View Full Version : August '07 Mums2B #4

Pages : 1 [2]

leishacaz
16-02-2007, 15:33
Hello everyone!

Cinta- I'm absolutely convinced I'm having a boy. My first was a DD and I had no idea or feeling of what I was having right up until she was born but this time around is sooo different... I've been sick whereas I wasn't with DD and other little things seem different and I just have this strong feeling its a boy.

I went to the doc yesterday about my back pain and she says its my body preparing for pregnancy and birth. I was kinda surprised as I didn't have this with my DD and I've never really heard of it happening to other people. The pain is either side of my tailbone and is quite sharp. Is this happening to anyone else? She also weighed me and I've only put on 1 kg which I feel so happy about coz I'm showing alot more than I was with my first and I was hoping it wasn't just me getting fat!

I've had a good start to my 2nd trimester, MS is wearing off and I'm feeling less tired. Hope all of you are feeling great too. Big hugs :hugs:

OverTheMoon
16-02-2007, 18:54

I'm feeling so great today! (I know, you must all be thinking "this girls has some wicked mood swings" - it's the pregnancy god, i swear).

Had lunch with a friend (yummy pumpkin ravioli with wild mushroom and pumpkin sauce), I am so glad 'cos i can't be bothered with dinner now, and DH is on late's, so it's s'posed to be my responsibility to get something out. But hey, isn't Friday night easy night when you're pregnant??? LOL

Cinta - i am pretty sure it's a boy, as are most people around me. Which is weird 'cos every single person we know with kids under 5 has boys, we don't know 1 person with a girl. I am thinking surely the pregnancy god should be sending some girls the world's way soon. Not that i'm really bothered by what we get.

Ummm on the weight thing .... i've put on 6kgs and i'm 14 weeks tomorrow!!!!

Anywho, i hope that everyone has a great weekend - roll on Sunday and Grey's!!! I love McDreamy (and DH of course :laughing: )!

nikki78
16-02-2007, 19:49
offically found out im 14weeks and 1 day today,so im due 16th august ya

Kirst
16-02-2007, 20:04
Velisha, my back is 'preparing' itself too. It did it last time, but not this early! Bugger!

Feeling much better today. Have started doing some pregnancy yoga, hoping that it will help my back.

As far as weight is concerned, I am gaining it at about the same rate as with DD, but as I was a different shape to start with, I am a different shape now. I'm 14 weeks, and have gained about 3kgs. I have not put on any for about 3 weeks though. I was getting a bit conerned a few weeks ago that I would blow up like a balloon, but am feeling better about it now. I haven't taken any tape measurements, so I dont know how that's gone.

Apparently 'normal' is about 3kgs (max) in the first 3 months, and then 0.5kgs a week until the 3rd trimester, and then it slows down again.

Tan-mumof3
16-02-2007, 22:08
Hi everyone haven't posted on here in a while been soooo tired.
Not too many personals today sorry,
Deb i have put on 3 kgs im 13 weeks now my gp said this was good.
Cinta i have spoken to you a few times so i feel i know you, don't feel out of place here you are very welcome. I think im having a boy but everyone else seems to think it's a girl.

Glad most of us are starting to feel normal again, i am apart from extreme tirdness and crankiness.

Hope all are well and have a great night. :)

OverTheMoon
16-02-2007, 22:22
Ok, i just wanted to clear something up after re-reading my post : 6kgs is a lot, but i am awfully small to begin with (44kg and 5ft), so i consider this is the extra 3kg i could've done with pre-preg, plus the usual 3kg from 1st semester. Ob and dr aren't worried. I shouldn't be, should i? Freaking out here.

deb1234
17-02-2007, 08:08
Mel of course you shouldn't be worried. big fatties like me are supposed to put on less than little people like you! hopefully some of the pregnancy weight will stay on (if you want it to) after the baby. :)

haven't been able to sleep since 6am so have already had breakfast and done some washing and its only 8! maybe you are rubbing off on me tara! :D

have a good weekend.

Tan-mumof3
17-02-2007, 10:12
No you shouldn't be freaking out Mel. You and your ob are happy with the weight gain.

jamb
17-02-2007, 10:49
Mel, I was the same with my first pregnancy, was very slim, I put on 6kgs by 12 weeks.

This time I am a tad plumper:o to start with, to be honest 4 kgs more than last time:banghead: just could not budge it those last kgs.

So even though I have only gained 2.5kgs, I am much heavier than I was last time round at 13 weeks. Being heavier to start with hasnt left me as much room to grow.

I am completely obsessed with weight gain, after putting on 30kgs last time and really really struggling to lose it, I am trying hard to keep it in hand this time.

Cinta dont feel outta place, I dont post very often as I am not a very nice pregnant lady, but I still read and feel like I know you all!

OverTheMoon
17-02-2007, 11:04
Thanks girls! You make me feel so much better, i was just getting a bit worried seeing everyone's 2-4kgs. And after being asked by some rude woman the other day how much weight i'd put on, i must be a bit paranoid about it.

Anywho, been very lazy this morning! I've hurt my foot, (no idea how, think it was shoes i wore yesterday, which have never been a prob before), so trying to keep leg up!

Feeling good, so roll on a great weekend.
Have a good one girls!

AngelGirl
19-02-2007, 07:24
[quote=Cinta;1116802]
I can't wait till I have my preggie belly, but then again, once I get to 38 or so weeks I'll be wishing I could bend down and shave my legs myself :laughing: [quote]

OMG - I never thought of all the things I won't be able to do with a big preggie belly! Shave my legs, paint my toenails, clean the house?? What else will I find difficult??

[quote=leishacaz;1120601]
The pain is either side of my tailbone and is quite sharp. Is this happening to anyone else?[quote]

Yep, I had this pain for the first time on Friday, I was sitting on the chair at work an when I go up, I had this incredible pain around my tailbone. Almost like I had fallen and bruised it. It hurt badly all day then Saturday I was fine. Apparently it's due to the hormone - Relaxin which softens your bones in preparation for birth.

Milis - I am definitely getting back into the swimming this week, such a great exercise.

Pregomum - sorry to hear you still have m/s, I hope it eases off very soon :fingerscrossed: .

Jamb - Yep I hear you on the gagging, I still have that every morning without fail. For about 10 mins when I first wake up.

Chicken - Have a lovely holiday, you lucky thing!!

Cinta - Don't feel left out, you are as much part of this August thread as everyone else!!

I'll be 16 weeks this week and I've put on 4 kgs. I hardly exercised during the first trimester (too tired and ill) and I am getting back into it now.

Anyone been watching "The Little Things" on the W channel on Foxtel? It was the second show last night and they talked about birth. Very interesting for first time mums like me!!

deb1234
19-02-2007, 07:37
angelgirl - i reckon we'll just all have to have hairy legs for the last few months!! ew gross. :D

AngelGirl
19-02-2007, 07:44
:laughing: ...or maybe a good excuse for a wax and a pedicure!!

deb1234
19-02-2007, 07:55
true, if we get a wax every few weeks that will prepare us a tiny bit for the pain of birth!! note i said a tiny bit! :eek:

jamb
19-02-2007, 08:11
Hmm havent had a coffee since bout 6 weeks, thought i felt like one this morn, :barf: have just spent 15 minutes :barf: .

Pre babies i was a foot fanatic, scrubbed, moisturised and polished once a week.

Once the baby belly hit, my poor feet, my bikini line, hairy legs......all downhill.

I remember getting DH to paint my toenails for a wedding when i was 36 weeks, too funny!!!

I finally get to see my OB for the first time tomorrow and hopefully get NF test results.

Best news of all, I finally have the use of a car!!! This means I can go to playgroup without having to also go pick DH up from work 40 minutes away.....I can go to the lake, visit other mum's....this is hugely exciting after 8 months of kinda being stuck and isolated! Yay for me and DS!!!

M O P
19-02-2007, 09:05
I dont post very often as I am not a very nice pregnant lady

Jamb what does this mean, you dag :laughing:
Anyway Cinta I'm a very random poster in here too but the other ladies are very friendly and welcoming :)

I'm supposed to be packing up the 5,000 things we need to take when we go away now, porta cot, sheets, mobile for the cot, baby cereal, spoons, bowls, bottles, bottle brush, the pram, the stroller, I'm sure you get the picture, but I'm wasting time on BH.

We're off to Adelaide today and having my amnio tomorrow am :fingerscrossed:.
The worst part will be the 2 week wait for the results, and we'll be shearing and my m-i-l will be here driving me nuts and stressing me out.
Anyway, I'm sure it'll all be fine.

jamb
19-02-2007, 09:12
Good luck Kaz, will you have internet in Adelaide?

It means i friggin hate being pregnant, but dont like to actually say it cause i know it upsets some who have had difficulty ttc or havent fallen yet. Feel like cr@p physically and emotionally....those around me suffer:o .

Luckily i know that the moment the bub pops out I am back, hmmm how many days to go...:laughing:

M O P
19-02-2007, 09:18
Jamb, that is terrible you hate being preg, I can see how that would happen though.
I'm not trying to rub it in but might seem that way, but I love being preg. Mind you both times I've not been sick at all so that must help a lot. I love not having to worry if my tummy pokes out or I look fat in clothes- I've got an excuse.
For some weird reason my skin always looks great when I'm preg- much better than any other time.

Anyway, no internet in Adel. Be home tomorrow night I think, if that's ok with Dr.
Excellent news about your wheels!!

jamb
19-02-2007, 09:47
I wish i loved it, would have had 4 kids if i did. Right now i can't even remember why i had sex to fall pg, hmmm where was my memory????

I get zits, bloated, stretchies and my hair OMG!

And the spewin.....at least with a hangover there was usually a super night had beforehand! Oh and a sleep in and greasy fry up cured all:D

My throat stings with stomach acid, i get headaches from retching so hard my eyeballs nearly rupture and if my head goes below my knee's (ie pick anything up) i retch often followed by a spew....okay okay i will stop, why cant i glow and bond instead mean pregnancy god.

My poor DS, mummy is absent and he just dont get why:(

Thank the sweet lord you get a cute cuddly bub at the end of it all:smiliedance:

Okay wont get anymore whinging outta me, will respond only when good things can be said or advice offered:thumbsup:

deb1234
19-02-2007, 09:57
jamb fair enough for your complaints! i've got heaps of pimples as well, on my forehead. can't get rid of them. i can't wait to go back on the pill!! don't know if i will get stretchmarks yet...easy to say i won't at 16 weeks...but then we'll see in the next trimesters!

kazza will be thinking of you for your scan. :fingerscrossed:

Areca
19-02-2007, 10:20
Just popping in to say hi! Had a busy weekend, on Saturday we went and bought DF's outfit for our wedding (5 weeks yesterday) and I got jewellery and shoes so that took all day. Yesterday I parked myself at the beach with DD all day. It was great!
I'm finally starting to have nights where I don't need to get up and eat and then toss and turn for 2 hours so just waiting for my energy levels to return to normal now.

Jamb you have every reason to complain. If I went through what you went through once would be it for me. I don't do not feeling well very well at all. I like to be out and about and enjoying life. I'm miserable in the 1st tri....at least it ends for me. Feel free to complain whenever you need to!

Ok I'm off.....I need to go shower after sweating at the gym. I have no idea what I weigh. At 14 weeks with DD I was 1kg lighter than I was pre pg but I think I've gained this time cause I ate a lot more 1st tri this time.

niesl_bug
19-02-2007, 11:06
Hi Gals :wave:

OTM - don't worry about your weight gain ... you were a total light-weight to begin with! On the wonderful advice of Kirst - I have stopped comparing my progress to everyone else's and it's done me the world of good!

Kazza - we will all be thinking of you this week ... please let us know how you are as soon as you can get on BH.

Jamb - How awful for you. A girl at work had a terrible, terrible pg (10 years ago) and is still too scared to have # 2 ... I can't even begin to imagine how awful it is for you ... sending you big :hugs:

All good here - another little :barf: this morning but just at teeth-brushing time and then feel totally fine. Have been VERY teary this weekend - bursting into tears at the drop of the hat and being very sensitive. Poor DH doesn't know what to do with me except give me a big hug .. bless him :kiss:

Have a great day ladies !!!

pregomum
19-02-2007, 14:24

I'm starting to like pregnancy again.... sort of, morning sickness has been gone a couple of days now so:fingerscrossed: it doesn't return and I've had heaps of energy.

Good to hear everyone is doing well, I've put on 1.5kg so far, so pretty happy with that, although I look like I've put on 20kg and I'm getting soooo much cellulite on the back of my legs, not good.

Just had a bowl of packet pasta something I wouldn't have touched pre pregnancy, but something I love now!!

Still reckon I'm having a girl, DF thinks boy, I'm happy either way.

Has anyone thought about whether their breastfeeding or bottle? DD was breastfed till 6weeks then idiot doctor said she's upset all time cause not enough nutrients in my milk!!,Just as my milk dried up, found out it was pretty bad reflux and colic so I was so determined to breastfeed DS and I did.

Although not very nice to say I feel alot closer to DS for it and he's never sick like DD, could be coincidence, but I know for sure this one will be breastfed. It is a very personal choice but I give it the thumbs up and would never look down on anyone who formula fed their baby.

Bought some maternity pants from Big W and they are really comfy and for $17.89 can't complain, they are black cargostyle ones, I can see them being worn out by the end:)

Well better go get some rest before the kids school bus gets in so I'm ready for the mayhem.

niesl_bug
19-02-2007, 15:10
I'm getting soooo much cellulite on the back of my legs, not good.

Has anyone thought about whether their breastfeeding or bottle?

I hear you re: cellulite - have noticed a bit more on my bum lately :(

I would love to b/f ... have decided I will give it my best shot and if it happens, it happens and if not - then c'est la vie!

OJandMe
19-02-2007, 15:25
Hiya guys,

Met my midwife on Saturday, she seems LOVELY!

Got my Obs apptoinment tomorrow.... anyone else have an Obs appointment around Mid-day at the Mater tomorrow???? We should do coffee (or juice/smoothie/other beverage) coz the waits take FOREVER!

Hope everyones feeling okay... I'm still drinking coffee :rolleyes: just had a cup now... need it coz the boys have slept through 3 nights in the last 3 weeks and it's sssoooo hard having 4 in the bed... and it's the little ones who are doing all the rolling! DH and I end up on the floor!!

Yep cellulite seems to have taken up residence on my legs too... yuk... thank gosh the weather is going to start cooling down :fingerscrossed: and I can hide in pants, leggings and oversized jumpers.

Tingles
19-02-2007, 16:06
Hey there OJ&me - I just checked out your myspace... it is so good! You have put sooo much effort into your page... now all the other b/hubbers will have a look:laughing:

I regards to celulite & weight gain - I think I've topped you all - 7 kg:eek: - I did say early on the the threads I just have to do a :bfp: and I start gaining!!

I normally gain about 25kg on my pg's - but, do my best to loose it within 9 mths - Our bodies do amazing things for 9 months - so please don't worry & stress about weight gain - lifes to short - it's something you can fix later! Just don't eat all that cake at your mothers group meetings:laughing:

You can all join the weight watchers thread for Sept 2007!

jamb
19-02-2007, 17:54
omg tingles, how did you lose it all by 9 months, i am soooo jealous!!

i put on 30kgs and still had 4ish to go when DS was 20 months, i can guarantee you i will be joining you in the lose weight thread!!!

Tingles
19-02-2007, 18:56
Jamb - it is so hard, I know... the first 4 weeks is good 'cause the fluid just drips off - up to 2kg per week - but then the reality of it sets in - I've got 20-15kg to loose... -

I'm a weight watcher method girl - points system - pre babies I lost 25 kg, so I know it can definetly be done... just a little harder with kids I think it's a slower process. Probably 'cause they are grazing ALL DAY! And you join in:shame:

If you set your goal at 1 kg per week you can do it!! Even half a kg...

I also found the breastfeeding / weightloss thing a big MYTH!! B/f makes me hungry, and the tiredness factor at least the first month...

We can all support each other in the WW section!:yelclap:

whatwasithinking
19-02-2007, 19:54
Hi all.

Welcome to any newcomers who have arrived since I last came on here. :wave:

M/S has stopped for now - yeah. I am living day by day and have good days and bad days with the depression and stuff. Going to see a counsellor on Thursday.

First antenatel apt at hospital on Friday.

I am bit worried though - I am sure I felt the girls kicking by now (15-16wk) - at least Bec anyway. Nothing with this one - no matter what I do or where I press. Oh well I guess all pregnancies are different. Will just ask and reasure myself on Friday I guess.

Been in my new job for week and a half and loving it already. Very busy I have been.

Hope all is well with everyone else.

Will come back and give updated on Friday.

Areca
20-02-2007, 05:59
To answer the breastfeeding/bottle question. With DD I thought I'd hate bf'ing and told everyone three months was my limit. Well I ended up weaning her when I was 10 weeks pg with this one cause being pg and bf'ing was too much for me so she was 14 months when we stopped. I plan on bf'ing for 12 months with this bubs and then seeing how I feel (whether we're going to have another baby or not will factor in to my decision). We went through no weight gain (at 3 months she weighed 6.4kg, at 12 months she finally reached 8kg....she plummeted down the charts) but the only medical professional that told me to put her on formula was a crazy ped who I never went back to!! Trust your instincts girls is all I have to say! If you are keen to bf find yourself a bf'ing friendly doctor and you'll never be told to stop. My doctor just praised me endlessly for bf'ing for so long, even through no weight gain and no growth at ALL for 2 whole months.
Sorry that was long! DD is awake now so time for me to go!

AngelGirl
20-02-2007, 06:53
Jamb - woo hoo a set of wheels, you have some freedom back!!

Kazza - all the best with your amnio this week hon. :hugs:

Donna - Best of luck with the counsellor, it's great that you are loving your new job so that's a positive step! :thumbsup:

Not much happening in my corner of the world. Yesterday I booked into the prenatal or 'Preparation for Parenthood' classes for June. I'll be 32 weeks then, yikes!

I'm with Tara, I'd like to breast feed but if it doesnt work out I'm not going to beat myself up about it.

onabreak
20-02-2007, 07:24
Hi everyone. Haven't been in here for ages. Not much to tell really.

I had my NS scan yesterday, I am in the low risk for DS, so I am happy with that.

Anyway the US lady asked what I thought my dates were, I said 13wkd 3 days and then she tells me that I am a bit late for the NS because I am 14 weeks and 1 day. So from the begining I was going by the right dates from my last AF but my first dating scan dated me a week later. Who do I beleive now so my due date has changed to 19 Aug not 23 Aug.

It was so good to see little bubs bouncing around in there, she said it was being a little rascal because he wouldn't lie still for her to take measurements.

Cant wait for my 18-20 week scan now to find out what I am having. I am really hoping for a boy this time, but if it is a girl I will be happy aswell.

Morning sickness has gone just feel like:barf: every morning when I wake up because I am so hungry so I have to get something into my stomach as quickly as I can.

The last week I have really been feeling bubs moving around, I feel little pokes now and again. Can't beleive I can feel it this early. It is the best feeling.

Well I must be off dribbling on too much. Hope every one is well and we all enjoy the second tri-mester.

deb1234
20-02-2007, 07:58
Amanda, how annoying that they changed your dates! at least you are a few days closer to that due date now!! :)

Angelgirl i'd better get on to the hospital and book in those classes quick smart! looking forward to it.

Our house in NZ is up for auction tomorrow :yelclap: fingers crossed a millionaire snaps it up!

hope everyone is doing well. i'm feeling pretty good at the moment. still a bit tired, but i think that's more due to our naughty cats being up all night. i hope this baby isn't as crazy as them!

pregomum
20-02-2007, 10:41
I was so frustrated yesterday, my daughter's pony was being a little sh#t and I couldn't get on and sort her out like normal, don't want to take any risks. DD is now going to have to deal with her, quite funny to watch really, she fell off 3 times and got straight back on. I'm so proud of her.

Anyway, todays been a good day so far just a headache this morning, but feeling well. DF has told me I HAVE TO REST today because he thinks I'm soing to much, he's such a sweetie. Have to go sort out more wedding stuff tomorrow.

Been feeling bub lots today in my belly, it didn't like me bending down this morning cleaning up, everytime I did I felt it have a little party.

I don't think I will breastfeed this one as long as DS though, he was 2 1/2 when he finally stopped, main reason I continued was to get him back to sleep at 3am in the morning!!!
I think 12mths would be a good time to stop, but also depends on when I fall pregnant again and if I fall quickly, how tired etc, I 'm feeling. Though I really don't want to look forward to bottle and formula. Formula puke stinks sorry if TMI.

Sorry to keep on babbling on

niesl_bug
20-02-2007, 11:38
Morning Ladies :wave:

Amanda - so glad your NS went well ... let's hope your dates are right now!

Deb - good luck with the NZ house sale ... have :fingerscrossed: crossed for you !!

All good here (no m/s today - YAY!)
- have an 8.5 hour day at my work then about 4 - 5 hours ahead of me tonight and tomorrow doing payroll at DH business ... yuk ... but it's the last week this week! plus, I am just thinking of the extra spending money for our upcoming holiday. I was very organised last night and made tonight's and tomorrow's meals so at least we won't be hungry! I get very upset when I am hungry these days :o

No more flutters here but belly growing by the day - absolutely HANGING out for our 20 week scan at the end of March ...

Have a great day gals !!

deb1234
20-02-2007, 11:50
tara, i'm counting the days to my scan too. i can't wait!!

not sure if what i've been feeling is the baby, or just my body being weird. doesn't feel like "flutters" like people say. i guess i'll just have to wait a couple more weeks and then i should definitely be feeling something!!

pregomum do you think you will go for number 4? think we will stop at 2 here...but you never know. :rolleyes:

Kirst
20-02-2007, 22:15
Hi guys. I haven't been on for w few days, and I'm just popping in to say Hi :wave: now before I toddle off to bed. Sorry, not many personals.

Tara - glad to hear that you're not worrying so much.

Deb - I found that the flutters could have been compared to gas. In fact, when I first felt movement with DD, DH was interstate, and I told him over the phone "I don't know if it's the baby, or if I need to fart." I was disappointed at his lack of excitement, and he told me that he wasn't going to get excited over a fart, and woudl when I was sure. :laughing: It may very well be movement. I'd claim it if I were you.

Me? 15 weeks this week. Backpain is easing (or I'm getting used to it), morning sickness is basically gone, energy levels are up and have started exercising as well, as I can feel that cellulite creeping up on my thighs too. Have put on a total of 4kgs, and can feel my belly getting firmer.....so more 'baby stuff' than fat :smiliedance: .

I'll elave it there, otherwise I'll ramble.

Love and hugs to you all.

Kirst
20-02-2007, 22:29
Oops! Forgot to mention a point that my OB made with regards to Due Dates......first bub, usually a week late; subsequent bubs, usually a week early. So he said to expect it a week either side of the due date. So I am no longer giving a 'due date' to people as such, I am just saying "early to mid August".

It also means that my MIL can't work out an exact date to fly here....I'm sneaky. I'm hoping to be able to have the baby and then call her, and THEN she can organise her flights.

:devil6: :devil6: :devil6:

deb1234
21-02-2007, 06:16
Kirst, you're so naughty not telling a date to your MIL :laughing: my mum & MIL will be coming from NZ and are both teachers, so will be here in the september hols - which means we get about 8 weeks to figure out what we are supposed to be doing! :)

my sister had her first right on her due date - started going in to labour at 12.30am and he was delivered at around 11:30 pm the same day. pretty clever i reckon. and he's cute :D

have a great day everyone :yes:

jamb
21-02-2007, 06:31
He he, reckon i could be the naughtiest......my mil/fil will be o'seas, not back for at least 6 weeks.......not my only reason to have bub then, wanted a winter preg. Have to say that it comes as a bit of relief. I had bad baby blues for a couple of weeks and felt really swamped and crowded while i was strugglng to learn bf, DH has 3 bro's and sis's plus there partners....all up i would have 10 people everytime they visited, which trust me was often.

BF, hmmm this time i will definitely do it for 4 weeks, if i am enjoying and it is enhancing my bonding then it will continue, if i feel resentful towards bub (like last time) I am not going to punish myself last time and continue. Other than that no plans, found that didnt really work last time, it was nothing like i imagined!

Playgroup today, yay, got my wheels and i am off to the lake!

have a good day girls

AngelGirl
21-02-2007, 07:17
Morning Ladies!

Tara, Deb & Mandy - I too am hanging out for the 18/19 week scan. It's booked for 16th March (another 3 weeks away!) and will be the first time that DH and I get to see bubs properly. He/she was only a little jellybean at the last scan. I can't wait :D .

Tara - you are super organised. You have to be a Virgo??

oohh how exciting that some of you are getting movement from bubs, it must be such a wonderful feeling. I'm looking forward to when that happens!

M O P
21-02-2007, 08:12
Well the amnio went very well,
:hugs: thanks everyone for your kind thoughts and wishes.
The naughty baby put their hand up to the needle though so it took a little longer than it should have while they waited for bubs to move but it was harder for Angus watching than me experiencing I think :)
2 weeks to wait for the results now but I'm sure it's all good :fingerscrossed:

RE breast v bottle: I'm not going to lie and say I found breastfeeding easy, it took me 9 weeks of persevering and pain (remember everyone and everybody is different though) to get it right but once I did I didn't look back. And I will do the same this time.

Unfortunately I made the decision to wean Hugh at 7 months:crying:(1 month ago now). He lost nearly a kilo in 6 weeks and I could just feel I had nothing there to give him. When I did stop I had no leaking and feelings of fullness. He's back on the 50 percentile line now so we're very happy. When I think how easy it would have been to give up in those first months I am proud that we got to 7 months, even if it wasn't my initial plan.

deb1234
21-02-2007, 08:26
kazza i thought we were all past the 2WW!! i hope it goes fast for you. :fingerscrossed:

my plan is to breastfeed, even if it takes perseverance as you say. all babies and mothers are different though, so i would never think worse of a mother because she didn't. my sister just had her baby a week ago and is still getting to grips with it all, but she has bought a breast pump which seems to be working well for the night feeds for dad!! :) at least the little one is still getting breastmilk.

kazza, will you find out the sex from the amnio results?

M O P
21-02-2007, 09:39
yeah funny isn't it Deb it's another 2ww,
really tempting for me to find out the sex as we're having so much trouble finding a boys name but we won't find out.

niesl_bug
21-02-2007, 10:37
Morning Ladies !!!

Kazza - I'm glad everything went well yesterday ... and I too cannot believe you have yet another 2WW ahead of you. We are all thinking of you hun :hugs:

I REALLY felt bubs last night!!! I went to bed and could practically feel him doing somersaults!!!! It is a very different feeling to gas (which is what I had before when I thought I felt bubs) and it was truly amazing :yes:

Angelgirl - I am a Taurean, but with many Virgo traits! Super-super organised, love cleaning ... a bit of a freak actually :p

Life is wonderful right now - just loving being pregnant, loving my "bump" and feeling bl*&dy fantastic!!! The only issue is that the
"filter" feels like it has been removed from my mouth and I say whatever I am thinking - well, it's good for me, but maybe not so good for the recipient :o

Have a great day gals !!!

onabreak
21-02-2007, 15:28

I saw my OB today and she was very happy with my results from my NT scan.
I also got to hear for the first time my babys heartbeat :smiliedance: it was so amazing to hear the heartbeat of my baby that is about 9cm long. She thinks I may be having a big baby cause my due date changed from last time I had a scan.

I got my referral to have my 18/19 week scan, so I can book that in for 4 weeks time. I can't believe once you get past the 12 week mark time just flies by, I am still in shock :eek: that I will be 15 weeks already this Sunday.

Now that I know everything is ok, I can finally start to buy a few things here and there. I will definately be finding out what I am having. DH is so positive that our bub has a little pecker lol! Will have to wait and see.

Hope you all are having a great day.

Amanda

Kirst
21-02-2007, 21:41
He he, reckon i could be the naughtiest......my mil/fil will be o'seas, not back for at least 6 weeks.......not my only reason to have bub then, wanted a winter preg. Have to say that it comes as a bit of relief.

Can't help but say I'm jealous.

Tan-mumof3
22-02-2007, 08:52
Hi everyone. hope you are all well.

Mandy-glad to hear your scan went well don't worry too much bout the dates as they usually say +/- 5 days or so.
Kazza so glad the amnio went well i have my :fingerscrossed: for you that the results are great.

Neisl- i think the first flutters do feel a bit like gas but when they change to actual movements it is so amazing isn't it.
My baby seems to be so active especially after something sweet or if i forget my belly is starting to get big and i squash the poor little thing.
In regards to breast or bottle im going to try breast feeding again and see how i go i only breast fed dd for 6 weeks and ds for 3 months, im hoping to feed longer this time but if i can't, well then i can't.
Im off to my first hospital appointment today, will let you all know how it went when i get home.
Have a great day everyone :)

trendy1
22-02-2007, 09:28
Hello everyone,

Well I haven't posted lately but have been reading the posts and how everyone is going.

Glad to hear that most of you are starting to feel better now and that all seems to be going well.

I don't actually have much to tell the bleeding that I was experiencing has stopped and lasted nearly a week, but never got any worst. Thank goodness it is all over now though. Not alot else to tell on my behalf - we decided against against the NS, but the ob that I am seeing does a quick scan at most appointments anyway so that is good.

Have my next appointment next week so hopefully all will go well with that.

I hope that you are all well and will catch up again soon. Sorry but i haven't done personals as I run out time and I am supposed to be working.

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 09:35
Mandy - I'm so glad that your scan results came back good!

I officially feel pregnant today - TWO people offered me their seats on the train this morning .... although one was a lovely lady in her 50's ... while 2 teenage girls sat in the priority seats :confused: Then another girl around my age offered me her seat - I politely declined though ... don't feel "pregnant enough" to take people's seats off them !!

Trendy - so glad the bleeding has stopped and all is ok!

Tan - good luck for your hospital appointment today. I keep trying to lay on my tummy, but but doesn't like it either. I sneezed yesterday and he went ballistic !!!

I'm afraid to say that I have a wonderful MIL ... granted, she lives 2 hours away and we don't see her very often - but she is both supportive and doesn't interfere at the same time ... i love her !!!

deb1234
22-02-2007, 09:49
morning everyone :D

tara, i have a great MIL (and FIL) too. we saw them all the time in nz. we are in the process of convincing them to move to australia. won't take long i think, once they see their grandchild! :)

maybe we should start up that belly shots thread again if you are getting offered a seat on the train!!

i really don't think i can feel the baby yet. but i think that's mainly because i have an extra layer that you 50kg girls don't have! :laughing: hopefully within the next couple of weeks.

trendy1 you are lucky you get a scan at your ob. i just go to a normal doc at the moment, so only get the doppler - which is still cool! i think my last scan will be at 19 weeks and then i'll have to wait for 21 weeks to see my baby again!!

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 10:17
Deb - you asked for it!!!

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Peanut/P1020370.jpg

... and this was taken 10 days ago :eek:

Come ladies - show us your tum-tums !!!

deb1234
22-02-2007, 10:38
wow tara what a cute little bump! :D

Kirst
22-02-2007, 10:49
i really don't think i can feel the baby yet. but i think that's mainly because i have an extra layer that you 50kg girls don't have! :laughing: hopefully within the next couple of weeks.

Oh thank you! Thank you!

I as beginning to get worried that I was the only one who hadn't felt anything, but didn't think of this. I think that the last time I was 50kg was............God only knows. My starting weight was only 67kgs, so not overweigt by any means (I'm about 168cm), but I'm definitley not down around 50 like some of you gals!

I love you right now Deb.

AngelGirl
22-02-2007, 10:50
aawww! Such a cute little bump!!

I was also a little worried that I was the only one not feeling the baby yet....I haven't felt a thing. But I guess everyone if different.

My starting weight was 61kgs and I'm around 168cm too. I weighed myself this morning and have actually only put on 2 kgs not 4kgs as I thought so Im happy with that (I've not been holding back when it comes to food!!).

Anyone else still exhasuted? I'm waiting for all this energy to kick in but it hasn't quite happened yet. I'm 16 weeks today.

Milis
22-02-2007, 11:06

Sorry have been MIA recently. The ms is still hanging around and I'm feeling terrible most of the time. Just haven't had the energy to post!

Tara - that is a gorgeous bump!

I'm not a 50 kg girl either, and am carrying around a little paunch from last time so I still just look like I've gained a couple of kilos. No movement here yet either, I'm so jealous of you girls feeling kicks and flutters!

Kazza - I'm so glad the amnio went well, and all the best for the results!

I have a great MIL too, but she lives in the UK. She's hopefully coming out after bubby is born to help out (she was a huuuuge help with DS, even got up and did night feeds :thumbsup: ).

As for breast/bottle, I had major dramas bf DS but I will definitely try again. The hospital are going to arrange for me to see a lactation consultant when I am 36 weeks to give me an early start on things so fingers crossed that will help. Having said that, I had to put DS on to formula at 6 weeks and he's turned out beautifully, really bright, healthy etc so I won't worry too much if it doesn't work out.

Sorry this has turned into a bit of a ramble. I will try and get on a bit more regularly so I can keep up with the personals!

Have a good day everyone :wave: .

Areca
22-02-2007, 11:29
Aww Tara what a cute bump!!! I need to get DF to take a photo of me...the last one was at 4 weeks! There is a difference in my clothes (I like my loose wearing stuff now) but can still do everything up and don't look pg to any outsider's. I still look like I've just eaten a big meal. I need to pop out a bit soon though....have my wedding dress fitting in a couple of weeks and want a little belly before then because I know I won't get to 18 weeks without having something.

Not much happening here. I'm jealous of all of you with nice MIL's. My MIL is not a nice person and she lives 10 minutes away. My FIL and step MIL are both soooo nice and they live in Spain. At least MIL isn't interfering...she's more of the 'I couldn't care less about you and your children' type of person.

Ok just wanted to stop in and say hi! Kazza my fingers are crossed for you but you have such a great attitude!

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 11:55
Carmen - maybe you can send MIL to Spain and have the nice ones move 10 mins away :D

I think my karma of being blessed with a small frame and fast metabolism is all going to go out the window with pregnancy ... everyone can't wait to see me get fat !!!

Milis - I hope your energy levels return soon hun and that you start to feel better :thumbsup:

Angelgirl - I am 16 weeks tomorrow and feeling great! Are you taking your vitamins, eating properly? It doesn't help if you're not sleeping well though .... I hope you pick up soon too hun!

Had spina bifida b/t yesterday so I guess just wait for the results now? Next Ob appointment isn't until after our holiday though.

I had to fill in an "Incapacitated Passenger" form for our flight to Bali the other day - cheeky buggers!! I'm not incapacitated - I am pregnant!!! Apparently it's standard practice now and you have to give them your Dr's info, etc, etc ... what is the world coming to !?!?!?!

Have a great day gorgeous gals xxx

deb1234
22-02-2007, 12:10
kirst, haha i love you too. :laughing:
i showed chris the pic of tara's bump and we got a little worried until i realised the side on width of the bump is about the same as me all the way up to my boobs, so i'm sure he/she is hiding in there somewhere! :)

tara, do you know what they test for in your blood to get spina bifida results? my understanding is they used to do the 'triple test' at around 16 weeks for downs as well, but now they combine that with a nuchal scan at 12 weeks. i guess the triple test is hCG, PAAP-A and ? whatever they use to test for spina bifida.

would spina bifida be something they look for at the morphology scan at 18-20 weeks?

i'm still a bit tired now and then but i think that's mainly just bad sleeps. i generally wake up for an hour at 2-3 which is getting annoying!! :D i'm fine with a teeny tiny nana nap though.

OverTheMoon
22-02-2007, 12:46

With the MIL thing, i couldn't say anything bad about her now, she's still dealing with her grief, and i would be a huge cow to say some of the awful things i think sometimes, IYKWIM.

Tara - sorry, "Incapacitated Passenger" :D - that really sux. Before i got pregnant (and when we had spare money LOL), we looked into going overseas for a week or so, and i was gobsmacked to read a lot of insurance policies won't cover an assisted reproduction pregnancy, but they will a natural conception. Why aren't we allowed to just travel? I understand the risks, but it's not like we are in our last trimester yet. Rant over.

Karen- :fingerscrossed: for you and thinking of you with your 2ww.

Kirst and deb - I too haven't felt anything yet, i've been told i probably won't until 20-22 weeks, 'cos the placenta is sitting right in front of bubs.

Had my ob appt today, he said my sciatic pain and thing-under rib pain are normal. When he did the belly-feel (sorry, the real word escapes me), he said "This feels more consistent with 20 weeks than 15" :eek: . Baby is normal, but my abdomen is bigger/something. He said it could be because i'm petite.

Anywho, floating between lots of energy and none at all, being happy and being depresso. Hope everyone's going ok.

Have a great day.

deb1234
22-02-2007, 13:01
tara i wouldn't worry about being incapacitated! :D maybe you'll get a seat up in business class!
i always book my tickets over the internet so the airline doesn't know i'll be pregnant when i go to nz in april. i'll be 23 weeks so i guess they'll find out when i get there! I'll ask for the exit row :) already got a business class seat on the way back, thanks boss!

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 13:21
Deb - you know what? I actually have no idea what the spina bifida scan entails - I didn't really know what it was until I looked it up on the internet. Ob just told me to have b/t around 15 weeks and I went! I was taking folate for so long before I got pregnant I really don't think we're at risk so I haven't really given it much thought!

Travel agent is a friend so knew I was pregnant and I made a point of it so i could have the right travel insurance - just in case i needed to get home quickly or anything ...

OTM - I too swing between being deliriously happy and an evil witch! Luckily I am more happy - but my tolerance levels with stupid people are at ZERO !!! Doesn't help that I have 10 big babies (ie: "creative" designers) to look after at work :mad: The only thing keeping me going is knowing that in 3 weeks time i will be lying by the pool in our 3 bedroom, 2 storey private villa on the outskirts of Bali ....

Kazza - I hope you're taking good care of yourself and keeping busy during your 2WW ... thinking of you hun :hugs:

Amused
22-02-2007, 16:32
I thought I had better join the club. My name is Naomi and I am 13w 1d preggers :wave:.

I had my NT scan yesterday and all was very good - very low risk :smiliedance: . Morning sickness, tiredness and being emotional are the pits at this stage aren't they? Glad to hear you guys are beginning to feel better, there is hope for me yet :smiliedance:

I have a 9 month old son who is keeping me VERY busy so needless to say I haven't read all of the previous posts (just this page) and hope to get to know you all over time.

Naomi

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 17:01
Hi Naomi and welcome to our thread :wave:

Wow - a 9 month old and your pg! You must be an amazing woman and I truly admire you! Even though I haven't had my first I am already wondering how other women cope with a toddler and a baby !!!

AngelGirl
22-02-2007, 17:35
Hi Naomi, Congratulations and Welcome to our thread!! Make sure you put your name down on the August Calendar.

Are you taking your vitamins, eating properly? It doesn't help if you're not sleeping well though .... I hope you pick up soon too hun!

Yup... taking the vitamins and eating lots of fruit and calcium rich foods but need to get some more vegies and proteins in my diet.

I'll be 30 weeks when I'm supposed to be flying to NZ for a work trip. I'm not 100% keen on going and it's not compulsory. I just don't think I'd be comfortable on the flight. Unless I can talk my boss into letting me go business class?? hehehe.

Tara- I am sooo jealous, your holiday sounds like bliss. Can you take me in your suitcase? :laughing:

I just returned home from a little shopping trip to DJ's to be fitted for maternity bras. I am in shock, guess what size I am....12E :eek: OMG!!!!

I got two "Lovable Suddenly Shapely" (it should be called "Loveable Suddenly Grew Udders) in different colours. You should have seen some of the bras the woman made me try on, one bra made me look like I was wearing pointed witches hats!!

Bye bye sexy underwear.........:crying:

niesl_bug
22-02-2007, 17:39
Oh Angelgirl - I cracked up when I read your email :laughing: I thought I was bad getting fitted for a 12DD - but you take the cake! I got a Berlei maternity bra and it's actually not too bad ...
Didn't mean to nag you about your vitamins - just wanna make sure you're taking good care of yourself. I have upped the fruit & veg now that I can stomach it and feel much better for it :thumbsup:
I think the airlines are getting stricter about flying while pregnant so maybe check on their website to see what the deal is?

We have a 3 bedroom villa - so anyone who can fit in my suitcase is welcome to come :cool:

AngelGirl
22-02-2007, 17:50
Hey at least you're only a size down from me!! That makes me feel better! I'm reluctant to wear them now but I know it's bad not to. I just can't see them looking particularly flattering under my singlet tops. Thank goodness we will be heavily pregnant over winter!!

Amused
22-02-2007, 18:13
Thanks niesl_bug for your welcome... and no, I'm not amazing, just couldn't take the pill and guess what happened! :eek: I'm kind of freaking out about the age gap, 15/16 months. Doctor doesn't think I'll go full term because Nicholas was a month early, but we'll see. It is a little tricky to know how you feel when you are excited AND scared half to death!

And thank you too, AngelGirl for your welcome. I'll have to add my name to that list. As for flying, I flew back and forth from Sydney to Brissie for my entire pregnancy last time up to a week before Nicholas arrived and it was fine. Doctor was a little concerned about my blood pressure and insisted I wear those really sexy compression socks:rolleyes: Hope it goes well for you.

Oh maternity bras :barf:. Hard to feel nice in one of those! 14E here - I used to dream of boobs like this when I was 18 and a size 10A - take me back PLEASE!!!

jamb
22-02-2007, 19:41
Oh ladies what enormous boosies. I am still lucky to fill an A cup, last time maternity bra's were 14B's.....i seriously get no perks for this pregnancy part!!

Welcome naomi, how you coping with MS and a bub?? My DS has discovered the wiggles since i discovered i was pg.....luckily the last 2 days have been a bit better. Mind you he is TT for the potty, and OMG the poo's send me :barf:

OTM, i think my sciatic hip nerve thingy is going, had it last time, very very painful, sometimes i go to stand and my leg just gives way.

Niesl, bali sounds sooo nice, i spent 6 months in a tiny village, Seebung, living with a friends family, they are a beautiful culture. Lucky you!

Time for my bed, night gals

AngelGirl
23-02-2007, 07:28
I used to dream of boobs like this when I was 18 and a size 10A - take me back PLEASE!!!

:laughing: , I'm hearing you. I was a 12B when I was 18. I was happy with that!!

I think I felt the first flutters of the baby last night!!! Felt like little bubbles? When I sneezed this morning, I felt it again! :D

deb1234
23-02-2007, 08:02
hi naomi :wave:

angelgirl...sounds promising :D

just read in another thread that pebbles is pregnant again. she was sick of waiting for AF to turn up after her miscarriage and went back to the doc to find out why :yelclap:

tara i'll go shopping for a big suitcase this afternoon. when are we leaving? :laughing:

LiciaSings
23-02-2007, 08:23
Good morning ladies...happy Friday :party:

Sorry I have been MIA for awhile now... no real excuse, just that I've been so swamped with work that have been doing way too much doing homework.

Tara & OTM - Oh the moodiness! Most of the time I'm really happy lately, love beeing pregnant! But then at absolutely anything..:crying: , and my tolerance levels with stupid people and annoying children!! :banghead: Oh dear...Not so good for a teacher! I keep trying!

Jamb- I'm with you! No amazing boobsies for me! I'm just finally filling out my 12A's too tight, so I think I just might move up to a 14! wohoo!
I think I'll wait till much closer to when Bub's due to actually get the maternity/bf bras... I have no idea where to get them for one thing. And I want to see if maybe I get a bit bigger before then! lol

I'm also with everyone who wants to hop along in Tara's suitcase to Bali! How I would love a holiday. Hope you have an amazing and peaceful time Tara !
I think the best we're going to do at this point is a long weekend camping trip in April. But that's cool, I like camping.

I have lots of photos of the tiny growing bump... SIL is amazing with a camera and she's got some pretty cute shots. Now I've got to figure out how to post them here...maybe that's a weekend project.
Still not really showing obviously to strangers - doubt I'd be offered a seat on a train! But everyone who knows me and knows I'm pregnant comments on my bump. They can tell I look quite different than I did.

I'm just so impatient! I want it all to happen faster - I want to really look pregant...I want to feel bub moving and see a big bump and wear more maternity clothes... and yet I know that soon it's all going to feel like it's going too fast, so I should just enjoy it and appreciate that I'm still pretty little. I'm sure soon enough, like Tara said, motherhood will catch up to my fast matabolism and little frame, and that will all be a thing of the past :o

I think I did feel bub once - felt like a little poke. Never felt that before or since, it was really cool.

OMG, sorry about all the babbling!! I need to catch up more often so it's shorter!
Take care everyone!
(Welcome Naomi!!)

Amused
23-02-2007, 09:32
Jamb - Thanks for the welcome. MS and a teething bub suck! I think the ms is made worse by the fact that you can just never rest, or sleep in, or have a minute of peace! It should get better from here. I hear you about the TV! Nick has his Baby Einstein that he watches for an hour before his bath and bedtime and it is a saving grace at that end of the day. Lately it has snuck its way into our lives for and extra session every couple of days while mummy tries to keep down her breakfast :yes:

Angelgirl - while the boob fairy is returning my "proper" boobs, I'll have that size 10 butt back too! I just can't get used to this body. I want the old one back, and the energy that went with it!! :laughing: Oh, and you could very well be feeling bubs, I suspected it well before I knew for sure! (same goes for contractions too :eek: )

Deb1234 - Thanks for the welcome :wave:

Luciasings - You're a teacher, me too! Haven't taught since moving to QLD last year but would love to. What grade do you teach? I'm in the process of convincing my family to move to sunny Brissie so they can watch the darling Nicholas while I go to work a day or two a week, but it just isn't happening. I miss it so much though. I know what you mean about the lack of tolerance though, what used to be an inconvenience before pregnancy is now just down right annoying and a waste of time. Don't overload yourself with school work at this time, just take it easy! Thanks too for the welcome!

niesl_bug
23-02-2007, 10:38
Jamb - my heart breaks for you love ... you really do get no perks from the pregnancy thing, do you? If it's any consolation, I used to be a 10A and only went to a 12C with a little bit of help IYKWIM ... I have told DH if having bub ruins them, he has to buy me new ones :p

Angelgirl - bub goes crazy when I sneeze! I am prone to hayfever and the sniffles so the last few days I can really feel him every time I sneeze!

Girls - I am not going to be able to lift my case with all you gals in it with your bl)&dy maternity bras :laughing:

Naomi - it will be hard, but I think down the track you'll be glad your bubs are so close together ... you can do it :thumbsup:

Alicia - would love to see your pics! check out www.photobucket.com (http://www.photobucket.com) I have set up folders for wedding, baby, house, etc and you can just post a link to a particular photo - it's pretty easy but PM me if you get stuck.
I hear you about the tolerance levels - the girl at work just complained to me she couldn't access one of the network drives and I just said "hang on while I go and get my magic wand" and just walked off leaving her with her mouth hanging open !!!

Nearly forgot! we did our first baby shop last night! Bought pram with bassinet, cot, mattress, sheet set and a car seat. will go to target tomorrow as they have 30% off nursery items and may lay-by a few other things ...

Sorry for the ramble - have a wonderful Friday ladies xxx

jamb
23-02-2007, 11:03
Naomi, i 100% agree with the tiredness contributing, there is NO break looking after a littlie. When i am feeling **** all he wants to do is jump on me :banghead: , hence the use of wiggles.

Tara, as much as it would be nice to have bigger boosies, i kind of am grateful as they dont stretch to buggery or droop- still got me perky's after BF!!

I am so happy today as i am not having a ridiculously hungry day like the past few have been. It's also the weekend and dH has study days next week so is home for 5, yay!

well all that said and wiggles has ended....must return to mothering

ETsMum
23-02-2007, 11:59
:wave: Hi all.... Remember me! I've been reading all the posts everyday, but I've had nothing useful to say. But it looks like I'm not the only one who has been MIA lately... :D

Welcome and congrats Naomi! :yelclap:

AngelGirl
23-02-2007, 12:29
just read in another thread that pebbles is pregnant again. she was sick of waiting for AF to turn up after her miscarriage and went back to the doc to find out why :yelclap:

Deb that is fantastic news for Pebbles!!

Alicia - I'd love to see some photos, it's pretty easy to upload on to photobucket. I guess I should get my act together and post a photo too! We did start a belly pics thread at some point. We'll have to resurrect it!

Len - I hardly ever have anything useful to say.. I just enjoy :ecomcity:

niesl_bug
23-02-2007, 12:46
I hope everything goes well for Pebbles ... have everything :fingerscrossed: for her.

Good to hear from you Len! Hope you are doing well hun :thumbsup:

3cherubs
23-02-2007, 17:51
Hi there all, i am 13 weeks pregnant and have been stalking since i was abot 6 weeks pregnant.
Had my NT ultrasound and all is good, actually measuring bigger than dates which is a real suprise.

I have had morning sickness from 6 weeks and it is still bloomin here, have to take Maxalon on the bad days. But was the same with my previous 2 DD's.

I have 2 girls one is 3 other is 20 months.
Oh and Naomi 79 my 2 are 16 1/2 months apart and it was fine.

Well cannot wait to talk.
Due 30th Aug 2007

jamb
23-02-2007, 18:01
welcome 2cherubs! :hugs: for the MS, hope it eases, did it ease up last times?

Kirst
23-02-2007, 19:42
Well Agelgirl, it sounds (feels) promsing. Still nothing on that front for me.

Welcome Naomi and 2cherubs. COme on in and join the party!

Len, I often do the same, just read, as I feel that I have nothing of interest to contribute. Nothing exciting seems to be happening. Just going through the motions.

I had my blood for the Spina Bifida test taken yesterday, and booked in for my 19/20 week scan too. Feeling a bit 'full', but that's about it.

By the way, my maternity bras are a 14DD, and I bought a couple of the Lovable ones today. I am finding that the ones I have already are just looking 'old', so I thought that I'd get some newbies.

Well that's about it. See! Nothing of much interest.

Must take a photo of the belly though. Haven't got any. I've just been waiting for my belly to look pregnant rather than fat. Will share when it's done.

Hugs to you all!

whatwasithinking
23-02-2007, 20:14
Welcome Naomi and 2Cherubs.

I had my 1st antenatel apt today - so different than the other two when I was in Melb. Oh well.

All is well- bubs going well.

Had my apt yesterday with the cousellor. That too went well - think half of the battle unfortunatly is Hannah - going to read up on some parenting stuff and speak to parenting groups in relation to behaviour.

Nothing else to report - pretty boring I know.

Kirst
23-02-2007, 20:20
Whoa!!!!!!! I think that I may have just felt something............or it was gas, and I'm reading too much into it coz I WANT it to be Gumdrop. :laughing: :laughing:

3cherubs
23-02-2007, 20:44
Thanks for all the warm welcomes.
jamb- With DD1 it stopped at 16 weeks and
DD2 at 12 weeks. I hope it is soon, as running around with 2 kids and M/S is not a good combination.

Booked my 19 week scan, but i dread drinking all that water AGAIN is is water torture...:eek:

spunkyboysmum
24-02-2007, 07:52
Wow looks like I have a heap of reading to do!!! That will teach me for not checking in for a few days!!

I just wanted to jump on before work and let you know that I had my anatomy scan yesterday arvo!!
And............................... Im having a.....................................BOY!!!!

I must admit I was surprized as I was sure he as a she (just a feeling I had) I think havin 2 boys will be so nice cause they can play etc but I am sad that Im not having a girl.. just for missing out on the pigtails and ballet (tutu's!!) and dolls etc,

we always said two or three kids but I dont think I could risk having a third boy YKWIM?? Well my mum had three boys and then me so I dont think my chances would be good for a girl and 3 little boys... just too much!!

ooh better get dressed for work
Ill check in soon, hope you are all well!!

Kelllie

jamb
24-02-2007, 08:31
OOh the first to find out, congrats on the boy!

I reckon i will get another boy, in two minds bout it, would love a little girl but think DS would think it would be the bees knees to have a mate.

Totally understand the unsure going for #3, i cant imagine living in a house full of males....we were all girls, only one token boy cousin even!

Only 4 weeks to wait to see if there is a dangly bit....

Kirst
25-02-2007, 17:18
FALSE ALARM!!! I didn't feel anything! Bummer!

Congrats on your little boy Kellie! We're not going to find out, but I have a feeling Gumdrop is a boy. I guess we'll just wait nd see in August!

I would love for DD to have a little sister though. I grew up in between 2 boys, and would love her to have what I didn't. But then again, my little brother is one of my bestest friends, so that would be cool too.

So basically, I don't care.

Congrats again Kellie. I can't wait to hear what everyone else who finds out is having. It's 'that time', isn't it?

Tan-mumof3
25-02-2007, 19:13
Hi all, haven't posted in a few days.
:wave: to the newbies & welcome.
Congrats Kellie on your little BOY.
I had my antenatal at the hospital on thursday and apart from waiting for ever then being told to go home and come back 2 hours later cos they were running late, it was all good. Got to hear bubs heart beat again and got my bounty bag so that was good.
Nothing else to report, so hope you are all well.

LiciaSings
26-02-2007, 06:27
Morning everyone :)
Kellie- congrats on your boy!! I can't wait to find out... DH and I just want to know.

Ok, I've been inspired by Tara to post a belly photo... I put a few on Photobucket and now I've got to figure out how to link one to here to show you all. So here goes... I hope it works :fingerscrossed:
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u94/liciasings/February%202007/closeup2AliciaFeb2007.jpg

My SIL took this last weekend at MIL's place. (Nice MIL- very supportive but not too bossy or anything. I'm very lucky) So anyway, I think bump is maybe getting a bit bigger now... still, everything's little on me!:rolleyes:

Areca
26-02-2007, 06:42
Hey guys!
Just popping in quickly.
Kellie - Congrats on the boy!!!! I can't wait to find out what we're having.
Alicia - Cute belly!!!

Hope everyone else is well. DD just woke up so gotta go. I'll bbl to post a pic of my bump (I popped out on Saturday). Also I've felt the baby a couple of times now!!!!

AngelGirl
26-02-2007, 07:34
2Cherubs - Welcome!!

Kellie - Congrats on your little boy :thumbsup:

Alicia - what a cute belly!!

Nothing much to report from me. All is good, although my wardrobe choices are getting smaller and smaller!! :eek:

deb1234
26-02-2007, 08:21
kellie - congrats on boy #2! i wouldn't worry about having 2 boys, i grew up with 2 sisters and wouldn't swap them for a brother! i'm sure your DS will loving having a little accomplice for all his adventures! :D

alicia what a cute little bump!! mine is a bit bigger than that...well lets be honest, it was a lot bigger than that before i got pregnant! :laughing: is this the first grandchild for your MIL? this will be the first on my DH's side but second for my mum, my sister just had a son a couple of weeks ago.

not much news here. just waiting...waiting...waiting for my scan in two weeks :)

jamb
26-02-2007, 08:36
Can someone remind me when we have the next major scan (the one where sex is known). Is it 18/19 weeks?

M O P
26-02-2007, 08:47
Jamb I think you can have it at 18, 19 or 20 weeks, once the bubs if fully formed to check it's formed properly

jamb
26-02-2007, 08:50
Ta for that, just could not remember, will go for 19 weeks me thinks, in case 18 is too early and i cant wait till 20!

Lovely bump licia, you skinny minny you!! No belly pics from me, i am much much bigger, oh and stretchmarked! No worries filling maternity clothes here:rolleyes:

deb1234
26-02-2007, 09:47
jamb, when i booked i said is 18 weeks to early? and she said 19 weeks was better. don't know why they call it the 18-20 week scan if they would rather you came at 19 weeks! :)

i LOVE my stretchy maternity pants. i'm never going back into normal pants!

i'll post a pic one day...just waiting to get my camera back from my sister. she's taking lots of baby photos :D

xpress2
26-02-2007, 10:15
When I called about my 18-20 week scan they also said they prefer it to be done at 19 weeks so mine is booked for exactly 19 weeks... (Mind you, Ive booked it at several different places, bad I know).

I cant wait for my next scan, seems so far away - Not until the 5th of April..

jamb
26-02-2007, 10:22
Ah deb, i'll let you in on a little secret of mine. Post baby i struggled to find a pair of jeans that didnt muffin top, never had a prob before.

In prep for this bub i bought clothes before i fell, including 2 maternity jeans. I put them on and OMG, no muffin top....even my DH said...dam those jeans look good honey (then i told him they were maternity).

As he said, who cares, not like you can tell and they dont cut your fat (he is an honest hubby, gawd love him).

So my maternity jeans are going to become staples in my wardrobe.......just not telling my friends with no babies:no: Bugger trying to get back in Lee jeans!!

Cinta
26-02-2007, 10:38
Hello ladies! How is everyone going? :)

pregomum
26-02-2007, 10:54

Welcome to the newbies

Spunkyboysmum - Congratulations on having a boy bump. I still think mines a girl, we are going to be in trouble if its not because DF and I keep on calling it it our little princess.

Mumtooone - When is your wedding? I'm getting married on 31st March, I don't know how my dress fitting is going to go, still a bit worried about how a bump is going to look under it!!!

Angelgirl - I'm with you in wardrobe choices, think I'm down to 3 pants, 1 bra and 3 shirts. When I'm at home DF's clothes are sooo comfy. He's 6ft 3 and solid so his clothes are nice and roomy.

Jamb - They booked in my appointment for ultrasound at exactly 19 weeks (19th March), can't wait to find out exactly what I'm having.

Would be good if I'm having a girl cause will be sharing with DD and I won't have to repaint her pink room. Don't think I'd trust DS with a bub in his room!!!!

niesl_bug
26-02-2007, 11:34
Kellie - congratulations on your little man :yelclap:

Alicia - you look fantastic!!!

All great here! Can't wait to find out what we're having. Was booked for 20 March, but need to change it as DH is having eye laser surgery that day - I told him we'd go the day before so he can see bub before surgery, in case he goes blind ... not impressed :rolleyes:

Anyone having the 3D (or is it 4D) scan ??

Thunder and lightning here today, but high 30's ... lovely !!!

Have a great day gals xxx

littlerayofsunshine
26-02-2007, 12:14
mother2b,
i havent been to a prenatel yet and im 13 weeks in 2 days. i think its ok but im not sure

xpress2
26-02-2007, 15:15
niesl_bug - Yes, I am having a 4D scan.. Quite excited too. I am booked in for thr 5th of April! It just seems so far away..

How about you? Are you having a 4D scan as well?

niesl_bug
26-02-2007, 15:27
Hey Hayley - I am hoping to have one ... the place where we do our big u/s doesn't have the machine yet but it's due end of March so will wait and see if it comes in. If not, will need to find somewhere else that does them - anyone in Perth that can recommend anywhere?

jamb
26-02-2007, 15:50
I'll just be having the normal ultrasound, a big sugary drink to get bub moving so i can see dangly or no dangly.....

OverTheMoon
26-02-2007, 19:21
Haven't been on for a bit, so much to catch up on.
Kellie- how exciting, another lil' boy! Congrats!

Tara - I completely understand being unimpressed with laser eye surgery dates - DH had his the day before my egg collection (and hence, his 'deposit') - so he had his lil' eye covers on for the thang! Sorry if TMI, but it was funny. The FC said they'd never had anyone not be able to properly see for it before!

Mumtoone and pregomum - you must both be getting so excited now!

jamb - i'm same as you, just the normal scan for me!

I'm so with a lot of you on the wardrobe thing - i've only got so many dresses that look ok and fit, and my jeans kind of fit - if you don't count having them unbuttoned and unzipped! Other than that, it's down to 2 pairs of pants for work.

All ok here, getting tired again, and got told to slow down by ob. V. hard when DH pressuring to work more 'cos of bills piling up, and being down to one car now 'cos of massive things needing done on second car.

We went window/try-out shopping (read: no buying, just testing) for prams and cots on Saturday. It was so exciting and eye opening! I didn't realise that a 11 kg pram would be so heavy for me. Think we narrowed it down to two, and we fell in love with one particular cot. Hmmm maybe layby in a month or so.

Have a great week girls!

ETsMum
26-02-2007, 20:24

Well it looks like I have snapped out of my :gloomy: mood that I've been in. I had a great ante natal appt today. I got to see the nice diabeties lady, got to see a nice student doc and a happy chappy Obs, got to hear the heart beat and best of all I was in and out in 30mins. Lately I've been stuck there for 2 hrs which is very frustrating when I have to go every 2 weeks. Also DP stayed home with DS so it was peaceful for a change AND they said not to come back for 4 weeks next time!

:smiliedance: Got my scan tomorrow too!!! I'm still going to try not to find out the sex. It's going to be hard tho.

Sorry - no personals today. I haven't read the posts :o and now it is raining - got to go and shut some windows. Bye!:wave: (Then I'll read what I've missed.)

AngelGirl
27-02-2007, 07:23
Len - glad to hear you are feeling better and things are progressing well with your apppointments :thumbsup: .

I'm also booked in for the 18-20 week (or morphology) scan right on the 19 week mark. The lady said the more towards the 20 week mark, the better the chance of finding out the sex (if we choose to!). Mine is on 16th March, I couldnt have it any later cause I've got my next Ob appointment the following Monday.

Hope everyone is well. This weather in Sydney is driving me nuts. The rain is great but I'm over the mugginess and humidity! It's doing awful things to my hair do's!! :laughing:

OTM - DH and I were on the Choice website last night, trying to figure out which was the best pram etc etc. Which one do you like?

M O P
27-02-2007, 07:53
:wave: everyone,
nice to see you Cinta. How's Imogen? Hugh's got sitting up and crawling nailed this last week, so he's on the move! He's so happy and impressed with himself.

AngelG- we have the 2 extremes of prams/strollers.

We have an Emmaljunga which I love and wouldn't swap for anything. It goes anywhere on our station(over big rocks, through sand). It has solid tyres so no punctures:thumbsup: . And is easy to fold and was very easy to pull apart and wash- it was covered in dust from being thrown in the back of the ute all the time. Hugh slept in it for the first month. Not so good though if you have a small boot.
We also have a $29.95 Big W stroller which is great in it's own way. Not as comfortable probably and doesn't lay back but it's so small it fits in the car behind the front passenger seat. I love it for when we go to town shopping- I never get it out at home, the tiny wheels would be useless here.

My u/s booked for the 13th March. The way our shearing is going, ie it hasn't even started yet :mad: I'll just about have to go by myself as Angus will be really busy still. If he can't make it I'm sure it isn't such a big deal as he did come to the amnio with me and we saw some great images of bubs then as well as at the nuchal scan.

jamb
27-02-2007, 08:08
Lovely baby belly in your avatar Cinta!

Kazza, dont think my DH will be able to come to ultrasound either, not too concerned tho, I actually didnt think it was as amazing as 12 week one- dont get me wrong, its still great to see bubba, but everything was way more squashed with DS, I couldnt hardly work out what was what. Like the ultrasound lady would say, ooh there is its arm....id be like ....hmmm hang on....yeah i kinda see it. With the earlier one you see the whole bub, even got to see mine eating off my uterus...noice, like a guppy fish.

Well i finally think i feel unhungover...this morning i spewed on my walk and thought o **** i'll have to cut it short...but straight after i was fine :smiliedance: Still retching like there is no tomorrow and most foods still :barf: but at least no seasick feeling.

Angelgirl, hear you bout the hair, so humid and we live by the sea so the salt just gives me the worst frizzy fuzz. Not even product keeps it down.

We also have 2 prams, a mountain buggy (tops for our dirt road and sand dunes) and a cheapy for town- have to say the cheapy does not steer as well.

Len, glad you feeling good, have fun today at the scan!

DS has preschool today, so big house clean on the cards, have a great day girls!

niesl_bug
27-02-2007, 10:10
Good Morning Gorgeous Gals :wave:

OTM - I :laughing: at your DH laser eye surgery story!!! I am only peeved because I was meant to have my done before getting pg, as you can't have it done while pg and they recommend you wait 3 months after you finishing b/f!!

Poor Jamb - I cannot believe what a bad run you have while pg ... hopefully things are on the up for you hun.

Muggy weather here too - don't know why I bothered straightening my hair this morning as I am fighting the frizz !!

Len - glad to hear your appointments went well and that you're feeling better hun :)

We bought the Steelcraft Bayamo in red with the bassinet - DH put a teddy in it and has been pushing it around the house - totally hilarious as you have to picture him - 110kg rugby player with a shaved head and tattoos :laughing: . He has already set up all the nursery (even made me make up the cot with bedding!) and he is putting shelves up this weekend and buying the last bits of storage ... sooooooooo cute !!!

Have a great day ladies xxx

deb1234
27-02-2007, 10:36
wow tara sounds like you are all under control there. we haven't bought ANYTHING!! we like the steelcraft prams as well, but there is too much choice even with one brand! :confused: can't find the bayamo on their website, what is it like? at the moment our favourite is the transition. but obviously we haven't seen them all :)

just a normal ultrasound for me. in 10 sleeps!!! woohoo. 9th March. :yelclap: its at 2.30pm next friday so will definitely let you know if its a boy or girl.

kazza when is your 2WW up?

M O P
27-02-2007, 11:19
Deb-I've got another week to wait, it may be longer but generally it's 2 weeks.

niesl_bug
27-02-2007, 11:26
Deb - it's funny because DH normally leaves EVERYTHING to the last minute and I end up doing everything!

We were really confused at first - then went to one shop and the lady there was so fantastic she made it easy for us. I had been looking at the Steelcraft Strider on their website:
http://www.britax.com.au/websites/Britax/HomePage.nsf/LUPages/Home%20Page-STRIDER
The Strider replaces this Bayamo which has just come out. They are basically the same, but the Strider is a bit wider and she said it wouldn't fit through checkout aisles. We got a good price for the Bayamo as there were only 2 left and they had to clear stock to make way for the new Strider.

This is Bayamo :
http://www.littlerompers.com.au/index.cfm?fuseaction=product&prodID=2449
very similar ....

We bought our cot and carseat at the same time and got a 10% discount.

Good luck !

27-02-2007, 11:34
Just popping in to say hi, and goodluck for your results Kazza, hopefully they don't make you wait any longer than another week:fingerscrossed: , an Iam hoping little bubs is doing just fine in there:angel:

Deb my scan is next Friday too, gosh I'm excited wish it would hurry up!! Goodluck hope it goes well!

As for prams, I recommend the Phil and Ted if you are planning on more than one child in close succession. We bought a childcare overlander last time, which was great.
But we are having to sell it now as we need a double pram to accomodate bubs and a toddler so the phil and Ted is the best double on the market IMO. Kind of pricey though. Now I wish I had bought it last time though would have saved us having to buy another one this time ahwell......
That Bayamo looks like an awesome compact stroller though for one kiddy:thumbsup:

M O P
27-02-2007, 11:37
thanks Julie- me too!

niesl_bug
27-02-2007, 12:01
Sending you lots of :hugs: Kazza and I hope this week flies by for you xxx

deb1234
27-02-2007, 12:06
Julie - looks like my ticker will move on a square soon if yours has :) not many squares left!!

we had a look at the phil & ted ones, but the one we saw had number 1 sitting at the back, underneath number 2 - are they all like this? seemed a bit awful to be staring at your little sis/bro's bum!

the steelcraft transition has an optional toddler seat...but i really like the ones with reversible handles. i'll just wait for the perfect pram to turn up at my door! :)

when do babies start being alert and actually want to look at things around them if they are in the pram? i don't know if a bassinet option is worth it.

ETsMum
27-02-2007, 12:30
Hi Girls!

Thanks everyone for your kind words!

Kazza - yep, thinking of you here too!!

Lil X-man - Hi hun!

jamb - Poor thing! I hope you start to 'glow' soon. It must suck being sick so much!

niesl_bug - Good on you and your DH being so organised. Your DH sound like he will hog the pram when the baby arrives. One proud dadda!

Deb - I love those tickers. I send them out on nearly every email.

I had my scan today!! :smiliedance: All looked good. But there are still some confusion over my due date which is very frustrating considering mine has to be worked out exactly... :banghead: She had me due 8 Aug which is almost when I first thought I would be due, but my last scan said 30 July. I dunno! Anyway, I get to go back for another scan in 4 weeks time so they can have another go at EDD and get a proper look at the heart. Fine with me - I love scans.

Well we didn't ask what the sex was (I was really please that DP didn't ask. I was all ready to jump in and scream NOOOO... DON'T TELL HIM!! if he did.) But we both looked really hard, but came up with different answers.. hahahaha! We are hopeless. Still :fingerscrossed: for a girl tho.

Then I had to go for a big blood test and it was packed at pathology but I got to cue jump and I was on such a high from the scan I didn't even notice what they were doing and didn't even think I was going to be sick or pass out like I often do. :yelclap:

I hope everyone has a great day!

deb1234
27-02-2007, 13:35
Len - i thought it was harder to work out a due date now, which is why they do dating scans at the beginning, when everyone's little babies are about the same size. Once they start to get a bit bigger the tall/short/fat/skinny genes take over??? why do you have to know exactly?

M O P
27-02-2007, 14:31
I hope this week flies by for you xxx

thanks Tara & Len, it's so nice to feel cared about
my m-i-l is coming up tomorrow so it will probably drag!!

trendy1
27-02-2007, 16:02
Hello everyone,

Just wanting to say a quick hello to you all and check back in to let you know that I am still around and I do read the messages each day but just keep running out of time to post as work is so busy and we are a couple of people down.

So to all of you a big hello and hope that you are all well. I am off to my obs appointment tommorrow so will try to check in when I get back.

Is there anyone on here having there second child that had a ceaser with their 1st?

Anyway take care everyone and will check back tommorrow.

Kirst
27-02-2007, 17:04
Deb, on consultation of my child development text, they generally take more interest in what is going on around them towards 4 months. Which I guess makes sense, as that's about when they are meant to gain good neck control. They've also got to develop their vision to a level that they can actaully see out of the pram.

Between 1 and 4 months they start to realise that they can move and stuff. I will never forget when DD first noticed her hand. She used to just hold it in front of her face and stare at it - so cute.

My pram is a Jeep Liberty 3-wheeler. Love it! And as DD is old enough to not want to sit in it anymore, we don't need one that's going to need to carry her as well.

Well I can officially say that I have felt Gumdrop move. That being said though, if this was my first child I would have had no idea. I guess after you've felt it before, you just know what to feel for. Very nice though. Makes me happy. Can't wait until March 19th to see it again.

I have a 2 yo trying to type right now, so I'm going to run. Back later.

ETsMum
27-02-2007, 17:54
Len - i thought it was harder to work out a due date now, which is why they do dating scans at the beginning, when everyone's little babies are about the same size. Once they start to get a bit bigger the tall/short/fat/skinny genes take over??? why do you have to know exactly?

Yeah - cause I have type 2 diabeties. I'm not allowed to go over my due date as the baby is at risk of getting too big and also the placenta breaks down.

So far I'm not worried as I was using a maybe baby so I am pretty confident with 'o' dates. This latest scan almost matches my dates. All the other dates I was given were earlier so that didn't bother me either. I just don't want later dates like with DS. It's just frustrating that they all come up with different results. They wanna see my NT scan results when I go back to the hospy next.

deb1234
28-02-2007, 06:18
Len, so will you get induced early? its so annoying when they try to figure out their own dates when you know exactly when you Oed! my doctor kept asking me when my last period was and i just kept saying i know when i Oed and the due date is 4th August!!! Cos i had a really long cycle. anyway, hopefully they'll stick with a due date that suits you :)

Kirst congrats on feeling baby move!! i still think i'm imagining things, can't wait to see whats happening next friday. anyone know when you should definitely have felt the baby move? After your post, i think its worth getting a bassinet for the pram so we can have our baby facing us when its really young. i think they are only about $130 or something for the pram we want anyway. whats $130 when we will be spending thousands? :laughing:

hi everyone else :wave: have a great wednesday...on the downhill slope to the weekend :D

ETsMum
28-02-2007, 10:48
Len, so will you get induced early?

No - not early unless there is a problem. Either on my due date or the day after. I wish they would just settle on what that it! :rolleyes: DS was early so :fingerscrossed: this one will be too so I don't have to go through all that.

Areca
28-02-2007, 18:13
Hi guys!
Sorry I said I'd bbl to post a pic and then disappeared. DF is working from the computer and he works all the time so I never get on at the moment!
I'll have to read what I missed later. I had my ante-natal app today and they want to go by my ultrasound date which puts me back 3 days. I'm ok with that...I really don't want to be induced so that buys me 3 extra days at the end! I need to change my sig though. I'm now due the 30th but I can tell you all right now this will be a September baby! Everything else was good.

I think it was Len that asked about my wedding dress. I'm not too worried. I get married on the 25th and have my dress fitting on the 10th so it's only 2 weeks early. Also the dress I got is a size 10 and in formal wear I'm more like a 4 so there's heaps of room for the girl to do what she needs to! I was still only small at 18 weeks with DD and I seem to be going the same way this time.

Anyway here is my belly....I guess it was taken at 13 weeks and 2 days, not 13 weeks and 5 days like I thought! Anyway a definite bump for me and those shorts, while they are almost non existant, they are soooooooo comfy and I can not find any more anywhere! They are from Jay Jay's and were only $15. I have been living in them!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v60/RSBunny/baby2032.jpg?t=1172650348
Have a good night!

OverTheMoon
28-02-2007, 21:57

Carmen and Tara - yay! your baby bumps are like mine!

Kazza - hope the week wait is going ok for you.

I can't remember who asked, so sorry it's not personal, but we looked at the Valco rebel, which was too heavy, and Steelcraft Acclaim (i think that was the name) and Enigma. The Acclaim was the lightest, and it got a fairly good review in Choice, but i am reading a lot on the net with not-so-good Steelcraft reviews. so now i'm confused! I really want a reverse handle and light pram.

All ok here, but i have been suffering major moodiness for a week. Major extremes, like anger to immense sadness and crying enough to soak through a pillow. It's not normal for me - yes,i usually sometimes get a bit grumpy, but not like this. Anywho, hope it passes soon.

Take care, all, gotta go, typing and watching Heroes ain't working together!

Mel xx

Areca
01-03-2007, 05:46
I'm back....
Deb we never bothered with the bassinet for DD and won't this time either. One of my friends got one for her pram and she decided it was a waste of money. Like you said, what's $130 when you're spending thousands? Our pram had the head support thing in it but my mum had bought us one too and that was enough for us. My pram has a section at the top where you can roll it back and see what your baby is up to. I imagine with this baby it will be in a hug-a-bub most of the time when we're out!

Tara I can't believe that you have your nursery organised already!!! We haven't even bought a singlet for this baby! We were the same with DD. I think I bought my first baby thing at 24 weeks with DD. Granted we found out that she was a girl and then went to europe for a month three days later which is why it took that long but we won't be buying anything this time until after the 20 week scan! It's good that you guys are so organised though!

I can't remember who asked but it's normal to not feel the baby move until you're about 20 weeks. So if you haven't felt it don't stress you will!!!

Ok time to go...just wanted to come back and do personals while everyone was still sleeping.

deb1234
01-03-2007, 06:10
morning everyone :wave:

Carmen, i mainly wanted to get a bassinet because i took my sister's baby out for a walk and it was really windy and he cried most of the way being pushed into the wind. so either a bassinet or reverse handles i was thinking. hmmm.

we might get a carrier thing as well. my DH thinks it would be a good way to pick up chicks carrying a baby :laughing: i said he would be better off with a puppy. haha

M O P
01-03-2007, 08:28
My Obs rooms rang this morning at 8.30 to say amnio results report no abnormalities detected!!:smiliedance:
That was great they came in so fast- only 9 days I had to wait. Such a relief.
Thanks again everyone for your lovely thoughts and hugs :hugs:

They also offered to tell me the sex- 100% correct- as tempting as it was, and it was soooo tempting to find out, I declined.

deb1234
01-03-2007, 09:33
yay kazza!!! that's fantastic news :yelclap: :yelclap: now you are more sure than all of us! i don't know how you held out about the sex!

Kirst
01-03-2007, 10:04
Great news Kazza!!! What a relief for you.

Deb, if you want a 3-wheeler that doesn't have a reversible handle, and are worried about the wind, invest in a rain cover, not a cheap-ar*e one, as decent one. I have a really well-fitting one for my pram, and have never had an issue with wind or rain. DD has always loved being in there when it's raining. She chases the water drops down the plastic.

I also have a very good shade that is constantly attached to the pram, and I just roll it down when I need to. The shade is a really good idea if you are at the shops and bubs is sleeping (or even awake). It blocks out a HEAP of light and stops strangers stopping and peering into your pram. I got so sick of them, and this was a great help.

HTH.

niesl_bug
01-03-2007, 10:06
Oh Kazza - I am absolutely THRILLED for you ... CONGRATULATIONS :smiliedance: YAY, YAY, YAY ... this has made my day! Well done for being so courageous through your ordeal :yes:

All great here. Did my RPM (spin/cycling) class at the gym Tuesday and it was good to get back into it. Only went at a fraction of the pace I normally do, but it seems to have agreed with me.
Have been feeling quite a bit of movement from bub - I am in love Valentine

Carmen - you are tiny ... OMG! YOu look fantastic :thumbsup:

We have kept our nursery very netural tones - chocolates, white & mocha as we're not really into the pastel blues and pinks. Once we know what we're having we're going to add a rug, lamp and a few bits and pieces either in Navy for a boy or hot pink for a girl!

23, windy and raining here today!

Have a great day gals xx

Kirst
01-03-2007, 10:14
We have kept our nursery very netural tones - chocolates, white & mocha as we're not really into the pastel blues and pinks. Once we know what we're having we're going to add a rug, lamp and a few bits and pieces either in Navy for a boy or hot pink for a girl!

With our first the tones were kept VERY similar to yours. We bought walnut furniture and kept the room the same colour as the rest of the house.....very pale grey. We added colour with brightly coloured accessories. Bed linen, nappy holder thingy, cushions, curtains. When DD came along, we just added in bright pink too. I'm not into pastels either.

Now that she's older, she got to choose if she wanted to have her room a colour (as well as a 2yo can choose), and it is a light fuschia with white trim and furniture. Not light enough to be pastel though. She loves it!

For this bub, nusery will be the same as before. Primary colours, and will add in more gender-specific colours when it's born.

jamb
01-03-2007, 10:21
Kazza, what a wonderful relief for you, fantastic news and omg how did you not ask the sex, well done!!

Carmen, hooley dooley, you are another skinny minny, cant believe that bod has already popped one out!!! Cute bump

Niesl, good on you for your spin! I am back into exercise, a bit toned down- 45 minute fast walk, alternating days of weights for arms and squats/pilates, stretching everyday! Must be looking okay, got tooted by a bunch of blokes whilst crossing the road (with the pram, are they mad, who'd want a woman with a baby:rolleyes: )

Prams, we have a mountain buggy, and didnt bother with bassinet, i found i could make bub cosy in blankets and popped the sun thing on if it was really windy. Will use again this time for sure.

OTM, hope the mood even outs soon for you, not nice for you:hugs:

Busy morning so far, been to town done the washing, bit of food shopping and now time to relax with a toastie and a mag....yummmm. Wiggles ready to go (god bless the wiggles)

niesl_bug
01-03-2007, 11:05
Jamb - you sound much better hun! Fancy getting tooted! I got tooted the other day at the train station... hilarious :laughing:
Glad I have another fitness fantatic to chat with - my weekly fitness plan is: 1 x RPM, 1 x yoga class, 1 weights session and 2 - 3 walks around the lake with puppy. Have only put on 3.5 kgs so far and feeling great so will work my hardest to keep fit and healthy throughout my pregnancy and beyond. My main motivation is being head bridesmaid in January and wanting to look good in the photos that will hang on her walls for years to come :eek:

Have a great day ladies xxx

2princesses1prince
01-03-2007, 11:09
I don't post on here very often but I do keep up with what everyone else is posting.

Glad to hear everyone is keeping well and good on those who are organised (Tara).

Had my first ob appointment on monday, and they have agreed to do my c-section as requested and cut/tie my tubes as after this bub we are not having anymore (3 is enough).

My m/s is still hanging around, but at least it is not all day like it had been.

Well, better go, girls are fighting, will update soon.

OverTheMoon
01-03-2007, 15:33

Kazza - congratualtions! I let out a little "yay" when i read your post, DH turned around and wanted to know what i was so excited about!

Feeling really good today - i love this rainy weather (but only when i'm not teaching and on duty!). DH off sick, one car sorted, getting back in to my plastic-ware work, which is really motivating for me. Had to duck up to the office and called in to Baby on a Budget. Had a really good chat to one of the girls there, and asked about what i was reading on the net about my first choice pram. She said yep, that's most of the feedback they get. So she showed me the Peg Venezia, which i LOVED!

Anywho, hope all going well for everyone,
Mel xx

niesl_bug
01-03-2007, 15:38
Had my first ob appointment on monday, and they have agreed to do my c-section as requested and cut/tie my tubes as after this bub we are not having anymore (3 is enough).

Deb - I am super-organised ... I drive DH nuts sometimes, but I love it! I'm an organiser at home, at work - it's what I do ... crazy I know :D
Just thought I'd let you know that my sis had her tubes tied after bub 3 via c-section and all went really well :thumbsup:

Just had the yummiest lunch - red lentils with jasmine rice ... delicious!!!!

Ciao bellas xxx

Snugglepot
01-03-2007, 15:46

I am cruising along with this pregnancy, hence there is never much to report! 18 weeks tomorrow; I can not believe how quick time is going! It really only feels like I told work last week, not 8 weeks ago!

My bump is quiet rotund to say the least, I am starting to let out the elastic on my maternity pants...:eek: I went shopping on the weekend and founds a couple of cheap tops at Jay Jays and Jeans west that are all maternity like and all under $20 a bargain!

Kazza, i am so pleased for you, congrats!

OTM, I have a Peg Perago Venezia and I loved it! A bit daggy looking (mine is 6 years old) but the handle flips, lays right back, sunshade can go right over and cover bubs, small, light, easy to turn... the list goes on, it is a good pram.

I am now looking forward the 14th when I go for our scan and find out the sex, I can't wait! I hope everyone continues to cruise along and enjoy their pregnancy experience as much as they can,

Cheers, Kez

AngelGirl
01-03-2007, 20:32
Look how much I miss out on when I don't log on for a couple of days!! Lots of :ecomcity: this week!

Tara - I had to laugh at your story about your DH pushing the pram around the house. My DH is also a rugby player and is perceived as a bit of tough guy (but is a total sweetheart). I can imagine him doing the very same thing, he is soooo excited about this baby!

Len - Glad the scan went well for you!

Carmen - what a cute bump!

Kazza - fantastic news!! YAY!

Thought I'd add my own little exercise routine in :D . I haven't done much over the past few months so need to ease back into it. I'm aiming for 1x cardio/weights session, 1 x swimming session, 1 x pilates.

My trainer gave me a whole list of tips on exercise in pregnancy, the main point was:

1. Don't let yourself get too hot, you can cool down easily but the baby can't. The best way to measure this is to monitor your heart rate and don't let it get about 140bmp. Keep hydrated.

I might scan the tips and add to photobucket tomorrow just for an FYI!

17 weeks today, woo hoo!

ETsMum
01-03-2007, 20:44
Does anyone mind if I just do a quick 'me' post...? :o
I have to start insulin tonight... :crying: and I am feeling very sorry for myself. :gloomy:

Oh well, I'd best go and see if I was paying attention at my lesson today. I cried all the way through it. How embarrassing... :o

jamb
02-03-2007, 07:43
:hugs: len, how did it go?

i am feeling sorry for myself today, wondering why i am having another baby. DS either ate something or has a bug and spewed from 8.30 - 4am, being exceptionally agitated and distressed inbetween. I am exhausted and hoping i dont get it if it was a bug.

Poor little thing, he couldnt work out if he wanted me or daddy, so we were both up, god love my DH, cleaning up the spew, i just could not do it.

He seems better now, its the first time he has spewed for real, dont think he knew quite what was happening.

angelgirl, what did he say about the weights you lift, obviously i guess you should not strain, but i dont want to go too easy either, niesl you know anything? i will ask the pt i know on the weekend but thought you gals may be in the know?

kez, i am also close to extending the elastic as well, i think i have forgotten how big you actually get towards the middle/end!

M O P
02-03-2007, 08:13
:hugs: Len,
I know it's a case of having to but I still think you're very brave, and much stronger than me, doing your insulin.
I hope it's going well.

ETsMum
02-03-2007, 11:31
OMG Kazza!! I just read yesterdays posts. :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Woo Hoo... That is fantastic news. I've been so worried about you! Oh cr@p! Now I'm bawling. Damn hormones...

Needle went ok.. It doesn't hurt, but I'm not good with needles and it takes about 10 secs (stick it in, press button, count to 10, pull it out, etc) so I thought I would :barf: afterwards but didn't. It will get better tho.

Jamb - I hope your lil boy recovers really quickly!

niesl_bug
02-03-2007, 12:01
Hi Gals :wave:

I so look forward to sitting down with a cuppa and reading your posts!

Angelgirl - you have a boof-head too? I love my boof-head - he looks so mean and scary but is the BIGGEST softie in the world :yes:

Len - you are super brave and I truly admire you. DH nephew was diagnosed with diabetes last year and is on insulin twice a day ... he is such a little trooper though.
Sending you lots of :hugs:

Jamb - damn girl! What chinaman did you run over for all this bad luck !?!?!?! I hope your DS is better and that you can catch up on some rest.

Re: Training
I know you can't lay on your back too much so I've cut out those exercises. Mainly doing:
- squats with a fit ball behind me against a wall with a 5kg weight.
- walking lunges
- step up's on a bench (no weights)
- dumb-bell shoulder press (just dropped weight down from 7.5kg to 5kg).
- lat pull-down (again, dropping weight down).
- bi and tri curls (reduced weight)
- side lat raises (reduced weight)

I'm basically just training at about 70% and if it feels ok i do it and if it doesn't I move onto something else. RPM class was fine - i just do it on cooler days so I don't get too hot. starting yoga tomorrow which I'm really looking forward to then i can do it on Wednesday's once I go down to 4 days a week.

Did anyone watch "Saving Babies" last night on Channel 10? I absolutely bawled my eyes out the whole program :crying:

AngelGirl
02-03-2007, 12:55
Len - Thinking of you. Hopefully with time, the needles will just become part of your regular routine. I can imagine it would be quite scary at first :eek: .

Jamb - your poor DS. Hope he feels better very soon.

OMG - Tara, I'm doing pretty much the exact same weights rountine. Maybe it's something that all trainers put pregnant women on!!

My trainer said to use a lower weight but with higher reps (15-20 reps). He said if I can't do at least 15 reps then the weight is too heavy. Once you can easily do 20 or more reps, increase the weight a bit. He's got me doing 2 sets (3 if I can manage it).

jamb
02-03-2007, 13:06
not sure whether or not its got to do with luck, or if its just called having kids :laughing:

he ate 4 pieces of toast this morning, normally he is a sparrow, must be feeling better, i am soooo tired.

thanks for the weight tips, none for me today, have to do them on weekend instead! have to add another set.

niesl_bug
02-03-2007, 13:11
OMG - Tara, I'm doing pretty much the exact same weights rountine. Maybe it's something that all trainers put pregnant women on!!

Angelgirl - I haven't had a trainer for 10 years! I think I've been training for so long that I know my body pretty well - that combined with a bit of research, common sense and just "listening" to your body does the trick! I am doing high reps too (20 for lower body) ... determined to blast that cellullite away :thumbsup:

Kirst
03-03-2007, 15:58
Having a cruddy day today. Felt like poo and feel alseep on the couch when DD went down, have been arguing with DH and can't control these damn hormones!!!!!

Maybe bub is having a growth spurt and the rush of hormones are taking over? I dunno!

niesl_bug
03-03-2007, 21:28
Oh Kirst - so sorry to hear you've had a yukky day. I have had a few of those and they're awful :(

Sending you lots of :hugs: and I hope you have a better day tomorrow xxx

OverTheMoon
04-03-2007, 16:02
Sending you lots of :hugs: Kirst. I had a few of those days last week, they really get you down. Hope things look up soon.

Am doing heaps more - i did 6 loads of washing this morning! But now i'm buggered, i just say to DH "i'm out for the day now" and he knows that's all he'll get out of me housework-wise. He's been much better since Wednesday, when i told him he couldn't get angry at me 'cos i find it hard to control my hormones!

Anywho, i'm off to do research on the Peg Venezia!

Take care, all.

whatwasithinking
04-03-2007, 17:02
OMG where do I start.

On Thursday arvo on my way home from work I had a car accident (bimbo mobile talking thing ran up my butt whilst I had stopped at red lights) - have posted a thread about it somewhere.
Anyways went to Dr's that evening and the bub's heartbeat was fine. Bit sore and sorry for myself on Friday though.

Well today I have started having a light brown show :eek: . I rang the hospital and they said that whilst it is not normal that as long as I don't have any pains then things should be OK (I told them about Thursday). It has now gone even lighter brown and more muchus (sorry TMI I know) - so I am just sitting around waiting to see if anything else happens. Oh yeah and I still vaccummed and mopped the floor after all this cause J wouldn't do it and the house was literally a sand sticky pit and ants were coming inside. Oh well I'm resting now.

Anyway that's my story for now. Talk soon and hope all is well with everyone else.

Kirst
04-03-2007, 17:22
:hugs: Donna. I hope that there's more mucus and less colour as the evening progresses.

I know that's pretty descriptive, but if we can't be descriptive here, where can we be????

Tingles
04-03-2007, 21:17
'whatwasithinking':hugs: How are you? Did you go into the hospital? It might have just been due to a bit of stress? You poor thing...the stupid cow!

On a lighter note, We went out this evening with DH's cousin & his wife - when the subject of 'baby names' came up I told them we were calling the baby 'MOWHAWKE'... or 'AXLE' - ever seen somone choke on their rissotto - :laughing: - I then explained that it was a joke b/t DH & myself, 'cause sooo many people vocalise their opinions.

Thought maybe I had a little 'poke' tonite, or maybe it was just a muscle type pull - I was reaching up picking apples from a tree at the side of the road...I might add they are delicious - just what the PG woman needed!:thumbsup:

jamb
05-03-2007, 05:25
whatwasithinking, hope today brings reduced mucus/blood, :hugs:

kirst, hope things are settling on the home front, you are a better woman than, i do pressies for my family, and not his.

tingles, where on earth do youl ive that you can oick apples from the roadside??? yummo!

all good here, in,laws over the weekend, DS's 2nd birthday, my mum down for awhile. Love haivng mum here, I get a break, DS follows her like a leech!!

Off for my morning walk, then swim at the lakes. :fingerscrossed: weightgain will be 3kgs for 16 weeks this Friday:fingerscrossed:

Have a good day all

AngelGirl
05-03-2007, 07:41
Morning gals,

Donna - I hope your little jellybean is ok. Let us know how you are getting on.

I have a quick question for those who have already been through this before. At about 16 weeks, I started feeling the fluttering, usually at night or early in the morning when I'm sitting or lying quietly. I didnt feel a thing all weekend (I'm 17.5 weeks now). Is this normal? I kinda thought it would start to become stronger?

jamb
05-03-2007, 08:32
From memory it takes awhile to build up strength if that makes sense.

Also i remember being further down the track, like 26+weeks and sometimes bub would go quiet for a whole 24 hours, I'd be crying thinking something was wrong and DH would come and talk to the baby, poke him and sure enough he would get the response. Made DH feel pretty chuffed.

Icy cold drinks and something sweet are ways to get bub moving i think.

Tingles
05-03-2007, 08:58
tingles, where on earth do youl ive that you can oick apples from the roadside??? yummo!

I live in Lilydale 'The Yarra Yalley' - just so happens there is an apple tree just before you drive into our estate - I saw the apples last year, but dh would not walk there - this year he had his eye in the apples too!

AngelGirl - I wouldn't worry too much - you're a first timer? Normally you wouldn't really feel anything that early - around 20/21 weeks I think you would expect 'stronger' movements.

Like Jamb said icy water. Try this, something to eat, icy water & a full bladder. Also, it depends on where you placenta is too - if it is on your front it will cushion your babys kicks - this happend on one of my girls.

Also, all 3 of my girls weren't big movers - on the first one I often had fetal monitoring, but that was more towards the end of my pregnancy.

If in doubt go to your carer - it will be as simple as a doppler on your tum.:)

niesl_bug
05-03-2007, 13:02
Donna !!! you poor love ... how are things now? Better I hope :hugs: No such thing as TMI in this thread!!!

Kirst - how are things today hun ??? Better I hope :fingerscrossed:

Jamb - so glad your Mum is there to give you a bit of a break. You have been sounding better and that's great!

Tingles - love your little "dig" about the names!!! I might try that ... I did some silly online thing where is suggested a name and I got Xsa Xsa Britain .. i might use that one :laughing:

Not much going on here. Helped DH with a submission for work most othe weekend. Had a lovely dinner with friends last night - 2 other couples. One is 10 weeks pg (with p/c ovaries after only TTC 3 months) but the other has been TTC 3 years + and first round of IVF unsucessful. It is very hard to not feel guilty around them, despite the fact they are thrilled for us. Hopefully round 2 will work and we can all be pg at the same time!

Public Holiday here today - 39 degrees and I think I have a bit of a cold so going to sit in the air con and watch Foxtel all day I think!

Toodles :wave:

whatwasithinking
05-03-2007, 19:57

Thanks for all your concern each and every one of you.

I stopped having any show late last night.

I woke up this morning about 5.30 with the biggest "contraction" I can remember since having Hannah!. It lasted for about 20seconds and OMG was I freaking. I honestly thought something bad was going to happen. I didn't end up going back to sleep at all!! That thankfully was the only pain but wow I think I left fingernail marks on the ceiling!!!!!!!!!

But all is well now. No show nor any pains. PHEW!!

Kirst
05-03-2007, 21:08
Just to let you know guys, I'm fine.
Thanks for the concern.

I hope no one minds, but I'm going to have this thread closed and start another. We are up over 400 posts.....................