View Full Version : Top 5 favourite movies
red crayon
16-11-2005, 18:56
Are you a sucker for Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks? Like a bit of horror and suspense?
What are your Top 5 movies of all time? I'm betting 'Alien' features in Angel_Baby's list :)
My Top 5 (in no particular order) are:
Bull Durham
All About Eve
Singing in the Rain
Rear Window
Raiders of the Lost Ark
Angel_baby_1982
16-11-2005, 19:09
LOL
Alien
Aliens
Snatch
Boon dock saints
Lethal weapon
ElizaDee
16-11-2005, 19:12
Breakfast at Tiffany's
Pirates of the Caribean
Bride and Prejudice
Strictly Ballroom
Shawshank Redemption
I love heaps of movies but these are the ones that I keep watching over and over again. :)
Trainspotting
Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
What's Eating Gilbert Grape
Grease
Edward Scissorhands
ooohhh Shawshank Redemption also very good!
Hmmm there are so many, very hard to choose!! :D
The sound of music
Basketball diaries
The breakfast Club
The passion of the Christ
Luther
Oh Yeah! Grease, Trainspotting...argh there are too many:p
ten things i hate about you
ms congeniality 1
shrek 1 & 2
& all the harry potters. ;)
The Shawshank Redemption (I remember groaning when told we were going to watch this in English Class, it quickly became my favourite)
Forrest Gump
Philidelphia
The Lion King :o
The Boondock Saints.
Pulp Fiction
There's something about Mary
Erin Brokovich
Goodfellas
Jackie Brown
catnapjack
16-11-2005, 20:10
Jaws
Stakeout
Silence of the Lambs
Austen Powers
Serial Mom
Mummaof2
16-11-2005, 20:19
Never Ending Story
Grease
Xanadu
Green Mile
Wedding Planner
Peaceangels
16-11-2005, 20:55
Some of my faves have already been mentioned, so I am using it to my advantage and adding some more!
* The Sixth Sense
* Sliding Doors
* Priscilla Queen of the Desert
* The Piano
* The Game
hummingbird
16-11-2005, 21:00
There are some good ones already mentioned (Sliding Doors, Shawshank).
I'd have to add:
+ Big Wednesday
+ Catholic Boys
+ Some Kind of Wonderful
+ The Sure Thing
+ Stealing Beauty
Local Hero
The Graduate
All About Eve
Born Yesterday
Withnail and I
melfunction
16-11-2005, 21:37
I love -
The Piano
The Sweetest Thing
All Harry Potter movies
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Chicago - love musicals
I could go on - lots.
Dh -
Braveheart
Matrix
What The Bleep Do We Know
Independence day
Xmen
SuperSize Me
ThomasMum
16-11-2005, 21:39
Love Actually (or any movies by that bloody genius Richard Curtis!)
Finding Nemo
Shawshank Redemption (because its storyline reminds me of the great Alexandre Dumas's Monte Christo)
Love Story
To Kill A Mocking Bird ( I want to be a bloody brilliant lawyer like Gregory Peck's character)
I've got way more than five but off the top of my head....
The Shawshank Redemption
Rocky Horror Picture Show
Breakfast at Tiffany's
Love Actually
Zoolander
16-11-2005, 21:48
For me I'm a sucker for chick flicks!!
1. The Notebook
2. Grease
3. While you were sleeping
4. Everafter
5. My Girl
It is very hard to pick just 5!!
Ana Gram
16-11-2005, 21:48
Funny Games
Jean de Flouret and Manon de Sources (technically two movies but it's supposed to be a two part thing)
Cecil B Demented
Mr Vampire
Killer Condom
ThomasMum
16-11-2005, 21:58
Jean de Flouret and Manon de Sources (technically two
Ohh is that the one with Gérard Depardieu? First time I saw at the SBS TV loong time ago...
If yes I love that movie!
Killer Condom
:eek: What's that one all about?? lol :D
Shawshank Redemption
Oceans 11
O Brother Where Art Thou? (yes, big George Clooney fan)
Life is Beautiful
Four Weddings and a Funeral
If this was 15 years ago - Dirty Dancing, Grease, Dirting Dancing, Pretty Woman, Dirty Dancing.
I've grown up a bit......
Bron
red crayon
17-11-2005, 14:06
Great lists of movies! You've reminded me of a few more favourites.
Bron - i bought the soundtrack to O Brother Where Art Thou? - loved the music
ThomasMum - I reckon To Kill A Mockingbird is one of the few example of a great book being turned into a great movie.
Ana Gram
17-11-2005, 15:32
Ohh is that the one with Gérard Depardieu? First time I saw at the SBS TV loong time ago...
If yes I love that movie!
yes, it's such a beautiful movie! And those french accents, oo la la
Ana Gram
17-11-2005, 15:33
:eek: What's that one all about?? lol :D
Yup you guessed it, it's a genetically modified condom that bites off mens... *ahem* appendages. Those crazy germans!
ThomasMum
18-11-2005, 20:53
yes, it's such a beautiful movie! And those french accents, oo la la
Such a sad movie, yet beautiful...
great choice Chellegoth!
ThomasMum
18-11-2005, 20:57
ThomasMum - I reckon To Kill A Mockingbird is one of the few example of a great book being turned into a great movie.
Indeed who wouldve thought that this amazing fantastic powerful book is written by a woman, back then when they werent that many...
TM
Top 5 is too small - I keep thinking of other ones I want to include:-
Chinatown
Whatever happened to Baby Jane
Love and Human Remains etc.
oh, and women on the edge of a nervous breakdown
red crayon
18-11-2005, 23:10
I know what you mean, OlderMum. I could easily do a second list and in fact i will:
* The Usual Suspects
* Some Like It Hot
* Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
* West Side Story
* Strictly Ballroom
BTW OlderMum - how do you pronouce your daughter's name?
we love lock, stock & two smoking barrels its such a laugh..
red crayon
18-11-2005, 23:19
hi kimmy - i bought the soundtrack for that one too!
That's pretty cool..
My DP love the life of Brian & all of those,
Angel_baby_1982
19-11-2005, 00:13
we love lock, stock & two smoking barrels its such a laugh..
Have you seen Snatch? Same people, AWESOME movie, brad pitt plays a big part in it, I don't like him but he does a good job in this movie.
Angle-Baby1982 Ive seen it good movie i agree... :D
I'm not much into Brad Pitt either i don't now what the big deal is about him.
heymamma
16-12-2005, 17:13
Fever pitch aka perfect catch ( Drew barrymore & jimmy fallon.)
50 first dates
Liar liar
The crow
Queen of the damned
Charlies angels 1-2
Kill bill 1-2
I know thats more than 5...but im a massive movie buff...If you ever need to know anything bout a movie or who was in it...ask me ..lol :p
16-12-2005, 21:51
Ok mine are daggy, here goes (these are not in order of like the most):
Dirty Dancing (love it)
The Horse Whisperer (bawl every time....)
Deuce Bigalow movies
The Green Mile (bawled in that too...i know, i'm sad...:o )
& there was a movie not too far back with Brittany Murphy & Kirsten Dunst...can't remember the name...it was about the Holocaust?
Mumoffour
16-12-2005, 22:03
Romeo and Juliet (with Leonardo Decaprio)very cleverly done, old verse, new action
The notebook (i cried my eyes out- beautiful love story):o
Pay it Forward (cried my eyes out- made me want to go out and change the world:)
Forrest Gump/ the Green Mile (equal)
16-12-2005, 22:05
My next trip to the video shop...i'm getting The Notebook out....
Braveheart (BEST MOVIE EVER MADE)
Legends of the Fall (LOVED BRAD PITT IN THIS ONE)
Armageddon(CRY EVERYTIME)
Lord of the Rings(TRILOGY.....watch over and over again....and STRIDER (yummy))
Titanic (Saw about 5 times at the movie theatres)
Robin Hood Prince of Thieves (Kevin Costner....early days....nice!)
Harry Potter (Love the books better but the movies are great too)
............could keep going:)
shazbutt that holocaust movie was great too! Can't remember the name either, but great. Definitely recommend THE NOTEBOOK, its a tear jerker!
Did anyone watch that show on ABC that did the Top 20 movies. I haven't even heard of half of them, but at least LORD OF THE RINGS won it.
So corny but here goes
Gone With The Wind
The English Paitent
Bridges of Madison County (my husband always gets lucky after I watch that!)
Ryan's Daughter
Dr Zihvago
Mamaduke
17-12-2005, 09:48
My top 5 are...in no particular order...
Gone with the wind
High Society
Whatever happened to Baby Jane
Natural Born Killers
Cry Freedom
(special mention to Jesse's fave - Polar Express!)