and support. It means everything to us.
OverTheMoon
03-02-2007, 05:27 PM
Oh, Wendy, I'm so sorry.
:hugs: for you and DH and DD.
I'm so sad that this has happened to you and that you will be leaving our little thread. Thinking of you at this very sad time.
Kirst
03-02-2007, 08:14 PM
Oh Wendy. I'm so sorry. Big :hugs: to you and Jim. We're thinking of you.
As for the Huggies. $29 is a GREAT price, and I found that a newborn box lasted about a week - 10days.
Tingles
03-02-2007, 09:15 PM
Wendy big :hugs: to you... so sorry for your news.
I haven't been on this thread for a while, as the sad news was getting me down... and here we are again!:crying:
mumma_snuff
04-02-2007, 10:42 AM
Wendy, I'm so sorry to hear your news. :hugs: Stay strong, you are in our thoughts.
I've been on to medicare and the health fund about the costs. I've got a better understanding now of what's what and it's not as bad as i first thought! I totally take for granted that we have it relatively easy here compared to the country...
SilverStarfish
04-02-2007, 11:11 AM
Thank you all for your kind words and support. Yesterday was a hard day, but today we are all doing much better. It was sad to get the news, but not unexpected. With all the scans and tests that they doctors had been doing I think in the back of my mind I always just somehow knew that it wasn't meant to be this time.
I'll be seeing my doctor on Monday, but if I'm still feeling this well, Sarah Jim and I will be going to Melbourne as planned on Tuesday. It will be nice to have a holiday and have a bit of a break.
Kimee
04-02-2007, 03:27 PM
I'm so sorry Wendy :crying: sending a big:hugs: to you. A holiday for you sounds lovely to rest and recover. All the best
I came on to tell you ladies that I had a scare on Friday night with spotting. (Second time) and went to have a scan done on Saturday morn.
As soon as the screen switched on we saw little beano bouncing around like I was a trampoline or something. So everything was ok. Bub even waved which was so cute. Found out the hard way that the only place I could get in doesn't bulk bill on Sat (damn!) and cost $190 but it was worth every penny to get that peace of mind as DH will be away for the week for work. Beano sure loves to scare his Mummy and Daddy! I've got a timeline of scans but I have to admit I love having a peek in there :D and I'll be having the 12wk scan on 21st Feb...my bday!
OverTheMoon
04-02-2007, 03:31 PM
Wendy, I hope that you do get to have a bit of a break, and that it helps with your healing.
I just thought we could all do with me sharing something i think is a wee bit funny. You know how i said yesterday that i had a bit of spotting when i went to the loo? Well, relief of all reliefs, i didn't. You see, it happened again last night, so (and again, sorry if TMI), i took a closer look, and a very good laugh!
We couldn't get any plain white toilet Kleenex toilet rolls (I'm a snob, they're the only one's i will use for my precious toosh!:laughing: ), so we got the one's with the little doggy pattern on them. Know the one's?? Turns out the doggy pattern has a brown/red colour on the doggy himself, and this colour was what i was seeing! LOL. I'm such a dag!
Hope you are all relaxing today.
Kimee
04-02-2007, 03:42 PM
:laughing: that's hilarious!!
bec77
04-02-2007, 08:29 PM
i did exactly the same thing!!!!
I think when the paper get wet it makes the colours darker and look like blood, sure is scary untill you realise :idea:
LiciaSings
05-02-2007, 06:59 AM
:hugs: Thoughts and prayers and hugs are with you Wendy. Hope that holiday is everything you need it to be, for all your family.
I will remember to keep buying only white TP :laughing:
1st scan ever tomorrow! very excited, little bit nervous, but mostly just nervous about the whole having to pee for so long and not being allowed to go! Is it true you have to drink a litre or 2 of water and not pee for 3 hours?! Holy cow! I can barely make it half an hour these days! DH reckons it's a good way for u/s people to get new mums out of the room quickly...so we don't just sit around Valentine looking at our little hidden babies. They're hoping we'll get a good look and then run for the loo!
Hmmm... it'll be worth it to see little bub.
:fingerscrossed:
Kimee
05-02-2007, 07:31 AM
Hi Alicia!
Have fun at your scan tomorrow! I've had 4 scans done and have learned that you don't have to follow exactly what they say about how much to drink and when. The 1st few times I followed their orders and threw up and was in lots of pain from drinking so much water and thought this is ridiculous! So what I do now is....I drink an hour before my appointment and drink till I have the slightest urge to pee then stop. If I feel like I'm busting I know I've drunk too much and I let a bit out (about 12 seconds sorry TMI!) My last appointment I did this and had to let a bit out twice and when I had my scan done the sonographer said my bladder was perfectly full and I could actually enjoy the scan without feeling like I was in pain and would could wet myself at any moment!
As long as your bladder feels full the scan will be fine! Hope this helps!
deb1234
05-02-2007, 07:37 AM
Wendy i just read your sad news :hugs: i hope you and your DH have a great break away.
Alicia, like Kimee i was in so much pain the time i actually followed their orders!! i actually went to the bathroom immediately before my appointment because i couldn't hold on any longer and she never said anything, so must have been ok. because the drive for us is about 30 minutes, now i just take however much water i have to drink (1L, 500ml or whatever they tell you) with me in the car and drink it on the way there. it goes through you fast enough anyway!
Snugglepot
05-02-2007, 08:07 AM
I did not have to drink anything for my 12 week scan! In fact the instructions on the referal said it was not neccesary. That was for a big company in Melbourne, the MIA group. I just dont get it! Perhaps it is to do with the type of machines they have? (It was not 4d!)
AngelGirl
05-02-2007, 08:34 AM
Wendy - I was shocked to hear your news.:hugs: to you and your family.
mumma_snuff - I'm glad your scan went well.
LiciaSings - best of luck for your scan tomorrow.
Mel - you crack me up :laughing: about the toilet paper. I've done the same thing myself!!
I'm feeling good apart from a terrible sleep last night. Woke up at 3am for a pee and couldn't get back to sleep. Very annoying!!
Kimee
05-02-2007, 09:00 AM
Sorry about your bad sleep Angelgirl. I find I wake up heaps during the night and feel like I never sleep through.
Just wondering if any of you have had morning sickness ease up on you yet? I didn't feel the slightest bit of nausea yesterday and thought that may be the end of it but I spoke too soon as this morning I :barf: at the sight of a peach seed?? I'm 10 weeks 4days 2day
trendy1
05-02-2007, 09:30 AM
Hello everyone,
Glad to hear that most peoples weekends went well, except going a bit too quickly!!
Liciasings: Good luck for your scan, I bet you can't wait.
Wendy: Sorry to hear your news. I hope your break away goes well and you can have some time out and relax.
In regards to the drinking for the scan I drank as much as I could on the way in to the doctors (its a 1/2 hour drive) and the doctor was amazed at how I could hold onto it even though it was nowhere near the amount they had told me to drink. So I will be sticking to that now.
I know what you are saying about the sleeping I woke up at around 1:30 to go to the toilet and it took me forever to go back to sleep and then it was a broken sleep, I feel like I need tooth picks to hold my eyes open.
Anyway glad to hear that most of you are going well and starting to get over the morning sickness.
niesl_bug
05-02-2007, 10:18 AM
Good Morning Lovely Ladies :wave:
Firstly - Faeml - I am so sorry for your loss. Our thoughts are with you and DH during this difficult time :hugs:
Mumma-Snuff - I am private and have not had to pay for any of my b/t. I think as long as you have a referral then Medicare covers it?
Kimee - I am soooooooooo glad everything is OK! That little bub of yours certainly likes to give you a scare !!!
Mel - I am the same with the white t/paper and the same thing happened to me when I used the patterend stuff at someone else's house ... stupid puppies !!!
Alicia - good luck for your scan love. The only time i had to have a full bladder was the early scans at 6 and 8 weeks. The last one I went to they made me empty my bladder before I went in. I think it depends if they give you an internal or external scan.
I am sure that I felt bub move when i went to bed on Saturday night but DH thinks I am crazy. It was like little butterflies in my tummy in one spot and I have never felt anything like that before.
I am feeling just wonderful and absolutely loving being pregnant!
I hope everyone is doing well - have a great day xxx
ETsMum
05-02-2007, 10:59 AM
Hi Everyone! :wave:
Wendy - I'm so sorry for your loss. Please take care and I hope you enjoy your holiday tomorrow. :hugs:
I had a bit of bleeding on Sat. I sneezed and thought I nearly had "an accident" so I went to the loo and there was a bit of blood. More than all the other times put together, but none since. I don't know whether I should get it checked out. I don't go back to the doc until the 12th. :confused:
Oh, and I'll put my hand up to admit, I've had a few scares with the pattered loo paper too.. :p Ours was the blue and brown leaves/marine print. I will only buy white now. hahahaha!!!
Good luck to those with scans this week!
niesl_bug
05-02-2007, 11:23 AM
Len - I hope everything is OK for you. If you have any more bleeding, is there a women's hospital you can go to for a quick check?
Kimee
05-02-2007, 11:44 AM
Hi Len
I'm with Tara is there anywhere you can go to check that everything is ok, even if its just for peace of mind. But thats just me cos I freak out everytime I see any blood and get a scan done asap. They know me by name there now :laughing:
I will have had 4 done in my first 12 wks! Hope everything is ok. What colour is the blood? Is there much?
trendy1
05-02-2007, 12:22 PM
(TMI WARNING)
I just have a quick question for those that have had a bleed - I have just been to the toilet and I have noticed not just a drop but a fair bit of blood, it isn't the bright red colour though. Has this happened to anyone else? I have rung the ob's rooms and she is with a patient but when she finishes she is going to ring me back. I am stressing out now so probably making it worst.
AngelGirl
05-02-2007, 01:13 PM
oh Trendy hon, I'm not sure but I hope it's all ok. Let us know how you get on.
Len - I agree with the others, even if you just call the doctor (like Trendy has done) to get some advice. Hope all is ok.
Alicia - I'm private too and my doctor had my blood tests bulk billed so I didnt have to pay for any of them. So far, I've paid for my first appointment with the Oby and got about half back from medicare. Then it's a one off payment of about $3000 and half back from medicare (depending on whether we've reached the safety net).
Tara - how wonderful that you feel wonderful!!
Kimee
05-02-2007, 01:37 PM
Trendy1 - I've only been told to worry by my dr and by sonographers if the blood is bright red. If its not its probably old blood. Any bleeding should be checked though, in my opinion. I've bled twice in this pregnancy but only brown and all is good. I know how scary it is! But hopefully ur Ob will get back to you soon and advise you! Let us know how you go. :fingerscrossed: Everything is fine
trendy1
05-02-2007, 02:11 PM
The OB has now rung me back and told me to see how things go over the next 24hours, if there is anymore blood to go to the hospital but if not to leave it. She wasn't overly concerned unless there is more blood and dramas.
niesl_bug
05-02-2007, 02:44 PM
Trendy1 - I heard that as long as the blood isn't bright red then it is old blood and nothing to worry about. Please let us know how you go and :fingerscrossed: all is OK.
Re: expenses, I forgot to mention that our Ob just charges whatever the private health fund pays. All I've paid so far is for a few appointments, of which about 50% back from Medicare and I'll have a small excess to pay at the hospital.
Kirst
05-02-2007, 05:25 PM
I only buy white toilet paper, so maybe I won't have the same scare.
Saw the OB for the first time today. All seems okay.
I'm boring at the moment, nothing really to report.
niesl_bug
05-02-2007, 05:40 PM
I only buy white toilet paper, so maybe I won't have the same scare.
Saw the OB for the first time today. All seems okay.
I'm boring at the moment, nothing really to report.
Hey Kirst - no news is good news ... so I guess it's good you have nothing to report :thumbsup:
OverTheMoon
05-02-2007, 05:55 PM
I hear ya girls on the broken sleep thing. I'm down to one or two pees a night, but after the first, i just can't get back to sleep. When my alarm went this morning i was sure i'd only slept maybe half an hour after around 2am.
Len and Trendy - i empathise completely with the bleeding thing - i've had 5 bleeds so far (all brown bar one which had a wee bit of red in it too - sorry TMI). Everyone i've spoken too has said that whilst brown blood is generally ok, any bleeding should be checked out.
My boobs hurt today. I'm tired, and i have to go to my other casual work meeting of the plastic selling people (IYKWIM). It's this big birthday bash, so i really have to go. I enjoy it, but it's always on the nights that i work at school during the day, when i only want to come home and sleep. Sorry, i'm whinging, and blabbing.:ecomcity:
Nothing new to report here. All good, apart from DH making side-comments about me having cut back at work and how i should be doing relief as much as i can, or doing more with my other casual work. He's just cranky now the tables are turned. Grump.
Have a great night girls.
mumma_snuff
06-02-2007, 07:31 AM
Glad to hear the m/s is clearing up for most.
Loved the toilet paper story. That's so funny. Good chuckle to start the day off with!
I have a baby question - does anyone know how long full term babies generally stay in 'newborn' size nappies before they go up the next size?
They are on spesh at Woolies this week and I wanted to stock up. Thanks everyone.
I hope the scares turn out to be nothing to worry about.
deb1234
06-02-2007, 07:53 AM
hey mumma_snuff, i have no idea about newborn nappies since i'm new at this too! but i saw them on special and was wondering if we should get some. we haven't bought anything for the baby yet. anyone else bought nothing?! we have taken a few strollers for a spin around the shop but its so confusing - they all look the same to me!
have a great day girls :wave:
Kimee
06-02-2007, 07:59 AM
I'm absolutely clueless as well. Have no idea what to buy for bub and sizes but will ask SILs as they have 6 kids between them. I don't think I'm gonna buy any baby stuff until I know what sex the baby is then I'll go nuts!
deb1234
06-02-2007, 08:30 AM
haha me too kimee. i can't wait to find out the sex - only about 4-5 weeks to go :)
Kimee
06-02-2007, 08:36 AM
How exciting!! I can't wait either! I've got another 7 weeks to go till I can find out seems so far away!
deb1234
06-02-2007, 08:42 AM
my husband is away for work the whole of my week 18 so i have to wait until week 19! boo!! :p
Kimee
06-02-2007, 08:44 AM
awww damn! Go and get one done before then and act suprised when you have one with ur hubby! hehehe that's terrible isn't it! :laughing:
deb1234
06-02-2007, 08:52 AM
hehe don't think i could get away with that one. i suppose i can wait a week anyway...:D
Snugglepot
06-02-2007, 09:20 AM
It is so hard to know what to but for your newborn! :confused:
I brought lots of 000 clothes for DS and found them all to be too big. He was 6pd 6 or 2.9kgs. I sent my mum out to get some 0000 and even 00000 clothes (depends on the brand) as the other stuff was HUGE on him and he looked terrible and uncomfortable. I found the bonds grow suits great for the start as they are quiet small and you could get half 000 and the other half 0000 and that would do you well. They dont actually stay in them all that long, I think DS was out of the tiny stuff by the end of 3 or 4 weeks. (Target/Kmart often do sales on Bonds grow suits in autumn/winter at around $6-8;) )
Now for the Nappies, I brought a range of huggies and babylove newborn and found the huggies better at the time, he was in newborn nappies for about 4 weeks then moved up to small ones. They go through about 6 a day or so. I hope that helps a bit, dont buy too many newborn nappies, they really grow out of them fast and if you have a big baby, even faster!
I hope all the scans have gone well for people this week and for those with spotting that it has gone away as well. What a scary experience I am sending you lots of stay put vibes.
I am doing well, no sickness anymore and I am just trying to enjoy this wonderful experince of pregnancy!
niesl_bug
06-02-2007, 12:03 PM
hey mumma_snuff, i have no idea about newborn nappies since i'm new at this too! but i saw them on special and was wondering if we should get some. we haven't bought anything for the baby yet. anyone else bought nothing?! we have taken a few strollers for a spin around the shop but its so confusing - they all look the same to me!
Hi Gals!
I am just as clueless as you guys!
I have bought some Bonds suits in 0000 and 000 in white (which I love anyway).
We have taken some prams for a spin too and found it way too overwhelming! We have decided to go to a baby shop and just buy everything in one go and hopefully get a discount - will probably do this around 7 month mark.
We are off to Bali on 14 March which means I have to re-schedule our 19 week scan until we get back and I'll be 20 weeks.
I hope everyone is well - all good here. My tum is really starting to show now and I absolutely love it :D
M O P
06-02-2007, 12:11 PM
hope all's well.
Yes I am popping right out now, I need a t-shirt saying
"I am actually pregnant again" as it is really embarrassing walking around with a baby in your arms and one popping out of your jeans too!
The nappy question, I bought a box of new born nappies before Hugh was born and went from there. You can generally get them on special somewhere at most times.
I didn't buy too many either as I was planning on using cloth, which I started when Hugh was about 2 months old if anyone was wondering about using cloth. This time round I've bought some new born cloth nappies and will use them as soon as we get home.
I bought a few 000 jumpsuits and bits and pieces (in green- white is useless for us as it quickly turns to cappuccino colour in our brown dam water!) but I was also given heaps of 0000s. I didn't buy too many though as Hugh wasn't in them for long- he was 3.39kg or 7lb 7oz- pretty average size.
Tan-mumof3
06-02-2007, 01:10 PM
Hi all, it's been a while since i posted, not much happening here. MS starting to ease off thank goodness, buy im still really exhausted. Can definately feel bubs moving now (i actually felt a little kick the other night, i bent over and must of squashed it and it kicked me lol). In regards to newborn nappies my 2 were in them for about 2 months, im gonna buy 1 maybe 2 boxes this time. With clothes i have a couple of 00000 but mostly 0000 for newborn mine were in 0000 for about 2 months then starting to get into 000, bonds suits are quite small so maybe a few 0000 and some 000 as they grow out of them quickly. My 2 were both average size babies too 7lb 3oz & 7lb 6 oz. Hope that helps a little bit.
Hope everyone is well and will talk again soon xxx
Kirst
06-02-2007, 01:36 PM
My 2-cents worth....
Nappies - they actaully are at that price quite regularly. Just keep your eye out. Alwys check Coles and Big W too. I usually buy mine from Big W, as their everyday price is cheaper anyway. I have no idea how long DD lasted in newborns.
Clothes - I agree totally with Kez about Bonds growsuits. Stock up, they are all they wear really. DD lived in them. Just so much easier, and nice and snug. They are quite small in size too as they are snug, so you may buy a 0000 Target brand, and need a 000 Bonds.
When DD was born, she was 8lb 8oz, and still started out in 0000. She was in 0000 clothes for about 3-4 weeks and 000 for about another 10 weeks. She is a BIG chick and grew really quickly though.
Advice - don't buy too much if this is your first, because you will be amazed at how much you are given (and not just clothes). I didn't beleive it when my SILs told me that, but I beleive them now. I have an ABUNDANCE of stuff for this one, that's why I hope it's a girl just so that they can be worn again.
Good luck everyone!
bec77
06-02-2007, 02:32 PM
hi girls sorry to butt in.
glad to see that you are all doing well, i have been reading on and off.
not sure if anyone remembers me i was here a few weeks ago till i had a m/c.
I am after a bit of advice and have put the ques in a few threads , not sure where it should go, i was wanting to know if anyone knows of any g.p's that do share care in my area (sutherland shire, sydney).
I am wanting to start ttc again in a few weeks and with the hopeless g.p that i have i am not too confident, i am after someone who can look after bub and i before the 14 week time when you start at the hospital, someone who will do the nescessary tests and check the h/b etc.
any help would be appreciated, again sorry to butt in on your conversations
trendy1
06-02-2007, 03:33 PM
Hi Bec77: Sorry I can't help you as I live in Darwin but I just wanted to wish you all the best and hope that you can find a gp that will be able to help you. All the best on your TTC journey.
niesl_bug
06-02-2007, 03:37 PM
Hi Bec
I'm sorry I can't help you either, but wanted to say hello, see how your doing and wish you lots of luck with TTC and sending truckloads of sticky baby-dust your way :wizard:
OverTheMoon
06-02-2007, 04:49 PM
Bec, i too can't help with your query, but hope you are going ok, and am sending sticky baby dust your way also.
I've had a bit of a sad day. DH's family's dog died this morning - MIL heard him gasping for air, went out and he was on his side, tongue out of his mouth, and he died. Just like that. He was 14, and wasn't very well the last few days. So i've spent most of the day with MIL, took her some lunch and muffins, sat with her for a while. I called the rest of the clan and we are going to have fish and chips with her tonight to keep her company - Les' dad died last year and the last of the kids moved out 3 weeks ago, so figured she'd be a bit lonely.
Apart from that, i'm tired of the pulling pains I'm getting, and of being tired and waking up tired (reads like the Hoodu Goorus - sp? song :laughing: ). I need to buy some fruit 'cos i don't imagine tinned fruit is as beneficial for bubs as the fresh stuff, but i just can't be bothered - it's too hot. Tinned fruit will be ok for a day won't it? Hmmm i feel like Chinese for dinner - maybe they'll go for that ahead of fish and chips (i :barf: the last time i had fish n chips). Surely i can guilt them all - hmm may not be an appropriate time for guilting.
Anywho, hope we all had good-ish weekends.
ETsMum
06-02-2007, 05:35 PM
Advice - don't buy too much if this is your first, because you will be amazed at how much you are given (and not just clothes). I didn't beleive it when my SILs told me that, but I beleive them now. I have an ABUNDANCE of stuff for this one, that's why I hope it's a girl just so that they can be worn again.
Yeah - I'll second that!!! And most of it arrived just after DS was born, so one minute you're thinking :eek: I've got nothing, and the next its :eek: there aren't enough days to wear all these clothes!! And what the hell am I going to do with all these cloth nappies!! (I used disposies, so luckily (or not) DS was a spewy bub so I got some use out of the clothies.) :D
Also, and this goes for nappies and clothes, each brand is a different size fit so don't stock up too much until you have decided what you like. Nappies and clothes are always on special.
And it will still be winter when your bubs is born, so they will probably be wrapped all the time, so don't buy too many fancy clothes to start with, no one will see them and bulky things will prob be uncomfortable for the bub. I've got jumpers and jackets I got for DS that he only wore once so I could take a pic of him in it. Just a waste... Hhmmm.... must ebay some things as I unpack! hehehe!
LiciaSings
06-02-2007, 06:11 PM
Hi all! Just had some happy news to share today.
This morning DH & I went in to the hospital for my first ultrasound.
Everything is normal-normal-normal for our little bub. Anything but normal for us... we actually got to see a tiny little person hanging out and growing and waving and kicking around inside of me. :wave: It was incredible!
The dr. said everything looks really good. They said Baby was a bit stubborn and made it tricky for them to get the snaps they wanted, DH said 'that sounds about right.'
Dr. said the due date is right on,and Baby is exactly 7cm. from head to bum. The little heartbeat is good, the brain looks to be forming properly...you can actually see the brain! ...it was so weird. But beyond cool. I think I'm falling in love :) Valentine
Hope you all have fantastic weeks!
AngelGirl
07-02-2007, 06:59 AM
Licia - That is great news, I'm so happy that things are progressing well with your little bubba!
We are off to Bali on 14 March which means I have to re-schedule our 19 week scan until we get back and I'll be 20 weeks.
Tara - a holiday in Bali sounds lovely. Do be extra careful! Are you up to date with all your vaccinations? Oh I'm so jealous, I'd love for DH and I to go away before bub arrives. Maybe we'll go away for the weekend on our 1st wedding anniversary which is coming up soon.
i was wanting to know if anyone knows of any g.p's that do share care in my area (sutherland shire, sydney).
Hey Bec - I've sent you a PM.
OverTheMoon - sorry to hear about you DH's family dog. When our dog died I was surprised at how upset I was. He was a huge part of our family. After everything your MIL has been through in the past year, it's nice that she has your support.
As for me, I feel good, apart from a little queasiness that comes back to haunt me every now and then. My belly is popping too, but I think to most strangers I just look bloated. I can actually suck my tummy in a little bit but it's too much hard work so I'm just letting it all hang out now!
deb1234
07-02-2007, 09:25 AM
hey alicia that's great news!! man this thread needs some! :)
angelgirl, i've started letting it all hang out as well!! haha. looking forward to having a proper bump and not just looking fat! :laughing:
overthemoon, so sorry to hear about DH's dog. I don't know how i'm going to cope when our boys eventually leave us. you are a great DIL being there for your MIL.
hi everyone else :wave: hope you are all having a great day.
niesl_bug
07-02-2007, 11:20 AM
Alicia - isn't it just wonderful ?!?! So glad all is good for you!
Angelgirl - yes Mummy :p - I will be extra careful and had all my vaccs last year as we did a bit of travelling so still covered. I won't eat any meat at all, no ice and have even ordered vegetarian meals for the plane. DH business partner owns a villa there we will be staying at so it's not costing anything except our airfare!!!
I hope you have a little getaway before bub comes - even a weekend away or something would be nice.
All great here and getting better every day!
Have a wonderful day gals xxx
AngelGirl
07-02-2007, 01:46 PM
Angelgirl - yes Mummy :p - I will be extra careful and had all my vaccs last year as we did a bit of travelling so still covered. I won't eat any meat at all, no ice and have even ordered vegetarian meals for the plane. DH business partner owns a villa there we will be staying at so it's not costing anything except our airfare!!!
you sound well prepared, good to hear! ;)
mumma_snuff
07-02-2007, 08:39 PM
Alicia - that's such great news! Isn't it amazing when you get the see the little person...
I've got something that i must share with everyone. Everyone will probably already know about them, but seeing this is all new for me they were a very exciting find. Work clothes have been a real issue for me in the last week or so since my belly popped. Normal clothes are too tight but maternity clothes are too big. Yesterday I went out a bought 'belly busters' which are little elastic belts which clip into your normal pants. They are the best invention ever!! Wore them today.. very impressed. $30 for a pack of 3.
Tingles
07-02-2007, 09:16 PM
Also, and this goes for nappies and clothes, each brand is a different size fit so don't stock up too much until you have decided what you like. Nappies and clothes are always on special.
And it will still be winter when your bubs is born, so they will probably be wrapped all the time, so don't buy too many fancy clothes to start with
Just a suggestion... baby nighties. You mainly get them from a baby store, like Baby Bunting here in Melb - very easy & quick to nappy change, especially at night... I have a blue one that I bought years ago - *fingers crossed* I will be able to use it this time...:rolleyes: (mother of 3 girls)
Soft little cardigans, booties & bonnets go over the nighty so easily, and look so 'beautiful' on little newbies - pick these up at the hospital ladies auxilary - soooo, cheap - or a local craft market.
When it gets cooler Target & Kmart have little suits, not Bonds - fluffyier ones - baby feels so, cuddly like a teddy - a little Johnsons powder on the singlet before visitors come, and babe is sooooo delicious...
And as for nappy's... The aldi ones are too big for new baby - I found babylove the best size for brand newies - it is trial & error... maybe stock up on baby wipes - store them upside down, they keep best that way - Safeway select is a good baby wipe as they 'pop' up everytime (some don't:banghead: )
Anyway that's my 50 cents - hope someone get something out of it...
AngelGirl
08-02-2007, 06:44 AM
I went out a bought 'belly busters' which are little elastic belts which clip into your normal pants. They are the best invention ever!! Wore them today.. very impressed. $30 for a pack of 3.
I have borrowed the belly belt pack from a friend but I find it doesn't work with everything so I also bought a couple of of belly tubes, they look a bit like bood tubes and they sit over the top of your jeans/pants/skirts to extend your top and cover your unbottoned pants! Very comfy.
Tingles - thanks for the info :thumbsup:
I need all the advice I can get!
Where is everyone? It's been quiet here for the past few days?
deb1234
08-02-2007, 07:56 AM
i'm here!! :wave:
i know it has been quiet over the last few days, we're only getting through a few pages a day :laughing:
onabreak
08-02-2007, 08:11 AM
Hi Everyone :wave:
Haven't been in here for awhile as nothing exciting has been happening lately, but today I hit the 12 week mark :smiliedance: . I'm so happy I have made it. Am looking forward to my next scan in 1.5 weeks just for peace of mind that my little bubba is alive and well.
Has anyone else been getting headaches? I have had a headache the last couple of days and even wake up with one, its starting to get annoying and especially that I have run out of panadol.
Oh well not to worry. I am not sure if I have felt movements yet or I am just talking myself into it but there is definately something going on in there.
Must be off ladies, shopping and banking errands to do today. My car has been broken for 5 days and DH finally fixed it for me so I can finally leave the house :smiliedance:
Tan-mumof3
08-02-2007, 08:59 AM
Hello ladies.
It has been quiet in here the last couple of days.
I have my NT scan today at 2pm, im taking my mil cos she hasn't been to any and dh can't get off work. Had my bloods done for it yesterday (i can't believe they took 5 tubes of blood :eek:).
Well im off to work now will be back after my scan to let you all know how it went.
Have a good day hope you are all well.:)
chicken
08-02-2007, 09:29 AM
Has anyone else been getting headaches?
Yes!!! I didn't get a single headache until I reached 12 weeks, and I've been getting them pretty constantly every since (have already taken panadol this morning). I've had a couple of bad ones that panadol just wasn't working on, so I rang the pharmacist to ask if I could take anything stronger. He said panadeine or something with a bit of codeine was fine, as long as I wasn't taking it regularly. I hope they go away soon though.
Good luck with your NT scan today Tanya!
Hello to everyone else! Got my next check-up with my OB on monday, but apart from that, I feel like nothing much is going on. Belly has made some serious progress in the last couple of weeks, and have decided to pack away some of my work clothes, as they just won't work any more. The selection of clothes I can wear just seems to be getting smaller and smaller. And maternity wear just seems so huge.
Just in the last week or so I've really started to feel anxious about how physically restrictive a big belly is going to be? Anyone else thinking like this? Its only in the last couple of weeks that I've really noticed my belly getting bigger, and I'm already noticing a difference when I bend over, when I turn over in bed, etc. Its a very weird sensation, and its just starting to hit me how big and enormous I'm probably likely to get.
pregomum
08-02-2007, 11:14 AM
Good to hear everyone is getting over the morning sickness:) . I have none today and am sooo hungry.
Had my 12wk check up at the hospital and all is well, got to hear bubs heartbeat, felt so reasuring to hear it and know all is well. Just got low blood pressure which is why i haven't been feeling too good when I stand for too long.
Finally got the bridesmaids dresses sorted for our wedding in March, it's finally all coming together. Been too tired to organise it. My advice never get married while being pregnant :) :)
niesl_bug
08-02-2007, 11:55 AM
Hi Ladies :wave:
It has been a bit quieter, but it's kind of good because it means I actually get some work done and can still keep track of all your posts !!!
Mumma-Snuff ... I think I need some of those tummy bands! My tum is popping a bit but not enough to wear maternity clothes yet, but my normal clothes are a bit uncomfortable when I sit down all day.
Tingles - great suggestions! Thanks so much!!
Mandy - congratulations on hitting the 12W mark ... doesn't it feel great !!?!?!?!?!
Tan - good luck for your NT scan, I'm sure all will be just fine :yes:
Chicken - I have only had a couple of headaches but the have really hung around (which is unusal for me) and taking Herron (safe to have while pg and b/f) hasn't helped.
I hope yours subside soon.
I also relate to getting bigger. I am normally quite small and I wonder what DH thinks of my growing body - I mean I know he loves it, but sometimes I feel funny walking around the house in a crop top and boyleg pants and wonder what i'll be like in 6 months time!!!
Pregomum - glad to hear your scan went well, just keep an eye on that blood pressure of yours.
Good to hear your got your b/maids dresses - YAY! I don't know how you are managing being pg and getting married - good on you !!!
All good here. Just really tired - yesterday I worked all day at my job, then went to DH business at 5.30pm to do payroll and didn't finish until 11pm :eek: . I am relieving his Administrator who is on leave and have 3 more weeks of it - next time I will split 1/2 over Tuesday and the other 1/2 on a Wednesday ...
Have a great day gals xxx
spunkyboysmum
08-02-2007, 02:10 PM
Hi ladies:D hope you are all well today,
I was just wondering if anyone else has booked in for their anatomy scan yet?
I called today expecting to be booked in at 19 weeks (18 weeks earliest) and they said I could book in from next friday!! I will only be 16 weeks by next Sat so this surprized me!! I ended up booking for when I will be 16.5 weeks so I hope they can determine the sex by then:)
Anyone else have there anantomy scan this early? I never had one with my son as we knew he was a boy from my amnio so this is new to me.
I would love to know
Luv Kellie
OverTheMoon
08-02-2007, 02:18 PM
I haven't been on for a few days and was expecting pages and pages to catch up on!
I've been working and having dinner with the p's, and haven't been home before 9 any night this week, which is driving me batty 'cos i'm normally showered and in bed by 8:30 well and truly. I'm soo tired and grumpy, but fine otherwise.
Had my 12 wk scan this morning, all very good, the u/s guy kept going on about the nose and how happy he was he could see a well-defined nose! Bubs was eating/drinking/something, and his jaw kept moving! So cute! sonographer thinks he spotted a willy-like object, but we'll wait for 19 week scan to see if he was right.
Yes, having headaches too, but have been working with kids who are sick (yes, in the first week of school - what's with that?) and some workmates with bugs and colds - i just want to say to them all "stay home, don't spread your germs to ME!".
Very grumpy with DH at the mo'. A little nookie incident last night, after no nookie whatsoever since last October - he did something very inappropriate he thought was funny - i wouldn't have found it funny even if i wasn't pregnant and grumpy. That's all i'd like to say about that :rolleyes: . AND, he took the Camry today cos he said the Satria needs a service and he would feel better taking the other car. I get in the Satria, and what do you know, no petrol and no water for the dirty windscreen - lazy so and so!
Anywho, i gotta go visit my p's and bro again - mum said before "can i see the photo of OUR baby" - NO, it's not YOUR baby, it's MINE! Goodness gracious, i am a grumpy cow, aren't i?:laughing:
Tan-mumof3
08-02-2007, 05:05 PM
Hi im back from my scan & all is great. Bubs was moving around so much, kicking and doing somersaults it was sooo cute to watch. The heart beat was nice and strong 169 bpm and there were 2 arms & legs which is reassuring. Don't get the results til next week sometime but im sure all will be fine.
OTM- my sonographer kept going on about bubs' nose as well.
Mandy-I have been getting headaches also lately (think mine are more tiredness related).
Preggomum- glad your appointment went well & you got your bridesmaids dresses.
Spunky boysmum- i will be having my anatomy scan at 19 weeks, but haven't got my referral yet so can't book it.
Neisl bug- i too have been extemely tired but i haven't been nearly as busy as you. You poor thing must feel so exhausted.
Sorry if i missed anyone, hope you are all well, have a good night.
ETsMum
08-02-2007, 05:07 PM
I can't believe they took 5 tubes of blood
WHAT!!! :eek: With mine they only took 1. Were you getting other stuff checked out at the same time?
Yep - Mine is on the 27th Feb.. I can't wait!!!
Are you girls with the headaches drinking enough water!!! :shame: :p 2L a day! The heat and aircon dehydrates.
OverTheMoon - I am a grumpy old cow too!! I think this is the worst week for grumpiness so far. I think my face would crack if I smiled.. :laughing:
Tan-mumof3
08-02-2007, 05:15 PM
Len- They checked for everything. HIV, rubella, hepatitis, syphilis, BSL, HCG, and a few more i think.
Anyone else have this?
Kimee
08-02-2007, 08:53 PM
I'm having my bloods for my NT scan done next Sat and checked out my blood test referral and theres 3 stickers on there so I'm presuming 3 tubes. But 5! that's a lot of blood! You're one brave lady! I'm such a chicken when it comes to needles!!!
Btw - fantastic news that bub is growing nicely for you! did you get a printout of your scan? If you did, does it cost much?
whatwasithinking
08-02-2007, 10:07 PM
Len- They checked for everything. HIV, rubella, hepatitis, syphilis, BSL, HCG, and a few more i think.
Anyone else have this?
Had those tests when I was about 4-5wks pregnant.
Stilhaven't got my NT test yet - had it over two weeks ago! The blood collection people reckon they have just sent it - ?? eek. Going to Dr's on Monday.
No m/s now. Just very tired. Nothing else to report.
Tan-mumof3
08-02-2007, 10:22 PM
I'm having my bloods for my NT scan done next Sat and checked out my blood test referral and theres 3 stickers on there so I'm presuming 3 tubes. But 5! that's a lot of blood! You're one brave lady! I'm such a chicken when it comes to needles!!!
Btw - fantastic news that bub is growing nicely for you! did you get a printout of your scan? If you did, does it cost much?
Kimee, my scan cost $140 and i got a disk with 6 prints on it (one of which is my new avatar).
Don't know about being brave i hate needles but i guess we have to learn to deal with it (the things us mummys do).
Hope yours goes well when you have it.
Donna thanks for that the only test i had done at 4 weeks was hcg, so i guess the gp just waited til this time.
M O P
09-02-2007, 09:17 AM
Tan they took 4 vials of blood during my test- tested everything possible.
Kimee- they usually just give you a pic of your bubs as a pressie- no extra cost.
Last time with Hugh as it took 3 and 1/2 hours the lovely lady kept taking off heaps of good shots and I left clutching a handful of pics but this time it only took 20 mins and I only left with one pic.
PS Kimee- ask to lay down and look the other way for your blood test, kept talking and you'll be fine! Be brave!
trendy1
09-02-2007, 09:47 AM
Hello everyone,
Glad to hear that you are all doing well. I haven't posted for a few days as I have been flat out at work. Well I have still been bleeding since Tuesday but it is still only very light, it hasn't got any worst so I am trying not to worry.
I am feeling pretty good, just get very tired and have a bit of the "I can't be bothered attitude!!" but apart from that all is fine.
As some of you may know we have opted out of the NT scan, I am starting to think maybe I should of got it but I did see the bub at my last ob visit last week when she did an ultrasound.
Anyway hope you are all well and will catch up again soon.
niesl_bug
09-02-2007, 10:25 AM
Good Morning Ladies :wave:
I think i had about 4 or 5 vials of blood taken too - they just tested for everything! I am getting much better with the b/t's - looking the other way and thinking of something nice is a good idea!
We visited Ob yesterday and he says bub is perfect. I have to go and have spina bifida b/t at 15 weeks which he very strongly recommended. anyone else doing this? i forgot to ask what happens if we get a positive or high risk result?
I went and bought some maternity clothes last night - black pants for work, white 3/4 pants for the weekend and a gorgeous black dress which can be dressed down with havianas or dressed up for evening with sparkly shoes and a nice handbag. Perfect for our upcoming trip to Bali - can't wait!
Trendy - at 26, you will be fine without the nuchal test ... pls don't worry about it.
BTW!!! we realised that the measuring thing on Ob's u/s machine doesn't work. Last time we were there it said 16cm and he said "no, peanut is 1.6cm" but yesterday it said 16cm again and we know bubs is around 7cm. Kirst - I thought you would find this hilarious as I was freaking out about our small bub for no reason !!!! :o
We are booked in for 20 week scan at end of March when we return from holiday where we will find out bub's sex :yelclap:
Have a wonderful day gals :wave:
LiciaSings
10-02-2007, 06:10 PM
Hi all! :)
Just saying hi... it's been a while since our computer got a nasty virus and it's been out of order for the last few days :no: . But seems to be all clean now.
Have a lot of posts to catch up on reading... but I'll do that more when I get home tonight. Off to the BubHub Brisbane dinner tonight.
Hope everyone's really really well!!
Kirst
11-02-2007, 08:59 AM
Hi guys. Haven't logged on for a while. Glad to hear that everything is goig well for everyone. This is the 'quiet time'. All bub does is grow, and grow and grow. For those who are finding the gender out, I guess that's the next big thing. We aren't finding out the gender, but I am really looking forward to the 20week scan to see him/her again.
I am feeling bigger too. It's all coming back. I roled over in bed the other night to feel my belly shift over, and remembered how uncomfortable that gets in a few months. I HAVE to buy a full body pillow. I meant to last time and didn't, and suffered. I ended up with about 5 pillows tucked in around me in various positions for support. No wonder i slept in the spare room, I took up the whole bed! :laughing: I have no doubt I'll be in there this time too though.
I'm glad to hear that everyone is feeling better, but U have to agree with Len about the water. The bub uses MUCH more of your nutritional intake than you realise, and you need to drink HEAPS of water. I was getting headaches and the realised that I wasn't drinking the water, and started again - headaches gone.
If that doesn't work, think about your back and how you are supporting it when you do 'everyday' things. Your centre of balance is going to shift very quickly, and you have to really look after your back. Talk to your doc if you don't know what I'm talking about, or if you need some advice on how to look after it.
Good luck with the next trimester gals! Oh, and Tara - yes, too funny!
LiciaSings
11-02-2007, 09:18 AM
I have been getting headaches too! started around week 12, just mild ones, but they're always there. I never used to get headaches.
So thanks for the advice about the water and the back girls... DH keeps telling me to drink more water, and I'm trying to. (It doesn't help that I have the wee all the time!) But I will drink more anyway.
Other than the headaches, I've been feeling great!
Hope you all are too
pixeleyes
11-02-2007, 12:31 PM
I haven't been back here for quite awhile (!) but it's great to read how everyone's going and see lots of the stuff I'm also experiencing such as the fact that most are starting to get over the MS and the headaches - was wondering if the headaches were pregnancy related and now I know I'm definitely not drinking enough water!! (Thanks for that tip!)
I had my NT scan and blood tests last week - I must be lucky 'cos I got the results straight away and it only cost $85. I get all but $25 back from Medicare (I think because I'm 35). We aren't with a health fund either. Doc hasn't seen the results but we felt happy enough not to worry about further tests (she said we only need to come back in to her if we were worried).
Isn't it amazing seeing those little legs and arms waving around! I had no idea there was so much movement at this stage. I couldn't stop laughing :laughing: Just gorgeous. Hubby has been cracking me up doing imitations all week.
We went shopping today to buy our first official baby things... looked at cots, prams, car seats, baby clothes.... omg we were such noobs standing there - so funny - we really had no idea. Ended up buying some newborn huggies and wipes and some change mats and decided to come back when we were more informed haha.
I went clothes shopping with a friend on the weekend (normal clothes) and found I don't fit anything (um... duh!). Have already jumped up a couple of sizes. Doesn't bother me though - I like the changes ... belly getting bigger yay!
I'm pretty much over the MS and staying up later again. have been very grumpy but getting over that too. Have stopped being the designated driver for late night dinners that turn into drinking sessions.... it's just no fun watching other people getting silly so told hubby he has to sleep over or get a cab now lol. I do breakfasts and lunches instead - much more interesting and no pressure on me when I'm the bad guy who finally says OK WE"RE GOING HOME NOW BEFORE I FALL ASLEEP!
I am now going to stop rambling :ecomcity: and go back to combing these threads for all those good tips about what I can realistically stock up on before baby arrives. (And what the go is with these meet ups in Brisbane).
See ya!
AngelGirl
11-02-2007, 01:14 PM
The selection of clothes I can wear just seems to be getting smaller and smaller. And maternity wear just seems so huge.
Just in the last week or so I've really started to feel anxious about how physically restrictive a big belly is going to be? Anyone else thinking like this?
Yes and yes! I have a small choice of clothes for work, mainly wrap dresses, but pretty much nothing for the weekend. I didnt have a huge wardrobe to start with so I'm struggling a bit. I bought a pair of Yim (?) jeans (they were very expensive) but I'm hoping they will last me the entire pregnancy.
We have booked in for the anatomy scan for mid March and I'll be 19 weeks. The lady I spoke to asked for my due and and gave me a choice of dates. She didnt mention anything about having it earlier? DH and I are very excited for this scan as we didnt have the N/T so we are hanging out to see him/her!! For $10 we can buy a DVD of the scan...how cute!!
Sounds like most of us have reached the 12 week mark too which is great news!
Milis
11-02-2007, 02:55 PM
Haven't been on for a while, I've been feeling so :barf: and :sleeping: that I just haven't been up to it.
It's great to hear everyone is going well - I must be about the only person who hasn't had their NT scan yet, it's booked for Tuesday week (I'll be 13 wks exactly). MS is starting to lift a bit, and I'm getting a bit more energy, thank goodness.
Angelgirl - The Yim jeans are great, I bought a pair last pg and ended up wearing them for about 6 months after I had DS. Will be dusting them off this time around too!
Better go and get DS up from his nap, I can hear him stirring... Will post more later!
niesl_bug
12-02-2007, 10:42 AM
Good Morning Ladies :wave:
I hope you all had a lovely weekend! Fun and relaxing at this end ...
I wore my maternity pants on the weekend and have my black ones on today and they are sooooooooooooooo comfy!
Is anyone else having spina bifida test? Ob said I should have it done at 15 weeks (blood test) but I didn't ask what we do with the results if they aren't good ???
So glad to hear everyone else is doing well - have a great week :thumbsup:
chicken
12-02-2007, 01:14 PM
Is anyone else having spina bifida test? Ob said I should have it done at 15 weeks (blood test) but I didn't ask what we do with the results if they aren't good ???
Didn't know there was such a thing? Am going for my monthly check-up with my OB later today, so maybe she'll say something about it?
Had a bit of a scare over the weekend, but not bleeding. I had some food poisoning. I was over at MIL and FILs place having some fish that FIL caught that day. But during the night, I woke up with pains in my stomach and had to throw up. All I kept thinking was that I hope the baby is OK. I'm sure it will be fine as I recovered pretty quickly, but its good timing that i'm seeing my OB today.
Bought a few maternity work clothes on the weekend - more out of necessity than because I particularly loved anything. Why are they all so horrible?
deb1234
12-02-2007, 01:46 PM
morning everyone :wave: i've just been visiting my brand new nephew, born yesterday. he's soooooo cute!! i'm so excited to be having one of those little bundles!
tara, i think i've missed the boat on the spina bifida test if i'm almost 16 weeks? not too worried about it anyway, i've been taking folic acid since a month before we conceived and no family history. can they assess things like that at the anatomy scan at 18 weeks?
niesl_bug
12-02-2007, 02:07 PM
Oh Chicken - how awful for you. I am sure bubs is fine, but I hope you're feeling better.
I have found wrap dresses to be a godsend and those empire line, babydoll style ones too. Have only bought a pair of black and white maternity pants and they're actually pretty cute.
Deb - I hadn't heard about the spina bifida test either until Thursday. Must do a bit of research. I am not too concerned either as I started taking folic acid months before falling pg and have been taking Elevit a month before conceiving and every day since. I think you'd only be concerned if you weren't TTC and not taking any supplements ...
PS: Congratulations on your nephew :yelclap: .. not long for you now !!!
niesl_bug
12-02-2007, 02:10 PM
You guys may find this link interesting ...
http://www.sbawa.asn.au/research.html
chicken
12-02-2007, 02:42 PM
Thanks for that Tara. I've been taking folate forever (TTC for 17 months!), so hopefully I'm OK. My GP said i could stop taking the pregnancy vitamins at around 20 wks, but DH thinks I should keep taking them? What is everyone else doing?
niesl_bug
12-02-2007, 03:00 PM
Chicken - I am still taking my Elevit and Ob has suggested it. The box recommends you start taking it 1 month prior to conception (which I did as soon as I finished folic acid), all through pregnancy and throughout breastfeeding as well.
I have just started taking fish oil tablets too which are meant to be very good for bubs brain development.
Milis
12-02-2007, 03:15 PM
Chicken - I'm taking the Blackmore's supplement, but haven't been able to take it for the last month or so as it triggers my gag reflex (why do they make pg pills so big and hard to swallow :confused:). I will probably keep taking it until I stop breastfeeding, a few extra nutrients can't hurt!
I haven't heard of the Spina Bifida test and as I'm not seeing the ob until 16 wks, I guess I won't be doing it! I'm not unduly worried though, I took folate for a month before conception and for the first 8 wks or so so should be covered.
Some of the maternity clothes out there are just awful, aren't they? With my last pg, I found a few things that were flattering, and wore a lot of babydoll tops and long singlets from normal clothes shops. I bought a pair of maternity pants from Pumpkin Patch on the weekend, they're so comfy and really nice fit :thumbsup: .
Better go, DS has just woken up.
chicken
12-02-2007, 03:29 PM
Some of the maternity clothes out there are just awful, aren't they? With my last pg, I found a few things that were flattering, and wore a lot of babydoll tops and long singlets from normal clothes shops. I bought a pair of maternity pants from Pumpkin Patch on the weekend, they're so comfy and really nice fit :thumbsup: .
I've found heaps of great clothes for the weekend (most aren't even maternity wear - have found some great tops in city beach), but trendy maternity wear doesn't seemed to have reached the corporate world. Am used to wearing suits and shirts, and am finding this sort of stuff difficult to find.
Tingles
12-02-2007, 04:04 PM
I hired a fetal doppler yesterday... couldn't help myself... pick up was my next suburb
Took me about 4 x 20min sessions to find bubs heart beat!!! Was a little stressful - dh felt as though 'something was wrong' - but I managed 149-152hb for about 7 secs!:)
I've tried twice today - second time I got it again!:smiliedance: Thank goodness!
I get stressed around 'this time' as when we lost 'baby May' (dh named baby by the month when lost him/her) - the doc's said it was around 14 weeks that hb stopped... I know the chances are very unlikely, but...
Anyway, that's my news - still feeling sick -
still dry-reaching whilst brushing teeth - had a corn craving on Saturday nite...
Hope you are all well...
whatwasithinking
12-02-2007, 07:26 PM
Finally got my NT results.
1 in 10827 chance of downs - didn't realise the number would be so high IYKWIM.
Feeling OK. No M/S - just still very depressed :gloomy: .
Kirst
12-02-2007, 09:00 PM
Hey Tara, I'm having my BT for spina bifida too. I can't even remember if I had it last time, but my OB had a pathology colletor on site, and when he sent me for test, I just didn them there and then. I didn't take much notice as to what they were testing for to be honest.
As for maternity clothes, I have a couple of pairs of Pumpkin Patch jeans and cargos that are awesomely comfortable and a decent cut. Still a bit big for me (I'm forever pulling them up!), but much more comforatble than my normal jeans. It's a bugger, they fir, but just get a bit uncomfortable if I'm sitting. I'm sure you all know what I'm talking about.
So nothing else happening here..................Just eating, sleeping and growing.
Paige
13-02-2007, 12:21 AM
Hello Everyone.
May I just say its been a real eye opener reading all your posts! makes me giggle! I am 11w & 6d pg. First time (eek) and im due the 29th of Aug.
M/S stopped a week and a half ago (that was heaven sent) I still have no energy and am more then happy to sleep all day and be doted on!!
My partner and I found out on christmas day.... Best kind of present you can hope for! even though we weren't trying.... it was bound to happen sooner or later!
I look forward to hearing more of your experiences and sharing mine!
DoubleAce
13-02-2007, 01:27 AM
Alright I'm jumping back in on this thread. I've been MIA but hopefully I'll be able to keep up better from now on.
For those that missed my other thread...I'm 'secretive.'
Had our 12 week scan yesterday, everything is perfect! 1 in 19 000 and something chance of DS so I think it's fair to say we are safe!
Anyone else have to get up in the middle of the night every single night to eat? I still get sick if I'm hungry so can't ignore it yet but the constant interrupted sleep is making me tired!
Ok no personals cause I'm too far behind but I'll read and do personals from this point!
LiciaSings
13-02-2007, 08:46 AM
[quote=Milis;1105492]Chicken - I'm taking the Blackmore's supplement, but haven't been able to take it for the last month or so as it triggers my gag reflex (why do they make pg pills so big and hard to swallow?). I will probably keep taking it until I stop breastfeeding, a few extra nutrients can't hurt!
[quote]
Yep - that's exactly what I did too.:laughing: I couldn't handle taking the big massive size-of-a -truck pills anymore about 3 weeks ago (when I was still getting some m/s), so I switched to just the itty bitty folate ones. I'm hoping to start trying to take the big Blackmores ones again all the way through bf, if I can - to get all the good nutrients and stuff. I noticed my gums started bleeding a couple of days ago! Oh dear! My dr. said all my b/t's showed my vitamin levels were all good and there was no need to take the big pills, but that gum-bleeding can't be good for me!
Maybe I'll try taking them again today...if I can handle the gag reflex :cool:
Tara & Kirst - I'd never even heard of a spina bifida test! Hope yours go really well. They took a whole bunch of blood last time, and I don't even know what they were testing for! But I didn't ask. I just keep taking vita's and thinking happy thoughts. :) I tend to worry way too much lately if I think too much about various tests and what could go wrong.
Tingles - Wow, I didn't know you could hire fetal dopplers either! How cool. Hope everything's really good from here on out for you.
No real maternity clothes as yet. (I have a gorgeous pair of maternity jeans a friend gave me that I'm dying to wear - they're really cute and comfy! But I still have too pull them up too often, so they stay in the wardrobe for a little longer.)
The other day I tried a trick I heard from a friend - using a rubber band so you don't have to button up jeans. Just put the band thru the hole and around the button. It worked! Made them a lot more comfy for a little while. Just wore a really long shirt over them. Still, I think I'll probably have to get some proper belly bands or belts or something soon. Don't think the rubber bands will hold for very long. :laughing:
And you're right - Work clothes are the trickiest!
oh, and Paige - Welcome welcome!!
Mumtoone- Yep, waking up all the time in the night. more often to wee than to eat, but sometimes both. very annoying!
Big hello to everyone else, and Hope everybody's doing really well!!
niesl_bug
13-02-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi Paige and welcome to our wonderful little thread!
Welcome back MumtoOne - good to see you again!
I actually :barf: this morning! Was feeling fine, had a cup of tea, brushed my teeth and lost it all! Very strange .... feeling fine now though ...?
Have a great day gals xxx
mothertobein2007
13-02-2007, 11:51 AM
hi everyone
its so good to hear that every one pregnancy are going good... i just hit the 15 week mark today so im pretty happy because i lost my first baby so :fingerscrossed: my my little angel is going to be fine thought this pregnancy....my m/s has stopped i hope but i have lost a lot of wieght.
OverTheMoon
13-02-2007, 12:10 PM
hi all,
Welcome Paige!
Tara, i had exactly the same thing on Sunday morning (bacon breakfast morning too:( ).
The ms has been getting worse the last couple of days, and i've had those darn headaches too. Grumpiness slowly wearing off, in place of it is ... teariness! I cried at Home and Away last night, and at Brothers and Sisters too. Oh, and at the newspaper article about the kayaker gone missing.
Got the painters in fixing up stuff for 6 month maintenance, and i can't wait til mum gets here to take over from me - i'm sitting outside the fumes are so bad (thank goodness for wireless broadband!). have to pop in to work for parent meeting (amongst other things, have to tell parents i'm pregnant - got some funny looks yesterday), but think after i'll be at mum and dad's all day. i really wasn't feeling well this morning anyway - nearly fainted when i woke up, broke out in a cold sweat, breathlessness - i really don't need this. and i can't leave them here on their own - they are a bit... dodgy. do you see the gp or the ob or leave it if you feel like that? have my next ob appt next week, so do i just speak to him then?
so confused. my mind can only hold so much at the mo' - now, is it butter in the pantry, bread in fridge? Lol.
Milis
13-02-2007, 12:30 PM
Welcome Paige, and congrats! We're due around the same time!
Tara- hope this morning was just a one off and the ms stays away for you!
LiciaSings - good luck with the big horse pills today :barf: . I managed to choke a couple down yesterday, haven't tried today so far! The rubber band is a great idea, might have to try it! I read somewhere that Vit C can help with the bleeding gums, so maybe you could try that?
Chicken - You're right, you don't see much corporate style wear in maternity shops. Seems a bit daft when so many pg women work. Don't they know they're missing out on potential customers??? :shame:
Mothertobe2007 - Congratulations on reaching 15 weeks! I lost my last bub at 10 wks so was veeeerrry relieved to get past that point this time around. Hope the rest of your pg goes smoothly.
mumtoone - (or should it be mumtotwo?) Not getting up to eat, just to pee every couple of hours, although I wake up starving every morning. Great news about your scan, must be such a relief!
Well, I'm 12 wks today! MS seems to be on the way out and I have a bit more energy. I'm hanging out for my scan next week as we haven't told our families yet and I'm starting to show! FIL is coming over tonight so will be getting out the baggiest clothes I can find. Hopefully he'll just think I've been stacking on the kilos and be too polite to mention it :laughing: .
Milis
13-02-2007, 12:34 PM
OverTheMoon - sorry to hear you're not feeling so good :hugs: . I seem to remember having a few dizzy spells and breathlessness when I was pg with DS - think it's pretty normal. It might be worth a call to your gp or ob though, as these things can occasionally be a symptom of iron deficiency.
Hope you feel better soon!
niesl_bug
13-02-2007, 12:38 PM
Ladies
Just thought I'd let you know that I have just heard from Sandy and she is doing well - although we couldn't expect anything less from such an amazing gal. She said to say hello to y'all :wave:
Has anyone else cried at the Huggies ad? I am not moody or grumpy - just lots of things make me teary and I'm usually a pretty tough cookie :cool:
deb1234
13-02-2007, 12:57 PM
hey everyone,
Tara, that's great news that Sandy is doing ok. she's such a strong woman.
i've been having dizzy spells too in the last few weeks. just have to sit down for a bit and have a drink. i think it's pretty normal.
Snugglepot
13-02-2007, 01:54 PM
Hi Everyone :wave:
Dizzy spells galore here too! It can be iron deficiency, but often is jsut a normal symptom of pregancy. My BP was 100/60 yesterday at my midwives appointment. There is nothing you can really do if prone to dizziness, just keep checking your iron, drink lots of water and stand up slowly and steadily.
I heard my bubbas heart beat yeserday at my appointment, I can not believe how high up baby is already, just under my belly button! It was reasuring to hear it, next appointment is the 20 week scan and we find out what sort we have this time, yippee!:smiliedance:
Welcome to the newbies and to the secretives!
Overthemoon, watch out fot the fumes, I painted some rooms last pregnancy and found they can really give you headaches.
Good to hear that more and more of us are feeling better everyday, have a lovely week, Kez
OverTheMoon
13-02-2007, 01:59 PM
Thanks girls. Just got back from parent meeting - a whole 5 out of 23 turned up. We knew about half were working, so didn't expect a huge amount anyway i guess. Three of them were happy and excited about my announcement, the other two, well... i guess no response and a harsh face is better than harsh comments.
Painter missed a patch so he has to come back. still outside and very dizzy. going to mum and dads and will come back in an hour or so when he's expecting to be back here. sad thing is no internet over there :crying: . ah well, will just have to rest!!!
ETsMum
13-02-2007, 04:23 PM
Hi Girls, :wave:
I've been MIA too! Past few days I've been a bit unwell. Funny that you all mention dizzy spells. I had them so bad the past two days that I couldn't get up at all. I would take about 3 steps and then have to brace myself against a wall. I wouldn't be able to see anything either. It was yuck. I almost passed out (maybe I did - how would I know?) and I spewed a couple of times too. I had an Ob appointment yesterday so they sent me for a b/t, but I think it was just a bug. I feel almost ok today. Just got a cold.
Tara - thanks for the update on Sandy. Anyone heard from Crazy Monkey? I hope she is doing ok too. And Famel... Oh, there have been so many from this thread.... :crying: Thinking of all of you girls.
Welcome Paige!!! Wishing you a wonderfully smooth pregnancy!
mumtoone - Congrats on "outing yourself" :D I usually try to have something to eat before I go to bed. A piece of toast or fruit loaf or fruit or if I am still full from dinner, at least a glass of milk. I am a diabetic, so I need to test my fasting blood sugars so I shouldn't eat during the night, and this seems to get me through.
Donna - sending you a big fat :hugs: Thinking of you hun!
Tingles - Are you in Brissy? Where did you hire the doppler? I'm undecided whether to get one. I really would love it, but I think I would stress if I couldn't find the heartbeat.
Oh, my son is awake (early) - got to go. Sorry to those I didn't get to. I forget who asked about the preg vitamin tablets. I'm taking the blackmores ones and I will continue to take them right through the pregnancy and continue if I am able to b/f. If I don't b/f, then I will still finish the bottle. Certainly can't do any harm.
Tingles
13-02-2007, 06:29 PM
Tingles - Are you in Brissy? Where did you hire the doppler? I'm undecided whether to get one. I really would love it, but I think I would stress if I couldn't find the heartbeat.
No matey, I'm in Melbourne - a couple of sites...
https://www.firstbeats.com.au
&
www.bellybeat.com.au
I'm sure they post anywhere in AU.
Yeah, it is a little stressful, but, baby is growing so it should get easier... you just have to have the attitude, if I find it :yelclap: , if not maybe, next time...
All a bit of fun, does not replace medical advice! For me it is a little bit of reassurance until babe starts moving!
DoubleAce
13-02-2007, 07:14 PM
Len thanks! I think my biggest problem is that I eat all day and then by dinner I just don't feel like anything so I'm forcing myself to eat but never get down a full meal. I leave eating dinner until about 8pm but I still seem to wake up around 2am absolutely starving hungry. I was like this with DD too and it eased up, I just don't remember when. I'm too scared to ignore the hunger cause I still feel sick when I don't eat and I ignored it once with DD and paid for it BIG time! I was hugging the porcelain bowl for ages at 5am...not worth it! lol
Tara thanks for letting us know that Sandy is ok! I did read what she went through and I felt really sorry for her. I just had to stay away from this thread a little bit cause it was so depressing seeing everyone's heart ache.
Overthemoon - Sorry the other two people couldn't be happy for you. Thier problem, not yours! Don't let it get to you. I was dealing with dizzy spells too but mine was from low blood pressure. They seem to have gone now so hopefully yours will go soon too.
Is anyone else struggling to catch up on housework? I'm still soooo tired all the time I just can't seem to get the motivation but it's driving me nuts. The house is tidy and bathrooms etc. are clean but it's the big jobs that don't get done. And of course I'm napping when DD does and half of the big jobs I can't do with her at my feet.
OJandMe
13-02-2007, 07:21 PM
Hi Girls!!
So sorry I've been away for so long... I've been feeling yukky and didn't want to sound like a complainer :rolleyes: Not only that..... but I'm SSOOO tired... we've moved the boys into beds, so they're waking up at night then coming in with us... then wking up at 4:30-5:00 and wanting to get up and play... and then NOT SLEEP ALL DAY :banghead: I'm dead....
YAY. I got into the Midwifery Group Practice at Mater Mothers,... so it's all looking good for a VBAC at this point. I'm meeting my midwife tomorrow.... she's coming out to my place at a time I picked (when the boys are :fingerscrossed: sleeping)
Sounds great!
Welcome to everyone new!
Hope everyone's dizzy spells are passing... not very nice.
Hope every one else is feeling good!
for some reason my MS has picked up the last few weeks.... ( I thought it was sposed to pass by 12 weeks) so it's been touch and go with what I'm eating... LLOOOOVING nectarines (what the....?) could eat them all day..... anyone else having weird cravings?
Big Hugs!!
14-02-2007, 09:16 AM
Ladies
Just thought I'd let you know that I have just heard from Sandy and she is doing well - although we couldn't expect anything less from such an amazing gal. She said to say hello to y'all
Has anyone else cried at the Huggies ad? I am not moody or grumpy - just lots of things make me teary and I'm usually a pretty tough cookie :cool:
Glad Sandy is doing well, very tough woman there :hugs: to her.
Tara OMG I well up instantly at the huggies add I'm such a sook right now, I have always loved the huggies add they strike a cord in your heart!!
This video made me cry yesterday too have look, it's pregnancy video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6phB6r9obE
Everything makes me cry and I'm going to watch saving babies tomorrow night at 8:30pm sob fest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
OJandme - I had the midwife team at the Mater last pregnancy and they were great:thumbsup:
Sorry you are feeling so lousy though thats no fair!
I get very dizzy also guys I think it's just another good ole side effect of pregnancy unfortunately. My BP is 100/60 so a bit low and was the same last pregnancy (was down to 90/60 and less) and the dizziness lasted all the way through. Just have to get up slowly from sitting and take a couple of deep breaths then I'm good usually.
Uggh mumtoone - housework has definately been stepped down a notch!! I am 16.5 weeks now and m/s is gone but I still feel so drained some days that I just can't be bothered doing it!
Have another scan in 3weeks so will find out the sex hopefully, and will see if my dates change again too, I really hate being due at the end of the month, it grates me not knowing whether my baby will be born in July or August! I guess I like to have everything organised and that is one thing I have no control over lol!!
I know I have missed personals with a heap of you sorry so hope everyone else is well, I really should pop in here more often sorry I am slack, this thread is very busy!
Ok I'm off to see what the ratbag is getting into............:(
M O P
14-02-2007, 09:25 AM
Yes, thanks too from me Tara for passing on regards and news from Sandy. Send big hugs from me!
I've been really dizzy this time too, don't remember it so much last time.
I also can't get going in the mornings, extremely unmotivated!
niesl_bug
14-02-2007, 10:24 AM
Morning Ladies :wave:
I was sick again this morning! Feel fine though - just :barf: and then back to normal!
I haven't been getting the dizzy spells - I did early on but they have gone and blood pressure is fine too.
I am the opposite with housework - I AM ON FIRE!!! Getting so much done, as well as working full-time at my job (and setting up heaps of systems for when I go) and after hours at DH doing payroll while his Administrator is away. I figure I should make the most of it while it lasts !!
HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY Valentine
OverTheMoon
14-02-2007, 05:14 PM
Tara, you are one amazing woman! I wish i had your energy - i'm struggling working 2 days a week and keeping up my plastic-related parties. Good on ya! Sorry to hear about your :barf: though, not so good:( .
Sorry for lack of personals, i'm trying to get a post in before i watch an ep of Grey's before i get ready to go out for din dins!
Had my best day so far today! More energy, happier, which is great. Buggered now though! Roll on tomoz.
Milis
14-02-2007, 06:58 PM
Happy Valentine's day girls! Valentine
Hope you're all being spoilt rotten!
Tara - just reading your post made me exhausted! It's great that you have so much energy, enjoy it!
I'm definitely in the no housework brigade :sleeping: . I feel bad for DS as well because I don't even have the energy to take him to the park and he's getting a bit bored. Nausea still coming and going, I wish it would just disappear for good!
Have a good evening everyone!
pregomum
15-02-2007, 09:21 AM
Sorry haven't posted for ages, just been soo tired , been waking up 3 or 4 times a night and everytime I need to roll over.
Good to hear Sandy is doing well:) .
No wonder I've been feeling light headed at my last check up my blood pressure was 80/60. Didn't realise that was so low.
My headaches are easing but ms is still there and I keep on forgetting things and driving past roads I take all the time. Even forgot to lock the house on monday when I went shopping!!!:banghead:
DF took me out for valentines day Valentine for lunch and movies, bought me some new bras which I need soo bad. It was really nice, but I was exhausted by the time I got home. Felt guilty for going and having a sleep.
I wore my maternity pants on Tuesday and they are starting to fit, but they have an adjustable elastic waist band which great, not very nice looking though.
Good to hear everyone is doing well. Can't wait till my next scan on 19th March, will definately find out sex of baby, I agree it does help you bond and I think its good to have a surprise now and one at the end. But it is all personal opinion. I sometimes think about not finding out and waiting till the end but I'm too impatient.
SORRY for :ecomcity:
Nicole
DoubleAce
15-02-2007, 10:38 AM
My house is finally starting to look normal again....it just got to me the other night and DD went to sleep early (for once) and DF was working so I got in and did some of the things that are just impossible when DD is up. I feel so much better living in a clean house.
I'm still tired a lot but find that a 20 minute lie down is enough now...before I was wanting (and not getting) 2 hours sleep during the day.
Tara sorry your still being sick but at least once it's over you feel fine. That's something. I hope it stops soon for you though.
Pregomum sorry you're not feeling good yet. Must be hard. I don't think I'd cope very well if I was still sick all the time.
Kazza mornings are the worst! I used to be at 6am and have all the morning housework done, have taken the dog for a walk and be out the door by 9am. Not these days!!! It's so sucky! I can't wait for my energy levels to come back! I did manage a nice walk around the beaches yesterday afternoon and it wore me out but it felt good to be out of the house and doing something.
Just wondering is anyone exercising? I started back at the gym last week (too sick before that) and I plan on exercising right through like I did with DD. I was back in pre pg clothes 3 weeks after I had her and I'm sure the exercise helped out a lot there!
Well off to go have a lie down while DD is napping....have a good day everyone!
leishacaz
15-02-2007, 10:55 AM
Well first of all I'd like to announce that I'm 12 weeks today!! :party: So good to get to this stage!!! I'm hoping the nausea eases up now... I've been having horrific back pain so I'm off to the docs this afternoon to check out whats going on!?!?
Housework... hmmm not my best department lately! Feeling sick and tired doesn't help and now with the sore back it all gets too much! Luckily DH is very helpful, which helps very much. I felt great when I got up this morning so it gives me great pleasure to report my washing is all done, as is the vacuuming and mopping! Although all that housework has brought on the backpain again so its a win/lose situation!
As for exercising, I think about it every day if that counts lol! I just can't be bothered but I'm so worried I'm gonna get big and fat, so if I start to perk up this trimester I'm gonna try and do something, even if its only 20 mins a day.
I'm am definitely not going to find out what I'm having. I'm a lover of surprises and when labour started with my DD I was so excited that I didn't know because it was the best surprise in the world to look forward to. DH feels the same so its an easy decision for us. I can completely understand how people can't wait though, because we could've been told what our DD was at the ultrasound and it was so hard to say ' don't tell us' but it was a decision we didn't regret.
Sorry about going on and on.....:ecomcity:
Hope you're all having a great day :wave:
niesl_bug
15-02-2007, 11:13 AM
Hi ladies :wave:
All good here today and feeling great! Tossed and turned a bit last night - finding it hard to get comfortable and missing sleeping on my tummy.
Feeling kind of tightness - not quite cramping in tummy last night and today - could these being the "growing pains" I've heard about?
I have been back to the gym now my energy levels are back as well as taking doggy for a decent walk. Just taking everything back a notch as far as weights, intensity, etc.
have a great day gals !!
deb1234
15-02-2007, 11:29 AM
i've got a sore tooth today!! boo :thumbsdown: anyone been to the dentist when pregnant? what if i have to have a filling will they make me do it without any drugs?!! :eek:
Snugglepot
15-02-2007, 11:41 AM
Deb, I am pretty sure you can have drugs for a filling as it is only localised. It is X Rays they will not do at all. I hope you can get to the dentist quickly, toothaches are awful!:eek:
deb1234
15-02-2007, 11:45 AM
thanks Kez, i have an appointment for tomorrow. yuck. i've taken a panadol so hopefully that will kick in any minute now...:yes:
AngelGirl
15-02-2007, 01:19 PM
Just popping in to say a quick hi. I haven't been on in a few days...too tired!
Sounds like evryone is doing pretty well at the moment!!
All good here, I've put on a few kilos and my belly is popping out a bit.
Have a great afternoon. xxx
Milis
15-02-2007, 01:25 PM
Deb - sorry to hear about the toothache - I think a local anaesthetic is OK to have! Toothache is the worst, you poor thing.
Tara - glad you're feeling better today! My MS seems to be coming back - hope I feel like you soon!
leishacaz - Congrats on making 12 wks! I was 12 wks on Tuesday, it's great to reach that milestone and hopefully not have to worry so much. Sorry your back is sore, I hope the Doc has some good suggestions - maybe a chiropractor can help ??? I'm with you on the surprise thing, but it will be hard not to ask at the 19 wk scan!
mumtoone - I'm not really a gym person, but I walk about 20 - 30 minutes a day (usually to the shops and back :o ). Pushing DS (12 kilos) plus an 11 kilo pram up the hill gives me a pretty good workout! I swam a lot through my last pregnancy and it was the best thing ever so might get back into that when I'm a bit bigger. I think it really does help with the weight thing, and also the labour and birth recovery.
pregomum - welcome back! Sorry the ms is still hanging around, hope it goes soon. I'm always leaving windows wide open when I go out :eek: . Baby brain definitely does exist!
Well, I'm off for a nap while DS is sleeping! Have a good day!
pregomum
15-02-2007, 02:32 PM
I've started excercising again even though I feel pretty tired still. Been taking kids to the pool after school twice a week and swimming with them, walking to the bus stop (1km round trip) when it's not raining and if I'm feeling good I do the yoga video I bought, which looks like it was made in the 70's. (It looks very modern on the front cover). I think I crack up more at their dress sense, maternity clothes have come a long way!!!!
I envy everyone who's ms has eased, though I'm really starting to enjoy being pregnant again.
I'm having cravings for carrot cake this arvo so I've sent DF down to the bakery to get me some :)
Cinta
15-02-2007, 02:36 PM
Hey everyone? Wow, so much to catch up on. I get on bubhub and pretty much stick to the general chat or young mums thread, I'm so lazy :rolleyes:
I need to come check out this thread a lot more, I feel so behind!
So how are you all?
I'm going well, apart from being tired as hell.
Does anyone have a prediction as to whether their having a girl or boy?
During my 1st pregnancy, I knew all the way that I was having a girl, but this time I don't have a clue! :confused: There are things a little different in this pregnancy that make me think 'oh maybe I'm having a boy!' but then I think well maybe I'm just thinking that coz I've already had a girl. I dunno!
I don't mind at all either way, I'm just praying for a healthy baby!
My morning sickness is heaps better, I still get a bit nauseous now and then, but its a lot better then my 1st pregnancy.
I can't wait until my next scan, seeing your bubba on the screen is just so amazing!
My tummy is starting to pop out! I don't remember it popping out this early with Imogen. I probably just look like I have a fat gut to other people though :laughing: I can't wait till I have my preggie belly, but then again, once I get to 38 or so weeks I'll be wishing I could bend down and shave my legs myself :laughing:
Sorry I'm rambling hehe.
Kazza hun, how are you going?
Hi to everyone else! I will have to come on more often so that I can get to know you all better.
Love Cinta xoxo
amaliali
15-02-2007, 02:47 PM
anyone due in august 07 in western suburbs melbourne victoria?:smiliedance:
Well I started to feel a little less like i had spent the night slamming down tequilla's and was feeling pretty optimistic.
Here comes the buuuut.... now i have the most awfulo gag reflex that sees me doubled over retching till my head feels like its goin to explode, was fun at the shops this morning, not.
Anywho, just got a ? for those that had the nuchal done, i had to pay for the ultrasound $150 which i expected. But I just got a $95 bill from the blood genetic people, yet when i was at the pathology place they said it was bulk billed??? The blood people say the bulkbilling is only for collection of blood?
Did anyone else have to pay for bloods? I dont remember paying for them last time?
Apart from that, scan dated me as 14 weeks (1 week ahead, cant complain bout that!) No result yet, get it monday :fingerscrossed:
niesl_bug
15-02-2007, 02:54 PM
Jamb - you poor thing, the gagging sounds awful ... i hope it subsides soon.
I didn't have to pay anything for my nuchal b/t. Just paid $145 (i think) at the u/s place and got about $60 back. I thought as long as you had a referral then it was bulk-billed?
Cinta - I'm sure we're having a boy ... not sure why but it just feels like it!
Deb - hope your toothache gets better soon. i went to dentist early on in pg for scale and clean and it was fine ...
OverTheMoon
15-02-2007, 03:01 PM
jamb - i had pretty much same thing said to me re: bulk billed, haven't heard about only collection being bulk billed.
I'm having a really **** day - i want bruschetta, but can't be bothered making it, mum had me out all morning making me a new best friend LOL. Some girl at her work is getting married and was asking me all these questions about our wedding, and then asked me to come wedding dress shopping with her?????!!!!!!!! So tired after all that! DH just p'd on our plans to go to Dunsborough for a couple of days cos he didn't check on stuff with work. Good news for him is grumpiness has subsided, in it's place is teariness.
Like most, sleeping is a problem, and yes, i'm thinking about exercise too. That's about it! I'm worried if i start exercising i'll start bleeding again. Worry wort. I'll ask ob when i see him next week.
I'll stop :ecomcity: now. Sorry.
Thinking of you all.
Thanks N-bug and OTM, will have to investigate :detective: The thing is I was given the wrong referral from my useless shared care Dr and had to go sit in a medical centre for 45 minutes to get the right one for it to be bulkbilled....maybe it didnt get attached:detective:
thanks heaps gals!
niesl_bug
15-02-2007, 04:43 PM
Mel - sorry to hear you're having a yukky day hun .... it can only get better, hopefully :)
Jamb - I'm sure if the clinic gets the right referral in the end, they will be able to bulk-bill your account. If you make enough noise they will anyway - that's a lot of moula!
Just sitting down to a cuppa and a tim tam ... yummy :D
Kirst
15-02-2007, 07:53 PM
Well I'm beginning to think that this alien must be male. I have spent the last two days tired and icky...I feel like I'm 6 weeks again!!! So, for someone who loves me to do that to me...........muct be make. That, and DD didn't do it to me. :laughing:
Not great logic, but that's all I can cope with at the moment.
DoubleAce
16-02-2007, 01:58 AM
Jamb maybe it's different state to state cause I'm in NSW and when I had my blood taken the lady told me I'd get a bill for $95 for one of the tests. I don't remember having to pay for it last time either but I know I never got a referral (my old doctor was useless).
I'm in NSW if that helps. I noticed Tara and OvertheMoon are both from W.A. Anyway you're not alone on having to pay!
I've been up for an hour now....I am not tired at all. Is it any wonder I'm a walking zombie all day?
deb1234
16-02-2007, 08:37 AM
Carmen - you bet me on to bubhub well and truly this morning! you'll have to have a nana nap :D
Kirst - sounds like a baby boy to me!! :laughing: maybe i'm having a girl since i haven't had any preg symptoms whatsoever! (except getting fatter!!)
Tara - i might have to go and buy some timtams now :)
jamb i didn't have to pay for my blood tests at all...but come to think of it i didn't get the results either :laughing: they just incorporated them into my DS risk and never told me the actual numbers.
overthemoon - surely THINKING about exercise is the same thing right? i'm counting on it!! haha. i'm 16 weeks now and have put on 3-4 kgs. anyone else put on as much as me?!
have a great day
Maybe it is a state thing...investigating today, its only me stressing as we have sooo little spare $$$$ and $240 is a bit. But as my ever calm DH says, well we are on the $500 threshold so we will just reach the safety net faster, god love him.
Exercise...hmm started out well, had great aspirations but once the sickness came, out the door:thumbsdown: . I am only managing a half hr walk 2/3 times a week (my poor dog is wondering why) and leg/arm workouts once/twice. Weight gain so far 2kgs. Please oh great pregnancy god dont let me become a boombaladah like last time :angel:
Am still eating extraordinary amounts of oranges and pineapples. Bout to make some sushi, craving.
Second tri must be here for some of us??
chicken
16-02-2007, 09:52 AM
i'm 16 weeks now and have put on 3-4 kgs. anyone else put on as much as me?!
Deb. I'm almost 16 weeks and I think I've finally started putting on weight this week (about 0.5kg), but I'm still down 1kg from when I started. But I've noticed my hunger really pick up recently, so maybe its all going to start from here on.
Plus I'm just about to go away for 2 weeks holidays, and always seem to eat more then, so no doubt I'll put a bit more on over the next couple of weeks.
deb1234
16-02-2007, 11:24 AM
Chicken, have a great holiday! :) think of pooooor us sitting at work.
Jamb sounds like you are doing more than i would even if i were "exercising"!! haha.
niesl_bug
16-02-2007, 11:39 AM
Kirst - sorry to hear you're not feeling great hun ... hope you start to feel better soon :hugs:
I have only put on 1.8kgs so far and no measurement increase except for wasit (8cm!) and bust (4cm) ... hips have stayed the same thank goodness. I am 15 weeks today :)
Had another cr*p night's sleep - getting up to pee all the time and just feeling uncomfortable. Had this tight / stretching kind of feeling the night before, all day yesterday and last night ... what is this? So, feeling good apart from a bit tired - but it's Friday ... YAY :smiliedance:
Have a wonderful weekend gals xxx
Cinta
16-02-2007, 02:21 PM
Argh I feel so out of it in this thread, coz I joined late and don't know anyone except Kazza...:( :o
OJandMe
16-02-2007, 02:28 PM
I'm feeling great! (today) I've put on about 1.5kgs and I'm stoked... this time last pregnancy I looked sssooooo pregnant, so it's great to have to actally 'tell' people. (or if i'm feeling really lazy... coz I have a lot of left over skin from the boys... I just poke my tummy out. :laughing: don't care about it so much now that I actually can say... "oh yes, I am pregnant."
Excercise..... does chasing 2 yr old twins count??? I tell you my muscles are strong enough!! But I'm starting some pregnancy yoga and am 'going' to go walking (as often as I can) to try and get in shape for a VBAC.
Love to all!
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.